OHM Sport Review

Ohm Sport Electric Bike Review
Ohm Sport
Ohm Sport Powerful Bionx D Series Gearless Hub Motor Alloy Fenders
Ohm Sport Semi Integrated Downtube Electric Bike Battery From Bionx
Ohm Sport Color Removable Display Panel Ergonomic Grips
Ohm Sport Supernova M99 Pure 500 Lumen Headlight
Ohm Sport Supernova M99 Led Tail Light On Racktime Rear Rack
Ohm Sport Suntour Raidon Air Suspension 100 Mm Travel
Ohm Sport Hollow Spindle Bottom Bracket And Chain Guide
Ohm Sport 3 45 Amp Bionx Ebike Charger
Ohm Sport Electric Bike Review
Ohm Sport
Ohm Sport Powerful Bionx D Series Gearless Hub Motor Alloy Fenders
Ohm Sport Semi Integrated Downtube Electric Bike Battery From Bionx
Ohm Sport Color Removable Display Panel Ergonomic Grips
Ohm Sport Supernova M99 Pure 500 Lumen Headlight
Ohm Sport Supernova M99 Led Tail Light On Racktime Rear Rack
Ohm Sport Suntour Raidon Air Suspension 100 Mm Travel
Ohm Sport Hollow Spindle Bottom Bracket And Chain Guide
Ohm Sport 3 45 Amp Bionx Ebike Charger

Summary

  • A trail-worthy speed pedelec with premium accessories like aluminum fenders, integrated Supernova lights, a removable color LCD display, and regenerative braking
  • Very well balanced, especially for a hub-motor electric bike, the air fork, hollow-spindle bottom bracket, and upgraded alloy frame keep weight down, it rides super quiet
  • Only available in black, but the motor, wires, and semi-integrated battery pack match beautifully and blend in, larger Super Moto-X tires improve traction and look cool
  • Powerful hydraulic disc brakes offer great stopping power and the right brake lever initiates regenerative braking, the BionX system offers four regen ride modes

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

OHM

Model:

Sport

Price:

$3,959

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

3 Year Electronics, 5 Year Frame

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

20172018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56.5 lbs (25.62 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.4 lbs (3.35 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

ADVANCE™ Hydroformed Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)18.5 in (46.99 cm)20.5 in (52.07 cm)22.5 in (57.15 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium 18.5" Measurements: 18.5" Seat Tube Length, 21.5" Reach, 29” Stand Over Height, 26.75" Width, 74” Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black

Frame Fork Details:

Suntour RAIDON XC-LO-R Air Suspension, 100 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Adjust, Boost 110 mm Hub, 15QLC 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

BionX Proprietary, 142 mm Hub, 12 mm Axle with M6 End Cap Bolts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore XT with Shadow Plus Derailleur, 11-36T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano Dyna-Sys Two-Way Triggers on Right

Cranks:

OHM Branded Chainway Custom Specced Crank Arms, Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 48T Chainring with Plastic Chain Guide, SAMOX Sealed Cartridge Bottom Bracket, Splined, Hollow Spindle

Pedals:

Wellgo MG6 Magnesium Platform with Adjustable Pins

Headset:

Ritchey Pro Logic Press Fit, Tapered 1 1/ 8"- 1 1/ 2", Three 10 mm Spacers, One 5 mm Spacer

Stem:

Promax Alloy, 70 mm, 6° Rise, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter with Custom Light Mount

Handlebar:

Ritchie Comp, Aluminum Low-Rise, 670 mm Length, 25 mm Rise, 31.8 mm Diameter

Brake Details:

TRP Zurich Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Quad Piston Calipers, TRP Levers with Tool-Free Adjust Reach, BionX Motor Inhibitor for Regen Activation on Right

Grips:

Ergon GP1, Ergonomic Rubber, Locking, 150 mm Length

Saddle:

OHM Branded Ergon Sport Gel SMC4, Chromoly Rails, Nylon Composite Shell, Orthopedic Comfort Foam with Gel Pads

Seat Post:

Ritchey Comp, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Alexrims FR30, Alloy, Double Wall, 32 Hole, Aluminum Eyelets

Spokes:

Sapim Strong, Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black, Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Super Moto-Z, 27.5" x 2.4"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

30 to 55 PSI, Performance GreenGuard

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Pletscher ESGE Adjustable Center-Mount Kickstand, Signal Bell, Racktime Alloy Rack (25 kg 55 lb Max Weight), Racktime Aluminum Alloy Fenders (70 mm Width), Integrated Supernova M99 Pure Headlight (500 Lumens), Integrated Supernova M99 Tail Light, Optional BodyFloat Suspension Seatpost ($249), ABUS Bordo Combo Lite 6150 ($129)

Other:

Locking Removable Semi-Integrated Downtube Battery Pack, 0.9 lb 3.45 Amp BionX Compact Charger, KMC X10 EPT for MTB Chain, (Size Specific Handlebar 680 / 720 mm, Stem 70 / 80 / 90 mm, Crank Arms 170 / 175 mm, Grips Small 130 mm / 150 mm)

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

BionX, D-Series

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1000 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters (Nominal 25 Nm)

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

BionX DS3, Removable, Backlit, Color LCD

Readouts:

Three Display Layouts (Basic, Enhanced, Data View), Assist Level (1-4 Support, 1-4 Regeneration), Power Graph (Output, Regeneration), Speed (mph / kph), Battery Level (10 Bars), Setup, Odometer, Trip Timer, Trip Distance, Average Speed, Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (On/Off, Lights, +, -, Left Clicker, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Level (4 Dots for Power and Regeneration), Right Clicker), Optional Standard Sized USB Port

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph) (20 mph Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

OHM has narrowed down their electric bike offering starting in 2017 to just three models, the Urban, Sport, and Mountain. But the bikes come in multiple frame sizes for improved fit, and all share the same drive system for easier maintenance and parts availability. The Sport model featured in this review is a blend of Urban and Mountain. It’s a hardtail electric bike with premium fenders, a solid but streamlined cargo rack, top of the line integrated lights, and fatter 2.4″ tires that can handle pavement and light trails alike. For the video review, I took this bike out onto the Trans Canada Trail in North Vancouver, Canada. It felt smooth and comfortable on the packed Earth and was even capable of riding over some large stumps and rocky sections. The responsive torque sensing pedal assist made me feel connected to the bike but I also enjoyed the variable speed throttle option. This is one of the few e-bikes out there with both pedelec and throttle modes and you can convert it from a 20 mph top speed Class 2 to 28 mph to speed Class 3 when you order. That decision may limit which trails you can legally ride on, but empower you to commute to work faster. And to be clear, the main differences between this model and the Urban, aside from price, are the wider fenders, different color scheme, fancier brighter lights, wider tires, and a one pound weight difference. You still get a tapered head tube, hollow spindle bottom bracket, sealed BB and headset, a premium air suspension fork with lockout, boost width hub, thru-axle, and a special chain guide to reduce chain drops. What I’m trying to get at here is that these electric bicycles are much more trail-capable than a lot of low-end hardtail trail bikes from the competition. They use better hardware and even match the stem, handlebar, and crank arm widths to the larger frame sizes vs. recycling the same parts. OHM products do cost more, but they operate very quietly and because they leverage the BionX D-Series motor system, are one of the few electric bikes to offer regenerative braking as well as four levels of controllable regen for simulated climbing and workouts.

Powering all three of the 2017 OHM models is a BionX D-Series gearless hub motor. It’s smooth, extremely quiet, produces a lot of torque for such a compact design, and dissipates heat well. Most hub motors I see these days are gearless and built into Aluminum alloy casing. BionX took a completely different approach with the D-Series by using a composite plastic casing that doesn’t connect to the spokes on the wheel, it actually sits in between them. This allows the wheels to flex a bit and means that the motor casing doesn’t have to be as heavy or thick which reduces weight. It’s interesting to note that despite appearing large, the motor does not tip the bike backward, making it rear-heavy, as almost all other gearless designs do. It offers many of the strengths of a geared design but will be more durable over time because there are no rubbing parts inside. When this motor operates, it does not interfere with the drivetrain the way that mid-drive motors do and that means your chain, sprockets, and derailleur won’t need as much maintenance. It also means you get throttle-on-demand vs. just pedal assist. Yes, there are a few mid-drive motors that offer throttle operation, but they are much less prevalent. The one limitation I noticed is that the motor is not powerful enough to climb medium sized hills with throttle-only power. You have to either come at the hill with a bit of momentum or help out by pedaling. This is not much different than geared hubs or mid-drives, I just want to be clear that having a throttle is different than being able to sit back and ascend trails without pedaling at all. And, since the bike comes with a high-end 10-speed Shimano drivetrain, pedaling and shifting is a breeze. I noticed that the chainring is a bit larger on this ebike than many other trail models I see, but that was done in part to accommodate high-speed 28 mph operation (for those who request it). I guess you can’t have everything, I was still able to climb effectively by shifting to the lowest gear and it made a big difference having a plastic chain guide on the chainring to reduce drops. Depending on your outfit, the chainring is a bit exposed and you could get some grease and snags, but the chain guide might help a bit.

Powering the bike, backlit display, both lights, and optional USB power port, is a high capacity Lithium-ion battery. It offers efficient 48 volt energy transfer with 11.6 amp hours for a total of 556.8 watt hours. That’s over half a kilowatt hour, definitely above average, but it spends quickly if you opt for the Class 3 speed pedelec setup or use the throttle constantly. I estimated range between 25 and 70 miles but that greatly depends on how you ride and whether the terrain is soft or hard packed. Higher speed riding takes a big toll on efficiency because of air resistance and throttle mode, while fun, is a battery hog because the D-Series motor accelerates so quickly. The trigger throttle is ramped so you can press gently for less power, but the movement is relatively small (to keep it compact) so precise throttling takes some practice. Unlike many competing throttles, this one is easy to reach and not so fatiguing to use constantly. It is perhaps one of my favorite throttle designs because it’s a trigger vs. twist and that means you can really grip and handle the bike well. There have been times when I was steering and gripping and accidentally twisted the throttle or lost that feeling of precise control with competing throttle designs. Anyway, you can use the throttle at full power to override assist! No need for clicking up and down through different menus to get the throttle going the way you do on some bikes like Easy Motion’s Evo line. The throttle is always active as long as the bike is moving ~1.5 mph. Yes, throttle from standstill would be nice, but this one activates super fast. Sometimes ebike manufactures are limited by what their motor supplier offers but kudos to BionX for their good work here. They offer something unique, put a lot of thought into the design, and support it well. Anyway, the battery can be charged on or off the bike frame and uses a quick 3.45 Amp charger vs. the standard 2 Amp so you can fill the battery quickly and get back out onto the road. The removability of the display, battery, quick release front wheel, and seat post, make the bike easy to transport, protect, and store. Note that the rear wheel does not use quick release because of the hub motor design which has a power cable quick-disconnect and stronger 12 mm custom hardware to handle the torque. I usually bring my battery into the office to fill up during the day before my ride home. Note that the battery does not have an obvious handle and would definitely get scratched and even damaged if dropped… at 7.4 lbs, it’s not the lightest thing, so be careful or use a bag to carry it.

I apologize for not going into the Bluetooth smartphone app, but there was a lot to cover with the included LCD display and control ring. BionX struck a balance of features and usability with their display menu system and came out with a good result in my opinion. You can choose from three default layouts (basic, advanced, and data view) but I feel that two might have been enough. The basic and advanced views are mostly the same except for some charts and icons that appear as motor power increase or regenerative braking activation. Only the right brake lever activates regen, but this reduces clutter and possibly saves money? Perhaps the flicker and movement of colors on the advanced display could be distracting for some in the advanced view and that’s why a basic readout was also offered? For those who really like to dig into the stats and know exactly what’s happening at all times, there is also a data view. This is almost like an instrument panel in an airplane, just a lot of labels and numbers in a grid. It might be optimal for night use because the background is mostly black and there aren’t colors like the other views. You can select from these three menus by clicking left or right on the button ring and you can arrow up or down through four levels of assist and regen by using the plus and minus keys. There is also a power button and lights button above the plus key. I love how easy the buttons are to reach and that if the display was removed or lost, you can still use the control ring by itself to operate the bike. It even has an integrated LED readout for battery level (five bars) and four more bars to let you know what assist level is in use. It’s like night and day to see this control ring and then look at a basic throttle on most other electric bikes that’s oversized and cheap feeling… this is part of what you’re paying for with the OHM Sport and it’s easy to appreciate in person. I also want to call out and compliment the headlight from Supernova, the M99 is cool looking with a daytime mode and very effective with a large bright beam in night-mode and it switches automatically based on a built-in sensor that we show in the video.

The me, the OHM Sport strikes a perfect balance of trailworthiness and efficiency. It’s the model I would probably purchase for commuting because of the nicer lights and included rack. OHM does offer a seat post suspension upgrade from BodyFloat and I would probably get one of those too, especially if the bike was setup as a speed pedelec. Is the Sport model worth $400 more than the Urban? Well, the larger tires do a lot to improve comfort and traction and I personally love how nice the black color scheme looks. It might not be as visible or reflective as the grey, but it does hide wires, brake lines, and shifter cables well. Sometimes, bicycles look cluttered or ugly with so many graphics and designs going on but I have to hand it to OHM for going easy and placing their designs in cool places, like below the downtube. The light grey logos perfectly match the motor casing and battery. And the battery design is sleek and integrated, you can pull the battery out from the side vs. clicking it down and that makes it easier to get at and less likely to scratch (the pack or frame). The OHM Sport is a feature-complete electric bike that was purpose built and I highly recommend test riding it if you’re near the factory store in North Vancouver. After riding and reviewing so many other electric bikes, this is still one of the quietest I have seen but it doesn’t sacrifice a sense of power and torque. Big thanks to BionX for partnering with me on this review and inviting me to their HQ for some back to back test rides.

Pros:

  • The OHM Sport comes with a high quality rack and 70 mm wide Aluminum alloy fenders which offer great utility for commuting or light trail riding through dirt and mud, I was impressed with how quiet they were and that they even fit bottle cage bosses onto the seat tube (for fluids, a folding lock, or mini pump accessory)
  • Only the highest-end electric bikes seem to offer integrated lights from Supernova and this one uses the premium M99 model headlight with day/night sensor for automatic switching between running and bright mode, the backlight has five led’s and is protected by the rack
  • There are so many ways to control this e-bike including the mini button ring near the right grip, the compact transflective color LCD panel, or the smart phone app, being able to remove the display for parking (to reduce wear and tampering) is fantastic
  • Four frame sizes mean you can get an appropriate fit for your body type, the stem, handlebar, and crank arms vary between the four sizes! The top tube is angled down to make the bike easier to mount and stand over
  • Considering how sturdy and well accessorized this ebike is, I was impressed with the 56.5 lb weight (only one pound heavier than the OHM Urban), it has sturdy metal lights, large tires, a high-capacity battery, and a powerful gearless motor but things like magnesium pedals, a minimalist kickstand, hollow spindle bottom bracket, and air fork all make a difference
  • OHM has been around since 2005 and offers a unique 3+ year warranty on their products, they use high-end parts and are a premiere BionX partner so their bikes tend to last, since they have three models that all use the same battery design, it’s easier to get replacements
  • The all-black and grey color scheme looks great with the battery casing, motor hub, and wires all blending in, the decals match are minimalist in design and cool (especially under the downtube) vs. flashy, and OHM includes some touchup paint to keep it looking nice
  • Upon first seeing the bike, and knowing that the BionX D-Series motor weighs ~8.8 lbs, I was expecting it to be rear-heavy… but I lifted it just in front of the saddle nose and it tipped forward vs. back, I feel that it’s very well balanced and the weight is all kept low for improved handling vs. a rack battery, note the heavy-duty tapered head tube and thru-axle on the front wheel
  • Comfortable touch points including locking ergonomic grips, finger-adjustable brake levers, a sporty Ergon gel saddle, and wider Schwalbe tires with a medium-range pressure recommendation
  • For me, safety is a big deal, and since this bike is black, I appreciate the reflective graphics on the tires and and bright integrated lights, I also like the sturdy thru-axle on the fork with Boost and large tapered head tube for stable riding
  • OHM offers a Body Float suspension seat post upgrade, folding lock accessories, and does a trade-in program on their older bikes so you could possibly get a discount to buy their latest stuff
  • Riding this bike just feels good, it’s more polished, quiet and balanced than a lot of others… it’s also one of the few that even offer a throttle mode which is fun to use (at least for me!)
  • Even though regenerative braking doesn’t put much power back into the battery, it does reduce wear on brake pads and can be used to simulate climbing with the four minus levels on the BionX system, overall it’s pretty neat
  • The unique design of the hub motor casing, being relatively slim but tall, allows for the spokes to connect at the hub vs. the outside of the hub motor and this allows them to flex naturally providing a level of comfort and performance that most other hub motor ebikes lack, the greater air volume inside the hub allows it to cool more efficiently
  • The battery pack clicks in from the left side vs. down from the top which means it won’t bump into the frame as easily when mounting/dismounting and the top tube can be lower, I like that the battery is rated against dust and water, uses a fast charger, can be filled on or off the bike, has several rubber pads to reduce vibration, and even has a touch-activated capacity indicator (where the charger plugs in) it lights up green at 70%+, orange between 20% and 70%, and red when below 20%
  • After a few minutes of inactivity, the display panel automatically powers off… it has lots of settings where you can change brightness, units, etc. to make it fit your preferences and style
  • Larger 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes provide the kind of stopping power that mountain bikers need, so it’s cool to have them on more of a sporty trail bike here, specifically because it weighs more and can be switched to 28 mph Class 3 if you want (I think you need OHM to do this and change the Class sticker before it’s shipped to you)
  • Shimano Deore XT is a mid to high-level drivetrain and ten speeds is enough to let you climb and reach higher speeds comfortably… though the larger 48 tooth chainring is setup more for speed, there were a couple of times where I was riding in the absolute lowest gear because of the hilly terrain in Vancouver, I like that the derailleur has a one way clutch to reduce chain bounce (the little grey lever, point it up to tighten the chain)
  • The chainring has a plastic inner guide to reduce drops, it’s not going to keep your pants or a skirt as clean as a chain guide or chain cover but it reduces weight and is practical
  • The cockpit is relatively clean because of how the display and light are mounted, the handlebar clamp positions the large Supernova light below the display and they are both at the center for optimal use

Cons:

  • I appreciate how the kickstand is adjustable length but it still gets in the way where it’s mounted, just below and behind the crank arms, if you back the bike up or pedal with the stand down it will collide
  • OHM has moved away from dealers, they only sell direct now which means it could be difficult to go for a test ride unless you live near their factory store in North Vancouver, BC Canada
  • The large black hub motor casing definitely stands out visually, the design provides great torque for acceleration and climbing but may also catch a bit of side wind and attract attention compared to smaller gearless hubs, especially on off-road trails
  • The display panel and battery pack don’t have an integrated Micro-USB port by default but apparently for $20 OHM can wire one in and stick it to the right side of the frame near the top of the downtube
  • It would be nice if both brake levers had the regeneration switch vs. just the right one, but I guess that reduces clutter up front, a bit of weight, and expense
  • The display panel takes longer to boot up than Bosch and some of the other high-end products, not much longer, but enough to be a little annoying every time you turn the bike on and are eager to get going
  • As much as I appreciate the large platform and grippy adjustable pins on the lightweight Magnesium pedals… I felt like the spindle at the center was too high (or the outer portions too low), I could feel the spindle at the ball of my foot, they left me mixed vs. fully impressed
  • It’s no fun to change inner tubes if you get a flat so the upgraded Performance GreenGuard tires are a welcome hardware choice, I love that the front axle uses quick release to make it easier to service, but have to acknowledge that most hub motor setups can be a pain to work with on the rear wheel because of the additional motor wire and bolts or nuts, the BionX motor has a quick disconnect point and mounts fairly easily with the correct 6M hex wrench, but it still takes more time and tools than a mid-drive
  • Some of the other high-end ebike displays offer a range estimation stat which can help you plan trips, that isn’t available with the BionX setup used here but at least it does show a high precision 10-bar battery infographic and battery percentage! Their battery packs are also smart and go into a deep-sleep mode when not used for long periods

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More OHM Reviews

OHM Mountain Review

  • MSRP: $3,455
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A sleek, extremely quiet, cross country style electric bike built around a custom hardtail frame that comes in four sizes (including stem, bar, and crank arm differences). 100 mm air suspension fork from Suntour, larger 3" plus sized tires from Schwalbe, longer…...

OHM Urban Review

  • MSRP: $3,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A near-silent, feature rich, urban hardtail electric bike that's available in four frame sizes and can be switched from Class 2 with throttle to high-speed Class 3. Proprietary torque sensor is integrated into the 12 mm rear-axle, it feels fluid and sporty…...

OHM Sport XS750 Plus 16 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A fatty electric bike with medium sized 3.25" tires, strikes a balance between cushion, traction and handling. Powerful BionX D-Series motor offers good torque and higher top speeds ~28 mph in pedal…...

OHM Urban XU700 16 Review

  • MSRP: $4,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high power, high speed, urban style electric bike with nearly every accessory you could, great for commuting or trekking. Extremely quiet drivetrain, four levels of assist and regen with variable speed trigger throttle, removable…...

OHM Urban XU700 LS 15 Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A feature-complete urban style electric bike with premium rack, fenders and lights, sturdy mid-cut hydroformed aluminum frame available in three sizes. Offers variable speed throttle, four levels of assist and four regen in addition to regenerative…...

OHM Sport XS750 15 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A powerful and sturdy city style electric bike with comfortable but slightly more aggressive ergonomics, premium tires and upgraded suspension fork with lockout. 500 watt BionX D-Series motor is near silent but very strong for climbing, BionX DV…...

OHM Urban XU700 LS 16 Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A premium step-thru electric bike with fenders, rack, lights and suspension fork (with lockout) for under $3k. Reinforced hydro formed aluminum alloy frame is sturdier than other low-step models I've tested, the…...

OHM Urban XU700 Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Sturdy, feature rich ebike designed for efficient commuting with four regen modes and regenerative braking. Uses the direct drive BionX 350 HT (high torque) motor and features 27 speeds for…...

OHM XU450 E2 Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

A sturdy, elegant and simple-to-use ebike with auto-shifting gears, a quiet belt drive system, fenders and rack. SRAM EMATIC motor, battery and control system offer efficiency in power and range and look…...

OHM Sport XS750 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Fully featured, high-end electric mountain bike with great power and thoughtful design. Powered by industry leading BionX battery pack, controller and gearless rear hub motor...


jamie
4 months ago

I wish bionx would use a smaller rear hub. I would totally buy this bike but I just cant get over how big it is – doesnt blend in at all!

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Jaimie, I agree that the large “pizza sized” hub motor does stand out. I asked about the design and they explained that it provides higher torque, better cooling, and lighter weight than the alternative designs. BionX does sell smaller hub motors which you can see reviewed here, but they use metal casing and aren’t as powerful as the D-Series :/

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

tallpaul
1 week ago

rich c, yes, I did replace the SES bearing but it was the chain making the noise as best as I could tell.
It is really hard to isolate sounds as you are zipping along.
I did remove and inspect the SES side guard and found that it was not rubbing there.
I try to keep all the drivetrain components clean to answer Ravi's question.

I think I need to take into account that I am almost 200lbs, did ride the first few hundred miles in Turbo or Sport mode as I got back into riding for the first time in maybe 50 years (had motorcycles in between). Now I like to put more of my own power into it and stretch the distances that the 400W battery can deliver.

And I can see what Joe from Motostrana says about quicker wear on components on an eBike. After all the bike alone weighs twice what a non eBike equivalent would be, and the torque loads I would assume are much greater.

LimboJim
1 week ago

Anyone using the
KMC X10e Sport Bicycle Chain?

Yes, for about 250 hard trail miles so far on my Sduro AllMtn+ with no problems! I bought several at an EU site that sells a lot of ebike-specific parts for far less than anyone I've found in the US - $25-30 shipping but I save more than that with each $100 I spend there: https://www.bike-discount.de/en/buy/kmc-x10e-e-bike-chain-10-speed-32293

tallpaul
1 week ago

I found that my Haibike FullSeven chain had stretched about one links worth over about 1200 miles. Mix of hills, bike paths, a little off road. It started to make noise despite being clean and well lubed.
So I went into my local eBike store (literally around the corner from my house, how lucky can I get!).
They sell, rent and service Haibikes, among others. The very on top of it fellow there said the chain he recommends is the KMC X10e Sport Bicycle Chain specifically made for Bosch and other drive trains.

Runs quiet now, lubed it with Dry lube.

Anybody have any experience with this chain? I am hoping to get more then 1200 miles I got with the Shimano chain that came with the bike.

BTW, in the 1200 miles logged on the bike has been very reliable and a lot of fun to ride!

rvehock
2 weeks ago

FYI, if your ebike has fenders the 1 UP may not be your best choice YMMV

https://www.bikeforums.net/road-cycling/902008-1up-usa-rack-fender-cushions-question.html

This one from Hollywood might fit the bill and it is nicely priced (45 lbs per bike):

https://hollywoodracks.com/collections/hitch-bike-racks/products/sport-rider-2-bike-hitch-rack?variant=15862462726

Dewey
2 weeks ago

The business model I would be most concerned about is if they are a reseller of standard Chinese bikes.

Court raises this point in his reviews of lower priced ebikes, typically he suggests comparing retailers that offer customer service and warranty parts support out of a US physical location with others that offer no or crowd-sourced support. Other 'tells' are whether a low-price ebike retailer is making the effort to redesign their product in light of customer feedback, for example Populo redesigned the battery mount on their $1k Sport model after customers complained of the battery rattling around on the bike, the 2017 Sport's with the redesigned battery mount are reportedly much quieter.

Carterk
1 month ago

Hey, I just wanted to share my experience renting an ebike from Bicycle Sport Shop on S Lamar. They had a wide range of ebikes available, including the Vado 3,0 I wanted to try, in my size (small), no less. $42 got me all day, from when they opened at 10 am till closing (7:00). They lent me a helmet, charged the battery back up a bit when I came back after a couple hours before head8ng out again. Pretty sure they would have let me take a different ebike out when I returned the Vado after 4 hours. No attitude, very helpful, very good experience over all. I wish I had a similar shop here in Seattle, $42 is nothing if it means I buy the right $3k bike.

hurricane56
1 month ago

Hi all,

I have a COBI for Bosch ebikes. This is the sport edition without the headlight module. Unit is still factory sealed.

Selling this because it doesn't fit on my ebike with my headlight.

$195 shipped to continental US via USPS priority mail.

1/1
Azu
1 month ago

I wonder what the rest of us Nyon owners are to do? Update - which clearly still breaks the wifi - and send back to Bosch, or just do nothing?

Azu, what was the full and exact firmware level of your fixed Nyon? I think the update Bosch is pushing is 2.6.0.0.
In my case there was nothing to do but send it to Bosch.
The guys at the shop tried to fix the issue with the diagnosis software that apparently on dealers have, it didn’t work.
Looking at the information on the Nyon, the is SW ver. 1.6.0.2
Here’s the Release notes:

07/2017: Release Notes for Nyon software version 1.6.0.2 (Nyon part number xxxx xxx 907) and 2.6.0.2 (Nyon part number xxxx xxx 915). The part number is shown on the back of your device (10 digits).
Preliminary remark:
To ensure that you always have access to the latest features and improvements, we recommend that you update your Nyon on-board computer to the latest software version. For information on how to update the software on your device, please refer to our FAQs: https://www.ebike-connect.com/en/faq.html#G_09_01_EN. You can find your Nyon's current software version on the Dashboard.

Improvements:

Maps: An update for the maps (status March 2017) is immediately available to download. The map update also includes the eBike Connect smartphone app and the ebike-connect.com online portal.
Moving the map view: The map can be moved directly using the joystick. This provides a better overview of the surrounds and the route.
Map view in the direction of travel: The orientation of the 2D map view can be determined in the settings - northerly direction or direction of travel.
eMTB mode: The new riding mode for the Performance Line CX replaces the previous Sport mode and switches between the Tour and Turbo riding modes.
Energy consumption display: Energy consumption over the last few kilometres covered can be displayed within the user-defined screens.
DualBattery: The charging states of the PowerPacks are displayed separately in the settings.
Altitude profile display: The altitude profile or the map is displayed in navigation mode.
New keypad layout: The new keypad layout (typewriter) ensures that destinations can be entered easily and conveniently.
eShift: Support for Shimano and Rohloff integrated electronic gear shifting.
System information: The screen has been revised and extended to include further details on the individual components.
SMS: An error when displaying SMS messages has been fixed.

D1G1T4L3CH0
2 months ago

That's probably an accurate translation. It's a long version of the old Szechuan proverb, "ride far into the night, watch out for bugs" .

I've never used SLA on ebikes, but have heard they're not long lived. A 12 AH battery is probably enough. For cost of ownership one $200 lithium could last longer than two or three sets of SLA. Depends on how hard you run the bike.

There may be a low voltage cut-off in the motor controller. Controllers intended for use with lithium will usually shut off a 35V battery at 30 volts. I have no experience with something intended for lead, but maybe 30V is also used.
heh. Yeah it seems that it does cut off after a certain low voltage. I tried 24 volts first and the motor didn't even try to turn on.

What does the charger port look like @D1G1T4L3CH0 ? You can find the appropriate SLA batteries at any local battery store, they're 12V 12ah lead acid cells. Go to Amazon and order a 36V 1.5 or 2amp SLA charger with the end that matches your bike's. Also check the polarity on the battery pack charger port and make sure your charger matches that or it won't do anything :D. Most of those chargers have a little picture on the back indicating which spot is positive and which is negative.

This is a much older, heavier ebike with SLA batteries, so I wouldn't spend a lot of $$ on it. Also, see if you can put together a 36V test pack first to see if this bike even runs. The RMartins are notorious for controller failures & other issues. We've worked on a number of them at the shop.
It's a pc plug type. The same one that goes into the back of a computer power supply. The polarity is negative left and positive right. Also it's internally connected with the middle pin to a piezo buzzer for alert sounds. It also does have the indicators embossed on the plug which is good to know. I noticed a lot of chargers I found don't even indicate polarity. But that's not a huge concern for me since I could just reverse it myself. But I rather not have to. I'll just have to look some more, I haven't found a decent one yet that comes from the states. I rather have to sooner than later. Most come from china as to be expected. Yep the bike works, well the wheel turned anyway, not very fast but the power supply I used really wasn't cut out for such high current anyway.

Your rationale for biking is one I believe many of us have in using bikes rather than even small cars. The real plus is in one's overall fitness that accrues from regularly using a bicycle and actively contributing by pedaling with some vigor. Some argue that no assist is better and that is likely true in many cases. I firmly feel that in many cases and for many varied reasons, numero riders do need some level of assist to get to work, do other commutes, bring home groceries, and other cargo, etc. And doing it that way is so much more efficient than even very efficient small electric cars.

I commuted for many years on a Giant Lafree Sport that ran a seatpost SLA battery setup like your new project bike. It is quite a good location for a heavy battery on a bike in terms of center of gravity and balance. My Lafree Sport also used the twelve volt, twelve amp hour batteries, but only two of them instead of your three. You seem quite knowledgeable on batteries, but I will just emphasize here that reasonably good SLA batteries will hold up to several years of daily commutes if one remembers the important key factors of dealing with the SLA chemistry. ALWAYS charge as soon as possible after each ride. This is far more important when dealing with SLA than it is with most other batteries in common use today. And longevity of the SLA pack also benefits greatly by not routinely running them down to near automatic cutoff. I suspect this bike of yours has that, as my Giant Lafree Sport and most other SLA ebikes of the day did. My Sport had a five light battery charge remaining indicator and I also added a good Cycle Analyst. By rarely using the last 25 to 30% of the pack's amp hours, my SLA batteries always survived years of daily commuting that was highly rewarding on many levels and also reliable and efficient. Good luck, and keep us posted.
Over the years of biking without a motor, I do stay in shape mostly, but mostly on the bottom half. I'm not overweight, but I'm a little out of shape on my upper body, bikes just really can't do a lot there in my experience. I do feel a little conflicted about using a motor instead of pedaling because I do like the benefit of staying in shape and keeping a healthy heart. I feel like I may start to get lazy and not actually pedal anymore. This electric bike don't even have different gears so it will be slow riding if I want to pedal. But still can get some exercise from it I guess, especially up hills. It is a very heavy bike. When I first got it I was pretty certain right away just judging from the weight, of it's battery chemistry. And on that; those are some really good tips to follow on taking care of an SLA. This one also looks like it has five lights to show charge level. Though in my limited testing I only got it up to 3. Cars use the same kind of batteries and they last years too when taken care of, even when they aren't, so it stands to reason these should too. However car batteries are used for cranking, not deep cycle, though I don't believe that's much of a factor. These however did sit for an unknown amount of time (maybe years) at less than 5 volt per battery. They do seem to hold a charge though. But I have yet to fully charge them.

- - - -

I'll look more for a good charger to buy, cheap, I don't want to spend much money on this thing. Maybe later I will invest in a lithium one or build my own from 18650s. Still unanswered though; does anyone have a clue of the wattage of the motor and do you have the google-fu skills to find an old spec sheet online for this bike? I don't have a clue what model it is so that makes it harder for sure. I did find something very similar but with different colors and branding.

Anyway I think as someone pointed out already, this is just a project bike. A first foray into the e-bike world and to get some experience with it before I decide to commit to throwing down some real cash.

EDIT: This is the one that is similar. https://www.bukalapak.com/p/sepeda/fullbike/city-bike/a8jmot-jual-sepeda-listrik-betrix-ice

1/1
rich c
2 months ago

As one of my two hobbies...the one I do in the winter I Always wondered why these bikes were so expensive, always thought it was the battery. Unfortunately most people just cant drop 5k or 6k on a bike that has absolutely no resale value. I am trying to sell a lectric bike now to move up....its not even worth trying, I would be giving it away.

Now my second hobby, the one I do in the summer...jetsking. "Far superior stx15f"...lol...dude stick with bikes you know nothing about ski's. That ski has not changed in over a decade and still uses a darn lever for reverse, there is no technology on that thing, and it shows kawi has 10% of the PWC market! The "rinky dink spark" was the number one (Trixx) and two seller (3UP) last year. The 2017 Trixx can be picked up for 6800, the fact that electric bikes are even in the neighborhood is why this hobby is struggling growing in the states. The Trixx also has much more technology on it then any electric bike and the resale value is through the roof..

Which gets me back to my point I love my electric biking but the up front cost is way to much and the resale value is non existent hindering the growth of the sport. Skis like the Spark are also good for a family day, really tough to have a family day on one electric bike. Which unfortunately leaves the electric bike market for the wealth or for someone replacing an auto.

Based on a 5 year expected life, and what I paid for them, owning my Haibikes is about the same price each year as a health club membership. No resale on that membership either. I go longer and faster on my eBike now at 65 than I can on a traditional bike. It's pure pleasure for me to be outside, compared to working out with other old people in a gym. I just got home from a 10 mile ride in 37 degree weather. Loved it. As has been mentioned, I paid far less than MSRP by purchasing a 150 mile demo in November, and another old model year in March. I have $5400 in two 28mph version XDURO Haibikes. I don't consider resale value for this kind of pleasure.

Earl44
2 months ago

Try riding that rinky dink spark down the road with minimal pedal effort.
Or, better yet, start making ebikes.
or, a full size REAL sea doo cost more than any ebike made, a lot more.
or, who would buy a cheesy spark when a far superior stx15f only cost a few bucks more.
or, on a ebike you're breezing down the street going somewhere, even the best personal watercraft is nothing more than a jet propelled cork, dodging boat wakes, probably bored.
I've had more pleasure from my overpriced stromers than any harley or dirt bike I've ever had.
Not sure I can put a dollar amount on pleasure.
Old guy with a couple stromers and a 2015 stx15f. :)

As one of my two hobbies...the one I do in the winter I Always wondered why these bikes were so expensive, always thought it was the battery. Unfortunately most people just cant drop 5k or 6k on a bike that has absolutely no resale value. I am trying to sell a lectric bike now to move up....its not even worth trying, I would be giving it away.

Now my second hobby, the one I do in the summer...jetsking. "Far superior stx15f"...lol...dude stick with bikes you know nothing about ski's. That ski has not changed in over a decade and still uses a darn lever for reverse, there is no technology on that thing, and it shows kawi has 10% of the PWC market! The "rinky dink spark" was the number one (Trixx) and two seller (3UP) last year. The 2017 Trixx can be picked up for 6800, the fact that electric bikes are even in the neighborhood is why this hobby is struggling growing in the states. The Trixx also has much more technology on it then any electric bike and the resale value is through the roof..

Which gets me back to my point I love my electric biking but the up front cost is way to much and the resale value is non existent hindering the growth of the sport. Skis like the Spark are also good for a family day, really tough to have a family day on one electric bike. Which unfortunately leaves the electric bike market for the wealth or for someone replacing an auto.

Mike's E-Bikes
2 months ago

Yep. There are hundreds of models of regular bikes that are easily $3000 to $5000 out there. NOW those have some margins built into them for sure. A $3000 ebike though, unless you are some star performance cyclist riding 200 miles a week, and racing on weekends, provides way more value than just a regular bike price at that level for the vast majority of the population who are recreational riders, commuters, and mostly nowhere close to being in the physical shape of professional cyclists. Semi-Professional cyclists typically spend way more than $3000 on their bike and their sport though too. Even high end amateur cyclists do too.
LOL< you haven't been in a bike shop lately !! You can spend 10k on a regular bike. My LBS has 1/4 of the store costing 3K+, all with No motors.
The ones that are cheaper? Made in China now......as are many of the $3k dollar frames....

hurricane56
2 months ago

The only pre-assist chain break I ever witnessed in ~30 years of MTBing was when a friend's chain broke MILES from our car. He'd neglected his chain severely and it was both rusty and grimy. We re-used a pin and shortened his chain - less than ideal but we made it back to the car...

Someday I'll need to replace my eMTBs' entire drivetrains, and I'll probably go with SRAM's EX1 groupset, an 8-speed arrangement designed for to withstand the extra torque from the likes of Brose (MUCH thicker chain, for one thing). Best price I've found so far on EX1 components is from Niagra Cycle - if anyone's seen them cheaper please let me know!

Only 8 speeds? IMO (and according to E-Mountainbike Magazine), that's plenty for my needs - I feel that 11 or even 10 speeds is overkill, and those use thinner links so there's only so much chain makers can add in terms of strength. As it is, I frequently find myself jumping 2-3 gears at a time with 10- and 11-speed pedal assist - I really don't need the "in-between" gears with the motor's help.

If you (or anyone reading this) splurges (or has splurged) for the KMC X11e Sport or Turbo, I'd be curious to learn how it holds up after 100+ miles of hard offroading. I find that my "regular" x11e and x10e chains start stretching 0.5% at about 100 miles, then to 0.75% at 150+ (which is when I change mine).

For now, I've decided to just buy several of the Silvers (Bulls' OEM) at less than half the price of either Sport or Turbo, and just change them every 150-200 miles. Bike-Discount sells Silvers for less than $30, but the cheapest I've found Sport for was $65 (Turbo $80). If you know a place that sells the for $50-60, I'd probably try it myself...

I just noticed that the x11e available on the German site "bike-discount.de" (linked above) isn't even listed on the US version of KMC's website! The only "Ebike Approved" 11-speed chains they show are the Sport and Turbo, so I guess they want us to spend twice as much unless we're willing to pay for international shipping. The x11e Silver is only shown on KMC's EU site... intetesting.

So you only get 200 miles per chain? Even with an eMtb setup I thought components would go for longer.

Nicknick
2 months ago

It's pretty doable to keep the bike at 28mph in S-mode without too much extra pedaling, but the battery will deplete quite a bit faster.

I mostly find it exhausting though. You can't hear anything because of the wind, bumps feel pretty bad and braking distance is quite far coming down from 28. I think 22-24 is just about the perfect speed. A 20mph ebike now feels a bit annoying because of that.

Off road mode might get you up to 32 but it doesn't seem worth it to save a few minutes. Higher speeds start to feel progressively more dangerous which each 1 mph extra once you get in the 25mph+ range.

I have the standard battery (12.8) and do a lot of stop and go, probably need a charge every 20 miles in sport mode, or 30 in eco. For your 30 mile+ commute I'd recommend the larger battery for sure. Unless you can charge easily at work.

LimboJim
2 months ago

The only pre-assist chain break I ever witnessed in ~30 years of MTBing was when a friend's chain broke MILES from our car. He'd neglected his chain severely and it was both rusty and grimy. We re-used a pin and shortened his chain - less than ideal but we made it back to the car...

Someday I'll need to replace my eMTBs' entire drivetrains, and I'll probably go with SRAM's EX1 groupset, an 8-speed arrangement designed for to withstand the extra torque from the likes of Brose (MUCH thicker chain, for one thing). Best price I've found so far on EX1 components is from Niagra Cycle - if anyone's seen them cheaper please let me know!

Only 8 speeds? IMO (and according to E-Mountainbike Magazine), that's plenty for my needs - I feel that 11 or even 10 speeds is overkill, and those use thinner links so there's only so much chain makers can add in terms of strength. As it is, I frequently find myself jumping 2-3 gears at a time with 10- and 11-speed pedal assist - I really don't need the "in-between" gears with the motor's help.

If you (or anyone reading this) splurges (or has splurged) for the KMC X11e Sport or Turbo, I'd be curious to learn how it holds up after 100+ miles of hard offroading. I find that my "regular" x11e and x10e chains start stretching 0.5% at about 100 miles, then to 0.75% at 150+ (which is when I change mine).

For now, I've decided to just buy several of the Silvers (Bulls' OEM) at less than half the price of either Sport or Turbo, and just change them every 150-200 miles. Bike-Discount sells Silvers for less than $30, but the cheapest I've found Sport for was $65 (Turbo $80). If you know a place that sells the for $50-60, I'd probably try it myself...

I just noticed that the x11e available on the German site "bike-discount.de" (linked above) isn't even listed on the US version of KMC's website! The only "Ebike Approved" 11-speed chains they show are the Sport and Turbo, so I guess they want us to spend twice as much unless we're willing to pay for international shipping. The x11e Silver is only shown on KMC's EU site... intetesting.

Larry Ganz
2 months ago

When I'm on my stationary bike I'm usually pretty steady at between 50-60rpm on a fairly firm resistance, in order to keep going a long enough time for a good workout. But if I try to hit a sustained 75rpm, even at a very low effort setting, I can get very short of breath quickly without my oxygen.

The faster movement of my legs hitting my "spare tire" around my waist reduces my ability to fill my lungs fully, and with only one working lung I start to drop my sats.

I tend to be at these same low rpm on my Trek Powerfly as well, as it's just a comfortable range for my issues with fibromyalgia and lung disease, but I can stretch to about 70rpm before it starts to negatively affect my oxygenation.

Obviously the sampling on the cadence range were sourced from healthy cyclists. The faster the cadence esp in the 80's and above it becomes more aerobic exercise, so a person with only one lung will feel it more. On the other side if you keep the same effort but at a low cadence in the 40's, you build a lot of lactic acid and not adequately mobilized out from your muscles and risk having cramps. You need good hydration to minimize that.

Sometimes I wish the Bosche could put out more power at 40-50 rpm when just cruising in high gear and a mild hill comes up. I might be cruising in top gear at 15-18mph with little effort and then I approach a mild hill, and then it seems to put out only about half the power on the power gauge at 40rpm as it does if I shift down to hit 70rpm to get more power.

Dropping your usual cadence from 70 to 40 rpm would only cost you about a couple of miles in your range, so there is very little sacrifice on your range.
https://www.bosch-ebike.com/us-en/service/range-assistant/

Jumping up from Tour to Turbo isn't always enough and I lose speed, making me downshift again to get power up. Then I can't maintain the high cadence and my speed drops again.

I suggest you increase your baseline assist level to sport (instead of tour) and go to turbo for extra help. And just focus on the fun of riding. You will eventually build up more endurance. To address range anxiety, just carry a spare battery like I do.

I tried using the higher power levels to do a 16 mile ride to the zoo and back at higher speeds than usual (16.3mph avg instead of the usual 10-12mph avg when I limit myself to just ECO and TOUR). It included about 1600 feet of total climbing on the trip, and I dropped to 4 bars at 7 miles and down to 3 bars at 14 miles, just before I made it back home.

Normally in ECO and TOUR I go much slower and make it about 20-25 miles before I drop 2 bars in this hilly terrain, so my range was down about 33% using higher assist, but my avg speed was up 33% in return, without extra fatigue. So I could make that same trip twice on a single charge, but I did it quite a bit faster by using SPORT and TURBO for every climb (still ECO & TOUR on the flatter sections). My range anxiety has now been relieved, and I could still keep my cadence between 40-70rpm (but 55rpm is my sweet spot).

On the really steep climbs I would be in 1st-3rd gear in TURBO mode at 6-7mph without exceeding my physical limits, as I can't break 10mph on the steepest climbs without over-doing it. But being able to do 25-30mph on the downhill portions made up for it. Before I would work my a$$ off in TOUR when climbing the hills in 1st gear, and have nothing left in my body to keep my speed up for the rest of the ride.

Mark Peralta
2 months ago

Thanks for the info, I'll take a look.

When I'm on my stationary bike I'm usually pretty steady at between 50-60rpm on a fairly firm resistance, in order to keep going a long enough time for a good workout. But if I try to hit a sustained 75rpm, even at a very low effort setting, I can get very short of breath quickly without my oxygen.

The faster movement of my legs hitting my "spare tire" around my waist reduces my ability to fill my lungs fully, and with only one working lung I start to drop my sats.

I tend to be at these same low rpm on my Trek Powerfly as well, as it's just a comfortable range for my issues with fibromyalgia and lung disease, but I can stretch to about 70rpm before it starts to negatively affect my oxygenation.

Sometimes I wish the Bosche could put out more power at 40-50 rpm when just cruising in high gear and a mild hill comes up. I might be cruising in top gear at 15-18mph with little effort and then I approach a mild hill, and then it seems to put out only about half the power on the power gauge at 40rpm as it does if I shift down to hit 70rpm to get more power.

Jumping up from Tour to Turbo isn't always enough and I lose speed, making me downshift again to get power up. Then I can't maintain the high cadence and my speed drops again.

When I'm on my stationary bike I'm usually pretty steady at between 50-60rpm on a fairly firm resistance, in order to keep going a long enough time for a good workout. But if I try to hit a sustained 75rpm, even at a very low effort setting, I can get very short of breath quickly without my oxygen.

The faster movement of my legs hitting my "spare tire" around my waist reduces my ability to fill my lungs fully, and with only one working lung I start to drop my sats.

I tend to be at these same low rpm on my Trek Powerfly as well, as it's just a comfortable range for my issues with fibromyalgia and lung disease, but I can stretch to about 70rpm before it starts to negatively affect my oxygenation.

Obviously the sampling on the cadence range were sourced from healthy cyclists. The faster the cadence esp in the 80's and above it becomes more aerobic exercise, so a person with only one lung will feel it more. On the other side if you keep the same effort but at a low cadence in the 40's, you build a lot of lactic acid and not adequately mobilized out from your muscles and risk having cramps. You need good hydration to minimize that.

Sometimes I wish the Bosche could put out more power at 40-50 rpm when just cruising in high gear and a mild hill comes up. I might be cruising in top gear at 15-18mph with little effort and then I approach a mild hill, and then it seems to put out only about half the power on the power gauge at 40rpm as it does if I shift down to hit 70rpm to get more power.

Dropping your usual cadence from 70 to 40 rpm would only cost you about a couple of miles in your range, so there is very little sacrifice on your range.
https://www.bosch-ebike.com/us-en/service/range-assistant/

Jumping up from Tour to Turbo isn't always enough and I lose speed, making me downshift again to get power up. Then I can't maintain the high cadence and my speed drops again.

I suggest you increase your baseline assist level to sport (instead of tour) and go to turbo for extra help. And just focus on the fun of riding. You will eventually build up more endurance. To address range anxiety, just carry a spare battery like I do.

1/1
Richy85
2 months ago

As title says... Been a wee bit of a pillock and am potentially losing my driving licence very soon.
Turns out the police don't find pulling wheelies on a motorcycle as amusing as I do... Go figure.

Anyhoozle.

So yeah, what are my options? Have looked about on ebay and online but dunno what's what really...

Above all I need range and comfort. Not overly bothered about going as fast as possible, although I want to be able to get from A to B and not die of old age in the process.
My wrists and back aren't what they used to be - hence why I only ride adventure touring motorcycles these days. Had to give up sport/race bikes years back in favour of a more upright position so I can't be done with anything that is going to aggravate my bones.

Basically, I live out in the country so am literally miles from anywhere and anything. I need an ebike to get to work and to see the (apparently) better half who lives about 22 miles away. So a range of 50 miles is kinda required as she lives in a flat so getting the bike inside and charging isn't going to be an option while I'm there.
Being out in the sticks, not all the roads are particularly excellent so needs to be fairly rugged and able to cope with all manner of s*it on the roads... Which, living where I do is often actual s*it.

I understand that not many bikes will have the range I am looking for - Is it possible to just connect up extra batteries for more endurance?
I'm not exactly a small bloke either and may also be carrying a big backpack.

Also I am aware there are certain legalities surrounding ebikes. Legalities which I am aware most people laugh at and modify their bikes to cruise along and have a merrry old fun time... What are my options in this regard also?

Budget wise, anything around 1,000 or less would be good. can go up to 1500 though at a stretch.

Any help greatly appreciated :)

mid drive merv
2 months ago

Excellent post, Michael, and an inspiration for me, as I’ve been planning a 70 mile one day trip for awhile now. I need a little more time on local trips to strengthen my legs first, though.

Thanks for sharing in that excellent post, Michael. You were careful to give lots of credit to the bike, but I rather imagine most riders would not attain that kind of mileage in the same circumstances. Being fit and thinking about how best to stretch the available current in your battery were both obviously big factors in what you accomplished. This cannot help but make me think of the second ebike I ever owned, the Giant Lafree Sport. It was my primary transportation for seven years. I got through those seven years with it with only one replacement of the two twelve volt, twelve amp hour SLA batteries. No way could I have gotten anywhere close to that kind of range on that Giant ebike no matter how miserly I was on using the battery resources! Giant bikes and ebikes in general have progressed greatly since Giant introduced the Lafree Sport. It was a pretty efficient ebike for the day, even though it was heavy. And one paid a bigger price in battery long-term longevity by running SLA batterypacks down to the final 10 to 15 per cent than one does doing the same to current commonly used ebike chemistries. Keep us posted on things. I suspect that I am one of many who have a soft spot in the heart for Giant ebikes.

willie2
2 months ago

Been following along finally decided to chime in. Ordered Juiced HF in July, with all options $2700. Missed the majority of the riding season in my area.
Looking at Luna 1000 and Biktrix juggernaut mx Ultra. Prices come in closer to $3000 - $3300, which is really more than I wanted to spend. I have a short commute, but 1 massive hill. Biktrix has cadence and torque sensors. Bother are mid BBSHD - l Luna has 2500w option, 1000w Biktrix seems like plenty of power - both seem to be "better" than hub for hills, but frankly I only know what I have been reading online. Never rod an e-bike. Live on the East coast. I also like the look and performance of fenders and rack. still no fenders for Hype. At this point I think I should cancel and hold my spot and see what changes in the spring. Thoughts?

If you've never ridden an ebike, that's the first thing you should take care of. Is there a local bike shop where you could test ride a few? If you don't have a shop nearby, I'd be pretty nervous getting something from Juiced as their remote support doesn't have a great reputation. You'd probably be better served purchasing from a more established brand. If you've already budgeted $2700 and you don't have a long commute, you're still going to have lots of options especially if you don't need a fat bike.

When you say "massive hill," can you be more specific? Do you know the grade and length? Unless it's something really crazy, you should be fine with most commercially available ebikes. If you are looking for a commuter, the Hyperfat probably isn't the best choice. If you do end up getting it, make sure to change out the tires. The Juggernauts that are stock on the Hyperfat are garbage, especially for road use. Unless you are going to do a lot of off roading, I'd look for a hub motor based system (many would disagree.) Hub motor based bikes don't require as much maintenance although the do have their downsides (not as great for huge hills/heavy riders.) Have a look at the Smartmotion Pacer. It comes with a rack, fenders, torque sensor, big battery, geared hub, plenty of power, comes from a more mature company, and is in your price range.

mrgold35
3 months ago

I wonder if this is a mis-leading "cause and effect" result? For example: More injuries are on top tube bike. Conclusion; top tube bikes are more dangerous. You would come to the same conclusion of: Most speeding tickets are written for sports cars. Conclusion: sports cars cause speeding tickets and we must ban sport cars.

It could be deeper relationship of the reason for more incidents with top tube bike and the riding style(s) of the rider. I ride +3400 miles a year on my ebike and drive 15,000-20,000 miles in my vehicles (I do most of the driving). My wife might put 150 miles year on her ebike and less than 8,000 miles per year driving. I have a higher chance of being in a top tube ebike accident or car accident compared to my wife. That doesn't make my top tube ebike (or car) any less safe, it only gives me more opportunities for an accident.

Most MTB (including my Radrover) kinda split the difference with a much lower top tube design that still looks gender neutral. My wife is 4'11" and she can step through the Radrover and straddle the bike with both feet flat on the ground (after I installed the ISM Touring Saddle). The only downside is I had to upgrade to the Suntour SP-12 NCX 400mm seatpost because the standard 350mm seatpost was too short for me at 6'3".

DR Win
3 months ago

I'm not-yet-77, female, 6' tall and need an ebike to get to the grocery store and back. The hill I live on is long and steep in parts. When I was half this age, it took me 35-45 minutes and everything I had in the tank to ride home. It's not possible for me to do this anymore. Can anyone recommend bikes that will fit this bill?
I'm in the same age situation, plus bad knees. My solution was NeoVolt Sport folding ebike. 350 watt motor, various assist settings. I can pedal up a very long, steep hill itting down if I choose to do so. The folding feature means I can easily store the bike in a closet or carry it in my car if need be. There's no need to spend a lot of money on an e-bike. I paid about $1600 for last year's model, new.

Court
3 months ago

Here's another press release update that Bosch sent out the other day in preparation for Interbike. The summary is: the new Active Line Plus, Active Line and eMTB mode. With zero resistance, Active Line Plus will produce new eBikes that finally feel like riding a natural bicycle. Plus, the motors are much smaller, lighter, quieter and smoother than before. The eMTB Mode is also like an iOS update for your bike – riders unlock it just by updating their bike’s software. Active Line is similar to Active Line Plus, but smaller and lighter. You’ll find all the details in the attached, and here’s a few accompanying photos.

Bosch introducing two new systems and eMTB mode at Interbike
Reutlingen, Germany / Irvine, CA – Bosch eBike Systems North America (www.bosch-ebike.us) is highlighting two new systems and the new eMTB mode for the North American market for Model Year 2018. These innovations and more will be on display at Bosch’s Interbike 2017 booth (#17177) and available for experiencing first hand at the Interbike indoor test track “The Circuit” (#C11).

Active Line Plus: Quieter with zero resistance

From the days of launching our very first eBike system in Europe in 2010, Bosch’s goal has always been to make an eBike retain the natural feel of a traditional bicycle. The earliest generation of our product came close and quickly jump-started the “pedal-assist” eBike market in Europe. Our 2nd generation system came even closer and has been a big factor in the rise of pedal-assist eBikes in the US since 2014. Through non-stop innovation at our Stuttgart headquarters, our latest drive unit generation, dubbed Active Line Plus (ALP), closes the gap even further between an eBike and bicycle.

Key improvements:

Smaller: the drive unit is 20% smaller (volumetric) which enables bike designs with a cleaner / integrated look, to more closely resemble traditional bikes. With the ALP, the drive unit is one step closer to disappearing within the frame of the bike.

Lighter: the ALP drive unit weighs approximately 7.1 lbs, a weight reduction of 19% compared with last year’s Active and Performance Line drive units. Lighter eBikes handle better during the ride and are easier to transport after the ride – both key enablers to eBike market growth.

Whisper-quiet: the completely re-designed drive unit features a new quieter gear concept and electric motor. As you pedal on a quiet road, now you just hear the wind in your face.

Zero pedalling resistance: due to this new gear concept, when the motor is in “off” mode or the rider surpasses the drive’s cut-off speed, the rider feels no more resistance in the pedals than on a traditional bicycle.

Multiple front chain ring possible: previously, all Bosch drive units allowed only one chain ring. ALP now features the ability to offer multiple front chain rings, for bikes that need a wider range of gears.

Superior range: the ALP combined with the 500Wh battery achieves 51 miles range (mixed-modes, favorable conditions), and a max of 130 miles-plus range (Eco mode, ideal conditions). This is achieved through key features such as high motor efficiency and lower max torque (50 Nm), which is set deliberately lower than Performance Line to cater to commuters & more casual cyclists.

“The New Active Line Plus is our proudest achievement thus far for pavement-style eBikes,” said Claudia Wasko, General Manager of Bosch eBike Systems Americas. “Active Line Plus gives riders the fun of an eBike with the feel of a bicycle.”

Active Line: Lighter and smaller

The new Active Line has all the same key features as Active Line Plus with three key differences:

40 Nm of torque rather than 50 Nm.
Weight is even less at 6.4 lbs.
5% percent smaller than ALP.

eMTB Mode for Performance Line CX

A mode for eMountain bikers: eMTB mode replaces the previous Sport mode of the Performance Line CX and switches between the Tour and Turbo riding modes. Depending on the pedal pressure, the progressive motor support automatically adapts to the individual’s riding style. Without changing gear, the motor always provides support at the ideal power level, even at low cadences. eMTB mode is available to dealers in the form of a software update.

“Our new eMTB mode is going to be a game changer for the e-mountain biker,” said Claudia Wasko, General Manager of Bosch eBike Systems Americas. “It takes trail riding to another level.”

Demo the future

Interbike 2017 show attendees will be able to demo many eBikes from Bosch’s new and existing brands at Outdoor Demo Day on Sept 18th and 19th and at the Bosch-sponsored indoor test track (“The Circuit”) on Sept 20th – 21st to try out Bosch’s new MY18 innovations. Dealers are also invited to attend seminars on eBike market trends, policy, technology, and more at the Bosch-sponsored “Electric Theatre”, located close to “The Circuit” Test Track, open Sept 20th and 21st 10AM – 5PM.

Photo 1: Active Line Plus

Photo 2: eMTB mode

About Bosch eBike Systems

A new generation of bikes is taking town and country by storm and is already a part of everyday life. eBikes are a modern means of transport for modern people: people in a hurry and people who prefer to take it easy, the fit and the comfort lovers, commuters and pleasure cyclists and, of course, young and old. The tailwind of technology-leading eBikes made by what are already more than 60 leading brands in Europe is powered by components that Bosch is developing to perfection. The Bosch portfolio ranges from the highly efficient drive unit (motor and gearbox) and high-quality batteries to a smart on-board and cycle computer that can be used intuitively. Perfect coordination of components holds the key to typical Bosch performance in terms of both comfort and efficiency.

Like other Bosch products, the eBike systems benefit from the Bosch Group’s technology and production know-how. From conception and engineering to manufacturing, marketing and after-sales service, Bosch eBike Systems constantly set new standards for the eBike industry. The Bosch Group’s experience in the areas of electric motors, sensor technology, displays and lithium-ion batteries ensures that Bosch eBike systems use technology that is invented for life and that eBike users have their fun.

For more information please visit www.bosch-ebike.com

About Bosch

The Bosch Group is a leading global supplier of technology and services. It employs roughly 390,000 associates worldwide (as of December 31, 2016). According to preliminary figures, the company generated sales of 73.1 billion euros in 2016. Its operations are divided into four business sectors: Mobility Solutions, Industrial Technology, Consumer Goods, and Energy and Building Technology. As a leading IoT company, Bosch offers innovative solutions for smart homes, smart cities, connected mobility, and connected industry. It uses its expertise in sensor technology, software, and services, as well as its own IoT cloud, to offer its customers connected, cross-domain solutions from a single source. The Bosch Group’s strategic objective is to deliver innovations for a connected life. Bosch improves quality of life worldwide with products and services that are innovative and spark enthusiasm. In short, Bosch creates technology that is “Invented for life.” The Bosch Group comprises Robert Bosch GmbH and its roughly 450 subsidiaries and regional companies in some 60 countries. Including sales and service partners, Bosch’s global manufacturing, engineering, and sales network covers nearly every country in the world. The basis for the company’s future growth is its innovative strength. At 120 locations across the globe, Bosch employs 59,000 associates in research and development.

Additional information is available online at www.bosch.com , www.iot.bosch.com , www.bosch-press.com , www.twitter.com/BoschPresse .

1/2
Ravi Kempaiah
3 months ago

realistically how is Juiced getting these bikes made without staying within the ebike class definitions?

It's all grey area. Most companies who want to bypass the regulation just put a button like "sport mode" that will bypass all speed limits. if the user decides to engage it, then the liability is on the user.
In the US, ebiking is new and nobody is enforcing anything but in EU, cycling is serious business. From moms to professors to kids, everyone rides a bike and you can't do such things in the EU. There will be repercussions.

Here are the problematic states in the US. You can read more about the E-bike laws and regulations here.

I don't fully agree with the current ebike class definition structures around class 3 bikes.

I respect your opinion. Each one is entitled their own.

I ride Class 3 bikes all the time and very rarely maintain 28mph sustained. It's for a very brief period that I hit. Even some of my hardcore biking friends who put 10K miles a year think ~23mph is the sweet spot. Anything above you're just draining the battery too quickly and I find it is just a cheap thrill. I value my safety more and I also want every ebiker/walker on the trails to be safe. It is not a nice feeling to walk your kid or dog and find an ebike zipping at 30mph closeby.

I was watching this video today and I really wish the US society had more of this mindfulness aspect.

metamorphicorder
3 weeks ago

Court, i want to help simplify your explanation of the efficiency of regen.
Its simply a matter of energy. The motor puts out lets say 750 watts. In order to meaningfully charge the battery, you would have to put out more than that consistently. There's a video of man vs toaster. An Olympic speed cyclist tried to toast bread in a toaster hooked up to a bicycle powering a generator and he wore himself out while lightly toasting the bread. The toaster was lets say drawing 1.5kw. That's a little more than most ebikes, but he is quite a bit more capable than 98% of people. He was only able to keep up that pace for a little while. Very short period of time. You said the battery was 500ish wh, so in order to charge the battery, you would have to pedal hard enough to put out 500w after inefficiencies for one hour.
.5kwh. There's not a human on earth thats doing that.
What regen does is helps extend your range a little bit. Just like pedaling any energy you dont take out of the battery is more energy you can take out later.
So its simply a matter of human performance, you cant do it. You could put the bike on a stand and put it in regen mode and pedal and over a long period of time, charge the battery. Assuming you could continue pedalling for the entire charge. So looking at it like that you could say that if you could ride the bike with the motor and pedalling for the period of time that it takes you to pedal charge the bike, you could theoretically charge the bike. That's where you get into human fuel efficiency calculations. But since you either cant get the battery to last that long at a performance level that is usable, its a moot point. Humans cant charge ebikes.

GameOn
4 weeks ago

Why is that Supernova light 400$!??! That is more than a headlight for my car! It's crazy!

Erich Straka
2 months ago

Looks like a great bike. Would like to have one like this too. I"m going to have a garage full of bikes if I keep watching your videos. You are having a great time traveling around and seeing wonderful places. Great job you're doing. Enjoy life, like you are.

joes joey
3 months ago

freaking love these bikes great reviews court!

Neil Glezer-Jones
4 months ago

Love your videos and have been watching a lot of them. I am looking at buying either a Levo Comp or a Giant E+. I want to use it for mountain days were i just want to have fun and other days to get a family member on it in front of me for tempo training days while riding my 2018 Spark 910. So I am not looking to be lazy. I am concerned about the future of the electric bike I may have in my garage with regards to the battery. I am looking at spending about US$5500 for the bike and then with lets assume 3 charges a week and 700 recharge cycles in about 4 years I will have to buy a new battery at current rate US$1000. I have bikes in my garage that I can go ride now that are over 10 years old. How does one justify an electric bike when it would seem we are paying a premium now and you are only renting the engine so to speak because every 4 years you need to spend more money to keep it working. More to the point I was told that Specialized will keep parts for obsolete bikes for 5 years. What happens to my electric bike after my second battery? I would imagine this is going to be a factor got electric everything in the future. Do you think the norm will become battery hacking once out of warranty? Thanks for the great videos.

rpmbxdj
4 months ago

Nice bike and great review Court! I was a little shocked that it was labeled a class 2 e bike. Is the Software upgrade (Class 3) only available in specific areas? Last I heard in NYC we're out of luck! lol Wish I could upgrade my D Series to class 3. Because of the class limits, i've been thinking about the Super 73 and selling my D-series

Hackeric
4 months ago

OHM is a logical ebike name. Rear hub motors are nice as long as they have puncture protection, they're more hassle to service.

Juan Alfonso Noval
4 months ago

Awesome review, Court. Bike is very cool as well. Love all the details and the design of the bike. I can see how the asking price reflects the well thought-out design and components. I'm very impressed with Ohm.

Bryan
4 months ago

Court, another great video. Your reviews are very helpful. For the money, would you recommend the Ohm Sport or the Specialized Turbo Vado 6.0? Thanks!

mikldude
4 months ago

Good review sir , and a very cool bike , i wish we had more lenient laws regarding bike power in my neck of the woods , 250 watt is maximum here (Victoria/Australia ) .
250 watt is pretty weak , especially on a heavy bike with a fairly big 110 kg dude .
Keep up the good work .

actnowone
4 months ago

Overall a nice looking bike but don't like that large rear motor casing it just looks so ugly. I'm looking forward to you going too inter-bike, should be interesting.

ting280
4 months ago

can you hook up a solar panel to it? b/c I would hook up solar panels to it, ammo can panniers, bikepacking bags, and then travel the country on it.

Manan M. Patel - M POWER
4 months ago

Hello! I have bafang style hub motor 250 w so which Size of spokes are suitable for 26 inch rim.

Aayush Parmar
4 months ago

Lol $4k hahaha

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
4 months ago

What's the bionx system's country of origin ? .
🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔨🔨🔨🔨🔩🔩🔩🔩🔩🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔨🔨🔧🔨🔧🔨🔧🔨🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔨🔨🔧🔩🔧🔧🔩🔧🔩🔨🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔧🔩🔧🔩🔩🔧🔧🔩🔩🔧🔨🔨🔨🔧🔨🔧🔨🔧🔧🔨🔧🔨🔧🔨🔨🔨🔨🔨🔨🔩🔩🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔩🔧🔧🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔩🔩🔩🔩🔨🔨🔨🔨🔨🔨🔩🔧🔩🔧🔨🔧🔧🔨🔧🔨🔨🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔩🔧🔩🔩🔩🔨🔨🔨🔨🔨🔨🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵

"CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

Seb K
4 months ago

I think in the intro you should replace the bell with 'Reeeeeeee' .

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Oh man... like when I make that dorky sound in the video :P

Ron OBlack
4 months ago

This bike looks to be similar to my Pedego Ridgeline.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

They are both hub motor driven but the systems used here are more advanced in my opinion. You get regenerative braking, four levels of regen, a more compact throttle and a removable color display panel. I haven't seen Pedego's most recent Ridge Rider but I did like the one I saw a while back: https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/ridge-rider/

Andrew Hunter
4 months ago

That's definitely one of the better all rounder bike's both capable of being a commuter bike and one for having fun in the countryside.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I agree, it's one of the nicest hub motor powered ebikes I have tested to date. The mountain model was also a blast, we took it off-road and it performed great for a hardtail (and it uses the same motor and battery as the Urban and Sport)

Lysle Basinger
4 months ago

Nice setting for your review. Strong solid silent bike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Thanks Lysle, I'm trying to do these bikes justice and make the reviews interesting and fun :)

John Eli
4 months ago

Seems like a quiet motor

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Definitely, one of the quietest but most capable hub motors I have tested. BionX is a leader in that space for sure