Walleräng M.01 Review

Wallerang M 01 Electric Bike Review
Wallerang M 01
Wallerang M 01 Shimano Steps Mid Drive 250 Watt Motor
Wallerang M 01 Shimano Battery Pack 36 Volt 11 6 Amp Hours
Wallerang M 01 Locking Grips Flat Bar Electronic Shifter Control Pad
Wallerang M 01 Backlit Lcd Console Power Lights Button
Wallerang M 01 Alloy Head Tube Rack 55 Lb Max Weight
Wallerang M 01 Spanninga Kendo Led Headlight Rigid Fork
Wallerang M 01 Plastic Chain Cover Internally Geared Hub
Wallerang M 01 Custom Rear Rack 25 Kg Load Capacity Adjustable Kickstand
Wallerang M 01 Sks Plastic Fenders Spanninga Pixeo Rear Led Light
Wallerang M 01 Shimano Alfine 8 Speed Igh
Wallerang M 01 Fast Charger With Adapter Plug 3 1 Amp
Wallerang M 01 Electric Bike Review
Wallerang M 01
Wallerang M 01 Shimano Steps Mid Drive 250 Watt Motor
Wallerang M 01 Shimano Battery Pack 36 Volt 11 6 Amp Hours
Wallerang M 01 Locking Grips Flat Bar Electronic Shifter Control Pad
Wallerang M 01 Backlit Lcd Console Power Lights Button
Wallerang M 01 Alloy Head Tube Rack 55 Lb Max Weight
Wallerang M 01 Spanninga Kendo Led Headlight Rigid Fork
Wallerang M 01 Plastic Chain Cover Internally Geared Hub
Wallerang M 01 Custom Rear Rack 25 Kg Load Capacity Adjustable Kickstand
Wallerang M 01 Sks Plastic Fenders Spanninga Pixeo Rear Led Light
Wallerang M 01 Shimano Alfine 8 Speed Igh
Wallerang M 01 Fast Charger With Adapter Plug 3 1 Amp

Summary

  • A sporty cargo-capable electric bike with smaller mid-step frame and suspension fork options, it utilizes one of the most responsive and efficient drive systems on the market, Shimano STePs
  • You get electronic shifting, automatic shifting options and tons of options in a beautiful, removable display panel, you can turn off backlighting, change the starting gear and so much more
  • With an internally geared hub, you can shift at standstill and usually end up with less maintenance because it's well protected and sealed, great integrated LED Lights, reflective tires and full-length fenders
  • Battery can be charged on or off the frame but requires an easy-to-lose dongle to do so, impressively light weight considering the sturdy racks, powerful adjustable hydraulic disc brakes

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Wallerang

Model:

M.01

Price:

$3,399

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 3 Year Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51.8 lbs (23.49 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.9 lbs (2.67 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.05 lbs (3.19 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

18 in (45.72 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

High Step: 18" Seat Tube, 22" Reach, 28.5" Stand Over Height, 70" Length

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, High-Step

Frame Colors:

Metallic White with Grey Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

10 mm Threaded Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Alfine Internally Geared Hub

Shifter Details:

Shimano STePs Electronic Shifter on Right

Cranks:

Shimano Alloy 170 mm Length, 38T Chainring with Plastic Bash Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo Alloy Platform

Headset:

Integrated Cartridge Bearings, Tapered 1-/18" to 1-1/2"

Stem:

Alloy 80 mm Length, 15° Angle, Three 10 mm Stacks

Handlebar:

Aluminum Alloy, Flat, 26" Length

Brake Details:

Shimano Alfine Hydraulic Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Shimano Alfine Levers with Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Semi-Ergonomic Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Velo Hybrid

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 36 Hole, Reinforcement Eyelets

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Koast, 27.5" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

50 to 85 PSI, Reflective Sidewall Stripe, 30 TPI, Wire Bead

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Atran Velo Adjustable Length Kickstand, Plastic Chain Cover, SKS Full Length Plastic Fenders, Aluminum Rear Rack 25 kg Max Load Removable, Head Tube Mounted Front Rack 25 kg Max Weight (Removable), Optional Front Basket ($99), Integrated Spanninga Kendo LED Headlight, Integrated Spanninga Pixeo LED Back Light, Cat Eye Flick Bell on Right

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 3.1 Amp 1.7 Pound Charger, 11.6 Amp Motor Controller

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Shimano STePs (Shimano Total Electric Power System)

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Shimano STePs

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Display Type:

Removable, Adjustable Angle, Monochrome, Backlit LCD, Model SC-E6010

Readouts:

Speed (mph or km/h), Average Speed, Max Speed, Odometer, Trip Meter, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Mode (Eco, Normal, High), Time Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Control Switch near Left Grip and Right Grip for Drive Systems and Shifting

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 70% 30 Nm, Normal 150% 40 Nm, High 230% 50 Nm)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Walleräng M.01 is a “modular” electric bike platform that combines sport with transport. It’s capable of acting as a light-weight cargo ebike with the dual rack system and I appreciate the way the front rack does not turn as you steer the bike. It starts out as a small out of the way platform and transforms into a larger more capable platform with the optional basket attachment. If you’re planning to do more cycling than hauling, consider the M.01X which comes with an air suspension fork… and if you’re a petite rider with shorter inseam, consider the M.02 which is a mid-step. And yes, there’s an M.02X with suspension as well. I found the bike to be comfortable and very capable, almost delightful to ride thanks to a unique auto-shifting drivetrain. Instead of of going with a standard cassette and derailleur like most bikes, the Wallerang comes with an internally geared hub that can be shifted at standstill. These tend to be reliable because they’re sealed off and don’t require external parts (like the derailleur) that can get bumped easily if the bike tips or is stored at a rack. You get eight speeds and they are shifted with an electronic button pad exactly like the one used to change assist levels. The bike feels like a robot or an electric car in some ways because the traditional levers and mechanical parts have been replaced… but that doesn’t mean it’s intimidating or complicated to use. Quite the opposite actually. the button pads have a black button at the top (for changing the display readouts on the left pad and for changing from auto to manual shifting on the right pad). From here, you can arrow up or down to get more or less power on the left and up or down to switch gears on the right… simple. And you can even override automatic shifting if you want. It’s one of the coolest ebike systems I’ve tried to date and I’ll discuss some of the more advanced options further down. Adding to the experience are matching full-length fenders, integrated LED Lights (the headlight points where you steer and stays out of the way of the rack), a chain cover, comfortable reflective tires and excellent hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable levers. This is a top-level ebike in so many ways, and while the motor isn’t rated as powerful as some competing offerings, I had no trouble accelerating or climbing a small grassy hill and found that it was super responsive.

Driving the Wallerang electric bicycles is a Shimano STePs mid-drive geared motor. It’s rated at 250 watts nominal with 50 Newton meter peak torque. This is one of the most compact centerdrive systems and I think it’s also lighter than the competition. While it doesn’t blend perfectly with the metallic-white frame color, it still looks great and you get safety points (a larger visual footprint) with the white. The motor responds to signals from your rear wheel turning, your pedal crank movement and the force with which you peadal. It’s extremely fast to start and stop so you never feel out of control. I noticed that it did produce more noise in the higher levels of assist, especially when spinning faster, but appreciate that it did not cut out before hitting higher RPM. I prefer to pedal faster and have found that the Yamaha motor cuts out before I’m ready to shift up… not a problem here.

Powering the motor, integrated lights and backlit display… as well as the shifting, is a 36 volt 11.6 amp hour battery pack. It’s fairly light at just under 6 lbs and seated beautifully on top of the downtube. Unlike some of the older Shimano STePs batteries, this one can be charged on or off the frame. Unfortunately, you need a little dongle plug adapter to charge off-frame and that can get lost easily. Perhaps future versions could have a little leash or maybe they could migrate to a single-plug standard to reduce the weight and inconvenience of hauling around ane extra part. Still, I usually leave my battery on the bike when charging and given the adjustable kickstand and overall stable build (not to mention the narrow racks that are easier to deal with than a full-sized cargo ebike) I think it works well enough. The plug for charging the pack on-bike is at the lower left side of the battery mount and has a nice rubber flap on top to keep dust and water out. I had mixed experiences seating this flap and noticed that the left crank arm passes nearby so be careful not to bump the cranks while charging or it could snag the wire and possibly bend the plug. The battery pack slides in from the left side vs. clicking down from above and that allows for tighter frame designs (you can see this with the M.02 mid-step frame). For the traditional diamond frame that I reviewed, they added bottle cage bosses below the top tube with the extra space and I’m a huge fan of that! Remember, you can easily take off both the front and rear racks for a lighter weight, sportier setup. Those bottle cage bosses could double as a lock mount or mini-pump mounting point.

Operating the bike is a one-step process once the battery is charged and locked into place. I love that the lock is automatic, you don’t need the keys in order to secure the pack. So once you’re ready to go, just press the power button on the big display panel in the center to get it to turn on. This display only has two buttons, the circular power button and a light button just to the right. They are large and easy to understand but the LCD readouts above are even larger. This is a display that you most people will be able to read from afar… with your current speed, battery level graphic and percentage, gear and assist level taking up the most space. Along the very bottom are trip stats like average speed, odometer and range. Range is very cool because it dynamically lists out how far the bike thinks you can go given the chosen power level (Eco, Normal, High) and the remaining battery capacity. Again, you navigate through these readouts by pressing the black button on the left pad. The other big feature is auto-shift which can be activated or de-activated with the black button on the right pad. I prefer to shift manually but there’s something to be said for uninterrupted cruising… it’s an experience you might have had on a single speed bicycle before but suffered through when a hill was encountered. This is your chance to get back a relaxing thoughtless ride without the struggle. And frankly, to have any sort of automatic shifting on an electric bike for under $4k is pretty impressive. It was not as adjustable as the NuVinci Harmony that I’ve tried on some Bosch powered electric bikes, but it’s not bad, and you can override with gear shifting at any time using the up and down arrows on the right pad. Perhaps the coolest feature of all is that the system will automatically shift back to a lower gear before you start riding again (if you’ve stopped for a few seconds). You can hear this happening in the background during my video review above. It’s a great feeling, it saves your fingers and reduces distraction which is critical if you’re hauling cargo and need to keep your hands steady. And it’s only possible on an internally geared hub with electronic shifting like this. To change settings like backlighting brightness, background color inversion (dark or light for easier reading) and the dreaded beeping noise… just hold the up and down arrows on the left pad for a few seconds to enter into settings. For me, this was one of the easiest to understand but still deep menu systems around. So many electric bikes hide the settings and aren’t laid out as well. They don’t give you options like the ability to turn off display backlighting but still use the headlight and tail light. This system does, props to Shimano for doing their homework. Perhaps the only complaint I have is that there dosn’t seem to be a USB charging port on the display or button pad up front… or anywhere on the bike. This would be useful for keeping a phone, music player or additional lights charged. And in the future I’d love to see larger battery options as well. The Shimano STePs motor is efficient but many competing products are now offering 500+ watt hour packs that weigh about as much as this one.

The Wallerang electric bikes do a lot of things right and the all-Shimano gearing system, hydraulic brakes and motor work seamlessly together. It’s deeper than a lot of the other ebike products I test and review without being intimidating… that’s saying something. I love that you can take the battery, display and front wheel off for easy transport (not to mention the racks). I appreciate the multiple sizes and comfort options but understand why a rigid fork might be easier to handle for front-mounted cargo vs. the suspension fork. Despite the rigid all-Aluminum frame, the larger tires improve comfort and the position of the motor and battery make it easy to handle and stable (even when I was riding with no hands). The kickstand is perfect for what it is but you don’t get a large double-side stand and that’s part of the “light weight” cargo bike setup here. The rear rack would be excellent for use with panniers but I cannot say how well it would work with a child seat given the proximity to the saddle. Even the pedals, grips and bell are upgrades here helping to justify the slightly higher price. You do get a two-year comprehensive warranty and while the bike might not be widely available in the USA, it is coming from a brand that has been selling here for the past couple of years (Blix) and utilizes leading systems from a brand everyone recognizes and respects, Shimano.

Pros:

  • I absolutely love that the battery pack can be charged on or off the bike, I think some of the older Shimano STePs batteries on the Raleigh Misceo didn’t offer this
  • While the charger for this bike is slightly larger and heavier than some, it’s not the worst and it does charge faster than average so you can hit the road without waiting so long
  • Two frame sizes (including a mid-step) both with a nice angled top-tube making this ebike approachable for different sized riders, it’s easier to mount and stand over which is important if the racks are loaded
  • The racks are very stylish and capable, both can handle 55 lbs worth of gear and the front rack mounts to the head tube so it won’t slosh around as you steer
  • You should be seen easily on this bike given the white frame color, reflective tire stripes and front and rear LED lights, I like that the headlight points where you steer and stays out of the way of the rack
  • Rather than using a traditional derailleur and cogset, the Walleräng has an eight-speed internally geared hub that’s going to stay cleaner, require less service, can be shifted at standstill (handy if you have to stop on an incline and the bike is loaded up) and it won’t mash as much… a nice benefit given the lack of shift sensing on the Shimano STePs motor
  • Whether it’s sunny or rainy out, you’ll stay cleaner and snag-free thanks to plastic fenders and a chain cover, the fenders match well and the front one is extra long to keep your feet and pants dry
  • Shifting and changing assist levels is done electronically with this electric bicycle and there’s an auto mode which shifts gears for you, it’s a neat way simplify riding and it works well (though it shifts a bit soon for my tastes, I prefer to spin at a higher RPM and would like to be able to adjust this)
  • Nice touch-point upgrades including alloy platform pedals, semi-ergonomic locking grips and a flick bell to signal pedestrians and other riders in a friendly way
  • The display is easy to navigate and offers a bunch of settings so you can do things like turn off the annoying beep sound! Just hold the up and down buttons on the left control pad for a few seconds to get to settings, one clever option is the ability to switch the shifting and assist buttons from the left to right side so people who are left handed or tend to use one set of controls more frequently can put those controls on the dominant side, I love that they include battery percentage and fine incriments vs. four or five bar chunks
  • The display has a dynamic range estimator readout that changes as you click between the three levels of assist, this combines with the battery percentage readout to really inform you and keep you from running completely out of power on rides
  • I was really excited to see that the frame has bottle cage bosses in addition to the racks, they’re just below the top tube and could be used for a folding lock or mini pump if you preferred… this is made possible by the side-slide Shimano battery vs. the pop-up style from Bosch and others
  • The wheelset was reinforced with eyelets to handle additional cargo weight without cracking as easily, I like the wider tires to smooth out bumps and keep gear from rattling (especially since this bike doesn’t have suspension, you can upgrade to the M.01X for $300 more if you want that which is cool)
  • Weighing in at ~51 lbs for the larger high-step frame with front and rear racks attached, this ebike is light compared to similarly outfitted light cargo bikes
  • The display panel is large, easy to read and great looking, you can adjust the angle to reduce glare (though you might need tools to do so) and it’s removable for protection when parking at public racks
  • Great wheel size here, they chose 27.5″ vs. 700c (which is roughly 28″ and more typical of road and city bikes), by going slightly smaller, they were able to use thicker tires and still achieve the smoother more efficient ride without getting the fenders super close to your feet while pedaling, steering felt natural
  • Awesome brakes and levers, you get Shimano Alfine hydraulic disc brakes with tool-free adjustable levers, this is perfect for when the weather changes and you’re riding with gloves and need to change reach or if you have smaller hands, the rotors are ice-tec with alloy centers to reduce weight and steel where the calipers grab
  • The frame is very purpose built with an inset where the battery pack mounts (creating more space for the bottle cage bosses above) and internally routed cables
  • With the racks being such a prominent and unique feature of this bike, I love that they are removable and that the kickstand is adjustable so you can really stabilize it for loading, the stand is also further back so your crank arms won’t collide and cause difficulty when preparing to ride
  • For those who don’t want an internally geared hub and enjoy more speeds, you can upgrade to an 11 speed cogset and derailleur setup, I like how durable the IGH is personally though it does increase weight slightly
  • One of the cool settings you can adjust with the display is your start gear, this automatically switches gears for you when you stop for a few seconds so you don’t have to struggle when starting out again! This is only possible with the internally geared hub
  • I LOVE that you can turn off the backlight for the display if you want, I like to ride at night with my lights on but sometimes the bright screen can be distracting, this is a cool feature that not many displays (even from big companies) offer, you can even change the background from black to white depending on what’s easier to read… very cool but not difficult to figure out and adjust, the interface is one of my favorites
  • The motor and battery weight are positioned right where you want them for optimal handling and lifting of the bike, they don’t take up space on the racks and are out of the way – low and center

Cons:

  • While it’s great that you can now charge the Shimano battery on the frame (reducing the chances of dropping it and just the hassle of unlocking it etc.) there’s a dongle plug adaptor that you need to keep to charge it when off the bike… and that could get lost easily, I’d prefer just one plug type for the pack and frame mount
  • The Shimano drive system tends to be responsive but slightly less powerful than competing products from Bosch and Yamaha, I didn’t have a problem with it but also wasn’t hauling a lot of gear or climbing steep hills
  • Wallerang is new to the US but somehow connected to Blix which has been here for a couple of years and has a decent dealer network, when you’re spending more for a product it’s nice to have bigger brands like Shimano connected to it and places to go for help, I’m not sure how widely distributed the Wallerang is at this point
  • The rubber cover for the charge port on the lower left area of the battery mount interface just didn’t stick in very well, I’d like that to be easier to plug in so that it always gets set before rides (keeping dust and water out of the sensitive parts)
  • I’d probably opt for a 31.6 mm suspension seat post if I got the non-suspension version of the Walleräng, I think it would manage cargo better not having a suspension fork but I care about comfort and might also switch to a mid-rise bar so I wouldn’t be bent so far forward (I already raised the stem and had it angled up but the flat bar is more sporty which is confusing on a semi-cargo bike)
  • Much like the Bosch motor, I could hear the Shimano motor a bit more than Yamaha or Impulse (at least some of the older Impulse systems), it’s not terrible but tends to become louder when pedaling at higher RPM in the high power level
  • I was riding a demo bike so not sure if this is due to wear and tear but the internally geared hub would occasional tick while trying to shift, it didn’t happen a lot but might be a signal for a tuneup

Resources:

Anthony Cheng
11 months ago

In the Cons where you were comparing drive system you wrote “from Bosch and Shimano”, did you mean something else? Cheers

Reply
Court Rye
11 months ago

Ahh, great catch there Anthony! I meant Bosch and Yamaha, thank you… just put in a fix and it should appear once the cache clears. Appreciate your feedback :)

Reply
BUD
10 months ago

I have been using this bike as my daily commuter (40 miles a day) for a couple of weeks. Changed the seat post to a suspension post, the saddle, and the pedals. So far I’m pretty happy with the bike and the Shimano Steps system. Electronic shifting works well but you do get the occasional ratcheting noise from the hub. This is quickly sorted if you stop pedaling for a second. Auto-shift is great on good pavement, on cobblestones and very short inclines it sometimes misses to choose the correct gear. It’s best to resort to manual in these circumstances.

One point of concern is the Shimano chain tensioner. This is not a spring tensioner and needs to be adjusted manually. I managed to pull the chain off the rear sprocket twice because the chain tension wasn’t tight enough. If the chain is too loose it will derail on bumpy pavement.

You should also get the Shimano tool (TL-EW02) to disconnect and connect the electric cable to the shift motor. The cable is very frail and as Shimano states in the manual is not meant to be disconnected frequently. A shame Walleräng doesn’t include the tool with the bike.

Reply
Court Rye
10 months ago

Hi BUD, you’ve brought up several important points. This is exactly the sort of feedback that I don’t get with my limited tests so THANK YOU for recommending the tool, talking about performance on cobblestones and mentioning the chain tensioner. I’m sure this will help others to learn how to better ride the bike and maintain it and might even reach Shimano to guide future product development. I hope the Walleräng holds up well for you in the future, feel free to share other updates as you continue to ride :)

Reply
BUD
3 months ago

At this time I would like to update my review of the Walleräng. In my first post I mentioned the problems I experienced with the chain derailing. These problems persisted, on average this happened twice a week. Not ideal for a bike bought for your daily commute… I contacted Walleräng directly to get this problem fixed. At first they send a replacement chain tensioner to the dealer, the dealer also checked if the chain line was properly aligned. Unfortunately this didn’t solve the problem, the frequent derailing of the chain wasn’t fixed. I noticed that the original chain tensioner (Shimano CT S-510) failed to maintain the proper chain tension, maybe caused by the sudden torque of the motor. When the chain is too loose it will derail very easily.

Securing the adjustment bolt with strong LocTite helped to reduce the frequency of the breakdowns a bit but wasn’t a permanent fix. Walleräng acknowledged the problem and proposed to replace the chain tensioner with a Shimano CT S-500 tensioner. This is a spring chain tensioner and it absorbs the chain slap without losing proper tension. It took a lot of e mails and several months(!) of patience but Walleräng sent the chain tensioner, a new dropout to mount the new tensioner and the CT S-500 to the bike shop and the problem is finally sorted. I have been using the bike with the new tensioner for a couple of weeks now and the chain hasn’t derailed once.

Also a word on the auto shifting functions of the Di2 system. I have completely stopped using auto shift since it is very harsh on the Alfine gear hub. I now change gears manually and even stop pedaling while shifting. The Alfine shifts a lot better (and quieter) when there’s no pressure on the pedals. For that reason I also disabled the auto downshift function at standstill, with auto downshift engaged the hub sometimes seemed to be in between two gears when riding off. The only drawback on manual shifting to me is that the shift buttons are too small, especially when wearing winter gloves. A trigger system would be a lot better than these small buttons.

The Walleräng, like any bike, has its flaws and its strong points. However, based on my experience, the M.01 with the original CT S-510 chain tensioner is not recommended. In fact, I would walk away from any E bike that uses this chain tensioner.

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Thanks for your thorough feedback Bud! I’m glad you were able to get help, adjust how you ride the bike to minimize failure, and share all of this valuable information with me and other owners or prospective buyers. Hope the bike can hold up for your commute, share updates any time.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Brant Havro
1 week ago

Hazel,

Do you know if the bike shop updated the bike?

Hazel Russell
1 week ago

My Shimano steps fails with E10 in under 42km, and I’ve done 1200km, used as a daily commute of 23km each way each day.
My bike is a Wallerang and I choose it partly based on the Shimano system. It’s a big old bicycle parts manufacturer and supplier, sure to be a good product.
Wrong, Shimano has been rubbish.
The bike shop has checked the system and follow Shimano recommendations. Their recommendation is that I remove and reinstall the battery.
Now, in order to get it fixed Shimano wants the parts, so I’m bike less for 2-3 weeks.
Lift your game Shimano, this is evidently a faulty system, acknowledging that and replace the system.
My advice, seriously consider the alternative Yamaha and Bosch systems, and discuss warranty services.
Hazel.

Aixa
1 week ago

Accesories and security: some non-standard measurements to be aware of.

Got my awesome Walleräng M02 from Tacoma Bike and of course it needed some accesories. Got new grips
with bar end, Ergon GP 3, got a Bush & Muller e-bike mirror shipped in from Propel Bikes and from Germary Pitlock security axle and nuts front (set 04) and back (set SH38). Also for the seat post set 14 seat post clamp and securing bolt. (31.8 mm)

Most of it went well. But the seat clamp pitlock does not fit, of course, because 31.8 mm is the diameter of the seat post, not the outer diameter of the seatpost frame tube. I don’t have a caliper but at the bike shop I was told that the correct size is 35.8 or 36 mm. Pitlock does not have this size available. Even if you try to use the 31.8mm clamp to block tampering with saddle screw (as suggested in Pitlock site) that won’t work either because the clamp has a lip that prevents it from going up the seatpost tube. At some point I will try to file this lip down and try again.

The real bummer was trying to install the mirror. The handlebar ends are quite narrow and the wonderful Bush & Muller folding e-bike mirror did not fit, actually none of the mirrors at the store would fit inside either. So I opted to change the handle bar. Great opportunity to get myself more upright. I got a handle bar with a little more rise and a 30 degree angle stem. Almost ready to commute, already gone from ridding 5 miles bored at gym to 20 miles with least assistance I am able to. Go ride!

e-boy
2 months ago

Over50
2 months ago

Wallerang Tapper:

Over50
2 months ago

Congrats on such a nice bike. I rode it last year at an ebike expo and it has a lot to offer. I sure like the looks of their new Tapper with the Steps 8000. Looks like Wallerang is building some great product.

MLB
3 months ago

Wow, you picked some real interesting choices! Are you even aware that GenZ is Manhindra (sp) one of the largest manufacturers of heavy equipment and automobiles in the world. Don't think they are going anywhere.
Bulls is one of the real success stories of Ebikes, Specialized(!), Scott (HUGE in Europe), Stromer!!, Haibike!!!!!!!!!!! LOL, you're killing me here. You do realize you've listed all of the biggest, most successful Ebike companies out there as going to be gone............... Trek?? If it doens't go well? ALL the "New" big boys have been selling Ebikes in other countries for YEARS, including Trek. Scott and others have said they may be Ebike ONLY in the future. Sales are PROPPING UP REGULAR BIKE COMPANIES....
Flip your idea 180 degrees and You've made a pretty good list of the companies that will be kicking ass with Ebikes in the next 10 years.

86 and still kicking
4 months ago

Serious disagreement with the assumptions and the list. Direct to consumer, online, and mobile delivery are the future of the market. Pedego is a tiny little brand that just happens to be the largest seller of eBikes in the United States. Companies like Stromer, Reise and Muller, KTM and others have very marginal operations in North America. Genze is a tiny little international company that happens to be larger than just about all the vendors combined.

Mike's E-Bikes
4 months ago

Hard to predict what brands will stick around, but the brands that survive will have the best business model, and not necessarily the best product.

What will surprise people the most, is that many brands that SEEM to have popularity now, are most likely NOT the ones that will survive. Precisely because their business models don't allow dealers to make enough to even live on, or are just poor, or they are naively going direct to market on-line.

These brands in no particular order that will most likely struggle:
Evelo
Pedego
Juiced
GoCycle
BigCat
BikTrix
BionX
Dillenger
E-Joe
E-Rad
Prodigy
eVox
Ez-Pedelar
Genze
Grace
Igo
IZip
IES
Jetson
Leed
Motiv
OHM
OptiBike
Populo
Prodecotech
Riide
Sondors
Stealth
SuperPedestrian
VoltBike
Wallerang
Van Moof

There's at least 50 more, than aren't worth even mentioning.

Survivors could be, IF they even decide to keep doing e-bikes:
Bulls
Specialized
Giant
Scott
Worksman
Stromer
Haibike
Schwinn
KTM
Focus
Emotion
Cube
Reise & Muller
Benelli
Yamaha
Trek (though the name may stay, they may dump ebikes if it doesn't go well)

Some names may survive and get bought out, if they have some sort of unique niche they've captured.

None of the above matters anyway, as I predict hundreds more new names will be forthcoming, until the market gets this right. Its WAY too early to speculate on any of this, but it might be interesting to look back in 5 years to see if any of this was right, or wrong.

Mark Peralta
6 months ago

Hi, you might want to check out Corratec LIFEBIKE with nuvinci h/sync. You just set the cadence (like 75 RPM) and the bike will automatically sort out the ratio for you, regardless of speed and effort. You don't have to think if you're in the right gear and just focus on the joy of riding.

Here's the full review and info by Court, EBR moderator.
https://electricbikereview.com/corratec/lifebike/

Here's another step through with nuvinci h/sync.

Dave F.
6 months ago

Many thanks for all your suggestions:
JayVee - Thanks for the Wallerang suggestion, it looks like a good bike, and I've found a dealer and scheduled a test ride.
Scrambler - Thanks for the NuVinci CVT suggestion. I had not thought of that, but it looks good. I am familiar with Felt as my wife previously rode a Felt road bike and liked it. I'm not familiar with Evelo but will look into it. I also found the Reise & Muller Nevo which uses the NuVinci/Bosch combo and I've scheduled a test ride of it.
IRA - Good suggestion of keeping the weight low by mounting the battery on the downtube rather than the rack. I will let my wife's feedback after test rides determine whether this is a high or low priority.
86 a.s.k. - You're right that a throttle would remove the need to shift much, BUT we've pretty much decided on a mid-drive pedal-assist model. (our recreational road bike group would likely allow a long-term member to keep riding if she was pedaling like everybody else, but I don't think they'd accept somebody just sitting there on what might as well be a motorbike!)
Thanks to all for your help.

JayVee
6 months ago

Wallerung e-bikes probably have the specs you're looking for. But not sure there are any dealers in your locale. Worth a look though...

https://www.wallerang.com/gb/12-modular-two-e-bike

I've ridden the SHIMANO STEPs with the Di2 Alfine for about 1600 kilometres (but on an EU bike). Very comfortable to use.

E-Wheels
10 months ago

The quietest mid drive on the market at the moment is the Brose motor. If you combine the Brose system that with a Gates carbon belt and an IGH (Nuvinci, Shimano Alfine, Rohloff......) then you will probably have the quietest mid drive ebike you can get at the moment. If you want to research some Brose mid drive ebikes I suggest you check out the Scott E-Silence, Specialized Vado and Bulls Lacuba range. What is your budget.

Zoumios
10 months ago

Absolutely new to Ebikes, and this website, and with that comes outstanding ignorance.

I'm looking for an Ebike that can make it up hills with a bit of ease (so mid-drive?), that doesn't have too many wires and cables, uses a hydraulic brake system, has a rear and/or front racks, doesn't make much or any noise when using the motor, and looks "professional" or "polished."

This would be a commuter/urban/cargo bike. I am in the USA, male, 5' 11,'' 160 lbs.

I've looked at how some of the specs for an Ebike effect performance (motor output in watts, battery voltage in amp/watt hours, motor torque in newton meters), yet I don't know to what degree all of these matter. I've also seen some bikes were the variables are almost identical yet the mile range difference is drastic.

I also don't know what brands are quality and which aren't. I also don't know how much I should be paying for anything.

I've looked at these bikes so far:

Faraday Cortland: (https://electricbikereview.com/faraday/cortland/)
Gazelle NL C7 HMB (https://electricbikereview.com/gazelle/nl-c7-hmb/)
Walleräng M.01 (https://electricbikereview.com/wallerang/m-01/)

The Faraday is what I first started looking at, but I have no clue if it has enough power or not/if it's worth the price. It is, however, quiet and looks amazing.

The Gazelle has great colors, but some of the main parts of the bike look non-durable or ready to break, there are many wires hanging about, and front basket is too clunky.

The Walleräng looks fantastic, has mid-drive, 500w motor output at max, and has (what I think to be) high quality parts and pieces, but it's seems a bit loud. Is that standard? This is the best ebike out of the 3 I have really examined.

For anyone willing to help me out, this is a sizable post, I am open to all knowledge of Ebikes, opinions on brands, opinions on bikes I've listed, and any suggestions you have of Ebikes that would be best fit for me.

Thank you in advance.

Bicyclista
10 months ago

You're looking in the right category, i.e. cargo bikes, of which the Pedego Stretch is one. Cargo bikes are made to carry stuff, including kids (or at least one). Look at https://electricbikereview.com/category/cargo/. In addition to the Pedego, there are the Radrover, the Wallerang M.01, the Benno Boost, the Virtue Cycles Gondoliere, the Felt Bruhaul, the Yuba Spicy Curry, the Juiced Bikes ODK U500 and several others, all within your budget. But none have fat tires. Most cargo bikes have tires in the 2.5-inch range, which is wider than most road bikes and par with most mountain bikes. I actually think many of these bikes would be fun to ride alone.

Lord Dreen
11 months ago

I love my wallerang too. If I knew how to post I would post some pics of mine.

David Cann
11 months ago

Sunset in South Australia. Walleräng m.01

David Cann
11 months ago

Sunset with my Walleräng M.01 in South Australia :)

Griego
11 months ago

Great site! Thanks to all of those involved.
I have some mid drive bikes in my compare bucket. It's rarely possible to test ride everything I'm interested in even tough I live in a major city (Chicago). That's the toughest part about having the desire to buy an electric bike. I couldn't possibly buy a bike I've never been on but with a little extra help I can certainly narrow it down. I would really appreciate some input from anyone that actually rides any of the following bikes:
Trek XM700+
Gazelle CityZen C8 HM
Walleräng M.01
Raleigh Misceo Sport IE
BULLS SIX50 E2 Street
Thank you in advance!

E-Wheels
12 months ago

Mark, thanks for sharing your experiences which are helpful in allowing me to decide on my first ebike purchase
I am still reasearching for a commuter ebike that suits my riding style which is similar to how you describe the way you like to ride
I want a mid drive ebike that I can ride most of the time without motor assistance and only have the motor kick in when needed when my speed drops below the legally allowed 25km/hr power assist limit here in Australia
I had a preference for Bosch driven ebikes to try before I buy but have had to disgard them as it would be near on impossible for me to maintain my unassisted average speed of 32km/hr with the small motor pinions giving under drive ratios
I am now looking at Brose, Yamaha and Shimano powered mid drive ebikes which have the larger chain rings and over drive ratios which will hopefully compliment my riding style and will allow me to retain the traditional bike riding experience and still allow me to get a workout which I prefer
Having an ebike with the motor assist available in the back gound to kick in when needed when I'm climbing hills, tackling a head wind or just having a bad day will be a perfect blend and allow me to continue my daily 80km commute and retain my fitness
My choice of ebikes in Australia is pretty limited but I have been advised that the Scott E-Silence 10 will be available soon https://www.scott-sports.com/global/en/products/249761007/SCOTT-E-Silence-10-Bike
Other options are Giant Quick-e + https://www.giant-bicycles.com/au/quick-eplus
BH Revo Cross http://perthelectricbikecentre.com.au/shop/bh-emotion-revo-cross/
Wallerang M.01 http://www.electricbikecentre.com.au/bike/wallerang-m01-smart-e-bike
Do any forum members have any of these ebikes or know anything about them for use as a commuter who could chime in with their thoughts?

Over50
1 year ago

I'm hoping to ride the Riese and Muller in the near future (its coming to Propel in NY in late October as posted here by Chris). Yes, it seems Europe has a bevy of cool bikes that we don't have here. I guess just a reflection of demand. When I first started shopping I was attracted to A2B until I realized I was viewing their Europe site and most of those bikes weren't available in the US. And check out these Stevens beauties (also probably not available here):

http://www.stevensbikes.de/2017/index.php?bik_id=153&cou=US&lang=en_US

I too like the Riese and Muller moreso than the Wallerang. It may be what I end up with (although not in the dual battery setup).

Ravi Kempaiah
1 year ago

Have ridden the other R&M bikes. Most Bosch bikes ride the same.
Wallerang uses the shimano steps and is no different from the other trek you rode.

Another bike with similar features but with Brose system and 600 whrs battery is this one.

http://www.bhbikes.com/en/bicycles/ebikes/revo-cargo-pro-er317.html

Berry78
1 year ago

These companies have a similar looking (but wildly different) bike.

The Charger GX from R&M:

The M.01 from Wallerang:

Has anyone ridden either (or both) of these bikes?

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the looks of these (R&M a smidge more ;) ).

David1
2 years ago

Happy B-day Court. My present is a site called ebikereviews.com.au. A new Swedish e-bike called the Wallerang M.01, -- U.S. availability 4k. , with Steps tranmission and automatic shifting. You will love the camera setup . It rotates on a pole, with two cameras mounted on the reviewers helmet. Thanks for all you do. Your videos are great from Interbike.

Aixa Ardín
3 months ago

I just rode this one today. Awesome feel to have the motor and gears work together automatically. Thanks for the video, it helped a lot to finally move forward and buy it!

Joey Love
3 months ago

This bike is amazing.

Vivek Nayak
10 months ago

Nice review, appreciate you taking the time to cover all the details. If you don't mind my asking, what size was the bike and how tall are you?

Ethan Lapenti
11 months ago

Capacity / Top speed / Options to order with different motors ?

Kalle Blomqvist
11 months ago

It's designed and built close to where I live in Gotheburg, Sweden. Met the CEO, Carl Walleräng, on a bicycle fair a couple of weeks ago :-)

David Högborg
11 months ago

Nice comprehensive review as usual! I've been commuting every day though rain and on snow with my M.01 and it's worked great. I love the front basket and the auto shift.

visualray
11 months ago

I like how integrated everything is and how you can control the lights and gears directly from the screen/control unit.

James Bighands
11 months ago

Another great review Court. Its a shame the blue skies are messed up with chemtrails.

Couch_Ech
11 months ago

Hello! I'm planing to buy Haibike Fullseven S 2017 with 350w bosch motor and 45km/h speed. Problem is that bike has front 20t sprocket and most of the mountain bikes you reviewed with bosch system they all have 16t front sprocket. How hard will it be to ride this bike uphill in the first gear with turbo mode on 19% step hill? Will i get the same experience like other haibike with bosch motor and smaller front sprocket?

Aundreen Mitchell
11 months ago

One other thing... any owners look at the welds on your Wallerang and compare them to another bike? They did a fantastic job sanding them down and making them smooth. Look and the joints went Court zooms into the frame. That was a small, but really awesome design ascetic that I loved.

Aundreen Mitchell
11 months ago

I own and love this bike. I ride it 20 miles round trip to work 3-4 days a week. Only change I made was the handle bar and grips. Charging is reasonable, and the shifting is smooth and can hold a ton of weight. Great review Court!

people for progress
10 months ago

Lol. I bought cheap chinese ebike 2 years ago for 400 $ and you are brainwashed by these fags. Spend more than 700 on any bike is stupid. Japanese and netherlands use cheap old bikes and dont give a fuck about hype.

Aundreen Mitchell
11 months ago

Thank you!

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Thanks Aundreen, it's awesome to hear from a real owner, sounds like you get an excellent workout on this thing pretty regularly... I love commuting to work by bike, clears the mind :)

stephopal opal
11 months ago

Great review! Greetings from New Orleans, Louisiana StephanieOpal

David Cann
11 months ago

Great review! I have a Walleräng M.01 that I ride almost every day. It's absolutely brilliant.

David Cann
11 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com just over 6 months. I've done about 2,500km. Absolutely love it, such a comfortable bike. I did have a hub failure in the first week but that was quickly sorted by Shimano in Oz. I also get that clicking sound that you experienced during shifts from time to time but I'm not too stressed. Mine is an earlier version so no USB or onboard charging. The new display is also superior to mine. I Just love climbing hills with it. I love your work, I can't believe how much bike stuff is in your head hahaa.. Keep it up :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Nice! Have you had it very log David? I appreciate your comment :)

Nubianette
11 months ago

Nice! I'll have to put this on my check out list. A bit more than I want to pay, but it seems worth it.

Nubianette
11 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com well, I live in the SF Bay Area, there must be some place. Otherwise, I have other options. I will be in Copenhagen next month. No, I won't bring a bike back, but it's so tempting!

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Yeah, it's a solid option, hopefully there's a shop nearby that has one you can take out :D

F r e e l e e
11 months ago

A cargo bike is best if its a trike.

F r e e l e e
11 months ago

Thanks its beautiful.

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

What about... this one! https://electricbikereview.com/virtue-cycles/gondoliere-plus/

NYCeWheels
11 months ago

Nice review Court! This is one of our favorite bikes out there, so many options!

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Sweet! I could see this being a great option in NYC, the racks coming off easily is key... but nice to have them for moving days :)

terry oneill
11 months ago

nice review , im getting my kalkhoff agattu 17 next week thanks ,from the uk ,you made my mind up lol cheers

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Nice, glad the site has helped you terry, I appreciate your comment! Ride safe :D

Bob A
11 months ago

Nice review and really like the auto electronic shifters. Probably good for some light grocery shopping etc. Looks like the bike is made in Sweden! The ads show a very beautiful Swedish model which makes the bike even look more cosmetically vibrant!

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Ha! I'd love to see that ad :P

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
11 months ago

EBR is like the university of ebike tutorials, LOL 😀. We love your videos Courtney. the information, data, knowledge and overall effort, are pretty much along-the-lines of being perfect.

Thank you.

We appreciate you.

Daniel Smalheiser
4 months ago

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS. Same

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
11 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com You're welcome sir, keep up the good work 😉.

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Wow, that's an awesome compliment, I often feel like I'm falling short and can do so much more... but have to balance with SOOO many awesome bikes. I try my best, really appreciate your feedback and also welcome ideas to improve :)

Fat Bike Freak
11 months ago

He said dongle...haha...

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

...plug it in?!