Lithium Cycles Super 73 Review

Lithium Cycles Super 73 Electric Bike Review
Lithium Cycles Super 73
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Bafang Bbshd Motor 40t Chainring Nw
Lithium Cycles Super 73 48 Volt 11 6 Amp Hour Rack Battery Under Seat
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Bafang Color Lcd Display Panel And Button Pad
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Tektro Mechanical Brake Lever With Motor Inhibitor Rubber Grips
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Double Crown Rigid Steel Fork
Lithium Cycles Super 73 160 Mm Mechanical Disc Brakes
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Punched Out Rims Fork Mount Quick Release
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Odi Aluminum Alloy Platform Pedals Mid Kickstand
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Custom Banana Seat
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Horizontal Dropout Tensioner Chain Pulley Tensioner Qr Rear Wheel
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Short 140 Mm Crank Arms Wide Bottom Bracket
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Battery Power Button Rear Light
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Electric Bike Review
Lithium Cycles Super 73
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Bafang Bbshd Motor 40t Chainring Nw
Lithium Cycles Super 73 48 Volt 11 6 Amp Hour Rack Battery Under Seat
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Bafang Color Lcd Display Panel And Button Pad
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Tektro Mechanical Brake Lever With Motor Inhibitor Rubber Grips
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Double Crown Rigid Steel Fork
Lithium Cycles Super 73 160 Mm Mechanical Disc Brakes
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Punched Out Rims Fork Mount Quick Release
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Odi Aluminum Alloy Platform Pedals Mid Kickstand
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Custom Banana Seat
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Horizontal Dropout Tensioner Chain Pulley Tensioner Qr Rear Wheel
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Short 140 Mm Crank Arms Wide Bottom Bracket
Lithium Cycles Super 73 Battery Power Button Rear Light

Summary

  • A retro styled electric minibike that was successfully funded on Kickstarter in 2016, available in one size, uses 20" x 4.25" slick fat tires for cushion and improved stabilization
  • Steel frame is sturdy and helps to dampen vibrations compared to Aluminum but may rust if scratched, thoughtful reflective stickers on the rim sidewalls and headtube badge, integrated rear LED light
  • Powerful mid-drive motor and rack mounted battery keep weight relatively centered on the frame but the battery is higher up and the frame felt a bit tippy side to side, battery can charge on or off frame
  • Smaller 160 mm mechanical disc brakes leave something to be desired given the 74.5 lb weight and higher 25 mph top speed, cadence sensing assist and trigger throttle work well, beautiful color display with USB port
Warning, in some configurations this electric bike kit is classified as a moped or motorcycle and may not be ridden on cycling trails or paths. It may require licensing, insurance and lights when used on public roads.

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Lithium Cycles

Model:

Super 73

Price:

$3,000

Body Position:

Upright, Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Moped or Motorcycle (Class 4)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

90 Days Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

74.5 lbs (33.79 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

11.6 lbs (5.26 kg)

Frame Material:

Steel

Frame Sizes:

14.5 in (36.83 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

14.5" Virtual Seat Tube Length, 11" Minimum Reach, 26.5" Stand Over Height, 22" Width, 62.5" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Grey

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel, 135 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

170 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Front Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Single Speed, 14 Tooth Sprocket

Cranks:

Prowheel Forged Alloy, 140 mm Crank Arm Length, 40 Tooth Steel Chainring with Narrow Wide Teeth

Pedals:

ODI Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

1-1/8" Straight

Stem:

Integrated with Fork

Handlebar:

Integrated, Steel, 540 mm Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Four-Finger Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Black

Saddle:

Proprietary Banana Seat (19" x 6.5"), Vinyl, Black

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Single Wall, 100 mm, Punched Out, Reflective Sidewall Sticker, 28 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black with Adjustable Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 20" x 4.25"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

35 PSI, 2.4 BAR, 240 KPa

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Center-Mount Steel Kickstand, Horizontal Rear Dropout Adjust

Other:

Locking Removable Rear Mounted Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 2 Amp Charger, Sprung Chain Tensioner, Rust Resistant Z Chain

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1000 watts

Motor Torque:

160 Newton meters

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Adjustable Angle, Backlit, Color LCD, Buttons (Up, Power, Down), Settings (Double Tap Power)

Readouts:

Battery Level (Infographic and Percentage), RT Speed, Avg Speed, Max Speed, Assist Level (0-5), Trip Distance, Odometer, Range, Time, Clock

Display Accessories:

5 Volt 1 Amp USB A Female Charging Port

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

25 mph (40 kph) (15.5 MPH in Europe)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Lithium Cycles is preparing to launch the Super 73 V2 soon but I finally got my hands on one of the original models which were launched on Kickstarter in mid 2016. The bike I looked at had been brought into a shop for repairs after being crashed by the owner. The left brake lever was a little bent and the grip was torn at the end, but otherwise, the frame was in great shape! The first thing I noticed was how compact it is. While most e-bikes and traditional bicycles measure ~72″ in length the Super 73 is just 62.5″ and those ~10 inches can go a long way in making it portable. Whether you have limited space in your apartment building or the elevator that leads up to your level, the bike should fit more easily. Both wheels are attached with 9 mm quick release skewers which could make it even more compact and reduce weight during transport, and the ~7 lb battery is also removable. Weighing in at ~74.5 lbs, this product is about 20 pounds heavier than similarly specced products I have reviewed. This results from the unique fat-tire size and Steel frame material. Steel tends to be very sturdy and offers some vibration dampening qualities that Aluminum alloys do not, but it can also rust. Aside from the crash this bike had endured, there were already some scratches near the lower fork crown and downtube from assembly and over steering. I should mention, the odometer on the bike was showing just 25 miles when we got it. Scratching and oversteer would be an easy area to be mindful of as an owner, you could put some thick tape on the downtube or even rubber bumpers for protection. Some fancier e-bikes, like the Vintage Electric Scrambler, have custom leather bands around the fork uppers that keep them from colliding directly with the frame.

The Super 73 comes off like a conversion project vs. a purpose built electric bike in some ways. Many of the products I’m seeing in the $1,500+ price range now have internally routed cables and integrated lights. Their new Scout model is moving more in this direction, with a large headlight, but the original Super 73 does have great reflective stickers on the rims for side visibility, an integrated LED backlight, and a reflective head tube badge… and there’s also a USB port built into the base of the display panels, so you could get a rechargeable aftermarket light like this and keep it full using the bike battery. Several times during the video review, I felt myself explaining and sort of “setting the scene” for this product and trying to create perspective. A lot of marketing was done and many positive articles were published around the time of release and I feel like nobody called out the small mechanical disc brakes or questionable ~25 mph throttle activated top speed which is technically illegal in the USA on public streets. The bike can feel squirrely at times because the battery is mounted higher on the frame and there’s no chain cover which could result in pant leg snags. I don’t know how the owner had crashed this bike before bringing it into the shop, but it gave me pause and I was extra careful when riding for this review. I did not see mounting points for fenders, a rear rack, or a bottle cage but there were a few eyelets on the fork and rear dropout area for experimentation or a DIY cargo solution and the basket style drink holder in front of the long banana seat is totally fun.

I realize that most people will just ride this thing around like a scooter, but pedaling is pretty limited and uncomfortable. With just one speed, I was struggling to keep up beyond 15 mph and my knees were very close to the bars. As someone with sensitive knees and concerns about crashing, I felt that my shins and knees were a bit vulnerable and steering was impacted to some extent. Note that I am ~5’9″ tall and have a ~130″ inseam. To be honest, given the MSRP of ~$3k for the Super 73 (unless you were an early Kickstarter backer), the bike seems a little bit expensive and maybe overdone in areas that I would have changed. Imagine a still capable but lighter and cheaper 750 watt or even 500 watt motor with 20 mph speed cap by default with unlock for going faster vs. this one which has a 750 to 1,000 watt motor with a 25 mph default. Once you turn the bike on, the throttle is hot (even at assist level zero) and that could lead to an accidental takeoff and damage to your body or the product. I like many things about this bike but definitely feel concern beyond getting a ticket or confiscated bike, it would suck to end up in a sticky legal situation around property or physical damage given the “unregistered vehicle” situation around this bike. Are a few extra miles per hour worth it? I only got up to ~24 mph and I weigh just 135 lbs. I wish it was easier to lower the top speed in the settings area of the menu but am happy that at least there’s an easy throttle disconnect for people who live in New York City where throttle powered electric bikes are illegal right now. That would change this to a Class 3 electric bike which does have an accepted legal definition and could be ridden on the side of many roads.

Another mixed-bag design choice with this bike is the chain tensioner at the back. This little pulley wheel keeps the chain from bouncing and works in tandem with the narrow-wide chainring sprocket to reduce chain drops. However, it produces a lot of noise and ticking whenever you pedal or use the motor. I love how Lithium Cycles engraved their logo on the side of the pulley wheel and the rear dropout tensioner as well as the intro screen on the LCD panel. Operating the bike is fairly straightforward and traditional. Once the battery is charged up, you just hold the rubberized power button on the control pad near the left grip. It’s easy to reach but the geometric plastic button pad is a bit more vulnerable than most other models I have tested. Be particularly careful not to snag the + or – button with your shirt sleeve or jacket because they can get bent up pretty easily. So, once the display is on, you get a battery percentage readout, current speed, assist level, and some trip stats. There are five levels of assist and the throttle overrides all of them which is great. I felt very empowered on this bike and didn’t struggle with acceleration or climbing because the smaller wheels provide a mechanical advantage. But again, the smaller wheels bring the frame closer to the ground and the company opted for shorter crank arms to reduce ground strikes… which introduces that “egg beater” pedal feel at lower speeds. I actually enjoyed pedal assist more than I thought I would on this bike, Bafang has done a great job with their BBS02 and BBSHD motors and the pedal sensors are responsive. I used the first and second level of assist most of the time and then relied on the throttle above ~15 mph. Note that the display panel can be swiveled forward and back to reduce glare, but it is not removable and could take sun and water damage if parked outside. Scratches at the rack may also be common, and even though it looked bright in the shade, I found that the color LCD was a bit dim in my photos and in direct sunlight compared to some grayscale and newer transflective models.

With the Super 73 you get a fun look, a control system that most people can figure out and enjoy, and a single size that’s fairly versatile because of the long banana seat. Some companies have jumped on the bandwagon in recent years with their own interpretations of the 70’s minibike design including the HopMod eBike and Luna Banana. It’s neat to see a V2 of the Super 73 just around the corner and I love how they are iterating with the Scout which is priced closer to $1,500 and using a hub motor. Mid-drive systems are efficient if you can shift gears and balanced in terms of weight distribution, but they do put strain on your chain, sprockets, and derailleur. The Scout S1 appears to have a more exposed controller box but I love the chain guide (which doubles as a protector for your pants or dress) and the big light. This model has knobby tires and the marketing around “electric motorbike” fits any high-speed riding… but it lists a more standard 20 mph which makes it a Class 2. That model even has a rear rack so you could pack a picknic! In some ways, I feel that the knobby tires and higher speed mid motor would be more appropriate with an off-road high speed bike and the hub motor would be a better fit for the original Super 73 which has slicks. It’s an evolution and I love that they appear to sell to and ship overseas to Mexico, Canada, Europe and Australia. Hopefully I’ll get to review that product soon, but keep in mind you may have some assembly to do and could be limited in terms of shop support and warranty. One final note on the repairs that were done to this bike, the brake wires were tightened because of some stretch (pretty easy to do yourself) and the rear wheel was getting pulled out of alignment because of how powerful the motor is and the shop really cranked down when tightening it to try to eliminate this.

Pros:

  • An iconic design, fun features like the drink holder and bottle opener near the head tube, throttle and pedal assist drive modes with higher top speed of 25 mph for use off-road, great marketing and outreach
  • Clean single-speed drivetrain won’t get beat up from the powerful mid-drive the way a multi-speed could (without shift sensing) and the big trigger throttle and lower stand-over height just makes this thing easy to understand and approachable by anyone
  • Extra attention paid to safety with large grippy pedals, reflective stickers on the rim sidewalls, a reflective badge on the head tube, and a light strip built into the battery pack (you could even add a USB headlight like this and charge it off of the power port at the base of the display panel)
  • Wide 4.25″ tires offer improved stability and comfort, they won’t sink in on soft terrain like dirt, sand, or snow as easily but probably aren’t optimal for such use given the slick tread pattern
  • Shorter frame length of ~62.5″ might fit into elevators and closets more easily than traditional 72″ bicycles, both wheels have quick release for easy maintenance and portability
  • The battery pack can be charged on or off the frame and the charging port is easy to reach, I didn’t get to see the charger but I’m guessing it’s a standard 2 Amp design and weighs ~2 lbs, I recommend storing Lithium-ion batteries in a cool and dry environment to maximize their lifespan (extreme heat and cold can strain the cells)
  • Both the motor and battery are positioned towards the center of the bike for improved balance and I feel that the battery is well-protected under the saddle
  • I love how the kickstand is positioned just far enough back that it does not get in the way of the left crank arm, the stand feels solid and is a good length for stabilizing the bike

Cons:

  • The frame and fork are made from Steel which tends to be sturdy and offer some vibration dampening qualities but also weighs more and can rust if scratched, the fork crown was colliding with the downtube and marring the paint so I could see rust happening there
  • The crank arms are shorter than average at 140 mm which is perfect for the smaller wheels (you don’t want to have pedal strikes when turning) but pedal cadence maxed out for me around 15 mph, my knees can pretty high up and I had limited extension, and the Q Factor (crank arm width) seemed wider than average
  • I’m not sure how much assembly the Super 73 requires but you’ll probably have to do some work with the packaging and may be on your own since this is sold direct, the warranty seems pretty limited at ~90 days vs. one to two years on most store bought electric bikes
  • Lots of exposed wires, this bike looks unique because of the frame design but the additional motor inhibitor wires and cables running from the display to the battery and motor felt cluttered and I was a bit concerned about pinching them because of the fork crown-downtube collision point
  • Even though the 4.25″ wide tires and lower frame height improve stability to some extent, the bike felt a little top heavy and tippy because of how and where the battery was positioned, I noticed this when trying to ride with no hands
  • Very minor gripe here, I’m not sure about mounting fenders or a rear rack, there weren’t any traditional bottle cage bosses but I like the cup holder that’s built into the top tube just in front of the saddle
  • Minor comment, the display is not removable and could take more exposure from weather and scratch damage at public racks, I see many people clip their helmet over the display to keep it out of sight and protected
  • No chainring protector or cover to keep pants from snagging or getting greasy on the chain, it’s less of an issue with a single speed setup like this and I did like the narrow-wide tooth pattern that grabs the chain extra well
  • I feel like the 160 mm disc brake side is a bit minimal for such a heavy and fast electric bike, 180 mm would have me feeling more comfortable and of course I’d love hydraulic disc brakes
  • Be careful with the button pad (with the up, and down buttons in particular) because the plastic covers can get bent up, I have had this happen when my coat sleeve snagged a similar display once
  • Part of the appeal here is simplicity but the bike only comes in one frame size so it might not be ideal for extra tall or large riders, I am 5’9″ and weigh 135 lbs for reference

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

Douglas
4 weeks ago

Warranty is one year for electronics and lifetime for frame and price is more like $3000-3200.

Reply
Court Rye
4 weeks ago

Thanks Douglas! I included a screenshot from yesterday in the video review which showed 90 day so maybe it got updated. I see that they still list 90 days for the Scout. I’m glad it’s a bit longer for the Super 73 because the mid-drive seems to pull on the drivetrain with higher power which could possibly result in more wear or parts issues. Where are you seeing the $3k price? I found it on Kickstarter from $1,800 to $2k but maybe that was just for the campaign. I didn’t see the original listed on their website, just the V2 which is coming soon.

Reply
Douglas
4 weeks ago

The OG/2016 model retailed for $3000 outside of KS. The 2018 model is $3200 on pre-order.

I’ve got over 3000 miles on my KS bike (serial #5). The Lithium Cycles folks are very supportive of their product. I forsee that to continue to the Scout models.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

LimboJim
11 hours ago

I expected the price to be lower. If you buy off season, you can get a full suspension Haibike for less.
The Haibike FS eMTBs I own are fabulous (I have several hundred trail miles on my 2014/5 FS RX w/Bosch and 2016 AllMtn+ w/Yamaha), but none of Haibike's FS bikes come equipped with Shimano's E8000 motor... yet.

When I saw Motobecane's first foray into pedal assist MTBs came in well-specced at $3.5k w/the E8k motor, I dove right in (thx for the headsup, emco5!). While I have yet to fully experienced Bosch's/Yamaha's new/improved CX/PW-X motors, Shimano's newest motor blows me away @75 trail miles in so far, and I feel that Motobecane's eBoost is a solid value. Shimano's eMTB-specific motor is as smooth and intuitive as all the reviews say it is, IMO.

The bike's spartan design is fine by me, and its handling is crisp and nimble. Apparently, Diamondback's using the same front triangle in its Ranger eMTBs, which of course are only available in the EU thus far.

The 500Wh battery works well with the super-efficient motor, and I really like Shimano's customizable assist levels available through their "E-TUBE Project."

I do wish Motobecane had gone with 165 crank arms, offered a stock dropper, and maybe even Di2 electronic shifting, but that probably would have pushed the price over $4k and I can always add it all later.

If anyone else is pondering this bike, here are some initial experiences of mine:

Even when tightened over 20Nm, the top mounting bolt for the rear shock loosened on each ride until I added Loctite.

Needs a motor bash guard - I gouged mine on the first ride! The clearance is a bit lower than my Haibike AllMtn+, so I'll be more mindful of it on future rides (I also put some Gorilla Repair Tape on, which seems to help).
The wheel magnet wire routing is funky - it rubbed against the bottom rear shock (and its mount/housing). I wrapped the magnet wire with electrical tape to protect it on those spots, and zip tied it with the rear brake tube so it wasn't flopping around so much inside the rear shock's housing, which is a wide-open catch-basin for debris, as well.

Rooster
1 day ago

Quick update, well not so quick.

Final test before scheduling time on the line to assemble the HF1000s
The HF gets a spirited ride around town. The performance is higher on the 12T than we calculated, it does not have trouble going over 34 mph with strong pedaling. But drafting, it can hit 38 mph which shows the dramatic effect of the wind to impede the motor. The bike is not without little quirks, but its kinda awesome to ride. Now let’s make some bikes!

Production Update 1
Entering a new era for e-bikes: 1,000 Watts, torque-sensing pedal assist, 1,000 Wh Battery - The Holy Grail of pedal assist e-bikes will soon be a reality. We are so pumped to finally get these HyperFat e-bikes on the assembly line after over a year of persistent development, stops and starts.

Production Update 2
Day 2 of assembly for the HF1000. This bike has many specialized and unusual parts which makes it a challenge to assemble. To build the bike efficiently and consistently, many improvements need to be made to the product and the assembly processes.

Production Update 3

All the bikes are finished and tested at the factory. We have designed custom packaging so there is minimal disassembly and additionally minimal assembly for the end user. The bikes are in the containers and off to our shop where we will do very careful checks before going out to customers.

Production Update 4
After the long sea voyage the bikes arrive to our shop. The Juiced Techs pounce on the bikes at around 4 am every day to prep them per customer’s orders. The Techs love working on the HFs but it is more challenging than any of our other bikes.

Special Thanks
We would like to say thank you again to all of the Founder Series pre-order customers. The project has been super behind schedule, but we needed to get this thing right. In the process we and our suppliers have together learned an incredible amount about making such high performance production pedal-assist e-bike which has not really been done on this scale. This bike is for sure not a mass-market product, but we will put everything we have learned into our other mainstream products and the industry as a whole will benefit tremendously.

All that said, we hope the result will be a magical experience once you get a chance to throw a leg over the HF!
Holy Grail???

bob armani
1 day ago

Although the powertube is more aesthetic, the 2018 trek with classic battery is not far behind. I still prefer the later since a spare battery would easily fit in a back pack or big saddle bag (easier to carry a spare).

Yes the Trek Super Commuter8 is my ebike of choice also. They have tuned the Bosch motor quite well to match with the great build quality of Trek bicycles! Test rode at the Expo and it was superior to other models in the price range ($5000.00 Usd) Hope the pricing comes down a bit though.

Tora Harris
1 day ago

Quick update, well not so quick.

Final test before scheduling time on the line to assemble the HF1000s
The HF gets a spirited ride around town. The performance is higher on the 12T than we calculated, it does not have trouble going over 34 mph with strong pedaling. But drafting, it can hit 38 mph which shows the dramatic effect of the wind to impede the motor. The bike is not without little quirks, but its kinda awesome to ride. Now let’s make some bikes!

Production Update 1
Entering a new era for e-bikes: 1,000 Watts, torque-sensing pedal assist, 1,000 Wh Battery - The Holy Grail of pedal assist e-bikes will soon be a reality. We are so pumped to finally get these HyperFat e-bikes on the assembly line after over a year of persistent development, stops and starts.

Production Update 2
Day 2 of assembly for the HF1000. This bike has many specialized and unusual parts which makes it a challenge to assemble. To build the bike efficiently and consistently, many improvements need to be made to the product and the assembly processes.

Production Update 3

All the bikes are finished and tested at the factory. We have designed custom packaging so there is minimal disassembly and additionally minimal assembly for the end user. The bikes are in the containers and off to our shop where we will do very careful checks before going out to customers.

Production Update 4
After the long sea voyage the bikes arrive to our shop. The Juiced Techs pounce on the bikes at around 4 am every day to prep them per customer’s orders. The Techs love working on the HFs but it is more challenging than any of our other bikes.

Special Thanks
We would like to say thank you again to all of the Founder Series pre-order customers. The project has been super behind schedule, but we needed to get this thing right. In the process we and our suppliers have together learned an incredible amount about making such high performance production pedal-assist e-bike which has not really been done on this scale. This bike is for sure not a mass-market product, but we will put everything we have learned into our other mainstream products and the industry as a whole will benefit tremendously.

All that said, we hope the result will be a magical experience once you get a chance to throw a leg over the HF!

St Michael
2 days ago

Nice build, nice post. I too am doing an experimental battery pack build with
Cheap 18650 Li Mn batteries, Ya I bought some cheap 18650 Li Mn batteries on E-bay. Lot of 100 high drain 35 Amp 2500 mah for $60, Just as experiment to build a battery pack and to try out my Sunkko 709A spot welder, How could I go wrong? LOL, oh well, while waiting for the batteries I found a site selling them for half the allready super low price I paid for them, Ya a lot of 100 for $32 at http://www.fscestore.xyz/rechargeable-batteries-c-244_549_1488/lot-100-high-drain-rechargeable-battery-18650-35a-3. That's 32 cents a piece ,( darn, how bad are these batteries) I'm sure I can use these cell's in something, but my as for my 48V 13S 6P battery pack build , well we will see ;-) I will post my test results when when I get these so called 2500 mah 35 amp high drain batteries in.

1/1
Falcon1az
4 days ago

Decided to buy from BafangUSAdirect. Called and talked to Kevin (if I remember his name correct). Big part of this experience was to be sure I had a chance to speak to someone. Great guy and answered all my questions. I ordered the bbs02 on Thursday the 9th and it got here Monday the 13th (shipped from CA to IL). Super fast!

iBikeDiane
5 days ago

I haven't been on even a standard bike in many years, so I will be super careful! Much good advice there, thank you! I will be laser focused.

I prefer the black or blue bike, but I got the white for extra safety, thinking it will be more visible. And I will definitely have a rear-view mirror before I go anywhere near cars.

Chris Nolte
5 days ago

@Chris Nolte - thanks for calling out these fenders. I'm gearing up for the rain and was looking for some satin finish black fenders that match my Redux (which, btw, I totally enjoy riding!). I'm not super-savvy on bike stuff. My local shop wants an additional $50 to custom install these, which sounds like a lot for a relatively simple job. Can you share a bit more about what kinds of tools would be need to make the adjustments you mention? I'm guessing that notching out the rear fender for the seat stays is fairly easy with a pair of sturdy clippers/wire cutter, but I'm a little less clear about drilling a hole "to install the screw at the seat stay bridge." Would I need a special drill bit for this? Any input or direction you can provide would be much appreciated...

thx,
Oren
I don't think $50 is unreasonable for that job. Although I completely understand if you want to give it a go on your own. For drilling the hole you don't need a special drill, just a small bit that will clear the hole for the screw. You might also need some bike specific bolts, but I don't have the bike here so I can't say specifically which ones.

OJS
5 days ago

@Chris Nolte - thanks for calling out these fenders. I'm gearing up for the rain and was looking for some satin finish black fenders that match my Redux (which, btw, I totally enjoy riding!). I'm not super-savvy on bike stuff. My local shop wants an additional $50 to custom install these, which sounds like a lot for a relatively simple job. Can you share a bit more about what kinds of tools would be need to make the adjustments you mention? I'm guessing that notching out the rear fender for the seat stays is fairly easy with a pair of sturdy clippers/wire cutter, but I'm a little less clear about drilling a hole "to install the screw at the seat stay bridge." Would I need a special drill bit for this? Any input or direction you can provide would be much appreciated...

thx,
Oren

rich c
6 days ago

I ride a 2016 XDURO Full Seven S RX, love the bike and love the 28mph boost with riding streets. My bike has the Schwalbe Super Moto-X. Work great on dirt trails if there is no mud. We can't ride around here when anything sticks to the tires anyway. So I drop the psi and enjoy the ride over rocks and roots. Personally, I just can't see the advantage of Carbon Fiber frames. Especially since it has the motor. An aluminum version will be about half price for less than 9 pounds savings. I'd go on a diet to take off 9 pounds if someone would pay me $3000.

daniel58
7 days ago

[QUOhttps://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radrover-electric-fat-bike?variant=1121017969TE="Rooster, post: 120185, member: 15666"]Yes but this ocean current already has vee tire co. Speedster 2.80x26 fat tires and looks the roll[/QUOTE]

I actually got the idea from watching youtube video's of actual e-bike product demonstrations that featured bikes with both front and rear wheel electric hub motor drives; now with both front and rear wheel electric hub motor drives engaged with the ground all the time one can actually ride on the beach even thru dry and/or wet sand without getting potentially stuck; while at the same time being also able to go directly thru muddy trails without getting potentially stuck; to be able to actually have a powered e-bike that is actually capable of powering as if one had the equivalent of all terrain 4wd for a bicycle is something that can be realized with a relatively modest additional investment in ones existing e-bike purchase;

for example consider the Radrover E-Bike Fat Tire Bike for $1499(link below); just imagine the actual potential possibilities of having an all terrain 4wd fat tire E-Bike with a powered front wheel electric hub motor drive; yes one can go on amazon and literally add a 750 watt powered front wheel electric hub motor for a relatively modest e-bike upgrade cost; that would give even the Juiced Bikes Hyperfat E-Bike that is currently still in product development; some rather serious no nonsense E-Bike fat tire ultra performance potential market competition at a very competitive price point offering to boot easily under $2,000;

which is still a very easy modest doable post purchase e-biker end user upgrade project that can actually be purchased right now as we speak(all component parts needed); and yes it would be a turbocharged version of Juiced Bikes Hyperfat with 500 watts in your case combined with 750 watts from front powered front wheel electric hub motor drive; for a combined 1250 watts or 1.25Kw of pure 4wd turbocharged performance one could literally in fact go up a truly massive 25 degree hilly incline if actually needed or if the need ever potentially arose; heck I might just go looking for a 25 degree incline to actually see how it does performance wise to witness and experience the e-bike performance wow factor before and after the turbocharging of the Hyperfat Ebike;

now one of course might have to contact Court and have him do a performance test evaluation review of ones end user post purchase modified E-Bike whether its a CCS, OceanCurrent, or even a custom modified RadRover E-Bike; especially if one also added a Cycling Analyst 3.0(by Grin Technologies) to actually control and customize the end user actual output power levels going to the motor controller that would be delivering the actual adjustable variable output power to the front wheel electric hub motor drive; all to deliver a end user totally customizable 4wd turbocharged surrealistic terra firma ground gripping engaging 4wd E-Biking experience;

as that is truly something that may not have been done before or be directly customized and/or adjusted by the end user in "real time" on the fly; one could for example easily adjust for more or less desired end user target objective needed customized power going to the forward front wheel electric hub motor drive in relative comparison to the actual power going to the rear wheel electric hub motor drive; now the end user might be able to actually go into the Cycling Analyst and set up a custom power level preset to deliver an end user defined custom output power level going to the motor controller that would be effectively delivering and transferring a certain amount of end user pre-defined usable output power to the front wheel on demand.

One can literally turn it into a super cool urban assault commuter bike; by swapping out the default tires for the higher end Kenda Juggernaut Fat Bike tires; just imagine for a moment riding up intense mountain trails being a breeze to pedal and having the time of ones lives cycling enjoying the great outdoors e-biking; now the dual forward and rear electric hub motor pedal assist experience would be nothing short of amazing to realize in real life; by being able to take on mountain trails terrain with the kind of aggressive dual traction being provided from both ones electric powered wheels that one really needs on typical mountain trails;

one can literally be suddenly able to selectively carefully climb and pick ones way through potential sand, snow, loose rock, loose gravel, grass, rough fields and even climb some steep boulders also as well; for at least 25 miles to 30 miles and for about at least 3 to 3.5 hours time worry free with a decent generously sized lithium ion battery pack; now this dual purpose urban and mountain trails assault e-bike would be an absolute blast to experience riding indeed and one could definitely see how much fun it could actually be to get out on some rather grueling mountain trails that I have hiked on before previously to look forward revisiting once again using this very powerful e-biking mountain trail touring tool;

now the Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro has the dual wheel electric hub motor setup for $3,600; with 350 watts for the rear wheel electric hub motor and 250 watts for the front wheel electric hub motor; while the Rad Rover has its fat e-biking setup for $1,500; the Rad rover has a 750 watts for the rear wheel electric hub motor and one can rather easily as another add on optional front wheel driven 750 watts for the front wheel electric hub; for a total potential combined total power output of up to 1,500 watts in 4wd mode if needed;

so for the Rad Rover fat bike setup for $1,500 that comes with its included 750 watts rear wheel electric hub motor and let's say about $300 conservatively for the option to add the 750 watt front wheel electric hub motor from Amazon along with a Cycling Analyst 3.0; and even adding $500 for another 11.4 lithium ion battery pack mounted to a front rack mount; that is still only about $2,300 in total costs as compared to the $3,600 Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro; that is still a major savings in cost of just over $1,300;

now the other major thing to consider of course is the Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro for $3,600 is only 600 watts total combined power output for both the front and rear electric hub drive motors; while the Rad Rover fat bike setup has for just about $2,300 only has just over 1,500 watts total continuous combined power output for both the front and rear electric hub drive motors and that is not even considering what the total peak power output might actually turn out to be;

now guys the actual total cost for the modified dual drive all wheel drive customized fat e-bike setup for the Rad Rover is only $2,300(as described previously above); while still able to deliver at least 1,500 watts of total potential continuous output power to ones dual wheels on the ground thru its dual all wheel drive fat e-bike specific top quality Kenda Juggernaut tires; now with the customized fat e-bike setup described Rad Rover described above that is actually just a bit over two and a half times the total combined power output of the Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro dual drive all wheel drive fat e-bike setup and yet it still somehow manages to cost basically still somehow less than $1,300; holy cow that is basically a "steal of a deal";

now that is definitely a fat e-bike project that is practically basically begging to be built just for the upgrade performance cost in parts in terms relative to the cost of the basic core $1,500(about 1.5x) Rad Rover fat e-bike itself versus about 2.4x the cost of a core Rad Rover $1,500 fat e-bike; for the Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro turn key fat e-bike configuration; while it basically costs just about only $800 additional to performance upgrade ones Rad Rover fat e-bike with some additional upgrade parts($300 for the 750 watt front wheel hub electric motor drive and $500 for the second lithium ion battery pack); and we are not even talking about the potential doubling of the power that the Rad Rover is going to be definitely experiencing going from 750 watts on the rear wheel electric drive hub motor to another 750 watts on the front wheel drive hub motor; for heavens sake, that is another whole additional 900 watts of pure total watts of potential unmitigated continuous output power that can be potentially applied "in real life" to ones dual wheel Rad Rover fat e-bike tires and any terra firma that may yet lay beneath them to be explored on mountain trails and the like hopefully;

and yet another point for potential contention and mutual consideration; exactly how many dual wheel all wheel drive capable fat tire e-bike configuartion does one know of; that can actually provide 1,500 watts of total combined output power thru its massive dual fat e-bike tires for not more than $2,300? Tora Harris(founder of Juiced Bikes) eat your heart out we just may have in fact just taken out his very own Hyperfat fat tire e-bike still in actual product development currently having ongoing problems still trying to be developed and built successfully in their asian chinese factories; and their is a very strong distinct chance and actual "real world reality" probability possibility that this dual wheel all wheel drive customized Rad Rover fat tire e-bike design can easily beat not only the Hyperfat fat tire e-bike and but also perhaps even the original "all wheel drive" flagship design by Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro($3,600) quite badly on a performance specification wise basis at least also as well; and one can actually build it actually right now without any further waiting and also build it at a significant anticipated project cost savings over the projected cost of the actual HyperFat fat tire e-bike when it does actually come out and easily beat the cost of the Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro($3,600) also quite handily by a huge cost factor and absolutely ridiculous cost savings margin; at the same time also as well.

https://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radrover-electric-fat-bike?variant=1121017969

One horsepower equals 745.7 watts; 1,500 watts divided by 745.7 watts equals 2.01 horsepower; and guys that is only the defined rated continuous output power; as the actual peak output power is actually not 750 watts but actually 1095 watts maximum peak output power; or

1095 watts peak maximum output power times two wheels equals 2,190 watts peak maximum output power; 2190 watts divided by 745.7 watts equals 2.94hp actual total maximum peak output power in terms of rated equivalent horsepower; holy cow guys that is almost 3 horsepower peak total maximum power output in terms of rated equivalent horsepower; that would seem like more than enough to potentially beat the HyperFat fat tire e-bike at least on a paper technical specification basis; for not much more money to boot also as well(no brainer-build it and find out; no worries Cycling Analyst 3.0(Grin Technologies-they also actually sell pairs of massively heavily reinforced hardened steel(think lawn mower blade hardened reinforced tempered steel) torque arms for ones front fork-cannot be to safe they say its actually true in real life) will confirm ones actual power output is all genuine, authentic and real for "real world" confirmation and proof of actual power output in terms of maximum continuous power and maximum peak power total actual power output figures-so their will be no doubt at all if one actually somehow beats the HyperFat fat tire e-bike and/or the Easy Motion Evo Big Bud Pro fat tire e-bike; then one can go on youtube and actually go viral after proving one has beat any of the other fat tire e-bike potential competition hopefully and then go on to hopefully even extensively document this do it yourself (DIY) fat tire e-bike upgrade project on Youtube to also enable other potential hardcore fellow fat tire e-bikers to be able to put their very own custom dual wheel all wheel drive fat tire e-bike together for themselves also as well); now this fat tire e-bike would also make for the ultimate all terrain vehicle snow bike(with both ice and snow hardened steel studded equipped fat bike tires-same kind they use on bmx enduro downhill motocross snow racing tires) thanks to its highly variable customizable adjustable power output dual wheel all wheel drive fat tire e-bike drive power transmission system;

yes guys one can actually do a do-it-yourself(DIY) Rad Rover end user customized fat tire e-bike build for just about $2,300 that will definitely result in at least 1,500 watt or at least two horsepower of total potential continuous output power(2.94hp actual total maximum peak output power in terms of rated equivalent horsepower-see above actual derived calculation) being directly applied to ones dual wheels on the ground thru its dual all wheel drive fat e-bike specific top quality Kenda Juggernaut tires; now if that is actually worth $2,300 to any hard core fat tire e-biking individuals out their; please report back if anyone has built anything remotely like this previously in the past or even considering also building something along the lines of a dual wheel all wheel drive fat tire e-bike as previously extensively described and discussed above.

P.S. to Andy in Ca; it need not be a lithium ion battery pack hog; that is what the Cycling Analyst 3.0 is for; as it is being used as a programmable cycling computer, where it can supposedly set up a end user defined customized power output profile to drive ones front wheel electric hub motor drive; so one can very precisely and accurately dial in the exact end user defined power output going to the motor controller that is driving the front wheel electric hub drive motor; and yes it can actually be both varied and also adjusted on the fly in "real time" to fit ones "real world" and "real time" conditions on an as needed "user defined on demand" basis; naturally of course one can also do the same with setting up another Cycling Analyst 3.0 programmable cycling computer to also actually customize and control the actual amount of power going to the motor controller for the rear wheel electric hub drive motor also as well similar to what is going to be done in conjunction with the front wheel electric hub drive motor; also Andy the Cycling Analyst 3.0 can also if needed to conserve both power and range on ones lithium ion battery pack if needed by also being able to put a optimal end user defined maximum speed velocity threshold cutoff value if actually needed and/or also be able to additionally put a optimal end user defined maximum current threshold cutoff value if also actually needed and/or necessary to still make it to home base without potentially running out of critical potential needed power on ones lithium ion battery pack also as well in an potential unexpected emergency for example of course.

EddieJ
1 week ago

As for Di2 doubt extra price is worth extra price on 1x11 for ebike, especially when manual XT is so good. Where Di2 shines is on 2x10 or 2x11, the lever controls both derailleurs. Will shift front derailleur and rear at same time so there is no big jump, its like having 1x15 with super fast precision shifting. Brilliant on unassisted bikes which need large range of gears.

I'm in 100% agreement with everything that you have said there.

I took an Orange Alpine 6 out today for a quick spin, and the Di2 left me wondering what both the point of it was, and why is there all the fuss being made about it. The only aspect that appealed was the lack of cockpit clutter and cable. Beyond that, I'll give it a miss on a 1x set up.

1/1
Drumulac
1 week ago

Here's the full review:

https://worstwriter.com/2017/08/14/pseudo-review-3-rm-charger-gx-touring-2000km-and-counting/

Here's the short version:

My R&M GX is holding up without flaw. Approaching need of new rear tire. Absolutely love the Brooks B17 saddle. Never even had to fill tires with air. The brakes are brilliant and work as though they are new. Although still an expensive bike, I'd buy another without second thought. Oh wait. We did that. My wife's Charge Mixte Nuvinci is also still running great--but she's only got about 700km on it.

Rant and ride on.

-T
Thoroughly enjoying your reviews! I agree that these R&M machines are really nice. With 2500 miles on my Delite GX, I'm still (dare I say this) delighted with the bike. Doing 90% of my riding - mostly commuting - on the road, I did swap out the Rock Razors for Super Moto tires early on. The Rock Razors were just fine on the road and worked well off, but I was having puncture issues . . . but what do you expect here in NY, where the streets are strewn with all sorts of interesting tire biting debris. I am wondering, though, why/how your friend is "struggling" with his Rohloff.

Kelly @ CitrusCycles.ca
1 week ago

I'm probably biased since we sell Riese & Muller, but the Nevo is a fantastic eBike. It is one of our top sellers, and one of my personal favourites. Up until recently, my wife had a Nevo, and I think I rode it as much as her, as I really enjoyed it. (She now has the Homage, which in my opinion is the only bike better than a Nevo.)

We haven't had a single problem or complaint, and I've never heard of a speed wobble issue with the Nevo. You can ride it very aggressively if you wish, as the handling is superb.

If it helps, I have a video review here: http://citruscycles.ca/r-m-nevo-step-thru-bosch-ebike

I also just posted a review of the Homage: http://citruscycles.ca/r-m-homage-full-suspension-bosch-ebike

There are a few different models available, but I'm really excited about the Nevo GH Nuvinci, as I love the Super-Moto X tires.

Hopefully my biased opinion helps a bit :-)

Thanks,

Kelly

Marceltt
1 week ago

I can't recommend any tools, but I'm curious as to why you need the tools for the Ridgerider motor. I own a Ridgerider and am on my second motor. The first one crapped out (luckily) within the warranty period, along with the pedal sense component.
I also had to replace part of my motor where the bearing is inside. Went to local bike shops but no one had the special socket tool to take it apart. Pedego was great as they shipped me the new part . But then I had to ask the Pedego service department to send me that tool as no one had it here. They did and motor was fixed. Then I had to ship tool back. I would rather have one on hand in case I need it. Lost a few weeks riding for waiting for parts then bike shop doing the work. No Pedego dealer close to me. Pedego gave super excellent service in the matter.

theaggravatedjew
1 week ago

Well mine was canceled also, a HUGE selling point of juiced for me was local dealer support (lbs no longer carries juiced) and expansion and upgradeability. I am super disappointed.

Scott C
1 week ago

Hi - I'm mid fifties too, I've got a bosch powered Lapierre full suspension mountain bike (FC900 overvolt) which I changed somewhat with raised bars (I put bmx bars on) and a serfas super comfy seat. The high bars did a perfect job of eliminating back and neck aggravation and pain, and the seat, well there seemed no point in sitting on the standard seat, which felt like a 2" pipe - in fact I purchased two serfas e-gel seats one womens version for my wife's e-bike and I got the mens - both very good but when I rode my wife's bike I was surprised to find its width providing even better support - so now I have a womens seat on mine too. haha. Regards the weight - don't all the ebikes amount to being rather heavy with some slightly heavier than that. Those with removable batteries at least provides for some relief from their weight in transit. [edit - bosch system is awesome - I've done probably 5000km's with no problems]

MPDX
2 weeks ago

Ike, when did you order yours? I ordered two 6.0's in June in Portland, OR and the ship date has been pushed back to late December when I spoke with my lbs last week. Any issues thus far? Seat comfortable? Sorry for all the questions but I am super excited!

Leandro
2 weeks ago

The Riese & Muller Nevo may be worth a look. It is super stable and rigid for a low-step bike. The bike has tons of options including a Nuvinci hub paired with a Gates belt drive, making it super easy to operate and maintain. You can also equip the bike with wider rims and tires for a more stable and comfortable ride; this option will have the moniker "GT". The bike comes standard with an extremely reliable Bosch Performance Line CX mid-drive motor and you can opt to get the Performance Line HS that can top out at 28mph. This bike is built to last upwards of 10+ yrs with exception of the battery, which has an average lifespan of 3-5yrs.

Deafcat
2 weeks ago

Biktrix Stunner would be a great choice! BBS02B mid-drive, 7-speed Shimano IGH, great battery, throttle and PAS.

The BBS is also integrated into frame for a sleeker and more rugged layout. This is a super fun bike to ride (one of my favourites from Biktrix).

rich c
2 weeks ago

Not on a Fat Tire folding ebike. SUper fun, and very comfortable. 35 miles would be a piece of cake.
Sorry, but still think it looks like you borrowed your kid's 20" bike for a 35 mile ride.

Mike's E-Bikes
2 weeks ago

Yeah, how and where do you ride? As far as I am concerned, a 35 mile ride on a folding bike would be the equivalent of hell! I'm also in the camp that believes that people riding folding bikes, looks like they borrowed their kid's bike.
Not on a Fat Tire folding ebike. SUper fun, and very comfortable. 35 miles would be a piece of cake.

Mike's E-Bikes
2 weeks ago

FWIW, I think you have narrowed down your final three to some fine and well reviewed ebikes. I have been ebiking for 22 years now and I also live in an area where even small traditional bike shops are rare. Only small towns populate the landscape in the area and only the largest of these small towns finally got a small bike shop earlier this year. A friend talked to the proprietor recently and relayed to me that the owner is seriously considering going out of business already because of his inability to generate any real traffic to his shop. The town has a small university and he indicated he was counting on that community of potential customers to help in his venture. Not so much when it came to reality, according to him. Likely there are quite a number of us out there who like you and myself have not the opportunity to visit shops and test ride ebikes. All the bikes I have owned over these 22 years of ebiking have been without hands on experience with test rides. But through luck or whatever, I have been happy with my purchases. I believe my positive experiences accrue primarily to good reviews of ebikes I found and studied on sites like this one. Agreed, it is not ideal, but there are those of us who have no realistic opportunity to do the 'hands on' thing.
Many bike shops continue to go under. 2017 was bad year for regular bikes. Trek CEO said if your IBD was down ONLY 3.5%, you had a 'good year.' Its so bad now, Trek is afraid of losing market share,as the owners in their 60's are selling, and there are no buyers. So Trek is looking to buy more shops. (they already own too many). Many people have told me Trek stores are not friendly,mostly arrogant, and few carry e-bikes. Even their own 'great brands.'

Anyhow, if you tell the audience what type of riding you are going to be doing, where (trails, roads ?), how often, we could make more appropriate suggestions. None of the ebikes you are looking at are bad per se, but there are certainly ebikes that provide a lot more value at those price points.

For example. If you are looking at the Tern, which is a folding e-bike, have you considered a fat tire folding e-bike ? They are super comfortable, super versatile, and can handle any terrain. The fat tires allow you to be safe under any condition, and then also provide some tremendous shock absorption. Also, you can get them with 15 AH batteries, that will easily get you 70 miles or more on a charge. With a 500 watt motor, you can hit the speeds you would most likely desire. They can be folded up and put in the trunk or hatchback of most cars. Personally, I think fat tire folding ebikes are a hidden secret of best e-bikes out there today for the money, and the most versatile in terms of terrain, commutability, fun, traction, compactness, and practicality. Your size is also not an issue with these, and you can be as upright, or forward as you wish. I think they are over-looked, bc they do look a bit goofy or cartoonish even, but I have yet to see a customer who tries one, not actually go ahead and buy one, even after looking at many regular road tire non-folding frame ebikes.

GuruUno
2 weeks ago

Bought a $5k Trek Super Commuter 8+ in June this year, approaching 2k miles, best bike I've ever owned.
Contacted the "mother ship" (Trek National Headquarters) to inquire about how/where to obtain touch-up paint to blob out some very small paint chips.
I was told it don't exist, use fingernail polish.
Quite frankly their advice sucks.
$5k, and no paint code, or any advice other than that!
Absolutely nuts.
In any event, if nobody already has got any or figured it out, please share, alternately I'll have my "specialty" paint matcher blend some, at whatever cost.
In this day and age, it's insane to be treated in such a manner.
You can watch the YouTube video on how they make and paint, you might think they would offer a solution.
Fussy, fussy me, yes, I can and will be.

Eddie Espinal
3 days ago

How tall is Chris?

Chris at Propel
3 days ago

I think it's small for most adults, especially if you want to try and pedal.

Eddie Espinal
3 days ago

Thanks brother I ask to more or less see how big the bike is I'm 6 feet I think it's small for me

Chris at Propel
3 days ago

I'm 5'9" :)

Carl Larsson
5 days ago

Now that’s a poorly designed bike. Fixed chain tensioner?! For real?

Steven James DeBlasi
7 days ago

I've watched a few EBR videos now. It seems that all of the e-bike manufacturers use Bafang/8fun and/or Chinese motors. Don't any manufacturers (in the USA) use American (or European) motors?

I previously lived in China for 11 years and I don't want to say that Chinese OEMs make bad products per se, but they do like to cut corners to save money/time wherever possible. The result is that they are usually not as reliable or long-lasting as motors from American/European manufacturers. I'm sure they're cheaper, but you know what they say. You get what you pay for. And their after-sales service usually leaves something to be desired too.

Jacek Kordas
1 week ago

This hole next to cup holder is a bottle opener

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 days ago

Thanks Jacek, I saw that on one of their marketing videos but simply forgot, appreciate you adding this comment!

jamoan123
2 weeks ago

I have this bike and you are spot on with the review. Support with the company isn't great so you're pretty much on your own. You need to be mechanically inclined because once you get this bike, there are many little problems you have to tinker with in order to get it to run smooth. When my bike came, my kickstand doesn't work right and my bike kept on tipping over no matter how I adjusted it. The stock brakes are a joke so I had to upgrade them to 203mm hydraulic tektro dorado's for around $300 from empowered cycles. Not cheap but it is night and day with hydraulic brakes. To set the speed limit, you have to go to advanced settings and enter 1919 for password.

I get tire punctures are extremely often on this bike due to fat tires. I had to put on Mr. Tuffy liners as well as slime in the inner tube. Carry a co2 cartridge inflator or manual pump. It's not fun to get stranded on this.

Once you get this bike to run smooth, it's a pretty solid bike.

ebikefan
2 weeks ago

Lithium Cycles suggests the Kenda racing slick fat tires be inflated to 20 psi for street. They also offer knobbies in the Specialized Mission Control fat tires too. The oblong hole at the 10:06 mark is a bottle cap opener. The wires on the left aren't routed properly on this person's bike, they should go through the triangle in the middle where the frame meets so they won't get cut on turns. You don't have to build it out of the box as it was shipped mostly assembled, just install one bolt for the handlebar/fork, put on the front wheel, screw on the pedals, plug in the power cable, that's it. 2018 model Super 73 will apparently be a hub motor instead of a mid-drive and have hydraulic disc brakes. The bike in the video was probably an early Kickstarter delivery because they later shipped the bike with a center stand and offered different lighting kit options. Yes, it's more scooter than pedal bike, but I do have a lot of fun riding mine. :)

David Ombogo
2 weeks ago

he gets on at 21:39

Luk as
2 weeks ago

No regen breaking?wake up people it's 2017 !

Luk as
6 days ago

'' My experience with Regen is like 1% to 3% recuperation of energy'' - all depends how often You use regen.Do You watch FORMULA E ? did You see how much regen those cars are getting while braking ? My HUB motor is lighter then mid drive motor and after 5000 miles there is no service needed on the motor.( that's why I choice hub motor instead of mid drive )
I don't think regen will be banned from e bikes in the future, having solar panel for charging on the bike will be awesome.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 days ago

It's kind of a complicated subject, the only regen e-bikes I have seen use larger heavier gearless motors which can have some cogging drag. Mid-drive motors by comparison, allow you to leverage your gears and get much better range with the same battery capacity. My experience with Regen is like 1% to 3% recuperation of energy and I'm not sure that offsets the additional weight or wear on brake pads. It's fun and interesting but in almost all cases it's more efficient (from an energy perspective) to charge an ebike by plugging it in. Modern power plants of almost any kind are better at converting energy into electricity than people who ate food that was shipped in on a big truck that was grown with petroleum based fertilizers etc. and when we pedal hard, a lot of heat energy is lost. It's a long story, but I do not believe that electric bikes of the future will all have regen, they may however have solar charging built in :D

Richard's Tech-Knowledgey
2 weeks ago

Time to Re-review the MOAR bike

Israel Velasco
2 weeks ago

You are the only one who can make this honest reviews and I really appreciated because you take really good angles of the bikes and really explain the pros and cons and because of that we can really see what the companies don’t want us to see. Thanks.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 days ago

You're welcome, thanks for the positive recognition. I try hard at this and am aiming to be independent and honest with this work :)

Trace zach daniels
3 weeks ago

SO COOL...hey IF you in the Kern county area...call me..i got the best E bikes..........much love Tee with LIONS NAMED LEO {the band}.........and bike dealer.....at 661 326 1604

Trace zach daniels
3 weeks ago

Bakersfield CA.and I am a dealer/consultant.....call anytime.

Trace zach daniels
3 weeks ago

aaah well..i am a dealer consultant a have a couple demo s and just help people understand what they are getting...and guide them to the best...we do it online..i hope that helps..call anytime

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 weeks ago

Hi Trace, where is your shop? Kern County California? What other bikes and brands do you carry at the shop/

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 weeks ago

It looks like Casey Neistat and crew used the Lithium Cycles Super 73 e-bike for their Star Wars Speeder Halloween project. Neat video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8s_T4NpBPs with some behind the scenes showing how it was done.

Uwayzo Foster
1 week ago

ElectricBikeReview.com lol, yeah that’s pretty awesome!! Thanks for sharing! I didn’t even know about this!!

supernova1976
3 weeks ago

I am glad you are critical , this. One is not worth 2k, as you mentioned for 2k there are so many other more capable alternatives , and if you like a certain bike and it is not electric you can get a similar Bafang kit for 750 usd.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 weeks ago

I try to be fair and not too harsh on one brand or model vs. another that fits my tastes... but this product has been around for quite some time now and only positive marketing type videos really seem to show up high

samz1069
3 weeks ago

Buy a Sondors FoldX for $800Bucks and hop it up a little bit through the aftermarket is There now! And actually have a bike you can paddle if you want don’t get me wrong I like this bike but it’s more of a fun to have ride to me!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 weeks ago

Yeah, that looks like an interesting bike, I'm in touch with the Sondors team and hope to review eventually :)

Teo P
3 weeks ago

For that price, given that it's marketed in cities with plenty of rainy weather, it should not be a potential rust bucket

Teo P
3 weeks ago

...and yes, aluminum is expensive to work with

Teo P
3 weeks ago

ElectricBikeReview.com
Even cheaper, coat it in truck bed liner, lasts forever

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 weeks ago

Agree, I wonder why they didn't choose Aluminum? Maybe it's more expensive to mold or they got a special deal on the frames that were already made in China or something?

Vaping with James
3 weeks ago

I find them advertising it as the world's best bike is a joke and e extremely tasteless in my opinion!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 weeks ago

Yeah, it puts me off a bit. But my niche is being as honest and objective as possible while still being constructive and that's what I tried to do. Their goal is probably to sell as many as possible and maybe they teamed up with some new age marketing firm which is pushing extremes for attention, or maybe that's just their style... whatever, just wish I could have put this out sooner to help guide people who are putting down cash with only marketing to go on :P

Vaping with James
3 weeks ago

I like it but for the money I've seen bikes that offer so much more for the money.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 weeks ago

Completely agree, especially since it's $3k+ vs. the $2k I mistakenly thought when filming :(

run home
3 weeks ago

Hey Court,
Great job as always. I saw you talked about Luna cycles. I know everyone ask for a review, but one on Luna cycles and there shop to see there workman ship would be great. I like the look of there New Carbon FS Fat bike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 weeks ago

Yeah, that bike looks very interesting. I haven't focused on it as much because I believe the owner of Luna also owns ElectricBike.com and does plenty of press for themselves. I have been working on other exciting models for 2018 and also training up some team members to cover more variety. We are in touch with Luna, I'm friends with Eric Hicks and I have visited them in the past. Hope to publish something eventually :)

blairo15
3 weeks ago

Hi! That blue Helmet looks pretty cool. Do you know where I could get one? Great videos btw mate! Cheers from Australia!

blairo15
3 weeks ago

Thanks for the reply!

Chris at Propel
3 weeks ago

blairo15 that’s a POC Octal. I’m pretty sure they should have retail outlets in Australia if you search. It’s a little pricey, but it’s super light and comfortable.

Uwayzo Foster
3 weeks ago

It costs $100 to cancel a pre-order. I don't know if that is for a single order with multiple items, or it that's $100 for each multiple item on a single order (I'm presuming it's per order #, and not per item on a single order #). There is only a 90 day warranty as well. Be sure to check for warranty, and any other stipulations before purchasing. I also don't know how you would cancel other than to contact them directly. https://www.lithiumcycles.com/pages/return-policy

Uwayzo Foster
1 week ago

ElectricBikeReview.com I didn’t want to cancel, but ended up having to anyways due to lack of funds with job layoff. Hopefully you will get to do another review on their 2018 production models when they come out. By then, perhaps I’ll be financially able to pick one up, or any other nice bikes I find on your channel. Thanks for all of your hard work, and responding! I really appreciate it!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 weeks ago

Sorry if you're struggling with the process of canceling. I did have some fun on this bike but probably wouldn't buy one if I lived in NYC or wanted a more nimble bicycle type feel... or the comfort of suspension