Sun Seeker Eco Tad Electric Trike Review

Sun Seeker Eco Tad Electric Trike Review
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Sx Electric Tadpole
Sun Seeker Eco Tad 500 Watt Hub Motor
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Removable Rack Mounted Battery 48 Volt
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Bars Lcd Display Seat
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Sunrace 7 Speed Grip Shifter
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Cranks Pedals Chainring With Guide
Sun Seeker Eco Tad 160 Mm Promax Mechanical Disc Brakes
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Adjustable Seat Angle Bottle Cage Bosses
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Drivetrain Sunrace Derailleur
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Ebike Charger
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Electric Trike Review
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Sx Electric Tadpole
Sun Seeker Eco Tad 500 Watt Hub Motor
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Removable Rack Mounted Battery 48 Volt
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Bars Lcd Display Seat
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Sunrace 7 Speed Grip Shifter
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Cranks Pedals Chainring With Guide
Sun Seeker Eco Tad 160 Mm Promax Mechanical Disc Brakes
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Adjustable Seat Angle Bottle Cage Bosses
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Drivetrain Sunrace Derailleur
Sun Seeker Eco Tad Ebike Charger

Summary

  • One of the most affordable recumbent tadpole trikes I've tested, you do have to pay an additional $350 for shipping but it comes "ready to ride" so you can hop right on
  • The 48 volt battery supports increased power and higher speeds for the 500 watt internally geared hub motor, this thing can reach ~26 mph or you can set the speed much lower using the display
  • Solid rack with pannier blockers and two bottle cage bosses on the seat frame for fluids, locks or a mini-pump, independent mechanical disc brakes from Tektro with electronic sensors and a parking brake
  • The trike is rear heavy with both the battery and motor positioned at the back but the battery is removable for charging or lightening the load, it's also not a proprietary battery so you can upgrade or replace it more easily

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Sun Seeker

Model:

Eco Tad Electric Trike

Price:

$1,875 ($350 Shipping, Fully Assembled Ready to Ride)

Body Position:

Recumbent

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

72 lbs (32.65 kg)

Battery Weight:

9.3 lbs (4.21 kg)

Motor Weight:

9.4 lbs (4.26 kg)

Frame Material:

High Tensile Tig Welded Steel

Geometry Measurements:

37 1/2″ (95 cm) Wheel Base, 70 1/2″-78 3/4″ (179-199 cm) Overall Length, 31″ (78.7 cm) Width, 17″-18″ (42-45 cm) Seat Height, 13 3/4″ (35 cm) Bottom Bracket Height

Frame Types:

Trike

Frame Colors:

Gloss Blue

Frame Fork Details:

High Tensile Steel, Rigid

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 SunRACE M30, 13-32T

Shifter Details:

SunRACE Grip Shift on Right

Cranks:

170 mm Cranks, 38T Chainring

Pedals:

Wellgo R199 Metal Cage

Headset:

Sealed Mechanism Steel

Handlebar:

Chromoly Steel, Roadster Style

Brake Details:

Promax Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Wuxing Levers with Motor Inhibitor and Parking Latch

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Alloy Frame, Padded Mesh

Seat Post:

Rans Style Seat Slide

Rims:

Alloy, 20x1.5, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Front Stainless 14G Black, Rear Stainless 12G Silver

Tire Brand:

Kenda Kwest, 20" x 1.5"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

40 to 65 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Bolt-on Rack with Pannier Blockers 25 kg Max Weight, Adjustable Angle Seat with Removable Cover, Adjustable Length Boom, Plastic Chain Guide, Heavy-Duty Torque Arm for Motor Mount

Other:

Locking Removable Battery, 1.5 lb 3 Amp Charger, KMC Z Chain, 300 lb Max Weight

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Electric Bike Technologies

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1000 watts

Motor Torque:

45 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Electric Bike Technologies

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

480 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

King Meter, Fixed, Backlit, Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Speed, Avg. Speed, Max Speed, Power Level (0-5), Odometer, Trip A, Trip B

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Sensor)

Top Speed:

26 mph (42 kph) (Adjustable Speed, PAS Sensitivity, Current)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

In my experience there are two main kinds of three wheeled bicycles. The ones with a single wheel up front called a tricycle or delta trike and the ones with two wheels up front called a tadpole or tad for short. The Sun Seeker Eco Tad SX is the latter type which tends to steer tighter and position riders closer to the ground. As a recumbent trike, it offers a lower seating position which improves aerodynamic efficiency and for some a more relaxing ride. Getting on and off involves a bit of maneuvering, I usually back up towards the seat and reach down to either side using the front wheels as hand positions for stabilization… but once you’re seated, the bike is very stable. It’s a bicycle that only comes in one frame size but offers lots of adjustability for your leg length and seating (the canvas chair slides forward and back with adjustable struts for a more upright or reclined body position). Perhaps this is all known to you but as the most affordable entry-level electric trike I’ve covered I thought it would be nice to do a quick refresh and overview. What you get with the Sun Seeker Eco-Tad is a purpose built recumbent tadpole trike professionally converted to be electric by Electric Bike Technologies, sold through ElectricTrike.com. It’s a complete offering, shipping fully assembled and ready to ride. They will even customize some of it for you by request but the service doesn’t come free at $350 (for the contiguous USA). You get a trigger throttle, pedal assist, seven gears and a solid warranty here. If you’ve considered other trikes like the Eco Delta but want a sportier feel, higher top speed and more powerful motor without breaking the bank… this would be a good option to consider.

The motor offered with this trike is a 500 watt nominal internally geared hub mounted in the rear wheel. This is really the best place to put a motor because weight is shifted towards the rear as you’re propelled forward. Also, in this case the battery pack is mounted above and much of the rider’s body weight is also positioned towards the rear. You get excellent traction and the simplicity of a geared hub which tends to offer great torque while minimizing weight and no cogging drag. The motor freewheels meaning you’ll coast further and have a slightly easier time pedaling without any power assistance (in case you run out of battery or just want the exercise). One thing you don’t get is a quick release wheel or absolute silence when riding. Perhaps you can hear the motor whining a bit in the video review above. In my experience it’s more apparent to the rider than surrounding pedestrians… I commented several times on how quiet the bike was given its size and power. You can hit 26 miles per hour with this thing and that’s unique. Technically the bike is a speed pedelec but you can manually adjust the top speed using the feature rich display panel. This is a neat feature for riders who want to take it easy and maximize range. I had a blast with the trigger throttle but noticed that it didn’t work in level zero and seemed limited by the power level chosen. That means there’s a bit of extra screwing around pressing buttons sometimes and the button pad itself isn’t super easy to reach (being positioned behind the trigger throttle and right brake lever clamp).

Powering the motor and big bright display panel is a 48 volt 10 amp hour battery pack. This thing is well protected in an Aluminum shell, easy to access but fairly secure in the rear rack and convenient to slide on and off (for reduced weight or independent charging). I was told by the Electric Bike Technologies folks that the battery pack is not proprietary and I noticed that their connectors looked more standard, similar to a computer power plug. This means you can upgrade or get a replacement without spending as much money later on and without worrying about whether the company stays in business. I like that and was impressed to hear that they also spent extra time and energy programming custom battery curves into their controller to match each battery pack on offer. You get a much more accurate power indicator as a result of this and shouldn’t have that “oh crap” moment out on the trail when the battery goes from half to nearly empty on the display. This used to be a big deal with some kits, especially those with just a few LED lights indicating charge level. The whole setup here is professional and easy to work with… but it’s not perfect. The battery pack requires that you leave the key inserted and turned to “on” in order to operate the bike. That may not sound like an issue, and it’s really not so bad, but it can become annoying if you’ve got the key connected to a keychain rattling along the way. Consider a small carabiner clip or carry the key on its own. The other slight inconvenience is that the key must be completely removed in order to slide the pack off the back of the bike rack mount. If you don’t take the key out it will collide with the left side of the rack and could even get bent. I show this in the video and again… not a huge deal but it does represent one more opportunity to misplace the key. At the back of the pack is a flip out handle and underneath is the charging port. I wish it had a built-in LED light for safety, and I’d love to see a similar integrated light up front because recumbents just aren’t as visible as upright bicycles, especially at night. Perhaps an LED tail-whip flag pole add-on could be worth considering as an after market purchase? I like the 3 Amp charger, which is made from a similar Aluminum box design, because it’s durable and faster than average. This is the kind of thing you could toss into a trunk bag or panniers and always take along to extend the ride. Again, the rear rack is very solid with extra support arms and nice pannier blockers on either side. It’s not as capable as it could be if the battery were mounted separately but it’s good for what it is.

Operating the bike is a two step process with the battery charging, mounting and key insertion covered earlier followed by a control pad button press. The M button activates the display and from there you’ve got several power options and supporting stat readouts. The display itself is a monochrome LCD with lots of space to show battery level, power, odometer etc. and it’s right up in your face… at least if you look slightly to the left. Electric Bike Technologies did their best to mount this thing in a convenient spot. It’s a really beautiful display and holding the up button on the button pad will activate backlighting. I love that you can turn this completely off to avoid distraction during night rides. Following from before, you can enter the display settings to adjust top speed, current, units and several other options. This is the kind of customization that is often foregone on mainstream ebikes. Given the more sporty nature of this e-trike, I like that you get more control over how it works… The display can be swiveled to reduce glare but is otherwise not removable and that’s my one big complaint. I guess I’d be okay with a slightly smaller display if it could be removed and I’d love some sort of USB charging port for my phone but that’s just not part of the deal here. Overall, the battery works well with the display and the motor and you get a mostly durable setup. I can’t comment on how strong the display actually is and being a recumbent, it probably stays out of the way and won’t be left at bike racks all crammed together but I might carry an opaque bag or sock just to avoid unwanted attention and weather damage. It just looks so good :)

At the end of the day, this is still a converted trike. It’s not as polished or perfectly executed as the $5,000+ models I’ve ridden but in some ways it gives you more… More speed, a more open battery interface and even more options for how the bike works. This is one of the few recumbent electric trikes that lets you purposefully limit speed and power. It’s definitely one of the cheapest options but that doesn’t mean it’s not sturdy or lacking on the support side. Yes, you pay extra for shipping… you have to unless you live near Pennsylvania and can drive to their headquarters. But this is an electric bike that’s designed and assembled in America by a team with a long track record of selling kits then doing a few custom ebike projects. I admire them and love that they actually sell the electric drive system separately so you can convert your own SunSeeker trike (if you already have one). I’m more of a delta trike kind of guy because my neck has some injuries and the way-back seating position just isn’t comfortable. But it’s hard to deny the quick steering and sports-car feel of this and other tadpole trikes. There’s not fancy suspension but the canvas seat takes the edge off. The tires are average (not especially high quality or thick) but they’re all the same size so you can upgrade all at once. I like the mechanical disc brakes and thought the independent braking was cool since it can help you turn or even slide a bit and drift. It’s a neat product that would work well as a stable utility hauler during the week and a sporty racer on the weekends. Big thanks to Electric Bike Technologies for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • You get power on demand with a trigger throttle but the trike can also be setup for pedal assist, Electric Bike Technologies uses 12 magnet sensors which tend to be more responsive, it’s not a torque sensor so there’s a feeling of on/off but you don’t have to push hard in order to activate it
  • I was surprised to find out that the trike can be set at higher than 20 mph and used as a speed pedelec… it can also be set to lower than 20 mph for those who want to conserve power or ride in areas where high speed is not allowed
  • You can turn on backlighting for the display panel for use at night by holding the up arrow… or turn it off to reduce distraction, I like that it’s not just automatic based on the surrounding light
  • This is one of the more affordable electric recumbent trikes I’ve seen and tested, it is more of a conversion rather than purpose built but it works well and offers a lot of flexibility and options (in terms of speed and how you activate power)
  • This trike can fit a range of body trikes thanks to its adjustable boom (which the pedals connect to) and the sliding and tilting seat
  • As a tadpole trike, your body is positioned lower and steering feels very quick and nimble, it’s a bit sportier than the delta style trikes but can be trickier to mount
  • I absolutely love the cargo rack and two bottle cage mounting points on the seat frame, this gives you options for bringing along the battery charger, some extra water, a lock, mini pump and other cargo like groceries or supplies
  • The rack has pannier blockers on both sides and a mount at the back for adding a little license plate or light, I’d probably add some after market rechargeable LED lights on the front and back
  • The Promax mechanical disc brakes offer solid stopping power and work independently so you can actually brake in such a way that it helps you turn more sharply, the Promax calipers can be adjusted by hand without tools on the go using a little red plastic finger circle adjust thing
  • The rear wheel uses heavy duty 12 gauge spokes with brass eyelets to reduce rim issues like cracking, there’s also a sturdy torque arm attached to the axle which spreads force through the frame and not just the dropout
  • Both brake levers have motor inhibitor switches so you won’t be trying to stop while the motor is still running… I also like the built in parking brake on the left brake lever

Cons:

  • Unless you live on the East Coast of the US and are willing to drive and pick this thing up, shipping will add another $350 to the price… though it does come fully assembled and ready to ride which is nice
  • I love how large the display is, it’s easy to see and understand, but I wish it was removable… you can swivel it to reduce glare but I’d be careful leaving it at a bike rack and maybe even cover it with a sock or something to reduce scratches
  • Being a converted ebike, there are more wires tacked on and the cadence sensor is a bit more exposed. I also felt that the drivetrain was lower quality because SunRace is an in house brand vs. Shimano or SRAM that I’ve heard of and used frequently, it all still worked well enough
  • Tadpole trikes like this are flippable, you can roll it if you’re turning on uneven terrain but overall it’s very stable when mounting and at rest
  • At ~72 lbs this isn’t the lightest ebike but it’s not terrible for a recumbent (given the extra wheel and larger frame), this trike is very rear heavy and while the battery is removable for transport or charging you still might need a little trailer to carry the bike around with your car (Harbor Freight sells affordable trailers like this)
  • In order to operate this e-trike you have to leave the key in the battery slot (which could jingle and snag if you’ve got it on a keychain, consider using little carabiners to make this key easy to separate from your main set), you also have to remove the key in order to slide the pack off because otherwise it will collide with the rack arms
  • At least for the test unit I reviewed, the trigger throttle and button pad were both on the same side (near the right grip) this made it a bit of a reach to get to the buttons and change power levels but I liked how easy the throttle was to use
  • The 48 volt battery and 500 nominal wattage motor are designed to be quick and powerful, you can still dial it down if you want but the bike is capable of sportier riding, because it’s a geared motor there’s no drag from cogging

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Sun Seeker Reviews

Sun Seeker Fat Tad Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,435
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A full suspension, fat tire, recumbent electric trike designed for off-road fun on trails, sand or snow, powerful 500 watt rear-motor with throttle and pedal assist modes. Adjustable length boom and tilting seat accommodate a range of riders, large backlit display offers…...

Sun Seeker T3 CX Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,285
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sleek, lightweight, recumbent electric trike with higher top speed and 24 gears, as a tadpole design your body and arms are more aerodynamic and laid back. Completely adjustable frame and mesh seat accommodate taller and shorter riders, those looking for a…...

Sun Seeker EZ-3 HD Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,305
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A heavy duty electric trike designed to support up to 400 lbs of weight, powered by a 1,000-Watt peak gearless hub motor running off a 48 volt Lithium-ion battery pack. Open platform allows you to swap battery brands, adjust the top speed and amp flow…...

Sun Seeker Eurus Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,435
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A fast, highly adjustable electric trike in the Delta style (with two wheels in the rear and one up front), easy to mount and park, camber in rear wheels keep it stable. Beautiful large display is easy to read and offers on/off backlighting control, optional top speed…...

Sun Seeker Eco Delta Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $1,835
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A recumbent electric trike with a higher seat, more relaxed bars and lower price point, the delta frame design positions one wheel in the front and two in the back. Highly adjustable seat angle and overall bike length for comfortable reach and pedaling, the chain…...


Nirmala
11 months ago

I am surprised that with all of that space between the seat and the rear wheel, that they did not mount the battery on the frame, leaving the rear rack just for cargo.

Being rear heavy might not be such a bad thing. One thing that takes getting used to on a tadpole trike is that you can stand it up on the front wheels when braking hard, just like you can go over the handlebars on an upright bike if you slam on the front brake. It takes a bit to get used to the limits of any bike, and that extra weight in the rear might just keep your rear wheel on the ground a little more often :)

Reply
Court Rye
11 months ago

Yeah, I think one of the other models had a frame mounted battery like you’re describing but no rack. I believe it’s a delta so there are two wheels in the back and the seat is further back which takes up a lot of space. Another design has the battery mounted to the back of the chair in a near vertical position :)

Reply
Alec Burney
11 months ago

NIRMALA: Mounting the battery to the frame is possible, but it limits your seat adjustability and makes it hard to remove the battery quickly if you need to take the battery with you (EX: if you charge the battery indoors but keep the bike in the garage). Anyway, our mechanics can do a number of things to customize your installation if you don’t want the battery on the rear rack, just call us up and we can discuss it. +1 800.375.0224

Simon Naples
11 months ago

This is an incredibly well thought out and informative article. Love the bike and not a bad price for all of this. Great stuff.

Reply
Court Rye
11 months ago

Thanks Simon! Glad you enjoyed it, I do my best to be comprehensive but also leave comments open so we can get different perspectives. Looks like you might own a bike shop in New York? What brands to you carry?

Reply
jmfrank79
11 months ago

Hey Court,Any idea the size of the bottom bracket on this thing? Thanks

Reply
Court Rye
11 months ago

No, but I’ll send a message to the Sun Seeker team and see if they can chime in to help shed some light ;)

Reply
Alec Burney
11 months ago

JMFRANK79: This uses an ISO (“english”) standard bottom bracket 1.375″x24TPI threading, 68mm shell width 113.5mm spindle length / Square Taper JIS spindle

Reply
Court Rye
11 months ago

Awesome, thank you Alec!

Jon Golsteyn
9 months ago

This bike looks nice. Are there any places in Milwaukee, Wisconsin that have this bike to test ride? I have never ridden a recumbent before, I would love to try this.

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hi Jon! Unfortunately… no, I think they only sell online. It’s one of the reasons their trikes are more affordable but you do take a risk ordering, receiving and THEN test riding vs. going in person. Very few shops around the country sell electric trikes, especially recumbents like this BUT you can sometimes find an unpowered recumbent bicycle just to see how they feel. Check on Craigslist and call your local shops :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

emco5
4 days ago

The Electric Shopping Cruiser Any opinions?

A 250 watt hub is minimal assistance for a lightweight two wheeler. That trike is heavy. Slight boost would be noticed on level ground but there wouldn't be much energy on inclines and zip on hills, especially with a load of stuff in the basket.

If you need a trike, get one and put a stronger mid-drive kit on it. https://tinyurl.com/yd2bjn9q

The forum host has info on the drives https://electricbikereview.com/?s=8fun+mid+drive

Skyhawk4754
1 week ago

Hi
New to the forum.
Introduction: 64 years young, male, 6'2" 280 lbs live in the Texas Hill Country.
I bought a Terratrike Allroad Rambler with BionX P350 DX20 electric assist , 24" tires about 90 days ago.
I really like the trike. However we have about 1/2 mile of a 12% increase in elevation and the electric assist just doesn't have it. What can I do to improve my situation?
Thanks

JohnT
2 weeks ago

I own a Fat Tad. I bought it a couple years ago, planning to convert it to electric, but haven’t gotten around to it. I’ve only put on a few miles but would be happy to answer any questions you might have.

It’s a big heavy trike, but the suspension and fat tires make for a nice, comfortable ride. Ride height isn’t very low, so ground clearance is good and getting in and out of the seat is relatively easy. I wobble when I pedal, but I assume that’ll go away with practice. I haven’t gone very fast on it yet.

It doesn’t roll though standard doorways and is heavy and awkward to carry. Im hoping it’s not too much worse when converted with the battery removed. I wouldn’t want to have to carry it twice every time I rode. I have it I my garage.

Most of the components are acceptable quality. I don’t think I’ll be swapping them out for better ones. I’m not that picky.

Overall, I’d recommend it, but it’s obviously not the right ride for everyone.

rich c
2 weeks ago

This summer I started riding my full suspension mtb along the Hennepin Canal. It's like 75 miles of basically a straight line and little elevation change. We also have a crushed rock rail trail that goes about 30 miles in a similar fashion. I'm thinking a Fat-Tad from Electric Trikes on slicks would be the perfect nature cruiser for those rides. Heads up and a relaxed position for the miles. The canal ride is so enjoyable with birds and water views the entire distance, I think the heads-up ride would let me enjoy the view better. Any opinions about the recumbent trike?

ScorpionKing
4 weeks ago

I have successfully modified a tool to pop pins out of white connectors so I can do unplanned things behind the axle nut. I put fork stiffener struts on made of aluminum angle. So I took a pick from big lots store ($2.89), and ground the tip down almost needle fine, using a bench grinder. use Safety glasses. Don't overheat. Then I could push on the tabs of the pins to flatten them, and let the pins back out of the block. When putting the pins back you have to rebend the tabs out to pop out a bit again and hook the connector body.
The reason you can't use an actual needle, they are not long enough and you need a handle to hold the needle with and apply force.Sears also used to sell a .050" thick pick in a handle. Also General Tool. The big lots one was so fat it was almost scrap to start with.
Good luck on the uncooperative vendor.

You really should not need a tool or at least we shouldn’t have to pop any pins out or remove any plug. Prior to the sale I was told specially we needed to use two torque arm kits by this company. The reason given was the cassette version of the axle was 12mm vs the freewheel version which is 14mm.

That should have been reason enough to ship the Motor without the small wires in the contacts mounted in the White Plastic Plug causing a problem for the buyer.

In addition, instructions were never sent with shipment. We were finally send an email after being told their “One Drive was down” (maybe this is there file sever), from there own company in emai, that clear states in writing on page paragraph 6, that until the motor is fitted to the Bike the White Plastic Plug should not be fitted on the contacts on the end of the electric wire, because it will prevent the Nuts and Washers from sliding off and on.

Those are not the exact words as written but I have printed the email and can scan and upload it if necessary. I am past this point unless PayPal or American Express wants it for evidence.

Point being, Motor should have been shipped end user ready from this vendor. There are a lot of first time builders out there like us. It does not mean we are stupid just because we might be inexperienced at building or converting to an E-bike/Trike at this time. This is only our first attempt. Many of us own multiple bikes s/Trikes. I personally own 5. What that means to this vendor is that by treating me poorly as he did he at least lost 4 potential future sales. Also I am not likely to say good things about this vendor to others on the forums I regularly participate in, or when I am out riding events like Ragbrai.

Lastly it should not have been assumed I was going to purchase a controller or other parts from this vendor. Motors have the capability of using various controllers. This company was told up front I was not using their controller. I will have to check my email but I believe I told them I was using a Phase Runner.

Seems there were and are enough reasons to have left that White Plastic Plug off instead of shipping the way they did.

Jason

RobMatthies Vancouver
1 month ago

Look at the YouTube video of an unedited ride through the rain puddles. The EFF rider screams as he gets his pants soaked. Anybody contemplating purchasing an electric trike should watch that video.

That was exactly my thought when I saw an ELF yesterday in Vancouver (nickname: Raincouver), BC.

All my e-rides have been heavily modified, and all (10+ easily, maybe even 20, since 1998) of them were working well when I either sold, gave away, or stolen.

If I owned an ELF electric trike, here's how I would mod them, for reliability:

- Install water splash shields by cutting coreplast and installing with zipties

- Make a partial floorboard of some kind. If would be a partial cover due to the components that would prevent building a complete floorboard.

- Liquid Tape in specific areas (a lot)

- Spray MG Chemicals Super Contact Cleaner where needed

- Add lockwashers on nuts

- Create a splash shield for the motor and other components underneath that are vulnerable to salt/rust

- Install two chain-cleaning wells as oil baths

- Get an air-bottle air horn

- Prevent the rubber grommets (where cables enter the ELF trike's body) from loosening, as seen on the one I saw yesterday.

For a future ELF trike re-design, or mod:

- Change to a gearless, brushless hub motor on the rear wheel, preferably a QSmotor with a matching sine-wave controller.

For those new to electric trikes: This "industry" has a history of failure. Look up the "cemetery" of electric bikes and electric trikes, at EValbum.com

For 10-year, daily drive durability, an ELF owner will need to do what I did to my electric rides. There are very few electric bikers in Vancouver with a working 8+ year electric rides. I still have all of my electric scooters in working order.

Dewey
2 months ago

Wondering if anyone has or thought of leasing an E-Bike? It would be nice to use the bike for two years then either buy it out or up it

Bicycle Blue Book use local bike shops with their trade in program, it covers ebikes. All Performance Bike stores use it. If it’s in good mechanical condition you will get a certain % of what you had paid towards a new model.

https://www.bicyclebluebook.com/partnerdirectory.aspx

I’ve also seen independent stores/chains offer their own trade in programs, locally a chain called Conte’s offers up to 40%. Some brands like Woom and Trek offer a loyalty/buy-up program on children’s bikes which seems a good way to help your child ride a bike that fits them.

If you sell privately I’ve noticed some higher end cargo ebikes hold their value, I saw a fairly new imported electric Nicola trike on sale on CL recently in my city for 2/3 of its new cost. But those are the exception, buying used ebikes you’ve gotta assume you’ll have to replace the battery.

Wormburger
2 months ago

By my math, I would have gotten less than 40% back, after I pay for all the shipping.
As it stands now, I have the trike, I will rip off all their electronic crap, bring it down to the frame, and just rebuild it somehow, as motor kits are becoming cheaper now.
It is literally just a normal trike, that was modified to become a "purpose-built electric". you can see the where they added holes to bolt in the motor and battery cage.
luckily I think I can use the same holes to mount a different motor. possibly even a gas lawn mower. turn it into a hybrid electric/gas. lol

yeah, they have my money, and it would cost me more to fight them. But I can warn others away from them, and that I can do for free!

SomeGuy
2 months ago

About me:

The biggest reason for wanting an electronic bike is to help me get over hills. My price range is no more than $2,000 ($2,199 absolute max) (but not including accessories or shipping/tax). I'm 5'11", weigh 190 lbs (with a 10-15 lbs variance over time). Eventually, I'll live somewhere in the outer Boston area and will commute into Boston, (mostly on roads/sidewalks) possibly 6 - 18 miles one way (16- 36 both ways), 5 days a week. This bike will be my primary source of transportation.

I will be riding in the rain and snow. Eventually I’ll either buy or make a rain/snow shield. (which will increase drag). I’d also rather buy snow tires than a fat bike.

Features I want:

Mid-drive with throttle (prefer a trigger throttle, and that the mid-drive and throttle can handle being used together)
Class 3
Riser bar
Rear rack to be able to carry groceries and things.
Removable Display in center of handlebars
high step
Prefer a 28mph bike (the speed demon in me)
Long lasting battery (I’ll charge the battery at work, and eventually will buy a 2nd one)
Durability to handle New England weather (hot and cold temps, rain, snow)

Features I do NOT want:

Twist throttle
Half-twist throttle
Low step
Drop handlebars
Small tires
Small frame
Tandem
Trike
Fat bike

What frame size should I buy? Any suggestions on which electronic bike to purchase with these guidelines? I do understand that there won't be a perfect bike for a low price. Thank you.

Dewey
2 months ago
Kim S
2 months ago

Something like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/332133596775 (Not electric,but a trike)
Or this: http://www.riderungu.com/shop/product/2017-kilimanjaro/ (electric trike)

Dewey
2 months ago

The Sunseeker Eco Tad would be about $2300 with shipping, it doesn't have suspension but it is a recumbent tadpole trike with a mesh seat.

ReallyGoodEbikes
2 months ago

Based on your particular needs, I would strongly recommend taking a look at the electric trike from Priority Electric Transportation. They build a high quality etrike that is quite affordable. Call me if you have any questions.

FlaDeziner
2 months ago

I am a casual rider who now needs to be concerned about stability when riding. I'm in Florida and it's flat, flat, flat. I have tried riding a regular trike and find it very uncomfortable and unstable because the trike does not tilt on turns. I want the ability to bike to the store and get some power if needed.

I'm convinced a trike with 2 wheels and some type of suspension in the front will work for me, but I'm not in the market to spend $6k on a Butchers & Bicycles trike or even $2,300 on a PFIFF

Certainly, there is a source in the USA to purchase this China Made trike I have posted above or something similar. Can someone direct me to a source? Thanks in advance for the assist.

1/1
BreakAes
3 months ago

Hi all,

I'm going to be getting an Azub Fat trike: http://azub.eu/recumbent-bikes-and-trikes/trikes/26-wheels/fat/ and I'll need an electric conversion kit with both a throttle and pedal-assist.

It seems like the best motor option for me is a 750 watt Bafang mid-drive motor. I'd like to have a torque-sensing motor, but I understand that Bafang is behind on releasing theirs, and they only have a cadence-sensing system at the moment.

I'm wondering what the difference in practice would be between a 48v and 52v battery. I also want at least a 17 amp hour battery, and if it's not too heavy, something around 20 amp hours or more would be nice.

I'm looking for suggestions on where the best place is to get the kit. And how hard would it be to install it? Should I have a shop do it, or is it easy enough to do it by one's self?

Here are the stores I know of for electric conversion kits:

https://www.eradkits.com

https://lunacycle.com

http://www.ebikeco.com

http://www.rosecityrecumbentcycles.com

Let me know what you think, thanks!

bob armani
4 months ago

I have a Hilltopper 250W 24V front wheel on my 7-speed Schwinn. I don't use it for sport, just for day-to-day transportation. (I almost never use my car any more.) My terrain is flat city roads, and my typical trip is 2 to 4 miles one way.My kit has no throttle, just a push button to kick in the motor.

Most of the time I pedal in gear 5, and just use the motor for assist when I get below 10 MPH, and usually only goose myself until I'm back up to 12-14 MPH. Even pulling a bike trailer loaded with 20 pounds of groceries, I have no trouble cruising along at 12 MPH or so, although I do use the motor more when I'm fully loaded. (I'm only 150 lbs myself.) I don't need more speed than that since, at age 72, my reaction time isn't as quick as it used to be, and I find 15 MPH to be very comfortable, and 20 MPH to be a little on the "break-neck" side for me. hehe.

So as far as power is concerned, I seem to have all I need. What I'm wondering is, is there any efficiency advantage to a higher voltage, or higher power motor? Could I maybe get more range, or less battery wear by using a system that has more power than I really need, rather than pushing my 250W motor harder? I see that so many bikes use higher voltages and wattages, even when they are still topped out at 20MPH, so I assume there must be some advantage.

I'm also looking into these issues because I'm thinking about making a home-built trike just for fun, and as a better grocery-getter.

Gary-I agree with Mark's comment. You are only 150lbs and with a 250 watt motor, sounds like it is pushing you just fine. I asked the same question when purchasing my ebike. I am at 135lbs and my 350 watt motor on my ebike pushes me along at fast and furious speeds that are more than adequate. I can top out at 22.5 mph without a whole lot of exertion I asked about a 500 watt motor and they indicated it is too much power for someone in my weight class.

I like the concept of the Hilltopper. I was thinking on making one of my mtn bikes into an electric with the kit. Sounds like it is performing well! Ride safe!

BreakAes
4 months ago

I need some help finding the best electric conversion kit for my needs.

I'm probably going to end up buying a Sun Seeker Fat Tad trike, since it seems to offer the best bang for the buck when it comes to fat tire trikes for off-roading.

My questions are, what's the best electric conversion kit for this trike? And should I have it done professionally, or attempt to do it myself to save money?

So far I'm aware of the E-Bike Kit company from the EBR video on the Fat Tad e-trike. They sell a completed, ready to ride out of the box e-trike here: https://www.electrictrike.com/collections/electric-trikes/products/fat-tad-cxs-tadpole-electric-trike

And I called Utah Trikes earlier and got their pricing: Fat Tad CXS: $1,899, with 500 watt Bafang mid-drive motor: http://www.utahtrikes.com/PROD-11619645.html - $795, and 36v 13.5 amp hour Panasonic battery (I believe it's this one: https://lunacycle.com/36v-panasonic-bottle-battery-sondors-compatible-upgrade-replacement/ but I'll need to confirm on Monday): $389 - Total: $3,083. And I'll need to get installation charge, and shipping pricing.

There's also a somewhat local company that could do it. I'd need to call them for specifics.

I want to get the absolute best products for the best prices that I can, so are there other recommendations for converting the Fat Tad trike to an e-trike?

Let me know, thanks!

BreakAes
4 months ago

Today I was able to try the Rad Mini, and a step-through Electra. It's not safe for me to ride a bike, at least for now. I am thinking about getting a scooter that I can go off-road with, for traveling with a truck camper though. Any thoughts on what would be good for that? Something like a scooter version of a Rad Mini might be cool.

I was able to try a Catrike Trail, non-electric version. For working out my legs, I'm strongly leaning towards getting something like the Sun Seeker Fat Tad e-trike: https://electricbikereview.com/sun-seeker/fat-tad-electric-trike/

I want the fat tires for off-roading, so is this the e-trike to get? Or are there competitors?

If I want it, should I get it from here: https://www.electrictrike.com/collections/electric-trikes/products/fat-tad-cxs-tadpole-electric-trike

Or should I buy a battery and motor kit elsewhere, and do a custom electric conversion?

Ideally I'd like to find a used one in excellent condition to save money. Any ideas on where these might pop up for sale? I'll ask at the Bent Rider Online forums as well.

Thanks.

Robert W Green
4 months ago

So I'm about to pull the trigger and buy an e-bike (yay!). However, I am concerned about service. I'm OK traveling 30 or 40 miles to an e-bike shop once or twice for the initial purchase, but not basic maintenance year after year.

Do you have any suggestions for finding a local e-bike mechanic (Long Beach, CA) competent to work on (my) bike? Questions to ask, things to look for when visiting the shop, etc.? Are the differences between e- and non-e bikes small enough that skilled bike mechanics can work on everything other than the motor and battery? Does it matter in this regard whether the bike's mid-drive or hub drive? ... Sorry for all the Q's!!

Beeline bikes will come to you in their awesome mobile bike shops and fix your nonebike issues and depending on the tech some of your ebike issues. Also Southern California is the ebike capitol of the USA, do a google search and I bet you'll find a lbs that will help you. Things have have changed since I bought a recumbent trike and a ridekick power trailer. Back then I was a double heretic for the recumbent nature of my bike and the electric motor in my trailer. Now my lbs has an entire section for ebikes and recumbent and erecumbents. Is that a word?

MikeDD
7 months ago

My wife has a Liberty trike. I would not let the smaller wheels stop you from buying. It has plenty of power and is able to climb very steep hills.

One thing you do not get pedal assist, the hand throttle is how you control the electric assist. My wife has MS and the low height of the Liberty makes it easier to climb on since she has to lift one of her legs with her hands

Good luck in your search.

Bicyclista
7 months ago

Have you considered electric trikes? Court has reviewed a number of them. Personally, I would go for the "tadpole" style, where there two wheels in front and one in back. The tadpole configuration is more stable in turns. (I remember as a child being thrown off my trike because I took a turn too quickly!) Yes, most of the tadpole trikes are recumbent, and that may or may not appeal to you.

Matt A
7 months ago

So, Rohloff Delite GX HS it was. I reached out to Chris Nolte of Propel and (at my prodding) he was kind enough to offer a modest discount on his floor model, but with the proviso that I had to wait for him to take delivery of another one before he sent the demo to me. Fair enough. Chris was good to his word re: estimated delivery time. Three weeks passed and sure enough, he got the new demo in and made arrangements to have the bike brought to my office on a Sunday afternoon (I live in a small city an hour or so north of NYC). Nice of him to go out of the way and offer to deliver as I had some personal things going on that would have kept me from picking it up within the next week or so.

First impressions: Sweet! Only 22 demo miles on the odometer. I already had a few alterations and additions in mind (guess that is the male version of "accessorizing") , but the essential core was all there - substantial frame, nice components, obviously well thought out, maybe a bit over-engineered - if that is even possible. Being purpose built exclusively as an e-bike, nothing about it has that "aftermarket-afterthought" feel. Solid as can be. No pretensions of being anything but a steady road warrior, capable of taking hard knocks and shrugging off the usual daily insults from the two ton motorized behemoths one encounters on the daily commute. Yeah, kind of a motorcycle feel, but still very much a vehicle that requires human input to motivate. Pretty heavy, but I had spent a lot of time in another life piloting touring bikes loaded down with four panniers and 50-69 additional lbs of gear, so I knew I wouldn't be phased by the weight that the two batteries and Bosch motor entailed. This thing knows it's purpose: built to bull through most stuff, on or off road, without the rider wondering if something is going to crack, snap off, or otherwise make things unpleasant.

As things go, the first week that I had it turned out to be nasty weather-wise. Record low temps, mixed precipitation. I think I clicked maybe 15 miles total over the over the first few days. On the first nice day, the following Sunday, I put 30 + miles on it. Super happy with it. Went on road and on trail. The brakes, suspension, beefy 27.5" tires, and power package all work well together. It's not a "pocket rocket", as we used to refer to certain motorcycles way back when, but the whole package works as advertised. I am liking it a lot. The Rohloff gives it an awesome low range, though I would like to get a bit more headroom at high speed ie. have pedal input over 30 mph. I did get the bike over 40 mph, but that was going down a big hill with inertia being the only motivator. In day to day riding, that really isn't a factor and I guess I could always put a smaller cog on the Rohloff at some point (but probably won't). At high speed, I had total confidence and the suspension ably handled a surprise pothole around 35 mph. Why potholes in NY in the spring should be a surprise, I don't know, but it was a substantial one nonetheless and the bike pretty much took it in stride. Power assist is just about right. At first you find yourself obsessing over the (4) available ranges, but I find myself pretty much either running it on tour or turbo mode. You definitely know that all those micro adjustments for shifting and human pedal effort are going on in the Bosch brain, but for the most part it just does that job well and it works rather seamlessly. After the first 100 or so miles, I was over any second thoughts about not having gotten a "throttle" type e-assist or opting for more power. Despite the added weight of the electric assist components, the pedal effort vs. a non-electric bike is reduced by maybe 50%, Works for me. The Intuvia controller is pretty straight forward. Almost like a typical bike computer but with power functions added. It took some getting used to not having the wealth of detailed data that the Cycle Analyst produces on my EcoSpeed trike setup, but simplicity is a good thing too. I am curious, Matt, how your Nyon is working out for you.

Time to start using the bike on a daily commuting basis. And then a few hiccups occur . . .
I enjoyed reading everything you wrote. I am glad I got the NuVinci, but only because of my riding stlye. The Rohloff is definitely better. I use the bike for going to a number of destinations around the city and I like to get done quickly, so I am constantly shifting as I ride around very quickly. If I owned a Rohloff, I'd likely get used to it but when I tried a demo I just hated it. I have been testing the limits of the bike a lot, and have crashed a number of times. The bike never gets hurt really, and the Nyon back is scuffed up from a couple spills but still works great. It is very detailed and I like looking at my rides afterwards. I ride almost always in Turbo, I only ride in Tour if I will be running out of battery. Hard to believe I know, but I frequently do over 60 miles on the bike at once. I am really looking forward to upgrading the suspension on the bike and having a set of MTB tires for off-roading. I have been testing the limits of the bike and have fallen off a number of times, so once I upgrade the rear shock and fork, I want to avoid scratching them lol.

There are a lot of paved trails near me and also some dirt and gravel trails too. I went up a steep climb on a 6 inch wide dirt path covered in roots and boulders like it was nothing. Coming back down was a bit scary with the Super Moto X tires that have 1500 miles of wear on them, I am sure I will feel much more confident with some nobby nics on like the GX has I believe. I never did any trail riding before, but I really had a blast trying it out and will be doing a lot of it in the future.

More on the Nyon, I really am glad I upgrades. It just looks so much cooler and gives you a ton of information. I know the exact battery percentage as well which is a plus since steep sections of a ride can really distort the range for the overall ride. You can see a map of your path and can see your altitude, cadence, speed, and power output and any point along the ride. I like the navigation, but it is not as good as Google Maps. It is just like using a tomtom or garmin sat nav. The directions are fine but the city has a lot of close streets, it would be nice to see the street names on the map but it just shows the roads with no names. Sometimes of course navigation lags a little, so it would be nice to see the name of the roads on screen. It does not show the names of random streets around you on the map, nor the name of the street you are supposed to turn onto next, and also not the street you are currently on. No street names, just an animation to follow. I really just like the Nyon for how it looks, the Intuvia works fine but it is such a simple display on a bike that has so much more to offer (not to mention it looks high tech).

The Nyon display does take a few extra seconds to load up, and sometimes restarts during a ride (not often). The good thing though is that the power assist works from the second you hit the power button, even though the display is loading. And when the Nyon restarts mid-ride for no reason, the assist never stops, so really doesn't bother me. One other thing is that the Nyon does not allow me to turn on the High Beam of my Supernova M99 Pro. The Intuvia light button worked for the high beam and also for turning it on during the day, but with the Nyon connected, the headlight is completely independent. It won't turn on when the sun is out, and won't turn off at night nor turn the high beam on, the light button is useless even though the light icon appears when I click it. Perhaps I need it to be changed to switchable from a shop, I have not checked yet. Worst case scenario I will have to attach the high beam button that came with the light, but it will not reach my handlebars since the light is mounted on the fork crown. I like it better there, the lighting is perfect and cars can see my lights better in their mirrors because it is at the same level as car headlights. I will have to epoxy the button onto the actualy light or something lol.

Hugh
7 months ago

I have decided to use the brakes and electrics on my Bionx 500 equipped EVO road bike and build a 3 wheeled electric recumbent trike. I bought the plans, got the steel tube and have started the project. The style is called a tadploe trike which means the 2 wheels are in front and 1 wheel in back It is called the Warrior and i got the plans from a site called Atomic Zombie. The frame is made from 1/16" or 16 gauge 1 1/2" square tubing. You need a few parts from discarded bikes. The headsets from 3 old bikes are cut down and used in the steering assembly. A bottom bracket from one bike is also used. After i bought the plans there was the annual police bicycle auction where stolen and not claimed bikes are auctioned off. It just happens to be less than a block from my home. So i picked up 3 old bikes for $20 apiece. A grinder with cut wheels and a flap disc was used to cut them up and polish the pieces i needed. I also have a small 110 volt welder which is more the sufficient for the job. The BionX wheel is 28" in diameter and will be used as the rear drive unit. The EVO has 2 180 mm Tektro disc rotors which fit the front wheels. The front wheels were the most expensive components so far. You need 20" rims BMX style rims so I used my LBS and ordered 2 20mm disc ready hubs, 2 double wall 36 spoke 20" rims and had them lace the wheels up. Two 6" long 5/8th" fine thread bolts will be the front axles, those needed some 5/8ths" bronze bushings and one wrap of .010 shim to make them fit the 20mm hubs nice and snug. So far I have the main part of the frame built, the wheels all ready and will be making the front arms that hold the wheels and steering. It is a step by step process. The reason for this build is one - comfort and two- i like building things and 3 - bikes, in particular electric bikes are great.

1/3
Drumulac
7 months ago

So, Rohloff Delite GX HS it was. I reached out to Chris Nolte of Propel and (at my prodding) he was kind enough to offer a modest discount on his floor model, but with the proviso that I had to wait for him to take delivery of another one before he sent the demo to me. Fair enough. Chris was good to his word re: estimated delivery time. Three weeks passed and sure enough, he got the new demo in and made arrangements to have the bike brought to my office on a Sunday afternoon (I live in a small city an hour or so north of NYC). Nice of him to go out of the way and offer to deliver as I had some personal things going on that would have kept me from picking it up within the next week or so.

First impressions: Sweet! Only 22 demo miles on the odometer. I already had a few alterations and additions in mind (guess that is the male version of "accessorizing") , but the essential core was all there - substantial frame, nice components, obviously well thought out, maybe a bit over-engineered - if that is even possible. Being purpose built exclusively as an e-bike, nothing about it has that "aftermarket-afterthought" feel. Solid as can be. No pretensions of being anything but a steady road warrior, capable of taking hard knocks and shrugging off the usual daily insults from the two ton motorized behemoths one encounters on the daily commute. Yeah, kind of a motorcycle feel, but still very much a vehicle that requires human input to motivate. Pretty heavy, but I had spent a lot of time in another life piloting touring bikes loaded down with four panniers and 50-69 additional lbs of gear, so I knew I wouldn't be phased by the weight that the two batteries and Bosch motor entailed. This thing knows it's purpose: built to bull through most stuff, on or off road, without the rider wondering if something is going to crack, snap off, or otherwise make things unpleasant.

As things go, the first week that I had it turned out to be nasty weather-wise. Record low temps, mixed precipitation. I think I clicked maybe 15 miles total over the over the first few days. On the first nice day, the following Sunday, I put 30 + miles on it. Super happy with it. Went on road and on trail. The brakes, suspension, beefy 27.5" tires, and power package all work well together. It's not a "pocket rocket", as we used to refer to certain motorcycles way back when, but the whole package works as advertised. I am liking it a lot. The Rohloff gives it an awesome low range, though I would like to get a bit more headroom at high speed ie. have pedal input over 30 mph. I did get the bike over 40 mph, but that was going down a big hill with inertia being the only motivator. In day to day riding, that really isn't a factor and I guess I could always put a smaller cog on the Rohloff at some point (but probably won't). At high speed, I had total confidence and the suspension ably handled a surprise pothole around 35 mph. Why potholes in NY in the spring should be a surprise, I don't know, but it was a substantial one nonetheless and the bike pretty much took it in stride. Power assist is just about right. At first you find yourself obsessing over the (4) available ranges, but I find myself pretty much either running it on tour or turbo mode. You definitely know that all those micro adjustments for shifting and human pedal effort are going on in the Bosch brain, but for the most part it just does that job well and it works rather seamlessly. After the first 100 or so miles, I was over any second thoughts about not having gotten a "throttle" type e-assist or opting for more power. Despite the added weight of the electric assist components, the pedal effort vs. a non-electric bike is reduced by maybe 50%, Works for me. The Intuvia controller is pretty straight forward. Almost like a typical bike computer but with power functions added. It took some getting used to not having the wealth of detailed data that the Cycle Analyst produces on my EcoSpeed trike setup, but simplicity is a good thing too. I am curious, Matt, how your Nyon is working out for you.

Time to start using the bike on a daily commuting basis. And then a few hiccups occur . . .

paula Havens
4 weeks ago

Do these trikes fold for transportation or if you stop at hotels when traveling.

wessonjoe
5 months ago

- is that style of steering better or worse than some others? - :).

Jimmy The Pirate
6 months ago

i built one of these custom. (bought the bike then modified to electric) you get way less resistance in the pedaling if the bottom chain tube is below the steering rod. also, im over 6 ft tall, although the crankpost is in fact adjustable, if my seat were in your seats position, it would endo on a sudden stop. i have the bottom seat bracket (the quick release)about 6 to 10 inches further back. im almost at 1200 miles since the build. our local shop uses Shimano for powertrain on (chainrings, brake and shifter kits, derailleurs etc)sun ecos, works beautifully pedaling or throttling or both. 500w hub, 36v 12ah li-ion battery. average of 17.2 mph for 25-30 miles depending on conditions. i will mention, the promax stock brakes have a defective caliper that sun acknowledges, i wrecked them rapidly because of it, i recommend the bb5 or bb7 mechanical disc brakes, they work awesome and arent terribly pricey, and my bb5s came with the rotors included in the boxes. im digging alot of your conversions, hopefully my recommendations are useful to you. thanks for the video and the detail.

Lysle Basinger
6 months ago

Why not put the battery lower under the seat?

Hassan Bazel
8 months ago

خیلی عالیه ارزوی چنین چرخی رادارم توریست شصدو شش ساله ام از ایران

ravenrg84
9 months ago

this + solar panels roof = my dream bike

ic3cold87
9 months ago

i want to get this for my wife who is disabled with no use of her legs. would the company maybe help put a platform or something for her legs to rest on for an extra cost?

George Herman
9 months ago

Are those the fattest tires that can be installed on the trike? Also on your web site you have the seat height listed at 17"-18". Is that an adjustment of 1"? Is it possible to adjust it maybe 1 to 2" higher than 18"?

R D
10 months ago

Very cool value for money ..... Without lights take care bro 👍🏻🇨🇦

Robert Heifner
10 months ago

where could I get my hands on one of those batteries and rack mounts?

Tom Thumb
11 months ago

Personally I like my Terra Trike with a Magic Pie conversion. My unit lets you use the motor without any pedaling at all. I also have 24 speeds. I got my trike because I was having balance problems and with a trike I could ride instead of giving up the Electric Bike world of riding. I do have to admit I have more money invested because the trike itself is a 24 speed.

As always a good review from EBR.

Brent and Rosemary Kirby Kirby
11 months ago

This unit also has a throttle so it can be ridden without pedaling as well.

Jessa Phillips
11 months ago

I had a great idea for how to make a long range/ unlimited range solar bike. Basically you would need an e-bike with adjustable assistance to run in eco mode, two batteries that you can switch from one to the other, and a solar array, both on the bike (between the downtube and the top tube on the sides, and on a tow behind trailer. You would have to figure out the wiring, but the idea is ride in eco mode on one battery while the other one is being solar charged, then swap out. At the very least it should give you a bike that will go hundreds of miles with electric assistance, if not a theoretically infinite range

ravenrg84
9 months ago

Jessa Phillips look for the sun trip, there are seversl solar ebikes prototypes, im building one this summer

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

That's awesome! You've got some great ideas Jessa. Recently a young man from India created a solar powered ebike and contacted me about a book he was publishing. I interviewed him and made a post about it (including pictures). Check it out here for more cool ideas: https://electricbikereview.com/guides/tips-for-ebike-trekking-and-touring/

Jessa Phillips
11 months ago

I was thinking about something and was hoping to get your input. What do you think about the Tour de France or some of these other major cycling races having an ebike support class race specifically for amateurs to get into the sport? I think that would be great to get more people into bicycle racing

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

That's a neat idea Jessa! There are many people who enjoy cycling and the fun of making new friends at events... like 5k runs. Perhaps an open or ebike specific ride would be more accessible for people like this. I know I'd be much more open to it than a hard core race :)

Peter Kenyon
11 months ago

Why are Americans so obsessed with throttle over pedal assist and power over economy of movement that comes with a good pedal assist system. The focus on how fast you can go seems to be looking at re-inventing the car or motor bike. I have used a 250 watt pedal assist that, though cuts out at 25 kilometres/hour, allows me to comfortably pedal at 25 kph assisted by the motor. This is my car replacement and I love it. I do not feel the need to have the bicycle get up to 40 kph with a throttle. I had a moped that did that.

Richard Burnett
9 months ago

Peter Kenyon I'm from Scotland and I like going fast with normal pedal power being able to go faster with a motor seems fun too plus if you are commuting 20 miles and tired from a long day at work it can be a God send. :)

Peter Kenyon
11 months ago

I found this post on my WP site (2 Tyred 4 Fun) which I wrote not long after purchasing my e-bike. Thought you might like a read - http://wp.me/p3CUsa-3h

Peter Kenyon
11 months ago

I should say "Gidday" as I live in Aussie Land. I have been following your videos for a couple of years now and have enjoyed them all, so keep up the good work. I've been riding a pedalec for about three years now and it has replaced the moped I used to ride. Wouldn't go back to a non-peddalec as it is too hard on my knees and the hills are too steep (Ferny Hills, Brisbane). I like the 25kph restriction as it means I am able to work myself if I want to go faster, but after riding for thirty five years I am happy to stick to the 25 limit with the motor assist. To be honest I usually only engage the motor on the hills and when I need a recovery break. I tend to use the motor like extra gears on a bike, so my range on a full charge (hub motor with 7 speed on a 20 inch) is around 100 kilometres (not pushing it) at smell the roses speed. Anyway, thanks for writing and if you ever find yourself in the land Down Under I'll be happy to show you around.

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Hey Peter! Where are you from? I was born and raised in the US and have discovered that in many areas here the distance between home and any of the stores or work or school can be quiet far. This might be the cause of high-speed obsession. Maybe it's also a cultural thing with hot rods and race cars being popular here. I like that the Sun Seeker conversions (like this one here) can be set to go slower if you want. I'd rather have choice to go fast than not... even if I skip it, maybe someone else will really value it. We're not super fond of laws and regulations in the US... There's this attitude of "leave me be" which can result in some accidents and harm but also innovation and a sense of individualism. Hope this helps shed some light :)

Seb K
11 months ago

What is the point of an Ebike going so fast you can't pedal ?!!!

Seb K
11 months ago

Unfortunately here in the UK we are prohibited by the law and are only allowed up to 250W which is pathetic. There are some 'vigilantes' out there who modify their machines to over 1000W but in London aka big brother you will get caught .

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

PURE FUN! Actually, you have a good point there... I think this bike maxes out closer to 26 mph which is achievable with the drivetrain, you just pedal at a higher rate at those top speeds. You can also swap out the chainring at the front to have more teeth if you spend the majority of your time riding fast or even swap the cassette

mtlnascarfan
11 months ago

Bottles behind the rider are useless.
I would mount it up front between my legs.
I'd also find a way to have both front brakes run off the left lever and have the rear one run off the right.
Other than that, this is seriously on my list of things to buy this year. Simplistic style and great affordability.

ZaC kWinz
3 weeks ago

mtlnascarfan↪The bottle racks behind the seat are great.. At a red light it makes for a fast swap when your front is empty.. It can also ne used for accessories like pumps that have the same mounting option.. Better to have them than not

Brent and Rosemary Kirby Kirby
11 months ago

The trike also has bottle mounts on the handlebars.

mtlnascarfan
11 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com
If leaking is a potential issue, then maybe mount it to one of (or both of) the vertical posts for the handle bars? I'm sure there would be a workaround for it.

As for using a camelback, I can'rt see them as being very comfortable when seated on this bike with a seatback. You'd be leaning back on it, thus warming the fluid with your body heat, no?

It's a shame they don't deliver to Canada.

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Thanks for your feedback! I think this trike skipped having a rear brake at all but I'm sure one could be added with a bit of inginuity. The bottle idea is good but sometimes horizontally mounted cages let your bottle leak. I tend to use a camelbak and now they have waist packs which could be attached to the seat and sit right behind you (with the straw coming up to sip whenever you want)

NovaColonel
11 months ago

Once again great review and hope your voice gets better soon, but why did you have to film next to the shield generator? This humming is really dominant.

NovaColonel
11 months ago

Simply the fact that you perform a post production on your already glorious videos excuses pretty much anything. The epic smiley mulitplies this effect.
Also, my stupid ex-boss had my electric bike stolen from him, and I sold my car, so there's a new ride to be bought very soon :-D (not that you'd wanted to know, but hey)

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Yeah... sorry about that! I try to film each video in a different spot as I ride around. In this case there was a motor or something going in the background?! I didn't realize at the time because I was under the weather and I didn't want to remove the hum and make the speaking sound weird in post production so... I just left it ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

George Herman
11 months ago

Yes I really like this trike. Price is right. The only thing I would prefer is a twist throttle instead of a flip throttle. I wonder if that is a option?

George Herman
11 months ago

Thank you.

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Hey George! The folks at Electric Bike Technologies seemed very open to customizing and I bet the twist throttle wouldn't cost much extra to do. It seems like their kits are more open and thus, would be able to interface with a variety of parts. This company contains E-BikeKit and ElectricTrike.com, just reach out and you might even reach the founder, Jason :)

Carl McDonald
11 months ago

Nice

Tom Hammen
10 months ago

ElectricBikeReviewn.com

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

NICE XD

Cody196
11 months ago

hey court is there a way i can show you a video review of my bike and how its coming along so far?

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Sure, just link it here or email me through the website: https://electricbikereview.com/contact/