Energie Cycles Excursion 2.0 Review

Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Electric Bike Review 1
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 250 Watt 8fun Motor
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 In Frame Battery
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Lcd Display And Throttle
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Ergonomic Grips
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Folded
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Internal Battery Pack
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Rear Light And Rack
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Single Speed Shaft Drive
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Suspension Fork Fenders
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Electric Bike Review 1
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 250 Watt 8fun Motor
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 In Frame Battery
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Lcd Display And Throttle
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Ergonomic Grips
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Folded
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Internal Battery Pack
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Rear Light And Rack
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Single Speed Shaft Drive
Energie Cycles Excursion 2 0 Suspension Fork Fenders


  • A durable folding electric bike with efficient 250 watt geared motor, in-frame battery, rack, fenders and lights
  • Unique shaft-drive eliminates the need for a greasy chain that can fall off, single speed works well enough for short distance "around-town" riding
  • Comfortable over sized saddle, basic suspension fork and ergonomic grips, solid two year warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers



Energie Cycles


Excursion 2.0


$1,000 USD

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Comprehensive


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

46.9 lbs (21.27 kg)

Battery Weight:

2 lbs (0.9 kg)

Motor Weight:

8 lbs (3.62 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:


Frame Fork Details:

Zoom Aqua Suspension with Preload Adjust

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Shaft Drive, Single Speed


Plastic Folding Platform



Brake Details:

Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Wuxing Levers with Motor Inhibitor


Hard Rubber, Ergonomic


Padded, Comfort

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Rear Carry Rack (Maximum Load 10 Kilograms), Full Length Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Single Side Kickstand, Independent Front and Rear Lights by Spanninga


Locking Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Battery Brand:

DLG Power

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

6.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

237.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Nickel Cobalt Manganese

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

13 miles (21 km)

Estimated Max Range:

18 miles (29 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Monochrome Backlit SW-LCD


Speed, Odometer, Assist Level (0-9), Battery Level, Watts

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Excursion 2.0 is a folding electric bike from Energie Cycles, a division of Renewable Power Energy that’s based in Las Vegas and is known for producing higher quality batteries in Asia (used in hybrid busses, street sweepers and other large electric systems). Ironically, the batteries in this little electric bike are from another supplier called DLG Power… I believe they went this route because the battery form factor is so small and unique. It’s designed to fit right inside the downtube, completely protected and concealed by the frame. The Excursion 2.0 is clean looking with most wires hidden under the frame and a smaller geared hub motor that blends in with the mechanical disc brake in the rear. You get a dash of comfort thanks to an oversized comfort saddle, ergonomic grips and a short-travel suspension fork. I enjoyed testing this ebike and was able to navigate through grass without pedaling. The motor produced a bit more noise than some other folding electric bicycles I’ve tried but overall, for the price and considering the accessories, the experience was good.

The motor driving this ebike is a 250 watt geared hub design from 8Fun (a reputable Chinese manufacturer). I like that they were able to use a silver hub because it blends in so well. For some, 250 watts may not sound like that much but it’s actually equivalent to what many professional cyclists put out consistently over long rides (in the 200 to 250 range) and it feels good here. There’s only one pedaling gear on this bike and I noticed that starting required a bit more effort and that once up to ~20 mph the cranks had to be turned very quickly to keep up with the bike, so it’s nice to have a throttle mode to fall back on. One downside to the trigger throttle here is that it requires the computer to be set in one of nine pedal assist modes to become operable. There is a zero level in the computer but the the throttle does not work in this mode… it basically just keeps the display on to be used as a cycle computer. Despite lacking a dedicated “throttle only” mode the throttle does receive maximum power on all assist levels. On some other ebikes I’ve tried, I would have to arrow up to the top level of assist in order to gain access to full throttle potential and then if I forgot that I was in assist and pedaled slightly to adjust my body, the bike would lurch forward unexpectedly… at least with the Excursion 2.0 I can use the throttle at full power in assist level one and avoid a big lurch like that.

Powering the drive system and computer display is a 36 volt 6.6 amp hour Nickel Cobalt Manganese battery pack. It’s removable which helps to reduce the overall weight of the bike during transport or to make storage more convenient. You can help extend the life of this pack by charging it every couple of months that the bike is not used and I usually suggest topping off after longer rides as well. The ideal storage conditions are cool and dry, try to keep the battery from dropping below 20% capacity. You should be able to get 1,000+ complete cycles out of this pack and I love the two year warranty offered by Energie Cycles. Many of the lower powered ebikes I test which opt for 250 watt motors use battery packs that offer just 24 volts but having 36 volts at your disposal definitely increases the feeling of torque and makes reaching the top speed easier. The range you get depends on how heavy the load is, what the terrain is like and whether you pedal along but expect upwards of 10. Overall, I really like this battery design because it’s hidden and balances out the rear-heavy motor and rack for a bike that handles well and maintains a low center of gravity.

Operating the Excursion 2.0 electric bike is very straight forward, especially if you charge the battery while it’s mounted in the frame (using the port on the left side of the downtube). To get going you simply press the center “Mode” button on the control pad which is mounted near the left grip. Once the display comes to life you get a readout for speed, assist level, range and watts. The display isn’t removable which means it could take more wear through sun exposure but it is large and easy to read while riding which I appreciate. I noticed that the bike defaults to assist level three when you turn it on which means you can start pedaling straight away and the cadence sensor will activate the motor at an efficient level or you can activate the trigger throttle near the right grip. Having nine levels of assist to choose from means you can find a speed that’s comfortable to pedal in and that’s important given the single speed design. Unlike more responsive torque sensing pedal assist systems, the Excursion opts for cadence and that means you can gently keep the cranks moving and that will be enough to activate the motor, you don’t have to overexert yourself.

I was impressed with the Excursion 2.0 electric bike because it’s clean, compact and affordable. The warranty is solid and Energie Cycles has been around since at least 2012 which is comforting. This model in particular would make a great addition to an RV or boat and depending on the airlines you fly with, the battery may be checkable because it’s under 300 watt hours (confirm before flying). Some folding ebikes feel uncomfortable because the smaller wheels are prone to drop into cracks and bumps rather than spanning them but this one addresses this issue with soft saddle, suspension fork and ergonomic grips (though they are a bit firm, padded grips would be nicer). Apart from the motor whir, it rides pretty quiet and the fenders and rack don’t rattle much. Unlike most chain driven bikes, you don’t need a chain guard here thanks to the unique shaft system and I just feel like you wouldn’t have much maintenance to do overall. There aren’t quick release systems on the wheels so be sure to bring a tool and some extra tubes if you do go remote and consider adding a bag to the rack so you can carry some water and gear along. I bought this one for my Mom recently because it has a bottle holder built right in but found that it’s a very tight fit for standard sized bicycle bottles.


  • Priced well at ~$1,000 given the nice extras like fenders, carry rack and lights
  • Less maintenance and mess thanks to the shaft drive design, you don’t have to worry about the chain falling off or dealing with a derailleur
  • Fairly comfortable to ride given the oversized saddle, ergonomic grips and basic suspension fork
  • Efficient 250 watt motor extends range and keeps the bike light weight, given the smaller diameter 20″ wheelset the motor actually benefits from improved leverage and feels fairly zippy (it rode through grass with no problem for me)
  • Battery is low and centered, it balances out the rear hub motor very well and can be charged on or off the bike
  • Clean aesthetic and tight overall build, I didn’t hear a lot of rattling when I rode across the grass and other bumpy terrain with this bike, even the fenders stayed quiet
  • Extra long seat post makes this bike rideable for taller users but the mid/low step frame keeps it accessible for shorter riders as well, it’s easy to stand over and control


  • The trigger throttle does not work in level zero, you have to be using one of the nine pedal assist modes to activate it
  • Single speed drivetrain is most comfortable at lower and medium speeds, starting or pedaling very quickly can feel difficult because the cadence is fixed
  • The display is fixed and doesn’t swivel easily without the use of a tool, the battery can also take extra effort to remove from the frame (it’s locked inside the frame as well as having a lock on the outside)
  • No bottle cage mounts, if you plan to bring water along consider using a bag on the rack or some sort of saddle cage adapter
  • The geared hub motor produces a bit more noise than some of the other ebikes I’ve tried with similar setups, possibly because it’s a 250 watt design


More Energie Cycles Reviews

Energie Cycles 2.6tm Review

  • MSRP: $1,750
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A solid around-town platform with good climbing ability and decent range thanks to the extra large battery and mid-drive BBS02 motor from 8Fun. Suspension fork, seat post shock, oversized saddle and ergonomic grips improve ride quality significantly...

2 years ago

I own this bike. Hadn’t ridden in a year. I was trying to bring the ‘Mode’ number down to 1 in the basement and it lurched forward all on its own. A little scary as I am 65 and don’t need any falls in my life. Don’t know what to do now. The manual that comes with this is extremely unhelpful. Its like it was translated to English (from Chinese??) in unclear or incomplete directions.

2 years ago

Bummer Suzanne… Yeah, don’t get hurt over an ebike :( if I was in your position I might consider selling on the cheap and buying something more stable or with better support. Depending on how tall you are the Pedego Mini models work well, there’s a 24″ step-thru Interceptor and some cheaper cruiser models that might work :)

5 months ago

Hi Suzanne. Where did you buy this bike. I called manufacturer in Las Vegas, they say this bike was discontinued. EBR still have this bike review page and in youtube. I wonder if is discontinued. I want to buy one but don’t know where to make order. Thank you.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ann M.
11 months ago

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric bikes from Energie Cycles as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

Gene Keyes
2 years ago

I've been searching EBR and the Web for 16" e-bikes, and after posting that article [in Other] on the gazillions of e-bikes in China, I suspected that might be a place to look, especially Alibaba. Initially here in Canada I found something for $1,499 called EBikeBC UltraLight Foldablehttp://ebikebc.com/product/ultra-light-foldable-e-bike/ from a shop of the same name in Burnaby, British Columbia. (I'm on the other side of the continent, in Nova Scotia.) By instant message, I cross examined a support person as to whether that 24 lb. (11 kg) weight included battery; he insisted it did. It is single speed; he said the chain is rustproof steel; motor is Alkema brushless; 250 W; no carrying bag.

I was just itching for Court to get out his selfie stick and give that bike his full video treatment.

Then I went to Alibaba, which is a huge candy-store of e-bikes, and found that same one in the $400 price range

I'm still comparison-shopping for this sort of e-bike. (As mentioned elsewhere, I'm also pondering the https://electricbikereview.com/energie-cycles/excursion-2-0/, with shaft drive — but that one is twice as heavy as this!) I've bought some small cheap electronics directly from China: some good, some not so much; but haven't dealt with Alibaba on something this big. Assuming that one is not a total piece of junk, it would fit my situation: am a retiree in a nice small relatively flat town of Berwick, and only need to get around for groceries and fall scenery and such. Any comments? Nova Scotia is way off the beaten path when it comes to e-bikes, so I can't test drive these things, and must let Court do it for me.

Gene Keyes
2 years ago

In general, how hard is it to change a rear tire on a 20" hub drive e-bike, and in particular, disconnecting the shaft drive of the https://electricbikereview.com/energie-cycles/excursion-2-0/, which I'm considering — because then I'd like to re-equip it with http://www.tannus.com/.

If I could have no chain, and no flats, that would address my two biggest bugaboos in 60 years of non-electric biking and no car. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mm37lyRcVBUSee alsohttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mm37lyRcVBUhttps://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/a-real-flat-resistant-tire.3109/#post-38635

(PS: I accidentally said 16" in my original post.)

2 years ago

Thanks Ann for pointing out this maker. I would imagine their bikes are more reliable than others due to their repair expertise. Prices are low also.

technomadia - chris
2 years ago

The feedback from this group has been great - thank you all!

I've been doing some work to distill down further what we are looking for, and I've started to put together a short list of contenders.

Here is what we are looking for:

Size Constraints:

[*]RV Bike “Garage” is 28” tall, 32” wide, and 36+” deep. Storing bikes upright in this space is desired.
[*]When away from our RV, we will want to transport both of our bikes in the rear (seat folded down) of a Mini Cooper.

Style of Riding / Terrain:

[*]Primarily leisurely exploration around-towns, campgrounds, state parks, and desert areas. We also hope to use the bikes for local errand running - such as trips to the market. We are not out to commute anywhere fast.
[*]Outings of 15-20 miles will be a typical max range, though further on occasion is possible.
[*]Comfort is key. Comfortable seat and riding position, and a relatively smooth ride desired.
[*]We’ll ride a mix of paved and dirt / gravel roads, as well as mild trails.
[*]Hills are likely - gears to get up them comfortably (if slowly) are a must.
[*]Rider #1 is 5’11” and 250lbs, and needs a bike that can handle his weight.
[*]Rider #2 is 5’5” and needs a bike that can handle her height.
[*]Electric assist is great - but the bike still needs to be enjoyable to ride without. Being able to shed the weight of the battery to leave it behind is ideal.

Desired Features:

[*]Simple & Reliable - We are constantly traveling and will not have a “home” bike shop to return to regularly for maintenance. We want bikes we can count on, and which will be able to put up with regular use and getting knocked around.
[*]Cargo rack or basket - we need a way get things home from farmer’s markets, etc.
[*]Fenders - we want to be able to go down a wet dirt road without ending up wearing it.
[*]Kick Stand - It boggles my mind that some bikes lack this??
[*]Lights - Easy enough to add, but nice if they are built in.
[*]Wheels - Hybrid-style tires suitable for both on and off pavement. 20” wheels minimum, potentially larger if possible.
[*]Easy Folding - If it takes more than a few minutes to pack the bikes down to fit into the garage storage space, we will not use them nearly as often as we should.

Desired eBike Features:

[*]Ideally Both Pedal Assist & Throttle - If only one, he would pick pedal assist. She would prefer a throttle.
[*]Regenerative Braking is exciting to us. We are geeks like that.
[*]Removable Battery.
[*]Nice bike computer display.
[*]Bonus geek points for anything that can talk to an iPhone.

Are there other key features that we should be looking for?

Current Short List:
We are just starting our research, and are trying to find the bikes that best fit our requirements. We are open to dedicated eBikes, or traditional folding bikes upgraded with BionX or other add-on systems.

Here are some of the contenders that we are researching, and we are looking for other options we should consider:

[*]e-Joe Epik SE
[*]Enzo eBike
[*]EZ Pedaler X350
[*]Easy Motion Neo Volt — Too tall when folded?
[*]Dayak New Yorker
[*]A2B Kuo
[*]iZip E3 — Single speed, no gear. May be limiting?
[*]Energie Cycles Excursion 2.0 — Single speed, no gears. May be too limiting.
[*]Tern Node D8 with BionX
[*]Montague Paratrooper with BionX — Full size wheels.
[*]Montague Crosstown with BionX — Full size wheels.

We’ve had a chance to test drive a Prodeco Mariner 500 and a Sierra Cycles Synergy, and both were impressive in their own ways - but not a great overall match for our target feature list.

What else should be on this list? What isn’t worth looking deeper at?

A matched pair of bikes is nice, but not necessary. We are open to two different designs.

Our goal is to have bikes picked out and purchased no later than the end of the year - and sooner is better.


- Chris // http://www.technomadia.com

Ann M.
3 years ago

@aulreth , the price is not just 'batteries'; its all of the BMS system which is more than one part, the batteries you see, wiring harness and case. There's no plug 'n' play available for the Zuma from Alibaba; so any supplier there is going to create a product for you, thus not a lot of savings and questionable warranty to boot. And if you follow along on this forum you will have seen the report of a couple of bike shop fires from lithium battery packs and a very extensive safety protocol provided by the industry's most reliable and experienced team, LEVA- Light Electric Vehicle Association. Lithium cells are extremely easy to overheat and cause a very high temp fire which makes them more vulnerable when soldered into a pack, thus the need for safety. Please check out an alternative rebuild with http://rechargeablepowerenergy.com/ a US based company in NV that is experienced with this kind of work, where the cost is less than buying a new pack, but done by specialists in lithium batteries; fyi: they also manufacture Energie Cycles. I've had them work on some of my customer's packs and many times they can also upgrade the pack to the next amp-hour (ex- you have 36V 11ah--they can pack 36V 15ah into the same pack) without overly stressing your ebikes wiring harness and controller, so you gain a few more miles range in the deal! Contact them, you ship them your pack, they do a diagnostic and come back with a reasonable price to either fix or replace the batteries/bms in your pack.

3 years ago

Funny this came up today . I was going ot post about this if I had a chance. I spoke to parent company of Energie Cycles in Vegas. The tech I spoke to estimated starting at 300 for 10 amp and up to 500 or more for maybe 16 amp , depending on a few items. He had not specifically done a Stormer. He was looking at the web to gather as much info as he could while we spoke.

Based on the BMS still being good and saw the shape but has not seen the inside, including the cells. He will send a Haz Mat shipping label or as I suggested if I can remove the old cells before supping the case would be better. Site is blocked at work so best i can do is post this phone number, 888-546-9419 ask the questions, may get a different phone number. I spoke to a tech that was their Haz Mat and battery tech , didn't get his name , nice guy , eager , give them a call and report back for all :) . I told him I was not in a hurry . I have a few batteries and also n not sure I will use this until out of warranty, just to be sure but so far the best I have found and a great start

from another thread , has the correct info

Ann M.
3 years ago

Batteries Plus won't touch a lithium battery rebuild; already tried that at one of the Austin branches. Rechargeable Power Energy in Las Vegas, NV does Ebike battery pack rebuilds, although the unusual shape of the A2B rear battery might be an issue. Check out their website, http://www.rpe-na.com, 888-456-9410. They send you what you need to package the battery & ship it to them, pay a very reasonable diag fee, and go from there. I've sent several of my customers to them for work, plus these are the same folks who build Energie Cycles electric bikes.

Dax Wagner
2 years ago

I don't see any dimensions on this bike when folded. Not in the review, nor on Energie's website. I need to know if it will fit in a large piece of luggage as I am going to need to take it with me overseas.

2 years ago

It's a nice bike for a small man,but I THINK the JIVR folding e-bike looks better and would be suitable for a med to small woman because it weighs under 40lbs.

Joe G.P.
3 years ago

this looked supremely interesting to me, until you said it had only 1 gear, they couldn't throw in a $50 3 speed at least ?

brighton dude
3 years ago

The handle on the frame just ahead of the seat tube is probably a useful thing. I guess it is over the centre of gravity and so you can pick the bicycle up with one hand comfortably. When you have to walk up steps and that kind of thing it is very good to be able to just pick the bike up nicely unfolded with one hand.

3 years ago

+brighton dude Yeah, I think you're correct. The frame on this thing is pretty nice, everything seems well protected and it looks good. I move bikes around quite frequently and many times I'm lifting on the back side of the saddle and this can feel uncomfortable on fingers. Having a handle like this seems like a great idea :)

Gardener Rob
3 years ago

Wow first time I've seen a shaft on a bicycle. Looks really cool.

3 years ago

It's Dynamic Bicycles, and i also found a Dutch BRIK shaft drive bicycle. 

3 years ago

+GrimFaceHunter Cool! Do you know what the company is called?

3 years ago

There is a german company that produces shaft driven bicycles. They also use a proprietary gear hub. 

3 years ago

Ive been meaning to ask what is the name of those cool biking glasses you wear in some of your videos, with the warm weather arriving I would like to do more road biking without my eyes tearing up up 20+ MPH and causing my vision to blur.

3 years ago

+QuadroNVS Those are Oakley Jawbones http://amzn.to/1Fd1zS3 I ordered mine custom in white around 2010 and did a short video on it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ovWz7sxwL8s and it looks like they may have one white pair left on Amazon http://amzn.to/1Cktmce I like this style because they stand out and reflect better for cars. Jawbones are cool because the lenses can be changed very easily and I ride with clear at night and dark during the day :)