Xtracycle EdgeRunner 10E Review

Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Electric Bike Review 1
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Bosch Centerdrive Motor
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Lithium Ion Removable Battery
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Grips Lcd Display
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e 350 Bosch Centerdrive
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Display Panel Grips
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Front Wheel Hydraulic Disc
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Large Kickstand
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e X1 Cargo Bag 1
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Smaller Rear Wheel Quick Release
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Top Tube
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Porteur Rack
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Rack Board
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Rear Cargo Area
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Seat Stays
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Shimano Deore 10 Speed Cassette
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Seat Display Buttons
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Bosch Powerpack 400
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Shimano Slx
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Rear Rack
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Front Porteur Rack
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Ergonomic Grips
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Kickstand
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Tektro Disc Brake Rotors
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Electric Bike Review 1
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Bosch Centerdrive Motor
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Lithium Ion Removable Battery
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Grips Lcd Display
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e 350 Bosch Centerdrive
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Display Panel Grips
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Front Wheel Hydraulic Disc
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Large Kickstand
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e X1 Cargo Bag 1
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Smaller Rear Wheel Quick Release
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Top Tube
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Porteur Rack
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Rack Board
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Rear Cargo Area
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Seat Stays
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Shimano Deore 10 Speed Cassette
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Seat Display Buttons
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Bosch Powerpack 400
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Shimano Slx
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Rear Rack
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Front Porteur Rack
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Ergonomic Grips
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Kickstand
Xtracycle Edgerunner 10e Tektro Disc Brake Rotors

Summary

  • High quality steel frame and clever accessories combine to create a comfortable and useful electric cargo bike
  • 26" front wheel for improved handling and increased attack angle, smaller 20" rear wheel for lower center of gravity and easier loading of cargo or a second passenger on the rear rack
  • Bosch Centerdrive motor is extremely powerful, responsive and efficient to handle the myriad demands of a cargo bike including heavy loads and long trips, battery is removable so you could get a spare to double range

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Xtracycle

Model:

EdgeRunner 10E

Price:

$5,000 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Cargo, Commuting, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

3 Year Frame, 2 Year Motor and Battery

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

75 lbs (34.01 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.5 lbs (2.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Chromoly Steel

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)

Frame Types:

Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

Chromoly Steel

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rack Bosses, Fork Bosses, Xtracycle LT System

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore

Shifter Details:

Trigger Shifters on Right Bar

Cranks:

FSA Bosch-Specific

Headset:

FSA Pig DH Pro

Stem:

Threadless

Handlebar:

31.8 Clamp Alloy, Gull Wing

Brake Details:

Shimano Deore Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor by Magura

Grips:

Ergonomic with Lockers

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

26" Front, 20" Rear Eyletted

Spokes:

14 Guage, Double Butted, Stainelss

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben or Maxxis, Front 26" x 2.35", Rear 20" x 2.15"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Kevlar Lined, Reflective Sidewalls

Accessories:

Kickback Centerstand Kickstand, Standard Rear B&M Light, Optional Front B&M Luxos Light, Optional Alloy Fenders with Mud Flaps, Optional X1 Cargo Bags, Optional Platform Rack, Optional Hooptie Kid Carrier, Optional U-Tube Foot Supports

Other:

Quick Release Front and Rear Wheels, 350 Pound Weight Limit, 25 Pound Front Rack Limit

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Gen2 with Shift Detection

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

400 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Removable Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, 4 Assist Levels, Battery Voltage, Odometer, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Combined Torque, Cadence and Speed), (Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Xtracycle is a neat company, they started making bicycle accessories around 1995 and found success with the “Free Radical”, a metal add-on that extends normal bike frames – transforming them into utilitarian cargo bikes. From there, they developed a complete cargo bike that didn’t require the add-on piece and ultimately expanded their accessories to include running board style foot rests, child seat bars, bags, seat pads and even a side-car platform thing. Fast forward to 2013 when they were experimenting with electric bike conversion options (using BionX or 8Fun motors) and then in late 2014 / 2015 they introduced a truly purpose built electric cargo bike leveraging the premium Bosch Centerdrive system. I saw this bike for the first time at Interbike, as shown in the video review above, and was truly impressed. I think this product was the highlight of the show for many ebike enthusiasts and I know several who plan on buying it for their own daily use. It’s just so practical (it could literally replace a car for daily use depending on your lifestyle) but also comfortable thanks to the chromoly steel frame, semi swept back handlebars, ergonomic grips and larger tires.

Note that you can still get the BionX powered Xtracycle 27D and the benefits there are variable speed throttle, quieter drive system, more gears (it’s a 27 vs. 10 speed) and regenerative braking with four levels of regen mode. The Bosch powered 10E really shines when riding extended distances and attacking hills but both have removable battery packs, excellent LCD panels (also removable) and a solid three year frame warranty with two year motor and battery. All of the same Xtracycle accessories can be shared between the two of them as well.

The motor on the Extracycle Edge Runner 10E is a second generation Bosch Centerdrive. It offers 350 watts of power with an impressive 60 Newton meters of torque output! In layman terms, that’s 50% more torque than most standard hub motor powered electric bikes. Some of the advantages of this mid-drive setup vs. a hub motor like the BionX edition mentioned earlier are front and rear quick release wheels (easier to repair flats), lower center of gravity on the bike vs. rear hub and improved operational efficiency. Since the motor basically helps you pull the chain and there’s a 10 speed cassette in the rear, climbing and maintaining higher speeds both become easier as and the motor as you shift gears. That’s why this bike is such a great climber or hauler and it’s also why the expected range is so high even though the battery pack is fairly standard sized. The motor activates and de-activates super fast as illustrated in the video review and that’s because it’s responding to how hard you push on the pedals, how fast you pedal and also how fast the bike is moving.

Powering this ebike is a removable, Lithium-ion battery pack that’s mounted low and center on the frame. One gripe is that there’s nowhere to easily mount a water bottle on the downtube due to the space being taken but given all of the other attachment points, that’s not a huge deal and you could always use a seat post mounting cage given the longer exposed surface required by the mid-step frame. So the battery offers 36 volts of power and 11 amp hours of capacity which is estimated to last for upwards of 60 miles on the lowest assist level given flat, paved surfaces. It’s an impressive claim and actually quiet accurate. Being removable, the pack is easier to store and charge inside and that’s good for two reasons: the bike frame is so large it might not fit inside your house as easily as a traditional frame and batteries wear out less quickly when you store them in neutral temperatures. They also benefit from being topped off every few months (I tend to top mine off after every couple of rides to stay above 50%).

The LCD display unit is also removable on this bike and experiences the same benefits as the batteries (except for being charged because it doesn’t require batteries and simply runs off the main system instead which is nice). I love how large the display itself is, showing your speed, battery capacity and current assist level at all times. It’s backlit for easy use at night and has four buttons that let you turn the system on, change display output, reset menus and activate lights. While the EdgeRunner 10E does not include lights as standard, you can upgrade to wired-in Busch & Müller Luxos LED units for a bit extra. Operating the main drive unit (changing assist levels) is very easy using the tactile button pad mounted near the base of the left grip. It’s simple, within reach (even without taking your hand off the grip) and has a nice click action that signals activation so you don’t have to look down while riding. I found myself riding in the two lowest assist levels during the demo but it’s nice to have a “turbo” setting for big hills or starting out when the bike is completely loaded with weight (perhaps kids).

The biggest benefits of any Xtracycle are all of the cool the accessories they offer and it’s great that they’re compatible across models. We showed off the sidecar and front porteur rack in the video review but there are also U-Tube foot supports, Hooptie child rails (that keep fingers safe), X1 cargo bags, foot stirrups, and a pad that can mount to the “flight deck” area in the rear for more comfortable sitting. Even though this bike doesn’t have a suspension fork or big padded saddle, the larger tires, longer wheelbase and steel frame provide a lot of comfort. I think I also tend to ride slower with a cargo bike so that might be part of what makes it feel comfortable. There are quite a fewelectric cargo bikes starting to come out but so far this is the only Bosch powered option I’ve seen. I think that says a lot about Xtracycle because Bosch is a very large, well respected company that will only partner with brands it has sort of “checked out” for quality. The Xtracycle EdgeRunner 10E may resemble the Yuba elMundo electric bike that costs a bit less, and in fact the founder of that company used to work at Xtracycle, but they only offer the rear drive design at this time and have different rack systems. At the end of the day you could probably save a few bucks by purchasing a more basic Bosch powered bicycle and adding the Free Radical from Xtracycle but that would take a lot of work, weigh more and be less rigid. Another option would be to add a Burly Trailer to any normal ebike for hauling kids or gear but those aren’t exactly free and they take space as well. Ultimately, there’s something beautiful about the EdgeRunner design and frankly, given the high quality components, excellent warranty and two frame sizes I think it can be well worth the extra cash depending on your needs.

Pros:

  • Durable chromoly steel frame balances stiffness and strength (up to 350 pounds of carrying capacity) with vibration dampening qualities that smooth out the ride
  • Lots of mounting points for racks and accessories (Xtracycle or generic third party), works great with Yepp child seats
  • Standard 26″ front wheel steers well, has a high attack angle for overcoming cracks and bumps and smooths out the ride while rear 20″ wheel positions rack lower for loading and balance while creating mechanical advantage for climbing
  • Bosch drive system provides excellent power, balance and range with 60+ miles using the lowest assist level on flat, paved terrain
  • Removable battery pack is easy to charge and store safely off of bike (given the size of the bike, it might not fit inside like other ebikes), additional batteries could be carried along for increased range
  • Two frame sizes for improved fit, mid-step design is easier to stand over when stopped and fits riders with shorter inseam
  • Large sturdy kickstand keeps the bike stable for loading (probably the best cargo bike kickstand I’ve seen) and the front porteur rack connects directly to the head tube so it doesn’t turn when you steer the bike
  • Optional X1 Cargo bags are super versatile with built in drains, over eight attachment points (so they don’t flap around), removable outer covers, optional stirrups for use as foot rests and a mesh inner for smaller items
  • Ergonomic grips are nice, hydraulic disc brakes provide great stopping power and don’t tire your hands and fingers out

Cons:

  • Longer chain has more travel and might benefit from an extra sprung gear to lift it up and avoid slapping the chain stay
  • More expensive premium offering, there are other electric cargo bikes for less and you could get a normal Bosch powered ebike and pull a Burly Trailer, the Xtracycle accessories also add up but are very high quality
  • No water bottle cage mounting point in front triangle due to battery pack mounting position, consider an add-on for the seat post or handle bars
  • The 10E has 17 fewer speeds than the 27D that uses the BionX rear hub, this is because it only has one front ring, for regular use I found this to be a decent number

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Xtracycle Reviews

Xtracycle EdgeRunner Electric 27D Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Sturdy electric cargo bike made from the Xtracycle EdgeRunner 27D base and the BionX PL 350 watt motor. Smaller 20" rear wheel makes transporting cargo or kids easier and safer due to lower…...

Nebula722 aka Tom Tucker
3 years ago

I came back to this review as I enjoyed it so much the first read. I think I might end up liking the written reviews more than the visual. Thanks for the work!

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Sure thing Tom! Glad you enjoyed it, I try to pack the best information into each writeup because I’ve got more time and usually more feedback from companies about how their bikes work than I do during quick test rides at shows and shops. In the future I’m going to allow feedback on stats from readers so the reviews can become even more detailed as each model goes out into the real world :)

Reply
Johnnie
3 years ago

I was going to purchase an Edgerunner Freight with BionX for my gardening business, but have decided to wait for the 10E. I’m hoping it lives up to the accolades (because FIVE LARGE is a lot to drop on a bike… no matter how nice it is). I’m wondering what the range is for the different assist levels. That 60+ sounds nice, but what is the “real world” estimate using the higher assist levels? I’d also like to know how much an additional battery is, as well as the lighting system that can be wired into the 10E as mentioned in the review. Great review by the way! Thanks!

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Johnnie! Great questions… I thought additional Bosch Powerpack 400 batteries were somewhere close to $700 but found Motostrano selling them for $900+ which seems like quite a lot. It might be worth checking with your local dealer that sells Bosch powered ebikes like the Xtracycle 10E, Haibikes, Felt electric bikes etc. to see if they can offer it lower. As far as range estimates, I’ve arrowed through the different levels and seen 25+ in Turbo mode and 65+ in Eco mode which is actually achievable. Here’s a video overview that might clarify the in-between levels.

While both BionX and Bosch are wesome drive systems manufacturers, I think for hauling and climbing the mid-drive will be superior and definitely get increased range on the stock battery as it’s pedal assist only vs. the BionX which has a little throttle built in. I’d wait to order a second battery until you’ve actually tested this thing out, it’s very impressive and charges super fast so you could always bring your charger along for extra juice vs. buying a second pack (which would also be heavier). As for lighting, that’s another great question for your local dealer. I know that Long Island Electric Bikes has done dozens of bikes like this using different light setups and if your local shop doesn’t carry this bike or can’t do the wiring I could put you in touch with them. They might even be able to create a package deal for you if you buy some accessories and stuff. If you have more questions or want some personal feedback I can be reached with the contact form to find a good dealer who does custom stuff.

Reply
Christian
2 years ago

Yes, awesome review!! Johnnie, I am in a similar boat. I work for two gardening businesses. I want to replace my Ford Ranger as much as possible. I need to haul 100-200 pounds regularly and up fairly steep hills here in Washington D.C. There may be moments when I would haul more but I do have the truck. Anyways, just curious how your search for a suitable cargo ebike has gone. I have a hill topper and I’m completely in love with ebikes now but that kit is super entry level and i need a serious upgrade if i want to mostly replace my small pickup truck. Ciao.

Reply
Johnnie
3 years ago

Thanks for the detailed reply Court! It’s much appreciated.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ravi Kempaiah
2 weeks ago

GSD = get stuff done.
Really great design. I was impressed that they spec'd boost thru axle and dual piston brakes.

The pricing is much better than Yuba spicy Bosch or Edgerunner or Benno.

This will be great seller for Tern. I know several shops are looking forward to getting these bikes.

Kudos to the Tern team!

mams99
2 months ago

Saw the Edgerunner and all the Yubas today - the ones with low back wheels are out.

Contenders are:

Yuba Boda Boda midtail and Perego Stretch. Seem pretty comparable - with add-ons, Yuba is more expensive...

thoughts on that? Checking out the Stretch tomorrow.

mams99
2 months ago

Wednesdays are my day off. I am going into B'more today to try out the Pedego Stretch to see how it fits and works and if it's worth saving up for to get it. Then, this Friday I am driving a bit to test out the used xtracycle edgerunner with the bafang assist and see how that is. It's loaded with nice accessories and is 1/3 the price of buying the Pedego - but at it's half life and who knows if there's been damage done to the chain or drive, etc (as I see can happen with these added mid-drives to the Edgerunner). I'll have my son with me both times. Reality is that the two passenger usage will probably be rare, but farmer's market, grocery store, etc will not be rare.

Of course all of this thought and maybe all I will need/want is a regular cruiser bike with assist. I do have the Burley Travoy to use - which I did use for grocery trips on my regular bike, but that all uphill to get to the store... and all downhill to get home (about 2 miles). I literally didn't have to pedal to get home except for about 1-2 minutes.

ofthenorthvt
2 months ago

Here is my situation and you all can help me brainstorm as I'm exhausted from it...

A month or so back I was looking into a tandem for myself and my 12 year old son (12 5'9" and growing quickly) so that we could make quick trips to the lake 1.5 miles away, concerts 1.5 miles away, library - also 1.5 miles away and possibly to the farmer's market which unfortunately just relocated. Used to be 2 miles away, now it's 6 miles away. Oh and grocery is 1.5 miles away.

Taking a car to most of these things seems a waste and for some things is a pain as parking is an issue. A bit too far for a comfortable walk on a hot day.

THing is, I need electric assist. We live in a valley and just getting out of the neighborhood is troublesome for me in my unfit state. Two, sometimes it won't be both of us, but me alone - and I too need electric assist when riding solo.

So, ebike -for tandem, that basically leaves only the pedego. Second problem - my son is tall, autistic (high functioning). He cannot be the pilot and me the anchor/passenger. He is "this close" to learning to ride a bike on his own, but he will not master riding solo for awhile and in the meantime - we are "stuck".

But then I saw the pedego stretch listed locally on ebay... Wow! Maybe I've been overlooking a whole market - a cargo bike that can take a passenger for short treks. Park - concerts... I was eyeing the pedego stretch as a drool-w0rthy bike that might work for us. (it sold off ebay before I could seriously give it thought for that particular bike - getting the stretch would mean buying it nw)

Then yesterday I saw a Xtracycle Edgerunner listed locally with an added bafang mid-drive electric motor with lots of extras.. Would that possibly work?

But now I'm torn... Weight limits... height concerns.... Anyone know?

Full disclosure - I used to be rather fit, not so much any more due to an injury (shoulder) that threw me out of commission for awhile. When I exercise, I like it to be with function - walking, gardening, biking to the store, etc. I'm 5'6" and currently 220 pounds (bouncing around quite a bit, but trying to hover around 200... I'm very largely built... my "ideal" weight according to docs is 165-170.... which is basically not happening as I dieted and excerised myself down to 175 5 years ago before the injury and with 7 hours of hard workouts a week, 25% bodyfat, 14oo calories a day... I was starving, very fit... and still 175 pounds!) Anyway... that's a distraction for another day.)

My son is 12, growing quickly. He's 5'9.33" and about 125 pounds and is also built large... he's just in that growing stage where he's really thinned out and hasn't put on much muscle mass yet. He'll probably get to 6'3" or 6'4" in a couple years and probably 200 pounds by the time he reaches 20.

My husband who might join me on the bike for concerts (we live 2 miles from Merriweather) is 6'1" and about 190 pounds.

With all that information, could a cargo bike with spare rider for a short distance (2 miles and under) work for us? Or should we get a tandem that will work for a tall back rider and electric assist?

Edgerunner says 350 weight limit (with additional 250 with sidecar) Pedego Stretch says 400. I have seen in pics more than 350 and 400 for these bikes too.

And is it just wiser to buy new with a new battery than to buy used and mid-life battery/motor?

Just someone please help guide me. I'm getting overwhelmed by possibilities. And of course finances are an issue. We are fine, but also paying for our 20 year old's college education right now, but I'm also ITCHING to get moving on a bike again. I miss it and now that I'm working on fitness again, I don't want to wait forever and ever.

Check out the electrified Yuma Mundo. It has a higher weight limit and is adjustable to many rider heights.

Dennis

mams99
2 months ago

Here is my situation and you all can help me brainstorm as I'm exhausted from it...

A month or so back I was looking into a tandem for myself and my 12 year old son (12 5'9" and growing quickly) so that we could make quick trips to the lake 1.5 miles away, concerts 1.5 miles away, library - also 1.5 miles away and possibly to the farmer's market which unfortunately just relocated. Used to be 2 miles away, now it's 6 miles away. Oh and grocery is 1.5 miles away.

Taking a car to most of these things seems a waste and for some things is a pain as parking is an issue. A bit too far for a comfortable walk on a hot day.

THing is, I need electric assist. We live in a valley and just getting out of the neighborhood is troublesome for me in my unfit state. Two, sometimes it won't be both of us, but me alone - and I too need electric assist when riding solo.

So, ebike -for tandem, that basically leaves only the pedego. Second problem - my son is tall, autistic (high functioning). He cannot be the pilot and me the anchor/passenger. He is "this close" to learning to ride a bike on his own, but he will not master riding solo for awhile and in the meantime - we are "stuck".

But then I saw the pedego stretch listed locally on ebay... Wow! Maybe I've been overlooking a whole market - a cargo bike that can take a passenger for short treks. Park - concerts... I was eyeing the pedego stretch as a drool-w0rthy bike that might work for us. (it sold off ebay before I could seriously give it thought for that particular bike - getting the stretch would mean buying it nw)

Then yesterday I saw a Xtracycle Edgerunner listed locally with an added bafang mid-drive electric motor with lots of extras.. Would that possibly work?

But now I'm torn... Weight limits... height concerns.... Anyone know?

Full disclosure - I used to be rather fit, not so much any more due to an injury (shoulder) that threw me out of commission for awhile. When I exercise, I like it to be with function - walking, gardening, biking to the store, etc. I'm 5'6" and currently 220 pounds (bouncing around quite a bit, but trying to hover around 200... I'm very largely built... my "ideal" weight according to docs is 165-170.... which is basically not happening as I dieted and excerised myself down to 175 5 years ago before the injury and with 7 hours of hard workouts a week, 25% bodyfat, 14oo calories a day... I was starving, very fit... and still 175 pounds!) Anyway... that's a distraction for another day.)

My son is 12, growing quickly. He's 5'9.33" and about 125 pounds and is also built large... he's just in that growing stage where he's really thinned out and hasn't put on much muscle mass yet. He'll probably get to 6'3" or 6'4" in a couple years and probably 200 pounds by the time he reaches 20.

My husband who might join me on the bike for concerts (we live 2 miles from Merriweather) is 6'1" and about 190 pounds.

With all that information, could a cargo bike with spare rider for a short distance (2 miles and under) work for us? Or should we get a tandem that will work for a tall back rider and electric assist?

Edgerunner says 350 weight limit (with additional 250 with sidecar) Pedego Stretch says 400. I have seen in pics more than 350 and 400 for these bikes too.

And is it just wiser to buy new with a new battery than to buy used and mid-life battery/motor?

Just someone please help guide me. I'm getting overwhelmed by possibilities. And of course finances are an issue. We are fine, but also paying for our 20 year old's college education right now, but I'm also ITCHING to get moving on a bike again. I miss it and now that I'm working on fitness again, I don't want to wait forever and ever.

Joshua Cornell
2 years ago

As you said in another comment - reply, unlike the hub motor which throws off the weight and ladens the back end, they do not really use the gears you do, unless the manufacturer has added in some gearing (mostly 3 speed) which is to say modes does not mean it is geared, modes usually increase or decrease power output. However unlike a hub system, the Bosch (350 watt/0.47 hp, about the same as an athletic or physically fit or strong cadence person) and similar mid and direct (as you put it center) drives such as the USA Made EcoSpeed (750 standard with additional 1300 watt/1.8hp setting, you can use as a single speed or triple speed) or the affable lower priced Bafang (750 watt/1 hp only) system. Such motors use the actual bike gears, thus they use full power unless switched into power modes (eco or high performance) you pretty much get the same max speed, but since it uses the gear or gears you are in it can get a slightly increased range. However, with Bosch like systems, they are not plug and play since they require an entirely new bracket mount since the motor sits right where the usual BB goes. Unlike the EcoSpeed, where as the single crank system which uses a second input gear and this setup is provided by them as manufactured by another company, but the ES system only requires a slight modification to outer side of the Bottom Bracket needing only a chamfer to accommodate the new gear set. However with the ES you can use the motor as an actual mid drive and mount a sprocket to it to, which the chain can be routed over, or use the dual sprocket (both the same size) and have a split chain system in the case where you have three crank BB to a multi speed drive gear in lieu of a single cog to prevent chain slipping or falling off and to not have to modify the BB as needed. Then of course with the Bafang it is similar to the EcoSpeed and may require some slight modification to the BB to fit properly in the BB depending on bike make and model but uses a sealed gear power transfer. As you mentioned in the video on your test ride, the mid or center as I like to call mid drive does help bring the weight forward and off the rear, an this in my opinion will help to increase rear cargo weight capacity in which the hub system weight was reducing.and distributes the bikes whole weight more evenly. Not to mention unlike with a hub which in time if and when maintenance or repair is required,you have the trouble and headache of having to remove the wheel system, where as with a mid drive there is no need for this as it is right there in easy access for maintenance or repair or replacement. But also unlike a hub, they are limited for now in the power output (200 to 750 watt/0.26 - 1.00 hp ) but I for one like the mid drive for the greater and better benefits despite the few downsides. Not to mention you can with some customization and extra added weight via the bracket mount use a hub as a mid drive, but for now i rather stick to the 350 or 750 watt mid drives mainly for uphill (ascending) battles since I live in hilly New England (not like the hillier Rocky Mountain Range, and if not going to far or using too much battery juice using the motor alone for a breather without having to stop or slow down too much.

Tocki Cohi
2 years ago

May be informative, but the combo of cameraman and narrator made this unwatchable for me.   Perhaps editing-out the camera movements would improve the video?

Walt Lars
3 years ago

Can You let us know when there are demo days comeing up ?
Every time I hear about them they ether already past or dealers only

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Walt Lars Great point! You're full of good ideas Walt :)

Walt Lars
3 years ago

Farmers Markets would a great start

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Walt Lars Do you have any suggestions for locations or events that these guys should go to? I imagine that currently they just go to existing shops and big ebike specific things but maybe some fresh ideas could get them off the beaten path :)

Walt Lars
3 years ago

Yep none have been out My way =(

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Walt Lars Very insightful comment Walt, several of the brands like IZIP, Haibike and Lapierre do exactly this. They have nice Sprinter vans with cool wraps showing the bikes and stuff then visit dealerships and events across the US :)

nebula722
3 years ago

A rider could do a lot of everyday chores with this ride.  Curious, I wonder how many full time riders there are?  People that use bikes and ebikes instead of cars.  I think in places like China it is pretty common, not so much in the USA.

Joshua Cornell
2 years ago

+nebula722 While its a documentary and does not offer much stats, it does however highlight the many users of cycles and ecycles ( i say cycles in lieu of Bicylce since there are also tricycles and quadracycles) in the USA, check out Less Car More Go. There is an ongoing trailer video, as well as clips from co-producers (participants).
http://www.lizcanning.com/Liz_Canning_Creative/Cargo_Bike_Documentary.html

nebula722
3 years ago

Looks like a bike that can get the job done.  I checked out your written captioned review and found it useful.

nebula722
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Sometimes I toggle to the written reports when I have a question while the video is running and then return to the video.  After the video I return to the written report and read it.  Bye. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Thanks! The written portion often has much deeper insights because I can learn more about the bike, let the ride test sink in and go back and edit over time :D

george04b
3 years ago

lol still don't get the watt hour thing, hey btw just ordered my ebike and I cant wait till it gets here :D

nebula722
3 years ago

+Mickey Mouska Sock it to me!.  Aw, good memories. 

nebula722
3 years ago

+Mickey Mouska Good night.     I miss Laugh in.   Court is way too young to remember Laugh In. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Mickey Mouska Cool, I could use some rest for sure :P

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Mickey Mouska Are you fighting? Let's not fight, this is a good thread that could help people, I'd rather not have to put out the flame war by deleting comments :(

nebula722
3 years ago

+Mickey Mouska I personally think Court does a good job in his reviews and I have learned a lot from him.  He is diplomatic in how he discusses the bikes pros and cons and I would expect him to be.  I do not want to a guy do nothing but bash bikes he doesn't like.  If he did that then he would lose me as a viewer that rides..  I do not see court trying to justify ebikes, simply reviewing them.....at least that is what it looks like to me.   I also like his written captioned reviews. 

Having said that I have an etrike and ebike and both are kits.  I did find my kit bike out performed my factory ebike in both power, options, reliability and price.  I found the factory ebikes had superior frames built for green power.

OK, you can tell me to sick it in my funk and wagnel and present me with the fickle finger of fate award. Remember that show?

Have a swimmingly good day.

Brad Plummer
3 years ago

I was wondering if you could comment on the benefits of the Bosch vs Bionix systems for the EdgeRunner application. It's not often that you see essentially the same bike offered with two different drive systems.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hi Bradley, I actually spent a bunch of time doing that in the full writeup (linked in the description above). In short, you get more gears with BionX (three front cogs and nine sprockets in the cassette vs. just 10 total with Bosch). You also get quieter operation, regen modes and regenerative braking and it's about $1,000 cheaper. The Bosch drive is better for climbing because it has higher torque of 60 Nm vs. 40 Nm and it leverages the rear cassette gears vs. being a direct drive system in the wheel. The weight is better positioned with Bosch and response is better since it uses three sensors vs. just one torque sensor. With Bosch you lack throttle. Hope that helps :)

Andrej Gobec
3 years ago

Looks like a very well thought out cargo bike. That girl at the end looks so cute she could sell me one even if I have no use for it ... 

Hie Do
2 years ago

+Andrej Gobec haha, ... yah... she is cute..I want her to be my girl friend ^.^ .. wondering if she is in for Asian guy hehe!!!

Andrej Gobec
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Oh yeah, I've seen you quite a bit distracted when being cargo on that cargo bike ;)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Ha! Yeah, Caren is very cool... and smart. Fun to watch her riding around with a 50 pound speaker and a guy on the back of the bike like that :D

apexfex
3 years ago

What is this sidecar thing...... " it's a sidecar"...........

Well this is awkward

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Yeah... this kind of awkward exchange sometimes happens when you're running around with a little camera interviewing yourself and trying to narrate interesting stuff with a semi-limited vocabulary :P