Benno Boost E 10D Review

Benno Boost E 10d Electric Bike Review
Benno Boost E 10d
Benno Boost E 10d Bosch Performance Line 350 Watt Mid Drive
Benno Boost E 10d Bosch Powerpack Downtube Battery
Benno Boost E 10d Rubber Ergonomic Grips Bosch Intuvia Display
Benno Boost E 10d Supernova E3 E Bike V6s Headlight
Benno Boost E 10d Alloy Fenders 24 Wheels
Benno Boost E 10d Extra Long Cargo Rack With Pannier Rails
Benno Boost E 10d Shimano Deore Lx Components
Benno Boost E 10d Electric Bike Review
Benno Boost E 10d
Benno Boost E 10d Bosch Performance Line 350 Watt Mid Drive
Benno Boost E 10d Bosch Powerpack Downtube Battery
Benno Boost E 10d Rubber Ergonomic Grips Bosch Intuvia Display
Benno Boost E 10d Supernova E3 E Bike V6s Headlight
Benno Boost E 10d Alloy Fenders 24 Wheels
Benno Boost E 10d Extra Long Cargo Rack With Pannier Rails
Benno Boost E 10d Shimano Deore Lx Components

Summary

  • A compact cargo-style electric bike with sturdy 24" wheels, comfortable 2.6" diameter tires and a premium drive system from Bosch
  • Low balanced weight distribution, removable battery and display panel, premium integrated lights by Supernova, Micro USB charging ports and three color choices
  • Solid 10-speed drivetrain from Shimano, the motor offers shift detection for reduced wear on the chain and sprockets, powerful hydraulic disc brakes also from Shimano
  • No suspension elements, currently only available in one frame size, new to the US and possibly harder to locate at dealers for test rides, solid one year warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Benno

Model:

Boost E 10D

Price:

$4,299

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Cargo

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Yeaer Components, 2 Year Motor Battery and Control System

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

57 lbs (25.85 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.7 lbs (2.58 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

19" Seat Tube, 23.5" Reach, 28" Stand Over Height, 74" Length

Frame Types:

Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Neon Yellow, Matte Anthracite Gray, Putty Gray

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid CRMO Steel, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Quick Release Skewer, Replaceable Derailleur Hanger

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Front Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore LX, 11-34T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore XT Triggers on Right

Cranks:

FSA Alloy 170 mm Crank Arms, 20T Chainring with Plastic Guard

Pedals:

VP Aluminum Alloy Wide Platform

Headset:

FSA 1-1/8" with Two 20 mm Risers and One 10 mm Riser

Stem:

Custom Alloy 50 mm Length

Handlebar:

Alloy, High Rise, 140 mm Rise, 27" Length

Brake Details:

Shimano Deore Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Shimano Deore Levers with Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Benno Branded Rubber, Ergonomic, Locking

Saddle:

Benno Wide Faux Leather Saddle with Handle

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall Alloy, Stainless Reinforcement Eyelets and Nipples, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black

Tire Brand:

Benno Dual Sport, 24" x 2.6"

Wheel Sizes:

24 in (60.96cm)

Tire Details:

35 to 45 PSI, 60 TPI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Extra Wide Alloy Fenders, Extra Long Cargo Rack with Pannier Rails 50 kg (110 lb) Max Weight, Supernova 3 LED Integrated Rear Light, Supernova E3 E-Bike V6s Integrated Headlight, Adjustable Length Center Mount Kickstand, Optional Utility Pannier Bags, Optional Utility Front Tray, Optional Utility Front Tray Bag, Optional Baby Seat Adapter

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 4 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

570 watts

Motor Torque:

63 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (15 mph in Some Markets)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Benno was a new company to me, I heard about it through my friend Chris who owns and runs Propel Bikes in Brooklyn NY. He’s an early adopter and I always learn a lot during visits to his shop. As it turns out, the founder of Benno Bikes is actually Benno Baenziger who co-founded Electra Bicycles. I’m very familiar with them and their recent acquisition by Trek. Elektra has an awesome ebike called the Townie Go! which switched over to the Bosch system in 2016. That’s the same system the Benno Boost E is using and it’s one of my favorites. As a compact cargo ebike, the Boost E 10D is short enough to fit in some tight spaces while still delivering utility with a longer rear rack. They also sell a tray that attaches to the head tube and provides even more space. I’m being specific about how it attaches because some cargo bikes have a bar and fork mounted basket which turns as you do. These baskets (when loaded) tend to sway side to side and I’m glad that the Benno Boost E is delivering more than just looks and a promise of usefulness. The rear rack can handle up to 110 lbs of weight and has an extra long standard-gauge tube fixed to both sides for the clip-on style panniers. The fenders are another highlight on the utility front and I was impressed with their great coverage and strength… no rattling! You get integrated front and rear lights by Supernova (the front is mounted with an adjustable angle clamp so you can use it to see, not just be seen). In short, this is a nimble bike that’s easier to handle and lighter weight than a lot of full sized models. You may not be able to fit two Yepp seats on the back but they do sell an adapter for one and you may not have running boards to start but the 24″ wheels match so tires and tubes are easier to replace together. They keep weight low and improve wheel strength but aren’t so small that the derailleur hits curbs or have you dragging pedals during leaning turns.

Powering the bike is a Bosch Powerpack 400 downtube battery. It’s easy to charge on the bike but also has a plastic carry-loop on top so you can bring it inside. The mounting interface is forward compatible to work with the larger Powerpack 500 released in the United States in 2017 and in my experience, the charger for these batteries is fast and easy to use. It’s also light weight and compact so tossing it into a pannier or trunk bag is easy. Note that Benno sells their own extra-long bags that work perfectly with the Boost models. I’m a big proponent of bicycle safety and noticed that their bags have reflective stripes woven in. This is key, and something I wish they had considered for their branded tires as well. I’ve seen reflective tape on tires that helps you stand out even more and I’m not sure how easy it is to add at the consumer level. In any case, the lights are nice but the headlight doesn’t shine out to the sides and if you’re a messenger or someone who is just focused on a child or big load of groceries please be safe and consider additional lights and reflective gear. I do like that the frame comes in multiple color choices; the putty white and neon yellow would probably stand out best but the black does look cool.

Driving the bike is a Bosch Performance Line 350 watt mid-drive motor. It peaks at 63 Newton meters of torque and is super responsive. In addition to being powerful and efficient (with great range) it delivers shift sensing which will help your chain, sprockets and derailleur last. It’s still up to you to ease off when shifting gears, it’s a software driven sensor and imperfect, but the sensing technology is better than nothing. The motor measures your pedal cadence, force and rear wheel speed so the bike won’t start if you just rest a foot on the pedal. It’s capable of assisting you up to 20 mph and I appreciate the range of RPM output it delivers. Some motors have more of a sweet spot while the Bosch Centerdrive performs well at a range and allows you to pedal at higher RPMs without dropping out (which is my personal preference due to knee sensitivity). The motor is balanced by excellent hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano. They aren’t the largest or fanciest as you’d see on a downhill ebike but they are larger than average and from a name-brand manufacturer. The Shimano levers are easy to use with just a finger or two and the levers can be adjusted for reach which is great if you’re wearing work gloves or lending the bike to different employees or family members.

Once the battery is charged and mounted, turning the bike on is very simple. You press the power button on the Intuvia display near the lower left corner. It blinks on and delivers battery capacity, current speed, assist level and ride stats. You can change these readouts without taking your hands off the grip which is huge if you’re trying to balance a large load. One thing this cargo bike does not have stock is a super wide double-leg kickstand. Instead, it features a single side adjustable length stand that’s positioned far enough back to clear the left crank arm and pedal but not so far that a front basket add-on would tip the bike. Not everyone needs the huge stands but they do come in handy for large loads… they add cost and weight but the Benno Boost E 10D is already fairly light in comparison to full sized cargo bikes. It weighs about 57 lbs and the removable battery shaves off nearly 6 lbs. Both wheels are also easy to take off with quick release but depending on your environment it could be worth replacing with security skewers. Anyway, the display panel is also removable for convenience and to keep it protected in the rain, direct sun or rowdy bike racks. At the top right edge of the Intuvia display there’s a Micro USB port so you can charge portable electronics like a phone GPS. I love how easy it is to reach vs. some ebikes with a battery-mounted USB charging port.

For now, this is the only e-bike from Benno but I appreciate the unique qualities it offers and can see that they put a lot of time and energy into getting it right. I’m a big fan of the Bosch drive system and noticed that they went with a larger chainring here (which confused me at first), designed to balance out the smaller wheel diameter for a more natural cadence range. You get 10 gears here with a solid Shimano Deore LX derailleur. To me, this is a sweet spot where you don’t drop the chain as frequently and don’t have the complexity of two derailleurs… the Bosch system only works with one sprocket up front for now and the chainring has a nice plastic cover to keep your pant leg or dress clear and clean. I suppose I’d like a bell added for friendly signaling but that’s cheap and easy to add yourself later. The ergonomic grips felt great and used lockers so they won’t twist around if you’re really bearing down while transporting a heavy load. It’s a great bike and I’m excited about how it might empower people who couldn’t fit the full sized cargo ebikes into their garages, elevators, sheds and other storage spots.

Pros:

  • Unique tire size… they’re basically 24″ diameter plus sized tires (like you’d find on a mountain bike or fancy speed pedelec), the extra air provides traction and comfort and the smaller wheel diameter improves strength and lowers weight for stability (technically I think plus sized is 2.8″ to 3″ but 2.6 is still large for something like t his)
  • Cool rack options, there’s a longer cargo-style rack in the rear that can handle up to 110 lbs along with an extra set of braze-ons for bags, up front there are threaded eyelets setup for a porter style tray (the kind that mounts directly to the head tube and offers better handling), they also sell a Yepp child seat adapter
  • Nice fenders, you get matching Aluminum front and rear fenders that are extra wide for the plus sized tires… and given the smaller wheel size you probably won’t clip your toe on them as much when turning! During my ride tests the fenders didn’t rattle at all
  • Heavy duty Shimano hydraulic disc brakes, you get 180 mm up front and 160 mm in the rear, it’s enough to stop you and larger loads (and again, the smaller wheel diameter improves your mechanical advantage here with braking)
  • Premium drive system from Bosch, this is the same motor used for e-mountain bikes and full sized cargo models like the Xtracycle Edgerunner, it’s responsive and very efficient but still plenty powerful
  • Given the shorter frame length of the Benno Boost, you can fit it into more compact places (like some elevators, sheds and car racks)
  • Well positioned kickstand… sometimes they mount these things to the bottom bracket which gets in the way of your crank arms and pedals, in this case it’s set back a little bit and positioned under the cargo rack
  • Comfortable and accessible frame with an angled top tube… I’d call this a mid-step because it’s not as high as a traditional diamond frame but not as low as a step-thru, one advantage of still using the high top-tube is improved strength and stiffness
  • Battery and motor weight are kept low and central (if not a bit forward) on the frame, this keeps the rack completely open and allows for more weight to be added (compared with frame mounted batteries), you can charge on or off the bike easily and the battery can be upgraded to 500 watt hours for maximum range
  • In addition to having a removable battery, the display is also easy to take off and that’s really handy if you’re parking in a city or bike rack where vandalism or accidental bumps and tips can happen
  • The display panel has an integrated Micro USB charging port so you can tap into the main battery for additional power for your cell phone, GPS or other device and it’s right there easy to reach vs. down at the battery
  • You get two awesome LED Lights from Supernova and both are run off the main battery pack, this saves time and materials compared with add-on lights that can be easily stolen and require separate charging or replacement cells
  • I like the cockpit, they went with a riser bar and ergonomic grips to increase comfort and position the rider upright (to help spot traffic and fellow pedestrians)
  • It’s nice that you get several colors to choose from and the putty color and yellow struck me as being high visibility for increased safety and visual footprint
  • I like the oversized saddle with integrated handle at the back, this comes in handy to lift and position the bike but might be hard on a suspension seat post (if you swapped one in) so be careful ;)
  • The brake levers offer adjustable reach so you can fit your hand size and account for wearing work gloves or winter gloves
  • I like the pedals they chose, they seemed sturdy and had a larger surface area with good contact points so you won’t slip off easily
  • Quick release wheels make maintenance and transport easier but you might want to swap them with security hardware to prevent tampering and theft depending on your locale
  • Internally routed shifting, brake and motor cables help to reduce snags and keep the bike looking good
  • Reinforced spokes and rim eyelets reduce breaking and cracking under load
  • The control pad is very easy to reach while riding, you don’t have to take your left hand off the grip in order to arrow up or down in assist power level or change the display readout and that’s extra important if you’re carrying heavy/unstable cargo and need power instantly

Cons:

  • Despite having large tires, this bike can feel a little stiff (especially if they’re fully inflated for a full load), there’s no suspension so if you’re sensitive like me, consider adding a 31.2 mm Thudbuster seat post suspension (you might need a shim to fit this size properly)
  • The frame is only available in one size at this time and while it works okay (and actually pretty well for shorter riders) some taller people might feel scrunched, consider tipping the bars forward to extend reach and really raising that seat
  • Minor gripe here but it would be nice if the tires had reflective sidewall stripes (especially since they were already customized to say Benno on the side)… the LED lights are great but the Supernova headlight doesn’t shine through the sides at all, keep in mind that a brighter colored frame will help increase your visual footprint
  • I’m glad they included a slap guard to protect your right chainstay but wish it was a little longer… just given the stretched out tubing here it might get nicked in places that aren’t fully covered if you ride on very bumpy terrain
  • Benno Bikes are new to the US and may not be available to test ride and purchase in as many locations, on the upside however, Benno was the co-founder of Electra which made great bicycles and was well respected in the space
  • I wouldn’t want to compromise the frame strength but it would be nice to have bottle cage bosses, perhaps under the top tube? Seems like there’s room for a cage, min-pump or lock there
  • The Bosch motor is super quick to start and stop but it rotates at roughly two times your normal pedal cadence and I’ve noticed that there is a little whine sound that is produced which is slightly more audible than some other systems
  • depending on your cargo needs, it would be nice to have a double-side kickstand for added stability when loading, I do like that the single side stand that it comes with has adjustable length

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

riverrat61265
1 day ago

seems like a lot of work for little gain, i think the return is 10% or less which would mean you will pedal 10 miles to put enough back to get one mile of boost at best. this is why in part i chose the rover with its geared motor that free wheels and allows me to coast farther and probably effectively gives me the same 10% with less work considering farther coast distances. imo probably the best option to increase range is a second battery. yes more cost for sure but if your really needing the added range then the option of peddling more or more assist capacity are the only real effective choices.

Blisandt
3 days ago

Raleigh Retroglide iE 2017

It's Red. I have had this bike for 60 days. I just had it tuned up and it is a gem! I am selling because I want to do MORE biking than I could have imagined, but this is a GREAT commuter bike! Not a thing wrong with it!

Raleigh's Retroglide iE sports classic retro styling with a modern, technological twist. A classically styled aluminum frame is morphed with a pedal-assist motor that helps you go farther, faster, and with less effort.

Whenever you need a boost, the Currie Electro-Drive Centerdrive motor lets you zip along at up to 20 miles per hour, for up to 35 miles! Sturdy wheels, and a smooth-shifting 7-speed drivetrain to help on the hills, the Retroglide iE is ready for endless cruising. Keeping with the throwback theme, there's a springer seat for superb comfort on every adventure, fat balloon tires, cool fenders, and a stamped Raleigh chain guard to add to the classy looks. And a COMFY SEAT!

Pictures available upon request.

Selling with no sales tax... $1500 It's located in BOSTON Area and I will not ship it... but we can meet if you are in N. E. It's in "excellent used" condition because my pannier and basket have made marks on the paint job. Those are the only blemishes!

Additional Information
FRAME Aluminum 6061, Comfort Geometry
FORK High Tensile Steel w/Fender Mounts
MOTOR SPECS Currie Electro-Drive Centerdrive 350W
DRIVE SYSTEM Currie Electro-Drive Centerdrive 350W
BATTERY TYPE/WEIGHT 48V Lithium-ion, 8.7Ah, 417Wh
RANGE ON FULL CHARGE 16-35 miles
MAX. ASSISTED SPEED 20 mph (32 kph)
RIMS/WHEELS Weinmann XTB26 Double Wall 36h
HUBS Modus 36h w/QR
TIRES Kenda 26×2.25", 30TPI
CRANKSET Centerdrive
CHAINRING 42T
REAR DERAILLEUR Shimano Altus
REAR COGS Shimano 7spd (12-32t)
SHIFTERS Shimano SL-TX50 7spd
BRAKES Tektro Linear Pull
HANDLEBARS Alloy 25.4, W:630mm
TAPE/GRIPS Raleigh Grips
STEM Alloy quill, 80mm
SADDLE Velo Raleigh
SEATPOST Alloy 27.2x350mm

ace20ri
6 days ago

@Bsbs I decided to not exhaust any more energy on removing the speed limit on my Yukon and went with an overhaul of the power electronics all together.

I have not posted in a while and have been pretty busy DIYing. Here is my new setup:

Phaserunner by Grin Technologies (Dimensions 99mm x 40mm x 34mm)

The voltage range is from 30v-90v and can handle up 50A from the battery. The cables are long for a diverse setup but I checked and it can fit in the nook where the shipping controller is located. I decided not to do this since the controller is programmable and must get "tuned" to the motor. There are lots of settings and I am still tweaking them so hiding the controller would be a pain. Really awesome controller that allows the motor to start using the hall sensors and then run in sensorless mode after initial feedback from the hall sensors. Of course there are speed settings and many other fun settings like injecting field weakening current that can pull increase the motor's RPM without a lot of additional current. (Speed boost!).

I also added a Cycle Analyst (CA3-DP)

This display has too many features to list. I recommend installing the new firmware to get the benefit of using a potentiometer and digital input to control power or amp levels along with adding PAS level functionality.

Here are few pics of my latest setup:

Hard to see but I swapped the rear freewheel to a DNP Epoch 11-30 Freewheel to stay in cadence at the higher speeds I am able to achieve now (33mph!)

View of the cycle analyst V3 along with the potentiometer (assigned to control overall power level), digital aux 2 button input (I have it assigned to control PAS levels) and my Lifeproof Bike Handlebar Mount for my iPhone 7+

Close up of the phaserunner:

Cockpit view with new longer 720mm OUTDAD handlebar, Ergon GP5 grips and EM3EV Power Switch with horn button:

Close up of my 48V Uxcel horn This thing is so loud and sounds like a car horn! Must have if riding in city traffic. I wired it up to the switch with a 20A in-line fuse just in case. Only supposed to use 200mA but you never know.

I'm waiting for my YITAMOTOR 36W LED spotlight, I mean headlight to arrive so that I can mount it to my handlebar. Got tired of barely seeing the road and cars seeing me leaving late from the office.

If anyone decides to take on such an upgrade, definitely invest in a JST kit like this. I had to swap quite a few connectors for fitment and wire routing. I also purchased the Bikehand Pro bike stand along with Feedback Handlebar holder.

Lots of information so my apologies but hopefully if anyone is looking to overhaul their Yukon this may help. I will post pictures of the stock Yukon controller connector map soon for anyone interested. I also noticed that the on the stock controller PCBA there are plated through holes which resemble programming pads so I may try and see if I can adapt a harness to see if I can figure out overriding any board level programming now it's just collection dust. I will obviously share my results.

Depending how the second half of the year looks, I may take the battery apart and replace the cells with higher energy density cells. Unfortunately the cells will be proprietary to the company I work for but may be able to recommend some "equivalents" that are off the shelf. Not sure how much air is inside the battery housing but hoping to fit 2170 cells to really get improved capacity.

1/10
Hookwormer29
6 days ago

I just got my motor replaced on my Dash, which I owned for less than 30 days before it pooped out. After almost two weeks waiting for a replacement motor it came, but my bike shop didn't bother to get me the headlight I need (snapped off wire after clipping cables coming from display when display was tilted down) or do a bunch of other stuff they said they'd do, and now I'm having a weird problem.

While riding all of a sudden when I stopped pedaling the motor was still going. I tried to stop it and it ended up moving the pedals, cranks and chainwheel backwards, instead of just the pedals and cranks. Now it pedals backwards and even when the battery is off it makes a whirring sound in the motor like it's running (I know it's not running, it just sounds like it).

I ran the diagnostics and the values are all just a tad off and the cadence sensor only registers when I use the boost button, which makes me think there's some sort of problem with at least the cadence sensor mechanism and possibly the bottom bracket. The OBD reading designates a motor replacement is needed.

I am furious, I don't understand this, and I don't want to deal with my bike shop - I'm the first ebike customer there and they act like I'm a royal pain in the ass simply because I know more about this stuff than them because I've researched it. Plus I get the feeling they screwed something up on the install - all of the motor mount bolts are stripped up and nasty looking - the job looks really, really amaterurish and this bike has become a money pit of regret that I can't afford.

Does anyone have any knowledge of what may be the issue? Is there a way I can contact someone at IZIP and bypass my dealer because they aren't helping me with a thing.

ROJA
6 days ago

Asking for a friend - The Sprite has too much "boost" (assist) even on the lowest level. Is there a way to hack this or otherwise reduce the amount of assist? The goal for the purchaser was to get a little extra oomph to be able to ride with someone else but she is leaving him in the dust even on the lowest level of assist.

Any ideas for how to help here?

Kelda McGurk
6 days ago

Hi,
We are researching which cargo bike to purchase. We will be using this for commuting, with my 70lb daughter on the back. Additionally, we would use it for running errands, and carrying groceries. We live in a very hilly area, and currently use a tandem attachment and panniers. The hope is that the extra boost will allow us to more often choose the bike over the car, as it helps us climb the hills more quickly (and less painfully). We recently rented a Juiced 500, which we loved. We used it for the above tasks, and my daughter was also able to use it to accompany me on longer rides, while I rode my non-electric touring bike. This was amazing to go riding, and have her be able to keep up with me, and actually enjoy the extra miles. Before we go ahead and purchase the Juiced, though, I would like to hear from people who have experience with other brands and models, as our local options are limited. We would be grateful for any recommendations and thoughts.
Thank you.

PaulGee
2 weeks ago

@PaulGee ,
Unless the motor armature is changed, it's not possible to boost the power output of a motor for a set voltage. There are some tricks though.
What this update does is, up the operating efficiency of the Brose motor by roughly 3-4%. Also, the way motor responds has been changed via the firmware and as a result, it feels a tad zippy. It's minor though.
So, in short, the maximum power output remains constant but the 4th level does unlock some reserved power from the system.

Ravi - Thanks for the above explanation. I have another related question that I hope you may be able to shed some light on. Bulls in the US specs their Brose s-pedelecs at 350W (28 mph bikes) while the same bikes with the same motor are rated at 250W in their european specs. I supppose that this is more of a marketing ploy and that the motors are identical (i.e., have the same armature - power/torque) and only the firmware is different to increase the cut off point and/or alter the power assist profile. Do you know if this is true? If so, will the recent update result in the same operating efficiency gain for the s-pedelec models compared to the 20 mph models?

Tom Birt
2 weeks ago

Ann,
Thanks for starting this thread.
My Benno Boost E came in a box about three months ago. It's my first new bike since i bought my Motobecane Grand Touring in 197y2.
I especially appreciate my Benno's utility: 1 full bag bag of groceries in each pannier + beer, the upright riding position, and sufficient assist to climb short grades of 15% - 20% w/out standing up on the pedals! Climbing these hills ("Turbo") allows me to avoid some heavy traffic.
The bike is testing my limits more than the other way around.
I should add that my add-on Body Float seat stem is sweet to my back.

Have you had issues or problems with your Benno Boost E?

emco5
2 weeks ago

..Nice looking bike in your picture!

Thank you. :) In stock form it was an inexpensive 7-speed, but was upgraded with second-hand components.

Does Leeds upgrade their package with a throttle and PAS these days? Makes for a more versatile ride.

Leed has, so far, refrained from adding complexity to their 250w hub systems. For me, that K.I.S.S approach is the value. The PBJ works great as a simple on-demand boost motor with the on/off button. If it had PAS, the motor would be constantly drawing down the battery which would then require a larger/heavier battery. Pedaling a bicycle on level ground is really not difficult, so having electric assist on that terrain is sort of pointless.

A 250w mid-drive with torque and cadence sensing that routes power through the bike's gearing would turn the rear tire with a lot more muscle. With that design, PAS is worthwhile. But, it's much heavier with considerable mechanical and electronic complexity, and several times the cost of a geared hub.

emco5
3 weeks ago

I tend to tinker with bicycles a lot during the dark months. Last autumn, I was tossing around some ideas for a simple power system using an RC LiPo battery pack with a friction drive. I wanted to power a bike but keep it as lightweight as possible. Inspiration came from ‘Kepler’ in Australia who has built some functional minimalist designs. While gathering battery data and sources I came across Leed’s PBJ battery. That mini battery with their Bafang 250 watt geared hub was a far more efficient setup than a friction drive. It was also sorted out... plug-and-play. So, I invested some lunch money and got the PBJ package.

There isn’t much labor involved to install a small front-hub system: replace stock wheel with the new wheel, route on/off switch to handlebars, and mount the battery someplace. I wanted my bike to not look like an eBike, though. So, I spent additional time securing the wires with clear tape instead of using zip ties, and hid the battery/controller unit in a small frame bag. I also laced the motor into a matching rim. https://tinyurl.com/yaekufv7

It worked, and I now have several hundred miles on the bike. Leed claims that the little motor with the PBJ will run for 4 miles. I agree with that. If the route has moderate hills, though, and the power is used conservatively when climbing, expect two or three miles. As I’ve mentioned in another thread, a 250 watt geared hub does not generate a lot of energy, it’s an ‘assist’ motor. A 250w mid-drive is massively stronger for climbing, but the PBJ can’t be beat if you want a stealthy eBike. It can ridden on pedal-bike-only paths unnoticed, but I rarely use the motor on those mostly level routes. Where it shines is getting me back home up a few hills, and then it’s a very welcome boost after a long ride.

Douglas Ruby
3 weeks ago

Not bad! I'm surprised you find it convenient to adjust the ECO mode boost level. I find it a bit of a chore. I also find myself accidentally whacking the joystick from time to time, and using Turbo when I didn't mean to.
Yeah to all of the above. Changing ECO levels once or twice in a 3+ hr ride isn't too bad. I found myself whacking the joystick and riding in No Boost mode for awhile. Thought I had a flat tire!

jwb
3 weeks ago

Not bad! I'm surprised you find it convenient to adjust the ECO mode boost level. I find it a bit of a chore. I also find myself accidentally whacking the joystick from time to time, and using Turbo when I didn't mean to.

Hookwormer29
3 weeks ago

Update on my situation -

I ran through the OBD before taking it into my LBS/izip dealer and the motor came on but not at all fully, and then it would cut out and the motor command readings would flatline. My motor died while I was using the boost button and the readings from that diagnostic didn't match any of the numbers from the manual - weird, gonna have to check that when the bike is done getting the new motor out on it.

I don't know what it's going to cost yet, and I am dead broke. I'm assuming it's under warranty.

There was an open crevice on the bottom of the motor and dirt was getting inside the casing, does anyone know if that's normal at all? It makes me nervous because my town is not very bike friendly and lots of dust in the road.

skyhawk2891
4 weeks ago

Using the Boost seemed to bring back the loosing power issue... At first I thought my Boost wasn't working, but now realise its because it tops at 20mph and I thought it gave me additional boost of speeds of up to 20 mph. So, I was, er *cough* going a bit faster - so it was actually slowing me down. Bu then it seemed to bugger up the torque sensor anyway so I'd have to do the awkward recalibrate as above. And now that I've customised the agility/speed/torque via the Omni app, I really don't need boost! This bike is zooming up hills!
How did you get your boost to get you up to 20, mine cuts out at 13.

Ravi Kempaiah
4 weeks ago

Ravi - To the best of your knowledge does this update actually increase the available power or just redistributes the power among the four levels of assist? Just curious if the fourth level is an actual boost compared to previous performance, that is it doesn't incrementally cut back on power delivery of the lower levels.

@PaulGee ,
Unless the motor armature is changed, it's not possible to boost the power output of a motor for a set voltage. There are some tricks though.
What this update does is, up the operating efficiency of the Brose motor by roughly 3-4%. Also, the way motor responds has been changed via the firmware and as a result, it feels a tad zippy. It's minor though.
So, in short, the maximum power output remains constant but the 4th level does unlock some reserved power from the system.

Rider1
4 weeks ago

This bike is less than two months old with about 150 miles of use.

Size: Medium

Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

The + means it has 27.5” tires that are 3.0” wide which mean great traction and stability! Check out the full specs written below.

It comes with a factory 5 year warranty on the frame and one year on components.

I bought the bike new thru Lectric Cycles (manufacturer of the e-Rad conversion kit) and had them install the complete 1000watt mid-drive system along with the biggest battery….48watt/17.5amh .

Range: I get about 90 miles from a full charge.

The mid drive system is warrantied thru Lectric Cycles for one year and the battery for one year or 1000 charge cycles.

The bike also comes with the BodyFloat seat post suspension system and a 5amp battery charger.

Tires are setup tubeless with schrader valves.

The bike rides GREAT and everything works very well.

This bike as equipped new costs….. $4400.

I am willing to sell it for ….$3200/obo.

Here are the bike specs, and a link to Lectric Cycles build kit that I used.

https://www.eradkits.com/shop/e-rad-1000w-mid-drive-e-bike-conversion-kit-68-120mm/#motor-assembly

Specific

Frame

Alloy 6061 Plus, Double Butted

Fork

Manitou Magnum Comp, 120mm Air Boost

Axles

Front: 110 x 15mm

Rims/wheels

Sun Mulefut 50, Tubeless

Hubs

Alloy Disc

Tires

Maxxis Chronicle 27.5 x 3.0, 120TPI, Tubeless completed by me.

Crankset

SRAM GX 1000 Boost 148

Chainrings

30T

Rear derailleur

Sram GX 1, 11s, Type 2

Cassette/rear cogs

Sram XG-1150, 10-42, 11s

Shifters

Sram GX 1, 11s

Handlebars

Alloy

Stem

Alloy Forged

Brake levers

Shimano BR-M396

Brakes

Shimano BR-M396, Hydraulic Disc, 180/160mm

Saddle

WTB Volt Sport

Seat post

Kind Shock E10I, Integra w/Remote

1/5
PaulGee
4 weeks ago

Yes. It's very nifty addition to the system. Having more gradation in the assist levels make it easier to pick the right amount of assist.
As Kelly mentioned, if you want more torque off the line, that can also be set via the Diagnostic portal. You can play with the setting and really dial it for your purpose (commute Vs MTB'ing).
I don't have much saddle time on the Brose system with updated software but I do notice it's positive addition for sure :)

Ravi - To the best of your knowledge does this update actually increase the available power or just redistributes the power among the four levels of assist? Just curious if the fourth level is an actual boost compared to previous performance, that is it doesn't incrementally cut back on power delivery of the lower levels.

Chic Lasser
4 weeks ago

My state senator is Rich Funke and I will speak with him this week. As I emailed senator O'Mara last week, I am in support of a more open law allowing at the minimum class 1 and 2 bikes to be used in NYS. If NYC wants further restriction they can pass such legislation, as they have with motor vehicle licensing. New Yorkers can get a driving permit in much of the state at 16 but need to be older in the city and metro NY area. For me any law banning a throttle will literally turn me off. I don't look at our bike as a motorcycle but the throttle is more of a boost mechanism for going up a hill or just getting started. Until battery technology makes the next leap the size and a/h will dictate the use of the throttle to an assist function. NYS should get there act together, and if the city has a problem not peanlize the entire state.

S.A.L. 15
4 weeks ago

Final post - The ST1X is AWESOME!!! Resolved the loosing power issue when going uphill by calling the local rep, who called the Stromer reps in the US somewhere... They said to recalibrate the torque sensor - on the bike. That was easy enough to do though - turn the bike on... press the setting button on the touch screen... select 'bike' then 'torque sensor' then calibrate. Then follow the instruction which entails awkwardly sitting on your bike without touching your brakes or pedals. Yeah - awkward! But. It worked.

Using the Boost seemed to bring back the loosing power issue... At first I thought my Boost wasn't working, but now realise its because it tops at 20mph and I thought it gave me additional boost of speeds of up to 20 mph. So, I was, er *cough* going a bit faster - so it was actually slowing me down. Bu then it seemed to bugger up the torque sensor anyway so I'd have to do the awkward recalibrate as above. And now that I've customised the agility/speed/torque via the Omni app, I really don't need boost! This bike is zooming up hills!

It has taken a few days and caused me a moment or two in there to wish I had my old ca. 2010 Stromer but now... Nope. This St1X is just AMAZING! I LOVE LOVE LOVE the torque on this bike! It is just effortless to cycle. Yes, I thought my previous Stromer's were great too, but this one is AMAZINGLY great!

I think what you have to remember about the Stromer ST1X over the ST1 and earlier non-ST2 stomers, is this bike is HIGHLY customisable. The earlier bikes were pretty good for being 'basic' and well, giving you the juice to get up a hill. But a St1X can be customised for your ride, experience, fitness, age... It is a little challenging just in the initial stages when you are tinkering with the hardware settings (on the bike's screen) and in the Omni app, but once you find that sweet spot - this bike is a seriously wonderful upgrade over the older Stromers. Very much worth it!!! I found when I went from my ca. 2010 Stromer to the ST1, the ST1 just rode 'nicer.' But now that I have cracked the ST1x and customised it perfectly for me and my ride - this is a BIG upgrade! I'm even more in love with riding and my poor car is gathering dust as I find even more excuses to cycle!

Sweetwater
1 week ago

I have posted to my specific Haibike thread but want to follow up here. I have a 2016 Haibike XDuro FullSeven S Pro with Bosch Cx 350W system. I have learned of a software upgrade released in Europe and supposed to come to the USA July 2017. It replaces the 3rd level boost with a variable boost function. My Haibike dealers that I've spoken with have not been aware of this upgrade which I also remembered is supposed to be a freebie. Anyone have more info?

Edit: EMTB mode review http://ebike-mtb.com/en/emtb-mode-bosch-cx-review/

edit: Turns out I have the Bosch Performance Speed system with 28 mph limit. It will not accept that emtb mode even though it is a mountain bike. Error

Sweetwater
2 weeks ago

I am so stoked about this specific bike model. I bought one in January and have 260 miles on it. I have had two problems with it, a broken Magura rear brake lever/piston/reservoir and failure to seal on the tubeless rear tire. Fortunately, Magura stepped up with a replacement lever which still cost me installation and bleeding (it doesn't match the original either). Additional sealer fixed the tire issue. I got the Bosch Performance version and have discovered a software upgrade that is available in Europe, will be available in the USA in July 2017. It replaces the 3rd boost level with a variable boost which is supposed to increase efficiency and extend battery life. The Haibike dealers I've spoken with have not been aware of this upgrade and I'm hoping to stir the pot with my first post here. Anyone?

Edit: Review of EMTB mode here http://ebike-mtb.com/en/emtb-mode-bosch-cx-review/

Camperlinda
1 month ago

Decided on the IZIP E3 Vibe+. It is currently on sale for $1499 directly from the manufacturer with free shipping. I added the boost button for $50 and can't wait!

AguassissiM
1 month ago

Hey @AguassissiM. Not sure I understand your post 100%, but to clarify you can either pedal the bike by yourself without any assist; get motor assist while you pedal at various levels; use the throttle only without pedaling (or while pedaling, if you want a quick boost while climbing for instance). The throttle will work even if you are using pedal assist.

For instance, you are using only PAS 1 but start climbing a hill; You can augment the PAS or simply use the throttle to help climb the hill and then let go of the throttle and keep riding in the original PAS 1 level.
@america94
just being sarcastic about SuperGoop`s post
Sorry if i offended anyone.

about the thumb throttle is it possible to add one in addition to the twist throttle and wire them together, one like this: http://www.ebikes.ca/shop/electric-bicycle-parts/throttles/t-thumb.html

1/1
america94
1 month ago

Not to piss in anyone's coffee but all this time I was under the impression that the bike was power assist while you are pedalling not power bike assisted by pedaling.
Than again I have been wrong before.
Hey @AguassissiM. Not sure I understand your post 100%, but to clarify you can either pedal the bike by yourself without any assist; get motor assist while you pedal at various levels; use the throttle only without pedaling (or while pedaling, if you want a quick boost while climbing for instance). The throttle will work even if you are using pedal assist.

For instance, you are using only PAS 1 but start climbing a hill; You can augment the PAS or simply use the throttle to help climb the hill and then let go of the throttle and keep riding in the original PAS 1 level.

Israel Adams
2 months ago

thx for all the videos, seen them all! wondering if you might test a rees and muller tinker/pony? trying to compair the two, wondering especially if the douuble battery is available for the tinker. have fun...

Bob Smith
2 months ago

How many water bottle cage braze ons?

D C
4 months ago

Hi Court, great review as always. Can you shed any light on the claimed range? I know this depends upon rider weight, max speed, amount of pedaling, wind, flatness etc, along with BMS etc, but have heard that a useful rule of thumb is around 20 miles per wH. On that basis, one would expect a range more like 20, against the claimed 30 (minimum). What's your take on this? Also since the guys from Propel seem to be responding here, if they have any real world experience with battery life that would be great to hear about. I know you are probably limited in amount of time you can spend with each bike, but if there's a way you could ride them for an hour, or 20-30 miles, that would start to give us a terrific baseline to compare bikes!

D C
3 months ago

Propel Electric Bikes Thanks

Propel Electric Bikes
4 months ago

Most people see between 20-40 miles on the 400Wh battery. The Bosch display will tell you how much range you have in a given mode, for example Eco will get you 60 miles and Turbo will get you about 20 miles. For the 500Wh you should see a 25% increase so 75-25 or for most people 25-50 miles. I hope that helps - Chris

riceburner68
5 months ago

Would be nice if you could carry a passenger but the 110lb (50kg) rating limits who you can carry. Extra mount points on the frame so looks like you might be able to fit a stronger rack though.

Propel Electric Bikes
4 months ago

It's my understanding that Benno is working on a rack with foot rests for this purpose. It's build to be modular so I guess we'll just have to wait and see what they come up with. It sure seems like the stock rack can hold more than 110lbs, but that is indeed what it's rated for.

TheSimplecanadian
5 months ago

Wow you really know your stuff! Great video, great channel and great guy!

kustomweb
5 months ago

Court, get a follow-me drone, I'm sure you find a spot in the Prius

Benjamin Müller
5 months ago

how about this one:

https://www.rosebikes.de/bike/rose-xtra-watt-3-herren-bike-now/aid:783282

NovaColonel
5 months ago

Very nice bike and review, Chris always looks a little tense, although he's probably a very cool guy.
Also, what's up with that weird german-swiss hybrid flag right above the chainrings?

Propel Electric Bikes
4 months ago

Thanks! I'm still getting comfortable in front of the camera. I think the flag on the frame is a nod to Benno's roots since he was born and raised in Berlin.

Alex NC
5 months ago

add their official panniers in the back and their front basket, and this looks like the perfect bike for me. too bad I'm a cheapskate and that price is looking pretty high :-( Great bike though

philodygmn
5 months ago

What I'd like is an actual Electra FlatFoot version of this bike with weather treated frame and _trigger_ throttle from standstill with walk mode, and also good brakes like this one's. Sealed chain might be nice, def. at least a proper guard, slap guard notwithstanding. Even keeping its less robust FatFrank tires, Townie's FlatFoot still wins out over this bike for me, even without an extra-long rack or stationary front basket mounts either. That handled seat is a great idea that also makes it easier to lock up, FWIW. Townie's hubbed gears make it neater and lower maintenance as well.

Florida Scot
5 months ago

Great cargo city bike, nice quality, looks

Mark Elford
5 months ago

Sleek cargo bike, i like it. they really should have sold it with front rack and bags installed, looks half done.

Propel Electric Bikes
5 months ago

This was an early shipment. It is available with those accessories now.

Darren Brown
5 months ago

what about reviewing some of the riese - muller bikes

Propel Electric Bikes
5 months ago

We're trying to coordinate something next month to get Court out here to review the Riese & Muller bikes. They were supposed to be here for the last trip, but the shipment was a little delayed. We have most bikes here now and it's just a matter of coordinating with Court.

Seb K
5 months ago

I'm tired . Just had a loooooong debate/argument with some guys on another site about Ebikes . So many people have no damn clue about these bikes yet still feel the need to judge others who use them . I was negative about them at first but never posted vile crap about them . Amongst my traditional bikes I now have three Ebikes . Presently building up my electric fat bike (or Efatbike) and it is fast .

grantspassage
5 months ago

YOU REALLY SHOULD START WITH THE PRICE.

cresshead
5 months ago

price $3,999 and a full review here
https://electricbikereview.com/benno/boost-e-10d/

David Macdonald
5 months ago

I wish you would point out Cadence and torque sensing bikes and the differences between them because it matters a lot to someone buying a torque sensor bike by accident not realising they have to work a lot harder than a cadence sensor bike bike court

David Macdonald
5 months ago

Yes I had the bosch system but it mite say it uses cadence as well as torque but if you have poor legs you will definitely have to work a lot harder and yes the battery lasts longer but the reason for that is because you are working a lot harder my cadence sensor bike I don't have to work hard at it with my legs ,but I can put in the effort I can manage, that's where the difference comes in with the torque sensing Bosch system you have to work hard with your legs remember (your) legs might very well be quite fit some people who get an electric bike have very very poor legs that's why often they get a E bike , and the cadence sensor definitely makes the difference the point is for people that don't have a E bike and never have had they mite very well think o good it's electric and no problem, only to find they have as i did paid for a bike like the bosch type torque sensing cube (they still can't use )

Propel Electric Bikes
5 months ago

That really depends on the motor system and the gearing though. The Bosch system uses torque sensing and cadence sensing so you can use the bike in a low gear with a higher cadence if you don't want to work too hard. Just cadence sensing on it's own is almost obsolete in my eyes. It's not very safe as it can be unpredictable. That's just my opinion though.

FRANK ROBY
5 months ago

V good bike.

Tom Thumb
5 months ago

Nice looking bike. I like the black and white. I also like the rack.

Pat Shala
5 months ago

I really love this bike , it looks so good .

Dave Caldwell
5 months ago

Very nice looking bike! Big fan of the Bosch system, it really is as good as you say Court :)