Elby City Review

Elby City Electric Bike Review
Elby City
Elby City Bionx D Series Gearless Hub Motor
Elby City Battery With Cover Removed Locking Core And Handle
Elby City Locking Ergonomic Grips Internally Routed Cables
Elby City Supernova E3 E Bike Headlight Custom Shell Led Blades
Elby City Tektro Auriga E Sub Hydraulic Brake Levers
Elby City Comfort Saddle With Integrated Handle Extra Wide Seat Post
Elby City Sram X5 Nine Speed Drivetrain
Elby City Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard Chain Guide Vp Grip Tape Pedals
Elby City Fender Integrated Pannier Bar 180 Mm Disc Brakes Kickstand
Elby City Bionx 3 45 Amp Compact Charger
Elby City Electric Bike Review
Elby City
Elby City Bionx D Series Gearless Hub Motor
Elby City Battery With Cover Removed Locking Core And Handle
Elby City Locking Ergonomic Grips Internally Routed Cables
Elby City Supernova E3 E Bike Headlight Custom Shell Led Blades
Elby City Tektro Auriga E Sub Hydraulic Brake Levers
Elby City Comfort Saddle With Integrated Handle Extra Wide Seat Post
Elby City Sram X5 Nine Speed Drivetrain
Elby City Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard Chain Guide Vp Grip Tape Pedals
Elby City Fender Integrated Pannier Bar 180 Mm Disc Brakes Kickstand
Elby City Bionx 3 45 Amp Compact Charger


  • A highly polished, purpose-built electric bicycle with easy-to-mount frame, adjustable bars and ergonomic touch points, available in five colors, additional $99 shipping with assembly by Velofix
  • Custome extra-wide Aluminum fender that don't rattle, integrated Supernova LED lights with a custom light blade up front, large hydraulic disc brakes, internally routed cables
  • Available in a single speed or nine speed configuration, BionX D-Series motor is an excellent climber and near silent, throttle on demand and torque sensing assist, removable color LCD and USB charger for phone with optional Bluetooth app
  • Regen and motor cutoff switch is only built into the right brake lever, the bike is well balanced and surprisingly stiff for a wave frame, higher price tag here but you get nicer parts and a great warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers







$2,999 ($3,499 for Single Speed, $99 Extra for Shipping + Velofix)

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Comprehensive, 3 Year if Registered


United States, Canada, Europe

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56.8 lbs (25.76 kg) (55 lbs for Single Speed)

Battery Weight:

7.8 lbs (3.53 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 T6 Aluminum Alloy, Plastic Covers

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

16.5" Seat Tube, 25" Reach, 18.5" Stand Over Height, 72" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

White, Silver, Black, Orange, Blue

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 9 mm Axle with Nuts

Frame Rear Details:

10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Pannier Rack

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 SRAM X5, 11-34T (Single Speed Uses 15T Cog)

Shifter Details:

SRAM X5 Triggers on Right Bar


Lasco Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 38 Tooth Chainring with Alloy Guide


VP Composite Plastic Platform with Grip Tape


Custom Cane Creek, Sealed, 1-1/2"


Adjustable Angle -20° to 40°, 31.8 mm Clamp


Swept Back, 620 mm Length, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter, 33 mm Rise, 45.8° Bend

Brake Details:

Tektro Auriga Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Auriga E-Sub Levers with Motor Inhibitor and Regen Activation on Right Lever, Adjustable Reach Levers


Ergonomic Rubber, Locking


Elby Branded, Velo Comfort with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Custom Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

500 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

39.9 mm


Alex Rims, Double Wall, 32 Hole, Reinforcement Eyelets


Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Silver with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Continental CruiseCONTACT, 26" x 2.2"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

SafetySystem Puncture Protection, Reflective Sidewall Stripe, 35 to 65 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Adjustable Length Kickstand, Wide Aluminum Alloy Fenders with Support Struts, Pannier Hanger Bar (Max Weight 11 kg / 24 lbs Per Side, 22 kg /48 lbs Total), Flick Bell, Integrated Supernova E3 E-Bike V6s LED Headlight (165 Lumens) with Side Accent LED Blades, Integrated Supernova 3-LED Rear Light, Sturdy Bash Guard Chain Guide, Fully Enclosed Plastic Chain Cover on Single Speed


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.5 lb 3.45 Amp Charger, Internally Routed Cables, 3 Minute Auto-Off, Automatic Deep Sleep Battery Protection, 273 lb Max Weight

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

BionX, D-Series

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1000 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters (Nominal 25 Nm)

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

BionX DS3 Removable, Backlit, Color LCD


Speed, Battery Level (10 Bars), Battery Percentage, Assist Level (1-4), Regeneration Level (1-4), Odometer, Trip Timer, Trip Distance, Average Speed, Clock, Setup, Lights Indicator, Assist Level Gauge, Assist Percentage

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad, Phone Mount Adapter, 5 Volt Female USB Charging Port, Bluetooth Application (iOS or Android)

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

Elby is a special creature, an electric bicycle designed from the ground up to be approachable, comfortable and responsive. Seriously, the drive system on this city/cruiser is also used on e-mountain bikes! It packs a lot of power and zip along with some cool power regeneration features and is near silent. The drive systems are all produced by BionX, a fixture in the industry and partner to other premium manufacturers like Mercedes SMART. The only real complaint I have is that the motor looks large, it’s like a gray pizza stuck in the middle of the rear wheel… but at least the other gray plastic accents on the bike (like the battery box) are matched. This is a nod to Elby and their attention to detail. You can choose from five glossy frame colors including white and silver (for increased night riding visual footprint) and I love that some of the plastic accents and fork are color matched for a cohesive visual appearance. Yeah, aside from the motor, the battery, compact control system and even the wires ae mostly hidden. And while the Elby City only comes in one frame size, it’s designed to be highly adjustable, accommodating riders from 5 foot to 6.5 foot tall. The extra-long 500 mm seat post is thick and sturdy, the stem swivels up and down, even the swept-back “gull wing” handle bar can be swiveled to raise or lower and change reach. I love the ergonomic grips and slightly large but active saddle. Between these touch points and the thicker tires, you end up with a comfortable ride despite there being no suspension hardware. This keeps the bike lighter, cheaper and stiffer. Many wave style deep step-thru frames used for electric bikes have this bendy feeling about them, as you pedal, turn and stop the frame flexes. That is not the case with the Elby thankfully and I’m glad because it honors the motor and premium hydraulic braing systems. This is an awesome ebike, it’s just more expensive than some. And that’s interesting considering the direct to consumer model being tried out. You order online then pay an additional $99 for shipping/assembly and if you’re in a city where Velofix operates, they deliver it to your doorstep and set it up just right… even returning 30 days later for a free tuneup and adjustments.

Driving the Elby is one of the most unique and effective hub motor systems I’m aware of. Yes BionX is an advertiser for EBR so you may interpret some of this as bias… but I invited them after having tested a number of systems across a range of electric bikes. This thing is years in the making and only compromises on visuals in my opinion. By designing something extra wide, they were able to achieve higher torque and better heat dissipation. The casing for the D-Series is plastic, keeping it light and durable, and it has an internal torque sensor that works well consistently. It’s one of the quietest high powered motors and I love how they tucked the power cable leading to it on the left side low and out of the way for snags or tips. Notice also that the rear wheel spokes connect to the hub and rim of the wheel, not to the hub motor casing. This provides a more natural ride and a bit of flex… so spokes don’t tend to loosen as much or break. I was told that the max weight for the Elby was 280 lbs by the rep but believe it’s actually 273 based on some literature at their site and some quick math. That’s still above average where many ebikes say 250. This allows for the addition of bags on the rear rack or for larger riders, tall, boxy and overweight. In my opinion, it has the power needed to move larger loads effectively, something people ask me about regularly. You get 500 watts nominal peaking around 1,000 with 50 Newton meters of torque that can be controlled with a throttle… that’s very unique in a world where more electric bikes are using mid-drive systems that require pedaling.

Powering the motor, backlit color display and premium ebike specific lights is a high quality, custom designed, Lithium-ion battery pack. It offers 48 volts and 11.6 amp hours which is above average and the cells inside are produced by Panasonic, one of the top brands in the space. You can charge it on or off the bike and it locks securely with a key… but is kept hidden and perhaps protected by a plastic shell with stylized metal step pad. Now, I’m not sure I’d actually want to step on that, it looks too nice and might scratch over time. The downtube is low enough that most people should be able to step over easily. However, if you do scratch this plastic part or end up losing it (as you have to take it off for battery removal) I was told the company does sell replacements. One unique and semi-confusing aspect of the battery is that it interfaces with the bike using an EnergyBus Rosenberger plug (very high quality, magnetically connected). The plug is floating so it self-aligns easily and can transfer data and power… it’s like top of the line as far as plugs go :P but on the outside of the batter pack, the charger plug is more basic. It’s not magnetic and could get bent or pull the bike over like other more basic plugs. At least it’s kept mostly clear of the left crank arm and pedal but why not use the magnetic port there too? Yes, it would add to the already high cost of the bike and perhaps would have required a larger heavier charger. That’s one thing I love about the Elby and other BionX e-bikes, the charger is fast at 3.45 Amps but also super small and light weight making it very easy to take along to work or a friend’s house for a quick fill. One other grip I have about this mid-section of the bike is that the kickstand is mounted very near the left crank arm and will collide if you back the bike up or try to spin the cranks when parked. Many ebikes manufacturers are moving to a rear mounted kickstand but some feel these don’t look as nice (sticking out towards the back). I guess it’s just a small note and consideration.

So the motor and battery are great, the display system and control pad follow along as being some of my favorite. The bike powers on with one click on the control ring (near the left grip) and the color backlit display blinks to life. The really neat thing here is that if you didn’t have the display, the control ring functions just fine on its own! It has an LED charge level chart and LED assist level chart that blinks when you go into regen (by pulling the right grip). It’s slim so it doesn’t block the shifters or brake lever, mounted close so you can reach it easily, and intuitive with a plus and minus for assist level navigation and forward back for changing menu readouts. There’s a separate button just for the lights and that power button to turn it off again. But if you forget to turn it off, no worries… it powers down automatically after a few minutes on its own. We went in-depth on video above showing all of the settings and I listed them as well but this shouldn’t be overlooked. The button pad is great and the display is also awesome. I love being able to take the fancy pieces off of electric bikes when parking in the elements or sketchy neighborhoods. Nobody wants their fancy bike scratched or tinkered with and you might be wondering about the button ring… Couldn’t someone turn it on and press the throttle at the bike rack? Yes, they could turn it on and turn the lights on maybe but the throttle won’t activate until the bike is moving 5 km/h (for safety reasons) so this has the fortunate side effect of making it tamper resistant as well. So you get a bike only mode, four levels of assist, four levels of regen (which can slow you when coasting down hills or act as a fun workout mode) and regenerative braking activated by the right brake lever. As mentioned earlier, the brakes on the Elby are wonderful… You get 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable reach levers that are ebike specific. Or, at least the right one is, the left one does not have a motor inhibitor regen switch in it unfortunately. This is another area that I’d like to see upgraded. You’d pay slightly more and have one tiny more wire but it would also add a bit more complexity to the control system. The way it is now is fine, but many other ebikes have two levers with motor inhibitors and I like that.

It may seem like I’m gushing over the Elby City and that’s probably true. I’m a huge fan of the drive system and can see the care that went into its custom frame, light interface, optional phone mount and Bluetooth app. They give you basically everything here, the fenders are custom and oversized but still tight and out of the way when pedaling (specifically the front one which is pushed forward thanks to some rake in the fork which also stabilizes the ride). I’m excited about the experience and quality here but recognize that you really are paying for it. I wish the price was lower considering the Velofix delivery model. Perhaps some dealers will have the bike as well and it is available to test ride at the traveling ebike expo so check it out for yourself. Other highlights for me are the reflective and puncture resistant tires, upgraded Alex rims with reinforcement eyelets, reflective saddle with built in handle for easy lifting and moving. You may need a platform rack to move this electric bike with a car and in that case check out the Thule EasyFold Carrier with ramp which makes loading easier.


  • The Elby City looks beautiful and comes in five colors which all include reflective tires and accents on the saddle and pedals, I’d opt for white or silver to stand out even more during night or early morning rides… I love how the fork and plastic covers are perfectly paint matched
  • You get to choose a nine speed or single speed drivetrain (which saves weight and cost), in both cases there’s an excellent guide system so the chain shouldn’t fall off easily
  • I love how smooth and immediate pedal assist feels, the BionX torque system is very natural and shouldn’t ever surprise you or make you strain your knees the way some delayed cadence sensors do
  • Throttle mode is awesome, the throttle is easy to reach and offers variable speed response depending on how far you press it, I hit the top speed of 20 mph quickly and felt smooth bursts to maintain me at that speed as I held it down
  • Not only do you get four levels of assist, you also get four levels of regen (extremely unique in the world of electric bikes), I love how you can immediately activate regeneration by pulling the right grip too
  • Comfort touch points like the ergonomic grips and wider (but still active) saddle make the bike ride comfortably even though there are no suspension points, I like the wider tires and might run at a lower PSI to improve comfort further (I believe the range is 35 to 65 PSI)
  • I really like the idea of their Velofix partnership, it’s a way to reach a wider audience and ensure the bike is built well, it’s not available everywhere but does give them a jump start over dealer networks and you get a 30 day tuneup… in some ways I would have expected a lower overall price for the bike since there is no middleman, or maybe free shipping at least?
  • Considering the pedals are plastic, they felt stiff and grippy, I usually complain about flexy small pedals but these ones were unique and might not scrape your shins the way metal spiked ones cand
  • Beautiful color display that’s easy to remove on a solid adjustable angle mount, it’s cool that they also provide a phone mount adapter and 5 Volt USB port so you can use their app and completely replace the stock display if you want
  • The display panel gives you a lot more feedback than basic ones and is intuitive to use (left and right bars change views or enter setup if you hold the left one while on setup, the up and down bars raise or lower assist/regen, there’s an independent light button and power button too… I believe the control ring works even without the display panel if you want (it has two LED light strips that indicate charge level and assist/regen setting
  • Super small, lightweight charger would be easy to toss into a backpack or perhaps pannier bags if you get them, it’s one of the most compact I’ve seen from any company but still delivers a whopping 3.45 Amps for fast charging! Most chargers just put out 2 Amps
  • The display automatically shuts down after three minutes and if you stop using the bike to conserve battery, there’s also a Deep Sleep feature whereby the battery limits power draw after weeks or months of non-use (great for winter or times when you’re on a trip) to protect itself
  • Given the extra-long seat post (500 mm long) the Elby website says this e-bike can accommodate riders from 5′ to 6’5″ tall which is great
  • The power cable for the motor is tucked away nicely, most cables are internally routed but the motor cable is especially important and potentially vulnerable if the bike tips… for the Elby it seemed well protected
  • I like that they positioned the charging port on the battery towards the front of the bike, mostly out of the way of the left crank arm and pedal… many other ebikes have the port situated where it could get bumped or snagged easier


  • Given how deep and wide the step-thru portion of this frame is, it’s fairly stiff but there’s still a touch of frame flex, I like the metal accent on the downtube but some other curved parts are plastic and I’m guessing they could get kicked and scratched easier when mounting (so be careful)
  • The rear rack pannier bar thing is cool but only holds up to 40 lbs vs. a traditional platform rack which is usually rated at 55 lbs, it’s also a bit thick so I’m not sure all clip-on bags will work and there’s nowhere to put a trunk bag on top and no bottle cage bosses on the frame
  • This electric bike is on the expensive side (although the price dropped a bit in March 2018), but you do get a premium drive system, in addition to the price of the bike you also pay $99 for shipping and Velofix assembly
  • While I love how powerful the BionX D-Series motor is, the casing is large and stands out on most bikes, the rest of the systems are all mostly hidden however
  • The seat post is unnecessarily large and I’m told that was due to a previous design goal (to have a pump built in) but the company that makes that accessory went out of business so they were stuck with this really large post, I’d like it if they included a 39.9 mm to 27.2 mm shim so people could use their own seat posts with suspension perhaps
  • If you back the bike up with the kickstand down, the left crank arm will collide because it’s mounted near the center of the bike, this also limits ground maintenance like chain lubing if you want to pedal backward
  • When you add the bike to your shopping cart on the website, I think it should take you to the cart… instead you’re left on the same page you were before and have to look around to actually buy, they could make that easier (especially given this will be sold online mostly)
  • The battery charging port is a more traditional plug even though they use the magnetic EnergyBus interface from the battery to the bike… I wish they kept the magnetic design on the side of the pack too so the plug would pop off easily and not get bent or tip the bike as it is designed now


1 year ago

Thank you so much for reviewing the Elby – I have been waiting anxiously to see this! The one statistic remaining that I need is the height from the top of the saddle seat, in its lowest position, to the ground – do you have that please?

I have had a test ride on the 2017 Electra Townie Go 8i and found that it fit me very well and felt good riding however the two negatives (brakes and lack of Throttle-on-demand) keep me from taking the plunge. I do feel that I need the “flat-foot technology” though.

I am a female senior citizen living in a ski-resort town with many groomed/paved bicycle trails but not a level one in sight near my home or anywhere else in the area for that matter. There is a fairly long and steep hill leading to my home so I worry about getting back up the hill after a long ride especially if I only have pedal-assist. I need a step-thru bike. I am a casual/cruiser style rider and not particularly interested in speed but must have hill climbing power when I need it. I also like the idea of regen to slow the bike down when going down-hill. The Elby specs seem to fit all my needs except that I don’t know whether the seat will go down low enough for me to reach the ground when seated (28″ inseam) – I can adjust the seat to a more appropriate height if needed as I become more comfortable with the bike.

Do you have any thoughts/guidance about making a choice between the Elby and the Electra?

1 year ago

Hi Pamelae, I just reached out to the Elby rep and asked him to do the measurement for you (top of the saddle when it’s in the lowest position down to the ground), he said it’s 33.5″ high. I do think this ebike would be a good fit for you as it’s one of the very few with step-thru and a fairly powerful motor and throttle mode. I usually post stand over height as the top of the frame to the ground because I tend to start standing up and kicking off then pushing myself up to the saddle. With this approach I think you’d be able to get into the saddle and use the throttle for near-instant power. I do love the Electra Townie Go! but can see how the lack of throttle might be a big decision point. That ebike does have “flat foot” technology, meaning the cranks are slightly forward, but the ride isn’t substantially different from Elby and some others due to their more angled seat tube. In fact, you can see how the cranks on the Elby actually are positioned slightly forward imitating the Electra design here.

1 year ago

Thank you, Court, for finding out that information for me. Looks can certainly be deceiving – it looks as if the seat would slide down lower so that the height would be in the 29-30″ range . I will have to give it a test ride to see how it feels. Thanks again for your help and great reviews.

1 year ago

Sure thing Pamelae! I’m glad we were able to get you this info quickly and hope you’re able to take one out. I realize it can be tricky locating the proper size ebike in some cases… I’m excited to see more brands coming with versitile frames and even multiple frame sizes to explore :)

George Pelton
5 months ago

Hi Court! Can you tell me if there are any differences between the 2016 and the 2017 models of the ELBY? I’m about to purchase this bike after seeing your review, and the dealer has 2016 models in his shop. They look exactly the same as the bike in your review, which is dated as a 2017 model. But I’m wondering if there are any technological differences.
– George

5 months ago

Hi George! I reached out to a lead at Elby with your question to get an accurate statement and received the following from their Director of Global Sales and Marketing “Elby distinguishes product changes by version number rather than model year. The Elby S1, is the same version number (1) in 2016, 2017, and 2018 and therefore identical.” so it sounds like you’d be fine with the 2016 model. I hope it works great for you! Elby is doing something special with their e-bikes and it’s neat to also see how quickly they respond to comments and questions to provide support.

5 months ago

I just test rode the Elby 9 speed. I really like the balanced feel, the power, and the throttle. Having a throttle really helps getting started from a stop especially going up a hill. I also like the regenerative motor, it helps slow you down when going downhill a little bit like hill descent on a car. I’m not sure about the styling, maybe it’s just a hangup of mine. One styling issue I have that’s easy to make would be to make the motor casing round. I’m a graphic designer, I find the flat edges on the motor casing awkward in the round wheel. It would be great if they made the casing round and added a reflective ring on it.

Other bikes I’m considering at the Gazelle Arroyo, Kalkhoff Agattu B7, and Stromer ST1 Elite.

Do any of the guys out there feel odd riding a step-through model?

— Bryan

5 months ago

Hi Bryan, all great feedback! I like your idea about a reflective ring on the hub motor to make the bike safer from the side, to increase its visual footprint. I personally do not feel uncomfortable or awkward when riding a step-thru but might opt for a mixte (mid-step) frame or get a masculine color on a wave frame. Once I’m riding, it’s all about having fun but there is something to be said for appreciating the aesthetic of your bike too. The knee pain I sometimes experience when riding a traditional bicycle is what led me to big, heavy, expensive electric bikes five years ago… and now I feel less sensitive about the trade-offs because my pain is less of an issue. I feel like I have also become less sensitive about the visuals of an electric bicycle and more focused on functionality instead.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Nova Haibike
1 week ago

Except the OP indicated wanting a throttle, which Bosch drives do not have.

I third(?) the Juiced bike OceanCurrent recommendation. With the super long wheelbase, I bet it is super comfortable to ride. As for beyond budget, the Elby intrigues me, but I am a sucker for funky designs.

86 and still kicking
1 week ago

Will do, we sell both Ohm and Elby and would just hate to see this tech disappear. Not sure how many folks have ridden the D500 system but the smoothness, power, diagnostic and configuration capability, and durability of the system is top tier tech.

My feeling is that someone will step in to purchase certain assets and maintain production of these motors.

1 week ago

Hi 86,
If you or your contacts hear anymore re a possible Bionx-Boinx bailout could you please keep the forums posted
I know a few Bionx owners who will be relived if the rumours are substantiated

86 and still kicking
2 weeks ago

Bionx Europe is still up and running and we expect the Bionx tech to be purchased and continue. My contacts at Elby (another Bionx bike) seem to know something we do not as they are business as usual.

86 and still kicking
2 weeks ago

Unfortunately, there will continue to be fallout in the industry especially in North America as too many vendors are chasing too few dollars. As Trek, Giant, and Specialized continue to push eBikes and purchase their own storefronts, the IBD market will continue to retract. There will be a handful of eBike stores in highly dense urban markets that will hang on, but the rest will struggle to add non-bicycle revenues to compensate. We are bummed because we love the D500 motor (for many reasons) and sell a lot bikes with Bionx built-in. My Elby rep tells me its business as usual and that supply should continue for the foreseeable future. Let's hope there are other potential Bionx investors who figure out ways to retire some of their debt and allow Bionx to reduce operating costs and focus on core products.

2 weeks ago

Reading about Frank Stronachs departure from Magna taking Bionx with him and giving Magna a minority share might this have been the beginning of the end if they no longer had the resources of the larger company to fall back on? The subsequent history of dabbling in powerboat motors, then creating Elby, then lobbying for and getting a development grant from the Canadian Government in 2017, it seems he did try a few things before the end. I was intrigued to read Justin Lemire-Elmore’s attempt to get Bionx interested in his statorade, if they could solve the heat build up issue with DD motors might Bionx have kept Yuba interested and made a come back in the cargo bike/utility market?

3 weeks ago

Yep, so is Elby which was founded by Frank Stronach who just pulled the plug on Bionx. Yuba and Public dropped Bionx for 2018, Evo's HB1 model uses their D500 motor but most of their other ebikes use Shimano Steps so I expect they'll just go all Shimano. My local bike shop has an Evo HB1 in their window and just sprang for the Bionx diagnostic software so they'll be pissed.

86 and still kicking
3 weeks ago

eBikes require physical effort since most offer what is called pedal assist. This makes it easier to pedal. The amount of power can be regulated up or down based on your physical condition and of course the terrain. Some eBikes also include a throttle which does allow you to just sit there but they do use a lot of battery charge since there is no assist from the rider and the motor is doing all the work. Here are a couple of suggestions for you:

-test ride a number of eBikes both rear hub and mid drive types to get an idea of how they provide assist. In general rear hubs are easier to get up to and maintain speed, mid-drive motors are preferred for mountain bikes and extremely hilly terrain as they have more torque. Mid-drives in general do not have the same amount of oomph from a dead stop. Mid-drive assist is somewhat gear dependent while rear hubs apply power without regard to the gear you are in.

-explore both a step thru design that is easy to mount and a conventional triangle design where you have to throw your leg over the seat.

-get a realistic assessment of battery range. They vary greatly and manufacturers greatly exaggerate mileage claims.

-besides testing various makes and models, pay attention to how comfortable the geometry of the bike is for you. If the bike is not comfortable you will not ride it.

It doesn't sound like your needs are terribly demanding, but ask yourself the following questions and then have a dealer answer them.

-what type of roads will I ride on (mostly smooth, mostly off road and rough)
-how often do I intend to ride
-what is the warranty and does it pay for parts AND labor.
-will the dealer offer home delivery and warranty service pick up and delivery

The average price of an eBike is around $2500. You will find many quality models for under $2K and of course many for over $2.5K.

Disclosure, I am a dealer in the San Francisco Bay area. I suggest shopping many dealers as the quality of service, selection, and support varies between dealers.

As a biased opinion, we sell a LOT of Elby's (http://www.elbybike.com) to senior citizens as they are easy to mount, powerful, have a full throttle, and are built like a tank.

Good luck with your shopping!

86 and still kicking
1 month ago

We sell a lot of Pacer's as it is a very well built and very fast eBike. Also take a look at the Elby, a do-it-all eBike that can be turned into a 28mp speed monster with a 90-range battery. You should also check out the Ohm Urban as well.

86 and still kicking
2 months ago

Effective February 1, 2018 Elby has reduced the MSRP for both the single speed S1 and the 9-speed S1 to $3299.00 Kudos to Elby for lowering prices. We've had tremendous success selling Elby's and look forward to even greater sales in 2018. P.S. Elby now has a rear rack option available for $59.99 plus tax and shipping. This new rear rack sits above the rear fender and allows for mounting a rear trunk bag or basket.

2 months ago

Being an ebike nerd, I look at drive trains. The Radcity is a direct drive motor, while the other two use geared motors. While the first one has a 750W rating vs the 500W rating on the other two, ratings are 90% label and 20% engineering. Yes it's over 100% to account for marketing. You have to look at the controller to see the true wattage, but all three are limited to 20 mph anyway on throttle anyway. All three have plenty of power for recreational riding.

A direct drive will have some resistance to coasting/pedaling if the motor ism't being driven, as you have to push against the magnets. More resistance with bigger motors. I've ridden Stromers and Elbys and don't mind at all, but I've heard that the big 1000W pizza sized motors are brutes to pedal. Sometimes we come home with no battery, so it's just something to consider. You've already tested the RadCity. Meanwhile, geared motors will freewheel and coast quite well. Regen braking is a feature with direct drives that might save brake pad wear, but will add little to the battery, unless your ride is to the top of a mountain and then down.

In general, direct drives have more top speed, while geared motors have more torque for hills.

If you bike has to live at the shop, that would be a bummer. We bought my wife's bike at a shop 200 miles away. No issues. Never been back. I don't think 100 miles is that bad, but you want the Magnum guy to promise that the 30 day checkup will be scheduled and performed while you wait. Leaving it overnight is no good. Might even ask for credit to get it done locally., There's enough give in the prices, in my opinion.

2 hours ago

Yea, it's in Alameda county. Maybe we just haven't been here long enough to see it. It does get really dry and hot in the summer, so it wouldn't surprise me.

bob armani
2 hours ago

whannah-Are we on the same page? Livermore is a city in Alameda County, California, correct? Strange that you are a resident and you have not seen this. I'll have to find out exactly what area of town he is referring to.

6 hours ago

I think Dmitri is becoming a bit long-winded. I watched half his video and had to let it go!

7 hours ago

Hello fellow Swedes!
So im in the same position as you are. Been researching for over a year now.
Me and my spouse have moved from the city to the more rural forests of Närke and we want to go more sustainable.
To replace the diselvan as much as possible is our goal.

I've been reading everything and watched so many reviews from different manufacturers and i can't really decide.

So this Saturday we went and bought a rawbike from "blocket" for 12k SEK. It's a class II moped, 750w, 48v 15.4 Ah. 25km/h topspeed but i unlocked it to 35km/h. It's for my spouse so she can go to the bus and home.
We have a hill that is 3.5km long and has an elevation of 150m. I have to take that one home after working 12h nightshift.

For myself i cant decide what to buy. I'd like an electric ATV but there is only kidsized ones available.

The models i have researched so far:
Haibike trekking 7.5 or 4.0 (dual battery)
R&M - all of them, but supercomuter with 2x500w is the one i think.
Bulls Evo street http://www.pro-e-bike.se/sv/elcyklar-emtb-ebike/marken/bulls-six50-evo-street.html
Scott Sub Tour 10
Butcher and bicycles cargobike

Radrhino fatbike 750w - the Eu model is not updated with the larger battery yet according to their website.

My requirements are Bosch CX and 500wh battery. I'd like a dual battery setup since i have 25km to the city and i want to make sure i can go home at max assist and speed if i need.
And yes i will buy a dongle for it if i get one.

I think there is not much that differs between these models. Motor and battery is key. The rest i "meh".

But then there is the Super soco moped with 2kw and 29Ah battery for 32k SEK with option for another battery.
With the new EU rules there is the speed bikes too. Elcykelguiden.se had an article about it and they mentioned this site:

2kw, 60v 18Ah and topspeed 60km/h for 23k and possible less if you are chosen as a testpilot. I sent an email yesterday.
I like fatbikes and have an Kona Wozo fatbike as my current MTB.

E-Bike or Moped or something in between... That is the question.

12 hours ago

I'm in S most of the time on my original 350w CC so as make my 32~ mile roundtrip commute as short as possible. On a good calm day that means under 50 minutes on a 50/50 city/suburban route. I'm on my 2nd battery a 12.8 (replacing the old 10.4) & i think I've already worn it down as the assist on S putters around the 15mile mark. Gonna have to seriously consider a 3rd higher capacity battery this year...

I really wish I could upgrade my original CC to the more power CCS without buying a new bike since headwinds can make maintaining above 22 mph a struggle.

17 hours ago

Fair enough, I personally like the torque sensor approach around town. I can focus on riding the bike and let the controller determine how much power to send to the motor.

17 hours ago

I ride in a city a lot. I use a thumb throttle that falls naturally to my hand. I also use a hub motor bike. Glad you have found what works for you.

1 day ago

Hello wakjagner and Banzai,
Thank you both for your input, it is much appreciated. I have in fact looked at the possibility of getting a Radmini, since it would easily fit into the back of my Tucson. However, since I already have a fat tire bike which I like for the situations that I use it in, which are riding on the gravel shoulders of the highways in my area and on gravel trails; I much prefer the ride (and lack of noise ) that a bike with skinnier, road type tires provides. So, that has left me with what I see as two possible choices: a folding bike with 20 inch wheels like the Voltbike Urban or a bike like the Radcity. I am thinking that with the front wheel removed and the seat removed as well, the Radcity or the Radcity stepthru might fit into the Tucson. The reason I say that is because I am able to get my Yukon into the back of the Tucson with the front wheel removed, but in truth, it is a heavy beast and it was a struggle, almost a two person job. I would think that my best option would be to spring for a 20 inch folder, but I have never ridden one and am uncertain about how well suited it would be for longer rides in terms of comfort and handling (twitchy?).

Again, thanks to you both for your very helpful input. I will continue to gather information and ideas from people to aid me in my (seemingly never-ending) search.

Best regards.

1 day ago

I'm at around 270 and have experienced zero concern with flexion in the Rad City Stepthru. I haven't done any real offroading with it, just street and a few trails, but it's overbuilt quit extensively in that regard.
I'd be cautious regarding the take down- this bike is surprisingly large. If you could fit your Yukon in your Tucson by taking off the front wheel, you'd probably be able to fit the Step Thru by doing so, but I was a bit surprised by the overall height and girth of the bike- perhaps I was too used to my touring bike but the Step Thru seems much taller at the handlebars and seat.

Banzai- Glad to hear regarding the sand and the trails, I haven't gotten very adventurous with mine yet and that's good to know.
You must be in significantly better shape than me, as pushing this lumbering bike around with out PAS was unappealing to me :D

2 days ago

Well done video showing a beautiful commute. It sure beats my route into Honolulu. Granted the weather here is nearly always sunny, but like every other major city we're faced with high property crime rates, terrible traffic congestion, crappy roads, elevated rail construction (the next Big Dig) and then there's the homeless sleeping on the sidewalks. I'd swap commutes with you any day.

Ravi Kempaiah
2 days ago

Those electronic horn looks amazing. How do people react if you use that within the city or on a bike path?

2 days ago

Hello Port Perry Bob up there in cold country Canada,
There are several things I didn't cover in order to keep from being too wordy, like frame reinforcing, tire pressure, front suspension, and the mods to make the bike more suitable to me. These topics will all likely be covered in videos eventually, or even discussed here.
I can understand your concern about height because unless a rider stands 6 feet tall, swinging a leg over a Rover and then straddling the top bar may be a little difficult. Do that several times a day, and some pains are likely to begin showing up. Exactly the reason I purchased the Step Thru. I'm seventy two and run 10k every other day as well.
I have several miles on the City bike now, mostly trail riding, and haven't noticed any flexing at all. I weigh somewhere around 220. It does have lots of extra support as Court mentioned in the only video review on this bike so far. There are two gussets welded at the junction of the top and front tubes, and there is a brace that helps house the battery that runs to the gooseneck. Court also mentioned that this frame was stronger than many of the other step thrus he reviews. A good way to test for it is if there is swaying or vibration occuring when at top speed, which has never occured at the top speed this bike is capable of on a downhill run, and I do that run every day.
The Shengyi motor is rated for 750 watts for which I don't know how much Canada is a stickler for not going over 500 watts.
As far as loading it into a Hyundai Tucson, I would be looking at the possibilities of a RAD Mini, which may have a following as great as or even more than the Rover. If not allowed in Canada, I spotted another mini step thru on Amazon called the VeeGo that is rated for 500 watts and has a fold down handlebar.
In any case, I appreciate the comments. Happy trails when everything thaws out.

Water Bottle
2 months ago

39.9mm shim? Unless you have access to a machine shop to make a custom shim then I do not think an Elby owner will ever find one. Yes I did a quick search online no one seems to make shims that large for a bike. It is a nice bike though.

Judge TK
3 months ago

No your not wrong Shim and hes just sombody that came to check the bike out. I think he likes to hear him self talk. Thats because his door swings the other way. lol. Jesses he does get old quick. And the bike is probably about 5-6 grand. Everybody should buy two of them.

Dennis Agar
2 months ago

Judge TK i

Water Bottle
2 months ago

5-6 grand.... No sir! Only 2,999 in Canada now.

Amego Electric Vehicles
3 months ago

Unbelievable holiday sale on Elby's at Amego until Dec 31st. Free shipping in Canada and the US. Free Abus Bordo 6500 lock with every ebike sale. Prices in Canadian dollars.

DavPro Publishing
3 months ago

I've been shopping for an electric bike for two years. My search started on Amazon and I almost bought a Pedego, but I don't like their rear-heavy design. Then I saw Elby, but the sticker price (about $4000 with shipping and tax) was more than I wanted to spend. Velofix dropped the ball on a test ride so I sort of lost interest until I found the Elby on sale at Electric Bikes of New England. The $3899 model (matte black) was on sale for $2400 with free shipping, no sales tax and an additional 10% Thanksgiving discount. I almost paid $3699 for the single speed on Elby's website the week before. Patience and timing saved me $1600 though the bike did require a bit more assembly -- handlebars, front wheel and pedals plus the seat needed some adjustment. All necessary tools were included. I'm 6'3" tall and the bike fits perfectly. The Elby will be used as primary transportation.

4 months ago

Thanks for the thorough review. Looks very well built. I wonder about water entry into the bike frame from the cable entrance for the rear brake(?)

Mike Mejia
5 months ago

They already "got".....they already "have".

5 months ago

Thanks, I occasionally mess up my speech or flub things when I get excited or am trying to be efficient. Will keep this in mind for future reviews ;)

David Macdonald
6 months ago

It must be twice as quiet as the Bosch system

Donandnan Elmore
9 months ago

Cort, would you consider giving the price of the bikes at or near the start of your reviews? It would help to put all the features and performance of the bike in perspective as the video is watched.

Chris Hazell
9 months ago

Hi I'm Chris from the uk at only 5 feet tall I was wondering what E bike with fat wheels might suit my needs any help would be appreciated

Ian Mangham
3 months ago

Chris Hazell A small one

minnie saab
9 months ago

like it

10 months ago

I own an Elby. Pros, extremely well built,very quiet motor, easy to ride, it feels like a regular bike and with multi speed with the different power levels there is always a level that's just right. Cons, I wish the bell would be electric, and that would have some type of an alarm system for this money. But after every time I ride it, I tell myself it's worth every penny.

10 months ago

Cool, thanks for sharing your experience so far, the only electric bell/horn I have seen on an ebike so far is the new Specialized Vado, interesting concept: https://electricbikereview.com/specialized/turbo-vado-6-0/

andy lebbon
10 months ago

The ball at end of brake lever is to stop lever stabbing rider in accident for 30mph ebikes in Europe same as motorcycle learnt a lot from this channel thank you

David Jenkins
12 months ago

You need to let me test it, from my house in Pittsburgh's South Hills to the grocery store a mile away and return. Leaving the house, three blocks steep uphill including one brick street, then stop at a light (always red when I get there), start uphill through the light and down to the store. Return with groceries, uphill again to that light, down to home. Any bike can coast around flats, it's hills that make the difference and it's overcoming those hills while dressed for work or carrying a load that is the reason for buying an electric assist bike in the first place.

1 year ago

Regen mode might be useful if you are going a really really short distance and need to put in a bit of extra work. I could see using it as maybe downhill assist too but it would probably be close to useless as a method to actually recharge the batteries manually.

JustCurtis FromCanada
1 year ago

I'm looking forward to a test ride next month, thanks for reviewing this bike, it looks like there will be quite a crowd on my street corner. I've had an ebike before (the A2B Metro) and I'm looking for something more reliable and hopefully this is it. I have my eye on the single-speed this time as I've found changing gears to be quite distracting and unneccesary when the bike is going top speed. ALSO, I've always wondered how ebikes are expected to endure weather in less than ideal conditions ie. anywhere outside California. How are these bikes in the spring-slush Canadian weather in March?

Dale Wildey
1 year ago

My Schwinn meridian trike is a step through. I think step is the way to go. I'm getting more joint pain in the hips, the older I get.This is a very nice bike. Thanks for the review.

Zeev Kirsh
1 year ago

saw this in manhattan last year. bike is heavy as shit but it looks awesome. also, the truly low stepover is amazingly practical, however, you cannot detach the battery so you have that issue........but then again, it looks sweet in person. better than even on video........styling is unmatched.

Martian Megafauna
1 year ago

The metal fenders look cool and seem ultra sturdy but there are some downsides to metal fenders...
if a stick or branch or big piece o' junk gets run over and picked up by a tire, it might lock up the tire and
send you flying...@ 28 mph!

This is why, for once, I would prefer plastic, which will usually break and shatter, but is less likely to crash you.

1 year ago

you're not supposed to take this bike off roading!

1 year ago

Would you buy an e-bike from this ear guy? really?

1 year ago

You don't live where he lives though or it probably wouldn't seem as strange. The thing about face jewelry, earrings like this, and neck/face tattoos is you have to go the extra mile to be respected as a professional with these things. When you do encounter a professional that looks like this you can probably assume they wouldn't be there if they weren't good.

terry oneill
1 year ago

awesome i missed the price thank you from the u/k