Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Electric Bike Review
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Bafang 750 Watt Fat Bike Motor
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Wellgo Pedals Ebike Controller Box
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Handlebar Shifter Throttle
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Backlit King Meter Lcd Display
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Stitched Leather Grips Integrated Bell
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Top Gun Suspension Fat Bike
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Two Virtical Bottle Cage Mounts
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Shimano Acera 7 Speed With Guard
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Side Mounted Kickstand Adjustable
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Removable 48 Volt Battery Panasonic Cells
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Black And White Colors
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Battery Charger
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Electric Bike Review
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Bafang 750 Watt Fat Bike Motor
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Wellgo Pedals Ebike Controller Box
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Handlebar Shifter Throttle
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Backlit King Meter Lcd Display
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Stitched Leather Grips Integrated Bell
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Top Gun Suspension Fat Bike
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Two Virtical Bottle Cage Mounts
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Shimano Acera 7 Speed With Guard
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Side Mounted Kickstand Adjustable
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Removable 48 Volt Battery Panasonic Cells
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Black And White Colors
2016 Rad Power Bikes Radrover Battery Charger

Summary

  • Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US
  • Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame, they use extra bolts for strength and kept them mostly out of the way, both are mounted low for improved stability
  • Nice extras including an integrated LED headlight, stand alone rear light, USB charging outlet on the battery, handle at the back of the seat, quick release front wheel, bash guard on the chainring and derailleur... optional fenders and rack
  • Only available in one frame size but comes in black or white color choices, the 180 mm disc brakes work well enough but hydraulic would be nice, the grips spin a bit if you squeeze hard, excellent kickstand placement, clean wire integration

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadRover

Price:

$1,499 ($175 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive (Original Owner)

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

63 lbs (28.57 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg)

Motor Weight:

14 lbs (6.35 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

18.25 in (46.35 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

580 mm Top Tube, 463 mm Seat Tube, 1155 mm Wheelbase, 794 mm Standover Height

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Top Gun Suspension with Lockout, Adjustable Preload, 5" Travel, 11 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Acera, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shiman SIS Index Shifter on Right

Cranks:

42T Chainring with Aluminum Bash Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

VP-A41ACK

Stem:

Zoom ~6° Rise

Handlebar:

Zoom Low-Rise, 25" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors, Rubberized Edge and Integrated Bell

Grips:

Stitched Ergonomic, Black

Saddle:

Velo Plush with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

320 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled Alloy, Black

Spokes:

13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Juggernaut, 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

31TPI, Wire Bead, 5-30 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Spanninga Micro Integrated LED Headlight, Blaze-Lite RL1800 Independent LED Back Light, Neoprene Slap Guard, Side Mounted Adjustable Kickstand, Two USB Charging Ports for Portable Electronics (On Battery and Display)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Aluminum

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

King Meter SW-LCD, Fixed Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Gauge (5 Bars), Speed, Avg. Speed, Top Speed, Odometer, Trip Odometer, Watts, PAS level (1-5)

Display Accessories:

Independent 3 Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (6 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Rad Power Bikes has rapidly grown their business from a crowd funded single-product offering to include a cargo bike and a mini fat folding bike in just a couple of short years! But it all started with the RadRover… This classic fat tire electric bike offers some of the best value I’ve seen on the market without compromising comfort and quality. Upgrades like the Shimano Acera derailleur (which is two steps up from the standard Tourney I frequently see) should last longer and provide tighter shifting. There’s a beautifully integrated bell that doesn’t clutter the handlebars because it’s designed into the brake levers (which offer motor cutoff when pulled). You get a fat bike specific motor from Bafang that maxes out on power for what’s legal in the US at 750 watts. It includes two LED lights and while the rear is more basic, relying on stand-alone battery cells, the front is integrated and runs off the main battery pack… which is huge! Not only do you get a powerful 48 volt configuration, the cells inside are from Panasonic, one of the most trusted and longest lasting from what I hear at shops and from consumers. And! there’s a USB charging port mounted on the side of that pack so you can use it for backup power (charging a cell phone perhaps) or running extra lights on your bike. Unfortunately, the positioning is a little vulnerable because your leg and foot pass near the side of the battery. Consider a right-angle USB adapter if you intend to plug things in while riding. But the USB power doesn’t stop there, another plug is built into the display panel so you can still get energy without running a long cable.

Powering on the bike is a two step process where you press a silver button on the battery and then hold the mode button on the control pad. It’s an extra step that not every electric bike has but at least it’s not too difficult to reach. This may reduce phantom power draw from the battery if you take it off the bike and are using it to charge with one of the USB ports mentioned earlier. The button pad mentioned a moment ago, is mounted near your left hand so you can adjust pedal assist levels while riding without taking your hand off the grip. There are five levels of power and a level zero! In zero, the bike won’t respond to your pedaling but the throttle will (if you’ve activated it) and that’s kind of cool. In all normal assist levels the throttle can override with additional power for catching up with friends or topping a hill. I love having a throttle on fat bikes because snow, sand and hilly terrain can sneak up on you and being able to power through or get extra help on demand makes for fewer crashes and generally more comfortable riding. And, since the RadRover is using a more basic pedal assist cadence sensor (with just six magnets vs. 12) I found that using the throttle and brake levers can lead to more precise control. Cadence sensors aren’t generally as responsive as torque sensors but they are less complicated, less expensive and they don’t make you work as hard. In the future, maybe they will switch to a 12 magnet design but still, the throttle helps and being able to one step further and actually disable the throttle with the red toggle button mounted near its base, is fantastic. Sometimes you don’t want to worry about accidentally twisting that throttle (like on really difficult terrain or descending or when you’re loading the bike up). Turning it off means that 750 watt motor won’t accidentally get out of control.

Using this bike can take some extra practice just because there are more drive options and the display has a lot of readouts. I prefer it this way but as a more advanced rider, I don’t feel as overwhelmed. What you see with the display is the speed, assist level and battery gauge (along wth a lot of other little readouts). The display is backlit which is great for night riding and it can be swiveled to reduce glare but it is not removable. Some quick tips on the display panel: you can hold up to switch from average speed to max speed, hold up and mode to turn on the headlight and hold down to activate walk-mode which propels the bike gently forward so you don’t have to push it up hills (if you decide to walk vs. ride). In the video review you can see us riding in deeper sand and I share a few tips about accelerating slowly to maintain balance. Once or twice I decided to walk the bike to meet with a friend just down the way and using walk mode significantly helped because the bike weighs ~63 lbs and sort of sinks in when you’re on the sand. Yes, you could just twist the throttle but that’s more sensitive and tends to kick up sand if you accidentally twist too hard.

At the end of the day, Rad Power Bikes has proven that they can produce reliable ebikes at reasonable prices and deliver and support them well. This is why I recommended them as one of the possible platforms for Cabo Adventures (where this video review was shot). The resort wanted to buy some bikes that would empower visitors to ride on the beach even in deep soft sand and not get exhausted when it’s super hot outside. The bikes performed beyond my expectation and were some of the most comfortable I tried. The mid-rise handlebars, ergonomic grips and softer saddle just made it feel good. The suspension fork, while basic, did its job marvelously and kept my wrists, forearms and shoulders from getting sore. One of the bigger points here is that we rode the bikes in sand and near salt water and they did begin to rust after a week. Rinsing them off after this sort of riding is a good idea. Whether you’re in snow where salt has been scattered to melt ice or near the ocean the bikes will show wear. In my opinion, if that’s the sort of terrain you expect to encounter, it feels nice knowing you didn’t spend $5,000+ on a bike than one you can pour some money into ongoing for replacement parts. I don’t mean to say the bikes won’t hold up, even with rust on the chainrings they should continue to perform. There are so many bikes coming to market these days that do not have a throttle mode and in conditions like the ones we rode in it can be very very useful and almost everyone who tried the bikes there (including my girlfriend) said they loved the throttle. There’s more to say about this bike and I’ve done my best in the pros/cons below but you can also watch and read comments for the older RadRover model from 2015 here. Big thanks to Rad Power Bikes for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Given the upgraded 750 watt internally geared hub motor, I wasn’t sure how loud it would be running at full power but it actually stayed much quieter than some competing motors on fat bikes that I’ve tested, even lower powered ones, and I like how wide it is (custom for fat tires) because that supports the spokes
  • Lots of upgraded components here including a Shimano Acera derailleur with metal protector (in case the bike tips), premium Panasonic battery cells and 180 mm mechanical disc brakes
  • Given the mid-frame battery design, I love that they were able to angle the to-tube to reduce stand over height and still include bottle cage bosses! There are two vertical mounts just behind the head tube on the left and right which would be great for folding locks, mini pumps or standard cages
  • I’m ~5’9″ and this fat bike felt comfortable in terms of reach, the stem isn’t super long and the bars have a nice mid-rise in them… I also felt like the saddle was more comfortable than some competing offerings
  • Even though I’m used to seeing Top Gun as the most basic low-end suspension provider on on a lot of bikes, this one was upgraded to include lockout and worked fairly well, combined with the fat tires this ebike is pretty comfortable but a 27.2 mm suspension seat post could soften up the back if you’ve got a sensitive neck or back
  • I like that they included a little neoprene slap guard on the right chainstay… I noticed the chain bouncing when I was riding fast across the bumpy dirt road and without this pad the paint would get chipped up and there would be more noise
  • It’s cool that RadRover sells accessories like fenders, saddle bags, rear carry racks and even transport racks for your car all designed to fit their bikes, there are threaded bosses at the rear-end of the bike so you could easily add your own rack if you’ve got something like the Topeak slide-on bag system
  • I love that the mechanical cables for the brakes and shifters are all run through the frame, even the electronic wires are well organized and tucked away which prevents snags and just looks good (especially on the white frame where they would stand out more)
  • Rad Power Bikes offers flat rate shipping in the continental United States for $175 which is a pretty good deal given the weight and size of the bike in my opinion… do take this into consideration though on the price
  • I really like that there’s a handle built into the back of the saddle! This makes the bike easier to lift and position… also since the kickstand is mounted way towards the back, you can pedal the bike backwards and work on the chain more easily even if you don’t have a professional stand
  • The battery interface, the plastic slide where it mounts to the downtube, is bolted onto the frame with three bolts vs. just two on most kits and some cheaper ebikes so it doesn’t rattle and feels pretty sturdy, this is good considering you might ride it on bumpy terrain
  • I love that the bike offers throttle-only mode with zero assist, that gives you a lot of control and if you do turn on assist you can still override with more power using the throttle later

Cons:

  • At ~63 lbs this electric fat bike isn’t especially light weight but at least the front wheel has a quick release skewer and teh battery can be easily removed… this will reduce the space required by the bike and make it easier and lighter to lift
  • I was surprised that the cadence sensor only used six magnets? Many newer models use 12 so the motor will respond faster as you pedal (both starting and stopping), it’s nice that the brake levers have integrated motor cutoff switches so at least you can command a stop immediately in case of emergency
  • I like having a throttle and the twist version works well enough, especially with the integrated on/off toggle, but sometimes a trigger is nicer for off-road bumpy riding so that your grip is solid, I’ve also heard some riders with smaller hands prefer the trigger but it’s really personal preference
  • The bike handled well and was ridden by some individuals in the 200+ lb range during this review but both skewers are the thinner 11 mm style vs. some of the newer 12 mm and 15 mm thru-axles seen on a lot of mountain bikes used on tough terrain, thicker axles on fat bikes would support the weight and stresses of fat tires
  • You have to turn the battery pack on before you can power up the display panel, it’s a two step process that isn’t difficult but takes extra time and isn’t mandatory with some other electric bicycles
  • I like that there are two little USB charging ports integrated into this bike, running off the main battery pack, especially because the bike doesn’t come with an integrated tail light (you could buy an affordable USB rechargeable light to replace the rear Blaze Light if), but the positioning of this port is near where your legs and feet move as you ride… it would be much better if this was on top of the pack or maybe built into the display
  • The grips feel thick and comfortable, I personally enjoy the ergonomic leather style like this, but they aren’t locking so as you ride if you’re pulling and twisting hard they may begin to spin and given the off-road design of the bike and heavy footprint that can happen more easily
  • I prefer disc brakes for any type of off-road riding, be it snow, dirt or sand and feel that the 180 mm rotors chosen here are a good fit in terms of size but I wish they were hydraulic because those require less hand strength and are smoother to actuate
  • The chainring has a nice Aluminum bash guard protecting the teeth from the outside which is great if you’re riding over angled rocks or wood that might collide with it but there isn’t a plat on the inside which would act as a guide, this means you can drop the chain more easily, especially when riding in throttle mode on higher gears where there’s less tension in the chain
  • I think the price on the RadRover is really good and I like how it performed but there are some trade-offs in aesthetics here with the controller box and battery mounted on top of the frame tubing vs. being integrated or combined

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes. Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur…...

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others. Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


dm nelson
1 year ago

Enjoyed the review, Court, as it mostly reflects the experience my partner & I have had with our Radrovers for the past month. These bikes are lots of fun, fat tires, throttles and all. I was able to swap the suspension seat-post off my regular mtn bike and immediately enjoyed the smoother ride experience on the rover. My partner is ordering a cane creek for herself. I upgraded a couple other components, also. When I noticed the chain bounce I swapped the Shimano Acera derailleur for an Alivio. Now the chain seems to have more tension and less bounce on bumpy, packed trails. Replaced stock brake cables with Jagwire mtn cables and now the brakes feel more fully responsive to me. While they do take a bit more energy to use than the hydraulics I have on another bike, these Tektro brakes stop this heavy bike adequately, even going downhill. I had not seen such a derailleur bashguard before like on this bike and was impressed. When one of the two bikes I ordered arrived with the box damaged, bashguard bent and Bafang motor cable damaged, I realized that protecting the motor cable is that guard’s primary purpose. With that part of the cable which goes directly into the motor hub damaged the only remedy was to replace the motor hub. Perhaps someday Bafang will make this cable replaceable without taking the motor apart.. Lastly I want to offer gratitude for the great customer and tech support from this Rad Power company. ~David

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Great feedback David! Sounds like you really went to town customizing! Thanks for being specific about the parts you swapped out so others might benefit as well. Hope your partner enjoys her Thudbuster and you have many more fun and comfortable miles ahead of you ;)

Reply
Errol
1 year ago

What’s the model number of the Bell helmet your wearing doing the Radrover review? It looks good and is it also comfortable? Thanks

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Errol! That’s the Bell Super 2R MIPS with Star Wars “Trooper” theming. I bought it because I could mount my camera to the front jaw piece AND the jaw and the helmet can unbuckle and be packed easily. Since I travel a lot this is a great feature… did an overview/review story about it with more pictures and a video here :D

Reply
Joe
1 year ago

Are there any lightweight eBikes out there that are reliable and won’t break the bank? What are some of your favorite models? I really like everything I have read bout the rad rover other than the fact that it’s 60 lbs, although I know eBikes are going to run a little heavier with the battery.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Joe! The advances search options here let you sort by weight (and I do weigh all bikes personally so it should be very accurate). With so many options on style of bike it’s tough for me to say. Do you want a fat bike, a city bike, are you okay with a folding bike? Check out my affordable category here for other models priced in line with the RadRover and dig into products that catch your eye… maybe even ask around on the forums for how durable people think they are. Most of the time I test brand new bikes for a limited time so it’s difficult to speculate on durability :/

Reply
Errol
1 year ago

Hi Count Rye, after some of your reviews I decided to buy the RadRover. Received it a couple of days ago and already tested it out. Great ebike for the price and also ordered the rear rack. Bought it on Cyber Monday so I saved on the shipping cost.. I agree it could use a plat on the inside to help prevent the chain falling off which already happened once when my wife was dismounting and the bike came to the ground. Also when first testing it out the derailer was not set right and the chain got tangled some, turned the bike upside down and readjusted it.

I’m looking for a fat ebike for my wife, mine is to tall for her, especially when dismounting. Which fat ebike does your girlfriend like best ( I believe her name is Moa ). I seen her with the Voltbike Mariner and the Radmini. Are their other similar fat ebike? Thanks for your reviews.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Errol! Thanks for sharing your experience with the RadRover so far. My girlfriend Mony struggled with the height of the top tube as well but enjoyed the VoltBike Mariner much more. I’d say it’s fairly comparable to the RadMini but uses a trigger throttle vs. twist and has a narrower top tube and folding point. this was an area where she still bonked her knee once on the RadMini and felt a little sensitive after that. Another company to consider is E-Lux which has a full-sized fat tire bike called the Tahoe which you can get in high-step or step-thru and is very comfortable, powerful and clean thanks to integrated metal fenders. Another folding fat mini bike is the SSR Motorsports Trail Viper but I haven’t seen their latest iteration. Once you decide and get something for her I’d love to hear how it all works out!

Reply
Errol
1 year ago

Hi again Count Rye,

After much consideration and help from your EBR, we’re going with the Voltbike Mariner. I texted Voltbike and they said there going forward putting derailleur guards on. They also said prices will increase in January. Maybe your site had some good influence. Also they were offering a free motorcycle helmet with purchase. We also bought two of the Star Wars trooper helmets that I asked you about before.

Thanks,
Errol

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Awesome! Sounds like you’re going to have a blast… Glad the site helped expose you to some different choices so you could narrow down. George is a great guy, it’s really cool that you’re getting the lower price AND he’s doing derailleur guards and the helmets. I love that he offers helmets :)

Reply
Matthew
10 months ago

Hello everyone, I am interested in buying the Rad Rover and I had a question. I was wondering if there is anyone who has found or modified cargo trailer to work with the Rad Rover? I live in Colorado and am intersted in this bike so I can commute to work (about 10-14 miles round trip, depending on which location I need to go to) year round and maybe do the occasional trail riding on the weekend. I would like to find a trailer that would work on the bike so I can go without my car entirely and so I can take my dog kennel. My dog had knee surgery and can’t really keep up with a bike anymore, especially an E-bike. Any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks for you time.

Reply
Court Rye
10 months ago

Hi Matthew! Great question, I have seen a range of trailers on Amazon and the suspension IBEX trailer from BOB Yak but can’t confirm whether they will work. Maybe your best bet is to ask in the Rad Power Bikes forums here, it’s a pretty active place and there are actual owners of the bike (I just reviewed it but don’t have one in front of me to confirm how a trailer would attach). Hope this helps, feel free to share what you end up with back here to help others :)

Reply
Matthew
9 months ago

Hi Court, thanks for the quick reply! I called Rad Power Bikes today and they said that while they are hesitant to recommend trailers for the Rad Rover, they did say that any seat post mounted trailer will work or any trailer that can attach to a Burley Trailer hitch will work (amazon link here). Super easy to get a hold of someone at Rad Power Bikes and they answered all of my questions in no time. Thanks to your awesome, highly detailed, website, write ups and youtube videos, I pulled the trigger and bought a Rad Rover and Rad Mini today! Thanks for the help!

Erik
4 months ago

Court, First of all I have to say your reviews are amazingly thorough and detailed. I started out looking for an e-cruiser and watched all of your videos on mid price 1500-3000 cruisers. I have finally concluded that I want a Fat E bike instead. I live in Arizona and my wife and I are in good shape in our mid forties and we have miles and miles of desert trails available to us and I think the ride will be better on pavement . I am really stuck between the Rad Rover and the Newport Tahoe. I wish the Rad Rover had a bigger battery AH capacity and hydraulic brakes and it would be the perfect bike! My question to you is if you could only have one of these bikes which would you choose and why? Lastly what can you tell me about the samsung battery vs. the panosonic. I see they use differnt technology. Which one do you think is better? Thanks alot and keep up the amazing work! Erik

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Erik! These days, most companies are using Lithium-ion batteries and while Panasonic is perceived as the highest quality by many people, I often cannot tell which cell rating they are using or if the brand they say is actually the brand used… I’d assume both batteries are decent in this case, name brand cells that are mid or high level in terms of quality. E-Lux has some beautiful looking electric bikes that include nice fenders. To me, they are more on-road oriented. If I was going to hit the trails and transport the bike in my car and expect to really work it, I’d probably get the RadRover. But if I was just enjoying the neighborhood, some packed trails and snow, and wanting the more relaxed body position (due to the long cruiser bars) I’d go E-Lux. I hope this helps :)

Reply
Tom
1 month ago

Great info in these reviews…. My wife and I are thinking of buying two of these RadRover fat tire bikes for accessing remote beach surf breaks. I would love feedback/comments on two points:

  1. My wife is 5’5″. Based on experience of others mentioned above, is she likely to have trouble with the frame height?
  2. We would use these on beaches that require fording some creeks running out into the surf, sometimes as deep as wheel-hub deep (but its fresh water…..). Are these bikes designed to handle water that deep?

Thanks!!!

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Tom! I think a balanced rider could deal with the higher top tube and just top to the side when stopping or hang a leg over with a bent knee… but there’s definitely more weight and height to this model than the RadMini. I had my girlfriend with me in Mexico testing multiple models for these reviews and she hurt her thigh (and maybe her crotch a bit) jumping off into the soft sand and landing on the bar but she’s like 5’3″ I think. She preferred the RadMini so that might be worth exploring but the wheels are smaller and the hub motor is even lower. I would not recommend submerging it or the battery, ideally, only the tires and maybe part of the lower spokes but none of the wires or other electronics.

Reply
Tom
1 month ago

Thanks, this helps!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Mark Peralta
4 days ago

So I just took the bike to my first morning commute to work. around 5 miles. few tiny hills, but other than that just straight road.

Pros:
- The power - this is of course the main reason why everyone bought this bike. it's very easy to get to 30mph, with little extra effort to 31 or 32. I am in good shape, active sports guy.
- Gearing - really well geared, even at the highest speeds there is still a lot of resistance and it feels good
- Weight - honestly I though this thing would be way heavier than it is
- Agility - I think it's more agile than RadRover, easier to turn in curves

Cons:
- Geometry - I really don't like it. I feel I am way too stretched to reach handlebars.
- Stem and Handlebars - very connected to the geometry point. This bike deserves better stem to hold the handlebars, it's the first thing I am going to change. Also the handlebars should be wider. I just don't like my position on this bike, it does not feel natural. (I am 6'2 and have the XL frame)
- Low speed motor hiccups - at very low speeds the motor makes weird sounds and just does not pull properly. Keeps lagging, etc. Happened to me only once though.
I feel your pain on the forward and aggressive riding position. I also wanted a relaxed upright position and made some changes on mine. There are many option to address it and you can combine those options.
1. Relaxed swept handle bar. Make sure you have the correct diameter at the clamp.

http://www.treefortbikes.com/product/333222409416/1430/Soma-Fabrications-Sparrow.html?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&adpos=1o2&scid=scplp3332224094169141&sc_intid=3332224094169141&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIsa3oxNuH2AIV00oNCh0eBAexEAQYAiABEgJaD_D_BwE

2. Short stem, to bring the handlebar closer to you.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Aluminum-Alloy-Fixed-31-8mm-Cycling-Mountain-Bike-Short-Handlebar-Stem-Riser/172747096633?_trkparms=aid=222007&algo=SIM.MBE&ao=1&asc=20160908110712&meid=7cfe5e9e80804b529ded93aaf9c33b60&pid=100677&rk=11&rkt=29&sd=272959241036&_trksid=p2385738.c100677.m4598

3. Stem riser.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/MTB-Bike-Bicycle-Head-Handlebar-Stem-Raiser-Riser-Extender-Extension-28-6mm-B126/361323370746?_trkparms=aid=555019&algo=PL.BANDIT&ao=1&asc=41375&meid=ad24c6907003405b9bd5b0a0dc625ed9&pid=100706&rk=1&rkt=1&&_trksid=p2045573.c100706.m4781

4. Or you can use adjustable stem (I saw some feedbacks that these are not very strong).

https://www.ebay.com/itm/XLC-Adj-Stem-31-8Mm-95Mm-0-60-Black-2501552400/311961485115?_trkparms=aid=888007&algo=DISC.MBE&ao=1&asc=49564&meid=ea3ead3c99fb403d99672ca9ff61436e&pid=100009&rk=2&rkt=2&sd=292265781099&_trksid=p2047675.c100009.m1982

I used the combination of 1, 2, and 3 on my 2 ebikes.

Andy_in_CA
5 days ago

So I just took the bike to my first morning commute to work. around 5 miles. few tiny hills, but other than that just straight road.

Pros:
- The power - this is of course the main reason why everyone bought this bike. it's very easy to get to 30mph, with little extra effort to 31 or 32. I am in good shape, active sports guy.
- Gearing - really well geared, even at the highest speeds there is still a lot of resistance and it feels good
- Weight - honestly I though this thing would be way heavier than it is
- Agility - I think it's more agile than RadRover, easier to turn in curves

Cons:
- Geometry - I really don't like it. I feel I am way too stretched to reach handlebars.
- Stem and Handlebars - very connected to the geometry point. This bike deserves better stem to hold the handlebars, it's the first thing I am going to change. Also the handlebars should be wider. I just don't like my position on this bike, it does not feel natural. (I am 6'2 and have the XL frame)
- Low speed motor hiccups - at very low speeds the motor makes weird sounds and just does not pull properly. Keeps lagging, etc. Happened to me only once though.

I swapped out the stock handle bars on my CCS with a Jones Hbar.. .and love it. They have two widths or you can buy the wider one and trim it if you don't like the width....and they mark it for you 710 and 660 i think.

hurricane56
5 days ago

So I just took the bike to my first morning commute to work. around 5 miles. few tiny hills, but other than that just straight road.

Pros:
- The power - this is of course the main reason why everyone bought this bike. it's very easy to get to 30mph, with little extra effort to 31 or 32. I am in good shape, active sports guy.
- Gearing - really well geared, even at the highest speeds there is still a lot of resistance and it feels good
- Weight - honestly I though this thing would be way heavier than it is
- Agility - I think it's more agile than RadRover, easier to turn in curves

Cons:
- Geometry - I really don't like it. I feel I am way too stretched to reach handlebars.
- Stem and Handlebars - very connected to the geometry point. This bike deserves better stem to hold the handlebars, it's the first thing I am going to change. Also the handlebars should be wider. I just don't like my position on this bike, it does not feel natural. (I am 6'2 and have the XL frame)
- Low speed motor hiccups - at very low speeds the motor makes weird sounds and just does not pull properly. Keeps lagging, etc. Happened to me only once though.

What kind of stem do you think you'll use?

Eglon
5 days ago

So I just took the bike to my first morning commute to work. around 5 miles. few tiny hills, but other than that just straight road.

Pros:
- The power - this is of course the main reason why everyone bought this bike. it's very easy to get to 30mph, with little extra effort to 31 or 32. I am in good shape, active sports guy.
- Gearing - really well geared, even at the highest speeds there is still a lot of resistance and it feels good
- Weight - honestly I though this thing would be way heavier than it is
- Agility - I think it's more agile than RadRover, easier to turn in curves

Cons:
- Geometry - I really don't like it. I feel I am way too stretched to reach handlebars.
- Stem and Handlebars - very connected to the geometry point. This bike deserves better stem to hold the handlebars, it's the first thing I am going to change. Also the handlebars should be wider. I just don't like my position on this bike, it does not feel natural. (I am 6'2 and have the XL frame)
- Low speed motor hiccups - at very low speeds the motor makes weird sounds and just does not pull properly. Keeps lagging, etc. Happened to me only once though.

I agree with just about everything here. That's funny that you mention feeling cramped. I'm also 6'2" with the XL frame and I scooted my seat all the way back and still feel like I could use a longer stem. I have unusually long arms though so that's a big factor. I also feel that the frame is is good. My seat isn't way high and I like that. I like to have most of the seat post in the frame.
I think that the low speed hiccup is related to the lack of an internal speed sensor in the MAC motor. It has happened to me a couple of times as described in the setup and troubleshooting instructions.

sowhat
5 days ago

So I just took the bike to my first morning commute to work. around 5 miles. few tiny hills, but other than that just straight road.

Pros:
- The power - this is of course the main reason why everyone bought this bike. it's very easy to get to 30mph, with little extra effort to 31 or 32. I am in good shape, active sports guy.
- Gearing - really well geared, even at the highest speeds there is still a lot of resistance and it feels good
- Weight - honestly I though this thing would be way heavier than it is
- Agility - I think it's more agile than RadRover, easier to turn in curves

Cons:
- Geometry - I really don't like it. I feel I am way too stretched to reach handlebars.
- Stem and Handlebars - very connected to the geometry point. This bike deserves better stem to hold the handlebars, it's the first thing I am going to change. Also the handlebars should be wider. I just don't like my position on this bike, it does not feel natural. (I am 6'2 and have the XL frame)
- Low speed motor hiccups - at very low speeds the motor makes weird sounds and just does not pull properly. Keeps lagging, etc. Happened to me only once though.

Eglon
6 days ago

I like the look of the rad rover full fenders. Can anyone confirm if these will be compatible with the HF? Or other recommendations, preferably less than 100 bucks? https://www.radpowerbikes.com/collections/radrover-accessories/products/radrover-full-fender-set
Look at the thread that I started about the accessories for the HF.

BikeMike045
6 days ago

I like the look of the rad rover full fenders. Can anyone confirm if these will be compatible with the HF? Or other recommendations, preferably less than 100 bucks? https://www.radpowerbikes.com/collections/radrover-accessories/products/radrover-full-fender-set

mrgold35
6 days ago

Welcome!

I've been an owner of two 2016 Radrovers since Sept/16. I'm +3800 miles between both bikes and I use equally between work commuting and trail riding. I didn't realized they finally updated the Rad product line. I didn't find any tech data for what improvements over the 2016/2017 Radrover models.

I've been extremely happy with my Rads and most updates I could do aftermarket anyways like suspension seatpost, adjustable height handlebars, battery pack, brakes, or lights. It would be nice to have the option for +2018 upgraded front suspension, brakes upgrade, extra gears for more low hill climb ability and higher road speeds, or different frame sizes.

The only bad thing out the box with the Rad are the Kenda tires. Noisy, OK grip on pavement, a lot of drag to limit acceleration/top speed, can be flat prone, and wear pretty fast (especially in the rear with pavement riding). Everyone has be extremely happy and never looked back after dumping the Kenda and switching to Vee8 120tpi, Origin8 Supercell, or Maxxis Hookworms.

Scooter
6 days ago

First time here, so like dig it man and greetings dude and dudetts. I purchased a RadRover kind of on impulse on Cyber Monday. I love this thing. I am a Motorcycle Rider for some 45 years and presently own three. I might very well give up ONE. This is such a fun and handy rig. Took the Rover to the store, rode all over, main streets and back streets. I am getting the hang as one does drive differently on an ebike than a Motorcycle, like anything there is a learning curve. It is so much fun to break all the rules, cut across the street, hop a curb and go across the park. I know there are (probably) rules, even laws but I will remain ignorant if I can (get away with it). I am not a good example for children either. I saw how to over-ride the "Speed" Limiter and reset the the thing. I have seen 23 mph on the Speedo. That is a nice clip really. My only complaint is that the Rad Company should have called this a CLOSE OUT SALE ! It does not feel good to buy a new, rather expensive toy and then with less than 25 miles after riding ONE day find there is a New Improved 2018 to be sold for the same PRICE ??? I would have waited, buying a bike in winter anyway I did not expect a ton of use so waiting till after New Years would have made little difference. It just would have been the right thing for this Company to do, clearly they knew they had an all new line. I do understand business and by not telling the average Joe they maximized profits but this is my 2 Cents worth of complaints. Perhaps they will toss us a bone, free fender kit or how about a spare battery at COST as $500 seems a little steep. So howdy one and all, I know little or nothing about ebikes except they are a GAS! Well no, I guess they are NOT ........

So, like I will plant you now and dig you later ................

Eglon
1 week ago

I've got about 100 miles on the bike so far and I'm loving it! I ride most of the time in ECO or 1 since that easily puts me in the mid-20's and helps reduce the battery draw and use. It's cold here now (mid teens) in the mornings and just a little better in the afternoon. Some of the changes that I've made already are an accessory bar that I mounted the light on. I like it up higher. I just drilled a hole through the aluminum mounting bar and bolted it to that with the existing hardware. I also put on an Ibera fat bike rack and it fit almost perfect. Since I didn't need the spacers I had to get shorter bolts, but were easy to get in stainless at the local hardware store. I plan on getting their rack pack with expanding panniers. I also got a handlebar bag to hold a couple of tools and the battery key as well as my phone. One of my most needed adds was the fenders. I got the RadBikes full fenders for the RadRover and they required just a little bit of modification to fit great. The rear wheel is a little bit of a pain to take off since I'm used to non ebikes. For the rear fenders I drilled out the rivets and drilled a hole in the plastic at the right point for the upper cross mount, but that was all. Since I will use this year-round for commuting in snow and rain the fenders will be fantastic.

My next addition is coming Monday and that's a chain keeper, the ChainSpy2. I've noticed that in first gear if it's bumpy and I'm pedaling the chain might jump off and get caught between the ring and the plastic protector. I understand that this is often a problem in 1 by setups where the chain can't quite flex and there's no derailleur to help keep it in place. Not a unique thing the the HF. The other way to help would be to get a WolfTooth wide/narrow chainring. But I think I'll wait to see how the ChainSpy2 works and hopefully wear out the current chainring before I go to a narrow/wide setup.

I just ordered a Brooks saddle as well. Can't wait to try that one out!

I'm still looking for a neoprene battery case, but am getting to the point where I think I'll have to make my own. I also plan on getting the Origin8 slick fat tires for the non-snow months.

1/4
mrgold35
2 weeks ago

I have two his/her Rad Rovers since Sept/16 with around 3800 miles between both ebikes. The Rad is equally comfortable work commuting at 18-22 mph or single track trail riding. I'm +270lbs and add in 60lbs Rad+30lbs gear, rack, commuter backpack, and accessories. I've had zero issues with the 180mm cable brakes stopping me in emergency stops or on steep down hill runs at top speed. I think the 4" fat tires have a larger contact patch on the ground that helps with stopping power compared to thinner tires. Some folks have upgraded the cable brakes to a cable/hydro combo from TRP HY/RD.

My range is usually between 24-30 miles using mostly PAS 3 with occasional PAS 4 on longer inclines and occasional 750w throttle use for intersections, boost up to cruising speed faster if I had to slow down, or short inclines. I've gone as far as +36 miles with around 10%- 20% battery power if I kept the PAS at level 2 and my speed around the 10-13 mph range. The Rad's heavy duty controller is designed to give you max power until the battery is depleted. The Rad will haul you up that hill, push you through that sand trap, and maintain your speed in a +20 mph headwind because of the programming. The tradeoff is the battery range will be cut by 1/2 or more if you want speed/power over range. I can almost use 60%-70% battery power on my 6 miles work commute home (4900ft to 5400ft) when I have a +25mph stiff headwind and I want to maintain my +18 mph cruising speed.

If range is an issue, you can purchase an extra battery from Rad Power Bikes or Luna Cycles:

48v X 11.5ah = 552 watts (standard Rad battery)
48v X 13.5ah = 648 watts (my pick for most bang for the buck)
52v X 11.5ah = 598 watts
52v X 13.5ah = 702 watts

The Rad rover's battery tray is standard and the 48v and 52v Dolphin packs fit plug-n-play with zero mods to frame or controller. You have to purchase a 52v charger if you go the larger volt route (the Rad 48v charger will work for the 48v/13.5ah Luna cycle pack). Depending on how you use the 52v battery pack, it can give you even more off the line power/faster acceleration/more hill climbing power and longer range.

Eglon
2 weeks ago

http://stores.bigomfg.com/fender-kits/

These are not full fenders but would also work:

https://www.radpowerbikes.com/collections/radrover-accessories/products/standard-fat-bike-fenders
The RadPower ones were some that I thought would work as well. They would need to be redrilled I'm pretty sure but right now the full are out of stock. How much difference are the full versus partial? Anybody have any experience with both?

jazz
2 weeks ago

What's the website for the fenders? Those look great. I'm also curious to see how the 12T works out for you. What do you plan on using it mostly for?

http://stores.bigomfg.com/fender-kits/

These are not full fenders but would also work:

https://www.radpowerbikes.com/collections/radrover-accessories/products/standard-fat-bike-fenders

Cole
2 weeks ago

My friend got a Dayak and is very unhappy. He calls is a Chinese peice of crap. I am personally going to wasn’t until January, and get the new 2018 Radrover with their new battery design and color scheme. It will be sick. I trust radar over the most out of all the other companies. I just wish that Radrover would integrate the battery into the frame like the Volt Yukon 750.

Cole
2 weeks ago

I have been researching affordable e-bikes (specifically mountain bikes) lately and have a very low budget of under $1600. I have narrowed down my search to the Radrover and the Volt Yukon 750. I’ve heard that Radrovers have more upgrade options and come with some better components stock. But I just love the look of the Volt Yukon 750 and it’s intergrated battery. I would I have also considered building my own but would like to spare the hassle (I’m not good with electronics) and just buy a budget company made bike. I plan to commute on my future ebike and do some cross country mtb trails. Any help is greatly appreciated :) ! I am open to Suggestions for other bikes I just want quality and mtb capability.

america94
3 weeks ago

Thanks Stoker,Well after much deliberation I decided I should go with the smaller frame.I contacted Benoit and he informed me it was too late to change my order.c'est la vie I guess.
With the Radrover universal frame being 18" and Voltbike universal one size frame being 19".I am sure the 18" will work out for me.
There may have been a comunication gap on the delivery though.I recieved a message from DSL that my bike would arrive on Fri the 24th the day after Tanksgiving.I wonder if they really deliver on that day.Perhaps Benoit
meant that the bike would be shipped within three day not delivered in three days.Anyways greatly anticipating delivery.One thing you mentioned was the hub may be the secret to tell if I recieved the 750 watt controller or not.
I hasve heard that the motor may be the same on the 500 watt bike as is the 750 watt bike.I may have to see if I can get hold of Dan Edwards on this subject he would probably know better that anyone.Living in Canada did you buy the
500 watter????I have one more quick question before I go, when you locktited the screws on you bike what strenght locktite did you use?????
Thank you for the heads up on the Facebook page.I joined the group but I left my comment under the wrong thread,I deleted it and tried again but apparetly it has locked me out for now.
Take Care
Hi Jim, very eager to hear back from your Teo's first impressions! if you still can't interact in the Facebook group, I can remove you from the group and then you can try to join again. Let me know through here if you want to try that option. Good luck!

WaiLingLo
3 weeks ago

Hi all! Newbie here! I've been doing my research on ebikes for a while and believe a fat tire bike would make the most sense to me because of the versatility of the bike. I'm 5'6" with an inseam of 29.5". While I like the specs of the RadRover and Voltbike Yukon 750, but I'm not sure if the bikes would be too big for me. There's also the M2S All Terrain R750. It comes in a low step thru frame (which I like the most), but they're out of stock until Feb/Mar and I don't want to wait that long. Are there other options? Or should I focus on getting a folding fat tire bikes?

PCDoctorUSA
3 weeks ago

Hello Radrover owners! I just got new street tures installed and my rover looks and rides like a totally different bike! It's like going from a dirt motorcycle to a street motorcycle. Faster accleration as well as top speed. It's smooth and quite riding on paved trails.

Anyone else try different street tires? I have trued the hookworms but didnt like the way it fit on the bike.
Did you go with the 30 TPI or the 120 TPI option on the Supercells? From what I've read, the lower the TPI count the better the puncture resistance. Are you still happy with these? Thanks.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 weeks ago

I'll post my first impressions tomorrow. I'm also trying to decide on what/if seat post suspension to get. If the sun tour isn't that much worse it might be worth the compromises over the body float. I don't mind spending more if it's significantly superior in built and durability. I definitely plan on putting fenders on and wondered if the radrover fenders would fit.

I think you should post some pics and put an end to all the speculation and rants by nervous nellies..
I am sure this will be a great bike with impeccable performance. Tora has worked on it diligently for months to get the torque sensor working right at high power levels.

Eglon
3 weeks ago

I haven't received any emails but my order at Juiced Bikes shows a tracking number for delivery next Wednesday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The order where I placed the "up grades" for hydro brakes and the 12T show the same tracking number so my upgrades are on the bike too.

Thanks Tora\Juiced Bikes for all the hard work.

@Eglon.. if possible, please share your impressions once you get it.
I'll post my first impressions tomorrow. I'm also trying to decide on what/if seat post suspension to get. If the sun tour isn't that much worse it might be worth the compromises over the body float. I don't mind spending more if it's significantly superior in built and durability. I definitely plan on putting fenders on and wondered if the radrover fenders would fit.

mrgold35
4 weeks ago

My wife hates trail riding while I love it. The Radrover's big advantage is when it gets sandy and the fat tires can float on top instead of digging in (you will need the throttle with really deep sand). I had to add the larger Cloud-9 cruiser seat and Suntour NCX SP-12 suspension seatpost to my Rad for the trails. The updated seat combo also came in handy for my work commutes smoothing out the ride at 18-22 mph where I can remain seated 95% of time compared to always having to lift up over every bump.

mrgold35
4 weeks ago

Congrats on the new ride! I've had my his/her Radrovers since Sept/16 and have around 3700 miles between them.

The Rad battery indicator on the LCD screen does double duty:
- at rest it shows the battery charge level within 20%
- while using PAS 1-5 and/or throttle the battery indicator shows the load the battery is expending to maintain your speed

The only additional display is when the battery indicator is blinking to show the batter power is under 20% when powering the hub motor and it cannot keep up with load needed to maintain the desired power level. The Radrover will reduce the wattage; but, still provide the maximum amount of power it can to maintain your desired PAS level.

Example is if you are under 20% power and you want to maintain PAS 4 (550 watts) pedaling up hill. The Radrover might show a blinking battery indicator and max power might only be 400 watts at PAS 4. I usually slow down to PAS 2 (175 watts) or 3 (375 watts) to use less power depending how far I'm away from home.

It is very hard to estimate your range just by battery level because of so many other variables like wind, terrain, temps, road conditions, hills, your weight, wind drag, etc... I just had to take the wife's spare battery and ride until the Rad shut off to get a feel for my max range:

- a little over 36 miles with less than 10% power at 10-13 mph at PAS 2 with some PAS 3, with some throttle use
- usually at 22-27 miles with 20% on battery indicator at 15-20 mph cruising speeds using PAS 3 sometimes PAS 4 with some throttle use

Jim Carroll
1 month ago

Thanks Stoker,Well after much deliberation I decided I should go with the smaller frame.I contacted Benoit and he informed me it was too late to change my order.c'est la vie I guess.
With the Radrover universal frame being 18" and Voltbike universal one size frame being 19".I am sure the 18" will work out for me.
There may have been a comunication gap on the delivery though.I recieved a message from DSL that my bike would arrive on Fri the 24th the day after Tanksgiving.I wonder if they really deliver on that day.Perhaps Benoit
meant that the bike would be shipped within three day not delivered in three days.Anyways greatly anticipating delivery.One thing you mentioned was the hub may be the secret to tell if I recieved the 750 watt controller or not.
I hasve heard that the motor may be the same on the 500 watt bike as is the 750 watt bike.I may have to see if I can get hold of Dan Edwards on this subject he would probably know better that anyone.Living in Canada did you buy the
500 watter????I have one more quick question before I go, when you locktited the screws on you bike what strenght locktite did you use?????
Thank you for the heads up on the Facebook page.I joined the group but I left my comment under the wrong thread,I deleted it and tried again but apparetly it has locked me out for now.
Take Care

daniel58
1 month ago

I almost bought the Metro +. It has a lot to offer and I think since this summer they have upgrade their battery to a 13 amp hour probably to compete with the CCS.

Ultimately I didn't go with Magnum because I couldn't find a local dealer that had the bike in stock thus being a special order. And I heard mixed experiences from dealers about their customer service in the LA area.

I happened across a local dealer in SoCal (Electric Bike Center in Fullerton) that had one of the first the CCS bikes in stock, in their store and I got it because it rode so nice and the specs are hard to beat. Not many bikes at this price point have a torque\cadence sensor.... Metro was close. Yes Metro + had better stock tires but for me it was about what I could test ride.

Not knocking anyone's experiences with Juiced... I went in with full knowledge of their customer support, but honestly I haven't had any issues. My CCS came without a light, which they shipped (from China which was slow to get here)... and I bought the specialty wrench which took a long time to get because it came from China. I have talked to them once on the phone and 2 times on the chat app through the website without issue.

But honestly how widespread is the motor burn out and spoke issues? Yes I feel bad for the forum member that it happened to and it did take waaaay to long to resolve....(not giving Juiced a pass)... but really how high is the failure rate?

Again I hope they get their act together with stock and customer service....as noted on the forums. (for my own selfish future needs)

I love this bike (CCS)... for me its a solid platform, I enjoy riding it and its fast. But a first run product is going to have hickups..especially from a small company... in this Kickstarter world you need to expect some of that....if you don't then spend $3+ on a Trek.

In a different situation if a Metro+ was on the showroom floor vs a CCS, I probably would have purchased that....

Hopefully you can vent your frustration and then enjoy riding your Metro+

best of luck riding

Andy

Andy

I have considered many potential E-Bike brands and typical E-Bike consumer pitfalls in the process of doing ones usual due diligence homework prior to purchasing an actual E-Bike; I am also not in any rush by any stretch of the creative imagination; and I usually take a very very long time in considering all the pro's and con's prior to making any kind of potential actual E-Bike purchase as much ultimately has to be considered overall; now Magnum like many other potential E-Bike offerings also offer very compelling alternatives indeed to consider; they do have a rather extensive network of bicycle dealers that are willing to not only sell but are actually also willing to do all of the potential servicing, maintaining and even the inevitable potential e-bike repair services on ones e-bike in particular during the actual product warranty period timeframe; so this is a very important primary consideration indeed in of itself; I am also not afraid to consider other excellent E-Bike brands such as RadBikes with their very competitive RadCity, RadRover, even their RadWagon($1c599) competitive E-Bike market offering starting at only $1,499; is just another choice and possibility for potential consideration especially at its rather attractive cost competitive price point for the value and performance dollar given; their are also many other choices to potentially choose from at under $2k in particular; which may even include building ones own custom E-Bike from Luna Cycle(excellent provider of E-Bike Conversion kits) also as well;

Electric Bike Center out of Fullerton, CA is definitely one of the better electric bike shops with actual extensive experience servicing and potentially troubleshooting e-bike service issue(s), along with any other related associated e-bike maintenance and/or repair issues; my main primary issue with Juiced Bikes is their lack of totally committed primary support of their chosen bike dealers whether it be in California and/or nationwide(will naturally be worse support); Juiced Bikes has a major massive ongoing verbal and written communications failure problem with both their dealers and also their paying customers that is seriously affecting the ability to deliver normal expected proper quality customer servicing that a typical paying e-bike customer should expect to get without question, expectation or even having to ask or beg in the first place; after all they have just paid the stated perceived value of the offered asking price in "total and in full"; in order so that they can actually receive and fully expect to get the full expected measure of ones actual expected total E-Bike support that is due to them even on a post purchase basis; not this alternative half baked, half thought thru and/or half measure support for any future potential customer service support issues Juiced Bikes has become so well known and famous for instead;

now if this is Juiced Bikes great marketing idea of complete and totally committed E-Bike customer support; then they will likely only have further ongoing negative customer service support issues and/or concerns going forward that will only get more complex and ultimately cause the existing relationships that they have with their bike dealers(outside California) to de-evolve and ultimately further deteriorate to the point of not being able to effectively deliver an acceptable level of paying Juiced Bikes customer service post purchase support; as an very graphic illustration how "on earth" can one actually expect a local Juiced Bikes bike dealer to actually pull spare parts off of completely working multiple Juiced Bikes store display "for demonstration purposes only" models is yet again another effective highly illustrative objective demonstration of a purely insane, illogical and also irrational in nature highly ineffective business model practices(if one ever existed at all) if ones is to actually take Juiced Bikes as a serious E-Bike company that is actually going to compete with the other major E-Bike competitive companies(HaiBike/Bulls) and also for any potential Juiced Bikes E-Bike customer to actually take seriously prior to actually purchasing a Juiced Bikes E-Bikes;

now since I have not heard of any Juiced Bikes officially taking on any new actual customer service support initiatives to actual support ongoing potential paying Juiced Bikes customers from Tora Harris himself; I will assume that it's business as usual at Juiced Bikes HQ and that their will not be anything further done for their potential paying Juiced Bikes customers with potential future customer servicing issue(s) and/or concerns in case they actually run into any potential customer service issues during the actual twelve month product warranty period time frame; I could see Juiced Bikes also taking particular advantage of a potential paying Juiced Bikes customer who at ten months into the actual Juiced Bikes product warranty might be delayed "on purpose" to a future point in time where they are actually beyond the actual initial twelve month product warranty period time frame; and also when does the actual Juiced Bikes twelve month product warranty begin exactly; from the date one places one original order; or when one actually receives and accepts ones actual Juiced Bikes product from the asian Chinese factory at ones physical address; now it's literally quite true that if it's not actually in physical writing; then Juiced Bikes might literally make up the rules as Juiced Bikes sees or even deems fit to profit handsomely from; which really does not surprise me at all at this point if it did so;

now most potential Juiced Bikes customers may in fact not ride their E-Bike for many miles other than for the occasional recreational outings with family but what if the potential Juiced Bikes customers actually uses it for actual every day E-Bike travel commuting and actual every day recreational enjoyment bicycle tour riding which does in fact start to add on and stack up substantial miles quite rapidly(where will their investment in Juiced Bikes E-Bike end up-take a wild guess); will Juiced Bikes be able to actually deliver 20,000 miles for example in a typical four years like a typical Evelo fully equipped Orion Series E-Bike(four year warranty with 20,000 miles full unquestioned product warranty coverage) for example and what can one fully expect from ones local bike dealer in terms of actual Juiced Bikes E-Bike support to hopefully resolve any potential future inevitable Juiced Bikes aggravating customer service support issues that they may experience in the first four years of potential E-Bike ownership; my confidence is not high at all based from the written testimony feedback that I have seen so far based on the objective evidence I have seen thus far in navigating the various E-Bike forums that I have intercepted and continue to collect and analyze data on; now for the time being I have put Juiced Bikes "on hold-due to lack of Juiced Bikes from taking on definitive corrective action in so far as with their current unsatisfactory customer service practices" indefinitely until they actually get their current sadly lacking "customer services" act hopefully together sooner rather than later; its rather unsurprising just how "apathetic" and "uncaring" they actually turns out to be when Juiced Bikes actually is; once it has conveniently intercepted your money and somehow mysteriously vanished on the written promised basic excellent customer service support front; which is basically an irrational logical insult to the potential paying Juiced Bikes customer who has been dis-serviced and thrown directly under the bus; which is fine so long as its not me who personally gets thrown under the bus(naturally of course..my preference).

dphotos
3 weeks ago

Rented this bike at the beach in Southern California yesterday and I had a real fun time. Easy to learn the system and these bikes are 1/2 the price of other E fat tire bikes. I think these are worth buying if you are one that will ride it often.

jay w
1 month ago

I've never heard so much horseshit in my life. Purpose frame? more bullshit. Take a $5-750(retail) mountain bike, add $300 in Motor/battery.

Pat Montreal
2 months ago

You do not speak about the holes in the wheel .... the sand and the dust does not seem to penetrate there? Easy to clean ?

Joshua The Science god
2 months ago

definitely a virgin

Ramesh Shrestha
2 months ago

I have owned a RadRover for a year and I love it.

Robert Ho
3 months ago

I’m research ebikes for a pending purchase. Your reviews have been most useful in almost deciding which e-bike to purchase. Rad power bikes has the most informative dimension pertinent to consumers. Like the stand over height you keep mentioning. Minimum and maximum seat to ground and handle bars to ground. Also horizontal distance from seat to handle bar. Another useful dimension would be min and max dimension seat to peddle.

Barry Swedeen
3 months ago

I just wanted to let your viewers know that the folks at Rad Power Bikes are quick to respond to any email inquiries. I had some questions about the RadRover versus the RadCity, and by the next business day I got a personal response from Dan Nelson.

brudyboy 58
3 months ago

Why only 20 mph? 30 would be much better.

dphotos
3 weeks ago

John Victor I agree with you. If the E bike goes over 20 MPH you will need a motorcycle license like when I ride my Vespa. That is the law in many states and then you would need the license, two front mirrors, front light and a rear break light, turn signal lights and a horn. I know this bike can go over 20 MPH and you would need to know how to adjust the software to enable the bike for a faster speed.

John Victor
3 weeks ago

brudyboy 58 Legal issues. Can't go over 20 mph or it's considered a scooter/moped and would need registration and possibly a license. Same goes with gas powered bicycles, but those can't really be limited due to the variety of builds and options available. It's also a remarkable offence, depending on who pulls you over.

mister-lbp
4 months ago

I wanted one but is didn't know it looked so stupid

wildwilllis1
4 months ago

More air in the front tire might help it to keep it from washing out

Sharon Lee Lockhart
4 months ago

Well, after watching your videos on the different Rad Electric Bicycles, we have ordered one. Now, about your helmet? Where did you get it? How much? Do you have a link you can post, so others can look for one, when buying a RadMini?
Thanks for these videos. They show a lot of stuff about these bikes and make them seem to be good for anyone to have.
We will be looking for more of these kind of videos, to keep up with what you are learning about them.

no name
4 months ago

how do you buy this and how much

John Victor
3 weeks ago

no name Search radpowerbike in any search engine. They're about $1500-$1600.

Peter Piccolo
5 months ago

nice review man i love this fat bike.... i have a low budget but what would you recommend.. im 6 ft 2 weigh close to 240 and am super interested in getting a good ebike with at least front suspension and fat tires or at least 3" tires... whatt would you recommend as a good electric bike with a throttle and pedal assist and the option to change gears and pedal manually if i wanted to.... thanks in advance, i cant wait to hear some of your recommendations ive been doing research for more than 6 months now... id love to hear what you have to say.. i also like the sondors ebike but cant find anyplace online or local shops that actually sell it... do u know where u can get one of those? im just looking for a fatbike with front suspension and gears i can change if im pedaling uphill or using it with the throttle to reach higher speeds... let me know what you think what the best ebike for me based on the prior. thanks again,

-pete piccolo

Jeremy Jones
5 months ago

This is the whitest thing I had ever seen

xflyingtiger
5 months ago

Would it cost a lot more money to produce this bicycle with a torque sensor rather than a cadence sensor? Yes, it seems like 6 magnets versus 12 would make a difference.

Philip Samaniego
5 months ago

Thank you EBR! I purchased a Radrover after hours and nights of insomnia watching or reading your reviews and community blogs. I have become educated and confident in a short time knowing nothing only a few weeks ago. Despite the compromises this bike is amazing! Here's my details that may help the next buyer. I'm 5'6" 185lbs with 30" pant legs. The 31" standover is as far as I can comfortably stand flat over the bar, although, standing on the pedals I needed to raise the seat 4 7/8" to extend my legs properly. That was enough the add a Thudbuster ST with the minimum 3 3/4" lift pushed to the bottom. I wanted a Thudbuster LT but, I will never be fit properly. Short people use ST, taller folks use the LT if you can. After 175 miles in one week my biggest recommendation is to slow down when you are coming into hard curbs, rutts or bumps with the heavy rear hub. Using 2 and 3 PAS with some throttle, I can get 22 miles for 90 minutes and still have 3/5 bars. One journey home, I used all 4 and 5 PAS and rocked the throttled 6.8miles from work and used 1 bar. I was cold riding at 22mph average so, I bought a windbreaker. Trust me, you'll need it in July at night.... My last recommendation is to open up the settings and turn max speed up to 40 kmph to get 24mph throttle only max. That also increases the strength of your PAS power. I know, I know 20 mph BUT, My car does 160mph AND they Cannot give me a speeding ticket for 160mph UNLESS I am SEEN PAS riding OR THROTTLING past 20MPH. Does everyone understand that part well enough? GOOD, Now get some brand of ebike and you'll love it. Absolutely the best thing that I have treated myself with. THANKS AGAIN EBR!!!!!

Francis Kavanagh
5 months ago

Thank you
one of the best review videos I have seen!

gbird5000
7 months ago

Will one of these bikes fit on a bus bike rack?

VideoNOLA
7 months ago

I can definitely see wanting to "embiggen" my ride one day and go electric, but I am a huge rider (350 lbs) so must ask: "Do these 'fat-tire' bikes tend to come with beefier max load weight limits??"

Combustion69
7 months ago

Fatbikes serve no purpose and look gay

Joshua Huang
5 months ago

until u try riding one in the sand