Faraday Cortland Review

Faraday Cortland Electric Bike Review
Faraday Cortland
Faraday Cortland 8fun 250 Watt Internally Geared Motor
Faraday Cortland 26 Wheelset Bamboo Fenders
Faraday Cortland E Ink Display Power Selector
Faraday Cortland 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Faraday Cortland Controller Rear Led Light
Faraday Cortland Curved Downtube
Faraday Cortland Internally Routed Cables
Faraday Cortland Gates Cdx Belt Drive
Faraday Cortland San Francisco Bay Bride
Faraday Cortland Scissoring Kickstand
Faraday Cortland Shimano Alfine 8 Speed Hub
Faraday Cortland With Yepp Child Seat
Faraday Cortland Child Seat Rear Rack
Faraday Cortland Electric Bike Review
Faraday Cortland
Faraday Cortland 8fun 250 Watt Internally Geared Motor
Faraday Cortland 26 Wheelset Bamboo Fenders
Faraday Cortland E Ink Display Power Selector
Faraday Cortland 160 Mm Disc Brakes
Faraday Cortland Controller Rear Led Light
Faraday Cortland Curved Downtube
Faraday Cortland Internally Routed Cables
Faraday Cortland Gates Cdx Belt Drive
Faraday Cortland San Francisco Bay Bride
Faraday Cortland Scissoring Kickstand
Faraday Cortland Shimano Alfine 8 Speed Hub
Faraday Cortland With Yepp Child Seat
Faraday Cortland Child Seat Rear Rack

Summary

  • One of the most beautiful, well balanced electric bikes I've ever tested, silent belt drive with internally geared eight speed Shimano Alfine hub
  • Modest 250 watt front hub motor (custom tuned), perfectly integrated downtube battery and new optional saddle-bag battery to double range
  • Available in two frame sizes and two classic colors, leather and bamboo accents, integrated LED lights, smart phone app with range estimation, tuning and speed adjustment (zero to 28 mph)
  • Comfortable 1.75" tires with Kevlar puncture protection, vibration dampening steel frame (that is still stiff and responsive thanks to double-tube design), smooth hydraulic disc brakes with 160 mm rotors

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Faraday

Model:

Cortland

Price:

$3,499

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Motor, Electronics, Frame and Battery

Availability:

United States, Japan, Australia, Germany, Netherlands, United Kingdom, Spain, France

Model Year:

20162017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

42.5 lbs (19.27 kg)

Battery Weight:

4 lbs (1.81 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.5 lbs (2.94 kg)

Frame Material:

Chromoly Steel

Frame Sizes:

19.3 in (49.02 cm)20.5 in (52.07 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small (844 mm Seat Tube, 566 mm Top Tube - Effective, 400 mm Reach, 150 mm Head Tube, 598 mm Standover Height, 1077 mm Wheelbase), Small (5224 mm Seat Tube, 580 mm Top Tube - Effective, 401 mm Reach, 190 mm Head Tube, 615 mm Standover Height, 1092 mm Wheelbase)

Frame Types:

Step-Thru (Traditional Dutch Twin Top Tube)

Frame Colors:

Classic White, Stingray Blue

Frame Fork Details:

Chromoly Steel, Rigid

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8, Gates CDX CenterTrack Sprocket, 22T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Alfine 8 RapidFire on Right Bar

Cranks:

Faraday Forged Aluminum with Chainguard, Gates CDX CenterTrack Sprocket, 50T

Pedals:

MKS Japan, Sylvan Touring, Aluminum

Headset:

Prestine Sealed Bearing, 1 1/8", Threadless

Stem:

Faraday Forged 6061 Aluminum, Ahead-Style

Handlebar:

Faraday 6061 Aluminum, 25.4" Long

Brake Details:

Tektro Vela Hydraulic Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Tektro Vela Hydraulic Levers

Grips:

Faraday Leather Lock-On

Saddle:

Faraday Comfort

Seat Post:

Faraday Forged Aluminum

Seat Post Diameter:

25.4 mm

Rims:

36H Hubs, Faraday Double-Wall Disc-Only Rims

Spokes:

36 Total, 13 Gauge Spokes in Front and 14 Gauge Spokes in Rear

Tire Brand:

Continental Contact, 26" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

SafetySystem Breaker Puncture Protection (Kevlar Reinforced Nylon)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Integrated Faraday 4 Watt LED Headlight and LED Tail Light, Massload Twin Scissoring Kickstand, Front and Rear Bamboo Fenders, Optional Stem Extender Handlebar Raiser $44, Optional Porteur Rack $225 (20 kg Max Load), Optional Rear Rack $125 (20 kg Max Load), Optional Leather Pouch $69, Optional Spurcycle Bell $39, Additional Charger $49, Additional Pouch Mounted Battery $499

Other:

Thun Germany X-Cell RT Torque Sensor in Bottom Bracket, Gates CDX CenterTrack Carbon Drive Belt, Smart Phone App Due in September 2016, Wireless Firmware Updates, Automatic Bike Shut Off After 10 Minutes, Max Weight 275 lbs (Rider + Gear)

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun (Custom Tuned SYXD-01F)

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

350 watts

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

43 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

6.7 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

290 wh (24 18650-PF Cells)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Display Type:

E-Ink

Readouts:

Battery Level

Display Accessories:

Toggle Switch (Off, Assist, Boost), iOS and Android App (Range, Lights, Map, GPS Recovery, Speed Adjust, Motor Power Adjust)

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Torque and Cadence Sensing)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Update! The Faraday Porteur and Cortland moved from $3,799 to $3,499 in 2017 and the review listing price here has been updated to reflect that.

Faraday produces some of my favorite electric bikes because they’re well balanced, light weight and self-contained. The battery stays in the downtube and hardly changes the look or ride quality of the bike. The motor is minimal but noticeable when activated, especially on high power mode or when climbing hills. Frankly, even if their products weren’t electrified I would still appreciate the aesthetic and detail imbued into each model… classic colors, relaxed but comfortable handlebars handlebars and vintage pedals celebrate the rich history of this artistic tool. The bicycle exercises our body and mind by connecting us with nature and each other and for me, beautiful bicycles like the Cortland also exercise emotion because they inspire and attract. But you already feel it I’m sure, I guess I’m celebrating this aspect deeply because it comes at a higher price of nearly $4k.

Faraday is a fun company but they do sweat the details and it really shows when you take a closer look. The Cortland is their first step-through model and this review focuses on the premium Cortland vs. the more affordable Cortland S (mirroring the Porteur S in component downgrades and price). This ebike is loaded with upgrades including an internally geared eight speed Shimano Alfine hub that can be shifted at standstill (great for hill climbing), a quiet and clean belt drive system with center-track alignment technology, hydraulic disc brakes, leather touch points and bamboo accents as well as the integrated lights and mobile app compatibility that other new models get. It’s quieter, cleaner and probably more reliable than the entry level S model but the internally geared hub adds a bit of weight and the bamboo fenders aren’t quiet as wide and protective as the curved steel alternative.

Depending on your needs, Faraday offers a whole line of accessories including a leather pouch that doubles as a u-lock holder, front and rear racks that are sturdy and compatible with Yepp! child seats and other accessories and even a GPS tracking unit for theft recovery. Everything is well thought out and most owners of existing models can upgrade parts independently to be included on the latest and greatest features. The Cortland model has been a long time coming and that’s partially because the company has been sourcing better parts, hiring staff and opening a headquarters location in San Francisco where cycling and technology are continuously progressing. The new mobile app is a perfect example of this as it incorporates realtime range estimates based on battery charge level and power selection, drive model adjustment (more or less power) and even speed selection for those who appreciate a leisurely pace or want to take it beyond 20 mph as a speed pedelec (topping out around 28 mph). This is fantastic technology and while not entirely unique to Faraday it’s definitely leading edge and very well done.

The bike isn’t perfect for everyone but thanks to the new low-step frame design it’s a lot more accessible. Available in two sizes and two colors, it’s perfect for petite riders and really anyone planning to carry a child along on the rear rack. I found that mounting, standing over and holding the frame steady was easier than with the Porteur (as you’d expect) but was delighted to find that frame flex had not become an issue. The ride was responsive but still comfortable thanks to the steel frame and larger diameter tires. I think the seating position and bars also play a role… it’s just way more comfy than it appears to me for some reason. For those who are active and agile this is a near perfect electric bike, one that’s fun to pedal around even when off, one that can now go further with the addition of a unique battery upgrade and one that is balanced and steady while riding or holding. It’s extremely quiet even though it uses an internally geared hub motor and intuitive to operate. I never felt distracted by the display or power level switch and never felt uncomfortable or out of place among other cyclists and pedestrians. To me it represents the evolution of what many bicycles will become in the future as technology becomes smaller, lighter and less expensive… but it’s also beautiful.

Pros:

  • The pedal assist sensor measures speed as well as pedal force so it won’t accidentally activate the motor if you’re stopped and simply resting your foot on the pedal
  • The Shimano Alfine internally geared hub offers eight levels for a range of pedal speeds and can be shifted at standstill (useful if you have to stop for a moment while going uphill… just shift all the way down instantly)
  • Awesome smart phone app (iOS and Android compatible) shows your location, controls your lights (you can turn the lights completely off!) and can adjust speed (even going up to 28 mph!) and power with two profiles to match the two physical switch positions
  • Near-silent Gates carbon belt drive system with CDX center-track to reduce slipping, it’s cleaner, requires less maintenance and weighs less than a traditional chain
  • Available in two frame sizes to fit a wider range of riders, handle bar is swept back for upright body position and is shorter than the standard Porteur model, optional stem extender
  • Hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth controlled stops without straining your hands, plenty of strength with 160 mm rotors for one rider plus cargo or a child
  • Lots of high quality matching accessories including the front porteur rack, rear traditional rack, add-on battery (that doubles range) and bell
  • I love the clean, smart aesthetic… wires are integrated but all tubes are round vs. having welded-on covers, frame colors are beautiful and unique, the additional battery pouch matches the leather accents on the grips and saddle and the bamboo fenders and rack slats are beautiful
  • Surprisingly comfortable with 26″ by wider 1.75″ tires (that are kevlar lined to reduce flats), even though none of the Faraday ebikes have suspension forks or seat post shocks as of this review they still feel comfortable on rough city streets
  • The new GPS recovery system is cool for those who may be exposed to bicycle theft and I love that older models can be upgraded to work with this feature by replacing the controller
  • Despite being a step-thru the Faraday Cortland is stiff and responsive, I didn’t experience much frame flex during my demo rides
  • This is one of the lighter weight, better balanced electric bikes I’ve tested and it functions well even if you’re not using the motor (if you run out of juice or just want exercise)
  • Optional seat-mounted battery pack upgrade will double your range and make charging in-office easier because it clicks on and off the frame so quickly, the primary downtube battery is also removable but you need tools so it’s really meant to stay in

Cons:

  • Very expensive compared to similarly specced electric bikes (modest 250 watt motor, 290 watt hour battery) but you get high quality drivetrain and aesthetic components
  • No throttle mode here, you have to pedal in order to make all of the Faraday electric bikes go but their torque sensing bottom bracket is smooth and responsive
  • The thumb switch control module is easy to use while riding but limited on what is shown (an e-ink display shows approximate battery charge level) to get speed, estimated range and other information you’ll need a smart phone with the app plus a mount and that could drain your phone battery (no USB charging ports on this e-bike)
  • No quick release systems on the wheels or seat tube but this is really a city bike designed to be theft-resistant (you can even get special locking bolt kits from Faraday)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Faraday Reviews

Faraday Cortland S Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A light weight city style electric bike that draws on classic styles and geometry but delivers good comfort and handling. Efficient 250 watt motor, responsive torque and speed sensing pedal assist with two power modes…...

Faraday Porteur S Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A light weight "minimalist" city style ebike with two levels of pedal assist, full length steel fenders and integrated LED lights. Optional front and rear cargo racks add utility, extremely well balanced motor, battery and five…...

Faraday Porteur Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

One of the smoothest (steel frame), quietest (belt drive, internally geared), lightest weight (~40lb) ebikes around. Excellent weight distribution with 250 watt geared 8Fun SYX hub motor in the front, 8…...

(Prototype) Faraday Porteur Review

  • MSRP: $3,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Meticulous build crafted over two years of development, beautiful vintage style (reminiscent of 1940's and 50's bikes). Ultra lightweight, less than 40 pounds perfectly distributed across a unique double-top tubed frame...


Jack
2 years ago

A really thorough video review, Court, and with the text portion as nicely written as the Cortland is to look at. Good job! You didn’t comment – video or written – on the Cortland characteristic that stands out to me as most unique: that hub motor’s location on the front wheel. You’ll remember your discussion with Justin Lemire-Elmore last year wherein he claimed there was likely no difference in ride-ability between a front hub motor and one in the rear, all other things being equal. (You sounded a bit dubious about that claim, and that’s certainly how I reacted when hearing it). So what did you think? Altho’ the Cortland’s motor isn’t especially powerful or heavy, did you notice any distinct riding sensations attributable to that front hub motor? Presumably, the motor is up front because of that Alfine IGH in the back. No downsides?

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Excellent observation and question Jack! I thought about going into this but with such a small, light weight motor felt it was unnecessary. Yes, in my opinion it still changes the steering (everything matters, everything) but to such a small degree… the bike rides great and the hub motor enables them to use an internally geared hub in the rear for pedaling and they do balance (weight wise and visually). If the motor was 350 watt with the added weight I might point it out a little more and definitely at 500+ but this little gearless design does not make a huge difference in my opinion when it comes to steering response and given the solid fork vs. suspension there are no concerns about strength or performance that way :)

Reply
Tom
1 year ago

Thank you so much for your thorough reviews. You help a lot of people. I think I will buy me a Faraday Cortland tomorrow ?.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Yay! Thanks for the positive feedback, I do my best and love to help people find a great fit… The Cortland is beautiful and I hope you enjoy it ;)

Reply
Steven Miyano
1 year ago

Hello Court, I am very interested in purchasing an ebike. I love your reviews and have learned so much from them. I am 65 with a little heart condition and live on a pretty steep hill. I would like to get back into biking for exercise but I know I can’t ride my Cannondale back up home. I am interested in the Courtland and Trek FX500. In your opinion, which would be better for climbing steep hills? Do you have any other recommendations? I presently am not a serious rider but live here in Sonoma county and there is a lot of nice country to ride/cruise around. Keep up the good work.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Steven, I’m not really familiar with a model by Trek called the FX500 but have seen the XM700+ is this what you were referring to? I love the Cortland by Faraday because it’s quiet, light weight and comfortable to ride but the power is more limited given a front mounted geared hub motor vs. mid-drive or larger rear mounted hub. Depending on your weight and ability to pedal and contribute it might work well or be limiting. Some poeple in your shoes go the other way and get a heavy but powerful Pedego ebike and just use the throttle. I like pedaling and prefer a platform that’s easy to lift and maneuver so my choice is usually more along the lines of the Cortland. Hope this helps! The company is actually local to SF so you’d be close to service and support as well which is nice :)

Reply
Steve
1 year ago

Thanks Court for your response. It was very helpful. You were correct, I was thinking about the Trek XM700+….senior moment! Might you know a bike shop in the Bay Area that might have an XM700+ available to see any ride? None of the Trek dealers in the north bay have one. I hate to order one sight-unseen and it not make it up our street.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Steve! Sounds like you’ve checked around… I don’t know of many Trek dealers in your area off the top of my head. I searched the model out down in Irvine California and I think they only had a few. Seems like the company is just dipping their toe into the space. Maybe reach out directly to Trek for feedback? I don’t see why they wouldn’t or couldn’t do an inter-store transfer or something? You could always take a weekend getaway to one of the stores in SoCal area :)

Reply
Don
6 months ago

I just bought a Faraday last December and have used it every day since. I notice that the Alfine 8 can have trouble shifting when the weather drops below 28 degrees (has trouble taking up cable slack). Studded tires eat into the range somewhat and the cold temperatures (expect 12-15 miles at 18-19 mph in 20 degree weather). I really like it though, so far there has been no maintenance (my old bike needed a check over every 200 miles). I originally didn’t like the front tire pulling design, but have found that on ice and in snow the front pulling action actually helps stability tremendously especially if you shift to lower gears and put it on max power. The weight is excellent and my wife can easily lift it and load it etc. We are considering getting another. The front rack is really stable and large. Pretty easy to throw a regular size pizza box in it with just sticking out the front rack. It recharges very fast making the charger worth bringing. It’ll easily recharge about half the battery in under 20 minutes, it slows down and takes longer to top off.

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Great summary Don, I’m glad the bike is pleasing you and your wife… and that she can lift it! That seems to be a major hurdle for some and an area I personally dislike dealing with. The range on these ebikes is more limited but with the quick charging and fairly compact charger it sounds like you’re doing great. Neat to hear how it performs for you in snow… hadn’t even thought of studded tires! Where’d you get them? Any tips on brand or size etc.? Also, great feedback about the internally geared Alfine 8 hub. I have noticed some differences in how that behaves vs. a traditional derailleur, interesting that temperature has made a difference for you.

Reply
Don
6 months ago

Hi Court, I spoke with Faraday and they seemed to think the issue with the hub is with the tension and that if they are not totally tuned right they can become cold sensitive, so perhaps it is fixable. I think a realistic range of the bike is about 16 miles. I have about 3 miles of slight incline and 3 miles of decline followed by about 10 almost perfectly flat miles then the battery e-ink indicates empty. I am excited about the external battery they are going to release this summer-ish as I am thinking that would double the miles to a very realistic 36 miles. It is extremely well made and I’ll write another update when I put 2k+ miles on it.

Keep up the awesome work on the website :)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

jharlow77
1 week ago

My wife is looking for a classy minimalist electric bike and we love the design of the Cortland but the specs make it seem a bit under powered. I know this bike has mounts for front and rear cargo but how well does it actually handle added weight (approximately 40lbs with baby seat plus toddler)?

Mark Peralta
1 week ago

Hey Mark. Is that Van Cortland Park?
Hi JoeEE,

That's the Great Hunger Memorial Park, facing the Woodlands Lake. Part of the route of South County Trailway.

1/1
Joe EE
2 weeks ago

Just did a 25 mile bike path round trip at South County Trailways, NY.

Hey Mark. Is that Van Cortland Park?

86 and still kicking
1 month ago

The e-city from Smart Motion is the perfect bike for you. Zippy, with full throttle, and a step-thru. Another very light easy to ride ebike is the Cortland S from Faraday. 20mph assist with no throttle, but easy step thru, simple controls, and much lighter than other eBikes,,, pretty too.

E-Wheels
4 months ago

Absolutely new to Ebikes, and this website, and with that comes outstanding ignorance.

I'm looking for an Ebike that can make it up hills with a bit of ease (so mid-drive?), that doesn't have too many wires and cables, uses a hydraulic brake system, has a rear and/or front racks, doesn't make much or any noise when using the motor, and looks "professional" or "polished."

This would be a commuter/urban/cargo bike. I am in the USA, male, 5' 11,'' 160 lbs.

I've looked at how some of the specs for an Ebike effect performance (motor output in watts, battery voltage in amp/watt hours, motor torque in newton meters), yet I don't know to what degree all of these matter. I've also seen some bikes were the variables are almost identical yet the mile range difference is drastic.

I also don't know what brands are quality and which aren't. I also don't know how much I should be paying for anything.

I've looked at these bikes so far:

Faraday Cortland: (https://electricbikereview.com/faraday/cortland/)
Gazelle NL C7 HMB (https://electricbikereview.com/gazelle/nl-c7-hmb/)
Walleräng M.01 (https://electricbikereview.com/wallerang/m-01/)

The Faraday is what I first started looking at, but I have no clue if it has enough power or not/if it's worth the price. It is, however, quiet and looks amazing.

The Gazelle has great colors, but some of the main parts of the bike look non-durable or ready to break, there are many wires hanging about, and front basket is too clunky.

The Walleräng looks fantastic, has mid-drive, 500w motor output at max, and has (what I think to be) high quality parts and pieces, but it's seems a bit loud. Is that standard? This is the best ebike out of the 3 I have really examined.

For anyone willing to help me out, this is a sizable post, I am open to all knowledge of Ebikes, opinions on brands, opinions on bikes I've listed, and any suggestions you have of Ebikes that would be best fit for me.

Thank you in advance.
The quietest mid drive on the market at the moment is the Brose motor. If you combine the Brose system that with a Gates carbon belt and an IGH (Nuvinci, Shimano Alfine, Rohloff......) then you will probably have the quietest mid drive ebike you can get at the moment. If you want to research some Brose mid drive ebikes I suggest you check out the Scott E-Silence, Specialized Vado and Bulls Lacuba range. What is your budget.

pxpaulx
4 months ago

I wouldn't put much stock in the cortland, you're right a mid drive is generally better on hills, but would be less of a factor since you are pretty much the definition of an average size rider!

As far as mid drives, Bosch, bulls, Yamaha and shimano are the main motor motor manufacturers. Check out court's review videos of bikes with each as he'll describe their different characteristics. Aside from that, make sure it fits your needs, and if possible try to get to a shop to try bikes and but if it is a good deal.

Whether online or in store, consider the price negotiable. Don't pay msrp; if you aren't getting a deal, look elsewhere.

Zoumios
4 months ago

Absolutely new to Ebikes, and this website, and with that comes outstanding ignorance.

I'm looking for an Ebike that can make it up hills with a bit of ease (so mid-drive?), that doesn't have too many wires and cables, uses a hydraulic brake system, has a rear and/or front racks, doesn't make much or any noise when using the motor, and looks "professional" or "polished."

This would be a commuter/urban/cargo bike. I am in the USA, male, 5' 11,'' 160 lbs.

I've looked at how some of the specs for an Ebike effect performance (motor output in watts, battery voltage in amp/watt hours, motor torque in newton meters), yet I don't know to what degree all of these matter. I've also seen some bikes were the variables are almost identical yet the mile range difference is drastic.

I also don't know what brands are quality and which aren't. I also don't know how much I should be paying for anything.

I've looked at these bikes so far:

Faraday Cortland: (https://electricbikereview.com/faraday/cortland/)
Gazelle NL C7 HMB (https://electricbikereview.com/gazelle/nl-c7-hmb/)
Walleräng M.01 (https://electricbikereview.com/wallerang/m-01/)

The Faraday is what I first started looking at, but I have no clue if it has enough power or not/if it's worth the price. It is, however, quiet and looks amazing.

The Gazelle has great colors, but some of the main parts of the bike look non-durable or ready to break, there are many wires hanging about, and front basket is too clunky.

The Walleräng looks fantastic, has mid-drive, 500w motor output at max, and has (what I think to be) high quality parts and pieces, but it's seems a bit loud. Is that standard? This is the best ebike out of the 3 I have really examined.

For anyone willing to help me out, this is a sizable post, I am open to all knowledge of Ebikes, opinions on brands, opinions on bikes I've listed, and any suggestions you have of Ebikes that would be best fit for me.

Thank you in advance.

Tru jew
4 weeks ago

Way overprice... perhaps for the upper crust market segment.

Chemtrail Dreams
6 months ago

I would seriously consider one of these except I really hate the feel of being "pulled" by a front motor.

David Macdonald
1 year ago

For once some one telling the truth about range , nice bikes to .

William McNeill
1 year ago

Would love to see the Courtland ascend Courtland street in SF

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Noted, will try for that next time around ;)

Peter Yuskauskas
1 year ago

Great review Court!

Bikes and Life
1 year ago

Thanks for the early look at this bike Court! We're very excited to get the Courtland in our shops and online. Cheers!

gopikrishna swargam
2 years ago

awesome looking bike and an equally awesome review. the best thing about your review court is you go a step further in letting the viewers know the tiny details. keep going :)

Jesson Yeh
2 years ago

I just backed them on Kickstarter and recommend others to do so. I have had the luck to have ridden the porteur and it was totally smooth and amazing ride. :)

Kobbetop
2 years ago

I like how they hid the battery and really thought about every detail on the bike. Great interview!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Kobbetop Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it because I know it made the video a lot longer... Planning to do more like this with direct feedback from companies but also still trying to be critical, objective and fair :)

Mark Elford
2 years ago

Pretty bike, well thought out. i saw a double top tube bike pic in the back that looked awesome.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Mark Elford Yeah! Good catch, that's the original Faraday Porteur http://electricbikereview.com/faraday/porteur/

John Moura
2 years ago

I like those fenders!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+John Moura Me too! I tested some out years ago on one of the Porteur models and they actually work despite being flat. The company also sells traditional full length curved fenders that you can swap out. Those come stock on the lower level S models http://electricbikereview.com/faraday/porteur-s/

Flo Mo
2 years ago

An elegant ladies bike. Yes it is feminine. Also a funny video.^^ Thanks dear friend.^^

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Elya Cornovier Glad you enjoyed it! This was a fun visit :)

DrZarkloff
2 years ago

I don't understand why some ebikes are becoming belt driven. What's wrong with the old fashioned chain? I really liked the bike until he mentioned that it was belt driven.

Chemtrail Dreams
6 months ago

DrZarkloff as many times as I've gotten cut up by a chain that flies off I can see the appeal of a belt

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Jesse Kramer Thanks Jesse! Yeah, they do have a chain driven model and it's less expensive. Belts are often used in conjunction with internally geared hubs which can be shifted at standstill and don't require as much maintenance. Belts are super quiet, don't require lubrication and don't use derailleurs so there's less vulnerable hardware protruding from the side of the bike. They do however require custom frames to be installed since you can't unlink a belt... the dropout or bottom bracket need to allow for tensioning. The Faraday Porteur and Cortland have a custom BB from Niner that rotates to make this work.

Jesse Kramer
2 years ago

+DrZarkloff They have models that use standard chains as well.

FRANK ROBY
2 years ago

only the batt capacity let's it down otherwise very good e-bike.

FRANK ROBY
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com I concur.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+FRANK ROBY It has a lower capacity than most other models but is quite a but lighter and since the motor is also smaller and it's pedal assist you end up with a solid range of ~20 miles. The new additional battery option puts it above average in terms of range but adds $500 more. I like that it truly looks like a normal bike, that's huge in this space and something that Faraday does better than almost any other company :)

Clinton Baltazor
2 years ago

Pros: Looks like a functional piece of art! Innovative with lots of extras and upgradable. Simple and gets you from A to B. Cons: Maybe a little too high-tech, I think I might break it, road bike only. Overall its a cool mode of transportation! Not for everyone but I am sure they will sell a bunch, more for the tech minded than the hard core cyclist in my opinion. Great behind the scenes insider look into the ebike industry! Not sure about the flag helmet, that might be a one off! What was the price again?

Clinton Baltazor
1 year ago

+Richard Graham Thanks for your feedback, for genuine customer service is hard to come by. Sounds like they are a really good company putting the customers first. Still if you had even one picture with you and your bike! I mean I have just a regular bike and I probably have 10 pics and a couple of videos with me on it!

Richard Graham
1 year ago

+Clinton Baltazor I’m taken aback by your skepticism. With no reason to report otherwise, be assured that the damage occurred just as reported, and Faraday did indeed provide the components at no charge. After the incident, I immediately took my Porteur(#0249) to the local bike dealer which took initial delivery from Faraday. After their detailed inspection, all was well with the exception of the need to replace the front tire and tube. The rim also had to be trued, all of which I paid for. I then emailed Faraday inquiring about availability and cost of replacement road rashed components. Here’s a quote from one of their emails: “Every Faraday rider is important to us and we want you to ride as much as possible. And yes, the replacement components are free. Satisfied customers are worth it!” Faraday also provided the url for their paint supplier along with color codes so that I could order the necessary white and green touchup paint which I also paid for. Sorry to be faceless/no content, but I do not, as a rule, post and never took the time to fill in the blanks. I posted in this case because Faraday makes a quality/innovative ebike and their customer service has been stellar from day one - simply wanted to share.

Clinton Baltazor
1 year ago

+Richard Graham Ok, sounds like you had bike insurance or somehow covered under warranty. Otherwise your saying that you broke your bike, while not riding it, and Farraday fixed it for free. Would like to see some pics/or video of your personal bike. Richard I don't take much stock in comments that come from faceless youtube accounts that have no content. Not saying your a bot, but its really easy to say something with no proof!

Richard Graham
1 year ago

+Clinton Baltazor Trust me, Faraday makes a very sturdy bike. Rear bike rack failure released my Porteur at 60 MPH on the thruway. As you can imagine, it took a violent tumble suffering a blown tire and some significant road rash scars all around to include some of the electronic housings. Of significance, none of the electronics were affected in any way! Again, Faraday makes a very sturdy bike! Of further significance, Faraday sent me replacements for all scarred up components at no charge - great customer service.

Clinton Baltazor
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Personally I feel like the entire ebike industry has inflated the price on their products. Seems like getting a kit vs. a custom ebike is the way to go! However is your rich and like convenience this is your bike! I may just have to build my own...

J Glad
2 years ago

How fast and what size of tumor growth can the rider and child expect to get using the electromagnetic crotch bombardment unit featured in this commercial? With or without the cellular telecom DNA damage augmentation option.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+J Glad Probably no more than a cellular device that you or your friends and peers may carry around daily. This video review went long because I think the Faraday Cortland (and Porteur) are great products and I got to speak with the founder, I'll be doing more like this with other brands in the future as well :)