BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

Bulls Six50 E2 Street Electric Bike Review
Bulls Six50 E2 Street
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor 28 Mph
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Bosch 500 Powerpack Samsung Cells
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Bosch Intuvia Removable Display Panel
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Tektro Brake Levers Ergonomic Grips
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Sr Suntour Xcn Suspension Fork With Qr
Bulls Six50 E2 Street 10 Speed Shimano Slx Shadow Drivetrain
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Aluminum Alloy Fenders Standwell Pannier Rack
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Adjustable Kickstand Cage Pedals Metal Motor Guard
Bulls Six50 E2 Street 203 Mm Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Electric Bike Review
Bulls Six50 E2 Street
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor 28 Mph
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Bosch 500 Powerpack Samsung Cells
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Bosch Intuvia Removable Display Panel
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Tektro Brake Levers Ergonomic Grips
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Sr Suntour Xcn Suspension Fork With Qr
Bulls Six50 E2 Street 10 Speed Shimano Slx Shadow Drivetrain
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Aluminum Alloy Fenders Standwell Pannier Rack
Bulls Six50 E2 Street Adjustable Kickstand Cage Pedals Metal Motor Guard
Bulls Six50 E2 Street 203 Mm Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes

Summary

  • A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery
  • Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand strength, this is what you'd normally find on higher-end mountain bikes
  • Four frame sizes deliver great fit, the suspension fork, ergonomic grips and large hybrid tires improve comfort and allow you to take bumpy streets and light trails without issue
  • Only available in the classic high-step diamond frame style, skewers are more standard 9 mm QR vs. sturdier thru-axles but the head tube is tapered and oversized, nice integrated lights and tight solid fenders, minimalist pannier-only rear rack

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BULLS

Model:

SIX50 E2 Street

Price:

$3,899

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame

Availability:

Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:

20172018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

55 lbs (24.94 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.73 lbs (2.59 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium

Frame Sizes:

16.14 in (40.99 cm)19.9 in (50.54 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)22.05 in (56 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

32" Stand Over Height

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Gloss Gray and Blue Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCN-DS HLO 27.5, 120 mm Travel, Lockout, Preload Adjust, 9 mm Skewer with QR

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano SLX Shadow, 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano SLX on Right

Cranks:

SR Suntour Cranks, 15T Chainring

Pedals:

Wellgo C288DU Alloy Platform, Cage STyle

Headset:

FSA Tapered 1 1/8" Sealed

Stem:

STYX Alloy, 7° Rise (70 mm, 80 mm, 90 mm)

Handlebar:

Alloy, 740 mm Length, 25 mm Rise, 9° Bend

Brake Details:

Tektro Dorado Hydraulic Disc with 203 mm Rotors, Tektro Dorado Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Velo Ergonomic, Black

Saddle:

Selle Royal

Seat Post:

Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350mm mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Alloy Double Wall, 32H

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14G Front and 13 G Rear Spokes, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda STYX Ace of Pace, 27.5" x 2.25"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

30-50 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Aluminum Alloy Fenders, Standwell SW-CA477 Pannier Rack, Adjustable Length Kickstand, Supernova M99-E12 3 LED Tail Light (Brights with Braking), FUXON K1102 LED Headlight 60 Lux

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 2.2 Amp Charger 1.7 lbs, STYX Hub

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line Speed, Gen 2

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

482.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles (209 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 210%, Turbo 300%)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Bulls introduced several speed pedelec electric bikes for 2017 and the SIX50 E2 Street is a value priced model that was customized just for the US market. Now I said value there, not cheap… but you get a lot for your money. A very similar ebike model is available in Europe but it’s not capable of the 28 mph (45 km/h) top speed. The SIX50 Street is built around a traditional high-step frame available in four sizes and includes a mid-range suspension fork mounted through a sturdy tapered head tube. It comes with beautiful close-mounted Aluminum alloy fenders and a narrow pannier rack as well as integrated LED lights. Given the 27.5″ wheel size and fatter 2.25″ tires, the bike rolls smoothly and comfortably. The tire tread is checkered allowing it to roll efficiently but still grip when needed… and when you step back and compare this with other speed pedelecs, it appears more trail capable like it would handle packed dirt paths and busted up streets much better. There’s a whole range of “fast ebikes” and some of them forego suspension completely, opting for aerodynamic Carbon fiber forks or seat post suspension. This model, by contrast, is sturdier and larger but that also makes it heavier at ~55 lbs.

Driving the bike is one of my favorite motors, the Bosch Performance Line. It’s a speed version that raises the more typical 20 mph to 28 mph but keeps torque at ~60 Nm. Some Bosch motors can hit 75 Nm (the Performance CX) but are mainly found on mountain frames, and in my experience they are all very capable. Perhaps my favorite thing about any of the models is the move towards minimalist casing and an angled mounting position which raises ground clearance and blends in with the downtube. As you can see in the images and video above, this motor looks great on the SIX50 E2 Street, the black casing matches the fenders and dark coloring on of the frame. On the right side is a 15 tooth sprocket that’s a little small compared with the 20 tooth found on other speed models but you do get a 10 speed cassette in the rear so it all sort of works out. This is one of the areas where compromises might have been made coming from the slower European version. The motor control system measures rear wheel speed, your pedal cadence and pedal torque to start and stop very quickly. These signals are measured 1,000 per second and a “shift sensing” software helps to reduce tension as the bike detects you’re changing gears. Overall, it’s a great setup and with a bit of practice easing off of the pedals while shifting and paying attention to the shift recommendation arrows (up and down) on the display panel it performs great. I regularly hear from e-bike dealers that Bosch motors perform without issue and the two year warranty is reassuring.

Powering the bike is an upgraded 500 watt hour battery pack that’s built into the same form factor as the older Bosch Powerpack 400. So that’s a 25% capacity increase in the same size and only slightly more weight, less than half a pound more. This battery is backwards compatible with older Bosch packs so if you already own one, you would now have two batteries that are interchangeable. The mounting design is a standout on this bike, having a wedged downtube and cupped metal plates at the base which meld the pack into the design making it stand out less. That’s one of the trade-offs with Bosch compared to Brose (offered on other Bulls electric bikes), the battery is not fit inside the downtube but rather, mounts on top of it. This makes it much easier to access, plug in to charge (if left on the bike) and take off for reduced weight or storage/charging separately. It locks to the bike securely and has an LED charge level readout on the left and a nice little loop at the top reducing drops as you take it off and carry it around. This single battery pack powers the 60 LUX headlight, three-LED back light and the beautiful Bosch Intuvia backlit display panel.

Operating the bike is a cinch with how easy the battery is to charge and connect, just one power button to press up at the display panel and you’re set to go. Just like the battery, the display panel is removable for safe storage and it offers a Micro USB port on the right, beneath a rubber flap, so you can top off your smart phone or other portable electronic devices. The display angles forward and back for reduced glare and shows your battery level, current speed and trip feedback (max speed, trip distance, time and more). My favorite feature is its range estimation readout because unlike the battery indicator (which only has five bars representing 20% each) the range menu is very precise. It relies on your last five miles of activity and the current state of charge on the battery to dynamically estimate how much further you can go depending on whichever pedal assist level you’re in! There are four levels in total and I’ve found that 80+ miles is very possible in the lower more efficient ones. Of course, as you arrow up towards the top, Turbo, range goes down but this is still a very efficient system because you can shift gears and empower the motor just as you would yourself as the pedaler. Many hub motor designs operate with only one gearing output which limits their optimal output to a specific speed.

With every new year there seem to be some electric bikes that get less expensive and others that get better… nicer looking, less noisy, longer lasting. The BULLS SIX50 E2 Street falls mostly into this second category but really doesn’t push budget to the extremes either. You’re getting premium parts here, many of which are mountain and trail capable. The tapered head tube, 120 mm suspension fork and 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes are the sort of components I regularly see on e-mountain models. The suspension fork is more basic, being spring vs. air, but you do get lockout (which is convenient for smooth flat sections). The tires are larger and offer a lower PSI rating for cushion comfort but are wide enough to roll efficiently and have tread that can handle bunch of scenarios. I’m the kind of person that tries to get one good product to do a lot of things… I just don’t have a lot of space for more stuff. The SIX50 fits this model very well and delivers the kind of performance riding (at higher speeds) that I find exciting and handy when commuting. Bulls is a large international company and they have a solid reputation but it really makes me smile to see them making market-specific adjustments and not just taking a cookie-cutter approach. I like this bike a lot and while it might benefit from sturdier thru-axles and a larger sprocket, it has other things I really like such as bottle cages and rack bosses so you could add a larger sturdier rack if you wanted. The ergonomic grips are nice and the fact that it’s available in multiple sizes cannot be overlooked, especially given the traditional diamond high-step frame. It’s a fun bike and one that would keep you dry and clean in wet riding conditions… coming back to the wheel size for a moment, if they were larger in diameter or the fenders weren’t mounted as close it would be easier to hit your foot when turning. And if they weren’t reinforced with the struts and rear rack they would make a lot more noise. I specifically went over some bumps in the video review to show how quiet (but not silent) they were. Big thanks to Bulls for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • High quality integrated lights including a 60 LUX adjustable headlight and name brand Supernova tail light built right into the rack, both run off of the ebike battery
  • Beautiful purpose-built frame with a wedge shaped downtube meant to meld with the Bosch battery pack, there are metal plates at the base carrying the lines of the pack into the motor mount… it all blends perfectly
  • The new Bosch Performance Line motors can be angled up and built more into the downtube for better clearance, this one is very well integrated and has a protective skid plate below and a chainring guard for pants protection and reduced drops
  • Awesome Aluminum alloy fenders that hug the wider tires very close and match the black accents on the frame
  • Longer travel suspension fork, like you’d find on a mountain bike, works well with the hybrid tires and ergonomic grips for a more capable city or light trail rider… perfect for commuting in many environments
  • Very large and powerful disc brakes, like you’d find on mountain bikes, that offer excellent, smooth stopping power, I like that the wires are all internally routed through the frame to keep it looking clean and to reduce snags
  • Both wheels have quick release for easier repairs and transport (though the fenders don’t come off easily and would still be in the way a little if the wheels were off), I like that they included an adjustable rear-mounted kickstand
  • Excellent two year comprehensive warranty with five years on the frame, good support from a larger multi-national company with growing dealer base
  • I love that both the battery and display panel can be quickly and easily removed from the bike (perfect for commuting… protecting them in the office) and I like that the display has a little Micro USB port to keep your mobile devices topped off when riding
  • It’s great that this bike is using the new Powerpack 500 Bosch battery because you tend to use exponentially more energy when riding above 20 mph due to air resistance
  • Bosch control systems for their mid-drive motors offer software-driven shift sensing so the chain and sprockets shouldn’t take as much abuse… they use cadence, torque and speed sensors so you can control motor output by adjusting how hard you pedal
  • Mid-drive motors can be very efficient because they leverage your cassette (for climbing or high speed operation), to really benefit from this you need to shift as your cadence changes and the new Bosch Intuvia display panel actually shows an up and down arrow providing shift assistance recommendation
  • Excellent wheel and tire sizing… this is a 650b (27.5″) wheel with 2.25″ tires that make it feel more like a traditional 28″ 700c road bike, you get the traction and cushion of mountain tires with the efficient rolling of hybrid tires without being too large (where you clip your toes on the fenders) or too small (where it’s less efficient and you lose momentum and crack-spanning

Cons:

  • I’ve seen more speed-pedelecs going with thru-axles in recent years to help distribute higher force and improve steering response, that would be nice on this bike considering the suspension fork and hybrid tires (in case you take trails on occasion)
  • The rear rack is narrow, light weight and supports the fender but is really only built to carry panniers vs. a trunk bag on top, it’s nice that it has a three-LED Supernova light built in that goes bright when you pull the brake levers, there are separate threaded bosses on the chain stays of this bike frame so you could remove the fender and rack and replace them with different ones easily
  • Minor gripes here but I’m not a huge fan of the cage style pedals and wish the tires had reflective sidewall stripes given this is more of an urban commuter setup
  • In many ways, BULLS SIX50 E2 Street compares well with the Stromer line of electric bikes because it’s a speed pedelec with fenders and lights but the battery isn’t integrated into the frame as nicely so overall it’s not as stealth, it also doesn’t offer regenerative braking or have the silent gearless hub motor (though mid-drives tend to be more efficient here as long as you shift appropriately)
  • Due tot the fenders, higher capacity battery pack, suspension fork and larger tires this bike weighs a bit more than other city bikes at ~55 lbs
  • The grips are nice, I like ergonomic designs, but don’t have lockers so if you really bear down they will twist and get out of alignment

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More BULLS Reviews

BULLS Cruiser E Review

  • MSRP: $3,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A feature-complete cruiser style electric bicycle with paint-matched fork, fenders, rear rack, chain cover, and motor casing, available in three frame sizes with adjustable stem for good fit. Large sprung saddle, puffy stitched grips, swept back handlebars, and the deep step-thru frame make…...

BULLS Aminga TR 1 Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A full suspension, cross country style, electric mountain bike made just for the ladies with shorter reach, available in two smaller size options, features a turquoise fuchsia colorway. Sturdy Suntour XCR 34 air suspension fork with remote lockout for easy transitions from rough…...

BULLS TWENTY4 E Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A tough, sporty looking, high-quality, kids electric bike that can reach ~15.5 mph with four levels of pedal assist, smaller wheels keep the frame low and approachable. Premium accessories including tires from Schwalbe, a Shimano Altus 8-speed drivetrain, and Tektro hydraulic disc…...

BULLS Cross E Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Well priced considering the quality Bosch-made electric drive system, four frame size choices, and three frame styles (high, mid, and low-step). Integrated LED lights and premium Continental tires with reflective sidewall stripes help to keep you…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the cleanest looking full suspension cross country electric bikes I've reviewed, the battery and motor are built into the frame and match the matte black paint perfectly. Extra large battery capacity for longer rides, EnergyBus magnetic charging standard works on or off…...

BULLS SIX50 E 1.5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A hardtail trail ready e-bike with comfortable plus sized tires and a spring suspension fork (with lockout), sturdy tapered head tube, rigid thru-axles, and Boost. Capable as a commuting platform if you prefer a mountain bike vs. hybrid or city…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An active, sporty looking, commuter style electric bike with low standover height, available in three frame sizes to improve fit and comfort. High-end drivetrain and motor systems, you get eleven gears with a tough mountain bike level…...

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology. Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range. Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing,…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances. Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...

BULLS SIX50 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...

BULLS TWENTY9 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...


Chris @ Propel Electric Bikes
11 months ago

I love these cross over type bikes. I think many people that buy electric bikes end up going more places than they anticipated and this seems to be one of those bikes that can go anywhere and do almost anything. I love the versatility.

Reply
Court Rye
11 months ago

Right on, I agree completely and frequently hear shop owners like yourself talking about how their customers ride more frequently and further than before they had pedal assist. Normal bikes are great but once you can go further and don’t have to deal with hills or the wind etc. it opens up a whole range of possibilities! including a bit of off-road perhaps ;)

Reply
Tony Gandolfo
9 months ago

How do you think this bike could handle on very steep mountain roads?

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hi Tony, are you talking about paved roads or dirt and rock? It’s designed to be sturdy (to handle the higher top speeds) but still comfortable with the suspension and larger tires. The tires it comes with appear to be a checkered hybrid style that can handle street and trails (packed dirt mostly). They won’t be ideal for one or the other… the knobs are too flat to be optimal for hard core mountain biking and not slick enough to be truly perfect for tarmac (pavement). You could always swap them out but given the rest of the bike (lockout on the fork, overbuilt axels and the balanced weight) I’d say it should do very well. I hope this helps, feel free to elaborate and I’ll do my best to sound it out with you :)

Reply
Tony Gandolfo
9 months ago

I am looking for a bike that can handle my daily commute. I would be traveling about 30 miles a day, part of that being a mile long stretch of paved road at a 3.5% grade. I am a fit and active cyclist, however not a proffesional. Do you think this bike could handle such a feat with an average rider such as myself?

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hi Tony, that’s quite a ride! but yes, I do believe this bike would be able to handle it. You will have to pedal along and switch up to the higher assist levels for the incline but it’s well equipped to handle that sort of thing. This model uses the Bosch Performance Speed motor which isn’t quite as high-torque as the CX but it does go faster and 60 Nm is still a LOT of torque. If you’re worried about range, you could top the battery off at your destination (if they allow) the charger is relatively small and light. Also, in the future you’ll be able to find and replace the pack easier than a lot of the other bikes and it looks like it already comes with the upgraded 500 watt hour pack vs. the older 400 watt hour… pretty sweet :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Over50
4 weeks ago

No hub shifting but this is pretty neat.

2018 Bulls SIX50 Evo TR Street

http://www.aendus-bike-gallery.ch/produkt/bulls-six50-evo-tr-street/

My understanding from watching the Interbike videos is that this will be a speed pedelec in the US. The bike in the link you posted uses the CX motor. Can't wait to see it available here.

hurricane56
4 weeks ago

No hub shifting but this is pretty neat.

2018 Bulls SIX50 Evo TR Street

http://www.aendus-bike-gallery.ch/produkt/bulls-six50-evo-tr-street/

Over50
2 months ago

@Over50, Haibike was the first who put the Bosch first generation drive unit into the mountain bikes in 2011...

Thanks Wildtrak. I don't currently do any off-road riding but I'm city commuting on a Haibike XDuro 4.0 Trekking and a R&M Charger (Nuvinci speed pedelec). I'm thinking that if all goes well mid-2018 I'd like to upgrade one of those bikes for a dual-battery capacity commuter. It appears the Haibike Sduro Trekking 9.0 for 2018 is basically the same bike as the XDuro 4.0 (frame and components) but allows for dual-battery with their new rail system and in-tube design. I definitely have my eye on the Trekking 9.0 but I'm also attracted to the Moustache Samedi and XRoads models (hidden battery but not dual-battery). As for a speed pedelec choice I have my eyes on the New Charger by R&M and the Bulls full suspension commuter the Six50 TR Street. Also, I'm pretty certain I'm also going to buy the Tern GSD as a grocery hauler/wife's bike/day tripper. So 2 new bikes for 2018 is the plan: the Tern GSD and a commuter replacement bike (Haibike, R&M or Bulls most likely). For the German brands that sell Bosch powered commuter bikes in the USA, it looks like they use similar specs/components but do you have an opinion coming from Germany, about which brand is better in terms of overall quality, customer service/support and innovation?

Over50
2 months ago

The Bulls Six50 TR Street is one of the 2018 bikes that piques my interest the most. Full suspension with pannier mounting and fenders. First time I've seen the speed motor tilted up as they've been doing with the CX. Looks like a lot of potential to be a great commuter bike. Alas no Bulls dealers anywhere near me.
9:20 of this video:

Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago
Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago

Hi all, I am trying to narrow down the choices for a solid commuter and would greatly appreciate any input.

We had the opportunity to test ride BULLS six50 e2 street and lacuba e45 side by side, and they are both fantastic rides. From a brief test ride in a suburb they seem more or less equivalent, and spec-wise they are also similar. Do any of you have a word to put in for either?

These two bikes feel premium, and go for around $4k. My next question is if anyone had the opportunity to test ride any bike with similar characteristics (28mph, suspension) in a slightly lower segment, say $2.5-$3k, and have an opinion on the marginal value of the last $1000 invested?

For the record my commute is ~10mi one way, a few hundred feet up and down, paved but not super smooth. I do it on road bike, but want to save some time, my knees, and not be sweaty every day. I am willing to invest in a good commute, but I am really curious about what those last $1000 buys.

Thanks!

Lacuba E45 has a much bigger battery (650 vs 500 on the E2 street).
I would recommend the E2 street. You could make it ~50lbs if you change the front forks. You could run 12V Supernova M99 lights and you could carry an extra 400 or 500 powerpacks.
You could also look at Trek Xm700+ https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/electric-bikes/xm700/xm700/p/1982140-2018/?colorCode=black

jonase
2 months ago

Hi all, I am trying to narrow down the choices for a solid commuter and would greatly appreciate any input.

We had the opportunity to test ride BULLS six50 e2 street and lacuba e45 side by side, and they are both fantastic rides. From a brief test ride in a suburb they seem more or less equivalent, and spec-wise they are also similar. Do any of you have a word to put in for either?

These two bikes feel premium, and go for around $4k. My next question is if anyone had the opportunity to test ride any bike with similar characteristics (28mph, suspension) in a slightly lower segment, say $2.5-$3k, and have an opinion on the marginal value of the last $1000 invested?

For the record my commute is ~10mi one way, a few hundred feet up and down, paved but not super smooth. I do it on road bike, but want to save some time, my knees, and not be sweaty every day. I am willing to invest in a good commute, but I am really curious about what those last $1000 buys.

Thanks!

Rgrtitan
3 months ago

All right! I got the bicycle today!

I usually make my purchases online. After visiting several LBS in Seattle, they didn't seem to know much about their Stromer, Specialized and Trek e-bikes, which is very disconcerting since your spending several $k.

After stopping by Seattle Electric Bicycles, I met the owner, Stefan and his store staff. Stefan and the staff were extremely polite, knowledgeable and not pushy. I took a lot of their time w/ questions and test rides. After my experience there, I knew I was going to purchase my e-bike there and not online. They also happened to have a lot of great sales going on.

I decided on the Bulls Six50 E2 Street in 51 with a 20 cog (from 15) chainring upgraded on the front and a Body Float. The bike wasn't in stock and was special ordered.

The bicycle handles and rides great, especially with the Body Float. It's pretty zippy, even in the "tour mode", which is #2 of the 4 modes (eco, tour, sport, turbo). I'll have a better idea of the range later this week. As far as handling, it was great.

I'd strongly recommend anyone in the Seattle and surrounding areas check out Seattle Electric Bikes. They have really good selection of mid-drive and rear-drive bicycles.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 months ago

I am a 5'5 male 160 lbs.

A 17" comfort frame ST2 would work well. The bike has massive range and power but it does have occasional electronic glitches. If there is a dealer willing to support you, you will immensely enjoy the bike.

Other options.

41cm BULLS Six50 E2 Street - $3800

45cm Trek Super Commuter - $4999 ( I can imagine the standover height could be an issue here but lots of dealers to test it out)

Specialized Turbo Vado - $4800 (small frame size)

Raleigh Redux IE - $3000 (small frame would work well)

Someone in Atlanta area got one from @Chandlee EBS at Electric Bike Specialists (http://www.electricbikespecialists.com/) and you can read about the experience here.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 months ago

@Ravi Kempaiah , I really enjoy your posts and videos. I'm looking at the Bulls Six50 e2 Street as a cheaper alternative commuter to the Dail-E Grinder. With your experience w/ the ST2 S and the Dail-e Grinder, what are your observations on the advantages and disadvantages of both?

Happy to share my experience:

ST2 or ST2-S

Having put 20,000+ miles on this platform and many other bikes, I am always impressed by the quiet, solid and smooth drive feeling of the ST2.
If your commute involves long stretches of roads, ST2 will excel at it. It shines in the 23-26mph cruise zone. The range is massive and if your roads are in fairly good condition, then you will be very pleased with the whole experience.
The downside is the weight. It's like driving a Escalade SUV. It has its own inertia but once you get over it, it works fine. It's not super agile like 45lbs bike. If your commute involves a lot of stop-go traffic, you will find the lighter bikes are better.

Dail-E Grinder or Six50 E street

The Dail-E is light, fast and packs a lot of good componentry. BULLS recently reduced the price points on all their bikes, so that's a bonus. The Dail-E is light and makes it perfect for stop-go traffic and you can carry it up 10 stairs without much worry.
The Six50 E2 is a very nice commuter but any Bosch system needs more rider involvement and proper shifting technique to get the most out of it. It will also make you a better cyclist (if you not one already).
With a 500Whr battery, you can easily get 30-35 miles of range.
The componentry is decent. You may want to change the chainring from 15T to 20T (helps in maintaining higher top speed) and change the lights to Supernova M99 (makes a lot of difference). The stock front lights are inadequate. But, the brakes are excellent. The wheels are great and have never heard of people breaking spokes that you hear on some cheaper hub motor bikes.
The forks are heavy but do basic job in mitigating the effect of road imperfections. But, other than that, I can't think of any major negatives.

Overall, they are all very good quality bikes. If you have a dealer willing to back you up, you have really nothing major to worry about.

Rgrtitan
3 months ago

@Ravi Kempaiah , I really enjoy your posts and videos. I'm looking at the Bulls Six50 e2 Street as a cheaper alternative commuter to the Dail-E Grinder. With your experience w/ the ST2 S and the Dail-e Grinder, what are your observations on the advantages and disadvantages of both?

Rgrtitan
3 months ago

I recently test rode a couple e-bikes.

The first was a Vado 5. It was nice, but my ass and wrists were sore after a short bumpy pavement ride. Suspension fork and seatpost may be a requirement.
I'd probably consider the Vado 6 w/ a bodyfloat .

I tested out some Bulls and Haibike, with suspension forks and a bodyfloat. They were all Bosche CX (20mph), but pretty impressive. I may be more inclined to look at the Bosche Speed.

I haven't seen any LBS w/ Ohm or iZip.

The LBS I went to was very nice and took the time to test ride and educate me, will post more info about them once I figure out which way to go.

One I'm looking at now is the Bulls E2 Street w/ a bodyfloat seatpost. This fits most of my requirements and is nice that I can use as a lite MTB for the 1% I am not using it for a commute.
http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/six50-e-2-street/

Mark Peralta
4 months ago

Thanks .
I intended to use as transportation , commuter .
What would be a competitor to the Haibike , with a Bosch mid-drive ?
As a commuter, it makes more sense to get a 28 mph bike.
https://electricbikereview.com/trek/xm700-plus/
https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/six50-e2-street/
https://www.haibike.com/en/US/bikes/695/2018-xduro-trekking-s-9-0?variant=3840424848

David W
4 months ago

Yesterday when picking up a new Bulls Six50 E2 Street I was unable to set the bike into any assist modes, and the headlight wouldn't come on. The mechanic and I thought this was because the battery wasn't charged, so he loaned me the battery from their demo Six50 and everything worked OK during the test ride.

This morning, after a full 12 hour charge, the battery lights show full but the bike won't go into assist modes and the headlight doesn't come on. It's almost like the bike doesn't like that particular battery.

I tried calling the office in Lynwood CA (number found at http://www.whitepages.com/business/bulls-bikes-usa-lynwood-ca-2) and was told Tech Support is OOO until later today. Hoping that @BULLSBarney or @Adam@BULLSeBIKES is watching threads and can help, or someone on this forum can offer a suggestion.

Craig Crowder
4 months ago

Affected models:

-2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 2 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 2 FS 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 3 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 3 29
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 45 FS 27.5
- 2017 BULLS CROSS LITE E
- 2017 BULLS DAIL E GRINDER 45
- 2017 BULLS SIX50 E 1.5
- 2017 BULLS SIX50 E 2 STREET
- 2017 BULLS SIX50+ E FS 2 27.5
- 2017 BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 27.5

Craig Crowder
4 months ago

I've had my Bulls SIX50+ E FS 3 about 3 weeks now and I've ridden it about 16 times for a total of 170 miles. I've been very happy with the ride and performance. Luckily for me the LBS notified me that the manufacturer notified him of the crank arm bolts coming loose. I checked them and they were very loose and I tightened them. About 4 rides later the left crank arm came off while I was riding and I was lucky to be sitting on the saddle when it came off. I was able to find the bolt and put back together. The LBS had said that he was waiting for a "Bulls" fix but I guess they haven't got back to him yet. I'm thinking of using blue loctite after I clean the threads, what do you think?

****UPDATE 8/4/17****

SR Suntour has a "corrective action" on the cranks depending on the Bulls bike model number and the model number of the crank arm. From Suntour:

"SR SUNTOUR has found that the cranks supplied on some BULLS E-Bike Models(See attachment for complete list) tend to loosen over time.
Re-tightening the crank only works for a short time then becomes loose again. SR SUNTOUR has therefore decided to have all crank arms and bolts
replaced."

Affected models:

-2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 2 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 2 FS 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 3 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 3 29
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 45 FS 27.5
- 2017 BULLS CROSS LITE E
- 2017 BULLS DAIL E GRINDER 45
- 2017 BULLS SIX50 E 1.5
- 2017 BULLS SIX50 E 2 STREET
- 2017 BULLS SIX50+ E FS 2 27.5
- 2017 BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 27.5

1/1
JeffDG
6 months ago

Thanks everyone for your responses!!
Too bad that most of the Haibikes are limited at 20mph.
I do like the design of the RadCity, though I don't think I'd take that off road (edit: single track). The other day we went to Columbus OH and road some e-bikes...Haibike, Juiced, Raleigh... and fell in love with the center Drive system...and I only rode the Yamaha, which was fantastic. The Juiced CrossCurrent was nice enough, but just didn't feel very natural, rather dead on start; but did better at higher (~15mph) speeds. The mid-drive worked marvelous throughout the entire speed range. It's true...it really felt like it was "more me" riding.

Two I did fine that meet almost all my criteria, but are budget busters are the Bulls six50 E Street ---28mph, center Drive, 100mm shock...but $3800... yikes. The other is the Haibike Hardnine Street 4.5 which loses out because it's only a 20mph, 29er, and almost $4k. Hmm...if I'm stuck in this price range, I feel like I could get a center-drive commute and convert my Trek Marlin.

pxpaulx
8 months ago

I'm now leaning towards getting a commuter bike instead of a mountain bike. Most of my riding will be on paved roads, and I now think I'll enjoy having the fenders, lights, and racks built into the bike. I'm leaning towards the izip bikes as they appear to be a great value and have the twist throttle. I'm trying to decide between the dash and the pro tour. Does anyone have any thoughts on each bike? Is the pro tour basically the same bike with a sleeker battery and fancier display system? I also saw that izip's website has a sale on 2016 dash for $1,000 discount. Has the 2017 dash changed much?

They are 2 different motors, one 350w the other 500w - both are speed pedelecs, max 28mph. Both of the batteries are only 417wh - this is a little behind the bigger players (or a lot...) - bosch and yamaha motors now come with 500wh batteries, and bulls has a brose bike with 650wh batteries as well. Also, don't pay retail - shop around (local if possible and online) and negotiate a price you're comfortable with.

Check out these reviews - a little more money than the izip brand, but they are running the best motors in the business (transx is a known company, but not as established as bosch or brose):

Bulls six50 E2 Street:

https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/six50-e2-street/

Bulls Lacuba 45 (there is a normal high step version along with the step through Court reviewed):

https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/lacuba-evo-e45/

Haibike also has a couple of treking and MTB Xduro 'S' versions that are 28mph as well - check out their website as Court hasn't reviewed any of this year's models yet.

...also and a new raleigh 28mph with a brose motor, though no suspension:

https://electricbikereview.com/raleigh/redux-ie/

Ravi Kempaiah
8 months ago

I live in Portland and I would wager that 90% or more of the commuters ride drop bar bikes. It is hard enough to get them to think about e bikes but having to switch over to flat bar bikes is another issue and finally the manufacturers are getting with the program and offering drop bar e bikes. Raleigh also showed a drop bar bike at Sea Otter and Giant has one also, although the review I read indicated it was limited to 20 mph.

The only problem I am seeing is that it doesn't look like these bikes have high enough gearing to support effective human pedaling at the upper end. To pedal with resistance and maintain a reasonable cadence at 28mph you need at least a 130" gear and preferably more. My highest gear is 150" and I don't use it a lot but when I am going downhill with a tail wind it is there, but more importantly when I am feeling frisky and want to go fast I still have pedal enough to stay on top of the motor instead of vice versa which is important to me.

@JRA and @JayVee ,

The gearing is not just external. For example, the BULLS Dail-E Grinder has a 22T front sprocket while the flat bar Six50 E2 Street has 15T front sprocket. Initially, I was surprised by the difference. When I was updating firmware on those bikes, I noticed an option for changing the internal gearing ratio in the Bosch diagnostic software and the ratios for those 2 bikes are different. It compensates for any changes in the external physical gearing difference.
Both have the same Bosch Speed motor. It's just a tad easier to maintain 26mph on the Grinder but changing to the sprocket to a bigger one and adjusting the internal gearing is not difficult at all.

loginhater
8 months ago

Really liked the BULLS SIX50 E2 Street but didn't have the budget for it:

https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/six50-e2-street/

Lenny
8 months ago

Hi all,
I am a 42 year old 6'0" chubby guy pushing 280 lbs and I need to get back on the bike to commute for health and sanity sake. I ride 16-22 miles round trip to work over some hilly roads. Right now on my commuter bike I take about an hour to do the trip when I am feeling good. I want an e-bike to speed things up a bit for the commute. I have narrowed down my choices between the Izip E3 Dash or the Bulls Lacuba Evo for a commuter e-bike and need some input. Price wise the Izip is a little easier to digest where as the Bulls looks like a better motor and battery. So looking for suggestions and input?

BULLS Lacuba EVO 45 or the belt drive version EVO are really high-quality bikes built for heavy duty use. BULLS also has bigger battery (650Whr compared to 418whr on the izip) which means you can do a complete roundtrip commute without recharging at office. Lower the capacity, more charge cycles for the same distance. If you are going to be putting 20 miles everyday, we suggest you go with the higher capacity version. There are lots of benefits to this. One day if you just want to use the highest level of assist for your commute, you won't have worry about running out of charge and you won't have worry about upgrading your batteries for 2 more years.

BULLS is slightly on the heavier side (although not so much compared to izip).

I would also recommend you look at Six50 E2 street. This would be a better commuter bike than the 2 you mentioned.

http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/six50-e-2-street/

Griego
9 months ago

Great site! Thanks to all of those involved.
I have some mid drive bikes in my compare bucket. It's rarely possible to test ride everything I'm interested in even tough I live in a major city (Chicago). That's the toughest part about having the desire to buy an electric bike. I couldn't possibly buy a bike I've never been on but with a little extra help I can certainly narrow it down. I would really appreciate some input from anyone that actually rides any of the following bikes:
Trek XM700+
Gazelle CityZen C8 HM
Walleräng M.01
Raleigh Misceo Sport IE
BULLS SIX50 E2 Street
Thank you in advance!

Mark Peralta
9 months ago

No, and that would be a deal breaker for me if I was in the market for a commuter. The new Specialized Vado will have suspension.
Dumbar, For the same price of the super commuter,
https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/city-bikes/electric-city-bikes/super-commuter/super-commuter-8s/p/1367000-2017/
you can get this full suspension ebike (STARCKBIKE Asphalt Ebike) with the same other features.
https://www.motostrano.com/MOUSTACHE-Starkbike-Asphalt-Ebike-p/mstarka.htm
This is another worthy alternative with front suspension.
https://www.motostrano.com/BULLS-Six50-E2-Street-Ebike-p/bulls-620e2.htm

Richard Day
4 months ago

Got the bike love . Positive lifestyle change 76 miles in 3 days .Negative crappy seat crappy pedals very heavy bike. Where I live the battery only last about 60 o 70 miles.

David L
3 months ago

Richard Day I’m considering this bike. How do you like it so far? What does your commute look like?

Richard Day
5 months ago

I bought this bike it arrives on Tuesday.

Josh Amidon
11 months ago

I really like the looks of this bike. The only thing missing is the belt drive and a geared hub.

Truxo
1 year ago

How many Nm do you recommend to climb a slope without getting tired?

Propel Electric Bikes
11 months ago

It really depends on how fast you want to go. I think most center drive bikes can handle hills with minimal effort if you use the right gearing.

Александр Осипов
1 year ago

Man, how to contact you?
I sent e-mails but didn't receive replies.
Could you tell the actual e-mail I can contact you?
Cheers!

CRaul87
1 year ago

Is it just me or do these e-bikes seem to be wayyyy to expensive!? I mean 4k for a pretty basic low end bike with and engine and battery strapped to it? So is the engine and the battery worth 3k!? That doesn't sound right tbh.

NYCeWheels
9 months ago

The bike is $3799 now (at least with us it is) and it's probably one of the best deals for a class 3 bike. The Bosch system is incredibly engineered, and the most reliable system in e-bikes. There's a lot of features under the hood that may not be known to the average consumer that make it cost a pretty penny, but in the long run you'll be glad you went a Bosch equipped bike over some of the cheaper options out there.

Todd Wall
1 year ago

The bike itself reminds me of my Hardrock 29er.....I wish NYS was more ebike friendly. I'd never drive a car again.

Propel Electric Bikes
11 months ago

I totally hear you Todd. At the moment it could be argued both ways that's why we are trying to get a law passed. If there was a case to set precedence it could help. We recently had some cases in NYC setting precedence for electric assist. Hopefully we see a law pass this session and we won't need to go to court to get some legal action.

Todd Wall
11 months ago

I live on the Western most part of the state, about an hour southwest of Buffalo. The statewide law is vague, so most cops would likely confiscate the bike and ticket you. Unlike NYC, smaller cities and towns' police have nothing better to do than harass cyclists. I'd so love to use ebikes because of the ease of parking, no insurance, no gas, no registration, no headaches. Except for the pesky illegality part. :( Thanks for responding. I just saw your video on the bike shop in Brooklyn. Informative.

Propel Electric Bikes
11 months ago

I too hope that NYS was more ebike friendly, but we are definitely making progress. I think we have real potential of seeing a law pass this year. It'd number 2 on DOT's agenda and I think we are beginning to win over the City which has been the biggest issue historically.

Tardisius
1 year ago

Great bike, a little outa my price range =)

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Nice way to say it... there's a big gap between the $1,500 and these $4k bikes but you get a lot of quality and cool gadgets for the price leap :)

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
1 year ago

Good review court. Would you happen to know if the BBSHD motor would be compatible with an average one speed BMX style bike ?.

I have a mongoose beast that I was thinking about converting and, I had the BBSHD in mind.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
1 year ago

ElectricBikeReview.com THANKS.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

That sounds pretty cool... I've never seen an electrified BMX but don't see why it wouldn't work. Just keep in mind that the wheels are smaller diameter so your ground clearance might be less

Tim Standaert
1 year ago

Anal cam lol.

Suaik Miedique
1 year ago

Rancho Palos Verdes. What, does Fernando live at his mom's?

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Ha! I believe they rent a house in that area because they have kids and want to be close to schools and in a beautiful safe neighborhood. I love it there to be honest. Do you know them Suaik?

John Moura
1 year ago

Nice looking bike - - Great review!

David L
3 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com would you recommend this bike vs. Stromer for commute?

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Thanks John! I thought this one was really cool, had some of the Stromer qualities like speed and solid build but I like the suspension fork addition and appreciate the mid-drive for efficiency :)

Rob Pennefather
1 year ago

Hi Court, nice review as always. Can you give me your opinion on what torque differences in motors means.

Does more torque equal more power? More torque = more oomph? I live in Australia where we are restricted to 250 watt motors, but some have 60, some 70 to 75, and the new Impulse Evo and Bosch CX have 80 NMs.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Hi Rob, I'd think of it as the force of the motor... so not how fast but how much it could pull or push up a hill and maybe the zip from standstill. I'd welcome others to chime in as well. Some people try to separate motor torque vs. torque at the wheel and I'm guessing that would change on a mid-drive depending on the gear chosen.