Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S Review

Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Electric Bike Review
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 8fun 650 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 48 Volt Lithium Ion Battery Pack Removable Two Bottle Cage Mounts
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Clean Handlebar Trigger Throttle On Left
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Velo Ergonomic Grips Liandian Lcd Display
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Sr Suntour Nex Coil Suspension Fork With Lockout
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S External Wiring And Cables For Serviceability
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes With 180 Mm Rotors
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 9 Speed Shimano Altus Drivetrain
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Custom Rear Rack With Rear Reflector
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Selle Royal Lookin Gel Saddle
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Electric Bike Review
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 8fun 650 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 48 Volt Lithium Ion Battery Pack Removable Two Bottle Cage Mounts
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Clean Handlebar Trigger Throttle On Left
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Velo Ergonomic Grips Liandian Lcd Display
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Sr Suntour Nex Coil Suspension Fork With Lockout
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S External Wiring And Cables For Serviceability
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes With 180 Mm Rotors
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 9 Speed Shimano Altus Drivetrain
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Custom Rear Rack With Rear Reflector
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Selle Royal Lookin Gel Saddle

Summary

  • A high-speed, feature complete, value priced electric bike that comes in four frame sizes, high-step and mid-step frame style, and three colors
  • Relatively comfortable thanks to fatter tires, a suspension fork with compression slider and lockout, Velo ergonomic grips, and a Selle Royal gel saddle
  • Full-length plastic fenders with mud flaps and a custom rear rack with pannier hangers, blockers, and bungee loops add utility but also stay fairly quiet
  • Heavier than I expected at ~57.4 lbs but the powerful 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes also include motor inhibitors to cut power instantly, multiple battery size options let you go further, custom-tuned geared motor is compact but powerful, smooth, and quiet

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Juiced Bikes

Model:

CrossCurrent S

Price:

$1,699

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Battery, 2 Year Mechanical, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20172018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

57.4 lbs (26.03 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg) (11.3 lb for 17.4 and 21.0)

Motor Weight:

8.4 lbs (3.81 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)18 in (45.72 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)22 in (55.88 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

High-Step 16.5: 16.5" Seat Tube, 23" Reach, 28.5" Stand Over Height, 27.25" Width, 74" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Brushed Aluminum, Gloss Red, Matte Black

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour NEX Coil Suspension, 63 mm Travel, Compression Adjust with Lockout, 100 mm Hub Length, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

138 mm Hub Length (142 Dropout), 10 mm Threaded Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Two Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 Shimano Altus Derailleur, 11-32T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano Altus Mega-Lite Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Prowheel Forged Alloy Cranks, 175 mm Length, 52 Tooth Chainring, Alloy Outer Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

Neco, Sealed Cartridge, Threaded 1-1/8"

Stem:

Promax, 80 mm Length, 7° Rise, 31.8 mm Handlebar Clamp

Handlebar:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy, Low-Rise, 680 mm Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Dual Piston Calipers, Tektro 3-Finger Levers with Motor Inhibitors and Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Velo Ergonomic Grips, Locking

Saddle:

Selle Royal Lookin Gel

Seat Post:

Promax Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Stars, Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 36 Hole, Reinforcement Eyelets, Flat Black

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge Rear Spokes, 13 Gauge Front Spokes, Black with Adjustable Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda K1088, 28" x 1-5/8" x 1-3/4" (700x45c)

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

50 to 85 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Bikeman Plastic Fenders with Rubber Mud Flaps, Custom Alloy Rack with Pannier Hangers (25kg / 55 lb Max Weight), Integrated Custom LED Headlight (1050 Lumens), Independent Selle Royal Saddle Connection Backlight, Optional 20 mph Speed Limiter for Class 2 (Canada, Australia), Optional 8 Amp Quick Charger from Grin Technologies ($299, Only for Big Battery Options)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 2 Amp Charger, 15 Amp Controller Output, 20 Amp Pure Sine Wave Controller, Threaded Sealed Electronic Connectors

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

650 watts

Motor Peak Output:

960 watts

Battery Brand:

LG 18650

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

12.8 ah (Optional 17.4 or 21.0)

Battery Watt Hours:

614.4 wh (Optional 835.2 or 1008)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

100 miles (161 km)

Display Type:

Liandian, Fixed, Monochrome, Matrix LCD

Readouts:

Voltage, Battery Capacity (9 Bars), Current Speed, Assist Level (Eco, 1, 2, 3, Sport), Watts, Odometer, (Advanced Menu: Amps, Watt Hours, Amp Hours, Temperature)

Display Accessories:

Integrated Button Pad (Power, +, -), Hold + for Lights, Hold - for Walk Mode, Hold + and - for Settings, Press Power and + for Advanced Menu

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (TMM4 Torque Sensor, High Definition Hall Cadence Sensor)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph) (20 MPH Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Juiced Bikes began as an ebike conversion battery company way back in 2009 but quickly branched into unique long-range cargo bikes and eventually went mainstream with a cruiser, a fat bike and line of active city bikes called CrossCurrent. The CrossCurrent S is their premium model with all the bells and whistles you need to transport cargo, stay dry, and be seen. For this review, I was able to meet with the founder of Juiced, Tora Harris, and pick his brain about the different hardware choices and performance of the product. He explained that the CrossCurrent Air is the most affordable but basic, the standard CrossCurrent is a good value but also brings comfort and improved performance, and they were getting feedback from customers who were trying to add their own lights, fenders, and racks… so they decided to find the best accessories they could, and boost motor power from 500 watts to 650 watts nominal, and call it the S. Perhaps that stands for Speed or Sport, the display system also has an S in it and that’s the highest power mode. What stood out to me about this particular electric bike is that it can be had in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step or an easier to approach mid-step that maybe isn’t quite as stiff and doesn’t have bottle cage bosses), and three colors. I got to test ride and film the Small high-step in brushed Aluminum… but the classic Red and Black are good options too. I love how the fenders, rack, rims, spokes, motor casing, chainring guard, and battery pack are all black and thoughtfully sized and attached. The rear fender, for example, connects with a pair of struts and an anchor beneath the rack. The rack has a flat plate on top so trunk bags won’t sag or slide to one side or another, and it has standard-gauge pannier clip rods, blockers, and bungee loops at the base. There’s a sense that details have been scrutinized with this product, there are hardware parts that I have never seen on other bikes, and they make sense. A good example of this is the combined torque + cadence sensor which provides a smooth, fluid feel vs. an on/off feel. Tora told me that they use a “high resolution” 104 sensor design to measure cadence vs. the 10 or 12 magnet bottom bracket designs I usually see on cheap e-bikes. Juiced put the sensor near the rear wheel and allows you to completely disable torque sensing by using the display panel (enter settings by holding + and – simultaneously) which would allow you to pedal without force to activate the motor… a neat feature for people with sensitive knees. Of course, you can override pedal assist with the trigger throttle at all times and be propelled up to 20 mph. If you pedal, the bike can reach ~28 mph in S mode. For those who do not wish to go so fast, either to conserve power or feel safer, you can set a maximum top speed. In this review, I was able to dig deep into the product because I had the founder of the company, and the designer of the bike (who is a mechanical and aerospace engineer who graduated from Princeton) on hand. In some ways, that’s not fair to other reviews that I do on my own. There are a lot of great products out there and I found many cons or “considerations” with this bike such as no slap guard or chain keeper, a heavier footprint at ~57 lbs for the small, and slightly messier looking externally routed cables. But even that choice, Tora said was made to facilitate easier maintenance. This is an electric bike that you can find at some independent dealers, but Juiced also sells direct. I performed this review at the Electric Bicycle Center in Fullerton during an open house event and the owner, Sam Townsend, has stocked Juiced products for many years and provided his feedback about quality. In 2017, Juiced Bikes did have some issues with their newer CrossCurrent Air and OceanCurrent but the comprehensive one-year warranty and incremental updates to hardware design seem to have resolved that. Tora speaks multiple languages including Mandarin, and spends a lot of time at their factory in China making sure the details are correct. In short, this is one of my top pics for a value priced, do-everything, sort of bike… as long as you don’t mind the physical weight and possibly a time wait too because the product was backordered at the time of this review.

Powering the Cross Current S is a planetary geared hub motor spoked into the rear wheel with thicker 12 gauge spokes. The front wheel uses 13 Gauge spokes, which is still thicker than average, and Tora explained that this was a design choice made to support the higher speed and power of the bikes. The hub motor is apparently custom specced by Juiced and built by 8Fun (the in-house brand from Bafang). It offers 650 watts of nominal power vs. 500 watts on the other CrossCurrent models, and can peak around 960 watts. Visually, it is surprisingly compact and almost hidden behind the 9-speed cassette on the starboard side and 180 mm disc brake rotor on the port side of the bike (right and left sides respectively). You can definitely hear some electronic whirring noises as speed and power are increased. It’s on-par with other geared hub motors I have tested and 8Fun is a brand I know and trust… at least as a mid-level supplier. The benefits of a geared hub are lighter weight, smaller size, and independence from the pedaling systems. You won’t have to worry as much about chain, sprocket, and derailleur wear as shifting gears is independent of the motor. You can even sit back, not pedal, and use the throttle alone to get going or stay moving. Tora explained that in pedal assist mode, you can reach a desired speed and hold the minus key on the control pad to activate cruise control, and the bike will go all on its own. At least until you pull one of the brake levers. Both of them have motor inhibitors which instantly cut power to the drive system. It’s a nice feature to see here considering that a lot of torque or multi-sensing electric bikes are now foregoing this feature. It adds a bit of clutter to the wires at the front of the bike, but I’m glad it’s there. And the brakes are hydraulic, which tend to be easier to actuate and have adjustable levers for smaller or gloved hands. One sensitivity I have about the drive system is that the power cable running to the motor protrudes a bit on the right side near the dropout. This is not at all uncommon, but it could get bent or snagged here vs. being tucked in. I have seen metal derailleur guards used on some electric bikes to shield the derailleur, shifter cable, and motor cables like this, but Juiced does not include that. They do however, offer special tools to help you remove the rear wheel if you need to fix a flat. And this is another area where some improvements could be made. The stock tires seemed average because they do not have reflective sidewall stripes or puncture protection. Juiced does sell upgrades and you can find your own pretty affordably online, I’ve had good experiences with the Schwalbe Marathon Plus, but you’ll still have to install them yourself. At least with the brushed Aluminum paint job, you have a more visible bike even without upgraded tires.

Powering the bike and an ugly but capable 1,000 lumen headlight is one of three battery options! They’re all 48 volts but offer 12.8 amp hours, 17.4 ah or 21.0 ah depending on how much you want to spend. Weight jumps up quite a bit from the stock 7.4 lb pack to something like 11.3 lbs for the larger ones. I like how these packs seat into the downtube, keeping weight low and centered across the frame. And I appreciate the little LED readout for charge level, the sleek handle rod thing on the left side (useful for carrying the battery after it’s off), and I would appreciate the USB charging port on the right side of the pack… if it weren’t disabled. This is one of the finicky sides of the “custom everything” Juiced approach. Tora said he wasn’t happy with the USB ports because he believed that they sometimes allowed the battery to drain slowly when not in use (which can damage the cells) and that some owners of older Juiced products felt that their phones might have been damaged. Whatever the reasons, this port is disabled, which is a bummer considering how much juice is in some of the packs! My other gripe has to do with the charging port location. It’s low and on the left side of the frame which is very close to the left crank arm. This could lead to a snag, tipped bike, and bent charging cord plug. Again, this charging port location, and even the sometimes-difficult rubber cover, is commonly found on electric bikes and in many ways it’s a minor issue. The stock charger puts out a very average 2 Amps which can fill the stock pack in ~6 hours, and the settings menu actually allows you to set a cutoff voltage value for the pack so it won’t undercharge and stress the cells. Apparently the default is 40 volts. This is neat, it’s the kind of thing that also exists with other e-bike systems but that you don’t get access to. Juiced is working with Grin technologies and sells their fancier 8 Amp charger as an upgrade, for those who want extra speed and control when filling the larger batteries.

Operating the CrossCurrent S is intuitive once you find the power button. Juiced Bikes is using an LCD display panel that I have never seen before this review and the on/off rubber button is behind the screen vs. in front where you could see it when looking down. Here, you have a + and – key to raise and lower assist levels from Eco, 1, 2, 3, and S. In any of those levels, and at all times when the bike has been powered on, the throttle is active. And as mentioned before, it gives you full power! So please, be careful not to bump that throttle, pay close attention when you stop the bike to actually turn it off before dismounting or moving it. Keep one hand on the brake to activate that motor inhibitor as another safety precaution. With great power comes great responsibility and I wouldn’t have this throttle design any other way because I love blasting off from stop signs and traffic signals by using the throttle… but I have also had more than one occasion where the bike lurched forward accidentally when I forgot that it was turned on and bumped the throttle. Some other useful tips for this display and control layout are that you can hold the + button to turn on the headlight, hold the – button to activate a slow walk-mode which helps to move a heavily loaded bike, a bike with a flat tire, or just get you up a hill without having to push. If you hold the + and power button, a special “advanced” screen turns on and shows you more technical readouts. I was pretty happy with the default screen which has a 9-bar battery infographic which is much more precise than the usual 4-bar or 5-bar readouts. Assist level, speed, and trip stats are show well but the display is a bit compact and could be difficult for some riders to see. It does not swivel forward and back to reduce glare like many larger center-mounted displays, and it is not removable. This means that it will take more weather wear and scratches at racks over time. But, Juiced has opted for threaded connectors with rubber washers to make screen and brake inhibitor replacement easy… and to keep out water and just hold up better over time.

In conclusion, I love what Juiced has done with this product. I hope it doesn’t have the little issues that some CrossCurrent Air and OceanCurrent models die. It’s great to hear that they updated their packaging to offer more protection, and that you only have to mount the front wheel (which uses quick release) if you order this and receive it direct from the company vs. a shop. For me, it was a delighter to see two bottle cage bosses on the high-step frame, but it sounds like this is not present on the step-thru. I would love to have an integrated rear light (like the headlight which runs off the battery pack) but at least they give you a clip-on saddle mounted light. I mentioned earlier that to me, the headlight is a bit ugly, but it’s also mounted to the suspension post arch, the part of the suspension that goes up and down vs. the head tube or handlebars which are steadied, and this could lead to bouncier lighting and possibly loosening of the light over time. It could be a non-issue, especially on smooth terrain, but it’s something I think about given the speed of the bike and my own tendency to ride across grass and packed dirt trails on occasion. Not only has Juiced Bikes made a lot of great choices on the hardware for this product, they invented new solutions to fit the utility and pricing goals set out. This is still what I would consider to be an affordably priced electric bike at under $2k given all of the accessories. You could certainly buy the CrossCurrent Air and suffer without suspension, but adding your own fenders, rack, lights etc. probably won’t look as good or work as well as this… and not everyone wants to get their hands dirty or spend their free time setting stuff up verses enjoying it. With the addition of a decent seat post suspension like the Suntour NCX, I could see myself enjoying this product and getting to work more quickly and more enjoyably than by car. The long-range batteries make it possible and the reasonable price makes me more willing to deal with scratches and wear than a super-fancy $3k+ electric bike (of which there are many). Big thanks to Tora for partnering with me on this review, meeting me at the special ebike event, and being willing to take some direct questions about quality and design. He’s a smart, honest guy from what I can tell and his company seems to be growing a lot since the early days in 2013 when I first saw his products.

Pros:

  • I feel that this bike offers incredible value, whether you get the stock battery or upgrade, you always have a rack, fenders, lights, and a solid year-long warranty from a company that has been around since 2009
  • Juiced Bikes tends to refine their products over time, even throughout the season, and I noticed with the CrossCurrent S that electrical connectors were threaded with rubber seals for better durability and water protection, the seat tube is one inch lower to accommodate seat post suspension units (which add ~3 inches of height”
  • So many electric bikes have mid-mounted kickstands that get in the way of the left crank arm (and there is a mounting plate on this bike if you want that, or maybe add a double-leg kickstand like this, aftermarket), but I like how the CrossCurrent S has a more rear mounted stand by default, it is positioned far enough back to stay clear but not so far that it sticks out the back or gets in the way of the disc brake caliper mount, the stand itself is adjustable length and seemed higher quality
  • Unique and functional rear rack with pannier rods and blockers, a bungee loop at the base, and a flat plate on top for supporting a trunk bag like this
  • I almost couldn’t believe that the high-step Cross Current S has two sets of bottle cage bosses?! More and more ebikes are adding these, but so many bikes only have room for one set and I think they are very useful for putting a mini-pump, folding lock, or easily accessible liquids without having to buy and load up a bag, note that their mid-step frame does not have room for these bosses
  • Available in four frame sizes, high-step and accessible mid-step frame styles, as well as three sporty colors! I like the brushed Aluminum silver look but red is fun and the black will mesh with the wires and battery a bit nicer
  • The combination of battery size options and high-speed Class 3 ~28 mph pedal assist performace as well as throttle override makes this bike versatile, functional for commuters, and just plain fun… go for a larger pack if you plan on riding fast frequently because air really resistance cuts into range above 20 mph
  • You get a 1,000 lumen integrated LED headlight stock! that’s nice for utility and safety, a lot more convenient than an aftermarket light that you have to remember to turn on/off or risk getting stolen because it’s not bolted down
  • The 8Fun hub motor used here was custom specced by Juiced Bikes and offers a whopping 650 to 960 watts of power, even though the casing is so small and compact, I was really impressed with how fluid and powerful it felt (though I only weigh ~135 lbs), it did feel like an upgrade over the standard CrossCurrent which uses a 500 watt motor
  • The plastic fenders used on this bike are wide, have flexible rubber flaps at the ends, and didn’t rattle as much as I had expected because they have additional struts and attachment points (specifically, on the rear rack for the rear fender)
  • I didn’t get to see the rear light, but apparently it comes with and clips into the Selle Royal saddle, this is nice to have but be careful that your long shirt or coat doesn’t drape down over it, or that you forget to turn it off because it’s an independent light vs. the headlight which is wired in, it’s nice that you get two lights here but consider adding a light to the back of your backpack, helmet, or trunk bag like this that clips on
  • The bike rode comfortably because of the slightly fatter tires, suspension fork (with compression slider and lockout), ergonomic locking grips from Velo, and the name-brand gel saddle from Selle Royale, consider swapping out the seat post with a 27.2 mm suspension post from Suntour or BodyFloat for added comfort on your back and neck, and maybe a ShockStop stem for your wrists and arms if you ride fast and travel on a lot of bumpy terrain or are just sensitive like me
  • In recent years, it seems like more brands are foregoing motor inhibitors on their brake levers… because fancier sensor systems, the Juiced CrossCurrent S does have a torque + cadence sensor and yet they also still include motor inhibitors for an added level of control over the bike, the levers also provide adjustable reach which is nice if you have smaller hands or wear gloves sometimes
  • The bike felt really solid, notice the reinforcement eyelets on the rims so they don’t crack, and the slightly thicker 12 and 13 gauge spokes, the larger BMX style alloy platform pedals which feel stiff and won’t let you slip off as easily, I appreciate the black rims, spokes, and motor casing that all match and just look more refined and polished
  • The drivetrain is pretty good for a value priced electric bike, nine speeds with a lower-end Shimano Altus derailleur (but not the lowest) and you a stronger chain, trigger shifters with a double-click downshifter, and a sturdy alloy chain guard to protect the massive 52 tooth chainring and keep your pants clear and clean
  • I love that Juiced Bikes offers an optional 8 Amp battery charger because the larger packs would otherwise take 7+ hours with the standard 2 Amp charger
  • There are nine ticks on the battery infographic which is more than the standard 4 or 5 I usually see, and this provides more insight into how full the battery actually is, the finer increments give you like ~11% jumps vs. 25% or 20%
  • If you have to walk the bike (like if you’ve got the rack loaded with groceries, the terrain gets bumpy, or maybe you get a flat tire) the walk mode becomes very useful, this is a ~57 lb e-bike after all! Just hold the minus button on the control pad to activate it
  • It’s neat that you can adjust so much in the settings menu of this electric bicycle, just hold the + and – buttons to enter settings and then choose the top speed (you could lower it from 28 to 20 mph for efficiency or safety), power limit, even have the ability de-activate the torque sensor so you only have to turn the cranks and not push in order to activate assist, and you can also set the low voltage cutoff to save the battery from completely discharging (the default is 40 volts according to Tora
  • Apparently, the cadence sensor is built into the rear torque plate and has 104 measure points vs. just 12 on most ebikes, the cadence and torque sensors on this bike make it very responsive and fluid feeling

Cons:

  • The shifter cables, electrical wires, and hydraulic brake lines are all tacked onto the bottom of the downtube vs. internally routed, this means the bike isn’t as clean looking and there’s a bit more potential for snags but Tora explained that it makes their products much easier to service
  • I have heard from some customers in 2017 that the Juiced CrossCurrent Air and OceanCurrent arrived with some issues… but I asked Tora about this on camera and I though this response was very honest and aware, he said they have improved their packaging and are are working to resolve and eliminate this sort of thing in the future (issues had to do with shifter cables, disc brake mount consistency, and maybe a crank/bottom bracket thing)
  • As nice as the light is, the design is a bit less stylish than the rounded Aluminum-cased Supernova and Spanninga lights I have seen, it is also mounted to the suspension post arch which travels up and down… the light is not suspended on the bike and therefore may bounce as you travel over rough terrain
  • Apparently the 5 Volt USB A port near the top right side of the battery pack has been disabled, I asked Tora about this and he said there had been concerns about phantom power draw and they wanted to protect the cells… as a consumer, this would have been nice to have if it could be made to work, USB ports are handy for charging phones, lights, and music players while on the go, or used for backup power when parked at home if the lights go out or something
  • The tires seemed kind of basic to me… no puncture protective lining or reflective sidewall stripes, consider upgrading to something like the Schwalbe Marathon Plus eventually if you’re into that, changing a flat on an ebike is no fun and only the front wheel offers quick release
  • The CrossCurrent S is heavy, at 57.4 lbs for the smaller 16.5″ frame (which I tested and weighed) you can really tell that the larger battery, coil fork, and overbuilt rack add weight… but at least the battery and front wheel are removable
  • Minor consideration, there’s inner chain guide plate or chain catcher so it sounds like over time if the derailleur goes out of tune, you could have the chain drop off occasionally, Tora said there wasn’t room for a chain guide because of the shorter “RC” or chainstay lengths which make the bike handle quicker and feel more nimble vs. a long stretched out bike
  • Take extra care when charging the battery while it’s mounted to the bike frame because the charging port is located very close to the left crank arm and could be snagged or bent if the pedals got turned, also, the rubber cap that covers the charging port on this type of pack can sometimes be difficult to seat (though it was not for this particular model during my review)
  • Minor complaint, there’s no slap guard on the right chainstay! Tora said they might add it in the future when I pointed this out during the video, note that you can use clear masking tape or buy a sticker slap guard inexpensively online like this, if you have the red or black frame, nicks from the chain might appear silver because of the Aluminum underneath as the paint chips over time in this spot
  • As with most planetary geared hub motors, there was some electronic whirring noise produced when the motor was really working, I wouldn’t call it especially loud but it does deliver higher speeds and more power than average so the sound can become noticeable (as shown in the video review ride test above)

Resources:

More Juiced Bikes Reviews

Juiced Bikes OceanCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable high-speed cruiser electric bike, available in traditional cantilever high-step or relaxed mid-step for easy mounting, choice of five fun colors including traditional black or red. Excellent frame balance, the downtube battery keeps weight low and center, the compact hub motor…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Air Review

  • MSRP: $1,195
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable speed pedelec with high-definition cadence sensor, mechanical disc brakes and a nine-speed Shimano Altus drivetrain, it's well balanced and relatively light weight. Removable battery and quick release front wheel make it easier to lock securely and fill-up…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An affordably priced speed pedelec that's well balanced, not too heavy and available in three frame sizes for a good fit, you can also upgrade the battery size. Comes stock with a powerful 48 volt battery but lower 7.8 amp hours, uses a…...

Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

A sturdy, high torque, cargo style electric bike with enormous range thanks to a 48 volt 15 amp hour battery pack with premium Panasonic Lithium-ion cells. Powerful 500 watt internally geared front hub motor by 8Fun, benefits from a smaller wheel…...

Juiced Bikes ODK U500 Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

A sturdy, thoughtfully designed cargo bike with a low center of gravity that's easy to mount and handle. Super strong 500 watt front hub motor paired with 48 volt Lithium Manganese battery pack...


Dewey
5 months ago

Thank you Court for describing the features and improvements over the earlier models. I think it would be helpful to mention the user can change power settings in the LCD display between Class 2, 3 and an “off-road mode” that on pavement can propel the Cross Current S to over 30mph as illustrated in their promotional video. Without a VIN number an ebike usually cannot be registered or titled at the DMV and would not be insurable, so even if it were legal to ride on the street >30mph a rider may still be in violation of state motor vehicle code/traffic/driving regulations that were written to require mopeds and motorcycles meet federal motor vehicle safety standards, be titled, registered, and insured, in order to be legally operable on street.

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

Interesting, we only talked about the 28 mph to 20 mph (or lower) adjustability. Thanks for the clarification that this bike can go even faster in some cases and that they have some great video resources. It was neat to speak directly with Tora and I am wishing them the best with these new models and shipping process.

Reply
John G.
5 months ago

I’m probably going to go for this model once I have saved the necessary funds, as it seems like the perfect commuter/weekend joyrider ebike, and I love the colors and shape. However, you would think an eight-year-old company that has been in the ebike game for quite some time now would have the means of meeting customer demand in a much more timely fashion, and not have people willing to fork over nearly $2000 of their hard-earned money waiting for two to three months for their bike. Essentially, Juiced should have had many more times the available stock of CC-S models than were ordered prior to their August 2017 delivery. As it stands now, an order placed today is slated (liberally) for delivery in November. Other ebike manufacturers are offering very similar products available on-demand. I work for a small company, but we must have millions of dollars of credit available to us so that we can purchase against our future invoiced services. It boggles my mind that Juiced isn’t ordering at least twice as many bikes as have been ordered. I suspect that they will HAVE to do this in the future. I met a stranger a few weeks ago who’d been on an ebike research campaign very similar to my own, and we independently arrived at the CC-S as the ideal bike, and but for the multiple-month period (Fall being PRIME biking weather in the mid-Atlantic), it very much is. C’mon Juiced, get your shipping/stocking issues together!

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

I hear you John… and it must be frustrating to see that demand (from Juiced Bike’s perspective) but not meet it. Maybe they are being cautious due to some of the issues on the CrossCurrent Air and OceanCurrent models? Maybe Tora doesn’t want to take on debt or investors? Difficult to say, but I have found myself choosing other products based on availability before, even if the bike isn’t as good, at least I can enjoy it while the weather is good etc. I’m wishing them the best of luck and feel that their designs and product choices are great as you and your friend thought as well.

Reply
Dennis Lee
4 months ago

So if one purchases a Concurrent S at $1700 for November delivery does it get charged to ones credit card prior to delivery; also is it drop shipped from the asian chinese factory to the customer directly or is it first delivered to Juiced Bikes for quality control and inspection to make sure that the electric bike meets Juiced Bikes quality assurance standards and if not what is to prevent the asian chinese factory from shipping and/or swapping electric bicycles when Tora Harris is not at the asian chinese factory; these are all really important kinds and types of questions that need to be answered before plunking down $1700 for basically a custom asian Chinese manufactured bicycle made for Juiced Bikes?

Dennis Lee
4 months ago

So if one currently purchases a potential Concurrent S at $1,700 with the default 12.8ah 13 serial banks with its accompanying associated 4 parallel banked 18650(3,200mah core cells) fifty-two combined 18650 cells battery option that one cannot also even currently purchase the substantially larger and better quality 17.0ah 13 serial banks with its accompanying assoicated 6 parallel banked 18650(2,833mah core cells) seventy-eight combined 18650 cells battery option currently for an additional $300; and also that one cannot also even currently purchase the even the still substantially larger 21.0ah 13 serial banks with its accompanying associated 6 parallel banked 18650(3,500mah core cells) seventy-eight combined 18650 cells battery option currently for an additional $700;

now hopefully it does not also take four months potentially for the asian chinese factories to build and manufacture enough batteries for potential Juiced Bikes customers considering buying into the Concurrent S electric bike option; one has to realistic generally figure that a potential Juiced Bikes electric bike customer would want one electric bike battery pack to make it to their destination and another potential electric bike battery pack to make it back for the return leg electric bike trip; especially on those longer mileage weekend electric biking touring excursion trips one is undoubtedly potentially planning on making.

Tora Harris
4 months ago

Yes we did order 2x as many and we could have ordered more. We demand that the bike uses several specialized components that are hard to get. We also use specialized processes that take a long time.

It takes almost 4 months to get the bike to the customer from the time we order all the parts. So there is a massive lag time. We can choose the domestically available parts to dramatically speed up the lead times, but the bike would not be the same.

As far as the quality. First of all, the design needs to be fundamentally sound, It then needs to be serviceable and then balance that with being attractive. Then we can start talking about quality. On top of this we think a lot about backwards and forwards compatibility as well as cross compatibility between models.

Just about every bike is made in China or Taiwan. Some bikes are assembled in other places, but the parts are still coming from the same suppliers at the moment. Assembly can only be as good as the parts arriving. So we often have to drill backwards in the supply and find out where bottlenecks are happening. We have to find out if we increase the demand, how is everyone keeping up?

All of this means that there will be some delay initially when we transition from the CC to the CCS. The delay will get shorter and shorter until finally you can just swipe your card and walk away with one.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Great feedback and insights Tora, thanks for chiming in, keep up the great work and innovation :)

John
4 weeks ago

Ordered/bought mine 12/24/17, received it 1/4/18 by UPS. Love it and already have over 200 miles on it, just do it.

Reply
Court Rye
4 weeks ago

Awesome! Thanks for sharing this testimonial John, so glad that you got it relatively quickly and are enjoying it :D

John G.
4 weeks ago

John – Thanks for the advice. It so happens that I bought mine in November, and I received it in very early January. I rode it briefly the day after, but this weekend saw the first pleasant weather we’ve had in a few weeks, and I got in about 35 miles over Saturday and Sunday afternoons. It rides like a dream. I’ve been proselytizing about it everywhere I go, and especially when I see another ebike-user (in a road-legal context), I’m sure to overtake them and outrun them. Quite fun! My understanding is that Juiced is now offering a very fast response to orders for the CCS, and I hope to see more of them out there. I work as support staff in a well-known Government scientific research facility populated by thousands of engineers, physicists, geologists, etc. , and I am hoping to be an informal ambassador for Juiced and ebikes in general for these folks.

Bill L
5 months ago

Over the summer we researched the Ebikes and watched so many of your reviews which gave us a sense of what’s available and what questions to ask. Locally, test drove many of the big name Ebikes. We were disappointed in the power and uneven delivery power. SO, In the end, we decided to buy the CrossCurrent S sight unseen. We watched all of Tora’s videos which gave us a good idea what to expect.

The most important point you made in the review is the combination of the “Torque sensor and high resolution cadence sensor” providing a smooth bike like ride which is so true. Also, the bike is really quiet. I believe your camera microphone was picking up more sound than what you’re really hearing in person. The bike is actually fairly quiet. My wife and I ordered two bikes in mid July. They had plenty bikes sizes and colors to choose from. Tora is making a feature rich bike that people want at an affordable price. I think there sales have recently mushroomed.

Our CrossCurrent S arrived today. It took me about 30+ minutes (each) to assemble them. It was a fairly straight forward process. This evening my wife and I chased each other up some steep grades in our Colorado neighborhood. It was a real blast. Our first impression is an “A” for awesome. I appreciate your advice here at EBR. You were a big help.

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Bill! Thanks for expanding on how fluid and quiet the drive system is. I agree that the torque and cadence combination really produces a sweet ride. I visit Colorado frequently, there are indeed some steep grades if you’re in the foothills or mountains. So glad my work here has helped out out, thank you so much for chiming in to share… and you are invited to continue sharing as the products are used long-term and more insights pop up :)

Reply
Nick
5 months ago

Your reviews are incredibly helpful and I am highly impressed by the quality and price of the CrossCurrent S! One feature I would like to learn more about is the available option” of GPS Integration for the Super and Hyper Extended Battery Packs, allowing the owner to track the bikes location and recover it if stolen. This sounds amazing! Could you comment more on this and let folks know if this feature is included automatically with the extended batteries, needing only activation, or is it a feature that must be requested at the time of purchase, and how does that process work?

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Nick, I just heard back from Tora about the GPS thing and he said: “The GPS system is the same one that we use on some of our delivery e-bikes. Because we make our own battery packs we made room to fit the GPS module inside the battery. Sorry we just have not had enough time to promote it, but all the big battery packs have the hardware connection to do it already. The GPS has a SIM card and sends data over the cell network. It send live updates of the location every min when the bike is moving. You can see this information on a map in real time. It also has an app. You can set geo fence notifications, speed limit notification, motion trigger notification. You can find the bike if it gets stolen since it pinpoints like down to 10 feet. The Cost is not set yet, but in the $200 something dollar upgrade. You get one year free monitoring, with unlimited notifications. After the first year its 5 bucks a month.” Hope that helps! Great question Nick :)

Reply
Ken H
3 months ago

Court, In your video and review you listed the weight of the 16.5″ step over, with the standard 12.8Ah battery, as 57.4 lbs. The Juiced specifications list the total weight as 52.5 lbs. Can you explain the discrepency?

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Ken! I’m not sure how Juiced measures their own bikes but I use a hand scale (the same scale for all reviews) and measure twice to make sure. I always measure with the battery pack on the bike, perhaps they measure with it off? Maybe someone else who owns the bike can chime in, or perhaps they made some changes to the model since I covered it?

Reply
Ken H
3 months ago

Thanks Court. I think they just have their specs wrong. They stated they would double check and update them, so I suspect the 57.4 lbs you measured is probably close if not correct.

Pierre
1 month ago

I have to chime in that largely, I am drawn to ebikes as a means of reducing the number of cars on the road. A bicycle – I feel – is a great fix to some ills of humanity and the enduring form factor of the bicycle confirms that it serves a human need to move faster, efficiently and enjoyably. I call attention to this as I don’t know a great deal about the underlying technology and its evolution. But the device-human interface of the Crosscurrent S is superb. Tora’s firm has made a low-price-point, highly reliable product that allows the user to experience the simple joy of biking, traveling from point A to B safely and without much fuss or maintenance. Turn it on, get on, go to your destination, get off and live a robust life (oh and lock it up carefully!). I am a fan of mine and really enthusiastically recommend it to my friends who I am quite sure are tired of my soap box bicycle discussions. Keep up the good work.

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

So glad you’re loving the bike Pierre! I agree, bicycles are more fun and keep us connected in a way that lifts the spirit. Why not keep the air clean and the atmosphere peaceful too? I do have an automobile, but I ride my bicycle whenever I can, and yeah, the folks at Juiced have done a great job offering a compelling product :D

Reply
John G.
2 weeks ago

I concur. The CCS has turned me into a born-again bicyclist, and I am definitely proselytizing about the good news of ebikes, and the CCS in particular. I’m a total convert now. Just two days ago, during a walk around my neighborhood, I saw a man – a total stranger – grinding up one of the steepest hills in my area, and told him that my new ebike could get me going up that hill (with great effort!) at 15 mph. He seemed to resent it, and said, “well, I’m not at that point yet!”

Reply
Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Hmm, I’ve heard people express themselves like that before as well… It’s ironic that they will drive a car or fly on a plan rather than run across the country or ride in a covered wagon. The ego can be a delicate thing depending on how it is approached, but the approach also matters. Try to be friendly and supportive so as not to evoke a defensive mindset. Perhaps your enthusiasm is misinterpreted as criticism or teasing?

Jeff Smith
3 weeks ago

After test riding a Faraday Courtland (which is out of my price rage, unfortunately), I’m convinced I need a Step-Thru model, but am afraid the Juiced Medium will be too small for me. I’m 74 years old, 225 lbs with a 30″ pants inseam. Any suggestions? I have also read and heard reports from bike shops (a grain of salt?) that customer service has been less than adequate. Comments?

Reply
Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Hi Jeff! I’ve heard similar things about the Juiced customer service and bike availability (at least in 2017) but they’re a smaller company that is growing fast, so I think this has to do with growing pains. I know Tora and have seen his team grow with a new employee named Rich who is very proactive. I agree that a mid-step or step-thru could be a good option for you. There are so many ebikes to explore, I tend to lean towards visiting a shop for test rides. Many times, shops can order bikes for you and have them assembled. I realize this depends on where you live, but it’s worth exploring. I do really like Juiced and think that their models are cool, well built, and priced competitively. I hope this helps! You could ask for other peoples’ opinions in the Juiced Bikes Forums if you want. I’d love to hear what you end up with, and how it works :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Chris Hammond
2 hours ago

If you are only willing to spend $800 don't bother with an e-bike, you will be very disappointed in anything at that price. Best one I can think of at $1500 is Rad bikes, they have 2 viable commuter options, the Rad city or Rad rover both priced at $1499. If you are willing to spend a little more, Juiced bikes has 2 bikes at $1699 that are complete with everything you need for commuting, rear racks, fenders, lights, etc. The bikes are the Cross Current S and Rip Current S.

john peck
1 day ago

1st gen. CCS, 687 mi.: Had spoke issues around 500 mi. Replaced with 11g 234mm, took tire pressure down to 65 psi, received at 80.
Makes a world of difference in the ride if you're big, especially if you ride wet, mossy asphalt most of the time. It performs as well, if
not better than it did b4. The stock Kendas show no wear, still see the center ridge.
My LCD's started making some 'interesting' random readings which I attribute condensation from riding in the pouring rain.
Speedo's still good. Had to true the rear wheel a tad; it's +/- 1mm now.
This thing is a dream to shift, but still will occassionally toss the chain between the ring & the guard if I double shift to high.

Amazing bike!

, got myself a new ski boat with the money I've saved on gas.

Bruce Arnold
2 days ago

Well, 108 miles. ;)

I had some trouble with a chain link that was too tight. Took it in to the LBS and got that fixed. They fine-tuned the rear derailleur too. It now shifts so well. Being able to effortlessly get it into the right gear is a real joy. Before, it would hesitate, sometimes shift 2 gears instead of one, stuff like that. This is not a Juiced Bikes problem, I've seen it on other bikes also. Regardless, the shop only charged me $16; well worth it.

I'm still fine with riding in the 18-20 mph range. My rationale is this: being a heavy guy (me plus gear = ~300 lbs), I'm already putting a certain amount of stress on the bike, primarily the wheels. The frame itself is built plenty strong. You smaller guys, hitting the same bumps and holes in the pavement at maximum speed are putting the same stress on the system. As Trek says in their manual, "The most significant variable in durability is the manner in which you ride ... If you ride hard or aggressively, you should replace the bicycle and/or its parts more often than riders who ride smoothly or cautiously."

That being said, I haven't had any problems with the spokes. That was an issue for many riders when the CCS first came out. It seems that the move to the 13 gauge Sapim spokes has fixed that. So much of the spoke breakage was within the first 100 miles. I've had none at all. I was sort of leery about this at first, but other than occasional inspection of the wheels for proper spoke tension (which we should all be doing anyway), I'm just not worried about it.

As I get in better condition, I find that I use level 1 less and less for recreational riding. Eco does the job for me at all speeds up to 20 mph, and I rarely even use 9th gear (although it's fun to sail down hills for bursts of up to 25 mph in 9th.) For commuting, Level 2 and 3 are great so I arrive without being sweaty and out of breath.

Using combinations of the pedal assist levels and the gears is becoming more and more automatic. At first I had to think about it. Now it's getting natural. Totally awesome to move from Eco to 1 to climb a hill in the same gear, for instance, without having to give it any thought.

As I've said elsewhere in the forum, I'm not worried about the "charging to 80%" thing. I charge when it drops to around 44 volts, and take it off the charger at around 53 volts. This gets me over 50 miles, without losing any significant performance. This may not absolutely maximize the battery life, but will provide many years and thousands of miles of riding enjoyment. I'm sure I'll want one of those 52 volt batteries Tora just started selling, long before this battery bites the dust.

My wife's Pedego doesn't have the cruise control or the boost function. I'm really glad the CCS has 'em. I use them both all the time. I don't find myself using the throttle a whole lot, except for the boost. With the cruise control, I just don't need it.

Another degree of rake would suit my riding style better. I mentioned this soon after getting the bike. It's just fine the way it is, but a little more stability over nimbleness would be welcome.

I'm very happy with the Marathon Plus tires. I've read that some people feel they are too heavy or stiff or something. To me they give a comfortable ride, with the added security as well. As tech reviewer Flossy Carter says, "One a scale of one to ten, this is a major win."

I really appreciate the advanced read-out on the LCD panel. I wish the font were bigger -- which would require a bigger display unit overall -- but that may be just a function of 65-year-old eyes. The information provided is so helpful. Again, my wife's Pedego doesn't provide this level of information, which I find both interesting and helpful. The only thing I'd add would be a trip odometer. My workaround for that is that I've added the https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.rooehler.bikecomputer.pro&hl=en app to my Android. It has a lot of great features. I added a https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B074XST5G2/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 to the top tube to carry the smartphone. It has some basic bike tools in the side pockets also. The red and black version looks great on the red CCS.

I've ordered a https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000BR4NIC/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 and https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007FRCIDI/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 to make my commuting safer and more efficient.

The CCS is, for me, a perfect platform for commuting and recreation. Thank you, Tora and the rest of the team at Juiced Bikes!

Chris Hammond
3 days ago

You should probably take a look at Juiced bikes. Their CrossCurrent S is designed to be a high speed commuter. It is available with a 52V 21Ah battery as well. I am in a similar situation as you, my commute is 30 miles each way and I want to ride as fast as possible. I've been researching for months, and keep coming back to the Cross Current. The price is about a third of the Riese & Muller. I honestly haven't done any research on that bike as it is well out of my price range. I'd honestly be surprised if it offers much to justify the price difference.

Teebok
1 week ago

What kind of range are you getting with the standard battery?

john peck
2 weeks ago

Griffy,
I have a Juiced Bikes CCS as a daily driver & grocery getter, comes with a good rear rack for panniers. 650 watts, 9 speed,
I'm a big guy who rides in pouring NW rain on a regular basis. For someone your size, it has plenty of hill climbing power
even with a kiddie in tow, lotsa features you'd find on bikes costing 3 times as much. Mine came fully tuned, just had to
put on the front whl & adjust the seat. Juiced has support videos that are very helpful. It has performed well for 600 mi. so far.
Supposed to be good for a 1000 charges. I get 40 mi. to a charge, that's a lot of miles. Basically a very solid bike, but expect
the same minor maintenance needs you would on a regular bike. It's definitely a good bike for the price. the performance
is amazing. Check it out.

Reid
2 weeks ago

Wow, that is an amazing amount of mileage and your experience shows how long stock parts can last.

Today I used a hypo with a too-blunt/large needle to try to inject some oil into the sealed cartridge and that may help a lot if even a drop got in.

But the play...that is indication of irreverisble mechanical failure. It's going south but just when I don't know. So I will plan to buy a new cartridge soon.

Unlike the old cup and cone bottom brackets of 1900 engineering still found on department store bikes, the cartridge style bottom bracket bearings of our Juiced bikes are not serviceable or even adjustable.

[COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)]UPDATE: water had worked past the seals, very likely: Pulling the chainring pedal off, the lip of the seal was lifted with a dental probe, enough to get the oil injected. Did this on both sides. Running quiet now. Cannot feel any crunching or bad noises and the play I noticed before is minimal now (maybe it always was) and so, there is hope for more service from this bottom bracket. [/COLOR]

[COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)]Plus: I put a light-bodied synthetic grease over the bearing recess area, a gob on each pedal side, and wound a fuzzy red pipe cleaner around each spindle in that space between crank inside edge and the ball bearing seal, with intent to keep splash water from going into the bearing races. [/COLOR]

[COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)]Old time machinery often used felt seals, oiled or greased, to exclude dirt and discourage water intrusion. The bearing seals of the '20s, for instance, were not rubber (because they did not have oil-resistance synthetic rubber), but leather or felt. Such simple materials as I have here: craft store pipe cleaners, various woven and unwoven piano woolen felts, are useful for improvising bearing shields. [/COLOR]

[COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)]Let's see how she goes now, and for how long! Maybe indefinitely![/COLOR]

Reid
2 weeks ago

Up the Creak and I don't mean to paddle.

Our Juiced bikes use the ubiquitous Shimano-type square-shoulder spindle, 3-piece bottom brackets good enough for almost every user here.

But mine has developed a creak and a click that comes and goes, just in these past few days.

Checking the bearing by hand, the crank has play; there is a shake in it that proves the cartridge bearing is in failure mode.

I really like to stand on the pedals and crank standing up for stretches at a time. Too bad, that is just the sort of strain that can kill this type of bottom bracket bearing before long. Time to replace it soon.

I don't know if I will replace it with like kind and hope for better luck, or bite hard on a bullet of monetary pain to upgrade to more robust crankset and bearing system. Bearings of the kind we have are very far inboard from the crank arms. The modern systems of outboard or nearly outboard bearing support are actually as old in concept as before 1900! You'd think the outboard bearing concept would have taken good root a hundred years ago, but it didn't.

Should I save for a bottom bracket upgrade? What to get then? Would such a fancy thing be available with a 52T chainring?

(Am out of budget at this time and so if I have to replace soon, I will just go for the same bottom bracket.)

Bruce Arnold
2 weeks ago

My wife has a Pedego City Commuter. It's a well-made, comfortable, relaxed, fun bicycle. It's perfect for her needs. It is not the "athletic and practical" bike that the CCS is. That's a great description. The CCS meets my needs as the City Commuter would not. Like I told the guy at the Pedego shop, when the next shake-out in the ebike industry comes, Juiced Bikes and Pedego will be among the winners.

Solom01
2 weeks ago

Sorry Kevin that really sucks. What's sad is that you probably purchased this bike from a local bike shop and paid a ton of money for quality and the personal service that this forum keeps talking about, but when you needed it, it wasn't there. Hindsight is great but you would have been better off buying two Juiced bikes or some other less expensive bike on the internet for a lot less money. If one of them had broken you could use the other and still saved a bunch of money.

Chris Hammond
3 weeks ago

Juiced bikes has a new fat bike. http://www.juicedbikes.com/products/ripcurrent-s It is designed more towards commuting, but does offer 52V 21 Ah battery. It is a rear geared hub motor. If your climb is very steep, you are right about being better off with a mid-drive. However, since you are talking about a high speed climb, this may be worth looking at.

bob armani
3 weeks ago

Reid-Thanks for the accessory links. I especially like the brake/alarm for the rear saddle and the Gravity Boltz. I think Abus makes Nutfix, however are 2xs the price. There are quite a few of these on the market and are hard to choose. Looks like these have some good reviews. Never heard of the ball bearing jockey wheels. Do you feel a great difference in shift movement with this upgrade on your CCS? How do they compare to the stock jockey wheels?
Would like to see some pics of your upgrades when you have the time to post. Thanks in advance!

geddyleesnose
2 days ago

I test road the Urban Plus last summer. Was $3200 back then which was out of my price range, but I wanted to see what it road like and I just thought it looked really cool. For me, anyway, I found the ride too stiff. Roads are bumpy in West Los Angeles. I ended up getting a Juiced Crosscurrent S with 17.4 battery for 2K. Ok front suspension (also bought a Suntour suspension seatpost - absolute must!), but it's better than none and the motor is more powerful than the Trans X without question. Has torque sensing. throttle (great in the city) and nearly everything you'd want at an excellent price. Granted, the components aren't as nice as the Urban Plus, so that's the big tradeoff along with the mid-drive motor which has advantages. The biggest downside of the Crosscurrent was the wait. Took a month and a half to arrive, but I still love the bike, four months and around 500 or so miles later, with no issues so far. At that price I'd be tempted by the Haibike too. The thing that would concern me is the trans x motor if ever needed replacing and they weren't around, and the cobi system. Just seems wonky. Best of luck on your search!

surfstar
5 days ago

Juiced CrossCurrent S and Voltbike Yukon Limited are also contenders for my price range, but I think I was going with the RadCity for the lower price over those. Now the Haibike is throwing off my decision!

Armchair
1 week ago

Well in my excitement to try out my new Crosscurrent S I took it for a spin around the parking lot yesterday before checking the tire pressure and the rear tire was flat this morning. I think I must have pinched a tube (default Kenda tires).

Does anyone have recommendations for tubes for this bike? Flat resistance and affordability would be my two main concerns.

karmap
2 weeks ago

I am looking to get a electric bike and Juiced looks like a great choice. My current situation. I biked a lot since college(am now 32) but I have had some joint issues and really can't bike as much as I used to. No longer can I do 50 mile ride every weekend, and it sad but maybe an ebike can help. My commute to work is a 15 miles by bike path or 5 miles via roads and a train. An ebike like the Crosscurrent S looks great. I was thinking of getting the 19.2 Ah version as if I am going to spend the money I might as well go for the nicer version. What I don't know which which size to get. I am 5'9" and that is right between the two ranges. Which side would you error on? Also I realize I am asking on the Juiced forum but how does this compare to the RadCity. I am using it all in the city of Denver and am looking for realiabitly. I don't want to mess with stuff and I want a battery that will last a long time. Any help is great! Thanks!

Bruce Arnold
3 weeks ago

My experience is different from Dunbar's. I have a Crosscurrent S with the 17.4 ah battery. I've pedaled right at 50 miles on the current charge and have 2 bars left - it says 45 volts on the LCD panel. I took it off the charger at 52 volts and have the controller set with the default 40 volt bottom limit. I use the Eco and 1 mode almost exclusively. Occasional throttle assist boost when taking off from a stoplight or going up a hill. Eastern North Carolina is pretty flat so the hills are neither long nor steep. I usually ride between 15-18 mph, although occasionally notice I'm up to 20-22. Upwards of 20 mph, aerodynamic resistance becomes the chief factor in how much power it takes to increase speed; stay below this and battery range is much improved. Bear in mind that I'm overweight (losing 1-2 pounds per week since starting to ride!) so the motor has to work harder getting the bike up to speed. I mention all these factors to allow you to evaluate my information. I'm glad I paid the extra money for the 17.4 ah battery because it gives me great range. Would I like to have the 52 volt battery? You bet! Do I feel underpowered with 48 volts? No, I don't. I'd go with what Tora said. Buy the biggest battery you can afford and don't worry about it. BTW the 2 amp charger will get you from 20% to over 50% pretty quickly, and is not too large or heavy to throw in a backpack, if you want to charge at work.

AZ Roller
3 weeks ago

I am 6'1" and like my XL. I guess the 18" could work, but you may have to get a longer seat tube. Only other option would find out what dealers received XLs and buy one from them. Otherwise it is either the RipCurrent or wait for the next boatload to arrive.. Good luck!

Bruce Arnold
1 month ago

My Crosscurrent S arrived on Jan. 16. This was from the late November shipment, not the one being advertised now. I was out of town for most of December and Juiced Bikes kindly held it until I returned home. Thanks, Folks!

Set up was pretty easy. I had to mess with the front fender to get it the way I wanted it. That was probably the most time-consuming part (not hard, just fiddly.) Emailed Juiced with a question about the headlight; what I thought was the right cable coming out of the downtube had a flat-topped cap on it, rather than being open like in the video, and if it was a cap, it didn't seem to want to twist off. Got a response back within a couple of hours telling me that this was the right cable, and the cap is on pretty tight for a good seal. With that information, I took a pair of pliers and got it off with no problem. That light is pretty bright!

Checked all the various bolts etc. for tightness, inspected the wheels and pumped up the tires (Marathon Plus), and was ready to go. I've been out on it a couple of times now and I've got to say it is a blast! Acceleration is not like a rocket -- I'm a fairly heavy guy so I take that into account -- but it is more than powerful enough for the riding I do. Adding a little throttle while pedaling away from a stop sign is definitely fun! At one stop sign, I had forgotten to gear down from 9th gear so pedaling was difficult. Gave it some throttle to get some speed and then started pedaling again.

While I'm on the subject of gears, the trigger shifter is great. I used to ride a Specialized Hard Rock with a similar shifter. But both levers took a push. I like having upshifting on the trigger finger and downshifting on the thumb. Good choice, Shimano.

Because I am on the heavy side, I'm not interested in pushing the limits with this bike. 18-20 mph is plenty fast for my purposes -- commuting and general fun -- and I can get there on level 1 in 9th gear with no problem. I've done a lot of my riding so far in Eco mode and for doing an easy 15-16 mph it is more than adequate. I want to get in better shape so Eco mode is very useful for me. I've tried all five levels some, and it is pretty cool how the motor responds in 2, 3, and S, but not necessary for what I want. Here's an added plus: using Eco and level 1 will make that 17.4 amp hour battery last for a long dang time.

I appreciate the cruise control. It's easy to set. Since I have COPD and get out of breath easily, it is awesome to be able to pedal for a while, let cruise control take over before I get out of breath, then pedal some more. As my conditioning improves, I will need this less and less, but for an old retired guy whose number one priority is getting back in shape, this is an excellent tool to help me do it in a way I can sustain. COPD is no joke, folks, but the CCS will help me be more mobile, get in better shape, and have a good time doing it. Juiced Bikes might want to mention this sort of thing somewhere on their website.

Darned good looking bike, and very nimble. I wouldn't mind another inch of wheelbase, or maybe another degree or two of rake, but I'm sure most people will appreciate the sportier handling. This is not a problem; just a matter of personal preference. To be sure, it will make handling in parking lots or other close-quarters situations easier. My current motorcycle is a sport-tourer (BMW R1200RT) and it handles both duties pretty well. More touring than sport but that suits me. This bike is more sport than tour. I'd like the ratio reversed -- more tour than sport -- but I'm really so satisfied with the way it is and may appreciate the sportiness more as I get in better shape.

I like the combination of torque sensor/cadence sensor. It is very much like just riding a bike. I can hear a little lag -- just the briefest of moments -- between starting to pedal and the motor coming on, but it is so smooth and natural. Pedal easily and the motor does the work, put some effort into it and the speed increases right away.

These are first impressions after a few days of ownership. I'll post again when I've put more miles on it.

SeaLevel274
1 month ago

Karmic Koben S Review

A little bit about me

I’ve been a regular recreational/fitness cyclist for about 50 years. I didn’t get my drivers license until age 18, preferring to ride my bicycle everywhere I needed to go. When I was younger I did ride 3 century rides, but most of my riding in the past couple of decades has been in the 18-25-mile range, depending on the route, with a few longer rides thrown in here and there. I did do some commuting to work on my bicycle, but not much, and since 2006 I have worked out of my home office. I’ve almost always done my own bicycle maintenance, and have always disliked and been tuned into any strange noises while riding. I currently own 3 bicycles – Trek 7.9 FX (non-electric), EVELO Quest Max (foldable e-bike), and the Koben S. At the point of writing this review, I now have 314 miles on the Koben S, which has given me time to get to know it. I live in South Florida, so my riding season is pretty much all year long.

Why did I choose this e-bike?

I already own a foldable e-bike to use when camping. After lots of research, it was chosen because of the technology being used, which includes the Bafang Max Drive motor, Gates carbon belt drive, and NuVinci N380 continuously variable transmission (CVT). I am very happy with how that bike rides, but I wanted to find a full-sized Class 3 bike to use for both recreation and fitness, and that would be good for riding on both paved roads, and gravel or hardpacked trails. That eventually led me to the Koben S, which uses the same technology as the foldable bike. I originally had a CrossCurrent S from Juiced Bikes on pre-order, but I cancelled that order when I found the Koben S. On top of the technology being used on the Koben S, I also liked the other specifications and looks of the bike, which you can see on the http://www.karmicbikes.com/ web site. I selected the Blackout color and size medium (I’m about 5’9” tall). As mentioned, I’m not commuting when I ride the Koben S, and I’m not in a hurry. I like to pedal and don’t need or want a throttle. If I want to start off fast from a red light, I just use a higher pedal assist level and a lower gear.

Ordering and receiving the bike

The online ordering process from the Karmic web site was straightforward. It took about a week for the bike to arrive in South Florida from California, after traveling over the Christmas holiday. Otherwise it would have taken about 5 days. The box arrived undamaged and the bike was well packaged. It took me about 2.5 hours to assemble the bike, but that included removing it from the packaging, getting everything setup to my preference, and truing both the brake rotors and wheels.

Riding the bike

This is a Class 3 bike, meaning there is no throttle, and pedal assist is limited to 28 mph. I live in South Florida, so other than riding over something like a drawbridge, we don’t have hills. But we do have wind. Sometimes very strong wind. So, although the NuVinci shifter shows a bike on a hill for low gears, that also applies to riding into a headwind. When I am at a stop, or when coming up to a stop, I do shift into a low gear for getting going, but when riding it’s just about being at a comfortable cadence. Because it’s a CVT, sometimes only a minor twist of the shifter is required to adjust to my preferred cadence. After years of riding with standard gearing and derailleurs, and sometimes wishing I had a gear in-between two available gears, I really appreciate the CVT. Between the different pedal assist levels, and the large range of gears available, it is very adaptable to matching your preferred speed and cadence.

So how fast have I gone on the Koben S? So far 39.3 mph, but that was going downhill over a drawbridge with a strong wind at my back. Pedal assist cut out once I was going over 28 mph, and it smoothly started up again once I hit level ground and slowed down to that speed. The bike felt very stable at high speed.

Modifications to Karmic-supplied build

Are any modifications necessary to use the bicycle as delivered from Karmic? For how I am using the bicycle, no. If you need a rack for your use case, that is something you would need to supply. However, there are some modifications that I chose to make, based on my personal preferences.

· Ergonomic grips - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01JAXEO04/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

· Shimano A530 SPD pedals - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001MZ2AGO/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

· BodyFloat isolation seatpost - https://shop.cirruscycles.com/products/bodyfloat-2-0-aluminum?variant=18181094981

· Bar end mirror - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06XPV4G7Q/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

· I also added a water bottle and cage. Note: a taller water bottle wouldn’t fit - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0083VKZ44/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1 and https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01JUKV662/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Wheels and tires and fenders

The wheels on the Koben S seem to be good quality, as do the tires. I wasn’t sure I would like the tires, because of the large gum wall look, but they’ve grown on me and I like them now. Getting some positive comments from people I’ve talked to while out riding probably helped. The tires roll very smoothly, and they are rated for between 35-55 PSI. After trying some different pressures, I’ve settled on 40 PSI in the front and 50 PSI in the back. That seems to provide me with the best cushion/shock absorption in the front, and rolling efficiency in the back where more weight needs to be supported. With the BodyFloat seatpost I don’t need the extra cushion from the tire in the back. The fenders seem to be functional, but since I am just riding when I want, I try not to ride in the rain. I did get stuck once already though, and the fenders did their job. I’ve noticed some squeaking noises from the back fender when going on bumps, but some WD-40 in a couple of key places has eliminated most of that noise.

Summary

I’m very happy with the Koben S. It’s smooth, quiet, legal, and fast enough for my needs. I haven’t pushed the range to the limit yet, but it looks like I could ride about 50-60 miles if I stayed in the lower pedal assist levels for most of the ride. It’s not an inexpensive bike, but as compared to other bikes using this, or similar technology, it’s priced very fairly. I find myself wanting to ride it every day, so that’s a plus. Two thumbs up.

Flickedbic
1 month ago

The XL 20" frame is recommended for Cross current S riders from 6'0 - 6'4.

I am 6'2 so it seems perfect, but XL frames have just sold out. :(

Only Large 18" frames are left and they're recommended for 5'8-6'1.

Should I just get this smaller 18" frame CrossCurrent S, or should I get the 20" RipCurrent instead?

Thanks in advance.

jaimev
1 month ago

I have a week old CrossCurrent S, with about 30 miles on it. Yesterday I went into the Setting screen and checked the value of Torque and Low Volts, and after exiting, I saw "Error 4" displayed on the screen. I don't know if it was coincidence that it happened because I was in the Settings page.

If I squeezed either brake lever, the Error 4 went away and the main screen came back. When I let go of the brake lever, the Error 4 screen comes back.

I tried powering the bike off then on, and also removed the battery and put it back in, but in all cases about 2 seconds after the bike is turned on I get the creen.

Thankfully, the motor still works, and I can switch boost levels (as long as the brake lever is depressed when I press the +/- buttons.

I've already submitted a Support ticket yesterday at JuicedBikes.com's support site. But I don't expe t a response until after the MLK holiday weekend.

Has anyone run into an error like this or can suggest a possible cause or way to clear it?

Captain Slow
1 month ago

I keep getting emails from the Canadian distributor inviting me to review the bike, so I guess it worked as I'm providing my initial impressions.

In summary, I think it's a great bike and great value. I would recommend it to most people, but for some people it wouldn't be the right bike. For most though the value is so good that if you want an electric bike I think the overall package of the Crosscurrent S is very appealing.

So if you want a quick snappy review, there it is. For those who don't mind reading a lot or want to know why I like the bike here are the (long) details.

Background - First of all I think it's relevant to know a bit about me because I don't believe that any bike out there is suited for all people. Everyone has different needs. I have been commuting to work by bike for 6 and a half years now. Not every day, but generally commuting 15.5 to 18 km's each way to work depending upon which route I take. I am now 52 years old and lately I have been finding that if I want to make good time to and from work that I get too tired to ride 5 days a week. When weather is good I ride a Cervelo RS and I haven't been crazy about riding it in lousy weather. The Crosscurrent S was to allow me to ride more frequently and to keep my Cervelo out of the bad weather.

Cons
I'll go through the cons first as it's a short list compared to what I like about the bike. I wouldn't really say these are cons about the bike, but more like nits that aren't perfect for me. The bike offers such great value it's hard to criticize it. But I don't like how heavy the bike is. I realize it's a commuter and being electric it's going to be heavy. I guess for me the Crosscurrent Air is better suited to what I want, but the Canadian importer was bringing in the S and once you add the torque sensor, fenders, rack, and lights to the Air you're pretty much up to the cost of the S, so I figured why not.

The other nit is the riding position. You're sitting pretty much straight up, which I realize is normal for this type of bike. But if you're going to make a fast bike then I think the position should be more aero. I've found when I'm hitting 37 km/hr. and faster on the bike that the battery really drains fast. A more aero position would help here a lot.

Pros
There's a lot to like about this bike. I used to have a hybrid with a Bionx system and the Crosscurrent S is so much better than the Bionx system. First of all the torque sensor make the riding experience much more like that of a regular bike, just that you have some boost. That was never the case with my Bionx bike. I also find that the geometry of this bike and having the battery inset into the downtube makes for better weight distribution and the handling difference is night and day. This bike handles so much better.

I was without an electric bike for about 5 years and during that time I looked around at a lot of bikes. The value of this bike was amazing. It's hard to find a bike at this price point with all the features and extras it has. I also wanted a bike that could get me to and from work quickly and I'd say on the highest setting I can get to and from work pretty much just as fast as if I drove.

I also have to give a shout out to Hill Eater bikes who are the Canadian distributor. I found the service to be excellent. I'd happily deal with them again.

I've ridden the bike about 100 km's so far and as everyone knows it's a fast bike. Even on the lower power levels it's pretty fast. You can pretty much ride all day at 22 to 25 km/hr. on the low power settings and the battery drain is pretty low. You can also cruise to work at 35 km/hr. if you're willing to pedal hard and you're flying by other cyclists.

I'll report back at the end of summer and I have a few thousand km's on the bike.

dphotos
1 week ago

I was looking at the Juiced Rip Current S and the Rad Rover  My friend bought the Rad Rover last month and loves it.  The battery never runs out of charge after a long beach ride.

edwin pringle
1 month ago

GARBAGE...

flickedbic
1 month ago

What would you recommend between this and the RipCurrent?

flickedbic
1 month ago

edwin pringle
They've been pretty responsive to me: they answer my questions when I open it support tickets timely and they restocked the marathon Plus Tires the day after they ran out. And I like that they're changing things because it shows that they're listening to the consumer, like how they upgraded the spokes because they were breakage problems and reinforced their shipping packaging.
I've been researching reviews for the past month and then they're pretty much all positive for Juiced. Sure some people have had to wait for their bikes, but I think I'm going to pull the trigger on the Cross Currents S. Best bike I can find for the price.

edwin pringle
1 month ago

flickedbic juiced bikes suck, no support, always changing and no parts ever in stock

inmer carbajal
2 months ago

I am in the market for a class 3 electric bike with a thumb throttle for around $1500. I was thinking of buying the original crosscurrent, is it worth buying? Or is the Crosscurrent S worth the extra $300?

edwin pringle
1 month ago

inmer carbajal juiced garbage

Marlinspike Mate
1 month ago

I don't own one yet but got to test drive the AIR and S. Both were awesome, but I think the bigger motor and upgrades make this well worth it.

Ricky Lease
2 months ago

Hey Tora. Are you shipping any s’s in January. I noticed that now showing February shipping preorders. Can’t wait to get mine. I love what you’re doing at Juiced

Juiced Bikes
2 months ago

Yes!

edwin pringle
2 months ago

It's just another Chinese P.O.S. don't know why everyone likes to brown nose this guy, Tora, so much. Definitely not a man of his word, just another dw giving China all the work . All about the almighty dollar.

Go Time Electric Bikes
3 months ago

Way to tell it like it is Court! We love that you get the real deal on every bike. Good Job!

John Caban
3 months ago

Love all your reviews! I'm 48 and looking for a EBike in the under $2000 price range. Since you review all types of Ebikes could you recommend a ebike for me for that price range? Thinking of the Juiced bikes but would like your opinion on the best value for the money. Live in Massachusetts and don't see too many Ebikes at dealerships....

edwin pringle
1 month ago

John Caban stay away from juiced, garbage.

Joey Love
3 months ago

Great review

Outdoors 44
4 months ago

Tora I have a question about frame size I'm 6' & 31" inseam and according to your chart I'm in the large frame 18" group. How much difference is there in length of the top tube in 18" vs 20" frame size, your chart does not show the top tube length. What frame size fits you better. Thank you Steve

Outdoors 44
1 month ago

edwin pringle What bike did you have

edwin pringle
1 month ago

Outdoors 44 don't waste your time or money, juiced is garbage.

Outdoors 44
3 months ago

Tora Harris Thanks for the information, Your Current S looks great compared to others on the market but man your HYPE is awesome looking I want both, hard choices ahead. When is Hype ready!!!!!

Tora Harris
3 months ago

the length are more or less the same. the main difference on the 2 sizes are the seat tube length

Paintbrush 1962
4 months ago

Thanks, how much is it with 21 ah battery?

Dennis Lee
4 months ago

The CCS bike comes with the default 12.8ah lithium ion battery; to upgrade from 12.8ah to 17ah lithium ion battery is an additional $300, to upgrade from 12.8ah to 21ah lithium ion battery is $700 additional.

guitartec
4 months ago

Can't wait til mine comes.

Corn Dog
4 months ago

I have watched so many of Court's reviews, I could probably design THE perfect E-Bike everyone would love. *hint hint* to all the manufacturers out there ;p
This does seem like a sweet deal though. Nice review!

ilikewasabe
4 months ago

I would opt for for serviceability to aethetics any day.. Being a hub motor. The price ang availability of the parts like the cranks, makes it possible to replace them myself.. Pricepoint is just right.. Gonna buy one for a commuter for sure

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I agree, seems like they hit a sweet spot with this model... and they are all sold out at the moment

ChaseElliottBand
4 months ago

Great review, honest assessment, cool company...mass producing bikes at this price point while paying attention to as many details as possible in the engineering process is unheard of from any other ebike company I've ever seen. Only thing I'd suggest is a narrow-wide front chainring to prevent the occasional chain drop, and an "off-road" option as that bafang can handle 1200w peaks and still be reliable for 10k miles. If Tora or any juiced bikes staff is reading this, could you disclose if the mosfets can handle up to 60v? If so, I'm very interested in making a 52v pack for this to hotrod it for around 32mph. I know a manufacturer in china that can build me a PF cell pack using your case.

Juiced Bikes
4 months ago

Investigated narrow-wide, but supplier has not made it for such large diameter rotor. Some aftermarket options exist. Chain catcher does work we confirmed. For the controller, Why you think controller low volts can be set to 43V??

Dirk Diggler
4 months ago

how much if you get optional xt drivetrain.

Juan Alfonso Noval
4 months ago

Love this bike and the price is spot on. Great job Tora and great review Court. As soon as the guys at Rocket Electrics in Austin get one I'll go and test it. Thanks. =)

gstea1
4 months ago

Make it in America.

edwin pringle
1 month ago

Dirk Diggler JUICED P.O.S.

Dirk Diggler
4 months ago

gstea1 and add 2000$ to the price no thank you.

Blue Monkey Bicycles
4 months ago

Tora's my hero!
Excellent bike with awesome features!

robbie 74
4 months ago

Great video and a very nice bike