Vintage Electric Cafe Review

Vintage Electric Cafe Electric Bike Review
Vintage Electric Cafe
Vintage Electric Cafe Shimano Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Vintage Electric Cafe Paint Matched Chain Cover Stylized Platform Pedals
Vintage Electric Cafe Premium Lcd Display And Bell
Vintage Electric Cafe Shimano Slx Trigger Shifters Velo Stitched Leather Grips
Vintage Electric Cafe Integrated Supernova E3 E Bike V6s Headlight
Vintage Electric Cafe Custom Removable Battery 48 Volt
Vintage Electric Cafe Aluminum Alloy Paint Matched Fenders Center Kickstand
Vintage Electric Cafe Integrated Supernova E3 Rear Lights
Vintage Electric Cafe Optional Custom Alloy Rear Rack
Vintage Electric Cafe Skyline Bronze Color
Vintage Electric Cafe Golden Gate Red Color
Vintage Electric Cafe Ebike Battery Power Pin
Vintage Electric Cafe Custom Removable Battery Pack
Vintage Electric Cafe 6 Amp Ebike Fast Charger
Vintage Electric Cafe 3 Lb E Bike Battery Charger
Vintage Electric Cafe Skyline Bronze Ebike
Vintage Electric Cafe Electric Bike Review
Vintage Electric Cafe
Vintage Electric Cafe Shimano Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Vintage Electric Cafe Paint Matched Chain Cover Stylized Platform Pedals
Vintage Electric Cafe Premium Lcd Display And Bell
Vintage Electric Cafe Shimano Slx Trigger Shifters Velo Stitched Leather Grips
Vintage Electric Cafe Integrated Supernova E3 E Bike V6s Headlight
Vintage Electric Cafe Custom Removable Battery 48 Volt
Vintage Electric Cafe Aluminum Alloy Paint Matched Fenders Center Kickstand
Vintage Electric Cafe Integrated Supernova E3 Rear Lights
Vintage Electric Cafe Optional Custom Alloy Rear Rack
Vintage Electric Cafe Skyline Bronze Color
Vintage Electric Cafe Golden Gate Red Color
Vintage Electric Cafe Ebike Battery Power Pin
Vintage Electric Cafe Custom Removable Battery Pack
Vintage Electric Cafe 6 Amp Ebike Fast Charger
Vintage Electric Cafe 3 Lb E Bike Battery Charger
Vintage Electric Cafe Skyline Bronze Ebike

Summary

  • One of the most powerful, fastest accelerating, quietest, and beautifully designed electric bikes I have ever tested, premium drivetrain and custom battery
  • Surprisingly lightweight and well balanced front to rear considering the large 750 watt hub motor, alloy fenders, chain cover, oversized head tube, and thick axles
  • So much attention to detail here, the upgraded bell, matched saddle and grips, stylized chain ring and pedals, and premium integrated lights by Supernova
  • The display is not removable and the kickstand can get in the way of the left crank arm when walking the bike around, the motor produces some cogging drag

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Vintage Electric

Model:

Cafe

Price:

$3,995 (Up to $6,845 with Accessories and Upgrades)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Cruising

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Australia, Europe, Worldwide

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56.2 lbs (25.49 kg)

Battery Weight:

9.4 lbs (4.26 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.5 lbs (3.4 kg)

Frame Material:

Chromoly Steel

Frame Sizes:

17.5 in (44.45 cm)18.5 in (46.99 cm)19.5 in (49.53 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium 18.5 Measurements: 18.75" Seat Tube, 22.5" Reach, 31.5" Stand Over Height, 28" Width, 72" Length, Small 17.5 Measurements: 17.75" Seat Tube, 31" Stand Over Height

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Skyline Bronze, Golden Gate Red

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 100 mm Hub Length, 15 mm Maxle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub, 12 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore XT Derailleur with Shadow Plus Clutch, 11-34T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano SLX Two-Way Triggers on Right

Cranks:

FSA CK-633 F. Gimondi, Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, F. Gimondi 44 Tooth Chainring

Pedals:

MKS, Aluminum Alloy Platform, Silver

Headset:

Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2" Sealed Cartridge

Stem:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy, 70 mm Length, 7° Angle, 31.8" Clamp Diameter

Handlebar:

Low-Rise, Aluminum Alloy, 700 mm Length

Brake Details:

Shimano Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor, 160 mm Rear Rotor, Three-Finger Shimano Levers with Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Velo, Stitched Leather with Lockers

Saddle:

Velo, Leather, Perforated Dual Density with Integrated Supernova LED Light

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, Color Matched, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, Hand Laced and Tensioned, 14 Gauge Front, 13 Gauge Rear, Adjustable Nipples, Silver

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Fat Frank, 28" x 2.0"

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

30 to 65 PSI, Reflective Sidewall Stripe, Available in Black or Creme Colors, Active Line K-Guard Puncture Protection

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Premium Flick Bell, Greenfield Center Mount Kickstand, Aluminum Alloy Paint-Matched Fenders, Aluminum Alloy Paint-Matched Chain Cover, Integrated Supernova E3 E-Bike V6S Headlight (165 Lumens), Integrated Supernova E3 Rear Light, Optional Custom Aluminum Alloy Rear Rack ($165), Optional Brooks Panniers

Other:

Removable Pin-Locking Downtube Mounted Battery Pack, 3 lb High Speed 6 Amp Charger with Rubber Cap, Maximum Weight 300 lbs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Custom TDCM

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

70 Newton meters

Battery Voltage:

48 volts (35 Amps Continuous)

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

2 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit, LCD Display, (Hold Up for Lights, Hold Down for Walk Mode, Hold Up and Down for Settings)

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Speed, Avg Speed, Max Speed, Odometer, Trip, Trip Time, Amp Output Chart, Assist Level (0-5)

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist (Torque Sensing Bottom Bracket, Left and Right Side)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Vintage Electric Bikes is known for their high-powered, high-speed, motorcycle inspired e-bikes. The founder, Andrew Davidge, has been widely recognized for his unique design approach and was even invited onto an episode of Jay Leno’s garage. Since 2013, his company has been refining and expanding their lineup, and in 2017 they launched the Cafe. It’s their first pedal assist only model, and it complies with the Class 3 definition of an electric bicycle in the United States; to be used on most public streets without a license or insurance. By comparison, their slightly more expensive Cruz and Tracker models do have throttles, can exceed 28 mph with the addition of a special off-road key and are classified as Class 2 throttle powered ebikes or a moped level off-road recreational product depending on how they are setup. The one thing they all have in common is a beautiful aesthetic. They are all powerful but operate super quiet and smooth, I was told that the motor controller uses a pure sine wave converter to make this possible and is even optimized for reduced cogging drag when powered on. The Cafe relies on a torque sensor to respond immediately to rider pedal input and balances fast acceleration against strong hydraulic disc brake action from Shimano. The front rotor is a larger 180 mm size and both levers are three-finger with adjustable reach to fit different hand sizes and accommodate gloves. The drivetrain on this bike offers ten gears for comfortable pedaling at a wide range of speeds and uses an upgraded derailleur with one-way clutch to keep the chain tight and reduce bounce and noise (just press the grey lever in the up position to activate it).

At just under $4k, The Vintage Electric Cafe it’s not the most affordable electric bike on the block, but it definitely isn’t the most expensive either, and it doesn’t skimp on quality or support. The company offers a two-year comprehensive warranty on all of their bikes and has backed that up with software updates and out-of-warranty upgrades on many of their earliest products. These bikes are almost like art to me, with premium leather touch points, high-end integrated lighting systems that match the other silver hardware parts, and a custom battery design. The battery pack is very unique and not only looks great but also keeps weight low and center on the frame for optimal balance, is easy to remove, and can still be secured to the bike if you’re leaving it parked at a public rack by removing a twist-in pin as shown in the video review above. There are a few trade-offs worth noting however, such as the mid-mounted kickstand that gets in the way of the left crank arm when rolling the bike around, minimal suspension, a bulky heavy battery charger, and the lack of bottle cage bosses… but Vintage Electric does sell a stylized rear rack for hauling cargo, the charger is faster than most others I have seen, and the two-inch Schwalbe tires combine with the Steel frame to reduce some vibration and jar at speed. This bike feels solid and comfortable on smooth terrain and none of the parts rattled around. I absolutely love the color-matched fenders and chain guard, the sturdy thru-axle, thicker spokes, and tapered head tube for strength and stability. The bike is available in three frame sizes and two beautiful color choices so friends and partners can enjoy it together… but the frames only come in high-step which might be a little tall for those with shorter inseams.

I was told that the Cafe model was inspired by vintage motorcycles, the cafe racer in particular, but I don’t really know much about classic motorcycles. Perhaps it’s mostly in the name because to me they look different, but it’s a cool theme to go with. The motor chosen for this bike is produced by TDCM and delivers 750 watts nominal with up to 70 Newton meters of torque. That’s a lot for an electric bike! Some of the most powerful and efficient mid-drive motors these days put out 60 Nm to 80 Nm and have a big mechanical advantage if you shift gears thoughtfully, so I went into the ride test a little skeptical. Once I gave it a try, especially in the highest Level 5 assist, I was blown away. They really got the sensors configured right to feel natural and the power is there. I found myself mostly riding in assist level 3 and still having a blast. The motor is a bit larger than geared designs and weighs a bit more at ~7 lbs vs. ~5 lbs or so, but it’s likely more durable because there aren’t moving parts inside, just magnets glued to the inside perimeter of the hub and electromagnetic staters in the center. One trade-off with this design is electromagnetic drag called cogging when the motor is not being powered. You can see the rear wheel spin down faster during part of the video review where I talk about cogging. I asked Andrew about this because the upside to cogging is power regeneration, but the Cafe does not have a regen button the way that some of the other models do. Perhaps a bit of electricity is recaptured but they really focused on reducing cogging by sending a small amount of power through to the motor whenever the bike is on so that it would not produce drag. In practice, it’s not a big issue, but I try to be fair and complete in my descriptions of these bikes and want to weigh the differences between each drive system type. This motor is powerful, sturdy, quiet, and won’t interfere with the chain, cassette and derailleur the way that mid-motors sometimes can.

Powering the bike is an above-average sized Lithium-ion battery pack. It offers 48 volts and 10.4 amp hours for just under half a kilowatt of juice. I was told that you can order a second pack for extended range but at 9.4 lbs and with such a unique form factor, I think I’d just bring the charger along if I needed to ride further. This battery sits low and center on the frame, it can be charged on or off the bike without any sorts of dongle adapters, and the leather handle on top is comfortable to use. The battery slides down onto a track and clicks in place. I didn’t hear it rattling at all during my rides and I love how the little pin locking mechanism works (and looks), it reminds me of a grenade or something. If you pull the pin out (or rather, twist it out) the battery cannot be taken off of the bike. This pin is small and light, it’d be easy to clip onto a keychain to take with you into work or a restaurant and most people probably wouldn’t even know how to remove the battery if you did leave it screwed in. My only complaint about the battery design has to do with the charging interface which is not magnetic like some of the other models and has a rubber cap which could easily be lost. I asked why they chose a non-magnetic charger connector (because that pulls out easily if tripped over and has always seemed like the nicest option to me) and was told that it slowly accumulates iron filings and gets dirty in garage environments. I was also told that their future chargers will be 5 Amp vs. the 6 Amp on show in the images and video, and that it would be slightly more compact and maybe a bit lighter too. So to reiterate, the Bosch Powerpack 500 battery that offers roughly the same capacity as the Vintage Cafe pack only weighs ~5.7 lbs and is physically smaller… but it doesn’t look as cool, probably isn’t as rugged, and is used on some competing products like the Electra Townie Commute Go! which weighs more than this bike overall. Interesting, right?

Operating this bike is intuitive and fast. Once the battery has been charged and is properly secured to the downtube, just hold the rubber M button near the top of the display panel. This turns it on and also allows you to cycle through menus. There are two more buttons below the display that allow you to arrow up for more power or down for less. You can even ride without any assist by using level zero, and this is handy for running the lights if you nearly deplete the pack or just want some exercise or slower riding. The display is pretty, just like the flick bell, silver bar, locking leather grips, and all of the rest of the hardware… but it is not removable. If you leave it out in the sun and rain, it should hold up pretty well, but it might get scratched or worn out over time at public bike racks. This is not uncommon, most ebike displays are not removable, much to my disappointment. But, just like the threaded motor connector, brake lines, and controller cable, it’s likely easy to replace and service. That’s because Vintage Electric did not route their cables and brake lines internally through the frame. This might have been a strength decision (the bike is rated at 300 lbs vs. most others at just 250 lbs) or maybe it was purely for accessibility and tuning access. Whatever the reason, I feel that the cables still stay out of the way and look good. I like that they rand them below the downtube vs. on the top tube. This is a bike that could easily hang from many car and public transport racks. You won’t snag the cables while riding or lifting the frame and that’s great.

In short, The Cafe electric bike is a thing of beauty. It rides well and blends in with non-electric bikes because the motor is painted black and the battery is part of the design. It stands out, but in a good way. I don’t mean to gush too much here, I’ve tried to be fair about the trade-offs (cost, high-step only, limited suspension) but it’s delightful to see something different and good in the space. It’s not just another decent affordable bike. It’s a reasonably priced beautiful bike with a unique drive system that performs above expectations. I love this thing to be honest, and I would probably keep it mostly as-is with the exception of a 27.2 mm silver Suntour NCX suspension post to ease my back and neck. I love riding fast but appreciate how stable this bike is with the wider tires. I love that the tires are lined with puncture protection to minimize flat fixes (especially because the rear wheel with the hub motor will take more time and effort to service. The front wheel has a quick release maxle and the rear rack is option but has two levels of mounting options. If you do go the way of swapping the seat post, just be careful with the power cable leading to the custom-integrated rear light. I think you might even have to unplug it if you swap the post (unless it has a hole at the top) and this is where the rear rack upgrade with a separate aftermarket light could come in handy. Vintage Electric sells through a network of dealers across the USA, has an beautiful factory store showroom in Santa Clara, California (near San Jose), and I believe they also sell online direct with a range of customization options. Big thanks to the Vintage Electric Bikes team for partnering with me on this review and having both colors on hand to film. We had a blast cruising around the city streets and a closed parking lot track for the video.

Pros:

  • This is the first Vintage Electric bike model that’s being sold in three frame sizes, this allows riders to mount and pedal more comfortably… unlike some of their other ebikes, it does not have a throttle so optimal leg extension and comfort and ergonomics are more important
  • The frame is made from chromoly Steel and can support up to 300 lbs vs. a lot of other electric bikes that max out around 250 lbs, Steel is often appreciated in the world of bicycles for being comfortable and offering vibration dampening qualities
  • The wheels have 36 spokes for added strength (and the rear spokes are thicker 13 gauge), the head tube is tapered vs. straight, and both axles are thicker than average, the rear is 12 mm and the front is 15 mm with a Maxle style thru-axle (most bicycles use 9 mm skewers)
  • Two gorgeous color choices, beautiful silver hardware, and matching leather grips, saddle, and battery handle make this one of the prettiest electric bikes I have tested, even the optional retro styled rear rack is something special and unique
  • Safety is a big deal if you commute during peak hours and have to deal with dim mornings and dark evenings so I love that the Vintage Cafe has reflective tires and premium integrated lights from Supernova, they won’t get damaged or stolen as easily as aftermarket lights, nor will they run out of batteries and require more screwing around
  • The fenders and chain cover are made from Aluminum which means they are sturdy, relatively quiet, and won’t rust but I also love how beautiful they are, both hardware components are paint matched to the frame, they will keep you clean in varied conditions which is important if you rely on the bike for commuting
  • Given how sturdy the bike looks and feels, I was surprised that it only weighs about 56 lbs, many comparable e-bikes weigh near 60 lbs, it also stops well thanks to hydraulic disc brakes which have adjustable levers to make it easy for people with smaller hands or those wearing thick gloves
  • The bike is well balanced front to rear, notice how low the battery box is on the frame vs. being built into a rear rack or even connected to the higher portion of the downtube
  • Both the motor and battery are geared for power, the 48 volt pack sends higher amps and is more efficient than a 36 volt pack, the 750 watt nominal motor is rated at 70 Newton meters peak output which is incredible for a hub motor design… and it really does feel strong
  • There’s no suspension fork or seat post suspension here stock but the dual-density saddle, padded grips, and high-volume tires feel good, at 28″ diameter, the wheels have a lower attack angle and coast very efficiently once up to speed, they even have Active Line K-Guard puncture protection to help reduce flats
  • Great drivetrain, Shimano Deore XT with Shadow Plus one-way clutch to help tighten the chain and reduce bouncing, this derailleur setup is commonly found on mountain bike models but works well on speed pedelecs like the Vintage Cafe
  • I noticed that the motor power cable is routed along the left side of the bike and doesn’t stick out very far where it might be snagged or bent, it’s a great design with a thicker gauge of wire and a threaded connector point to keep water and dust out, overall just more refined than a lot of other hub motor driven electric bicycles I have seen
  • The battery pack is fairly easy to take off of the bike, it feels sturdy and I really appreciate the integrated handle because it does weigh ~10 lbs, it’s worth removing if you plan on lifting the bike up steps or storing it on a bike rack
  • Pedal assist is activated through a torque sensor on this e-bike and to me it felt spot on, the power is delivered naturally so it ramps up smooth but it’s not at all weak, and the thing is just so quiet

Cons:

  • The display panel looks beautiful, is easy to reach, and navigate while riding but it is not removable which could lead to scratches and weather-wear if parked regularly in public places or outdoors
  • Gearless hub motors are revered for being reliable and quiet, this one is particularly powerful, but it does suffer from a touch of drag due to cogging (magnets repelling the stater when the bike is turned off and just coasting), it’s a minor gripe and at least Vintage has tried to minimize its affects when the bike is powered on
  • Most of the other Vintage Electric models I have reviewed use the magnetic EnergyBus charger standard but the Cafe uses a pressure-fit plug that might not get as dirty but could get bent or caught if tripped over, just be careful with it and also keep an eye on the rubber charge port cover because it doesn’t have a leash or other connector to keep it with the bike and would be easy to lose
  • Kickstands are important and the stock design here works well to balance the bike but because it’s positioned near the bottom bracket, it does get in the way of the left crank arm if you back the bike up with it in the down position
  • The bike looks great, and I almost didn’t notice the wires at first, but they are tacked beneath the downtube vs. being internally routed through the frame, this is a minor aesthetic gripe and might make the frame stronger, cheaper, or easier to service
  • Despite being built in three unique frame sizes, the standover height is pretty high because they are all cantilever high-step designs, the small is still around 31 inches which might be too high for petite riders or those with hip or knee sensitivity
  • The battery charger is bulkier and heavier than average… this means it can be more of a hassle to lug around, but the upside is that it is very fast at 6 Amps vs. most others which just send 2 Amps, I was told that some future models will come with a more compact 5 Amp charger which sounds just right
  • Some of the other electric bikes from Vintage have a regen button that acts as an engine brake and converts kinetic energy into electricity to slowly fill the battery but the Cafe does not have this
  • Minor gripe but the bicycle frame does not have bottle cage bosses to add an accessory, you might have to get a disc brake compatible rack (or their official rack) and consider a handlebar cup holder adapter like this
  • Minor gripe here but because the saddle has an integrated light, there’s a wire that comes up through the seat post and makes swapping the rigid Aluminum post out for a suspension post more difficult, just keep this in mind and be careful with the parts (disconnect the power cable leading the to seat light before pulling the seat post out), if you do purchase a seat post suspension, keep in mind it will raise the minimum saddle height by a few inches, the SR Suntour NCX is relatively short and comes in silver which would match beautifully

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Vintage Electric Bikes Reviews

Vintage Electric Scrambler Review

  • MSRP: $6,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A motorcycle-inspired electric bike with two drive modes, 20 mph stock and optional 36 mph "Race Mode" for use on private property or off-highway vehicle (OHV) trails, one frame size and color. Powerful gearless hub motor is durable and near-silent, pure sine wave controller delivers fluid power…...

Vintage Electric Bikes Cruz Review

  • MSRP: $4,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A robust, high powered and potentially high-speed cruiser style electric bike styled to resemble the board track racing bikes of the 1920's, optional Race Mode pin for 30+ mph. built on a custom steel frame that dampens vibration but flexes more than the Tracker…...

Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $4,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A powerful, high speed, heavier electric bike akin to a moped with limiter settings for around town use (750 watt, 20 mph in Street Mode) and optional Race Mode (2800 watt 36 mph). Popular as a pit bike on race courses, used frequently in Indonesia because it stays…...

Vintage Electric Bikes E-Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $4,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A beautifully styled single speed electric bike that functions like a moped and can reach ~36 mph with the optional "Race Edition" upgrade or function as street legal at the default 20 mph. Good weight distribution and heat dissipation thanks to a custom made aluminum alloy battery box…...


Larry
4 months ago

I actually felt like the exposed wiring on this particular bike wasn’t just for convenience and cost, but was consistent with the cafe racer aesthetic. Cafe racers are classically small displacement bikes hot rodded for speed by young amateurs. While a certain amount of individual aesthetic polish is characteristic of these projects, sacrificing all other interests for speed occasionally meant leaving engine details exposed, and having random wiring all over the underside.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Larry, it’s interesting to learn more about the history of cafe racers, I like how you described them as “hot rodded” by young amateurs… very cool. I bet I would have loved that scene if I was a young man during the 1960’s in Britain. I have been enjoying the Wikipedia page about Café racers and appreciate your perspective on the wiring aesthetic.

Reply
JS
4 months ago

Did you like this better than Bulls Lacuba E45 or Haibike Xduro Trekking (X). I know they are way different bikes. I’m interested in S Pedelec for an urban commute (30 miles RT, can charge at work…)

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hmm… I was surprised by how well the Vintage Cafe performed, how quiet it was, and that it could be used for the same sort of application as the Lacuba E45 or Trekking models. I came into this review thinking of the Cafe as more of a pretty cruiser than a viable commuting option… but I really think it is, the feel is a bit different and there is no suspension fork but the feel is good.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

rozza
3 weeks ago

Did you find a dealer in the end? I visited the fullycharged shop next to London Bridge station with the hope of trying any bike with a nuvinci + belt + bosch. They had a R&M Delite there (this was a week ago, so 15th Nov 2017, which I took for a spin. Compared to the Trek SuperCommuter 8 I'd tried elsewhere, this was in a different league. While I wasn't seeking a full suspension bike, it was very nice indeed. Very very nice lol.

There is no way I'd consider a derailleur geared ebike now!

I did try a Delite at the NEC show and the fit just didn't suit me, and didn't like the nuvinci at all. Ironically I bought a Vintage Electric Cafe from FullyCharged ..... brilliant bike and great service from FullyCharged. Did try a Trek SC8, wasn't too impressed, way overpriced compared to say Specialized .... tried a Specialized Turbo Vado which was much nicer and was tempted. But in the end fell in love with the individuality and build quality of the Cafe and rear hub drive which feels so much smoother and more natural for town work. No regrets!

Over50
2 months ago

Very interesting bike, but I feel it would be a requirement to grow a mustache in order to ride the thing :|D

I like the looks of the thing. That top chain cover is interesting. And is that some sort of immobilizing / anti-theft device on the back tire?
A handlebar moustache I take it? Yes, I believe that is a "cafe lock" that comes with the bike.

Mark Peralta
2 months ago

Hello!
i have a round trip commute of 34 miles (total). The road is mostly flat. I am looking for a fast class 3 bike that also offer offroad mode, that allows me to ride faster than 28 miles limit.

any recommendations?

thank you

With your kind of application where you ride 34 miles round trip, mostly flat road at speeds faster than 28 mph, that would require enormous energy (30+wh/mile). You will need a 1,000 watt-hour+ battery and you will need a robust hub drive capable of sustained 500+ watts without overheating (a mid drive will just shred your drive train prematurely).

You are right, the ebike that has that potential is the Crosscurrent S with the biggest battery option 1008 watt-hour (42v 21ah)

Or the Stromer with 983 wh battery.

Other ebikes have smaller batteries but they are still capable for the range but you have to slow down a little bit with average speed somewhere in the 22-24 mph to reduce your battery consumption to about 22wh/mile. Or you can bring a charger with you so you can charge up before going back home. These are the other ebike options with smaller batteries.
Magnum cruiser

Ohm

Smartmotion

Bulls outlaw E45

Easy motion Nitro

Magmun Metro plus

Vintage

These are just some of your options. Note that some ebikes will cut the power above 28 mph while others will not.
Source: https://electricbikereview.com/category/speed/

Mr. Coffee
5 months ago

What does everyone here use for a "cafe lock"?

Hiplok Z-lok http://www.hiplok.com/z-lok-zip-tie/

I like it because it is very light and very simple. It certainly wouldn't survive a thief armed with bolt cutters or even big snips. But it is reasonably priced and if you live in a low crime area and are just going to the bakery or post office it is reasonable security for your bike. Another nice thing about it is that if you creatively run it through your rear wheel and frame and choose a low-visibility color (yes, you get color choices!) it can be a bit puzzling to a bike thief what exactly is stopping the bike. Slowing down a thief is half the battle.

One downside: the lock isn't keyed, it is more like a special tool that opens the zip tie. The other downside is I have had one "key" break on me.

Even if you don't use it as a primary lock, they are still awesome for securing things like a front wheel or a bike seat. Again, slowing down a thief is half the battle.

Over50
5 months ago

...What does everyone here use for a "cafe lock"? ...
I'm using an Abus chain/combination lock for a cafe lock. My wife and I use it when riding somewhere for lunch and locking our two Terns together with us never far away. I can't recall the exact model but it is something similar to this:

https://www.abus.com/eng/Mobile-Security/Bike-Safety-and-Security/Locks/Lock-Chain-Combination/Key-Combo-1610

Abus has some light cable locks that might be easier to transport. We put the chain in a trunk bag or in the grocery basket that is mounted on my Tern. But it isn't one you would be able to wrap around the seatpost and carry on the bike.

Jayjayel
5 months ago

It looks like The Sweet Home recommends Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 (http://thesweethome.com/reviews/best-bike-lock/). But I am actually looking for I guess what would be called a "cafe lock". I'd be biking with kids, in safe suburban family friendly places, grabbing a coffee or a pizza with the kids. What does everyone here use for a "cafe lock"? The lock is basically peace of mind while I mind the kids and take our time in parks/cafes without needing to keep an eye on the bikes. Thanks and my apologies for the unpleasant news. (I don't have an e-bike, just a folding bike that will be hitched to a tagalong, so I can't just fold it and bring it indoors with me when with kids.) I thought the LiteLok would've been good for that, but it's $$$ as a visual deterrent.

Over50
5 months ago

Yikes. I guess it is really a "light lock" at least in terms of security (but really heavy for a cafe lock). So much for selling mine...

Bill A
5 months ago

I just got my Riese & Muller Cruiser Mixte HS (large frame) a couple of weeks ago. With 70 miles on the odometer, I am very happy with this bike so far. Since there are so few reviews on this bike, I am posting some of my early impressions. I will throw in some comparisons to my wife’s IZIP Zumo as this is the only other electric bike that I have experience with. Keep in mind though that the R&M Cruiser cost almost twice as much as the IZIP Zumo.

Compared to any bike that I have ridden in the past the R&M Cruiser Mixte looks big and that’s mostly due to the 28” tires. Those big Schwalbe tires, along with the suspension, smooth out the ride tremendously. Even though this is a big bike, the Mixte frame design gives me easy standover and step-over height without sacrificing stiffness. And despite looking big the bike feels just right when riding.

In addition to cruiser ergonomics and superior craftsmanship, my other priorities were the Bosch power system and the NuVinci hub. The Bosch control is smooth and feels like riding a tandem with your riding partner perfectly plugged into you brain. The Bosch power delivery matches exactly what I want with no surprises. Compared to the Currie system on the IZIP Zumo the Bosch system seems to always put up some percentage of my effort whereas the Currie system will put up 100% of the effort if you are just turning the crank, with or without any pedal pressure. Let up on the Bosch peddles and you slow down; not so on the Currie. Although the Bosch system is intuitively smooth it requires some effort all of the time. The Currie system is jumpy, but requires no effort at all to go. However, the trade off on effort and distance is the same on both systems; minimal rider effort goes minimal distance whereas maximum rider effort goes maximum distance. Also (thanks to Court’s ‘Reeee’ comments) the Bosch system is much quieter than I expected and on par with or even quieter than the Currie.

On the NuVinci, no derailer means minimal wear on the gears and chain. The prospect of lower maintenance and positive recommendations from Chris at Propel Bikes sold me on this transmission. I know it’s probably a bit heavier and a newer technology, but if the NuVinci holds up I think it will be worth it.

On flat ground or on moderate hills the Cruiser is a pure joy to ride. At 60 years old and out of shape, I can easily maintain speeds over 25 mph, but I generally dial back the power assist to maintain 20 mph. Speeds over 25mph do require a bit more effort. On a short 15 mile ride this morning, in a mix of street traffic, bike trails, University sidewalks, and hills, I averaged 17 mph without breaking a sweat.

I got this bike the day before leaving on a vacation to Yosemite, CA. Since I was planning to drive anyway, I took the Cruiser along with my wife's IZIP Zumo. After that experience, I would highly recommend the Bosch Performance CX motor over the Performance Speed if you plan to ride steep mountain roads and you’re out of shape like me. We climbed 8 to 10% roads that were a couple of miles long and I was huffing and puffing up those hills. My wife’s Zumo, with it’s 500 watt motor and a simpler control system, handled them with ease; although my wife would tell you that she’s in better shape (and lighter) than me too.

In summary, I really appreciate the fact that R&M didn’t skimp on the power system, frame, and transmission on this bike as they are all top notch. Besides a very solid construction, the beautiful fit and finish are exactly what you expect from premium German engineering and craftsmanship. And for a couple of small gripes: although the suspension is adequate, I would have liked options for a better front fork and seat post suspension that are found on the R&M Charger. Also the battery charger that comes with this bike is a 2.5 amp and not the 4.0 amp; its more compact, but takes 7 hours for a charge. On the other hand, I like the chain guard, ABUS cafe lock, brakes, and tires. I added a Busch & Muller 701 mirror that looks perfect on this bike and is a simply brilliant design that folds out of way when storing the bike or pushing the bike through a gate or doorway. I will probably upgrade the seat post suspension and maybe the peddles.

One last shout out for Propel Bikes in Brooklyn as they were super responsive, courteous and very helpful in my selection. Before ordering a bike, I emailed a couple of other bike shops on the West Coast and they didn’t respond anything like Chris at Propel Bikes. It’s clear to me that Propel Bikes is top notch bike shop and Chris Nolte manages his business with passion and care. I ordered before Court made his phenomenal visit to NY and I had to wait a crazy 12 weeks for this bike. Propel shipped the bike on the same day that they received it. And even though I was on the receiving end of R&M’s growing pains, I am very happy with the Cruiser Mixte and would repeat the purchase if I had it all to do over again.

Marleen
5 months ago

Hi there I'm new to this, let me just say amazingly explanatory and well informed forum! Really brilliant! Hats off to Court and everyone involved!

My name is Marleen, I am from The Netherlands so you could say naturally an absolute bike junkie, but more importantly in this context, an avid Electra fan!

Because my still superfit and equally Electra loving 72 yrs young ;-) mum is currently looking for a new ebike I ended up here. Main reasons for her wanting a new ebike are more stability and more safety. This partly because of some minor and major incidents that happened in the past year that sadly ended up making her (and me about her) feel less secure on her bike.

Her current ebike is a Gazelle Innergy Chamonix frameheight 49cm and she has been really very satisfied with its flawless(!) performance over the passed 6 years. Used it daily and extensively for commuting, leisure, for longer and shorter rides at home in The Low Countries but also in more hilly conditions abroad.

The only downside turned out to be the fact that with this bike she is not able to reach the ground while remaining seated in her saddle at the same time. Something that, as we recently discovered, sadly is still not possible when she tried a Gazelle in their current smallest frame height 46cm. She is 163cm btw. I also should mention that a frame height of 46 and 49cm are considered fitting and appropriate for a person of 163cm. Luckily because she also owns an ELECTRA cruiser bike she knows that there is actually a bike that does offer the possibility of having your feet flat on the ground whilst being firmly seated! Also known as Electra's 'flat foot technology'.

Another very positive aspect of the ELECTRA cruiser are its fat frank tires! The relatively smaller tires on her Gazelle can pose quite a challenge, especially with all the tramrails we Dutch happen to have in all of our city centres. They can get stuck in there pretty easily and when it has been raining, not too uncommon here, you can imagine that can happen even quicker as goes for the risk of slipping. The fat frank balloon tires just give you an instant boost of confidence for they immediately enhance your stability, on and off road, plus they act as an extra cushion protecting you from experiencing every bump in the road yourself.

So after the most recent incident, where she ended up hurting herself after toppling over (because she simply wasn't able to reach the ground quickly enough while she was still seated) we decided it was time to look for a new ebike. Preferably one with all the aforementioned benefits of her ELECTRA.
Only then did we discover ELECTRA now actually have an ebike range! Now even combined with the top end Bosch motor system. Already familiar to us because it is also used on the Urban Arrow Family ebike we use. It really is just a super neat and frankly, in our opinion, one of the best motorsystems out there for an ebike. The combination of an Electra bike with its flat foot technology and the fat frank tires combined with the top end Bosch motor just has to be the best of both worlds!

So after we narrowed our search down to the ebike collection of ELECTRA, that are all called Go! btw, we now face 'the problem' of choosing just one of the three available models. There is the already slightly older ELECTRA Townie Go! (already reviewed by Court in another great video) but now you also have the ELECTRA Townie Commute Go! And there is the ELECTRA Loft Go! Online I could, up until now, only find a short introduction of the two latest additions by ELECTRA themselves, but this consisted of a mere summing up of some of the specs.

Now luckily Court (after some serious stalking on my part ;-) has promised to do his review on (one of) the new two Go! models in the nearby future. Depending on whether and how soon he can get his hands on (one of) these bikes ofcourse.
But this would be extra nice because right now there are still some questions about the pro's and cons between these three models.

The newly added models offer hydraulic disc brakes. On paper this looks like an upgrade, but is it also an upgrade in reality? Then there is the alteration to the steer; the new models sport the so called 'café bar steer' it is less straight than the one on the original Townie so what does this mean for your actual seating position? Then there is the difference in the used tires; while the original Townie Go! Sports the famous 26 inch Fat frank balloons the newly added models seem to have less fat tires and am I right to assume they are 28 inch? And what about the differences in total weight?
These are all technical differences apart from the obvious visual differences between the various models of course and the two frame options; step over (male) and the lower step thru (female)
Plus they all come in different colours.

And some questions about the Go! series as a whole.
Like do they also offer walk assist? It is not mentioned anywhere, but I know from our Urban Arrow Family bike, that all Bosch powered ebikes provide this rather handy feature. In The Netherlands f.e. we have quite a lot of underground bike cellars not only near train stations or other public buildings but also underneath quite a lot of appartment buildings in the city. So having to push your electric bike up a pretty steep hill on a daily base is not a very nice idea. Especially when you don't travel light in the first place, or when you're a bit older. Plus the average ebike is just always a bit on the heavy side compared to a regular bike, so a little walk assistance seems like a very good idea and would be a very neat feature on the Go! series indeed!

On a more general note I'd like to add that sadly ELECTRA is, up until now, not very present in my country The Netherlands. Meaning test riding one of their ebikes here has up until now just been impossible. They currently only have one flagship store in Europe which is located in Hamburg Germany. In The Netherlands their official dealers only sell the bikes online meaning they want you to buy the bike first for only then will they order it for you and then they even refuse to take it back because 'they ordered it especially for you'. Meaning there is, up until now, no possibility to check these bikes out first or take them for a test ride prior to deciding if and what kind of model you would like to purchase.

I find this especially sad because the whole checking, trying, comparing and buying process of a bike could and should be such a nice and awesome experience in itself. It could also be such a priceless opportunity for a brand to show and sell themselves to its potential customers and to keep its fanbase happy!
I remember buying each and every bike I own exactly and with my first ELECTRA I even considered sleeping over in the garage. Ok so maybe Im a bit crazy, but just referring people to an anonymous online shop experience while you are marketing and selling a so called lifestyle bike does seem a bit odd? Or at least contradictory.

But I am an optimistic person so let's hope for some progress here and the introduction of some properly equipped ELECTRA (e)bikestores here in The Netherlands soon! For seriously not a day goes by while I'm out and about with my bike that I don't get some positive remarks on my ELECTRA wheels and let me tell you there are quite a lot of bicycles here in The Nethetlands. Just saying! Plus the potential market for safe and stable yet funky looking ebikes is pretty amazing here!

For now I am very much looking forward to watching Court his, no doubt awesome, review video on the newly added member(s) of the ELECTRA Go! Family and on discussing his findings (and those of other people who have had the opportunity to (test) ride any of these bikes and are willing to share) here further. And on informing whoever else is interested here about the further developments in this whole process. Maybe you could help us with your experiences or maybe you find yourself in a similar situation and our story could end up helping you along the way of finding your new ELECTRA ebike!

Keep on rolling ;-)
Marleen

mrgold35
6 months ago

The best lock are always the heaviest and bulky to carry. Even if you lock your bike, there is always the issue with a "crackhead" stealing the quick release front tire, seat with seatpost, rack bag, or any accessories not nailed down. I end up adjusting my security and adding additional layers to the base level security depending on the area, my distance from the bikes, and duration being unattended. I usually take my Osprey backpack when riding to remove anything worth stealing in a few seconds.

Part of the layers would be:

- check into a bluetooth and/or cell system tracker/alarm. I use Boomerang mounted to the downtube and it used the Verizon network to track on the internet, arm with smartphone, and it has a 110 dB alarm on the unit. I use Tile for my car keys; but, it is a Bluetooth system. Hard to track your bike once it gets +30 feet away with bluetooth systems.

- check homeowners/renter insurance to see if you are covered. I'm covered at $500 per incident with my USAA homeowner's policy home or away. You could also check into additional insurance just for the bike if you want a lower deductible or better coverage (like maint also).

- Register the bike with city/state law enforcement (with pics and S/N). Enter bike on national databases like National Bike Registry, Bike Index, Project529, or Bike Registry

What I like about security cables with locks are they are light, easy to use, and easy to carry. What I hate about cables are they can be defeated with one snip from a bolt cutter small enough to fit in backpack. I still have a 12 foot plastic covered security cable w/ lock because sometimes an U-bolt/chain just can't be used. Wife and I rode to Flying Star Cafe for dinner and only a tree was available to lock the bikes. The extra long cable was long enough to wrap around the tree and front/back tires (we ate outside to keep an eye on the bikes). A cable is better than nothing and I would have one on hand if only light security is needed.

From what I've read, most U-bolts or chains +14mm thick are large enough to require more time, larger bolt cutters, or loud grinder to defeat. I would check out YouTube videos on how to defeat any particular U-lock you are thinking about to see if they are worth the risk-vs-cost-ease of daily use. I have two Xena U-locks and one 14mm Xena chain (XSU-310 & XUL-210 & XC-14). Extremely heavy and I usually only take the longest U-bolt to lock both bikes together along with cable when riding around town. I figure the Boomerang alarm will give me time to get to the bikes as someone is messing around with the cable and U-bolt.

hualalai
8 months ago

The Scoop

I’ve benefitted tremendously from the insights and tips from everyone on this board, so I wanted to add my experience to the mix. Since I’m a complete noob to the electric bike universe, I suspect my observations will only be helpful to those who are coming from a similarly inexperienced place, but here goes....

The Search

46 year old male. Moderately out of shape, with some back and knee issues that have kept me off of non-stationary bikes for more than 20 years. At 6’1, 185 pounds I was looking for, above all else for a bike that would be comfortable to ride. Upright riding, pedal forward, cushy seat, easy to handle. I’m lucky enough to live just steps away from the coolest beach bike path on the planet (in my humble opinion), but in the six years I’ve been living here, I haven’t set foot on it once. Totally nuts, I know. So after wistfully watching the bikes fly by for years, I decided it was time to jump in. A pedelec beach cruiser seemed like the perfect solution to allow me to get back in shape without taxing my joints and back too much.

The Budget

I decided that something in the $2,000 range would be fine. While I could afford to go higher, $2000 was the most I was willing to spend on a first attempt at an ebike -- something that might ultimately wind up collecting dust in my garage if I wound up making a tremendous mistake. I did a little bit of research, found this terrific site, when to the Expo in Long Beach. Was ambivalently drifting toward Pedego, as it seemed to meet most of my specs (except my budget), when I stumbled upon...

The E-Lux Newport Step Thru. Definitely love at first sight here. Based on absolutely nothing, I heard the voice in my head say “You must have this bike” At around $1900 before extras, bells and whistles, it was a good $1000 cheaper than similar Pedego models, and I was hard pressed to find much of a difference. My biggest hesitation was that Pedego is a much more established company, and I worried that ELUX’s startup status might make service and parts an issue down the road. I also wanted to take a test ride to see if the ride lived up to the fantastic visuals.

The Test Ride/Buying Experience

Decided to drive about an hour down to Orange County, the home of ELUX’s headquarters and rental operation to take one out to the beach for a couple of hours, and ask a few questions from their sales staff. To be honest, I was sold after my first ten minutes on the bike. It was precisely what I was looking for, and even the well-travelled rental rode beautifully. And while I’m still concerned about the long-term advisability of buying a big ticket item from a small company with a shorter track record, this was balanced by the OUTSTANDING customer service I received during the sales process. Renee was the sales rep who assisted me with the rental, but she also patiently answered all of my questions during the follow up, and eventual sales process. All of the costs, pros/cons were spelled out clearly, and I never felt the slightest bit of sales pressure at any point. They should give some pointers to the car dealerships! Even though there is an ELUX dealer in Santa Monica (very close to me), the OC location had a slightly better price, and they offered to have it delivered completely assembled to my home up in LA. The model with the particular specs I wanted was already in the warehouse, so I ordered the bike on a Saturday morning, and had it pulling up to my house on a Sunday afternoon!! The guy who delivered the bike was (I believe) one of the co-owners of the company, and couldn’t have been nicer. He took the time to walk me through some of the last minute setup questions I had, and made sure everything was in working order before leaving. Customer service should always be this terrific. With an upgraded battery (from 10AH to the 14AH) and a decision to upgrade the standard comfy seat to a SERFAS CRS-1 Super Cruiser, my total cost wound up being around $2200. And while this is hardly a cheap bike, I do feel like it’s a tremendous value for what I got.

The Ride

In almost every way, the ELUX Newport Step Thru met my primary goal of a comfortable ride. The pedal-forward design has given my knees a real break, and the upright riding position and wide handle bars, have me sitting straight and enjoying the beautiful Pacific Ocean vistas! Because of my limited flexibility, I chose the low step thru model versus the step over. And after a moment of embarrassment for choosing the one clearly designed as a “women’s bike”, I was super glad that I did. Hopping on and off of the step thru is a breeze, and the absence of the top bar seems to compromise the stability of the bike only very minimally. The frame is sturdy and can stand up to quite a bit of punishment. Even though 80% of my riding is on the well-paved beach bike paths, I do take it out on to city streets, and it absorbs quite a few potholes and bumps. The construction of the ELUX frame seems solid, and holds up fine. The look of the paint and fenders is fantastic. The Newport comes in White, Black, Powder Blue, and Sea Foam Green. Each color is so vibrant and stark, that I genuinely had a hard time choosing, ultimately going for the sea foam green to go with the beach vibe that I wanted. And while I have picked up a scratch or two in my first two months of use (about 300 miles), this is probably more due to my carelessness than the quality of the paint job, which seems to weather quite well. Simply put, it is a gorgeous bike.

One of the complaints that I had read in some reviews of the ELUX Newport was that the back end weight of the battery can lead to a slightly unbalanced ride. And while this is hardly a deal breaker, I can confirm that the rear end weight (particularly on a bike that is so heavy overall) is noticeable. I probably exacerbated this problem a bit by choosing to zip tie a basket over the rear cargo area, rather than the front. Something to keep in mind. Also, I’m constantly concerned that the bike it going to tip over when I have it parked, especially if I have any cargo whatsoever in the rear basket. Even empty, it seems to teeter a bit, in spite of a well-made, heavy duty kickstand that is provided with the bike. That said, the placement of the battery itself is intuitive and simple. Removing and reinserting the battery is a breeze, and it makes for great recharging flexibility.

The LED display on the ELUX is, from everything I can tell, identical to the one on most Pedago models, and it’s pretty simple to use, giving you all of the essential controls at your fingertips. Moving between levels of pedal assist is easy, and in short order becomes as intuitive as you could ever want. For me, having the option of a throttle only override was a must, and I think it should be for you too. There are just too many occasions where you want that instant boost of power to pass someone/something on the road. Personally, I like the trigger throttle of the ELUX over the twist throttle of the Pedago, but that may just be me.

The grips on the ELUX Newport were comfortable and quality, but I can’t say the same for the cheap, poorly made bell. Mine was shifting in place and junky from almost day one. When I get around to it, I’ll replace with something more reliable (for safety reasons). Not a big deal though.

If I did have one structural complaint about the bike itself, it would be in the area of suspension. Now granted, I don’t have a lot to compare it to, and I realize that this is definitely NOT a mountain bike. It’s a beach cruiser, and the suspension is not designed to absorb every tiny bump on the road. Nonetheless, comfort was a big priority of mine, and even with the cushy seat and the mostly even terrain that I ride, I do find my self feeling it in the seat when I come up against small rattles and shakes. Ultimately, I may explore adding some kind of additional suspension, so if there’s anyone out there who’s had similar issues with the Newport, I’d be interested to hear your thoughts.

I’ve been pretty impressed with the quality and efficiency of the motor so far. I had heard comments in other reviews that it was on the noisy side, but I’ve found mind to be unnoticeable, and almost whisper-quiet (perhaps because I’m riding near the ocean, or on city streets). Regardless, it’s fairly responsive, even though I find myself often riding in the least responsive, battery saving, “ECO mode” most of the time. I haven’t done enough hilly riding to comment about the power of the motor for steep climbs, but I will say that in the highest power mode, I’m zipping from 0 to 20 mph in a flash. I have had one or two incidents where the motor did not kick in upon initially powering the bike on. This was instantly remedied by powering the bike off and rebooting. Never a big deal, and overall reliability of the motor has been very good.

The Battery

I’m only able to get out riding a couple of times per week, but when I ride, I like to ride far. My dream trail takes me about 19-20 miles each way, for a total of 38-40 miles. So the question is, can you get that far on the Elux Newport? The answer: yes... pretty much. I learned the hard way on my first few outings that there are some severe limitations to the accuracy of the LED display power indicator. I purchased the 14AH battery (A MUST, as it turns out) which on a full charge starts you with about 54w. The owners manual indicates that an empty battery is 42w, but this is complete nonsense. In reality, once the display dips to 46-47ish you are on borrowed time. And since it is a bad idea to run a lithium battery all the way down to empty, it is really annoying that there isn’t more precision in the gauge. I suspect that this is a drawback of most non-super high end ebikes, but having a more reliable and accurate power indicator would be a big help. As it is, I had to do some trial and error to figure out precisely how far a full charge could take me, and do so independently on the display number, which I find draws down very slowly early in the ride, and then tumbles down rapidly once it dips below 50w. The power bar is similarly unreliable. You start with 5 bars, and it takes quite a while to drop to 4 or 3, but then 2 bars disappears very quickly. Apart from the damage it probably does to the battery, I can say from personal experience that running out of juice on an obscenely-heavy beach cruiser.... really sucks. Fortunately, I’ve made my mistakes in that department, and won’t make them again. I’ve also taken to carrying my charger with me when I ride (it weighs very little), and feel better knowing that I can sneak into a cafe for some emergency recharging when push comes to shove.

The good news, (in spite of all my complaining) is that the actual range of the 14AH battery is actually quite reasonable. I find that I’m able to make my full 40 mile ride on one charge, (without completely going down to fumes), if I am diligent about putting in a decent amount of exercise on the pedassist as I go. On an average trip, I’d say I’m doing 10% at level 1, 50% at level 2, 30% at level 3, and 10% at level 4. With this distribution, and paying close attention to the display, I’m able to complete my full ride without stopping to recharge. What this will do to the lifespan of my battery, I can’t really say. I’ve read so many comments on the board about keeping your battery in the middle range to prolong it’s life, and I’m obviously not doing that. Mine is more of a carpe diem approach, and I’m just hoping that I can enjoy my bike and not worry too much about battery life. If I can get a couple of years out of it before noticing diminished range and having to replace it, that will be ok by me. If anyone thinks I’m deluding myself, or has any advice, I’d be eager to hear your thoughts.

The Bottom Line

Having only had the ELUX Newport for about two months, I can’t speak to long-term issues (service, replacement parts, durability, etc). But I can say that, so far, ELUX delivered on exactly what I wanted: A beautiful bike with a hassle-free, comfortable, FUN, riding experience that has gotten me back outside, enjoying the sun, and exercising far more than I thought I would. In short, I’m having a blast. If there are others out there looking for a similar biking experience, I can highly recommend the Newport. I’m eager to connect with other ELUX owners, particularly those who enjoy (as I do) the gorgeous 20 mile stretch of beach between Santa Monica and Torrance on the Braude Bike Trail.

HAPPY RIDING!!!

1/1
Jeff Zekas
3 months ago

too bad it isn't $2,000 instead of $4,000

Sketti Boi
4 months ago

Wow very smooth and quiet. I'm impressed.

benzoesan sodu
4 months ago

4k USD for not suspension bike? Production cost 700usd total. The rest is marketing.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Well, they have a store, a bunch of employees, they service the warranty, and I am positive that the production cost is way more than 700 USD before it goes out the door. There needs to be a profit margin for dealers too, which is a big service to customers who want a finished products. It's true, you can get some electric bikes for $700 off of Amazon but they don't seem as polished or well supported as this. Here's an example I reviewed a while back: https://electricbikereview.com/watseka/xp/

beatsdddx
4 months ago

Just wondering are throttle e bikes100% legal to ride on the city streets?
When you say throttle I hear you say off-road a few time on this video.
With electric skateboards they all feature remote hand throttles and
they are being ridden on city streets. Seems throttles should be a100% legal for e bikes.

Gr8 review on the Cafe bike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

If an ebike has a throttle, in the USA it is classified as Class 2 and is legal on streets most of the time. The whole Class 1 thing is for certain popular mountain biking trails where electric bikes can go but should be pedaled for fear of damaging the dirt... and in part this is based on some European regulations that some big bike makers are following and trying to extend perhaps as a competitive advantage here? There's a lot of complexity in the Class thing, and Class 3 is for 28 mph "speed pedelecs" which are also usually allowed on roads in the USA but require a license in parts of Europe.

Stop Kafirophobia
4 months ago

Awesome 🤡 pedaling! 🤣

Ed Anderson
4 months ago

I like the battery pack. Do you know how much they sell those for separately? I like to put it on my Radrover.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Hi Ed! Anything is possible, but this is not going to be easy or affordable at all. The systems would probably have to be custom wired together and might not operate at the exact same voltage, and the controller might not match. This is not going to be easy and I'm not sure that Vintage Bikes would sell you their battery box

frank doster
4 months ago

Looks like a solid bike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, it seems to be very well made, and it rides quiet and solid, just beautiful :)

D Danilo
4 months ago

Wow! That really IS quiet! Even with the camera mounted to the frame, where it picks up a lot of sound by induction, it seemed that most of the sound was gears and chain, not the motor so much. Now I have to try to find Andrew on Jay Leno's Garage show! Thanks for another great review!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I linked to the video from my full writeup, it's fun, I watched it again just last night when I was working on this review :P

David Macdonald
4 months ago

Won't the m button be mode

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

That crossed my mind when editing... probably is a mode or menu button, but it also acts as a power switch

Todd Wall
4 months ago

I've followed this company since his appearance on Jay Leno's Garage, and I really, REALLY like these bikes. The design is spot on, and aesthetics play as much a part as function.

Whenever I finally do buy an ebike, it'll be one of these. Thanks for the video. Gives more specs and details than the Garage episode.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Right, I try to be constructive... my approach is to study the details in person and record them on the site, then film, then I edit and do all of the pro's and con's after the bike has really sunk in, and then I do the writeup. There's a lot of value in the writeup and my feeling is that if someone is about to spend thousands of dollars, they may end up at the site just reading through and then get the full marinated opinion vs. just the video. But the video also lets them see for themselves and maybe notice something I didn't speak to and then make a comment here or in the forums. It's an approach that I am still working to refine every day :)

Todd Wall
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com

Love to see you do a review on their other models, or an overview of their store. There were a lot of neat bikes I'd like to have seen closer. Still, great job on the review. You do very good, unbiased reviews. Some of the videos are a little too positive, but if people pair your website with the video they'll get a very rounded opinion.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

For sure! Glad you enjoyed it, I try to dig in and really explain what I see (or at least provide some good angles in video that can help you come to your own conclusions)

Danny Murphy
4 months ago

Very tastefully styled. I would take that thing everywhere! I'm aware of the speed regulations in California but I seriously wish many E-Bikes were not built with speed restrictions as a central theme. Meaning I'd rather see these bikes with enough power from the 'factory' to achieve speeds of 50+ MPH, even if they are restricted by gearing or other methods to govern it to 28. Also, some foot pegs and/or a pedal-less mode would be cool.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Hi Dan, Vintage Electric does have some other models that can reach ~36 mph in off-road mode. They still have pedals and stuff, Zero Motorcycles makes electric motorcycles that are pretty cool and I've seen them for sale used in the $5k range. Not bad if you don't mind getting a license and insurance, and having to ride on street vs. on paths and stuff with a bicycle styled product like the Cafe

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
4 months ago

I would rather go with an Ariel e bike vs this bike half the price and better design.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I do like the Ariel Rider models too, they have targeted that classic vintage style and offer a decent product

James Mason
4 months ago

Cool how the battery looks like a motor

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, they did a great job with form and function for the battery pack here, it looks a lot nicer than most of the other packs I see

jacob paternostro
4 months ago

beautiful bike!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I completely agree, it's gorgeous

jamesuk9
4 months ago

That red one is stunning fair play.

jamesuk9
4 months ago

Yes, I agree. There is something about their bikes that just screams quality. Im in the UK and only recently got into e-bikes, the offering here is much more limited at the moment. That said, I'm loving my KTM that I recently bought and have gone from a non cyclist to around 15-20 miles a day in just a few weeks. So much fun especially where I live on the coast.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Their bikes look awesome, the red is my favorite to look at in pictures but I love the bronze in person, it reminds me of a classic car... just beautiful

BashfulLion
4 months ago

I love the look of Vintage Electric bikes. Makes me want to check out their location. Thanks for the review, Court!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

For sure! You're super close, would be worth the drive ;)

Herbert K.
4 months ago

Was ein Schinken; )

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I don't know what that means... I tried to translate with Google and it said something about ham?!

Daniel S.
4 months ago

The cafe racer is an amazing motorcycle. And this bike seems up to the name... nice. I really like the curves...
Also guys. If anyone in the comment section is interested I also started to do some videos on MTB and Nature.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

A last-season Haibike with Bosch, you can get them from several dealers around the US right now including the Electric Bicycle Center and Motostrano

Daniel S.
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com nice.... what electricbike you you reccomend me for mtb usage up to 2500 USD?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Cool, I subscribed, thanks Daniel!

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
4 months ago

C😎😎L bike. I love the class 3's 🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚓🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚔🚓🚓🚓🚓🚔🚔🚔

"CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, this one is so smooth and stable, the higher speed feels very comfortable