OHM Sport Review

Ohm Sport Electric Bike Review
Ohm Sport
Ohm Sport Powerful Bionx D Series Gearless Hub Motor Alloy Fenders
Ohm Sport Semi Integrated Downtube Electric Bike Battery From Bionx
Ohm Sport Color Removable Display Panel Ergonomic Grips
Ohm Sport Supernova M99 Pure 500 Lumen Headlight
Ohm Sport Supernova M99 Led Tail Light On Racktime Rear Rack
Ohm Sport Suntour Raidon Air Suspension 100 Mm Travel
Ohm Sport Hollow Spindle Bottom Bracket And Chain Guide
Ohm Sport 3 45 Amp Bionx Ebike Charger
Ohm Sport Electric Bike Review
Ohm Sport
Ohm Sport Powerful Bionx D Series Gearless Hub Motor Alloy Fenders
Ohm Sport Semi Integrated Downtube Electric Bike Battery From Bionx
Ohm Sport Color Removable Display Panel Ergonomic Grips
Ohm Sport Supernova M99 Pure 500 Lumen Headlight
Ohm Sport Supernova M99 Led Tail Light On Racktime Rear Rack
Ohm Sport Suntour Raidon Air Suspension 100 Mm Travel
Ohm Sport Hollow Spindle Bottom Bracket And Chain Guide
Ohm Sport 3 45 Amp Bionx Ebike Charger

Summary

  • A trail-worthy speed pedelec with premium accessories like aluminum fenders, integrated Supernova lights, a removable color LCD display, and regenerative braking
  • Very well balanced, especially for a hub-motor electric bike, the air fork, hollow-spindle bottom bracket, and upgraded alloy frame keep weight down, it rides super quiet
  • Only available in black, but the motor, wires, and semi-integrated battery pack match beautifully and blend in, larger Super Moto-X tires improve traction and look cool
  • Powerful hydraulic disc brakes offer great stopping power and the right brake lever initiates regenerative braking, the BionX system offers four regen ride modes

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

OHM

Model:

Sport

Price:

$3,959

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

3 Year Electronics, 5 Year Frame

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

20172018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56.5 lbs (25.62 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.4 lbs (3.35 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

ADVANCE™ Hydroformed Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)18.5 in (46.99 cm)20.5 in (52.07 cm)22.5 in (57.15 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium 18.5" Measurements: 18.5" Seat Tube Length, 21.5" Reach, 29” Stand Over Height, 26.75" Width, 74” Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black

Frame Fork Details:

Suntour RAIDON XC-LO-R Air Suspension, 100 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Adjust, Boost 110 mm Hub, 15QLC 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

BionX Proprietary, 142 mm Hub, 12 mm Axle with M6 End Cap Bolts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore XT with Shadow Plus Derailleur, 11-36T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano Dyna-Sys Two-Way Triggers on Right

Cranks:

OHM Branded Chainway Custom Specced Crank Arms, Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 48T Chainring with Plastic Chain Guide, SAMOX Sealed Cartridge Bottom Bracket, Splined, Hollow Spindle

Pedals:

Wellgo MG6 Magnesium Platform with Adjustable Pins

Headset:

Ritchey Pro Logic Press Fit, Tapered 1 1/ 8"- 1 1/ 2", Three 10 mm Spacers, One 5 mm Spacer

Stem:

Promax Alloy, 70 mm, 6° Rise, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter with Custom Light Mount

Handlebar:

Ritchie Comp, Aluminum Low-Rise, 670 mm Length, 25 mm Rise, 31.8 mm Diameter

Brake Details:

TRP Zurich Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Quad Piston Calipers, TRP Levers with Tool-Free Adjust Reach, BionX Motor Inhibitor for Regen Activation on Right

Grips:

Ergon GP1, Ergonomic Rubber, Locking, 150 mm Length

Saddle:

OHM Branded Ergon Sport Gel SMC4, Chromoly Rails, Nylon Composite Shell, Orthopedic Comfort Foam with Gel Pads

Seat Post:

Ritchey Comp, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Alexrims FR30, Alloy, Double Wall, 32 Hole, Aluminum Eyelets

Spokes:

Sapim Strong, Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black, Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Super Moto-Z, 27.5" x 2.4"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

30 to 55 PSI, Performance GreenGuard

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Pletscher ESGE Adjustable Center-Mount Kickstand, Signal Bell, Racktime Alloy Rack (25 kg 55 lb Max Weight), Racktime Aluminum Alloy Fenders (70 mm Width), Integrated Supernova M99 Pure Headlight (500 Lumens), Integrated Supernova M99 Tail Light, Optional BodyFloat Suspension Seatpost ($249), ABUS Bordo Combo Lite 6150 ($129)

Other:

Locking Removable Semi-Integrated Downtube Battery Pack, 0.9 lb 3.45 Amp BionX Compact Charger, KMC X10 EPT for MTB Chain, (Size Specific Handlebar 680 / 720 mm, Stem 70 / 80 / 90 mm, Crank Arms 170 / 175 mm, Grips Small 130 mm / 150 mm)

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

BionX, D-Series

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1000 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters (Nominal 25 Nm)

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

BionX DS3, Removable, Backlit, Color LCD

Readouts:

Three Display Layouts (Basic, Enhanced, Data View), Assist Level (1-4 Support, 1-4 Regeneration), Power Graph (Output, Regeneration), Speed (mph / kph), Battery Level (10 Bars), Setup, Odometer, Trip Timer, Trip Distance, Average Speed, Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (On/Off, Lights, +, -, Left Clicker, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Level (4 Dots for Power and Regeneration), Right Clicker), Optional Standard Sized USB Port

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph) (20 mph Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

OHM has narrowed down their electric bike offering starting in 2017 to just three models, the Urban, Sport, and Mountain. But the bikes come in multiple frame sizes for improved fit, and all share the same drive system for easier maintenance and parts availability. The Sport model featured in this review is a blend of Urban and Mountain. It’s a hardtail electric bike with premium fenders, a solid but streamlined cargo rack, top of the line integrated lights, and fatter 2.4″ tires that can handle pavement and light trails alike. For the video review, I took this bike out onto the Trans Canada Trail in North Vancouver, Canada. It felt smooth and comfortable on the packed Earth and was even capable of riding over some large stumps and rocky sections. The responsive torque sensing pedal assist made me feel connected to the bike but I also enjoyed the variable speed throttle option. This is one of the few e-bikes out there with both pedelec and throttle modes and you can convert it from a 20 mph top speed Class 2 to 28 mph to speed Class 3 when you order. That decision may limit which trails you can legally ride on, but empower you to commute to work faster. And to be clear, the main differences between this model and the Urban, aside from price, are the wider fenders, different color scheme, fancier brighter lights, wider tires, and a one pound weight difference. You still get a tapered head tube, hollow spindle bottom bracket, sealed BB and headset, a premium air suspension fork with lockout, boost width hub, thru-axle, and a special chain guide to reduce chain drops. What I’m trying to get at here is that these electric bicycles are much more trail-capable than a lot of low-end hardtail trail bikes from the competition. They use better hardware and even match the stem, handlebar, and crank arm widths to the larger frame sizes vs. recycling the same parts. OHM products do cost more, but they operate very quietly and because they leverage the BionX D-Series motor system, are one of the few electric bikes to offer regenerative braking as well as four levels of controllable regen for simulated climbing and workouts.

Powering all three of the 2017 OHM models is a BionX D-Series gearless hub motor. It’s smooth, extremely quiet, produces a lot of torque for such a compact design, and dissipates heat well. Most hub motors I see these days are gearless and built into Aluminum alloy casing. BionX took a completely different approach with the D-Series by using a composite plastic casing that doesn’t connect to the spokes on the wheel, it actually sits in between them. This allows the wheels to flex a bit and means that the motor casing doesn’t have to be as heavy or thick which reduces weight. It’s interesting to note that despite appearing large, the motor does not tip the bike backward, making it rear-heavy, as almost all other gearless designs do. It offers many of the strengths of a geared design but will be more durable over time because there are no rubbing parts inside. When this motor operates, it does not interfere with the drivetrain the way that mid-drive motors do and that means your chain, sprockets, and derailleur won’t need as much maintenance. It also means you get throttle-on-demand vs. just pedal assist. Yes, there are a few mid-drive motors that offer throttle operation, but they are much less prevalent. The one limitation I noticed is that the motor is not powerful enough to climb medium sized hills with throttle-only power. You have to either come at the hill with a bit of momentum or help out by pedaling. This is not much different than geared hubs or mid-drives, I just want to be clear that having a throttle is different than being able to sit back and ascend trails without pedaling at all. And, since the bike comes with a high-end 10-speed Shimano drivetrain, pedaling and shifting is a breeze. I noticed that the chainring is a bit larger on this ebike than many other trail models I see, but that was done in part to accommodate high-speed 28 mph operation (for those who request it). I guess you can’t have everything, I was still able to climb effectively by shifting to the lowest gear and it made a big difference having a plastic chain guide on the chainring to reduce drops. Depending on your outfit, the chainring is a bit exposed and you could get some grease and snags, but the chain guide might help a bit.

Powering the bike, backlit display, both lights, and optional USB power port, is a high capacity Lithium-ion battery. It offers efficient 48 volt energy transfer with 11.6 amp hours for a total of 556.8 watt hours. That’s over half a kilowatt hour, definitely above average, but it spends quickly if you opt for the Class 3 speed pedelec setup or use the throttle constantly. I estimated range between 25 and 70 miles but that greatly depends on how you ride and whether the terrain is soft or hard packed. Higher speed riding takes a big toll on efficiency because of air resistance and throttle mode, while fun, is a battery hog because the D-Series motor accelerates so quickly. The trigger throttle is ramped so you can press gently for less power, but the movement is relatively small (to keep it compact) so precise throttling takes some practice. Unlike many competing throttles, this one is easy to reach and not so fatiguing to use constantly. It is perhaps one of my favorite throttle designs because it’s a trigger vs. twist and that means you can really grip and handle the bike well. There have been times when I was steering and gripping and accidentally twisted the throttle or lost that feeling of precise control with competing throttle designs. Anyway, you can use the throttle at full power to override assist! No need for clicking up and down through different menus to get the throttle going the way you do on some bikes like Easy Motion’s Evo line. The throttle is always active as long as the bike is moving ~1.5 mph. Yes, throttle from standstill would be nice, but this one activates super fast. Sometimes ebike manufactures are limited by what their motor supplier offers but kudos to BionX for their good work here. They offer something unique, put a lot of thought into the design, and support it well. Anyway, the battery can be charged on or off the bike frame and uses a quick 3.45 Amp charger vs. the standard 2 Amp so you can fill the battery quickly and get back out onto the road. The removability of the display, battery, quick release front wheel, and seat post, make the bike easy to transport, protect, and store. Note that the rear wheel does not use quick release because of the hub motor design which has a power cable quick-disconnect and stronger 12 mm custom hardware to handle the torque. I usually bring my battery into the office to fill up during the day before my ride home. Note that the battery does not have an obvious handle and would definitely get scratched and even damaged if dropped… at 7.4 lbs, it’s not the lightest thing, so be careful or use a bag to carry it.

I apologize for not going into the Bluetooth smartphone app, but there was a lot to cover with the included LCD display and control ring. BionX struck a balance of features and usability with their display menu system and came out with a good result in my opinion. You can choose from three default layouts (basic, advanced, and data view) but I feel that two might have been enough. The basic and advanced views are mostly the same except for some charts and icons that appear as motor power increase or regenerative braking activation. Only the right brake lever activates regen, but this reduces clutter and possibly saves money? Perhaps the flicker and movement of colors on the advanced display could be distracting for some in the advanced view and that’s why a basic readout was also offered? For those who really like to dig into the stats and know exactly what’s happening at all times, there is also a data view. This is almost like an instrument panel in an airplane, just a lot of labels and numbers in a grid. It might be optimal for night use because the background is mostly black and there aren’t colors like the other views. You can select from these three menus by clicking left or right on the button ring and you can arrow up or down through four levels of assist and regen by using the plus and minus keys. There is also a power button and lights button above the plus key. I love how easy the buttons are to reach and that if the display was removed or lost, you can still use the control ring by itself to operate the bike. It even has an integrated LED readout for battery level (five bars) and four more bars to let you know what assist level is in use. It’s like night and day to see this control ring and then look at a basic throttle on most other electric bikes that’s oversized and cheap feeling… this is part of what you’re paying for with the OHM Sport and it’s easy to appreciate in person. I also want to call out and compliment the headlight from Supernova, the M99 is cool looking with a daytime mode and very effective with a large bright beam in night-mode and it switches automatically based on a built-in sensor that we show in the video.

The me, the OHM Sport strikes a perfect balance of trailworthiness and efficiency. It’s the model I would probably purchase for commuting because of the nicer lights and included rack. OHM does offer a seat post suspension upgrade from BodyFloat and I would probably get one of those too, especially if the bike was setup as a speed pedelec. Is the Sport model worth $400 more than the Urban? Well, the larger tires do a lot to improve comfort and traction and I personally love how nice the black color scheme looks. It might not be as visible or reflective as the grey, but it does hide wires, brake lines, and shifter cables well. Sometimes, bicycles look cluttered or ugly with so many graphics and designs going on but I have to hand it to OHM for going easy and placing their designs in cool places, like below the downtube. The light grey logos perfectly match the motor casing and battery. And the battery design is sleek and integrated, you can pull the battery out from the side vs. clicking it down and that makes it easier to get at and less likely to scratch (the pack or frame). The OHM Sport is a feature-complete electric bike that was purpose built and I highly recommend test riding it if you’re near the factory store in North Vancouver. After riding and reviewing so many other electric bikes, this is still one of the quietest I have seen but it doesn’t sacrifice a sense of power and torque. Big thanks to BionX for partnering with me on this review and inviting me to their HQ for some back to back test rides.

Pros:

  • The OHM Sport comes with a high quality rack and 70 mm wide Aluminum alloy fenders which offer great utility for commuting or light trail riding through dirt and mud, I was impressed with how quiet they were and that they even fit bottle cage bosses onto the seat tube (for fluids, a folding lock, or mini pump accessory)
  • Only the highest-end electric bikes seem to offer integrated lights from Supernova and this one uses the premium M99 model headlight with day/night sensor for automatic switching between running and bright mode, the backlight has five led’s and is protected by the rack
  • There are so many ways to control this e-bike including the mini button ring near the right grip, the compact transflective color LCD panel, or the smart phone app, being able to remove the display for parking (to reduce wear and tampering) is fantastic
  • Four frame sizes mean you can get an appropriate fit for your body type, the stem, handlebar, and crank arms vary between the four sizes! The top tube is angled down to make the bike easier to mount and stand over
  • Considering how sturdy and well accessorized this ebike is, I was impressed with the 56.5 lb weight (only one pound heavier than the OHM Urban), it has sturdy metal lights, large tires, a high-capacity battery, and a powerful gearless motor but things like magnesium pedals, a minimalist kickstand, hollow spindle bottom bracket, and air fork all make a difference
  • OHM has been around since 2005 and offers a unique 3+ year warranty on their products, they use high-end parts and are a premiere BionX partner so their bikes tend to last, since they have three models that all use the same battery design, it’s easier to get replacements
  • The all-black and grey color scheme looks great with the battery casing, motor hub, and wires all blending in, the decals match are minimalist in design and cool (especially under the downtube) vs. flashy, and OHM includes some touchup paint to keep it looking nice
  • Upon first seeing the bike, and knowing that the BionX D-Series motor weighs ~8.8 lbs, I was expecting it to be rear-heavy… but I lifted it just in front of the saddle nose and it tipped forward vs. back, I feel that it’s very well balanced and the weight is all kept low for improved handling vs. a rack battery, note the heavy-duty tapered head tube and thru-axle on the front wheel
  • Comfortable touch points including locking ergonomic grips, finger-adjustable brake levers, a sporty Ergon gel saddle, and wider Schwalbe tires with a medium-range pressure recommendation
  • For me, safety is a big deal, and since this bike is black, I appreciate the reflective graphics on the tires and and bright integrated lights, I also like the sturdy thru-axle on the fork with Boost and large tapered head tube for stable riding
  • OHM offers a Body Float suspension seat post upgrade, folding lock accessories, and does a trade-in program on their older bikes so you could possibly get a discount to buy their latest stuff
  • Riding this bike just feels good, it’s more polished, quiet and balanced than a lot of others… it’s also one of the few that even offer a throttle mode which is fun to use (at least for me!)
  • Even though regenerative braking doesn’t put much power back into the battery, it does reduce wear on brake pads and can be used to simulate climbing with the four minus levels on the BionX system, overall it’s pretty neat
  • The unique design of the hub motor casing, being relatively slim but tall, allows for the spokes to connect at the hub vs. the outside of the hub motor and this allows them to flex naturally providing a level of comfort and performance that most other hub motor ebikes lack, the greater air volume inside the hub allows it to cool more efficiently
  • The battery pack clicks in from the left side vs. down from the top which means it won’t bump into the frame as easily when mounting/dismounting and the top tube can be lower, I like that the battery is rated against dust and water, uses a fast charger, can be filled on or off the bike, has several rubber pads to reduce vibration, and even has a touch-activated capacity indicator (where the charger plugs in) it lights up green at 70%+, orange between 20% and 70%, and red when below 20%
  • After a few minutes of inactivity, the display panel automatically powers off… it has lots of settings where you can change brightness, units, etc. to make it fit your preferences and style
  • Larger 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes provide the kind of stopping power that mountain bikers need, so it’s cool to have them on more of a sporty trail bike here, specifically because it weighs more and can be switched to 28 mph Class 3 if you want (I think you need OHM to do this and change the Class sticker before it’s shipped to you)
  • Shimano Deore XT is a mid to high-level drivetrain and ten speeds is enough to let you climb and reach higher speeds comfortably… though the larger 48 tooth chainring is setup more for speed, there were a couple of times where I was riding in the absolute lowest gear because of the hilly terrain in Vancouver, I like that the derailleur has a one way clutch to reduce chain bounce (the little grey lever, point it up to tighten the chain)
  • The chainring has a plastic inner guide to reduce drops, it’s not going to keep your pants or a skirt as clean as a chain guide or chain cover but it reduces weight and is practical
  • The cockpit is relatively clean because of how the display and light are mounted, the handlebar clamp positions the large Supernova light below the display and they are both at the center for optimal use

Cons:

  • I appreciate how the kickstand is adjustable length but it still gets in the way where it’s mounted, just below and behind the crank arms, if you back the bike up or pedal with the stand down it will collide
  • OHM has moved away from dealers, they only sell direct now which means it could be difficult to go for a test ride unless you live near their factory store in North Vancouver, BC Canada
  • The large black hub motor casing definitely stands out visually, the design provides great torque for acceleration and climbing but may also catch a bit of side wind and attract attention compared to smaller gearless hubs, especially on off-road trails
  • The display panel and battery pack don’t have an integrated Micro-USB port by default but apparently for $20 OHM can wire one in and stick it to the right side of the frame near the top of the downtube
  • It would be nice if both brake levers had the regeneration switch vs. just the right one, but I guess that reduces clutter up front, a bit of weight, and expense
  • The display panel takes longer to boot up than Bosch and some of the other high-end products, not much longer, but enough to be a little annoying every time you turn the bike on and are eager to get going
  • As much as I appreciate the large platform and grippy adjustable pins on the lightweight Magnesium pedals… I felt like the spindle at the center was too high (or the outer portions too low), I could feel the spindle at the ball of my foot, they left me mixed vs. fully impressed
  • It’s no fun to change inner tubes if you get a flat so the upgraded Performance GreenGuard tires are a welcome hardware choice, I love that the front axle uses quick release to make it easier to service, but have to acknowledge that most hub motor setups can be a pain to work with on the rear wheel because of the additional motor wire and bolts or nuts, the BionX motor has a quick disconnect point and mounts fairly easily with the correct 6M hex wrench, but it still takes more time and tools than a mid-drive
  • Some of the other high-end ebike displays offer a range estimation stat which can help you plan trips, that isn’t available with the BionX setup used here but at least it does show a high precision 10-bar battery infographic and battery percentage! Their battery packs are also smart and go into a deep-sleep mode when not used for long periods

Resources:

More OHM Reviews

OHM Mountain Review

  • MSRP: $3,455
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A sleek, extremely quiet, cross country style electric bike built around a custom hardtail frame that comes in four sizes (including stem, bar, and crank arm differences). 100 mm air suspension fork from Suntour, larger 3" plus sized tires from Schwalbe, longer…...

OHM Urban Review

  • MSRP: $3,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A near-silent, feature rich, urban hardtail electric bike that's available in four frame sizes and can be switched from Class 2 with throttle to high-speed Class 3. Proprietary torque sensor is integrated into the 12 mm rear-axle, it feels fluid and sporty…...

OHM Sport XS750 Plus 16 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A fatty electric bike with medium sized 3.25" tires, strikes a balance between cushion, traction and handling. Powerful BionX D-Series motor offers good torque and higher top speeds ~28 mph in pedal…...

OHM Urban XU700 16 Review

  • MSRP: $4,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high power, high speed, urban style electric bike with nearly every accessory you could, great for commuting or trekking. Extremely quiet drivetrain, four levels of assist and regen with variable speed trigger throttle, removable…...

OHM Urban XU700 LS 15 Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A feature-complete urban style electric bike with premium rack, fenders and lights, sturdy mid-cut hydroformed aluminum frame available in three sizes. Offers variable speed throttle, four levels of assist and four regen in addition to regenerative…...

OHM Sport XS750 15 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A powerful and sturdy city style electric bike with comfortable but slightly more aggressive ergonomics, premium tires and upgraded suspension fork with lockout. 500 watt BionX D-Series motor is near silent but very strong for climbing, BionX DV…...

OHM Urban XU700 LS 16 Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A premium step-thru electric bike with fenders, rack, lights and suspension fork (with lockout) for under $3k. Reinforced hydro formed aluminum alloy frame is sturdier than other low-step models I've tested, the…...

OHM Urban XU700 Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Sturdy, feature rich ebike designed for efficient commuting with four regen modes and regenerative braking. Uses the direct drive BionX 350 HT (high torque) motor and features 27 speeds for…...

OHM XU450 E2 Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

A sturdy, elegant and simple-to-use ebike with auto-shifting gears, a quiet belt drive system, fenders and rack. SRAM EMATIC motor, battery and control system offer efficiency in power and range and look…...

OHM Sport XS750 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Fully featured, high-end electric mountain bike with great power and thoughtful design. Powered by industry leading BionX battery pack, controller and gearless rear hub motor...


jamie
10 months ago

I wish bionx would use a smaller rear hub. I would totally buy this bike but I just cant get over how big it is – doesnt blend in at all!

Reply
court
10 months ago

Hi Jaimie, I agree that the large “pizza sized” hub motor does stand out. I asked about the design and they explained that it provides higher torque, better cooling, and lighter weight than the alternative designs. BionX does sell smaller hub motors which you can see reviewed here, but they use metal casing and aren’t as powerful as the D-Series :/

Reply
Ian
2 weeks ago

The performance advantage from the motor design comes from the larger size, so there is no way to get the power and torque without having the larger design. For me, the fact that it is 100% silent makes it blend in much more compared to smaller, more “discreet” looking motors that make noise. If it makes noise, that draws A LOT more attention than just being silent and large. Most people don’t even have time to notice the motor when you are going opposite directions. And most pedestrians don’t really care I don’t think. Plus, the rest of the bike looks awesome so I think it makes up for it. I have an Urban and love it!

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

JRA
1 week ago

"1200w (48v/25A)"

Don't know how I could have been more specific in my first post. It's just simple math presented in a way that is universal to describe v/A=w anywhere I have seen.

Ohm's law applies to all electrical devices: https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/voltage-current-resistance-and-ohms-law

Every e bike has a controller and the A limit x the v is the most that it can put out. The kit motors such as found online from Asia are also limited by the A limit of the controller and the v of the supply. These values of course can be modified or bought as such but outside of the ES crowd I don't see much evidence of it going on.

i did research, considered my options and took steps to maximize my safety long ago. Thanks for your concern.

Nelson37
1 week ago

I guess I should apologize to JRA for not using my crystal ball and understanding that what was given as a battery spec was actually a hard limit set thru unspecified hardware which allowed his equipment to perform strictly within those limits in a way that other similar motor kits absolutely do not do. Ohm's law does not apply.

Regen braking applies torque forces to the dropouts in the opposite direction to motor torque. Softer is better, but rocking back and forth is still rocking back and forth. Not good for long-term structural reliability.

Consideration should be given to exactly what happens when the front wheel departs from the bicycle, as opposed to the rear wheel. It is very much more hazardous. The human leaves the machine head first. This also is not good for long-term structural reliability.

JRA
1 week ago

"Also. 1200 watts is NOT repeat NOT "peak Power", it is peak SUSTAINED power, peaks will reach well over 2000 watts on such a motor, and on carbon fiber? No Way."

You might want to study up on your Ohm's Law Mr. Nelson. To reach over 2000w I would have to be feeding over 40A at the controller and as I said mine is limited to 25A. I use a CA3 which is arguably the most sensitive instrument you can mount on a bicycle to measure current and have never even seen 1200w on it. Hard off the line starts and steep climbs it is in the under 1100w range. I average about 15wh/mi with the bike which means I don't go there that often. But it is nice to have it there in reserve.

"With Regen braking, which hits your nuts in the opposite direction, you are literally asking to re-arrange your face."

Forgot to mention that I also use regen. It is set through the aforementioned CA3 and even at it's highest setting really only works as a drag brake, but for that it works very well.

I am not advocating for everyone to start using a 1200w front hub motor, I was just trying to answer the OP's question based on my experience which has been positive to date and I feel will keep me happy for the style of riding I do on the bikes I have setup with it for many miles to come.

Bruce Arnold
1 week ago

@Asher Here's a clip from an official letter issued by OSHA: "As explained in Appendix C to 29 CFR 1910.269, the internal resistance of the human body is 500 ohms, which is the minimum resistance of a worker with broken skin at the point of contact. The current through 500 ohms from a live part energized at 60 volts would be 120 milliamperes. This level of current, either ac or dc, is sufficient to cause serious injury."

And here's a passage from the General Motors instruction for vehicle dismantlers: "GM hybrid, Electric, and Electrified vehicles contain an intermediate voltage (30 60 volts DC) battery pack. Battery packs are based on either Nickel Metal Hydride or Lithium ion cells. These battery packs can be recycled."

Just a bit of confirmation of the "60V = high voltage" statement.

Reid
1 week ago

Watts is Watts (sic) and Pigs is Pigs ( great, classic short story since 1905).

Tora is correct. Higher voltage batteries are legally considered an electrocution hazard. You can get as much POWER and SPEED from a 6V battery, for instance if the associated hub motor were wound with a relatively few turns of very heavy gauge wire! It would have to become a very large hub motor, indeed, if wound for 6V potential.

The speed of a motor is determined in part by its ampere-turns. If we use heavy guage wire and build a very bulky, ugly-huge geared hub motor: absolutely! We could go whatever high speed we wish to wind for, IF we are willing to carry a pack made of many more cells connected in parallel to provide the very high current that a low voltage winding inherently requires.

Volts times Amps equals Watts. To make a very strong, low voltage motor requires very heavy, bulky windings of relatively few turns. Your car's starter motor running from a 12V battery is a prime example.

It is much more practical to make a strong motor compact by employing high turns and the then-requisite high voltage to shove the requisite ampere-turns current through the electrical circuit and thus create the strong magnetic field required.

Remember: one Ampere of current through a single turn of wire around a stator equals one Ampere turn. It is no different at root than water pressure in the water supply pipe, and your doing something with that water pressure (potential power) by putting it to work, operating a mechanical sprinkler or a water motor:
http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2013/09/power-from-the-tap-water-motors.html

One Watt is one Ampere of current though a resistance or impedance of one Ohm. And Pigs is Pigs. Remember these maxims, lol!
To make a motor physically small and output large powers relative to its size requires either: low turns and high current (heavy wire will be needed!) or high turns and low current (HIGH voltage needed!) or a lot more water pressure than this speed demon of an example is getting,

Every electrical motor, linear or rotary, develops a voltage countermanding force resisting its otherwise unlimited (absent external load) rotation (or linear movement). Motors unloaded would self destruct by unlimited overspeeding if not for "counter EMF."

This counter EMF is inescapable, and fortunately a good trait, as well!

An input voltage guarantees a rotational torque.

And if you want to go faster, well, increase the voltage. The voltage increases the current. It is like water pressure enables the flow of water.

Increase of Voltage (pressure) will force more current (Amps) through a given motor winding, if called for by the load, and produce, at any rate, an increase in torque or twisting force at the motor shaft. This is why, for this example, the synonym term for Voltage is Potential. The potential for power to be developed when flow or current (Amps) is permitted by the motor circuit.

DerekH
3 weeks ago

Thanks. I just read about BionX. The Haibike has been on my radar too. There’s a dealer in Madison that sells Haibike. I’ll take a ride down there and test ride one.

irishnutter
3 weeks ago

Hi Derek, you might want to first see if you can narrow down your preference for either a hub drive or mid drive. I think they are all hubs above except for the Delta X. I looked at a few of these bikes myself - I think all are solid choices. I really like the Ohm Urban (at the 2017 closeout price) but the future of Bionx is still not certain. Two other mid-drive speed pedelecs you may want to check out are the Bulls Evo Lacuba E45 and the Haibike Trekking S models (you may still be able to find a 2017 Haibike XDuro Trekking 5.0 S at a great price).

DerekH
3 weeks ago

I recently moved about 25 miles from work, so I’m looking for a dependable commuter e-bike. So far I have the Smartmotion Pacer, EVELO Delta X, Juiced Crosscurrent S, and the Ohm Urban at the top of my list. I’m used to commuting to work on my bike, but it was only 5 miles before I moved. I would like a speed pedelec just because I want my commute to be closer to one hour. I live in Wisconsin so hills aren’t an issue. I’ll mostly be riding on the side of county roads and some paved and gravel trails. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

JRA
4 weeks ago

"I also see only one manufacturer (Juiced) doing 52V setups (though the hobby market is another matter)."

For that matter there are very few of the international scale manufacturers that even use 48v systems. Considering that the using the same motor @ 20amps, as an example, 36v vs. 48v results in a 240w increase in watts and a 48v vs 52v is 80watts and other than a slight improvement in performance hot off the charge there isn't really a big reason to go to 52v. But the jump from 36 to 48 is substantial enough that a pretty big increase in performance is possible given good cell quality. It's all about how many amps a battery can produce as a 36v battery @ 30amps, entirely possible given that the cells are rated correctly, produces as much as a 52v @ 20a.

Mainly the concern with manufacturers is staying within the regulations for max wattage to maintain a semblance of legality, much of which is based on the EU 250w rating, although there are not many being produced today that adhere to that as per Ohms Law. Here in the states our legal limit of 750w is easy enough for them to adhere to by just upping the amps a bit via the controller and use the same battery voltage it and now has a higher watt capacity to conform and entice sales here.

As for the 20/21700 cells one of the big proponents, along with Tesla, of the larger cells is BMZ a major player in the cell industry with a world wide presence based in Germany. While they are the largest cell producer in the EU they are mainly a technology based company that has the chops to license their technology to other cell producers such as their latest cooperative deal with LG for millions of cells. More info here: http://www.ebikeportal.com/news/future-ebike-batteries-according-germanys-bmz so after reading this you think that those millions of cells are going to be 18650 format you probably would be wrong.

The problem from a manufacturing side is that the cells, although only incrementally larger, are. This precludes their use for retrofitting into existing battery housings and although you can use less cells to achieve the same voltage the increase in battery length creates an engineering problem for the manufacturers getting them to fit in with their existing designs based on the 18650 cells. This will happen gradually as the cells become more readily available but as mentioned before will leave the owners of previous bikes with proprietary systems having to switch bikes to get to the upgrade. As historically the bike industry likes nothing better that to introduce new standards that make this inevitable, headsets, boost etc., I don't think they are too concerned as ultimately it means they sell more bikes. But it also means a stall in their introduction into the e bike market due to this fact IMNSHO.

As usual the "hobby" market is better able to adjust as their more open source based format allows it the freedom to somewhat easily redesign the battery case and still fit existing "hobby" type builds. To me this is a big deal and something that I have always found the most attractive about the "hobby" market as I personally don't have the expendable income to buy a whole new bike every two years as technology advances and even if I did I would probably still gripe about it.

Oh, and that 36v 30a battery I mentioned earlier is made entirely possible using the new cell structure......lighter, stronger and longer lasting than any battery currently in use in only a slightly larger enclosure. Or go with a 20a and get greatly increased range. Sounds good to me! But as the title of this thread suggests, still a good idea to stick with a good brand with some rep when they do start to appear. There is still the possibility of bad cells and sketchy manufacturing by those that are just about staying in line with the trend set by them to be considered.

Ian
1 month ago

Do you think it would be possible to mount aero bars to the Ohm Urban? I'm thinking about getting these to help with speed and lower air resistance on my long commute. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004S43UYC/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=A3VDBPE82S43CG&psc=1

bowzette
1 month ago

I understand May 15th was the date for offers to purchase Bionx. Any offers you are aware of?

Ian
1 month ago

Was that 40,000 km done with your previous Urban and the new model combined or just with the new model? And I was always curious about how you rode so much - is it all pleasure riding? I am going to have the potential to put on quite a few miles as well if I stick do doing my 20 mile one way commute on the Ohm. Will see how it goes.

Fred
23 mins ago

Sounds like you're enjoying your Juggernaut. I have one of the very early ones (Kickstarter days) with the BBS02 - and still love it. Over the 2+ years I've had it, I've made a few changes, some of which are along the lines of your thinking:

[*]Added panniers and rear rack
[*]Got an extra solid state charger that I carry in my pannier
[*]Installed a Suntour NCX suspension seatpost (I have a Thudbuster LT on one of my other bikes, & tried it on the Jugg but found it took too much space and made the seat too high)
[*]Swapped handlebar for one with more sweep and rise (more comfortable for an old guy!)
[*]Swapped tires for some Vee Rubber Speedsters (I ride mainly on hard surfaces and these are much smoother and quieter)
[*]Re range, I found I can get about 60Km from my 11.6Ah battery (with a good deal of pedaling assist). I got a second 15Ah pack which I can use as an "extra" on any of my 3 bikes if I plan a long trip. This is pretty compact (rectangular) and can be carried easily in one of the panniers.
[*]Added Ergon Comfort grips (these make a big difference in comfort)

When I write it all down, it seems like a lot, but I guess that's part of the fun of an ebike.

Papertroll
3 hours ago

Well thought I would give a update now that I am 500kms in.
The bike is a blast, somehow after reading all the adds I thought that it would have been more powerful but I suppose that was just my ignorance to e-bikes.
500 kms in have to say its plenty of power , that said Canadian regs that require 500 watt continuous is complete BS.
And the throttle ban is BS as well.
Yet I am passed all the time by men in tights riding road bikes , I suppose that's ok after all I am trying to keep within the speed limits on pathways .
Have to admit I should have listened to the other posters that said drop the cash on the big battery though having a smaller battery does force me to exercise and that was the whole reason behind the purchase.
But it does keep me from going on longer trips and exploring more .
In-case people are wondering you can indeed go 40-50 kms with some hills in Eco 1 mode with the 11ah battery.
I now recharge the battery fully everyday at work , 800 charges can go a long long way most likely can only ride 4 months a year here .
One of the changes I would suggest if Roshan can convince the factory to do would be to put some bosses on the seat tube outer part.
It would be really nice to be able to install a boomerang gps on the bike after all we are talking =/-4 k .
Some of the accessory's I would love to get would be 1) a cycle satiator or a smaller more compact charger to pack with me 2) panniers when my rear rack arrives 3) the boomerang gps 4)bigger battery 5) thud-buster.

The bike seems to ride great and the programing that Roshan put in seems to be spot on not jerky at all . I wonder with the programming cable if a person can adjust the settings for eco / sport modes independently?

All in all I do like the bike it does what it was advertised to do I only wish one of my friends had one too.

MisterM
8 hours ago

Looks like a blast. If they had a full suspension version, I would have ordered long ago.

Nice to hear specs were accurate and shipping was so fast. Big difference over that other company...

Ravi Kempaiah
8 hours ago

@imboJim , @.R.

A lot has happened with Haibike in 2017. Their parent company is Accell but Haibike itself was started as a standalone German company by Susanne Puello's father several decades ago.

She (Puello) went on to head the Accell's Winora and Haibike brand. In early 2017, because of differences between them and the Accell's team, they left company they had started and built.

https://www.bicycleretailer.com/international/2017/03/27/susanne-puello-leaves-accells-winora-group-citing-irreconcilable

http://www.bike-eu.com/home/nieuws/2017/03/accell-group-comments-on-susanne-puello-leaving-winora-group-10129443

While Haibike was bringing in lots of revenuw, other brands under the Accell were going bankrupt.
On top of that, Dick's sporting good's contract fell through and this made things worse for Accell.

https://www.bicycleretailer.com/north-america/2017/11/16/accell-adapts-north-american-operations-due-lower-sales-through-traditional

Then she joined hands with KTM and launched PEXCO E-bike brand and will be rolling out the famed Husqvarna brand E-bike.
http://www.husqvarnagroup.com/en/node/4077

This had ripple effects in the North American quarters. They had let go of all the Haibike employees early 2018 and amalgamate the brand with Raleigh, Lapierre, Izip etc.

The excess inventory that was left in 2017 had to be liquidated at astonishingly low prices. Every company wants to grow, Kalkhoff wants to grow, BULLS wants to grow, Trek wants to grow, (Juiced, M2S, Rad, FLX) wants to grow, every other manufacturer is going full force ahead. They have to compete with direct to consumer companies, Lunacycles, tons of Chinese import bikes. So, there is a lot of reorganizing thing going on both within the dealer network, and in sales channel etc.

Dealers were not happy with the liquidation process and prices. They were used to good margins and suddenly, they don't want to deal with extra work for less money. It's like parents got their kids hooked on cookies and chocolates and suddenly they are switching to veggies. So, some dealers dropped off and started focusing on different brands.

Anyway, Trek or Specialized has not changed. @imboJim , you could always get a Trek bike and they will reply back to your messages. It's very rare that you can drive 50 miles without finding a Trek dealer. Haibike may not because the personnel were let go and it's under transition. They do make awesome bikes and they are spearheaded by a team which has very experienced folks like Larry pizzi etc. I think they are in it for the long haul.

Overall, business is bound to change as the market evolves.

jasonatepaint
2 days ago

I recently purchased the FLX Blade and couldn't be happier. After spending the last 8 months dealing with a different, terrible buying experience from another vendor, I got in touch with FLX. Rob, one of the founders, called me back immediately and answered my questions and confirmed that the bike was in stock and ready to ship. I made the purchase on a Thursday and had the bike the following Tuesday morning.

This is the third eBike in my personal fleet. The others are an Easy Motion Evo Cross 48v 500w hub and a Juiced OceanCurrent 48v hub, so I was excited to transition into a mid-drive system. All of the specs listed on the website were 100% accurate. It was packaged and secured perfectly in a box (inside another box) with padding and other instruments to make sure no component on the bike could be damaged in shipping. Following the youtube video for assembling the bike, I had it put together in less than 30 minutes.

This bike is fast. It is scary-fun fast. I mostly ride in eco mode as I'm trying to actually get a workout when I bike, but man... when you put it in SPORT mode and set it to assist-level 5, it's insane. I put on https://www.schwalbetires.com/bike_tires/road_tires/super-moto-x on it for a smoother ride in town... they're great for the road and the hike/bike trails.

I've put on about a 130 miles on it so far and it's been an amazing time! I am in bike-love. Austin is pretty hilly and the Blade just tears it up and is so much more battery-efficient when it comes to drivetrain power. Something that would eat 20% or more battery on the hubs, takes a 1-2% hit to the battery on the same given path. That's not a scientific study, just an observation of riding the same paths everyday.

If you're questioning or considering the Blade, feel free to reach out and I'll give my honest answers to your questions. I'm not affiliated with any eBike company... just became a fan of FLX with this purchase. :)

ccguy
3 days ago

Since 1982 I have been riding Campy Record/Shimano DuraAce-equipped road bikes - Pinarello SL, DeRosa SLX, Litespeed Classic, Colnago MasterLight. All are quick, light and a joy to ride, and the workmanship of the frames and components are impeccable. Life was good until a few years ago when my knees began to bother me, especially after riding, and I was no longer able to pound the pedals as I once did. After some research, I decided to get a 2018 Giant Road E+ (USA model, 5 power levels, 28 mph E support). I've been riding it for over a month now and here are some thoughts, pro and con, and a couple of questions. I typically ride 20-25 miles/day over hilly terrain comprising short (¼-½ mile) steep inclines, longer (1-2 mile), gentle hills and flats along the ocean which often means strong, onshore winds.,

PROS: a) The Road E+ is a pleasure to ride but with some reservations. Knee issues are a thing of the past, and I can always find a gear/power level that can still give me a workout. My average speed on my old bikes was typically 12-13 mph; I can now maintain 19-20 mph at the same heart rate but with no knee issues. The only point I need address is that a formerly 2 hr ride not takes only 1.5 hr, so I need to increase the length of my ride to get the same exercise benefit.
b) The torque sensor does it job perfectly. When I push harder on the pedals, the power assist increases, so I can maintain speed with less effort.
c) I typically ride on the larger chain ring and the three or so smallest rear cogs, increasing the power, rather than downshifting, as needed. Usually, I ride in Eco or Eco+, sometimes Normal, and rarely Sport or Sport+ and then only on steep hills or against strong winds. I have yet to use the smaller chain wheel, and I cannot fathom why Giant put a 34 tooth cog in the back. In contrast, on my other road bikes I would normally stay on the smaller 39T chainwheel and shift up and down the 12-24T cassette, using the 53T chainwheel for downhill descent or with strong tailwinds.
d) I'm guessing I would have a 100 mile range if I were to ride only in Eco mode. Not bad at all.

CONS: a) Take away the E-releated gear on the bike, and you have a fairly standard, mid-range, aluminum frame bike with mid-level components, something Giant might sell for maybe $1500, but also with a very long wheelbase. Throw in 25 lbs of batteries/motor/etc. and you have a bike that is simply not quick nor responsive nor nimble in any way. I would throw in"sluggish" but the motor takes care of that problem. Still, the bike is a joy to ride, and the lack of spryness is overcome by its effortless pedaling.
b) There was a learning curve on how to ride and smoothly shift gears which I still haven't mastered. The bike encourages you to shift into lower gears than you might otherwise choose to do in order to get greater assist. This is OK, and you get used to it, but here's a problem I'd like some feedback on. On a standard road bike, you always want to be pedaling while shifting for a smooth shift. The opposite is true on the Road E+, at least in my experience. If I don't STOP pedaling when I shift, the rear derailleur crunches and grinds the gears, a problem that gets worse at higher power levels. I've gotten used to this, so when I want to shift, I stop pedaling for a ¼-½ revolution, shift, and then resume pedaling. Problem gone, but I wonder if the grinding/crunching gears I've expereinced is normal, or a defect on my bike. Please let me know your experience.
c) I'm having a problem with condensation on the inside surface on the control unit, usually in the first 15-20 of riding when the sun hits the unit. This disappears after another 10-15 of riding. Strangely, the condensation isn't across the entire interior surface but in an area of about 1x5 cm. It's as if there was an invisible smear that attracts moisture which later evaporates. Anyone else have a similar condensation problem?
d) The weight, the weight, the weight. Not a complaint really. I get where it all comes from and why it's needed, but maneuvering the bike while walking, especially if on a hill or encountering a curb or steps is a real challenge.

SUMMARY: For me the Road E+ solved what would otherwise have been an insurmountable problem. I've been riding all my life and can't imagine not being able to continue. However, age and biology do take their toll on one's joints and, to some extent, stamina. The solution is to either give up the riding and something you love, or do what you gotta do to keep riding, benefit from the exercise and experience the joy of being on the road. The Road E+ allows me to do this. Well done, Giant.

Over50
4 days ago

Another little range experiment today. I have wanted to do a full commute in 100% Eco (which I haven't done on any of my bikes since I started this commuting in 2017). Today started as a good day to try it out. 55F and slight tailwind on the trip in. I managed the 16 miles to work still showing 5 bars but I knew it was about to drop to 4. The prior commute described above with maybe 30% Tour mode gave me about 13 miles on that 1st bar. Coming home though I had a headwind of maybe 8 mph which I did not have on the prior commute. 20 miles on the commute home. Finished with 36 miles complete and estimated remaining range of 29 miles and showing 3 bars. On track again for 60 miles of range with some headwind and riding pure Eco.

I worked hard on this commute. Attempting to keep a speed on the stretches of around 18-19 mph in Eco does require a good amount of rider effort. On the return, riding in headwind and keeping speeds of 16-17 the same. And a few stretches where I hit Tour or Sport to beat some traffic really got my heart rate going relying only on Eco.

Windward
4 days ago

Giant full e comes with a 36 volt 400 W 11.3AH. I am shifting all the time and trying to use the least the "sport" level Giant has three Sport-Normal and ECO. I actually turn it off during flat, and downhill. I have learned to divide by 5 the miles left on the display, so if in sport says 35 miles, that means there are 7 miles left uphill.

VirgilCaine
4 days ago

Like I said earlier, if you can gradually wean yourself off the sport mode as you get in better shape, it will make a huge difference with your range...but that's a heckuva lot of climbing from Linville.

Windward
4 days ago

Thanks it is not so hard and I was able to do it with this bike, just managing usage. Hopefully with the 500 I will be able to go further. The Giant display helps, I have created a formula that whatever it says in sport that has left, I divided it by 5 when uphill, so it it says 35 miles is actually 7 miles, so as you can see in the picture that says 40 miles on sport is actually 8 miles left. I'll do it again tomorrow if it doesn't rain.

VirgilCaine
4 days ago

They should know better. Anyone who pays extra money for a full suspension bike is getting it for the ups and downs, so those figures are completely bogus. If you using the bike as intended (singletrack) in the mountains, I doubt you would even get 15 miles on a full charge.

Windward
4 days ago

Virgil you are right I should get the dirt e models. I bought the full e only because is the one they had in the floor, any other had to be ordered and could take a week or 10 days to have and I did not see much benefit from the 400 and 500 w battery. Now I know. For my defense, there is not much information about there on riding mountains. And all the claims 400w or even less seemed to be more than enough for my needs of 30 miles around here. This Giant full e shows 77 miles in eco 61 in normal and 45 miles in sport. I was not looking for full suspension, but the salesman said, for the same price I would have the benefit of more comfort. He was correct in that sense but not on range, much better would have been no full suspension and larger battery.

Dennis Dowd
3 months ago

I was in love with the Urban but now I believe I like the sport better, though I would like the lighter gray color that the Urban comes in. The more I watch your reviews of the Ohm bikes the more I like them. Very well designed. Looks like there maybe a dealer in San Francisco. I live in Santa Rosa, CA so 50 miles, not bad.

siu c
3 months ago

Anyone know what will happen with their product line and support with the news about BionX entering receivership? I've been looking into my first ebike and OHM was one of the options but now I am unsure.

Blake Pennycook
3 months ago

I'm in the same boat. Really like this Sport model, but after seeing their shop and realizing that's the only bike they sell, I'm going to find it tough to shell out some big bucks for an unsure future.

Armando Aleman
4 months ago

The only thing good from CANADA is Trump trade tax!

pioneer7777777
4 months ago

A couple Bionx questions.
1. Do you know if you buy a separate Bionx kit and do a separate install, can you do the unlock to make it a speed pedelec?
2. Can you install a Bionx kit on a carbon fiber frame? Was thinking about putting it on a carbon fiber Specialized frame.

metamorphicorder
7 months ago

Court, i want to help simplify your explanation of the efficiency of regen.
Its simply a matter of energy. The motor puts out lets say 750 watts. In order to meaningfully charge the battery, you would have to put out more than that consistently. There's a video of man vs toaster. An Olympic speed cyclist tried to toast bread in a toaster hooked up to a bicycle powering a generator and he wore himself out while lightly toasting the bread. The toaster was lets say drawing 1.5kw. That's a little more than most ebikes, but he is quite a bit more capable than 98% of people. He was only able to keep up that pace for a little while. Very short period of time. You said the battery was 500ish wh, so in order to charge the battery, you would have to pedal hard enough to put out 500w after inefficiencies for one hour.
.5kwh. There's not a human on earth thats doing that.
What regen does is helps extend your range a little bit. Just like pedaling any energy you dont take out of the battery is more energy you can take out later.
So its simply a matter of human performance, you cant do it. You could put the bike on a stand and put it in regen mode and pedal and over a long period of time, charge the battery. Assuming you could continue pedalling for the entire charge. So looking at it like that you could say that if you could ride the bike with the motor and pedalling for the period of time that it takes you to pedal charge the bike, you could theoretically charge the bike. That's where you get into human fuel efficiency calculations. But since you either cant get the battery to last that long at a performance level that is usable, its a moot point. Humans cant charge ebikes.

GameOn
7 months ago

Why is that Supernova light 400$!??! That is more than a headlight for my car! It's crazy!

Erich Straka
9 months ago

Looks like a great bike. Would like to have one like this too. I"m going to have a garage full of bikes if I keep watching your videos. You are having a great time traveling around and seeing wonderful places. Great job you're doing. Enjoy life, like you are.

joes joey
9 months ago

freaking love these bikes great reviews court!

Neil Glezer-Jones
10 months ago

Love your videos and have been watching a lot of them. I am looking at buying either a Levo Comp or a Giant E+. I want to use it for mountain days were i just want to have fun and other days to get a family member on it in front of me for tempo training days while riding my 2018 Spark 910. So I am not looking to be lazy. I am concerned about the future of the electric bike I may have in my garage with regards to the battery. I am looking at spending about US$5500 for the bike and then with lets assume 3 charges a week and 700 recharge cycles in about 4 years I will have to buy a new battery at current rate US$1000. I have bikes in my garage that I can go ride now that are over 10 years old. How does one justify an electric bike when it would seem we are paying a premium now and you are only renting the engine so to speak because every 4 years you need to spend more money to keep it working. More to the point I was told that Specialized will keep parts for obsolete bikes for 5 years. What happens to my electric bike after my second battery? I would imagine this is going to be a factor got electric everything in the future. Do you think the norm will become battery hacking once out of warranty? Thanks for the great videos.

rpmbxdj
10 months ago

Nice bike and great review Court! I was a little shocked that it was labeled a class 2 e bike. Is the Software upgrade (Class 3) only available in specific areas? Last I heard in NYC we're out of luck! lol Wish I could upgrade my D Series to class 3. Because of the class limits, i've been thinking about the Super 73 and selling my D-series

Hackeric
10 months ago

OHM is a logical ebike name. Rear hub motors are nice as long as they have puncture protection, they're more hassle to service.

Juan Alfonso Noval
10 months ago

Awesome review, Court. Bike is very cool as well. Love all the details and the design of the bike. I can see how the asking price reflects the well thought-out design and components. I'm very impressed with Ohm.

Bryan
10 months ago

Court, another great video. Your reviews are very helpful. For the money, would you recommend the Ohm Sport or the Specialized Turbo Vado 6.0? Thanks!

mikldude
10 months ago

Good review sir , and a very cool bike , i wish we had more lenient laws regarding bike power in my neck of the woods , 250 watt is maximum here (Victoria/Australia ) .
250 watt is pretty weak , especially on a heavy bike with a fairly big 110 kg dude .
Keep up the good work .

actnowone
10 months ago

Overall a nice looking bike but don't like that large rear motor casing it just looks so ugly. I'm looking forward to you going too inter-bike, should be interesting.

ting280
10 months ago

can you hook up a solar panel to it? b/c I would hook up solar panels to it, ammo can panniers, bikepacking bags, and then travel the country on it.

Manan M. Patel - M POWER
10 months ago

Hello! I have bafang style hub motor 250 w so which Size of spokes are suitable for 26 inch rim.

Aayush Parmar
10 months ago

Lol $4k hahaha

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
10 months ago

What's the bionx system's country of origin ? .
🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔨🔨🔨🔨🔩🔩🔩🔩🔩🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔨🔨🔧🔨🔧🔨🔧🔨🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔨🔨🔧🔩🔧🔧🔩🔧🔩🔨🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔧🔩🔧🔩🔩🔧🔧🔩🔩🔧🔨🔨🔨🔧🔨🔧🔨🔧🔧🔨🔧🔨🔧🔨🔨🔨🔨🔨🔨🔩🔩🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔩🔧🔧🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧🔩🔩🔩🔩🔨🔨🔨🔨🔨🔨🔩🔧🔩🔧🔨🔧🔧🔨🔧🔨🔨🔩🔧🔩🔧🔩🔩🔧🔩🔩🔩🔨🔨🔨🔨🔨🔨🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚴🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵🚵

"CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

Seb K
10 months ago

I think in the intro you should replace the bell with 'Reeeeeeee' .

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Oh man... like when I make that dorky sound in the video :P