Freway Buffalo Review

Freway Buffalo Electric Bike Review
Freway Buffalo
Freway Buffalo Bafang 350 Watt Geared Hub Motor
Freway Buffalo 36 Volt 11 Amp Hour Lithium Battery
Freway Buffalo Ergonomic Grips With Bar Ends Display Control Pad
Freway Buffalo Green Glow Backlit Lcd Display Monochrome
Freway Buffalo Suspension Fork With Lockout Rebound Adjust
Freway Buffalo Hydraulic Disc Brakes 180 Mm Tektro Auriga E Comp
Freway Buffalo 8 Speed Shimano Altus
Freway Buffalo Selle Royale Free Way Saddle Spanninga Led Backlight
Freway Buffalo Battery 2 Amp Charger
Freway Buffalo Arrived In Box Shipping
Freway Buffalo Packaging Foam Unassembled
Court And Gary Photo Giveaway Freway Buffalo Ebike
Freway Buffalo Electric Bike Review
Freway Buffalo
Freway Buffalo Bafang 350 Watt Geared Hub Motor
Freway Buffalo 36 Volt 11 Amp Hour Lithium Battery
Freway Buffalo Ergonomic Grips With Bar Ends Display Control Pad
Freway Buffalo Green Glow Backlit Lcd Display Monochrome
Freway Buffalo Suspension Fork With Lockout Rebound Adjust
Freway Buffalo Hydraulic Disc Brakes 180 Mm Tektro Auriga E Comp
Freway Buffalo 8 Speed Shimano Altus
Freway Buffalo Selle Royale Free Way Saddle Spanninga Led Backlight
Freway Buffalo Battery 2 Amp Charger
Freway Buffalo Arrived In Box Shipping
Freway Buffalo Packaging Foam Unassembled
Court And Gary Photo Giveaway Freway Buffalo Ebike


  • An affordable hardtail electric bike with 650B wheels, 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes, integrated LED lights and solid Aluminum Wellgo pedals
  • Compact display seems tough and blends in nicely, two USB charging ports (on the headlight and battery pack), basic suspension fork that's paint matched and lockable
  • Average sized 350 watt internally geared motor is responsive but fades out at higher speed, fairly responsive pedal assist with three power levels
  • Only available in one frame style, high-step, and one average sized 19" frame, difficult to find at shops so you'll likely order online and assemble yourself

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers







$1,699 (Shipping is $200 Additional)

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


5 Year Frame, 2 Year Motor & Battery


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

52.3 lbs (23.72 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.9 lbs (2.67 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

19" Seat Tube, 24.5" Reach, 32" Stand Over Height, 74" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Red and White Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCM 30 Suspension with 100 mm Travel, Rebound Adjust and Lockout, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Axle with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8, Shimano Altus, CS-HG200-8 Cassette, 12-32T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Triggers on Right


Lasco Alloy Cranks 170 mm, 46T Chainring with Alloy Bash Guard


Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black


Chin Haur, Inside Cartridge


Alloy 6° Rise, 90 mm Length, H1512D


Low-Rise Aluminum Alloy, 31.8 mm Diameter, 25" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Auriga E-Comp Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Auriga E-Comp Levers with Motor Inhibitors


Velo Ergonomic Locking, Bull Horn End


Selle Royale, Free Way

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


Alloy, Double Wall


Stainless Steel, 14G, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Small Block Eight, 27.5" x 2.1" (650 x 52B)

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

30 TPI Casing, Wire Bead

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Rear Mounted Adjustable Length Kickstand, Spanninga Pixeo Rear LED Light, Spanninga Nomad Headlight with USB Charging Port, Generic Flick Bell on Right


1.2 lb 2 Amp Charger, Dynamic Load Balancing and Discharging for Battery Protection, Hold Both Buttons to for Menu (Lights, Units, Power Level), Optional App Displays: Cadence, Speed, Average Speed, Assist Level, Ride Time, Remaining Battery, Altitude, Estimated Remaining Range

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

550 watts

Battery Brand:

Panasonic (18650 Size, 40 Cells)

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Monochrome Backlit OLED, Bluetooth Mobile App


Speed, Battery Percentage, Assist Level (0-3), Odometer, KCAL Use, RPM

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (Advertised 25 MPH)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

To Date, Freway has released two value-driven electric bikes in the United States. The first model, VR-01, took a more efficient light-weight approach with a below-average sized 250 watt geared hub motor and 36v 5.2ah battery pack. it weighed in at about 43 pounds and was priced at just over $1k. For me, it brought some of the best aspects of electric assist to a platform that was easier to lift and more agile than a lot of other products. The non-removable color display panel seemed super fancy and unnecessary given the mountain bike build but I loved the suspension fork and hydraulic disc brakes that normally aren’t present at these lower price points. Their new Buffalo model takes a lot of the best things from the VR-01 and gravitates towards mainstream e-bikes with a larger motor and battery pack. It’s still only available in one color, one frame size and one frame style (high-step) but it looks good and works well enough. You get 180 mm disc brake rotors vs. 160 mm before and now the levers have motor inhibitors built in so you get more control over the drive system and it feels safer. The adjustable integrated lights include a blinking mode to save power and the headlight even has a USB power port built in to charge your phone, music player or GPS device when mounted to the handle bars. The bars themselves are MUCH more open and normal looking thanks to a smaller (but still backlit) display panel. Overall, the bike looks a lot more polished and stealthy than the VR-01 because the battery is partially integrated into the downtube. It’s a lot less vulnerable, keeps weight low and center for improved balance and can still be charged on or off the frame. Perhaps the biggest win here is that there’s space for bottle cage bosses on the seat tube! For those who want to bring even more gear, there are additional threaded eyelets on the seat stays and near the rear dropout for adding a cargo rack. These are important little details that even some larger companies seem to miss or forego.

Being a mostly online-purchased electric bike, you’ll have to receive a huge box, unpack it and assemble the Freway Buffalo before you can take a ride. Assembly too me around 20 minutes and only involves twisting the stem, attaching the handle bar and spinning the pedals on. I absolutely love the sturdy Wellgo Aluminum pedals because they provide the stiffness needed to transmit pedal power into the wheels and a large enough pad with solid knubs to stay connected in wet or even snowy environments… I got to review the Buffalo when visiting family and friends in Colorado and had a blast romping in the snow but found that it wasn’t as powerful or fast as expected. Again, the 350 watt motor and 36 volt 11 amp hour battery are what I’d consider average in the US and despite a 25 mph top speed listed on their website, my experience put it closer to 20 mph and there was no cruise button mentioned on the Indiegogo page. Perhaps that’s just as well because it keeps the bike in Class 1 vs. Class 2 (throttle powered) or even a weak Class 3 (ebikes that go over 20 mph in pedal assist mode). The assist itself is driven by a 12 magnet cadence sensor that detects crank arm movement. You don’t need to push especially hard to get motor support but it isn’t always instant. Consider switching to lower gears so you spin faster if you want more immediate power. I guess the biggest takeaway here is that the latest Freway e-bike is a lot more normal in terms of weight and performance but still comes in at a lower price and packs some interesting extras.

One of the most noticeable “extras” I discovered were the bull-horn grip ends that allow you to switch hand positions while riding. The execution is lackluster in some ways because the grip and horn piece are permanently connected. If you want a different grip angle then the bar end is also going to rotate. At least the grip locks so it shouldn’t spin out of position as easily and… at least it’s ergonomic, just not as adjustable. Another upgrade, mentioned earlier, are the hydraulic disc brakes. For people who actually ride off-road or in precarious environments (like snow) it’s nice to have brakes that respond with less hand force. I’ve heard that super low temperatures can impact hydraulic fluid (and that you can replace it with different grades for better performance) but these worked great for me even though it was a colder day. When you toss in an average suspension fork with lockout and rebound adjust and have larger 27.5″ x 2.1″ knobby tires you get a more comfortable, trail capable ride. Overall, I had a good time and was impressed with the traction and suspension but not thrilled. As a rider with some back and neck sensitivity, I’d probably get a basic seat post suspension like this to fit the 27.2 mm stock post and take the edge off rough terrain a bit.

Activating and controlling the Buffalo is simple enough and actually requires fewer steps than some nicer models. Just charge the battery, fit it into the downtube mounting slot (perhaps use the key to help click it on more easily) then press the rubberized power button on top of the pack. This button simultaneously activates the display ring near the left grip and illuminates an LED light gauge on the battery indicating roughly how full it is. These little gauges are nice because they work even when the pack is off the bike, keeping you in the know about charging. Up at the display ring you can see all of the standard readouts such as current speed, assist level (of which there are three) and battery level… but the battery graphic actually shows a percentage, not just four or five chunks! This makes it much more precise and allows you to make better decisions about how far you can go before turning back. If you want to push ahead, the charger supplied with this bike is relatively compact and very light weight at just 1.2 pounds. I guess the only minor complaint I have about charging the battery on the bike is that the port is a bit tight, positioned at the base of the pack near the seat tube, so your cable will have to bend at a hard right angle and plugging in might not be as easy. Back to the display, I found that the left and right buttons cycled through the different power levels and that the picture of a person riding was “off” or zero assist mode. The three different levels display as chevrons and the whole thing loops so you can go from full power to no power with just one click. To see different readouts just hold the left or right button for a few seconds and to enter the settings menu hold both simultaneously. This is where you can set the lights or change from Kilometers to Miles. It all works fine but I came away impressed with how capable and nice looking the little display was. It automatically becomes backlight for a few moments when either button is clicked and it’s close enough the grip that it’s easy to manipulate while riding. It also seemed protected against bike tips and crashes compared to the much larger (and not removable) attention-grabbing display on the VR-01.

It’s a little weird to review bikes that aren’t fully available and which advertise features not present on the demo models. Also, reading through the official Indiegogo page left me somewhat confused due to conflicting details and a lot of grammatical mistakes. I believe this ebike comes direct from Asia and is priced lower because there’s no dealer or middle-man distributor / marketer who might otherwise fix some of this. I feel like they got the main things right and I can tell they put a lot of energy into the video and fancy rendered images on the site but an editor would inspire even more confidence. As a 5’9″ tall male who enjoys urban plus a bit of trail riding, this bike is a great fit. I love that they included a kickstand and positioned it towards the back so I could fine tune the drivetrain. It’s great that the front wheel uses quick release to make it easier to lift and place into the trunk of a car and while I’m not sure I’d want to screw around with a warranty issue, it’s nice to see that the company is going on two years in the States and that their warranty is so long (5 Year Frame, 2 Year Battery and Motor). The Freway Buffalo joins a whole mess of 350 watt 36 volt ebikes but has a much nicer battery, some cool electronics upgrades (like the USB ports) and a neat little display panel. Sure, I’d add a suspension post and maybe replace the grips but this thing would make riding to school a bit easier and I wouldn’t feel so bad about bumps at the rack. The display wouldn’t attract as much attention or be as exposed to scrapes and at this lower price, it’s easier to justify spending money on fixes or completely losing the bike as time goes on. My hope is that Freway continues to refine their products and stays present in the US market so we can get that service and perhaps some accessories in the future. For now, it’s a good upgrade to what the VR-01 offered but different enough to stand on its own as a heavier, more powerful trail capable bike.

Quick note from Freway about using the control pad: Left button single click adds a power assist level. Left button double click enters the second interface (with charge level indicator) and you can open the front light. Right button single click reduces power assist level. Right button double click enters the second interface and you can open the rear light. I think they mean “activate” the lights… I couldn’t try this in person as Gary already had the bike! Big thanks to Freway for partnering with me for this review and to Andrew at Ultimate Sports Nutrition in Fort Collins Colorado and his friend Gary :)


  • They chose some of my favorite pedals! These aren’t the top of the line but they offer more traction and surface area than a lot of stock pedals… especially for a more affordable ebike
  • Love that the seat tube has bottle cage bosses, convenient for adding a folding lock, mini-pump or standard water bottle holder. There is also a pair of bosses and threaded eyelets at the back so you could add a rack or possibly a fender setup
  • Decent tires, the 27.5″ diameter offers a nice compromise between quick steering 26″ and smoother cushier gap-spanning 29ers
  • Very nice integrated lights! I couldn’t figure out how to keep them on during the daytime but I love that the rear light flashes vs. just staying solid… I’m guessing that they use light sensors and automatically turn on when it gets dark out, to change settings hold both control pad buttons
  • The display is compact but easy to reach and fairly easy to read day or night (thanks to a soft green backlight that comes on when you press either of the two buttons), it blends in and keeps the bike looking more normal
  • Solid eight speed drivetrain with Shimano Altus (one step up from the bottom), I appreciate the bash guard on the chainring and the 12 magnet cadence sensor… all good for a value e-bike
  • Adjustable length kickstand with a larger pad so it won’t sink into soft terrain, positioned towards the back of the bike so you can lube your chain or adjust settings without colliding
  • Superb hydraulic disc brakes with large 180 mm rotors, the levers have ebike specific motor inhibitors to keep the bike under control when you need to stop
  • I like the upgraded Selle Royale saddle and locking ergonomic grips but felt that the bar end parts were less useful (since they don’t adjust independently)
  • Most of the wires are internally routed which keeps them from snagging and makes the bike look nicer, it seems that just one hydraulic line is tacked below the downtube
  • It’s really nice that instead of a four or five bar info-graphic communicating battery charge level they actually show percentage (which is much more precise)
  • Even though there was lots of repetition and some mistakes on the Indiegogo page, I could tell the Freway team put a lot of effort into the video and graphics, they have been around for over a year now selling in the US and it seems like they are committed to getting better (this is likely a direct from Asia ebike)


  • The suspension fork has lockout and rebound adjust but didn’t travel as smoothly or fluidly as higher end hardware, maybe it just needed some more breaking in? Consider adding a 27.2 mm suspension seat post for greater comfort
  • I love that there’s quick release on the front wheel be cause it makes flat fixes easier and reduces the size and weight of the frame (great for tossing it into the trunk of a car)
  • The battery charging port and USB outlet can be a little tricky to reach when the pack is mounted, you might have to bend the cables at a hard angle due to the location of the seat tube
  • The Buffalo only comes in one size, one frame style and one color scheme… thankfully they all work pretty well but shorter riders just might not fit
  • Limited power with the average sized motor and I felt like it faded out prematurely towards the 20 mph top speed mark, though I was testing in snow ;)
  • Since this is mostly an online-sale bike, you might need some extra time and effort to build and service it, if you don’t have grease or the patience to true the wheels and lube the chain it might all wear out sooner or just not ride as well as a shop built ebike
  • Offering 2 Amps of power output, the charger isn’t going to be as quick as some others (these days I see a lot of 4 Amp chargers but mostly on 48 volt ebikes)
  • It seems like several items on their Indiegogo campaign did not match the test unit I received (the disc brake model, the top speed, the number of assists levels) and there were lots of grammatical errors which didn’t inspire confidence… still, the bike worked pretty well and doesn’t cost a lot
  • It sounds like they are working on a “cruise button” that would act like a throttle, this changes the ebike from Class 1 to Class 2 and if the bike truly can hit 25 mph then it is already some sort of Class 3 ebike which has me confused (most Class 3 feel a lot more powerful and hit ~28 mph)
  • I can’t believe their promotional video ends with “Life is Short, Ride or Die” that’s just hilarious… also the conflicting text “we can not guarantee our services to be satisfying to the western customers” followed immediately with “We are planning to ship the bikes only to the Northern-American countries – America, Mexico and Canada.” I think they need a native English speaker or editor badly but admire the energy and enthusiasm ;)


More Freway Reviews

Freway VR-01 Review

  • MSRP: $1,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A light weight, super affordable electric mountain bike launched on Kickstarter in 2015, available on Amazon and Newegg now. Available in two frame sizes, a 19" diamond in black or a 17" mid-step in…...

charles elfot
1 year ago

Another nice review from EBR. What a cool thing to give that guy the bike. Way to go Court! I really enjoy your site, your reviews, and your videos. (Also, most importantly, your expertise!) I have learned a great deal from your work, it is really informative. Thanks!

1 year ago

Thanks a bunch Charles! Yeah, this was really a fun one. It’s neat to be in a position of helping someone else and I was grateful to Freway for donating the bike :)

Mike M
9 months ago

Nice looking bike and review. The guy you donated it to was quite happy too. Looks like something I might be interested in especially since you mentioned near the end of the video that the new model will come with a throttle.

The first official link you provided for the Freway Buffalo ebike however isn’t too useful for ordering details, as it it doesn’t exist. The 2nd official link appears to be a dud. Not sure how they expect to sell this bike unless it’s only sold through 3rd party dealers, of which there is no guide for potential customers to find dealers.

9 months ago

Hmm… I wonder if the company has pulled back from the US market? Their official website (the first link) still works but doesn’t show where to buy and the second Indiegogo link is almost like a help page for people who already bought. The gentleman I donated the bike to in the video apparently still uses it, it’s still working for him which is awesome because he rides it very frequently and is a good sized man. There are many other ebikes to choose from out there, I’m glad you enjoyed the video but would agree that maybe this isn’t the best ebike to go with given the limited availability and information? However, you might be able to contact Freway directly and get a good deal on one of these models if they are backing out of the market or planning a new wave of products? Sometimes that happens as well. I’d love to hear what you do find if you proceed :)


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

5 months ago

Where did u acquire your battery?confusing ,as many eBay options are 6week wait from China .prices are all over the map...I would love to have one that is similar to the freway battery I have on my other bike

Ann M.
8 months ago

@John62, Sam, the owner of the Electric Bike Center in Fullerton CA, #714-992-5591, 400 E. Commonwealth Ave, Fullerton CA 92832 has worked on many different brands of ebikes. I bet he would be game to tackle your Freway. Worth the drive; he's very experienced. Didn't find anyone in Huntington Beach other than a rental company and a Pedego shop.

8 months ago

I live in Westminster and my ebike is a Freway VR 01
Thanks for your reply

Ann M.
11 months ago

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric bikes from Freway as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

Freway eBike
1 year ago

Freway has just launched a second crowdfunding campaign on their newest electric bike – Buffalo via a project on Indiegogo. This campaign has a funding goal of $50,000 which needs to raised to bring an economical and eco-friendly bike product to the market. The price for one Buffalo eBike is only $999,which is 40% off the retail price. Buffalo is an electric bike which designed to provide the cyclists with pedal-assist and to encourage people to ride more often to contribute to making a greener world.

Countless finalization and tests

Owning to the feedback from the backers of last campaign and the customers from Amazon, Freway has managed to build their first Buffalo electric bike in May , 2016. In order to run a better campaign this time. The team members of Freway is treating the feedback very seriously. They put a lot of time into testing and finalizing the prototype, one detail from another according to the information provided by the backers and customers until they are confident that the final version of Buffalo is qualified enough to be put into the market.

A great bike with e-benefit and great components

The Buffalo is a 19 inch electric bike that provides power assists when the rider starts pedaling.

The FVS (Freway Vigor System) of their own invention helps to better convert the energy that is transmitted from the battery and reduce the loss, which is very good for the environment. To greatly improve the mileage of the electric bike, the Buffalo is equipped with a Panasonic 11 Amp battery. The riders should be spending time to enjoy during a ride, not fighting gravity. So they chose the Bafang 550watts rear motor for the Buffalo electric bike. The riders can beat the uphill without breaking a sweat.

It has four levels of pedal assist for the rider to choose. Riders can choose freely by using the two buttons on the OLED control ring of the handlebar. You can also control the headlight and the rear light by double clicking these 2 buttons.It’s a great and cool option for the city commuters, especially when it has the look of a mountain bike.

Buffalo even has a cruise button on the handlebar. When most of the electric bikes chose the throttle to implement the cruise function, the technician chose a button instead. The reason for this choice is because when a cyclist is using the throttle to cruise along the road, they tend to have trouble controlling the bike. So for the public safety and the safety of the cyclists, they chose a cruise button instead.

In addition, the components of the Buffalo are great. When riding on a bumpy road, the Suntour front suspension helps absorb the vibration, the SR Saddle lets the rider sit comfortably and the Kenda tires keeps the rider steady. The Shimano M310 8 speed rear derailleur allows the rider to ride the Buffalo like a regular bike when they decide to get some exercises.

Affordable Price – Only $999 per bike during the campaign.

It would be a pity if a enthusiastic person such as you who loves biking miss out such a great bike. The price for buying a bike with all those great features is only $999, which is 40% off the retail price.

So get one now before missing out on a good deal!

Follow Freway on : /

Freway eBike
1 year ago

Freway team has designed an customized electric bike as a gift to an NBA super star .

This customized ebike is a 29 inches bike with the same bike frame as the regular Buffalo eBike.

But it has many customized parts.

First let's take a look at the comparison pictures between the customized bike and the regular Buffalo eBike :

As we all can see the customized ebike is a little bit bigger than the regular Buffalo ebike, which is 27.5 inches bike.

Now let's take a look at the customized parts:


Nice mountain bike frame :

Customized head tube:

Selle Royal Saddle :

Tektro draco disc brake:

Customized control pad :

Semi-integrated battery :

Bafang 350W(Peak at 550W) rear motor:

It looks pretty great and we are very excited to see when this star is riding on it :D

Lastly, a general specs comparison chart with the regular Buffalo eBike:

Follow us on :
Facebook :

Freway eBike
1 year ago

Freway Buffalo electric bike
Indiegogo Referral Program

Thank you for spreading the news of our campaign.

We'd like to give you a Buffalo electric bike for free :)

Refer our project to your friends or share it on your social media network, you can earn $50 in credit toward our campaign every time one of your referrals makes a purchase.

How do I get started?
You must refer people using a unique URL that is generated through your Indiegogo account.

How Do I find the URL?

Here's how :

1. Visit and log in or sign up an account.(If you already have one,go to step 2).

PS : If you need to sign up an account, please do remember your account and password, because you will need them later to log in and track your referrals.

2. Visit You will find these icon at the right side of the video as below :

3. Click on the link icon to get your unique URL and copy it.

4. Share it via media and email.

Remember : You will get $50 in credit toward our campaign every time one of your referrals purchases a Buffalo eBike !

So How do I track my referrals?
1. log into your indiegogo account.
2. On the top right corner of the page, you will see your profile name. Click on it.
3. And then you will see a dropdown menu, click on the " Contributions "

4. In the menu bar, click on the " Referrals " Tab.

5. You will see the number of people you referred, the number who have purchased and the total dollar amount of their contributions.

6. Once the campaign is over, Indiegogo provides us with detailed information on how many eBikes were purchased through your referrals and at what perk level.

7. We then either issue you a refund on Buffalo ebike you have purchased, or issue you campaign credit toward the purchase of a new Buffalo ebike.

*Please note that contributors cannot receive referral credit for referring themselves.

Questions :


Yes, it is equal to a $50 credit. This will be properly applied to your account once the campaign has ended.

Once the campaign is over, Indiegogo will provide us with detailed information on how many Buffalo eBikes were purchased through your referrals and at what perk level.

We will then either issue you a refund on the Buffalo eBike you have purchased, or issue you campaign credit toward the purchase of a new Buffalo eBike.

Happy sharing :)

Freway eBike
1 year ago

Hi, All Freway fans.

The crowdfunding on Indiegogo to bring our latest eBike Buffalo on the market has been going for a week.

And now we are half way to the funding goal!

Only $999 for a Buffalo eBike! Save 40% today !

We are happy to tell you that we just finished developing the cruise function of the bike :)

We've successfully installed a cruise button on the handlebar and had the cruise function tested out, now all the backers can cruise along the way on the Buffalo eBike !

Why did we chose the cruise button , not throttle?

Reason for this choice is because when cyclists is using throttle to cruise along the road they tend to have troubles controlling the bike. So for the public safety and the safety of the cyclists we chose a cruise button instead.

Thanks for your support!

If you want to support us, please refer our project to your friends that may be interested!

Freway Buffalo : You are how you ride :)

Freway eBike
1 year ago

Hi, All Freway fans.

The crowdfunding on Indiegogo to bring our latest eBike Buffalo on the market has been going for a week.

And now we are half way to the funding goal!

Only $999 for a Buffalo eBike! Save 40% today !

We are happy to tell you that we just finished developing the cruise function of the bike :)

We've successfully installed a cruise button on the handlebar and had the cruise function tested out, now all the backers can cruise along the way on the Buffalo eBike !

Why did we chose the cruise button , not throttle?

Reason for this choice is because when cyclists is using throttle to cruise along the road they tend to have troubles controlling the bike. So for the public safety and the safety of the cyclists we chose a cruise button instead.

Thanks for your support!

If you want to support us, please refer our project to your friends that may be interested!

Freway Buffalo : You are how you ride :)

Freway eBike
1 year ago

Freway, a team which once raised a successful crowdfunding campaign on Kickstarter last year, announce that they will be launching another campaign on their latest product ——Buffalo eBike on 10th Nov this year.

After countless tests and finalization on the prototype for 6 months, Freway has managed to build a electric pedal assist bike with elegant looking and several intelligent functions. Just like the name itself, the Buffalo eBike will give you the power assist driven by the bafang 350watts(Peak at 550 watts) rear motor you never feel before. You will not feel a sudden pull, instead you feel the kick in from the motor very regular yet strong, which makes you feel safe. Unlike most electric bike in the market, Buffalo is actually paired with a smart phone app which will record and analyze all the data.

Feel the thrill to be the first group of bikers to experience the Freway Buffalo electric bike? Start following on their facebook fan page and get yourself a Buffalo on a reasonable price!

Facebook :

Freway eBike
1 year ago

Hi all eBike friends

Looking for 4 reviewers of our latest eBike - Buffalo!

We are looking for 4 reviewers to review on our eBike!

In return we need the reviewers to provide us with a video and an article to be posted on your websites or youtube channel or other social media platform.

So the reviewers must meet the below requirements :

1. Must reside in US(Preferably in California)
2. Have his/her own media outlet(Website, youtube channel, facebook page.) with a considerable number of audience.

Please send an email with above information included to if you are interested


Freway eBike
1 year ago

Hi, guys.

Now some of you might know Freway from the campaign we raised on Kickstarter last year, and some of you might have purchased our first generation electric bike VR-01 from Amazon. We thank you for your continuous support to us :)

We've received many feedback from our customers, most of which are complaining about VR-o1 is underpowered. However , this time, with a year of modification and several readjustment and improvement we've managed to build a brand new Freway new generation eBike —— Buffalo.

I suppose some of you might haven seen this bike from last year CES or the InterBike Expo in Las Vegas in September.

Well Buffalo will not let you down on the power assist this time.

Equpped with Bafang 350w(550wPeak) rear high speed motor, it can surely provide you with the power you need. Instead of feeling a sudden push, it will make you feel more like a surge and you can control it by adjusting the level (there are 3 levels of power assist and a sports mode just like the VR-01) of power assist and ride it as you see fit.

And many of our fans has been asking questions about when Buffalo is available in the market since the bike took its first appearance in CES last year, and we'd like to thank you for your support.

Now here's the great news :

In less than 30 days we'll raise another crowdfunding campaign on Buffalo on Indiegogo.

Please stay tuned on us on :


Official Website:

2 months ago

This thread may help shed some light on the current NY legislation.

Tom Meara
6 months ago

I've had the bike all of three days and it has exceeded expectations. Yes, it is heavy and yes, the components are low-end but the bike balances value and function quite well.

I live in far western New York state about 1 hour south of Buffalo. It is a small town where just about everything is reachable in a 10 mile round trip but it is very hilly. I've been riding non-powered bikes since I was a kid and until recently rode about 3000 miles per year, mostly in club rides and long distance touring. Now that I'm retired I should be riding more but have found myself riding less and gaining weight. The purpose of this bike is to use it for all of those short trips where I had to carry things so I was not too concerned about range. It is to be a cargo bike with power assist for the hills. My question was, "How far could I go if I wanted to?"

The route used for the test was about as flat as I can find around here with a total of 600 feet of elevation change over 19.6 miles.

The conditions were stock components (my Schwalbles come today), little wind, a PAS level set to 1 and never use the throttle. My tires were inflated to 55 psi. I had to work but found that under most conditions the level one assist compensated for the extra weight and drag of the motor while providing a little boost. On flat to rolling roads I maintained an average speed of 15-16 which is what I would normally do on my non-powered road bikes. At that level of assist and speed I would draw 70 watts as indicated by the photo.

Notice the battery level is still showing 5 bars after 12.6 miles. This is why the Radwagon has exceeded my expectations. Since I had gone farther on less power than I was expecting I resolved to take a photo at every mile starting at 13 and continuing till the end. For safety reasons I stopped for the mile 13 photo.

At this point I started to do some math wondering if I could do 13 miles on one bar could I really do 65 miles on a single charge? Unfortunately, soon after taking this photo I started to fiddle with the computer to display average speed and held the mode button too long, resetting the trip mileage. I didn't time myself but I estimate the average speed to be 12-14 mph since there is only one stoplight on this route and the only thing that really slowed my down was the hills with PAS 1.

The first bar disappeared at the 14.5 mile mark and the battery meter stayed at 4 bars until just before I got home. The last 1/4 mile is downhill and the regen brought the battery back to 5 bars as I pulled into the yard as you can see in the last photo. Google maps has this route at 19.6 and I think I reset the computer at 13.3 or 13.4 so my wheel circumference setting for mileage, speed, etc. is pretty good.

I think I can safely say that I traveled at 14-16 mph on a flat to slightly rolling route for 20 miles and use only 20% of my battery. I will have to try for 60 miles on a single charge, if I can find a flat 60 miles around here. Stay tuned.

9 months ago

If you plan to ride in the Buffalo snow, the skinny tired folder will give you lots of thrills, most of them unwanted. A fat tired folder would be safer.

On the other hand, my fat bike on pavement on a nice day makes me feel like I'm cruising in a big boat Cadillac in the 1960's. It's nice, but a skinny tired bike just feels better.

9 months ago

I think I've narrowed it down to these three. I live in Buffalo, NY - very flat, and very snowy. Most rides would be 10+ miles.

Must have: PAS and Throttle (thumb, not twist), 350W+, folding, $1,600USD or less.

Voltbike Urban: The price is great ($1100), Motor and Battery weaker than the other two. Easier to transport. No-name cells.
Voltbike Mariner: 6lb heavier than the Urban, Motor and Battery are stronger too but the fat tires probably compensate for this. Name-brand battery cells. Claims longer range than the urban. Better derailer than the other two. No suspension but the fat tires probably help. I'd really enjoy off-road capabilities but 90% of my riding will be on-road.
E-Joe EDPIK: More expensive, softer suspension, lighter than the other two, fun colors, longer battery range.

I'm open to other suggestions, corrections, or thoughts on the above three. Thanks!

EBike Expo
9 months ago

As our first ever Midwest stop, we too are excited about the Chicago market. Working with the Active Transporation Alliance and a number of other organizations (including the Lincolnwood Police Department). The Lincolnwood Town Center is rolling out the red carpet for us. This mall is doing great pre-event promotions and our Comcast TV campaign starts this coming week.

We will be packed with national brands like Blix, Bulls, Cannondale (our new Terrain Lane Sponsor), Easy Motion, Elby, Giant, Gazelle, IZIP, Kalkhoff, Ohm, Raleigh, Riese & Muller, Smartmotion, Specialized, Stromer, Tempo (Expo Charity Sponsor), Tern, Trek (Expo Track Sponsor), Urban Arrow, Wallerang, and Xtracycle, with the latest electric drive systems from Bosch (Expo Presenting Sponsor), Shimano, and others.

We can also confirm that local retailers M&M Cyclery (has 2 location Mundelein and Buffalo Grove); Becky’s Bikes (Crystal Lake), and Kozy’s (5 locations in the Chicagoland area) will be exhibiting and showcasing their bikes.

There are still more announcements to come for this event so stay tuned!

Saratoga Dave
1 year ago

I do wish the legislature would get their act together and officially legalize these things along the lines that so many states have. There's lots of tax money to be made by the state if sales take off, and the state is doing a great job on expanding the bike infrastructure. Albany has some really nice brand new bike lanes downtown.

I rode about 1300 miles last fall mostly around the Albany/Saratoga County region with several excursions up into the Adirondack high peaks and out along the Erie Canal bikeway (have completed a third of it, going to finish all the way to Buffalo this spring). All on a reasonably stealthy mountain style bike, just out enjoying it with everyone else, not blasting by people and being an idiot. Split about 50/50 between roads and bike paths.

Have yet to encounter any open hostility, and in fact made a couple of riding friends with some pretty serious road bike guys around Schenectady. But I still wish it was completely OK, and there are a couple trails where out of a sense of fairness I don't even turn the thing on, just ride it like a very heavy bike. Seems ridiculous.

I was a road bike guy for a long time, did lots of distance riding over the years. Age, knee and now heart troubles pushed me onto the ebike, and I thank God they exist, because otherwise I would no longer be out here enjoying this at all. But I'm out out there doing my fifty miles and not bothering anyone, and I'm not using a throttle to do it, either.

My wife has a Pedego so we can ride together occasionally as well. She is afraid to ride on the roads, so with her it's the trails along the Hudson and Mohawk rivers, or over along the Ashawilticook trail in similarly legally challenged Massachusetts next door.

And we've met plenty of other ebikes out there as well, lots of ages and types, though mostly skewed somewhat older like ourselves.

Oh yeah, almost forgot... I was a cop here for almost thirty years and I would have been very reluctant to harass someone just out trying to enjoy themselves. To be fair, I understand the problem NYC has with aggressive delivery people scaring the hell out of everyone on the sidewalks in some areas, but that can be dealt with as a local matter under NYC law. To burden some poor bastard who just wants to ride the great Warren County Bikeway to Lake George on a beautiful day because of those guys is absurd.

1 year ago

I found the thread about different state rules and regs but am still at a loss if there legal or not. or maybe a better question what are the chances with a problem. Iam in the Buffalo NY suburb area.

So any NY state ebike riders out there? What has been your experience with police? Can you ride bike paths. The police regularly ride bikes on patrol on the bike paths I go on. What should I expect?

It looks like the letter of the law is confused. BUT whats the reality of ebike use in NY state NOT NYC as i have never been there and never plan to go?

1 month ago

Really good value. Any update now that it's been over a year?

scott marx
4 months ago

you're a stand up guy. well done.

Lysle Basinger
8 months ago

July 30, 2017. I just ran across this Freway review again and realized that the gentleman's name is Gary. I too helped a bike rider with similar circumstances buy a single speed electric 22" bike for $450. He is getting older and the hills were getting tough. For one reason or another he can't drive a car and the electric motor was greatly appreciated.

Lysle Basinger
8 months ago

We worked out an installment payment plan with no interest. He is also a Gary.

Mike Malloy
9 months ago

That's so nice of you, Court!!! Looks like a great bike. I'm going to check the bike out. :)

10 months ago

What an awesome thing to do.
You're a good man for paying it forward.

10 months ago

Looks like the Freway Buffalo is dead ....along with Freway as a company.

Chad Urschel
11 months ago

Thats such a nice thing to do for someone. The bike looks amazing.

11 months ago

How is this holding up?

12 months ago

This is very cool thanks for what you doing god bless you in a way its good for our planet electric is the future 👍🏻🇨🇦

12 months ago

Just a thought... You always say you are smaller at 135lbs how bout you bring a fat friend??? I could be that fat friend. Just a thought. Your 6' tall fat friend in minnesota. Also could you ask the rad power bike people when they will get a shop out here for the radrover. I don't trust shipping. Plus if anything breaks i want to be able to take it to a shop to get it fixed. Only thing we have out here is pedego and they are pricey for what I want.

Seth Williams
1 year ago

Great review, love it!

Stark Drive
1 year ago

Stark Drive is launching February 15th, 2017. The most affordable electric bike in the world at 399 US

1 year ago

Awesome to give it to this guy. He is 62 yrs old wow the guy looks in incredible shape. Looks very strong for his age. This might be my favorite review you have ever done because of the pay forward. Looking forward to how the bike is doing this summer.

Robert L. Crivelli
1 year ago

Great review very informative, thank you

Jonny Bravo
1 year ago

really nice of u bud

William Carroll
1 year ago

im confused.. do u keep these bikes or just get them for review and ship them back
1 year ago

Hi William, it varies.. I usually visit shops or manufacturers to film reviews and don't keep the bikes. I don't have a bunch of extra space and try to be objective so receiving an ebike isn't as awesome as it might seem. Usually the companies have a demo model that many people can try (including prospective customers), and that's what I use :)

1 year ago

People have different definitions of "Affordable ".

Dooneegomaface Ifinnaspring
3 months ago

How far do you commute to work? Outright vehicle replacement will get you a really nice ebike.

Rob True
1 year ago

He looks like a retired merc.

Rob Pause
1 year ago

I was intrigued that the battery and locking mechanism on this bike is identical to what I have on my FLX bike. Definitely shared components.

BTW you do great reviews & videos. I bought the FLX (Flux) based on your review last March (?) and have been delighted with it. I still watch your videos to see what else is out there.

Mark Elford
1 year ago

Awesome vid.. he will dig the bike.