Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S Review

Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Electric Bike Review
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 8fun 650 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 48 Volt Lithium Ion Battery Pack Removable Two Bottle Cage Mounts
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Clean Handlebar Trigger Throttle On Left
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Velo Ergonomic Grips Liandian Lcd Display
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Sr Suntour Nex Coil Suspension Fork With Lockout
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S External Wiring And Cables For Serviceability
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes With 180 Mm Rotors
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 9 Speed Shimano Altus Drivetrain
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Custom Rear Rack With Rear Reflector
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Selle Royal Lookin Gel Saddle
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Electric Bike Review
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 8fun 650 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 48 Volt Lithium Ion Battery Pack Removable Two Bottle Cage Mounts
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Clean Handlebar Trigger Throttle On Left
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Velo Ergonomic Grips Liandian Lcd Display
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Sr Suntour Nex Coil Suspension Fork With Lockout
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S External Wiring And Cables For Serviceability
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes With 180 Mm Rotors
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 9 Speed Shimano Altus Drivetrain
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Custom Rear Rack With Rear Reflector
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Selle Royal Lookin Gel Saddle

Summary

  • A high-speed, feature complete, value priced electric bike that comes in four frame sizes, high-step and mid-step frame style, and three colors
  • Relatively comfortable thanks to fatter tires, a suspension fork with compression slider and lockout, Velo ergonomic grips, and a Selle Royal gel saddle
  • Full-length plastic fenders with mud flaps and a custom rear rack with pannier hangers, blockers, and bungee loops add utility but also stay fairly quiet
  • Heavier than I expected at ~57.4 lbs but the powerful 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes also include motor inhibitors to cut power instantly, multiple battery size options let you go further, custom-tuned geared motor is compact but powerful, smooth, and quiet

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Juiced Bikes

Model:

CrossCurrent S

Price:

$1,699

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Battery, 2 Year Mechanical, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20172018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

57.4 lbs (26.03 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg) (11.3 lb for 17.4 and 21.0)

Motor Weight:

8.4 lbs (3.81 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)18 in (45.72 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)22 in (55.88 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

High-Step 16.5: 16.5" Seat Tube, 23" Reach, 28.5" Stand Over Height, 27.25" Width, 74" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Brushed Aluminum, Gloss Red, Matte Black

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour NEX Coil Suspension, 63 mm Travel, Compression Adjust with Lockout, 100 mm Hub Length, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

138 mm Hub Length (142 Dropout), 10 mm Threaded Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Two Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 Shimano Altus Derailleur, 11-32T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano Altus Mega-Lite Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Prowheel Forged Alloy Cranks, 175 mm Length, 52 Tooth Chainring, Alloy Outer Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

Neco, Sealed Cartridge, Threaded 1-1/8"

Stem:

Promax, 80 mm Length, 7° Rise, 31.8 mm Handlebar Clamp

Handlebar:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy, Low-Rise, 680 mm Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Dual Piston Calipers, Tektro 3-Finger Levers with Motor Inhibitors and Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Velo Ergonomic Grips, Locking

Saddle:

Selle Royal Lookin Gel

Seat Post:

Promax Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Stars, Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 36 Hole, Reinforcement Eyelets, Flat Black

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge Rear Spokes, 13 Gauge Front Spokes, Black with Adjustable Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda K1088, 28" x 1-5/8" x 1-3/4" (700x45c)

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

50 to 85 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Bikeman Plastic Fenders with Rubber Mud Flaps, Custom Alloy Rack with Pannier Hangers (25kg / 55 lb Max Weight), Integrated Custom LED Headlight (1050 Lumens), Independent Selle Royal Saddle Connection Backlight, Optional 20 mph Speed Limiter for Class 2 (Canada, Australia), Optional 8 Amp Quick Charger from Grin Technologies ($299, Only for Big Battery Options)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 2 Amp Charger, 15 Amp Controller Output, 20 Amp Pure Sine Wave Controller, Threaded Sealed Electronic Connectors

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

650 watts

Motor Peak Output:

960 watts

Battery Brand:

LG 18650

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

12.8 ah (Optional 17.4 or 21.0)

Battery Watt Hours:

614.4 wh (Optional 835.2 or 1008)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

100 miles (161 km)

Display Type:

Liandian, Fixed, Monochrome, Matrix LCD

Readouts:

Voltage, Battery Capacity (9 Bars), Current Speed, Assist Level (Eco, 1, 2, 3, Sport), Watts, Odometer, (Advanced Menu: Amps, Watt Hours, Amp Hours, Temperature)

Display Accessories:

Integrated Button Pad (Power, +, -), Hold + for Lights, Hold - for Walk Mode, Hold + and - for Settings, Press Power and + for Advanced Menu

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (TMM4 Torque Sensor, High Definition Hall Cadence Sensor)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph) (20 MPH Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Juiced Bikes began as an ebike conversion battery company way back in 2009 but quickly branched into unique long-range cargo bikes and eventually went mainstream with a cruiser, a fat bike and line of active city bikes called CrossCurrent. The CrossCurrent S is their premium model with all the bells and whistles you need to transport cargo, stay dry, and be seen. For this review, I was able to meet with the founder of Juiced, Tora Harris, and pick his brain about the different hardware choices and performance of the product. He explained that the CrossCurrent Air is the most affordable but basic, the standard CrossCurrent is a good value but also brings comfort and improved performance, and they were getting feedback from customers who were trying to add their own lights, fenders, and racks… so they decided to find the best accessories they could, and boost motor power from 500 watts to 650 watts nominal, and call it the S. Perhaps that stands for Speed or Sport, the display system also has an S in it and that’s the highest power mode. What stood out to me about this particular electric bike is that it can be had in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step or an easier to approach mid-step that maybe isn’t quite as stiff and doesn’t have bottle cage bosses), and three colors. I got to test ride and film the Small high-step in brushed Aluminum… but the classic Red and Black are good options too. I love how the fenders, rack, rims, spokes, motor casing, chainring guard, and battery pack are all black and thoughtfully sized and attached. The rear fender, for example, connects with a pair of struts and an anchor beneath the rack. The rack has a flat plate on top so trunk bags won’t sag or slide to one side or another, and it has standard-gauge pannier clip rods, blockers, and bungee loops at the base. There’s a sense that details have been scrutinized with this product, there are hardware parts that I have never seen on other bikes, and they make sense. A good example of this is the combined torque + cadence sensor which provides a smooth, fluid feel vs. an on/off feel. Tora told me that they use a “high resolution” 104 sensor design to measure cadence vs. the 10 or 12 magnet bottom bracket designs I usually see on cheap e-bikes. Juiced put the sensor near the rear wheel and allows you to completely disable torque sensing by using the display panel (enter settings by holding + and – simultaneously) which would allow you to pedal without force to activate the motor… a neat feature for people with sensitive knees. Of course, you can override pedal assist with the trigger throttle at all times and be propelled up to 20 mph. If you pedal, the bike can reach ~28 mph in S mode. For those who do not wish to go so fast, either to conserve power or feel safer, you can set a maximum top speed. In this review, I was able to dig deep into the product because I had the founder of the company, and the designer of the bike (who is a mechanical and aerospace engineer who graduated from Princeton) on hand. In some ways, that’s not fair to other reviews that I do on my own. There are a lot of great products out there and I found many cons or “considerations” with this bike such as no slap guard or chain keeper, a heavier footprint at ~57 lbs for the small, and slightly messier looking externally routed cables. But even that choice, Tora said was made to facilitate easier maintenance. This is an electric bike that you can find at some independent dealers, but Juiced also sells direct. I performed this review at the Electric Bicycle Center in Fullerton during an open house event and the owner, Sam Townsend, has stocked Juiced products for many years and provided his feedback about quality. In 2017, Juiced Bikes did have some issues with their newer CrossCurrent Air and OceanCurrent but the comprehensive one-year warranty and incremental updates to hardware design seem to have resolved that. Tora speaks multiple languages including Mandarin, and spends a lot of time at their factory in China making sure the details are correct. In short, this is one of my top pics for a value priced, do-everything, sort of bike… as long as you don’t mind the physical weight and possibly a time wait too because the product was backordered at the time of this review.

Powering the Cross Current S is a planetary geared hub motor spoked into the rear wheel with thicker 12 gauge spokes. The front wheel uses 13 Gauge spokes, which is still thicker than average, and Tora explained that this was a design choice made to support the higher speed and power of the bikes. The hub motor is apparently custom specced by Juiced and built by 8Fun (the in-house brand from Bafang). It offers 650 watts of nominal power vs. 500 watts on the other CrossCurrent models, and can peak around 960 watts. Visually, it is surprisingly compact and almost hidden behind the 9-speed cassette on the starboard side and 180 mm disc brake rotor on the port side of the bike (right and left sides respectively). You can definitely hear some electronic whirring noises as speed and power are increased. It’s on-par with other geared hub motors I have tested and 8Fun is a brand I know and trust… at least as a mid-level supplier. The benefits of a geared hub are lighter weight, smaller size, and independence from the pedaling systems. You won’t have to worry as much about chain, sprocket, and derailleur wear as shifting gears is independent of the motor. You can even sit back, not pedal, and use the throttle alone to get going or stay moving. Tora explained that in pedal assist mode, you can reach a desired speed and hold the minus key on the control pad to activate cruise control, and the bike will go all on its own. At least until you pull one of the brake levers. Both of them have motor inhibitors which instantly cut power to the drive system. It’s a nice feature to see here considering that a lot of torque or multi-sensing electric bikes are now foregoing this feature. It adds a bit of clutter to the wires at the front of the bike, but I’m glad it’s there. And the brakes are hydraulic, which tend to be easier to actuate and have adjustable levers for smaller or gloved hands. One sensitivity I have about the drive system is that the power cable running to the motor protrudes a bit on the right side near the dropout. This is not at all uncommon, but it could get bent or snagged here vs. being tucked in. I have seen metal derailleur guards used on some electric bikes to shield the derailleur, shifter cable, and motor cables like this, but Juiced does not include that. They do however, offer special tools to help you remove the rear wheel if you need to fix a flat. And this is another area where some improvements could be made. The stock tires seemed average because they do not have reflective sidewall stripes or puncture protection. Juiced does sell upgrades and you can find your own pretty affordably online, I’ve had good experiences with the Schwalbe Marathon Plus, but you’ll still have to install them yourself. At least with the brushed Aluminum paint job, you have a more visible bike even without upgraded tires.

Powering the bike and an ugly but capable 1,000 lumen headlight is one of three battery options! They’re all 48 volts but offer 12.8 amp hours, 17.4 ah or 21.0 ah depending on how much you want to spend. Weight jumps up quite a bit from the stock 7.4 lb pack to something like 11.3 lbs for the larger ones. I like how these packs seat into the downtube, keeping weight low and centered across the frame. And I appreciate the little LED readout for charge level, the sleek handle rod thing on the left side (useful for carrying the battery after it’s off), and I would appreciate the USB charging port on the right side of the pack… if it weren’t disabled. This is one of the finicky sides of the “custom everything” Juiced approach. Tora said he wasn’t happy with the USB ports because he believed that they sometimes allowed the battery to drain slowly when not in use (which can damage the cells) and that some owners of older Juiced products felt that their phones might have been damaged. Whatever the reasons, this port is disabled, which is a bummer considering how much juice is in some of the packs! My other gripe has to do with the charging port location. It’s low and on the left side of the frame which is very close to the left crank arm. This could lead to a snag, tipped bike, and bent charging cord plug. Again, this charging port location, and even the sometimes-difficult rubber cover, is commonly found on electric bikes and in many ways it’s a minor issue. The stock charger puts out a very average 2 Amps which can fill the stock pack in ~6 hours, and the settings menu actually allows you to set a cutoff voltage value for the pack so it won’t undercharge and stress the cells. Apparently the default is 40 volts. This is neat, it’s the kind of thing that also exists with other e-bike systems but that you don’t get access to. Juiced is working with Grin technologies and sells their fancier 8 Amp charger as an upgrade, for those who want extra speed and control when filling the larger batteries.

Operating the CrossCurrent S is intuitive once you find the power button. Juiced Bikes is using an LCD display panel that I have never seen before this review and the on/off rubber button is behind the screen vs. in front where you could see it when looking down. Here, you have a + and – key to raise and lower assist levels from Eco, 1, 2, 3, and S. In any of those levels, and at all times when the bike has been powered on, the throttle is active. And as mentioned before, it gives you full power! So please, be careful not to bump that throttle, pay close attention when you stop the bike to actually turn it off before dismounting or moving it. Keep one hand on the brake to activate that motor inhibitor as another safety precaution. With great power comes great responsibility and I wouldn’t have this throttle design any other way because I love blasting off from stop signs and traffic signals by using the throttle… but I have also had more than one occasion where the bike lurched forward accidentally when I forgot that it was turned on and bumped the throttle. Some other useful tips for this display and control layout are that you can hold the + button to turn on the headlight, hold the – button to activate a slow walk-mode which helps to move a heavily loaded bike, a bike with a flat tire, or just get you up a hill without having to push. If you hold the + and power button, a special “advanced” screen turns on and shows you more technical readouts. I was pretty happy with the default screen which has a 9-bar battery infographic which is much more precise than the usual 4-bar or 5-bar readouts. Assist level, speed, and trip stats are show well but the display is a bit compact and could be difficult for some riders to see. It does not swivel forward and back to reduce glare like many larger center-mounted displays, and it is not removable. This means that it will take more weather wear and scratches at racks over time. But, Juiced has opted for threaded connectors with rubber washers to make screen and brake inhibitor replacement easy… and to keep out water and just hold up better over time.

In conclusion, I love what Juiced has done with this product. I hope it doesn’t have the little issues that some CrossCurrent Air and OceanCurrent models die. It’s great to hear that they updated their packaging to offer more protection, and that you only have to mount the front wheel (which uses quick release) if you order this and receive it direct from the company vs. a shop. For me, it was a delighter to see two bottle cage bosses on the high-step frame, but it sounds like this is not present on the step-thru. I would love to have an integrated rear light (like the headlight which runs off the battery pack) but at least they give you a clip-on saddle mounted light. I mentioned earlier that to me, the headlight is a bit ugly, but it’s also mounted to the suspension post arch, the part of the suspension that goes up and down vs. the head tube or handlebars which are steadied, and this could lead to bouncier lighting and possibly loosening of the light over time. It could be a non-issue, especially on smooth terrain, but it’s something I think about given the speed of the bike and my own tendency to ride across grass and packed dirt trails on occasion. Not only has Juiced Bikes made a lot of great choices on the hardware for this product, they invented new solutions to fit the utility and pricing goals set out. This is still what I would consider to be an affordably priced electric bike at under $2k given all of the accessories. You could certainly buy the CrossCurrent Air and suffer without suspension, but adding your own fenders, rack, lights etc. probably won’t look as good or work as well as this… and not everyone wants to get their hands dirty or spend their free time setting stuff up verses enjoying it. With the addition of a decent seat post suspension like the Suntour NCX, I could see myself enjoying this product and getting to work more quickly and more enjoyably than by car. The long-range batteries make it possible and the reasonable price makes me more willing to deal with scratches and wear than a super-fancy $3k+ electric bike (of which there are many). Big thanks to Tora for partnering with me on this review, meeting me at the special ebike event, and being willing to take some direct questions about quality and design. He’s a smart, honest guy from what I can tell and his company seems to be growing a lot since the early days in 2013 when I first saw his products.

Pros:

  • I feel that this bike offers incredible value, whether you get the stock battery or upgrade, you always have a rack, fenders, lights, and a solid year-long warranty from a company that has been around since 2009
  • Juiced Bikes tends to refine their products over time, even throughout the season, and I noticed with the CrossCurrent S that electrical connectors were threaded with rubber seals for better durability and water protection, the seat tube is one inch lower to accommodate seat post suspension units (which add ~3 inches of height”
  • So many electric bikes have mid-mounted kickstands that get in the way of the left crank arm (and there is a mounting plate on this bike if you want that, or maybe add a double-leg kickstand like this, aftermarket), but I like how the CrossCurrent S has a more rear mounted stand by default, it is positioned far enough back to stay clear but not so far that it sticks out the back or gets in the way of the disc brake caliper mount, the stand itself is adjustable length and seemed higher quality
  • Unique and functional rear rack with pannier rods and blockers, a bungee loop at the base, and a flat plate on top for supporting a trunk bag like this
  • I almost couldn’t believe that the high-step Cross Current S has two sets of bottle cage bosses?! More and more ebikes are adding these, but so many bikes only have room for one set and I think they are very useful for putting a mini-pump, folding lock, or easily accessible liquids without having to buy and load up a bag, note that their mid-step frame does not have room for these bosses
  • Available in four frame sizes, high-step and accessible mid-step frame styles, as well as three sporty colors! I like the brushed Aluminum silver look but red is fun and the black will mesh with the wires and battery a bit nicer
  • The combination of battery size options and high-speed Class 3 ~28 mph pedal assist performace as well as throttle override makes this bike versatile, functional for commuters, and just plain fun… go for a larger pack if you plan on riding fast frequently because air really resistance cuts into range above 20 mph
  • You get a 1,000 lumen integrated LED headlight stock! that’s nice for utility and safety, a lot more convenient than an aftermarket light that you have to remember to turn on/off or risk getting stolen because it’s not bolted down
  • The 8Fun hub motor used here was custom specced by Juiced Bikes and offers a whopping 650 to 960 watts of power, even though the casing is so small and compact, I was really impressed with how fluid and powerful it felt (though I only weigh ~135 lbs), it did feel like an upgrade over the standard CrossCurrent which uses a 500 watt motor
  • The plastic fenders used on this bike are wide, have flexible rubber flaps at the ends, and didn’t rattle as much as I had expected because they have additional struts and attachment points (specifically, on the rear rack for the rear fender)
  • I didn’t get to see the rear light, but apparently it comes with and clips into the Selle Royal saddle, this is nice to have but be careful that your long shirt or coat doesn’t drape down over it, or that you forget to turn it off because it’s an independent light vs. the headlight which is wired in, it’s nice that you get two lights here but consider adding a light to the back of your backpack, helmet, or trunk bag like this that clips on
  • The bike rode comfortably because of the slightly fatter tires, suspension fork (with compression slider and lockout), ergonomic locking grips from Velo, and the name-brand gel saddle from Selle Royale, consider swapping out the seat post with a 27.2 mm suspension post from Suntour or BodyFloat for added comfort on your back and neck, and maybe a ShockStop stem for your wrists and arms if you ride fast and travel on a lot of bumpy terrain or are just sensitive like me
  • In recent years, it seems like more brands are foregoing motor inhibitors on their brake levers… because fancier sensor systems, the Juiced CrossCurrent S does have a torque + cadence sensor and yet they also still include motor inhibitors for an added level of control over the bike, the levers also provide adjustable reach which is nice if you have smaller hands or wear gloves sometimes
  • The bike felt really solid, notice the reinforcement eyelets on the rims so they don’t crack, and the slightly thicker 12 and 13 gauge spokes, the larger BMX style alloy platform pedals which feel stiff and won’t let you slip off as easily, I appreciate the black rims, spokes, and motor casing that all match and just look more refined and polished
  • The drivetrain is pretty good for a value priced electric bike, nine speeds with a lower-end Shimano Altus derailleur (but not the lowest) and you a stronger chain, trigger shifters with a double-click downshifter, and a sturdy alloy chain guard to protect the massive 52 tooth chainring and keep your pants clear and clean
  • I love that Juiced Bikes offers an optional 8 Amp battery charger because the larger packs would otherwise take 7+ hours with the standard 2 Amp charger
  • There are nine ticks on the battery infographic which is more than the standard 4 or 5 I usually see, and this provides more insight into how full the battery actually is, the finer increments give you like ~11% jumps vs. 25% or 20%
  • If you have to walk the bike (like if you’ve got the rack loaded with groceries, the terrain gets bumpy, or maybe you get a flat tire) the walk mode becomes very useful, this is a ~57 lb e-bike after all! Just hold the minus button on the control pad to activate it
  • It’s neat that you can adjust so much in the settings menu of this electric bicycle, just hold the + and – buttons to enter settings and then choose the top speed (you could lower it from 28 to 20 mph for efficiency or safety), power limit, even have the ability de-activate the torque sensor so you only have to turn the cranks and not push in order to activate assist, and you can also set the low voltage cutoff to save the battery from completely discharging (the default is 40 volts according to Tora
  • Apparently, the cadence sensor is built into the rear torque plate and has 104 measure points vs. just 12 on most ebikes, the cadence and torque sensors on this bike make it very responsive and fluid feeling

Cons:

  • The shifter cables, electrical wires, and hydraulic brake lines are all tacked onto the bottom of the downtube vs. internally routed, this means the bike isn’t as clean looking and there’s a bit more potential for snags but Tora explained that it makes their products much easier to service
  • I have heard from some customers in 2017 that the Juiced CrossCurrent Air and OceanCurrent arrived with some issues… but I asked Tora about this on camera and I though this response was very honest and aware, he said they have improved their packaging and are are working to resolve and eliminate this sort of thing in the future (issues had to do with shifter cables, disc brake mount consistency, and maybe a crank/bottom bracket thing)
  • As nice as the light is, the design is a bit less stylish than the rounded Aluminum-cased Supernova and Spanninga lights I have seen, it is also mounted to the suspension post arch which travels up and down… the light is not suspended on the bike and therefore may bounce as you travel over rough terrain
  • Apparently the 5 Volt USB A port near the top right side of the battery pack has been disabled, I asked Tora about this and he said there had been concerns about phantom power draw and they wanted to protect the cells… as a consumer, this would have been nice to have if it could be made to work, USB ports are handy for charging phones, lights, and music players while on the go, or used for backup power when parked at home if the lights go out or something
  • The tires seemed kind of basic to me… no puncture protective lining or reflective sidewall stripes, consider upgrading to something like the Schwalbe Marathon Plus eventually if you’re into that, changing a flat on an ebike is no fun and only the front wheel offers quick release
  • The CrossCurrent S is heavy, at 57.4 lbs for the smaller 16.5″ frame (which I tested and weighed) you can really tell that the larger battery, coil fork, and overbuilt rack add weight… but at least the battery and front wheel are removable
  • Minor consideration, there’s inner chain guide plate or chain catcher so it sounds like over time if the derailleur goes out of tune, you could have the chain drop off occasionally, Tora said there wasn’t room for a chain guide because of the shorter “RC” or chainstay lengths which make the bike handle quicker and feel more nimble vs. a long stretched out bike
  • Take extra care when charging the battery while it’s mounted to the bike frame because the charging port is located very close to the left crank arm and could be snagged or bent if the pedals got turned, also, the rubber cap that covers the charging port on this type of pack can sometimes be difficult to seat (though it was not for this particular model during my review)
  • Minor complaint, there’s no slap guard on the right chainstay! Tora said they might add it in the future when I pointed this out during the video, note that you can use clear masking tape or buy a sticker slap guard inexpensively online like this, if you have the red or black frame, nicks from the chain might appear silver because of the Aluminum underneath as the paint chips over time in this spot
  • As with most planetary geared hub motors, there was some electronic whirring noise produced when the motor was really working, I wouldn’t call it especially loud but it does deliver higher speeds and more power than average so the sound can become noticeable (as shown in the video review ride test above)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Juiced Bikes Reviews

Juiced Bikes OceanCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable high-speed cruiser electric bike, available in traditional cantilever high-step or relaxed mid-step for easy mounting, choice of five fun colors including traditional black or red. Excellent frame balance, the downtube battery keeps weight low and center, the compact hub motor…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Air Review

  • MSRP: $1,195
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable speed pedelec with high-definition cadence sensor, mechanical disc brakes and a nine-speed Shimano Altus drivetrain, it's well balanced and relatively light weight. Removable battery and quick release front wheel make it easier to lock securely and fill-up…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An affordably priced speed pedelec that's well balanced, not too heavy and available in three frame sizes for a good fit, you can also upgrade the battery size. Comes stock with a powerful 48 volt battery but lower 7.8 amp hours, uses a…...

Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

A sturdy, high torque, cargo style electric bike with enormous range thanks to a 48 volt 15 amp hour battery pack with premium Panasonic Lithium-ion cells. Powerful 500 watt internally geared front hub motor by 8Fun, benefits from a smaller wheel…...

Juiced Bikes ODK U500 Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

A sturdy, thoughtfully designed cargo bike with a low center of gravity that's easy to mount and handle. Super strong 500 watt front hub motor paired with 48 volt Lithium Manganese battery pack...


Dewey
3 months ago

Thank you Court for describing the features and improvements over the earlier models. I think it would be helpful to mention the user can change power settings in the LCD display between Class 2, 3 and an “off-road mode” that on pavement can propel the Cross Current S to over 30mph as illustrated in their promotional video. Without a VIN number an ebike usually cannot be registered or titled at the DMV and would not be insurable, so even if it were legal to ride on the street >30mph a rider may still be in violation of state motor vehicle code/traffic/driving regulations that were written to require mopeds and motorcycles meet federal motor vehicle safety standards, be titled, registered, and insured, in order to be legally operable on street.

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Interesting, we only talked about the 28 mph to 20 mph (or lower) adjustability. Thanks for the clarification that this bike can go even faster in some cases and that they have some great video resources. It was neat to speak directly with Tora and I am wishing them the best with these new models and shipping process.

Reply
John G.
3 months ago

I’m probably going to go for this model once I have saved the necessary funds, as it seems like the perfect commuter/weekend joyrider ebike, and I love the colors and shape. However, you would think an eight-year-old company that has been in the ebike game for quite some time now would have the means of meeting customer demand in a much more timely fashion, and not have people willing to fork over nearly $2000 of their hard-earned money waiting for two to three months for their bike. Essentially, Juiced should have had many more times the available stock of CC-S models than were ordered prior to their August 2017 delivery. As it stands now, an order placed today is slated (liberally) for delivery in November. Other ebike manufacturers are offering very similar products available on-demand. I work for a small company, but we must have millions of dollars of credit available to us so that we can purchase against our future invoiced services. It boggles my mind that Juiced isn’t ordering at least twice as many bikes as have been ordered. I suspect that they will HAVE to do this in the future. I met a stranger a few weeks ago who’d been on an ebike research campaign very similar to my own, and we independently arrived at the CC-S as the ideal bike, and but for the multiple-month period (Fall being PRIME biking weather in the mid-Atlantic), it very much is. C’mon Juiced, get your shipping/stocking issues together!

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

I hear you John… and it must be frustrating to see that demand (from Juiced Bike’s perspective) but not meet it. Maybe they are being cautious due to some of the issues on the CrossCurrent Air and OceanCurrent models? Maybe Tora doesn’t want to take on debt or investors? Difficult to say, but I have found myself choosing other products based on availability before, even if the bike isn’t as good, at least I can enjoy it while the weather is good etc. I’m wishing them the best of luck and feel that their designs and product choices are great as you and your friend thought as well.

Reply
Dennis Lee
2 months ago

So if one purchases a Concurrent S at $1700 for November delivery does it get charged to ones credit card prior to delivery; also is it drop shipped from the asian chinese factory to the customer directly or is it first delivered to Juiced Bikes for quality control and inspection to make sure that the electric bike meets Juiced Bikes quality assurance standards and if not what is to prevent the asian chinese factory from shipping and/or swapping electric bicycles when Tora Harris is not at the asian chinese factory; these are all really important kinds and types of questions that need to be answered before plunking down $1700 for basically a custom asian Chinese manufactured bicycle made for Juiced Bikes?

Dennis Lee
2 months ago

So if one currently purchases a potential Concurrent S at $1,700 with the default 12.8ah 13 serial banks with its accompanying associated 4 parallel banked 18650(3,200mah core cells) fifty-two combined 18650 cells battery option that one cannot also even currently purchase the substantially larger and better quality 17.0ah 13 serial banks with its accompanying assoicated 6 parallel banked 18650(2,833mah core cells) seventy-eight combined 18650 cells battery option currently for an additional $300; and also that one cannot also even currently purchase the even the still substantially larger 21.0ah 13 serial banks with its accompanying associated 6 parallel banked 18650(3,500mah core cells) seventy-eight combined 18650 cells battery option currently for an additional $700;

now hopefully it does not also take four months potentially for the asian chinese factories to build and manufacture enough batteries for potential Juiced Bikes customers considering buying into the Concurrent S electric bike option; one has to realistic generally figure that a potential Juiced Bikes electric bike customer would want one electric bike battery pack to make it to their destination and another potential electric bike battery pack to make it back for the return leg electric bike trip; especially on those longer mileage weekend electric biking touring excursion trips one is undoubtedly potentially planning on making.

Tora Harris
2 months ago

Yes we did order 2x as many and we could have ordered more. We demand that the bike uses several specialized components that are hard to get. We also use specialized processes that take a long time.

It takes almost 4 months to get the bike to the customer from the time we order all the parts. So there is a massive lag time. We can choose the domestically available parts to dramatically speed up the lead times, but the bike would not be the same.

As far as the quality. First of all, the design needs to be fundamentally sound, It then needs to be serviceable and then balance that with being attractive. Then we can start talking about quality. On top of this we think a lot about backwards and forwards compatibility as well as cross compatibility between models.

Just about every bike is made in China or Taiwan. Some bikes are assembled in other places, but the parts are still coming from the same suppliers at the moment. Assembly can only be as good as the parts arriving. So we often have to drill backwards in the supply and find out where bottlenecks are happening. We have to find out if we increase the demand, how is everyone keeping up?

All of this means that there will be some delay initially when we transition from the CC to the CCS. The delay will get shorter and shorter until finally you can just swipe your card and walk away with one.

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Great feedback and insights Tora, thanks for chiming in, keep up the great work and innovation :)

Bill L
3 months ago

Over the summer we researched the Ebikes and watched so many of your reviews which gave us a sense of what’s available and what questions to ask. Locally, test drove many of the big name Ebikes. We were disappointed in the power and uneven delivery power. SO, In the end, we decided to buy the CrossCurrent S sight unseen. We watched all of Tora’s videos which gave us a good idea what to expect.

The most important point you made in the review is the combination of the “Torque sensor and high resolution cadence sensor” providing a smooth bike like ride which is so true. Also, the bike is really quiet. I believe your camera microphone was picking up more sound than what you’re really hearing in person. The bike is actually fairly quiet. My wife and I ordered two bikes in mid July. They had plenty bikes sizes and colors to choose from. Tora is making a feature rich bike that people want at an affordable price. I think there sales have recently mushroomed.

Our CrossCurrent S arrived today. It took me about 30+ minutes (each) to assemble them. It was a fairly straight forward process. This evening my wife and I chased each other up some steep grades in our Colorado neighborhood. It was a real blast. Our first impression is an “A” for awesome. I appreciate your advice here at EBR. You were a big help.

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Bill! Thanks for expanding on how fluid and quiet the drive system is. I agree that the torque and cadence combination really produces a sweet ride. I visit Colorado frequently, there are indeed some steep grades if you’re in the foothills or mountains. So glad my work here has helped out out, thank you so much for chiming in to share… and you are invited to continue sharing as the products are used long-term and more insights pop up :)

Reply
Nick
3 months ago

Your reviews are incredibly helpful and I am highly impressed by the quality and price of the CrossCurrent S! One feature I would like to learn more about is the available option” of GPS Integration for the Super and Hyper Extended Battery Packs, allowing the owner to track the bikes location and recover it if stolen. This sounds amazing! Could you comment more on this and let folks know if this feature is included automatically with the extended batteries, needing only activation, or is it a feature that must be requested at the time of purchase, and how does that process work?

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Nick, I just heard back from Tora about the GPS thing and he said: “The GPS system is the same one that we use on some of our delivery e-bikes. Because we make our own battery packs we made room to fit the GPS module inside the battery. Sorry we just have not had enough time to promote it, but all the big battery packs have the hardware connection to do it already. The GPS has a SIM card and sends data over the cell network. It send live updates of the location every min when the bike is moving. You can see this information on a map in real time. It also has an app. You can set geo fence notifications, speed limit notification, motion trigger notification. You can find the bike if it gets stolen since it pinpoints like down to 10 feet. The Cost is not set yet, but in the $200 something dollar upgrade. You get one year free monitoring, with unlimited notifications. After the first year its 5 bucks a month.” Hope that helps! Great question Nick :)

Reply
Ken H
2 weeks ago

Court, In your video and review you listed the weight of the 16.5″ step over, with the standard 12.8Ah battery, as 57.4 lbs. The Juiced specifications list the total weight as 52.5 lbs. Can you explain the discrepency?

Reply
Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Hi Ken! I’m not sure how Juiced measures their own bikes but I use a hand scale (the same scale for all reviews) and measure twice to make sure. I always measure with the battery pack on the bike, perhaps they measure with it off? Maybe someone else who owns the bike can chime in, or perhaps they made some changes to the model since I covered it?

Reply
Ken H
2 weeks ago

Thanks Court. I think they just have their specs wrong. They stated they would double check and update them, so I suspect the 57.4 lbs you measured is probably close if not correct.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Rooster
11 hours ago

Font triangle is the same as the CCS.
https://shop.juicedbikes.com/pages/crosscurrent-frame-geometry
Took all of the juiced bike's decals off my ocean current and replaced with American flyer. Gonna have ebike.ca build me a controller to replace the P.O.S. that's on it. Thank you very much.

Mark Peralta
4 hours ago

I came across the internet about "ebike efficiency" from endless sphere
https://endless-sphere.com/w/index.php/EBike_Efficiency
and I thought it is worth sharing. The beauty of ebikes is there is a second source of motive power and that is your pedal power. It talks about the very basic principle about ebike motors. Here , it relates to a hub motor but the principle is still the same for the smaller mid drives. The road speed on the chart is just changed to cadence on mid drives. First, the power (watts) that comes out from the battery does not completely translates to actual watts to the wheels. There is a certain speed at which the conversion to mechanical power (motor efficiency) is highest.

In this example, the motor efficiency is highest at speeds somewhere between 25-31 mph. The lower the speed, the less efficient is the motor.

Those watt meters on some ebike displays do not always represent the watts to the wheels but these are the wattage that came out from the battery. And if you are on the wrong speed, most of those watts are wasted as heat. Or if you are in the wrong cadence in the case of mid drives. Basing on the efficiency curve of the hub motor above, it appears that it is ideal for high speed commuting.

To minimize energy waste at lower speed, a controller is used to limit the max current.

In the old days, simple resistors were used to control the current but these are very inefficient and obsolete and are now replaced by pulse width modulation controllers (PWM) with the use of metal–oxide–semiconductor field-effect transistors (MOSFET). The electrical current is then controlled to different levels. Example of this simple controller with different current settings at different assist levels is from a chart from Bafang mid drive (cadence is used at the x axis instead of road speed). The orange curve represents 100% (current decay is another user adjustable parameter in the Bafang controller)

https://electricbike-blog.com/2015/06/26/a-hackers-guide-to-programming-the-bbs02/

However, it is also important to know the power demand of an ebike at different speeds brought about by many factors and most especially the air resistance (aerodynamic drag), in order to further minimize power wastage when it is not needed and only apply power to when it is really needed.

You don't really need a lot of power at low speed but a simple controller's output is opposite (Cheap Chinese controllers). No wonder the cheap ebikes and ebike kits cannot reliably provide good battery mileage since you thought you are saving battery by going slower but you actually wasted a lot of power there. Most of the time, I notice that simple controllers feel "punchy" and tend to lurch ahead from a dead stop (great for showing off to friends) but once the ebike is already moving and you needed more assist, sometimes the power isn't there anymore, when you needed it the most.

Enter the Smart Controllers from the big players where more brain capacity is added to the controller's program in order to determine and match power requirement with the power output of the motor. And added measures are incorporated to cut the assist if the motor speed is at the inefficient range. This is made possible with the use of torque sensors and sophisticated program algorithms. An example of this is the "dynamic assist" from Juicedbikes.

http://juicedbikes.com.au/bikes/2017-crosscurrent/

I cannot find the controller charts of other big players but that is understandable (trade secret). It only goes to show that it's not only the motor efficiency that is important but how sophisticated the controllers are made. Not all controllers are created equal.

On mid drives, the gear reduction ratio is also set up so that the motor is most efficient at a cadence rate preferred by most cyclists (normal cadence range) .

https://www.electricbike.com/bosch-cannondale/

This principle in actual application made it possible for a small motor (mid drive) to achieve a very very impressive efficiency of 100 miles in 1 charge of the 500wh battery or 5 wh/mile!
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/range-100-miles-giant-road-e.14617/#post-121767

This highest mileage potential is demonstrated by the small mid drive, but at a slower average speed (~15mph). The mid drives also has an advantage for the ability to climb very steep hills, as long as the gear ratio in the drive train is appropriate, but at the expense of even much slower, snail paced, speed (sometimes it feels like being pulled up by a winch!).

However, hub drives are not far behind in efficiency. Especially with increasing sophistication of the controllers and more efficient motor designs like the Maxon.
http://partir-en-vtt.com/fsb2/index.php?p=search&mode=author&id=52

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/hub-vs-mid-drive-how-can-i-compare.14635/page-5

Hub drives are also more appropriate for high speed commuting, such as riding regularly at higher average speeds (above 23 mph) since the bicycle drive train at that higher crank output will wear out prematurely in less than a couple thousand miles. Or for transporting heavy loads such as the delivery ebikes.

There is still a bright future for efficient hub drives since, aside from the above mentioned strengths, hub drives are also very user friendly, easy gear shifting, durability, and is superior on stop and go city streets.

1/1
Rooster
3 days ago

Font triangle is the same as the CCS.
https://shop.juicedbikes.com/pages/crosscurrent-frame-geometry
Hi Tora, what up? Let me know if you have a 20 amp controller that will plug and play on my ocean current, I don't care if it doesn't fit in the frame, I will make it work. I would appreciate it. Thanks
Excuse all the junk and tools but here are a few observations:

1. Wire bead fat bike tires are crazy hard to take off. Just replaced the Kenda tires with Origin8 Captiv-8er. Installed tire liner, but will also deploy slime inside the tube.

2. There is no service disconnect for the motor, the wiring harness goes all the way to the controller. There is a multi-pin connector and a few soldered wired under heat shrink near the head tube. It won’t be impossible to fix a flat in the field, but it will be more challenging than a mid drive.
Man you have that seat way up there but them tires look good, they look like my speedsters I have on my ocean current but mine are 2.80x26, nice ride, low resistance.

Rooster
3 days ago

Font triangle is the same as the CCS.
https://shop.juicedbikes.com/pages/crosscurrent-frame-geometry
Hi Tora, what up? Let me know if you have a 20 amp controller that will plug and play on my ocean current, I don't care if it doesn't fit in the frame, I will make it work. I would appreciate it. Thanks.

Tora Harris
3 days ago
Mark Peralta
2 days ago

Hello!
i have a round trip commute of 34 miles (total). The road is mostly flat. I am looking for a fast class 3 bike that also offer offroad mode, that allows me to ride faster than 28 miles limit.

any recommendations?

thank you
If you ride like Tora (the company owner and designer of the CrossCurrent S ebike himself) on this video where he easily maintained 29-30 mph on some sections of the 16 mile trip and consumed 8.5 ah for the ride, then your 34 mile round trip will consume roughly 18 ah. That's barely enough for the 17 ah battery but you will have more than enough charge if you use the 21 ah battery. That's assuming your battery consumption is same from Tora's ride at 25.5 wh/mi (1.88 ah/mi).

Interestingly, as a side note, when Ravi did his Guinness 5K run with the Stromer ST2, he averaged 22 mph and consumed about 18 wh/mi. That coincides with Juicebikes' tabulated consumption at the indicated speed (highlighted in green). That only shows that the CCS is very close in performance and efficiency to the Stromer ST2. CCS is a great product by Tora considering that it is a fraction of the price.

1/1
Reid
1 week ago

Mine was ordered 23 September 2017.
Have just gotten the Juiced Bikes email and thought I'd share a copy and paste:

CrossCurrent S Delivery UPDATE / Now Shipping!

Inbox
x

Juiced Bikes mail@juicedbikes.com via mail193.atl21.rsgsv.net
8:46 PM (3 hours ago)

to me

View this email in your browser

Dear Valued Juiced Bikes Friends,

We hope this finds you well.

All pre-ordered CrossCurrent S bikes have begun shipping to waiting customers as of last week.

It's a little bit of a traffic jam but bikes are going out daily and we'll be clearing them out ASAP.

We're shipping bikes to customers on a first in first out manner so depending on when your order was placed, it will determine your spot in the queue.

Thank you for your patience! We know it will be worth the wait.

Best Regards,
Your Juiced Bikes Team

FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA
Facebook
YouTube
Instagram
#teamjuicedbikes
Copyright © 2017 Juiced Bikes, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
Juiced Bikes
1085 Bay Blvd, Suite B
Chula Vista, California 91911
Add us to your address book

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Bruce Arnold
1 week ago

Has anybody received their Crosscurrent S from the November batch? It's been 3+ months since I ordered mine and I'm beginning think they're "playing" me since they are now a month behind.

I can say that customer service has been good for me. I I have some specific needs and Juiced has accommodated them. The drawback to forums like this is that it gives the complainers a bullhorn. No QA program is 100% effective. There will be mistakes. People like to act as though an isolated problem is an epidemic. I use statistics in my daily work and believe me, it helps keep me sane in venues like this.

Paul Cavasino
1 week ago

Today I went to the local Pedego shop and rode the City Commuter and the Interceptor. I wanted to ride the Platinum Interceptor as well, but they said that they didn't carry that, though they could order it for me. That was kinda disappointing because I wanted to try an ebike with hydraulic brakes and compare them to the normal disc ones.

Maybe because it was my first time on an ebike but I was rather nervous at first due to the speed but also neither bike felt like it had stopping power. I was struggling to stay still on a hill and wound up falling by accident (at walking speeds). At the end of the hour period I did feel alot better but just disappointed about the brakes. Or maybe it was totally normal.

This could be due to a few reasons:

Haven't ridden a bike in a while (though this was on the second bike at around 40 minutes into riding)
I test rode the bikes that they use for rental so they were a little beat up.

TL;DR

I couldn't try a bike with hydraulic breaks and i wanted to see if anyone felt that it was worth it. If it is then I will probably wind up buying the Juiced CrossCurrent S since that has the hydraulic breaks and it has a torque sensor (which i couldn't test out) although i'm taking a risk since the forums seem to have mixed feelings about the quality and service of the CCS. If normal brakes are fine then I will just by the Pedego City Commuter since I can take it to the local shop for maintenance and issues.

Thanks!
Yes,...We own 2 Pedegos, his & hers,...( City Commuter & Step thru-Interceptor),...& Have Immensely Enjoyed Our Biking Adventures for 2 Years Now !! GO PEDEGO,...they're rated one of the most reliable EBIKES out there !!

Tora Harris
1 week ago

Has anybody received their Crosscurrent S from the November batch? It's been 3+ months since I ordered mine and I'm beginning think they're "playing" me since they are now a month behind.

We are definitely not "playing" any customers. CCS, HyperFats and some other units arrived just in the last weeks and early part of this week. It's a bit of a traffic jam, but we are starting to ship them all out.
E-bikes are experiencing a kind of incredible growth at the moment and the CCS is turning out to be a mega product. It is natural to be skeptical, but we are very transparent about what we are doing. We take pride in saying that our products do what it says on the tin. We thank you for your order and apologize for any delays. We are eager to get the product to you as fast and safe as possible.

bikerbiker
1 week ago

Has anybody received their Crosscurrent S from the November batch? It's been 3+ months since I ordered mine and I'm beginning think they're "playing" me since they are now a month behind.

Tora Harris
1 week ago

That is his real name you put in quote marks; he uses his real name and I do, too, in public and in private.

I've put my money down on a Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S. It will arrive this month. I'll take good care of it and I expect it may be less perfect than a bike costing twice as much. Nonetheless, spokes should no longer be a problem. From their blog page:

Yes, please ignore this troll. This user, daniel58 opened a account on oct 20th and since then EVERY SINGLE POST has been a long rambling monolog with a direct slant against Juiced and no other brand. Who has this much time? https://electricbikereview.com/forum/search/30279404/

To our knowledge, this user or bot does not own one of our bikes. On top of this same user also goes to our webpage and harasses our chat reps for hours. It is just part of doing business on the open internet I guess.

1/3
Reid
2 weeks ago

...to Juiced Bikes "Tora Harris" and its paying Juiced Bikes customers "quality assurance" is basically nothing but an unmitigated Juiced Bikes "rip off" post purchase and as such this is totally unacceptable....
That is his real name you put in quote marks; he uses his real name and I do, too, in public and in private.

I've put my money down on a Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S. It will arrive this month. I'll take good care of it and I expect it may be less perfect than a bike costing twice as much. Nonetheless, spokes should no longer be a problem. From their blog page:

CrossCurrent S November Production Update - Upgraded Spokes
Posted by Tora Harris in crosscurrent S

Color painted frames ready to get boxed.

The November batch of CrossCurrent S bikes are on the way from the overseas factory. All have left the factory and expected to land to our San Diego warehouse just inside November.

New production has XXL 22" Frames

The color painted bikes will be first to arrive followed by the brushed aluminum frames coming a little later. Then its a matter of sorting through the orders and getting them on the road to waiting customers. We will send out a proper email update to pre-order customers and wait-list customers very soon.

Schwalbe Marathon Plus Tires get loaded onto the container

New Spokes
This production of CCS and moving forward we have switched to heavy duty SAPIM Belgium-made spokes and a improved lacing pattern. The spokes are imported and this production took a little bit longer due to the slower arriving spokes. SAPIM spokes are use on high end e-bikes. Check out the incredible strength of these spokes [Video: Bicycle Wheel on Car 6,300,000 views - Youtube]

daniel58
2 weeks ago

They have, and I also do in between visits. After the first replacement, they only have their master wheel guy work on it. As referenced many, many times in this forum, there is an issue with the CrossCurrent's spokes that Juiced seems to be aware of, but doesn't want to offer any actual solutions other than 'just keep buying our spokes that either don't fit correctly, or are made of low-quality metal'.

$250 was their high estimate - LBS is still figuring out what spokes they can get, but I told them I wanted the strongest spokes within reason, so I'm expecting I'll have to pay $4 a spoke, 36 of them, plus an hour of labor is going to be around $200 minimum. With the weird size of the spoke, it may drive cost of the spokes up even further. I will NOT use any more of Juiced's spokes.

Once again, I am reiterating do not buy Juiced Bikes Concurrent S until they have proven beyond a shadow of a doubt that they have actually solved the ongoing epic Juiced Bikes broken spokes debacle; I strongly suspect they do not even bother to actually "quality assurance" check their Juiced Bikes at their asian chinese factories "at all whatsoever" in so far they do not use a spoke check tension checking tool and enter that into a spreadsheet to allow any inherent spoke tension distribution variances to be potentially corrected; this simply does not happen on the asian chinese factory floor as part of the supposed Juiced Bikes "quality assurance" process; to Juiced Bikes "Tora Harris" and its paying Juiced Bikes customers "quality assurance" is basically nothing but an unmitigated Juiced Bikes "rip off" post purchase and as such this is totally unacceptable.

bob armani
2 weeks ago

This my 3rd ride with my eMTB and loving it. 3 of my ride parties have Giant eBike(Yamaha) and I rode Bulls ( Brose motor). For comparison I was running full assist most of the time and still, use just 2 bar of my battery while the Giant was down to 50% on level 2 assist. It's almost 10 miles climb and 10 miles more downhill. 3100ft elevation.

My 1st eBike is s-pedelac crosscurrent-s which I use it for the daily commute.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=xPK0KtYS1sU.
Siganberg-
Great- Great- Awesome indeed. Nice ride and trails with a perfect pairing in your music selection. Love the Bulls too, nice dependable ride with plenty of battery power to spare! I use the EM Evo Jet with a zippy 350watt rear hub for commuting.Hope you have more video to come on this forum. Ride Safe! :D

Reid
3 weeks ago

Of course when some uninsured helmetless rider turns themselves into a slobbering, spoon fed invalid in a public institution it costs us all money. I would support helmetless motorcycling if emergency rooms could actually turn them away, but the reality is that their "rights" impinges on others. I was stopped by a cop in that totalitarian hell- hole called Australia and asked to put my helmet on. Fair enough, they all pay for the health care.
Here in the police state of Florida the former universal motorcycle helmet law was virtually repealed July 1, 2000: A person over 21 years of age may operate or ride upon a motorcycle without wearing a helmet if they are covered by an insurance policy providing for at least $10,000 in medical benefits for injuries incurred as a result of a crash while operating or riding on a motorcycle. As for bicycles in Florida, riders over the age of sixteen are not required to wear a helmet.http://www.floridahealth.gov/statistics-and-data/florida-injury-surveillance-system/_documents/data-fact-sheets/tbi-2013.pdf
(does not break down the source of the injuries).

Florida allows you to make your own fool decision.

(Florida also allows obesity, including by means of unrestricted pizza and high fructose corn syrup and unlimited Aspartame consumption, filling assisted living facilities and nursing homes and hospital beds with insolvent and fatally afflicted wards of the state.)

However, virtually all of the thousands of road bikers and most of the Sunday cyclists in my affluent Coconut Grove area wear helmets.

Flash! Seen today first time!: A very fast and fully lycra'd road biker pedaling a sky blue, mid-drive FAT TIRE EBIKE, visually estimated at well over 20 mph!

Yet he looked so normal and would make a great advertising image, hairnet helmet included, to counter oldster images of ebiking with our comb-overs and wattles waving in the breeze.

His youthful example is sure to excite other road bikers here who see him to get power assist bikes. Hooray!

PS. Even I might wear a helmet, when my prepaid, long-awaited 28 m.p.h. 2nd production CrossCurrent S arrives in December. Me, helmetless for all these years, wear a helmet? Well, it is lot faster and aggressive that I'll be riding. So, a helmet, then? Otherwise my luck may excessively depend on Depends. ;)

Siganberg
3 weeks ago

This my 3rd ride with my eMTB and loving it. 3 of my ride parties have Giant eBike(Yamaha) and I rode Bulls ( Brose motor). For comparison I was running full assist most of the time and still, use just 2 bar of my battery while the Giant was down to 50% on level 2 assist. It's almost 10 miles climb and 10 miles more downhill. 3100ft elevation.

My 1st eBike is s-pedelac crosscurrent-s which I use it for the daily commute.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=xPK0KtYS1sU.

1/1
Mike Nemeth
3 weeks ago

I have also found Juiced Bikes use a similar down tube case like ours. Their Oceancurrent and Crosscurrent models have either a 48V 8.8Ah and a 48V 12.8Ah. The 48V 12.8Ah retails for 699.00! Good batteries are expensive!

They have a nice battery chart on this page: http://www.juicedbikes.com/collections/oceancurrent-e-bike/products/battery-pack-for-crosscurrent-oceancurrent

They also make two extended range batteries that are 72 cells instead of 52. Larger batteries that fit the same down tube. 48V 17.4Ah $999.00 and 48V 21AH $1399.00 The last battery would almost double the range of our original battery at a cost of almost a 2nd bike!

Also I have been reading up on 52 volt batteries. They seem to work with 48 volt controllers but provide a higher top end speed. Interesting stuff.

I'm hoping that as Li-Ion batteries become more universal the price will come down. Kinda like flat screen TV's. Time will tell.

DMP
3 weeks ago

Ref CrossCurrent AIR, a few months old

Love this bike (other than the rear brakes), when it works, but unfortunately reliability is an issue and I need something reliable for commuting.

One persistent problem is flaking out in the rain, and I live in the north west, where it rains.

Tech support suggested water might be getting into the connectors, so I wanted to ask, has anybody experience with spraying the connectors with a water displacer such as WD 40? Used to work a treat on the spark plugs of my old car when they got damp but that was much higher power. Is there any reason not to try WD40? Any other suggestions or experience with this of note?

Thanks. If I can get this one solved I can ask about the other issues....

mal robot
4 weeks ago

Hi Tora,

Thanks for your reply & I'm glad future customers will have a better spoke setup. I am still very happy with how the CrossCurrent S performs and have 800 miles on the bike now. With respect to my situation, I now have 2 outstanding tickets against Juiced support (for this spokes issue and an issue related to a charger I ordered): #SU00006411 and #SALES-00006163. When I brought my bike in to Electric Bike Attack this morning, they said they've also had issues getting in touch with Juiced for another customer's bike who had spoke issues. Hope you can resolve these customer support issues soon.

Thanks!

Dewey
4 weeks ago

I have been looking at Juiced CrossCurrent S

For 100 mile range with the Cross Current S you would be looking at the 21ah battery plus the $400 fast charger and $100 Schwalbe tire upgrade so it will cost nearer $3,000, you'll want the 8a fast charger otherwise charging the large battery will take all day on the standard 2a charger. With that large battery the Cross Current S will be heavy around 60lb

A recent discussion thread about the lighter $4,000 Giant Road E (44lb) talked about the effort required to achieve 100 mile range on that bike's smaller battery. It would be much more comfortable to pedal long distance on the Giant if you ran out of power.

Petermo
1 month ago

Looking for an e-bike with the following characteristics:

- Relatively quiet.

- For suburban commuting and touring.

- Relatively wide tires for sand/gravel and winter conditions – though not on ice.

- Is reasonably pedalable without any assistance – I want to use my bike for getting around, running errands, AND exercise. I’d like to be able to ride 100 miles through rolling terrain with a mix of both e-assist and traditional pedaling.

- I’d like to keep the cost below $2K.

So far, I have been looking at Juiced CrossCurrent S (online, as I have not seen it in a local Colorado store). Any thoughts/recommendations?

Thanks.

Reid
1 month ago

I am looking forward to mid December--by which time a preorder CCS in red and black should be here--my first ebike in many years.

I have several near neighbors in this affluent neighborhood who will see the bike and I just bet they will become converts when they test ride the CrossCurrent S.

Part of the pleasure of an ebike is sharing the fun.

Reid
1 month ago

Juiced Bikes mail@juicedbikes.com via mail185.atl61.mcsv.net
1:30 PM (42 minutes ago)

to me

Dear Valued Juiced Bikes Friends,

We hope this finds you well.

We know everyone is eagerly waiting for their shiny new bike so we wanted to share the most current information regarding the "S".

All pre-ordered bikes are boxed and shipping to our warehouse here in the US now.

We decided to UPGRADE these bikes to the new Sapim spokes which took an additional few days. We felt it was the right choice to give our patient customer the best we had to offer - see below for more detail on the spoke upgrade.

Containers are likely to hit our dock right around the Thanksgiving holiday which may add a few days to the process.

We're targeting shipments to customers starting late November on a first in first out manner.

Thank you for your patience! We know it will be worth the wait.

Best Regards,
Your Juiced Bikes Team

----------------------------

Spoke Upgrade

As you know, our goal is to create great products at great prices and we source our components in such a way that you'll get the ride you want at a price that makes sense for your pocket book.

We don't take any of the components for granted, not even spokes.

Having high performance bikes is great but some riders carry heavier payloads than others and ride on extremely bumpy terrain. This puts a heavy load on the spokes.

High inflation pressure, heavy payloads, rough terrain, high performance hub motor, non-optimal lacing pattern, 12G spoke head not sitting totally flat on the hub flange all combine to create potential spoke failure.

We consulted with wheel experts and upgraded to 13G very high quality spokes from a Belgian company called Sapim. They are known for their race spokes and high quality materials etc.

Our rims will now handle both 12G and 13G spokes so if you ever do break one, you can get them anywhere, the spoke is not a special size. AND we include 2 extra spokes with each bike - so if you break one, you won't need to wait to get it fixed.

We'll be making detailed videos to show how easy it is to tighten up and replace a spoke if necessary, no need to even take the wheel off.

FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA
Facebook
YouTube
Instagram
Copyright © 2017 Juiced Bikes, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
Juiced Bikes
1085 Bay Blvd, Suite B
Chula Vista, California 91911
Add us to your address book

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Ricky Lease
7 days ago

Hey Tora. Are you shipping any s’s in January. I noticed that now showing February shipping preorders. Can’t wait to get mine. I love what you’re doing at Juiced

edwin pringle
1 week ago

It's just another Chinese P.O.S. don't know why everyone likes to brown nose this guy, Tora, so much. Definitely not a man of his word, just another dw giving China all the work . All about the almighty dollar.

Go Time Electric Bikes
4 weeks ago

Way to tell it like it is Court! We love that you get the real deal on every bike. Good Job!

John Caban
1 month ago

Love all your reviews! I'm 48 and looking for a EBike in the under $2000 price range. Since you review all types of Ebikes could you recommend a ebike for me for that price range? Thinking of the Juiced bikes but would like your opinion on the best value for the money. Live in Massachusetts and don't see too many Ebikes at dealerships....

Joey Love
1 month ago

Great review

Outdoors 44
2 months ago

Tora I have a question about frame size I'm 6' & 31" inseam and according to your chart I'm in the large frame 18" group. How much difference is there in length of the top tube in 18" vs 20" frame size, your chart does not show the top tube length. What frame size fits you better. Thank you Steve

Outdoors 44
1 month ago

Tora Harris Thanks for the information, Your Current S looks great compared to others on the market but man your HYPE is awesome looking I want both, hard choices ahead. When is Hype ready!!!!!

Tora Harris
1 month ago

the length are more or less the same. the main difference on the 2 sizes are the seat tube length

Paintbrush 1962
2 months ago

Thanks, how much is it with 21 ah battery?

Dennis Lee
1 month ago

The CCS bike comes with the default 12.8ah lithium ion battery; to upgrade from 12.8ah to 17ah lithium ion battery is an additional $300, to upgrade from 12.8ah to 21ah lithium ion battery is $700 additional.

guitartec
2 months ago

Can't wait til mine comes.

Corn Dog
2 months ago

I have watched so many of Court's reviews, I could probably design THE perfect E-Bike everyone would love. *hint hint* to all the manufacturers out there ;p
This does seem like a sweet deal though. Nice review!

ilikewasabe
2 months ago

I would opt for for serviceability to aethetics any day.. Being a hub motor. The price ang availability of the parts like the cranks, makes it possible to replace them myself.. Pricepoint is just right.. Gonna buy one for a commuter for sure

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

I agree, seems like they hit a sweet spot with this model... and they are all sold out at the moment

ChaseElliottBand
2 months ago

Great review, honest assessment, cool company...mass producing bikes at this price point while paying attention to as many details as possible in the engineering process is unheard of from any other ebike company I've ever seen. Only thing I'd suggest is a narrow-wide front chainring to prevent the occasional chain drop, and an "off-road" option as that bafang can handle 1200w peaks and still be reliable for 10k miles. If Tora or any juiced bikes staff is reading this, could you disclose if the mosfets can handle up to 60v? If so, I'm very interested in making a 52v pack for this to hotrod it for around 32mph. I know a manufacturer in china that can build me a PF cell pack using your case.

Juiced Bikes
2 months ago

Investigated narrow-wide, but supplier has not made it for such large diameter rotor. Some aftermarket options exist. Chain catcher does work we confirmed. For the controller, Why you think controller low volts can be set to 43V??

Dirk Diggler
2 months ago

how much if you get optional xt drivetrain.

Juan Alfonso Noval
2 months ago

Love this bike and the price is spot on. Great job Tora and great review Court. As soon as the guys at Rocket Electrics in Austin get one I'll go and test it. Thanks. =)

gstea1
2 months ago

Make it in America.

Dirk Diggler
2 months ago

gstea1 and add 2000$ to the price no thank you.

Blue Monkey Bicycles
2 months ago

Tora's my hero!
Excellent bike with awesome features!

robbie 74
2 months ago

Great video and a very nice bike

Raymond Lew
2 months ago

I'm enjoying my CC very much! Waiting for an upgrade kit to 'S' model.

edwin pringle
1 week ago

Raymond Lew good luck with that

Ajemo Haltom
2 months ago

Hooray for 1 kWh battery packs... 2 kWhs anybody? Lithium ion makes this reasonable to do on a bike.

b b
2 months ago

Hey court, I found the haibike on Amazon it's called the haibike sduro cross sl for $1450. Should I get the crosscurrent or haibike?

Isaiah Yhomas
23 hours ago

b b cross currents better check yourself before you wreck yourself

Klaus Brinck
2 months ago

9 sequencial gears, higher quality components, big battery, big motor, s-pedelec, hydraulic discbrakes, quickshift,1699$, GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!