Ness Rua Review

Ness Rua Electric Bike Review
Ness Rua
Ness Rua 25 Kg Rear Rack Adjustable Kickstand And Light
Ness Rua 546 Wh Battery Pack Removable Keyed On Off Switch
Ness Rua Combined Lcd Console And Button Pad
Ness Rua Integrated Adjustable Headlight Qr Wheel
Ness Rua 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Derailleur
Ness Rua Plastic Chain Guide Folding Pedals
Ness Rua Folded Side Shot Derailleur Guard Protector
Ness Rua Folded E Bike
Ness Rua Folding Electric Bike
Ness Rua Electric Bike Review
Ness Rua
Ness Rua 25 Kg Rear Rack Adjustable Kickstand And Light
Ness Rua 546 Wh Battery Pack Removable Keyed On Off Switch
Ness Rua Combined Lcd Console And Button Pad
Ness Rua Integrated Adjustable Headlight Qr Wheel
Ness Rua 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Derailleur
Ness Rua Plastic Chain Guide Folding Pedals
Ness Rua Folded Side Shot Derailleur Guard Protector
Ness Rua Folded E Bike
Ness Rua Folding Electric Bike

Summary

  • A colorful folding electric bike with sturdy cast rims, strong rear rack, wide alloy fenders, and LED lights, the suspension fork and slightly wider tires improve comfort
  • The 12-magnet cadence sensor is responsive and doesn't require much effort to activate, just keep the crank arms turning, twist-throttle on demand helps you get going
  • Decent 160 mm mechanical disc brakes with motor inhibiting levers improve safety, nice bell on the left, plastic chain guide, folding support arm, and steel derailleur guard
  • Basic 7-speed Shimano Tourney cassette and derailleur gets the job done but uses a larger shifter mechanism that can require more effort, a bit heavy at ~52 lbs, two-step on/off and key must stay in the battery when riding

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Ness

Model:

Rua

Price:

$1,395

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive, 5 Year Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

52.2 lbs (23.67 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.05 lbs (3.19 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Unfolded Dimensions: 17" Seat Tube Length, 21.25" Reach, 22.5" Stand Over Height, 24" Width, 64" Length, Folded Dimensions: 19.5" Width, 35" Length, 26" Height

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

Gloss Black with Yellow Accents, Gloss White with Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Zoom Aria Spring Suspension, 40 mm Travel, Preload Adjust, 100 mm Hub, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney Derailleur, MF-TZ21 Cassette 14-28T

Shifter Details:

Shimano SiS Index Thumb Shifter on Right

Cranks:

Prowheel, Forged Alloy, 170 mm Length, 52T Chainring with Plastic Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo Plastic Platform, Folding

Headset:

Neco, 1-1/8" Threadless, Internal Cups

Stem:

Alloy, 290 mm Base Height, 0 mm to 90 mm Telescoping Height Adjust, 25.4 mm Clamp Diameter

Handlebar:

Alloy, Flat, 600 mm Length

Brake Details:

Zoom Z-Star Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Zoom Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Rubber, Ergonomic, Black

Saddle:

Velo

Seat Post:

Steel, Flip Forward Clamp

Seat Post Length:

390 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

28.6 mm

Rims:

Cast Magnesium

Spokes:

Bladed, 6 Spoke Arms

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 20" x 1.75" (47-406)

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

40 to 65 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Aluminum Alloy Fenders (60 mm Width), Aluminum Alloy Rack with Spring Latch (25 kg 55 lb Max Weight), Integrated Blaze-Light HL1700 Headlight, Independent Spanninga Duxo Backlight (2 AA Batteries)

Other:

Locking Removable Silverfish Battery Behind Seat Tube, 1.5 lb 2 Amp Charger, Folding Support Bar at Bottom Bracket, Steel Derailleur Guard, 250 lb Max Weight

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

JB-105-10

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

200 watts

Motor Peak Output:

350 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

42 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

546 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Backlight, Greyscale, LCD Console (Hold Up for Lights, Hold Down for Walk Mode, Tap Power to Cycle Through Trip Stats, Power Off then On and Hold Up and Down for Settings)

Readouts:

Battery Capacity (4 Bars), Timer, Assist Level (0-5), Current Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, Trip Distance, Odometer, Voltage,

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (12 Magnet Cadence Disc, Throttle Limited by Assist Level)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Ness Rua is a sturdy, fairly adjustable, folding electric bike. Weighing in at ~52 lbs, it’s no the lightest e-bike around, but the quick release front wheel and removable battery pack make a big difference. It offers one of my favorite drive-mode configurations with sensitive pedal assist and throttle on demand. You get an impressive range of color choices, and the slightly fatter tires pair nicely with ergonomic grips and a basic suspension fork to reduce discomfort. Smaller wheels and tires, like these 20″ Kenda’s, are great for lowering stand over height and making the bike approachable (and compact when folded) but they don’t span cracks or potholes as easily… so the attention to comfort is a win in my book. The suspension fork does not have lockout however, which means the bike will shift and dive forward when braking hard, but this is exactly what I would expect for a $1,395 electric bike. I actually think you get a lot of value with this thing and the company has been around since 2015 so there’s a sense of stability in my mind. They offer a one year warranty, a whole bunch of color choices, and even a second frame which is slightly lower called the Icon which I reviewed separately here. I asked the folks at Ness about the name and apparently Rua means street in Portuguese. The black coloring of the frame really blends the fenders, rack, and wires… which are not as hidden or internally routed as they are on the Icon model. With the Rua, you get a slightly more masculine look but it’s still approachable. The folding joint at the center isn’t especially wide so you shouldn’t have issues bumping your knees when pedaling. I love the plastic chain guide, which will protect pants from grease and snags, and the telescoping stem and extra-long seat post make it feel natural for medium and even taller sized riders.

Driving the bike is a compact, planetary-geared hub motor that’s encased in the rear wheel. Rated from 200 to 350 watts, it may not sound as impressive as some full sized ebikes rated 350 to 500 watts, but keep in mind that the smaller wheels provide a mechanical advantage. By using a compact motor like this, Ness was able to keep weight down and use battery power more efficiently. The battery is a more powerful 42 volt design vs. many 36 volt options I have seen. In short, the motor does a fine job and I was more impressed with how responsive it was and how much control I had using the throttle. Note, that because this is a geared motor, it produces a bit more whirring noise under power. However, since this is not a mid-drive design, the motor does not interfere with the chain and derailleur at all. it’s also a lot more affordable than most mid-drives. The motor supports up to 20 mph top speed but you can actually dig into the display settings and lower the top speed if that makes you more comfortable. Smaller wheels can sometimes feel twitchy and even though the folding joints were solid, sometimes I just feel comfortable taking it easy on an e-bike like this. Another approach to lower speed is to use lower levels of assist which use less power, extending your ride, and don’t go as fast. The more frequently you juice it from standstill using the throttle, the quicker you’ll drain that pack.

Powering the motor, backlit display panel, and headlight, is a removable 42 Volt 13 Amp hour battery pack. While not as hidden as some competing folding electric bikes (which have batteries that fit into the main tube horizontally like this), it still looks good in my opinion and offers greater capacity and access without having to fold the bike. I was told that this pack contains Lithium-ion Samsung cells, which are known for being lightweight and long lasting. The black-painted Aluminum battery casing blends in with the black frame and is very durable. At the top, a plastic cover houses an LED readout to communicate how full the pack is, but you might have to turn the bike on to get it to light up? There’s also a handle at the top for sliding the battery off of the bike and carrying it around safely. Note, you have to unlock the battery before removing it by inserting the key into a slot near the base and twisting… but then pull the key out of the pack! If you leave the key in and try to slide up, you may bend the key as it collides with the left seat stay tube. I have seen and tested many electric bikes with a vertical battery design like this but not all of them felt as secure and smooth. I feel that the battery weight is well positioned on the bike and the battery itself is solid. You do have to insert the key into the pack and twist to “on” in order to ride with electric assist, and the key must remain in. For those using a keychain, this could result in some rattling noise and does raise the potential for snags… but if you just leave the key without any kind of keychain, the top portion does fold to stay out of the way which is nice. The only thing is, just leaving the key makes it easier to misplace or get stolen. I prefer battery packs that don’t have a key requirement or independent on/off switch… where you just rely on the power button at the display panel to get it going.

The LCD display on the Ness Rua was new to me, but it worked very well. It is not removable, but is positioned within reach of the left grip. I was able to reach over with my left thumb and raise or lower motor power about as easily as I was able to reach over with my right thumb to shift gears. They weren’t quiet as easy as some independent button pads and trigger shifters, but they seemed durable (the rubberized covers on the display were nice) and would be easy to interact with if you had gloves on. The display shows battery capacity, speed and trip stats (cycle through by tapping power once it’s on). You can hold the up arrow to activate backlighting and the headlight, or hold down to activate walk mode and let the bike push itself along slowly. Some other features I have seen on competing electric bikes are USB charging ports for portable electronics and adjustable-angle displays to reduce glare. Some displays from Bosch, Yamaha, and Shimano are even removable which could reduce scratches on a folding electric bike like this… but might be easier to lose as well. One thing the Rua did not have was a magnetic clasp or rubber band system to keep it folded. I suggest buying your own adjustable-length bungee cord like this to reduce noise and paint damage when transporting the bike. Perhaps this display panel could be forced forward or back, maybe if you loosen the mounting bracket just a bit you could achieve this. The wires at the front of the bike are bundled nicely with a neoprene Ness-branded wrap and even though they are exposed on the frame, they seemed securely fastened and were positioned below the main tube vs. on the top or side which could take more wear or cause scratches and snags. And there are a lot of wires at the cockpit area because of the two brake lever motor inhibitors. This is still a good looking bike for being so feature rich in my opinion.

There are many factors to consider with folding electric bikes, probably more than with full sized e-bikes… and yet, they may not be ridden as frequently. I think about weight, power, drive modes, and of course price. The Ness Rua is a product that balances comfort and utility against price very well. You get pretty much everything you need to get going and stay safe. I love the integrated adjustable headlight, and appreciate the stand-alone battery powered rear light. Sure, it would be nice if both ran off the main ebike battery, but that adds complexity and price, just make sure you shut it off after each ride to extend the life of those two AA batteries inside. The kickstand is a nice thing to have, it offers some length adjustment, and is right on the edge of being in the way of the left crank arm. I show this in the video review and think about it with relation to how the bike folds. I’d rather have a bit of collision and scraping on the Aluminum stand than no kickstand at all, or a less compact final fold dimension. Be selective about which panniers or trunk bag you get, I’d probably go for a cheap one like this with reflective accents and a bottle slot for bringing a drink. This type of bag can be very useful for transporting small personal items and the battery charger. The charger itself is compact and lightweight but only average in terms of speed. Big thanks to the founding brothers of Ness for meeting me in Vancouver and partnering with me on this review. The company is from Florida and we just happened to both be there in the same place at the same time for a really special backdrop and interesting ride.

Pros:

  • Ness is based in Florida and offers a pretty good warranty for a relatively new, smaller company, they provide one year comprehensive with five years on the frame, I like that they offer free shipping in the USA (Canada costs $200 for shipping)
  • Five color options let you personalize the bike a bit, or get a pair and have slightly different colors to keep the bikes separate, I like that the Icon model uses a white background because it will be more visible to cars in low-light conditions
  • Included fenders and a rear rack make the bike more capable if you plan on commuting, transporting groceries, or live in an area like Vancouver BC (where I filmed this) that experiences frequent rain
  • As someone who has transported a lot of e-bikes, folded them, and ridden on varied terrain using throttle and pedal assist, I have experienced chain drops frequently and seen derailleurs bend when bikes tip onto their side, so I like that the Ness bikes have plastic chain guides to keep the chain on track and a steel derailleur guard to protect the sensitive bits (including the motor cable)
  • Instead of using spokes, the Ness Icon has solid cast rims that won’t get bent as easily and can probably support more weight, they are paint-matched and look great, the rear rim encases the motor for added protection
  • While not as low as the Ness Icon model, the Rua is still very easy to approach, mount, and stand over at stops, if you have hip or knee sensitivities it shouldn’t be as difficult as a full high-step diamond bicycle
  • I love that the saddle has a lever at the back allowing it to flip forward and make way for the battery to slide on or off the frame, just make sure you unlock the pack at the base and then take the key out or you could bend the key while sliding the pack up because the left seat-stay is very close to the edge of the pack
  • The bike has 160 mm disc brakes which perform well and actually cutoff motor power (both levers have motor inhibitor switches), the left Tektro lever also has a bell built in for friendly signaling, Mechanical brakes can require a bit more hand strength to actuate compared to hydraulic but they cost less and still have some advantages over rim brakes (staying cleaner than rim brakes in wet or muddy conditions) and the smaller 20″ wheel size here is easier to stop than a larger wheel so the rotor size can also be smaller
  • Minor plus here, the seven-speed drivetrain gives you plenty of pedaling options for urban riding and the large thumb-shifter, while basic, is easy to understand and use for most people I speak with, it may also work better with gloves than tiny triggers since the plastic levers are so big
  • Ness is using a responsive 12-magnet cadence sensor here that will start and stop faster when you are riding, but you also get a twist throttle that can override assist and work at zero which is nice given the more limited ergonomics of folding bikes
  • The headlight runs off of the main battery pack and is controlled by the display panel, the rear light requires two AA batteries and has its own on/off switch but is positioned nicely below the rack so it won’t get blocked or bumped, both lights are name brand (Blaze-Light and Spanninga) and fairly large, it’s cool that they come included
  • Considering the relatively low price and feature set here, I feel like the bike offers a lot of value and appreciate that it comes with an LCD display vs. a 3-led console or something very basic, the display isn’t perfect (the battery indicator only has four bars) but it is easy to read, easy to reach and interact with, allows you to enter settings like top-speed (to make it slower if you want), and I think it looks nice
  • The Rua looks especially clean because the paint job is black and so are the wide alloy fenders, rear rack, stem, seat post, and handlebars
  • I like how convenient it is to get the battery pack off, just flip the saddle forward with the little lever underneath and then use the integrated plastic handle to slide it up (once it is unlocked), the handle is a great feature so you don’t drop the battery pack… many folding e-bike designs require you to fold the bike to get the pack off but that is not the case here
  • The folding joint at the middle of the frame is not as wide as some other models I have seen from competing companies and this is good because it reduces leg and knee bumps while pedaling

Cons:

  • Sometimes folding electric bikes have magnets, rubber straps, or other tie-down mechanisms to keep them from rattling and clinking together or unfolding during transport, the Rua does not have this but at least it has a metal support tube that’s welded onto the bottom bracket to help protect the plastic chain guide and stabilize the bike when folded
  • Cast may be heavier than spokes and don’t flex as much for comfort, but given the small 20″ wheel diameter, spokes would probably have felt rigid as well so I love the choice of ergonomic grips (even though they aren’t locking and could twist easier) and the suspension fork (even though it doesn’t have lockout)
  • This bike only comes in one frame size which is very similar to the Ness Icon, so it’s great that the stem telescopes upwards to match the seat post and provide some different fit options, this allows for taller riders to optimize leg extension
  • Minor gripe here but it appears that the right chainstay does not have a slap guard, this isn’t as big of a deal given how short the chainstays are and how large the chainring is… and you could always add one yourself like this aftermarket
  • The battery pack design stands out a bit, there are other folding e-bikes that have tube-integrated batteries but they often don’t provide as much capacity or quick removability without folding, at least the pack is positioned towards the middle of the frame for balance and is black to blend in with the black paint job
  • In order to activate this ebike, you have to put the key into the battery pack ignition and turn to on… and then leave it in there, you can’t take the key out while riding and this means it could rattle around or get snagged (especially if you have a keychain and other keys attached) but at least the key folds and the ignition slot is positioned high up and mostly out of the way
  • As with most folding electric bikes I review, the Ness Icon does not have bottle cage bosses, consider using a trunk bag like this with a bottle holster if you plan on bringing water for a longer ride
  • The kickstand is mounted near the bottom bracket by the left crank arm, not quite far back enough to stay completely out of the way if you walk the bike backward but it does sort of push to the side if you force it so it’s not quite as inconvenient
  • The fenders, rear rack, and key can produce a bit of rattle noise when riding on bumpy terrain, you can see and hear this in the video, the motor also produces some whirring noise under full power
  • I was comparing the Rua mid-step to the lower Ness Icon model and noticed that the wiring wasn’t as clean, they were tacked onto the outside vs. internally routed
  • This folding ebike weighs about 52 lbs, which is not light, but you get the larger battery capacity, stronger rims, fenders, rack etc. and at least you can take the front wheel off easily with quick release and slide the 7.2 lb battery off quickly as well
  • Minor grip here, the folding pedal design is not as easy as some others I have seen, you have to push the whole platform in vs. pulling a loop like on this bike

Resources:

More Ness Reviews

Ness Icon Review

  • MSRP: $1,395
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sturdy, wave style step-thru, folding electric bike available in a wide range of colors, comes with lots of useful accessories like a rack, fenders, and LED lights. Removable high-capacity battery pack is easy to charge on or off the bike thanks to…...

Sandro
6 months ago

The customer service alone for this bike is worth the trip! I have been looking online for some time at electric bikes hoping to find something that would strike my fancy. Although I have been scouting around for some time, I had actually wanted to take a test ride and lay my hands on one before I committed to spending so much money. That’s when I was so excited when I found out that there was a Ness showroom just a few miles south of me in Miami. I’ve always been the sort of person who likes to try something before I buy, and this was an excellent option.

I quickly GPSed myself there and arrived in about 20 minutes. It was when I walked in that the trouble began and I saw so many beautiful, incredible bikes of different types and colors and I simply wanted to buy the entire store! That was when a nice salesman came up and helped me figure out the kinds of things that I wanted to do with my electric bike, the color, and which kind. I decided to go with the excellent Ness Rua, and he even let me take it out for a test ride! It was absolutely incredible. Powerful, too! That bike can go over 30 miles an hour! I had wanted to have a friend pick up my car and simply take my bike back home the old-fashioned way. The Ness Rua has been a huge benefit to my life.

Reply
court
6 months ago

Awesome! It sounds like you’ve had a great experience Sandro, thanks for sharing your positive energy with your comment. I hope the Ness Rua holds up great for you and I welcome you to chime in again in the future as you get a chance to ride it more. Where was the store that you got it? Feel free to post the name or a link to help others :)

Reply
Sandro
6 months ago

Hi Court! Thanks for the reply.

I actually want directly to the Ness showroom that they have in Brickell Miami, This is their address: 40 SW 13 Street, PH Level – Show Room att the Infinity Building, Miami, FL 33130

I love your site and I will make sure to put more comments as I ride more my Ness!

Karlos
4 weeks ago

My grandma is a very finicky buyer. She refuses to buy online and will only buy something which she has minutely inspected. That was why it was with great dread and loathing that my mom made me drive my grandma to an electric bike showroom, in Miami FL, for her to pick out a new bike for herself. As I suspected, grandma was very nitpicky, but to my surprise, the sales associate on the showroom floor was nothing but kind and accommodating. After a couple of hours of languishing between different bicycles, my grandma finally decided to set her sights on the Ness Rua.

The sales associate spent the better part of an hour demonstrating various features, answering every single minor technical question she had, and even letting her test ride it. I think it was the test ride that finally put it over the top because when she came back, she was ecstatic. This was what she wanted. And surprisingly for a woman who takes several hours looking at one bike, she was quick to fork over her money as soon as she had made her decision. However, props to the sales team at Ness, you guys have the patience of a saint.

Reply
court
3 weeks ago

Wow, that’s a heartwarming story Karlos. Good on you for being so patient and kind with your grandma. I can tell that she has raised some good kinds and that you as her grandchild are also a good man. It’s neat to hear your story about the shop in Florida… did you go to an official Ness dealer or to their headquarters? Please comment back on where exactly you went so that it can become a great resource for other potential customers in the area who also want the ride-test experience :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Dewey
1 hour ago

I commute from Arlington to the District of Columbia on a Class 2 ebike and there are no safe on-street road crossings of the Potomac for ebikes or pedal bicycles, all the bridges are fast 45mph arterial roads (not legally of course, that’s just the speed the traffic goes). I am obliged to ride on the bridge sidewalks and I break DC municipal regulations both ways in order to cross the river safely. With Uber/Jump advocating for change there’s a good chance the District will revise its regulations in the next year or two to permit Class 1 & 2 ebikes to ride on sidewalks outside the central business district, although the prohibition from trails and sidewalks on National Park Service land will likely remain in place. On the way home after I cross the river I get off the trails as soon as practical to ride on the street to avoid having to pass pedal bikes going up hill.

Investor9872
4 hours ago

My wife and I took my new Rover and her Step-Thru out for our first ride today along the beach on the hard pavement bike path, and it was a beautiful experience. Mid way through our ride, we switched bikes for comparison. Wow! My wife's Step-Thru bike does feel like our Porsche compared to my heavy, less nimble, less responsive Rover. The difference was night and day. My wife refused to go past PAS 1 because she felt that her bike was going too fast. The cadence sensor on hers was so responsive. I had to put my Rover to PAS 2 in order to have a similar pedaling experience as her Step-Thru, but it was still lacking that bit of sharpness in the pedal response and acceleration. Another surprise was that her Step-Thru bike free-wheels or coasts a lot better than my Rover. At first I thought that was due to the hefty weight of the Rover. But the Step-Thru has brake regeneration, which inherently has a bit of a drag due to the magnetic coils in the motor, yet it coasts 2x-3x better than my Rover when I was riding it.

After I got home, I decided to put my bike upside down and spin the wheels. I noticed a constant noise from both wheels as they spun around, and saw that there was no spacing between the outer brake pads and my brake disks on both the back and the front wheels. Both of the inner brake pads have a millimeter or two of space between them and the brake disks. I can adjust the inner brake pad distance with the adjustable knob. But is there any way to adjust the OUTER brake pads so that they are not touching my brake disks?

Dynamo Dan
7 hours ago

If it helps you any, I ordered my bike on May 12th and had it delivered on June 12th. One month exactly. In fairness their website clearly stated that they were out of stock and that they were taking preorders back in May. I live a couple of hours away from their Vancouver HQ so shipping to me could not have been any easier. If you live outside the Pacific Northwest, obviously there will additional delays as the bike will have to be handled by multiply carriers. At the moment it seems like a 4 to 5 week wait is normal.

Falco Support
13 hours ago

Dear Mr. Nelson,

I wish to thank you for your continued interest in our company and products. Please see answers below:

1. Are you still pushing the six-phase motor?
Our motor technology is based on 5-phase motor architecture and is now patented. You may read about it here: http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/review-of-ebike-motor-technologies/. We have two patents granted and several pending. Our latest evolution called eDrive is the integration with virtual reality training program such as Zwift. Here is the link to that: http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/Falco-edrive/.
Here are some comparisons for you to review:
http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/falco-vs-bionx-dseries-comparison-with-falco-f7-series/
http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/falco-vs-bionx-pseries-comparison-with-falco-e5-series/
http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/falco-comparison-with-the-copenhagen-wheel-superpedestrian/

2. How many US dealers sold more than 3 last year?
In order to stay a dealer, they have to sell a minimum of six systems a year. I am happy to send a dealer application and agreement if you like.

3. Why Trikes, recumbents, tandems, and cargo bikes? What's up with regular bicycles?
Our product is quite premium. Regular bicycle market has gone to very low price points and bicycle owners do not have the budget to afford our system.

4. Why were you selling the product when it apparently did not work reliably?
We offer 5-year warranty in the market. Why do we offer that warranty if there were reliability concerns? Even Bosch does not offer more than 2 years. Why are they selling their product even after having recalled twice? Why does Toyota continue to sell its cars after having recalled so many times? Why does Pedego continue to sell their bikes after having recalled 5000 Lithium batteries not so long ago?

5. What is your lowest price functional motor kit?
Kit is a derogatory word to describe our product. I request you not to use it. Here is the http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/ebike-systems/?setCurrencyId=1 of our systems. Lowest is $1895.

6. If the UK dealer was so poorly equipped to handle your product, why did you allow him to become a dealer?
In business, it is called the learning curve. Business is a great teacher. You learn from your mistakes.

7. Referencing #6, why did you sell him so much product?
We did not sell him a lot. He had a number of prototypes and sales samples which were developed during the development stage and used during Eurobike.

8. Does Harry receive a salary, or straight commission?
Mr. Harry does not receive a salary or commission. He has placed his order recently and is very excited about it. He shared his excitement with this forum.

9. What turn-key ebikes are manufactured using your motor kit?
Our product is expensive for OEM applications. OEMs are normally looking for extremely low price points. Nevertheless, here are some who use Falco Systems.
Terra Trike EVO
Utah Trikes
WeWatt
Santana Tandem
Cobrane
etc.

10. Does anyone else on the planet make a controller compatible with your motor?
No. Our controller is embedded inside the motor.

11. Do you know who Eric Hicks is, and why he is not pushing his "double-speed, double-torque" motor anymore?
I know Mr. Hicks very well. I do not know about his products or his business model in great detail. I am Sorry.

Please do let us know additional questions or comments.

Sincerely,
Rakesh Dhawan

bluecat
13 hours ago

From a picture above, you already know there must be a inverse function on the display. This is true. The brightness sensor switches to the night design when darkness appears. This is to avoid being dazzled by the bright white display. You can activate the inversion also by hand, if you prefer it. Overall, the 2018 color display is easier to read, even if there are some reflection on the screen.

The advertising mentioned the "second screen" function. With this, the content of the display shall be extended to your mobile device. As stated above, we did not test this.

Apart from this funktion, the mobile phone could work as a GPS device with roadmaps. From the video made by InSight Show I've extracted this videostill. You see the socket of the mobile device mount and the rear view mirror. I've no clue about the mirror - is it a special wish from the owner or will it be the standard.

Thomas Jaszewski
19 hours ago

We’re blessed by small city living. Every block, 300’x300’, has 6’ sidewalks. It is only illegal in the downtown business district. Once again it just takes common sense. In difficult, read more dangerous, areas it’s very common to see older riders using the sidewalks and crossings. Common sense dictates all riders have a proper bell to warn walkers and other users well in advance. That often means no more then 1 or 2 others in a one mile ride. Yeah small town! (28,000)

jasonatepaint
20 hours ago

In an attempt to make a tl;dr, here's the highlights:

[*]Purchased the Juggernaut Ultra 8 months ago.

[*]Paid for upgraded suspension and got the standard suspension.
[*]Brakes were listed as hydraulic and I got mechanical
[*]I had this bike for a couple weeks with quality control issues and required several trips to my local eBike shop to have them make adjustments.

[*]Continuous issues and ultimately the motor fails and I contact Roshan to get it replaced. There are none in stock, so I have to wait for a new batch.

[*]I notice they have "limited stock" for the Juggernaut Ultra FS. I inquire about it and told it's not actually in stock, but that I could upgrade to it and it would be available in February.
[*]The bike is shipped back to Roshan

[*]In late May, the bike is finally making it's way to me. Before it ships, I verify with Roshan (multiple times) the specs of the Ultra FS to make sure, namely, that it had hydraulic brakes. I am assured they are hydraulic brakes.
[*]The bike arrives to my local UPS depot. They contact me because the box is so poorly packed and is damaged. They bring it out for inspection and the entire bottom of the box is blown out and the front forks are hanging out.

[*]The bike was put into a very thin, single-walled box. Nothing tied down and no padding.
[*]While inspecting the bike, I notice that on top of minor damage (that I could visually see), it also had mechanical brakes on it... AGAIN!

[*]I refused the shipment and began the refund process.

Eight months ago I started looking for a new “fast” eBike. It was going to be my third and I wanted to go all out on something. After a lot of searching, I realized that many companies were using the same motor/controller (Bafang Ultra) systems and frames. I figured all parts equal, that good customer service could make the sale. And that’s exactly what happened. After a weekend chat with Roshan Thomas, the owner of Biktrix, which was almost rapid fire (at all hours of the day/night) to answer every single question I had. There was never a “No”, it was always, “Sure. We can do that”. I was smitten and immediately pulled the trigger and bought the Juggernaut Ultra with the 20ah battery. At $3659, It checked almost all of my boxes.

Eight months later, what I learned was that quick responses does NOT equal a great customer experience. At first I really was amazed with Biktrix. I thought this was a guy who really loved eBikes. But what I experienced was someone who would say what ever he had to, to make the sale... A used car salesman.

I was given false information often... beyond shipping dates. I understand dealing with shipments from China and Customs can slow things down, but the false statements and lies through omission were outrageous. They included:

[*]Website showed the Juggernaut Ultra with hydraulic brakes. According to Roshan:
[*]Website had a $160 upgrade for Top Gun suspension. Showed up w/stock suspension. When I ask, Roshan tells me:
[*]Website showed that the Juggernaut Ultra FS has "limited stock". When I inquire about upgrading, Roshan tells me:
[*]Website STILL shows that the Ultra FS has hydraulic brakes. It arrived with mechanical brakes. According to Roshan:

[*]First thing.... no, they were not in the box. Although I told him I did not look thru the entire box, I did (to see what sort of lie I would get at this point)... and they were NOT in the box. It's possible they fell out of the box as it had holes in it. See attached picture.
[*]Secondly, others noted that the China factory pictures that showed the Ultras had mechanical brakes. Roshan noted that the bikes are shipped to Canada and they put on all the upgrades. So if that was the case, WHY would the hydraulic brakes not be installed instead of shoved in a box?

[*]The Shipment dates shifted every month.

[*]February - Original ship date
[*]March - Roshan says:
[*]April - Roshan says:
[*]May - After asking again and telling Roshan the original date was February, I am told:

[*]It's true, I did switch to the Ultra FS... but as he already stated previously, both bikes were shipping at the same time.

Bottom Line
I'm a reasonable person and understand a business like this can be difficult and competitive. Roshan is very easy to work with. You'll never get a "No, we can't do that" response. While I always got a fast response from him, I never knew what was actually true. It always felt like a "Will he notice?" approach to pushing his product. The most important part is to get the bike into someone's hands and deal with the fallout/lies later.

That was the bizarre part, for me, as a business model.... instead of marketing and selling a product w/accurate specs, his website over promises w/inaccurate specs and hopes that only a percentage will notice/speak up. For the ones that do, he's willing to spend hours wheeling and dealing to find a way to fix the problem.

I ended up buying an FLX Blade (not a fat tire that I was originally going for), but uses the same Bafang Ultra. I ordered on a Thursday and had the bike shipped to Austin by the following Tuesday. It was double-boxed with everything tied down. Additionally, the website's information was 100% accurate... including it's 203mm rotors and quad piston hydraulic brakes... something you REALLY need for a bike w/this motor on it. The Blade has been amazing and the buying experience exactly what I had hoped the Biktrix would be.
------

NOTE: To the person in the US that got my used 20ah battery, I hope it was sold to you as a used battery. Instead of shipping everything back to Canada, I was given a FedEx form to ship the battery and charger to another customer in the US to avoid the cost/customs charges. This seemed shady to me, but I complied to speed the processing of my refund.

P.S. Here's how the Ultra FS showed up before I ultimately refused the shipment

Rakesh Dhawan
21 hours ago

Dear Mr. Nelson,

Thank you for your interest in Falco.

Mr. Harry forwarded this thread to me. I thought it necessary to clarify few points as you have some knowledge about Falco.

I am afraid to say that Your facts are incorrect and outdated about Falco. That Dealer you refer to was a great friend of mine in the UK. I miss him everyday. We were like two brothers from different mothers. We were starting in Electric Bike business and he chose to become a dealer. He was trying to get into electric bike business with little or no resources and no ability to provide after sales support. Also, He and his staff thought they knew a lot about electric bike business and they dictated the specs of how the system should be used in spite of our repeated warnings. We learnt a great lesson. We do not allow that kind of discretion to any of our dealers today unless you are an OEM. When that Dealer faced a medical problem, he chose to get out of electric bike business. That was back in 2013.

Other fact is called Product evolution. Here are some questions for you to think about which could provide you some insight into Falco as a brand, as a philosophy and as a way to engineer.

1. Is BionX still in business?
2. What year did they start?
3. What customers do they have?
4. What problems did they face?
5. How did their product evolve over the years?
6. How many times did Bosch do a recall of their products in Europe?
7. Why Bosch is still in Business?
8. What year did Falco start?
9. What products Falco offered before and now?
10. How has Falco product evolved over the years?
11. What other products does Falco market or sell?
12. And the last but not the least, which company has the highest warranty in the world?

Answer to these questions will lead you to how Falco thinks about Electric Bike industry and how we plan to move forward.

Otherwise, please try not to downplay our tremendous sacrifice, blood and sweat, passion, commitment and entrepreneurship in making a small difference in the electric Bike space.

We have over 150 dealers in the US and several small OEMs. We specialize in converting Trikes, Recumbents, Tandems, Cargo bikes etc.

Our journey, Mr. Nelson has been to stay focused and deliver an extraordinary product to the market. We learn and improve every day and we have a very long list of extremely passionate and committed fans who use their Falco everyday for last several years. These fans know about our tremendous passion and staying power.

We have succeeded in making a difference in the life of countless number of our seniors and we will continue to do so.

I do not wish to sell my product to you or anyone. I do care about making a difference in people’s lives using our technology. That has been our driving force and our greatest passion.

I am happy to answer any additional questions or comments you may have.

Sincerely,
Rakesh Dhawan
President
Falco eMotors Inc.

mrgold35
1 day ago

You can adjust the switch on top of the right fork to either:
- lock the forks in place in the 6 o'clock position, or
- moving to the 12 o'clock position to allow some suspension bounce over bumps

I don't think the switch is made for any other location other than 12 or 6 positions? There isn't any click or resistance in the 6 or 12 position to let you know you are there and you can rotate past those points. Be careful not to rotate to far beyond those positions (no go from 7-11 positions) because the knob can pop off the top of the fork. Just pop it back on if you do. So far, the knob has stayed in place when I over rotated and popped off (it also stays in the correct position when riding).

The knob on the left fork allows you to adjust the amount of stiffness you feel while riding when the forks are in the open position. Turning that knob clockwise will let you fine tune the amount of suspension travel over bumps for the rider's weight. I think I twisted the knob around 5-6 times 360 degrees to get the right amount of feel for my wife.

Reid
1 day ago

CCS owners, do not forget that the stock fork has adjustable spring tension.

And if it is adjusted to float the load, it works pretty well! It's just heavy!

Until I learned to adjust my bike's NCX, it did very little shock absorbing.

The spring was preloaded much too strong.

Also, for preservation, it is really helpful to frequently wipe the chrome tube portions with an oily cloth, per Suntour maintenance directions, to keep the seals lubricated and reduce scoring of the tubes and wear to the plastic guide bushings inside.

Also, there are two, tiny plastic plugs covering two unused screw holes on the black tube portion. Water will get in there if the plugs are missing and water ingress will begin ruining the fork with corrosion.

I hose my bike off, spray the chrome tube area with the hose to get off the sand, and the wipe with an oily cloth, per the Suntour maintenance directions. I do this almost every other day because I ride daily. Cleanliness really keeps a bike newer longer.

The NCX damps well and soaks up much of the worst of road bumps for 170lb-me when I set to sag generously, about 1/3 or 1/2 of its travel, however,

I would like to own a Rock Shox instead!

And I will, someday, thanks to Youth's creation of this thread. I am sold on any upgrade. An air suspension shock is a lighter and more interesting device than a coil spring suspension. (thanks, Youth!) An air shock is much more complicated and unforgiving of neglect. I am definitely going to get an air shock because it works better and looks better and is more intricate and delicate. Hey! I make my living taking care of very intricate pianos. Good things require more care. And if we are able to give them the care they need, go for it. Good stuff is worth it because it makes our lives more pleasant and fun!

Gator
1 day ago

What you have described above is very similar to a stick shift car. You can shift a gear in a car by just letting off the gas and no clutch. I drove a 68 Dart with a four speed home over 40 miles without using the clutch because the linkage broke, and I mean broke. It takes a lot more finesse than with a clutch but it can be done by just letting off the gas and waiting for the gears to synchronize. With your bike just let off the pedal for 3/4 of a turn, shift, then re-engage. Practice will make it very smooth. I used this method on my analog mountain bike and it worked very well on the Giant Explore I test drove.

Ann M.
1 day ago

@ccstelmo, not sure which number you were calling, I just spoke with them a couple of weeks ago and ordered parts for a repair we're doing on a ProdecoTech bike. Use 800-943-6190, Mon- Fri 9am-5pm EST. Usually a receptionist picks up; ask to speak with Luis, their tech specialist. You will need the whole rack if your Mariner is the 48V version. They do seem to be slower returning calls if you leave a message, so keep calling until you get a person. No one is there on weekends and if you happened to call during the tropical storm a couple of weeks ago, their phones or business may have been down for a few days.

Here's a link to the https://www.prodecotech.com/contact on their website; try the email too.

TeJay
2 weeks ago

Hi everyone I am new to the bike community and could use some help. I live in New York City and I really want to get a folding ebike.

Either the ness rua or the joulvert stealth. (Links below)

https://www.joulvert.com/products/joulvert-stealth
https://www.nessbikes.com/products/rua-model-folding-ebike?variant=10153634629

Which one is better, I'm not a bike guru and right now the only difference to me is one company is in Miami and the other is in NYC.

Akatsuki69
8 months ago

@Denis Shelston have you seen ness rua ebike? Im comparing voltbike urban and ness rua. What do you think?

TJ - Theron James
2 weeks ago

Would you recommend this bike or the joulvert stealth ebike. Which one is better. I desperately need help, I can't figure out which one to buy

TJ - Theron James
2 weeks ago

I tried making a profile on the website to post in the page but I can't

Alan S
4 months ago

Can you review Nakto

Isaias Vasquez
6 months ago

Hey ebike review dude, you've been really helpful with your reviews and they have really helped me in finding my first e bike

John Casas
9 months ago

Currently own two Rad Rovers, but I'm looking to move over to folding bikes, I'd love to see you do a video on your choices in different price points. Maybe less than 1K, 1K-1.5K, 1.5K-2K and so on. Thanks... then reason for the change is that I'll be traveling with s car instead of my truck more often now.

Jeff Zekas
9 months ago

my concerns as a buyer: 1. will there be dealer support when stuff breaks? 2. What is the real world range? 3. how reliable will this bike be, say, a year or two from now?

Jonathan Mansur
9 months ago

Jeff Zekas 1. We have 5 years warranty on the frame and 1 year on all electric parts. We carry all parts so they can easily be replaced if they need to.
2. The range is 30 miles with pedal assist ( depends on the person's weight as well) . 3. This bike is very reliable, I have mine for over 2 years with no problems .

yes4me
9 months ago

How fast does it go?

Jonathan Mansur
9 months ago

yes4me They can only go 20mph per the law but you can adjust to go faster . Around 30 mph

frank doster
9 months ago

cool

Seb K
9 months ago

11:38 Woah looks like you're going backwards for a second !!!

Tung Nguyen
9 months ago

is sonders the cheapest ebike?

Tung Nguyen
9 months ago

how many ebikes you have?

TwoWheelWarrior
9 months ago

Does that thing have a Dongle?

Armando Lopez
9 months ago

✋🏻greetings from Mexico,i'm fan number 1 congratulations 🎉🎉for you channel

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Hola Armando, muchos gracias!

James Mason
9 months ago

black & yellow always looks great

James Mason
9 months ago

Seb K just something about black & yellow

Seb K
9 months ago

Glad you said that because my electric fat bike is black with yellow rims . Wasn't sure if it was a good colour choice but the other option was white and blue .

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Yeah, I agree :D

Major Twang
9 months ago

Please lets forget about the disk brakes, assist, fancy wheels, shock, seat, lights and LCD...;?)

What the world needs now is a regular quality folding 7 speed bike

(Tern or Dahon comes to mind)

a 250W high-torque-geared-rear-motor, small battery and a thumb throttle for under 700$.

Now! you're talking.

Major Twang
9 months ago

Thanks for the tip!

I check it out and it looks similar to a 20'' folder that i purchased (600$can) from Canadian Tire in 1996.

I ran it for a few years. It had a 250w geared rear wheel and a 24v (2x12v) lead batteries, no lights and the same bad brakes.

The rear drum brakes is a terrible and the front brake is not much better...:?)

I purchased Micah Toll's excellent books to help me electrify and build a battery for me Dahon Mariner.

By the time i'm finished... overall cost will probably be around 1.400$

Live and learn.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

I think Walmart is now selling an affordable folding ebike with basics like you described here and it's something like $600 https://www.walmart.com/ip/Power-Plus-Electric-Bicycle-Folding-Electric-Mountain-Bike-with-Lithium-Ion-Battery-White-SMT/610702497

Michael smith
9 months ago

I need to get a cheap electric bicycle. As Close to $1000 as possible. Don't care if it's folds. Unfortunately Kansas City doesn't have a whole lot of options for getting your e-bike repaired.

Since the motor is in the rear can you still drive the bike without a chain? (For emergencies)

Is this one worth going for?

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Yeah, I think you could ride this e-bike even if the chain fell off :)

Honky Tonk
9 months ago

Please review sub $1000 electric bikes.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Hi Honky Tonk, I keep en eye out for them but usually see more shop bikes. It's expensive to buy a bike just for review and a lot of the smaller companies aren't helping me review their products because they aren't always made as well and perhaps they don't want to be critiqued. Here are some of the more "affordable" models I have covered recently: https://electricbikereview.com/category/affordable/

Erich Straka
9 months ago

They should have removed the front brake posts since they're using disk brakes. Still needs to be improved.

Gogogordy1
9 months ago

Erich Straka Perfect place to mount supplemental lighting, or some cargo option IMO. In short...no big deal. (Might be less noticeable/objectionable if painted to match the surrounding casting)

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

They don't really get in the way or add much weight, good attention to detail there... but I think they just picked different components that looked alright and got the job done, vs. custom engineering everything, to keep the price low

Flavio Costa
9 months ago

hello, since when I signed up I accompany your videos, your explanations and your vision about EV is one of the best, but have you already tried the E-Rockit of steve gulas?

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

I have not seen or tried the E-Rockit, but I'll keep an eye out for it! Thanks for the suggestion

luis fernando
9 months ago

Range? Thanks

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Yeah, if you divide watt hours by 20 that gives a rough estimate of minimum range (or throttle range) but there are lots of factors to consider. I posted a min/max estimate in the full review on the site which is always linked in the description :)

hellraizer44
9 months ago

2:46 this is a rough calculator on determining range volts x watts / 20 = range (42x13 / 20 = 27.3 miles) of course your weight (plus cargo), terrain , weather conditions and your willingness to pedal will affect the results.

Carmine212
9 months ago

I'm sure the rims are Aluminium alloys. Of course they said magnesium cause there lighter. Aluminium alloy will be the predominant metal.

W M
9 months ago

+Michael smith an example ISO 10275. Read more here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aluminium_alloy

Michael smith
9 months ago

Max what is ISO standard?

W M
9 months ago

Alloy - this is usually Al-Mg but I think that this frame made in China and not have ISO standard. He also add Si into alloy: Al-Mg-Si