VoltBike Enduro Review

Voltbike Enduro Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Enduro
Voltbike Enduro Bafang Max Drive Mid Motor 350 Watts
Voltbike Enduro Sanyo Battery Pack 48 Volt 10 4
Voltbike Enduro Selle Royal Ergonomic Grips Bell Shifters
Voltbike Enduro Bafang Hmi Dpc10 Display Panel
Voltbike Enduro Sr Suntour Xct Coil Spring Suspension
Voltbike Enduro Selle Royal Freccia Saddle
Voltbike Enduro Adjustable Length Kickstand
Voltbike Enduro Exa Form Air Suspension Rear Swing Arm
Voltbike Enduro 8 Speed Shimano Acera Drivetrain
Voltbike Enduro Voltbike Enduro Vs Specialized Stumpjumper
Voltbike Enduro Shipping Bubble Wrap
Voltbike Enduro Styrofoam Box Great Packing
Voltbike Enduro 2 Amp 1 Lb Charger
Voltbike Enduro Electric Bike Review
Voltbike Enduro
Voltbike Enduro Bafang Max Drive Mid Motor 350 Watts
Voltbike Enduro Sanyo Battery Pack 48 Volt 10 4
Voltbike Enduro Selle Royal Ergonomic Grips Bell Shifters
Voltbike Enduro Bafang Hmi Dpc10 Display Panel
Voltbike Enduro Sr Suntour Xct Coil Spring Suspension
Voltbike Enduro Selle Royal Freccia Saddle
Voltbike Enduro Adjustable Length Kickstand
Voltbike Enduro Exa Form Air Suspension Rear Swing Arm
Voltbike Enduro 8 Speed Shimano Acera Drivetrain
Voltbike Enduro Voltbike Enduro Vs Specialized Stumpjumper
Voltbike Enduro Shipping Bubble Wrap
Voltbike Enduro Styrofoam Box Great Packing
Voltbike Enduro 2 Amp 1 Lb Charger


  • An affordable full suspension trail bike with quiet, but powerful, mid-drive motor and integrated downtube battery pack, full-sized USB charging port on battery, adjustable top speed
  • Integrated LED headlight, backlit LCD display panel, and standard reflectors for urban riding, high-pressure tires with low-profile knobs work well on pavement or packed Earth
  • Well-placed kickstand, quick release wheels offer easy transport and serviceability, excellent weight distribution, reasonable 55.7 lb curb weight, affordable shipping with one year warranty
  • Only available in one frame size and color scheme, the seat post is too short, the stem is a bit long, 160 mm mechanical disc brakes are good enough for light light trails but not fully mountain worthy in my opinion

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers







$1,799 ($70 Flat Rate Shipping)

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Comprehensive


United States, Canada

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

55.7 lbs (25.26 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.6 lbs (3.9 kg)

Frame Material:


Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

19" Seat Tube, 23.5" Reach, 29" Stand Over Height, 74" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Yellow Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCT Coil Spring Suspension, 100 mm Travel, Lockout and Preload Adjust, 100/9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

EXA Form Air Suspension, 135/9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Acera, CS-HG31-8 Cassette, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

Shiman Triggers on Right


8Fun AC08-2 Alloy Crank Arms, 170 mm Length, 38T Chainring with Alloy Bash Guard


Wellgo M248DU Alloy Cage Style Platform


1-1/8" Sealed Cartridge


Promax Alloy, 90 mm Length, ~8° Rise


Promax Alloy, Low-Rise, 27.5" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela CS Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, 5 Star Levers with Motor Inhibitors and Rubberized Edge


Selle Royal XH-G03, Ergonomic Rubber


Selle Royal Freccia

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

200 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.4 mm


Samson Double Walled, 6061 T6 Alloy, 36 Hole


13 Gauge, Stainless Steel, Silver with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Small Block Eight, 27.5" x 2.1" (52-584) (650x52B)

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

30TPI Casing, Wire Bead, 40 to 65 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Integrated Spanninga Micro LED Headlight with Reflector, Flick Bell, Adjustable Length Kickstand, Free DOT Approved Helmet


Locking Removable Battery Pack with LED Charge Indicator, 5 Volt Full Sized USB Charging Port on Right Side of Battery, 1.1 lb 2 Amp Charger, KMC Rust Resistant Z Chain, Motor and Display Rated IP65 Against Water and Dust Ingress

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang, Max Drive

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Sanyo UR18650ZY

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

499.2 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Bafang HMI DPC10, Backlit LCD, Fixed, Grayscale


Battery Level (10 Bars), Speed, Trip Distance, Odometer, Max Speed, Avg. Speed, Assist Level (0-5)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (+, -, Lights, Power, i), Double Press i for Settings Menu (Trip Clearance, Units, Backlight Sensor, Backlight Brightness, Screen Auto Off Time, Maintenance Reminder, Password 0512, Wheel Diameter, Speed Limit)

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Pedal Torque, Cadence and Wheel Speed)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

VoltBike is an online-only electric bike company based out of Burnaby Canada. They recently expanded to a shipping depot in Northern Washington to serve both markets more effectively, and to me, that’s a sign that the business is going well. I’ve reviewed a handful of their products over the years and the speed and quality of shipping have always impressed me. Not just because the bikes arrived in Texas, Colorado, and even Cabo San Lucas Mexico unscathed… but because they only charge a flat rate $70 for the US and $50 for Canada. Sometimes, it can feel like you’re getting a sweet deal on a product based on the sticker price and then you get hit with a bunch of additional fees during checkout… that’s not the case here. The Enduro expands on VoltBike’s off-road line of models which includes a fat tire ebike, a folding fat tire model, and a hardtail trail bike. It’s their first e-bike with full suspension and a mid-drive motor. This is a great combination because suspended wheels can move quicker and respond more effectively to bumpy terrain if they weigh less. They call this “unsprung weight” and it’s an important factor in the design of race cars. While the Enduro is more of a sporty looking product than a premium precision-build, it performed quite well during my off-road mountain test. I climbed, descended quickly over large rocks, hopped the bike off a few bumps, and did an on-road speed test. It’s only available in one frame size with matte-black paint for now, but the black motor, battery, and wires blend in nicely. For me, as a 5’9″ tall guy, the stem was a bit long and the seat post was too short. I adjusted the brake lever position on both sides, raised the seat post to its maximum recommended height, and slid the saddle forward to shorten reach before going out. Compared to many other order-by-mail electric bicycles, this one was easy to setup. The wheels are both attached and only the handlebar needs to be added using four bolts. VoltBike sends a small tool pouch but I only used two of the five Allen key hex wrenches, and one began to strip before everything was done. I switched to my higher-quality tools and used a bit of grease and chain lube to finish the job. The only thing you absolutely need to get this bike going is a Schrader compatible bicycle pump. It ships with lower-end Kenda Small Block Eight tires rated for 40 to 65 PSI, which is higher than most of the mountain tires I see. Higher pressure will reduce drag while sacrificing traction and smoothness. I filled them to 40 PSI because I’m not especially heavy at ~135 lbs and wanted the best traction possible for the mountain trail test. Other areas that seem a little less mountain oriented include the integrated headlight, kickstand, and ergonomic grips. I appreciate each of these features… they chose the parts well, but I think they’re most useful in an urban setting. Given the lack of bottle cage bosses, rear rack attachment, and even fender mounts, this is a bike that feels great riding around town but lacks utility. I’m trying to show the trade-offs you get with this product but honestly, it would be my first choice in the VoltBike lineup right now because I value comfort over utility, don’t mind wearing a small backpack to carry gear to work, and appreciate the efficiency and durability of the Bafang Max Drive motor vs. a hub motor.

Driving the bike is a 350 watt nominally rated mid-drive with peak torque output of 80 Newton-meters. The numbers put it in the same performance range as Bosch, Brose, Yamaha and Impulse which cost much more. It’s fairly compact, but not as good looking as the new Bosch tilted designs, and it’s one of the quietest offerings around. The areas it doesn’t stand out so much are zippiness and RPM output. Basically, you need to switch gears more actively while pedaling to accelerate quickly and ultimately reach higher top speeds. In these ways, it reminds me of the base level Yamaha mid-drive. For the price, it’s a big jump up from geared hub motors (used on all of the other VoltBikes at the time of this review) and it got me up 12% grades on a rocky dirt trail in Colorado without any issues. Of course, my speed hovered around 8 mph during these stretches… but that’s because I remained seated and focused on balance and handling vs. speed. Interestingly, the Volt Bike Enduro arrived with a maximum speed setting of 25 km/h which is roughly 15.5 mph. This is below the legal limit in the United States and Canada so I unlocked the display panel by pressing the i button twice quickly then used the password 0, 5, 1, 2 to raise the limit to 32 km/h. This made it a Class 1 trail-legal electric bike… but later on, I raised it further to 60 km/h (which it doesn’t actually hit) to get an effective speed of ~28 mph. Basically, this can be a Class 1 or Class 3 speed pedelec which makes it a contender for urban commuting if you ride on street bike lanes.

In order to climb with a 55.7 lb ebike like this, go fast, and go far, you need a good sized battery pack. The Enduro comes with a 48 volt 10.4 amp hour battery that uses Sanyo lithium-ion cells. Apparently, Panasonic purchased Sanyo in recent years and VoltBike stresses this in their marketing collateral. Panasonic is known as the top-level battery producer in the ebike space and commands a premium. I can’t say much about longevity because I only tested the bike for a few days… but Lithium-ion cells tend to hold up well over time and VoltBike offers a comprehensive one year warranty. For the price of the bike, this battery pack seems like a great deal and I love that they mounted it tighter than the older Yukon models which seemed to rattle a bit. The pack can be charged on or off the bike for convenience, I tend to remove the pack for safe storage in a cool dry location vs. leaving it on the bike at all times and it’s easy to lift because it has a little flip-out handle on the side. Plugging the pack in is easy, it uses the same port whether it’s on or off the frame and the charger is compact and very lightweight at just 1.1 lbs. My only complaint here is that the rubber cover that protects the female plug on the left side of the battery can be difficult to push in. For this reason, I regularly see people riding with the rubber cover left dangling off and this could lead to dust and water damage over time. On the opposite side, the top right corner of the pack, there’s a second rubber cover protecting a standard sized 5 Volt 2 Amp USB port. You could use this to charge a phone, music player, or additional lights but do be careful when pedaling… consider a right-angle adapter to reduce exposure to kicks and snags. Final thoughts on the battery after riding down the mountain at higher speed is that it still wobbles a bit (though the chain bounces a whole lot… so good thing it has a thick slap guard), the weight is positioned well and it wasn’t as flashy as some other packs that aren’t so integrated.

The display panel used to gauge performance and change electric assist handling is from Bafang and I believe it’s the DPC10 or some variation. I found a great resource for Bafang / 8Fun displays here and learned how to adjust settings and clear the trip meter. I like that the display feels solidly mounted but still swivels to reduce glare. It comes with one of the larger button pads with a key for lights and information as well as power, plus and minus. Compared to the Bosch button pad, this one isn’t as physically intuitive and might require a glance down. On two occasions, I pressed the information key and had it stick down because it sort of angled sideways. While it is easy to reach, fairly compact, and appears to be water resistant, it just feels a little bit cheaper and the wire running back to the display seemed short. It kept bumping into the bell and muting it. When it arrived, this cable was actually zip tied to the left brake lever motor inhibitor which allowed the bell to work perfectly, but as I adjusted the brake levers it became too tight. I’d rather have a comfortable hand position than a functional bell but maybe future versions will ship with a slightly longer cable and this won’t be an issue? One other cable seemed too short and that was a pretty important one… the shifter cable leading back to the eight-speed Shimano Acera derailleur. When I shifted to the lowest gear (the largest sprocket) the cable seemed very tight. I didn’t have a problem, but this is another area to be careful with and possibly adjust if there’s extra length up front. VoltBike has been very proactive and responsive based on my past reviews and while I believe all of their bikes are produced overseas, they seem to be doing well enough to make incremental improvements and provide feedback that isn’t just ignored by the factory. The truth is, you’re getting a lot of value here for $1,800 and a little bit of attention during assembly can go a long way. I highly recommend having a shop give it a full tuneup for ~$80 if you can. This will make it ride better and last longer because the wheels will be trued, the derailleur will shift properly and they may add grease to the pedals as I did, to reduce creaking.

I got a little off track there talking about assembly and maintenance so let’s jump back into the display. This thing has a light sensor, adjustable backlighting, a 10-bar battery infographic for precise feedback on range (though no range estimation feature). You can change the units from kilometers to miles by doing the double tap i-i trick mentioned earlier and this works without the password. I’m not sure if VoltBike intended this but the handlebar is a low-rise with enough bend to help protect the display in the event of a crash. And while it’s not removable, you can park the bike with your helmet covering the display as a way to decrease attention, reduce sun exposure, and protect from water without causing condensation. This ebike, as with most, should be highly water resistant… but don’t submerge it. Perhaps the biggest difference between the Enduro and other VoltBike models is the lack of a throttle. You have to pedal in order to get the motor going but it uses a combination cadence-torque sensor which is very responsive and fluid. You will definitely get increased range from a system like this and it’s permissible on more trails than throttle-operated products. I think instant-power can be harmful to some mid-drive systems and really stress the chain, sprockets, and derailleur if used improperly. This motor controller does not have a shift sensor and thus, you can grind the gears and cause mashing to occur if you shift hard. I tend to ease off when pedaling for a moment and then shift. When climbing, this means that I build up some speed and momentum before shifting and try to plan ahead. Worst case, it’s better to stop and push the bike than wreck the drivetrain. And by wreck, I mean break the chain or bend the teeth on the cassette sprockets. You get a lower-end eight-speed Shimano Acera with the Enduro that probably doesn’t belong on a true mountain bike. I found that the range was large enough to climb and top 20 mph comfortably but it’s just not as tight or durable as the Deore, SLX, and Deore XT Shadow Plus that I see on higher-end products. The chainring has a nice bash guard/guide metal plate that should reduce snags, impacts and chain drops. Some ebikes have a true guide with two metal plates but I didn’t experience a chain drop while riding so perhaps this is good enough.

I had a blast assembling, testing, and optimizing the VoltBike Enduro electric bike. It’s a product I wish had existed when I purchased my first ebike many years ago. Instead, I ended up with the Evelo Aries, a cool looking full suspension product that’s exciting on paper and in photos but actually has a flexy frame, very limited motor operation, a stiff non-adjustable rear suspension, and difficult battery position. It produced a lot of noise and weighed ten pounds more than the Enduro and the purchase felt like a total waste. I felt terrible at the time but appreciated how responsive and supportive the company was. That bike is a big part of why I created this website. Not everyone can afford or wants a high-end electric bicycle… but there are many trade-offs to consider at the mid and lower levels. While the VoltBike Endure may not be a perfect fit for trails or the city, it looks cool, improves comfort over hardtail models, performs quite well and blends in. Note that you may need a special pump to adjust the rear air suspension properly and that it doesn’t have markings to help you adjust it by weight… but I pumped it up to ~140 PSI and saw it perform adequately on the trail. Big thanks to VoltBike for partnering with me on this post. I did receive a service fee for the processing and editing work performed (as I do with many reviews these days) but did not get a free bike or receive a larger sum than I do from other brands. I made a longer video because I was truly interested in seeing how the bike would perform and perhaps because I wanted to help my former self. The guy who was commuting to work by bike in Austin, Texas and just wanted something a little more fun than a city style ebike :)


  • The price is pretty incredible… despite some lower end components like the eight-speed Acera drivetrain (two steps up from the base Tourney) and mechanical 160 mm disc brakes vs.
    hydraulic, it handled the trail
  • Even though most electric mountain bikes don’t have integrated lights, I appreciate that this one does because I’d probably use it for a mix of urban and trail riding, the light is compact and didn’t rattle on the trail, it also shines from the sides a bit to increase your profile
  • Stiff solid frame with good weight distribution, the mid-drive motor and downtube integrated battery pack are positioned very well
  • Removable battery shaves 7 lbs off the weight of the bike, both wheels offer quick release for easy maintenance or compact transport and storage
  • The display is large, easy to read, swivels to reduce glare, and offers a lot of adjustment options like backlight brightness, auto off, and wheel size
  • This is one of the few electric bikes that allows you to adjust the top speed, mine arrived set to 25 km/h which is ~15.5 mph, if you press the i button two times quickly, it enters the menu where you can cycle through to password (use 0, 5, 1, 2) and then change the max speed to 32 km/h for 20 mph or up to 60 km/h for close to 28 mph top assisted speed (of course, you can also go slower than 25 km/h if you’d like)
  • Shipping was very inexpensive at $70 and the bike arrived in great shape, they put styrofoam on both sides of the box as well as the front and back, they also bubble wrap the frame and sensitive hardware like the light, display, and battery
  • For someone who wants a bit of comfort but only plans to ride in the city, the ergonomic grips, larger knobby tires, and basic suspension feels pretty great, it would perform better in snow and going over bumpy roads than a hardtail or city bike
  • The battery locks securely to the frame and felt tighter than some of the older VoltBike models (I’m told they have all been tightened so they won’t rattle), you can click the battery onto the frame without the key
  • It’s nice to have access to USB power to charge your phone, GPS, music player, or additional lights, consider grabbing a right angle USB adapter to keep your plugs out of the way


  • The suspension isn’t especially smooth or long travel, you’ll probably need a special shock pump to adjust the pressure on the rear air suspension, I used this Izende mini-pump that works for Schrader and Presta valves, is light, small, and has a pressure gauge built in
  • Disc brakes are perfect for trail and mountain riding but 160 mm is kind of small and mechanical requires more hand strength than hydraulic, they also don’t have adjustable reach levers
  • The stem seems a little long, I felt like I was very stretched out horizontally and a bit squished vertically because of the short 200 mm seat post, consider replacing it with a 30.4 mm diameter 350 mm length post like this, you can always use a hack saw to shorten it if needed but make sure to have enough post in the tube to provide strength
  • There was nowhere to mount a rear rack or bottle cage bosses but that’s not abnormal for low and mid-level full suspension ebikes due to battery placement, you may be able to add fenders… if you need a rack, consider a beam rack like this or the Thule Pack ‘n Pedal
  • The tools they give you are pretty weak, I ended up using my own allen key set and nearly stripped one of the brake lever bolts trying to tighten it with the incorrect size (they didn’t include the exact size 3/16 for this part), on a sidenote, consider using some Polylube 1000 grease for mounting the pedals (just a little stripe on the threads)
  • Very minor gripe, but the display panel connection uses a press fit vs. threaded connector with a rubber washer, these aren’t as reliable or water resistant but apparently the battery, motor and display are all IP65 rated against dust and water which is cool
  • The rear air suspension doesn’t have any labeling for recommended PSI and there aren’t marks on the stanchion to sag it properly… it’s pretty basic


More VoltBike Reviews

VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An exceptionally affordable, feature rich electric bike, built around an approachable frame that's easier to mount and stand over, offers pedal assist and throttle override operation. The battery pack is protected by the top tube, positioned low and center along the…...

VoltBike Mariner Review

  • MSRP: $1,249
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A miniaturized fat tire electric bike that's sand and snow capable, you get fenders, a rack and integrated lights for utility and safety no matter the terrain. Mid-mount battery design keeps weight low and centered, it's removable for reduced weight (when folding…...

VoltBike Yukon 750 Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable but surprisingly powerful and quiet electric fat bike, sells online only and ships from Canada with a flat rate $70 fee, comes with a comprehensive 1 year warranty. Upgraded Kenda Juggernaut tires that feel good on pavement, dirt, sand and snow, removable battery…...

VoltBike Urban Review

  • MSRP: $1,049
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An ultra-affordable folding electric bike sold online from Canada, offers a full range of accessories including lights, fenders and a rear carry rack. Available in black or white but only one size, you get six gears with a…...

VoltBike Yukon Review

  • MSRP: $1,159
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value priced electric fat bike with a six speed drivetrain, integrated headlight and optional fender + rack kit. Available in two flavors (350 watt motor or more powerful 500 watt motor), sold online…...

2015 VoltBike Elegant Review

  • MSRP: $1,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A very affordable city style electric bike with lots of useful accessories including integrated lights, fenders and rack. Only available in one frame size ~19" but the adjustable stem and seat hight help…...

VoltBike Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A value oriented electric bike available in one size (19"), one frame style (step-thru) and one color (black). Comes standard with lots of useful accessories including full length plastic fenders, a rear carry…...

11 months ago


I know they are completely different beasts, but would you say the Voltbike Yukon had better build quality than the Voltbike Enduro? Your review of that one was a bit more favorable. I’d like to get one of them this year as it’s within my price range.


10 months ago

Hi Geffin, I’d say they are very similar. I just didn’t go as in depth with the Yukon… had less time and wasn’t as knowledgeable about mountain bike components until recently. Both models offer good value and should hold up if you take care, perhaps the biggest letdown on the Enduro for me was the seat post length and that’s a ~$10 fix :)

10 months ago

Is this only a pedalac model or does it allow the ability to just use throttle only and no pedalling ?

10 months ago

Hi Scott, I asked the founder of VoltBike this same question and he explained that the mid-motor they chose isn’t setup for throttles and they couldn’t add it. That may be a bummer for some people but you could still get their hub motor hardtail Yukon 750 which does have a throttle if you want :)

Fredrick Edelkamp
9 months ago

Court, Love the HUD (Heads Up Display) on the video review! First time I’ve seen it on your videos (and I watched a lot of them) how did you do it?

9 months ago

Hi Frederick! I use a Garmin Edge 1000 device and then export the data file to overlay on video using the Garmin VIRB Edit software… then I take that overlayed footage and import it into iMovie before doing the rest of my normal video editing :D

Eric Larson
8 months ago

Hi Court,

Thanks for the fantastic reviews and video’s, what a wealth of information! I am trying to decide between the RAD City E-Bike and the Volt Enduro. I will be using the bike to ride trails and street’s in Seattle. Both companies are a stones throw away so I am torn down the middle on what to go with. What are the pro’s and Con’s to having a throttle? Thanks, -E

8 months ago

Hi Eric! I’d go with the Enduro myself because I love suspension and have a sensitive back and neck… I don’t miss the throttle that much because I like pedaling and have found that the Bafang Max Drive is very fluid and responsive. It’s one of my favorite ebike systems right now actually. Rad Power Bikes is awesome and the City model is great but unless you need the rack for carrying cargo, the Enduro is just more fun and comfortable :) but in Seattle you might get more wet without fenders :P

B Henry
4 months ago


In the end, did you find the brakes adequate? or do you recommend changing them?


4 months ago

Hi Henry! I was alright with the brakes for urban and light trail riding but much prefer hydraulic… and the expense of converting would make me consider upgrading to a better e-mountain bike all together. I like the Enduro, but they really had to make some trade-offs to get it to such a low price.

Christopher Cramer
3 months ago

The two bikes I have narrowed down to are the Enduro and the surface 604 Rook. At this time I can get either for the same price and I’m comparing the two in terms of performance in the city, full suspension bikes are usually heavier than hard tails but according to the specs both these bikes are almost the same total weight. Adding the back suspension does that really decreases the efficiency in acceleration even if you lock it? I have done lots of research on each on the pros and cons and each are almost equally rated. From what you have written about how full suspension can pay off in urban riding, as well as the adjustable top speed, and the price it is at right now I keep holding on to the Enduro, but the facts about efficiency between hard tails and fs bikes mainly in the city over gravel, snow, pavement, and light trails, makes me hesitant to go for the Enduro over the Rook.

2 months ago

Hi Christopher! Great thoughts here, I’ll try to help. I believe that the reason these two ebikes weigh about the same is that yes, the rear swing arm and suspension element add weight to the Enduro, but the Surface 604 Rook has fenders, a rear rack, and lights. The Enduro uses a very basic rear suspension that does not provide much adjustability or lockout and there will be a minor loss of efficiency through bobbing because of this, and the knobby tires. I do strive for comfort when riding electric bikes because I tend to go further and at higher average speeds… but I love having a rack, fenders, and lights too. These accessories can be difficult to add onto many mountain bikes (especially full suspension) and that can mean you have to wear a backpack. For me, the decision between these two bikes would come down to how you plan to use them. If you have cargo and want to stay dry and visible at night, maybe the Rook is best, you can add a cheap seat post suspension like this to smooth out the ride and still maintain efficiency. Otherwise, maybe the Enduro is a better choice if you plan to go off-road a bit more and like the mountain style with grippier tires.

2 months ago

I did some research on short travel xc/trail bikes, and I read that full suspension bikes may still be just as efficient as a hard tail when riding xc. Since the enduro only has 80 mm of travel on the rear suspension, I am thinking it would perform well as a xc bike rather than an enduro. I don’t plan on riding any highly technical trails yet, but I also don’t see myself riding the bike only as a means of transportation. I am excited to begin mountain biking as a beginner, exploring some creative routes/trails around the city rather than just staying on the road. The rook is classified more as a cruiser, how well would it really handle some off road riding compared to the enduro handling on road riding?

2 months ago

Hi Christopher! I love your approach, this ebike would be great for starting out and is well suited to light trail and cross country… it’s not a true enduro or all mountain model AT ALL even though that’s what they chose as the name. The rear suspension is extremely cheap and limited. It’s barely worth the added weight and frame complexity in terms of what is offered. Perhaps it could be replaced, but for that sort of money and effort I’d just upgrade to a cheap Haibike or used full suspension model with Bosch, Yamaha, Shimano, Brose or Bafang. Check out Lectric Cycles (they do conversions) for some affordable full suspension models with much tougher hardware. I personally love the Rook and Colt from Surface 604 because they have racks, fenders, lights etc. and they would be fine on hard packed trails if you are just careful… maybe add a seat post suspension for more comfort. You could always swap knobbier tires onto one of those bikes too if you wanted better traction, the fenders would probably always rattle a bit but you could take them off too. I hope this helps as you narrow down :)

2 months ago

Thanks for the advice, I decided to go with a hard tail bike. I upgraded to the haibike sduro hardnine 4, because I found it on sale for the same total price as I would get the enduro. Could I add fenders and a rack to the hardnine 4 if I threaded some holes in the back?

2 months ago

Great choice Christopher! That’s a solid ebike for the money in my opinion… Mikey reviewed it a while back and I was impressed with the performance and aesthetics. Unfortunately, it doesn’t come with rack bosses because Haibike uses a lower seat stay design and the 29″ tires would require extra-long rack supports and connectors at the front. I would definitely urge you to NOT try to create any holes in the frame because that could damage the structural integrity and cause a failure where you could crash and get injured. Instead, try using a clamp-on beam rack such as this one from Topeak, and look for the A-Type which clamps and then raises up to provide clearance for tall wheels (so you can keep your seat low but still have a higher rack). It’s not going to be as sturdy, able to support as much weight, or as fixed in position (many times beam racks can get bumped side to side) but if you’re riding on light trails or around town, it could be just fine for taking gear off of a backpack and putting it onto the bike. My Uncle used this exact sort of setup on his full suspension Haibike which we talk about in this video, but we didn’t have the rack on the bike. I hope this helps you out! Have fun out there and ride safe :D


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

1 day ago

Have you already looked at their http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-elegant.html model as a paved road commuter? Unfortunately, it only comes in a step-thru version.

1 day ago

Hello wakjagner and Banzai,
Thank you both for your input, it is much appreciated. I have in fact looked at the possibility of getting a Radmini, since it would easily fit into the back of my Tucson. However, since I already have a fat tire bike which I like for the situations that I use it in, which are riding on the gravel shoulders of the highways in my area and on gravel trails; I much prefer the ride (and lack of noise ) that a bike with skinnier, road type tires provides. So, that has left me with what I see as two possible choices: a folding bike with 20 inch wheels like the Voltbike Urban or a bike like the Radcity. I am thinking that with the front wheel removed and the seat removed as well, the Radcity or the Radcity stepthru might fit into the Tucson. The reason I say that is because I am able to get my Yukon into the back of the Tucson with the front wheel removed, but in truth, it is a heavy beast and it was a struggle, almost a two person job. I would think that my best option would be to spring for a 20 inch folder, but I have never ridden one and am uncertain about how well suited it would be for longer rides in terms of comfort and handling (twitchy?).

Again, thanks to you both for your very helpful input. I will continue to gather information and ideas from people to aid me in my (seemingly never-ending) search.

Best regards.

1 day ago

I'm at around 270 and have experienced zero concern with flexion in the Rad City Stepthru. I haven't done any real offroading with it, just street and a few trails, but it's overbuilt quit extensively in that regard.
I'd be cautious regarding the take down- this bike is surprisingly large. If you could fit your Yukon in your Tucson by taking off the front wheel, you'd probably be able to fit the Step Thru by doing so, but I was a bit surprised by the overall height and girth of the bike- perhaps I was too used to my touring bike but the Step Thru seems much taller at the handlebars and seat.

Banzai- Glad to hear regarding the sand and the trails, I haven't gotten very adventurous with mine yet and that's good to know.
You must be in significantly better shape than me, as pushing this lumbering bike around with out PAS was unappealing to me :D

1 day ago

Hello guys;
I see that voltbike updated their Yukon 750 limited model but I am looking at other models as Fattire would be too big for daily pavement road ride, so is there any news for model update for other Voltbike models expected soon?
I really like the Enduro model but would be much better anticipation if there was new update with recent upgrades being applied to this ebike.

2 days ago

Hello guys;
So, I've been following this forum for some time and I see most of the budget brands like Radrover, Voltbike, Teo are all offering Fat bikes, but my commute is mostly pavement road, are these fat bikes good on pavement road? What about Fat tires are they good on road or very inefficient?

And, is there any alternative for budget friendly and latest upgraded components type ebike, as I'm looking for 750w 19AH rating and a good parts and not too heavy throttle based ebike for daily commute.
What are good options for Canadian at around $2500 budget, thanks in advance.

2 days ago

Hello guys, it seems voltbike and Radrover have introduced their new models for 2018, but I am waiting for any news about update to Teo Fat ebike; as Others are catching up to Teo in terms of upgrades, it would be really sweet if I can find out any new update news.

Thanks in advance and look forward to any update that you guys can offer; thanks.

2 days ago

Hello Banzai,

Thanks for the helpful review of the RPB Stepthru. I also come from a motorcycling background, but haven't ridden for several years. I'm 68 years old, over weight and out of shape at 265 pounds. I have a Voltbike Yukon 750 Limited with a 500 watt geared hub motor and it is great at hill climbing, but I need a bike that I can fit into my 2016 Hyundai Tucson. I think that Radcity or a Radcity Stepthru with the front wheel removed should fit. Now, I like the looks of both bikes, but I would prefer to get the high step, because I think that there would be less frame flexing; however, I just wonder how accurate the stand over height of the high step frame is on the Radcity website. My inseam is 29 inches and I wonder if I would be able to stand over the frame without touching it. With my Yukon, the top tube is right in my crotch and I shudder to think what would happen if I had to stop hard and come off the seat onto the top tube (OUCH!!!) I like the idea of a stepthru because of what I just mentioned, but worry about it flexing under hard pedaling because of my weight. Also, I wonder if the motor on either version of the bike with the gearless direct drive motor would have enough power to carry me (while pedaling) up hills (on road).

The temperature up here in Port Perry, Ontario (NE of Toronto) is still a bit too cold for riding, but hopefully, I will be able to get out on the Yukon in another week or so.

So, if anyone who has the direct drive motor on their bike could comment, I would appreciate it.


4 days ago

Either of those would be a good choice though both have a 20mph speed limit. The Juiced Cross Current S is certainly quick, also https://crazylennysebikes.com/collections/demo/products/eg-milan-500-ex-demo-madison are selling an https://electricbikereview.com/eg/milan-500-ex/ for a grand and a http://www.bagibike.com/electric-bicycles/bagibike-b29-white for https://crazylennysebikes.com/collections/demo/products/bagi-bike-b29-demo-winter-garden-florida plus maybe $300 shipping and either will get up to 28mph pedalling.

4 days ago

Look at the http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-elegant/voltbike-elegant.html currently listed at $1349. 500W geared rear hub motor, rear rack. front light, fenders, battery integrated into the tube and step-thru design. They have distribution centers in Canada and US. The review from EBR is on their webpage too. Court starts out sounding unimpressed with the bike until he rides it. I have no idea how it would do on your climb.

bob armani
4 days ago

Xeon- I agree with Chris regarding the Juiced bikes in either a step thru or a size small frame. The Voltbike looks like it fits also. Not sure where you are located, but there are some shops that stock Juiced for a test ride to see how the geometry on the bike fits your stand over and reach to the handlebars.

I also recommend Easy Motion -The Easy Go bikes listed on their website in the Prior Models category. I particularly like the 'Easy Go Street' which would be a candidate in your price range. We own one and is a great bike for the $$ and carries a great warranty if needed. https://emotionbikesusa.com/easygo-street/

bob armani
4 days ago

Xeon- I agree with Chris regarding the Juiced bikes in either a step thru or a size small frame. Not sure where you are located, but there are some shops that stock them for a test ride to see how the geometry on the bike fits your stand over and reach to the handlebars.

I also recommend Easy Motion -The Easy Go bikes listed on their website in the Prior Models category. I particularly think the Easy Go Street would be a candidate in your price range being we own one and it is a great bike for the $$


5 days ago

Looking to purchase an ebike as a car alternative- I live only 3.5 miles from work, and rarely go anywhere else farther than that, so buying a ebike makes more sense to me than a car. I also work extremely early in the morning, so riding the bus isn't an option.

My budget is 1000-1500 MAX$ [monthly financing is a plus!]

I'm not very mechanically inclined, and while enjoy bike riding haven't owned one since I was in middle school, so understanding the various components has me at a loss, but here's some of the things I'd like:

-Throttle!! [my 3 mile ride to work is essentially a giant hill, would take mostly bike path/side walk, also would be good if I get ambushed in the dark, sounds paranoid but seriously you never know]
-Weather [my city is notorious for drastic weather changes, so being waterproof is necessary, be cool if it was good for snow]
-I'm 5'4" and about a 105lb so not something that's massive and ultra heavy
-Fenders and chain guards
-I think 2" tires would be good. The sidewalks are in somewhat disrepair. Should I go for fat tires?
-Reliability! I don't wants chains coming off and whatnot as I probably don't know how to put them back on without youtube assistance, so a brand with great customer service a plus!!!
-Bonus points for something vaguely stylish
- Front light!!!! I will be night riding and absolutely need light, and something powered by the main battery would be awesome!
-bonus points for a small rack to stash my work uniform or something
- I mean, folding would be useful but I'd prefer reliability over that.
-Bonus points for pre-assembled, but I do have a handyman who has built bikes before as backup

Things I don't care about:
-fancy gizmos like usb ports
-cargo [no kids, no heavy grocery shopping, I only buy what i can walk with]
-super fast speeds [I'm a small girl I just want to get to work without dying]

I was looking at the Ness Icon, Radcity/Rover, and the Addmotor Motan bikes a bit.

I thought about springing for the Motan but hardly see any reviews outside of Amazon, and honestly would prefer not to buy from Amazon. Thought about Radcity but is it just hype?
What about this one" http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-elegant-46.html

Really could use some help as I am out of my depth. It's something I've been considering for a very long time and I think I have read enough reviews to be ready to commit to a bike. Any suggestions or recommendations would be wonderful.

4 hours ago

I started out with hardy any gear and added items as "stuff happened" after +4100 miles of riding. My goal is to get from A to B and back to A as fast as possible, as safe as possible, and without having to push the bike home.

What I carry for my ebikes for work commuting and trail riding are:
- flat repair kit with all the tools needed and a spare tube (used the spare tube twice)
- handy wipes, rubber gloves, folded paper towels, zip ties, Stans tire sealant, USB cable, mini wire cutters, mini needle nose pliers
- commuter capacity: with Osprey Radial 34 Daypack and Topeak DXP Truck bag with fold out panniers
- loud neon colored tops for cold, warm, hot, and wet conditions depending on the weather (extra space capacity comes in handy)
- Pearl Izumi skull cap if just a little cool
- light and heavy balaclava depending on temps, sometimes wear both when temps are below freezing
- extra headlight (Niterider 3600 Enduro Pro) and tail light (Light & Motion Vis 180) to be clearly seen in the daylight
- BM Works speed Extender for headlight and iPhone 6S Plus holder (Vibrelli Univ phone mount)
- front and rear helmet light (Niterider 2200 Pro & Light & Motion Vis 180). Only use helmet lights at night
- Brightz LTD LED bicycle light for night time side illumination
- WYND blocker motorcycle riding glasses (clear and Polarized). Got tired of dust, sand, and bugs in my eyes with regular sun glasses.
- OutdoorMaster Bike Gloves (half finger and full finger). Extra padding to help against numb hands for long rides

The extra bright Niterider lights are mostly for trail riding in the woods when I need max illumination. I only need to use the Niterider lights on the lowest setting for work commuting and they can last more than a week before needing recharging at that setting (less recharge cycles). Was only wearing G-Form knee and elbow pads when trail riding; but, now wear them all the time. Had one low speed road rash on my knee and a few close calls at +15 mph work commuting before I purchased the pads and decided to pad up all the time.

Furor Bikes
2 days ago

Hello to all lovers of electric transport!
My name is Bogdan Rudenko.
I am a design engineer from the city of Kiev, Ukraine

I want to talk about my new draft frame for a bike with a BLDC motor.

My job is to make a universal frame.

Already, a lot of motors can be installed on the frame.

The battery compartment has three boot options and large dimensions.

Different types of shock absorber suspension.

And there are other modifications.

The frame will be the basis for enduro, street, or sports motorcycle.

Modification is possible due to replaceable plastic panels. The fixing points are the same for the three types.
Material: steel (st3,st20).
Weight: 13.5 kg.
Now the final test stage of the first sample is in progress.

Three individual frame variants will be produced soon under three different engines.
We are already doing frames. Ready e-cycles for sale will be in early summer.
I would be glad to answer your questions. I can be found on facebook, telegram, instargam, or https://furorbikes.jimdo.com/

Tuffy's Dad
1 week ago

Thanks guys -- a lot to think about!

So far I understand that for my towing needs the following features are desirable: geared hub, larger motor, hydraulic brakes, full suspension. So based on that, I am thinking a mountain bike configuration is best. Hub and motor selections speak for themselves; the full suspension is necessary due to the trailer movement over smaller rises and falls -- can really rock my bike. The fat tires, while more rolling resistance, may provide more durability for those same stressors.

I am looking at the various frames thinking of the weight of the trailer, and maybe the best solution is assembling a custom rig using an especially strong suspended mountain bike frame and fork as a starting point. I would prefer a pre-assembled unit, and have looked at the M2S Kush (mid 350W) and Dual Sport R500+ (rear 500W) fat bikes, Voltbike Enduro (mid 350W). Do these options seem reasonable? Please critique my logic as it seems fit.

Thanks again for the great information! I'll ride a few bikes this week and update.

Of course, please continue to educate me on this decision.

4 weeks ago

Nah, the Enduro is pedal only. As far as I am aware throttles are illegal in mass. I don't typically have an issue in intersections as long as I remembered to shift into a lower gear. Usually I am notably faster to accelerate than the cars around me.

The issues i have with Boston traffic are unsignaled turns and just bad infrastructure for biking. A lot of the roads are scary.

4 weeks ago

I have a Bulls FS Enduro with the Brose motor for a little over a year and have never broke the chain and am just about to replace it as it is just out of spec. I ride this bike A LOT on rugged mountainous trails. Also have a Haibike for over 2 years and have only broke a non-ebike chain.

I always carry pins & a link, along with patches, replacement tube, inflator, etc, and have never had to use them for myself but have bailed out many others on the trail that where unprepared. It's been sort of like a reverse "Murphy's Law".

4 weeks ago

I have a Bulls FS Enduro with the Brose motor for a little over a year and have never broke the chain and am just about to replace it as it is just out of spec. I ride this bike A LOT on rugged mountainous trails. Also have a Haibike for over 2 years and have only broke a non-ebike chain.

I always carry pins & a link, along with patches, replacement tube, inflator, etc, and have never had to use them for myself but have bailed out many others on the trail that where unprepared. It's been sort of like a reverse "Murphy's Law".

1 month ago

Interesting! But it looks like a custom right dropout, very different to the dropouts on derailleur-equipped bikes such as Delite 25.

I personally have not experienced the issues with chain tension that the posters over there mention. I think that only HNF Heisenberg "Fully" has solved the issue of constant Rohloff tension on a rear suspension, but theirs is an enduro bike and nothing like the Delite.

My ideas regarding custom dropouts (which are trivial to manufacture) revolved around other issues, namely the desire to move the wheel back from that 'problem spot' in my video as well as the desire to install a secondary disc brake mount on the left dropout.

2 months ago

East Coast Electric Bikes

From https://evnerds.com/electric-vehicles/electric-bike/powerfull-east-coast-electric-bikes-display/ "East Coast Electric Bikes is a shop dedicated to providing electric enduros services at competitive rates. East Coast crew serves the people of Mt Holly, NJ with commitment and pride. They also have a repair shop for Electric Enduro bikes, and they make custom ebike orders. They pride themselves with unique one-off builds and their level of customization for each built e-bike"


Assaad Daoud
2 months ago

So, if i understand you correctly, you suspect the hub motor was the culprit? and the controller-TFT display worked great with a different less powerful one?

2 months ago

Assaad - its a sorry tale. He has been through 1 x 5000w rear wheel (lasted 1 day and has all the problems of a hall sensor failure), 2 controllers (one burnt out a couple of components inside), and 1 x TFT display that fried itself. We paid for the 5000w wheel, for 1 controller, and the original TFT display. We have had replacements sent out for another TFT display and 1 controller. He now has a 1500 w hub wheel - not from Leili - hooked up to their controller and TFT display and it works fine. The 5000we hub is gathering dust as the rep from Leili has gone very quiet. Having said all of this I have to say once again that my Leili enduro bike was bought as a complete kit and has performed excellently, and its done about 1400klms so far.

Assaad Daoud
2 months ago

HI Aussie, i have so many problems with my kit & i've only ridden it 20 Km!! i would like to know what happened evcentually with your mate's bike DIY? did he give up on Leili's TFT & controller & bought a different controller? or did the replacement Leili sent work out eventually?

Yahmar Amaryahu
2 days ago

Put a strip of velcro in the battery cage..

Yahmar Amaryahu
4 days ago

You gotta get into shape - too much breathing to be cruising..

Mike Boyd
1 week ago

The bike seems almost silent

Mike Boyd
1 week ago

You don’t NEED the dropper seat post to ride enduro

Russell Dawkins
2 weeks ago

Where I live in Canada, this bike is about the same price as the Juiced CrossCurrent. Would you say they are comparable in terms of power and uphill performance? I am interested in trail and street but not rough stuff, so don't need rear suspension, I don't think, especially if a sprung seatpost like the one offered by Juiced would make a reasonable substitute.
Any thoughts? Am I wrong in thinking these bikes are similar in capabilities? To me the main consideration is weighing the value of the rear suspension vs hydraulic brakes.
From what you say, the CrossCurrent might be the more pleasant riding experience around town and on fairly smooth trails.
Finally, how about the hands-off stability of both of these—a characteristic I value. It's handy to be able to ride that way sometimes, like when licking an ice ceam cone!

Thanks for your very informative reviews!

3 weeks ago

how is this cheap stop eating paste

3 weeks ago

Hi Court,
Could you please tell me what bike carrier that is? I'm looking for one that can handle a bigger bike. I have the Voltbike Yukon, and the Thule carrier I have isn't suitable.
It's hard to find a carrier that is rated for the heavier weight of a big fat bike.
Keep up the good work with EBR. I'm looking at getting a new Rad Power bike or another Volt Bike for my wife, and your reviews are very helpful.

David Harkness
3 weeks ago

Nice that you greet hikers and fellow bikers. Are bike bells popular in your area?

John Migliore
4 weeks ago

Court, another excellent video of a great ride! Great effort!

2 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Would this bike be suitable for a 30 kilometer ride to work everyday ?

Marlinspike Mate
3 months ago

Are mid drives necessary for climbing?

3 months ago

not cheap at all 1700 dollars?!

Christopher Moltisanti
3 months ago

This has to be the ugliest bike I've ever seen. And I'm a Voltbike fanboy. Huge Voltbike fail IMO. I'd take the Yukon 750 over this all day, and the Yukon is way cheaper. I've had my Yukon 500(older model) for over 2 years now. Rock solid tank of a bike. Even overclocked to 30mph for the past year I still get close to full battery capacity. I wish there was an excuse or problem to push me toward a 750. But the 500 keeps going strong. That enduro's got to go. Voltbike should come out with a skateboard or push scooter, something I'd want at that crazy low Voltbike price

Christopher Moltisanti
3 months ago

Messed with the wheel diameter setting in the computer's advanced mode. You can google it,pretty easy but it voids the warranty, I really like the juiced, but I really like riding on sand, snow, and rip through trails which the juiced won't do. Just depends on your geographical situation. Also with the juiced the throttle cuts off at 20mph, and you pedal up to 28mph. with the overclocked yukon the throttle alone goes to 30mph,

Marlinspike Mate
3 months ago

how did you overclock your bike? Don't know weather to get the Yukon 750 or Juiced CrossCurrent S. Think the Juiced has a higher top speed even with a 650 motor.

Ian Mangham
3 months ago

Nice pump

De Cnijf Kris
4 months ago

looks good.Selles royal makes the best seats even leather for sportsbikes.worth its price.

Aaron Allevato
4 months ago

11:23 what's the name of the that cheaper full suspension bike?

Kemo Bow
5 months ago

Please do the same ride on your Levo. would be a great comparison.

5 months ago

Do mid-drive motors also have a throttle, and if so, can you drive throttle only?

5 months ago

Most of the mainstream mid-drive motors (like Bosch, Yamaha, Shimano, and Brose) do not, but you can get the Bafang BBS02 kit or some bikes with the Bafang Max Drive that do have throttle. Here's an example with a custom integrated BBS02 https://electricbikereview.com/evelo/delta/ just note that they some people have reported premature wear and motor failure (as well as drivetrain strain) so you'd want to be careful in how you rode

Gregory Alston
6 months ago

About how much does the bike weigh?

Lazaro Monteagudo
6 months ago

Good bike 90 percent I will buy it next spring or early. . I live in a cold weather.

3 months ago

Nice. Looking forward to prepare your bike Lazaro.