BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

Bulls Six50 E2 Street Electric Bike Review
Bulls Six50 E2 Street
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor 28 Mph
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Bosch 500 Powerpack Samsung Cells
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Bosch Intuvia Removable Display Panel
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Tektro Brake Levers Ergonomic Grips
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Sr Suntour Xcn Suspension Fork With Qr
Bulls Six50 E2 Street 10 Speed Shimano Slx Shadow Drivetrain
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Aluminum Alloy Fenders Standwell Pannier Rack
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Adjustable Kickstand Cage Pedals Metal Motor Guard
Bulls Six50 E2 Street 203 Mm Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Electric Bike Review
Bulls Six50 E2 Street
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor 28 Mph
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Bosch 500 Powerpack Samsung Cells
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Bosch Intuvia Removable Display Panel
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Tektro Brake Levers Ergonomic Grips
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Sr Suntour Xcn Suspension Fork With Qr
Bulls Six50 E2 Street 10 Speed Shimano Slx Shadow Drivetrain
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Aluminum Alloy Fenders Standwell Pannier Rack
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Adjustable Kickstand Cage Pedals Metal Motor Guard
Bulls Six50 E2 Street 203 Mm Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes


  • A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery
  • Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand strength, this is what you'd normally find on higher-end mountain bikes
  • Four frame sizes deliver great fit, the suspension fork, ergonomic grips and large hybrid tires improve comfort and allow you to take bumpy streets and light trails without issue
  • Only available in the classic high-step diamond frame style, skewers are more standard 9 mm QR vs. sturdier thru-axles but the head tube is tapered and oversized, nice integrated lights and tight solid fenders, minimalist pannier-only rear rack

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





SIX50 E2 Street



Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame


Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

55 lbs (24.94 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.73 lbs (2.59 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium

Frame Sizes:

16.14 in (40.99 cm)19.9 in (50.54 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)22.05 in (56 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

32" Stand Over Height

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Gloss Gray and Blue Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCN-DS HLO 27.5, 120 mm Travel, Lockout, Preload Adjust, 9 mm Skewer with QR

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano SLX Shadow, 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano SLX on Right


SR Suntour Cranks, 15T Chainring


Wellgo C288DU Alloy Platform, Cage STyle


FSA Tapered 1 1/8" Sealed


STYX Alloy, 7° Rise (70 mm, 80 mm, 90 mm)


Alloy, 740 mm Length, 25 mm Rise, 9° Bend

Brake Details:

Tektro Dorado Hydraulic Disc with 203 mm Rotors, Tektro Dorado Levers with Motor Inhibitors


Velo Ergonomic, Black


Selle Royal

Seat Post:


Seat Post Length:

350mm mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm


Alloy Double Wall, 32H


Stainless Steel, 14G Front and 13 G Rear Spokes, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda STYX Ace of Pace, 27.5" x 2.25"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

30-50 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Aluminum Alloy Fenders, Standwell SW-CA477 Pannier Rack, Adjustable Length Kickstand, Supernova M99-E12 3 LED Tail Light (Brights with Braking), FUXON K1102 LED Headlight 60 Lux


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 2.2 Amp Charger 1.7 lbs, STYX Hub

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line Speed, Gen 2

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

482.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles (209 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD


Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 210%, Turbo 300%)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

Bulls introduced several speed pedelec electric bikes for 2017 and the SIX50 E2 Street is a value priced model that was customized just for the US market. Now I said value there, not cheap… but you get a lot for your money. A very similar ebike model is available in Europe but it’s not capable of the 28 mph (45 km/h) top speed. The SIX50 Street is built around a traditional high-step frame available in four sizes and includes a mid-range suspension fork mounted through a sturdy tapered head tube. It comes with beautiful close-mounted Aluminum alloy fenders and a narrow pannier rack as well as integrated LED lights. Given the 27.5″ wheel size and fatter 2.25″ tires, the bike rolls smoothly and comfortably. The tire tread is checkered allowing it to roll efficiently but still grip when needed… and when you step back and compare this with other speed pedelecs, it appears more trail capable like it would handle packed dirt paths and busted up streets much better. There’s a whole range of “fast ebikes” and some of them forego suspension completely, opting for aerodynamic Carbon fiber forks or seat post suspension. This model, by contrast, is sturdier and larger but that also makes it heavier at ~55 lbs.

Driving the bike is one of my favorite motors, the Bosch Performance Line. It’s a speed version that raises the more typical 20 mph to 28 mph but keeps torque at ~60 Nm. Some Bosch motors can hit 75 Nm (the Performance CX) but are mainly found on mountain frames, and in my experience they are all very capable. Perhaps my favorite thing about any of the models is the move towards minimalist casing and an angled mounting position which raises ground clearance and blends in with the downtube. As you can see in the images and video above, this motor looks great on the SIX50 E2 Street, the black casing matches the fenders and dark coloring on of the frame. On the right side is a 15 tooth sprocket that’s a little small compared with the 20 tooth found on other speed models but you do get a 10 speed cassette in the rear so it all sort of works out. This is one of the areas where compromises might have been made coming from the slower European version. The motor control system measures rear wheel speed, your pedal cadence and pedal torque to start and stop very quickly. These signals are measured 1,000 per second and a “shift sensing” software helps to reduce tension as the bike detects you’re changing gears. Overall, it’s a great setup and with a bit of practice easing off of the pedals while shifting and paying attention to the shift recommendation arrows (up and down) on the display panel it performs great. I regularly hear from e-bike dealers that Bosch motors perform without issue and the two year warranty is reassuring.

Powering the bike is an upgraded 500 watt hour battery pack that’s built into the same form factor as the older Bosch Powerpack 400. So that’s a 25% capacity increase in the same size and only slightly more weight, less than half a pound more. This battery is backwards compatible with older Bosch packs so if you already own one, you would now have two batteries that are interchangeable. The mounting design is a standout on this bike, having a wedged downtube and cupped metal plates at the base which meld the pack into the design making it stand out less. That’s one of the trade-offs with Bosch compared to Brose (offered on other Bulls electric bikes), the battery is not fit inside the downtube but rather, mounts on top of it. This makes it much easier to access, plug in to charge (if left on the bike) and take off for reduced weight or storage/charging separately. It locks to the bike securely and has an LED charge level readout on the left and a nice little loop at the top reducing drops as you take it off and carry it around. This single battery pack powers the 60 LUX headlight, three-LED back light and the beautiful Bosch Intuvia backlit display panel.

Operating the bike is a cinch with how easy the battery is to charge and connect, just one power button to press up at the display panel and you’re set to go. Just like the battery, the display panel is removable for safe storage and it offers a Micro USB port on the right, beneath a rubber flap, so you can top off your smart phone or other portable electronic devices. The display angles forward and back for reduced glare and shows your battery level, current speed and trip feedback (max speed, trip distance, time and more). My favorite feature is its range estimation readout because unlike the battery indicator (which only has five bars representing 20% each) the range menu is very precise. It relies on your last five miles of activity and the current state of charge on the battery to dynamically estimate how much further you can go depending on whichever pedal assist level you’re in! There are four levels in total and I’ve found that 80+ miles is very possible in the lower more efficient ones. Of course, as you arrow up towards the top, Turbo, range goes down but this is still a very efficient system because you can shift gears and empower the motor just as you would yourself as the pedaler. Many hub motor designs operate with only one gearing output which limits their optimal output to a specific speed.

With every new year there seem to be some electric bikes that get less expensive and others that get better… nicer looking, less noisy, longer lasting. The BULLS SIX50 E2 Street falls mostly into this second category but really doesn’t push budget to the extremes either. You’re getting premium parts here, many of which are mountain and trail capable. The tapered head tube, 120 mm suspension fork and 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes are the sort of components I regularly see on e-mountain models. The suspension fork is more basic, being spring vs. air, but you do get lockout (which is convenient for smooth flat sections). The tires are larger and offer a lower PSI rating for cushion comfort but are wide enough to roll efficiently and have tread that can handle bunch of scenarios. I’m the kind of person that tries to get one good product to do a lot of things… I just don’t have a lot of space for more stuff. The SIX50 fits this model very well and delivers the kind of performance riding (at higher speeds) that I find exciting and handy when commuting. Bulls is a large international company and they have a solid reputation but it really makes me smile to see them making market-specific adjustments and not just taking a cookie-cutter approach. I like this bike a lot and while it might benefit from sturdier thru-axles and a larger sprocket, it has other things I really like such as bottle cages and rack bosses so you could add a larger sturdier rack if you wanted. The ergonomic grips are nice and the fact that it’s available in multiple sizes cannot be overlooked, especially given the traditional diamond high-step frame. It’s a fun bike and one that would keep you dry and clean in wet riding conditions… coming back to the wheel size for a moment, if they were larger in diameter or the fenders weren’t mounted as close it would be easier to hit your foot when turning. And if they weren’t reinforced with the struts and rear rack they would make a lot more noise. I specifically went over some bumps in the video review to show how quiet (but not silent) they were. Big thanks to Bulls for partnering with me for this review.


  • High quality integrated lights including a 60 LUX adjustable headlight and name brand Supernova tail light built right into the rack, both run off of the ebike battery
  • Beautiful purpose-built frame with a wedge shaped downtube meant to meld with the Bosch battery pack, there are metal plates at the base carrying the lines of the pack into the motor mount… it all blends perfectly
  • The new Bosch Performance Line motors can be angled up and built more into the downtube for better clearance, this one is very well integrated and has a protective skid plate below and a chainring guard for pants protection and reduced drops
  • Awesome Aluminum alloy fenders that hug the wider tires very close and match the black accents on the frame
  • Longer travel suspension fork, like you’d find on a mountain bike, works well with the hybrid tires and ergonomic grips for a more capable city or light trail rider… perfect for commuting in many environments
  • Very large and powerful disc brakes, like you’d find on mountain bikes, that offer excellent, smooth stopping power, I like that the wires are all internally routed through the frame to keep it looking clean and to reduce snags
  • Both wheels have quick release for easier repairs and transport (though the fenders don’t come off easily and would still be in the way a little if the wheels were off), I like that they included an adjustable rear-mounted kickstand
  • Excellent two year comprehensive warranty with five years on the frame, good support from a larger multi-national company with growing dealer base
  • I love that both the battery and display panel can be quickly and easily removed from the bike (perfect for commuting… protecting them in the office) and I like that the display has a little Micro USB port to keep your mobile devices topped off when riding
  • It’s great that this bike is using the new Powerpack 500 Bosch battery because you tend to use exponentially more energy when riding above 20 mph due to air resistance
  • Bosch control systems for their mid-drive motors offer software-driven shift sensing so the chain and sprockets shouldn’t take as much abuse… they use cadence, torque and speed sensors so you can control motor output by adjusting how hard you pedal
  • Mid-drive motors can be very efficient because they leverage your cassette (for climbing or high speed operation), to really benefit from this you need to shift as your cadence changes and the new Bosch Intuvia display panel actually shows an up and down arrow providing shift assistance recommendation
  • Excellent wheel and tire sizing… this is a 650b (27.5″) wheel with 2.25″ tires that make it feel more like a traditional 28″ 700c road bike, you get the traction and cushion of mountain tires with the efficient rolling of hybrid tires without being too large (where you clip your toes on the fenders) or too small (where it’s less efficient and you lose momentum and crack-spanning


  • I’ve seen more speed-pedelecs going with thru-axles in recent years to help distribute higher force and improve steering response, that would be nice on this bike considering the suspension fork and hybrid tires (in case you take trails on occasion)
  • The rear rack is narrow, light weight and supports the fender but is really only built to carry panniers vs. a trunk bag on top, it’s nice that it has a three-LED Supernova light built in that goes bright when you pull the brake levers, there are separate threaded bosses on the chain stays of this bike frame so you could remove the fender and rack and replace them with different ones easily
  • Minor gripes here but I’m not a huge fan of the cage style pedals and wish the tires had reflective sidewall stripes given this is more of an urban commuter setup
  • In many ways, BULLS SIX50 E2 Street compares well with the Stromer line of electric bikes because it’s a speed pedelec with fenders and lights but the battery isn’t integrated into the frame as nicely so overall it’s not as stealth, it also doesn’t offer regenerative braking or have the silent gearless hub motor (though mid-drives tend to be more efficient here as long as you shift appropriately)
  • Due tot the fenders, higher capacity battery pack, suspension fork and larger tires this bike weighs a bit more than other city bikes at ~55 lbs
  • The grips are nice, I like ergonomic designs, but don’t have lockers so if you really bear down they will twist and get out of alignment


More BULLS Reviews

BULLS Cross Mover Speed Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A sporty speed pedelec with beautiful motor, battery, and able integration, the grey and black color scheme help the drive systems blend in, three frame styles to choose from (wave, step-thru, diamond). Bosch Performance Line Speed motor offers ~28 mph support, shift detection, and 120 RPM pedal…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO AM 4 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A high-end, full suspension, electric mountain bike, with the high-torque Brose S mid-motor, and a high-capacity 37 volt 17.5 amp hour Lithium-ion battery, excellent weight distribution with hidden drive systems. Rugged all-mountain performance with 150 mm RockShox air suspension front and rear, 15 mm and…...

BULLS Urban EVO Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

One of the stealthiest 28 mph urban electric bikes I have seen, the Bosch Powertube battery pack is completely hidden inside the downtube and the compact black motor casing blends perfectly with the matte black paint job. The mid-motor is angled up to blend into downtube visually, increase ground clearance, and shorten…...


  • MSRP: $7,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A top-end all mountain electric bike with 150 mm suspension from Fox, Shimano Deore XTR 11-speed drivetrain, Bosch CX high-torque motor, and Magura MT Trail hydraulic disc brakes. Wider Boost hub spacing offers a strong bracing angle for the spokes and room for…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45S Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A high-speed 28 mph commuter style electric bike that comes in four frame sizes and three styles (high-step, mid-step, and step-thru), it offers excellent weight distribution (motor and battery are positioned low and center). Beautiful aesthetic with hidden wires, an internally mounted battery, and a smaller motor casing, the…...

BULLS E-Core Di2 FS 27.5+ Review

  • MSRP: $5,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A full suspension electric trail or enduro mountain bike with 150 mm travel, large 2.8" plus sized tires, and Boost hub spacing for strength, made in three frame sizes. All-black frame, fork, and anodized RockShox stanchions makes for a mean look, Shimano STePs E8000…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

One of the most popular models in the Bulls ebike lineup, it comes in four frame sizes and three styles (high-step diamond, mid-step, and step-thru wave), motor and battery weight are low and center. Extremely stealthy, the drive system and battery are almost completely hidden on this frame and…...

BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

Top of the line, full suspension, fat tire electric trail bike with RockShock Bluto and Monarch air, remote lockout for the fork, 11-speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain with Shadow Plus clutch, robust skid plate and alloy drivetrain guides. High-torque Bosch Performance Line CX motor with eMTB drive mode, sand and snow capable if…...


  • MSRP: $5,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An all-mountain style electric bike with longer travel 150 mm air suspension from RockShox, an internalized downtube battery from Bosch, and three frame size options. Fatter 2.8" plus sized tires provide increased traction, reduced deflection, and improved comfort while remaining…...

BULLS Cruiser E Review

  • MSRP: $3,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A feature-complete cruiser style electric bicycle with paint-matched fork, fenders, rear rack, chain cover, and motor casing, available in three frame sizes with adjustable stem for good fit. Large sprung saddle, puffy stitched grips, swept back handlebars, and the deep step-thru frame make…...

BULLS Aminga TR 1 Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A full suspension, cross country style, electric mountain bike made just for the ladies with shorter reach, available in two smaller size options, features a turquoise fuchsia colorway. Sturdy Suntour XCR 34 air suspension fork with remote lockout for easy transitions from rough…...


  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A tough, sporty looking, high-quality, kids electric bike that can reach ~15.5 mph with four levels of pedal assist, smaller wheels keep the frame low and approachable. Premium accessories including tires from Schwalbe, a Shimano Altus 8-speed drivetrain, and Tektro hydraulic disc…...

BULLS Cross E Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Well priced considering the quality Bosch-made electric drive system, four frame size choices, and three frame styles (high, mid, and low-step). Integrated LED lights and premium Continental tires with reflective sidewall stripes help to keep you…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the cleanest looking full suspension cross country electric bikes I've reviewed, the battery and motor are built into the frame and match the matte black paint perfectly. Extra large battery capacity for longer rides, EnergyBus magnetic charging standard works on or off…...

BULLS SIX50 E 1.5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A hardtail trail ready e-bike with comfortable plus sized tires and a spring suspension fork (with lockout), sturdy tapered head tube, rigid thru-axles, and Boost. Capable as a commuting platform if you prefer a mountain bike vs. hybrid or city…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An active, sporty looking, commuter style electric bike with low standover height, available in three frame sizes to improve fit and comfort. High-end drivetrain and motor systems, you get eleven gears with a tough mountain bike level…...

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology. Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

2017 BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

2017 BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range. Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing,…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances. Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...


  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...


  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...

Chris @ Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

I love these cross over type bikes. I think many people that buy electric bikes end up going more places than they anticipated and this seems to be one of those bikes that can go anywhere and do almost anything. I love the versatility.

1 year ago

Right on, I agree completely and frequently hear shop owners like yourself talking about how their customers ride more frequently and further than before they had pedal assist. Normal bikes are great but once you can go further and don’t have to deal with hills or the wind etc. it opens up a whole range of possibilities! including a bit of off-road perhaps ;)

Tony Gandolfo
12 months ago

How do you think this bike could handle on very steep mountain roads?

12 months ago

Hi Tony, are you talking about paved roads or dirt and rock? It’s designed to be sturdy (to handle the higher top speeds) but still comfortable with the suspension and larger tires. The tires it comes with appear to be a checkered hybrid style that can handle street and trails (packed dirt mostly). They won’t be ideal for one or the other… the knobs are too flat to be optimal for hard core mountain biking and not slick enough to be truly perfect for tarmac (pavement). You could always swap them out but given the rest of the bike (lockout on the fork, overbuilt axels and the balanced weight) I’d say it should do very well. I hope this helps, feel free to elaborate and I’ll do my best to sound it out with you :)

Tony Gandolfo
12 months ago

I am looking for a bike that can handle my daily commute. I would be traveling about 30 miles a day, part of that being a mile long stretch of paved road at a 3.5% grade. I am a fit and active cyclist, however not a proffesional. Do you think this bike could handle such a feat with an average rider such as myself?

12 months ago

Hi Tony, that’s quite a ride! but yes, I do believe this bike would be able to handle it. You will have to pedal along and switch up to the higher assist levels for the incline but it’s well equipped to handle that sort of thing. This model uses the Bosch Performance Speed motor which isn’t quite as high-torque as the CX but it does go faster and 60 Nm is still a LOT of torque. If you’re worried about range, you could top the battery off at your destination (if they allow) the charger is relatively small and light. Also, in the future you’ll be able to find and replace the pack easier than a lot of the other bikes and it looks like it already comes with the upgraded 500 watt hour pack vs. the older 400 watt hour… pretty sweet :)

John Utter
3 months ago

Just received my new Bulls Six50 E2 Street from Propel Electric Bikes in Brooklyn.

I live in Olympia, Washington so the bike traveled across the USA. Shipping went fine. No dents, scratches, or anything wrong. The only small inconvenience is that I can only seem to find one screw out of two for the headlight assembly so it’s off to the hardware store to find a match. It would have been an improvement if the screws were put in a plastic bag. They’re small and probably the one fell out of the box through an open corner. Small deal.

First impressions. It just wants to go! It also rides surprisingly well without any assist. Much better than I would have imagined. Feels sturdy. Riding at 27 mph is just fine. No problems. Front suspension is perfect for road riding. I’ve seen varying estimates from 48-56 pounds regarding it’s weight. It doesn’t feel heavy. It’s surprisingly regular-bike-like.

Back lights and brake light is a very cool feature.

It feels like the 15 tooth chainring is a mistake for a 28 mph bike. It would be perfect for a 22-24 mph bike but at 27 mph I’m just pedaling too fast. Thankfully, chainrings are cheap! I’m curious how the bike will ride with a 20 tooth chainring.

The brakes are a freakin’ dream. Just awesome. Luxurious.

The seat has gotta go and I’m planning to get seat suspension post as well. Again, these don’t seem like super-expensive adjustments.

The reason I bought this bike is because I rode a Trek Super Commuter and absolutely loved it, but I had some issues with the $5k price tag. This bike has the same Bosch system and battery, plus it has the front suspension I wanted and retails for around $1000 less. The tires are neeeearly as wide. Honestly, it feels a little better than the Super Commuter – except for the seat (still recovering). The display on the Six50 E 2 Street is way better IMHO. For some reason the Super Commuter has a smaller, less rich display. Not sure why. Both bikes have a similar sturdy feel. The Super Commuter comes with a Super Nova M99 Pure headlight that I’ve yet to compare with the one that came with the Bulls bike because the sun is still shining here – but I’m assuming the Super Nova is a bit better. The Super Commuter has a 20 tooth chainring – and I can feel the difference there for sure. But that’s a $25 adjustment.

Leandro at Propel has been good to work with. I’m really happy with my purchase. I suspect he set up the seat height for me because it was perfect as soon as I got on the bike. I would definitely consider ordering from Propel again.

That’s it for now. Great bike so far. I’m really glad did the research to find this particular model. Thanks to Court Rye for your help via email and through all your reviews.

3 months ago

Hi John! Awesome comment, thanks for sharing your experience buying from Propel and your thoughts on the SIX 50 E2 Street vs. Trek’s Supercommuter. Both are cool bikes but I do enjoy the suspension here and of course… saving a bit of cash. Trek has a great network of dealers and I like how their battery interfaces with the bike but in the end, it’s nice to have choice and it’s great that you’re getting support with the chainring adjustment. Consider an 18 tooth vs. 20 so you can benefit from the zippy starts and climbing with your bike AND get those slower strokes at high speed. As for weight, I use my own scale with each bike review here and found the Bulls SIX 50 to be ~55 lbs which is right in that range you shared. I always weigh with the battery and all stock accessories attached. Enjoy the ride, have fun out there and feel free to share updates!

John Utter
3 months ago

My Bulls Six50 E 2 Street arrived yesterday at my home in Olympia, Washington after being shipped across the country from Propel Bikes in Brooklyn. It arrived in great shape. No dings or scrapes. I am assuming Lee, from Propel, took the time to adjust the seat to my inseam, since I had shared that information with him, and the seat position was perfect. I put the pedals on, straightened out the handle bars, charged the battery a bit, and took off riding for 16 miles.

I selected this particular bike because I wanted something that would feel solid on the street, yet could move into the mud when necessary. I live out in the country. There are lots of 50 mph roads here without shoulders. I wanted to be able to move into the dirt ditches in case of dangerous vehicles and have a good chance of staying upright. There is also a park nearby with lots of trails (nothing terribly steep) and I wanted a bike that would perform there. So far, so good. The bike feels super sturdy on trails and on the road. At 27 mph it feels unshakeable. I’m not a speed demon by any means but the 20 mph cut-off on many bikes just bugs me. It feels like I’m just getting going. 28 mph feels like a more natural cut-off point as I wouldn’t want to go much faster anyways. It also gives me the opportunity to keep up with the speed of traffic when I’m in town which feels much safer.

Early on in my selection process I tried a Trek Super Commuter and loved it, yet I was stunned by the $5000 price tag. I also wanted a front suspension. My Bulls purchase was an attempt to get something like the Super Commuter with less money, and with a front suspension. I’m not disappointed. Here’s a comparison of the two bikes:

Both bikes have that wonderful sturdy feeling, the same Bosch Performance Line system with a 500 watt hour battery, big and wide tires, fenders, and rear rack. The differences are minimal.

The Super Commuter’s tires are ever so slightly wider (about 1/8 inch maybe) but the Six50’s tires feel just as good to me.

The Bulls Six50 actually has a better display. It’s bigger with more info.

The Super Commuter has a better headlight (a Supernova M99 Pure+) but the headlight (some obscure 60 Lux headlight) on the Bulls Six50 isn’t bad at all. I’ll have to check out if I need anything more. Both bikes have a Supernova tail light but, as far as I can tell the Six50 has a better one. It’s an M99 tail light that includes 5 leds and a brake light. The Super Commuter has a 3 LED set up that does not include the brake light. I really like the brake light feature.

The Super Commuter has a 20 tooth chainring which I plan to install on my Six50, which came with a 15 tooth chainring. The 15 tooth chainring seems like a weird choice. I guess it would be better for really steep hills but in my 16 mile test ride (which I will be repeating 100s of times) I never touched the lower gears. I didn’t need them. Sometimes I just started out on the highest gear in turbo mode and I was fine. The 20 tooth chainring will run me about $25. Not a big deal. As is, the Six50 cruises easily around 23 mph. I had to really crank on it to go 27. I never got to 28 mph. I have read that adding a bigger chainring should help. We’ll see.

The Super Commuter has a carbon fiber fork versus the Six50’s Suntour suspension fork. I honestly like the suspension better for mixed trail/road use. It probably adds a couple of pounds.

The Super Commuter has 11 gears versus 10 on the Six50. Like I said, I don’t tend to use the lower gears.

The seat on the Six50 is uncomfortable. I’m going to replace it asap and probably get a seat suspension post as well. The seat on the Super Commuter was much better. I’m not sure how much a good seat costs but I imagine this upgrade along with a suspension post will be my most expensive improvements.

That’s it for my first day impressions. I want to thank Court Rye for all of his guidance via email and through this website. Also, Propel Bikes strikes me as a good outfit. I love their mission and my interactions have all been positive so far. I would definitely consider buying from them again.

3 months ago

Awesome, thank you John!

John Utter
3 months ago

Day two – hitting the trails on the Bulls Six50 E 2 Street.

Joyful swearing. That best describes my experience. The trails that I used on my old mountain bike have taken on a whole new dimension. The drudgery I used to experience on the big hills is absolutely gone. I am easily going 15 mph up hills that used to reduce me to walking speed and unjoyful swearing because my legs hurt so bad. It’s a whole new experience. Going up big muddy hills with rocks and roots is now part of the fun. Total difference maker. I think my wife is jealous because I kept saying, “Wow, that was fantastic!”, and “Oh my God that was great!” She’s only used to hearing me say things like that in other situations where she’s more directly involved. Riding this bike on my usual trails was awesome – a paradigm shifter for sure.

Even on trails and muddy hills I’ve never touched the lowest gears. I just put it in turbo mode and zoom up. I was probably in gear 4 out of 10 on the steepest hills. Pure joy. I’m definitely getting a workout. It’s just a funner one. I just love the torque sensor on this thing. So responsive.

The brakes are a thing of beauty on the trails. Very soft and controlled. I always felt like they had my back.

It’s worth repeating how well this bike rides without power. I ended up cutting the power quite a bit on the trails because I just didn’t need it – but then when I needed it I’d kick it in. I don’t need to go fast on the trails like I do on the street when commuting. It’s a whole different game. I’d cut the motor whenever I encountered a pedestrian on the trail and slow way down.

Again, gotta get that seat addressed. That was only thing bringing me back down to earth.

Here are a few more thoughts on the Six50 E 2 Street versus the Trek Super Commuter.

* I don’t think I would’ve enjoyed the trails as much with the Super Commuter because of the stiff front fork but I could be wrong.

* I actually have a 5 led brake light/rear light/license plate light on the Six50. The Super Commuter has a three led rear light and I don’t think it has a brake light.

* I can’t tell the difference between the two bikes with how the battery works or how it’s integrated. It just clicks in really easily and I turn the key to take it out. I guess the Super Commuter has little bit more of a cradle for the battery and it’s a tiny bit more stealth. Not a difference maker for me.

Court, I’ll entertain your suggestion for an eighteen tooth chainring. That might be the sweet spot. Yeah, it would be better if Bulls had the dealer network that Trek has. I’ll see if I can convince my local shops to carry them :-)

That’s it for day two. I have a huge smile on my face.

John Utter
2 months ago

Some updates after a few weeks of use…

I upgraded:

  1. The seat with a Bontrager Commuter Gel model; much better (around $40)
  2. The seat post with a Thudbuster; even better. Now I don’t fear those surprise crotch-punishing bumps anymore (around $150)
  3. And swapped from the stock 15 tooth chainring to a 20 tooth to handle higher speeds more comfortably. However, I probably should have heeded Court’s advice on getting an 18 tooth chainring, as now the top gear is just a bit too high for me to use regularly. But at least now it’s much easier to keep a good cadence going 25-26 mph, whereas before I was forced to pedal madly at those speeds. (around $40 with labor)

I found out how much difference it makes in battery life when I stop going all-out in turbo mode. I think I went 20 miles yesterday and just barely knocked one bar (out of five) off of the battery meter. I averaged around 15 mph on mostly level trails and kept it primarily in Eco mode – with about 20 minutes in Tour and maybe 5 minutes of joy-sprinting in Turbo/Sport. This is in contrast to today’s 25 minutes of Turbo-charged hill climbing and sprinting which also took one bar off the battery meter. I probably went 6.5 miles altogether.

I’ve put 185 miles on the bike so far. I have one mechanical concern and one small annoyance. Mechanically speaking, there is a thrumming sound that started to develop yesterday at speeds over ~25 mph. I hear the sound, which is accompanied by a vibration when my right foot is on the downstroke while I’m pedaling. Once I slow down it goes away. The small annoyance is that the bike seems to top out at about ~27 mph rather than 28 mph. It cruises quite easily at between 25 and 26 mph but then I really have to work to get it to 27 mph and can only keep it there a short period. This is probably nit picky but apparently more expensive bikes such as the Trek Super Commuter and the Bulls Dail-e Grinder (that use the same performance line set up with the 500 watt hour battery back) go straight to 28 mph with less resistance. I’ve experienced this myself on the Super Commuter – and have read similar experiences on the Dail-e Grinder versus the Six50. What gives? Does the extra 1mph cost 1-2k more?

With all that said, I’m incredulous how much I’ve been riding. I’ve been mainly sedentary for a few years after suffering from chronic fatigue that seemed to come out of nowhere. This bike definitely puts me in a happy place. When I’m out riding by myself I can’t help but push it – meaning I ride hard and I break out in a sweat – probably because it’s just so fun to ride. When I ride with my wife (She has a Trek Verve+) I mellow out and go for a more sustainable pace. Either way, I’m exercising and having a blast. The fatigue symptoms seem to have dropped significantly in the last few weeks. We’ll see how I do in the coming months.

2 months ago

Lots of great tips and feedback there John. Thanks for taking the time to share how the Bulls SIX50 E2 has improved your health and giving some insights on how the 20 tooth chainring works vs. 15 (and that you think 18 might be the sweet spot). All great stuff, keep riding and have fun :D


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Va. Bch. Electric Bike Center
5 days ago

Have MT5/MT4 front/rear on my Bulls Monster E FS...one of the nicest break setups I've had. Really hauls those big meats down.

1 week ago

The belts are a great low maintenance feature found on several bikes. Riese & Muller is probably the largest ebike manufacturer to offer these on many of their models.

Bulls also have the 2017 Lacuba E8 that uses the Shimano Nexus / Belt set up which is great. https://shop-usa.scooteretti.com/products/bulls-lacuba-evo-e8

Once people know and hear about the benefits of going with a belt we should hopefully see more and more manufacturers producing models for the NA market. The issue, for now, is basically the price as many NA's are still very price sensitive vs many EU regions when it comes to how much they want to pay for their bikes.

But the long-term benefits of these products should actually cost the owner less to operate and certainly require less maintenance which can be very convenient for a lot of people.



1 week ago

Hey guys, today while visiting the Raleigh Electric headquarters in Southern California, I was able to check out the 2018 Tamland iE ebike, which uses the Original LCD-Display from Brose, with the Brose Drive TF (Fast) motor unit. This display is one of my favorites because it's fairly large and easy to read, removable for safe storage, and the mount has a full sized USB Type A (5 volt, 500 milliamp) port built in to charge or maintain your portable electronics. There are two parts to this display: the LCD unit and an independent button pad which can be mounted within reach of either grip. The video below goes into detail but does not explain how to set the clock or how to show range estimates... sorry, I welcome your input in the comments below!

Navigation aids:

[*]How to remove the display at 0:12
[*]How to activate the display at 0:48
[*]How to clear stats at 1:37
[*]How to activate walk mode at 2:32
[*]How to change units (miles to kilometers) at 2:56

Quick tips:

[*]The buttons on the LCD include: Power, Lights, and Menu.
[*]The buttons on the independent button pad include: Up, Menu, Down.
[*]To reset trip distance, average speed, max speed, hold Menu and Lights on the display unit
[*]To activate walk mode, arrow down to no assist (you may see a little triangle next to the speed readout), then hold the down arrow.
[*]To change units from miles to kilometers, turn the battery pack on first, then turn the display off, then hold the menu key and power button on the display. I had to do this one a few times, it seemed inconsistent, but it does work :)

Things I like about the display:

[*]It goes bright for a second when you press any of the buttons... then slowly dims.
[*]It's removable, so it won't get scratched or weather-worn over time if the bike is parked outside.
[*]There's a USB port in the base of the display
[*]This display doesn't require its own coin battery like the Yamah and Bosch Intuvia displays do
[*]I like how the battery will stay active for two hours once you press the power button, this allows you to turn the bike on and off just using the display. After two hours, the battery goes into deep sleep mode.
[*]The display does have a range estimate menu, which I did not go into on this video. You can navigate there by pressing the menu button and it will update automatically as you change assist settings (Cruise, Tour, Sport)

Things that might be improved about the display:

[*]It has more menus that some of the other displays and the manual was a little confusing, do we really need total trip time? It always said zero for my test bike...
[*]The slide design to fit the display onto the mount does not start at the very top, you have to almost put the display down near the middle, then slide for a shorter section to have it click, and this always confuses me.
[*]It seems like you have to manually power on the battery pack with Brose drive systems, which could require a reach down or back, it would be nice if you could activate the bike directly with the on/off switch on the display like most other high-end ebike systems
[*]The Brose battery pack often uses a magnetic Rosenberger charging port which has a little rubber plug... but there's no leash or connector for the plug, and that makes it very easy to misplace and lose.

As mentioned in the video above, I have attached photographs of the official Brose instruction manual below (sorry about the limited quality, I took photos and then cropped them manually with a bit of contrast tweaks to be readable). The http://www.brose-ebike.com/ seems to be short on information about this particular display and it seems like they may open design up to OEM manufacturers like Bulls, Specialized, and others to make custom displays. You can see this on the Specialized https://electricbikereview.com/specialized/turbo-vado-6-0/ (which has two display options, one is a touch screen) and the https://electricbikereview.com/specialized/turbo-levo-fsr-comp-6fattie/ (which just had three buttons and a Bluetooth smartphone app). This particular display panel is Brose branded and is their original layout (as far as I can tell).

rich c
1 week ago

Using the word "best" opens up a whole debate. It really boils down to personal preference and fit of the bike, and riding style. My original intention was to buy a Bulls bike, but a demo deal on a Haibike made the decision much easier for me.

Kurt in CT
1 week ago

When researching for my recent ebike purchase, I was putting Bulls in the same category as Stromers: European-made, very high-quality, and expensive. If it was in my price range, I would definitely have seriously considered.

Nova Haibike
1 week ago

I have never ridden or even seen one. But since Bulls was formed by a cooperative of bicycle dealers, it does not surprise me that they would know how to design good bikes. That said, I know there are other good bikes too. The question should really be, what is the best e-bike for you?

1 week ago

I noticed that Bulls has 5 best in class ebikes according to Court's rating system, pretty much lapping the field.
Are they really that good ?

1 week ago

After a good bit of research, I'm looking at ;
Haibike Sduro Allmountain 6-0 or 6-5 (yamaha)
Bulls e-stream evo 3 (brose)
Easy motion atom lynx 4.8 or 6.0 (brose)
I loved the brose in the turbo levo I tried, but haven't tried Yamaha.

2 weeks ago

any new update for walk mode assist ? would like to use it as a throttle. or any hacks?

3 weeks ago

If I was you I would try looking at other brands the it comes to an EMTB. I've never tried one but most of the reviews I've read on the Giants have not been that positive.
I too have a Trance 2 for MTB which I enjoy riding apart from on the uphills (but that more me than the bike), I also have a Merida ebike for commuting, at some point I will probably try to get one bike that I can use for both Trail riding and commuting.
My mate has a Trek Powerfly FS7 which he raves about also Haibike, Bulls and Merida seem to make capable MTBs with quality components.
Ideally you should do a few demo rides if you can.

bob armani
3 weeks ago

Cartek-Thanks for your reply. I am finding that anyone with an ebike with a Brose' motor (ie:Bulls, Specialized, Easy Motion etc.) have the same report. 'The bike feels like a regular bike with oomph'. Interestingly, I have tested different bikes with the Bosch speed motor, and some of them perform differently than others (ie: Trek SuperCommutter8 vs Specialized Vado). I think it depends on how the motor was tuned by each mfg.

3 weeks ago

You’re right , the Riese and Muller bikes are beautiful and well made , thank you

Ravi Kempaiah
5 months ago

Lacuba E45 has a much bigger battery (650 vs 500 on the E2 street).
I would recommend the E2 street. You could make it ~50lbs if you change the front forks. You could run 12V Supernova M99 lights and you could carry an extra 400 or 500 powerpacks.
You could also look at Trek Xm700+ https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/electric-bikes/xm700/xm700/p/1982140-2018/?colorCode=black

5 months ago

Hi all, I am trying to narrow down the choices for a solid commuter and would greatly appreciate any input.

We had the opportunity to test ride BULLS six50 e2 street and lacuba e45 side by side, and they are both fantastic rides. From a brief test ride in a suburb they seem more or less equivalent, and spec-wise they are also similar. Do any of you have a word to put in for either?

These two bikes feel premium, and go for around $4k. My next question is if anyone had the opportunity to test ride any bike with similar characteristics (28mph, suspension) in a slightly lower segment, say $2.5-$3k, and have an opinion on the marginal value of the last $1000 invested?

For the record my commute is ~10mi one way, a few hundred feet up and down, paved but not super smooth. I do it on road bike, but want to save some time, my knees, and not be sweaty every day. I am willing to invest in a good commute, but I am really curious about what those last $1000 buys.


6 months ago

All right! I got the bicycle today!

I usually make my purchases online. After visiting several LBS in Seattle, they didn't seem to know much about their Stromer, Specialized and Trek e-bikes, which is very disconcerting since your spending several $k.

After stopping by Seattle Electric Bicycles, I met the owner, Stefan and his store staff. Stefan and the staff were extremely polite, knowledgeable and not pushy. I took a lot of their time w/ questions and test rides. After my experience there, I knew I was going to purchase my e-bike there and not online. They also happened to have a lot of great sales going on.

I decided on the Bulls Six50 E2 Street in 51 with a 20 cog (from 15) chainring upgraded on the front and a Body Float. The bike wasn't in stock and was special ordered.

The bicycle handles and rides great, especially with the Body Float. It's pretty zippy, even in the "tour mode", which is #2 of the 4 modes (eco, tour, sport, turbo). I'll have a better idea of the range later this week. As far as handling, it was great.

I'd strongly recommend anyone in the Seattle and surrounding areas check out Seattle Electric Bikes. They have really good selection of mid-drive and rear-drive bicycles.

Ravi Kempaiah
6 months ago

A 17" comfort frame ST2 would work well. The bike has massive range and power but it does have occasional electronic glitches. If there is a dealer willing to support you, you will immensely enjoy the bike.

Other options.
[*] http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/six50-e-2-street/ - $3800

[*]45cm https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/electric-bikes/super-commuter/super-commuter-8s/p/1367000-2018/?colorCode=red - $4999 ( I can imagine the standover height could be an issue here but lots of dealers to test it out)

[*]https://www.specialized.com/us/en/men/bikes/turbo/mensturbovado60/133868 (small frame size)

[*]https://raleighelectric.com/redux-ie-diamond-frame (small frame would work well)

Someone in Atlanta area got one from @andlee EBS at Electric Bike Specialists (http://www.electricbikespecialists.com/) and you can https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/2017-raleigh-redux-ie-install-lighting.13604/

Ravi Kempaiah
6 months ago

Happy to share my experience:

ST2 or ST2-S

Having put 20,000+ miles on this platform and many other bikes, I am always impressed by the quiet, solid and smooth drive feeling of the ST2.
If your commute involves long stretches of roads, ST2 will excel at it. It shines in the 23-26mph cruise zone. The range is massive and if your roads are in fairly good condition, then you will be very pleased with the whole experience.
The downside is the weight. It's like driving a Escalade SUV. It has its own inertia but once you get over it, it works fine. It's not super agile like 45lbs bike. If your commute involves a lot of stop-go traffic, you will find the lighter bikes are better.

Dail-E Grinder or Six50 E street

The Dail-E is light, fast and packs a lot of good componentry. BULLS recently reduced the price points on all their bikes, so that's a bonus. The Dail-E is light and makes it perfect for stop-go traffic and you can carry it up 10 stairs without much worry.
The Six50 E2 is a very nice commuter but any Bosch system needs more rider involvement and proper shifting technique to get the most out of it. It will also make you a better cyclist (if you not one already).
With a 500Whr battery, you can easily get 30-35 miles of range.
The componentry is decent. You may want to change the chainring from 15T to 20T (helps in maintaining higher top speed) and change the lights to Supernova M99 (makes a lot of difference). The stock front lights are inadequate. But, the brakes are excellent. The wheels are great and have never heard of people breaking spokes that you hear on some cheaper hub motor bikes.
The forks are heavy but do basic job in mitigating the effect of road imperfections. But, other than that, I can't think of any major negatives.

Overall, they are all very good quality bikes. If you have a dealer willing to back you up, you have really nothing major to worry about.

6 months ago

@i Kempaiah , I really enjoy your posts and videos. I'm looking at the Bulls Six50 e2 Street as a cheaper alternative commuter to the Dail-E Grinder. With your experience w/ the ST2 S and the Dail-e Grinder, what are your observations on the advantages and disadvantages of both?

David W
7 months ago

Yesterday when picking up a new Bulls Six50 E2 Street I was unable to set the bike into any assist modes, and the headlight wouldn't come on. The mechanic and I thought this was because the battery wasn't charged, so he loaned me the battery from their demo Six50 and everything worked OK during the test ride.

This morning, after a full 12 hour charge, the battery lights show full but the bike won't go into assist modes and the headlight doesn't come on. It's almost like the bike doesn't like that particular battery.

I tried calling the office in Lynwood CA (number found at http://www.whitepages.com/business/bulls-bikes-usa-lynwood-ca-2) and was told Tech Support is OOO until later today. Hoping that @BULLSBarney or @Adam@BULLSeBIKES is watching threads and can help, or someone on this forum can offer a suggestion.

11 months ago

They are 2 different motors, one 350w the other 500w - both are speed pedelecs, max 28mph. Both of the batteries are only 417wh - this is a little behind the bigger players (or a lot...) - bosch and yamaha motors now come with 500wh batteries, and bulls has a brose bike with 650wh batteries as well. Also, don't pay retail - shop around (local if possible and online) and negotiate a price you're comfortable with.

Check out these reviews - a little more money than the izip brand, but they are running the best motors in the business (transx is a known company, but not as established as bosch or brose):

Bulls six50 E2 Street:


Bulls Lacuba 45 (there is a normal high step version along with the step through Court reviewed):


Haibike also has a couple of treking and MTB Xduro 'S' versions that are 28mph as well - check out their website as Court hasn't reviewed any of this year's models yet.

...also and a new raleigh 28mph with a brose motor, though no suspension:


11 months ago

Really liked the BULLS SIX50 E2 Street but didn't have the budget for it:


11 months ago

BULLS Lacuba EVO 45 or the belt drive version EVO are really high-quality bikes built for heavy duty use. BULLS also has bigger battery (650Whr compared to 418whr on the izip) which means you can do a complete roundtrip commute without recharging at office. Lower the capacity, more charge cycles for the same distance. If you are going to be putting 20 miles everyday, we suggest you go with the higher capacity version. There are lots of benefits to this. One day if you just want to use the highest level of assist for your commute, you won't have worry about running out of charge and you won't have worry about upgrading your batteries for 2 more years.

BULLS is slightly on the heavier side (although not so much compared to izip).

I would also recommend you look at Six50 E2 street. This would be a better commuter bike than the 2 you mentioned.


12 months ago

Great site! Thanks to all of those involved.
I have some mid drive bikes in my compare bucket. It's rarely possible to test ride everything I'm interested in even tough I live in a major city (Chicago). That's the toughest part about having the desire to buy an electric bike. I couldn't possibly buy a bike I've never been on but with a little extra help I can certainly narrow it down. I would really appreciate some input from anyone that actually rides any of the following bikes:
Trek XM700+
Gazelle CityZen C8 HM
Walleräng M.01
Raleigh Misceo Sport IE
BULLS SIX50 E2 Street
Thank you in advance!

Richard Day
7 months ago

Got the bike love . Positive lifestyle change 76 miles in 3 days .Negative crappy seat crappy pedals very heavy bike. Where I live the battery only last about 60 o 70 miles.

David L
6 months ago

Richard Day I’m considering this bike. How do you like it so far? What does your commute look like?

Richard Day
8 months ago

I bought this bike it arrives on Tuesday.

Josh Amidon
1 year ago

I really like the looks of this bike. The only thing missing is the belt drive and a geared hub.

1 year ago

How many Nm do you recommend to climb a slope without getting tired?

Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

It really depends on how fast you want to go. I think most center drive bikes can handle hills with minimal effort if you use the right gearing.

Александр Осипов
1 year ago

Man, how to contact you?
I sent e-mails but didn't receive replies.
Could you tell the actual e-mail I can contact you?

1 year ago

Is it just me or do these e-bikes seem to be wayyyy to expensive!? I mean 4k for a pretty basic low end bike with and engine and battery strapped to it? So is the engine and the battery worth 3k!? That doesn't sound right tbh.

1 year ago

The bike is $3799 now (at least with us it is) and it's probably one of the best deals for a class 3 bike. The Bosch system is incredibly engineered, and the most reliable system in e-bikes. There's a lot of features under the hood that may not be known to the average consumer that make it cost a pretty penny, but in the long run you'll be glad you went a Bosch equipped bike over some of the cheaper options out there.

Todd Wall
1 year ago

The bike itself reminds me of my Hardrock 29er.....I wish NYS was more ebike friendly. I'd never drive a car again.

Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

I totally hear you Todd. At the moment it could be argued both ways that's why we are trying to get a law passed. If there was a case to set precedence it could help. We recently had some cases in NYC setting precedence for electric assist. Hopefully we see a law pass this session and we won't need to go to court to get some legal action.

Todd Wall
1 year ago

I live on the Western most part of the state, about an hour southwest of Buffalo. The statewide law is vague, so most cops would likely confiscate the bike and ticket you. Unlike NYC, smaller cities and towns' police have nothing better to do than harass cyclists. I'd so love to use ebikes because of the ease of parking, no insurance, no gas, no registration, no headaches. Except for the pesky illegality part. :( Thanks for responding. I just saw your video on the bike shop in Brooklyn. Informative.

Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

I too hope that NYS was more ebike friendly, but we are definitely making progress. I think we have real potential of seeing a law pass this year. It'd number 2 on DOT's agenda and I think we are beginning to win over the City which has been the biggest issue historically.

1 year ago

Great bike, a little outa my price range =)

1 year ago

Nice way to say it... there's a big gap between the $1,500 and these $4k bikes but you get a lot of quality and cool gadgets for the price leap :)

1 year ago

Good review court. Would you happen to know if the BBSHD motor would be compatible with an average one speed BMX style bike ?.

I have a mongoose beast that I was thinking about converting and, I had the BBSHD in mind.

1 year ago

ElectricBikeReview.com THANKS.

1 year ago

That sounds pretty cool... I've never seen an electrified BMX but don't see why it wouldn't work. Just keep in mind that the wheels are smaller diameter so your ground clearance might be less

Tim Standaert
1 year ago

Anal cam lol.

Suaik Miedique
1 year ago

Rancho Palos Verdes. What, does Fernando live at his mom's?

1 year ago

Ha! I believe they rent a house in that area because they have kids and want to be close to schools and in a beautiful safe neighborhood. I love it there to be honest. Do you know them Suaik?

John Moura
1 year ago

Nice looking bike - - Great review!

David L
6 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com would you recommend this bike vs. Stromer for commute?

1 year ago

Thanks John! I thought this one was really cool, had some of the Stromer qualities like speed and solid build but I like the suspension fork addition and appreciate the mid-drive for efficiency :)

Rob Pennefather
1 year ago

Hi Court, nice review as always. Can you give me your opinion on what torque differences in motors means.

Does more torque equal more power? More torque = more oomph? I live in Australia where we are restricted to 250 watt motors, but some have 60, some 70 to 75, and the new Impulse Evo and Bosch CX have 80 NMs.

1 year ago

Hi Rob, I'd think of it as the force of the motor... so not how fast but how much it could pull or push up a hill and maybe the zip from standstill. I'd welcome others to chime in as well. Some people try to separate motor torque vs. torque at the wheel and I'm guessing that would change on a mid-drive depending on the gear chosen.