Trek XM700+ Review

Trek Xm700 Plus Electric Bike Review
Trek Xm700 Plus
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Performance Speed Centerdrive
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Powerpack 400 Removable Battery
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Intuvia Display Removable Micro Usb
Trek Xm700 Plus Bontrager Satellite Elite Ergo Grips
Trek Xm700 Plus Supernova E3 E Bike V6s Headlight
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Integrated Chain Guard Shimano Slx 10 Speed
Trek Xm700 Plus Bottle Cage Bosses
Trek Xm700 Plus Right Side
Trek Xm700 Plus Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Trek Xm700 Plus Geometry Measurements
Trek Xm700 Plus Electric Bike Review
Trek Xm700 Plus
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Performance Speed Centerdrive
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Powerpack 400 Removable Battery
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Intuvia Display Removable Micro Usb
Trek Xm700 Plus Bontrager Satellite Elite Ergo Grips
Trek Xm700 Plus Supernova E3 E Bike V6s Headlight
Trek Xm700 Plus Bosch Integrated Chain Guard Shimano Slx 10 Speed
Trek Xm700 Plus Bottle Cage Bosses
Trek Xm700 Plus Right Side
Trek Xm700 Plus Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Trek Xm700 Plus Geometry Measurements

Summary

  • A sleek, light weight, speed pedelec capable of reaching ~28 mph, built around the Bosch Performance Speed drive system and a Shimano SLX 10 speed drivetrain
  • Integrated plastic fenders and chain guard keep you clean and are reinforced to reduce rattle at high speed, extra frame bosses on the seat stays let you add a rear rack for commuting or touring
  • Surprisingly comfortable geometry with three risers, swept back bars, ergonomic grips and a monoshock suspension element with 35 mm travel and preload adjustment, available in three frame sizes (all high-step)
  • Funky spring-action kickstand required in Europe for speed ebikes, the battery took a bit of effort to securely click-in, most expensive model but you get a two year comprehensive warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Trek

Model:

XM700+

Price:

$3,499

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

201620172018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

46.5 lbs (21.09 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.3 lbs (2.4 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy (Continuously Cold Extruded and Butted)

Frame Sizes:

19.69 in (50.01 cm)21.65 in (54.99 cm)23.62 in (59.99 cm)

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Black Dream with Dark Red Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Bontrager SPA Integrated Suspension, 35 mm Travel, Preload Adjustment

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano SLX, Shadow Plus, HG50, 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Triggers on Right

Cranks:

RIDE+ for Bosch

Pedals:

Wellgo M-21 Track-Style Aluminum Platform

Headset:

1-1/8" Threadless, Semi-Integrated, Semi-Cartridge Bearings

Stem:

Bontrager Race Lite, 31.8 mm, 7 Degree

Handlebar:

Bontrager Urban Alloy, 31.8 mm Diameter, Zero Rise

Brake Details:

Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor

Grips:

Bontrager Satellite Elite, Rubber Ergonomic with Lockers

Saddle:

Bontrager H1 Nebula

Seat Post:

Bontrager SSR, 2-Bolt Head, 12 mm Offset

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Vuelta HD Aluminum Rims, Shimano Deore Hubs

Spokes:

Black, Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Pro, 700 x 38c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Green Guard Puncture Protection, Reflective Sidewall Stripes

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Full Length Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Integrated Plastic Chain Guard, Flick Bell on Right Bar, Supernova E3 E-Bike V6S Headlight, AtranVelo Cycle Lab Auto-Stow Kickstand

Other:

Micro USB Charging Port on Display, Hold Reset and Information Button to Enter Settings (Navigate with Information Button, Select with Lighting Button), Manufacturer Part Number (525126, 525127 and 525128), Quick Release on Front and Rear Wheel

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Speed, Gen 2

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 55%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The XM700+ is Trek’s speed pedelec offering, capable of reaching 28 mph top speeds. It’s perfect for commuting, touring or trekking but you’ll need to add a rear rack for the later two unless you’re a super minimalist or okay wearing a backpack. I enjoyed riding this model more than the less expensive Trek Conduit+ (which tops out at ~20 mph) because the geometry is less aggressive. The handlebars are swept back, you get rubber ergonomic grips with lockers and a mono-shock built right into the fork. It’s a neat setup and those comfort features really prove themselves when you get up into the higher speeds and find yourself an hour into a ride. The tires offer more comfort and are slightly wider than what you’d find on a road or city bike but they are still efficient and I love the reflective sidewalls and GreenGuard puncture protection. Both wheels feature quick release for easy maintenance and transport.

Driving the bike is a Bosch Performance Speed motor offering 350 watts of power and 60 Newton meters of torque. It’s my favorite motor on the market right now in the USA. Mounted low and center, it improves handling and balance over a hub motor design and using a smaller sprocket it spins at higher RPM’s for better response times. The Bosch Centerdrive system measures rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque ~1,000 per second and is so fast the brake levers don’t need motor inhibitor switches. My favorite design feature is shift sensing which works better than the Shimano STePs system used on the Lift+ and Conduit+ from Trek. You can hear the motor whining in the video review above but keep in mind I was riding at the highest level of assist and spinning faster, for most steady riding the motor noise is acceptable.

Powering the motor and integrated Supernova headlight is a 396 watt hour Bosch Powerpack with Samsung cells inside. It also matches the black frame nicely and is mounted centrally for improved balance and protection. I love that Trek has managed to fit in bottle cage bosses along the seat tube here despite the battery also being mounted in the main triangle. Why not really? Many traditional bicycles have two bottle cage mounting points and the Bosch battery isn’t much larger than a water bottle. I’m just glad you get the extra storage space for adding accessories or transporting water in a reachable fashion. You could always add a rear rack but that increases weight. One thing I would add is a rechargeable rear light and if you can pick up a Micro USB cable you’ll be able to tap into the Bosch system at the Intuvia display panel (there’s a charging port with a rubber cover on the right edge)

Operating the trek XM700 Plus is intuitive, you don’t have to turn the battery on separately – just press the power button on the LCD display panel and watch it boot up quickly. The display is large, making it easy to see and includes a remote button pad mounted near the left grip. I found that it was easy to understand and operate even without looking down (the i button in the middle switches readouts on the display and the up and down arrows cycle through assist levels). This is a pedal assist only electric bike so the grips aren’t compromised with trigger or twist throttles but you will have to pedal in order to activate the motor. Using Eco or Normal will decrease power and speed, perfect for crowded areas or neighborhood riding. I noticed that there’s a walk mode button on top of the button pad but was unable to make it work… this may be a response to the new ebike classes in the US which seem to limit throttle operation on Class 3 bicycles like this. In any case, there’s a new shift assist readout that recommends when to shift up or down and a higher Eco mode output of 55% vs. just 50% on the Bosch Performance Cruise model. The display is backlit and if you press the light icon at the lower right it will activate the Supernova headlight.

For $500 more than the Conduit+ you get a lot of cool features with the MX700+ model. The Bosch drive system is better in just about every way (though the battery is slightly lower capacity). I’d probably consider adding a Body Float suspension post for longer rides (get the 31.6 mm width) but love the minimalist head shock. One extra color like silver or white would be nice and possibly a step-thru frame eventually but three sizes here is pretty good. The hydraulic disc brakes performed well and I appreciate the larger 180 mm front rotor given the higher speed operation that this e-bike is capable of. It would be a blast to ride in a variety of environments.

Pros:

  • All Trek bicycles have to be shipped to a local Trek retailer but this is free of charge, from there some retailers will deliver to your house
  • Awesome two year comprehensive warranty, they recommend storing the battery in a dry room at 60° to 70° Fahrenheit and keeping it fully charged, expect a 5% degrade each year
  • Should be more comfortable to ride over long distances and high speeds given the monoshock suspension fork, slightly swept-back handlebar and large ergonomic grips, body position isn’t as aggressive as the Trek Conduit+
  • The plastic wheel fenders offer great coverage and are reinforced in multiple places (with support arms) so they shouldn’t rattle at high speed or go out of alignment as easily, I like the mini chain guard built into the Bosch Centerdrive to protect your pants and the aluminum scuff-guard below for added motor protection (it’s almost overkill for a road bike like this)
  • Premium E3 E-Bike V6S Supernova headlight helps you be seen (like the smaller LED light on the Conduit+) but offers more lumens (165 lumens) for actually tracking the road and oncoming obstacles – it’s built into an aluminum casing and features adjustable angle
  • Quality Schwalbe Energize Plus tires are designed with GreenGuard to reduce punctures and have bright reflective stripes on their sidewalls to help you be seen when riding in the dark
  • You get bottle cage bosses on the seat tube with this model! Perfect for adding a folding lock, presta mini pump or water bottle cage and there are mounting points on the seat stays for adding a disc brake compatible rack as well if you need more space
  • High quality, light weight drivetrain with Shimano SLX derailleur for lasting performance and lighter weight build (this is an upper mid-level part), 10 gears is enough for climbing and reaching the ~28 mph top speed offered by the Bosch Performance Speed motor
  • Both wheels are quick and easy to remove for transport or service (ie. fixing a flat on the road) because the skewers have quick release, as a mid-drive powered electric bike the XM700+ will be easier to service by shops because the hardware is more like a traditional bicycle
  • The battery pack and LCD display unit are also removable helping to reduce weight during transport or protect against weather wear and potential vandalism
  • Electronic wires, shift cables and brake cables are all run through the frame helping to reduce snags and making it look better… where they are exposed the still look good because the plastic covers are black matching the black frame

Cons:

  • The battery pack can be charged on or off the frame which is great but make sure you push hard and listen for a click when re-mounting it because otherwise it could tip off and get cracked or scraped up (like the demo model I was reviewing here)
  • No integrated backlight here, if you ride in the early morning or at night when it’s dark out I’d recommend adding a rechargeable light like this with Micro USB that can be charged using the Bosch Intuvia display (not when riding, just to top off when it’s light again)
  • I’m glad this bike comes with a kickstand and I understand that in Europe it’s a requirement to make it spring up (so you don’t forget and trip or maybe so it doesn’t flop down as easily) but it’s just a little bit trickier to work with in my opinion

Resources:

More Trek Reviews

Trek Verve+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A versatile city electric bike with sturdy paint-matched aluminum fenders, a bright and aimable headlight as well as a flashing backlight (both are powered by the main battery), and mounting points for a bottle cage and rear rack. Surprisingly comfortable, the wider tires provide cushion and stability, the saddle and suspension seat post…...

Trek Lift+ Lowstep Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable, low-step, cruiser style electric bike with balanced motor and battery position, multiple fun color choices, and several sizes (also available in high-step). Nicer 10-speed drivetrain with clutch for reducing chain bounce and slap, easy to pull hydraulic…...

Trek CrossRip+ Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A lightweight, high speed, electric road bike with sturdy 12 mm thru-axle on the front wheel, Carbon fiber fork, and Alpha 200 Gold alloy frame to dampen vibration. Capable and comfortable on hard packed trails as a gravel grinder, sturdy Aluminum fenders and…...

Trek Dual Sport+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A lightweight, trail-capable, hybrid commuter electric bike, the larger 700c wheelset provides efficient rolling momentum and lower attack angle to smooth out cracks and bumps. Shimano STePs mid-drive is responsive, less power hungry than competing products, and relatively quiet, The…...

Trek Neko+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sporty hybrid electric bike offering a blend of efficiency and trail capability, suspension fork with lockout, hydraulic disc brakes. Removable battery and display panel reduce weight when lifting and transporting the bike, quick release…...

Trek Super Commuter+ 8S Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A streamlined, feature-complete, commuter style electric bike with Class 3 high-speed operation (up to 28 mph), available through a wide network of dealers. 11-speed Shimano SLX drivetrain offers plenty of range for comfortable pedaling at low and high…...

Trek Powerfly 8 FS Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A full suspension trail bike from one of the "big three" brands in the US, it offers 130 mm travel with custom tuning for the added weight and power of the bike, excellent weight distribution. Quick-release wheels, removable battery, and removable display make the bike flexible and easy to transport…...

Trek Conduit+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A light weight, high-step only electric bike with premium fenders, pannier rack and integrated LED lights that would be perfect for commuting or short range touring. Delivers Shimano hydraulic disc brakes, a 10 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore derailleur and quality…...

Trek Lift+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A light weight, efficient and more upright city style electric bike with a two year warranty, features an adjustable stem and is available in both high-step and step-thru frame styles in four sizes for improved fit. Leverages the Shimano STePs drive system keeping weight low and centered across the frame, the…...

2011 Trek FX+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,679
  • MODEL YEAR: 2010, 2011

An efficient road-style electric bike with narrow slick tires and carbon fiber fork available in five frame sizes. Integrated LED lights run off the main battery pack, lots of additional mounting points for…...

2011 Trek Transport+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,679
  • MODEL YEAR: 2011

One of the earliest mass produced electric cargo bikes in the US (available in 2011) offered a purpose built frame with lots of attachment points (front basket, rear rack, running boards and included cargo bag). High-end drive system from BionX, rebranded as "Electric Propulsion Systems" EPS by Trek offering smooth,…...


Bill Hagglund
2 years ago

Thanks for all the great reviews! I finally decided on the Trek 700+ and I love it! Two things that I wanted to point out. First, the walk function is enabled on mine, maybe a difference between Illinois and California laws. Second, on the smallest frame size the bottle cage mounts are moved to the bottom of the sloping top tube, ok unless you hang your bike on a rack at home like I do, oh well. Thanks again, Bill

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Wow, thanks for the detailed updates Bill! Great choice, the XM700+ is an awesome ebike and the high speed is a blast. It’s great that they at least tried to include bottle cage braze-ons but unfortunate that they don’t work well in your case. Also, thanks for the tips about walk mode :D

Reply
Bill Hagglund
1 year ago

Hi Court. Trek XM700+ update: After 1200 miles the bike developed a quirk. The On switch on the Intuvia module would only start the bike some of the time, other times I have to use the switch on the side of the battery. Not a major deal, and my LBS is working with Magura (Bosch’s service rep) to find a fix. Apparently there is another bike in CA with the same problem. I’ll post the fix when I have it.

Victor
2 years ago

The Electric Bike Expo was just in town and I had the opportunity to try the Trek XM700+ and I loved it. It definitely stood out from the crowd. I liked how fast and responsive the bike (motor) was. Bosch was also there and I talked to them for a while going over the differences in their motors. I really like their shift detection. I also tried the iZip ProTour and the Scott E-Sub Sport, which made my short list. My commute is 15 miles one way, with a couple of steep and long hills. Which of the three models would you recommend?

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Victor! I feel like I don’t have enough information to go on here… Don’t know your weight, height or budget but going off the commute distance alone and having never tried the Scott E-Sub Sport but seeing that it uses Bosch… I’d say that any of these could work. You get the higher top speed with the IZIP ProTour which is nice but will drain the battery quicker. I’m a big fan of Bosch and like that the Trek XM700+ has wired-in lights and a mini suspension as well as fenders. I think any one could fit and it might come down to your style preference or dealer availability at this point?

Reply
Chris @ Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

I noticed there wasn’t a fix posted. The internal battery in the display can die if it sat off the bike for an extended period. You can turn the bike on by pressing the power button on the battery but sometimes the battery in the display won’t take a charge. The shop should just swap the display out and warranty it with Magura.

This is one of the rare issues that can occur with Bosch powered bikes if not stored with the display and battery on. Thankfully it’s a very easy fix.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Awesome, thanks for the feedback Chris! I’ve heard that the micro USB port on the side of the display can also be used to help charge it off the bike if you are storing for longer periods. Do you know if this is true? I heard it outputs like ~6 volts and can maintain portable electronics when riding but also that it can maybe charge the small battery inside (or that this tiny battery can be replaced completely) which might fix the display issue?

Bill Hagglund
1 year ago

Thanks for posting your fix Chris. That was the first thing we tried, no help. The problem occurs more often when the bike is shut off for a few minutes in the middle of a ride than when it sits over the weekend without the main battery attached. They considered the cabling and are now talking about a main battery replacement, perhaps a software bug in there. My LBS and Magura are still working on it, I’ll post the final resolution. Thanks again, Bill

Andy
2 years ago

Thanks for these reviews Court! I was comparing the integrated front lights on the Trek XM700 + with 165 lumens and the Haibike Urban LED 60 lux front headlight. Could you tell which was brighter for lighting up the road. And can both be angled downward to the road?

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Andy, I believe they can both be angled up or down. The Urban review was done a long time ago so unfortunately I don’t remember how bright it was compared with the one on the Trek which appears to be a Supernova. I’d say the Trek is bright and more focused vs. the Haibike which is more spread out and visible to others from above and the sides. Neither one was reviewed in the dark so I’m just going to stop here… Hope it helps :)

Reply
Andy
2 years ago

Thanks Court. I am narrowing my choice between this bike and the Haibike Urban S RX which I don’t see that you reviewed (I see the standard Urban).

It’s hard to believe that the they both have the same Bosch motor and battery, and both aluminum except Trek has a suspension on front, that there is a 6 pound difference between these two bikes. I wonder if the the Aluminum Hydorfoil frame is lighter than the Trek Alpha Platinum Aluminum frame? The only other difference is in wheels (DT Swiss on Haibike) and the Trek has plastic fenders. Otherwise, 6 pounds is a big difference between these two bikes.

Ken
5 months ago

I am very disappointed in this bike after a few hundred miles. The computer shows “:range” but that number is absolutely worthless. I called Trek and Bosch and their answer did not solve the problem. I am learning to use the charging bars to calculate range but will have to learn in each setting. That is a challenge.

The charging plug is at the very bottom of the battery and indented so you cannot visually see it without getting on the ground when plugging it in.

The front fender got some mud and tore off. There is no clearance between the fork and the fender and the tire. Mind you, I was on a sidewalk not off road. The front fender is an endless source of rattling. Both myself and another owner nearby have removed the front fender to suppress the noise since the fender was a bad design anyway.

The odometer/speedometer are inaccurate. We tested it against my Garmin with and without attached sensors. The bike shows a miles and a half per hour faster and the odometer likewise. Adjusting the computer to account for tire size is quite a hassle and one my local bike shop has been unable to crack yet. Again, Bosch could not help solve the problem.

The torque is not nearly as good as with my previous IZIP Dash.

I like the buttons on the handle bar control. Easy to use. It is lighter than my previous ebikes but the narrower tires and silly shock absorption system do little to make this a comfortable ride.

I will be changing bikes soon. This is not a good investment for the price. If it were cheaper maybe. I would get a Vado but the rack system is European and no distributors are located in the US for the bags that work. The Racktime rear rack they used is a square tube and so no after market company like Tulio panniers will snap on.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Great feedback Ken, thank you for providing some constructive criticism and comparison against your friends and your previous ebike from IZIP. I am sorry that the fender and derailleur have been an issue, I will keep the points you have shared in mind as I review future bikes from Trek or with similar accessories and components.

Reply
ken goldberg
4 months ago

FYI, it seems I can expect 50 miles of range in the Eco power setting on flat pavement with the 400 battery pack. If I keep this bike I may upgrade to the 500 which Bosch says will fit in my bike with no modification. The other XM owner did get a 500 and says he is getting about 40 miles in the Sport power setting

John M.
1 month ago

THANKS to Court for doing all the reviews. I probably watched/read 20-30 before deciding on the Trek XM 700+. I just got the 2018 model, which is **exactly** the same as the 2016 reviewed here, so you can just change the year and be up-to-date with this model. With that being said this bike is not the latest and greatest. It seems to me that the Super Commuter +8S got all the innovation and attention from Trek, but the XM 700+ is still a solid performer and costs much less IMHO. I wish they had at least upgraded the battery to a 500 w/hr. So enough complaining about what it is not, and time to focus on what this bike is. As Court states, the Bosch drive system is the best feature of this bike. Adding a rack and ThudBuster seatpost were the first changes I made to make it an even better commuter. I ordered the Bosch cable and light for the rear to make it safer (can’t believe that didn’t come standard). The directions for this can be found in the forums. My previous electric bikes were built from kits so it is nice to have it all integrated.

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi John! Thanks for the update about how the bike is the same for 2017 and 2018, I have made some updates here to reflect that… and thank you for mentioning the light add-on! I’m glad you did that for safety, and tried to add a link to the forums because I did not see the link you mentioned (there was no link), feel free to reply and post your intended link as I’m sure others would benefit. And yeah, did you get the Thudbuster ST or Long Travel? Hope the bike lasts and brings lots of smiles and health to you :)

Reply
John M.
1 month ago

The rear light install that I referred to was created by Jeff Backes and can be found in this post. I installed the ST Thudbuster. It provides just enough flex to take edge off rough streets. Thanks Court for the quick reply and support.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

JayVee
14 hours ago

I have 8000 kilometers on my (EU only) 45km/h Trekking Sduro drivetrain and I think it will last 30,000 or more. The bike shifts perfectly and there are absolutely no signs of wear. It’s been through ice, snow, slush, rain, mud, dirt and I do hills and bumpy roads every single day. The trick is to clean the whole drivetrain regularly because grime and dirt will stretch the chain over time. It’s not that difficult to do. A medium pressure water hose will usually do the job (point the hose away from the drive casing). The cassette, chain, and derailleurs do not have to be squeaky clean and shiny at all times, but they do have to be free of grime and contaminants most of the time.

To be perfectly honest here, I'm much more concerned about how long the drive will last than about the other components. This is an area where mid-drives don't particularly shine. Bosch and Yamaha units are fairly reliable according to independent statistics, and it seems reasonable to think that recent units will last at least 15,000 kilometres on average. But I expect to have about 20,000 kilometers on the bike within 2 years. And given the fragility of a mid-drive there's got to be a point at which the drive breaks. I simply hope it will be during the warranty period because these units are not cheap. I've heard that a new Yamaha unit goes for about 800 Euros, which is about 40% of what I paid for it. So when the drive breaks, it might be more cost effective for me to buy a new bike rather than change the drive.

PCDoctorUSA
1 day ago

My big concern is the ascent back up. I've reached out to a lot of people here who have had offered some great feedback both in these forums and private conversations in hopes of coming up with a consensus of the best direction to go in regards to type of drive: geared rear hub or mid-drive. I don't know anyone locally who owns any type of electric bike, and I only spot an electric bike in my daily commute once in a blue moon so these forums are my only source for info. I have yet to find a LBS that is both knowledgeable and passionate about selling ebikes that could help me. The big brand dealers (Specialized and Trek) only have a few models to make the Brand happy while they concentrate on selling non-ebikes. The owner of one ebike-only shop couldn't even tell me the correct model names of the bikes he had to sell or even figure out their displays to show me the Assist levels. I actually knew more than he did thanks to EBR forum members and Cort's reviews.

For those that have looked at the https://www.dropbox.com/s/ym61mubq23mjhg5/Commute%20Elevation.jpg?dl=0, most have said the geared rear hub on the Yukon 750 will make the once daily climb without issue. I've had one reader in another EBR forum that says a geared rear hub won't make it, but a Bafang BBS02 mid-drive will. My goal this weekend is to visit a shop that rents ebikes to the tourists and see if they have a geared hub model so I can see how it does on my hill. I'm really hoping the geared rear hub will do the job because there are no mid-drive options in the Yukon's price range even with adding in the cost of changing out the tires to something more street commuter friendly once the Yukon arrives. Voltbike's shipping charge of $120 to Hawaii is also the cheapest of ANY online dealer I've found yet. If a dealer ships to Hawaii at all, the price is between $300 and $500.

Thanks in advance to anyone else that would like to chime in.

Stoker283
1 day ago

You have a great commute, it make me miss Hawaii!! From what I saw, your only issue will be a lack of gears, if you can reach 40 mph downhill on a regular bike, I am sure you would love to go as fast with your fat bike too. I have heard of some people installing a bigger ring gear at the front, but you will be limited with on 7 gears. I have a 9 gear cassette and the only time I switch it to the 9th gear is going downhill. I love going fast. And I can guarantee you that the reset of your commute shouldn't be below 20 mph with a ebike, as long you don't get stock behind too many buses... lol

Cheers

PCDoctorUSA
3 days ago

The commute is 8 miles one-way. You can get a better visual on this https://www.relive.cc/view/g14806687566. The descent in the morning is great. I average about 36 mph coasting on my Trek FX 7.2 fitness bike, but have made it to 40 mph before common sense caught up with me. Thankfully, I haven't had to lock up the ol' rim brakes. Here's a https://youtu.be/rcyC3ISfTxk of the descent. Maybe it will give you a better feel of the hill for the return.

The ascent is gradual with a slight level-off (1:00 mark on the video) before the grade where it becomes noticeably steeper. This is where I usually dismount and push the bike up when the wife's shuttle service isn't available. I have made the climb about a half-dozen times, but I'm in the lowest gear trying to maintain 4 mph and convince my heart to stay in my chest. I think what makes it worse is it's the last 1.5 miles of my ride at the end of my workday.

Bruce Arnold
3 days ago

Well, 108 miles. ;)

I had some trouble with a chain link that was too tight. Took it in to the LBS and got that fixed. They fine-tuned the rear derailleur too. It now shifts so well. Being able to effortlessly get it into the right gear is a real joy. Before, it would hesitate, sometimes shift 2 gears instead of one, stuff like that. This is not a Juiced Bikes problem, I've seen it on other bikes also. Regardless, the shop only charged me $16; well worth it.

I'm still fine with riding in the 18-20 mph range. My rationale is this: being a heavy guy (me plus gear = ~300 lbs), I'm already putting a certain amount of stress on the bike, primarily the wheels. The frame itself is built plenty strong. You smaller guys, hitting the same bumps and holes in the pavement at maximum speed are putting the same stress on the system. As Trek says in their manual, "The most significant variable in durability is the manner in which you ride ... If you ride hard or aggressively, you should replace the bicycle and/or its parts more often than riders who ride smoothly or cautiously."

That being said, I haven't had any problems with the spokes. That was an issue for many riders when the CCS first came out. It seems that the move to the 13 gauge Sapim spokes has fixed that. So much of the spoke breakage was within the first 100 miles. I've had none at all. I was sort of leery about this at first, but other than occasional inspection of the wheels for proper spoke tension (which we should all be doing anyway), I'm just not worried about it.

As I get in better condition, I find that I use level 1 less and less for recreational riding. Eco does the job for me at all speeds up to 20 mph, and I rarely even use 9th gear (although it's fun to sail down hills for bursts of up to 25 mph in 9th.) For commuting, Level 2 and 3 are great so I arrive without being sweaty and out of breath.

Using combinations of the pedal assist levels and the gears is becoming more and more automatic. At first I had to think about it. Now it's getting natural. Totally awesome to move from Eco to 1 to climb a hill in the same gear, for instance, without having to give it any thought.

As I've said elsewhere in the forum, I'm not worried about the "charging to 80%" thing. I charge when it drops to around 44 volts, and take it off the charger at around 53 volts. This gets me over 50 miles, without losing any significant performance. This may not absolutely maximize the battery life, but will provide many years and thousands of miles of riding enjoyment. I'm sure I'll want one of those 52 volt batteries Tora just started selling, long before this battery bites the dust.

My wife's Pedego doesn't have the cruise control or the boost function. I'm really glad the CCS has 'em. I use them both all the time. I don't find myself using the throttle a whole lot, except for the boost. With the cruise control, I just don't need it.

Another degree of rake would suit my riding style better. I mentioned this soon after getting the bike. It's just fine the way it is, but a little more stability over nimbleness would be welcome.

I'm very happy with the Marathon Plus tires. I've read that some people feel they are too heavy or stiff or something. To me they give a comfortable ride, with the added security as well. As tech reviewer Flossy Carter says, "One a scale of one to ten, this is a major win."

I really appreciate the advanced read-out on the LCD panel. I wish the font were bigger -- which would require a bigger display unit overall -- but that may be just a function of 65-year-old eyes. The information provided is so helpful. Again, my wife's Pedego doesn't provide this level of information, which I find both interesting and helpful. The only thing I'd add would be a trip odometer. My workaround for that is that I've added the https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.rooehler.bikecomputer.pro&hl=en app to my Android. It has a lot of great features. I added a https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B074XST5G2/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 to the top tube to carry the smartphone. It has some basic bike tools in the side pockets also. The red and black version looks great on the red CCS.

I've ordered a https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000BR4NIC/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 and https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007FRCIDI/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 to make my commuting safer and more efficient.

The CCS is, for me, a perfect platform for commuting and recreation. Thank you, Tora and the rest of the team at Juiced Bikes!

Gina
3 days ago

I am 61 years, 95 lbs and want to switch to an electric assist to help me up the hills to the tennis courts. I'm used to riding my bike to the courts but have lived in flat terrain in the past. Now I live with some steep hills and they are just too tough for me. Most of my riding will be the 4 mile return commute to the courts three times a week but I'd like to be able to take the bike to parks and ride through the trails so I'd like the bike to be as light as possible yet have the nice features such as hydraulic disc brakes as I'm a slow rider, a little nervous going down the hills or going fast. Anyone have either of these bikes, compared them yourself, or have some suggestions that I may not have considered? I haven't tested the actual bikes as they have to be ordered so I want to be almost certain before I have one ordered. I rode the Trek but the 16.5" frame and I rode last year's medium frame Turbo, slightly different model. E-bikes are totally new to me and they both felt good. Thank you for any feedback or suggestions!

TForan
3 days ago

I really don't know why they wouldn't be. Mine is great in town and it has the ability to absorb potholes and bumps with ease. Plenty of power and speed (Bafang Ultra) and can handle a heavy load without any problems.

hurricane56
3 days ago

I guess if it helps, here are some baseline figures from one year of commuting in 2017.

2016 Haibike Trekking S - Bosch Performance Line Speed
- approximately 4k miles, 1/3 urban stop and go, 2/3 rural
- new chain and cassette after 2500 miles
- One set of front brake pads at the end of the year, rear brake pads had about 3-4 months pad life remaining. Brakes are Magura Mt5.
- Rear tire is a Schwable Energizer Plus, it's about half of the tread life is worn, front tire is still almost new.

I agree with with @rich c , for such a heavy duty commute schedule, I'd be sticking to the big motor manufacturers. Also with the OP previous comment about dual suspension. It's certainly a nice to have but not vitally required feature for high mileage.

Norbert72
4 days ago

I was afraid to buy it. My phone is turning off in the cold. I bought a Haibike Trekking S 5.0 2017. But I'll waiting for your update.

rich c
4 days ago

I'm with Ravi, no comparison between a Haibike and Rad. With the Haibike you get torque sensing and shift detection with the Bosch. Super quick response on the PAS as well. Huge difference between hydraulic and mechanical brakes. Also higher end components on the shifter. I love the estimated range feature provided by the Bosch computer. My first ebike was a hub motor, then bought a Haibike Full Seven S RX and a few months latter bought a Haibike Trekking S RX. Both are 2016s and have over 1,400 miles on each. Just no comparison to the component quality and smooth powered ride. I've never ridden a RadPower bike, but the Chinese motor and mechanical brakes can't be much different than the Chinese bike I rode before.

hurricane56
5 days ago

Yes, I think of the HF1000 as a Ford Raptor, while the Haibike is like a sporty BMW. The fat tires soak up all of the bumps. When I ride over rail road crossings, I don't even feel them with the HF1000. It's the complete opposite with the Trekking, which has an upgraded air fork. Without sounding overly critical of Juiced Bike, the thing that I haven't been happy with is their Mozo air fork. I honestly think they'd be better off using a rigid fork as the Mozo unit on that came on the HF1000 is slow to rebound and difficult to adjust. I ended up just taking the unit off and converting the headtube to use a Rock Shox Bluto.

As far as comparing it to the specs on the RipCurrent, 750w is a good sweet spot for power output. On my commute rides, the power output on the HF1000 display is hovering around 650-750w for about half the ride. If the RipCurrent controller peaks out at over 1000w, a 28-30mph cruise speed should be possible with street tires.

hurricane56
5 days ago

I run the HF1000 on my daily commute. For me the fat bike is like my lifted pick-up truck with off road suspension. It works rather well with a good suspension fork, street tires, and body float seatpost. It’s also my easy bike to ride. On the days that I’m more tired than usual I can get on my HF1000, turn it up to sport and be on my way.

Compare this to my Haibike Trekking that is also a great commuter, but different style of bike. It’s so much more nimble than the HF1000, and the Bosch system is much more refined. Both have pros and cons, but yes you can make a fat bike a great commuter platform.

Ravi Kempaiah
1 week ago

Not to derail the thread. You should absolutely try them.
Brooks saddles are so much better than anything once broken in. They supply some specific grease for the leather which will expedite the break-in process to 2-3 days. All my bikes have Brooks. There are literally thousands of pages on the web about people's experience.
Actually I tried Selle Royal Respiro back in 2013 and I have tried the ISM Adamo type saddles but Brooks will win hands down.

The closest in terms of anatomical alignment design and comfort is SQ labs: https://www.sq-lab.com/shop/en/Saddles/

Here is an educational video from SQ labs about saddles:

John from Connecticut
1 week ago

Hello Will, Wow, You are spot with your post. I have 'lived' and experienced everything you've written. Your point is very well
taken regarding installing Suspension Seat Posts after test riding the correct first saddle first. My prior enthusiasm was misguided
by the overwhelming improvement the Cirrus BodyFloat brought to my riding experience.

I ride a Trex XM700+ Ebike, for me it was (is) stiff. After a comprehensive professional fit, I felt like I was sitting on a
stump. ( Nothing to do with the fit ) . I was seriously considering returning the bike because of the stiffness and how it
impacted (no pun intended) my back and neck. I installed the Cirrus BodyFloat Seat Post...Bingo a new bike !

Question... I'm always been a fan of Brooks Saddles. I'm considering installing a Brooks Cambium C17. My LBS Mgr / Fitter upgraded and installed a Bontrager Montrose Comp saddle. It's very comfortable and I can ride 'forever' with no pain and neck issues. Your thoughts on a Brooks ?

Thanks,
John from CT

Dan Dialogue
3 weeks ago

That's a good point but to be fair you were dealing with an American bike manufacturer(Trek) who's been manufacturing bikes for nearly 40-years with thousands of dealers worldwide. I am within a 20-minute drive of at least 5 or 6 Trek, Specialized and Cannondale dealers and all of them will perform warranty work on the brands they sell, regardless of where it was purchased. Competition is too fierce not to. There's only one Bulls dealer within 30-minutes of my house. Bulls and others, are just barely entering into the U.S. market and need to step up their customer service if they want to compete. I'm a technician for a local Motorola radio shop and I often perform warranty work on radios not bought at my shop. I can't even imagine turning away a potential future customer because they didn't buy the radio from us.

Seems simple to me. If you sell and service a brand, you should offer warranty repairs on that brand regardless of where it was purchased. If not, you risk losing future business. My LBS 10-minutes away won't be getting my business for this exact reason and I'm sure I'm not alone.

BTW, back in the day, my '11 Trek EX5 had a defective coil fork and Trek upgraded it to an air fork. Trek does have good customer service.

John from Connecticut
3 weeks ago

Wow, Kiltym I agree with your post and I think you nailed it...." The issue is that the bike manufacturers must not be playing fair with the dealers. That is the only explanation to all of this or dealers would be very happy to fix any warranty issue on any bike....

As for Internet purchase of an e-Bike vs from a LBS, for me personally, I would only purchase from a LBS. I have two examples of how
my LBS solved two significant problems with each of my e-Bikes. Before I explain, I'm absolutely in no way knocking an Internet purchase nor the person
that chooses that route.... I own two Trek e-bikes, an XM700+ and a Powerfly 7 MTB, both purchased from the same LBS...

Problem #1 The chain on the sprocket of the XM700+ came off twice 3-4 miles from home. Reseating the chain is quite difficult on an XM 700+ because
of the chain guard design and support. ( Chain dropping on the 700+ appears to be an issuel ) My dealer and his lead Shop Tech studied
the problem, realized the Powerfly 7 had a much better front sprocket design with a built in guard, called Trek, they agreed, sent the parts for the swap
and I have not had a problem. Done Deal thanks to the skill and knowledge of my LBS.

Problem #2 When my Trek Powerfly 7 arrived at my LBS, the Bosch controller was damaged in transit. What to do ? My LBS contacted Trek,
the Bosch Intuvia controllers were back ordered. Bosch distributes via a parts distributer, not direct to Trek and the dist. was back ordered as well, so
how did Trek solve this with my dealer as to not delay the customer aka me...

Trek immediately sent another Powerfly 7 from Wisconsin 'on their dime' and I was off riding in three days....Doesn't
get much better then that.

I rambled on about my real life examples of new e-bike issues to make a point....Without local support, either through a Factory Authorized
Dealer or a LBS that is willing to gladly work on our bikes, Online e-Bike shopping has the potential to become a real 'science project'
If someone is serious about buying an e-Bike online, please go into it with eyes wide open.

John from CT

John from Connecticut
3 weeks ago

My reply is a bit old, Sorry I missed your question some time ago about where I ride my Trek Powerfly 7 vs the XM700+ .
I ride the XM700+ exclusively on pavement and the Powerfly7 on gravel/stonedust Rails to Trails conversions. No MTB trail
riding whatsoever. I'm so physically under qualified for real MTB trail riding I would get seriously hurt.
I really like both bikes a lot. Trek has done a great job.

Ravi Kempaiah
1 month ago

You can't go wrong with both.
After riding all kinds of bikes, my preference is slowly moving towards lighter bikes with aerodynamic riding position.
Once a bike crosses 55lbs, you need more powerful drive system to offset the weight and still be nimble. But, the CrossRip+ tips scales at 46lbs and it would be a joy to ride that (if you have a flair for road biking). Having said that SC does provide great stability as well. The best would be rent them both for a day and see which one you like the best. There is simply no substitute for real life experience.

Saratoga Dave
1 month ago

I wouldn’t write off the Super Commuter right away as a tourer... I like the bigger tires and the relaxed geometry, and it certainly tough enough. I did six days across the Erie Canal on my xm700+ and it performed great, flat bars and all. The larger tires of the SC would have been nice on those hundreds of miles of stone dust and dirt track through the forests in the middle of the state. My biggest problem with the Super Commuter is it’s a bit too flashy! I’d be terrified to leave it locked anywhere I couldn’t keep an eye on it. If only they made it in the same flat black as the xm.

I’ll be going out again this spring on more multi day trips on the xm, the GAP and who knows what after that.

If you’ve already got the road bike you really like, having something a little different - and more useful on lesser terrain - might be a good way to go. Of course, they’re both great choices, hard to go wrong.

jojoboltz
1 month ago

Hello there!

I'm selling the car and buying an Ebike and need your help to choose what to get! I'm a bigger guy at 6'2 255lbs. Weight is going down rapidly, so I'm not worried about limits at this point. I don't want to spend more than about $5000 on just the bike. So, here's my criteria:

1. Reliable and dependable - I currently own a Giant road bike and love it. I like the dealer support from one of the big 3. So, #1 is taken care of by selecting either Trek, Specialized or Giant. Don't like the Specialized Turbo Vado series that much. I do like the Giant Quick-E+, but like Trek's offerings a bit better.

2. Commutable - I will be commuting 3-4 days a week (I work from home 1-2 days a week). 10 miles to the train, and 6 miles from the train to work. 32 miles total round trip on the bike. My 10 mile commute to the train is very flat. My 6 mile commute to the office is a lot of big hills. I've tried on my road bike, and even though it's doable, it's more work than I am wanting to put in before work starts (i.e. shower, etc.). All of this in beautiful San Diego. (Live in Chula Vista. Work in Carlsbad).

3. Useable - Since this will be replacing just my car (we will still have our van) I will be using this to run errands and get places when the van is not available. Most of the time, the bike will either be parked in my office, or in my garage. Occasionally it will need to be locked up in front of a store. Part of usability is comfortability and fit. I like the more aggressive position of these bikes since I currently road bike frequently.

I test rode the Super Commuter, but not the CrossRip yet. I've tested other bikes from Haibike, Bulls, & Riese & Müller. I've preferred the bikes from Giant and Trek.

What I like/don't like about the Super Commuter: It's so comfortable (probably more with an added seat suspension) and very quick up hills. I love the look, and feel great when riding it. It was easy enough to pedal without assist. It felt extremely stable and easy to maneuver around obstacles and traffic. I seriously loved it right away and didn't want to bring it back. What I don't love is the feel of the brakes, but that's a very minor gripe. They have great stopping power and I could get used to the feel if needed. If I wanted to do an extended weekend tour, this wouldn't be the first bike I'd choose. Not that important, but it's a thought.

What I like/don't like about the Trek CrossRip+: I haven't test rode this one, so this is only based on what I've read/watched. I like the road bike feel. I love riding my road bike, and to have something similar would feel very comfortable for me. It seems like the "faster" one of the group. I can see myself flying down the flats in the beginning of my commute. I also really like that I could tour with this one; even a little lite off-road. This is something I would only do about once or twice a year for an extended weekend, so it's nice to have, but not that important in the every day. I don't like having to maneuver around with drop bars in comparison to flat bars. On my commute, I will be with some road traffic for a portion. Navigating through that would probably be easier with a flat bar. Also, I already own a road bike, and this is pretty similar. I guess thats a good and bad thing.

Ultimately, I am wanting something to "replace" my car. Something that I can go to work, and down to the store with. Something I can ride around with the family on. Something that is really fun! We have a van, so big shopping trips and other errands can be done with that. Touring is something that is not a deciding factor for me, but would be a nice addition if it's the right bike. More than anything, I am wanting the right bike for my needs. I'm open to other suggestions as well. I just really like these two. The Trek XM700+ also looks good, but I'm more impressed with the CrossRip+.

So, should I go with the Super Commuter for the perfect commuter bike, or the CrossRip+ for a fast bike with the option to tour?

Thanks for your comments!

Saratoga Dave
2 months ago

3001 miles on my Trek xm700+ since I bought it in late May, another 200 or so on the bike it replaced before that. The Trek was sitting at 2987 until the other day when we got a nice little weather window of about 20 degrees and some sun, so I got to break that 3000 mile mark.

All pleasure riding only, including my Erie Canal transit trip back in October. Love the bike, wondering if I can do 4000 next year.

To Over 50, just a note re my experiences getting my wife interested. We made the mistake of getting too heavy a bike for her, a Pedego City Commuter at 62 pounds. While she liked it in theory, in practice it is just too much and intimidates her, especially after it tipped over on her when she tried to dismount on a small uphill. When I can actually get her out on it, she enjoys it after a few miles, but after almost a year and a half, it still has less than 300 miles on it. I’m thinking about finding her the lightest, most maneuverable bike I can come up with next spring and seeing if she likes that... I’d love to ride more with her.

Best to all, especially the regulars that have been my virtual biking group companions the past year and a half.

Velome
2 months ago

I have a friend that just purchased the Giant Road-E+ Yamaha powered eBike and he said he rode in the lowest assist level for 30 miles and at the end of the ride his Yamaha computer said he had 78% left. That would translate to 136 miles which is about what you indicated.

I have a Trek XM700+ with the speed drive. It has a 400 watt battery. Recently I rode it at 18-20 mph for 31 miles in the “tour” assist level (2nd lowest assist level @ 120%), then 15-16 mph for 10 miles in the same assist level and when I finished with 41 miles on my battery my Bosch computer indicated I had 2 miles of range left. This ride was on flat roads.

AdamC
3 months ago

Only time expect to use is for longer climbs. Rest is all me

Alan Acock
3 months ago

This explosion of new companies producing ebikes is wonderful, but as with any other industry that has gone through rapid growth, there will surely be many failures to go with some spectacular successes. After worrying about this for a couple years before buying my ebike I got a Trek. I hope some of the new companies will make better and more innovative products, but I did this as a safe choice. My ebike, XM700+, has a Bosch motor and battery that together weight about 15 pounds. The bike weighs nearly to 50 pounds. My old bike is a Trek Madone weighed 16 pounds. I appreciate that ebikes put more stress on the frame, tires, and some accessories, but 15 + 16 = 31 and this is lot less than 50. I hope that future development will produce strong, but lighter ebikes.

Gannventures
6 months ago

I've had mine now for about 3 weeks or so. I use it on a 40 mile (round trip) commute. I absolutely love it so far. One flat tire so far. I have more to learn about the bike but I definitely love it. Most surprising thing for me regarding e-bike commuting - I still get a killer work out in! I am seeing more and more e-bikes nowadays too....woo hoo!

Carpenter Family
6 months ago

Any update ? Will they offer a 48V version of this bike battery ?

Gannventures
6 months ago

I just purchased this bike yesterday and took it out on my first ride. I went about 15 miles. This thing is a hill killer! I went up some major hills with a variety of grades....man it really performed. But I will say...when I operated it without assist on even the slightest grade...I felt slow as a turtle! I'm going to be using this bike for a 16-mile (one way) commute to work....this is the perfect bike for it too (lots of hills).

Daniel Rose
9 months ago

This is nice. As you say the higher end model has some nice features as well. My concern with mid drive electrics is they put a lot more strain on the chain. As long as the chain does not break, it is a real plus on hills. But another minus is if you have to slam on the brakes at a light leaving you in the wrong gear, well that puts the electric behind the 8 ball too. Hub motors do not have those concerns unless you have a pedal assist. Mine is just an on / off button, which I really appreciate at intersections. Even if you are in the wrong gear, no problem. You still go. I really like my simple 250 front hub motor setup as long as you don't mind contributing quite a bit on the hills. A 350 in the middle like this one should be real sweet.

R Coleman
6 months ago

Daniel Rose I have owned the bike for a few weeks now. I really like the ride, power and looks. I do wish the battery was integrated but I will get over it. I got a good price and really like the service at my local Trek stores. I ordered the hardware to have an integrated rear light installed lik the Europe version. I also go the Topeak rack, trunk bag. I added some additional Bontrager lights and remote, and shimano dual style pedals. Oh, add a suspension seat post, mine is Suntour.

daache otsmane
10 months ago

كيف يتم شحن البطارية

Howie K
12 months ago

I've owned mine for a year and a half. It has operated fault free. All I've had to do was adjust the derailleur. I tried almost every electric bike on the market. IMO, this one beat the others hands down. It's also VERY fast.

Oscar Schiff
12 months ago

Whats the price best regards Oscar

melonbarmonster
1 year ago

$3500

Sjaak De Winter
1 year ago

Beautiful. because he is so basic.
But also very high quality! I love it.

CONAN-FA18-USMC
1 year ago

Any chance you can always include the frame sizes and bike weights in all your reviews? Love your reviews, just inconvenient to have to Google the specs after your videos. Also, how about some Top 5 reviews? Maybe buy category, i.e. Mountain, Commuter, Touring, Speed, etc.

Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

Have you checked out his website electricbikereview.com? It has all of the specs as well as the category listings you mention. He also has a great forum worth checking out as well.

GNX157
1 year ago

You're pronouncing Bontrager wrong.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Hmm... thanks for the heads up! Can you spell it out phonetically so I can get it right next time or like link to a video where they do it right?

RC
1 year ago

Good website!

gorillashop
2 years ago

What is the range on the battery?

Ryan Voth
2 years ago

I typically get 17 full turbo. You can drop tgat in between sport and tour and double it. My commute is 35 miles daily and it's worked great for me 10 mo tha straight.

Michael Ma
2 years ago

How are you able to hold onto the camera so steadily? Also, your audio sounds great too. Mind if I ask what gear you use?

Daniel Smalheiser
4 months ago

Michael Ma he uses a go pro with a stabilizer

Glen Batson
2 years ago

Local dealers for me makes the choice between the XM700+ and Specialized Turbo. I see you've reviewed them both and praised them both. Which would you pick between them? Thanks!

Glen Batson
12 months ago

I ended up with the turbo x and love it. I did not get to see the Trek since there were no dealers with one in my area. My other bikes are Trek, but I agree with you, the turbo has the looks.

exiledrabbit
12 months ago

also trying to figure out if this bike is worth the price premium over the Turbo, I like the looks of the Turbo more though

Brandon Harrison
2 years ago

Can 'big' people use these type of bikes??.... I'm a former Offensive lineman (+300lbs) trying to trim down and I'm wonder will the battery last with me... I know I will drain the battery ALOT more due to my weight... anybody here have experience with these types of bikes care to help me out? thanks...

Daniel Smalheiser
3 weeks ago

i was 280 and this thing is a champ! and now im down to 249 and going to 200!

Daniel Smalheiser
4 months ago

Brandon Harrison upgrade your spokes

Martin Freeman
2 years ago

250#+ Bodybuilder here with crushed leg from a van hit. This bike is going to be a life saver for me. Only form of cardio I can do for long stretches due to injuries, and believe me... It's a grrreat workout...even in turbo mode.

Brandon Harrison
2 years ago

Thanks for the info! I will continue to do my research, but I think this bike may be the one for me. Thanks again!

Ryan Voth
2 years ago

I'm 220 and I've seen a drop in the estimated range. I've been commuting with this for 10 months and would REALLY recommend for getting in shape. It takes the edge off the first couple of weeks and months. I'm doing a 100 mile race this month on my road bike I got after this purchase. Wouldn't be doing it if I hadn't commuted for 9 months 35 miles a day and got an itch for something more. The great thing is that almost any body type can ride a bike. And for guys like us, our knees can't take the impact of running like others. Cheers and happy riding. @thecyclingtherapist on Instagram

Nick Rodriguez
2 years ago

Serious question. Why do they not make these bikes re-charge the battery from your peddling? It seems like you're wasting energy? No?

Ryan Voth
2 years ago

Tech will get there. Also the cost. I got mine for 3.5k when they first came to the US. It's still niche and they want to grow the US market; not stifle it with price from emerging $$$ tech when the markets not matured yet. Great question.

Steve G
2 years ago

750 miles on mine. Love it. Chain needed to be replaced after 600 miles. Bike made by Diamantrad, a German company owned by Trek. I wish the US version came equipped like the European version, with standard rear rack, rear light, frame lock for the rear wheel. So I added all of those to make it the ultimate commuter bike. Bontrager rack. Axa Victory lock. Herrman's H-Track rear light. I'm going to add an SKS spoiler/mud flap to the front fender. Bought an extra battery charger ($200) to keep at work. I get to work sweat free and quickly in the morning. I pedal hard and fast on the way home for a workout. I have had the chain come off the front sprocket while shifting, but fortunately the chain guard pops off slightly without tools allowing access to get the chain back on. Words of caution ... 28 mph is fast and cars aren't expecting that .. Extra vigilance is required. Relatively expensive, but I feel that I got a high quality bike, and it brings me joy every time I ride it.

Ryan Voth
2 years ago

I complained about the range to my shop. They called and had a charger sent for free. Almost 3k on mine. Good upgrade ideas. Thanks for including the list. Cheers and happy riding. @thecyclingtherapist on Instagram

Martin Freeman
2 years ago

Should also mention I bought mine because of a severe leg injury to help with hills.

Martin Freeman
2 years ago

Bought one last week and so far so good. Replaced the saddle, added a rack, handle bar risers.