ProdecoTech Phantom X3 Review

Prodeco Phantom X3 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 500 Watt Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Battery Pack 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Twist Throttle 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Tire 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Cassette 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 500 Watt Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Battery Pack 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Twist Throttle 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Tire 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Cassette 1

Summary

  • More solid than earlier Phantom ebikes, does not fold and has reinforced battery pack supports
  • High end RockShox fork with lockout, upgraded pedals (that don't fold) and hydraulic Avid DB disc brakes
  • Larger battery provides 16 amp hours for significantly increased range

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

ProdecoTech

Model:

Phantom X3

Price:

$1,899 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 30 Day Replacement

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

59 lbs (26.76 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black

Frame Fork Details:

RockShox XC32 with Lockout

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 SRAM X7, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

SRAM X7 Grip Twist

Cranks:

Truvativ 42T x 170 Alloy

Pedals:

Truvativ Huss, Sealed Bearing

Headset:

CNC Sealed Bearing

Stem:

Truvativ Stylo 5¬ļ 100 mm

Handlebar:

Truvativ Stylo 31.8 Mid-Rise 620 mm

Brake Details:

Avid DB Hydraulic Disc

Grips:

Kraton with Alloy Lock Rings

Saddle:

Velo Plush Sport Vented

Seat Post:

Truvativ Stylo T20

Rims:

Triple Box Wide 32 mm

Spokes:

18/8 Black Stainless Steel 12G

Tire Brand:

Continental Traffic 26" x 2.1"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Double Leg Kickstand, 43.8V 2 Amp Charger, Aluminum Bash Guard on Front Ring

Other:

Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

720 watts

Battery Voltage:

38.4 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

16 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

614.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO4), 24 Cells

Charge Time:

8 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (Green, Yellow, Red)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Phantom line of electric bikes from ProdecoTech has always been capable of folding, starting with the Phantom X… even though it’s a full sized ebike with 26″ wheels. This has several drawbacks including loss of stiffness in frame and increased weight but it also makes the bike easier to store. For the Phantom X3 the company is taking a new direction and dropping the foldability feature in favor of increased ride quality and durability. Of all the ProdecoTech bikes I’ve had the chance to ride, this one’s my favorite.

The motor propelling this bike is 500 watts with a peak output of 750. That’s pretty solid and more than capable on flats with some solid hill climbing potential. It’s gearless meaning it has fewer parts to break but offers a bit less torque. It’s also super quiet and coasts frictionlessly… again, no gears. It does weigh a bit more than some gearless options and it could have been capable of regenerative braking which could reduce wear on the brake pads or top off the battery pack, but this thing already has a huge battery and that would have cost a lot more with upgraded controller and LCD computer system.

What you get with the control system on this and other ProdecoTech bikes is pure simplicity. You stick the key in… turn it, press the on button and see three LED’s light up for green yellow and red (to indicate battery level) and then you twist the throttle. It’s like riding a motorcycle but without the gears; anybody can do it. As with some other ebikes, the battery pack does require that the key be left in when riding which kind of bothers me because I don’t like the jingling sound or having to remember to put it on my keychain each time. The upside is, the battery pack itself is removable for charging and the key acts as a lock to secure it on the bike.

The chemistry of this and many other ProdecoTech ebikes is Lithium Iron Phosphate. It’s known for being durable, capable of withstanding ~2,000 charge cycles vs. ~1,000 before losing capacity. It’s also more stable if you’re worried about fires and such (rare…) but it doesn’t offer the same energy density as some other Lithium-ion combinations. That means it has to be heavier to provide the same capacity. So the battery is a bit heavier, that’s not a huge deal, but it does bother me that it’s mounted so high on the frame. That reduces stability when riding and makes sliding out or even tipping when parked much easier. Even so, there are many ebikes with rear-pack designs but this one doesn’t offer storage possibilities. Panniers and rear packs won’t work, you really can’t put anything on this rack and that seems like a missed opportunity. On the plus side, the pack does have a built in rear light for safety. Nice.

From the solid metal pedals that offer excellent traction, to the stiff frame and aggressive geometry, the RockShock fork with lockout (further increasing stiffness) to the oversized hydraulic disc brakes and reinforced battery platform, this bike is getting things right. There are still some trade offs here including the positioning of the battery pack and lack of storage mounting options to the absence of pedal assist but overall the price and components work together well. ProdecoTech offers a generous two year warranty on their bikes but keep in mind you’ll need to pay shipping on anything that breaks after the first 30 days and you’ll need to assemble and service the bike yourself.

The Phantom X3 is a great choice for riders who are comfortable with aggressive geometry and forward leaning handlebar position. As an athletic male who is 5’9″ I found the bike to be more sporty than comfortable and a little large. This is not a comfort cruiser step through with soft plush seat and upright handlebars! While the 500 watt motor and battery are capable of moving heavier riders, I recommend that you approach this bike thoughtfully. The true irony is that this pack can last up to 50 miles in flat conditions but your wrist will probably be sore before the ride is over. If you’re right for it, this bike can sure be a lot of fun but if you’re not coordinated it be hard to mount, feel unstable and end up being frustrating. Then again the Phantom X3 delivers great value for some high end components and a capable drive system and it’s my favorite ProdecoTech model.

Pros:

  • More balanced than the Outlaw ProdecoTech bikes, less aggressive angle on front fork
  • Stiffer frame than the other Outlaw bikes that fold, shock locks out and pedals are solid metal, better power transfer
  • Sturdy kickstand makes parking the bike easier
  • Two year warranty (free shipping in first 30 days if something breaks)
  • Front shock significantly smooths out the ride, larger tires also help
  • Hydraulic Avid DB disc brakes are easy use and offer great stopping power
  • Beautiful grips, easy to use twist shifter controls 8 speed cassett
  • Battery pack is removable and features a built in rear light
  • 500 watt gearless rear hub motor offers great power and torque, also very quiet
  • Aluminum bash guard keeps chain on track and protects teeth on the front chain ring

Cons:

  • Doesn’t fold like some of the other Phantom bikes (maybe this is a pro?)
  • Curved frame and rear mounted motor and battery make transporting with bike racks more difficult
  • Twist throttle only mode could leave you with a tired wrist over long rides, no pedal assist
  • Can’t mount anything on top of the rear battery pack, also won’t work with panniers
  • Have to leave the keys in the battery pack when riding
  • Despite using a gearless hub motor, no regen mode or regenerative braking
  • Challenging to find and test ride in person, mostly sold online
  • Battery technology is heavier due to lower energy density of LiFePO4

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More ProdecoTech Reviews

ProdecoTech Mariner 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Powerful geared hub motor and high voltage battery pack for excellent torque and climbing ability. Compact folding design with removable battery, comfortable suspension fork and seat post shock...

ProdecoTech Phantom X2 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full sized electric bike with unique mid-frame folding feature for easier transport and storage. 500 watt direct drive gearless motor is quiet and strong but only operates on a…...

ProdecoTech Scorpion 27 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Extremely light weight hardtail electric bike with 27 speeds and an efficient friction drive motor. Keyde drivetrain blends in, motor is very small and battery is shaped like a water…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw SS Review

  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High speed, off-road only electric bike that's not legal to ride in most states without modification and insurance. Quality SRAM, Truvativ and ZOOM components, hand assembled in the USA, solid two year warranty...

ProdecoTech Titanio 29er Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Well priced hardtail mountain bike with light weight titanium frame and larger 29" wheels. Excellent balance and aesthetic appeal with grip drive front hub motor and bottle style battery…...

ProdecoTech Storm 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Genesis 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Stride R Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable,highpowerelectricbikewithadecentwarrantybutrearheavydesign. Basicsuspensionforkwithcushyseatandlargertirestosmoothoutthebumps...

ProdecoTech Oasis Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Affordable, high power electric bike with a decent warranty but rear heavy design. Limited suspension, relies on cushy seat and balloon tires to smooth out the bumps...

ProdecoTech Phantom X Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

500 watt direct drive motor is quiet and capable but offers less torque and weighs more, no regen modes. Simple to operate with LED console and twist throttle only, no pedal assist or LCD…...

ProdecoTech Stride 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

One of the most affordable, but still decent quality, entry level electric bikes. Low step design is easy to mount, adjustable neck and shock add comfort, twist throttle…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw EX Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Unstable due to steep long travel shock angle and high battery pack position. Relatively low price but tough to test ride as it's primarily available only online...

ProdecoTech Mariner 7 Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

An affordable, but heavy, folding electric bike with twist throttle only. Available primarily online, offers solid two year warranty including battery pack...


Fred Bellows
4 years ago

You know, these reviews are great, they really give some insight into these bikes which obviously still have limited distribution and so, we can’t just go to our local store and check them out. However, the range statistic is really just about useless. Instead of having something like “36 to 50 miles depending on conditions and rider weight” as all ebike reviews have (I assume, from the manufacturer) it would be about a million times more useful if you said “we rode it, without pedaling, on a flat course, with 3 riders (150lbs, 160lbs, and 172lbs) on a 3 mile loop around our office (so that it wouldn’t be too far to peddle home when it died) and it went 28.3 miles” Or anything like that, so that we can actually estimate what it might do for us (extrapolating with the parameters of our intended use).

Thanks, and please keep up the great work,

Fred

Anderson
3 years ago

Nice writeup. Informative balanced review. Pro and con list was helpful.

spanishpause
3 years ago

Do you have a windscreen for your microphone? The wind noise is pretty loud

Court Rye
3 years ago

Good call, I’ve actually done a lot of work on my camera and now the wind noise is significantly reduced. The newer reviews sound a lot better but sorry for these older ones with the distracting noise ;)

glenn
3 years ago

Wonder how the 2014 e3 Zuma compares to the prodeco tech oaisis? Opinions appreciated.

Court Rye
3 years ago

The E3 Zuma is a bit more expensive but much higher quality with better battery chemistry and mounting point (low and mid-frame vs. high and rear). The Oasis only offers twist throttle while the Zuma offers pedal assist and throttle.

Steve
3 years ago

Hmmm, you speak of lack of availability, but in my town, Columbus Ohio, it’s sold at probably the biggest e-bike store here, Orbit City Bikes. I believe they even ship these bikes. I’m going to check them out.

Court Rye
3 years ago

ProdecoTech is growing their dealer base and on the East Coast of the US they actually have quite a few dealers at this point. I don’t make this point on the newer reviews and as you suggest, they will ship them so you could get one pretty easily anywhere in the country now :)

Perry
3 years ago

I have the Phantom X2 with the reported 28-38 miles range. With a total weight (me, clothes, backpack) around 205-210 pounds I have routinely done 20-25 miles trips averaging 18-20mph. This included hills and unpaved roads (not true off road or trail riding but generally maintained gravel and dirt roads). I never ran out of battery power so my feeling is the provided manufacturer ranges are true. I’ll point out these are bicycles, not motorcycles so pedalling is required to get these ranges. Although after one 18+ mile ride I stopped pedalling for the entire final mile on a level, unpaved road.

In general I am covering 20 miles in the same time and with the same effort as a non-electric for 6-8 miles.

Court Rye
3 years ago

Awesome stats Perry! Thanks for sharing your experience with the ProdecoTech Phantom X3. I try my best to get accurate information but the review times are limited and there’s nothing like real world feedback :)

Richard Goddard
6 months ago

I love my Phantom X3 & all is goodies. The reliability is just an example of great workmanship & engineering. I am looking forward to my next Prodeco Bike.

Court Rye
6 months ago

Cool, thanks for sharing your enthusiasm for the bike Richard! The new models from ProdecoTech are looking great, I’m hoping to get out and review them at some point… any one in particular that you’re excited to maybe get someday or learn more about?

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Dewey
3 weeks ago

Haibike sduro hard seven SM has a torquey Yamaha motor. Izip E3 dash or Raleigh Route IE use the transX motor. The 2017 Focus Jafira 29 ($2800) uses the Bosch Performance Line CX motor. The Prodecotech Phantom mid-drive isn't on sale yet but will have the new Bafang Max motor, it would be worth waiting to test ride the Phantom if you're prepared to wait and spend a bit more ($3k). Treks use the Shimano Steps motor which provides less torque but more range. Try different motors to find what works for you.

CosmicWarrior
3 weeks ago

I have a Phantom X. I know it's not really made for off road, but I still do some bumpy riding. I have to have cruiser bars, Can't do the straight bars. I found some I like on Amazon, but they seem kind of cheap. I am attaching a link to the bars I like. I read some reviews that said that these bars have broken. I am not a heavy person and I doubt that would happen, but like I said, I do a bit of rough riding. Has anyone out there converted their handlebars to cruisers? Any brands that you might recommend? Do you think the ones I like would work out alright on the phantom? I might have to get new cables, but oh well. It says 38.1, so they should work, right? Will I need a different stem too? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

https://www.amazon.com/Sunlite-Handlebar-31-8mm-Clamp-Length/dp/B0014VV9TA/ref=pd_sim_468_4?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B0014VV9TA&pd_rd_r=HXCY01NPJYDC6QEBAB9Y&pd_rd_w=u7YYk&pd_rd_wg=mwS43&psc=1&refRID=HXCY01NPJYDC6QEBAB9Y

Josh Levinson
2 months ago

I'm looking to get into ebikes!
I have fairly short last mile commute: ~4 miles, 5 days a week, in hilly/busy SF.

I'm 24yo, 5'10" 145lbs.
I'm active/moderately fit.
I don't currently bike frequently, but want to use my new commute as a reason to exercise via biking (so I don't mind a pedal assist; throttle isn't a requirement).

Right now, I'm looking at a used
- Prodecotech phantom X2
- a2b metro
- kalkhoff agattu impulse 7
- public d8 electric

all of which I've found preowned within my budget ($1k).

My preferences in a bike are:
- pedal assist, preferably dedicated/pure throttle
- suspension fork
- foldable (nice-to-have for train ride)
- well-made/name-brand parts

Any advice on one bike vs the other, or any general advice at all would be greatly appreciated!

janniel jaquez
3 months ago

Hey! I like your videos I'm interested in the phantom xr but I don't know how good it really is, hope you can review it soon I would love to see if it is good enough for what it's worth anyways keep up the good work ūüĎćūüŹĽ

Joe Barone
8 months ago

Lower end? $1800? Dang

dpoland
11 months ago

How about a wind screen on that mic?

Ema Regos
1 year ago

Whats up with your voice? Fagot?

dpoland
11 months ago

Silly ass hole you are.

rpmbxdj
2 years ago

Love your video as always. You always provide a great full review. I just started looking into this bike and it has thrown a monkey wrench in my plan which was to install a D 500 bionx kit on my 05 specialized hardrock sport. I've test ridden a d 500 and loved it but the 2500 price tag is a bit of a turn off for me. The phantom to me is a whole bike with decent power for a great price too. I would mostly like a e bike to be able to commute to work which is 15 miles each way in nyc. If you were me, what would you decide ? If you could afford both? Your input would be greatly appreciated thanks

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+rpmbxdj Sorry for the delay! If I were you I'd go to Propel Bikes or Greenpath Electric in New York City and test ride some different models. I'm not a huge fan of these older rear-heavy ProdecoTech bikes (the upcoming models are better) and the D-Series is great (especially if you already have a good bike) but might require you to sacrifice that bike and will take some real effort to install (a shop could also help you do this). For the type of money and time involved I'd definitely hit one of those shops, Propel in particular is great (formerly called Long Island Electric Bikes)

Christian hoff-nielsen
2 years ago

yep , backwards engineering. Put the battery behind the rear wheel. fit it high up. 
2015 and some actually still think this is IT ? This bike is the YUGOZASTAWA of cars

Erika Adams
2 years ago

yay

Erika Adams
2 years ago

the prodeco oasis

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Ha! Howdy Erika, do you own this ebike or were you thinking about it?

john cunningham
2 years ago

your mike sucks

john cunningham
2 years ago

Hey no problem...glad to see the reviews! Good Job

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Hi John, this review was shot late last year with a camera phone as I was doing this as a fun side project on limited funds. Since then I've saved some money to purchase a better camera and really improved the sounds quality. Check out the new reviews like this one http://electricbikereview.com/prodecotech/mariner-500/ thanks for your feedback :)

rapskallion
3 years ago

You sound like a real authority on these. I've found that cutting a piece from a cheap foam (not cellulose) sponge and placed over the microphone works really well for a wind screen.  If the mic is integral to the camera and works a small hole on the surface of the camera you can tape a piece (if there's room for tape) or use a little hot glue or silicone to adhere it.  If you have an external mic use a small block of the sponge and cut a slit in it to act as a "pocket" for the mic to fit into.  Nice review, though.  Your presentation comes off as natural conversation that reminds me of Ira Glass of This American Life. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ira_Glass  BTW, I'm not associated with any media production so my advice is amateur (with intelligent experience) and my opinions my own. Thanks!

tjobrienRC
3 years ago

Why do you have the seat set for a tall person when you are only 5'9" your legs would have to be 4' + to reach the pedals!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

I like a higher seat position actually and at 6:05 you can see that my legs reach when fully extended. I don't spend a lot of energy fitting each bike because I'm usually reviewing multiple models and have limited time.

Chad Kovac
3 years ago

get a mic with a wind screen or something... please.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Chad Kovac Thanks, yeah I'm always trying to improve the process and even some of the newer videos are faint but none of them have the same loud wind. I should have gotten a GoPro sooner but was experimenting with other camera ideas and saving up. Do you do much filming? Any tips on how to optimize sound?

Chad Kovac
3 years ago

It's ok, still appreciate your efforts, just hard to hear! =D  

All Bike Update
3 years ago

Hey Chad, I've gotten a much better camera setup and wind screen since this was shot. I just couldn't afford a GoPro setup at the time. Sorry for the wind noise :)

Kyle Hamor
3 years ago

Would be possible to disassemble the battery, and put all the battery and controller part's into a custom center frame bag, like you see on the highest quality bikes? Also great channel, I've been using it everyday while searching for a bike. Thanks

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hi Kyle, great question... I'm sure you could remove the rack and battery box and try to fit them into a frame bag (for better balance and to free up the rear for a cargo pack). This would improve balance for sure but I'm not sure how good it would look and it might also void the warranty. They have a sticker on the battery box that says "void if removed" so you might be best off to just reposition the battery vs. actually disassembling it. Keep in mind there are electronics built into the lower part of the rack so it might be bulkier than expected when in the frame bag. Also, the curved top tube might not support the frame bag correctly, keep that in mind when looking at different options. I'd love to hear how it goes if you try to do it :)

Jesus .Christ
3 years ago

I have this bike its awsome more then enough power dont have to pedal at all if you dont want to even up some pretty steap hills, the seat is small/hard so best to get a gel cruiser seat,sespension is pretty good best to just leave it on firm imo
the brakes are quite no squeeling like some disc brakes, got mine from amazon last year $1600 delivered to the door totally worth it.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Mickey Mouska Yeah, I asked them about it... the rack has several attachment points that have to be lined up correctly to avoid breaks. It's also important to line up the front pins or they can get bent. Honestly, not my favorite battery design (especially since you can't even put a cargo bag or panniers on top) but it gets the job done. During one test ride I did a wheelie and flipped a bike onto the rear pack. I was bummed and thought it must have broken the thing but it just scratched it up... I think they hold up alright.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Cool! Sounds like it's working great. Awesome that it can get you up hills without even having to pedal! I'm 130lbs and it did the same for me but I know that's pretty light so often I'm hesitant to say one way or another to avoid disappointing people who weigh more.

huntingvuk
3 years ago

thanks good vid, I have an X2 ,,love it!

huntingvuk
3 years ago

+Electric Bike Review
they are really great! even called a month later to see if I was happy with everything! VERY RARE these days to have such great costumer service! just got new brake pads, about 2,000 + miles so far (winter rides are not often) worth every penny! :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+huntingvuk Cool! They sound like an awesome shop, glad it worked out for you so well :)

huntingvuk
3 years ago

+Electric Bike Review
ordered from Seattle E bike ( by telephone)  I'm in Maine had the bike in my hands 6 days after I placed the order ready to go & Seattle E bike have great knowledge & work on the bikes VERY helpful place! highly recommend them! great store!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Nice! Yeah, they can work pretty well. Did you buy it from a shop or get it online and assemble yourself? If so, was it very difficult?

bubz hos sol
3 years ago

Mine is good had a few issues ( I have the X2) but still almost the same bike.  My main issue now is that the back rim dented and no it rides bumby.  I'm hoping they replace considering the hub motor is fine, maybe they will satisfy a minor exchange when I bring it up to them at Prodeco Warranty.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Cool, thanks for sharing your experience! I'm glad the bike has been working out for you and I hope ProdecoTech is able to cover the bent rim under warranty. You said it was the back rim correct? I wonder if the combined weight of the hub motor and battery pack on the rear of the bike contributed to this damage, do you remember when/how it happened?

Stuart Leslie
3 years ago

I've been riding mine for almost a year.  Loved it from day one.  It is perfect for getting around town, but my favorite is off road.  I'm not doing jumps but I go through fields in 4 foot gras & rough trails.. I don't notice the higher center of gaveity after only a few hours.  The hub adds weight lower off setting some of the battery.  Finally the handle bar is adjustable adding up to six inches.  I am about to try studded snow tires and let you know the outcome. 

Stuart Leslie
3 years ago

Ill stick on pro !]

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hi Stuart! Thanks for sharing your experience with the X3, sounds like it is working really well for you. I'd love to hear how the studded snow tires work (it's winter here in Colorado and some friends were talking about doing that). I saw a neat little snowbard thing for the front wheel of ebikes recently and we've been discussing it and studs back at the forums: http://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/bionx-vs-alation-or-falcon.40/#post-159 feel free to join up and share pictures when you get your bike setup!

RC-Collector
3 years ago

How would you compare this to the Outlaw, comfort and power wise? Always good videos. Good job.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

The Phantom X3 felt a lot more stable than the Outlaw to me. Might be the smaller front fork (the Outlaw has a double crown that is heavier and seems steeper). The Phantom X3 is actually my favorite ProdecoTech ebike so far. If you follow the link in the description back to the full review I give it 4.5 stars vs. just 3 for the Outlaw and list some of the pros/cons for comparison. Hope that helps! If you're considering this vs. other ebikes check out the Community forum linked from the site, I'm there commenting and others might chime in to help you find the right fit :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Thanks... I know the wind sound sucks, I try to get a bunch of different angles and have been considering a GoPro :)

JMNH2009
3 years ago

you should buy a go pro

Brandon Foster
4 years ago

I've never had issues like that on mine...my issue was potholes...going 30mph into one battery slipped an flew off slid 50 ft no issues getting fixed.....keep in mind all foldable bikes are not meant for big time dirt trails or curbs.....the x2 is basically for commuting-dirt roads not trail riding