Tern Vektron Review

Tern Vektron Electric Bike Review
Tern Vektron
Tern Vektron Bosch Active Line Cruise Mid Drive Motor
Tern Vektron Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery Pack
Tern Vektron Flat Bar Ergon Gp1 Grips
Tern Vektron Bosch Purion Display Panel
Tern Vektron Quick Release Andros Stem
Tern Vektron Integrated Valo Headlight 150 Lumens
Tern Vektron Wide Plastic Fenders With Mud Flaps
Tern Vektron 160 Mm Shimano M615 Hydraulic Disc Brake
Tern Vektron Porter Saddle With Grip And Pedal Storage
Tern Vektron 10 Speed Shimano Deore Drivetrain
Tern Vektron Cargo Rack Herrmans E Bike Light
Tern Vektron Adjustable Length Rear Kickstand
Tern Vektron Walking Mode Folded
Tern Vektron Folding Electric Bike
Tern Vektron Folded From Above
Tern Vektron Folded Side Pedal
Tern Vektron Folded Width
Tern Vektron Electric Bike Review
Tern Vektron
Tern Vektron Bosch Active Line Cruise Mid Drive Motor
Tern Vektron Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery Pack
Tern Vektron Flat Bar Ergon Gp1 Grips
Tern Vektron Bosch Purion Display Panel
Tern Vektron Quick Release Andros Stem
Tern Vektron Integrated Valo Headlight 150 Lumens
Tern Vektron Wide Plastic Fenders With Mud Flaps
Tern Vektron 160 Mm Shimano M615 Hydraulic Disc Brake
Tern Vektron Porter Saddle With Grip And Pedal Storage
Tern Vektron 10 Speed Shimano Deore Drivetrain
Tern Vektron Cargo Rack Herrmans E Bike Light
Tern Vektron Adjustable Length Rear Kickstand
Tern Vektron Walking Mode Folded
Tern Vektron Folding Electric Bike
Tern Vektron Folded From Above
Tern Vektron Folded Side Pedal
Tern Vektron Folded Width

Summary

  • A premium folding electric bike with Bosch drive system and leading warranty, sturdy and quiet with plenty of adjustability (seat post height and stem angle), smart accessories help you carry gear and stay dry without noise
  • The folding joints are thick and sturdy but don't have sharp edges, both latches have two-step locks to keep them secure and they fold flat to stay out of the way, a magnet and rubber strap keep the bike from coming unfolded
  • Excellent Schwalbe Balloon tires with puncture protection, reflective sidewalls and a larger diameter for improved comfort, you also get bright integrated lights and a delay feature for safety when parking
  • Neat quick release pedal design, both wheels quick release as well, powerful hydraulic disc brakes, easy to remove battery without taking the saddle and seat post off, the bike costs more, only comes in one size and the new Purion display is not removable

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Tern

Model:

Vektron

Price:

$3,400

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

5 Year Frame, 2 Year Electronics and Battery

Availability:

United States, Europe, Worldwide

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

49.4 lbs (22.4 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17.5 in (44.45 cm)(Folded Size 39 cm x 86 cm x 84 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

17.5" Seat Tube, 22.5" Reach, 23.5" Stand Over Height, 41.5" Wheel Base, 63" Length, Folded Dimensions: (33.5" Long, 27" High, 15" Wide)

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding (Patented OCL Joint, DoubleTruss Technology)

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Blue Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Tarsus™ Rigid Hydroformed Aluminum Alloy, 9 mm Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses, Luggage Socket™ Head Tube Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore, 11-34T

Shifter Details:

Shimano, DYNA-SYS Triggers on Right

Cranks:

FSA 170 mm Aluminum Alloy Cranks, 20T Chainring

Pedals:

VP K218 Alloy Spindle with Plastic and Rubber Platform, Right Pedal Has Quick Release

Headset:

Flux Pro, Sealed Cartridge Bearings, 1-1/8"

Stem:

Andros™ Tool-Free Adjustable Angle

Handlebar:

Flat, 24.5" Length (Aluminum)

Brake Details:

Shimano Deore Hydraulic Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Shimano M615 Levers with Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Ergon GP1 Ergonomic Grips with Lockers

Saddle:

Porter+™ Dual-Density with Gel, Integrated GripPad™ Handle

Seat Post:

Telescopic Seatpost™, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

460 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

33.9mm, 27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall, Aluminum Alloy, 32 Hole (With Brass Spoke Nipples)

Spokes:

Sapim, Stainless Steel, Double Butted, 13G

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Apple, 20" x 2.15"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

Balloon, LiteSkin Reflective Sidewall Stripe, Performance Line RaceGuard, 30 to 55 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Front and Rear Fenders with Mud Flaps, Rear Cargo Rack (Compatible with Yepp Child Seats, Maxi Easyfit and Maxi Junior Easyfit), Integrated Valo™ Direct Lighting System Headlight (41 Lux, 150 Lumen), Herrmans e-Bike LED Light Back, Adjustable Length Rear Mounted Kickstand, Under Saddle Pedal Holder, SKS CHAINBLADE-e Plastic Chain Cover

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Magnetix 2.0 Folding Clasp Connector, Fits Riders 4’10” to 6’5” Tall, Heavy Duty OCL+ Folding Joint (Rated to Exceed ISO 4210 and EN 15194 Standards), Stainless Steel Hardware, Quadric™ Dropouts Raise Rear Wheel, 1.5 lb 4 Amp Charger, Max Weight ~243 lbs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Active Line Cruise

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Manganese Cobalt

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Purion, Fixed, Backlit LCD Control Panel with Integrated Button Pad (Removable, Symmetrical Integrated Buttons for Right or Left Handed Users)

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Lights

Display Accessories:

Micro-USB Port for Diagnostics and Software Updates Only, Hold - to Cycle Readouts, Hold + and Press Power to Change Units

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Rear Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence, and Pedal Torque 1,000 Times Per Second - Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 40% 35 Nm, Tour 100% 40 Nm, Sport 150% 45 Nm, Turbo 250% 50 Nm)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (25 km/h in Europe)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Tern Vektron is a pretty amazing electric bike, folding or otherwise. I’ve been looking at images of it next to and overlapped with models from different companies and you can instantly see that the reach is longer and really the frame itself is longer. This improves stability, gives you more room to pedal without heal strikes on panniers and toe strikes on the front fender. Thanks to their Andros adjustable stem and telescoping seat post, you get full leg extension and a more comfortable or more aggressive body position depending on how you prefer to ride. I met with Steve Boyd for this review and got very detailed in the video. Definitely check out the pro’s and con’s below because there are lots of little extras to consider that might help to justify the higher price tag if you’re on a budget. This folding e-bike is sturdy, comes standard with all of the cargo and safety features you could want and offers one of the best warranties I’ve ever seen (5 years on the Tern parts standard or 10 years if you register). The Bosch drive system fits perfectly and blends in with the matte black frame. Weight is kept low and center and features like shift sensing let you use all ten gears smoothly without expert execution and timing. Stand out features to me are the pannier rails on the rack which have stoppers to keep bags from sliding off when you fold and roll the bike, a unique dual-clip bungee system, compatibility with Yepp and Maxi child seats, integrated LED lights with a capacitor to keep you illuminated for a minute after parking, forward compatibility with the larger Bosch Powerpack 500, quick release wheels, a magnet and rubber band stay-folded system and hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable reach levers. There is so much more on this bike to dig into, the video review is long but I had a blast learning from the GM of the United States and founding partner so do check it out ;)

Driving the bike is a 250 watt nominal mid-drive motor from Bosch. This is their Active Cruise model designed to feel smoother but it’s still very responsive. All current Bosch Centerdrives measure rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque 1,000 times per second to deliver predictable power. The faster and harder you pedal, the more power you get… up to ~500 watts and 50 Newton meters peak. It’s a very capable system but I noticed that I didn’t zoom right up to 20 mph as quickly as with some of the full sized electric mountain bikes and city bikes I’ve tested. In order to hit top speed I arrowed up to Turbo mode using the display panel the switched to the higher gears. One thing I really love about the Bosch controller is that it delivers software driven shift sensing response so the chain, sprockets and derailleur aren’t damaged as easily. With higher end mountain bikes, I usually expect people to be thoughtful in how they shift but those motors offer up to 75 Nm of torque and the rider is often climbing and even standing up. For this folding bike, I found that mashing seemed almost non-existant and the drivetrain hardware, from Shimano, is well made and durable. In short, the motor keeps weight low and centered, is protected by two support bars (to keep it clean and scratch-free when the bike is folded) and it blends nicely with the all-black frame. You do hear it when pedaling at higher RPMs and in the more powerful assist levels but the soft electronic whine isn’t bad. I usually ride in the lower two levels of assist and get excellent range, 50+ miles per charge.

Powering the motor and both LED lights is a standard Bosch Powerpack 400. It’s compact, light weight at just 5.4 lbs and fits perfectly behind the seat tube. This is one of my favorite parts about how the drive system was fitted on the Vektron. Rather than force the battery onto the top tube or onto the rear rack which both cause problems (raising the stand over height or taking up space, weight capacity and destabilizing the bike) they extended the frame and pushed the rack back. I love that this battery can be taken off so easily, even without removing the seat post and saddle. It clicks on in a snap and has a solid locking core and metal latch which keep it from rattling while riding. The pack is surrounded on all sides by frame tubing so it will be safe if the bike tips or there’s an accident and it has an integrated loop handle at the top so you’ll be less likely to drop it while transporting off the bike, perhaps to charge it? The pack can be charged on the frame if you’d like and the charger is fast, offering 4 Amps of output vs. just 2 Amps on many other electric bike chargers. It’s compact, lightweight and connects in a way that feels solid like the pins won’t get bent. Note that Bosch now offers a 500 watt hour battery which is compatible with the Vektron and all other current designs. The pack is the same physical size but weighs more and costs more.

Operating the Tern Vektron is a snap, once the battery is charged and mounted correctly just press the power button along the top edge of the Purion display panel / button pad. This display is not removable like the larger Bosch Intuvia which makes me a little sad (especially for a folding bike which could get bumped around more) but it’s thin, easy to read and relatively easy to use considering it packs in almost all of the Intuvia features. You even get a 5 Volt Micro USB charging port on the left edge to use with a phone, music player or other portable electronic device. That amazed me to be honest, and I love that the walk mode worked with the demo bike we had because some of the older Bosch systems had it disabled for the USA. Walk-mode is great for times when you’re pushing the bike up a steep ramp or hanging out with a friend but carting around the bike with added bags and cargo. So once the display is on, you have to be in one of the four levels of assist to then press and hold walk along the lower edge of the control panel. I like that the Purion display lets you operate the lights by holding plus for a few seconds and that the headlight has its own on/off slider switch. The thing is very bright and I was told it’s a custom design from Herrmans. You can swivel it down or straight and it has some visibility along the sides with two small LEDs that stay lit for a while after the bike is shut down. This is a European feature that few e-bikes get in the USA. And that’s the thing about the Vektron, it only comes in one size and one color but it’s so adjustable and well designed that I think it will satisfy a wide range of use cases and they were able to keep the price down a bit through economies of scale. Sure, you probably feel like $3,400 is a lot of money but just a couple years back you couldn’t get any Bosch powered electric bike for under $4k, and that’s without a lot of the cool extras and premium components seen here.

Ultimately, the Vektron satisfies more than just the folding ebike scenario. It truly rides more like a full sized bicycle. The frame is longer, stiffer and more versatile but the weight isn’t unreasonable (at just under 50 lbs). Nice upgrades like locking Ergon GP1 grips, Shimano hydraulic disc brakes and a tight chain cover mean you really don’t need to accessorize the bike and they all look nice and just work well together. I appreciate when the manufacturer finds or designs parts that don’t rattle, stay out of the way and look good. The only area I’d think about upgrading is the seat post, perhaps adding a suspension seat post to improve comfort further. The larger tires help and in many places, if the roads are smooth this isn’t an issue. But if you truly plan to test the 40 to 80 mile range or take this thing traveling, the gel saddle and ergonomic grips might fall short and leave you with a stiff back and neck. Do adjust the bars and the seat post, take your time to remember what heights work best for you (using the markings on the post) then consider a 27.2 mm Thudbuster or Bodyfloat. I recommend going with a more premium post here because if you lift the bike by the nose of the saddle (as it is designed to do) one of the more basic suspension seat posts could break, they just aren’t as strong. Shout out to Tern, Josh and Steve for partnering with me for this review and hanging out at Interbike where I first got some insights to share back here.

Pros:

  • The frame feels solid but isn’t bulky, some folding ebikes have large joints that can bump your knees or theighs when mounting and pedaling but this one does not
  • I was really impressed by how quiet the Vektron rides, even at higher top speed, the rack system, lights and fenders stay quiet and feel sturdy
  • The front fender is extra long with an oversized build and mud flap, it should protect your feet and shins well and won’t get bent if you accidentally kick it while turning etc.
  • When folded, the bike really stays put thanks to a magnetic clasp AND rubber strap with multiple tightness holes… some folding e-bikes don’t have any systems to keep them from coming unfolded
  • The saddle is very cool, not only does it have a rounded plastic insert at the nose for you to use as a handle when moving the bike but it also has a pedal holster (for the quick-releasing right pedal when you fold the bike), note that carrying the bike by the seat when using a seat post suspension may cause damage to some cheaper suspension designs, consider 27.2 mm Thudbuster or Body Float
  • Beautiful aesthetic, it’s simple and clean with the black wires and cables blending in nicely along with the battery and motor casing
  • A lot of time and attention went into the buckle clasps, they lock securely, can be adjusted and even serviced with new bushings… and they don’t flop around (Tern has a patented flat-fold design)
  • I love the rear rack because it offers plenty of space on top and on the sides, it felt secure and can carry up to 55 lbs, the pannier bars on the sides have little metal protrusions to stop bags from sliding off the back when you fold and wheel the bike or if you’re noticing that your heel is striking your bags while pedaling (you can mount the bag further back to avoid this but know that the bag won’t slide off)
  • The Bosch charger is compact, relatively light weight and super fast putting out 4 Amps vs. most that just offer 2 Amps, you could toss it into a pannier, trunk bag or use the included bungee system to tie it down and bring it along (full charge in 3.5 hours)
  • This bike can be wheeled along with the bars when folded (as demonstrated in the video review above) and has a walk mode so it will help you carry its own weight, especially useful when coming up steep ramps from basements or carrying groceries etc. when unfolded and walking with a friend
  • High quality, full sized crank arms and pedals that don’t flex under force and weight, I like that instead of using cheap plastic folding pedals Tern developed a quick release system for the right pedal… the bike is still compact when folded but rides much better
  • Lots of safety elements going on here, you get protective lining in the tires, reflective stripes on the side, bright lights that run off the main battery and have windows on the sides so you can be seen from more directions
  • Premium hydraulic disc brakes front and rear, these things stop on a dime and are much easier to use and pull than mechanical disc or older style rim brakes, note that the brake levers can be adjusted to be closer or further from the grips depending on your hand size
  • Ergon locking grips feel nice and won’t twist under pressure or when you’re lifting and folding the bike or crack if the bike tips, just a nice upgrade
  • The Bosch Purion display is relatively easy to read, backlit, controls the lights and is easy to reach while gripping the left bar, you don’t have to take your hand off to use it (which improves safety) but it’s very intuitive to use still, each press of the buttons delivers a nice tactile click and it has a 5 Volt Micro USB port built in for charging a phone, GPS or other portable electronic device
  • Both folding latches have a two-step unlock system so you won’t accidentally come unfolded while riding
  • I like that the seat post has clear markings on it so you can remember and re-adjust each time you fold and unfold the bike to the appropriate height
  • I think the way that they mounted the battery is wonderful, it doesn’t raise stand over height, doesn’t hang way off the back or take up rack space and can still be easily removed WITHOUT taking off the seat
  • The motor is mounted really well, it doesn’t hang down much and is protected by two tubes with plastic caps that allow the bike to rest evenly when folded… it’s one of the most stable folded electric bikes I have tried, many other designs tip easily
  • A larger chainring paired with a 10 speed cassette make pedaling feel natural, they designed it to ride like a normal full sized bicycle even though it has smaller 20″ wheels, it climbs very well and can reach 20 mph but I had to change gears to reach the top speed
  • The rear wheel dropout is raised a bit to allow for strong mounting of the disc brake and more space for the rack and fender eyeletts, I believe it also lowers the center of gravity on the bike
  • I like that both wheels feature quick release because it makes the bike easier to work on or fix flats on the go… just bring a spare tube, mini pump or CO2 in one of your bags
  • If you register the bike your warranty goes from 5 years to 10 years for the Tern frame and select components (the motor and battery are 2 years)

Cons:

  • The Tern Vektron is definitely one of the more expensive folding electric bikes, it offers premium components, a first class drive system and an amazing warranty but that comes at a price
  • As with many folding ebikes, you only get one frame size here and it’s a bit longer than normal (the reach is longer), you can dial it in with the Andros stem and by sliding the saddle rails
  • While I love that the seat raises so high, it wasn’t clear how you’d be able to raise the handle bars to match without some special accessory, the Andros adjustable stem helps a lot but some other folding electric bikes have telescoping handle posts to address this
  • There’s just one color choice here, if you buy a couple of these for a his and her setup it might be tricky to tell which is which uless you add some accessories ;)
  • The stand over height isn’t super low, Tern purposefully uses a curved tubing design for strength and puts their folding joint back a bit but this means you’ll have to step higher to get on than some competing models
  • I love that they included bottle cage bosses but probably wouldn’t mount a cage and bottle here because it would be nearly horizontal and might leak, consider a folding lock, mini-pump or other compact accessory (or a tight bottle!)
  • It’s great that Tern went with wider tires for their official electric bike offering because in my experience, you tend to ride at a higher average speed and for longer distances and comfort can be an issues. Otherwise, there’s no suspension fork or seat post suspension… consider a Thudbuster or other 27.2 mm after market seat post
  • The Bosch Purion display panel isn’t removable like the Bosch Intuvia but it’s much more compact and still delivers all of the same readouts (hold + to activate the lights, hold – to cycle through menus)
  • Unlike a lot of other premium full sized e-bikes, the wires are not internally routed on the Tern Vektron (which makes folding and repairing easier) but they could get snagged easier and the front wires might interfere with the optional front rack and cargo if you remove the head badge on the head tube and install a “luggage truss” on the “luggage socket”

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Tern Reviews

Tern Node D8 with BionX Review

  • MSRP: $2,750
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High quality folding frame from Tern combined with sophisticated, durable and quiet drive system from BionX. Four levels of pedal assist and regen as well as regenerative braking and variable speed…...

Tern Link D8 with BionX Review

  • MSRP: $2,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High quality folding frame from Tern combined with sophisticated and quiet drive system from BionX. Four levels of pedal assist and regen as well as regenerative braking and variable speed…...

Ken Boesch
8 months ago

Court: Thanks for the review on the Vektron! I’m flying out next week to Los Angeles to go to the Long Beach Ebike Expo. Looking forward to trying out this bike along with Tern’s other Ebike, The Link. Here’s hoping for nice weather out there in Southern California. Ken

Reply
Court Rye
8 months ago

Awesome! Your last name almost looked like “Bosch” to me for a moment, perhaps the Bosch drive system on the new Vektron was meant to be ;) in any case, have a blast at the Expo, my fingers are crossed for good weather for you! Glad you enjoyed the review Ken.

Reply
Stephen Nicholas
8 months ago

I was really sold on this bike, watched all your videos and was all the time confident it was evailable for the whole of europe, yet not Sweden were I live, imagine my disapointment.

Reply
Court Rye
8 months ago

Ahhh, that’s a bummer Stephen… Sorry to hear. Maybe you could take a little vacation to a neighboring country and bring one back? Does it work like that in Europe or would the taxes be super high? I believe there are several shops that will ship ebikes if you pay a little extra, even some that go from the US to Europe. If you’d like, you can let me know and I’ll check with some shops here to put you in contact :)

Reply
josh hon
7 months ago

Hi Stephen, definitely get in touch at info@ternbicycles.com and we’ll send you to a dealer in the EU who will ship to you.

Reply
Court Rye
7 months ago

Thanks Josh!

Paul Wong
7 months ago

I have been following your entertaining reviews for a while now. Great review on the Vektron! For the price range, I have this expectation that the bike ought to be around 40 pounds or so. I do love this bike though it is a bit up there in the price range. Any chance you might review the eLink D7i in the near future so I can compare between these two and see what an extra $1400 buys me?

Reply
Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi Paul! It’s on my list but won’t be done for at least a month and a half… I just finished traveling through California and shot 45 reviews which I need to work on now. I’m visiting my Dad and helping him with some house remodeling and moving so my time is a bit split. In general, I feel Tern makes great stuff and I love the Bosch drive system. Maybe there are some other reviews here that can help you feel out the eLink D7i or maybe in the Tern forums here :)

Reply
Felipe
7 months ago

Is it possible to install the Sherlock GPS in the handle bar?

Reply
Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi Felipe! What a cool looking product… You might need to double check the tubing size on the Tern Vektron and probably swap to different grips since the Ergon ones it comes with have caps already and are locking (maybe you could cut the cap or modify them)? I’m guessing you could get it to work. Thanks for sharing and good luck! Let me know if you get this and how it turns out :D

Reply
Offer Appelboim
6 months ago

Hey Court, This is one of the most professional websites I’ve ever ran into. Good job!!! After a long research by myself, it became clear also to me that the Vektron is the best folding E-bike we have today on the market. The only thing stopping me from buying it right now is my curiosity about the future E-brompton. The only problem is that I don’t have any idea about future estimated price, abilities ect. Can you try to find out about what is going on there at Brompton? Why aren’t they disclosing any detail about their future E bike? Thanks a lot!

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Hi Offer! Thanks for the compliments, I do my best with this site and agree that the Tern Vektron is one of the best folding products available today… maybe in addition to the Gocycle products which are also very nice but not as powerful or efficient. I have not heard much about the Electric Brompton folding ebike but everyone seems to believe it’s coming… I wish I could help more, but I just don’t know. Why not check the EBR forums and ask if anyone there has heard more?

Reply
Offer Appelboim
6 months ago

Thanks Court, this is a good idea. Actually I didn’t notice the forum before.. I will try there. Thanks again

Julia
6 months ago

Hey Court, your Tern review was very compelling! Before plunking down a wad-o-cash on my 60th birthday present, I have a few questions:

  1. I live on a fairly steep 1 mile-long hill. Will this 36 volt / 250 watt motor do the job? I don’t know much about watts, voltage, torque… 36 volts sounds good, but 250 watts sounds kind of puny compared to 500 or 750. I think I recall you saying that since the wheels are smaller, you don’t need as much wattage. Did I get that right?
  2. Also, smaller wheels… you don’t have to spin more to go the same distance as 26″ wheels?
  3. I don’t know how often I’ll need to fold it up – it’s a possibility on occasion; what might I be giving up by buying this folding bike rather than a non-folding ebike? Perhaps trading for an unfolding bike w/ more watts would be a better choice if I’m not going to fold it very often.

Thoughts? Many thanks, Julia

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Hi Julia! Great questions and good job paying attention about how the wheel size interacts with motor performance. In short, this motor is very capable despite the lower 250-watt rating. It peaks well above 500 watts and delivers power through the drivetrains vs. a hub motor which does not. Inline drive systems like this allow you to switch gears (to a lower gear) and help the motor out. It’s perfect for steep climbs or moving heavier loads. And following that point, the smaller wheels are going to be easier to turn and steer with because they are lighter and have a shorter radius. The other advantage is a lower center of gravity for you and your cargo the wheels can support more weight because they have shorter spokes. You’ll notice that a lot of cargo bikes have a smaller rear wheel for these same reasons. The one major trade-off here is that the tires don’t have as much air and have a higher attack angle which can feel bumpier. When riding below 20 mph and using lower levels of assist, this ebike still feels good. Whether you need to fold this bike or not, the motor and battery are top of the line and Tern has an excellent reputation. This is one of the best folding ebikes around right now and includes excellent dealer and manufacturer support. You will be able to find replacement batteries for this bike much easier and the motor should hold up better over the long term. The key is learning to ease off of the pedals just before shifting gears so the motor power doesn’t put too much stress on the chain, sprockets, and derailleur. I hope this helps you out… good job digging deeper than just numbers because the way this bike works makes it a much better performer than a lot of the higher-power rated products.

Reply
Julia
6 months ago

Court…Thank you SO MUCH for your invaluable insights and expertise. I feel pretty confident now about splurging if the bike feels right. I need to drive 2 hours to the shop that sells them; they’re on back order at this shop until mid-May, but I can at least go up & test ride it. So, that also means servicing it will be a 2 hr drive as well – but I like playing in the city, so it all works out. AND, since it’s a folding bike, it won’t be a problem getting it into the car. I’m stoked! Please know that I wouldn’t have noticed this bike without your awesome review.

Happy trails,
Julia

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Hey Julia! That’s super exciting, thanks for all of the positive feedback and sharing your plans. I really think that this particular ebike is going to hold up well and that if you’ve got minor issues (drivetrain, tires, tubes) that any bike shop will feel comfortable doing a tuneup. In maybe three years, if you decide you want another battery or need to replace the display or something, Bosch will still be offering parts and you can drive to the ebike shop in the city to get them. The folding feature will come in handy, I’ve used it more than expected when borrowing/reviewing these models. It’s cool to fit a bike inside your car vs. on a rack. Makes it easy to take to ride with friends, keep out of the rain etc. Good luck and please chime in again someday when you get the bike and can test ride it a bit :D

Reply
nathalee
5 months ago

Great review! Thank you!

I have been in the market for electric bike for years. Wa discourage by bike shop 12 yrs ago but I think it has all improved. Looking for foldable do to vehicle lack of being able to attach rack. I want to be mobile and tern and brompton (when the new one is released) becoming 2 I think are strong and durable

Hubby and i might share before buying 2 will tern hold a 250 lb person? will he still be able to climb hills? Is seating upright position like a cruiser? we dont like bending over hub motor driven seems to be a debate with some manufacturer.

thanks again?

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Nathalee! I think the Vektron would be an excellent choice for you because mid-drive motors are more capable climbers and can move heavier loads. I would guess that yes, the bike can take 250 lbs because the official limit is 243 lbs and most companies are a bit conservative with those estimates. The neat thing about the Tern model, aside from it being available now, is that the handlebar is so adjustable. You could slide the seat forward, angle the bar up and have a nice relaxing body position. I like your idea of buying one and trying it out together before deciding on a second. I think you’ll like it very much based on what you shared. As for Brompton, they are an awesome company too, but I haven’t heard much about their ebike and it could be many months before one is released. Since we’re in spring and the summer is coming, I’d get the bike that is available for sure and try to find it at a local shop if you can :)

Reply
Clark
5 months ago

I just got mine, and I’m confused. There’s no throttle? So the only power you get is when you’re peddling?

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

That is correct Clark, the Tern Vektron is a Class 1 electric bike also known as pedal assist only. It’s allowed in the most locations but only offers pedal-assisted support vs. throttle mode and has a top assisted speed of 20 mph. If you want a throttle, look for Class 2 folding electric bikes… but give it some time, the Bosch system is very powerful and responsive, it works well if you don’t mind a bit of pedaling.

Reply
Mauricio
3 months ago

Hi! Thanks for your awesome reviews, they’re very helpful. One question for this folding ebike: we live on a hilly island and we were thinking of getting one of these folding bikes. However, we’d like to transport some stuff as well (maybe about 20kg extra). Do you think this bike can handle hills with extra cargo? And if so, which “trailer” can you recommend?
Thank you!

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Mauricio! I’m almost certain that you could carry at least 20 kg on the rear rack that comes with the Tern Vektron. You could use a basket, trunk bag, or panniers to carry your load. The rack has pannier blockers so your bags won’t rub on the tires but you’d still want to get short panniers so they wouldn’t hang down too low and get in the way of shifting or your heels as you pedal. There are lots of bike trailers out there and I think you could get one to work but with the disc brakes, kickstand, and magnetic clasp all on the left side of the rear-end of the bike… it might take some custom metal working to create a little connector. Here’s an interesting folding trailer with a hitch that has a backup system which might be modified? And then there’s this one or this more expensive one which connects to the seat post… that’s worth considering given how crowded the wheel area is, I haven’t tried this particular rack. The Burley Travoy was the first bike trailer that I saw which connected to the seat post but it’s super expensive… nice and light, folds up, looks cool… but expensive ;) please let us know what you end up with and how it works out. You can also post about it, along with photos, in the forums if you’d like.

Reply
Roxanne
2 months ago

I’m not clear what “Variable Speed Trigger Throttle” is on this Vektron. I thought it *didn*’t have a throttle (I’m new to e-bikes). Also, how in heck does a person test ride a Vektron? I’m in Ohio, would be willing to drive several hours to see it, but am having a heck of a time finding someone with the Vektron in stock (sorry for the whining). Thanks!

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Roxanne, I’m sorry for the confusion here, the website had a glitch which put this “variable speed trigger throttle” label when really, none of the Bosch drive systems offer this. The information is incorrect here and I’m working to fix it as I type this reply. Sorry for the confusion. It does not have a throttle. As for dealers, I have a directory of ebike shops here that you can search by brand and maybe narrow down… but you might want to contact Tern directly to ask because it can be hit or miss with which shops carry it.

Reply
Roxanne
2 months ago

Thanks for the clarification, Court. I did contact Tern through their website a few days ago (haven’t heard back yet), but will also take a look at your list. I appreciate all you do, Court!

Roxanne
2 months ago

I ordered the Vektron without a test ride. It arrived yesterday, and I *LOVE* it! A few things I want to tweak – the seat is rather hard, may want to replace it, and I definitely need a mirror and a lock but, all in all, it is a great bike!

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Sweet! That’s a happy story, thanks Roxanne… I like the Selle Royale saddles like this and there’s a great lock from Blackburn with a cable included. I like this lock because it connects on both sides of the U, not just one, this makes it more secure… and the bars are rubber coated so it won’t scratch up your frame. Use the cable to secure the front wheel and maybe get a saddle leash cable to protect your new seat ;)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Over50
1 week ago

...I put the Tern basket on the back - you have to make sure it clicks in 100%; it came off in a good bump and my contents including my laptop went sprawling on the ground. All was okay, but I cringe when I hit a big bump..

I have the rear Tern basket on my Tern Eclipse (human powered bike) and I wasn't totally trusting of the single clip so I also bungee it down to the frame. My Eclipse has bungee attachment points on the frame so not sure if the Vektron does as well. Of course if bungees are used you have to be certain they are securely attached else if you lose one you might get it caught up in your drive train. Anyway, the basket rattles just a bit but sure is handy for hauling groceries and it I haven't lost it yet!

Julia S
1 week ago

The steep hills to our house had finally defeated me over the years. I accepted that I was done dealing with hills. I hadn't been on my bike for a few years and yet I still missed the joys of riding. I read a lot of Court's reviews and tried out about a dozen e-bikes. Being a mere 5'1", I wanted something small. Court, your review sold me.

I've been riding my Vektron all summer long and have yet to meet a hill I can't easily climb and I've got some long and steep challenging hills here in Oregon. I breeze up my mile-long hill from one direction or climb up another mile-long roller coaster hill that looks like something you'd encounter in San Francisco which is even steeper. No problem. Most of the time, I drive in the lowest Eco power setting or turn it off altogether. I no longer fear hills. I can gauge how much effort I want to work that day between the 4 power assist levels and the 10 speeds.

One of my favorite features is the WALK - ASSIST feature; it gives me a generous boost while I walk my bike up the 30 yard hill to our back yard entrance from the street.

The Vektron is super quiet, and the motor matches my efforts beautifully - no lurching.

A 6'4" friend of mine tried it out - raised the seat, made a quick & simple adjustment to the handlebars and was out having as much fun as me.

I've folded it up for a few trips, and although it's a heavier for me than their videos show with a strong young guy lifting it effortlessly into the car, it's not a deal-breaker at all. It fits kind of awkwardly in my Prius, but it fits. When I arrived at night, it was nice to know the bike would be safe in my car.

I put the Tern basket on the back - you have to make sure it clicks in 100%; it came off in a good bump and my contents including my laptop went sprawling on the ground. All was okay, but I cringe when I hit a big bump.

I'm going to start a savings account for the day that the battery needs to be replaced; those are NOT cheap! Still, this bike is an absolute BLAST to ride! It's been an interesting conversation starter too chatting with other bicyclists at bike racks.

It's so good to be out riding again in the fresh air! This bike has given back to me a precious form of exercise and enjoyment.

Danimal
3 weeks ago

I looked high and low for updated info on the 2017 eJoe Epik SE. eJoe's site is near-useless (what gives with that?), so I want somewhere to document what I've heard and experienced, and for updated discussion as needed.

I got the bike for commuting up to 5 miles each way and everyday errands. I'm 6'2" and 175lbs (fit), and no other folding eBikes appeared sufficient for my height, other than the Pedego Latch (which I was told is massively over-priced and has parts-supply issues) and the new (and dizzyingly expensive) $3400 Tern Vektron (coming out next year). The Tern is also heavier by ten lbs and harder to work on, with a mid-drive motor; I can't imagine having a folding eBike that weighs more than the eJoe's ~45lbs.

First, the bike seems quite good. 2017 changes: more powerful battery (12A) and a charging port *on the side of the bike* instead of the bottom. I'm happy with it and recommend it so far. Currently, I'd recommend this bike to someone who is willing to spend the $$ on upkeep of a bike and upgrading a couple key components, especially if they'll be using this bike as more than just a "last mile" method of transport.

Bike arrived from an online retailer through Amazon; i bought through them to get an extra 3% back on the purchase, thinking this would be a smart fiscal move. NOTE: It wasn't. I should have ordered the bike through a bike shop and have them put it together; to the untrained eye the bike was fine, but when I took it to a shop they pointed out some important issues and ended up charging me a fair amount of money to tweak and tune it. Takeaway: although an eBike may seem expensive, don't cut corners. If you get an eJoe, have it assembled at a bike shop. They may also throw in a better rack, better tires, and maybe other goodies.

I've had the bike about 2 weeks. I like the seat/handlebar adjustability for my height and the power of the 12A battery. I immediately noticed that my pedaling was overpowered by the pedal assist. I'd read here that one could replace the freewheel; I recommend this and so did the eBike shop I went to. Hey eJoe: Why not do this for all your bikes?

Suggestions by the bike shop: They said they sell a fair number of eJoes, but seemed like purists so take the following with a grain of salt.
First, they made great suggestions about taking care of the bike, a LOT of suggestions about checking your bike and cables once a week, and other maintenance. They had a handout which eJoe might do well to include in their user manual!

1) They suggested updating the freewheel, which they do as a matter of course when they get a new Epik into their shop. Will update with what type exactly.

2) Holy heavens, make sure that the fork is tightened down appropriately! They took a look at it and said that it was looser than it should be and could be dangerous. It did feel slightly loose.

3) The bike shop suggested replacing all the bolts on the bike asap with USA-made bolts. Their take was that the parts are made in China (battery is made in San Diego, though, and is quality) and higher-quality bolts will be a good step toward reliability.
A hole for the rack mount in the back of mine was mis-drilled. I don't feel like shipping the bike back to eJoe, so I drilled it smooth.

4) Use the plastic derailleur til it breaks, it's pretty cheaply made. Replace it with a higher-quality one, and consider buying one and having it ready to install.

5) Replace the disc brakes with either higher-quality pads or rim hydraulic brakes. The Epik's stock disc brakes may wear down very quickly. They recommended hydraulic rim brakes, which can be had for a $100-200.
Maintenance: check and adjust your brakes regularly, since eBikes often wear down brakes faster than regular bikes.
Buy: a long Hex Key for tightening brake pads down as they wear.

Helmet: After reading around, it sounded like getting a visor (not just glasses/goggles) for riding made sense. I got a Bell Annex that already has a visor. Plus, it fits people who have glasses.

Tires: I've read that Schwalbe Marathons would be good, and after seeing what they look like I'd probably agree. I hear Kenda Small Block 8s work well too, but are more like mountain bike tires so will net you less distance from 1 battery charge.

Rack: Spent WAY too much time researching this. In short: an Axiom adjustable Journey rack (not the regular one) at its highest setting should work fine if you want panniers AND are willing to attach the rack by replacing the quick-release collar on your seat with one having rack mounts. I'm currently looking for a quick-release collar that will also accommodate a rack mount; I'm sure they must exist. I read somewhere that panniers on a folding bike is a problem looking for a solution (to use a trunk instead) but I'd like to use both. I'll post which panniers I get that avoid heel-strike.

Stock Lights: A cycling friend commented they look really good and are bright. If you're switching out the rear rack, be prepared to find a different way to mount the rear tail light, especially on the axiom Journey. I haven't solved this one yet, but will update when I do.

Overall: I'm sure there are errors/oversights here, as I'm new to cycling, but I wanted to at least get my experience out there. Talking to local bike shops I just don't understand... they say that people aren't buying eBikes very much here and don't even know what a folder is. I live in a high-crime city that's hilly. Crime: get a folder so you can take it indoors. Hilly? get an eBike. It seems like a perfect solution, so this is my attempt to help anyone else looking to make the switch and save them the countless hours I spent making calls and searching google for eBike info.

I'm curious why eJoe doesn't have regular updates/news on their website. I had to be told by a bike shop about the 2017 model upgrades, which seems stupid. eJoe, wanna sell more bikes? Update your online shop and info on your own products!

Hey there, Dripdry!

I'm curious; how are you liking the Epic SE now that's it's almost been a year out?

Andy_in_CA
3 weeks ago

https://www.ternbicycles.com/us/bikes/471/vektron

they also showed some cool stuff at Interbike. Their new GSD looks cool. doesn't fold but its meant to store upright. Check out Court's new videos on the Youtube channel.

E-Wheels
4 weeks ago

Hi everyone,

I am looking into buying either the Tern Vektron or Riese and Muller Tinker - I currently own the BH Neo Volt Sport and one thing I love about it is how responsive it is, i.e. you tap, it goes, which is great in heavy traffic. Does anyone have an opinion about which of the two bikes is more responsive? I see that the Tinker has the Bosch CX motor versus the the Vektron as the Active - is there a big difference in the feel / responsiveness between the two motors? Thx
kennyb researched both of these bikes and settled on the Tern. Hopefully he can chime in with his experiences
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/vektron-and-elink-in-usa.12236/#post-102575
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/riese-muller-tinker.11321/
Courts reviews here;
https://electricbikereview.com/tern/vektron/
https://electricbikereview.com/riese-muller/tinker-nuvinci/

Austincolotti
4 weeks ago

Hi everyone,

I am looking into buying either the Tern Vektron or Riese and Muller Tinker - I currently own the BH Neo Volt Sport and one thing I love about it is how responsive it is, i.e. you tap, it goes, which is great in heavy traffic. Does anyone have an opinion about which of the two bikes is more responsive? I see that the Tinker has the Bosch CX motor versus the the Vektron as the Active - is there a big difference in the feel / responsiveness between the two motors? Thx

Kathy Smith
1 month ago

The 250w EBikeBC is $1,000 and weighs just 25lb which is light for an ebike. Court Rye did a video review of the identical but more expensive VeloMini Plus. It has smaller 16" wheels and the back wheel folds under the frame which has a carrying handle, the small 240wh battery is inside the frame so it looks like a normal folding bike, it is a single speed, has a throttle and pedal assist but is geared high and this owners review recommended starting off using the twist throttle then pedalling. Top speed is 14mph, and range is 8 miles on throttle only up to 18 miles pedalling all the time in the lowest level of pedal assist so maybe 10-12 miles combined - battery range is an issue on folding ebikes because of the trade-off between small size batteries to keep weight down, for comparison the BH EasyGo Volt is a 20" normal looking folder with an even smaller battery delivering similar speed/range to the EBikeBC but weighing 39lb. My wife test rode the Tern Vektron last weekend and she liked the adjustable handlebar stem that adjusts for rake, bar angle, and height.
16" wheels are too small for me. I wish the BH EasyGo speed was 20mph.

Dewey
1 month ago

Less than 40lb, folding, 20" wheels, throttle, speed at least 15miles/hr, looks like a normal bike, nice to have belt drive.

The 250w EBikeBC is $1,000 and weighs just 25lb which is light for an ebike. Court Rye did a video review of the identical but more expensive VeloMini Plus. It has smaller 16" wheels and the back wheel folds under the frame which has a carrying handle, the small 240wh battery is inside the frame so it looks like a normal folding bike, it is a single speed, has a throttle and pedal assist but is geared high and this owners review recommended starting off using the twist throttle then pedalling. Top speed is 14mph, and range is 8 miles on throttle only up to 18 miles pedalling all the time in the lowest level of pedal assist so maybe 10-12 miles combined - battery range is an issue on folding ebikes because of the trade-off between small size batteries to keep weight down, for comparison the BH EasyGo Volt is a 20" normal looking folder with an even smaller battery delivering similar speed/range to the EBikeBC but weighing 39lb. My wife test rode the Tern Vektron last weekend and she liked the adjustable handlebar stem that adjusts for rake, bar angle, and height.

Kathy Smith
1 month ago

I've been mulling over a Tern Vektron myself which doesn't meet a lot of your criteria but seems from the specs to be a better equipped bike. I've also checked out similar bikes as you aswell and would be interested to see what bike you finally end up with since I still haven't fully decided myself. I've checked out the luna mini and I like it even if it does have the "racier" look but like you reported not being able to put fenders on it stinks! I've also checked into the Evelo Quest but I got to say I was completely turned off by their website. I'm use to websites giving a bit too much information about a bike but for the life of me I could hardly find any specifications about the Quest on their website. It doesn't even tell you the most basic of facts like the wheel size! I own a Brompton which I'm completely spoiled by it's fold size and weight even though it at 25lbs is still a chunky monkey. I too wish to find something a bit bigger and built well.
The specs are on the bottom of the page, you need to click Specs Details and you get this:

Motor
Bafang 250W Brushless Rear Hub Motor, Variable Pedal Assist and Throttle Control

Battery
Samsung 36V 10.2Ah with micro USB Charge Port

Charger
36V 2A Charger

Maximum Motor-Assisted Speed
20 Miles Per Hour

Range
Estimated 40 Miles on Pedal-Assist

Electric Assist
Multiple levels, plus electric-only (via throttle)

Frame
Lightweight Aircraft Grade Aluminum Frame

Fork
Chromoly Fork, Fender-Compatible

Wheel
20” Alloy Rims

Brakes
Tektro Disc Brakes, 160mm Rotors

Seat Post
33.9mm 575mm Length

Stem
Quick Folding Stem

Drivetrain
Gates, 70T, 20T Rear Cog, Gates Carbon Belt Drive

Pedals
Wellgo 9/16” Folding

Display Panel
Multi-color 3.2” IPS Screen, 14 Function Display

Add-ons
Front and Rear Fenders, Front and Rear Lights Hard-Wired to Battery, Rear Cargo Rack, Bell, Kickstand

Bicycle Weight
38 lbs with Integrated Battery

Awakened987
1 month ago

I've been mulling over a Tern Vektron myself which doesn't meet a lot of your criteria but seems from the specs to be a better equipped bike. I've also checked out similar bikes as you aswell and would be interested to see what bike you finally end up with since I still haven't fully decided myself. I've checked out the luna mini and I like it even if it does have the "racier" look but like you reported not being able to put fenders on it stinks! I've also checked into the Evelo Quest but I got to say I was completely turned off by their website. I'm use to websites giving a bit too much information about a bike but for the life of me I could hardly find any specifications about the Quest on their website. It doesn't even tell you the most basic of facts like the wheel size! I own a Brompton which I'm completely spoiled by it's fold size and weight even though it at 25lbs is still a chunky monkey. I too wish to find something a bit bigger and built well.

Awakened987
2 months ago

Hey thanks for the little bit of ownership =) feedback! Yeah I think the blix vika line is really a nice little inexpensive line of bikes. I like that their warranty is a lot longer then most I just have to do a bit more research on the brand to see if it's all possible. I know even tern has some nasties in their past It just seems like the Vektron is more robust then any of the other options and really the only one that I might trust so far in all 4 seasons. I did reach out to an owner of the Vektron I found here on the forums to see how they are still enjoying their Vektron but I have to wait for a response back haha! I do enjoy all the suggestions and personal feedback guys it's helping me branch out and give a few other choices second thoughts. It's still hard to plop down the $3400 of the Vektron on an ebike for sure.

Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago

Hey guys and gals of electricbikereview! I live in the Northeast so I experience all the seasons and would really like to buy my first ebike. I really have been struggling whether or not to buy an ebike or get a brompton again but I think for my commute 15ish miles the ebike would be the better option lol. I live in an apartment at the moment so it's not possible to have a full sized bike or ebike in my living room lol. I'm looking at the newish Tern Vektron and have tried to consume all the videos and reviews on it including the wonderful one from court :D. The only problem since it's so newish I haven't actually heard any real people share their experiences with owning the Vektron. Is there anything as compact and with similar features as the Vektron out there at the moment? I really don't want to go over the $3500 dollar mark if possible. Any help or suggestions for this internal struggle =) would help!

Magnum has a unique and powerful folder.

https://www.magnumbikes.com/product/magnum-premium-48-high-step/

Uses the common silver fish battery pack that is rated at 620+ whrs. it lacks the finesse of the Vektron but hey it's half the price.
if you put Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires, you don't have to worry about flats. Vektron is not light either. Both bikes are on the heavier side.

In the EU, there are lot more Bosch powered folding bikes.

Here is one from Hercules with the belt drive.
: http://www.hercules-bikes.de/produkte_detail_de-DE,1294,32982.html?kategorie=1327

One with the derailleur: http://www.hercules-bikes.de/produkte_detail_de-DE,1294,32996.html?kategorie=1327

Gepida has one nice folding bike but the US distributor has not brought it in yet.

BH Easy motion had a folder with the Bosch but not available in the US.

Awakened987
2 months ago

Hey guys and gals of electricbikereview! I live in the Northeast so I experience all the seasons and would really like to buy my first ebike. I really have been struggling whether or not to buy an ebike or get a brompton again but I think for my commute 15ish miles the ebike would be the better option lol. I live in an apartment at the moment so it's not possible to have a full sized bike or ebike in my living room lol. I'm looking at the newish Tern Vektron and have tried to consume all the videos and reviews on it including the wonderful one from court :D. The only problem since it's so newish I haven't actually heard any real people share their experiences with owning the Vektron. Is there anything as compact and with similar features as the Vektron out there at the moment? I really don't want to go over the $3500 dollar mark if possible. Any help or suggestions for this internal struggle =) would help!

Mark Peralta
2 months ago

The battery on the Gocycle is not designed to be removable for outside charging. Try the Vectron Tern folding bike.
http://www.ternbicycles.com/bikes/471/vektron

And check out Court's review of the Vektron.

Chris Nolte
3 months ago

The Tern Vektron is a great foldable ebike that I'm interested in. However, if Tern produced a Vektron-bike but with belt-driven internally geared hub (Nuvinci?) it would win hands down for me. It would be clean with nothing hanging down in the rear to get broken. Hope something like this is in Tern's plans.
This could be quite cool. It's possible we might see it in the future, but I don't think it's likely this year. It seems like Tern has something else up its sleeve according to their Instagram account.

BernieS
3 months ago

The Tern Vektron is a great foldable ebike that I'm interested in. However, if Tern produced a Vektron-bike but with belt-driven internally geared hub (Nuvinci?) it would win hands down for me. It would be clean with nothing hanging down in the rear to get broken. Hope something like this is in Tern's plans.

motostrano
4 months ago

Hello. I'm very interested in the Tern Vektron but I would really prefer to have "Performance Speed" motor from Bosch rather than the "Active" line that it comes equipped with. The roads around here have very wide bike lanes that are smooth as glass and the extra speed of the 28 mph assist would be a real benefit to my commute. Does anybody know if it is possible to swap out the Active motor for the Performance Speed one?

It's possible. It will fit and work but you'd have to be able to get your hands on one and Bosch won't sell them.

Ravi Kempaiah
4 months ago

Hello. I'm very interested in the Tern Vektron but I would really prefer to have "Performance Speed" motor from Bosch rather than the "Active" line that it comes equipped with. The roads around here have very wide bike lanes that are smooth as glass and the extra speed of the 28 mph assist would be a real benefit to my commute. Does anybody know if it is possible to swap out the Active motor for the Performance Speed one?

However well designed, a folding frame isn't the ideal platform for a speed motor. You could try talking to your dealer to see if they can get the speed motor upgrade. I believe Bosch would oppose such a change.

LKeene
4 months ago

Hello. I'm very interested in the Tern Vektron but I would really prefer to have "Performance Speed" motor from Bosch rather than the "Active" line that it comes equipped with. The roads around here have very wide bike lanes that are smooth as glass and the extra speed of the 28 mph assist would be a real benefit to my commute. Does anybody know if it is possible to swap out the Active motor for the Performance Speed one?

gumster
5 months ago

I'd love to hear of "user" reaction to test-riding or owning a Tinker (no offense to dealers who test-ride the bike without an interest in owning one). I'm thinking of it as being somewhat of an electrified Birdy with a non-folding frame. I've realized that a folding e-bike is not in my future as the good ones (looking at you, Vektron) are too heavy for me to lift into my SUV (post back surgery).

AaronP
6 months ago

Carmen,
The tern site has a number of videos showing the folding and transport of the Vektron. Also check YouTube.
There is a video showing a guy carrying one with the seat turned slightly and hooked on his shoulder (the horn of the seat is padded on the bottom).
I bought a Vekrton last week an have ridden about 125 mi so far. I really like the bike.
I drive a small hatch back and it fits nicely in the back (folded).
When I go into the grocery store I fold it in half (which takes about 15 seconds when you get the hang of it) and set it in the cart.
Good luck in your search.

Dewey
6 months ago

Was looking at the
Magnum Premium
Any thoughts on this one?? I know it's a bit heavy

Yeah, it weighs more than 60lb! Speedy though. You might also like to try the Tern Vektron which has a nice adjustable handlebar, 20" 2.15" Schwalbe puncture resistant tires, a Bosch motor that has a neat walking pace assist feature that works when the bike is folded if you leave the handlebar up, or you can raise the seat post and push the folded bike around by the saddle, good range, and weighs 12lb less than the Magnum because it uses an aluminum frame, if it were my money that would be the one I'd buy.

David Bonde
6 months ago

Kenny and Chris - Thanks for your time and answers I appreciate it.
It turns out that a bikeshop near by has the Tinker standing and ready. Vektron will arrive late May. I will take a ride on the Tinker, and see if I want to wait and also try the Vektron.

The Tinker with the 8 speed hub and active motor is the same price as the Vektron.

Cheers

Chris Nolte
6 months ago

I think in simple terms, they are similar, but it's really what you want or need. I think one key element is that they both have the Bosch system, which is a win in my book. I think the Tinker is special in that it has a suspension fork, available with a Belt for lower maintenance. It's possible to get it with the 500Wh battery if you need longer range and it's a rigid frame so there are less moving parts to wear or break.

The difference with the Vektron is, it's foldable at a lower price point with slightly less expensive parts. All in all they're both very good quality bikes, it just depends on your needs and budget.

Keep in mind that the bikes are slightly different in Denmark and I tried to cater my response to you a little more. The Shimano hub isn't offered here in the US, but it's a good option to save a few bucks. The Nuvinci might be easier for family members to use if they are not that familiar or comfortable with shifting.

If you have the opportunity to ride both of them I would highly recommend it.

I hope that helps.

eric eyster
1 month ago

why not any form of suspension? the bike seems to have everything but that. and that is pretty important on bikes. THat is the only thing holding me back on buying it.

s choudhury
2 months ago

This guy is going overboard praising this bike. It's 3.5k dollars. It's more like a rich man's toy than a practical solution. Any way we need to wait for the revolution in battery technology before investing in any of these bikes.

Kris Miller
2 months ago

I would love to be able to get a Vektron but I just cant afford it. Do you think the Tern eLink D7i is a good substitute for the price? or do you have any recommendation for a folding or compact ebike (class 1) at the ~2000 price range? I've been on your site a lot and just cant seem to make up my mind.

Greg Short
2 months ago

I bought the Vektron, and i like it, but there are a few things that i don't. Climbing is a blast on it. It is heavy, and if you are lifting it in and out of your car, you aren't going to look as good as the model. It tips somewhat easily, so make sure the kickstand it adjusted accordingly. And, when it tips, it scratches easily. I also wish it folded in the other direction than it does, so that it would fold in the direction of the derailleur. the reason is, if you are laying the bike flat in your car, you don't really want to lay it with the derailleur down, and when you are trying to lay it on the other side, it can unfold on you, unless you bungee the hell out of it. Also, I emailed Tern, and never received a response. That, more than anything, is a turnoff for me. Overall, i like it, but wish it were faster, and i wish it were lighter. Would i buy it again...not so sure.

ternbicycles
2 months ago

No problem!

Greg Short
2 months ago

ternbicycles USA, I assume. Bought my bike in California. The contact us form is jn english, at the bottom of the page on your website. Will email the above address. Thanks.

ternbicycles
2 months ago

In which country? That either connects to the local distributor, or to Tern global. If you use the above email, it will connect you with our global support team, who are reliably responsive!

Greg Short
2 months ago

I used the 'Contact Us' form on your website.

ternbicycles
2 months ago

Hey Greg! Who did you email? Our customer support is pretty responsive! Write to use at ask.us@ternbicycles.com

Zsolt Velykovits
2 months ago

It looks like a perfect electric bike, although I miss two things, they should have used carbon belt drive (if you have $2900, probably you will go for the belt drive version for $3000) and hide the battery somehow in the frame.
When you have young children around having the belt drive instead of a greasy chain, that's a much more relaxing thing knowing that, they won't get themselves dirty when you get home with the bike.

Break Out of the Invisible Prison
3 months ago

This bike is ridiculously impressive.

TOM K
3 months ago

Great job demonstrating.. Just bought have not received yet, I have the Tern node d8, exceptionally nice smooth bike, quality is there, in this world nothing is free!

Fernando De León
3 months ago

Amazing review - fantastic attention to detail. Look forward to making my investment in Q3 this year, as I'm moving offices in NYC 🗽. Thanks Josh Hon for making this come to life.

Joshua Hon
2 months ago

Cheers!

Karen Napilneg
3 months ago

i'm getting one of this.... yeahh

wassim wass911
3 months ago

please can you tell me the name of the sunglasses 🙏

Saddlesoap
4 months ago

Will you do a review of the R&M Tinker?

Mark Troup
4 months ago

Total bike porn. My everyday bike is a 29+ but I would love to add this thing to the stable!

garico 74
5 months ago

£3000 in the UK. are you having a laugh?

Christiana Peeters
6 months ago

Wel mooi . Waar zij ze te koop .en de prijs .?

nicholas broughton
7 months ago

Hey Court do you think it would be worth springing for this over the tern bionx model that came out last year?

Propel Electric Bikes
7 months ago

I hope you don't mind me butting in, but I have experience with both of these bikes and I can say wholeheartedly that it's worth it. This bike not only has a better motor system, all of the components are better as well. On top of that it comes with some pretty awesome lights and an adjustable stem. I hope this helps.

marcosdjcm
7 months ago

Impressive

Charles Carlson
8 months ago

Hey Steve, Looking good. The perfect folding e-bike. Well done!

Steve Mullholand
8 months ago

This could be my new bike!

Propel Electric Bikes
7 months ago

Good choice!

Rocking in a free world
8 months ago

I had an electric bike once. It was shit.. Now a folding bike that's Bosch powered. I'm sold!!

Propel Electric Bikes
7 months ago

This is the folding bike we have been waiting for. We get requests all the time for folders, but ever since we heard about this release we have been eagerly awaiting it's release. Two leading companies in their niche came together to make a truly awesome product!

EPSTomcat11
8 months ago

Hm.. That's a bummer. There's nothing like the feeling of coasting on a bike...