ProdecoTech Phantom X3 Review

Prodeco Phantom X3 Electric Bike Review
Prodeco Phantom X3 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 500 Watt Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Battery Pack 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Twist Throttle 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Tire 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Cassette 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Electric Bike Review
Prodeco Phantom X3 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 500 Watt Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Battery Pack 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Twist Throttle 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Tire 1
Prodeco Phantom X3 Cassette 1

Summary

  • More solid than earlier Phantom ebikes, does not fold and has reinforced battery pack supports
  • High end RockShox fork with lockout, upgraded pedals (that don't fold) and hydraulic Avid DB disc brakes
  • Larger battery provides 16 amp hours for significantly increased range

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205
Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

ProdecoTech

Model:

Phantom X3

Price:

$ 1899.00 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 30 Day Replacement

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

59 lbs ( 26.76 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Matte Black

Frame Fork Details:

RockShox XC32 with Lockout

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 SRAM X7, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

SRAM X7 Grip Twist

Cranks:

Truvativ 42T x 170 Alloy

Pedals:

Truvativ Huss, Sealed Bearing

Headset:

CNC Sealed Bearing

Stem:

Truvativ Stylo 5º 100 mm

Handlebar:

Truvativ Stylo 31.8 Mid-Rise 620 mm

Brake Details:

Avid DB Hydraulic Disc

Grips:

Kraton with Alloy Lock Rings

Saddle:

Velo Plush Sport Vented

Seat Post:

Truvativ Stylo T20

Rims:

Triple Box Wide 32 mm

Spokes:

18/8 Black Stainless Steel 12G

Tire Brand:

Continental Traffic 26" x 2.1"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Double Leg Kickstand, 43.8V 2 Amp Charger, Aluminum Bash Guard on Front Ring

Other:

Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

720 watts

Battery Voltage:

38.4 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

16 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

614.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO4), 24 Cells

Charge Time:

8 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles ( 56 km )

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles ( 80 km )

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (Green, Yellow, Red)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Phantom line of electric bikes from ProdecoTech has always been capable of folding, starting with the Phantom X… even though it’s a full sized ebike with 26″ wheels. This has several drawbacks including loss of stiffness in frame and increased weight but it also makes the bike easier to store. For the Phantom X3 the company is taking a new direction and dropping the foldability feature in favor of increased ride quality and durability. Of all the ProdecoTech bikes I’ve had the chance to ride, this one’s my favorite.

The motor propelling this bike is 500 watts with a peak output of 750. That’s pretty solid and more than capable on flats with some solid hill climbing potential. It’s gearless meaning it has fewer parts to break but offers a bit less torque. It’s also super quiet and coasts frictionlessly… again, no gears. It does weigh a bit more than some gearless options and it could have been capable of regenerative braking which could reduce wear on the brake pads or top off the battery pack, but this thing already has a huge battery and that would have cost a lot more with upgraded controller and LCD computer system.

What you get with the control system on this and other ProdecoTech bikes is pure simplicity. You stick the key in… turn it, press the on button and see three LED’s light up for green yellow and red (to indicate battery level) and then you twist the throttle. It’s like riding a motorcycle but without the gears; anybody can do it. As with some other ebikes, the battery pack does require that the key be left in when riding which kind of bothers me because I don’t like the jingling sound or having to remember to put it on my keychain each time. The upside is, the battery pack itself is removable for charging and the key acts as a lock to secure it on the bike.

The chemistry of this and many other ProdecoTech ebikes is Lithium Iron Phosphate. It’s known for being durable, capable of withstanding ~2,000 charge cycles vs. ~1,000 before losing capacity. It’s also more stable if you’re worried about fires and such (rare…) but it doesn’t offer the same energy density as some other Lithium-ion combinations. That means it has to be heavier to provide the same capacity. So the battery is a bit heavier, that’s not a huge deal, but it does bother me that it’s mounted so high on the frame. That reduces stability when riding and makes sliding out or even tipping when parked much easier. Even so, there are many ebikes with rear-pack designs but this one doesn’t offer storage possibilities. Panniers and rear packs won’t work, you really can’t put anything on this rack and that seems like a missed opportunity. On the plus side, the pack does have a built in rear light for safety. Nice.

From the solid metal pedals that offer excellent traction, to the stiff frame and aggressive geometry, the RockShock fork with lockout (further increasing stiffness) to the oversized hydraulic disc brakes and reinforced battery platform, this bike is getting things right. There are still some trade offs here including the positioning of the battery pack and lack of storage mounting options to the absence of pedal assist but overall the price and components work together well. ProdecoTech offers a generous two year warranty on their bikes but keep in mind you’ll need to pay shipping on anything that breaks after the first 30 days and you’ll need to assemble and service the bike yourself.

The Phantom X3 is a great choice for riders who are comfortable with aggressive geometry and forward leaning handlebar position. As an athletic male who is 5’9″ I found the bike to be more sporty than comfortable and a little large. This is not a comfort cruiser step through with soft plush seat and upright handlebars! While the 500 watt motor and battery are capable of moving heavier riders, I recommend that you approach this bike thoughtfully. The true irony is that this pack can last up to 50 miles in flat conditions but your wrist will probably be sore before the ride is over. If you’re right for it, this bike can sure be a lot of fun but if you’re not coordinated it be hard to mount, feel unstable and end up being frustrating. Then again the Phantom X3 delivers great value for some high end components and a capable drive system and it’s my favorite ProdecoTech model.

Pros:

  • More balanced than the Outlaw ProdecoTech bikes, less aggressive angle on front fork
  • Stiffer frame than the other Outlaw bikes that fold, shock locks out and pedals are solid metal, better power transfer
  • Sturdy kickstand makes parking the bike easier
  • Two year warranty (free shipping in first 30 days if something breaks)
  • Front shock significantly smooths out the ride, larger tires also help
  • Hydraulic Avid DB disc brakes are easy use and offer great stopping power
  • Beautiful grips, easy to use twist shifter controls 8 speed cassett
  • Battery pack is removable and features a built in rear light
  • 500 watt gearless rear hub motor offers great power and torque, also very quiet
  • Aluminum bash guard keeps chain on track and protects teeth on the front chain ring

Cons:

  • Doesn’t fold like some of the other Phantom bikes (maybe this is a pro?)
  • Curved frame and rear mounted motor and battery make transporting with bike racks more difficult
  • Twist throttle only mode could leave you with a tired wrist over long rides, no pedal assist
  • Can’t mount anything on top of the rear battery pack, also won’t work with panniers
  • Have to leave the keys in the battery pack when riding
  • Despite using a gearless hub motor, no regen mode or regenerative braking
  • Challenging to find and test ride in person, mostly sold online
  • Battery technology is heavier due to lower energy density of LiFePO4

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More ProdecoTech Reviews

ProdecoTech Mariner 500 Review

  • MSRP: $ 1899.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Powerful geared hub motor and high voltage battery pack for excellent torque and climbing ability. Compact folding design with removable battery, comfortable suspension fork and seat post shock...

ProdecoTech Phantom X2 Review

  • MSRP: $ 1699.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full sized electric bike with unique mid-frame folding feature for easier transport and storage. 500 watt direct drive gearless motor is quiet and strong but only operates on a…...

ProdecoTech Scorpion 27 Review

  • MSRP: $ 3999.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Extremely light weight hardtail electric bike with 27 speeds and an efficient friction drive motor. Keyde drivetrain blends in, motor is very small and battery is shaped like a water…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw SS Review

  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High speed, off-road only electric bike that's not legal to ride in most states without modification and insurance. Quality SRAM, Truvativ and ZOOM components, hand assembled in the USA, solid two year warranty...

ProdecoTech Titanio 29er Review

  • MSRP: $ 4999.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Well priced hardtail mountain bike with light weight titanium frame and larger 29" wheels. Excellent balance and aesthetic appeal with grip drive front hub motor and bottle style battery…...

ProdecoTech Storm 500 Review

  • MSRP: $ 1399.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Genesis 500 Review

  • MSRP: $ 1299.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Stride R Review

  • MSRP: $ 1399.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable,highpowerelectricbikewithadecentwarrantybutrearheavydesign. Basicsuspensionforkwithcushyseatandlargertirestosmoothoutthebumps...

ProdecoTech Oasis Review

  • MSRP: $ 1799.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Affordable, high power electric bike with a decent warranty but rear heavy design. Limited suspension, relies on cushy seat and balloon tires to smooth out the bumps...

ProdecoTech Phantom X Review

  • MSRP: $ 1399.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

500 watt direct drive motor is quiet and capable but offers less torque and weighs more, no regen modes. Simple to operate with LED console and twist throttle only, no pedal assist or LCD…...

ProdecoTech Stride 500 Review

  • MSRP: $ 1299.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

One of the most affordable, but still decent quality, entry level electric bikes. Low step design is easy to mount, adjustable neck and shock add comfort, twist throttle…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw EX Review

  • MSRP: $ 2199.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Unstable due to steep long travel shock angle and high battery pack position. Relatively low price but tough to test ride as it's primarily available only online...

ProdecoTech Mariner 7 Review

  • MSRP: $ 1399.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

An affordable, but heavy, folding electric bike with twist throttle only. Available primarily online, offers solid two year warranty including battery pack...


Fred Bellows
3 years ago

You know, these reviews are great, they really give some insight into these bikes which obviously still have limited distribution and so, we can't just go to our local store and check them out. However, the range statistic is really just about useless. Instead of having something like "36 to 50 miles depending on conditions and rider weight" as all ebike reviews have (I assume, from the manufacturer) it would be about a million times more useful if you said "we rode it, without pedaling, on a flat course, with 3 riders (150lbs, 160lbs, and 172lbs) on a 3 mile loop around our office (so that it wouldn't be too far to peddle home when it died) and it went 28.3 miles" Or anything like that, so that we can actually estimate what it might do for us (extrapolating with the parameters of our intended use).

Thanks, and please keep up the great work,

Fred

Anderson
3 years ago

Nice writeup. Informative balanced review. Pro and con list was helpful.

spanishpause
2 years ago

Do you have a windscreen for your microphone? The wind noise is pretty loud

Court Rye
2 years ago

Good call, I've actually done a lot of work on my camera and now the wind noise is significantly reduced. The newer reviews sound a lot better but sorry for these older ones with the distracting noise ;)

glenn
2 years ago

Wonder how the 2014 e3 Zuma compares to the prodeco tech oaisis? Opinions appreciated.

Court Rye
2 years ago

The E3 Zuma is a bit more expensive but much higher quality with better battery chemistry and mounting point (low and mid-frame vs. high and rear). The Oasis only offers twist throttle while the Zuma offers pedal assist and throttle.

Steve
2 years ago

Hmmm, you speak of lack of availability, but in my town, Columbus Ohio, it's sold at probably the biggest e-bike store here, Orbit City Bikes. I believe they even ship these bikes. I'm going to check them out.

Court Rye
2 years ago

ProdecoTech is growing their dealer base and on the East Coast of the US they actually have quite a few dealers at this point. I don't make this point on the newer reviews and as you suggest, they will ship them so you could get one pretty easily anywhere in the country now :)

Perry
2 years ago

I have the Phantom X2 with the reported 28-38 miles range. With a total weight (me, clothes, backpack) around 205-210 pounds I have routinely done 20-25 miles trips averaging 18-20mph. This included hills and unpaved roads (not true off road or trail riding but generally maintained gravel and dirt roads). I never ran out of battery power so my feeling is the provided manufacturer ranges are true. I'll point out these are bicycles, not motorcycles so pedalling is required to get these ranges. Although after one 18+ mile ride I stopped pedalling for the entire final mile on a level, unpaved road.

In general I am covering 20 miles in the same time and with the same effort as a non-electric for 6-8 miles.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome stats Perry! Thanks for sharing your experience with the ProdecoTech Phantom X3. I try my best to get accurate information but the review times are limited and there's nothing like real world feedback :)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

David Thomas of Peshtigo
2 months ago
After a 5-month wait, I got my Trek XM700+ in early August. Overall, I'm very pleased. I had high expectations, and the XM hasn't disappointed me in any way. Some observations in my first 200 or so miles:
  • Smooth pedal assist. It is more subtle than my girlfriends hub drive, which supplies a dramatic surge when you hit pedals or throttle. In contrast, the XM's pedelect system supplies energy that is so well-integrated with the rider's pedal strokes that it is hard to tell them apart. It just feels like I've got a lot more power in my legs!
  • Impressive range in lower-power modes ("Eco" and "Tour"). If I'm content to ride around 16 mph, the on-board computer tells me I can ride 65 miles or so on a full charge.
  • The bike handles very well, with power assist on or off. There will be no problem pedaling home with a discharged battery (it's flat terrain here, which helps).
  • The frame is tall for 55cm. I'm 6' tall and have just enough standover clearance.
  • Love the brakes: smooth, powerful, quiet.
  • The front fender rattled a bit over bumps. I stuck a small piece of rubber (cut from an inner tube) between the fork and fender just under the fork crown, using a piece of double-sided foam tape. This has mostly eliminated the rattle.
  • For greater comfort, I changed the stock saddle for a Planet Bike ARS (Anatomic Relief). As others have discovered, a good suspension seatpost--I installed a Thudbuster LT--smooths out the ride nicely.
  • My bike had served as a demo, and the Powerpack 400 battery was scuffed up from coming loose due to improper insertion. As Court Rye noted in his excellent vido review of the XM700, the battery has to be firmly inserted to lock to the frame properly.
  • I bought a battery cover to cover up all the scuffs and scratches on the battery case (see item above). In addition to this cosmetic improvement, they say the cover will keep the battery warmer in cold weather, cooler in hot weather (?), and protect the case from a drop (too late for that). Here's where I bought it: http://www.bike-discount.de/en/buy/...ry-power-pack-300-and-400aktive-perfor-448153
  • The "walk assist", supposedly disabled for USA imports, is still enabled on my unit. The bad news: it "walks" itself at a brisk 9mph.
  • Girlfriend's daughter said of the black color scheme, "It looks like a phantom." Viola, the bike found its name: The Phantom. (Sometimes I call it "Sparky" too.)
I'll be glad to post additional observations after I get more experience. Best wishes!
MLB
3 months ago
Andreas
Over the past few years I test rode what ever bike is available on the market. Last year I bought the Prodeco Tech Phantom X with a 500 watt geared rear motor and has a throttle only, no power assist. I love the torque on this bike climbing up the steep hills, but no matter what on how hard I pedal with the motor my Phantom does not exceed 21 mph. My friend has a BionX e-bike kit with a 360 watt motor and pedal assist which does not have the torque but has the top speed of 48 Km'h (28 mph) pedaling and motor combined, which is awesome. I recently test rode the 2016 Specialized turbo X with a 350 watt rear hub motor and pedal assist which I loved the most from all e-bikes on the market. Awesome smooth power delivery and so much fun to ride, my favorite for sure. It will be my next bike. I was surprised how powerful the 350 watt rear hub motor was. Like I said, well balanced bike and very well built. I also just test rode the new Cube with a 250 watt center motor and most say it was the least favorite of my e-bike experience. It is really nice to cruise on a straight stretch of paved pathway, but I don't like the lack of torque up any hill.
Motor size is not like a car engine. Bigger is not necessarily stronger. And any size motor can be a speed pedalec (28mph top assisted speed). There is a Brose 250W (minimal!!) motor that puts out 90nm of torque!!
Andreas
3 months ago
To your last question, I'm riding the the Phantom X for one year and over 1200 miles and must say it works well. I got used to throttle only. However, pedal assist would be nice for longer distances which would give you more even power and can control the battery life much better. It depends on your use. If you ride a lot of up hills I would recommend at least a 500 watt power gear driven motor, gives you a lot of torque.
Andreas
3 months ago
I only have a throttle on my Prodeco tech Phantom X and I wish I had pedal assist sometimes. Both would be nice.
Andreas
3 months ago
Over the past few years I test rode what ever bike is available on the market. Last year I bought the Prodeco Tech Phantom X with a 500 watt geared rear motor and has a throttle only, no power assist. I love the torque on this bike climbing up the steep hills, but no matter what on how hard I pedal with the motor my Phantom does not exceed 21 mph. My friend has a BionX e-bike kit with a 360 watt motor and pedal assist which does not have the torque but has the top speed of 48 Km'h (28 mph) pedaling and motor combined, which is awesome. I recently test rode the 2016 Specialized turbo X with a 350 watt rear hub motor and pedal assist which I loved the most from all e-bikes on the market. Awesome smooth power delivery and so much fun to ride, my favorite for sure. It will be my next bike. I was surprised how powerful the 350 watt rear hub motor was. Like I said, well balanced bike and very well built. I also just test rode the new Cube with a 250 watt center motor and most say it was the least favorite of my e-bike experience. It is really nice to cruise on a straight stretch of paved pathway, but I don't like the lack of torque up any hill.
cbmojo
3 months ago
walawn
Hey guys. I'm thinking of changing the cheap front suspension fork on my Radrover. I'm considering this one below:

https://www.sram.com/rockshox/products/bluto

I liked the same brand on my old ebike (Prodeco Phantom X3). Here is a review of the fork I want below:

http://www.singletracks.com/blog/mtb-gear/review-rockshox-bluto-fat-bike-suspension-fork/

Let me know what you guys think. I know the fork is a third of the retail price of the bike, but I've already spent hundreds upgrading the bike anyway. It's only money lol! I saw the Radrover as a great platform for upgrading from the start anyway....
wont fir RR does not have a tapered neck and its offset is too wide
Adrian
3 months ago
walawn
Coming from a motorcycle technician background with almost 2 decades of experience, I've always wanted to build my own ebike. Living in NoVa for the past few years, in a small apartment with a fraction of the tools I once had with me though, I let that prospect scare me away into buying a pre-built ebike for the second time in 3 years. The more I get on these forums like Endless Sphere and browse sites like Luna Cycle, the more I think that it is completely within my capability to do so. I've been toying around with the idea of building a 1000W mid-drive with the Bafang kit, but now I think that I may want to modify my new Radrover. I'm thinking of installing the same motor from the rear inside the front wheel. Not sure if I should add another controller or battery, or replace the controller with one to control both motors and upgrade the battery in the system to something larger or custom. I could see using the Shark battery packs to reduce weight and the stock controller is small enough to mount a second one easily. Synchronization could be an issue though. This idea may never been anything more than that, but it is exciting to think about double the torque and both the wheels of my 60+ lb. ebike pulling their own weight. Now don't get me wrong; I love my new Radrover. It is night and day better over my old Prodeco Phantom X3, which cost $400 more. I think I just can't go too long without wrenching on something. Maybe I should just build a second ebike from scratch to see if that gets rid of this urge to craft a muscle/monster ebike...
Just put a BBSHD on it. :)
walawn
3 months ago
@J.R. The more time goes by the more I'm starting to think that my battery is in good shape and didn't take any damage in the fall. We will know when I disassemble and check everything though. I will post a full write up with pictures. I'll take your advice and let mine cool from now on. I think I've only placed it on charge once right after a ride. I did 26 miles on it today (3/4 in ECO mode 2 and 1/4 in STD mode 3) so it's nice to know that it has the range of my old Prodeco Phantom X3 which is what I wanted.
walawn
4 months ago
@J.R. No worries. I checked the voltage this morning when I took it off of the charger. It was just under 54 V. I did a stress test on the battery and motor this morning by only doing full throttle with no pedaling. It was mostly flat with a few hills here and there. I made it 13 miles before battery dropped down to 25% on the on-board gauge and E flashing on the display. The last few miles were windy and I am 180 lbs. I did a mix of pedaling (w/ assist) and motor (throttle only) to get me the last 4 miles home. I just checked it after letting it cool down 10 minutes: 1 bar on LCD "fuel"gauge, red light (25% or less) on at battery, and a little over .5 V when I checked the battery. The motor was hot and the battery warm. It seems like my old Prodecotech Phantom X3 had more range out of it's battery than this one, but it was a 500W direct drive hub motor that would do about 20 mph if you gave it some distance. I don't remember the Ah, but I know the battery chemistry was different. The Radrover definitely has more tourqe with its geared 750W motor.
Nick Miller
4 months ago
I'm finding that out now. My rear hub motor is leaking lubricant, called them, emailed them, no response! I gave $2,365 for the Phantom XR and have only had it 1 month!
J.R.
4 months ago
John_V
Hi Manny:

I've been completely enjoying riding my prodeco genesis. In fact the longer I own it the more fun I'm having! I did lose one of the little black plastic/rubber bolt covers that fits over the rear axle bolt. I don't have a rack yet for my car, so when I was laying it down in the back of my car it must have fallen off. The bolt takes an 18mm wrench - but I can't seem to easily find the proper size replacement bolt cover. Seems like the nearest I could find was 17mm plastic ones here:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/10x-M6-M8-M...hash=item43e7600e4d:m:mfZ5Ut5IxHDjEszUa_EoH-w

There are ones that will fit 17mm or 19mm ("spanner size"). But no 18mm. Any ideas where I could look. I wrote to ProdecoTech via their web page, but never heard anything back.
John,

Did you try calling ProdecoTech in Florida and ask if they would send you the axle cover? When I had a few of spokes break on my Phantom X3, I called and spokes were sent to me right away. If you tell them the cover fell off, I suspect they would send you one for free. The nice thing about PT is that all the bikes are assembled in the U.S., so parts like that are readily available. Call on the phone though, I had no luck via electronic communication.

Phone: 800.943.6190

Good luck, glad you're enjoying the bike!
J.R.
4 months ago
There is only one you can buy today I think and that's the Easy Motion. Maybe two, I'm not sure about the Biktrix and their availability. Those all seem like good bikes, I'm not sure they're all good commuters though.

I'm in PA, 6'2" @ 190 lb. and "middle age" HA! That time period tends to get longer every year for some reason. A little soft in the middle, with some spine problems, but in decent shape. I wouldn't say I'm a strong rider necessarily, I'd say I'm a determined rider. My first ebike wasn't the best commuter, but did the job of 6000 miles in one year commuting 34 miles round trip. That was a ProdecoTech Phantom X3.

I still have the X3 and use it in the snow, but my everyday bike is an Easy Motion Evo 29'er. Fits me like a glove and I love it! At the time of purchase I was offered the Snow, but I was more concerned about range. If I ever thought I'd do serious off road technical riding in the snow, in my spare time, I'd have the Snow. But commuting and rec riding, nah. In addition I did a really bad winter with the one wheel drive X3 with studded tires in snow and ice pack, so I knew I would be able to do all I wanted on the 29'er.

I don't think you have all that much snow to deal with down there, but if this looks familiar to you, all your options will likely get you there and back with studded tires. These rides were all with the X3
View attachment 6145View attachment 6146View attachment 6147

You can turn a lot of bikes into commuters, it's just a matter of how hard or easy do you want it to be. I'll be giving my X3 to a friend, because he needs it. So next winter I'll be sleigh riding with the Evo 29'er.

Good luck! I hope you get what you want before the summer is gone.
Vlad in MI
4 months ago
I received my RadMini last Friday and have been commuting on it this week. Here are some impressions:
The bike arrived well packaged, but I was a tad surprised by the amount of assembly I had to do: front wheel, seat, pedals, light, front rack. I would not have been a big deal, but some things gave me trouble. For example, the front wheel's axle appeared to be too short for the fork. Only after installing the quick-release rod and closing it, the fork got pinched together and works fine. Similar problem was with the front rack, which did not seem to fit. I tried different positions of the connecting rods, but to no-avail. I finally brute-forced it to fit. :) I disassembled it and will try again, hopefully with more luck this time. Finally: the front light... It is made of really cheap and brittle plastic. I might have tightened it too much (so that it would not move) and its mount just crumbled into small pieces. In any case, when mounted on the front rack, it is sticking out so much that it won't last very long. I'm awaiting a replacement lamp and will have to figure something out to make it last.
The ride is great. The motor is quieter than I expected. The fat tires add a bit of noise, but that's actually pleasant to my ear. :) I have a throttle-only bike, so the pedal-assist gets some getting used to. I'm still not there yet. I hope I can find a guide to riding this kind of bike most efficiently.
For people who like speed (like myself), this bike will disappoint a little. I could get to 20 mph only on full throttle, going slightly downhill (I'm adding 180 lbs to the 60 lbs bike). On pedal-assist, at best 17 mph, which seems a bit counter-intuitive, since I'm adding muscle power... Again, it may be my lack of experience with this mode. Also, I noticed that the bike lurches forward a bit when I stop pedaling (not using throttle) - it's become disconcerting on street crossings. I may be wrong about that, or... yes, lack of experience.
I'm a bit concerned about the battery. After riding 16 miles one day I noticed the power level down to one bar. I used pedal-assist, switching between levels 3 and 4, so I expected more power to remain. However, I do not think the display is terribly reliable, as it sometimes shows 2 bars, only to go to 4 a minute later, and to 5 at rest. I do not think it is the fault of the display, but the nature of the power type, which, unlike gasoline, is difficult to measure accurately.
Another small disappointment was with the user manual, which came half-Mandarin, half-English. I am a realist, but I was secretly hoping that this bike would at least be assembled in the US. I probably would have bought it anyway, since it offers so much at a good price, bit I'm thinking that for my next bike I will go straight to the source and save some money.
Other things I like about this bike:
  • I like the look of it - so unique!
  • My back is straight, not bent. This may prove to be worse for my spine - time will tell - but it feels comfortable. (Till now the bent-forward position has been giving me trouble.)
  • The seat is perhaps the most comfortable in any new bike I had, so I do not have to replace it right away
  • It is a very practical bike. I purchased a bag for the rear rack, so I no longer have to wear a backpack. I have yet to do any grocery shopping with this bike, but this is coming.
  • It is not intimidating like my Phantom X, so I hope my cautious wife can be convinced to ride it. :)
  • It feels solidly built, but with attention to detail
Last but not least: I hope Rad Power Bikes will offer fenders for this bike. For now I will go to my local bike shop - maybe they will find something for me.
Joe Remi
5 months ago
Tonk
Greetings all. I have done a decent amount of research but am still unsure what bike to get. I love to ride but have physical issues which puts me between 2 bike styles. I live in Sedona, AZ with very little flat riding & moderate to challenging elevation changes. I will be riding 60/70% paved, 30/40% maintained fire roads/trail, 10-40 miles at a time. This terrain suggests a MB but the forward lean along with the straight bar creates unbearable hand numbness within minutes if not seconds. Really enjoy cruisers but the forward crank positioning would make hill climbing difficult & road bikes are a no go. I've not been impressed with standard hybrids so I haven't considered them in ebikes but I've been wrong before.

I currently have an old school Giant ATX 880 MB that I converted to a beach/comfort cruiser by changing out to a C9 seat & swept back high rise hanger bars. Love to ride this around Mission Bay/PB area which I visit couple times a year but can't ride much at home due to hilly to mountainous terrain here.

57 yrs old, 5'9", 30" pants inseam, 235lbs. Besides being overweight I have multiple back issues of which one is ongoing nerve damage that effects my extremities. I need to lose weight & work my muscles but hate doing exercise just for the sake of exercising but I LOVE biking. An ebike seems to be a perfect solution. Like many I want the best bike for the least amount of money. I don't need anything more than a comfortable, durable ebike that does what it's supposed to, which is help me get out & ENJOY on the road conditions I have here. Running without peddling is of no interest to me so a throttle while nice in certain situations isn't necessary. I'm willing to spend for quality & performance but I don't need to impress anyone. $1000. - $3000. seems to be the range for what I need. Bikes I like but am unsure about due to above mentioned design flaws for my situation;
Low End - Xtreme Trail Maker, Xtreme X version,
Mid - Prodecotech Phantom X, Motiv Spark (cruiser), BME Shadow (my favorite MB)
High End (for me) - BME Nighthawk, Electra Townie Go (my favorite cruiser accept for price)

Being rural, test rides of any ebike is slim to none. Phoenix which is 90 miles one way is an option but then it's flat terrain down there which doesn't give me a real world testing. If you made it to here, thank you for your time. I would appreciate any knowledgeable input. This is a lot of money to me so help is appreciated.
You need to focus on riding position more than category of bicycle, in my opinion. Pretty much any mtb or hybrid can be outfitted with cruiser bars, so you would have the sweepback without the crank-forward pedal position. I don't know ebike models very well - I have two kitted bikes which I did myself - so I can't advise on them, but you should be able to make a decision based on the riding position you need.

Btw, the pedaling position for climbing will be much less important with assist. If you buy enough power for the hills you climb, you'll be sitting and spinning without major stress on the legs and back. It's a wonderful thing.
John_V
6 months ago
Hi Manny -

Your mount for the watt meter is excellent. I just ordered one of those holders myself, to modify as you show in your diagram. I have been trying to think of a mount to use for the watt meter. Up until I saw your idea I was using a modified bicycle speedometer holder - but it didn't work well because it was too weak and would bounce a little during riding. Anyway this is my bike, the Genesis R V5. I think it is mechanically the same as your Phantom X. I've only had mine for about a week.View attachment 5842
David Person
6 months ago
I have purchased two EBO Phantom kits. The first one at the beginning of March to try on my Public D8i and to see if the battery would fit on my wife's Linus M8. After installing the kit on my bike and using it for a week or so I decided to purchase a second kit, as the battery fit was just fine on the Linus. Both kits are the front hub motor version, as both the bikes are equiped with Shimano 8 speed IGHs in the rear. The install is very clean, only two cables running from the front of the bike to the controller/battery mounted on the down tube. All the wires from the handlebar area (left and right e-brakes, throttle, and the KT-LCD3 display) plug into a pigtail with only one cable at the other end that runs down the down tube, back to the controller. The motor cable is the second cable running back to the controller. The PAS sensor mounted at the bottom bracket plugs into the third cable that exits the controller. Very clean. Jason and his crew at EBO have done a great job of getting the length of the cables just about right so that you don't end up feet of extra cable to deal with. I had about a foot or so excess cable from the motor that needed to be looped and zip tied to the seat tube down by the bottom bracket. On the Public, because it has full length chain guard with mount at the bottom bracket, in the same location that the PAS sensor mount is located, I needed to do some modifications to the chain guard bracket so that both it and the PAS bracket could be mounted together behind the fixed cup of the bottom bracket. I felt this was a better solution than mounting the PAS on the left side of the bottom bracket, which I guess is possible but would have been a more difficult modification that what I wound up doing. I should also mention that the Linus was equipped with a 46t front chainring, which make contact with the battery mount. I switched it out for a 42t, like what is on the Public, and the clearance was fine. I also switched the rear cog to a 22t from 20t to keep the gearing the same as before. My only other suggestion/complaint is that the three button selector that controls the KT-LCD3 display is hardwired to the display and that wire could be a bit longer. Had a bit of a challenge getting the three button selector positioned next to the left grip, particularly on the Linus. Almost ran out of cable, but was ultimately able to get it done.

I love the KT-LCD3 display. There is a lot of adjustability to the settings. Court covered some if it in his video, but not all. The instructions aren't always the clearest, but with some playing around it becomes clearer (although I would not mess with setting P1 - P3, leave those were they are. Same with C2) Yes, there is a cruise setting (Parameter C7, if set to 1 then cruise function is On), and the throttle can be set to come on without pedaling or it can be set that it will function only when pedaling. With either set up, you are able to coast while in the cruise setting. And yes Court, there is even a setting to allow the throttle to function in assist level zero (P4 Parameter set to 0 and C4 Parameter set to 3), although I have not personally tried this setting. Parameters P4 and C4 work together to set up the throttle/PAS functionality. One of the programmable settings is the max speed. The unit default setting is 25 kph but the max setting is 72kph. I've set ours for 45kph (28 mph). One side note, the display only registers speed and time when the motor is operating. So when you coast without using the throttle or on cruise, the speed drops to zero and the trip time (used for average speed and time of trip) stops registering until the motor is running again. I will say that the e-brakes are great. I really like that feature and is one of the reasons I went with the EBO kit over another companies, who don't offer them for their kits). I won't mention who that company is, but they just put out an installation video for their new 500w kits and I have to say it does nothing to make me what to buy one of their kits. Not even a mention of which side of the bike the motor cable should on (to ensure the motor powers the wheel in the right direction).

I first became aware of this kit via the review on ElectricBikeReview.com and the accompanying video. My decision to go with the EBO Phantom kit was based a lot on the aesthetics of the installed kit (didn't want a ton of different wires running every which way to deal with), balancing power and range with weight and cost. Each kit added 13 lbs to the bikes. The power and range work well for our needs. We are no hotrodders, but we do pedal while riding and don't use the bikes like mopeds. We can move along at 18-20 mph in level 2 or 3 on level ground with no problem. We live in an area with rolling hills, so find ourselves using levels 4 or 5 for short climbs . But mostly we ride in level 2 or 3. Would I like more power? Sometimes, but it's not worth the extra expense and weight. Our typical ride is 10 miles and we return with 1 bar out on the little battery icon on the display. My longest ride was 21 miles with a lot of rolling hills and some headwind for part of the the ride. When I was done I had two bars (out of four) out on the display and 2 of the 4 green lights out on the battery.

Jason at EBO has been a pleasure to deal with. I've spoken to him several times on the phone with questions. He's been very responsive and has provided details on things like the specific cells used the the battery (Samsung 26F). This was my first venture into e-Bikes and I wanted to start with a commercial kit rather than purchasing a complete bike, so that I would have a better understanding of the system. Because of the high level if integration with this kit, other than playing with the settings on the display, it does not lend itself to customization. For instance, the controller is integrated into the bottom of the battery mount. Makes for a very clean install but you are not able to connect a watt meter (like a Watt's Up or Cycle Analyst) between the battery and controller to analyze the battery performance. So there are trade-offs.

This is an unsolicited review of the EBO Phantom kit. I have no personal connection to EBO or any of their employees and I paid the full retail price for each kit I purchased.

David Person

View attachment 5823
Joe Barone
4 weeks ago
Lower end? $1800? Dang
dpoland
4 months ago
How about a wind screen on that mic?
Ema Regos
10 months ago
Whats up with your voice? Fagot?
dpoland
4 months ago

Silly ass hole you are.

rpmbxdj
1 year ago
Love your video as always. You always provide a great full review. I just started looking into this bike and it has thrown a monkey wrench in my plan which was to install a D 500 bionx kit on my 05 specialized hardrock sport. I've test ridden a d 500 and loved it but the 2500 price tag is a bit of a turn off for me. The phantom to me is a whole bike with decent power for a great price too. I would mostly like a e bike to be able to commute to work which is 15 miles each way in nyc. If you were me, what would you decide ? If you could afford both? Your input would be greatly appreciated thanks
ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+rpmbxdj Sorry for the delay! If I were you I'd go to Propel Bikes or
Greenpath Electric in New York City and test ride some different models.
I'm not a huge fan of these older rear-heavy ProdecoTech bikes (the
upcoming models are better) and the D-Series is great (especially if you
already have a good bike) but might require you to sacrifice that bike and
will take some real effort to install (a shop could also help you do this).
For the type of money and time involved I'd definitely hit one of those
shops, Propel in particular is great (formerly called Long Island Electric
Bikes)

Christian hoff-nielsen
1 year ago
yep , backwards engineering. Put the battery behind the rear wheel. fit it high up. 2015 and some actually still think this is IT ? This bike is the YUGOZASTAWA of cars
Erika Adams
2 years ago
yay
Erika Adams
2 years ago

the prodeco oasis

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Ha! Howdy Erika, do you own this ebike or were you thinking about it?

john cunningham
2 years ago
your mike sucks
john cunningham
2 years ago

Hey no problem...glad to see the reviews! Good Job

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Hi John, this review was shot late last year with a camera phone as I was
doing this as a fun side project on limited funds. Since then I've saved
some money to purchase a better camera and really improved the sounds
quality. Check out the new reviews like this one
http://electricbikereview.com/prodecotech/mariner-500/ thanks for your
feedback :)

rapskallion
2 years ago
You sound like a real authority on these. I've found that cutting a piece from a cheap foam (not cellulose) sponge and placed over the microphone works really well for a wind screen. If the mic is integral to the camera and works a small hole on the surface of the camera you can tape a piece (if there's room for tape) or use a little hot glue or silicone to adhere it. If you have an external mic use a small block of the sponge and cut a slit in it to act as a "pocket" for the mic to fit into. Nice review, though. Your presentation comes off as natural conversation that reminds me of Ira Glass of This American Life. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ira_Glass BTW, I'm not associated with any media production so my advice is amateur (with intelligent experience) and my opinions my own. Thanks!
tjobrienRC
2 years ago
Why do you have the seat set for a tall person when you are only 5'9" your legs would have to be 4' + to reach the pedals!
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

I like a higher seat position actually and at 6:05 you can see that my legs
reach when fully extended. I don't spend a lot of energy fitting each bike
because I'm usually reviewing multiple models and have limited time.

Chad Kovac
2 years ago
get a mic with a wind screen or something... please.
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Chad Kovac Thanks, yeah I'm always trying to improve the process and even
some of the newer videos are faint but none of them have the same loud
wind. I should have gotten a GoPro sooner but was experimenting with other
camera ideas and saving up. Do you do much filming? Any tips on how to
optimize sound?

Chad Kovac
2 years ago

It's ok, still appreciate your efforts, just hard to hear! =D

All Bike Update
2 years ago

Hey Chad, I've gotten a much better camera setup and wind screen since this
was shot. I just couldn't afford a GoPro setup at the time. Sorry for the
wind noise :)

Kyle Hamor
2 years ago
Would be possible to disassemble the battery, and put all the battery and controller part's into a custom center frame bag, like you see on the highest quality bikes? Also great channel, I've been using it everyday while searching for a bike. Thanks 
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Hi Kyle, great question... I'm sure you could remove the rack and battery
box and try to fit them into a frame bag (for better balance and to free up
the rear for a cargo pack). This would improve balance for sure but I'm not
sure how good it would look and it might also void the warranty. They have
a sticker on the battery box that says "void if removed" so you might be
best off to just reposition the battery vs. actually disassembling it. Keep
in mind there are electronics built into the lower part of the rack so it
might be bulkier than expected when in the frame bag. Also, the curved top
tube might not support the frame bag correctly, keep that in mind when
looking at different options. I'd love to hear how it goes if you try to do
it :)

Icon
2 years ago
I have this bike its awsome more then enough power dont have to pedal at all if you dont want to even up some pretty steap hills, the seat is small/hard so best to get a gel cruiser seat,sespension is pretty good best to just leave it on firm imo the brakes are quite no squeeling like some disc brakes, got mine from amazon last year $1600 delivered to the door totally worth it.
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Mickey Mouska Yeah, I asked them about it... the rack has several
attachment points that have to be lined up correctly to avoid breaks. It's
also important to line up the front pins or they can get bent. Honestly,
not my favorite battery design (especially since you can't even put a cargo
bag or panniers on top) but it gets the job done. During one test ride I
did a wheelie and flipped a bike onto the rear pack. I was bummed and
thought it must have broken the thing but it just scratched it up... I
think they hold up alright.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Cool! Sounds like it's working great. Awesome that it can get you up hills
without even having to pedal! I'm 130lbs and it did the same for me but I
know that's pretty light so often I'm hesitant to say one way or another to
avoid disappointing people who weigh more.

huntingvuk
2 years ago
thanks good vid, I have an X2 ,,love it!
huntingvuk
2 years ago

+Electric Bike Review
they are really great! even called a month later to see if I was happy with
everything! VERY RARE these days to have such great costumer service! just
got new brake pads, about 2,000 + miles so far (winter rides are not often)
worth every penny! :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+huntingvuk Cool! They sound like an awesome shop, glad it worked out for
you so well :)

huntingvuk
2 years ago

+Electric Bike Review
ordered from Seattle E bike ( by telephone) I'm in Maine had the bike in
my hands 6 days after I placed the order ready to go & Seattle E bike have
great knowledge & work on the bikes VERY helpful place! highly recommend
them! great store!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Nice! Yeah, they can work pretty well. Did you buy it from a shop or get it
online and assemble yourself? If so, was it very difficult?

TheCampson
2 years ago
Looking to buy this bike in summer for college! Thanks for the review! $1800 is a little expensive, do you think its worth it?
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Mickey Mouska For the pricepoint and availability (and the improvement
over the stock Trailz) I'm a fan. I didn't give the bike a perfect rating
or anything, the rack design is heavy but functional for cargo and I like
that it actually has assist. Amazon is a mixed space for reviews and I
think some are fake... iZip has also been sold through Walmart and other
places that might have less well informed customers. It's hard to say one
way or the other but for some applications I think a Trailz Commuter could
work alright.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

I like ebikes with more even weight distribution and pedal assist so this
wasn't a perfect fit. Depending on your size, weight and intended use you
could get something like the e-Joe Epik Lite for $1,400 or the eZip Trailz
Commuter for $999. Check out all of the affordable ebikes I've reviewed and
feel free to ask in the Community Forum area back at the site for more
advice and comparing http://electricbikereview.com/tag/affordable/

bubz hos sol
3 years ago
Mine is good had a few issues ( I have the X2) but still almost the same bike. My main issue now is that the back rim dented and no it rides bumby. I'm hoping they replace considering the hub motor is fine, maybe they will satisfy a minor exchange when I bring it up to them at Prodeco Warranty.
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Cool, thanks for sharing your experience! I'm glad the bike has been
working out for you and I hope ProdecoTech is able to cover the bent rim
under warranty. You said it was the back rim correct? I wonder if the
combined weight of the hub motor and battery pack on the rear of the bike
contributed to this damage, do you remember when/how it happened?

Stuart Leslie
3 years ago
I've been riding mine for almost a year. Loved it from day one. It is perfect for getting around town, but my favorite is off road. I'm not doing jumps but I go through fields in 4 foot gras & rough trails.. I don't notice the higher center of gaveity after only a few hours. The hub adds weight lower off setting some of the battery. Finally the handle bar is adjustable adding up to six inches. I am about to try studded snow tires and let you know the outcome. 
Stuart Leslie
3 years ago

Ill stick on pro !]

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hi Stuart! Thanks for sharing your experience with the X3, sounds like it
is working really well for you. I'd love to hear how the studded snow tires
work (it's winter here in Colorado and some friends were talking about
doing that). I saw a neat little snowbard thing for the front wheel of
ebikes recently and we've been discussing it and studs back at the forums:
http://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/bionx-vs-alation-or-falcon.40/#post-159
feel free to join up and share pictures when you get your bike setup!

RC-Collector
3 years ago
How would you compare this to the Outlaw, comfort and power wise? Always good videos. Good job.
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

The Phantom X3 felt a lot more stable than the Outlaw to me. Might be the
smaller front fork (the Outlaw has a double crown that is heavier and seems
steeper). The Phantom X3 is actually my favorite ProdecoTech ebike so far.
If you follow the link in the description back to the full review I give it
4.5 stars vs. just 3 for the Outlaw and list some of the pros/cons for
comparison. Hope that helps! If you're considering this vs. other ebikes
check out the Community forum linked from the site, I'm there commenting
and others might chime in to help you find the right fit :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago
Thanks... I know the wind sound sucks, I try to get a bunch of different angles and have been considering a GoPro :)
JMNH2009
3 years ago
you should buy a go pro
Brandon Foster
3 years ago
I've never had issues like that on mine...my issue was potholes...going 30mph into one battery slipped an flew off slid 50 ft no issues getting fixed.....keep in mind all foldable bikes are not meant for big time dirt trails or curbs.....the x2 is basically for commuting-dirt roads not trail riding