SmartMotion Pacer Review

Smartmotion Pacer Electric Bike Review
Smartmotion Pacer
Smartmotion Pacer 500 Watt Dapu Geared Hub Motor
Smartmotion Pacer 48 Volt Panasonic Battery
Smartmotion Pacer Trigger Throttle Ergonomic Grips
Smartmotion Pacer Integrated Color Backlit Display Usb Charging
Smartmotion Pacer 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Smartmotion Pacer Rear Rack Bamboo Deck Bungee
Smartmotion Pacer Downtube Led Light Strip
Smartmotion Pacer Rigid Aluminum Fork Fender Led Headlight
Smartmotion Pacer Led Brake Light And Rack Lights
Smartmotion Pacer Electric Bike Removable Lithium Ion Battery Pack
Smartmotion Pacer 2 Amp Ebike Charger
Smartmotion Pacer Manual Included Tools
Smartmotion Pacer Electric Bike Review
Smartmotion Pacer
Smartmotion Pacer 500 Watt Dapu Geared Hub Motor
Smartmotion Pacer 48 Volt Panasonic Battery
Smartmotion Pacer Trigger Throttle Ergonomic Grips
Smartmotion Pacer Integrated Color Backlit Display Usb Charging
Smartmotion Pacer 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Smartmotion Pacer Rear Rack Bamboo Deck Bungee
Smartmotion Pacer Downtube Led Light Strip
Smartmotion Pacer Rigid Aluminum Fork Fender Led Headlight
Smartmotion Pacer Led Brake Light And Rack Lights
Smartmotion Pacer Electric Bike Removable Lithium Ion Battery Pack
Smartmotion Pacer 2 Amp Ebike Charger
Smartmotion Pacer Manual Included Tools

Summary

  • An urban oriented speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph riding and long distance commutes or trekking, no suspension but the tires are larger to improve comfort and you get ergonomic grips
  • Integrated LED lights run off the battery pack and are upgraded a bit because the back light activates when you pull the right brake lever, also there are cool LED light strips below the downtube and rear rack arms!
  • Fancy color display can be dimmed, switches to a dark background when lights are activated and has a USB port and bike charging port above it for convenience, it's easy to see and use while riding thanks to a button pad on the left bar
  • I wish the kickstand was rear mounded vs. center to avoid pedal collision, the grips are a bit wonky, powering the bike on takes two steps, the motor is a bit loud and more speed driven vs. torque so pedaling helps when climbing steep hills

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

SmartMotion

Model:

Pacer

Price:

$2,799 (Optional $3,199)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20162017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53.5 lbs (24.26 kg)

Battery Weight:

9 lbs (4.08 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)18 in (45.72 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small/Medium: 16" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 29.5" Stand Over Height, 72" Length, Medium/Large: 18” Seat Tube, 22” Top Tube Length, 30” Stand Over Height, 73” Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Metallic Burnt Orange with Black Accents, Metallic White with Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 11 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Motor Axle with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore, 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length

Pedals:

Wellgo M195 Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

Neco Integrated, Tapered 1-1/8"

Stem:

Aluminum Alloy, 3° Rise, 70 mm Length

Handlebar:

Aluminum Alloy, Low-Rise, 31.8 mm Diametr, 15° Rise, 26.75" Length

Brake Details:

Magura MT4 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Magura MT4E Levers with Motor Inhibitor on Right

Grips:

Rubber Ergonomic with Bar Ends, Locking

Saddle:

Velo Active

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

400 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.4 mm

Rims:

Alexrims DP23, Double Wall, 36 Hole, Brass Eyelets and Nopples

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14G Front 13G Rear, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Platynota, 27.5" x 1.95" (650 x 50B)

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

30 TPI Casing, Wire Bead, 40-65 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Integrated Roxim LED Headlight, Integrated Sate Lite LED Rear Light (Activates with Right Lever), Integrated LED Undercarriage Lights on Downtube and Rack Supports, Aluminum Alloy Rack with Bamboo Deck and Bungee Cords, Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Paint Matched Chain Cover, Alloy Bash Guard, Adjustable Length Kickstand, USB Charging Port on Right Side of Battery and Display

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.6 lb 2 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Dapu

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

900 watts

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

14.5 ah (Optional 17.5 ah)

Battery Watt Hours:

696 wh (Optional 840 wh)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Cobalt Manganese Dioxide LiNiCOMnO2

Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Estimated Max Range:

120 miles (193 km)

Display Type:

Integrated Color Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Assist Level (5 Bars), Power Watt Level (10 Bars), Speed, Odometer, Trip Meter, Range, Max Speed, Avg. Speed, Cadence, Torque, Battery Level (10 Bars)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The SmartMotion Pacer delivers a lot of value and performance for a pretty reasonable price and it impressed me with a several creative new features such as LED strips along the downtube and rack supports. These, in addition to more standard integrated LED lights and a rear light that activates when you pull the right brake lever (which has a motor inhibitor built in) improve ride safety but still look cool. And there’s more… instead of a tacked-on monochrome display panel the Pacer has an inset color display that almost looks like a mobile phone. It’s large bright and full of information. I love how easy the settings are to adjust and that you can turn down the brightness if you prefer. They were very insightful with this design because it automatically switches to a black background at night to reduce distraction! Very cool. All of these features come in at under $3k and you get a two year warranty to boot.

So this is a 28 mph capable Class 3 speed pedelec and that means it can get you to work faster but the battery range also takes a hit. This is another area where good decisions were made because you get a 48 volt 14.5 amp hour battery standard (which is way above average) and have an option to upgrade further with a 17.5 amp hour battery! All packs use high quality Panasonic cells and I love that they power the lights mentioned earlier. It all works together nicely much like an automobile or fancier motorcycle… You’re even given the option to tap into the battery with two standard sized USB ports and one is strategically placed above the display on the top tube so your cable won’t get bumped or snagged while pedaling. The other one is on the pack but at least it’s high up and really, I think it would be most useful to charge from when the battery is off the bike like a backup power supply.

Not everything on this electric bike is perfect. For one, it uses standard sized 11 mm axles vs. sturdier thru-axles that could improve performance and durability at high speed. There’s only quick release on the front and not the rear. The kickstand is nice but it’s mounted behind the bottom bracket vs. further back so your pedals can hit it if you back the bike up when it’s deployed. The battery seats well but has a little play and might rattle over time. I feel like the motor is powerful enough to get you to high speeds but it produces more noise than heavier gearless hubs and isn’t the strongest climber if you go for throttle-only. Also, the battery has to be powered on before the display and I don’t love the grips because they have horns on the end which aren’t independently adjustable… it feels like the grip is right or the horns are right but not both at the same time. I’ve listed more detailed thoughts below but all things considered, this is an exciting new electric bike that feels accessible, comes in two sizes and two colors to fit different styles and body types and is being distributed in the US by a company that has been around and has a good reputation (Lectric Cycles which does E-Rad kits and conversions). I could see myself using this bike but might opt for a suspension seat post to improve comfort given the rigid frame and fork or even consider their other model, the Catalyst which is a hardtail trail/mountain design which I’ll review in the future. No lights, rack or fenders there however :) Big thanks to SmartMotion for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • The bike is available in two color schemes (burnt orange or white) and two sizes including 16″ and 18″ for improved fit, that’s pretty good for a more value oriented ebike
  • I like that the top tube is angled down to accommodate people with shorter inseams, considering there’s a rack on the back, swinging your leg around can be a little tricky vs. stepping over, the battery comes out sideways vs. straight down and is built into the downtube so that enabled the smaller main triangle on the frame
  • It’s nice to have full length fenders and a rack for commuting, especially since there wasn’t room for bottle cage bosses on the seat tube, consider using a trunk bag like this which has a bottle pouch
  • I’m always thinking about safety, especially when commuting or trekking long distance and at higher speeds so it’s awesome that this bike has integrated LED Lights and the rear one comes on when you pull the right brake lever so you’re extra safe even during the day if the lights aren’t fully on
  • This e-bike has some of the coolest light integration I’ve ever seen on any electric bike with a strip of LED’s running along the bottom of the downtube and along both rear-facing struts of the rack! It all blends in nicely but actually does really make you visible at night
  • Considering the relatively large name brand battery and motor on this electric bike, I feel like the price is good and it’s neat that you can upgrade for even more capacity AND you get a Body Float… of course you could always buy one separately or pay a little less for a Thudbuster ST and a 30.4 shim
  • I’m mixed on the Wellgo platform pedals they chose, I prefer them over cages because they are longer and grip well (and the toe doesn’t get bent if the bike tips) but prefer the full size editions like this or even the lighter Magnesium models like this
  • I like that the bike comes with an adjustable length kickstand and that the front wheel has quick release, it these design features make it easier to park and transport but I do wish the kickstand was mounted at the back of the left chainstay vs. behind the bottom bracket because the pedals can collide with it there
  • Complimenting the fenders is a thin paint-matched chainguard and I think this would help to keep pant legs clean and snag-free, it’s a nice little extra that felt solid vs. plastic and probably won’t bend or rattle as easy as some others I’ve seen/tested
  • There’s lots of adjustability through the display including backlight brightness and even top speed (with your dealer’s help) so you could make this a 20 mph ebike vs. 28 if you wanted, hold the up and down buttons to enter settings
  • I think it’s really neat that they placed a USB port near the display on the top tube in addition to the port on the right side of the battery pack because it’s easy to reach there but you can still charge smaller portable electronics from the battery when it’s not on the bike!
  • The display is really large, easy to understand and full of information but I like that you still get a button pad near the left grip, it’s not overly complicated or difficult to use
  • When you activate the lights on the bike (by holding the up arrow for a few seconds) the LCD display changes from white to black background which significantly reduces distraction while riding… genius!!
  • This is the first electric bike that I’ve ever tested where you can actually choose torque sensing or cadence sensing mode for pedal assist… that’s cool because torque is a bit more responsive and offers varied power vs. the more on/off feeling of cadence, I still like cadence though because you don’t have to work as hard when riding this way and of course I live that you can override any pedal assist mode at any time with the throttle and get full power

Cons:

  • You have to power the bike on with two steps, first press the button on top of the battery (which is kind of tight and difficult to see) then hold the power “M” button on the control pad
  • No bottle cage bosses on this bike, doesn’t seem like there’s enough room on the seat tube without impacting the seat post… thankfully the included rack would work well with a trunk bag with a bottle slot
  • I like Wellgo platform pedals but the M195 models chosen for this bike aren’t especially wide so people with larger feet might want to swap them for the BMX style ones, you can go ultra light with magnesium for under $50
  • The all-Aluminum frame is light and stiff but can be jarring, especially at higher speeds, a suspension fork would be nice but I like that they include a Body Float suspension seat post if you upgrade to the larger battery model
  • I love that the bike has a kickstand but wish it was mounted further back so the left crank arm didn’t collide when you walk the bike backwards
  • I like ergonomic grips but am not a huge fan of the ones they chose for this bike because the bar ends are integrated, you can’t angle them independently so for me… either the grips feel good or the ends feel good but they are never quite perfect together… at least the grips are locking so they don’t spin
  • Considering this bike doesn’t come with a suspension fork and it’s a speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph, I really appreciate the slightly larger 1.95″ diameter tires for improved comfort, compared with the Stromer models which also have rigid forks you don’t get Carbon fiber here (which dampens vibration) just Aluminum alloy
  • There’s a little circle port near the base of the battery that can be used to charge but it’s right in the way of the left crank arm which could bend or even break it… thankfully there’s another port up near the display on the top tube which seems more risk free
  • I noticed that you have to be in one of the five levels of pedal assist for the throttle to work, there is no throttle-only mode on this electric bike
  • The motor is a planetary geared design that produces a whirring noise (especially in high power mode and at higher speeds) vs. a gearless or even some mid-drives, see the video for reference… it kind of sounds like angry bees O_o

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More SmartMotion Reviews

SmartMotion Catalyst Review

  • MSRP: $2,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A high-speed trail capable electric bike with cadence sensing and torque sensing pedal assist options as well as a trigger throttle for maximum power override. Futuristic frame with neatly integrated battery pack offering lots of range, oversized angled tubing, tapered…...

Tom
1 year ago

Thanks for the great review and a great site. So far I’ve totally failed to find a source for this bike in the USA. The Smart Motion website is no help and contact through Facebook just refers me to the website.

Any information you can pass on would be much appreciated. Tom, Seattle WA.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Tom! Sorry to hear that it has been a struggle trying to locate these new bikes, I think they are still nailing down specific dealers but they do have an outlet in Las Vegas and I just called their marketing lead Chris Head who gave me the number 702-444-7474 and said you can call him directly to get more info, place a pre-order and that he would even try for free shipping since you’ve had a bit of a hiccup getting in touch. Hope this helps and feel free to chime in again if you want me to reach out or get more info like if the number above doesn’t work.

Reply
Tom
1 year ago

Thanks for the info Court!

Jim Hari
1 year ago

Hi Court, I see that this one, the Smart Motion Pacer, is only available in New Zealand, and distribution is not available in US, as far as I can see. Sometimes I have seen with your reviews that I am drooling to try these bikes and buy one but can’t because say in the Midwest, Chicago and Suburbs, there are no dealers who represent and sell them. In addition, if availability was only possible directly with the Bike Company, without any Dealers, where would warranty service be able to be done, and would the company be reliable to warrant their Bikes.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hey Jim! Someone else commented about this today and I called the company, spoke with Chris Head. First off, Lectric Cycles (the company importing SmartMotion to the USA) has a good reputation and has been selling kits and converted bikes for multiple years. I got to visit their showroom in Vegas and hope to publish a video showing it soon. Second, this review was shot just before Interbike when the company was signing up dealers so it’s kind of a sneak peek but I have no doubt that we’ll see it in stores across the country sometime soon. You can call them to place pre-orders and maybe even get a free shipping deal from Chris since you’re an early bird. Note, I do not get paid if you buy one of these bikes and my feedback here is more qualitative than anything but you can call them yourself for more answers… just trying to help :)

Reply
George
1 year ago

This has to be my No1 ebike to purchase as seeing and being seen in the UK in the winter months is very important but the fact that the dealers can restrict the bike to global markets is brilliant. Court would I be right in thinking if the dealer restricted the bike to our 18mph limit the motor would still have the same torque characteristics of a higher speed variant meaning it would provide the much higher output of the 500w motor giving the bike much greater hill climbing abilities over say a 350w motor? And improving the range as the bike wouldn’t assist past our lower limit? Would love if you could find out this if your in touch with the guys. Thanks bud

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi George! I think quite a few little things were actually changed for the US version (that’s what the founder of SmartMotion told me). He was saying it in a proud sort of way like “our version is even better than the already good version…” but that might mean it actually has a larger motor or different firmware. I honestly can’t say for sure, I’d love to hype it up for you and be like, yeah! It’s a powerful motor but I just don’t know. On the flip side, I believe the Bosch Gen 2 mid-drive is the exact same hardware in all markets and it’s simply software that changes the max speed and power, even with the CX, so that’s an argument for the SmartMotion also being the same hardware. That’s usually the most efficient way for manufacturers to do it. Hope this helps, I’ll ask if/when I speak to Smart Motion again but you can also reach out directly, I think they usually respond pretty quickly :)

Reply
Pam Ford
1 year ago

Hi Court, We have just bought two SmartMotion Pacers (in New Zealand). Thank you for your awesome review and giving us some tips on using it.
If other readers want to buy and have them shipped, we would recommend the dealer we purchased from, Nigel from Evolution Cycles. Pam

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Sweet! Thanks for the tip Pam, I hope you enjoy the bikes… I was really impressed with the technology and am excited to finish reviewing the Catalyst soon ;)

Reply
Terence
11 months ago

Hi Court, I’m tossing up between a Smartmotion Pacer and a Juiced Crosscurrent (10.4 battery, and I would want to add fenders) . Which would you recommend? Price is one of my biggest concerns, in your opinion is it worth it to pay more for the extra accessories/functions of the Pacer. Thanks, I love the site and the reviews.

Reply
Court Rye
11 months ago

Hi Terence! I love how light and simple the CrossCurrent is but have a hard time overlooking the fenders, nice rack and LIGHTS on the Pacer. It’s a sweet bike with an upgrade on the zip and motor… you don’t have to pay extra for throttle mode and you get those two assist settings. I really like the bike and would be willing to pay more for it. Hope this helps.

Reply
John Tyler
10 months ago

Where can you buy these? Their website doesn’t seem to have a store or shipping. I’m in Ohio.

Reply
Court Rye
10 months ago

Hi John! Reach out to Lectric Cycles directly if you’re in the USA. Chris Head (a marketing manager at the company) chimed in on a comment above saying you can call him directly at 702-444-7474. Hope this helps! I’d love to hear how the bike works out for you if you decide to get it :)

Reply
Tom
10 months ago

I purchased my Smartmotion Pacer from Lectric Cycles’ website. They were responsive and helpful at every step of the process and I have no regrets. It is a wondefully powerful and well designed bike.

Lectric Cycles informed me that as the battery is a hazmat item I would need to provide a signature in person upon delivery. After much coordination with Fedex about this they delivered it 3 days early when I was out. No signature was needed.

Not having the benefit of a test ride prior to purchase, there were a couple of surprises I should mention which might help other buyers:

  1. Tall riders beware: I purchased the larger of the 2 available sizes with the optional Bodyfloat seatpost. The Bodyfloat is a couple inches shorter than the standard, Pacer seatpost making it an inch or so too short for me even though I am not exceptionally tall at a shade less than 6 feet. So I wasted a little money there.
  2. The battery on my bike does not fit very snugly and rattles annoyingly. I might only be noticing this because the rest of the bike is superbly rattle-free.

They are the only faults I have found after a few days riding. The Pacer is nicely balanced and feels much lighter than it’s 54lbs.

I have settled on using the torque sensor mode all the time. It takes some getting used to though because on the higher assist levels it kicks in very quickly even when applying almost no torque to the pedals. This means that when navigating a tight turn at low speed you need to lightly apply the brake or it will carry you off unexpectedly fast.

Thanks once again for a great website Court.

Reply
Court Rye
10 months ago

Hi Tom! Excellent updates, thanks for the heads up about your BodyFloat post being a bit shorter than the stock. I think Thudbuster sells the longer 400 mm suspension posts that could be fit into the 30.4 mm diameter with a shim adapter 27.2 to 30.4 mm here for $10. Also, as for the rattling battery interface, consider using some layers of tape to create a tighter fit and remove the plastic on plastic contact. You can get black duct tape pretty cheap online just make sure you don’t put down too many layers and accidentally lose the battery on bumpy terrain because it’s not seated all the way ;)

Reply
Anonymous
10 months ago

Thanks, Court. I’m torn between the Smart Motion Pacer and a 2015 Emotion Nitro City EVO (I’m having a hard time discerning exactly what model it is and which of your reviews apply). The local dealer, Orbit City Bikes, has one that they’re selling at an “off-year” model price for a discount including the 2 yr battery warranty and 5 yr bike warranty.

Most important to me is Class III, a dedicated throttle, equipped for commuting (racks, fenders, lights), and enough juice to go the whole day (my commute is 13 miles round trip plus errands). I don’t expect you to make my decision for me, but it sure is difficult!

Anonymous
10 months ago

Loving my Pacer but I want to change the speed settings – I can get to that section but alas it’s greyed out so I can’t change. You got any tips on how I can get that done?

Reply
Chris Head
10 months ago

Give us a call concerning the speed settings. We have not published the speed change procedure because the bike is shipped to meet the class 3 rules. (702) 444-7474. We can talk you through the settings

Reply
Chris Head
10 months ago

If anyone has any questions about where to purchase or trouble shooting please call us at (702) 444-7474 or email chris@lectriccycles.com We do sell consumer direct if you are not close to a dealer.

Reply
Mike at Mike's E-Bikes
3 months ago

If you are in the Midwest or specifically Chicago, you can test ride them or buy one here at Mike’s E-Bikes MikesE-Bikes.com. These are great performing e-bikes, well worth the money, and if you want the suspension, the Catalyst comes with the suspension, and I have a few outfitted with the same options as a Pacer.

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Sweet, thanks for the update about suspension Mike. I travel around quite a bit, maybe I’ll visit your shop the next time I’m in Chicago! Do you go to Interbike? Also, I have the ebike shop dealer map that you guys could join, you can learn more about it in the video here. Hope the year’s going great for you!

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Mark Peralta
6 days ago

Hello!
i have a round trip commute of 34 miles (total). The road is mostly flat. I am looking for a fast class 3 bike that also offer offroad mode, that allows me to ride faster than 28 miles limit.

any recommendations?

thank you

With your kind of application where you ride 34 miles round trip, mostly flat road at speeds faster than 28 mph, that would require enormous energy (30+wh/mile). You will need a 1,000 watt-hour+ battery and you will need a robust hub drive capable of sustained 500+ watts without overheating (a mid drive will just shred your drive train prematurely).

You are right, the ebike that has that potential is the Crosscurrent S with the biggest battery option 1008 watt-hour (42v 21ah)

Or the Stromer with 983 wh battery.

Other ebikes have smaller batteries but they are still capable for the range but you have to slow down a little bit with average speed somewhere in the 22-24 mph to reduce your battery consumption to about 22wh/mile. Or you can bring a charger with you so you can charge up before going back home. These are the other ebike options with smaller batteries.
Magnum cruiser

Ohm

Smartmotion

Bulls outlaw E45

Easy motion Nitro

Magmun Metro plus

Vintage

These are just some of your options. Note that some ebikes will cut the power above 28 mph while other will not.
Source: https://electricbikereview.com/category/speed/

willie2
2 weeks ago

Been following along finally decided to chime in. Ordered Juiced HF in July, with all options $2700. Missed the majority of the riding season in my area.
Looking at Luna 1000 and Biktrix juggernaut mx Ultra. Prices come in closer to $3000 - $3300, which is really more than I wanted to spend. I have a short commute, but 1 massive hill. Biktrix has cadence and torque sensors. Bother are mid BBSHD - l Luna has 2500w option, 1000w Biktrix seems like plenty of power - both seem to be "better" than hub for hills, but frankly I only know what I have been reading online. Never rod an e-bike. Live on the East coast. I also like the look and performance of fenders and rack. still no fenders for Hype. At this point I think I should cancel and hold my spot and see what changes in the spring. Thoughts?

If you've never ridden an ebike, that's the first thing you should take care of. Is there a local bike shop where you could test ride a few? If you don't have a shop nearby, I'd be pretty nervous getting something from Juiced as their remote support doesn't have a great reputation. You'd probably be better served purchasing from a more established brand. If you've already budgeted $2700 and you don't have a long commute, you're still going to have lots of options especially if you don't need a fat bike.

When you say "massive hill," can you be more specific? Do you know the grade and length? Unless it's something really crazy, you should be fine with most commercially available ebikes. If you are looking for a commuter, the Hyperfat probably isn't the best choice. If you do end up getting it, make sure to change out the tires. The Juggernauts that are stock on the Hyperfat are garbage, especially for road use. Unless you are going to do a lot of off roading, I'd look for a hub motor based system (many would disagree.) Hub motor based bikes don't require as much maintenance although the do have their downsides (not as great for huge hills/heavy riders.) Have a look at the Smartmotion Pacer. It comes with a rack, fenders, torque sensor, big battery, geared hub, plenty of power, comes from a more mature company, and is in your price range.

TrevorB
4 weeks ago

Its horses for courses.
Friend has Pacer, which bought solely for commuting, pay back is 2yrs of bus fares. As car replacement and commuter it is brilliant, excellent lighting, mudguards, racks with good components. If your commute doesn't involve steep hills then it is excellent choice. Has electronic locking, if stolen only dealer can unlock it, something a lot of other drive maufacturers should be doing. The only upgrade he has done is suntour suspension seat and decent puncture resist tires, must on hub drive.
If your plans also include touring with some light offroad work then middrive with front fork would be better choice.

86 and still kicking
4 weeks ago

> the best bang for your buck is a SmartMotion Pacer. Screaming fast,.....

A 500w geared-hub motor can be "screaming fast"? It's as fast as a 500w motor, which isn't. The way mid-drive technology is evolving, hubs are beginning to appear like old school dinosaurs.
We sell both mid drives and rear hubs. If you are mountain climbing you definitely want a mid-drive. If you are road commuting rear hubs are easier to get to speed, easier to maintain speed regardless of gear selection, and today's rear hubs are almost bullet proof. Hub drives will be around for a long time.

Mark Peralta
4 weeks ago

> the best bang for your buck is a SmartMotion Pacer. Screaming fast,.....

A 500w geared-hub motor can be "screaming fast"? It's as fast as a 500w motor, which isn't. The way mid-drive technology is evolving, hubs are beginning to appear like old school dinosaurs.
Or the $2,700 Smartmotion Catalyst with standard front suspension.

Now, we are coming into a full circle for best value speed pedelec. If the above choices were presented, then I cannot help myself but think that the best value is still the $1,700 Crosscurrent S. Kudos to Tora Harris for making it a reality. However, this is not for the faint of heart since these are all new (new production, new model line up, new equipments, new etc...). Meaning all these "new" things has yet to be fully tested as a whole product.

It's true that the mid drives are making tremendous leap forward and leaving the hub drives like dinosaurs. However, hub drives have their values appreciated on paved roads with small hills for it's drive train durability, ease of shifting, high speed efficiency, and raw speed. With more advanced programming of the controller, the hub drive can be as good as a mid drive in overall efficiency.

1/2
emco5
4 weeks ago

> the best bang for your buck is a SmartMotion Pacer. Screaming fast,.....

A 500w geared-hub motor can be "screaming fast"? It's as fast as a 500w motor, which isn't. The way mid-drive technology is evolving, hubs are beginning to appear like old school dinosaurs.

86 and still kicking
1 month ago

Without question the best bang for your buck is a SmartMotion Pacer. Screaming fast, great build quality, lights up like a Christmas tree at night, Schwalbe Big Ben tires, great bamboo rack, front fork head shock, the best display on the market, and a throttle just in case you need it.

1/1
jakejake
2 months ago

We are a dealer for SmartMotion. We had the a BMS issue with one Pacer battery, but since then we have never seen the problem again and we have sold a ton of them. You should be good to go for a long time.
That's great to hear! Other than this (hopefully) battery issue, I do love the bike and highly recommend.

86 and still kicking
2 months ago

I've had the same issue with my Pacer. Battery wasn't powering on and off when mounted and the throttle and/or PAS would cut out while riding. Lectric Cycles just sent me a new battery without question. I do really love the bike and Lectric Cycles is awesome, but I am concerned that the problem might continue with the new battery. Wondering how everything is working with your new battery?

Thanks
We are a dealer for SmartMotion. We had the a BMS issue with one Pacer battery, but since then we have never seen the problem again and we have sold a ton of them. You should be good to go for a long time.

jakejake
2 months ago

I recently bought a Smartmotion Pacer and am having problems with battery not turning on when mounted to bike. Any one seen this issue?

I've had the same issue with my Pacer. Battery wasn't powering on and off when mounted and the throttle and/or PAS would cut out while riding. Lectric Cycles just sent me a new battery without question. I do really love the bike and Lectric Cycles is awesome, but I am concerned that the problem might continue with the new battery. Wondering how everything is working with your new battery?

Thanks

Bike_On
3 months ago

I found this to be motivating....

Optibike Celebrates Ten Years

Dear Dan

It is official, Optibike has now been building and selling electric bikes for 10 years! It seems like yesterday when we loaded our first Optibike 400 into the waiting truck for its trip to South Africa.

Optibike is now the oldest manufacturer of electric bikes in America! Today we still focus on quality and performance first. We strive to be the best, not the biggest and results show it.

Now we have sold bikes old over the world from Russia to Indonesia to Brazil. In all, people in over 28 countries have bought an Optibike.

While Optibike set the standard for the electric bike industry of what performance and quality meant, what always was most fulfilling to me was how we changed peoples lives.

We have had people lose 80 pounds, end their use of prescription drugs, rekindle their relationships and have the time of their life as they remembered what is was like to be a a kid again and feel completely free and energized. This is amazing.

Over the years, Optibike has been featured on ESPN, CNN, The Today Show, National Geographic Adventurer, and in The NY Times.

Optibike has always been ahead of its time. In fact, or first model, the 400 in 2007 has higher performance than the popular European systems today. But we didn't sit still, as the R15 has 3.8 times the power of the 2007 model!

Our Electric Bikes are custom built with artisan quality one at a time, and they are the worlds fastest and longest range High Performance Electric bikes available

Over the years our product line has expanded and we currently offers electric bikes for commuters, performance enthusiasts, and off roaders. We are the only company to offer a diverse line of bikes in different power, performance and price categories.

I feel proud when many of our customers are ordering their 4th and 5th Optibike. They started with the first Optibike released and are now on the latest R15. This says a lot about Optibike quality and performance.

I just spoke with a customer who has the original 2007 400 with Nickel Metal Hydride battery and it is still running strong after 10 years.

Some of the highlights of the last ten years are below. I hope you enjoy reading them. They have brought back some good memories to me.

Jim Turner

Optibike Inventor.

1998
Jim Turner finishes his 1st Optibike prototype.
After first investigating hub motors in 1996, Optibike developed this first mid drive unit in 1997.

This unit featured 24 volts with a 15 amp-hr lead acid battery and about 350 watts of power.

The motor was off board on the crank axle and drove through the final drive chain (other companies still use variations of this design today). Optibike did not file any patents on this design as it did not meet the final design objectives of high power in a small efficient package.

This prototype validated the superior performance of the mid-drive and led to the development of Optibike MBB and several patents. The MBB design integrated the mid drive into a small compact package that it is today.

The MBB has evolved since then, with now over 3X the power of the first units and superior reliability. All Optibike MBB's are still made in the USA.

The first prototype pictured here, without suspension, also convinced us of the need for suspension.

2006
First Production Optibike Built
After almost a decade of development the first production Optibike was finished in late 2006 for shipment to South Africa.

2007
First Optibike being Loaded for Shipment to South Africa
After 10 years of development, we were finally in production!

The Model 400 had 400 watts of continuous power, 90 Newton Meters of torque and a 37 volt 13 Amp Hour nickel metal Hydride battery that weighed 17 pounds.

Check out the R15 at the end of this email to see how Optibike performance has increased four times in the last ten years.

2007
Jeff Baum buys an Optibike R8 to ride his breathtaking 10 mile commute through the snow from Frisco to Breckenridge.
He goes up and down snow covered winding roads in the Rockies - to his job as the executive director of the Breckenridge Music Festival.

For most of his 10 years at the Festival, he had driven a standard gasoline -powered sport utility vehicle. Then he found the freedom of the Optibike.

It takes him a little longer to get to work, but the bike is more dependable, more nimble, more invigorating and just more fun than the S.U.V., he said. (and yes, he does take his skis with him)

2007
The New York Times names Optibike - 'The Ferrari of Electric Bikes'
The New York times wrote an article on electric bikes featuring Jeff Baum and sales took off. In a matter of a few weeks, Optibike sold out its next 15 months of production. In the article, the Optibike was referred to as the Ferrari of Electric Bikes.

2007
Jim Turner is awarded 'Inventor of the Year'
At the Colorado Inventor Showcase - In recognition of exceptional ingenuity, creative genius, and product development skills, Jim Turner and the Optibike were awarded the "Inventor of the Year".

The Colorado Inventor Showcase was Sponsored by the DaVinci Institute.

2008
Optibike featured at California Academy of Sciences
In 2008, the Optibike OB1 was featured in the "Future of Transportation Display" at the brand new California Academy of Sciences in San Francisco. Originally scheduled for one year, it was kept for over 2 years as one of the most popular attractions.

2008
Optibike Releases First Lithium Ion Battery in E bike
Optibike pioneered the use of Lithium Ion batteries in E bikes. Back in 2008 we released the first 37 volt 20 Amp Hour Lithium Ion battery. This is the technology that Tesla uses today. Many of these batteries are still running strong today.

2009
DeMarcus Ware of the Denver Broncos (then of the Dallas Cowboys) buys an Optibike to use as of part of his training as a lineman
DeMarcus says: “I’ve been riding my Optibike OB1 for over a month, and I can’t stay away - I absolutely love the bike. I ride it every single day as part of my training regimen. In the suburbs or on the hills at training camp, this bike will be with me. It is the perfect cross-training tool for me because it allows me to get a great workout yet still enjoy what I’m doing. I would recommend an Optibike to anyone who has those same goals.”

-DeMarcus Ware

2011
Optibike Wins Pikes Peak Hill Climbing Event
In 2011 a group of Optibikes took 1st to 7th places in the Pikes Peak Hill Climb Event, climbing over 7,500 feet in 24.5 miles from Manitou Springs to the 14,100-foot summit.

1st place was John Sagebiel with a time of 1:06.45. The 1st 'other' brand of e-bike took over 3 times as long as John. As of this date, no one has beaten Johns time.

2011
Velodrome Pacer uses an Optibike to lead the packs
Optibike, the world’s leading high performance electric bike, is circling Boulder’s velodrome and stirring much excitement.

Optibike has found its place as a coaching and pacing tool in Boulder’s renowned velodrome.

“The Optibike has been really useful to us" Tim Kyer said “Our track here (in Boulder) is small and makes for a unique dynamic ride. Optibike is helping riders learn the smooth pedal stroke and a consistent speed in and out of turns”

“We are using the 1100R model and are seeing a lot of ways that Optibike is used for a training tool. We can get through multiple workouts and groups on one battery charge.”

In other indoor cycling centers, electric and gas scooters are used. However, there is exhaust and emissions from gas machines.

The Optibike is the first electric bike powerful enough to lead a pack of very powerful cyclists and replace the scooter/motorcycle derny.

2011
Optibikes have been sold to customers in 28 countries
By 2011 Optibike had delivered bikes to riders in 28 countries. The riders were from all walks of like, with a common interest to have a high performance bike that changed their lives. They all ordered their bikes direct from Optibike and each one was hand built one at a time, just like today.

2012
Rock and Roll Hall of Famer, Steve Winwood (Traffic, Blind Faith) invites Jim Turner to a Denver concert after buying an Optibike for his band manager James in England
Band Manager, James received his Optibike as a birthday present from Steve and uses it to commute the 16 miles to the studio each day with 2000 feet of climbing. Lots of days of rain and drizzle as it is England.

Baron
3 months ago

Court. You are a great host. I started my interest with a possible ebike by watching you tube vids of Radrover. I truly thought that was THE ebike for me. A forum member suggested the Pacer. I watched your review and your enthusiasm for it was attractive. THEN two days ago I watched your Voltbike enduro review!! You seemed very impressed! And the price point is attractive. I am starting to lean towards mid drive? Less stuff back there. What do you think of the Volt enduro fitted with upright bars? Like cruiser bar retrofitting. Just curious. I am 71 yrs old and looking for 75% pavement and 25% dirt. I am starting to realize I might be able to spend a lot less than $3k as well. I think I may want fat tires as well. Hydraulic brakes would be cool. How about this Teo-fat? I can't find your review of it.? This may be a difficult choice but I have time for more research.

86 and still kicking
3 months ago

Hmm. Good questions. I live in the country and would mostly be riding country roads. Off of these roads there are many or service dirt roads that I would like to follow as well. Good suspension Is a must. Fatter tires? Definitely pedal assist a must. Throttle for sure. Part of this pleasure riding has a exercise element for sure. Hard to imagine riding more than 25-30 miles per trip. Not hauling stuff except my 200# body. Fenders, lights, rack ,gears, not sure if hub drive or mid drive? Budget? Best product for the money? $3-5K? Maybe upright riding position but I could be talked out of this. So pleasure and adventure and exercise is what I would use an ebike for. Thanks so much for input
I may have the perfect bike for you. It is called the Pacer from SmartMotion. It has a head shock for front suspension, is a 28mph speed pedelec, has full throttle that can be used in pedal assist at any time, cadence or torque sensing pedal assist, fenders, and a lighting system that not only includes front and rear lights but a nighttime riding mode that turns on a fantastic set of LED's in the downtube and the back of the rear rack. It lights up like a Christmas tree at night. Simply pop on a rear tail bag that locks in place (Ortlieb trunk bag) or a set of panniers and you have the ideal rig We can even throw a fatter set of tires on it. And, the biggest plus is that you can order it with a whoppping 48V 17.5A battery (other option for 14.5A) to give you up to a 70 mile range. If you buy the Pacer with the larger batter and head shock it is $3100. Add a bag and you are set to go. The Pacer is the bike I ride every morning. It has a Dapu 500W geared rear hub that gets you up to speed very quickly. I average about 22-24 mph on flat roads with a normal cadence.

Baron
3 months ago

Welcome to EBR @Baron; sounds like a great adventure! Are you needing to haul a lot of "stuff?" Then the Radrover might be a better choice; however, since you only want to make this purchase once, take a look at some of the cool cargo & hybrid bikes by Riese and Muller or perhaps the Smartmotion Pacer; a full featured hybrid bike that could handle the trails. I have several customers with an Evelo bike and the company is good with customer service. Maybe a few more details about what type of bike would be your ideal would help us help you.
Thank you. I will research those. There are two great YouTube vids on Radrover and one not so complementary on the Evelo on this site? Beyond that I don't know

Ann M.
3 months ago

Welcome to EBR @Baron; sounds like a great adventure! Are you needing to haul a lot of "stuff?" Then the Radrover might be a better choice; however, since you only want to make this purchase once, take a look at some of the cool cargo & hybrid bikes by Riese and Muller or perhaps the Smartmotion Pacer; a full featured hybrid bike that could handle the trails. I have several customers with an Evelo bike and the company is good with customer service. Maybe a few more details about what type of bike would be your ideal would help us help you.

86 and still kicking
4 months ago

Do yourself a favor and ride the Pacer from SmartMotion. For $2899 you get a 28mph speed pedelec, a 14.5 48V battery with an optional 17.5A battery. Superb display with nighttime driving mode and embedded LED lights in the downtube and rear rack for visibility. Marine grade cabling for weatherproofing, magura hydraulic brakes and and Deore derailleur and shifter. Add a body float suspension seat post and you have one sweet ride.

TrevorB
4 months ago

Give Smartmotion Pacer a try. Lot cheaper, good review. My friend has one and loves it, perfect commuter.

Alex_C
5 months ago

Ortlieb has a universal adaptor that works on rack=time and just about any other rear rack. I have the Ortlieb trunk bag on a Pacer from SmartMotion. Works perfectly and is very secure.

Would you happen to have a link for the Ortlieb adapter? I'm interested in the Ortlieb trunk bag and I see some online that say they come with the adapter and others don't. Is there an order code you could possibly provide?

86 and still kicking
5 months ago

Ortlieb has a universal adaptor that works on rack=time and just about any other rear rack. I have the Ortlieb trunk bag on a Pacer from SmartMotion. Works perfectly and is very secure.

Mark Peralta
5 months ago

I hear what you are saying but I REALLY REALLY want this to be a surprise. He never had much opportunity to experience "happy surprises"
Right now, I'm REALLY liking the Smart Motion Pacer. I wonder how bad is this "angry bees" noise motor Court had mentioned on his review?
I think getting from a local bike shop is the best approach since it will be maintained by the shop, it can also be readjusted for fit of the rider (mostly for free). I suggest you get a small frame or size 16-17 inch, bigger frame is more difficult to handle. The Dapu rear hub noise could be an issue if you want stealth. The bafang motor, like in the juiced Cross current is less noisy.

TruTru9
5 months ago

Buying a bike online for another person, I feel, is fraught with pitfalls. Fit is all important with a bike and even more so for a commuter. Issues like weight, as you've found, and frame size may be the cause of a $2-4k bike that sits at home because it's too much to handle.

Have you considered a step through frame? Given a rider height of 5'4", it may inspire confidence. Weight is typically lower, add the city bike style rider position of "sit up and beg", your brother may just find the added weight of an ebike to be less an issue.

https://electricbikereview.com/easy-motion/evo-city-wave/

There are good bikes available online, but it might be worth yours and your brothers time to take a few road trips to find the right bike. That would be fun too! It's a great thing you guys are doing and I wish you luck.

I hear what you are saying but I REALLY REALLY want this to be a surprise. He never had much opportunity to experience "happy surprises"

Right now, I'm REALLY liking the Smart Motion Pacer. I wonder how bad is this "angry bees" noise motor Court had mentioned on his review?

Dunbar
6 months ago

Maybe an Izip E3 Protour on closeout. I also really liked the SmartMotion Pacer I rode although it lists for $2700-2800.

I've had a few issues with my Cross Current but my dealer has been awesome getting it fixed within a day in all cases and giving me a loaner bike.

86 and still kicking
6 months ago

While you say no rear hub, I strongly suggest you look at the Pacer from SmartMotion. 28pmh speed pedelec, huge battery , very well balanced, and less money.

86 and still kicking
7 months ago

So, we got a call from a fellow in San Francisco and did a personal demo last Tuesday on our new SmartMotion Pacer. He called the next day and bought it. So, I adjusted the seat on the new SmartMotion Catalyst demo we have and rode it to coffee for the past 2 days. I was pestered at Peets for a demo ride. The guy comes back from a 10 minute ride and wants to buy it.

If you live anywhere near a SmartMotion dealer you own it to yourself to hop on a Catalyst or Pacer. I'd love to hear your impressions. Thanks,

Noukz37
3 months ago

That's one heck of an e-bike! I think the pricing is not too much, but would be nice to get front suspension as well.

Charles Duke
7 months ago

Compare the SmartMotion Pacer BATTERY AMP HOURS: 14.5 ah (Optional 17.5 ah) and BATTERY WATT HOURS: 696 wh (Optional 840 wh) to the Specialized Turbo S, more power, features at under 1/2 the price of the specialized. Pacer $3199.00 vs Turbos S $7,000.00.

Amari Hamilton
8 months ago

Are those hand slip guards?

Richard Ashurst
7 months ago

I think they are called bar-ends - something to hang on to like bull horns when climbing in a standing position and rocking the bike back and forth. Not really super necessary for an e-bike.

RealWorldVideos
8 months ago

Im on the market looking for a nice ride with great specs and a great price. Im specifically looking for a bike that has Throttle and its hard to find now a days with new 2017 electric bicycles because mostly everything is middrive pedal assist. Now that being said this bike has a 500W motor, 17.5ah battery and throttle for 3100$. To me thats an amazing deal that caters to my need compared to whats on the market at the moment for 2017 bikes. Does anybody know of any other electric bike manufactures that includes throttle in their new 2017 ebike lineup with similar specs and price range?
Im currently upgrading from a 2016 Volton Alation 500, that has 500w motor, Throttle, and 11ah battery for 2200$
Also has anybody rode this bike in the rain? how does it hold up to wet weather conditions? i see the battery is not in the tube and im guessing moisture would find its way in the connection area where the battery plugs in.

Catman Gamer
10 months ago

Nice bike. I agree I would get different grips. I'm looking for a ebike that me and my wife can ride. Too bad nobody in colorado is selling it

blitz boy
12 months ago

iv got a question for whom ever wants to answer. ok. i have the chioce of buying a sondors thin or put a bafang 750 mid drive on my new motobecane mtb. i want to use it to go to work. my job is only 2.5 miles from my house. what should i do? what i worry about is being bored half way through the trip because the bike is a slow cruiser. i never rode an ebike before. what would u pick ? thanks

Bo Hector
1 year ago

I'm sorry but coming from a family of 3rd generation electronics & electrical engineers, my dad & oldest brother being electronics experts and another brother being an industrial electrical engineer and also knowing what a really good bicycle should cost, anything over $1,500 for an e-Bike is straight up a "RIP-OFF" and I don't care what they claim to add-on.

We're looking at roughly $800 for a damn good bicycle and about $700 to $750 for top-notch electronics w/motor with all the bells & whistles and that's it my friend. When I see these electrically controlled/motorized bicycles for $2K upwards of $5K, all those companies are doing is simply ripping people off and you & I both know that to be fact!!!

Darren Turner
9 months ago

I just tell em that if it gets me off my couch, its got to be a good thing, at least Im moving!

Alex Paulsen
9 months ago

Darren Turner If somebody tells me electric bikes are cheating, I snidely reply "I'll just go tell all our customers that it's a wasted effort and they should all start driving again." It certainly changes their attitude towards them.

Darren Turner
9 months ago

Alex Paulsen thanks for the heads up. I tried all the bike shops here but their attitude to electric bikes in general was terrible! It's like they think we are cheating or something. I'm 51 years old and 15kgs overweight and an electric bike really helps me get moving again and is helping with my fitness. It's a shame really cause these shops are missing out on a massive opportunity and niche market! Like I said, the retailer is well meaning but I'd rather just fix it myself, lol.

Alex Paulsen
9 months ago

Darren Turner The cranks will have some lateral play in them. A few drops of loctite does fix the battery mount issues, those tiny threads in that soft aluminium frame actually hold up surprisingly well. It's a shame you couldn't buy it from a reputable bike shop, it's department stores and their incompetence that give people a sour taste for these things. I'd be contacting the distributor for the bikes in Australia, (not sure if that's Electric Bikes NZ for you guys or not) explain the situation if your bottom bracket does die, give them a serial number on the bike, and hopefully they'll be able to send one your way. They're almosy as easy to install as any other, except that they have a cable to connect up for the torque sensor.

Darren Turner
9 months ago

Alex Paulsen how will I know when the bottom bracket fails, what does it do? A failure may seem like a minor thing to you but as a customer paying a small fortune, it's a big deal to me, especially when it lets me down miles from civilisation! It's good to know what to look out for in the future but I would have thought a responsible company and it's dealers would want to know about potential failures before their product leaves the store? A few drops of loctite before the bike leaves the shop is probably all it will take to prevent this happening to anyone else.

Adolfo Pineda
1 year ago

how fast does it go full power with the throttle on the flat roads? Am really looking to buy this bike! And what website can you trust for I can buy one?

McNuggetEh
1 year ago

Love the choice between how the bike feeds you power.

Daniel Guzman
1 year ago

which is its electric bike class ?

Dan Guzman
1 year ago

Where is it selling that Ebike ??????

Daniel Guzman
1 year ago

Does it have Trigger throttle or Twist Throttle?

BBBYpsi
1 year ago

He showed it had a trigger over ride throttle only. On left side & under hand grip under control pad for display

Dana
1 year ago

I would like to know what kind of helmet you wear. Maybe time to review more than one. Love your videos...

Rotormatic
1 year ago

I'm liking the styling of this bike! At 9:10 in the video, do the rear LED red lights flicker like that or is it a camera shutter effect? I was thinking a flickering light would be better actually to enhance visibility since the red LED lights are dimmer.

TheOvillain
1 year ago

I searched the SmartMotion websites and saw no mention of the weight. What are the frames made out of and what do the bikes weigh? Thanks for your reviews! They are very informative.

BBBYpsi
1 year ago

He listed the weight including battery on his site at 53.5 lbs or (24.6KG) You can go to where he has the specs here. https://electricbikereview.com/smartmotion/pacer/ Or you can go to where you can get to all of his stuff & a great web page for electric bikes here. https://electricbikereview.com/

plaid13
1 year ago

You should get some pivothead glasses or something similar for that true first person point of view for some of this stuff. Could really improve the test ride part of the video.

Karl Volk
1 year ago

What kind of helmet are you wearing in this video? And do you recommend it. Mine is driving me nuts with too much wind noise in my ears. Thx.

Scott Mccurley
1 year ago

I looked this bike up on there website, and they are posting the pacer is a 250-300w hub motor. Hmmm...maybe that's why it is so small and not that fast. Could you see if there is an error? I really want one, but not if it is a 250W motor. Your Awesome, keep up the good work.

Scott Mccurley
1 year ago

Oh I see, Thanks for the info.

Jared Oelderink-Wale
1 year ago

The website you'll be looking at will be for New Zealand (and possibily Austrlia) where the max wattage limits will be 250-300w. I suspect the bikes going into the USA will have a higher wattage motor.

Mr Awesome
1 year ago

Good review.. for 3.1k I would like carbon fork at least.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

The base model is $2,799 and has an alloy fork so yeah, I agree carbon would be better, you don't get a different fork for the extra money, just a larger battery and the suspension seat post. I heard you can buy just the post from them for ~$200 if you don't care about the extra large battery. I'd consider getting a suspension fork myself

MegaTrdi
1 year ago

Nice bike but way too expensive. Thanx.

Donandnan Elmore
6 months ago

Mega, "Nearly 100% lower price" means it's almost free.

MegaTrdi
1 year ago

+Yes that is much better. Nearly 100% lower price but only 30% less performance and design.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

I hear you, have you seen the CrossCurrent by any chance? It's not as powerful and doesn't have as many features but it is a speed pedelec and it costs less: https://electricbikereview.com/juiced-bikes/crosscurrent/