Moustache Samedi 27 XROAD 5 Review

Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Electric Bike Review
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Bosch Performance Line Cx Motor
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Inset Bosch Powerpack 500 Battery
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Bosch Intuvia Display Panel
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Spanninga Axendo Headlight
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Suntour Xcm Spring Suspension 80 Mm Travel
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Selle Royale Shadow Plus Saddle
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Shimano Slx 11 Speed
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Alloy Rear Rack Ortleib Ql3 Compatible
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Tubular Alloy Fenders Spanninga Pixeo Rear Light
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Bosch Electric Bike Charger
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Electric Bike Review
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Bosch Performance Line Cx Motor
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Inset Bosch Powerpack 500 Battery
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Bosch Intuvia Display Panel
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Spanninga Axendo Headlight
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Suntour Xcm Spring Suspension 80 Mm Travel
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Selle Royale Shadow Plus Saddle
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Shimano Slx 11 Speed
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Alloy Rear Rack Ortleib Ql3 Compatible
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Tubular Alloy Fenders Spanninga Pixeo Rear Light
Moustache Samedi 27 Xroad 5 Bosch Electric Bike Charger

Summary

  • A crossover touring electric bike that's capable and comfortable on city streets as well as packed dirt trails thanks to all-terrain tires, a sturdy spring suspension fork with 80 mm travel, and suspension seat post
  • Both wheels offer quick release for easy maintenance on-the-go, powerful Shimano hydraulic disc brakes stop quickly and have adjustable levers, reinforced tubular alloy fenders are quiet and pair with the a plastic chain cover to keep you dry and clean
  • Purpose-built frame is available in three sizes, internally routed cables are hidden and protected, tightly integrated Bosch motor maximizes ground clearance and blends in visually, battery is sunk into the downtube and concealed by a plastic shield
  • Narrower swept-back bars provide an upright body position for comfort while allowing you to spot traffic and fit through tight doorways and gates, two sets of bottle cage bosses, sturdy rear rack with wide pannier blockers

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Moustache

Model:

Samedi 27 XROAD 5

Price:

$3,799

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail, Touring

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 5 Year Frame and Fork

Availability:

United States, Australia, New Zealand, Europe

Model Year:

2018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56.3 lbs (25.53 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.8 lbs (2.63 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 T4 T6 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16.14 in (40.99 cm)18.5 in (46.99 cm)20.87 in (53 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium 47 cm Frame Measurements: 18.5" Seat Tube, 22.25" Reach, 28" Stand Over Height, 26" Width, 72" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Anthracite

Frame Fork Details:

Suntour XCM ATB Spring, 80 mm Travel, Compression Adjust with Hydraulic Lockout, Preload Adjust, 100 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

11 Speed 1x11 Shimano SLX Derailleur with One Way Clutch, SunRace Cassette 11-40T High Tensile Steel Sprockets

Shifter Details:

Shimano SLX Triggers with Dyna-Sys and Two-Way Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy, Reinforced Forged, 170 mm Length, 15T Chainring

Pedals:

VP Aluminum Alloy Platform, Wide, Black

Headset:

FSA Tapered, Sealed Bearing, 1-1/8" to 1-1/2"

Stem:

Aluminum Alloy, 6° Angle, 70 mm Length, 31.6 mm Clamp Diameter

Handlebar:

Aluminum Alloy, Swept Back, 650 mm Length

Brake Details:

Shimano M395 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Dual-Piston Calipers, Shimano Three-Finger Levers with Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Flat Ribbed Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Selle Royale Shadow+, Black

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy Suspension with 30 mm Travel, Adjustable

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Alex MD21, Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 21 mm Width, Reinforcement Eyelets, 32 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14G, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Hutchinson Python, 27.5" x 2.1" (52-584)

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

29 to 58 PSI, 2.0 to 4.0 Bar

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Moustache Hidden Power Paint-Matched Plastic Battery Cover, Integrated Spanninga Axendo Headlight (80 Lux), Integrated Spanninga Pixeo Fender-Mounted Backlight, AXA Solid Plus Cafe Lock (Keyed Alike), Moustache Alloy Tubular Super Stable 65 mm Wide Fenders, Moustache Alloy Rear Rack with Ortlieb QL3 Compatible Mounts, Full Length Plastic Chain Cover, Pletscher ESGE Flex Adjustable Kickstand (25 mm Bolt Spacing), Flick Bell on Right

Other:

Locking Removable Downtube Mounted Battery Pack with LED Charge Level Indicator, 1.7 lb 4 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line CX

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

570 watts

Motor Torque:

75 Newton meters

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

482.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD, (Hold Reset and i for Settings Menu)

Readouts:

Battery Level (1-5), Assist Level (Eco, Tour, EMTB, Turbo), Speed, Odometer, Trip Distance, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Range, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 5 Volt 500 mA Micro-USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Rear Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50% 40 Nm, Tour 120% 50 Nm, Sport 210% 60 Nm, Turbo 300% 75 Nm)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Samedi 27 XROAD 5 combines on-road efficiency and utility with some off-road features like knobby tires that make it an excellent platform for touring. If you enjoy rails to trails routs, gravel roads, and smooth hardpack but still want fenders, lights, and a rear rack for hauling cargo… this could be an excellent fit. I enjoyed the comfortable combination of suspension fork, suspension seat post, gel saddle, and swept back bars while riding through the bumpy cobblestone streets of Brooklyn, NY for this review. The pedals are wider than average with raised pins for traction, the tubular fenders are sturdy and quiet, and the long plastic chain cover kept my pants from getting wet and greasy. Priced at $3,799 with a two-year comprehensive warranty and five-year frame coverage, I felt that there was a lot of value on offer here. This electric bike really spoke to me because I love how tightly the motor is integrated and how hidden the battery pack is, without adding a lot of weight or bulging the downtube. It’s just beautiful… and it’s being offered in three frame sizes and two styles (high-step and mid-step). Aspects of the Samedi 27 XROAD 5 model have been downgraded compared to the similar-looking Moustache Friday 27.5. For example, you don’t get an air fork with thru-axle, and the headlight is mounted to the bridge of the suspension and will bounce more vs. the handlebar, but it costs $200 less and has a sturdier stem. I love that Moustache included a high-quality adjustable kickstand here and upgraded the derailleur with Shadow Plus clutch engagement to reduce chain bounce and slap, but it looked like they skipped adding a sticker slap guard on the right chain stay so the paint could get chipped a little over time (though you probably won’t notice because it’s covered by the plastic chain cover). I usually place a strip of clear shipping tape on sensitive areas of my bikes to prevent chipping and cable marks. In short, this is a stealthy electric bike with lots of great features, an efficient drivetrain, and increasing distribution in the United States. Moustache is a French brand that offers stylish, unique ebike products like the Samedi 27 X2 tandem and I feel that they pay extra close attention to details such as bottle cage bosses (of which there are three pairs here) and color coordination (notice the black spokes and motor skid plate).

Driving this ebike is a powerful Bosch Performance Line CX motor that can deliver up to 75 Newton meters of torque. It’s a mountain-specific motor from Bosch, that can be less quiet and less efficient, but is very responsive and zippy. Given the cross-road nature of the Samedi 72 XROAD 5 here, I feel it was a great choice. This bike still fits into the most basic Class 1 ebike category, meaning it is treated the same way as unpowered bicycles in most places, and the maximum assisted speed here is 20 mph. One complaint I hear expressed on occasion about the Bosch Performance Line motors is that they use a smaller chainring that rotates 2.5 times for each crank arm revolution. This reduction gearing design allows the smaller sprocket to really grab the chain, and empowers the motor through a mechanical advantage… but there is some friction being produced when you pedal unassisted or over the 20 mph top assisted speed because of the gearing. While cruising around Brooklyn, I pretty easily reached 29 miles per hour just pedaling, so it’s not a deal killer by any means. The chainring used here is a 15 tooth sprocket compared with 18T or 20T on many city and road style electric bikes. The smaller size is geared for climbing, but you can definitely still pedal fast (again, I reached ~29 mph while in the highest 11 tooth gear in the cassette). This cassette offers 11 sprockets and ranges from 11 to 40 teeth, the 40T sprocket is perfect for climbing. Shifting through feels crisp and the SLX triggers on the right side of the handlebar offer two-way action for the high gear lever and multi-shift on the low gear trigger. SLX is an upper mid-level component group and the derailleur has that Shadow Plus lever, a small grey lever that can be pushed into the up-vertical position to tighten the spring. It’s a nice feature to have on bumpy streets and trails. Compared to an 11-46T ten-speed cassette, this one has smaller jumps between gears, so you can dial in a more comfortable cadence. I think it’s perfect for longer rides, touring, trekking, or bikepacking. The drivetrain should hold up well because the motor controller has shift detection and will automatically ease off when it senses you changing gears. Finally, I just love the styling that Moustache has chosen for their motor integration, tipping it up a bit and blending it into the downtube and seat tube to raise clearance and make the bike look more natural.

Appearance is something I do care about, and usually it comes at a price premium. So, I realize that I already said this, but I do really feel that the Samedi 27 XROAD 5 offers great value, because it looks beautiful and is well under $4k. When I look at the motor design and the way that they sunk the battery pack into the downtube and covered it with this plastic shielding system (that they call hidden power), I get excited. That shield is easy to remove to access the battery, but really cleans up the look of the frame and makes this ebike stealthier than most others. And, it’s lighter than the Bosch Powertube design which I have seen on some of the BULLS electric mountain bikes in 2018. This sunk-in battery design lowers weight which improves handling and it frees up space for the two bottle cages in the main triangle (for the high-step model at least). This open space on the frame could be used to hang the bike on a bike rack or lift the bike and carry it on your shoulder across a stream etc. If you watch closely in the video review above, can see just how narrow and close the downtube sidewalls are that surround the Powerpack battery. The downtube isn’t especially fat like it is on some other models, and therefore, will not get in the way of your feet and calves when pedaling as much. Looking down from above, I could see foam pads on both sides of the alloy walls that secure the battery pack and reduce rattling noise. The pack locks into place with a power connector at the base and a keyed-core at the top, provided by AXA. The key used for this primary lock is also used for the rear frame lock. It’s really nice to just have one key for both systems here because you will probably end up with at least one more key for your home, your automobile, and maybe even an additional lock for the bike (to secure the frame and front wheel). I recommend getting a folding lock and mounting it onto the bottle cage bosses just behind the seat tube. You could buy another AXA branded folding lock like this and I cannot say for sure, but you might be able to order it custom keyed-alike to keep keys at a minimum. I know ABUS currently does this, but the battery and frame lock here are both from AXA so you might be limited on options. There is so much more to say about the Bosch Powerpack 500 battery that comes with this bike… it’s relatively lightweight, has a moulded handle at the top for safer transport, an integrated 5-LED power readout on the left, and is the exact same size and shape as the older Powerpack 400 battery. Both packs use durable Lithium-ion cells, and both can be mated to the same ebike interface to power this bike… which means you can get a discounted Powerpack 400 to take along and extend rides! Some people might already own an additional Powerpack battery, and still others might discover that shops will rent you a pack or you can borrow one from friends when traveling. Maybe someday, ebike touring circuits will allow you to trade your own battery for one at the shop for a small fee and simply ride on through! For those who cannot afford or do not wish to bring a second or third pack, you can charge the included Powerpack 500 relatively quickly thanks to the fast 4-Amp Bosch charger. And, charging can be done on or off the frame. The plug interface is proprietary and will not get flipped or confused with other products, this charger is relatively light at ~1.7 lbs, and Bosch sells an even lighter portable 2 amp charger as well. I want to call out that Moustache has done a great job with their rubber plug covers (for the locking core and charging port), they were easier to remove and put back and seemed better sealed than some competing offerings.

Operating this electric bike is a breeze, once the battery pack is charged and locked onto the frame. Just press the power button near the lower left corner of the Bosch Intuvia display panel and it boots up quickly. The main readouts are charge level (five tics again), current speed, and a little assist level chart with a power meter on the right. You can watch this chart to determine how hard the motor is working and use it to learn how to extend your range. As for assist, you get four levels to choose from and can select these by pressing + or – on the left button pad. I love how easy this pad is to reach, without taking your hand off the grip, and feel that the rubberized i button in the middle provides a physical guide that makes navigation easy even when you aren’t looking down at the buttons. So, there’s off, eco, tour, sport (or eMTB) and turbo levels. I believe that most bikes will come setup with eMTB mode, but the demo bike I tested with Cris still had sport mode enabled, and was due for a firmware update. This new eMTB mode allows you to sort of “set it and forget it” and focus on shifting gears and pedaling rather than raising or lowering assist levels. It offers 130% up to 300% power based more on your pedal torque, and is great for trail riding where terrain changes quickly and you might be climbing one second and then turning or descending the next. For a product like the XROAD 5 here, it’s a great choice, and this is not available on the similar Moustache Friday 27.5, which seems to be setup more for road use because it has slick tires and a turning stem. Anyway, the Intuvia display is also removable and could be replaced with the COBI interface, now owned by Bosch, that turns your smartphone into a display system complete with GPS, music, and telephone functionality. This accessory mount is designed to charge your phone while riding and secure it front and center. Even the stock Intuvia display has a Micro-USB port for filling your phone on the go, and this separates it from the compact Bosch Purion display found on some of the mountain-specific Moustache models. The Intuvia is removable, large and easy to see, can be swiveled to reduce glare, and I feel that its remote button pad (the three-button interface mounted near the left grip) is more consistent and easy to click compared to the Purion. It’s my personal favorite display on the market right now and I love that it can also estimate your range, give you shifting recommendation, and provide a bunch of other trip stats by pressing the i button.

If you couldn’t already tell, I like the Moustache Samedi 27 XROAD 5 a lot. It looks great, uses a proven motor, battery, and display system, comes in several sizes and offers that mid-step frame which is so easy to approach… but still looks cool. The rear rack is Ortleib compatible, using their new QL3 system for side panniers, and the headlight is super bright. I must say, the rear light is a bit more basic and the headlight would be less bouncy if mounted to the handlebar as it is on the Friday 27.5 model, but it still works well enough. The spring suspension fork offers compression adjust and lockout for efficient riding on those smooth sections, and there’s also a preload dial on the left side of the crown for heavier riders to reduce dive and bob. It’s not the fanciest fork, but the tapered head tube on this frame means you could upgrade to something nicer someday if you really wanted. I was actually a bit surprised that the Friday 27.5 had a nicer fork and thru-axle given that the Samedi 27 XROAD 5 is geared more for off-road, but I believe that bike has larger tires and needed a wider fork to accommodate them. I was not able to figure out what the brand was for the seat post suspension here, but it felt very comfortable to me. For riders who aren’t as tall and want to lower the saddle as much as possible, consider swapping it out with a rigid 27.2 mm post like this. There should still be enough room for a trunk bag and panniers because the rack is positioned far back… and the rack actually supports the fender to keep it sturdy and quiet. The gel saddle and slightly wider 2.1″ tires with little knobs take the edge off, even with the fork locked and a rigid seat post. The hydraulic disc brakes performed well and have adjustable-reach levers so you can actuate more easily with long or short fingers (or gloves). In some ways, it seems like you get several key upgrades with the Friday 27.5 model and you could always buy that model and swap the tires to something more rugged, but you would sacrifice eMTB mode because it only uses the standard Performance Line Cruise motor with up to 63 Nm of peak torque. Both motors peak out at 20 mph making them Class 1. I like the little flick bell, the quick release wheels and seat tube for easy trail maintenance, bike transport, and body geometry adjustments over long rides (sometimes seat post suspensions can sink down as you bounce over long rides… so keep the seat tube collar tight). If you live somewhere with rails to trails access and want a sporty commuter bike with off-road potential, I feel that this would be an excellent fit. Big thanks to Moustache and Propel Bikes for partnering with me on this post, and having two products to compare back to back. I had a great time with this and as always, I welcome your input and questions in the comments below or the Moustache electric bike forums.

Pros:

  • A rugged yet comfortable crossover all-terrain electric bike that is well suited to trekking and touring applications because of the efficient mid-drive and widely available Bosch Powerpack battery integration
  • I absolutely love how Moustache integrates the Powerpack into the downtube (to keep it low and center on the frame) while surrounding and covering with the tubing and a proprietary plastic shield, it’s one of the most beautiful and durable designs I have seen, it should keep dust and dirt out of the compartment
  • So many electric bikes forego bottle cage bosses and either leave you to mount an aftermarket clamp cage on or add a rack and bag with holster… but Moustache includes two bottle cage bosses as well as a premium Ortlieb compatible rear rack that supports the fender for strength and reduced rattling noise, it’s a brilliant setup
  • In addition to the two bottle cage mounting options (on the seat tube and below the top tube) there’s a third set of bosses behind the seat tube where you could mount a folding lock like this that you might even be able to order keyed-alike to the battery and cafe lock here, I’m not sure this mounting space is wide enough for a third water bottle however
  • Sometimes trail bikes won’t have kickstands but the Samedi 27 XROAD 5 does, and it’s positioned out of the way and sturdily sprung for reduced bouncing on rough terrain
  • Nice touch points, plush gel saddle from Selle Royale, comfortable rubberized grips, and a pair of extra-wide alloy pedals that grip in wet conditions
  • Not only is the battery hidden, but it also locks securely to the frame and you can use the same key to lock the cafe lock to immobilize the bike during quick stops (or make it simpler to lock the frame and front wheel with your own independent locks)
  • You can charge the Bosch Powerpack on or off the frame and use either the included 500 or older 400 because the interface is the same, the charge you get is a faster 4 Amp design so time between rides will be shorter
  • The anthracite color will be more visible in dark conditions (it’s like a dark silver) than if the bike was all black, however, I think the motor, battery cover, wheels, spokes, and other black hardware still look great here but am glad that they went to such lengths to make everything match, and of course the integrated LED lights are fantastic, both the front and rear light run off of the main battery for convenience
  • The battery and display panel can be removed quickly when parking in public racks, it’s important to secure the expensive and delicate bits
  • Excellent quality and purposeful selection on the drivetrain here, you get 11 durable high-tensile steel gears instead of just 9 or 10 and the spread of 11 to 40 teeth isn’t as wide as a true mountain model for steep climbing but means that your steps between gears are smaller, it’s a great spread for the maximum 20 mph assisted speed here and it allows you to find the perfect cadence for long treks, the smaller 15 tooth chainring is what I see on Bosch electric mountain bikes and gives you a climbing advantage
  • The derailleur has a Shadow Plus one-way clutch system that lets you tighten the derailleur and reduce chain slap and drops, I usually see this on e-mountain bikes and high-speed models but it makes sense here considering the all-terrain tires
  • The Bosch CX motor is extremely durable, powerful, and also efficient if you shift thoughtfully (it also has shift detection to reduce wear on your drivetrain), this is their mountain bike motor which means it’s well suited to handle trails on the Moustache XROAD
  • The Bosch CX motor offers eMTB mode so you can set the power level once and focus on shifting gears and pedaling, this mode relies more heavily on torque signals to output a range of power dynamically, and it works pretty well
  • For those with portable electronics such as GPS, the Bosch Intuvia display panel offers a Micro-USB port on the right edge so you can charge on the go (pulling energy from the Powerpack 500), this is great for long adventure rides, I’d probably purchase a second Powerpack 500 and rotate between the two while riding to maximize distance, for those who want to use a smartphone instead of the Intuvia, Bosch purchased COBI in 2017 and they have a compatible mount that I’ve reviewed here
  • I come from a road biking background with a bit of mountain riding for fun, and I tend to enjoy spinning at high RPM vs. slow and lumbering, the Bosch Performance motors support up to 120 RPM and that means you don’t have to switch gears as frequently to reach higher speeds, many competing products fade out before 120 or are only rated to 100 RPM
  • Minor point here, but I really like the rubber covers that Moustache has designed to protect the key slot and charging port on the downtube of their e-bikes, they seat well and aren’t difficult to use like some others
  • Nice wheelset, the rims are doublewall and have reinforcement eyelets to handle the added forces of heavy riders, increased cargo on that rear rack, and just rugged terrain
  • This bike is produced in both a high-step and mid-step frame design which makes it more approachable for riders with short inseams or those who simply struggle to lift their leg up and over or around the rear rack, I think they both look very good and are sturdy with triangle tubing

Cons:

  • Weighing in at ~56.3 lbs, this is not the lightest electric bike, but that’s partially because it’s feature complete and also because they opted for a durable spring suspension vs. air, it should require less tuning over long periods and is just tougher
  • The integrated lights are fantastic, I love how the rear light is far back on the fender so it won’t interfere with cargo on the rack, the headlight turns as you steer… however, it is mounted to the arch of the fork which bounces up and down on bumpy terrain, it would have been nice if they attached it to the crown or headset on the bike so it could be suspended and less bouncy
  • I wonder about the battery bay cover… it doesn’t lock to the frame and could be taken but if you leave it on while parked but if you take it off (along with the battery and display), it’s possible that water and dirt and stuff will get into the frame
  • The big downsides to the current-generation Bosch Performance Line CX motor are that it’s more power hungry than the standard performance model, produces more noise at high RPM, and uses a reduction gearbox and smaller chainring sprocket that spins 2.5x for each crank arm revolution… so if you’re pedaling without power or trying to exceed the 20 mph top speed, there’s some additional drag and friction produced
  • As nice as the hydraulic disc brakes are, I was surprised that Moustache didn’t opt for 180 mm rotors front and rear on this model as they did for the Friday 27.5 model, I feel like the off-road tires allow you to ride on more varied terrain and it’s nice to have the braking power and cooling benefits of larger rotors in that case
  • Very minor complaint here, but Moustache seems to have skipped a slap guard on the right chain stay, it’s not something you’d see easily because of the chain cover, but I think a clear sticker there could have been nice, just to keep the paint from getting chipped up and possibly reducing the wear on your chain of metal on metal contact, especially given the trail-setup of the tires here

Resources:

More Moustache Reviews

Moustache Lundi 26.1 Review

  • MSRP: $3,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A uniquely styled, highly approachable, step-thru electric bike with quiet Bosch Active Line Plus mid-motor and 400 watt hour rear-rack battery, the 26.1 trim level is the entry point and most affordable Lundi in the line. Available in four unique colors including a highly visible white and red, integrated front and…...

Moustache Friday 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A sleek, utilitarian, and comfortable electric city bike designed in France, custom-made tubular fenders stay quiet and pair nicely with a sturdy plastic chain cover, swivel handle bar saves space. Available in three frame sizes for optimal fit, stock kickstand and pedals are great, quality…...

Moustache Samedi 27 Trail 8 Review

  • MSRP: $5,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A premium, full suspension, trail style electric mountain bike with 140 mm air suspension, four-bar rear suspension design with stiff carbon alloy parts, Boost longer hub spacing with sturdy thru-axles, and 2.8" plus sized tires for improved traction and float. Available in three sizes to fit an range of riders, steeper top tube lowers stand-over…...

Moustache Samedi 27 X2 Review

  • MSRP: $6,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A premium tandem electric bike with powerful Bosch CX mid-motor, large 200 mm Magura MT5 hydraulic disc brakes, and triple-chamber tubing with reinforcement gussets. Excellent weight distribution, the motor and battery packs are positioned low and center to maximize…...

Moustache Samedi 27 Trail 6 Review

  • MSRP: $4,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the cleanest looking full suspension electric mountain bikes with Bosch Powerpack integration I have seen to date, the battery seats neatly into the downtube. Available in three frame sizes for optimal fit, 140 mm air suspension offers a blend…...

Moustache StarckBike Asphalt Review

  • MSRP: $6,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high speed urban ultra-commuter electric bike with front and rear mountain bike level air suspension, tubular alloy fenders and integrated LED lights. Powered by the Bosch Performance Class 3 mid-drive offering 63 Newton meters of torque, standard…...

Moustache Lundi 26 Review

  • MSRP: $3,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A stylized step-thru with a high-end drive system from Bosch at a very reasonable price point, optional NuVinci CVT or Shimano Di2 drivetrain upgrades improve shifting. Moustache is a French company that has been around for several years in Europe, the…...


Kevin Willis
5 months ago

I am really impressed by this e-bike. Most specifically I appreciate the motor and battery integration into the frame. You rarely see this on today’s e-bikes that have the Bosch CX Performance motor for such a “reasonable” price.

I have one main question. You stated/implied in your review and on the video that you were able to achieve speeds above the 20 mph motor limit by pedaling a little harder or faster. I did not know that this was possible! I thought that the motor basically stopped providing assistance at 20 mph? if it still provides assistance, I would be more inclined to purchase the CX motor over the HS one since there is a major difference in torque 15 newton meters squared – 75 to 63 – when comparing the two motors respectively?

Finally, would this be applicable to Riese and Muller e-bikes also? What about e-bikes like the Tinker that have a Nuvinci hub and a Gates carbon belt? Can I add a little speed and power to my ride on a flat rode and go faster than 20mph and still have assistance from the Bosch CX Performance motor?

Reply
court
5 months ago

Hi Kevin, these are great questions. I agree that the Moustache Samedi 27 XROAD 5 looks good and is priced well, and I do appreciate the extra torque and eMTB mode from the Bosch CX motor. Regarding speed, as soon as you pedal at 20 mph or higher, the motor completely stops assisting. It is as if you were riding the bike without turning the motor on… you can definitely pedal beyond 20 mph but all of the effort will come from you. I was easily able to reach ~29 mph because I was on smooth streets and am a strong cyclist. Compared to the Brose, Shimano, Yamaha, and most other mid-drive motors, the Bosch Performance Line (not the new Active Line) actually slows you down a bit because of the reduction gearing. The smaller sprocket has to spin 2.5x for each crank revolution that you turn and that produces some friction drag… but only a little bit. What you get from the CX is climbing power, a zippy feeling when you start out at zero, and up to 20 mph assistance with your own ability to pedal faster or coast down hills faster (I have gone over 40 mph on regular bicycles and ebikes when riding down large hills). I hope this helps clarify :)

Reply
Will
5 months ago

Hi Kevin, I totally agree with the semi integrated battery design. Clean and much more discreet.

I also agree with Court’s comments above. I just wanted to add that if you selected a Gates / Nuvinci set-up on the bike that pedaling with on your own human power above 20Mph / 32 Kph that it will require much more effort than a chain / derailleur set-up.

One of my bikes last year was the R&M Charger GT Nuvinci dual battery (equipped with the Gates belt) and trying to pedal the bike under human power, especially up hills was not as easy as a chain drive. True that the bike is heavier but the fact is the belt does cause some additional resistance.

With that being said, I am a BIG fan of the Nuvinci / gates setup and think it’s ideal for those riders who want a low maintenance, ultra quiet and simple to adjust system. So I do highly recommend that set-up.

Like I tell most of our customers, the HS sounds like a MUST have feature but the reality is that for most people, traveling 28 MPH / 45 KPH is not something they will do on a regular basis (yes there may be a few out there that do but not many). So if you are riding with other who don’t have an ebike or a speed ebike or live in an area where you will rarely go above 20 Mph / 32 Kph I would suggest sticking with the standard drive system. With all the mileage I do in my area (City and Urban riding) over the course of a season my average total speed 16.7 Mph!

Hope this helps,
Will from Scooteretti

Reply
court
5 months ago

Great insights Will, thanks for sharing your perspective on belt drives and high speed vs. regular motors. You guys are experts and have more opportunities to ride and compare for extended periods than most customers will and even me. Hope you’re doing well :)

Reply
Will
5 months ago

Court,

Things are awesome here. With websites like yours, it really helps informs consumers about the choices available to them and help them narrow down some choices. Once they do it’s always great to chat with an experienced shop that rides and services the bike to help them select the right one.

Will from Scooteretti

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

vasubandu
2 weeks ago

Ann M, J.R., Ebikefevercure and Rich C, thanks and I get it. I should have been more clear. I just want a better idea of what the issues are before I do that so that I will be better able to evaluate things. In the end, it will be a bike to ride, not a bunch of specs on a spreadsheet. And I may think that I have found the perfect bike, but when I ride it, find that it does not work at all. For me, it is kind of learning enough so I can pay attention to what the issues are for each bike. Otherwise, I am liable to fall in love with the first thing I ride and ignore any issues it might have. I have made the mistake in the past of just trying things and ended up making bad decisions. Then again, I also have made bad decisions by reading a bunch of reviews online and then not putting things to the test. So I am trying to make sure I do both. And that will mean taking a hard look at bikes in all price ranges to get a feeling for what the brackets really are.

So far, the most helpful suggestions have been the minimums. Alaskan suggested tires at least 2 inches wide, but not too wide. That reminded me of my youth when I had a 10-speed with those ridiculously skinny wheels and the number of times they decided to move sideways. I had forgotten that and would not have paid attention. He suggested a minimum of 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes, and I see some bikes with less, and others with 180 in the back and less in the front. Again, that would not have occurred to me as a requirement. TML has me confused because he suggested a minimum of 540 wh battery. and I sort of thought that 500 was the very high end. I need to figure this out, but I had not been thinking about battery life.

These are the kinds of things that I have seen in comments here, and I suspect that many of you don't realize how helpful and valuable they are. You guys have learned these lessons the hard way, and people like me get to coast behind you. You obviously can't tell me what bike to buy, but you can help me avoid some awful mistakes. In the end, I suspect that there will be at least 5 bikes that would meet all my needs at a price that makes sense, and it will come down to personal preference. I am not trying to find the perfect bike, just a good one.

Out of curiosity, one of the bikes that really appeals to me visually is the Moustache Samedi. Or maybe the Friday. But I see very little discussion of them here or elsewhere. They a French and maybe have little market share. They are not cheap, but not crazy expensive either. Propel has the Samedi 27 XRoad 3 and the Friday 27.3, both with Bosch Performance Cruise, 20mph and 500 Wh Bosch battery POwerpack, and both $3,550. Beyond that, the price shoots up.

The Stromer bikes are all gorgeous to my eyes, but man are they spendy. And they seem proprietary, so it is hard for me to compare.

My sense for some reason is that companies like iZip are second tier, but their E3 Moda is attractive and seems well equipped for $3,000. And going cheap, the E2 Protour is on sale for $1600 with an E3 motor and a 417 Wh battery, but its range looks really limited, and who knows about that motor.

Alaskan rides a Riese & Muller Nevo Nuvinci GH and lives nearby. He says it is well adapted to the Pacific Northwest, but yikes, it is a $5,000 bile. Plus I really prefer the step over style. I have to say that the R&M Supercharger is to me the most attractive electric bike I have seen. And you can load it up with 2 500 Wh batteries, but when you do, you are getting close to $7,000.

I do not see any Moutache dealers close by. The nearest seems to be on Vancouver Island in Canada, which would be a trip, but doable. They have the Friday 27.5 for $4,250 US, the Samedi 27 Xroad 5 for $4,000 and the Samedi 7 28.3 400 for $3,500.

There are several Stromer dealers in Seattle, so that would be easy. I may run by tomorrow and see what this is all about.

Thanks to everyone for the help.

,

vasubandu
2 weeks ago

Thanks this was very helpful. I know I have way too many bikes on the list. A lot of them are functionally equivalent. One thing I did not mention is that I will always have soft sided briefcase with me and may have as much as a banker's box of documents. I think you are right that I would not need a full suspension. When I first started looking at electric bikes, I notice the Bulls brand out of Germany, but they seem comparatively expensive. Lots to think about

Just to focus my thinking I reduced the list to these. I like the idea of under $4,000 a lot more than over $6,000.

Raleigh Redux iE Diamond Frame (2017 $2700
Stromer St1 Platinum $3000
iZip e3Moda $3000
Haibike SDURO Trekking 7.0 $3400
Moustache Samedi 28.3 $3450
Riese & Müller Supercharger New Charger $6000+

From a purely aesthetic point of view, I really like the Moustache bikes. Thanks again. I will keep learning.

vasubandu
2 weeks ago

Hi all. I have looked around, and the comments and suggestions about choosing a bike that I have seen seem to be unusually thoughtful and helpful. Those who donate their time are doing a real service.

I am 53 years old, reasonably fit and weigh around 170 pounds. Maybe a few more than I would like, but neither overweight nor limited. I live in Seattle where I am an attorney. I have been looking for a nice office near me, the market is tight, so I am expanding my search. Monthly parking in Seattle costs $300, and even if I could afford it, I don't want to. I live in a part of Seattle called West Seattle, and I am considering office space about 7 miles away. When I leave my house, I immediately go up a hill that is about a mile long and a 300 foot climb. It then immediately descends about the same 300 feet in the same mile distance. Beyond that, my commute would be dead flat.

The City of Seattle is now run by a bunch of lunatics who, among other things, have a bike fetish. They have been installing bike lanes even in places that have not seen a bicycle in years. The City passed a huge levy for bike lanes. We were told that they would cost about $865,000 per mile, and a big report came out a month ago that the actual cost has been $12 million per mile. Mistakes happen, right? The point is that I live in a city that is at least nominally very bicycle friendly.

Personally, I think that the solution is a Lightning LS 218 motorcycle so that I could get anywhere yesterday, but my wife and two sons think that my lengthy history of mishaps like a 30 foot fall into a a ravine while hiking alone off trail somehow disqualifies me. My wonderful mother was an ER nurse in her younger days and seems to have created a long list of false memories of treating motorcyclists whose brains and bodies were splattered here and there. She says I cannot come home to visit if I have a motorcycle.

So maybe the answer is an electric bicycle that goes 90 miles per hour. OK, that last part was a joke. But my commute would be on fairly safe and normal roads. I can take the low bridge, and the speed limit will never exceed 30 mph. I can park a bike and even an electric bike for free, and I might end up finding it useful for broader purposes.

I am a researcher by nature and profession. I have more spreadsheets with more information that I do not understand than you would believe. I have not yet test driven an electric bike for the same reason that I would not test drive a car until I was ready to buy. Since I have never ridden any electric bike, every test drive is going to be amazing. I am going to have no ability to make meaningful distinctions.

In looking at bikes so far, I have realized a few of my preferences. Faster is better than slower. Up to a point. Movement on electricity alone is better than having to pedal. The Delfast Prime claims a range of 236 miles, a top speed of 34 miles per hour and costs $5,000. Those are impressive statistics if true, and if I were inclined to send $5,000 to the Ukraine on a whim, I might think about it. But it is not a bicycle. It is a wannabe little motorcycle, which gets me kicked out of my house with no way back to mom.

So I am thinking that an electric bike should look and as much as possible feel like a bicycle.

28 miles per hour sounds a lot better than 20. A lot better. Assuming a 7 mile commute and top speeds, 28 mph would get me to the office in 15 minutes, and 20 mph in 21 minutes, or a difference of 6 minutes. Time is precious, and I even bill in 6 minute increments, but the day I get bent out of shape over a 6 minute difference in a commute is the day I should try walking for comparison purposes.

Aesthetically, I much prefer straight lines. No matter where you put the battery, I just do not like it. Bosch now has its PowerTube 500, and I suspect that other companies have or soon will have similar products. That strikes me as an elegant solution. Making this a requirement would limit the number of candidates, but it seems that it would limit them to high quality, up to date models.

The motor is something that I do not understand at all. Bosch seems to be the Microsoft of electric bikes, but others swear by Brose or companies I have never heard of. On top of that, I tend to generally follow technology advancements, and the last month of two has me wondering if I might be setting myself up for regrets. First, a British engineer named Ian Foley, who has a deep Formula One racing background, allegedly has found a way to economically manufacture motors with spoke magnets. It is a known idea, but making them cheaply is new. This whole area is new to me, so I may be missing the boat, but the focus seems to be one the watts per kilogram. the Bosch Performance Line 28 mph mode weighs 4 kg with 350 watts. So that would be .0875 kw/kg. Foley's company Equipmake claims that they can produce 9 kw/kg. I must be missing something because that would be 102,000 times more than than the Bosch. But it must be quite a bit more because the article said the Siemens made a world record prototype in 2015 that reached 5 kw/kg. It looks like major advancements might be on the horizon. The Equipmake is not entirely vaporware because it is being used in a new Ariel Hippercar that claims 1,180 hp and significant range. Before the smoke had even cleared on that one, A Belgian startup called Magnax claimed that it has developed a compact axial flux electric motor and says it produces sustained 7.5 kg/kg with a peak of 15. Again, I am way out of my league here. My information largely comes from newatlas.com, supplemented by the companies themselves. No one wants to be the Schmuck who bought the last electric bike before they started flying.

All that said, Bosch and Brose, probably in that order, seem like solid, safe bets.

When it comes to the rest of the normal bike parts, I am hopelessly clueless. Some of the posts here have emphasized how important that is, but I do not know where to begin.

So with all this in mind, my woefully inadequate thought process looks like this

Bulls E-STREAM EVO 45 FSBrose 350W 28mph28118 miles37V/17.5Ah/650Wh

Bulls Lacuba EVO E45Brose 350W 28mph28118 miles37V/17.5Ah/650Wh

Bulls STURMVOGEL E EVOBrose 250W2013737V/17.5Ah/650Wh

Bulls URBAN EVOBosch Performance Speed (350W)28134Bosch PowerTube 36V/ 13.4Ah/ 500Wh

HAIBIKE SDURO TREKKING 9.0Bosch Performance CX, 350W20Bosch PowerTube, 500 Wh

iZip E3 MODABrose Speed, 28mph , 250w, Made in Germany.2835Fully Integrated & Removable, HTE, 497Wh

Kalkhoff 2016 Integrale S11Empulse 3.0 Evo 350W2855Impules 36 v, 16.75ah, 603W

KALKHOFF ENTICEBosch Performance CX, 36 V / 250 W28Bosch PowerTube Li-Ionen 36 V, 13,4 Ah (500 Wh)

MOUSTACHE SAMEDI 27 XROADBOSCH Performance CX 250W20Bosch PowerPack 500 Performance

Raleigh Redux iE250W Brose Centerdrive system, 90NM of torque3536V Li-ion, 13.8Ah, 496.8Wh

Riese & Müller SuperchargerBosch Performance CXBosch PowerPack 500 Performance,

SCOTT E-Aspect ATBrose 25Km/h, 500WH, 4 Amp charge500Wh integrated Battery / 25Km/h

Specialized Turbo SGo SwissDriveSamsung

Stromer ST seriesSYNO DriveStromer

Trek Super Commuter+ 8SBosch Performance Speed motorBosch PowerPack 500 Performance,

Maybe I am overthinking this or underthinking it. Thoughts would be appreciated

Dewey
1 month ago

Corratec LifeS (Germany). A cruiser advertized with a https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqAkHTGbppQ&list=PLAMY2gmG5o11qnN7dLu5I1N8kkwQoqty0 (NSFW) marketing campaign involving nekkid women giving the finger, and men stroking their moustache or kissing their bicep...Supercrazy! Nah, very Eurotrash and unintentionally the funniest ebike marketing video I've seen.

Court
2 months ago

Hi guys! I'm moving some content off of the main site and into the most relevant categories of the forum. This post was originally made on January 28th 2017:

Electric bikes are great but depending on your budget, intended use and environment the bike alone may not completely serve your needs. That’s where accessories come in! But before we dig in, I want to stress that if you live in a rainy environment and intend on commuting to work or ride frequently in the dark it might be worth paying more up front to get integrated fenders and lights. These will look nicer, rattle less, be more difficult to steal and won’t require stand alone batteries… which can run out unexpectedly or simply slow you down with the need for frequent recharging. I meet a lot of people out there during my travels who settled for a “bargain” ebike but end up spending way more after purchase trying to get their setup perfect. This process can be fun and result in something very special but conversely, sometimes waiting a bit longer to choose a product that fully suits your needs can result in greater fulfillment and utility.

Just below is a gallery with one image for each of the ten categories listed below. I chose these pictures based on the products I have tried and like and I link to them (and other great options) in the full list:

Indeed, there are some amazing electric bicycles out there today like the https://electricbikereview.com/moustache/lundi-26/ that comes standard with a suspension seat post in addition to tubular fenders and integrated lights. Bikes like the https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/lacuba-evo-e8/ that are easy to mount with deep step-thru frames available in multiple sizes with features like an adjustable stem, quiet belt drive and streamline suspension fork. Some of these features cannot be added easily post-purchase. And so, regardless of the e-bike you choose, here’s a list of what I consider to be essential accessories. Keep in mind, shops and rental outfits frequently report that ebikes are ridden further and more frequently than pedal powered models. I also tend to think that they ride more consistently at higher speed and all of this adds up to more stresses and strains on your body. Comfort and safety are key here.
[LIST=1]
[*]Helmets are extremely important, regardless of speed or riding condition, and these days you can get them with integrated lights for added safety like the https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=torch+apparel+light+helmet&rh=i:aps,k:torch+apparel+light+helmet&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=3697c8352e3030e46db0c0f216691c07. I recently purchased the https://www.specialized.com/us/en/helmets/rec-commute/centro-led/107204 for myself and appreciate how sleek and light weight it is. The alternative approach is adding a https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bike+helmet+light&rh=i:aps,k:bike+helmet+light&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=336929f3d58beb4a356525de99c8f513 to your existing helmet.
[*]Water is probably the next most important accessory and it relates back to safety in a way, nobody wants to get heat stroke… and if you’re mountain biking on an ebike and end up with a flat far from civilization, water could save your life. Unfortunately, many electric bikes have tighter frames so squeezing a bottle in can be tricky. I recommend the https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=side+mount+bottle+cage&rh=i:aps,k:side+mount+bottle+cage&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=4c911ab8651cf770809b3ce1afb372b5 for this. But if your bike doesn’t have bottle cage bosses at all then consider https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=saddle+rail+bottle+cage&rh=i:aps,k:saddle+rail+bottle+cage&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=8edf16678b00f95d7fd39584f728f4bf or a https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bottle+cage+clamp+adapter&rh=i:aps,k:bottle+cage+clamp+adapter&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=e6229dd2183e1f2c978cdbe6354ae689 or on the https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=handle+bar+bottle+holder&rh=i:aps,k:handle+bar+bottle+holder&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=48de69d2708ca08f74784b52289421c8. A couple of alternative ideas are https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+trunk+bag+bottle&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+trunk+bag+bottle&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=0c243c74d20b644e90c9699d8d87ed4a that can easily be added to a rear rack (if your bike has one) or https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+hydration+pack&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+hydration+pack&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=9817429bb5f6eaf4de0ff63e59b6f463 that are worn as light weight backpacks, allowing you to drink through a flexible straw conveniently as you you ride. I recently purchased the Osprey Syncro 10 and did [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/accessories/osprey/syncro-10-hydration-pack/']a review here[/URL], this pack has a light weight but rigid frame inside with mesh cooling layer so it stays off your back, the straw connects magnetically and the water reservoir inside is very easy to remove and clean… it also has reflective fabric woven throughout and a light clip on the back so it actually improves safety (and keeps your back clean if you don’t have a rear fender!)
[*]Lights are important for both safety and utility… some are designed to help you be seen while others illuminate your path and help you to see. My favorite lights tend to be those that are pre-installed and run off the main ebike battery like this Supernova set on the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/stromer/st2-s/']Stromer ST2 S[/URL] or this Spanninga set on the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/gadis/']e-Joe Gadis[/URL]. Not all ebikes offer this kind of integration but a handful of shops can tap into the battery and add them aftermarket for you if you pay a bit more. For everyone else, there’s a whole wide world of [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bike+light&rh=i:aps,k:bike+light&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=c5847f0bbbb45a55f16d90ac2914468d']aftermarket bike lights[/URL]. Most use LEDs because they draw very little electricity and are long lasting. My favorite are the [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=rechargeable+bike+light&rh=i:aps,k:rechargeable+bike+light&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=5f5fa260c82ca4da53b4b580b1da61e3']rechargeable models[/URL] and I try to get two from the same company that use the same charging standard so I can use the same cables. Other ways to increase your visual footprint are to choose light colored bike frames (like white or silver) and get reflective tires and clothing with reflective striping or patterns. For those who want some advice on lights that actually help you see the trail, I have had good luck with [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=cygolite&rh=i:aps,k:cygolite&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=c130685394c67328f1deea30628b3b7c']the Cygolite series[/URL] which comes in a range of strengths. Here’s a [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/accessories/cygolite/dart-210/']Cygolite review article[/URL] I wrote a while back with some video footage of the smaller Dart and larger Metro lights side by side.
[*]Locks ensure that your investment will last… or at least they increase the chances that a thief will overlook your bike and move along to something a bit easier. Electric bicycles tend to cost way more than standard bikes but the interesting thing is that they aren’t as easy to sell as used without all of the included parts. That means the charger and a key to get the battery pack off. An unwitting second-hand buyer might actually be completely locked out through software and some models now offer GPS theft recovery. Still, if you can avoid the hassle by not getting your bike lifted in the first place that’s probably preferable. I like the rubberized coating on [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=blackburn+ulock&rh=i:aps,k:blackburn+ulock&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=ecb3482955a862a0b1dc633149132e03']Blackburn’s U-Locks[/URL]because it will protect your frame, this lock also comes in several lengths to accommodate fatter tubing and both sides lock so it takes twice the effort to cut through. Here’s [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/guides/how-to-lock-and-protect-ebike/']a quick guide I wrote[/URL] covering the proper way to use a ulock with a cable (to secure the wheelset). Blackburn also offers [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=blackburn+cable+lock&rh=i:aps,k:blackburn+cable+lock&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=2e3f252ecc492296d74b4d186d9e5105']a Kevlar cable[/URL] for use with their locks and a combo pack which includes both items. These days you can get accessories like [URL='https://www.amazon.com/Boomerang-CycloTrac-GPS-Tracker/dp/B01N0GTGR2/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&qid=1485636467&sr=8-1&keywords=boomerang+cyclotrac&linkCode=ll1&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=c684b018e6e1e2f56aa1530173222853']the Boomerang CycloTrac[/URL] that sound an alarm based on bike motion, send you a text alert and even track the bike using GPS so you can chase down a would-be thief. Another layer of protection is [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/guides/insurance-for-electric-bikes/']bicycle insurance[/URL] which not only covers your investment but might help cover injuries in the event of an accident.
[*]Flat Protection and air are especially critical on ebikes because they tend to ride further and weigh more than unpowered bicycles. Whether you pump [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+slime&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=c00271d7ad6386581a28a77666329641']Slime liquid sealant[/URL] into your tubes, buy pre-Slimed tubes, opt for a tubeless setup with [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+tubeless+tire+sealant&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+tubeless+tire+sealant&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=c3bdc47a1becdedbf92f8579e532746d']flat protection sealant[/URL] or upgrade to [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+tire+puncture+protection&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+tire+puncture+protection&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=6c4bf375ac03f6fccd87bb46a8ac6b41']puncture protection Kevlar-lined tires[/URL] (also called [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+tire+greenguard&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+tire+greenguard&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=0473d34db59f89add1534bcd9867ce57']GreenGuard[/URL] from Schwalbe, [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+tire+gatorskin&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+tire+gatorskin&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=19fbf3ed38e1a843959bd964c4221e30']GatorSkin DuraSkin[/URL] from Continental, [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+tire+k-guard&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+tire+k-guard&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=36c6d763f80d26ff96e6018e4c9dfe5e']K-Guard[/URL] from Schwalbe and [URL='https://www.specialized.com/us/en/allconditionarmadilloelite/105836']Armadillo[/URL] from Specialized) you’ll need some air to keep the bike running until you get home. This is where [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+mini+pump&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+mini+pump&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=0d716ecbd3adc8b7407451530a14c0da']portable pumps[/URL] and [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+co2&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+co2&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=30dd02c237096497886e0c9e1da6d2cf']CO2 cartridges[/URL] come in. Prevention is huge but walking a 50 lb electric bike home is a lot less fun than hopping off and pumping every mile or two. Note that on all of my reviews here the valve stem type is listed (Schrader is the fat old-fashioned style and Presta is the new skinny one). You need to get a pump or adapter that fits your tube or tire type and I’ve had great luck with the new mini-pumps that have a flexible stem that screws on to the tube valve. CO2 cartridges are fast and light weight but once they are spent, that’s it, and you can’t tell the pressure as easily… I love the portable hand pump with the pressure gauge so I can be sure not to over-inflate. Note that there are now solid bicycle tires that do not require air. Even Specialized is getting into the game but currently only uses them for urban bicycles. Solid bike tires tend to offer less comfort and can even bend rims and break spokes if you hit a hard angle at higher speeds. Air has the flexibility of being adjustable so you can dial it in based on your own weight and ride environment… typically lower PSI for soft terrain and higher for smooth hard pavement.
[*]Glasses keep your eyes focused by reducing dryness due to wind, squinting due to the sun or harsh lights and physical contact with particulates and bugs. While this isn’t exactly a “bicycle accessory” per say, it is very important and oft-overlooked. I frequently ride with clear lenses at night because there are times when bugs get thick or the wind picks up and dust gets blown around. Surprisingly, [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=cycling+glasses&rh=i:aps,k:cycling+glasses&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=064f974e7c6f6ab78fab5e08d04304d5']cycling specific glasses[/URL] can be very inexpensive these days but the world of biking has lots of fancy options too, some frames that even offer swappable lenses so you can go from clear to dark tinted. I think they key is to find some that are comfortable with your helmet (they shouldn’t collide with the front of the helmet and they should be too tight on your temples). Note that some people put the glasses arms under their helmet straps while others go over (I go over). Some people opt for goggles and I’ve heard others who use [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=glasses+anti+fog&rh=i:aps,k:glasses+anti+fog&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=23d66631a2873aa57a68dad105361333']anti-fog products[/URL] with their glasses during the winter as they often ride with scarfs around their necks… that’s another great accessory there, a gator or face mask, even a [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=pollution+face+mask&rh=i:aps,k:pollution+face+mask&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=4545c1e88ef2dc6406e64eedcbc5c6bb']pollution filtering face mask[/URL] if you live in a busy city. As someone with light asthma, I’ve tried these masks and felt better about the air being inhaled during heavy workouts. Note again that with electric bicycles you tend to ride further and faster (especially with speed pedalecs) so the value of glasses cannot be overstated.
[*]Gloves are another important accessory that many people overlook. This is one of three contact points that your body makes with the bike… your feet, sit bones and hands. I type frequently and have smaller more sensitive hands and wrists. For me, it’s not just about protection in the event of a fall or staying warm when riding, padded gloves take a lot of the jar out of bumpy ride conditions. Just like glasses, you can spend a fortune on gloves or opt for inexpensive ones. I usually look for a color that matches my gear or my bike and then narrow down by the season: [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+gloves&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+gloves&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=f5a535c9f5845aea6bb1f929da2d7456']longer thicker gloves for winter and thinner fingerless for summer[/URL]. You can now get special [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+gloves+phone&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+gloves+phone&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=0bcc90de08ee0ab3befc80a4e802d786']touch-screen cycling gloves[/URL] with silver threaded finger tips to make it easier to use your phone without taking gloves off. I’ve had mixed experience with these but even when you have to tap the screen a couple of times, it’s way easier and warmer than completely removing a glove when it’s freezing cold out. Many gloves now have easy-off finger loops on the palm and soft fabric on the inner portion of the thumb area designed for cleaning your glasses. Note that I was recently told by a bike fit expert that you want more padding for road biking and less for mountain because mountain bikes have suspension and you need to lift and toss the bike around while handling vs. resting hands. Apparently the vibration of road cycling calls for thicker padding… this was counter intuitive to what I had thought and I welcome input here from other informed cyclists.
[*]Padded Pants aren’t completely necessary for every type of rider, you might have a soft saddle with a suspension seat post keeping you comfortable. But in my years of cycling to work and for fun, I’ve found that a good pair of padded cycling shorts, capris or pants can make a surprising difference in ride comfort. There are [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=mens+cycling+shorts&rh=i:aps,k:mens+cycling+shorts&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=9ab35132550452c0f19c9d9449bf201f']men’s[/URL] and [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=womens+cycling+shorts&rh=i:aps,k:womens+cycling+shorts&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=8567021445ed7a67f59a2f037595e2a4']women’s specific[/URL] cycling pants and they usually have a detachable inner liner with the pads and an external style-oriented cover that has pockets. Not all of them are the tight spandex or polyester style that you see on road bikers. Look around and consider dropping in to your local sporting goods store or bike shop for this. Depending on where and when I’m riding I’ll also carry along some mace (now there are [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+mace&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+mace&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=0caa4cdde2d2b33347faebf8d1e0c699']bike specific mace accessories[/URL]) as well as a [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+bell&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+bell&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=d37a61e9dac8d6f8918f0e2e8d0995d5']good bell[/URL] or [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+horn&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+horn&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=f522b1cd32063eebfeb2f512e7ecdd61']horn[/URL]. I bring chap stick, my government issued identification and insurance card (in case of an accident) and it’s just nice to have pockets on the pants or a jersey, jacket or backpack where I can store the stuff.
[*]Storage was left until later in this list because I wanted to demonstrate how much stuff there is to bring along. You might have an extra bottle cage attachment where you could mount what they call [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bike+bottle+storage&rh=i:aps,k:bike+bottle+storage&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=363350ef8260a94ded09858e3b61dd7d']a storage pod[/URL], you might have a rear rack with pannier blockers which would be perfect for the side hanging bags called panniers or a top mounted trunk bag and you might even have room on the fork for a second pair of panniers or a basket up by the handle bars. I usually wear a small hydration pack as mentioned earlier because it’s easy to take along. For me, this is a great place to store a tool, first aid, water, a spare tire, my cell phone, money and keys and the ebike charger so I can extend my ride if plans change. Most electric bicycle chargers are light weight and compact (under 2 lbs) and can fill your battery within hours (batteries tend to charger faster from empty than later on when they are nearly full due to load balancing). A backpack comes along with you and is easy to set next to your desk or hang on the coat rack and you can find them [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=bicycle+backpack&rh=i:aps,k:bicycle+backpack&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=d56ea71430a660a7290d0327d342d50d']pretty cheap[/URL].
[*]Suspension is my favorite “accessory” so I saved it for last. My back, arms and neck get tired on long rides and especially off-road… but I love adventuring! This is why I purchased a full suspension electric mountain bike. While there are plenty of in-town bikes with just a front suspension, some are stiffer than others and there are ways you can improve the ride through suspension accessories. The first option is a suspension seat post! On every ebike review posted to EBR I list the seat post diameter of the bike so you can find an aftermarket post that will fit properly. there are lots of options to choose from but I love [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=thudbuster&rh=i:aps,k:thudbuster&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=808bd27aaecfc12acd765a880e09c651']Thudbuster by Cane Creek[/URL], the [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=suntour+ncx&rh=i:aps,k:suntour+ncx&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=08eb8e1c3d51a20a7f257b7bda0fdc2d']NCX by SunTour[/URL] and [URL='http://ridebodyfloat.com/']BodyFloat by Cirrus Cycles[/URL]. For the more budget-minded cyclists, check out this [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=suspension+seat+post&rh=i:aps,k:suspension+seat+post&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=a3dd87d49b3707316f08c9a53bfcc687']long list of suspension posts on amazon[/URL]. Note that there are now alternative “suspension” posts like the Specialized COBL GOBL-r (CG‑R) that simply dampen vibration and balance comfort with weight and simplicity. Also, all of these suspension posts are going to raise the minimum seat height of your bike, so if you’re already struggling to mount up and are on tippie toes a lot, this might be an area to avoid. The other less-common area to modify with suspension is your stem. Now this is less common because it can impact steering… Still, Specialized has jumped into the game along with [URL='https://www.redshiftsports.com/shockstop-suspension-stem-ships-dec-14-2016/']ShockStop from Red Shift Sports[/URL]. Note also that there are [URL='https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=as_li_ss_tl?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=comfort+bike+saddle&rh=i:aps,k:comfort+bike+saddle&linkCode=ll2&tag=ebrcta-20&linkId=7fcdebc6de36cfdd5bf055589da9ceec']a bunch of saddles[/URL] with rubber elastomers and springs that help to take the edge off and smooth out your ride. This is another area that’s worth exploring with your local bike shop so you can actually try things out before buying.

The following video was shot with the help of a master tech named Erik at Peloton Cycles in Fort Collins, CO. we mainly covered safety gear and didn’t get quite as deep or detailed as this written guide. If you’d like to learn how to make your helmet fit properly or get some ideas for bottles and pumps be sure to check it out and if you’re ever in Fort Collins swing by and visit [URL='http://www.peloton-cycles.com/']one of their shops[/URL]!

I hope this list of accessories helps guide you towards a comfortable and safe electric bike riding experience. Whether you already chose a bike, have found a used model at your local shop, from a friend or on Craigslist or are still planning, knowing how you intend to ride can help inform where you allocate money. I personally ride a full suspension mountain bike but use it for commuting purposes… For me, comfort with a splash of fun and off-road capability is more important than the fenders or lights but of course, I’ve added some after-market and am left with the hassle of charging separately and perhaps getting more dirty when I commute. Feel free to chime in with your own choice accessories and stories about how you use your bike. Whether it’s neighborhood riding, mountain trails or urban landscapes you seek, I hope you have fun and ride safe :)

TrevorB
2 months ago

I think Court interviewed a guy with fat HT ebike and bob trailer. He use to have FS eMTB but said trailer stuffed suspension pivot bearings. Its same German guy he used for moustache tandem review but interview was few months earlier.

elyhim
2 months ago

Class I emtb? Haibike, Pivot Shuttle, Kenevo, Trek Powerfly, Bulls, Cube, JAM, Canyon, Santa Cruz, Scott, Ghost, Moustache, LaPierre. All have good and bad I guess. What brand is going to have LBS support? Lifetime warranty? Backwards compatibility?

What makes a current good e-MTB? Progressive geometry, full suspension, dropper post, warranty, local support, component, component upgrade possibilities, battery life, torque.

Think about what kind of riding you will be doing. Cross Country (XC), Trail, All Mountain, Downhill/Enduro? There are specific companies focusing on particular types. Making the decision about the type of riding you want to do is central to what you start looking for.

Primarily look for emtb from mtb companies.

Edit: Component 1X systems deore or better, clutch drive train.

Chris Nolte
2 months ago

You could reach out to Moustache and see if they know of anyone that rents their Tandem. They are based in France and they have the best tandem on the market in my opinion.

JayVee
3 months ago

Lucky you. That's one of my all-time favourite e-bikes. Moustache has done everything absolutely right on this one. Unfortunately, it's a little on the expensive side on this side of the big pond. I wish other manufacturers would pick up on the concept of the fully suspended urban bike with ballon tires. I demoed this one and it was incredibly comfortable. Great design too. A small masterpiece in my book.

rdkaz
3 months ago

I purchased a 2017 Moustache Starckbike Asphalt Medium about 6 months ago. It is my first ebike; and I love it!
I have been searching for a full suspension ebike suitable for the road and some off-road use. They are rare.

The bike is very well built; and heavy; but it rides and functions beautifully. I added a Thule Pack n' Pedal tour rack with side frames for added storage; and an Abus Bordo lock.

I have not ridden off road yet; but will likely have to remove the fenders; since there is very close spacing between the rear tire and rear fender. Otherwise, pebbles rattle between the tire and fender.

This ebike is a Bosch powered speed pedelec; that provides plenty of assist; to climb steep mountain roads; without standing to pedal. The full suspension works very well; as do the brakes. Everything works very well!

rdkaz
3 months ago

I purchased a 2017 Moustache Starckbike Asphalt Medium about 6 months ago. it is my first ebike; and I love it!
I have been searching for a full suspension ebike suitable for the road and some off-road use. They are rare.

The bike is very well built; and heavy; but it rides and functions beautifully. I added a Thule Pack n' Pedal tour rack with side frames for added storage; and an Abus Bordo lock.

I have not ridden off road yet; but will likely have to remove the fenders; since there is very close spacing between the rear tire and rear fender. Otherwise, pebbles rattle between the tire and fender.

This ebike is a Bosch powered speed pedelec; that provides plenty of assist; to climb steep mountain roads; without standing to pedal. The full suspension works very well; as do the brakes. Everything works very well!

Nova Haibike
3 months ago

Of the four you listed, I would not recommend the Cannondale, because of the proprietary fork. While their Headshok is pretty reliable and easy to work on, it is still proprietary. Also, it is an ugly bike. LOL. The R&M is more expensive relative to the other two. The Bulls is the best value; it is the only one with an air fork.

A couple of other bikes that look good to me are the Moustache Friday 27 Speed and the Trek Crossrip+. I like the Moustache for its bulletproof wheels. It is a rigid bike, but to me that is a plus; it is lighter and there is no suspension to service...the tires will offer plenty of cush on their own. I like the Trek because (for me) there is nothing more comfortable for longer rides than a good set of drop bars.

Nicolas Groh
2 months ago

What’s the matter with Chris? Unpleasant...

Jeremy Woolf
5 months ago

Great review.....nice bike....looks worth that price tag

Jeremy Woolf
5 months ago

I have noticed people commenting on the bike being overpriced but I feel the aethestics of the bike along with the bosch mid-drive makes it pretty interesting....

M Stevens
5 months ago

Well done. Thanks for your insights.

Ahmet Kulali
5 months ago

l m watching your videos in amazing from turkey izmir city l have got 2 e bike one city bike and the other one is mtb names carraro . mostly people dont like the bike in turkey so we have no lot sort e bike mdel our country and products only by carraro ı want to buy bosch motor but no service in here .

Pan Darius Kairos
5 months ago

How does it compare to a Haibike Trekking 9.0?

HUBBA ABBA
5 months ago

Hey amazing Video. Keep Up the great Work

Benjamin Jehne
5 months ago

...Very cool looking bikes. I like that stealthy design...

David Keenan
5 months ago

Cool review cool bikes. Great city bikes. High end components. One to remember.

James Mason
5 months ago

Like the swept back handle bars

Meno Passini
5 months ago

Lotz of features and seems to built to last. Please do more reviews like this, 2 bike comparisons, one to commute with and the other for a little off road. Lucky N.Y. 's Mayor B. didn't see you. How cities are handling E bikes would be topic for a video.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Hi Meno, thanks for the feedback! Chris and I filmed a video about ebikes in NYC a while back and you can check it out here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=idZ5-4FZpTc and there's another video with a resident of NYC who has been pulled over but was let go here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTf9nWJHo-I

yutuniopati
5 months ago

Mustache Saturday ???

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Right, just spelled differently... like harbour vs. harbor :)

abbaby555
5 months ago

Court great review! lots of good information. this bike remind looks li, e it would make a great adventure bike just because it does most everything a rider could ask of it. could possibly make the perfect "one bike"

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Yeah, I completely agree... they kept it comfortable but also capable, quiet, and durable

D60Ebby
5 months ago

With range the battery indicator isn't that big of a deal to me.
The site & all of your reviews are helpful.
Thanks.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Awesome, glad the resource is helping you! Thanks for sharing your feedback and opinions

stan
5 months ago

That look is growing on us, one which you would never see in an unassisted mountain bike: suspension with fenders and rack. The unusual look, enhanced by a mountain bike geometry is at the very least curious to look at, and at best, a strong affirmation to "go anywhere commuter bike." But what is with the button down shirt? Any chance of getting any nerdier?

stan
4 months ago

LOL! I can picture it now; action cam, helmet, and the collared short sleeve! Thanks Scooteretti, he seems very sincere, fair, and compassionate. Objective, and able to critique in an inoffensive way. Surely, a big asset to the Ebike industry.

SCOOTERETTI
4 months ago

For those of us in the Ebike industry, Court is always recognizable at the events. Camera, helmet, and short sleeve button shirts. It's a great trademark! And works for a great guy who helps the industry grow.

stan
5 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com And nothing less than a professional response - thank you. No offense, I just like messing with EBR.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Ha! That's just my uniform... I try not to wear any branded stuff or be affiliated with any companies because my reviews are meant to be objective. I wear short sleeve button shirts because they are comfortable and I look more professional when traveling through airports and driving across state and country borders for these reviews :)

George Balas
5 months ago

Overpriced

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

It's cool to see a few Bosch models priced down at the $2,500 price point now, I suspect we will see even more in the $2k range with their updated Active Line motors. Compared to many other similarly specced models, the Samedi 27 XROAD is on par or even a bit below, but I agree that it's still a lot of money :)

Theo Wink
5 months ago

George Balas Yep mine thoughts excactly .you pay 2 or 3x the price for “integrated”
cables,motor&battery..
The looks and built are good.
But for rich commuters there is market and willing to pay topdollar for it

Larry Conger
5 months ago

They do a great job with the look, compared to other brands, Moustache look stealthy, but also great performing. Wished they incorporated the speed pedelec motors instead. Europeans know the ebikes are beneficial in many ways. Happy to see them make several types of ebikes. Bought me a Specialized Turbo Levo by the way & I luv it, I wish they would make a good monitor setup though!

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Cool! I had a Levo for a while and really enjoyed it too! Hope it works well for you, thanks for sharing Larry :)

Kristian Jensen
5 months ago

Very nice bikes! you have refered to the derailleur clutch as "shadow plus" a couple of times. Just to clarify, the + refers to the clutch, the "shadow" refers to the derailleur being more tucked in under the chainstay.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Thank you! I will keep this in mind, I wish I could go to more hardware bootcamps and stuff so I could know this stuff. I try to pick it up on the go and very much appreciate your corrections and help Kristian

Armando Aleman
5 months ago

you two work beautifully together!

Armando Aleman
5 months ago

What happened with Mr. Mark Sparx I did not see it anymore in your videos, you three make a great team indeed! I'm a SONDORS owner.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Thanks! Chris has years of experience and interfaces directly with the leadership teams at many of these brands, it's wonderful to pick his brain about history and mission as well as what customers say and how the bikes hold up over time :)

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
5 months ago

Very nice Bike 🚲 👍.

"CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Yeah, Moustache has done a wonderful job in my opinion

D Danilo
5 months ago

Great review, Court. Nice looking bike, and I really like the swept back handlebars...they look very comfortable!

Imran Chaudhry
2 months ago

Excellent detailed review Court as always. I've been really impressed with what I've read about Moustache bikes and how some of their custom finishing touches (hidden power, swept handlebars, mudguards etc)

Just wondering if you are planning to review the Samedi 28.5 at some stage? It's a similar bike but with 700c wheels

http://www.moustachebikes.com/uk/samedi-28-5.html

I'm considering this or one of the Friday models.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Thanks! Yeah, I like the blend of sport and comfort on this model, the bars sweep back for comfort but also to make it easier to fit between cars and through doors :)