Trek XM700+ Review

Trek Xm700 Plus Electric Bike Review
Trek Xm700 Plus
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Performance Speed Centerdrive
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Powerpack 400 Removable Battery
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Intuvia Display Removable Micro Usb
Trek Xm700 Plus Bontrager Satellite Elite Ergo Grips
Trek Xm700 Plus Supernova E3 E Bike V6s Headlight
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Integrated Chain Guard Shimano Slx 10 Speed
Trek Xm700 Plus Bottle Cage Bosses
Trek Xm700 Plus Right Side
Trek Xm700 Plus Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Trek Xm700 Plus Geometry Measurements
Trek Xm700 Plus Electric Bike Review
Trek Xm700 Plus
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Performance Speed Centerdrive
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Powerpack 400 Removable Battery
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Intuvia Display Removable Micro Usb
Trek Xm700 Plus Bontrager Satellite Elite Ergo Grips
Trek Xm700 Plus Supernova E3 E Bike V6s Headlight
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Integrated Chain Guard Shimano Slx 10 Speed
Trek Xm700 Plus Bottle Cage Bosses
Trek Xm700 Plus Right Side
Trek Xm700 Plus Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Trek Xm700 Plus Geometry Measurements

Summary

  • A sleek, light weight, speed pedelec capable of reaching ~28 mph, built around the Bosch Performance Speed drive system and a Shimano SLX 10 speed drivetrain
  • Integrated plastic fenders and chain guard keep you clean and are reinforced to reduce rattle at high speed, extra frame bosses on the seat stays let you add a rear rack for commuting or touring
  • Surprisingly comfortable geometry with three risers, swept back bars, ergonomic grips and a monoshock suspension element with 35 mm travel and preload adjustment, available in three frame sizes (all high-step)
  • Funky spring-action kickstand required in Europe for speed ebikes, the battery took a bit of effort to securely click-in, most expensive model but you get a two year comprehensive warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Trek

Model:

XM700+

Price:

$3,499

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

46.5 lbs (21.09 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.3 lbs (2.4 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy (Continuously Cold Extruded and Butted)

Frame Sizes:

19.69 in (50.01 cm)21.65 in (54.99 cm)23.62 in (59.99 cm)

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Black Dream with Dark Red Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Bontrager SPA Integrated Suspension, 35 mm Travel, Preload Adjustment

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano SLX, Shadow Plus, HG50, 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Triggers on Right

Cranks:

RIDE+ for Bosch

Pedals:

Wellgo M-21 Track-Style Aluminum Platform

Headset:

1-1/8" Threadless, Semi-Integrated, Semi-Cartridge Bearings

Stem:

Bontrager Race Lite, 31.8 mm, 7 Degree

Handlebar:

Bontrager Urban Alloy, 31.8 mm Diameter, Zero Rise

Brake Details:

Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor

Grips:

Bontrager Satellite Elite, Rubber Ergonomic with Lockers

Saddle:

Bontrager H1 Nebula

Seat Post:

Bontrager SSR, 2-Bolt Head, 12 mm Offset

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Vuelta HD Aluminum Rims, Shimano Deore Hubs

Spokes:

Black, Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Pro, 700 x 38c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Green Guard Puncture Protection, Reflective Sidewall Stripes

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Full Length Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Integrated Plastic Chain Guard, Flick Bell on Right Bar, Supernova E3 E-Bike V6S Headlight, AtranVelo Cycle Lab Auto-Stow Kickstand

Other:

Micro USB Charging Port on Display, Hold Reset and Information Button to Enter Settings (Navigate with Information Button, Select with Lighting Button), Manufacturer Part Number (525126, 525127 and 525128), Quick Release on Front and Rear Wheel

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Speed, Gen 2

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 55%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The XM700+ is Trek’s speed pedelec offering, capable of reaching 28 mph top speeds. It’s perfect for commuting, touring or trekking but you’ll need to add a rear rack for the later two unless you’re a super minimalist or okay wearing a backpack. I enjoyed riding this model more than the less expensive Trek Conduit+ (which tops out at ~20 mph) because the geometry is less aggressive. The handlebars are swept back, you get rubber ergonomic grips with lockers and a mono-shock built right into the fork. It’s a neat setup and those comfort features really prove themselves when you get up into the higher speeds and find yourself an hour into a ride. The tires offer more comfort and are slightly wider than what you’d find on a road or city bike but they are still efficient and I love the reflective sidewalls and GreenGuard puncture protection. Both wheels feature quick release for easy maintenance and transport.

Driving the bike is a Bosch Performance Speed motor offering 350 watts of power and 60 Newton meters of torque. It’s my favorite motor on the market right now in the USA. Mounted low and center, it improves handling and balance over a hub motor design and using a smaller sprocket it spins at higher RPM’s for better response times. The Bosch Centerdrive system measures rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque ~1,000 per second and is so fast the brake levers don’t need motor inhibitor switches. My favorite design feature is shift sensing which works better than the Shimano STePs system used on the Lift+ and Conduit+ from Trek. You can hear the motor whining in the video review above but keep in mind I was riding at the highest level of assist and spinning faster, for most steady riding the motor noise is acceptable.

Powering the motor and integrated Supernova headlight is a 396 watt hour Bosch Powerpack with Samsung cells inside. It also matches the black frame nicely and is mounted centrally for improved balance and protection. I love that Trek has managed to fit in bottle cage bosses along the seat tube here despite the battery also being mounted in the main triangle. Why not really? Many traditional bicycles have two bottle cage mounting points and the Bosch battery isn’t much larger than a water bottle. I’m just glad you get the extra storage space for adding accessories or transporting water in a reachable fashion. You could always add a rear rack but that increases weight. One thing I would add is a rechargeable rear light and if you can pick up a Micro USB cable you’ll be able to tap into the Bosch system at the Intuvia display panel (there’s a charging port with a rubber cover on the right edge)

Operating the trek XM700 Plus is intuitive, you don’t have to turn the battery on separately – just press the power button on the LCD display panel and watch it boot up quickly. The display is large, making it easy to see and includes a remote button pad mounted near the left grip. I found that it was easy to understand and operate even without looking down (the i button in the middle switches readouts on the display and the up and down arrows cycle through assist levels). This is a pedal assist only electric bike so the grips aren’t compromised with trigger or twist throttles but you will have to pedal in order to activate the motor. Using Eco or Normal will decrease power and speed, perfect for crowded areas or neighborhood riding. I noticed that there’s a walk mode button on top of the button pad but was unable to make it work… this may be a response to the new ebike classes in the US which seem to limit throttle operation on Class 3 bicycles like this. In any case, there’s a new shift assist readout that recommends when to shift up or down and a higher Eco mode output of 55% vs. just 50% on the Bosch Performance Cruise model. The display is backlit and if you press the light icon at the lower right it will activate the Supernova headlight.

For $500 more than the Conduit+ you get a lot of cool features with the MX700+ model. The Bosch drive system is better in just about every way (though the battery is slightly lower capacity). I’d probably consider adding a Body Float suspension post for longer rides (get the 31.6 mm width) but love the minimalist head shock. One extra color like silver or white would be nice and possibly a step-thru frame eventually but three sizes here is pretty good. The hydraulic disc brakes performed well and I appreciate the larger 180 mm front rotor given the higher speed operation that this e-bike is capable of. It would be a blast to ride in a variety of environments.

Pros:

  • All Trek bicycles have to be shipped to a local Trek retailer but this is free of charge, from there some retailers will deliver to your house
  • Awesome two year comprehensive warranty, they recommend storing the battery in a dry room at 60° to 70° Fahrenheit and keeping it fully charged, expect a 5% degrade each year
  • Should be more comfortable to ride over long distances and high speeds given the monoshock suspension fork, slightly swept-back handlebar and large ergonomic grips, body position isn’t as aggressive as the Trek Conduit+
  • The plastic wheel fenders offer great coverage and are reinforced in multiple places (with support arms) so they shouldn’t rattle at high speed or go out of alignment as easily, I like the mini chain guard built into the Bosch Centerdrive to protect your pants and the aluminum scuff-guard below for added motor protection (it’s almost overkill for a road bike like this)
  • Premium E3 E-Bike V6S Supernova headlight helps you be seen (like the smaller LED light on the Conduit+) but offers more lumens (165 lumens) for actually tracking the road and oncoming obstacles – it’s built into an aluminum casing and features adjustable angle
  • Quality Schwalbe Energize Plus tires are designed with GreenGuard to reduce punctures and have bright reflective stripes on their sidewalls to help you be seen when riding in the dark
  • You get bottle cage bosses on the seat tube with this model! Perfect for adding a folding lock, presta mini pump or water bottle cage and there are mounting points on the seat stays for adding a disc brake compatible rack as well if you need more space
  • High quality, light weight drivetrain with Shimano SLX derailleur for lasting performance and lighter weight build (this is an upper mid-level part), 10 gears is enough for climbing and reaching the ~28 mph top speed offered by the Bosch Performance Speed motor
  • Both wheels are quick and easy to remove for transport or service (ie. fixing a flat on the road) because the skewers have quick release, as a mid-drive powered electric bike the XM700+ will be easier to service by shops because the hardware is more like a traditional bicycle
  • The battery pack and LCD display unit are also removable helping to reduce weight during transport or protect against weather wear and potential vandalism
  • Electronic wires, shift cables and brake cables are all run through the frame helping to reduce snags and making it look better… where they are exposed the still look good because the plastic covers are black matching the black frame

Cons:

  • The battery pack can be charged on or off the frame which is great but make sure you push hard and listen for a click when re-mounting it because otherwise it could tip off and get cracked or scraped up (like the demo model I was reviewing here)
  • No integrated backlight here, if you ride in the early morning or at night when it’s dark out I’d recommend adding a rechargeable light like this with Micro USB that can be charged using the Bosch Intuvia display (not when riding, just to top off when it’s light again)
  • I’m glad this bike comes with a kickstand and I understand that in Europe it’s a requirement to make it spring up (so you don’t forget and trip or maybe so it doesn’t flop down as easily) but it’s just a little bit trickier to work with in my opinion

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Trek Reviews

Trek Lift+ Lowstep Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable, low-step, cruiser style electric bike with balanced motor and battery position, multiple fun color choices, and several sizes (also available in high-step). Nicer 10-speed drivetrain with clutch for reducing chain bounce and slap, easy to pull hydraulic…...

Trek CrossRip+ Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A lightweight, high speed, electric road bike with sturdy 12 mm thru-axle on the front wheel, Carbon fiber fork, and Alpha 200 Gold alloy frame to dampen vibration. Capable and comfortable on hard packed trails as a gravel grinder, sturdy Aluminum fenders and…...

Trek Dual Sport+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A lightweight, trail-capable, hybrid commuter electric bike, the larger 700c wheelset provides efficient rolling momentum and lower attack angle to smooth out cracks and bumps. Shimano STePs mid-drive is responsive, less power hungry than competing products, and relatively quiet, The…...

Trek Neko+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sporty hybrid electric bike offering a blend of efficiency and trail capability, suspension fork with lockout, hydraulic disc brakes. Removable battery and display panel reduce weight when lifting and transporting the bike, quick release…...

Trek Super Commuter+ 8S Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A streamlined, feature-complete, commuter style electric bike with Class 3 high-speed operation (up to 28 mph), available through a wide network of dealers. 11-speed Shimano SLX drivetrain offers plenty of range for comfortable pedaling at low and high…...

Trek Powerfly 8 FS Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A full suspension trail bike from one of the "big three" brands in the US, it offers 130 mm travel with custom tuning for the added weight and power of the bike, excellent weight distribution. Quick-release wheels, removable battery, and removable display make the bike flexible and easy to transport…...

Trek Conduit+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A light weight, high-step only electric bike with premium fenders, pannier rack and integrated LED lights that would be perfect for commuting or short range touring. Delivers Shimano hydraulic disc brakes, a 10 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore derailleur and quality…...

Trek Lift+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A light weight, efficient and more upright city style electric bike with a two year warranty, features an adjustable stem and is available in both high-step and step-thru frame styles in four sizes for improved fit. Leverages the Shimano STePs drive system keeping weight low and centered across the frame, the…...

2011 Trek FX+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,679
  • MODEL YEAR: 2010, 2011

An efficient road-style electric bike with narrow slick tires and carbon fiber fork available in five frame sizes. Integrated LED lights run off the main battery pack, lots of additional mounting points for…...

2011 Trek Transport+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,679
  • MODEL YEAR: 2011

One of the earliest mass produced electric cargo bikes in the US (available in 2011) offered a purpose built frame with lots of attachment points (front basket, rear rack, running boards and included cargo bag). High-end drive system from BionX, rebranded as "Electric Propulsion Systems" EPS by Trek offering smooth,…...


Bill Hagglund
2 years ago

Thanks for all the great reviews! I finally decided on the Trek 700+ and I love it! Two things that I wanted to point out. First, the walk function is enabled on mine, maybe a difference between Illinois and California laws. Second, on the smallest frame size the bottle cage mounts are moved to the bottom of the sloping top tube, ok unless you hang your bike on a rack at home like I do, oh well. Thanks again, Bill

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Wow, thanks for the detailed updates Bill! Great choice, the XM700+ is an awesome ebike and the high speed is a blast. It’s great that they at least tried to include bottle cage braze-ons but unfortunate that they don’t work well in your case. Also, thanks for the tips about walk mode :D

Reply
Bill Hagglund
1 year ago

Hi Court. Trek XM700+ update: After 1200 miles the bike developed a quirk. The On switch on the Intuvia module would only start the bike some of the time, other times I have to use the switch on the side of the battery. Not a major deal, and my LBS is working with Magura (Bosch’s service rep) to find a fix. Apparently there is another bike in CA with the same problem. I’ll post the fix when I have it.

Victor
2 years ago

The Electric Bike Expo was just in town and I had the opportunity to try the Trek XM700+ and I loved it. It definitely stood out from the crowd. I liked how fast and responsive the bike (motor) was. Bosch was also there and I talked to them for a while going over the differences in their motors. I really like their shift detection. I also tried the iZip ProTour and the Scott E-Sub Sport, which made my short list. My commute is 15 miles one way, with a couple of steep and long hills. Which of the three models would you recommend?

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Victor! I feel like I don’t have enough information to go on here… Don’t know your weight, height or budget but going off the commute distance alone and having never tried the Scott E-Sub Sport but seeing that it uses Bosch… I’d say that any of these could work. You get the higher top speed with the IZIP ProTour which is nice but will drain the battery quicker. I’m a big fan of Bosch and like that the Trek XM700+ has wired-in lights and a mini suspension as well as fenders. I think any one could fit and it might come down to your style preference or dealer availability at this point?

Reply
Chris @ Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

I noticed there wasn’t a fix posted. The internal battery in the display can die if it sat off the bike for an extended period. You can turn the bike on by pressing the power button on the battery but sometimes the battery in the display won’t take a charge. The shop should just swap the display out and warranty it with Magura.

This is one of the rare issues that can occur with Bosch powered bikes if not stored with the display and battery on. Thankfully it’s a very easy fix.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Awesome, thanks for the feedback Chris! I’ve heard that the micro USB port on the side of the display can also be used to help charge it off the bike if you are storing for longer periods. Do you know if this is true? I heard it outputs like ~6 volts and can maintain portable electronics when riding but also that it can maybe charge the small battery inside (or that this tiny battery can be replaced completely) which might fix the display issue?

Bill Hagglund
1 year ago

Thanks for posting your fix Chris. That was the first thing we tried, no help. The problem occurs more often when the bike is shut off for a few minutes in the middle of a ride than when it sits over the weekend without the main battery attached. They considered the cabling and are now talking about a main battery replacement, perhaps a software bug in there. My LBS and Magura are still working on it, I’ll post the final resolution. Thanks again, Bill

Andy
1 year ago

Thanks for these reviews Court! I was comparing the integrated front lights on the Trek XM700 + with 165 lumens and the Haibike Urban LED 60 lux front headlight. Could you tell which was brighter for lighting up the road. And can both be angled downward to the road?

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Andy, I believe they can both be angled up or down. The Urban review was done a long time ago so unfortunately I don’t remember how bright it was compared with the one on the Trek which appears to be a Supernova. I’d say the Trek is bright and more focused vs. the Haibike which is more spread out and visible to others from above and the sides. Neither one was reviewed in the dark so I’m just going to stop here… Hope it helps :)

Reply
Andy
1 year ago

Thanks Court. I am narrowing my choice between this bike and the Haibike Urban S RX which I don’t see that you reviewed (I see the standard Urban).

It’s hard to believe that the they both have the same Bosch motor and battery, and both aluminum except Trek has a suspension on front, that there is a 6 pound difference between these two bikes. I wonder if the the Aluminum Hydorfoil frame is lighter than the Trek Alpha Platinum Aluminum frame? The only other difference is in wheels (DT Swiss on Haibike) and the Trek has plastic fenders. Otherwise, 6 pounds is a big difference between these two bikes.

Ken
2 months ago

I am very disappointed in this bike after a few hundred miles. The computer shows “:range” but that number is absolutely worthless. I called Trek and Bosch and their answer did not solve the problem. I am learning to use the charging bars to calculate range but will have to learn in each setting. That is a challenge.

The charging plug is at the very bottom of the battery and indented so you cannot visually see it without getting on the ground when plugging it in.

The front fender got some mud and tore off. There is no clearance between the fork and the fender and the tire. Mind you, I was on a sidewalk not off road. The front fender is an endless source of rattling. Both myself and another owner nearby have removed the front fender to suppress the noise since the fender was a bad design anyway.

The odometer/speedometer are inaccurate. We tested it against my Garmin with and without attached sensors. The bike shows a miles and a half per hour faster and the odometer likewise. Adjusting the computer to account for tire size is quite a hassle and one my local bike shop has been unable to crack yet. Again, Bosch could not help solve the problem.

The torque is not nearly as good as with my previous IZIP Dash.

I like the buttons on the handle bar control. Easy to use. It is lighter than my previous ebikes but the narrower tires and silly shock absorption system do little to make this a comfortable ride.

I will be changing bikes soon. This is not a good investment for the price. If it were cheaper maybe. I would get a Vado but the rack system is European and no distributors are located in the US for the bags that work. The Racktime rear rack they used is a square tube and so no after market company like Tulio panniers will snap on.

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Great feedback Ken, thank you for providing some constructive criticism and comparison against your friends and your previous ebike from IZIP. I am sorry that the fender and derailleur have been an issue, I will keep the points you have shared in mind as I review future bikes from Trek or with similar accessories and components.

Reply
ken goldberg
2 months ago

FYI, it seems I can expect 50 miles of range in the Eco power setting on flat pavement with the 400 battery pack. If I keep this bike I may upgrade to the 500 which Bosch says will fit in my bike with no modification. The other XM owner did get a 500 and says he is getting about 40 miles in the Sport power setting

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Durukan Devrim
1 day ago

Hi Durukan, I bought my Trek xm700 with 200 miles on it. It had been used as a demo at the bike shop, and obviously the battery had been dropped a number of times. It was nicked up considerably. But even with all those scratches it worked just fine. Since then then I've put on about 2,000 sweet miles. No problems whatsoever. These batteries are obviously very sturdy. I wouldn't worry about it. Just enjoy your bike!
I certainly hope you're right but droping on the floor is one thing and droping as you're doing 30+ mph on gravel is another. Scratched might be an understatement in my situation though. There are some serious dents on plastic one of which almost revealed the insides of battery. Upon further research I found out that if there's a malfunction 2nd and 4th LEDs would flash. Let's hope for the best.

David Thomas of Peshtigo
1 day ago

Hi Durukan, I bought my Trek xm700 with 200 miles on it. It had been used as a demo at the bike shop, and obviously the battery had been dropped a number of times. It was nicked up considerably. But even with all those scratches it worked just fine. Since then then I've put on about 2,000 sweet miles. No problems whatsoever. These batteries are obviously very sturdy. I wouldn't worry about it. Just enjoy your bike!

AdamC
1 week ago

I only know about my one and only ebike. It is a Trek XM700+. I found I can exceed to estimated range by quite a lot. I use the lowest level of support virtually all the time and this is probably why. Even with the lowest level of support I am able to keep up with much younger people who are on regular bikes (I'm 73). If you use a higher level of support, your range is rapidly and greatly reduced.

Only time expect to use is for longer climbs. Rest is all me

Alan Acock
1 week ago

This explosion of new companies producing ebikes is wonderful, but as with any other industry that has gone through rapid growth, there will surely be many failures to go with some spectacular successes. After worrying about this for a couple years before buying my ebike I got a Trek. I hope some of the new companies will make better and more innovative products, but I did this as a safe choice. My ebike, XM700+, has a Bosch motor and battery that together weight about 15 pounds. The bike weighs nearly to 50 pounds. My old bike is a Trek Madone weighed 16 pounds. I appreciate that ebikes put more stress on the frame, tires, and some accessories, but 15 + 16 = 31 and this is lot less than 50. I hope that future development will produce strong, but lighter ebikes.

Alan Acock
1 week ago

I had to cancel my order for a juiced biked ccs 650 watt with17.h ah battery , money reasons
I'm loking at the simple fairly fool proof system they offer at clean republic an the 1000 dollars bike with the 350watt 40mile pack. I take that 40 miles with a grain of salt of course

my commute is 17 miles each way can charge at work in a heated garage!

1400-1500 of climbing most hills are2-8% and easily manageable if not a little on the slow side, last hill to work tho.. about a mile long and peaks out at 17% grade
I weigh about 240 and will have about 10 lbs of gear- change of clothes and lunch.

my old bike ride was 6.6 miles and 760 feet climbing it took 45ish minutes human powered only

I am hoping to keep ride to an hour give or take a few minutes -5-10max

is this a reasonable goal with the bike I am looking? I am really just wanting to flatten the hills and still ride a bike not a motorcycle
I only know about my one and only ebike. It is a Trek XM700+. I found I can exceed to estimated range by quite a lot. I use the lowest level of support virtually all the time and this is probably why. Even with the lowest level of support I am able to keep up with much younger people who are on regular bikes (I'm 73). If you use a higher level of support, your range is rapidly and greatly reduced.

Alan Acock
1 week ago

I purchased an XM700+ about a month ago and have 200 miles on it. I initially noted the front fender was rattling, so I inserted foam rubber between the fender and the headtube. That eliminated the rattle. However, there was still a loud noise when I hit large pot holes or depressions in the road. The mechanic adjusted the front brake, but that didn’t work. When I lift the front wheel and drop it the noise is not evident. I can’t find anything that might be generating the noise and of course the origin of noise is sometimes difficult to determine in some situations. I am tempted to remove the front fender and see it that is still the issue, but everything seems tight in that area.

So I am reaching out to see if anyone with an XM700+ has experienced this issue?

I have a note about my XM 700+ a bit lower where the front fork had to be replaced. I still get this same (apparently) noise on a rough road. I wonder if it has something to do with the front shock absorber. It is irritating to have this noise on what should be a quiet ride.

bob armani
2 weeks ago

Hello Fred,
I believe your initial post was a request for info from the members of this forum on the selection of an e-bike. To that end members respectfully
responded with thoughts, opinions and their personal e-bike experiences.

After reading your reply it became very apparent that your position differs significantly from the members that took the to time to
pass along what they've experienced and where they stand....I completely agree with your right to have an 'opposing view' from what was presented.

While I support that right to reject the opinions presented, I completely and strongly oppose that no member ever should
be allowed to rant in the manor as seen in the following quotes.....

"I hear all the bikes knobs talk about who's going to put your bike together..."

"Seems like all the guys on this form like to hang out in there locally-owned bike shop to shoot the stuff."

"I would have been pissed had I paid full price for the bike I bought knowing I could have bought direct from China for half the cost."

"Don't fall for all the bull malarkey on the site save yourself a ton of money and buy it online. "

I take offense to anyone telling me how to send my money.... It's my money, I earned. I know what is important to me and
and I know best how to spend my money. I know what brings me great joy in my cycling endeavor. I found that joy in a 15 minute test ride
on a Trek XM700+ at my local bike shop. I bought the XM700+ on the spot....It's tough to test ride over the Internet.

As for spending my money, do I think the $3,500 I spent on the Trek XM700+ was worth it...every penny and would I do it again
if I could ? Yes and I did....I bought a Trek Powerfly 7 . See I told you I knew how best to spend my money : )

I've always maintained that cycling, if done with genuine interest, drive and enthusiasm is a very personal endeavor.
It gets down to the rider and the bike.

I hope this was helpful,
John from CT

John from CT-Well said. I hope you got through to Fred that this is a very personal decision during research/purchase. Not sure why he has taken the stance he has on this forum. We are all here just to HELP each other and stay as informative as possible. I'm sure the people that administer this forum would agree.

BTW-The XM700+ and Trek Powerfly 7 are awesome ebikes! I test rode both at the Expo this year and they are all quality built indeed. I also like the way Trek has paired the different motors with their different line of bikes. The SuperCommuter8 seems to give a better ride than the BMW version with Bosch.
I still have my standard Trek 7000 full aluminum since '92 (made in Waterloo, WI) and it is still going strong with minimal maintenance and breakdown. Now the Verve is getting great reviews also. Way to go!

John from Connecticut
2 weeks ago

I just wanted to chime in, I asked which Bike advice on the forum and for all sorts of gibberish advice telling me I had to spend thousands of dollars on an to get anything decent to ride around town as a commuter. I've come to find out that total rubbish. I bought a used 2017 Magnum MI5 with 200 miles on it for $625. Original MSRP on the bike is $1,700. I've ridden this bike around rides great does everything I needed to do. I recently ran across a guy who has a 2017 Ancheer that is basically the exact same specs as my bike MSRP under $800.

If you're not doing some heavy-duty off-road racing these name brand bikes are total waste of money.

My bike the Juiced bike all made at the same Factory in the same city in China as the Ancheer.

I hear all the bikes knobs talk about who's going to put your bike together or where you going to get a replacement battery half these outfits can't get parts from the quote unquote manufacturers as they all seem to be waiting for the shipment to come in the container from China.

Then I hear about the warranty my bike has 200 miles on it over the course of a year not a single problem I took it in for a tune-up batteries is in fine shape.

Then I looked at the battery and it's made by a battery supplier who you can buy the battery from on Alibaba.

Seems like all the guys on this form like to hang out in there locally-owned bike shop to shoot the stuff.

I would have been pissed had I paid full price for the bike I bought knowing I could have bought direct from China for half the cost.

Don't fall for all the bull malarkey on the site save yourself a ton of money and buy it online.

Hello Fred,
I believe your initial post was a request for info from the members of this forum on the selection of an e-bike. To that end members respectfully
responded with thoughts, opinions and their personal e-bike experiences.

After reading your reply it became very apparent that your position differs significantly from the members that took the to time to
pass along what they've experienced and where they stand....I completely agree with your right to have an 'opposing view' from what was presented.

While I support that right to reject the opinions presented, I completely and strongly oppose that no member ever should
be allowed to rant in the manor as seen in the following quotes.....

"I hear all the bikes knobs talk about who's going to put your bike together..."

"Seems like all the guys on this form like to hang out in there locally-owned bike shop to shoot the stuff."

"I would have been pissed had I paid full price for the bike I bought knowing I could have bought direct from China for half the cost."

"Don't fall for all the bull malarkey on the site save yourself a ton of money and buy it online. "

I take offense to anyone telling me how to send my money.... It's my money, I earned. I know what is important to me and
and I know best how to spend my money. I know what brings me great joy in my cycling endeavor. I found that joy in a 15 minute test ride
on a Trek XM700+ at my local bike shop. I bought the XM700+ on the spot....It's tough to test ride over the Internet.

As for spending my money, do I think the $3,500 I spent on the Trek XM700+ was worth it...every penny and would I do it again
if I could ? Yes and I did....I bought a Trek Powerfly 7 . See I told you I knew how best to spend my money : )

I've always maintained that cycling, if done with genuine interest, drive and enthusiasm is a very personal endeavor.
It gets down to the rider and the bike.

I hope this was helpful,
John from CT

John from Connecticut
2 weeks ago

I liked the way it shifted and the smooth transition when assist kicked it. I tried it out here in Florida where I am on vacation but would be using in and around the Adirondack Mountains in Northern NY where it is quite hilly. Many of my rides there would be 40-50 miles but would usually be using the ECO assist level because I still like a good workout. I also like on top of a 2 mile hill so it would be nice to have some battery left at the end of a long ride. Also I plan to do some touring with a 30-40 pound load. I own two Treks now: the 520 touring bike on which I have taken several 600 mike trips. I love it! I also have a Trek carbon 5000 (not 100% sure of the model). Love that one too. I am 65 and plan to continue riding them but am wiped out after long (40+ mile) rides so I think the combo of both bikes would be helpful. Also looking at the Giant E+ Road bike but that lists for $4000. Hope that helps you suggest the best option for me. I welcome all input!

Hello Gary, First I admire that you've taken several 600 mile trips on your Trek 520. That is so cool....As for a touring e-bike, based on what you've written and your future needs/goals I
think the Trek may be a little understated. Will the Verve 20mph max be a 'problem'. That's a call you'll have to make. I have nothing to base this on, but gut reaction to what you've done in the past and what little ( very little ) I know of the Verve. I agree with 'e-boys' opinion that that Trek Verve seems like a great around town crusier, rail trail recreational bike and that may be just what you're looking and need.

I have a Trek XM700+. It is a go anywhere, any road, runs like the wind, a hill killer of a bike. I absolutely love it. Trek did a fantastic job. The Bosch power system, seamless
and the disk brakes are silky smooth with plenty stopping power. Because it was designed as a commuter, touring with tons of 'stuff' I'm guessing should be no problem.
Because the bike was designed in Europe ( I think Trek bought the company that designed and built the original) the sizing is a little odd. Larger then what is typical for the
US Market....Enough about the XM700+

My two cents ...Buying a bike is and should be a very personal choice. For me the XM700+ is the one. The Trek Verve may be yours. I knew next to nothing about e-bikes,
no shopping, no reading, no anything, never mind having ever ridden an e-bike. I took a test ride at my LBS Trek dealer, all of 15 minutes and said this bike is for me and
I've never looked back. With all of your cycling background I think if you can do a test ride or two you'll know. As e-boy said you can't go wrong with Trek and Bosch.
Good luck and I hope this was helpful.

John from CT

rich c
2 weeks ago

My Trek XM700 was set up in Holland, and the walk assist works, pushing the bike along at about 10-12mph without pedal input. I haven't used it except to verify that it works.

People from Holland really walk fast! 10-12mph? That's running around here!

Larry Ganz
3 weeks ago

Larry, Wow I'm sitting here.... stunned ! First an O2 bottle on your back, full bore on a FS MTN bike again wow and then the horrible accident and your 'still spinning a wheel '
at 45.3 mph, incredible. Good for you...an amazing accomplishment ! I'll never complain about sore knees again.

Just an FYI, An update on the XM700+ chain dropping...My LBS got creative. You know the motor/crank chain guard on the Powerfly7 , my LBS ordered one from Trek and installed
it on my XM700+ along with permanently removing the stock plastic chain cover/guard and the guard on the the crank. The end result is my XM700+crank, motor etc looks
exactly like my ( and your ) Powerfly7.

The LBS feels the Powerfly7 motor/crank chain guard will prevent my XM700+ chain from dropping. With the stock plastic guard gone should the chain drop
it will be a snap to wrap it back on the front cog...No more getting stranded. I'll keep you posted on how this all works out.

John from CT

Yeah - here's some of the bruises and scrapes from that downhill ride ride, as well as the views with my son. You can see I've got an O2 nasal cannula under my nose. The camelback was too small and the tank was sticking out of the top.

1/6
John from Connecticut
3 weeks ago

Re: the PF 7 , do you ride it mostly as a MTB , or do you also ride on pavement ?
Curious which you prefer ; the 700 or 7 ?

Edit : OK , saw your post in another thread about these 2 bikes .

Howdy,
I don't think I mentioned in the 'other thread' If 20 mph max as the Powerfly 7 is set is not a problem and you were to replace
the stock mtn tires with something less aggressive for the road, yet trail worthy the Powerfly 7 would probably be the best choice for
a trail/road bike combo. The geometry of the XM700+ is all road aka commuter, or so it seems to me.

I rode my XM700+ only once on a stone dust trail with the stock tires ( which was a big mistake, I crashed) and didn't feel secure, yet I loved the
idea of trail (non mtn bike) riding. For me and my style of riding, non aggressive, safe secure and enjoyable, each bike serves a specific
purpose and does it well.

John from CT

e-boy
3 weeks ago

Two years ago I purchased a Trek 7.7 FX Touring non-e-bike Bike ( Full Carbon ). It doesn't get much lighter or easier to pedal in this price range. In two full summers, May to October I rode this bike 793 miles.....

This past July and October I purchased two e-bikes, a Trek XM700+ and a Trek Powerfly7 . In three months I've ridden 1350 miles ....and I can't wait to get out and ride as the weather permits. Need I say more about the joy and value of an e-bike for me.

John from CT

Re: the PF 7 , do you ride it mostly as a MTB , or do you also ride on pavement ?
Curious which you prefer ; the 700 or 7 ?

Edit : OK , saw your post in another thread about these 2 bikes .

John from Connecticut
3 weeks ago

Good physical activity
Re-read the article !!!!! “The conclusion is that e-cycling is a good form of physical activity and I think many will be surprised to hear it. "

"On average the cyclists on e-bikes were 8.5 times as active as when resting, as opposed to 10.9 times as active when using conventional bicycles." (so do the math folks on 8.5 times vs 10.9 times. If you're doing 78% of the activity on an e-bike vs a regular bike, you merely have to ride 22% further, or another 2.2 miles on a 10 mile ride, to duplicate exercise activity of a regular bike. I'd be willing to bet big money, people riding e-bikes ride A LOT further than they would on a regular bike, bc they would give up to easily and early on their regular bike.)

"This was a smaller difference in oxygen consumption than the researchers anticipated. The e-bike riders utilized an average of 51 percent of their lung capacity. On conventional bikes they
used 58 percent on average."

Draw your own conclusions folks, but this study, like all studies provides a very very very small sampling of a comparison. E-Bikes are AWESOME for your health, particularly when most people who have regular bikes, leave them sitting in the garage collecting dust, whereas the people that have bought e-bikes from me, all say they are out now biking regularly, whereas before they weren't barely biking at all.

Two years ago I purchased a Trek 7.7 FX Touring non-e-bike Bike ( Full Carbon ). It doesn't get much lighter or easier to pedal in this price range. In two full summers, May to October I rode this bike 793 miles.....

This past July and October I purchased two e-bikes, a Trek XM700+ and a Trek Powerfly7 . In three months I've ridden 1350 miles ....and I can't wait to get out and ride as the weather permits. Need I say more about the joy and value of an e-bike for me.

John from CT

John from Connecticut
4 weeks ago

Larry, Wow I'm sitting here.... stunned ! First an O2 bottle on your back, full bore on a FS MTN bike again wow and then the horrible accident and your 'still spinning a wheel '
at 45.3 mph, incredible. Good for you...an amazing accomplishment ! I'll never complain about sore knees again.

Just an FYI, An update on the XM700+ chain dropping...My LBS got creative. You know the motor/crank chain guard on the Powerfly7 , my LBS ordered one from Trek and installed
it on my XM700+ along with permanently removing the stock plastic chain cover/guard and the guard on the the crank. The end result is my XM700+crank, motor etc looks
exactly like my ( and your ) Powerfly7.

The LBS feels the Powerfly7 motor/crank chain guard will prevent my XM700+ chain from dropping. With the stock plastic guard gone should the chain drop
it will be a snap to wrap it back on the front cog...No more getting stranded. I'll keep you posted on how this all works out.

John from CT

wymapper
4 weeks ago

I have a Trek xm700+ (2016 version) and was planning to buy a COBI iPhone version, but I'm concerned after reading this forum. I will be holding off buying a COBI until Bosch or Trek offers it integrated for my bike. I have received emails from COBI, BOSCH, and TREK about BOSCH's purchase of the COBI company. Bosch and Trek said they would notify me when it'savailable from BOSCH.

I installed a Neon upgrade this summer, but have yet to get their Bosch App from the British Apple Store. I like the Nyon and it worked right out of the box from Germany and cost $380 w/shipping. It linked directly through my home WiFi to Bosch, upgraded the Nyon software and downloaded 10 State maps. The maps are good, but the seem a little below the Garmin and Apple maps, but maybe it's me, as I like all the links on Apple and Garmin navigation systems. I could fit most of the World on the Nyon storage. After reading this Forum I'll stick with the Nyon for now. Could anyone help me with procedures to get the iPhone App for the NYON? I'm planning to go to Tucson for a few months this Winter as the bike ridding is excellent. I want the iPhone app to better monitor my heart, I use STRAVA and Apples Apps now, but would like the NYON app to program the Bosch power profile for steep terrain rides. I use solar and an inverter on my RV to charge the Bosch battery.

ADDITION: I don't plan to buy a COBI until Bosch releases it, I'm sticking with the Nyon, I now trying to download the Apple iPhone Nyon Apps.

John from Connecticut
4 weeks ago

I've been studying bikes for some time the past two years. I was one of those ones that scoffed at spending even a couple of thousand on electric bike let alone a normal bike.

These days I've come to appreciate quality but also knowing how to make a dollar stretch even still.

I'm torn in choosing. So let's take the Pesu for example. It's light weight, around 48 I think. It's got some good torque. Top speed 28. Looks good. Only drawback is no throttle what if you break a chain? Or what if you just want throttle? But for the price of 1800$ wow.. and that tittium motor. 100nm torque

When I look at a bike like the specialized Turbo 4000$ ugh. Not sure if that one has a throttle or not either.

Now there's always the do-it-yourself approach with the bafang 1000w or 750 watt and you can have a throttle but the drawback is you get a heavy bike that doesn't look like a normal bike.. and it really doesn't look nice at all.

The ultimate approach would be to have a bike that looks less like an electric bike, lightweight mountain bike. Speed closer to 30 than 20. High torque. Premium components without having to shell out 4000 and beyond.

If I could just have a throttle on the Pesu, I think that would be cool. Although I've never had an electric bike so I don't know what to expect in terms of torque and
power. Mostly riding around in the city but when hitting the trails in Mountain would like to have another torque to get up the mountain with a nice work out. BTW I weigh in at 275. Any help would be appreciated.

Hello,
What bike to buy ??? There's such a range and choice. This past July I purchased a Trek XM700+ and have not regretted it one bit. I love the bike and
would do it all over again in a second. I'd been riding a Trex 7.7 FX carbon touring bike.... I had never ridden an e-Bike...didn't really know much about them, but was
interested... My LBS had a Trek XM700+ for demo. I took it out for 15 minutes and there was no turning back. I bought one. For me the bike is just so much fun.

Nearly all of my riding is paved trails and or very isolated quiet streets. The Trek XM700+ is not great on gravel/stone
trails or at least I don't feel secure on it, I really enjoy the entire experience of riding on rails to trails gravel /stone dust trails so I bought a Trek Powerfly7 MTN
bike. The Powerfly7 is fantastic, incredibly stable, and again like the XM700+ just the greatest to ride.

A friend of mine has a Raleigh with a throttle, he let me take it for a 'spin'. It was fast ( perhaps a bit too fast) , but after riding it I prefer
my Trek's with the Bosch motor system pedal assist. The Bosch system is silky smooth shifting etc....Bottom line. All these e-Bikes bikes are personal
preference and what's most important to you the rider. What Trek has built into their bikes is important to me. I didn't know that until I took my
15 test ride : ) ...I'm not saying Trek is the 'only game in town' I'm sure there are other equally good e-Bikes out there.

I hope my rambling was some help,

John from CT

wymapper
4 weeks ago

I have a Trek xm700+ (2016 version) and was planning to buy a COBI iPhone version, but I'm concerned after reading this forum. I will be holding off buying a COBI until Bosch or Trek offers it integrated for my bike. I have received emails from COBI, BOSCH, and TREK about BOSCH's purchase of the COBI company. Bosch and Trek said they would notify me when it'savailable from BOSCH.

I installed a Neon upgrade this summer, but have yet to get their Bosch App from the British Apple Store. I like the Nyon and it worked right out of the box from Germany and cost $380 w/shipping. It linked directly through my home WiFi to Bosch, upgraded the Nyon software and downloaded 10 State maps. The maps are good, but the seem a little below the Garmin and Apple maps, but maybe it's me, as I like all the links on Apple and Garmin navigation systems. I could fit most of the World on the Nyon storage. After reading this Forum I'll stick with the Nyon for now. Could anyone help me with procedures to get the iPhone App for the NYON? I'm planning to go to Tucson for a few months this Winter as the bike ridding is excellent. I want the iPhone app to better monitor my heart, I use STRAVA and Apples Apps now, but would like the NYON app to program the Bosch power profile for steep terrain rides. I use solar and an inverter on my RV to charge the Bosch battery.

Saratoga Dave
1 month ago

Any of you New England guys want to take a little ride tomorrow, Thursday the 9th? I'm going to go get one more run on the Ashawilticook trail in from Adams, Mass down to Pittsfield and back. Anyone who lives anywhere around there certainly knows it!

I'll be heading out from the visitor's center in Adams around 11 or so on my trusty xm700+. You never know, maybe somebody here has the day off and nothing planned. Retirement is a wonderful thing.

John from Connecticut
1 month ago

There are a few things that can cause the chain to drop, have your LBS check the derailure angle. If you've had a crash it can bend and it causes lots of subtle trouble. Next check if the master link of the chain needs replacement. A new chain is a very inexpensive fix.

Jeff
Jeff, I will most definitely have the derailleur angle checked. I may have it replaced because I had a minor 'crash' and the derailleur took a little hit. The bike
tech re-aligned slightly. As for the chain I think the LBS is waiting to hear back from Trek on what they will cover, parts wise under warrantee ( my guess ) . As mentioned my LBS
wants to install the outer same chain guide on my XM700+ that is on the Powerfly 7. My LBS had mentioned replacing the chain.

Ironically on Treks website, XM700+ page the latest review for the 700, the new owner mentions his chain dropped as well. Trek was going replace the chain and front sprocket. One thing
for sure I'm having my LBS leave the plastic chain/sprocket off because when installed it's nearly impossible to put the chain back on the front sprocket in the field.

Thanks,
John from CT

Jeff Backes
1 month ago

Hey Jeff, Larry and the Gang,
My XM700+ just dropped it's chain from the front sprocket ( second time in 1200 miles) The first time I believe the clutch was off ( ? ) , my LBS
reset the chain, but this time the clutch is on. I'm troubled by this chain drop 'deal'...does little to instill confidence 20-30 miles from home.

I'm assuming the chain coming off is a direct function of the derailleur (?) but could use input on that. If so perhaps a derailleur change, upgrade (?) My
bike is 3 months old....The last time I dealt with chains coming off was as a kid riding a Huffy. : )

I absolutely love my XM700+ and can't wait to ride, but chains coming off is not an acceptable option. I'm going to talk with my LBS,
who are just great so that's not a concern. They'll do what is right.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,

John from CT

There are a few things that can cause the chain to drop, have your LBS check the derailure angle. If you've had a crash it can bend and it causes lots of subtle trouble. Next check if the master link of the chain needs replacement. A new chain is a very inexpensive fix.

Jeff

John from Connecticut
1 month ago

Of all things to berate a companies support over, this would not be it.
I can understand wanting one's bike to look nice and I respect that...I have no knowledge of what I speak, but Trek my not offer touch up paint
perhaps because their color are proprietary ? Just like the UPS Brown on all their vehicles.

Also as Trek suggested fingernail polish, I've used that product in other situations with great success....I've seen in Treks Q&A section
of certain e-bikes ( XM700+ and PowerFly) Trek mentions to a questioner that touchup paint is not available. Hope this was helpful.

John from CT

John from Connecticut
1 month ago

Larry,
Regarding the chain dropping on my Trek XM 700+. My LBS was already ahead of me on this one, a
shop employee has an XM700 that has dropped a chain several times...

Unlike the problem with a 'stiff' chain link etc on your Powerfly 7, my LBS checked said my chain was fine.
The issue with the XM700+ appears to be that unlike the Powerfly7 which has a circular chain guard/guide
around the crank, the XM700+ does not.

My LBS feels that adding the same chain guard/guide the Powerfly has will solve and or reduce the chance
of a drop significantly....Check your Powerfly and you'll see the guard I'm referring to.

My LBS checked Treks Dealer parts website and he's going to contact Trek and order one. The same guard fits
both Bosch motors. Along with this new added guard my LBS is going to leave the extended guard that runs along the chain
off ( at my request ) because should the chain drop the guard makes it nearly impossible to reseat the chain in the field.

Just an FYI....Below is a copy and paste of a very recent XM700+ review directly from the Trek website comments section.....

" I've owned my XM700+ for six months and have ridden about 1100 miles over very hilly terrain. I love this bike as I'm 75 years old
and the 700 ft catagory 4 climb I have to make to get home is a breeze on this machine. I've experienced one problem twice recently
while up shifting in high power settings with the chain comming off the front spocket.

This is not easy to repair on the road due to difficulty removing the chain guard. I immediately returned my bike to my
Trek dealer who made some adjustments, replaced the chain and ordered a replacement front sprocket. while awaiting
the sprocket I have been able to coninue riding my bike by avoiding up shifting to a higher gear at a power setting above
econ while going down hill. This is really not a problem as I can up shift as soon as I reach level or up slope conditions. "

John from Connecticut
1 month ago

On my Powerfly 7 it was dropping the chain with the smaller sprockets because the chain links were stuck and it wouldn’t bend tight enough to go around the sprocket. The LBS replaced it under warranty at about 250 miles.

Larry,
Thanks for your reply...I can see how links not bending to conform to the smaller front spoke would cause the chain to drop. I just picked up my Powefly 7
last week so I'm a bit put off to hear you had problems with yours. Perhaps your specific chain had a couple of tight links and the replacement solved the problem.
Approximately how many times did your chain drop prior to replacement and so far has the new chain worked flawlessly ?

I'll be taking my XM700+ to my LBS tomorrow, Saturday and report back. If this is a chain issue with 'tight' links and a replacement solves the problem
I can deal with that, but if this turns into a "Lets try this etc and maybe this " . That won't sit well with me....

Thanks,
John

Gannventures
3 months ago

I've had mine now for about 3 weeks or so. I use it on a 40 mile (round trip) commute. I absolutely love it so far. One flat tire so far. I have more to learn about the bike but I definitely love it. Most surprising thing for me regarding e-bike commuting - I still get a killer work out in! I am seeing more and more e-bikes nowadays too....woo hoo!

Carpenter Family
4 months ago

Any update ? Will they offer a 48V version of this bike battery ?

Gannventures
4 months ago

I just purchased this bike yesterday and took it out on my first ride. I went about 15 miles. This thing is a hill killer! I went up some major hills with a variety of grades....man it really performed. But I will say...when I operated it without assist on even the slightest grade...I felt slow as a turtle! I'm going to be using this bike for a 16-mile (one way) commute to work....this is the perfect bike for it too (lots of hills).

Daniel Rose
7 months ago

This is nice. As you say the higher end model has some nice features as well. My concern with mid drive electrics is they put a lot more strain on the chain. As long as the chain does not break, it is a real plus on hills. But another minus is if you have to slam on the brakes at a light leaving you in the wrong gear, well that puts the electric behind the 8 ball too. Hub motors do not have those concerns unless you have a pedal assist. Mine is just an on / off button, which I really appreciate at intersections. Even if you are in the wrong gear, no problem. You still go. I really like my simple 250 front hub motor setup as long as you don't mind contributing quite a bit on the hills. A 350 in the middle like this one should be real sweet.

R Coleman
4 months ago

Daniel Rose I have owned the bike for a few weeks now. I really like the ride, power and looks. I do wish the battery was integrated but I will get over it. I got a good price and really like the service at my local Trek stores. I ordered the hardware to have an integrated rear light installed lik the Europe version. I also go the Topeak rack, trunk bag. I added some additional Bontrager lights and remote, and shimano dual style pedals. Oh, add a suspension seat post, mine is Suntour.

daache otsmane
8 months ago

كيف يتم شحن البطارية

Howie K
10 months ago

I've owned mine for a year and a half. It has operated fault free. All I've had to do was adjust the derailleur. I tried almost every electric bike on the market. IMO, this one beat the others hands down. It's also VERY fast.

Oscar Schiff
10 months ago

Whats the price best regards Oscar

melonbarmonster
10 months ago

$3500

Sjaak De Winter
12 months ago

Beautiful. because he is so basic.
But also very high quality! I love it.

CONAN-FA18-USMC
1 year ago

Any chance you can always include the frame sizes and bike weights in all your reviews? Love your reviews, just inconvenient to have to Google the specs after your videos. Also, how about some Top 5 reviews? Maybe buy category, i.e. Mountain, Commuter, Touring, Speed, etc.

Propel Electric Bikes
11 months ago

Have you checked out his website electricbikereview.com? It has all of the specs as well as the category listings you mention. He also has a great forum worth checking out as well.

GNX157
1 year ago

You're pronouncing Bontrager wrong.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Hmm... thanks for the heads up! Can you spell it out phonetically so I can get it right next time or like link to a video where they do it right?

RC
1 year ago

Good website!

gorillashop
1 year ago

What is the range on the battery?

Ryan Voth
1 year ago

I typically get 17 full turbo. You can drop tgat in between sport and tour and double it. My commute is 35 miles daily and it's worked great for me 10 mo tha straight.

Michael Ma
1 year ago

How are you able to hold onto the camera so steadily? Also, your audio sounds great too. Mind if I ask what gear you use?

Daniel Smalheiser
2 months ago

Michael Ma he uses a go pro with a stabilizer

Glen Batson
1 year ago

Local dealers for me makes the choice between the XM700+ and Specialized Turbo. I see you've reviewed them both and praised them both. Which would you pick between them? Thanks!

Glen Batson
10 months ago

I ended up with the turbo x and love it. I did not get to see the Trek since there were no dealers with one in my area. My other bikes are Trek, but I agree with you, the turbo has the looks.

exiledrabbit
10 months ago

also trying to figure out if this bike is worth the price premium over the Turbo, I like the looks of the Turbo more though

Brandon Harrison
1 year ago

Can 'big' people use these type of bikes??.... I'm a former Offensive lineman (+300lbs) trying to trim down and I'm wonder will the battery last with me... I know I will drain the battery ALOT more due to my weight... anybody here have experience with these types of bikes care to help me out? thanks...

Daniel Smalheiser
2 months ago

Brandon Harrison upgrade your spokes

Martin Freeman
1 year ago

250#+ Bodybuilder here with crushed leg from a van hit. This bike is going to be a life saver for me. Only form of cardio I can do for long stretches due to injuries, and believe me... It's a grrreat workout...even in turbo mode.

Brandon Harrison
1 year ago

Thanks for the info! I will continue to do my research, but I think this bike may be the one for me. Thanks again!

Ryan Voth
1 year ago

I'm 220 and I've seen a drop in the estimated range. I've been commuting with this for 10 months and would REALLY recommend for getting in shape. It takes the edge off the first couple of weeks and months. I'm doing a 100 mile race this month on my road bike I got after this purchase. Wouldn't be doing it if I hadn't commuted for 9 months 35 miles a day and got an itch for something more. The great thing is that almost any body type can ride a bike. And for guys like us, our knees can't take the impact of running like others. Cheers and happy riding. @thecyclingtherapist on Instagram

Nick Rodriguez
2 years ago

Serious question. Why do they not make these bikes re-charge the battery from your peddling? It seems like you're wasting energy? No?

Ryan Voth
1 year ago

Tech will get there. Also the cost. I got mine for 3.5k when they first came to the US. It's still niche and they want to grow the US market; not stifle it with price from emerging $$$ tech when the markets not matured yet. Great question.

Steve G
2 years ago

750 miles on mine. Love it. Chain needed to be replaced after 600 miles. Bike made by Diamantrad, a German company owned by Trek. I wish the US version came equipped like the European version, with standard rear rack, rear light, frame lock for the rear wheel. So I added all of those to make it the ultimate commuter bike. Bontrager rack. Axa Victory lock. Herrman's H-Track rear light. I'm going to add an SKS spoiler/mud flap to the front fender. Bought an extra battery charger ($200) to keep at work. I get to work sweat free and quickly in the morning. I pedal hard and fast on the way home for a workout. I have had the chain come off the front sprocket while shifting, but fortunately the chain guard pops off slightly without tools allowing access to get the chain back on. Words of caution ... 28 mph is fast and cars aren't expecting that .. Extra vigilance is required. Relatively expensive, but I feel that I got a high quality bike, and it brings me joy every time I ride it.

Ryan Voth
1 year ago

I complained about the range to my shop. They called and had a charger sent for free. Almost 3k on mine. Good upgrade ideas. Thanks for including the list. Cheers and happy riding. @thecyclingtherapist on Instagram

Martin Freeman
2 years ago

Should also mention I bought mine because of a severe leg injury to help with hills.

Martin Freeman
2 years ago

Bought one last week and so far so good. Replaced the saddle, added a rack, handle bar risers.