Ness Icon Review

Ness Icon Electric Bike Review
Ness Icon
Ness Icon 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Derailleur With Guard Plastic Chainring
Ness Icon 42 Volt Removable Li Ion Battery Pack
Ness Icon Ergonomic Grips Twist Throttle Lcd Display
Ness Icon Zoom Aria Spring Suspension Mechanical Disc Brakes
Ness Icon Integrated Blaze Light Headlight
Ness Icon Alloy Rear Rack With Independent Spanninga Duxo Light
Ness Icon Folding Electric Bike
Ness Icon Folded Ebike
Ness Icon Small Folding E Bike
Ness Icon Electric Bike Review
Ness Icon
Ness Icon 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Derailleur With Guard Plastic Chainring
Ness Icon 42 Volt Removable Li Ion Battery Pack
Ness Icon Ergonomic Grips Twist Throttle Lcd Display
Ness Icon Zoom Aria Spring Suspension Mechanical Disc Brakes
Ness Icon Integrated Blaze Light Headlight
Ness Icon Alloy Rear Rack With Independent Spanninga Duxo Light
Ness Icon Folding Electric Bike
Ness Icon Folded Ebike
Ness Icon Small Folding E Bike

Summary

  • A sturdy, wave style step-thru, folding electric bike available in a wide range of colors, comes with lots of useful accessories like a rack, fenders, and LED lights
  • Removable high-capacity battery pack is easy to charge on or off the bike thanks to a flip-up saddle, adjustable height stem and suspension fork improve comfort
  • Plastic guide keeps the chain on track at all times while protecting loose clothing like pants or skirts, derailleur guard protects the drivetrain, sensitive pedal assist with throttle override
  • At over 50 lbs, the bike is compact but not super lightweight, the display panel works well but is not removable, center-mount kickstand gets in the way of the left crank a bit

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Ness

Model:

Icon

Price:

$1,395 (Free Shipping in USA, $200 for Canada)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive, 5 Year Frame

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51.5 lbs (23.35 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.05 lbs (3.19 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Unfolded Dimensions: 17" Seat Tube Length, 22.25” Reach, 16” Stand Over Height, 24" Width, 65” Length, Folded Dimensions: 19.5" Width, 35.5” Length, 26" Height

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Folding

Frame Colors:

Gloss White with Red Accents, Gloss White with Yellow Accents, Gloss White with Orange Accents, Gloss White with Black Accents, Gloss White with White Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Zoom Aria Spring Suspension, 40 mm Travel, Preload Adjust, 100 mm Hub, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney Derailleur, MF-TZ21 Cassette 14-28T

Shifter Details:

Shimano SiS Index Thumb Shifter on Right

Cranks:

Prowheel, Forged Alloy, 170 mm Length, 52T Chainring with Plastic Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo Plastic Platform, Folding

Headset:

Neco, 1-1/8" Threadless, Internal Cups

Stem:

Alloy, 290 mm Base Height, 0 mm to 90 mm Telescoping Height Adjust, 25.4 mm Clamp Diameter

Handlebar:

Alloy, Flat, 600 mm Length

Brake Details:

Zoom Z-Star Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Zoom Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Rubber, Ergonomic, Black

Saddle:

Velo

Seat Post:

Steel, Flip Forward Clamp

Seat Post Length:

390 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

28.6 mm

Rims:

Cast Magnesium

Spokes:

Bladed, 6 Spoke Arms

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 20" x 1.75" (47-406)

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

40 to 65 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Aluminum Alloy Fenders (60 mm Width), Aluminum Alloy Rack with Spring Latch (25 kg 55 lb Max Weight), Integrated Blaze-Light HL1700 Headlight, Independent Spanninga Duxo Backlight (2 AA Batteries), Adjustable Center-Mount Kickstand, Steel Derailleur Guard

Other:

Locking Removable Silverfish Battery Behind Seat Tube, 1.5 lb 2 Amp Charger, Folding Support Bar at Bottom Bracket, Steel Derailleur Guard, 250 lb Max Weight

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

JB-105-10

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

200 watts

Motor Peak Output:

350 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

42 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

546 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Backlight, Greyscale, LCD Console (Hold Up for Lights, Hold Down for Walk Mode, Tap Power to Cycle Through Trip Stats, Power Off then On and Hold Up and Down for Settings)

Readouts:

Battery Capacity (4 Bars), Timer, Assist Level (0-5), Current Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, Trip Distance, Odometer, Voltage,

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (12 Magnet Cadence Disc, Throttle Limited by Assist Level)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Ness Icon is a value-priced folding electric bike with deep step-thru frame design and a wide range of color options. While it only comes in one frame size, not uncommon for folding bikes, it does have an adjustable seat height and telescoping stem to accommodate a wider range of riders. It comes with sturdy Aluminum alloy fenders, a well-positioned rack that stays clear of the saddle and is high enough to support small panniers, and lights. The headlight is wired in and can be controlled by the display panel while the rear light is stand-alone, using two AA batteries and having an on/off switch that you’ll have to remember when you start and stop riding. In the world of electric bicycles, there are many drive system configurations and the Icon has one of my favorites. You can pedal with five levels of assist support and override with full power using the twist throttle at any time. This means you can get help starting from a stop sign or traffic signal, boost yourself up to speed without changing gears or arrowing through assist, and get extra help during a climb if the terrain changes. But the pedal assist design isn’t half bad and stands alone very well, it uses 12 magnets for quicker response to pedal movement vs. some of the older or comparable value-priced folding electric bikes that have just six magnets. The drivetrain is very basic, an entry-level 7-speed Shimano Tourney with enlarged thumb shifter, but it’s easy to understand and the larger shifter works well with gloved hands. The chain appears to be rust proof and is kept on track by a plastic guide on the large chainring. The derailleur and motor power cable are well protected behind a Steel derailleur guard at the back. This guard likely plays a role in shipping and could come in handy when the bike is folded up and stored in the trunk of a car, boat, or private aircraft. The sensitive bits won’t get banged up if the bike tips… but you might want to purchase an adjustable bungee cord to keep the bike in its folded position. Ness doesn’t include a magnetic clasp or rubber band system like some other products.

Driving the bike is a compact, planetary-geared hub motor that’s encased in the rear wheel. Rated from 200 to 350 watts, it may not sound as impressive as some full sized ebikes rated 350 to 500 watts, but keep in mind that the smaller wheels provide a mechanical advantage. By using a compact motor like this, Ness was able to keep weight down and use battery power more efficiently. The battery is a more powerful 42 volt design vs. many 36 volt options I have seen. In short, the motor does a fine job and I was more impressed with how responsive it was and how much control I had using the throttle than how powerful it is said to be. Note, that because this is a geared motor, it produces a bit more whirring noise under power. But, since this is not a mid-drive it does not interfere with the chain and derailleur at all and allows for that deep step-thru design… it’s also a lot more affordable. The motor supports up to 20 mph top speed but you can actually dig into the display settings and lower the top speed if you want to. Another approach is to use lower levels of assist which use less power, extending your ride, and don’t go as fast.

Powering the motor, backlit display panel, and headlight, is a removable 42 Volt 13 Amp hour battery pack. While not as hidden as some competing folding electric bikes (which have batteries that fit into the main tube horizontally), it still looks good in my opinion and offers greater capacity. I was told that it contains Lithium-ion Samsung cells, which are known for being lightweight and long lasting. The light silver Aluminum battery casing blends in with the white frame and is very durable. At the top, a plastic cover houses an LED readout to communicate how full the pack is, but you might have to turn the bike on to get it to light up? There’s also a handle at the top for sliding the battery off of the bike and carrying it around safely. Note, that you have to unlock the battery before removing it by inserting the key into a slot near the base and twisting… but then pull the key out of the pack! If you leave the key in and try to slide up, you may bend the key as it collided with the left seat stay tube. I have seen and tested many electric bikes with a vertical battery design like this but not all of them felt as secure and smooth. I feel that the battery weight is well positioned on the bike and the battery itself is solid. You do have to insert the key into the pack and twist to “on” in order to ride with electric assist, and the key must remain in. For those using a keychain, this could result in some rattling noise and does make snags more likely… but if you just leave the key without any kind of keychain, the top portion does fold to stay out of the way which is nice. The only thing is, just leaving the key makes it easier to misplace or get stolen. I prefer battery packs that don’t have a key requirement or on/off switch… where you just rely on the power button at the display panel.

The LCD display on the Ness Icon was new to me, but it worked very well. It is not removable, but is positioned securely near the left grip, within reach of your left thumb while steering. It shows battery capacity, speed and trip stats (cycle through by tapping power once it’s on). You can hold the up arrow to activate backlighting and the headlight, or hold down to activate walk mode and let the bike push itself along slowly. weighing in at ~51 lbs, this is not the lightest-weight folding electric bike I have seen, not by a longshot, but it brings a lot of utility that others do not. If you want the versatility, safety, and easy-approach of such a low-step frame… then this is a solid option. Some other features I have seen on competing electric bikes are USB charging ports for portable electronics and adjustable-angle displays to reduce glare. Perhaps this display panel could be forced forward or back, maybe if you loosen the mounting bracket just a bit you could achieve this. The wires at the front of the bike are bundled nicely with a neoprene Ness-branded wrap. And there are a lot of wires here because of the two brake lever motor inhibitors. Once the bundle reaches the head tube, most of the wires go into the frame for protection and improved aesthetics. This is a good looking bike for being so feature rich in my opinion.

I was able to meet the founders of Ness and learn a bit about their company during the course of this review. Having been in business in Florida, USA since 2015, they are now selling through a handful of shops and their e-commerce website. Rather than try to launch a complete line of ebikes, the founders have focused in on folding models like the Icon here and their slightly different Rua which comes in black vs. white color scheme. Having seen and tested the bike, I feel like the major decisions for utility, control, and durability have all been addressed well. It’s an above-average product at a very reasonable price. I do wish it was lighter, but am not sure I’d trade the fenders, rack, and larger battery for that. The deep wave frame is unique and well executed. Even the cast rims, which tend to be more durable than spokes… and certainly colorful in this case, are an upgrade of sorts, but they do add weight. Big thanks to Ness for partnering with me on this review and meeting me way out in Vancouver Canada! We had a good time and both models held up great in the light rain.

Pros:

  • Ness is based in Florida and offers a pretty good warranty for a relatively new, smaller company, they provide one year comprehensive with five years on the frame, I like that they offer free shipping in the USA (Canada costs $200 for shipping)
  • Five color options let you personalize the bike a bit, or get a pair and have slightly different colors to keep the bikes separate, I like that the Icon model uses a white background because it will be more visible to cars in low-light conditions
  • Included fenders and a rear rack setup make the bike more capable if you plan on commuting, transporting groceries, or live in an area like Vancouver BC (where I filmed this) that experiences frequent rain
  • I was comparing the Ness to the Rua model and noticed that the Ness had cleaner wiring, they ware bundled and integrated through the downtube vs. tacked onto the outside
  • As someone who has transported a lot of e-bikes, folded them, and ridden on varied terrain using throttle and pedal assist, I have experienced chain drops frequently and seen derailleurs bend when bikes tip onto their side, so I like that the Ness bikes have plastic chain guides to keep the chain on track and a steel derailleur guard to protect the sensitive bits (including the motor cable)
  • Instead of using spokes, the Ness Icon has solid cast rims that won’t get bent as easily and can probably support more weight, they are paint-matched and look great, the rear rim encases the motor for added protection
  • This is one of the lowest frame designs I have tested on any folding electric bicycle, that makes it very easy to approach, mount, and stand over at stops, if you have hip or knee sensitivities it would be a good choice
  • I love that the saddle has a lever at the back allowing it to flip forward and make way for the battery to slide on or off the frame, just make sure you unlock the pack at the base and then take the key out or you could bend the key while sliding the pack up because the left seat-stay is very close to the edge of the pack
  • You get 160 mm disc brakes offering good stopping power and motor cutoff (both levers have motor inhibitor switches), the left Tektro lever also has a bell built in for friendly signaling, Mechanical brakes can require a bit more hand strength to actuate compared to hydraulic but they cost less and still have some advantages over rim brakes (staying cleaner than rim brakes in wet or muddy conditions)
  • Minor plus here, the seven-speed drivetrain gives you plenty of pedaling options for urban riding and the large shifter, while basic, is easy to understand and use for most people I speak with, it may also work better with gloves than tiny triggers since the paddles are so big
  • Ness is using a higher definition 12-magnet cadence sensor here that will be more responsive to pedal start and stop but you also get a twist throttle that can override assist and work at zero, it’s a great setup
  • The headlight runs off of the main battery pack and is controlled by the display panel, the rear light requires two AA batteries and has its own on/off switch but is positioned nicely below the rack so it won’t get blocked, both lights are name brand and fairly large, it’s cool that they come included
  • Considering the relatively low price and feature set here, I feel like the bike offers a lot of value and appreciate that it comes with an LCD display vs. a 3-led console or something very basic, the display isn’t perfect (the battery indicator only has four bars) but it is easy to read, easy to reach and interact with, allows you to enter settings like top-speed (to make it slower if you want), and I think it looks nice

Cons:

  • Sometimes folding electric bikes have magnets, rubber straps, or other tie-down mechanisms to keep them from rattling and clinking together during transport, the Icon does not have this but at least it has a metal support tube that’s welded onto the bottom bracket to help protect the plastic chain guide
  • Cast may be heavier than spokes and don’t flex as much for comfort, but given the small 20″ wheel diameter, spokes would probably have felt rigid as well so I love the choice of ergonomic grips (even though they aren’t locking and could twist easier) and the suspension fork (even though it doesn’t have lockout)
  • This bike only comes in one frame size which is very similar to the Ness Kua, so it’s great that the stem telescopes upwards to match the seat post, this allows for taller riders to optimize leg extension
  • Minor gripe here but it appears that the right chainstay does not have a slap guard, this isn’t as big of a deal given how short the chainstays are and how large the chainring is… and you could always add one yourself like this aftermarket
  • The battery pack design stands out a bit, there are other folding e-bikes that have tube-integrated batteries but they often don’t provide as much capacity, at least the pack is positioned towards the middle of the frame for balance and is silver to blend in with the white paint job
  • In order to activate this ebike, you have to put the key into the battery pack ignition and turn to on… and then leave it in there, you can’t take the key out while riding and this means it could rattle around or get snagged (especially if you have a keychain and other keys attached) but at least the key folds and the ignition slot is positioned high up and mostly out of the way
  • As with most folding electric bikes I review, the Ness Icon does not have bottle cage bosses, consider using a trunk bag like this with a bottle holster if you plan on bringing water for a longer ride
  • The kickstand is mounted near the bottom bracket by the left crank arm, not quite far back enough to stay completely out of the way if you walk the bike backward but it does sort of push to the side if you force it so it’s not quite as inconvenient as the kickstand on the Ness Kuo and some other models where you literally have to pick the bike up and pedal forward to clear the kickstand
  • The fenders, rear rack, and key can produce a bit of rattle noise when riding on bumpy terrain, you can see and hear this in the video, the motor also produces some whirring noise under full power

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Ness Reviews

Ness Rua Review

  • MSRP: $1,395
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A colorful folding electric bike with sturdy cast rims, strong rear rack, wide alloy fenders, and LED lights, the suspension fork and slightly wider tires improve comfort. The 12-magnet cadence sensor is responsive and doesn't require much effort to activate, just keep…...

jon
3 months ago

I like both of these bikes by Ness. I’d like to see you test the Evelo Quest folder also. It seems to be a single speed, but uses a drive belt and no chain. Here one Hawaii Island in Puna District, we get huge amounts of ran per year. Not as bad as it sounds though, because we get most of it at night. But, the climate is a rust maker. I bet most chains and derailers etc get replaced due ti malfunctions from rust, than wear. I serched your site for the uest, but it didn’t come up, though I thi k you revied other models. They seem to go with a mid-drive system on those. The Quest is a read drive.

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Jon! I’m working on the EVELO Quest and hope to have it up soon, thanks for letting me know that you’re interested in seeing it. The belt drive is tight, quiet, and durable… should hold up well against rain. Another consideration would be the Enzo Ebike because it was made for boaters and uses rust-proof hardware as I understand it :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 months ago

I have the 2017 EVO Pro 27.5 which I bought new and have put over 1200 miles on it. A great bike and a strong climber with no issues whatsoever. However, once in a while the display shows a circle with an exclamation point inside it. Does anyone know what that means?
Thanks,
Rich

That means your brakes are engaged. The brakes have motor cut off and whenever you engage the brakes, the power cuts out and the display shows this icon. it is not related to performance issues at all.

Tim Reilly
3 months ago

Did you go into the "Service" Menu to reset the torque? Here's how in case you did not:

1. Set the bike on the main screen that has Lock, Off, Sensor, Move, Menu.
2. Pull and hold the right brake lever.
3. While holding the right brake lever, push the Menu icon.
4. While holding the a Menu icon, release the brake lever.
5. Continue holding the Menu icon until the screen automatically takes you to the MENU.
6. Scroll down to SERVICE and select it.
7. In SERVICE, select SETTINGS.
8. reset torque sensor
9. Press the On / Off switch underneath the top tube to exit this menu.

Received from another Stromer Forum member sometime ago...
Thanks Smitty I gave it a shot.The Service icon location is a valuable tool to locate what the TMM OR TORQUE VALUES ARE.In isolating potiental issues with the TMM offset and base line values.

smitty
3 months ago

Did you go into the "Service" Menu to reset the torque? Here's how in case you did not:

1. Set the bike on the main screen that has Lock, Off, Sensor, Move, Menu.
2. Pull and hold the right brake lever.
3. While holding the right brake lever, push the Menu icon.
4. While holding the a Menu icon, release the brake lever.
5. Continue holding the Menu icon until the screen automatically takes you to the MENU.
6. Scroll down to SERVICE and select it.
7. In SERVICE, select SETTINGS.
8. reset torque sensor
9. Press the On / Off switch underneath the top tube to exit this menu.

Received from another Stromer Forum member sometime ago...

harryS
4 months ago

Depends on your controller. I own a few controllers that are designed to run on either 36V or 48V. I have one 36V only controller that would blow up at 48V. My BBS02 controller will run at 48V and 52V, but not at 36V.

All of my own 36V/48V controllers have been run at 36, 48, and 52V, so I know they have no high voltage cutoff. Meanwhile, they can set the low voltage cutoff properly for 36V and 48V, but not for 52V. You have to count on the battery BMS shutting down the battery if voltage gets too low.

As for the LCD, depends on that too. While icon is off on 52V, if your LCD can display the actual voltage, that should be relatively correct. I know mine show the proper 58.6V when my freshly charged 52V pack is attached.

None of my bikes have speed limiters. They go faster with higher voltage. A bike with a speed limiter might accelerate faster but then you;re stuck with max speed.

James Alderson
4 months ago

I still just can't decide between the fat and the comp 6fattie full suspension. Both are deeply discounted with about 20 percent off for being a 2017 with the 2018's already available. I have a Haibike (my icon) Cross SL that I am loving, but do want something more trail rated to ride the rougher stuff with. None of it matters though as I can hardly get out of bed after a fairly short ride yesterday... old and fat does not work well for biking...lol.

smitty
4 months ago

I want to reset my torque sensor . I know it involves pulling in the brake lever and holding menu icon down , but don't know complete procedure. Has anyone reset their torque sensor , or know where instructions can be found ? Thanks

I'm pretty sure the following will allow you to reset your torque sensor:

1. Set the bike on the main screen that has Lock, Off, Sensor, Move, Menu.

2. Pull and hold the right brake lever.

3. While holding the right brake lever, push the Menu icon.

4. While holding the a Menu icon, release the brake lever.

5. Continue holding the Menu icon until the screen automatically takes you to the MENU.

6. Scroll down to SERVICE and select it.

7. In SERVICE, select SETTINGS.

8. reset torque sensor

9. Press the On / Off switch underneath the top tube to exit this menu.

siclmn
4 months ago

I want to reset my torque sensor . I know it involves pulling in the brake lever and holding menu icon down , but don't know complete procedure. Has anyone reset their torque sensor , or know where instructions can be found ? Thanks[/QUOTEPressPress the on button and turn the bike on then press it again and you will see a sensor icon with a low to high option just set it where you want it. I have never heard of holding the brake lever to do this.

Robie
4 months ago

I want to reset my torque sensor . I know it involves pulling in the brake lever and holding menu icon down , but don't know complete procedure. Has anyone reset their torque sensor , or know where instructions can be found ? Thanks

ron more
4 months ago

Had a chance to try out my new Vado 4.0 a couple of times now, pretty amazing to be honest. Eco mode seems to be fine for most things and seems to be giving a decent rage so far. About 10 miles per 10% battery.

Only annoying thing so far is having to set it to MPH every time you use it, why can't it remember it ?

I had the same issue with my vado 3.0. Lbs called Specialized tech help and they told him what to do. Your dealer needs to have a sign in program from Specialized. I think its part of their computer access with Specialized. Windows computer. Also need a micro usb DATA CABLE. He connects to his computer and the plug on bottom of display. Turns out the dealer should have done this as part of delivery setup. Apparently specialized has not made this well known to dealers . The program interface is menu driven and fairly easy to deal with. A cable made for charging will NOT work. Once lbs got the right cable it was easy. If your lbs is not into computers, call specialized tech help your self and ask what you can do. Does your Vado 4.0 have bluetooth? Have you connected with it. If not, when you first power up the display goes into a self test mode and check if you have icon for bluetooth? See your user manual for what it looks like and where it should show up. I have been told it won't be available till November.
I love my Vado 3.0 even more than my 2015 Turbo X.

Ann M.
4 months ago

@fredi, if you have a video from one of the supported formats all you need to do is click on the icon above that looks like a couple of frames of film or video. It's 2 icons to the right of the smiley face :) Feel free to message me if you still need more help.

Marleen
5 months ago

Court thanks for your feedback, as always very much appreciated!
And for your kind words! You must know my mom is equally if not much cooler than I am ;-) and I am just as happy and proud for having her in my life and riding bikes.
I always say she is The Original I am 'just' The Remix ;-) She disagrees, of course ;-)
But ok I shall stop this shameless pouring of love now for this is after all a bike forum!

Although you are quite right to point out that I have a deep and rather strong love for Electra too, the feeling just hasn't been completely reciprocated yet ;-) but I remain optimistic!
I actually am in contact now with the freshly appointed manager for the Benelux area so that's a start ;-)
While he still has to set up shop here properly, as he only started this brandnew(!) job last monday, he seems like a nice guy and willing to help us.
Besides trying to answer the already mentioned questions / issues raised here, he actually promised to try and get one demo bike (most probably the Loft Go!) from Hamburg to the Third World Bicycle Country that is The Netherlands ;-) Hallelujah! ;-)
I am of course still trying, as hard as I can, with all my super powers, to persuade him to ship all three! For naturally I would still very much prefer for us to be able to check out and test ride all of the available models before actually buying one.

Especially because, while we are familiar with all the different cruiser models from Electra, neither of us have ever taken a ride on an actual Townie model! And the Townie is quite different compared with the classic cruiser. I mean with its much smaller and straight steer you just have to end up being in a very different seating position than on a cruiser while cycling? To me it seems you would be in a less laid back position? I am now actually trying to hunt down a regular Townie somewhere in the neighborhood asap so we could at least try the fit of this bike first. I mean it would help a lot were we to find out we could eliminate the Townie from the options. Or if it turned out to be the complete opposite of course.

Which leads me to another interesting question; why is there actually no electric version of the cruiser model? So an Electra Classic Cruiser Go! It seems pretty odd right, especially considering all of the different new ebike models Electra has now presented. And considering that, to me at least, the cruiser is still the ultimate embodiment of what Electra is.

So all in all chances are still pretty big we shall head to Hamburg in the near future to be able to check out and test the entire Go! family ourselves. So yes I guess that is how far (pun unintended sorry) our Electra love goes ;-) In which case btw we shall of course report on our findings extensively right here!

Weird story about leaving out the walk assistance option btw.
Now the rules on the European market are of course different to those in the US. Here in The Netherlands there are f.e. no such classifications or legal limitations to enabling a function like walk assist. But I was told that the first generation Bosch Go! bikes form Electra indeed also didn't have this feature in Europe. I am still waiting for a final answer from Electra Benelux about whether they have in the meantime altered this for the European market; meaning this function could now indeed be enabled in Europe. To be continued!

The point you made Court about the potential risk of the moving pedals with walk assist is indeed something to take into account. On the other hand most bikes here that actually have walk assist don't have their pedals moving when it is turned on. I think that depends on the type of gears you have on the bike? My guess is the only plausible explanation for it being disabled Stateside is out of fear for legal liability. In Europe we have completely different legislation when it comes to this. Then again chances are slim they will make an exception for Europe for all the bikes are imported from the US here if I am right? Much easier of course to make just one type per model bike for the whole market.

Quite an eyeopener btw to point out here that the Townie Loft actually sports a different, less powerful, model Bosch motor (the Active line) Whereas both the Townie Go and the Commute Go! actually sport the more powerful Bosch Performance line. I actually have printouts of the different specs on the Electra website so my mum and myself could visualize the differences better, but on these the difference between active and performance line motor is not mentioned. It is on the website but somehow just not on these? (These print-outs appear after you click on the small specs plus print icon top left on the picture of any choosen bike on the Electra website)

But I like your thoughts on why they might have opted for this less powerful motor on the Loft model. ("slower to start, weaker overall so it will expand battery range and feel safer and more predictable to riders maybe") Therefore it might even end up being a better option when more safety and stability are your absolute priorities!
But then again on paper the overall position just seems less relaxed, less laid back. It somehow reminds me of the citybikes the Italians ride. I don't know if anybody else knows what I am talking about here? Plus the saddle doesn't have the shock absorbing elastomers like the Townie and Commute, it does have a spring though. Curious what kind of an effect that has.

And then there are the 28 inch tires, not as fat as the 26 inch fat franks on the Townie Go! plus they do bring up the whole bike just that tad bit higher. When you look at the pictures of the different models next to each other, it even looks like the distance between the crank and the upper tube is a bit bigger with both the Commute and the Loft. This seems irrelevant but when you are older and/or smaller this could just turn out to be that tad bit annoying when mounting/ dismounting your bike.

Plus your conclusion that the less powerful motor must effect battery range must be apt too, for the accu still has the same power as on the bikes with the stronger more powerful motors. Then again this is not mentioned by Electra. The specs when it comes to distances are the same for all the different Go! types: "20-100 miles / 40-120 km depending on your mode and terrain"

On a side note; as much as I really enjoy and love the happy, colorful and flashy Electra website for it seems completely in sync with the whole brand/ 'cycling as a lifestyle' idea. When it comes to the tech specs they could maybe improve it a little. Moustache f.e. has this cool drawn model of each specific bike type with all the measurements mentioned. And no that wouldn't just be cool for so called 'geeky bike nerds' (nothing but love and respect there) but it could really help out anyone while trying to narrow down the exact type of bike of your preference. Especially since there sadly is not an Electra (e)bike shop or showroom on every street corner, which makes the online availability of relevant and correct information, be it technical, just practical or visual all the more important!

Ok enough said for now.
I shall return here as soon as I get some interesting new info thru the Benelux manager. And of course as soon as I have managed to get my hands on one, or even better, on all of the new Go! models myself.
In the meantime I shall be dreaming of the apparently impossible combination; an actual electric classic cruiser bike by Electra. Or as Court said quite rightly; why to his surprise they (just) haven't put larger beach bars on the Townie Go?

JayVee
4 months ago

The newer Garmin VIRB Ultra 30 and GoPro Hero 5 models have GPSes included that allow you to overlay GPS data (speed, direction, etc.) on videos. But I have an older GoPro HERO 4 and I wanted to put some GPS overlays on it using only the GPS data from my smartphone. It’s not that complicated, but it took me a while to figure out.

I watched several YouTube videos where it was explained that you could use Virb Edit to merge GPS data and video data together. I tried several different GPS loggers but couldn’t get Virb Edit to interpret the GPX tracks from any of them. As the YouTube videos weren’t that recent, it’s possible that Garmin has since locked down their software so that it only works with their devices.

After roaming around on the UAV/drone forums, I found that a lot of hobbyists were using Dashware to overlay GPS data. I tried, and sure enough, it works. You can import your video directly in Dashware, add the overlays, and produce the final output. But there’s another method which I prefer. You can create a separate video with the GPS overlays and then composite them into your favourite video editor.

It gives the results shown in the videos below. Given the amount of money I’ve invested in GoPro accessories, I’m happy that it’s not totally obsolete and can be coerced into doing what the newer action cams do. The first video is a rather mellow climb, the second one is a 9-15% grade climb (starts around 2:27). And if you think I’m in the wrong gear at the bottom of the hill in the second video, you’re ABSOLUTELY right. I hate starting hills in a granny gear. If you want to get my speed, you have to rip it away from my bare hands! And so, because I’m a hard head, I had to go through most of the gears to climb the steeper 15% grade section… Yeah, yeah, I know folks… I should know better… But I’m really not made for mid-drives… :D

More seriously, it’s difficult to get the GPS data and video synchronised, and the best tip I could give is to start the app and your video recording at the same time. The heading gauge gives important clues. In Clip 2, at 1:22 - 1:23 the bike turns and so does the heading. So we know we’re not way off the plate, but the reaction is perhaps a little too immediate for it to be accurate. And in Clip 1, which is part of the same master clip, the heading seems to jump the gun at 1:25 so I’d say the GPS data is slightly ahead of the video. Next time I’ll have to be more careful about small clues like this.

Overall I’m happy with the result. FREE stuff absolutely rocks!

Some explanations on how to do this:

What you’ll need:

A smartphone
An action cam.
A Windows 7 PC or higher
Dashware. Get it while it’s still free!
A GPS logger app that can export GPX tracks. I used a free iPhone app called Map Tracks for this demo.

Step 1 - Capture video and data

Dashware has an option that allow you to synchronise your video with the GPS tracks, but you can simplify your life if you start the video recording at approximately the same time as you start recording the GPS tracks with your smartphone app.

When you’ve finished your tour, stop your GPS and video recordings at approximately the same time.

Step 2- Upload the data to your computer

Upload the GPX app to your computer. Most apps have an option so that you can email it to yourself.

Step 3 - Load the video and GPX files into Dashware

Open Dashware.
If your action cam splits a video into multiple files, you need to merge them together first. Dashware has a tool to do this. Select Merge Video files, and add the files that are part of your video sequence with the + icon. Once you have them all, click on Merge Files and wait for the merge to complete.
Select File-> New Project. You will see an ‘Imperial GoPro’ template selected. Use the defaults for your first attempt and click OK.
You will be presented with a screen such as the one below. Under Input Settings, add your merged video file and your data logger file. This will bring up a preview of your video.

Click on the ’Synchronisation’ tab. You should see your video on the left and a map of your tour on the right. Set the cursor in your Video and Synchronisation tabs to the the beginning. After you do that, the ‘Current’ time should be 0:00.000 for the video and GPS data timeline.

In the Synchronisation tab, click ‘sync with video’ as shown below. You can now skip through your video and the GPS data will become animated. Skim through the video to see if the data makes sense. The compass heading can help with this as it should turn for changes in direction.

Step 4 - Create the video in Dashware

You have now finished. Go ahead and click on Create video.

Tested Oses:

Windows 10, Windows 7

Know problems

1. After you install Dashware, if it crashes when creating a video, you might have to install the Visual C++ redistributable from Microsoft:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=48145

2. Files without sound or that are 'mono' might not work. You may see the following error:

"Error rendering in MediaFoundationMedia Foundation Error.”

3. It's best to use videos that have a standard format of 1920 x 1080. Software sometimes has trouble with other formats.

1/3
Jazzcat
6 months ago

I guess I'll have to change my Icon to a red bike.

Drumulac
7 months ago

I enjoyed reading everything you wrote. I am glad I got the NuVinci, but only because of my riding stlye. The Rohloff is definitely better. I use the bike for going to a number of destinations around the city and I like to get done quickly, so I am constantly shifting as I ride around very quickly. If I owned a Rohloff, I'd likely get used to it but when I tried a demo I just hated it. I have been testing the limits of the bike a lot, and have crashed a number of times. The bike never gets hurt really, and the Nyon back is scuffed up from a couple spills but still works great. It is very detailed and I like looking at my rides afterwards. I ride almost always in Turbo, I only ride in Tour if I will be running out of battery. Hard to believe I know, but I frequently do over 60 miles on the bike at once. I am really looking forward to upgrading the suspension on the bike and having a set of MTB tires for off-roading. I have been testing the limits of the bike and have fallen off a number of times, so once I upgrade the rear shock and fork, I want to avoid scratching them lol.

There are a lot of paved trails near me and also some dirt and gravel trails too. I went up a steep climb on a 6 inch wide dirt path covered in roots and boulders like it was nothing. Coming back down was a bit scary with the Super Moto X tires that have 1500 miles of wear on them, I am sure I will feel much more confident with some nobby nics on like the GX has I believe. I never did any trail riding before, but I really had a blast trying it out and will be doing a lot of it in the future.

More on the Nyon, I really am glad I upgrades. It just looks so much cooler and gives you a ton of information. I know the exact battery percentage as well which is a plus since steep sections of a ride can really distort the range for the overall ride. You can see a map of your path and can see your altitude, cadence, speed, and power output and any point along the ride. I like the navigation, but it is not as good as Google Maps. It is just like using a tomtom or garmin sat nav. The directions are fine but the city has a lot of close streets, it would be nice to see the street names on the map but it just shows the roads with no names. Sometimes of course navigation lags a little, so it would be nice to see the name of the roads on screen. It does not show the names of random streets around you on the map, nor the name of the street you are supposed to turn onto next, and also not the street you are currently on. No street names, just an animation to follow. I really just like the Nyon for how it looks, the Intuvia works fine but it is such a simple display on a bike that has so much more to offer (not to mention it looks high tech).

The Nyon display does take a few extra seconds to load up, and sometimes restarts during a ride (not often). The good thing though is that the power assist works from the second you hit the power button, even though the display is loading. And when the Nyon restarts mid-ride for no reason, the assist never stops, so really doesn't bother me. One other thing is that the Nyon does not allow me to turn on the High Beam of my Supernova M99 Pro. The Intuvia light button worked for the high beam and also for turning it on during the day, but with the Nyon connected, the headlight is completely independent. It won't turn on when the sun is out, and won't turn off at night nor turn the high beam on, the light button is useless even though the light icon appears when I click it. Perhaps I need it to be changed to switchable from a shop, I have not checked yet. Worst case scenario I will have to attach the high beam button that came with the light, but it will not reach my handlebars since the light is mounted on the fork crown. I like it better there, the lighting is perfect and cars can see my lights better in their mirrors because it is at the same level as car headlights. I will have to epoxy the button onto the actualy light or something lol.

Hey Matt - love that you're pushing the limits of your Delite. Due to a number of factors, most of which are not under my control, I've only got 500 miles on mine so far, which are mostly straight forward commuter runs.

Interesting re: the Nyon. I would purchase it for the more detailed battery stats more than anything else. Sounds like it needs a few firmware/software tweaks - hopefully, you can simply do upgrades via the usb port as they (inevitably) are offered. I have a Garmin 1000 Edge, which I switch out between bikes. It more than covers all those post-ride statistics and is nice since it automatically pushes the data to my phone as soon as I save the ride via Bluetooth and also to my tablet bv wifi or direct connection when recharging. All sorts of fun info to sort through - mapping, cumulative/comparative ride stats, profiles, temperature, course creation tools, etc. It does give you side streets, upcoming turn alarms, etc. So I certainly wouldn't need the Nyon for those functions. Too bad the Nyon reboots mid-ride on you. Maybe a connector problem? The light issue doesn't surprise me. For whatever reason, my Intuvia stopped turning on the rear light at around 100 miles, whatever mode you put it in (high beam, on-off, front light handlebar switch, etc). Don't know what that is about, but I'll put Propel on notice and eventually have them look at it. I think I read somewhere in this thread that the same thing happened to someone else? Was that you? I have an older model Dinotte tail light with the external battery that I put on when that happened so that works well - in fact, much better than the factory light - since it flashes in different modes and has quite the output. I'm o.k. as long as my headlight is still working . . . super pleased with the Supernova M-99 that came with the GX. In any case, I think I'll wait until the bugs are ironed out before I go for the Nyon.

Bud Baker
7 months ago

New install. Set up torque sensor per directions. This is on a Catrike Trail 500 watt motor with console. Took a ride and at set rpm (50) we took off like a shot. No speed on console, no odometer count. It took far too long for the motor to stop assist which was somewhat disconcerting. Several more trips round the driveway same scenario. Up to pedal rpm, motor full on, stop pedaling and soon motor stops assist. No speed on console. No odometer count. I believe the console is not paired with the motor. Therefore the system is operating as if it were motor and battery only. Which I think is automagically level 5. There is no icon indicating the console is paired. It is fully charged. I welcome thoughts on this. It is too dangerous to use it on a rail trail as is. Is there something I need to do? I did place the console directly next to the wireless sensor from the motor. No pairing icon. Thanks for any help with this.

Matt A
7 months ago

So, Rohloff Delite GX HS it was. I reached out to Chris Nolte of Propel and (at my prodding) he was kind enough to offer a modest discount on his floor model, but with the proviso that I had to wait for him to take delivery of another one before he sent the demo to me. Fair enough. Chris was good to his word re: estimated delivery time. Three weeks passed and sure enough, he got the new demo in and made arrangements to have the bike brought to my office on a Sunday afternoon (I live in a small city an hour or so north of NYC). Nice of him to go out of the way and offer to deliver as I had some personal things going on that would have kept me from picking it up within the next week or so.

First impressions: Sweet! Only 22 demo miles on the odometer. I already had a few alterations and additions in mind (guess that is the male version of "accessorizing") , but the essential core was all there - substantial frame, nice components, obviously well thought out, maybe a bit over-engineered - if that is even possible. Being purpose built exclusively as an e-bike, nothing about it has that "aftermarket-afterthought" feel. Solid as can be. No pretensions of being anything but a steady road warrior, capable of taking hard knocks and shrugging off the usual daily insults from the two ton motorized behemoths one encounters on the daily commute. Yeah, kind of a motorcycle feel, but still very much a vehicle that requires human input to motivate. Pretty heavy, but I had spent a lot of time in another life piloting touring bikes loaded down with four panniers and 50-69 additional lbs of gear, so I knew I wouldn't be phased by the weight that the two batteries and Bosch motor entailed. This thing knows it's purpose: built to bull through most stuff, on or off road, without the rider wondering if something is going to crack, snap off, or otherwise make things unpleasant.

As things go, the first week that I had it turned out to be nasty weather-wise. Record low temps, mixed precipitation. I think I clicked maybe 15 miles total over the over the first few days. On the first nice day, the following Sunday, I put 30 + miles on it. Super happy with it. Went on road and on trail. The brakes, suspension, beefy 27.5" tires, and power package all work well together. It's not a "pocket rocket", as we used to refer to certain motorcycles way back when, but the whole package works as advertised. I am liking it a lot. The Rohloff gives it an awesome low range, though I would like to get a bit more headroom at high speed ie. have pedal input over 30 mph. I did get the bike over 40 mph, but that was going down a big hill with inertia being the only motivator. In day to day riding, that really isn't a factor and I guess I could always put a smaller cog on the Rohloff at some point (but probably won't). At high speed, I had total confidence and the suspension ably handled a surprise pothole around 35 mph. Why potholes in NY in the spring should be a surprise, I don't know, but it was a substantial one nonetheless and the bike pretty much took it in stride. Power assist is just about right. At first you find yourself obsessing over the (4) available ranges, but I find myself pretty much either running it on tour or turbo mode. You definitely know that all those micro adjustments for shifting and human pedal effort are going on in the Bosch brain, but for the most part it just does that job well and it works rather seamlessly. After the first 100 or so miles, I was over any second thoughts about not having gotten a "throttle" type e-assist or opting for more power. Despite the added weight of the electric assist components, the pedal effort vs. a non-electric bike is reduced by maybe 50%, Works for me. The Intuvia controller is pretty straight forward. Almost like a typical bike computer but with power functions added. It took some getting used to not having the wealth of detailed data that the Cycle Analyst produces on my EcoSpeed trike setup, but simplicity is a good thing too. I am curious, Matt, how your Nyon is working out for you.

Time to start using the bike on a daily commuting basis. And then a few hiccups occur . . .
I enjoyed reading everything you wrote. I am glad I got the NuVinci, but only because of my riding stlye. The Rohloff is definitely better. I use the bike for going to a number of destinations around the city and I like to get done quickly, so I am constantly shifting as I ride around very quickly. If I owned a Rohloff, I'd likely get used to it but when I tried a demo I just hated it. I have been testing the limits of the bike a lot, and have crashed a number of times. The bike never gets hurt really, and the Nyon back is scuffed up from a couple spills but still works great. It is very detailed and I like looking at my rides afterwards. I ride almost always in Turbo, I only ride in Tour if I will be running out of battery. Hard to believe I know, but I frequently do over 60 miles on the bike at once. I am really looking forward to upgrading the suspension on the bike and having a set of MTB tires for off-roading. I have been testing the limits of the bike and have fallen off a number of times, so once I upgrade the rear shock and fork, I want to avoid scratching them lol.

There are a lot of paved trails near me and also some dirt and gravel trails too. I went up a steep climb on a 6 inch wide dirt path covered in roots and boulders like it was nothing. Coming back down was a bit scary with the Super Moto X tires that have 1500 miles of wear on them, I am sure I will feel much more confident with some nobby nics on like the GX has I believe. I never did any trail riding before, but I really had a blast trying it out and will be doing a lot of it in the future.

More on the Nyon, I really am glad I upgrades. It just looks so much cooler and gives you a ton of information. I know the exact battery percentage as well which is a plus since steep sections of a ride can really distort the range for the overall ride. You can see a map of your path and can see your altitude, cadence, speed, and power output and any point along the ride. I like the navigation, but it is not as good as Google Maps. It is just like using a tomtom or garmin sat nav. The directions are fine but the city has a lot of close streets, it would be nice to see the street names on the map but it just shows the roads with no names. Sometimes of course navigation lags a little, so it would be nice to see the name of the roads on screen. It does not show the names of random streets around you on the map, nor the name of the street you are supposed to turn onto next, and also not the street you are currently on. No street names, just an animation to follow. I really just like the Nyon for how it looks, the Intuvia works fine but it is such a simple display on a bike that has so much more to offer (not to mention it looks high tech).

The Nyon display does take a few extra seconds to load up, and sometimes restarts during a ride (not often). The good thing though is that the power assist works from the second you hit the power button, even though the display is loading. And when the Nyon restarts mid-ride for no reason, the assist never stops, so really doesn't bother me. One other thing is that the Nyon does not allow me to turn on the High Beam of my Supernova M99 Pro. The Intuvia light button worked for the high beam and also for turning it on during the day, but with the Nyon connected, the headlight is completely independent. It won't turn on when the sun is out, and won't turn off at night nor turn the high beam on, the light button is useless even though the light icon appears when I click it. Perhaps I need it to be changed to switchable from a shop, I have not checked yet. Worst case scenario I will have to attach the high beam button that came with the light, but it will not reach my handlebars since the light is mounted on the fork crown. I like it better there, the lighting is perfect and cars can see my lights better in their mirrors because it is at the same level as car headlights. I will have to epoxy the button onto the actualy light or something lol.

ebikeselector
8 months ago

Hi,
New update is online, you can check it out at http://www.ebikeselector.com
Feedback would be appreciated!
Milan, Ebikeselector admin

Improvements:

More ebike setups as result can be displayed - This is important improvement. Ebikeseletor now displays ebike setups not only made from "best rated" components, but it will also display lower rated (but still good or usable) components.

Currently three setups are available, first setup is usually most relevant. Setups can be changed by clicking on "rotate" button. After onmouse action on this button you can see graph that shows ratio of best/good/usable/blocked components.

Detailed information about component rating - onmouse action on rating icons ( ) reveals tooltip with detailed information about component rating in Question selection. This info is different in Final/preview mode. In Preview mode you can see basic component rating chart (how components are rated in relation to selected question). In Final mode you can see a list of winner rating components from all selected questions. This information should give you detailed information how components are rated and allows you to understand how Ebikeselector rating system works.

Conflicts in easy selector improved - conflicts now appears in small popup boxes. This will make conflict solving easier, no need to skip to "conflict page" and then back to the question.

change way how to work with PHYSICS SETTINGS in easy selector - Physic setting can be now accessible from any page in Easy Selector so it allows you to quick access to physic settings.

Easy selector - add presets and LOAD function - In previous version this function was available in Advanced selector only.
Rename and adjusting of Preview / complete switch button - In advanced selector, button was moved to the right menu. This was more logical, because switch is not connected to "questions", but it can be also used generally for switch on ebike physics. Preview / complete was changed to Preview / Final - shorter name was needed to better fit redesigned button.

Easy selector GUI redesigned and improved Improved intro help popups, this steps should let users to better orient in easy selector. Added "bulb " icon that informs about physics state. (in previous version this icon was only in Advanced selector)

Advanced Selector - Question Selection hidden by default Some users was confused from dual functionality of Advanced Selector, where is possible to use Question selection and component configurator together. I hope that without question selection it should be little bit easier to orient at start of using program. Question selection can still be used, after unfolding menu.

Amazon product link removed - i had to focus on bug fixes and polishing of important features, so i have to temporary removed this feature. Maybe it will be added back in future updates..

Main bug fixes:

Fixed throttle middle drive - decreasing Throttle didn`t work properly when middle drive motor was selected. fixed now.

Share results fixed - Sharing ebikeselector results by using of generated link should be fully functional now. Use Share result function (Advanced selector main GUI or at bottom of summarize page)

Duke em
9 months ago

Hi Folks,

I've only had my bike for 5 months now. I do quite a bit of technical trail riding that involves jumps, bunny hops, manuals and wipeouts. Haven't had any serious crashes. More of me falling off the bike then the bike crashing thus far.

I've noticed for last number of rides, my display doesn't show my speed correctly. It will show zero at times when I'm actually coasting or sometimes when I'm pedaling as well. It kinda goes down to zero, then back to the speed bike is moving. Back and forth. Like there is a loose connection.

At the times when the display speed shows ZERO, and I'm actually pedaling and moving with momentum, the motor assist provides NO assist at these times when the display shows ZERO mph. Not good when I'm pedaling/climbing uphill, on a trail that goes a long way up. I get NO ASSIST! At these times when I'm pedaling up a climb and the speeds shows ZERO, the assist level digital icon for (econo / std / high) will be blinking. When the speed shows an actual number of my moving speed, the digital icon for the assist level will remain steadily ON (without blinking).

Anyone else have this problem? Or have ideas about how much of a problem this will be to fix?

Duke

Ashley
9 months ago

I agree with Ann. Your original post, Ashley, has no information. You can post an ebay link like this. Just click on the link icon and paste in the URL, after you copy it. For example, I bought this controller and it worked as advertised.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/291952314747?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

I have this throttle coming. Wish I hadn't. I forgot I already had one. Oh well, it's not too expensive.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/161762085333?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT
I've been lucky. I have purchased a half dozen controllers and the color codes for the motor wire, usually 8 wires, have always matched with the motors.

Throttles and the PAS sensor often come with wire in the wrong positions, even if they have the right plugs. They often don't have the right plugs. But these are easily figured out.

Part of buying something like this, you know, is to stay away from anything that doesn't have english instructions.

If you can post some pictures like Ann asked, or a good link, your questions should be answerable.

harryS
9 months ago

I agree with Ann. Your original post, Ashley, has no information. You can post an ebay link like this. Just click on the link icon and paste in the URL, after you copy it. For example, I bought this controller and it worked as advertised.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/291952314747?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

I have this throttle coming. Wish I hadn't. I forgot I already had one. Oh well, it's not too expensive.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/161762085333?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

I've been lucky. I have purchased a half dozen controllers and the color codes for the motor wire, usually 8 wires, have always matched with the motors.

Throttles and the PAS sensor often come with wire in the wrong positions, even if they have the right plugs. They often don't have the right plugs. But these are easily figured out.

Part of buying something like this, you know, is to stay away from anything that doesn't have english instructions.

If you can post some pictures like Ann asked, or a good link, your questions should be answerable.

ElectricFuture
9 months ago

Hi,

I need help and insight on how to navigate through the menu (secret menu?) of the Momas Carbon. I would like to change the speed display from kph (stock) to mph. Court's pre-prodcution review on the Momas Carbon has a diffferent lcd and button layout than the production version.

A backer on indiegogo was kind enough to provide a video of the producion version

The production version has one button to turn on/off and toggle speed level, a thumb brake, and thumb throttle. The farthest I've gotten was holding down the throttle and power button simultaneously to get a flashing wrench icon. Beyond that... I'm lost. I've tried all the combinations of power button and throttle to try to change the menu. No dice.

There's probably a different versions of the Momas Carbon but I havent found a version with similar button layout to mimic button presses to access the menu.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Steven James DeBlasi
4 weeks ago

Is this motor powerful enough to climb Seattle's hills? And is this motor a Chinese brand?

Jon Neet
3 months ago

I like the way this ebike is designed. First, I like that it comes with fenders and a rack. Where I live, near Hilo Hawaii, we can have super hard rains with no warning. Nice to not have to pay extra for fenders. Next, I really like that is has cast magnesium wheels. I have not got the skills to true wheels, so to me, this is a great feature. The motor seems a little weak compared to all the 500 and 750 watt motors out there. Also the Ness website says the batteries are 36 watt 13 ah, which seems a might lower spec too. The range of up to 30 miles might just barely suit my needs, but I prefer at least a rated pedal-assisted 40 mile range. I don't see any uprated batteries available for these yet. I'm kind of overwhelmed at the huge range of available ebikes. Ness says free shipping in the US. Most will not honor that when shipping to Hawaii or Alaska. I have a bad right knee, so the lower step through frame might be better in my case. Your reviews are a treasure trove of information.

Carpenter Family
4 months ago

Great folding eBike for city at low price (& free US shipping) plus free accessories ( rack & fenders .) I think they'll sell a ton of these.
But for me I'm saving my pennies for the RadRover as I'll be taking trails off the urban path.

Commissar Gamza
4 months ago

Hey sir! still love and watch your videos, still got that E-joe bike from about 2-3 years ago and it's still going strong. I was wondering if all possible you could try and fit in some more self conversion kits for review. there seems to be a lot of kits out there perhaps a generic VS name brand ones with the same specs to compare which is better? just a thought. tyvm for the videos.

Commissar Gamza
4 months ago

I have the 2015 model (got it in 2014) it's still holding up well, the only thing i had to do was replace the tires from a few flats but thats bound to happen lol. it's a solid bike! 3 levels power assist, and throttle.

courtney edwards
4 months ago

Commissar Gamza I'm a delivery guy who's looking into buying a electric bike how well is the E-joe bike

Andrew Hunter
4 months ago

Very wobbly i don't think they would cope with all the potholes on my daily commute but do look nice.

Shane Crowley
4 months ago

kudos due, amazing how u have the time to review so many bikes! how do u get your hands on so many ps if it was your money what are your top three tested bike of all time???

Yes Yes
4 months ago

You're unique and way ahead by probably 5 years till all this catches on.

THE QUIET CYCLIST
4 months ago

It's very similar to my bike, the Volt metro. (UK) The flip up saddle is a better idea, mine doesn't have that. I have Kevlar tyres.

Isaiah Yhomas
4 months ago

Is there a 500w + motor option? Can't climb hills with 350w.

NFmangatoo
4 months ago

You need to try to review the Joulvert’s Electric Bikes.

They have a few. They are not well known but I think they have decent bikes.

esmir celebic
4 months ago

Hey. Great job on all reviews. Have you run into anybody doing fixed gear with torque sensor, where you can use regen to slow the bike down on the "resist" , basically double sided torque sensor.

guy idel
4 months ago

42V

CCLASH GOD
4 months ago

How much did it cost

Jonathan Mansur
4 months ago

hi, it costs $1395. Please visit www.nessbikes.com

The Hound
4 months ago

I just bought a VeeGo folding fat tire EBike. It looks like the white bike you just reviewed only heavier and the rack is part of the frame.

Seb K
4 months ago

I've seen these mag wheels with built in motors on Ebay . I am tempted as the roads are getting worse in London and my 20" wheels need truing all the time .

Major Twang
4 months ago

I would love to see a review of a good/cheap rear 20" gear hub ebike kit.

My aim is to find a kit with only a thumb throttle, battery and 20" rear wheel gear hub for the cheapest price possible.

I have a Dayon Mariner that i would use the kit on.

I wish Hill Topper would make one.

Major Twang
4 months ago

Yes i did...but to no avail...;?)

I can't imagine that there is no market for 20"" e-wheels.

Good company in Vanvouver, but price above my budget at 1,000$.

Few good companies in China, but i'm reluctant to order from Asia.

In the mean time, i am learning how to build battery packs and i do enjoy your great reviews.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Hmm, have you reached out to Hill Topper? Maybe this feedback could help to push them in that direction :)

samz1069
4 months ago

When are you going to get your hands on a Sondor's FoldX!
The ship has arrived! People on Facebook are raving about it still waiting on my black and red Xmod!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Sweet, when and where was the meet and ride that you attended? Sounds like a great time :)

samz1069
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Sondors said At the meet and ride that he expects the fold to take over as his number one selling bike!he said it took over a year to design and build!
500 W motor on the X version you should be seeing them around....like I said before the ship has landed!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Cool! I'm not sure, they reached out to me a while back but never followed up. I'll try to find and film one in the wild eventually ;)

actnowone
4 months ago

Another excellent review, there’s a lot of these budget folding bikes around starting at $800 USD up over. I suppose the bike is judged on specs, affordability and type of use but you really need to consider what accessories are available. Brompton and Tern seem to offer the best range of accessories but both are expensive folding bike manufacturers.

I’ve been waiting for you’re review of the Gepida Miliaria Pro folding bike with the Bosch performance Nyon centre belt drive? This bike offers built in GPS, Bluetooth and a host of other goodies. There’s also a cheaper version of the bike starting at around $2.700 USD so would be great if you could review both at the same time.

actnowone
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Yep, please do, also would love you're take on the Giant Explore E+1 GTS if that's at inter-bike? The new 2018 model is showing on the Giant website in Germany so looks like I will need to import it into the UK as they don't sell it here for some strange reason?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Nice, I'll keep an eye out for those two. Interbike is coming up so perhaps I'll find one there!

supernova1976
4 months ago

The design is quite ugly and the wheels are very ugly, I don't know why can't they make a better looking small bike. Look at Dahon , Brompton etc.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
4 months ago

supernova1976 Agreed, this is one clownish looking bike 👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎.
Great review though Courtney ☺☺☺ 👌👌👌👌.

"CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

Bestoink Dooley
4 months ago

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I think it looks good. Step-through bikes don't look as kool, but they are so very easy to mount and dismount and Dayon doesn't make a step-through e-bike. I like disc brakes because you don't have to keep adjusting brakes to prevent them from rubbing on the wheel rim. Dayon's 20" electric bikes don't have disc brakes. And those mag wheels you think are ugly are maintenace free, no loose or broken spokes. I love them. Bromptons are hugely expensive.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder I guess, the fancier bikes tend to have fewer graphics and look more professional to me. This one is bright and fun (with lots of color combinations) so maybe it's aiming for a younger market?

Daniel S.
4 months ago

It os a bit expensive for such smal bike XD

Major Twang
4 months ago

I agree.

I purchased a 20'' folding ebike in 1996 from Canadian Tire for 500$Can.

It was a cheap aluminium 20" folding e-bike with terrible brakes, rear 250w gear hub and heavy 24 volts lead battery.

I had lots of fun riding it for 2 years.

Moved on to a 26'' Hill Topper front hub.

But prefer nimble 20" folder.

I'm in the market for a rear kit for my Dahon Mariner 20" folder.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Ha! It's interesting how with some technology you end up paying more for the smaller size. It could definitely be lighter but given the frame design and all of those accessories I feel like it's on par with competing products, especially in this price range