Trek XM700+ Review

Trek Xm700 Plus Electric Bike Review
Trek Xm700 Plus
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Performance Speed Centerdrive
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Powerpack 400 Removable Battery
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Intuvia Display Removable Micro Usb
Trek Xm700 Plus Bontrager Satellite Elite Ergo Grips
Trek Xm700 Plus Supernova E3 E Bike V6s Headlight
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Integrated Chain Guard Shimano Slx 10 Speed
Trek Xm700 Plus Bottle Cage Bosses
Trek Xm700 Plus Right Side
Trek Xm700 Plus Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Trek Xm700 Plus Geometry Measurements
Trek Xm700 Plus Electric Bike Review
Trek Xm700 Plus
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Performance Speed Centerdrive
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Powerpack 400 Removable Battery
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Intuvia Display Removable Micro Usb
Trek Xm700 Plus Bontrager Satellite Elite Ergo Grips
Trek Xm700 Plus Supernova E3 E Bike V6s Headlight
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Integrated Chain Guard Shimano Slx 10 Speed
Trek Xm700 Plus Bottle Cage Bosses
Trek Xm700 Plus Right Side
Trek Xm700 Plus Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Trek Xm700 Plus Geometry Measurements

Summary

  • A sleek, light weight, speed pedelec capable of reaching ~28 mph, built around the Bosch Performance Speed drive system and a Shimano SLX 10 speed drivetrain
  • Integrated plastic fenders and chain guard keep you clean and are reinforced to reduce rattle at high speed, extra frame bosses on the seat stays let you add a rear rack for commuting or touring
  • Surprisingly comfortable geometry with three risers, swept back bars, ergonomic grips and a monoshock suspension element with 35 mm travel and preload adjustment, available in three frame sizes (all high-step)
  • Funky spring-action kickstand required in Europe for speed ebikes, the battery took a bit of effort to securely click-in, most expensive model but you get a two year comprehensive warranty

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Trek

Model:

XM700+

Price:

$3,499

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

201620172018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

46.5 lbs (21.09 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.3 lbs (2.4 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy (Continuously Cold Extruded and Butted)

Frame Sizes:

19.69 in (50.01 cm)21.65 in (54.99 cm)23.62 in (59.99 cm)

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Black Dream with Dark Red Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Bontrager SPA Integrated Suspension, 35 mm Travel, Preload Adjustment

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano SLX, Shadow Plus, HG50, 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Triggers on Right

Cranks:

RIDE+ for Bosch

Pedals:

Wellgo M-21 Track-Style Aluminum Platform

Headset:

1-1/8" Threadless, Semi-Integrated, Semi-Cartridge Bearings

Stem:

Bontrager Race Lite, 31.8 mm, 7 Degree

Handlebar:

Bontrager Urban Alloy, 31.8 mm Diameter, Zero Rise

Brake Details:

Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor

Grips:

Bontrager Satellite Elite, Rubber Ergonomic with Lockers

Saddle:

Bontrager H1 Nebula

Seat Post:

Bontrager SSR, 2-Bolt Head, 12 mm Offset

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Vuelta HD Aluminum Rims, Shimano Deore Hubs

Spokes:

Black, Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Pro, 700 x 38c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Green Guard Puncture Protection, Reflective Sidewall Stripes

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Full Length Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Integrated Plastic Chain Guard, Flick Bell on Right Bar, Supernova E3 E-Bike V6S Headlight, AtranVelo Cycle Lab Auto-Stow Kickstand

Other:

Micro USB Charging Port on Display, Hold Reset and Information Button to Enter Settings (Navigate with Information Button, Select with Lighting Button), Manufacturer Part Number (525126, 525127 and 525128), Quick Release on Front and Rear Wheel

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Speed, Gen 2

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 55%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The XM700+ is Trek’s speed pedelec offering, capable of reaching 28 mph top speeds. It’s perfect for commuting, touring or trekking but you’ll need to add a rear rack for the later two unless you’re a super minimalist or okay wearing a backpack. I enjoyed riding this model more than the less expensive Trek Conduit+ (which tops out at ~20 mph) because the geometry is less aggressive. The handlebars are swept back, you get rubber ergonomic grips with lockers and a mono-shock built right into the fork. It’s a neat setup and those comfort features really prove themselves when you get up into the higher speeds and find yourself an hour into a ride. The tires offer more comfort and are slightly wider than what you’d find on a road or city bike but they are still efficient and I love the reflective sidewalls and GreenGuard puncture protection. Both wheels feature quick release for easy maintenance and transport.

Driving the bike is a Bosch Performance Speed motor offering 350 watts of power and 60 Newton meters of torque. It’s my favorite motor on the market right now in the USA. Mounted low and center, it improves handling and balance over a hub motor design and using a smaller sprocket it spins at higher RPM’s for better response times. The Bosch Centerdrive system measures rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque ~1,000 per second and is so fast the brake levers don’t need motor inhibitor switches. My favorite design feature is shift sensing which works better than the Shimano STePs system used on the Lift+ and Conduit+ from Trek. You can hear the motor whining in the video review above but keep in mind I was riding at the highest level of assist and spinning faster, for most steady riding the motor noise is acceptable.

Powering the motor and integrated Supernova headlight is a 396 watt hour Bosch Powerpack with Samsung cells inside. It also matches the black frame nicely and is mounted centrally for improved balance and protection. I love that Trek has managed to fit in bottle cage bosses along the seat tube here despite the battery also being mounted in the main triangle. Why not really? Many traditional bicycles have two bottle cage mounting points and the Bosch battery isn’t much larger than a water bottle. I’m just glad you get the extra storage space for adding accessories or transporting water in a reachable fashion. You could always add a rear rack but that increases weight. One thing I would add is a rechargeable rear light and if you can pick up a Micro USB cable you’ll be able to tap into the Bosch system at the Intuvia display panel (there’s a charging port with a rubber cover on the right edge)

Operating the trek XM700 Plus is intuitive, you don’t have to turn the battery on separately – just press the power button on the LCD display panel and watch it boot up quickly. The display is large, making it easy to see and includes a remote button pad mounted near the left grip. I found that it was easy to understand and operate even without looking down (the i button in the middle switches readouts on the display and the up and down arrows cycle through assist levels). This is a pedal assist only electric bike so the grips aren’t compromised with trigger or twist throttles but you will have to pedal in order to activate the motor. Using Eco or Normal will decrease power and speed, perfect for crowded areas or neighborhood riding. I noticed that there’s a walk mode button on top of the button pad but was unable to make it work… this may be a response to the new ebike classes in the US which seem to limit throttle operation on Class 3 bicycles like this. In any case, there’s a new shift assist readout that recommends when to shift up or down and a higher Eco mode output of 55% vs. just 50% on the Bosch Performance Cruise model. The display is backlit and if you press the light icon at the lower right it will activate the Supernova headlight.

For $500 more than the Conduit+ you get a lot of cool features with the MX700+ model. The Bosch drive system is better in just about every way (though the battery is slightly lower capacity). I’d probably consider adding a Body Float suspension post for longer rides (get the 31.6 mm width) but love the minimalist head shock. One extra color like silver or white would be nice and possibly a step-thru frame eventually but three sizes here is pretty good. The hydraulic disc brakes performed well and I appreciate the larger 180 mm front rotor given the higher speed operation that this e-bike is capable of. It would be a blast to ride in a variety of environments.

Pros:

  • All Trek bicycles have to be shipped to a local Trek retailer but this is free of charge, from there some retailers will deliver to your house
  • Awesome two year comprehensive warranty, they recommend storing the battery in a dry room at 60° to 70° Fahrenheit and keeping it fully charged, expect a 5% degrade each year
  • Should be more comfortable to ride over long distances and high speeds given the monoshock suspension fork, slightly swept-back handlebar and large ergonomic grips, body position isn’t as aggressive as the Trek Conduit+
  • The plastic wheel fenders offer great coverage and are reinforced in multiple places (with support arms) so they shouldn’t rattle at high speed or go out of alignment as easily, I like the mini chain guard built into the Bosch Centerdrive to protect your pants and the aluminum scuff-guard below for added motor protection (it’s almost overkill for a road bike like this)
  • Premium E3 E-Bike V6S Supernova headlight helps you be seen (like the smaller LED light on the Conduit+) but offers more lumens (165 lumens) for actually tracking the road and oncoming obstacles – it’s built into an aluminum casing and features adjustable angle
  • Quality Schwalbe Energize Plus tires are designed with GreenGuard to reduce punctures and have bright reflective stripes on their sidewalls to help you be seen when riding in the dark
  • You get bottle cage bosses on the seat tube with this model! Perfect for adding a folding lock, presta mini pump or water bottle cage and there are mounting points on the seat stays for adding a disc brake compatible rack as well if you need more space
  • High quality, light weight drivetrain with Shimano SLX derailleur for lasting performance and lighter weight build (this is an upper mid-level part), 10 gears is enough for climbing and reaching the ~28 mph top speed offered by the Bosch Performance Speed motor
  • Both wheels are quick and easy to remove for transport or service (ie. fixing a flat on the road) because the skewers have quick release, as a mid-drive powered electric bike the XM700+ will be easier to service by shops because the hardware is more like a traditional bicycle
  • The battery pack and LCD display unit are also removable helping to reduce weight during transport or protect against weather wear and potential vandalism
  • Electronic wires, shift cables and brake cables are all run through the frame helping to reduce snags and making it look better… where they are exposed the still look good because the plastic covers are black matching the black frame

Cons:

  • The battery pack can be charged on or off the frame which is great but make sure you push hard and listen for a click when re-mounting it because otherwise it could tip off and get cracked or scraped up (like the demo model I was reviewing here)
  • No integrated backlight here, if you ride in the early morning or at night when it’s dark out I’d recommend adding a rechargeable light like this with Micro USB that can be charged using the Bosch Intuvia display (not when riding, just to top off when it’s light again)
  • I’m glad this bike comes with a kickstand and I understand that in Europe it’s a requirement to make it spring up (so you don’t forget and trip or maybe so it doesn’t flop down as easily) but it’s just a little bit trickier to work with in my opinion

Resources:

More Trek Reviews

Trek Powerfly 7 LT Review

  • MSRP: $5,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2019

A stealthy, long travel, all-mountain electric bike with longer wheel base and adjustable seat stay hardware to optimize geometry for climbing and descending, proprietary "Active Braking Pivot" rear suspension reduces skipping, Knock Block headset and Hartzell Hug impact-absorbing downtube bumpers allow for straight downtube. Trek-invented Boost hub spacing improves spoke bracing angle and support for larger plus sized tires,…...

Trek Super Commuter+ 7 Review

  • MSRP: $3,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A stealthy looking, sturdily built, feature-rich urban electric bicycle complete with tubular alloy fenders, premium integrated lights from Supernova, and powerful hydraulic disc brakes. Upgraded Shimano Deore 10-speed drivetrain with one-way clutch to reduce chain bounce, sleek proprietary derailleur…...

Trek Verve+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A versatile city electric bike with sturdy paint-matched aluminum fenders, a bright and aimable headlight as well as a flashing backlight (both are powered by the main battery), and mounting points for a bottle cage and rear rack. Surprisingly comfortable, the wider tires provide cushion and stability, the saddle and suspension seat post…...

Trek Lift+ Lowstep Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable, low-step, cruiser style electric bike with balanced motor and battery position, multiple fun color choices, and several sizes (also available in high-step). Nicer 10-speed drivetrain with clutch for reducing chain bounce and slap, easy to pull hydraulic…...

Trek CrossRip+ Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A lightweight, high speed, electric road bike with sturdy 12 mm thru-axle on the front wheel, Carbon fiber fork, and Alpha 200 Gold alloy frame to dampen vibration. Capable and comfortable on hard packed trails as a gravel grinder, sturdy Aluminum fenders and…...

Trek Dual Sport+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A lightweight, trail-capable, hybrid commuter electric bike, the larger 700c wheelset provides efficient rolling momentum and lower attack angle to smooth out cracks and bumps. Shimano STePs mid-drive is responsive, less power hungry than competing products, and relatively quiet, The…...

Trek Neko+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sporty hybrid electric bike offering a blend of efficiency and trail capability, suspension fork with lockout, hydraulic disc brakes. Removable battery and display panel reduce weight when lifting and transporting the bike, quick release…...

Trek Super Commuter+ 8S Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A streamlined, feature-complete, commuter style electric bike with Class 3 high-speed operation (up to 28 mph), available through a wide network of dealers. 11-speed Shimano SLX drivetrain offers plenty of range for comfortable pedaling at low and high…...

Trek Powerfly 8 FS Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A full suspension trail bike from one of the "big three" brands in the US, it offers 130 mm travel with custom tuning for the added weight and power of the bike, excellent weight distribution. Quick-release wheels, removable battery, and removable display make the bike flexible and easy to transport…...

Trek Conduit+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A light weight, high-step only electric bike with premium fenders, pannier rack and integrated LED lights that would be perfect for commuting or short range touring. Delivers Shimano hydraulic disc brakes, a 10 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore derailleur and quality…...

Trek Lift+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A light weight, efficient and more upright city style electric bike with a two year warranty, features an adjustable stem and is available in both high-step and step-thru frame styles in four sizes for improved fit. Leverages the Shimano STePs drive system keeping weight low and centered across the frame, the…...

2011 Trek FX+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,679
  • MODEL YEAR: 2010, 2011

An efficient road-style electric bike with narrow slick tires and carbon fiber fork available in five frame sizes. Integrated LED lights run off the main battery pack, lots of additional mounting points for…...

2011 Trek Transport+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,679
  • MODEL YEAR: 2011

One of the earliest mass produced electric cargo bikes in the US (available in 2011) offered a purpose built frame with lots of attachment points (front basket, rear rack, running boards and included cargo bag). High-end drive system from BionX, rebranded as "Electric Propulsion Systems" EPS by Trek offering smooth,…...


Bill Hagglund
2 years ago

Thanks for all the great reviews! I finally decided on the Trek 700+ and I love it! Two things that I wanted to point out. First, the walk function is enabled on mine, maybe a difference between Illinois and California laws. Second, on the smallest frame size the bottle cage mounts are moved to the bottom of the sloping top tube, ok unless you hang your bike on a rack at home like I do, oh well. Thanks again, Bill

Reply
Court
2 years ago

Wow, thanks for the detailed updates Bill! Great choice, the XM700+ is an awesome ebike and the high speed is a blast. It’s great that they at least tried to include bottle cage braze-ons but unfortunate that they don’t work well in your case. Also, thanks for the tips about walk mode :D

Reply
Bill Hagglund
2 years ago

Hi Court. Trek XM700+ update: After 1200 miles the bike developed a quirk. The On switch on the Intuvia module would only start the bike some of the time, other times I have to use the switch on the side of the battery. Not a major deal, and my LBS is working with Magura (Bosch’s service rep) to find a fix. Apparently there is another bike in CA with the same problem. I’ll post the fix when I have it.

Victor
2 years ago

The Electric Bike Expo was just in town and I had the opportunity to try the Trek XM700+ and I loved it. It definitely stood out from the crowd. I liked how fast and responsive the bike (motor) was. Bosch was also there and I talked to them for a while going over the differences in their motors. I really like their shift detection. I also tried the iZip ProTour and the Scott E-Sub Sport, which made my short list. My commute is 15 miles one way, with a couple of steep and long hills. Which of the three models would you recommend?

Reply
Court
2 years ago

Hi Victor! I feel like I don’t have enough information to go on here… Don’t know your weight, height or budget but going off the commute distance alone and having never tried the Scott E-Sub Sport but seeing that it uses Bosch… I’d say that any of these could work. You get the higher top speed with the IZIP ProTour which is nice but will drain the battery quicker. I’m a big fan of Bosch and like that the Trek XM700+ has wired-in lights and a mini suspension as well as fenders. I think any one could fit and it might come down to your style preference or dealer availability at this point?

Reply
Chris @ Propel Electric Bikes
2 years ago

I noticed there wasn’t a fix posted. The internal battery in the display can die if it sat off the bike for an extended period. You can turn the bike on by pressing the power button on the battery but sometimes the battery in the display won’t take a charge. The shop should just swap the display out and warranty it with Magura.

This is one of the rare issues that can occur with Bosch powered bikes if not stored with the display and battery on. Thankfully it’s a very easy fix.

Reply
Court
2 years ago

Awesome, thanks for the feedback Chris! I’ve heard that the micro USB port on the side of the display can also be used to help charge it off the bike if you are storing for longer periods. Do you know if this is true? I heard it outputs like ~6 volts and can maintain portable electronics when riding but also that it can maybe charge the small battery inside (or that this tiny battery can be replaced completely) which might fix the display issue?

Bill Hagglund
2 years ago

Thanks for posting your fix Chris. That was the first thing we tried, no help. The problem occurs more often when the bike is shut off for a few minutes in the middle of a ride than when it sits over the weekend without the main battery attached. They considered the cabling and are now talking about a main battery replacement, perhaps a software bug in there. My LBS and Magura are still working on it, I’ll post the final resolution. Thanks again, Bill

Andy
2 years ago

Thanks for these reviews Court! I was comparing the integrated front lights on the Trek XM700 + with 165 lumens and the Haibike Urban LED 60 lux front headlight. Could you tell which was brighter for lighting up the road. And can both be angled downward to the road?

Reply
Court
2 years ago

Hi Andy, I believe they can both be angled up or down. The Urban review was done a long time ago so unfortunately I don’t remember how bright it was compared with the one on the Trek which appears to be a Supernova. I’d say the Trek is bright and more focused vs. the Haibike which is more spread out and visible to others from above and the sides. Neither one was reviewed in the dark so I’m just going to stop here… Hope it helps :)

Reply
Andy
2 years ago

Thanks Court. I am narrowing my choice between this bike and the Haibike Urban S RX which I don’t see that you reviewed (I see the standard Urban).

It’s hard to believe that the they both have the same Bosch motor and battery, and both aluminum except Trek has a suspension on front, that there is a 6 pound difference between these two bikes. I wonder if the the Aluminum Hydorfoil frame is lighter than the Trek Alpha Platinum Aluminum frame? The only other difference is in wheels (DT Swiss on Haibike) and the Trek has plastic fenders. Otherwise, 6 pounds is a big difference between these two bikes.

Ken
11 months ago

I am very disappointed in this bike after a few hundred miles. The computer shows “:range” but that number is absolutely worthless. I called Trek and Bosch and their answer did not solve the problem. I am learning to use the charging bars to calculate range but will have to learn in each setting. That is a challenge.

The charging plug is at the very bottom of the battery and indented so you cannot visually see it without getting on the ground when plugging it in.

The front fender got some mud and tore off. There is no clearance between the fork and the fender and the tire. Mind you, I was on a sidewalk not off road. The front fender is an endless source of rattling. Both myself and another owner nearby have removed the front fender to suppress the noise since the fender was a bad design anyway.

The odometer/speedometer are inaccurate. We tested it against my Garmin with and without attached sensors. The bike shows a miles and a half per hour faster and the odometer likewise. Adjusting the computer to account for tire size is quite a hassle and one my local bike shop has been unable to crack yet. Again, Bosch could not help solve the problem.

The torque is not nearly as good as with my previous IZIP Dash.

I like the buttons on the handle bar control. Easy to use. It is lighter than my previous ebikes but the narrower tires and silly shock absorption system do little to make this a comfortable ride.

I will be changing bikes soon. This is not a good investment for the price. If it were cheaper maybe. I would get a Vado but the rack system is European and no distributors are located in the US for the bags that work. The Racktime rear rack they used is a square tube and so no after market company like Tulio panniers will snap on.

Reply
Court
11 months ago

Great feedback Ken, thank you for providing some constructive criticism and comparison against your friends and your previous ebike from IZIP. I am sorry that the fender and derailleur have been an issue, I will keep the points you have shared in mind as I review future bikes from Trek or with similar accessories and components.

Reply
ken goldberg
11 months ago

FYI, it seems I can expect 50 miles of range in the Eco power setting on flat pavement with the 400 battery pack. If I keep this bike I may upgrade to the 500 which Bosch says will fit in my bike with no modification. The other XM owner did get a 500 and says he is getting about 40 miles in the Sport power setting

ken goldberg
1 month ago

I want to update my critique of this bike. I kept the bike and have gone 4,700 miles free of most problems. The range calculator is worthless but I found I can use the battery bars to gauge range. The mph and distance were faulty because the default setting on their computers does not match the wheel size. Despite a lack of help from Trek or Bosch, it was an easy quick fix using just the head unit on the bike. My bike shop fixed that once we researched it. Quite accurate once it is inputted properly. (This was not a fluke with my bike, I bought my daughter one and it was set wrong also). I got used to the kickstand spring and it bothers me not now.

So I have removed the front fender. Not a problem. You pointed out it does not come with a tail light. I am glad it did not. Bikes with integrated tail lights make it hard to change the rear racks. I use Topeak for my racks on all my bikes. I add a 150 lumen Cygolite that works pefect! If I had removed the factory racks on other bikes I would have had an issue with what to do with the wiring. The front light on this bike is quite good. I add a 800 lumen light to the handlebar for additional light and so I can us the strobe feature which the bike light cannot do.

4,700 plus miles is a good deal for an ebike. I had IZIP Dash electric bicycles before and both had battery issues which had to be resolved, under warranty, with replacements. I did buy the extra battery for the XM. It is the 500 pack and changing batteries on the road takes less than 30 seconds. It takes more time to get the key in than to change the battery itself. Snapping in seems quite simple and when seated clicks loudly enough for me to recognize it is ready.

I added a Garmin computer, a Delta air horn and two headlights to my handlebars. I have a range of about 90 miles with the 2 batteries and my Topeak pack with panniers holds everything I need for any ride including an extra battery.

John M.
8 months ago

THANKS to Court for doing all the reviews. I probably watched/read 20-30 before deciding on the Trek XM 700+. I just got the 2018 model, which is **exactly** the same as the 2016 reviewed here, so you can just change the year and be up-to-date with this model. With that being said this bike is not the latest and greatest. It seems to me that the Super Commuter +8S got all the innovation and attention from Trek, but the XM 700+ is still a solid performer and costs much less IMHO. I wish they had at least upgraded the battery to a 500 w/hr. So enough complaining about what it is not, and time to focus on what this bike is. As Court states, the Bosch drive system is the best feature of this bike. Adding a rack and ThudBuster seatpost were the first changes I made to make it an even better commuter. I ordered the Bosch cable and light for the rear to make it safer (can’t believe that didn’t come standard). The directions for this can be found in the forums. My previous electric bikes were built from kits so it is nice to have it all integrated.

Reply
Court
7 months ago

Hi John! Thanks for the update about how the bike is the same for 2017 and 2018, I have made some updates here to reflect that… and thank you for mentioning the light add-on! I’m glad you did that for safety, and tried to add a link to the forums because I did not see the link you mentioned (there was no link), feel free to reply and post your intended link as I’m sure others would benefit. And yeah, did you get the Thudbuster ST or Long Travel? Hope the bike lasts and brings lots of smiles and health to you :)

Reply
John M.
7 months ago

The rear light install that I referred to was created by Jeff Backes and can be found in this post. I installed the ST Thudbuster. It provides just enough flex to take edge off rough streets. Thanks Court for the quick reply and support.

Andrea
4 days ago

Hello, I have been looking at ebikes for some time and I hope to get some good advice on this post. I’m looking for a bike that is versatile. I’d like to use it for short commutes but also long touring on the weekend and light off road trails. I have been doing some research on the Trek dual sport and the Xm700. The xm700 with a bosh motor seems to be a better product. Also, the speed limit to 20 miles for the dual sport is another point in favor to the Xm. Can anyone who has owned either bike comment or provide some insight? thanks!

Reply
Court
20 hours ago

Hi Andrea! I prefer the XM700+ for urban riding where the roads are mostly smooth and you want the extra power. It’s nice that it also comes with fenders and integrated lights… and I prefer the Bosch motor to Shimano STePs E6000. Alternatively, if you plan to ride on gravel trails or bumpy streets, the Dual Sport is the best option because it has wider tires with off-road tread and the lack of fenders and lights will make it more durable and quiet. The bikes address two different use cases. I hope this helps and I welcome further comments here or in the help choosing an ebike section of the forums :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tom Boyle
1 week ago

Just got mine today and cant stay off of it. This still gives you a workout at higher speeds. I watched this video to learn the features.

D&R
12 months ago

I've had mine now for about 3 weeks or so. I use it on a 40 mile (round trip) commute. I absolutely love it so far. One flat tire so far. I have more to learn about the bike but I definitely love it. Most surprising thing for me regarding e-bike commuting - I still get a killer work out in! I am seeing more and more e-bikes nowadays too....woo hoo!

Carpenter Family
1 year ago

Any update ? Will they offer a 48V version of this bike battery ?

D&R
1 year ago

I just purchased this bike yesterday and took it out on my first ride. I went about 15 miles. This thing is a hill killer! I went up some major hills with a variety of grades....man it really performed. But I will say...when I operated it without assist on even the slightest grade...I felt slow as a turtle! I'm going to be using this bike for a 16-mile (one way) commute to work....this is the perfect bike for it too (lots of hills).

Daniel Rose
1 year ago

This is nice. As you say the higher end model has some nice features as well. My concern with mid drive electrics is they put a lot more strain on the chain. As long as the chain does not break, it is a real plus on hills. But another minus is if you have to slam on the brakes at a light leaving you in the wrong gear, well that puts the electric behind the 8 ball too. Hub motors do not have those concerns unless you have a pedal assist. Mine is just an on / off button, which I really appreciate at intersections. Even if you are in the wrong gear, no problem. You still go. I really like my simple 250 front hub motor setup as long as you don't mind contributing quite a bit on the hills. A 350 in the middle like this one should be real sweet.

R Coleman
1 year ago

Daniel Rose I have owned the bike for a few weeks now. I really like the ride, power and looks. I do wish the battery was integrated but I will get over it. I got a good price and really like the service at my local Trek stores. I ordered the hardware to have an integrated rear light installed lik the Europe version. I also go the Topeak rack, trunk bag. I added some additional Bontrager lights and remote, and shimano dual style pedals. Oh, add a suspension seat post, mine is Suntour.

daache otsmane
1 year ago

كيف يتم شحن البطارية

Howie K
1 year ago

I've owned mine for a year and a half. It has operated fault free. All I've had to do was adjust the derailleur. I tried almost every electric bike on the market. IMO, this one beat the others hands down. It's also VERY fast.

Oscar Schiff
2 years ago

Whats the price best regards Oscar

melonbarmonster
2 years ago

$3500

Sjaak De Winter
2 years ago

Beautiful. because he is so basic.
But also very high quality! I love it.

CONAN-FA18
2 years ago

Any chance you can always include the frame sizes and bike weights in all your reviews? Love your reviews, just inconvenient to have to Google the specs after your videos. Also, how about some Top 5 reviews? Maybe buy category, i.e. Mountain, Commuter, Touring, Speed, etc.

Propel Electric Bikes
2 years ago

Have you checked out his website electricbikereview.com? It has all of the specs as well as the category listings you mention. He also has a great forum worth checking out as well.

GNX157
2 years ago

You're pronouncing Bontrager wrong.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Hmm... thanks for the heads up! Can you spell it out phonetically so I can get it right next time or like link to a video where they do it right?

RC
2 years ago

Good website!

gorillashop
2 years ago

What is the range on the battery?

Ryan Voth
2 years ago

I typically get 17 full turbo. You can drop tgat in between sport and tour and double it. My commute is 35 miles daily and it's worked great for me 10 mo tha straight.

Michael Ma
2 years ago

How are you able to hold onto the camera so steadily? Also, your audio sounds great too. Mind if I ask what gear you use?

Daniel Smalheiser
10 months ago

Michael Ma he uses a go pro with a stabilizer

Glen Batson
2 years ago

Local dealers for me makes the choice between the XM700+ and Specialized Turbo. I see you've reviewed them both and praised them both. Which would you pick between them? Thanks!

Glen Batson
1 year ago

I ended up with the turbo x and love it. I did not get to see the Trek since there were no dealers with one in my area. My other bikes are Trek, but I agree with you, the turbo has the looks.

exiledrabbit
1 year ago

also trying to figure out if this bike is worth the price premium over the Turbo, I like the looks of the Turbo more though

Brandon Harrison
2 years ago

Can 'big' people use these type of bikes??.... I'm a former Offensive lineman (+300lbs) trying to trim down and I'm wonder will the battery last with me... I know I will drain the battery ALOT more due to my weight... anybody here have experience with these types of bikes care to help me out? thanks...

Daniel Smalheiser
7 months ago

i was 280 and this thing is a champ! and now im down to 249 and going to 200!

Daniel Smalheiser
10 months ago

Brandon Harrison upgrade your spokes

Martin Freeman
2 years ago

250#+ Bodybuilder here with crushed leg from a van hit. This bike is going to be a life saver for me. Only form of cardio I can do for long stretches due to injuries, and believe me... It's a grrreat workout...even in turbo mode.

Brandon Harrison
2 years ago

Thanks for the info! I will continue to do my research, but I think this bike may be the one for me. Thanks again!

Ryan Voth
2 years ago

I'm 220 and I've seen a drop in the estimated range. I've been commuting with this for 10 months and would REALLY recommend for getting in shape. It takes the edge off the first couple of weeks and months. I'm doing a 100 mile race this month on my road bike I got after this purchase. Wouldn't be doing it if I hadn't commuted for 9 months 35 miles a day and got an itch for something more. The great thing is that almost any body type can ride a bike. And for guys like us, our knees can't take the impact of running like others. Cheers and happy riding. @thecyclingtherapist on Instagram

Nick Rodriguez
2 years ago

Serious question. Why do they not make these bikes re-charge the battery from your peddling? It seems like you're wasting energy? No?

Ryan Voth
2 years ago

Tech will get there. Also the cost. I got mine for 3.5k when they first came to the US. It's still niche and they want to grow the US market; not stifle it with price from emerging $$$ tech when the markets not matured yet. Great question.

Steve G
2 years ago

750 miles on mine. Love it. Chain needed to be replaced after 600 miles. Bike made by Diamantrad, a German company owned by Trek. I wish the US version came equipped like the European version, with standard rear rack, rear light, frame lock for the rear wheel. So I added all of those to make it the ultimate commuter bike. Bontrager rack. Axa Victory lock. Herrman's H-Track rear light. I'm going to add an SKS spoiler/mud flap to the front fender. Bought an extra battery charger ($200) to keep at work. I get to work sweat free and quickly in the morning. I pedal hard and fast on the way home for a workout. I have had the chain come off the front sprocket while shifting, but fortunately the chain guard pops off slightly without tools allowing access to get the chain back on. Words of caution ... 28 mph is fast and cars aren't expecting that .. Extra vigilance is required. Relatively expensive, but I feel that I got a high quality bike, and it brings me joy every time I ride it.

Ryan Voth
2 years ago

I complained about the range to my shop. They called and had a charger sent for free. Almost 3k on mine. Good upgrade ideas. Thanks for including the list. Cheers and happy riding. @thecyclingtherapist on Instagram

Martin Freeman
2 years ago

Should also mention I bought mine because of a severe leg injury to help with hills.