Size of E-Bike market question

Clark

I'm completely new to e-bikes, learning about them by chance from my college roomate 6 months ago - who commutes to work out west on an optibike. I'm getting ready to buy my first e-bike to use for work purposes mainly and I'm just curious, does anybody have reliable information as to the number of e-bike users in the U.S. who use e-bikes for commuting or work purposes? I read this article on Harley unveiling their first electric motorcycle.

Specifically: "The venture is a risk for Harley because there's currently almost no market for full-size electric motorcycles. The millions of two-wheeled electric vehicles sold each year are almost exclusively scooters and low-powered bikes that appeal to Chinese commuters."

Are the numbers of e-bike commuters or just e-bike users so low that a writer at that level, I assume he researched, would completely overlook the American market? Just wondering.

Clark

James

I read that article this morning too! I thought the same thing about the "scooters and low-powered bikes" comment... pretty weird. I know that the Chinese market is still the biggest by a pretty wide margin, but isn't Harley Davidson's biggest market North America?

Court

Administrator
Staff member
More and more companies are getting into hybrid transportation and electric. I just saw this great BMW commercial for their new electric and everyone knows about the Tesla Model S and prior Roadster. Other electric motorcycles include those from ZERO.