Need Advice - Class 1 or Class 3?

SpartySAM

Let me begin by saying that I am a newbie to ebikes. I had a Gazelle ebike when I was in Australia. There, your bike could not go over 28 kph. Here, I have an interesting opportunity. Since I am getting older, I decided to go after an ebike. Here is my question. I bought a Trek Super Commuter + 7 that was on sale. I now have an opportunity to exchange it for a Trek Super Commuter +8 S. The former is a Class 1; the latter a Class 3. There is about a $1000 price difference. Aside from speed, what advantages or pros and cons are there to moving a Class 3 bike? Is it worth the price difference? I will be using it to help in my exercise (for summer commuting, I will be using my BMW C650GT). Any insights or advice would be greatly appreciated.

SpartySAM

Stefan Mikes

The main gain is the higher speed. Motors used in Class 3 e-bikes can provide more assist than their nominal power rating reads, and that happens for prolonged duration of the ride.

You have to be aware you are not guaranteed to hit the 28 mph and maintain it. 23 mph are easily doable.

Personally, I don't want a Class 1 e-bike anymore. It is a lot of fun to ride faster on the Class 3 ebike; and actually it is not the speed restriction that limits you but the air resistance.

P.S. Typically, Class 3 e-bikes are sturdier, have better brakes and their geometry is designed for safety at higher speeds. Often, a rigid fork is used for more stability on the ride.
P.S.2. Con: Fast riding shortens the range of the Class 3 e-bike, especially upwind.

Last edited:

rich c