SmartMotion Pacer Review

Smartmotion Pacer Electric Bike Review
Smartmotion Pacer
Smartmotion Pacer 500 Watt Dapu Geared Hub Motor
Smartmotion Pacer 48 Volt Panasonic Battery
Smartmotion Pacer Trigger Throttle Ergonomic Grips
Smartmotion Pacer Integrated Color Backlit Display Usb Charging
Smartmotion Pacer 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Smartmotion Pacer Rear Rack Bamboo Deck Bungee
Smartmotion Pacer Downtube Led Light Strip
Smartmotion Pacer Rigid Aluminum Fork Fender Led Headlight
Smartmotion Pacer Led Brake Light And Rack Lights
Smartmotion Pacer Electric Bike Removable Lithium Ion Battery Pack
Smartmotion Pacer 2 Amp Ebike Charger
Smartmotion Pacer Manual Included Tools
Smartmotion Pacer Electric Bike Review
Smartmotion Pacer
Smartmotion Pacer 500 Watt Dapu Geared Hub Motor
Smartmotion Pacer 48 Volt Panasonic Battery
Smartmotion Pacer Trigger Throttle Ergonomic Grips
Smartmotion Pacer Integrated Color Backlit Display Usb Charging
Smartmotion Pacer 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Smartmotion Pacer Rear Rack Bamboo Deck Bungee
Smartmotion Pacer Downtube Led Light Strip
Smartmotion Pacer Rigid Aluminum Fork Fender Led Headlight
Smartmotion Pacer Led Brake Light And Rack Lights
Smartmotion Pacer Electric Bike Removable Lithium Ion Battery Pack
Smartmotion Pacer 2 Amp Ebike Charger
Smartmotion Pacer Manual Included Tools

Summary

  • An urban oriented speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph riding and long distance commutes or trekking, no suspension but the tires are larger to improve comfort and you get ergonomic grips
  • Integrated LED lights run off the battery pack and are upgraded a bit because the back light activates when you pull the right brake lever, also there are cool LED light strips below the downtube and rear rack arms!
  • Fancy color display can be dimmed, switches to a dark background when lights are activated and has a USB port and bike charging port above it for convenience, it's easy to see and use while riding thanks to a button pad on the left bar
  • I wish the kickstand was rear mounded vs. center to avoid pedal collision, the grips are a bit wonky, powering the bike on takes two steps, the motor is a bit loud and more speed driven vs. torque so pedaling helps when climbing steep hills

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

SmartMotion

Model:

Pacer

Price:

$2,799 (Optional $3,199)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20162017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53.5 lbs (24.26 kg)

Battery Weight:

9 lbs (4.08 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)18 in (45.72 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small/Medium: 16" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 29.5" Stand Over Height, 72" Length, Medium/Large: 18” Seat Tube, 22” Top Tube Length, 30” Stand Over Height, 73” Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Metallic Burnt Orange with Black Accents, Metallic White with Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 11 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Motor Axle with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore, 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length

Pedals:

Wellgo M195 Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

Neco Integrated, Tapered 1-1/8"

Stem:

Aluminum Alloy, 3° Rise, 70 mm Length

Handlebar:

Aluminum Alloy, Low-Rise, 31.8 mm Diametr, 15° Rise, 26.75" Length

Brake Details:

Magura MT4 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Magura MT4E Levers with Motor Inhibitor on Right

Grips:

Rubber Ergonomic with Bar Ends, Locking

Saddle:

Velo Active

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

400 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.4 mm

Rims:

Alexrims DP23, Double Wall, 36 Hole, Brass Eyelets and Nopples

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14G Front 13G Rear, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Platynota, 27.5" x 1.95" (650 x 50B)

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

30 TPI Casing, Wire Bead, 40-65 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Integrated Roxim LED Headlight, Integrated Sate Lite LED Rear Light (Activates with Right Lever), Integrated LED Undercarriage Lights on Downtube and Rack Supports, Aluminum Alloy Rack with Bamboo Deck and Bungee Cords, Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Paint Matched Chain Cover, Alloy Bash Guard, Adjustable Length Kickstand, USB Charging Port on Right Side of Battery and Display

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.6 lb 2 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Dapu

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

900 watts

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

14.5 ah (Optional 17.5 ah)

Battery Watt Hours:

696 wh (Optional 840 wh)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Cobalt Manganese Dioxide LiNiCOMnO2

Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Estimated Max Range:

120 miles (193 km)

Display Type:

Integrated Color Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Assist Level (5 Bars), Power Watt Level (10 Bars), Speed, Odometer, Trip Meter, Range, Max Speed, Avg. Speed, Cadence, Torque, Battery Level (10 Bars)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The SmartMotion Pacer delivers a lot of value and performance for a pretty reasonable price and it impressed me with a several creative new features such as LED strips along the downtube and rack supports. These, in addition to more standard integrated LED lights and a rear light that activates when you pull the right brake lever (which has a motor inhibitor built in) improve ride safety but still look cool. And there’s more… instead of a tacked-on monochrome display panel the Pacer has an inset color display that almost looks like a mobile phone. It’s large bright and full of information. I love how easy the settings are to adjust and that you can turn down the brightness if you prefer. They were very insightful with this design because it automatically switches to a black background at night to reduce distraction! Very cool. All of these features come in at under $3k and you get a two year warranty to boot.

So this is a 28 mph capable Class 3 speed pedelec and that means it can get you to work faster but the battery range also takes a hit. This is another area where good decisions were made because you get a 48 volt 14.5 amp hour battery standard (which is way above average) and have an option to upgrade further with a 17.5 amp hour battery! All packs use high quality Panasonic cells and I love that they power the lights mentioned earlier. It all works together nicely much like an automobile or fancier motorcycle… You’re even given the option to tap into the battery with two standard sized USB ports and one is strategically placed above the display on the top tube so your cable won’t get bumped or snagged while pedaling. The other one is on the pack but at least it’s high up and really, I think it would be most useful to charge from when the battery is off the bike like a backup power supply.

Not everything on this electric bike is perfect. For one, it uses standard sized 11 mm axles vs. sturdier thru-axles that could improve performance and durability at high speed. There’s only quick release on the front and not the rear. The kickstand is nice but it’s mounted behind the bottom bracket vs. further back so your pedals can hit it if you back the bike up when it’s deployed. The battery seats well but has a little play and might rattle over time. I feel like the motor is powerful enough to get you to high speeds but it produces more noise than heavier gearless hubs and isn’t the strongest climber if you go for throttle-only. Also, the battery has to be powered on before the display and I don’t love the grips because they have horns on the end which aren’t independently adjustable… it feels like the grip is right or the horns are right but not both at the same time. I’ve listed more detailed thoughts below but all things considered, this is an exciting new electric bike that feels accessible, comes in two sizes and two colors to fit different styles and body types and is being distributed in the US by a company that has been around and has a good reputation (Lectric Cycles which does E-Rad kits and conversions). I could see myself using this bike but might opt for a suspension seat post to improve comfort given the rigid frame and fork or even consider their other model, the Catalyst which is a hardtail trail/mountain design which I’ll review in the future. No lights, rack or fenders there however :) Big thanks to SmartMotion for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • The bike is available in two color schemes (burnt orange or white) and two sizes including 16″ and 18″ for improved fit, that’s pretty good for a more value oriented ebike
  • I like that the top tube is angled down to accommodate people with shorter inseams, considering there’s a rack on the back, swinging your leg around can be a little tricky vs. stepping over, the battery comes out sideways vs. straight down and is built into the downtube so that enabled the smaller main triangle on the frame
  • It’s nice to have full length fenders and a rack for commuting, especially since there wasn’t room for bottle cage bosses on the seat tube, consider using a trunk bag like this which has a bottle pouch
  • I’m always thinking about safety, especially when commuting or trekking long distance and at higher speeds so it’s awesome that this bike has integrated LED Lights and the rear one comes on when you pull the right brake lever so you’re extra safe even during the day if the lights aren’t fully on
  • This e-bike has some of the coolest light integration I’ve ever seen on any electric bike with a strip of LED’s running along the bottom of the downtube and along both rear-facing struts of the rack! It all blends in nicely but actually does really make you visible at night
  • Considering the relatively large name brand battery and motor on this electric bike, I feel like the price is good and it’s neat that you can upgrade for even more capacity AND you get a Body Float… of course you could always buy one separately or pay a little less for a Thudbuster ST and a 30.4 shim
  • I’m mixed on the Wellgo platform pedals they chose, I prefer them over cages because they are longer and grip well (and the toe doesn’t get bent if the bike tips) but prefer the full size editions like this or even the lighter Magnesium models like this
  • I like that the bike comes with an adjustable length kickstand and that the front wheel has quick release, it these design features make it easier to park and transport but I do wish the kickstand was mounted at the back of the left chainstay vs. behind the bottom bracket because the pedals can collide with it there
  • Complimenting the fenders is a thin paint-matched chainguard and I think this would help to keep pant legs clean and snag-free, it’s a nice little extra that felt solid vs. plastic and probably won’t bend or rattle as easy as some others I’ve seen/tested
  • There’s lots of adjustability through the display including backlight brightness and even top speed (with your dealer’s help) so you could make this a 20 mph ebike vs. 28 if you wanted, hold the up and down buttons to enter settings
  • I think it’s really neat that they placed a USB port near the display on the top tube in addition to the port on the right side of the battery pack because it’s easy to reach there but you can still charge smaller portable electronics from the battery when it’s not on the bike!
  • The display is really large, easy to understand and full of information but I like that you still get a button pad near the left grip, it’s not overly complicated or difficult to use
  • When you activate the lights on the bike (by holding the up arrow for a few seconds) the LCD display changes from white to black background which significantly reduces distraction while riding… genius!!
  • This is the first electric bike that I’ve ever tested where you can actually choose torque sensing or cadence sensing mode for pedal assist… that’s cool because torque is a bit more responsive and offers varied power vs. the more on/off feeling of cadence, I still like cadence though because you don’t have to work as hard when riding this way and of course I live that you can override any pedal assist mode at any time with the throttle and get full power

Cons:

  • You have to power the bike on with two steps, first press the button on top of the battery (which is kind of tight and difficult to see) then hold the power “M” button on the control pad
  • No bottle cage bosses on this bike, doesn’t seem like there’s enough room on the seat tube without impacting the seat post… thankfully the included rack would work well with a trunk bag with a bottle slot
  • I like Wellgo platform pedals but the M195 models chosen for this bike aren’t especially wide so people with larger feet might want to swap them for the BMX style ones, you can go ultra light with magnesium for under $50
  • The all-Aluminum frame is light and stiff but can be jarring, especially at higher speeds, a suspension fork would be nice but I like that they include a Body Float suspension seat post if you upgrade to the larger battery model
  • I love that the bike has a kickstand but wish it was mounted further back so the left crank arm didn’t collide when you walk the bike backwards
  • I like ergonomic grips but am not a huge fan of the ones they chose for this bike because the bar ends are integrated, you can’t angle them independently so for me… either the grips feel good or the ends feel good but they are never quite perfect together… at least the grips are locking so they don’t spin
  • Considering this bike doesn’t come with a suspension fork and it’s a speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph, I really appreciate the slightly larger 1.95″ diameter tires for improved comfort, compared with the Stromer models which also have rigid forks you don’t get Carbon fiber here (which dampens vibration) just Aluminum alloy
  • There’s a little circle port near the base of the battery that can be used to charge but it’s right in the way of the left crank arm which could bend or even break it… thankfully there’s another port up near the display on the top tube which seems more risk free
  • I noticed that you have to be in one of the five levels of pedal assist for the throttle to work, there is no throttle-only mode on this electric bike
  • The motor is a planetary geared design that produces a whirring noise (especially in high power mode and at higher speeds) vs. a gearless or even some mid-drives, see the video for reference… it kind of sounds like angry bees O_o

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More SmartMotion Reviews

SmartMotion Catalyst Review

  • MSRP: $2,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A high-speed trail capable electric bike with cadence sensing and torque sensing pedal assist options as well as a trigger throttle for maximum power override. Futuristic frame with neatly integrated battery pack offering lots of range, oversized angled tubing, tapered…...

Tom
7 months ago

Thanks for the great review and a great site. So far I’ve totally failed to find a source for this bike in the USA. The Smart Motion website is no help and contact through Facebook just refers me to the website.

Any information you can pass on would be much appreciated. Tom, Seattle WA.

Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi Tom! Sorry to hear that it has been a struggle trying to locate these new bikes, I think they are still nailing down specific dealers but they do have an outlet in Las Vegas and I just called their marketing lead Chris Head who gave me the number 702-444-7474 and said you can call him directly to get more info, place a pre-order and that he would even try for free shipping since you’ve had a bit of a hiccup getting in touch. Hope this helps and feel free to chime in again if you want me to reach out or get more info like if the number above doesn’t work.

Tom
7 months ago

Thanks for the info Court!

Jim Hari
7 months ago

Hi Court, I see that this one, the Smart Motion Pacer, is only available in New Zealand, and distribution is not available in US, as far as I can see. Sometimes I have seen with your reviews that I am drooling to try these bikes and buy one but can’t because say in the Midwest, Chicago and Suburbs, there are no dealers who represent and sell them. In addition, if availability was only possible directly with the Bike Company, without any Dealers, where would warranty service be able to be done, and would the company be reliable to warrant their Bikes.

Court Rye
7 months ago

Hey Jim! Someone else commented about this today and I called the company, spoke with Chris Head. First off, Lectric Cycles (the company importing SmartMotion to the USA) has a good reputation and has been selling kits and converted bikes for multiple years. I got to visit their showroom in Vegas and hope to publish a video showing it soon. Second, this review was shot just before Interbike when the company was signing up dealers so it’s kind of a sneak peek but I have no doubt that we’ll see it in stores across the country sometime soon. You can call them to place pre-orders and maybe even get a free shipping deal from Chris since you’re an early bird. Note, I do not get paid if you buy one of these bikes and my feedback here is more qualitative than anything but you can call them yourself for more answers… just trying to help :)

George
7 months ago

This has to be my No1 ebike to purchase as seeing and being seen in the UK in the winter months is very important but the fact that the dealers can restrict the bike to global markets is brilliant. Court would I be right in thinking if the dealer restricted the bike to our 18mph limit the motor would still have the same torque characteristics of a higher speed variant meaning it would provide the much higher output of the 500w motor giving the bike much greater hill climbing abilities over say a 350w motor? And improving the range as the bike wouldn’t assist past our lower limit? Would love if you could find out this if your in touch with the guys. Thanks bud

Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi George! I think quite a few little things were actually changed for the US version (that’s what the founder of SmartMotion told me). He was saying it in a proud sort of way like “our version is even better than the already good version…” but that might mean it actually has a larger motor or different firmware. I honestly can’t say for sure, I’d love to hype it up for you and be like, yeah! It’s a powerful motor but I just don’t know. On the flip side, I believe the Bosch Gen 2 mid-drive is the exact same hardware in all markets and it’s simply software that changes the max speed and power, even with the CX, so that’s an argument for the SmartMotion also being the same hardware. That’s usually the most efficient way for manufacturers to do it. Hope this helps, I’ll ask if/when I speak to Smart Motion again but you can also reach out directly, I think they usually respond pretty quickly :)

Pam Ford
7 months ago

Hi Court, We have just bought two SmartMotion Pacers (in New Zealand). Thank you for your awesome review and giving us some tips on using it.
If other readers want to buy and have them shipped, we would recommend the dealer we purchased from, Nigel from Evolution Cycles. Pam

Court Rye
7 months ago

Sweet! Thanks for the tip Pam, I hope you enjoy the bikes… I was really impressed with the technology and am excited to finish reviewing the Catalyst soon ;)

Terence
6 months ago

Hi Court, I’m tossing up between a Smartmotion Pacer and a Juiced Crosscurrent (10.4 battery, and I would want to add fenders) . Which would you recommend? Price is one of my biggest concerns, in your opinion is it worth it to pay more for the extra accessories/functions of the Pacer. Thanks, I love the site and the reviews.

Court Rye
6 months ago

Hi Terence! I love how light and simple the CrossCurrent is but have a hard time overlooking the fenders, nice rack and LIGHTS on the Pacer. It’s a sweet bike with an upgrade on the zip and motor… you don’t have to pay extra for throttle mode and you get those two assist settings. I really like the bike and would be willing to pay more for it. Hope this helps.

John Tyler
5 months ago

Where can you buy these? Their website doesn’t seem to have a store or shipping. I’m in Ohio.

Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi John! Reach out to Lectric Cycles directly if you’re in the USA. Chris Head (a marketing manager at the company) chimed in on a comment above saying you can call him directly at 702-444-7474. Hope this helps! I’d love to hear how the bike works out for you if you decide to get it :)

Tom
5 months ago

I purchased my Smartmotion Pacer from Lectric Cycles’ website. They were responsive and helpful at every step of the process and I have no regrets. It is a wondefully powerful and well designed bike.

Lectric Cycles informed me that as the battery is a hazmat item I would need to provide a signature in person upon delivery. After much coordination with Fedex about this they delivered it 3 days early when I was out. No signature was needed.

Not having the benefit of a test ride prior to purchase, there were a couple of surprises I should mention which might help other buyers:

  1. Tall riders beware: I purchased the larger of the 2 available sizes with the optional Bodyfloat seatpost. The Bodyfloat is a couple inches shorter than the standard, Pacer seatpost making it an inch or so too short for me even though I am not exceptionally tall at a shade less than 6 feet. So I wasted a little money there.
  2. The battery on my bike does not fit very snugly and rattles annoyingly. I might only be noticing this because the rest of the bike is superbly rattle-free.

They are the only faults I have found after a few days riding. The Pacer is nicely balanced and feels much lighter than it’s 54lbs.

I have settled on using the torque sensor mode all the time. It takes some getting used to though because on the higher assist levels it kicks in very quickly even when applying almost no torque to the pedals. This means that when navigating a tight turn at low speed you need to lightly apply the brake or it will carry you off unexpectedly fast.

Thanks once again for a great website Court.

Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Tom! Excellent updates, thanks for the heads up about your BodyFloat post being a bit shorter than the stock. I think Thudbuster sells the longer 400 mm suspension posts that could be fit into the 30.4 mm diameter with a shim adapter 27.2 to 30.4 mm here for $10. Also, as for the rattling battery interface, consider using some layers of tape to create a tighter fit and remove the plastic on plastic contact. You can get black duct tape pretty cheap online just make sure you don’t put down too many layers and accidentally lose the battery on bumpy terrain because it’s not seated all the way ;)

Anonymous
5 months ago

Thanks, Court. I’m torn between the Smart Motion Pacer and a 2015 Emotion Nitro City EVO (I’m having a hard time discerning exactly what model it is and which of your reviews apply). The local dealer, Orbit City Bikes, has one that they’re selling at an “off-year” model price for a discount including the 2 yr battery warranty and 5 yr bike warranty.

Most important to me is Class III, a dedicated throttle, equipped for commuting (racks, fenders, lights), and enough juice to go the whole day (my commute is 13 miles round trip plus errands). I don’t expect you to make my decision for me, but it sure is difficult!

Anonymous
4 months ago

Loving my Pacer but I want to change the speed settings – I can get to that section but alas it’s greyed out so I can’t change. You got any tips on how I can get that done?

Chris Head
4 months ago

Give us a call concerning the speed settings. We have not published the speed change procedure because the bike is shipped to meet the class 3 rules. (702) 444-7474. We can talk you through the settings

Chris Head
4 months ago

If anyone has any questions about where to purchase or trouble shooting please call us at (702) 444-7474 or email chris@lectriccycles.com We do sell consumer direct if you are not close to a dealer.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

86 and still kicking
2 weeks ago

While you say no rear hub, I strongly suggest you look at the Pacer from SmartMotion. 28pmh speed pedelec, huge battery , very well balanced, and less money.

86 and still kicking
1 month ago

So, we got a call from a fellow in San Francisco and did a personal demo last Tuesday on our new SmartMotion Pacer. He called the next day and bought it. So, I adjusted the seat on the new SmartMotion Catalyst demo we have and rode it to coffee for the past 2 days. I was pestered at Peets for a demo ride. The guy comes back from a 10 minute ride and wants to buy it.

If you live anywhere near a SmartMotion dealer you own it to yourself to hop on a Catalyst or Pacer. I'd love to hear your impressions. Thanks,

Charles Duke
2 months ago

Compare the SmartMotion Pacer BATTERY AMP HOURS: 14.5 ah (Optional 17.5 ah) and BATTERY WATT HOURS: 696 wh (Optional 840 wh) to the Specialized Turbo S, more power, features at under 1/2 the price of the specialized. Pacer $3199.00 vs Turbos S $7,000.00.

Amari Hamilton
2 months ago

Are those hand slip guards?

Richard Ashurst
2 months ago

I think they are called bar-ends - something to hang on to like bull horns when climbing in a standing position and rocking the bike back and forth. Not really super necessary for an e-bike.

RealWorldVideos
2 months ago

Im on the market looking for a nice ride with great specs and a great price. Im specifically looking for a bike that has Throttle and its hard to find now a days with new 2017 electric bicycles because mostly everything is middrive pedal assist. Now that being said this bike has a 500W motor, 17.5ah battery and throttle for 3100$. To me thats an amazing deal that caters to my need compared to whats on the market at the moment for 2017 bikes. Does anybody know of any other electric bike manufactures that includes throttle in their new 2017 ebike lineup with similar specs and price range?
Im currently upgrading from a 2016 Volton Alation 500, that has 500w motor, Throttle, and 11ah battery for 2200$
Also has anybody rode this bike in the rain? how does it hold up to wet weather conditions? i see the battery is not in the tube and im guessing moisture would find its way in the connection area where the battery plugs in.

Catman Gamer
4 months ago

Nice bike. I agree I would get different grips. I'm looking for a ebike that me and my wife can ride. Too bad nobody in colorado is selling it

blitz boy
6 months ago

iv got a question for whom ever wants to answer. ok. i have the chioce of buying a sondors thin or put a bafang 750 mid drive on my new motobecane mtb. i want to use it to go to work. my job is only 2.5 miles from my house. what should i do? what i worry about is being bored half way through the trip because the bike is a slow cruiser. i never rode an ebike before. what would u pick ? thanks

Texas Hi-Railer
7 months ago

I'm sorry but coming from a family of 3rd generation electronics & electrical engineers, my dad & oldest brother being electronics experts and another brother being an industrial electrical engineer and also knowing what a really good bicycle should cost, anything over $1,500 for an e-Bike is straight up a "RIP-OFF" and I don't care what they claim to add-on.

We're looking at roughly $800 for a damn good bicycle and about $700 to $750 for top-notch electronics w/motor with all the bells & whistles and that's it my friend. When I see these electrically controlled/motorized bicycles for $2K upwards of $5K, all those companies are doing is simply ripping people off and you & I both know that to be fact!!!

Darren Turner
4 months ago

I just tell em that if it gets me off my couch, its got to be a good thing, at least Im moving!

Alex Paulsen
4 months ago

Darren Turner If somebody tells me electric bikes are cheating, I snidely reply "I'll just go tell all our customers that it's a wasted effort and they should all start driving again." It certainly changes their attitude towards them.

Darren Turner
4 months ago

Alex Paulsen thanks for the heads up. I tried all the bike shops here but their attitude to electric bikes in general was terrible! It's like they think we are cheating or something. I'm 51 years old and 15kgs overweight and an electric bike really helps me get moving again and is helping with my fitness. It's a shame really cause these shops are missing out on a massive opportunity and niche market! Like I said, the retailer is well meaning but I'd rather just fix it myself, lol.

Alex Paulsen
4 months ago

Darren Turner The cranks will have some lateral play in them. A few drops of loctite does fix the battery mount issues, those tiny threads in that soft aluminium frame actually hold up surprisingly well. It's a shame you couldn't buy it from a reputable bike shop, it's department stores and their incompetence that give people a sour taste for these things. I'd be contacting the distributor for the bikes in Australia, (not sure if that's Electric Bikes NZ for you guys or not) explain the situation if your bottom bracket does die, give them a serial number on the bike, and hopefully they'll be able to send one your way. They're almosy as easy to install as any other, except that they have a cable to connect up for the torque sensor.

Darren Turner
4 months ago

Alex Paulsen how will I know when the bottom bracket fails, what does it do? A failure may seem like a minor thing to you but as a customer paying a small fortune, it's a big deal to me, especially when it lets me down miles from civilisation! It's good to know what to look out for in the future but I would have thought a responsible company and it's dealers would want to know about potential failures before their product leaves the store? A few drops of loctite before the bike leaves the shop is probably all it will take to prevent this happening to anyone else.

Adolfo Pineda
7 months ago

how fast does it go full power with the throttle on the flat roads? Am really looking to buy this bike! And what website can you trust for I can buy one?

McNuggetEh
7 months ago

Love the choice between how the bike feeds you power.

Daniel Guzman
7 months ago

which is its electric bike class ?

Dan Guzman
7 months ago

Where is it selling that Ebike ??????

Daniel Guzman
7 months ago

Does it have Trigger throttle or Twist Throttle?

BBBYpsi
7 months ago

He showed it had a trigger over ride throttle only. On left side & under hand grip under control pad for display

Dana
7 months ago

I would like to know what kind of helmet you wear. Maybe time to review more than one. Love your videos...

Rotormatic
7 months ago

I'm liking the styling of this bike! At 9:10 in the video, do the rear LED red lights flicker like that or is it a camera shutter effect? I was thinking a flickering light would be better actually to enhance visibility since the red LED lights are dimmer.

TheOvillain
7 months ago

I searched the SmartMotion websites and saw no mention of the weight. What are the frames made out of and what do the bikes weigh? Thanks for your reviews! They are very informative.

BBBYpsi
7 months ago

He listed the weight including battery on his site at 53.5 lbs or (24.6KG) You can go to where he has the specs here. https://electricbikereview.com/smartmotion/pacer/ Or you can go to where you can get to all of his stuff & a great web page for electric bikes here. https://electricbikereview.com/

plaid13
7 months ago

You should get some pivothead glasses or something similar for that true first person point of view for some of this stuff. Could really improve the test ride part of the video.

Karl Volk
7 months ago

What kind of helmet are you wearing in this video? And do you recommend it. Mine is driving me nuts with too much wind noise in my ears. Thx.

Scott Mccurley
7 months ago

I looked this bike up on there website, and they are posting the pacer is a 250-300w hub motor. Hmmm...maybe that's why it is so small and not that fast. Could you see if there is an error? I really want one, but not if it is a 250W motor. Your Awesome, keep up the good work.

Scott Mccurley
7 months ago

Oh I see, Thanks for the info.

Jared Oelderink-Wale
7 months ago

The website you'll be looking at will be for New Zealand (and possibily Austrlia) where the max wattage limits will be 250-300w. I suspect the bikes going into the USA will have a higher wattage motor.

Mr Awesome
7 months ago

Good review.. for 3.1k I would like carbon fork at least.

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 months ago

The base model is $2,799 and has an alloy fork so yeah, I agree carbon would be better, you don't get a different fork for the extra money, just a larger battery and the suspension seat post. I heard you can buy just the post from them for ~$200 if you don't care about the extra large battery. I'd consider getting a suspension fork myself

MegaTrdi
7 months ago

Nice bike but way too expensive. Thanx.

Donandnan Elmore
1 week ago

Mega, "Nearly 100% lower price" means it's almost free.

MegaTrdi
7 months ago

+Yes that is much better. Nearly 100% lower price but only 30% less performance and design.

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 months ago

I hear you, have you seen the CrossCurrent by any chance? It's not as powerful and doesn't have as many features but it is a speed pedelec and it costs less: https://electricbikereview.com/juiced-bikes/crosscurrent/

MAC WHITE
7 months ago

really nice bike here

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 months ago

I agree, it's a bump up from the CrossCurrent but a bump down from the Stromer models and the price fits. Great for city riding and commuting