Moustache Friday 27.5 Review

Moustache Friday 27 5 Electric Bike Review
Moustache Friday 27 5
Moustache Friday 27 5 Vp Alloy Pedals Motor Skid Plate
Moustache Friday 27 5 Hidden Power Battery Cover
Moustache Friday 27 5 Bosch Intuvia Display Ergo Grips
Moustache Friday 27 5 Supernova E3 V6s
Moustache Friday 27 5 Suntour Mobie25 Suspension Fork
Moustache Friday 27 5 Brooks B17 Leather Saddle
Moustache Friday 27 5 Spanninga Pixeo Backlight Alloy Fenders
Moustache Friday 27 5 Bosch Performance Motor
Moustache Friday 27 5 11 Speed Shimano Slx Plastic Chain Cover
Moustache Friday 27 5 Ortleib Q3l Rear Rack
Moustache Friday 27 5 Four Amp Bosch Ebike Charger
Moustache Friday 27 5 Electric Bike Review
Moustache Friday 27 5
Moustache Friday 27 5 Vp Alloy Pedals Motor Skid Plate
Moustache Friday 27 5 Hidden Power Battery Cover
Moustache Friday 27 5 Bosch Intuvia Display Ergo Grips
Moustache Friday 27 5 Supernova E3 V6s
Moustache Friday 27 5 Suntour Mobie25 Suspension Fork
Moustache Friday 27 5 Brooks B17 Leather Saddle
Moustache Friday 27 5 Spanninga Pixeo Backlight Alloy Fenders
Moustache Friday 27 5 Bosch Performance Motor
Moustache Friday 27 5 11 Speed Shimano Slx Plastic Chain Cover
Moustache Friday 27 5 Ortleib Q3l Rear Rack
Moustache Friday 27 5 Four Amp Bosch Ebike Charger

Summary

  • A sleek, utilitarian, and comfortable electric city bike designed in France, custom-made tubular fenders stay quiet and pair nicely with a sturdy plastic chain cover, swivel handle bar saves space
  • Available in three frame sizes for optimal fit, stock kickstand and pedals are great, quality 11-speed drivetrain with the Shimano one-way clutch for reduced chain bounce, stable and comfortable Super Moto-X tires with puncture protection
  • Premium integrated lights that run off the main battery, the Supernova headlight offers 165 lumens and is mounted on the handlebars for reduced bounce and better visibility, Ortlieb QL3 compatible rear rack, swept-back handlebar and ergo grips
  • Beautiful motor integration, Class 1 ebike with 20 mph top speed from the Bosch Performance Line mid-drive, hidden power battery design keeps weigh low and looks great, three bottle cage bosses, thru-axle with quality suspension fork and a seat post suspension

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Moustache

Model:

Friday 27.5

Price:

$3,999

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Touring

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 5 Year Frame and Fork

Availability:

United States, Australia, New Zealand, Europe

Model Year:

2018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

57.4 lbs (26.03 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.8 lbs (2.63 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 T4 T6 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16.14 in (40.99 cm)18.5 in (46.99 cm)20.87 in (53 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium 47 cm Frame Measurements: 18.5" Seat Tube, 22.25" Reach, 28.5" Stand Over Height, 26.5" Width, 72.5" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Gun Metal Mat

Frame Fork Details:

Suntour MobiE25 LO Spring, 63 mm Travel, Compression Adjust, Rebound Adjust, Preload Adjust, 100 mm Hub Spacing, 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

11 Speed 1x11 Shimano SLX Derailleur with One Way Clutch, SunRace Cassette 11-40T High Tensile Steel Sprockets

Shifter Details:

Shimano SLX Triggers with Dyna-Sys and Two-Way Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy, Reinforced Forged, 170 mm Length, 17T Chainring

Pedals:

VP Aluminum Alloy Platform, Wide, Black

Headset:

FSA Tapered, Sealed Bearing, 1-1/8" to 1-1/2"

Stem:

Moustache "Quick-Park" Adjustable, Aluminum Alloy, 9° Angle, 90 mm Length, 31.6 mm Clamp Diameter

Handlebar:

Moustache Ergonomic Round, Alloy 6061 DB, 660 mm Length, 45° Backsweep

Brake Details:

Shimano M395 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Dual-Piston Calipers, Shimano Two-Finger Levers with Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Ergonomic Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Leather Brooks B17, Black

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy Suspension with 30 mm Travel

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Alex MD21, Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 21 mm Width, Reinforcement Eyelets, 32 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14G, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Super Moto-X, 27.5" x 2.4" (62-584)

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Performance Line GreenGuard, 30 to 55 PSI, 2.0 to 4.0 Bar

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Moustache Hidden Power Paint-Matched Plastic Battery Cover, Integrated Supernova E3 E-Bike V6S Headlight (165 Lumens), Integrated Spanninga Pixeo Fender-Mounted Backlight, AXA Solid Plus Cafe Lock (Keyed Alike to Battery), Moustache Alloy Tubular Super Stable 65 mm Wide Fenders, Moustache Alloy Rear Rack with Ortlieb QL3 Compatible Mounts, Full Length Plastic Chain Cover, Pletscher ESGE Flex Adjustable Kickstand (25 mm Bolt Spacing), Flick Bell on Right

Other:

Locking Removable Downtube Mounted Battery Pack with LED Charge Level Indicator, 1.7 lb 4 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line Cruise

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Torque:

63 Newton meters

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

482.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD, (Hold Reset and i for Settings Menu)

Readouts:

Battery Level (1-5), Assist Level (Eco, Tour, EMTB, Turbo), Speed, Odometer, Trip Distance, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Range, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 5 Volt 500 mA Micro-USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50% 40 Nm, Tour 120% 50 Nm, Sport 190% 55 Nm, Turbo 275% 63 Nm)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Moustache is a French electric bike company that was started by two friends in 2011… they only build around the Bosch drive system, and their newer models are some of the most beautiful and thoughtful products that I have seen reach the US. For this review, I looked at the Friday 27.5 but we also had the Samedi 27 XROAD 5 on hand to compare. The names, Friday and Saturday, may speak to the intended use… and with the Friday, you get slick tires vs. knobby and a coil fork vs. air. Usually, I find myself criticizing spring forks for being heavier and cheaper, but that is not always the case. With the SR Suntour MobiE25 you get progressive compression adjust with lockout, preload, and rebound dials. Springs don’t leak air over time and won’t change performance as much if they experience a lot of movement and heat over the course of a ride, but they cannot be sagged the way that air can be (lower air pressure for lighter riders). Regardless, this 63 mm travel fork has beautiful black anodized stanchions and sports a stiff 15 mm thru-axle that you’d expect to see on a mountain bike! Pair that with the tapered head tube, and you’ve got a sturdy overbuild urban front end. The higher volume 2.4″ wide Schwalbe Super Moto-X tires provide comfort and stability, enough float and traction to handle packed trails, and puncture resistant integrated liners (Performance Line GreenGuard). One of the coolest upgrades that this e-bike has received, aside from the tightly integrated motor and battery, are its two-layer tubular aluminum ally fenders, custom made form Moustache. They 65 mm widths that cover more of the big tires, won’t rattle like plastic, won’t rust like steel, and the rear fender was made to support the cargo rack. Notice how this rack is positioned further back, so the saddle can come all the way down. Notice the Ortlieb QL3 mounting points, so you can have panniers with flatter backsides and sturdier, quieter connections. There is so much to love about this electric bicycle, and I feel that it delivers something really special at the $4k USD price point. Yes, it does weigh a bit more than average at ~57.4 lbs, but this is to be expected with a coil fork and complete accessories. The plastic chain cover, integrated premium lights, swept-back handlebar with 45-degree pivot stem, seat post suspension, and classy leather Brooks saddle finish it off. I’ll dig into the major components and describe how they rate against others in the space below.

Driving this bike is mid-motor that brings industry-leading technology and compromises between power and efficiency. It’s the Bosch Performance Line Cruise… not the high-torque CX or the high-speed “Speed” drive, just the high-performance. It offers up to 63 Newton meters of torque, maximum RPM support of 120 (while many competitors hit ~100 or fade out before 120), shift detection to reduce drivetrain wear, and leading warranty support and service centers worldwide. The Bosch Performance Line motor is relatively compact, and has been tilted back to reduce chain stay length and raise ground clearance… while looking cooler, in this case. It weighs ~8.8 lbs, which is a bit above average, and features minimal plastic casing here. The downside to this motor is increased noise when used in higher power modes and higher speeds, and some friction drag when unpowered or pedaled beyond the supported 20 mph (25 km/h in Europe). This drag is caused by a reduction gearing system that converts each pedal stroke into 2.5 chainring rotations… that’s why the chainring is 17 tooth vs. the equivalent ~42. I found that it worked wonderfully during our test rides through Brooklyn, New York, in combination with the 11-speed Shimano drivetrain. You get an SLX level derailleur here, which is fine for urban riding, and it has been upgraded with Shadow Plus (positioned closer to the wheel and under the right chain stay vs. sticking out). There’s a one-way clutch built in that can be activated by clicking into the up position, to tighten the derailleur spring and reduce chain bounce. This is a feature you’d usually only see on e-mountain bikes and speed pedelecs, it’s an overbuilt part that compliments the beefier fork, and there’s not a lot of downside to having it. SLX is a step below XT, but still great for the type of riding you’d probably do on the Friday 27. I love the sturdy plastic chain cover that comes stock with this bike, the larger stiffer VP alloy pedals, and the rear mounted kickstand. However, I didn’t see a sticker slap guard below the chain (to protect the right stay), so there could be some chips over time if you ride on rough terrain. This is one of my few minor gripes about the bike… So many other details have been dialed in.

Powering the bike is a Bosch Powerpack 500 battery that is uniquely situated inside the lower portion of the downtube. Moustache has been a leader in frame design with their “hidden power” plastic cover concept, and it began with electric mountain models like the Samedi 27 Trail 6. In the States, people have often wanted stealthier ebikes with concealed batteries for riding off-road, so people wouldn’t question or hassle them. I’m excited to see this design concept trickled down to urban models because I think it looks beautiful and improves weight distribution on the bike as well as battery protection and mounting strength. The downsides however, are that the battery takes a bit more balance and dexterity to mount and dismount, and the plastic cover does not lock in place. So, if you’re parked at a public rack, it’s possible that someone could steal the plastic portion… or you could take it off, but then dirt and water could get into the battery compartment. Yes, Bosch batteries and mounts are well sealed against water, but other debris in here would just feel messy and be difficult to clean out. Charging can be done with the battery dismounted or left on the frame and the Bosch charger delivers faster 4 Amp charging (or you can get the slightly lighter 2 Amp travel charger aftermarket). I appreciate how compact and lightweight the stock 1.7 lb charger is, and that Bosch has made a proprietary plug that cannot easily be confused or inserted incorrectly. All of the rubberized plug covers for the battery port and key slot on this frame insert easily and seem to provide good protection, they are all located on the left side of the frame. This battery offers above average capacity and is relatively lightweight at ~5.8 lbs, you may ask why Moustache did not go with the latest Powertube battery, which is fully frame integrated, but I think the Powerpack is preferable in many situations. It’s lighter, probably less expensive, and can be purchased, rented, and borrowed all around the world. The same dimensions and mounting interface was used for the older Powerpack 400 as the 500, so you can even use your old ebike battery to extend range on this bike, carrying it along in a bike bag or pannier. I love that this single batter is used to power the bike, both the front and rear light, and the big display panel… which also has a Micro-USB port on the side for maintaining other electronics on the go. It’s a great design all around.

To activate the Moustache Friday 27.5, you first need to charge and mount the battery. It’s worth highlighting that the battery locks to the frame with a sturdy cylinder and has a metal ledge that clips in, so it shouldn’t rattle loose, break, or be stolen easily. There’s also a frame lock (cafe lock, that disables the rear wheel) with an AXA locking core built onto the seat stays. Both the battery lock and frame lock use the same key, so you don’t need to deal with added clutter, and you could purchase an AXA compatible cable lock to compliment the frame lock without adding a second key or much additional weight. Back to the control systems and activating the bike, just press the little power button near the lower left corner of the Bosch Intuvia display panel, and it blinks to life in seconds. I love this display because I am near sighted, and it is large. You can swivel it forward and back to reduce glare, operate it with a remote button pad (located within reach of the left grip), charge your phone from it using a Micro-USB cable, and even remove the display completely for protection. Other display-mounted buttons include Reset (to clear trip distance), i (to cycle menus), and lights. Having a dedicated light button is useful with an ebike that actually has built-in lights like this, it’s a lot simpler to use than the smaller Bosch Purion display in this sense. Both of these LCD displays have always-on backlighting so you can read them in dark conditions. The headlight produces an impressive 165 lumens, and can be aimed, it’s more than just a “be seen” light that cheaper ebikes tend to use. The really cool thing about all of these control systems is that they are designed with use in mind. You can get to the point where activating the bike, turning on the light, and then riding along and changing power levels is second-nature. I have learned to click up or down to change assist (0-5 levels) without even looking down. The control pad has a nice clicking sound and tactile feel, with a rubberized i button in the middle. It’s clear where your finger is at, and that lets you click and shift gears with the trigger shifters on the right, while you focus on traffic or enjoy the scenery and riding company. The trigger shifters here offer two-way action for high gear changes and multi-shift for lower gear changes. As you shift gears, you empower yourself as well as the motor, and that’s the final special feature that the Bosch Intuvia offers that almost no other display currently does. It gives you hints on when to shift, with little up and down arrows. This is called shift assistance, and it can help you maximize range by supporting motor RPM performance.

In conclusion, this is one of the nicer urban or city oriented electric bikes that I have reviewed in recent years. I feel that you get excellent value for the ~$4k price point, compared to ebikes with similar specs, and the same drive system. I like that Moustache kept the standard Performance Line motor vs. going with the CX, because it’s quieter and more efficient. The difference between the mountain motor’s 75 Nm of torque vs. 63 Nm hasn’t been noticeable to me in urban riding conditions. The bigger question for US customers might be whether they need the Speed motor, which can reach nearly 28 mph assisted. There are some aftermarket solutions to make this motor go faster, but they will void your warranty. For people who commute or want to do long range trekking and touring, the Moustache Friday 27.5 could be an excellent option because of its unique upright geometry and multiple frame size options. Both wheels have quick release for on-the-go fixes and Brooks saddles are known for becoming more comfortable as the miles wear on. For people who want to add non-Ortlieb QL3 bags, it looks like you can remove the circular knobs from the rack and use QL2 (or other systems). Coming back to the drive system for a moment, the Bosch motor controller is measuring rear wheel speed, pedal cadence, and pedal torque, over 1,000 times per second, and is one of the most responsive and sometimes zippy ebike motors I have tested. One of the trade-offs from the standard Performance Line back to the CX is that you do not get eMTB mode, which is more of a torque sensing level (that replaces the third step, Sport mode). I love that Moustache has not disabled walk mode here and that they included comfortable ergonomic grips and a bell! Big thanks to Moustache for partnering with me on this review and to Chris from Propel Bikes in Brooklyn for his support, bringing multiple models to ride on our adventure and providing some input about why he chose to carry the brand… and of course, for wearing a fake mustache with me during the video :D

Pros:

  • Beautiful battery and motor integration here, Moustache designed an inset area on the downtube to lower battery weight and developed a plastic cover to hide it, it uses a simple spring to stay in place and does not rattle
  • I love it when ebikes make room for bottle cage bosses and the Friday 27.5 has them on the seat tube in the main triangle and just below the saddle as well as below the top tube! The rear set of bosses on the seat tube could be used for a folding lock like the ABUS Bordo or a mini pump like this
  • By using the Powerpack 500 instead of the new Powertube from Bosch, the batteries are lighter weight, less expensive, and easier to find while traveling (so you could ship the bike and rent a battery on site)
  • Made in three frame sizes for optimal fit and comfort, this is especially important with a high-step frame design
  • Comfortable high-volume and high-quality tires smooth out the ride and shouldn’t get flats as easy because they have Performance Line GreenGuard puncture protection
  • Custom tubular alloy fenders are stiffer and stronger than single layer fenders, they won’t rattle as much as plastic or rust like steel, I like how the rear rack is connected to the back fender to be minimalist in design, and that it’s positioned out of the way of the saddle if dropped way down
  • This is more of a commuter style ebike and the slick tires are efficient but you get comfort from the higher air volume, suspension fork, suspension seat post, and leather saddle from Brooks, the handlebars are also swept back and have ergonomic grips… it feels great
  • Unique adjustable stem swivels 45-degrees so you can squeeze the bike into tighter spaces and maybe not bump doorways as much, imagine stacking multiple bikes next to each other and having that extra space at the rack
  • I love the Bosch Intuvia display panel because it’s big and easy to read but also removable for safe storage (just like the main battery), there’s even a Micro-USB port on the display for charging or maintaining portable electronics like your phone, the display mount is compatible with the COBI smartphone mount that Bosch now owns
  • In addition to fenders, the Friday 27.5 also comes with a tight chain cover to keep your pant legs clean and snag-free, it’s a little touch and it’s done very well here
  • Excellent Shimano SLX drivetrain with 11 speeds for navigating a wide range of surfaces and terrain, the bike seems made mostly for pavement and the tires are slicks but the 2.4″ width makes them stable and capable of light off road use, the one-way clutch design on the derailleur will tighten the derailleur spring and reduce chain slap if you do find yourself on bumpy terrain
  • I love the integrated lights, the headlight is mounted way up high on the handlebars and is aimable, it won’t bounce around as much as fork-arch mounted lights, the rear light stays clear of the rack and all cargo you might add and both lights run off of the main battery and are controlled through the display so they cannot be left on accidentally
  • Good Shimano hydraulic disc brakes, the front rotor is larger at 180 mm to improve stopping speed and disburse heat more quickly
  • Decent kickstand (positioned where it should be, towards the back to support the rack and stay clear of the left crank) and nice stock pedals (larger, stiff, good traction)
  • The AXA frame lock is good for quick errands and can be paired with an AXA Defender Cable to secure to posts and racks easily
  • Both wheels offer quick release and the front uses a sturdy thru-axle which will be more responsive, it helps to support the weight of the bigger tire as well
  • Very nice rims, notice the reinforcement eyelets to spread weight and force from the spoke and reduce cracking, nice black paint job with matching black spokes vs. silver
  • Since this ebike is running hydraulic brakes, you can adjust the levers for reach (making them easier to use for small and large hands alike, or gloved hands)
  • Even though I love air suspension because it tends to weight less and offer sag adjustability, this is a really nice coil shock that should be very durable and perform consistently throughout a ride, I love that it has compression clicker with lockout, preload, and rebound adjust with black anodized stanchions!

Cons:

  • The “hidden power” plastic cover is great, but doesn’t really lock to the bike frame which means it could be tampered with or stolen when you’re parked at the bike rack
  • The ~57.4 lbs weight for the medium sized frame is a bit on the high side, but that’s probably due to the fenders, rack, cafe lock on the rear wheel, lights and spring suspension vs. air
  • I could see how many commuters would be interested in faster Class 3 Bosch Performance Line Speed motor vs. the standard Performance Line, but this one should get better range and doesn’t require special licensing (in Europe), it’s allowed almost anywhere a normal bicycle would be
  • Minor gripe here, I’d love to see reflective sidewalls on the tires since this is more of an urban ebike, they would compliment the integrated lights nicely, consider adding reflective stickers like this or this to the sides of the wheelset and frame to stand out more or wear reflective clothing
  • Another minor consideration, I’d love to see Supernova update their E-Bike E3 V6S headlight to have side cutouts so it would shine out a bit and create more of a visual footprint for the bike than just forward
  • Because the Bosch Performance Line motors use a proprietary smaller chainring, they spin at 2.5x per pedal crank revolution ad there’s a reduction gear at work, this creates some friction when pedaling unassisted (if the bike is off or you’re pedaling beyond the 20 mph top supported speed)
  • Very minor complaint here, but there didn’t appear to be a sticker slap guard on the right chainstay… you probably won’t see the chips because of the plastic chain cover, but the chain could still take wear and the frame might get scratched up a bit because there’s no protection

Resources:

More Moustache Reviews

Moustache Lundi 26.1 Review

  • MSRP: $3,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A uniquely styled, highly approachable, step-thru electric bike with quiet Bosch Active Line Plus mid-motor and 400 watt hour rear-rack battery, the 26.1 trim level is the entry point and most affordable Lundi in the line. Available in four unique colors including a highly visible white and red, integrated front and…...

Moustache Samedi 27 Trail 8 Review

  • MSRP: $5,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A premium, full suspension, trail style electric mountain bike with 140 mm air suspension, four-bar rear suspension design with stiff carbon alloy parts, Boost longer hub spacing with sturdy thru-axles, and 2.8" plus sized tires for improved traction and float. Available in three sizes to fit an range of riders, steeper top tube lowers stand-over…...

Moustache Samedi 27 XROAD 5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A crossover touring electric bike that's capable and comfortable on city streets as well as packed dirt trails thanks to all-terrain tires, a sturdy spring suspension fork with 80 mm travel, and suspension seat post. Both wheels offer quick release for easy maintenance on-the-go, powerful Shimano hydraulic disc brakes stop…...

Moustache Samedi 27 X2 Review

  • MSRP: $6,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A premium tandem electric bike with powerful Bosch CX mid-motor, large 200 mm Magura MT5 hydraulic disc brakes, and triple-chamber tubing with reinforcement gussets. Excellent weight distribution, the motor and battery packs are positioned low and center to maximize…...

Moustache Samedi 27 Trail 6 Review

  • MSRP: $4,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the cleanest looking full suspension electric mountain bikes with Bosch Powerpack integration I have seen to date, the battery seats neatly into the downtube. Available in three frame sizes for optimal fit, 140 mm air suspension offers a blend…...

Moustache StarckBike Asphalt Review

  • MSRP: $6,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high speed urban ultra-commuter electric bike with front and rear mountain bike level air suspension, tubular alloy fenders and integrated LED lights. Powered by the Bosch Performance Class 3 mid-drive offering 63 Newton meters of torque, standard…...

Moustache Lundi 26 Review

  • MSRP: $3,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A stylized step-thru with a high-end drive system from Bosch at a very reasonable price point, optional NuVinci CVT or Shimano Di2 drivetrain upgrades improve shifting. Moustache is a French company that has been around for several years in Europe, the…...


Rene
4 months ago

Thank you for this thorough and entertaining review. Your passion and work ethic is infectious and I hope sets a standard for others across many areas of interest.

I’m wondering if you might care to speculate on which use cases a manufacturer might choose the Performance Cruise motor over the CX or the Performance Speed?

This review of the Moustache Friday 27.5 reminds me of another of your excellent reviews on the Ohm Sport. I’m wondering if, having ridden so many bikes, and maybe putting the stats on back burner a bit, you might be willing to share thoughts on the difference in your own shear 7 year old kid again biking pleasure when it comes to good quality hub v. mid, fast v. less fast, quiet v. less quiet?

-R

Reply
court
4 months ago

Hi Rene, thanks for the compliment! I think the Performance Line is quieter, and less power hungry than both the CX and Speed. The CX offers up to 75 Nm of torque output while the Speed is only 63 Nm (like the standard Performance) but higher speeds tend to drastically cut down on range because of air resistance. You can always use a dongle to make the standard Performance Line motor faster if you really want to, though this voids the warranty. The CX motor may also be slightly heavier, but it offers the neat eMTB mode which replaces Sport for a fluid “no hands” operation, primarily using pedal torque to determine output. It’s a great setup, and I think this is why we see it on so many urban bikes (especially cargo and heavy duty builds).

Regarding your last question… there’s something awesome about the near-silent BionX D-Series motors and their throttle option. I dislike how they look, but appreciate the nice display and regeneration modes and regen braking. It truly is fun going above 20 mph, but I find that 20 is good enough for regular real-life use. It feels a bit safer, definitely lets you ride further, and allows the bike to be used legally in more spots (like off-road). Mid-drive motors are satisfying and make the best use of power, it seems like they get more than twice as much range for the same pedal effort, and I appreciate how they position weight on the frame for improved handling. You do wear through the chain, sprockets, and derailleur faster, and my Uncle talked about that in this video interview from a while back. My personal approach is to get a very cool and comfortable mountain bike, then have it be electric so the knobby tires and suspension inefficiencies are overcome. I find that I ride more when I’m comfortable :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

vasubandu
2 weeks ago

Ann M, J.R., Ebikefevercure and Rich C, thanks and I get it. I should have been more clear. I just want a better idea of what the issues are before I do that so that I will be better able to evaluate things. In the end, it will be a bike to ride, not a bunch of specs on a spreadsheet. And I may think that I have found the perfect bike, but when I ride it, find that it does not work at all. For me, it is kind of learning enough so I can pay attention to what the issues are for each bike. Otherwise, I am liable to fall in love with the first thing I ride and ignore any issues it might have. I have made the mistake in the past of just trying things and ended up making bad decisions. Then again, I also have made bad decisions by reading a bunch of reviews online and then not putting things to the test. So I am trying to make sure I do both. And that will mean taking a hard look at bikes in all price ranges to get a feeling for what the brackets really are.

So far, the most helpful suggestions have been the minimums. Alaskan suggested tires at least 2 inches wide, but not too wide. That reminded me of my youth when I had a 10-speed with those ridiculously skinny wheels and the number of times they decided to move sideways. I had forgotten that and would not have paid attention. He suggested a minimum of 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes, and I see some bikes with less, and others with 180 in the back and less in the front. Again, that would not have occurred to me as a requirement. TML has me confused because he suggested a minimum of 540 wh battery. and I sort of thought that 500 was the very high end. I need to figure this out, but I had not been thinking about battery life.

These are the kinds of things that I have seen in comments here, and I suspect that many of you don't realize how helpful and valuable they are. You guys have learned these lessons the hard way, and people like me get to coast behind you. You obviously can't tell me what bike to buy, but you can help me avoid some awful mistakes. In the end, I suspect that there will be at least 5 bikes that would meet all my needs at a price that makes sense, and it will come down to personal preference. I am not trying to find the perfect bike, just a good one.

Out of curiosity, one of the bikes that really appeals to me visually is the Moustache Samedi. Or maybe the Friday. But I see very little discussion of them here or elsewhere. They a French and maybe have little market share. They are not cheap, but not crazy expensive either. Propel has the Samedi 27 XRoad 3 and the Friday 27.3, both with Bosch Performance Cruise, 20mph and 500 Wh Bosch battery POwerpack, and both $3,550. Beyond that, the price shoots up.

The Stromer bikes are all gorgeous to my eyes, but man are they spendy. And they seem proprietary, so it is hard for me to compare.

My sense for some reason is that companies like iZip are second tier, but their E3 Moda is attractive and seems well equipped for $3,000. And going cheap, the E2 Protour is on sale for $1600 with an E3 motor and a 417 Wh battery, but its range looks really limited, and who knows about that motor.

Alaskan rides a Riese & Muller Nevo Nuvinci GH and lives nearby. He says it is well adapted to the Pacific Northwest, but yikes, it is a $5,000 bile. Plus I really prefer the step over style. I have to say that the R&M Supercharger is to me the most attractive electric bike I have seen. And you can load it up with 2 500 Wh batteries, but when you do, you are getting close to $7,000.

I do not see any Moutache dealers close by. The nearest seems to be on Vancouver Island in Canada, which would be a trip, but doable. They have the Friday 27.5 for $4,250 US, the Samedi 27 Xroad 5 for $4,000 and the Samedi 7 28.3 400 for $3,500.

There are several Stromer dealers in Seattle, so that would be easy. I may run by tomorrow and see what this is all about.

Thanks to everyone for the help.

,

vasubandu
2 weeks ago

Thanks this was very helpful. I know I have way too many bikes on the list. A lot of them are functionally equivalent. One thing I did not mention is that I will always have soft sided briefcase with me and may have as much as a banker's box of documents. I think you are right that I would not need a full suspension. When I first started looking at electric bikes, I notice the Bulls brand out of Germany, but they seem comparatively expensive. Lots to think about

Just to focus my thinking I reduced the list to these. I like the idea of under $4,000 a lot more than over $6,000.

Raleigh Redux iE Diamond Frame (2017 $2700
Stromer St1 Platinum $3000
iZip e3Moda $3000
Haibike SDURO Trekking 7.0 $3400
Moustache Samedi 28.3 $3450
Riese & Müller Supercharger New Charger $6000+

From a purely aesthetic point of view, I really like the Moustache bikes. Thanks again. I will keep learning.

vasubandu
2 weeks ago

Hi all. I have looked around, and the comments and suggestions about choosing a bike that I have seen seem to be unusually thoughtful and helpful. Those who donate their time are doing a real service.

I am 53 years old, reasonably fit and weigh around 170 pounds. Maybe a few more than I would like, but neither overweight nor limited. I live in Seattle where I am an attorney. I have been looking for a nice office near me, the market is tight, so I am expanding my search. Monthly parking in Seattle costs $300, and even if I could afford it, I don't want to. I live in a part of Seattle called West Seattle, and I am considering office space about 7 miles away. When I leave my house, I immediately go up a hill that is about a mile long and a 300 foot climb. It then immediately descends about the same 300 feet in the same mile distance. Beyond that, my commute would be dead flat.

The City of Seattle is now run by a bunch of lunatics who, among other things, have a bike fetish. They have been installing bike lanes even in places that have not seen a bicycle in years. The City passed a huge levy for bike lanes. We were told that they would cost about $865,000 per mile, and a big report came out a month ago that the actual cost has been $12 million per mile. Mistakes happen, right? The point is that I live in a city that is at least nominally very bicycle friendly.

Personally, I think that the solution is a Lightning LS 218 motorcycle so that I could get anywhere yesterday, but my wife and two sons think that my lengthy history of mishaps like a 30 foot fall into a a ravine while hiking alone off trail somehow disqualifies me. My wonderful mother was an ER nurse in her younger days and seems to have created a long list of false memories of treating motorcyclists whose brains and bodies were splattered here and there. She says I cannot come home to visit if I have a motorcycle.

So maybe the answer is an electric bicycle that goes 90 miles per hour. OK, that last part was a joke. But my commute would be on fairly safe and normal roads. I can take the low bridge, and the speed limit will never exceed 30 mph. I can park a bike and even an electric bike for free, and I might end up finding it useful for broader purposes.

I am a researcher by nature and profession. I have more spreadsheets with more information that I do not understand than you would believe. I have not yet test driven an electric bike for the same reason that I would not test drive a car until I was ready to buy. Since I have never ridden any electric bike, every test drive is going to be amazing. I am going to have no ability to make meaningful distinctions.

In looking at bikes so far, I have realized a few of my preferences. Faster is better than slower. Up to a point. Movement on electricity alone is better than having to pedal. The Delfast Prime claims a range of 236 miles, a top speed of 34 miles per hour and costs $5,000. Those are impressive statistics if true, and if I were inclined to send $5,000 to the Ukraine on a whim, I might think about it. But it is not a bicycle. It is a wannabe little motorcycle, which gets me kicked out of my house with no way back to mom.

So I am thinking that an electric bike should look and as much as possible feel like a bicycle.

28 miles per hour sounds a lot better than 20. A lot better. Assuming a 7 mile commute and top speeds, 28 mph would get me to the office in 15 minutes, and 20 mph in 21 minutes, or a difference of 6 minutes. Time is precious, and I even bill in 6 minute increments, but the day I get bent out of shape over a 6 minute difference in a commute is the day I should try walking for comparison purposes.

Aesthetically, I much prefer straight lines. No matter where you put the battery, I just do not like it. Bosch now has its PowerTube 500, and I suspect that other companies have or soon will have similar products. That strikes me as an elegant solution. Making this a requirement would limit the number of candidates, but it seems that it would limit them to high quality, up to date models.

The motor is something that I do not understand at all. Bosch seems to be the Microsoft of electric bikes, but others swear by Brose or companies I have never heard of. On top of that, I tend to generally follow technology advancements, and the last month of two has me wondering if I might be setting myself up for regrets. First, a British engineer named Ian Foley, who has a deep Formula One racing background, allegedly has found a way to economically manufacture motors with spoke magnets. It is a known idea, but making them cheaply is new. This whole area is new to me, so I may be missing the boat, but the focus seems to be one the watts per kilogram. the Bosch Performance Line 28 mph mode weighs 4 kg with 350 watts. So that would be .0875 kw/kg. Foley's company Equipmake claims that they can produce 9 kw/kg. I must be missing something because that would be 102,000 times more than than the Bosch. But it must be quite a bit more because the article said the Siemens made a world record prototype in 2015 that reached 5 kw/kg. It looks like major advancements might be on the horizon. The Equipmake is not entirely vaporware because it is being used in a new Ariel Hippercar that claims 1,180 hp and significant range. Before the smoke had even cleared on that one, A Belgian startup called Magnax claimed that it has developed a compact axial flux electric motor and says it produces sustained 7.5 kg/kg with a peak of 15. Again, I am way out of my league here. My information largely comes from newatlas.com, supplemented by the companies themselves. No one wants to be the Schmuck who bought the last electric bike before they started flying.

All that said, Bosch and Brose, probably in that order, seem like solid, safe bets.

When it comes to the rest of the normal bike parts, I am hopelessly clueless. Some of the posts here have emphasized how important that is, but I do not know where to begin.

So with all this in mind, my woefully inadequate thought process looks like this

Bulls E-STREAM EVO 45 FSBrose 350W 28mph28118 miles37V/17.5Ah/650Wh

Bulls Lacuba EVO E45Brose 350W 28mph28118 miles37V/17.5Ah/650Wh

Bulls STURMVOGEL E EVOBrose 250W2013737V/17.5Ah/650Wh

Bulls URBAN EVOBosch Performance Speed (350W)28134Bosch PowerTube 36V/ 13.4Ah/ 500Wh

HAIBIKE SDURO TREKKING 9.0Bosch Performance CX, 350W20Bosch PowerTube, 500 Wh

iZip E3 MODABrose Speed, 28mph , 250w, Made in Germany.2835Fully Integrated & Removable, HTE, 497Wh

Kalkhoff 2016 Integrale S11Empulse 3.0 Evo 350W2855Impules 36 v, 16.75ah, 603W

KALKHOFF ENTICEBosch Performance CX, 36 V / 250 W28Bosch PowerTube Li-Ionen 36 V, 13,4 Ah (500 Wh)

MOUSTACHE SAMEDI 27 XROADBOSCH Performance CX 250W20Bosch PowerPack 500 Performance

Raleigh Redux iE250W Brose Centerdrive system, 90NM of torque3536V Li-ion, 13.8Ah, 496.8Wh

Riese & Müller SuperchargerBosch Performance CXBosch PowerPack 500 Performance,

SCOTT E-Aspect ATBrose 25Km/h, 500WH, 4 Amp charge500Wh integrated Battery / 25Km/h

Specialized Turbo SGo SwissDriveSamsung

Stromer ST seriesSYNO DriveStromer

Trek Super Commuter+ 8SBosch Performance Speed motorBosch PowerPack 500 Performance,

Maybe I am overthinking this or underthinking it. Thoughts would be appreciated

Dewey
1 month ago

Corratec LifeS (Germany). A cruiser advertized with a https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqAkHTGbppQ&list=PLAMY2gmG5o11qnN7dLu5I1N8kkwQoqty0 (NSFW) marketing campaign involving nekkid women giving the finger, and men stroking their moustache or kissing their bicep...Supercrazy! Nah, very Eurotrash and unintentionally the funniest ebike marketing video I've seen.

Court
2 months ago

Hi guys! I'm moving some content off of the main site and into the most relevant categories of the forum. This post was originally made on January 28th 2017:

Electric bikes are great but depending on your budget, intended use and environment the bike alone may not completely serve your needs. That’s where accessories come in! But before we dig in, I want to stress that if you live in a rainy environment and intend on commuting to work or ride frequently in the dark it might be worth paying more up front to get integrated fenders and lights. These will look nicer, rattle less, be more difficult to steal and won’t require stand alone batteries… which can run out unexpectedly or simply slow you down with the need for frequent recharging. I meet a lot of people out there during my travels who settled for a “bargain” ebike but end up spending way more after purchase trying to get their setup perfect. This process can be fun and result in something very special but conversely, sometimes waiting a bit longer to choose a product that fully suits your needs can result in greater fulfillment and utility.

Just below is a gallery with one image for each of the ten categories listed below. I chose these pictures based on the products I have tried and like and I link to them (and other great options) in the full list:

Indeed, there are some amazing electric bicycles out there today like the https://electricbikereview.com/moustache/lundi-26/ that comes standard with a suspension seat post in addition to tubular fenders and integrated lights. Bikes like the https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/lacuba-evo-e8/ that are easy to mount with deep step-thru frames available in multiple sizes with features like an adjustable stem, quiet belt drive and streamline suspension fork. Some of these features cannot be added easily post-purchase. And so, regardless of the e-bike you choose, here’s a list of what I consider to be essential accessories. Keep in mind, shops and rental outfits frequently report that ebikes are ridden further and more frequently than pedal powered models. I also tend to think that they ride more consistently at higher speed and all of this adds up to more stresses and strains on your body. Comfort and safety are key here.
[LIST=1]
[*]Helmets are extremely important, regardless of speed or riding condition, and these days you can get them with integrated lights for added safety like the https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=torch+apparel+light+helmet&rh=i:aps,k:torch+apparel+light+helmet&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=3697c8352e3030e46db0c0f216691c07. I recently purchased the https://www.specialized.com/us/en/helmets/rec-commute/centro-led/107204 for myself and appreciate how sleek and light weight it is. The alternative approach is adding a https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bike+helmet+light&rh=i:aps,k:bike+helmet+light&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=336929f3d58beb4a356525de99c8f513 to your existing helmet.
[*]Water is probably the next most important accessory and it relates back to safety in a way, nobody wants to get heat stroke… and if you’re mountain biking on an ebike and end up with a flat far from civilization, water could save your life. Unfortunately, many electric bikes have tighter frames so squeezing a bottle in can be tricky. I recommend the https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=side+mount+bottle+cage&rh=i:aps,k:side+mount+bottle+cage&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=4c911ab8651cf770809b3ce1afb372b5 for this. But if your bike doesn’t have bottle cage bosses at all then consider https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=saddle+rail+bottle+cage&rh=i:aps,k:saddle+rail+bottle+cage&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=8edf16678b00f95d7fd39584f728f4bf or a https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bottle+cage+clamp+adapter&rh=i:aps,k:bottle+cage+clamp+adapter&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=e6229dd2183e1f2c978cdbe6354ae689 or on the https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=handle+bar+bottle+holder&rh=i:aps,k:handle+bar+bottle+holder&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=48de69d2708ca08f74784b52289421c8. A couple of alternative ideas are https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+trunk+bag+bottle&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+trunk+bag+bottle&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=0c243c74d20b644e90c9699d8d87ed4a that can easily be added to a rear rack (if your bike has one) or https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+hydration+pack&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+hydration+pack&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=9817429bb5f6eaf4de0ff63e59b6f463 that are worn as light weight backpacks, allowing you to drink through a flexible straw conveniently as you you ride. I recently purchased the Osprey Syncro 10 and did [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/accessories/osprey/syncro-10-hydration-pack/']a review here[/URL], this pack has a light weight but rigid frame inside with mesh cooling layer so it stays off your back, the straw connects magnetically and the water reservoir inside is very easy to remove and clean… it also has reflective fabric woven throughout and a light clip on the back so it actually improves safety (and keeps your back clean if you don’t have a rear fender!)
[*]Lights are important for both safety and utility… some are designed to help you be seen while others illuminate your path and help you to see. My favorite lights tend to be those that are pre-installed and run off the main ebike battery like this Supernova set on the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/stromer/st2-s/']Stromer ST2 S[/URL] or this Spanninga set on the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/gadis/']e-Joe Gadis[/URL]. Not all ebikes offer this kind of integration but a handful of shops can tap into the battery and add them aftermarket for you if you pay a bit more. For everyone else, there’s a whole wide world of [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bike+light&rh=i:aps,k:bike+light&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=c5847f0bbbb45a55f16d90ac2914468d']aftermarket bike lights[/URL]. Most use LEDs because they draw very little electricity and are long lasting. My favorite are the [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=rechargeable+bike+light&rh=i:aps,k:rechargeable+bike+light&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=5f5fa260c82ca4da53b4b580b1da61e3']rechargeable models[/URL] and I try to get two from the same company that use the same charging standard so I can use the same cables. Other ways to increase your visual footprint are to choose light colored bike frames (like white or silver) and get reflective tires and clothing with reflective striping or patterns. For those who want some advice on lights that actually help you see the trail, I have had good luck with [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=cygolite&rh=i:aps,k:cygolite&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=c130685394c67328f1deea30628b3b7c']the Cygolite series[/URL] which comes in a range of strengths. Here’s a [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/accessories/cygolite/dart-210/']Cygolite review article[/URL] I wrote a while back with some video footage of the smaller Dart and larger Metro lights side by side.
[*]Locks ensure that your investment will last… or at least they increase the chances that a thief will overlook your bike and move along to something a bit easier. Electric bicycles tend to cost way more than standard bikes but the interesting thing is that they aren’t as easy to sell as used without all of the included parts. That means the charger and a key to get the battery pack off. An unwitting second-hand buyer might actually be completely locked out through software and some models now offer GPS theft recovery. Still, if you can avoid the hassle by not getting your bike lifted in the first place that’s probably preferable. I like the rubberized coating on [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=blackburn+ulock&rh=i:aps,k:blackburn+ulock&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=ecb3482955a862a0b1dc633149132e03']Blackburn’s U-Locks[/URL]because it will protect your frame, this lock also comes in several lengths to accommodate fatter tubing and both sides lock so it takes twice the effort to cut through. Here’s [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/guides/how-to-lock-and-protect-ebike/']a quick guide I wrote[/URL] covering the proper way to use a ulock with a cable (to secure the wheelset). Blackburn also offers [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=blackburn+cable+lock&rh=i:aps,k:blackburn+cable+lock&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=2e3f252ecc492296d74b4d186d9e5105']a Kevlar cable[/URL] for use with their locks and a combo pack which includes both items. These days you can get accessories like [URL='https://www.amazon.com/Boomerang-CycloTrac-GPS-Tracker/dp/B01N0GTGR2/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&qid=1485636467&sr=8-1&keywords=boomerang+cyclotrac&linkCode=ll1&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=c684b018e6e1e2f56aa1530173222853']the Boomerang CycloTrac[/URL] that sound an alarm based on bike motion, send you a text alert and even track the bike using GPS so you can chase down a would-be thief. Another layer of protection is [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/guides/insurance-for-electric-bikes/']bicycle insurance[/URL] which not only covers your investment but might help cover injuries in the event of an accident.
[*]Flat Protection and air are especially critical on ebikes because they tend to ride further and weigh more than unpowered bicycles. Whether you pump [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+slime&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=c00271d7ad6386581a28a77666329641']Slime liquid sealant[/URL] into your tubes, buy pre-Slimed tubes, opt for a tubeless setup with [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+tubeless+tire+sealant&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+tubeless+tire+sealant&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=c3bdc47a1becdedbf92f8579e532746d']flat protection sealant[/URL] or upgrade to [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+tire+puncture+protection&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+tire+puncture+protection&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=6c4bf375ac03f6fccd87bb46a8ac6b41']puncture protection Kevlar-lined tires[/URL] (also called [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+tire+greenguard&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+tire+greenguard&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=0473d34db59f89add1534bcd9867ce57']GreenGuard[/URL] from Schwalbe, [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+tire+gatorskin&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+tire+gatorskin&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=19fbf3ed38e1a843959bd964c4221e30']GatorSkin DuraSkin[/URL] from Continental, [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+tire+k-guard&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+tire+k-guard&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=36c6d763f80d26ff96e6018e4c9dfe5e']K-Guard[/URL] from Schwalbe and [URL='https://www.specialized.com/us/en/allconditionarmadilloelite/105836']Armadillo[/URL] from Specialized) you’ll need some air to keep the bike running until you get home. This is where [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+mini+pump&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+mini+pump&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=0d716ecbd3adc8b7407451530a14c0da']portable pumps[/URL] and [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+co2&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+co2&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=30dd02c237096497886e0c9e1da6d2cf']CO2 cartridges[/URL] come in. Prevention is huge but walking a 50 lb electric bike home is a lot less fun than hopping off and pumping every mile or two. Note that on all of my reviews here the valve stem type is listed (Schrader is the fat old-fashioned style and Presta is the new skinny one). You need to get a pump or adapter that fits your tube or tire type and I’ve had great luck with the new mini-pumps that have a flexible stem that screws on to the tube valve. CO2 cartridges are fast and light weight but once they are spent, that’s it, and you can’t tell the pressure as easily… I love the portable hand pump with the pressure gauge so I can be sure not to over-inflate. Note that there are now solid bicycle tires that do not require air. Even Specialized is getting into the game but currently only uses them for urban bicycles. Solid bike tires tend to offer less comfort and can even bend rims and break spokes if you hit a hard angle at higher speeds. Air has the flexibility of being adjustable so you can dial it in based on your own weight and ride environment… typically lower PSI for soft terrain and higher for smooth hard pavement.
[*]Glasses keep your eyes focused by reducing dryness due to wind, squinting due to the sun or harsh lights and physical contact with particulates and bugs. While this isn’t exactly a “bicycle accessory” per say, it is very important and oft-overlooked. I frequently ride with clear lenses at night because there are times when bugs get thick or the wind picks up and dust gets blown around. Surprisingly, [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=cycling+glasses&rh=i:aps,k:cycling+glasses&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=064f974e7c6f6ab78fab5e08d04304d5']cycling specific glasses[/URL] can be very inexpensive these days but the world of biking has lots of fancy options too, some frames that even offer swappable lenses so you can go from clear to dark tinted. I think they key is to find some that are comfortable with your helmet (they shouldn’t collide with the front of the helmet and they should be too tight on your temples). Note that some people put the glasses arms under their helmet straps while others go over (I go over). Some people opt for goggles and I’ve heard others who use [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=glasses+anti+fog&rh=i:aps,k:glasses+anti+fog&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=23d66631a2873aa57a68dad105361333']anti-fog products[/URL] with their glasses during the winter as they often ride with scarfs around their necks… that’s another great accessory there, a gator or face mask, even a [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=pollution+face+mask&rh=i:aps,k:pollution+face+mask&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=4545c1e88ef2dc6406e64eedcbc5c6bb']pollution filtering face mask[/URL] if you live in a busy city. As someone with light asthma, I’ve tried these masks and felt better about the air being inhaled during heavy workouts. Note again that with electric bicycles you tend to ride further and faster (especially with speed pedalecs) so the value of glasses cannot be overstated.
[*]Gloves are another important accessory that many people overlook. This is one of three contact points that your body makes with the bike… your feet, sit bones and hands. I type frequently and have smaller more sensitive hands and wrists. For me, it’s not just about protection in the event of a fall or staying warm when riding, padded gloves take a lot of the jar out of bumpy ride conditions. Just like glasses, you can spend a fortune on gloves or opt for inexpensive ones. I usually look for a color that matches my gear or my bike and then narrow down by the season: [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+gloves&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+gloves&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=f5a535c9f5845aea6bb1f929da2d7456']longer thicker gloves for winter and thinner fingerless for summer[/URL]. You can now get special [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+gloves+phone&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+gloves+phone&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=0bcc90de08ee0ab3befc80a4e802d786']touch-screen cycling gloves[/URL] with silver threaded finger tips to make it easier to use your phone without taking gloves off. I’ve had mixed experience with these but even when you have to tap the screen a couple of times, it’s way easier and warmer than completely removing a glove when it’s freezing cold out. Many gloves now have easy-off finger loops on the palm and soft fabric on the inner portion of the thumb area designed for cleaning your glasses. Note that I was recently told by a bike fit expert that you want more padding for road biking and less for mountain because mountain bikes have suspension and you need to lift and toss the bike around while handling vs. resting hands. Apparently the vibration of road cycling calls for thicker padding… this was counter intuitive to what I had thought and I welcome input here from other informed cyclists.
[*]Padded Pants aren’t completely necessary for every type of rider, you might have a soft saddle with a suspension seat post keeping you comfortable. But in my years of cycling to work and for fun, I’ve found that a good pair of padded cycling shorts, capris or pants can make a surprising difference in ride comfort. There are [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=mens+cycling+shorts&rh=i:aps,k:mens+cycling+shorts&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=9ab35132550452c0f19c9d9449bf201f']men’s[/URL] and [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=womens+cycling+shorts&rh=i:aps,k:womens+cycling+shorts&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=8567021445ed7a67f59a2f037595e2a4']women’s specific[/URL] cycling pants and they usually have a detachable inner liner with the pads and an external style-oriented cover that has pockets. Not all of them are the tight spandex or polyester style that you see on road bikers. Look around and consider dropping in to your local sporting goods store or bike shop for this. Depending on where and when I’m riding I’ll also carry along some mace (now there are [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+mace&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+mace&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=0caa4cdde2d2b33347faebf8d1e0c699']bike specific mace accessories[/URL]) as well as a [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+bell&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+bell&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=d37a61e9dac8d6f8918f0e2e8d0995d5']good bell[/URL] or [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+horn&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+horn&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=f522b1cd32063eebfeb2f512e7ecdd61']horn[/URL]. I bring chap stick, my government issued identification and insurance card (in case of an accident) and it’s just nice to have pockets on the pants or a jersey, jacket or backpack where I can store the stuff.
[*]Storage was left until later in this list because I wanted to demonstrate how much stuff there is to bring along. You might have an extra bottle cage attachment where you could mount what they call [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bike+bottle+storage&rh=i:aps,k:bike+bottle+storage&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=363350ef8260a94ded09858e3b61dd7d']a storage pod[/URL], you might have a rear rack with pannier blockers which would be perfect for the side hanging bags called panniers or a top mounted trunk bag and you might even have room on the fork for a second pair of panniers or a basket up by the handle bars. I usually wear a small hydration pack as mentioned earlier because it’s easy to take along. For me, this is a great place to store a tool, first aid, water, a spare tire, my cell phone, money and keys and the ebike charger so I can extend my ride if plans change. Most electric bicycle chargers are light weight and compact (under 2 lbs) and can fill your battery within hours (batteries tend to charger faster from empty than later on when they are nearly full due to load balancing). A backpack comes along with you and is easy to set next to your desk or hang on the coat rack and you can find them [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+backpack&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+backpack&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=d56ea71430a660a7290d0327d342d50d']pretty cheap[/URL].
[*]Suspension is my favorite “accessory” so I saved it for last. My back, arms and neck get tired on long rides and especially off-road… but I love adventuring! This is why I purchased a full suspension electric mountain bike. While there are plenty of in-town bikes with just a front suspension, some are stiffer than others and there are ways you can improve the ride through suspension accessories. The first option is a suspension seat post! On every ebike review posted to EBR I list the seat post diameter of the bike so you can find an aftermarket post that will fit properly. there are lots of options to choose from but I love [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=thudbuster&rh=i:aps,k:thudbuster&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=808bd27aaecfc12acd765a880e09c651']Thudbuster by Cane Creek[/URL], the [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=suntour+ncx&rh=i:aps,k:suntour+ncx&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=08eb8e1c3d51a20a7f257b7bda0fdc2d']NCX by SunTour[/URL] and [URL='http://ridebodyfloat.com/']BodyFloat by Cirrus Cycles[/URL]. For the more budget-minded cyclists, check out this [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=suspension+seat+post&rh=i:aps,k:suspension+seat+post&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=a3dd87d49b3707316f08c9a53bfcc687']long list of suspension posts on amazon[/URL]. Note that there are now alternative “suspension” posts like the Specialized COBL GOBL-r (CG‑R) that simply dampen vibration and balance comfort with weight and simplicity. Also, all of these suspension posts are going to raise the minimum seat height of your bike, so if you’re already struggling to mount up and are on tippie toes a lot, this might be an area to avoid. The other less-common area to modify with suspension is your stem. Now this is less common because it can impact steering… Still, Specialized has jumped into the game along with [URL='https://www.redshiftsports.com/shockstop-suspension-stem-ships-dec-14-2016/']ShockStop from Red Shift Sports[/URL]. Note also that there are [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=comfort+bike+saddle&rh=i:aps,k:comfort+bike+saddle&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=7fcdebc6de36cfdd5bf055589da9ceec']a bunch of saddles[/URL] with rubber elastomers and springs that help to take the edge off and smooth out your ride. This is another area that’s worth exploring with your local bike shop so you can actually try things out before buying.

The following video was shot with the help of a master tech named Erik at Peloton Cycles in Fort Collins, CO. we mainly covered safety gear and didn’t get quite as deep or detailed as this written guide. If you’d like to learn how to make your helmet fit properly or get some ideas for bottles and pumps be sure to check it out and if you’re ever in Fort Collins swing by and visit [URL='http://www.peloton-cycles.com/']one of their shops[/URL]!

I hope this list of accessories helps guide you towards a comfortable and safe electric bike riding experience. Whether you already chose a bike, have found a used model at your local shop, from a friend or on Craigslist or are still planning, knowing how you intend to ride can help inform where you allocate money. I personally ride a full suspension mountain bike but use it for commuting purposes… For me, comfort with a splash of fun and off-road capability is more important than the fenders or lights but of course, I’ve added some after-market and am left with the hassle of charging separately and perhaps getting more dirty when I commute. Feel free to chime in with your own choice accessories and stories about how you use your bike. Whether it’s neighborhood riding, mountain trails or urban landscapes you seek, I hope you have fun and ride safe :)

TrevorB
2 months ago

I think Court interviewed a guy with fat HT ebike and bob trailer. He use to have FS eMTB but said trailer stuffed suspension pivot bearings. Its same German guy he used for moustache tandem review but interview was few months earlier.

elyhim
2 months ago

Class I emtb? Haibike, Pivot Shuttle, Kenevo, Trek Powerfly, Bulls, Cube, JAM, Canyon, Santa Cruz, Scott, Ghost, Moustache, LaPierre. All have good and bad I guess. What brand is going to have LBS support? Lifetime warranty? Backwards compatibility?

What makes a current good e-MTB? Progressive geometry, full suspension, dropper post, warranty, local support, component, component upgrade possibilities, battery life, torque.

Think about what kind of riding you will be doing. Cross Country (XC), Trail, All Mountain, Downhill/Enduro? There are specific companies focusing on particular types. Making the decision about the type of riding you want to do is central to what you start looking for.

Primarily look for emtb from mtb companies.

Edit: Component 1X systems deore or better, clutch drive train.

Chris Nolte
2 months ago

You could reach out to Moustache and see if they know of anyone that rents their Tandem. They are based in France and they have the best tandem on the market in my opinion.

JayVee
3 months ago

Lucky you. That's one of my all-time favourite e-bikes. Moustache has done everything absolutely right on this one. Unfortunately, it's a little on the expensive side on this side of the big pond. I wish other manufacturers would pick up on the concept of the fully suspended urban bike with ballon tires. I demoed this one and it was incredibly comfortable. Great design too. A small masterpiece in my book.

rdkaz
3 months ago

I purchased a 2017 Moustache Starckbike Asphalt Medium about 6 months ago. It is my first ebike; and I love it!
I have been searching for a full suspension ebike suitable for the road and some off-road use. They are rare.

The bike is very well built; and heavy; but it rides and functions beautifully. I added a Thule Pack n' Pedal tour rack with side frames for added storage; and an Abus Bordo lock.

I have not ridden off road yet; but will likely have to remove the fenders; since there is very close spacing between the rear tire and rear fender. Otherwise, pebbles rattle between the tire and fender.

This ebike is a Bosch powered speed pedelec; that provides plenty of assist; to climb steep mountain roads; without standing to pedal. The full suspension works very well; as do the brakes. Everything works very well!

rdkaz
3 months ago

I purchased a 2017 Moustache Starckbike Asphalt Medium about 6 months ago. it is my first ebike; and I love it!
I have been searching for a full suspension ebike suitable for the road and some off-road use. They are rare.

The bike is very well built; and heavy; but it rides and functions beautifully. I added a Thule Pack n' Pedal tour rack with side frames for added storage; and an Abus Bordo lock.

I have not ridden off road yet; but will likely have to remove the fenders; since there is very close spacing between the rear tire and rear fender. Otherwise, pebbles rattle between the tire and fender.

This ebike is a Bosch powered speed pedelec; that provides plenty of assist; to climb steep mountain roads; without standing to pedal. The full suspension works very well; as do the brakes. Everything works very well!

Nova Haibike
3 months ago

Of the four you listed, I would not recommend the Cannondale, because of the proprietary fork. While their Headshok is pretty reliable and easy to work on, it is still proprietary. Also, it is an ugly bike. LOL. The R&M is more expensive relative to the other two. The Bulls is the best value; it is the only one with an air fork.

A couple of other bikes that look good to me are the Moustache Friday 27 Speed and the Trek Crossrip+. I like the Moustache for its bulletproof wheels. It is a rigid bike, but to me that is a plus; it is lighter and there is no suspension to service...the tires will offer plenty of cush on their own. I like the Trek because (for me) there is nothing more comfortable for longer rides than a good set of drop bars.

e-boy
6 months ago

Moustache Friday 27.5 went to suspension fork for 2018 .

Over50
6 months ago

Moustache Friday 27.5 (probably a 2017 model):

Brian Bassett
1 month ago

If I am buying a bike for 6, 8, even 10 thousand dollars I am going to get a bike that can ride the Himalayas if I want, and I wouldn't want to ride this bike more than across town, and then just so I could talk shit about when I got there. I haven't seen one ebike with the motor built in that I would be comfortable on for more than day rides. No one has hit the mark yet. Buy the perfect bike for you and have a BaFang center drive mounted on it.

Imran Chaudhry
2 months ago

No one commenting the big mustache that Chris was wearing during the bike walk-around? :)

Ellery J
4 months ago

Moustache = funny. Could you start adding the cost of an extra battery in your reviews. Looks of mid and top of line e-nikes have specialized batteries - so the cost of a new one in 2-3 years is important. I bike everyday - including in subzero and snow weather.

Bayard Taylor
4 months ago

Yes but I do know my rear end, and that would not be comfortable

Richard Day
4 months ago

only 20 mph ?

BCRBCRBCRBCRBCRBCR
4 months ago

Attractive, very robust, and cushy balloon tires. However $4K for the annoying Bosch whine, only 500Wh (36v x 13.8Ah ), and limited to 20mph means it may only be interesting in Europe.

Ian Mangham
4 months ago

"John has a long moustache" je repete "john has a long moustache" ?

frank doster
4 months ago

Can give Mustache rides, doh, lol

Bayard Taylor
4 months ago

That saddle looks very hard and uncomfortable

G Bo
4 months ago

And you looks like someone who know nothing about saddle. That's a Brooks B17.

Bayard Taylor
4 months ago

Rad rover is the best e bike for the money 1499. 4K. Really.

Bayard Taylor
4 months ago

What is that on your lip

Bayard Taylor
4 months ago

Might want to think about doing your review away from a busy highway

Tamas Varga
4 months ago

What a gorgeous bike...

huetubesux
4 months ago

Who can afford 4, 5 or 6 thousand dollar bikes (you know bicycles)? You can almost buy electric motorcycles for that kind of money. How about reviewing bikes for normal hard working people, not "fan-boy" wanna-be's, I.E. doctors, lawyers, gay "road bikers" that think they own the road, etc...

Niidea1986
1 month ago

Brian Bassett turn on that button too please...I would agree that a rolhoff hub, not present in this 4k bike, is a very complex transmission though.

Brian Bassett
1 month ago

It's right next to the Reality button. Just saying something doesn;t make it so.

Niidea1986
1 month ago

Brian Bassett turn the sarcasm mode on.

Brian Bassett
1 month ago

And that's why the words that are coming out of your mouth are gibbrish.

Niidea1986
1 month ago

Brian Bassett Errh, nope, I live in a pineapple under the sea, never heard of them in my life...

Anne Noir
4 months ago

the mount on the suspension fork is better. I use a front bag with rixen Kaul klickfix for Bosch intuvia e and with the light up that high its difficult to mount..

Jacob Gomer
4 months ago

Hey, what do you Think is the best e- bike for around $2,000 for riding on road and off road. Im Thinking about the FLX trail?

Steve T
4 months ago

Look at Rad Rover from Rad Power Bikes. I love mine.

Muddy Waters
4 months ago

As others have stated handsome bike and very well built.
But unfortunately is the price...hopefully bikes popularity and competitive demand can drive prices down so we can Eventually all on afford one

ArthurDentZaphodBeeb
4 months ago

Plenty of low cost options - just not as well-designed as this bike Can buy ebikes on eBay/Alibaba starting around $500. Lots of choice of decent ebikes btw $1-$2K. Price climbs with better design/motor/equipment/batteries. Many bikes are Chinese/Taiwanese designs and almost identical bikes can be bought on Alibaba for a lot less than rebadged/marketed bikes from your local bike shop. Of course, no support/service, so you get what you pay for. European bikes seem way ahead wrt design/aesthetics, while US often have bigger motors/batteries as laws aren't as strict in many places.

Randomdriving
4 months ago

They kinda look same as Winora Yakun Urban with Yamaha PW-X. It would be nice to have a comparison with it. I'm thinking about getting a 27.5 ebike in this spring, but I feel that there arn't many options with the Yamaha PW-X or Bosch CX.

Ivan O
4 months ago

If you had to pick only 1 bike to use in a hilly state, for around $2000, which bike would you buy?

David Bradford
4 months ago

That is a nice looking machine