Ness Icon Review

Ness Icon Electric Bike Review
Ness Icon
Ness Icon 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Derailleur With Guard Plastic Chainring
Ness Icon 42 Volt Removable Li Ion Battery Pack
Ness Icon Ergonomic Grips Twist Throttle Lcd Display
Ness Icon Zoom Aria Spring Suspension Mechanical Disc Brakes
Ness Icon Integrated Blaze Light Headlight
Ness Icon Alloy Rear Rack With Independent Spanninga Duxo Light
Ness Icon Folding Electric Bike
Ness Icon Folded Ebike
Ness Icon Small Folding E Bike
Ness Icon Electric Bike Review
Ness Icon
Ness Icon 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Derailleur With Guard Plastic Chainring
Ness Icon 42 Volt Removable Li Ion Battery Pack
Ness Icon Ergonomic Grips Twist Throttle Lcd Display
Ness Icon Zoom Aria Spring Suspension Mechanical Disc Brakes
Ness Icon Integrated Blaze Light Headlight
Ness Icon Alloy Rear Rack With Independent Spanninga Duxo Light
Ness Icon Folding Electric Bike
Ness Icon Folded Ebike
Ness Icon Small Folding E Bike

Summary

  • A sturdy, wave style step-thru, folding electric bike available in a wide range of colors, comes with lots of useful accessories like a rack, fenders, and LED lights
  • Removable high-capacity battery pack is easy to charge on or off the bike thanks to a flip-up saddle, adjustable height stem and suspension fork improve comfort
  • Plastic guide keeps the chain on track at all times while protecting loose clothing like pants or skirts, derailleur guard protects the drivetrain, sensitive pedal assist with throttle override
  • At over 50 lbs, the bike is compact but not super lightweight, the display panel works well but is not removable, center-mount kickstand gets in the way of the left crank a bit

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Ness

Model:

Icon

Price:

$1,395 (Free Shipping in USA, $200 for Canada)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive, 5 Year Frame

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51.5 lbs (23.35 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.05 lbs (3.19 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Unfolded Dimensions: 17" Seat Tube Length, 22.25” Reach, 16” Stand Over Height, 24" Width, 65” Length, Folded Dimensions: 19.5" Width, 35.5” Length, 26" Height

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Folding

Frame Colors:

Gloss White with Red Accents, Gloss White with Yellow Accents, Gloss White with Orange Accents, Gloss White with Black Accents, Gloss White with White Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Zoom Aria Spring Suspension, 40 mm Travel, Preload Adjust, 100 mm Hub, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney Derailleur, MF-TZ21 Cassette 14-28T

Shifter Details:

Shimano SiS Index Thumb Shifter on Right

Cranks:

Prowheel, Forged Alloy, 170 mm Length, 52T Chainring with Plastic Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo Plastic Platform, Folding

Headset:

Neco, 1-1/8" Threadless, Internal Cups

Stem:

Alloy, 290 mm Base Height, 0 mm to 90 mm Telescoping Height Adjust, 25.4 mm Clamp Diameter

Handlebar:

Alloy, Flat, 600 mm Length

Brake Details:

Zoom Z-Star Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Zoom Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Rubber, Ergonomic, Black

Saddle:

Velo

Seat Post:

Steel, Flip Forward Clamp

Seat Post Length:

390 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

28.6 mm

Rims:

Cast Magnesium

Spokes:

Bladed, 6 Spoke Arms

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 20" x 1.75" (47-406)

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

40 to 65 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Aluminum Alloy Fenders (60 mm Width), Aluminum Alloy Rack with Spring Latch (25 kg 55 lb Max Weight), Integrated Blaze-Light HL1700 Headlight, Independent Spanninga Duxo Backlight (2 AA Batteries), Adjustable Center-Mount Kickstand, Steel Derailleur Guard

Other:

Locking Removable Silverfish Battery Behind Seat Tube, 1.5 lb 2 Amp Charger, Folding Support Bar at Bottom Bracket, Steel Derailleur Guard, 250 lb Max Weight

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

JB-105-10

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

200 watts

Motor Peak Output:

350 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

42 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

546 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Backlight, Greyscale, LCD Console (Hold Up for Lights, Hold Down for Walk Mode, Tap Power to Cycle Through Trip Stats, Power Off then On and Hold Up and Down for Settings)

Readouts:

Battery Capacity (4 Bars), Timer, Assist Level (0-5), Current Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, Trip Distance, Odometer, Voltage,

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (12 Magnet Cadence Disc, Throttle Limited by Assist Level)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Ness Icon is a value-priced folding electric bike with deep step-thru frame design and a wide range of color options. While it only comes in one frame size, not uncommon for folding bikes, it does have an adjustable seat height and telescoping stem to accommodate a wider range of riders. It comes with sturdy Aluminum alloy fenders, a well-positioned rack that stays clear of the saddle and is high enough to support small panniers, and lights. The headlight is wired in and can be controlled by the display panel while the rear light is stand-alone, using two AA batteries and having an on/off switch that you’ll have to remember when you start and stop riding. In the world of electric bicycles, there are many drive system configurations and the Icon has one of my favorites. You can pedal with five levels of assist support and override with full power using the twist throttle at any time. This means you can get help starting from a stop sign or traffic signal, boost yourself up to speed without changing gears or arrowing through assist, and get extra help during a climb if the terrain changes. But the pedal assist design isn’t half bad and stands alone very well, it uses 12 magnets for quicker response to pedal movement vs. some of the older or comparable value-priced folding electric bikes that have just six magnets. The drivetrain is very basic, an entry-level 7-speed Shimano Tourney with enlarged thumb shifter, but it’s easy to understand and the larger shifter works well with gloved hands. The chain appears to be rust proof and is kept on track by a plastic guide on the large chainring. The derailleur and motor power cable are well protected behind a Steel derailleur guard at the back. This guard likely plays a role in shipping and could come in handy when the bike is folded up and stored in the trunk of a car, boat, or private aircraft. The sensitive bits won’t get banged up if the bike tips… but you might want to purchase an adjustable bungee cord to keep the bike in its folded position. Ness doesn’t include a magnetic clasp or rubber band system like some other products.

Driving the bike is a compact, planetary-geared hub motor that’s encased in the rear wheel. Rated from 200 to 350 watts, it may not sound as impressive as some full sized ebikes rated 350 to 500 watts, but keep in mind that the smaller wheels provide a mechanical advantage. By using a compact motor like this, Ness was able to keep weight down and use battery power more efficiently. The battery is a more powerful 42 volt design vs. many 36 volt options I have seen. In short, the motor does a fine job and I was more impressed with how responsive it was and how much control I had using the throttle than how powerful it is said to be. Note, that because this is a geared motor, it produces a bit more whirring noise under power. But, since this is not a mid-drive it does not interfere with the chain and derailleur at all and allows for that deep step-thru design… it’s also a lot more affordable. The motor supports up to 20 mph top speed but you can actually dig into the display settings and lower the top speed if you want to. Another approach is to use lower levels of assist which use less power, extending your ride, and don’t go as fast.

Powering the motor, backlit display panel, and headlight, is a removable 42 Volt 13 Amp hour battery pack. While not as hidden as some competing folding electric bikes (which have batteries that fit into the main tube horizontally), it still looks good in my opinion and offers greater capacity. I was told that it contains Lithium-ion Samsung cells, which are known for being lightweight and long lasting. The light silver Aluminum battery casing blends in with the white frame and is very durable. At the top, a plastic cover houses an LED readout to communicate how full the pack is, but you might have to turn the bike on to get it to light up? There’s also a handle at the top for sliding the battery off of the bike and carrying it around safely. Note, that you have to unlock the battery before removing it by inserting the key into a slot near the base and twisting… but then pull the key out of the pack! If you leave the key in and try to slide up, you may bend the key as it collided with the left seat stay tube. I have seen and tested many electric bikes with a vertical battery design like this but not all of them felt as secure and smooth. I feel that the battery weight is well positioned on the bike and the battery itself is solid. You do have to insert the key into the pack and twist to “on” in order to ride with electric assist, and the key must remain in. For those using a keychain, this could result in some rattling noise and does make snags more likely… but if you just leave the key without any kind of keychain, the top portion does fold to stay out of the way which is nice. The only thing is, just leaving the key makes it easier to misplace or get stolen. I prefer battery packs that don’t have a key requirement or on/off switch… where you just rely on the power button at the display panel.

The LCD display on the Ness Icon was new to me, but it worked very well. It is not removable, but is positioned securely near the left grip, within reach of your left thumb while steering. It shows battery capacity, speed and trip stats (cycle through by tapping power once it’s on). You can hold the up arrow to activate backlighting and the headlight, or hold down to activate walk mode and let the bike push itself along slowly. weighing in at ~51 lbs, this is not the lightest-weight folding electric bike I have seen, not by a longshot, but it brings a lot of utility that others do not. If you want the versatility, safety, and easy-approach of such a low-step frame… then this is a solid option. Some other features I have seen on competing electric bikes are USB charging ports for portable electronics and adjustable-angle displays to reduce glare. Perhaps this display panel could be forced forward or back, maybe if you loosen the mounting bracket just a bit you could achieve this. The wires at the front of the bike are bundled nicely with a neoprene Ness-branded wrap. And there are a lot of wires here because of the two brake lever motor inhibitors. Once the bundle reaches the head tube, most of the wires go into the frame for protection and improved aesthetics. This is a good looking bike for being so feature rich in my opinion.

I was able to meet the founders of Ness and learn a bit about their company during the course of this review. Having been in business in Florida, USA since 2015, they are now selling through a handful of shops and their e-commerce website. Rather than try to launch a complete line of ebikes, the founders have focused in on folding models like the Icon here and their slightly different Rua which comes in black vs. white color scheme. Having seen and tested the bike, I feel like the major decisions for utility, control, and durability have all been addressed well. It’s an above-average product at a very reasonable price. I do wish it was lighter, but am not sure I’d trade the fenders, rack, and larger battery for that. The deep wave frame is unique and well executed. Even the cast rims, which tend to be more durable than spokes… and certainly colorful in this case, are an upgrade of sorts, but they do add weight. Big thanks to Ness for partnering with me on this review and meeting me way out in Vancouver Canada! We had a good time and both models held up great in the light rain.

Pros:

  • Ness is based in Florida and offers a pretty good warranty for a relatively new, smaller company, they provide one year comprehensive with five years on the frame, I like that they offer free shipping in the USA (Canada costs $200 for shipping)
  • Five color options let you personalize the bike a bit, or get a pair and have slightly different colors to keep the bikes separate, I like that the Icon model uses a white background because it will be more visible to cars in low-light conditions
  • Included fenders and a rear rack setup make the bike more capable if you plan on commuting, transporting groceries, or live in an area like Vancouver BC (where I filmed this) that experiences frequent rain
  • I was comparing the Ness to the Rua model and noticed that the Ness had cleaner wiring, they ware bundled and integrated through the downtube vs. tacked onto the outside
  • As someone who has transported a lot of e-bikes, folded them, and ridden on varied terrain using throttle and pedal assist, I have experienced chain drops frequently and seen derailleurs bend when bikes tip onto their side, so I like that the Ness bikes have plastic chain guides to keep the chain on track and a steel derailleur guard to protect the sensitive bits (including the motor cable)
  • Instead of using spokes, the Ness Icon has solid cast rims that won’t get bent as easily and can probably support more weight, they are paint-matched and look great, the rear rim encases the motor for added protection
  • This is one of the lowest frame designs I have tested on any folding electric bicycle, that makes it very easy to approach, mount, and stand over at stops, if you have hip or knee sensitivities it would be a good choice
  • I love that the saddle has a lever at the back allowing it to flip forward and make way for the battery to slide on or off the frame, just make sure you unlock the pack at the base and then take the key out or you could bend the key while sliding the pack up because the left seat-stay is very close to the edge of the pack
  • You get 160 mm disc brakes offering good stopping power and motor cutoff (both levers have motor inhibitor switches), the left Tektro lever also has a bell built in for friendly signaling, Mechanical brakes can require a bit more hand strength to actuate compared to hydraulic but they cost less and still have some advantages over rim brakes (staying cleaner than rim brakes in wet or muddy conditions)
  • Minor plus here, the seven-speed drivetrain gives you plenty of pedaling options for urban riding and the large shifter, while basic, is easy to understand and use for most people I speak with, it may also work better with gloves than tiny triggers since the paddles are so big
  • Ness is using a higher definition 12-magnet cadence sensor here that will be more responsive to pedal start and stop but you also get a twist throttle that can override assist and work at zero, it’s a great setup
  • The headlight runs off of the main battery pack and is controlled by the display panel, the rear light requires two AA batteries and has its own on/off switch but is positioned nicely below the rack so it won’t get blocked, both lights are name brand and fairly large, it’s cool that they come included
  • Considering the relatively low price and feature set here, I feel like the bike offers a lot of value and appreciate that it comes with an LCD display vs. a 3-led console or something very basic, the display isn’t perfect (the battery indicator only has four bars) but it is easy to read, easy to reach and interact with, allows you to enter settings like top-speed (to make it slower if you want), and I think it looks nice

Cons:

  • Sometimes folding electric bikes have magnets, rubber straps, or other tie-down mechanisms to keep them from rattling and clinking together during transport, the Icon does not have this but at least it has a metal support tube that’s welded onto the bottom bracket to help protect the plastic chain guide
  • Cast may be heavier than spokes and don’t flex as much for comfort, but given the small 20″ wheel diameter, spokes would probably have felt rigid as well so I love the choice of ergonomic grips (even though they aren’t locking and could twist easier) and the suspension fork (even though it doesn’t have lockout)
  • This bike only comes in one frame size which is very similar to the Ness Kua, so it’s great that the stem telescopes upwards to match the seat post, this allows for taller riders to optimize leg extension
  • Minor gripe here but it appears that the right chainstay does not have a slap guard, this isn’t as big of a deal given how short the chainstays are and how large the chainring is… and you could always add one yourself like this aftermarket
  • The battery pack design stands out a bit, there are other folding e-bikes that have tube-integrated batteries but they often don’t provide as much capacity, at least the pack is positioned towards the middle of the frame for balance and is silver to blend in with the white paint job
  • In order to activate this ebike, you have to put the key into the battery pack ignition and turn to on… and then leave it in there, you can’t take the key out while riding and this means it could rattle around or get snagged (especially if you have a keychain and other keys attached) but at least the key folds and the ignition slot is positioned high up and mostly out of the way
  • As with most folding electric bikes I review, the Ness Icon does not have bottle cage bosses, consider using a trunk bag like this with a bottle holster if you plan on bringing water for a longer ride
  • The kickstand is mounted near the bottom bracket by the left crank arm, not quite far back enough to stay completely out of the way if you walk the bike backward but it does sort of push to the side if you force it so it’s not quite as inconvenient as the kickstand on the Ness Kuo and some other models where you literally have to pick the bike up and pedal forward to clear the kickstand
  • The fenders, rear rack, and key can produce a bit of rattle noise when riding on bumpy terrain, you can see and hear this in the video, the motor also produces some whirring noise under full power

Resources:

More Ness Reviews

Ness Rua Review

  • MSRP: $1,395
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A colorful folding electric bike with sturdy cast rims, strong rear rack, wide alloy fenders, and LED lights, the suspension fork and slightly wider tires improve comfort. The 12-magnet cadence sensor is responsive and doesn't require much effort to activate, just keep…...

jon
5 months ago

I like both of these bikes by Ness. I’d like to see you test the Evelo Quest folder also. It seems to be a single speed, but uses a drive belt and no chain. Here one Hawaii Island in Puna District, we get huge amounts of ran per year. Not as bad as it sounds though, because we get most of it at night. But, the climate is a rust maker. I bet most chains and derailers etc get replaced due ti malfunctions from rust, than wear. I serched your site for the uest, but it didn’t come up, though I thi k you revied other models. They seem to go with a mid-drive system on those. The Quest is a read drive.

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Jon! I’m working on the EVELO Quest and hope to have it up soon, thanks for letting me know that you’re interested in seeing it. The belt drive is tight, quiet, and durable… should hold up well against rain. Another consideration would be the Enzo Ebike because it was made for boaters and uses rust-proof hardware as I understand it :)

Reply
Fabiola Rivas
3 weeks ago

Living and working in a convent has always been a blessing; however, things got even better when a member of the community donated a brand new Ness Icon e-bike to us. We only have one car that we all have been sharing on our rounds visiting shut-ins and helping give some home care to needy individuals in our community. It was sometimes difficult getting around and was not easy expanding our range to reach more people in the community. Fortunately, the Ness Icon changed all of that for us and has been a huge blessing not only to the convent, but to dozens of individuals who have been reached by it.

While a few of us can take the car and visit individuals in one part of the community, I often take our new Ness and ride in the other direction. The Ness Icon is a powerful long-range electric bicycle. It makes getting to people easier and faster and the people in our community are so grateful. It is also much safer than trying to walk to places. Thank you Ness, for helping us to bless others through a great product. We’ve started helping six more people just this month with our new fantastic electric bicycle.

Reply
Court Rye
3 weeks ago

Wow! That’s an amazing story Fabiola… I am truly moved. To hear how you and your sisters help people in the community and have been able to reach more with an ebike, really fills me with happiness and excitement. It’s a unique use case, but one that fits, if you want to care for the environment, cannot get a license, or simply wish to experience God’s beautiful world first hand as you pedal along vs. sitting in an automobile in traffic. I feel that ebikes allow us to “stop and smell the roses” and literally, pull over when we are in need. You have reminded me of this show Call the Midwife where they travel by bicycle much of the time. You totally made my day, would you be willing to share your church name? Perhaps more donations could be made if you could use them.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Motodaddy
2 hours ago

I was recently your position looking for an ebike that fit my commuting needs (10 miles, some hills but nothing crazy). I tried hub drives and mid drives. Hub drives I tried were cross current, Stromer st1 and magnum. As soon as I stepped on a mid drive with a bosch cx system I didn’t look back at the hub drives. The responsiveness and natural feel of this is perfect for the stop and go of real life commuting. Also the emtb mode is great for traffic because you can “set it and forget it” and the system will adjust assist to your needs leaving you able to concentrate on traffic. Turbo mode is just mental. Anyways try this system before you buy anything else. There are a 2017 cube bikes available, I got my cross pro for equivalent of 2100usd.

Ravi Kempaiah
6 hours ago

Haibike, Rlaeigh and Izip uses TranzX motor on several bikes. They have a long business history with TranzX and a company like Accell that owns Haibike, Izip, Raleigh would not have any problem sourcing a motor if the issue arises.
If you use the bike regularly, you get the money back within a year and after that it's all profit!

DaveinMtAiry
9 hours ago

It does Will, all the posts help. I get what you are sayings, sort of. So if you have 2 equal bikes with the same tires etc the batter with the higher rating will allow for more miles per charge.

Did you see the link I posted on the Haibike Saduro? What is your thoughts on the ability of that bike to lug a 240 pound man who will be in retirement (read old) up big Tennessee mountains?

Stoker283
10 hours ago

You have a great commute, it make me miss Hawaii!! From what I saw, your only issue will be a lack of gears, if you can reach 40 mph downhill on a regular bike, I am sure you would love to go as fast with your fat bike too. I have heard of some people installing a bigger ring gear at the front, but you will be limited with on 7 gears. I have a 9 gear cassette and the only time I switch it to the 9th gear is going downhill. I love going fast. And I can guarantee you that the reset of your commute shouldn't be below 20 mph with a ebike, as long you don't get stock behind too many buses... lol

Cheers

DaveinMtAiry
14 hours ago

Thanks so much for the help. I won't pretend to understand that 2nd link, way too much technical info for my knowledge. Everyone tells me they are great for hills so it's time I believe that. I just wish the shop would have allowed me to rent the bike but I understand why that was not possible.

The battery is rated 400w yet most articles list batteries in volts. More confusion, is 400W a strong battery?

J.R.
14 hours ago

Both Yamaha mid drives are 250 watts nominal, 500 watts peak.

PW:

https://global.yamaha-motor.com/business/e-bike-systems/pw/drive-unit/

PW-X:

https://global.yamaha-motor.com/business/e-bike-systems/pw-x/drive-unit/

They're very capable hill climbers. I agree with Ann, watt rating doesn't tell the whole story. I also believe many sellers use the watt spec in false advertising or hype to sell bikes. Nothing new or scandalous there, automobile manufactures have been doing that for a long time.

With so many opinions available, it's impossible to remove all doubt. The minute one thinks they have it all figured out, someone will write a new set of facts based on personal experience. Much of it is just anecdotal facts.

Good luck in your search.

DaveinMtAiry
15 hours ago

Thanks so much Ann. I was told the Yahama motor has more torque than others. I did test ride it but as I said the hills around the shop were not as steep as the ones on my road and what I expect in Tennessee. But I was able to go up some fairly long grades with little effort.

Throughout the thread I was told a mid drive at 350W and above would be fine. Here is the link with the specs, they always read 500W. Could you please clarify is this 250W or 500W?

https://propelbikes.com/product/haibike-sduro-cross-4-0-2017/

JRA
1 day ago

Di2 Alfine 11 works for me. Because I have vertical dropouts I need to use a chain tensioner which cuts into the efficiency some. A little spendy but I don't mind shifting and as far as coolness factor goes.......

Powerloss through the drivetrain adds up over time. An e bike does a good job of compensating as long as you have the proper gear range for your riding terrain and style. Not only when under power but when you stop pedaling an internal gear hub can still have parasitic drag and this it the powerloss that saps your legs when riding without power, along with the overall weight of the bike of course.

But in the end it is hard to beat a cassette/derailleur system for efficiency given that it is tune. Also a lot lighter weight, didn't weigh my Alfine but certainly the bike is heavier with it but the performance meets my needs and is still under 50lbs without any lightweight components otherwise.

Alaskan
1 day ago

In researching whether or not to go for a Nuvinci continuous drive transmission, I was looking to find out what the cost is in terms of efficiency loss versus the more common derailleur/gear cassette system. I found this fascinating study on wattage loss between where the foot meets the pedal and where the tire meets the road. Test rides of two bikes with the Bosch CX drive, one with an 11 speed traditional setup and the other with a belt driven Nuvinci seemed to line up and support the accuracy of the findings in the article. I chose to get a Riese & Muller Nevo Nuvinci GH, knowing that I would be giving up about 10% efficiency in favor of low maintenance, quiet operation, durability and that hard to pin down coolness factor.

This should be required reading for anyone trying to decide what transmission system is best for them.

https://www.cyclingabout.com/speed-difference-testing-gearbox-systems/

"
The Results
While the data from the graph indicates the drivetrain efficiency for each gear, I’ve averaged out the drivetrain efficiency across each gear range to come up with the following numbers:

Singlespeed: 97% efficient (Drivetrain loss of 6w @ 200w).
Rohloff : 94.5% efficient on average across 14 gears (Drivetrain loss of 11w @ 200w)
Pinion: 90.5% efficient on average across 18 gears (Drivetrain loss of 19w @ 200w).
Shimano Alfine 11: 90.5% efficient on average across 11 gears (Drivetrain loss of 19w @ 200w).
Shimano Nexus 8: 90% efficient on average across 8 gears (Drivetrain loss of 20w @ 200w).
Nuvinci 360: 83.5% efficient on average across the gear range (Drivetrain loss of 33w @ 200w)."

Bruce Arnold
1 day ago

Reid, that's good advice and I fully plan to follow through. I can do a quick check myself for obvious looseness, but I want a pro to do a thorough job in the not-too-distant future.

As to the trip odometer, unless I do a manual reset (which also zeros out total watt-hours etc.), the odometer keeps adding up, ride after ride. I don't consider it a trip odometer if it can't be reset independently. If I'm missing something, please tell me!

Chris, I haven't seen any recommendations on checking the spokes specifically from Juiced. To me, that's just generic bike knowledge. Spokes that are loose can be felt with the fingers -- they will move. You can get a feel for the overall state of tune by pinging each spoke with a wrench or something -- they should all make more or less the same musical note. This only takes a couple of minutes. Most of us could learn to lace and true a wheel ourselves. Naturally, there are YouTube videos galore. To me, it's kind of like hanging dry wall: I can do it, but it would take me a whole weekend to do what a pro can do in an afternoon -- and they make it look so easy. ;)

Alaskan
2 days ago

Submitted, Keeping the user interface and controls simple and less distracting is a great goal. Integration with a smart phone for fitness tracking, navigation, etc is a great idea COBI is heading the right direction. I have read that the COBI phone mount is not as robust and solid as it should be. Smart phone charging through micro-usb would be essential. The Bosch Intuvia port does not keep a phone charged.

E-Wheels
2 days ago

Thanks for the suggestion
I will see if I can find a supplier in Australia

Summerjam
2 weeks ago

Greetings. I have the Neo cross, approx 2.5y old and 5700km done. So far no major issues other than running into a Error 13 here and then.
I normally just needed to clean the contact of the display and was fine for the next 1/2y.

Yesterday a bike shop replaced the coat of the back wheel. In addition I dropped the display after it was done and tried to power up the bike first time after repair and ran into the Error 13 few seconds after the battery icon was flashing (as normal).
I checked all connections (front and rear) and they seem to be ok.

What I can reproduce is that the display goes from error 13 back to normal for a few seconds when using either the left or right break before I see the error 13 again. However, the motor will not start at any time.

Beside dropping the display we also cleaned the display contacts again. The bike shop guy used a bit too much of the contact spray maybe (?). Can this cause issues like described here?

Other than that only the rear connection was unplugged to remove the wheel of cause. But again, contact look good.

Is there another connection below the battery I am not aware of?

Anyone seen the behavior that error 13 goes away temporarily after using the breaks? Normal or a indicator that I do not have a cable problem but something else?

Big up for your help. Bless.

Echos
2 weeks ago

Thousand Helmets (http://www.explorethousand.com), creators of classically-designed and innovative bicycle helmets, are proud to introduce their Epoch helmet line.

Embodying the spirit of heritage design, the Epoch product line is elevating the brand’s current offerings with advanced colors, materials and finishes. The Epoch line tells a story in design as well as a story in Thousand’s evolution as a brand.

From what started as a mission to simply get more people wearing helmets and a fascination with heritage design and iconic stories from our past, Thousand quickly positioned itself as the brand for modern urban cyclists. Thousand continues to pay homage to their signature Heritage Collection of helmets that are the crossroads of vintage moto and modern minimal.

“We wanted to tell our story authentically and felt that our second anniversary was an opportunity to progress our brand,” notes Gloria Hwang, co-founder of Thousand. “We believe that the story behind the product is as important as the product.”

The Epoch line embodies an expression of a time in history or a person’s life, with the new collection inspired by the past tales of Steve McQueen and the iconic Bel Air Cadillac as well as the Nordic Modernism. These stories are a nod to the past and were influential and aspirational to the product development team.

The new Epoch colors are Speedway Creme, Willowbrook Mint, and Nordic Wood, which is created by a color water dipped technology. Advanced features include vegan leather straps, copper hardware and the signature PopLock system that allows the cyclists to easily lock the helmet to the bike as well as a magnetic buckle for a one-hand fastener that’s pinch-free.

Thousand is committed to helping curb the impact of bike accidents, promote active and community living, and make a quality product without causing unnecessary harm to the planet. Thousand is proud to be a member and is committed to the “1% for the Planet” organization(http://www.onepercentfortheplanet.org), where the proceeds go towards environmental causes that help create a healthy planet.

bob armani
2 weeks ago

Takes 12 swipes ahh? A little annoying. Hope we can control which dealers are displayed at the bottom of the forum page in the future. I only have 2 due to the area I live in is my best guess. I also have my alerts covered by the map as JayVee has indicated. I just go to a different page when opening...

JayVee
2 weeks ago

It’s looking a lot better as others mentioned. However, the forum is still a ‘one way trip’ on mobile in the sense that if you click on EBR icon (top left hand corner), it keeps you in the forum instead of bringing you to the review section as on the desktop version.

The list of dealers at the bottom of the display is absolutely daunting. I counted 37 of them on mobile (IOS safari and Chrome), all in California. The number seems a bit excessive as it takes about 12 swipes to get to the bottom of the page. The desktop version only shows 4 or 5 local dealers which is amply sufficient.

JayVee
3 weeks ago

Just to clarify my post #70 (because I can't edit). When you click on the big EBR icon in the upper lefthand corner in a desktop browser, it brings you to the review section. But when you do that in the mobile version, it brings you back to the main forum page.

Ravi Kempaiah
4 months ago

BMS = battery management system.
51.4 is the current voltage in that 48V battery.
The battery voltage changes from 54v to 42v and, 48v is the median, nominal voltage.
Looks like your battery was roughly 80% charged.

BlondAngel
4 months ago

Hi,
While there is a youtube video on how to change the C7 display from mph to kph, it doesn't explain what all the words and numbers mean on the display. I mean, I know what PAS is but it has some icons and no explanation of what they mean. Is there an online manual for this? It has 'trip 1' and 'trip 2' but I would like to know the total number of miles -- any way to find out? How do I zero out trip 2? I was able to zero out trip 1 but not trip 2. Also the display shows 'BMS' and a number like 51.4. What does BMS mean in this context?

Ravi Kempaiah
5 months ago

That means your brakes are engaged. The brakes have motor cut off and whenever you engage the brakes, the power cuts out and the display shows this icon. it is not related to performance issues at all.

Tim Reilly
5 months ago

Thanks Smitty I gave it a shot.The Service icon location is a valuable tool to locate what the TMM OR TORQUE VALUES ARE.In isolating potiental issues with the TMM offset and base line values.

smitty
5 months ago

Did you go into the "Service" Menu to reset the torque? Here's how in case you did not:

1. Set the bike on the main screen that has Lock, Off, Sensor, Move, Menu.
2. Pull and hold the right brake lever.
3. While holding the right brake lever, push the Menu icon.
4. While holding the a Menu icon, release the brake lever.
5. Continue holding the Menu icon until the screen automatically takes you to the MENU.
6. Scroll down to SERVICE and select it.
7. In SERVICE, select SETTINGS.
8. reset torque sensor
9. Press the On / Off switch underneath the top tube to exit this menu.

Received from another Stromer Forum member sometime ago...

harryS
6 months ago

Depends on your controller. I own a few controllers that are designed to run on either 36V or 48V. I have one 36V only controller that would blow up at 48V. My BBS02 controller will run at 48V and 52V, but not at 36V.

All of my own 36V/48V controllers have been run at 36, 48, and 52V, so I know they have no high voltage cutoff. Meanwhile, they can set the low voltage cutoff properly for 36V and 48V, but not for 52V. You have to count on the battery BMS shutting down the battery if voltage gets too low.

As for the LCD, depends on that too. While icon is off on 52V, if your LCD can display the actual voltage, that should be relatively correct. I know mine show the proper 58.6V when my freshly charged 52V pack is attached.

None of my bikes have speed limiters. They go faster with higher voltage. A bike with a speed limiter might accelerate faster but then you;re stuck with max speed.

James Alderson
6 months ago

I still just can't decide between the fat and the comp 6fattie full suspension. Both are deeply discounted with about 20 percent off for being a 2017 with the 2018's already available. I have a Haibike (my icon) Cross SL that I am loving, but do want something more trail rated to ride the rougher stuff with. None of it matters though as I can hardly get out of bed after a fairly short ride yesterday... old and fat does not work well for biking...lol.

Steven James DeBlasi
3 months ago

Is this motor powerful enough to climb Seattle's hills? And is this motor a Chinese brand?

Jon Neet
6 months ago

I like the way this ebike is designed. First, I like that it comes with fenders and a rack. Where I live, near Hilo Hawaii, we can have super hard rains with no warning. Nice to not have to pay extra for fenders. Next, I really like that is has cast magnesium wheels. I have not got the skills to true wheels, so to me, this is a great feature. The motor seems a little weak compared to all the 500 and 750 watt motors out there. Also the Ness website says the batteries are 36 watt 13 ah, which seems a might lower spec too. The range of up to 30 miles might just barely suit my needs, but I prefer at least a rated pedal-assisted 40 mile range. I don't see any uprated batteries available for these yet. I'm kind of overwhelmed at the huge range of available ebikes. Ness says free shipping in the US. Most will not honor that when shipping to Hawaii or Alaska. I have a bad right knee, so the lower step through frame might be better in my case. Your reviews are a treasure trove of information.

Carpenter Family
6 months ago

Great folding eBike for city at low price (& free US shipping) plus free accessories ( rack & fenders .) I think they'll sell a ton of these.
But for me I'm saving my pennies for the RadRover as I'll be taking trails off the urban path.

Commissar Gamza
6 months ago

Hey sir! still love and watch your videos, still got that E-joe bike from about 2-3 years ago and it's still going strong. I was wondering if all possible you could try and fit in some more self conversion kits for review. there seems to be a lot of kits out there perhaps a generic VS name brand ones with the same specs to compare which is better? just a thought. tyvm for the videos.

Commissar Gamza
6 months ago

I have the 2015 model (got it in 2014) it's still holding up well, the only thing i had to do was replace the tires from a few flats but thats bound to happen lol. it's a solid bike! 3 levels power assist, and throttle.

courtney edwards
6 months ago

Commissar Gamza I'm a delivery guy who's looking into buying a electric bike how well is the E-joe bike

Andrew Hunter
6 months ago

Very wobbly i don't think they would cope with all the potholes on my daily commute but do look nice.

Shane Crowley
6 months ago

kudos due, amazing how u have the time to review so many bikes! how do u get your hands on so many ps if it was your money what are your top three tested bike of all time???

Yes Yes
6 months ago

You're unique and way ahead by probably 5 years till all this catches on.

THE QUIET CYCLIST
6 months ago

It's very similar to my bike, the Volt metro. (UK) The flip up saddle is a better idea, mine doesn't have that. I have Kevlar tyres.

Isaiah Yhomas
6 months ago

Is there a 500w + motor option? Can't climb hills with 350w.

NFmangatoo
6 months ago

You need to try to review the Joulvert’s Electric Bikes.

They have a few. They are not well known but I think they have decent bikes.

esmir celebic
6 months ago

Hey. Great job on all reviews. Have you run into anybody doing fixed gear with torque sensor, where you can use regen to slow the bike down on the "resist" , basically double sided torque sensor.

guy idel
6 months ago

42V

CCLASH GOD
6 months ago

How much did it cost

Jonathan Mansur
6 months ago

hi, it costs $1395. Please visit www.nessbikes.com

Joe Rogan lives
6 months ago

I just bought a VeeGo folding fat tire EBike. It looks like the white bike you just reviewed only heavier and the rack is part of the frame.

Seb K
6 months ago

I've seen these mag wheels with built in motors on Ebay . I am tempted as the roads are getting worse in London and my 20" wheels need truing all the time .

Major Twang
6 months ago

I would love to see a review of a good/cheap rear 20" gear hub ebike kit.

My aim is to find a kit with only a thumb throttle, battery and 20" rear wheel gear hub for the cheapest price possible.

I have a Dayon Mariner that i would use the kit on.

I wish Hill Topper would make one.

Major Twang
6 months ago

Yes i did...but to no avail...;?)

I can't imagine that there is no market for 20"" e-wheels.

Good company in Vanvouver, but price above my budget at 1,000$.

Few good companies in China, but i'm reluctant to order from Asia.

In the mean time, i am learning how to build battery packs and i do enjoy your great reviews.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Hmm, have you reached out to Hill Topper? Maybe this feedback could help to push them in that direction :)

samz1069
6 months ago

When are you going to get your hands on a Sondor's FoldX!
The ship has arrived! People on Facebook are raving about it still waiting on my black and red Xmod!

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Sweet, when and where was the meet and ride that you attended? Sounds like a great time :)

samz1069
6 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Sondors said At the meet and ride that he expects the fold to take over as his number one selling bike!he said it took over a year to design and build!
500 W motor on the X version you should be seeing them around....like I said before the ship has landed!

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Cool! I'm not sure, they reached out to me a while back but never followed up. I'll try to find and film one in the wild eventually ;)

actnowone
6 months ago

Another excellent review, there’s a lot of these budget folding bikes around starting at $800 USD up over. I suppose the bike is judged on specs, affordability and type of use but you really need to consider what accessories are available. Brompton and Tern seem to offer the best range of accessories but both are expensive folding bike manufacturers.

I’ve been waiting for you’re review of the Gepida Miliaria Pro folding bike with the Bosch performance Nyon centre belt drive? This bike offers built in GPS, Bluetooth and a host of other goodies. There’s also a cheaper version of the bike starting at around $2.700 USD so would be great if you could review both at the same time.

actnowone
6 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Yep, please do, also would love you're take on the Giant Explore E+1 GTS if that's at inter-bike? The new 2018 model is showing on the Giant website in Germany so looks like I will need to import it into the UK as they don't sell it here for some strange reason?

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Nice, I'll keep an eye out for those two. Interbike is coming up so perhaps I'll find one there!

supernova1976
6 months ago

The design is quite ugly and the wheels are very ugly, I don't know why can't they make a better looking small bike. Look at Dahon , Brompton etc.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
6 months ago

supernova1976 Agreed, this is one clownish looking bike 👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎.
Great review though Courtney ☺☺☺ 👌👌👌👌.

"CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

Bestoink Dooley
6 months ago

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I think it looks good. Step-through bikes don't look as kool, but they are so very easy to mount and dismount and Dayon doesn't make a step-through e-bike. I like disc brakes because you don't have to keep adjusting brakes to prevent them from rubbing on the wheel rim. Dayon's 20" electric bikes don't have disc brakes. And those mag wheels you think are ugly are maintenace free, no loose or broken spokes. I love them. Bromptons are hugely expensive.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder I guess, the fancier bikes tend to have fewer graphics and look more professional to me. This one is bright and fun (with lots of color combinations) so maybe it's aiming for a younger market?

Daniel S.
6 months ago

It os a bit expensive for such smal bike XD

Major Twang
6 months ago

I agree.

I purchased a 20'' folding ebike in 1996 from Canadian Tire for 500$Can.

It was a cheap aluminium 20" folding e-bike with terrible brakes, rear 250w gear hub and heavy 24 volts lead battery.

I had lots of fun riding it for 2 years.

Moved on to a 26'' Hill Topper front hub.

But prefer nimble 20" folder.

I'm in the market for a rear kit for my Dahon Mariner 20" folder.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Ha! It's interesting how with some technology you end up paying more for the smaller size. It could definitely be lighter but given the frame design and all of those accessories I feel like it's on par with competing products, especially in this price range