Sondors Fat Bike Review

Sondors Fat Bike Electric Bike Review
Sondors Fat Bike
Sondors Fat Bike 350 Watt Bafang Geared Hub Motor
Sondors Fat Bike Battery Box Open Inside
Sondors Fat Bike Riser Handle Bar 5 Star Brake Levers
Sondors Fat Bike Led Console Trigger Throttle
Sondors Fat Bike 8 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Sondors Fat Bike Single Speed Drivetrain 40 16t
Sondors Fat Bike Basic Kickstand Left Chain Stay
Sondors Fat Bike Optional Color Matched Suspension Fork
Sondors Fat Bike Prowheel Cranks Platform Pedals
Sondors Fat Bike Locking Ergonomic Grips
Sondors Fat Bike Electric Bike Review
Sondors Fat Bike
Sondors Fat Bike 350 Watt Bafang Geared Hub Motor
Sondors Fat Bike Battery Box Open Inside
Sondors Fat Bike Riser Handle Bar 5 Star Brake Levers
Sondors Fat Bike Led Console Trigger Throttle
Sondors Fat Bike 8 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Sondors Fat Bike Single Speed Drivetrain 40 16t
Sondors Fat Bike Basic Kickstand Left Chain Stay
Sondors Fat Bike Optional Color Matched Suspension Fork
Sondors Fat Bike Prowheel Cranks Platform Pedals
Sondors Fat Bike Locking Ergonomic Grips

Summary

  • The second fat bike from Sondors crowd funded through Kickstarter, offers slightly narrower rims and tires at 4" vs. 4.9"
  • New upgrades including three color choices, an optional larger capacity battery pack for greater range and optional suspension fork
  • One level of always-on pedal assist, throttle mode works well and the variable speed trigger stays clear of the ergonomic grips creating a clean and intuitive cockpit
  • I ended up receiving a different color than what was specified in the reward survey on Kickstarter which kind of bummed me out

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Sondors

Model:

Ebike

Price:

$693 ($499 + $194 for Shipping in the US)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

None

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

59 lbs (26.76 kg) (62 with Suspension Fork)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg) (5.6 lbs for Larger Battery)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

18 in (45.72 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

18" Seat Tube, 22" Reach, 75" Length, 30" Stand Over Height

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Obsidian Black with Hot Pink Accents, Titanium Grey with White Accents, Bright Caribbean Blue with Orange Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel, Optional Basic Suspension

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Single Speed 40-16T (No Room for Cassette, No Derailleur Hanger)

Cranks:

Prowheel Aluminum Alloy Cranks, 40 Tooth Chainring with Plastic Guide

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

1 1/8" with Three 10 mm Stacks

Stem:

85 mm Length

Handlebar:

Low Rise, Aluminum Alloy, 25.5" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, 5 Star Levers with Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Ergonomic Rubber with Lockers

Saddle:

Generic Comfort with Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

265 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

28.6 mm

Rims:

Punched Aluminum Alloy, 59 mm Width

Spokes:

14 Gauge, Black

Tire Brand:

Chaoyang 26" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Nylon

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Single Side Kickstand on Left Chain Stay, Plastic Chain Guide, Optional Battery Upgrade $85, Optional Suspension Fork $70

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Plastic Battery Box with Rubber Plugs for Onboard Charging, KMC Chain, Axle Tensioner, Max Tire PSI 20 (Recommend 10 to 15 for Soft Terrain)

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8.8 ah (Optional 12.8 ah)

Battery Watt Hours:

316.8 wh (Optional 460.8 wh)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

10 miles (16 km)

Estimated Max Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Display Type:

LED Display

Readouts:

Charge Level (Green, Yellow, Red)

Display Accessories:

On/Off Button on Display

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (8 Magnet Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

This second version of thee Sondors fat bike (funded on Kickstarter vs. Indiegogo) was priced well, improved upon the original and was delivered on time. My one gripe is that the color I specified in the perks form is not what arrived… but I’m not sure exactly why, it’s possible that the color I chose was not popular enough to get made? In any case, one of the downsides to this (and other Sondors electric bikes) is that it doesn’t include a warranty and support is very minimal. Even if I could send it back to… wherever, I’m not sure I’d want to because it’s very large and heavy. Not more so than the majority of other fat ebikes but without a local dealer to get help from, the burden feels larger.

I worked with a prominent electric bike store near Los Angeles called Myron’s Electric Bicycle Center to have it assembled and tuned up for this review and it cost $80. One of the main appeals for me with the Sondors bikes is that they are super affordable… even with the upgraded suspension, larger battery and assembly fee I still spent under $1,000. But note, I believe that as a backer I am responsible for paying taxes on the bike which is a bit confusing… I got this bit of information from the latest Sondors Thin campaign which states “Who is responsible for any additional taxes, duties or VAT? The backer is responsible.” in the Q&A section at the bottom.

I sold the original Sondors ebike to the store owner Sam after reviewing it last year and he still had it on the showroom floor so I was able to compare it closely with this new V2 model and this is what I found: they weigh about the same (without the suspension fork and upgraded battery) at ~60 lbs even though the new version has a stiffer Aluminum frame, they both have an always-on pedal assist that feels about the same, the tires are slightly smaller with 4″ diameter on the new one vs. 4.9″ on the original, the battery now contains premium Panasonic cells vs. generic and there are new color options to choose from. Mostly… it’s the same bike, and that’s okay. For riders who are tall enough to straddle the high-step frame with a 30″ stand over and those who appreciate the “go anywhere” beefy tires it’s pretty cool. I felt a bit limited when pedaling from rest because there’s only one gear the sprocket is smaller with 40 teeth vs. 44 so it’s easier than the original. Having only one speed means there is reduced need for maintenance and tuneups and since pedal assist kicks in quickly (if the bike is turned on) it’s not so bad. Unlike most other bikes I test, you can’t adjust assist or discern how fast you’re traveling because there’s no fancy LCD display included, what you get is a basic LED console with three LED’s roughly communicating your battery voltage (remaining energy). The trigger throttle works great and can be used from standstill which I appreciate. The throttle delivers much more power than pedal assist and allows you to hit ~20 mph top speed.

The Sondors fat bike is beautiful product to me because it balances design with price and makes a lot of good decisions around which compromises to make. It’s not a bike for everyone but it has sure generated a lot of attention for electric bicycles in general and I love that. This campaign was run very well in my mind and I felt like it was a lot less confusing and controversial than the first. Now that Sondors also has a Thin model in the works there’s even more reason to be excited as a lighter weight city-oriented rider like myself (I’m just not as interested in the large tires and heavier frame found on the fat models). My friend Sam from the shop test rode the Sondors V2 fat bike and said he felt really comfortable on it because he’s a larger guy. The suspension fork seemed wasted on me because it really didn’t activate as smoothly or frequently as hoped but then again I only weigh ~135 pounds so for Sam and people like him I bet it would offer a much better experience. The tires can be inflated to 20 PSI for the best efficiency or lowered to 10 to 15 PSI for improved comfort and traction on soft terrain. The biggest win with this ebike in my mind is the upgraded battery pack option which should offer at least 15 miles with throttle-only and upwards of 25 to 30 with assist depending on terrain, tire pressure and load.

Pros:

  • The bike was successfully delivered in late January as outlined in the crowd funding campaign, very impressive given the volume of bikes being processed by Sondors
  • Very affordable compared with other fat tire style electric bikes, I got the upgraded battery and a suspension fork for well under $1,000
  • The unique plastic frame box protects and conceals the battery, controller and wires… it looks pretty good, is color matched with the frame and has removable rubber nipples so you can charge the pack on or off the bike
  • The rims are punched out which reduces weight and might improve softness and comfort when riding over bumpy terrain, I like that they matched the color of the liner to the accents
  • The frame is made with Aluminum Alloy vs. Steel on the original Sondors and this reduces the overall weight while adding some stiffness
  • It’s great that you have the option to upgrad the battery for increased range (and that it only costs $85 extra), same thing on the suspension fork… it improves comfort and only costs $70
  • Pedal assist will help extend your range and offers a good workout, the eight magnet sensor is better than average and responded fairly quickly to my starts and stops pedaling
  • The ergonomic grips are nice and include lockers so they don’t twist, the spokes are painted black to match the hub motor and tires, the battery box matches the frame and accent paint colors
  • Because this is a single speed ebike, the chain shouldn’t fall off easily and you won’t need to get tuneups as frequently, it’s just tougher
  • The battery can be charged on or off the bike, there are rubber nipples on both sides of the battery box to switch it on or plug it in, taking the battery out can be a little tight and mine got scraped up doing so, the charger is relatively compact and light weight so you could bring it along to top-off on longer rides
  • You can get fenders aftermarket to help keep you dry and an LCD display unit to adjust assist level, show your speed and battery as well as odometer

Cons:

  • The suspension fork is pretty basic, there don’t seem to be any rebound, stiffness or lockout adjustments so the performance may vary depending on rider weight and cargo
  • There’s no way to adjust pedal assist level and it defaults to “always on” unless you purchase a compatible LCD display unit separately, I believe Lunacycle sells them here
  • There’s no bottle cage mounting point on the frame but the seat stays have threaded bosses where you could add a rack, neither wheel is quick release so you need tools for transporting and doing service
  • The disc brakes are sort of average, they require more time and effort to fully stop the bike vs. larger 180 mm rotors or hydraulic but should be easier and cheaper to repair
  • They got my color choice wrong and I really don’t think they offer a warranty or convenient way to exchange the bike, I’m not sure who to even contact for support
  • Assembly is required, it’s not terribly difficult but does take time and might not be as thorough as if you pay a shop to do it (which cost me $80) and that will help it ride smoother (request for the wheels to be trued, have the necessary parts greased, make sure they don’t over tighten screws and that they line up the bars correctly etc.)
  • This electric bike only comes in a high-step design and one frame size ~18″ which was just about right for me but might be uncomfortable to stand over for shorter riders (I’m about 5’9″)
  • Limited use on soft terrain like sand and snow because the motor isn’t especially powerful and there’s only one gear to pedal with… consider adding a schlumpf or efneo bottom bracket to add gears
  • This is a fairly large bike and there are no quick release options on the wheels which would make it easier to fit into cars or storage areas like garages etc. even though the wheel size is officially 26″ with the giant tires it’s actually ~29″ wide when inflated

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Sondors Reviews

Sondors Thin Review

  • MSRP: $693
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An affordable, light weight, single speed electric bike launched on Indiegogo offering a geared hub motor with 350 watt power in the US and 250 watts in the EU. Available in two colors: black or white, one medium size (19 inches) and a traditional…...

Sondors Ebike Review

  • MSRP: $842
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A crowdfunded electric fat bike designed to be affordable and simple, available in four colors, single speed drivetrain with throttle only. Limited power for climbing, sand and snow applications because the motor is mid-sized at 350…...

Jack Tyler
2 years ago

I gather there has been a certain amount of controversy and alleged ‘hype’ about the Sonders ebikes. Sonders himself seems to have become a bit of a media personality and some folks therefore worry his ebikes might be as much about ‘sizzle as steak’. So I appreciated this review and Court’s obvious efforts when discussing the bike to provide some balance and perspective – on the bike’s components, design decisions and riding experience. Not for the first time, this EBR review is the most informative and least ‘sensationalized’ discussion on this model that I’ve come across so far. Thanks, Court.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

You just made my day… thanks for the kind words and thoughtful feedback Jack. I do my absolute best to respect consumers first, then bicycle companies and also myself when creating these reviews. The goal is to set everything else aside and look at the product but sometimes the surrounding marketing, warranties and availability come into play as with the Sondors and I try to share those points in an objective way. Thanks again :)

Reply
John S
1 year ago

I’m looking into purchasing this bike for getting around town and getting to the beach. You’ve got a great knack for objectively reviewing these bikes. Just wanted to send out a thank you and let you know your detailed reviews are certainly appreciated. Best, John

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Thanks so much John! That means a lot… I work pretty hard traveling to see the bikes and I truly want to be objective and help people find what’s right for them. Enjoy the ride :)

Reply
Mike H
1 year ago

I was looking very carefully at their website about to order when I had to go back to your review because I saw absolutely nothing about a warranty of any kind – sadly I found it here —- “WARRANTY: None”. How can this be for a US company like this to offer zero warranty????

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Yeah… I struggled to get any warranty information from the company when I met the founder and have since heard from customers who were not able to reach anyone for help. You could buy replacement parts but for the time being it seems like you’re really on your own with the bike. Thankfully the latest bike (the Sondors Thin) was shipped really well with very few scratches or bends etc. compared to other models I’ver bought and reviewed found on Amazon.

Reply
Taipan
11 months ago

Hej Court ! On the Sondors Thin review, you mention that the EU version has a 250w and 15.5mph spec. Is it the same for the Original ? Cheers,

Reply
Court Rye
11 months ago

Hi Taipan, I was under the impression that the EU version has the 250 watt motor and lower top speed to meet European regulation but have never actually seen one in person… so it’s difficult to say. What I can say is that the US version has a 350 watt hub motor and is capable of 20 mph top speed :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

itsaulgoodman
3 weeks ago

My goodness I've spent a lot of time researching GPS Tracking options to add to my bike.

Spybike - seems like the best option. However, they very rarely ever seem to have stock (Maybe that means its good?). I like the seatpost version (larger battery capacity). I'll probably buy it when it is in stock.
http://www.spybike.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=51

Sherlock Bike. Looks very good. Currently not available in Canada although they say it will be in 2018.
https://www.sherlock.bike/en/

Trojabike. Looks awesome. I love the way it slides into the frame then locks itself in place. Recent kickstarter, doesn't ship until 2018. I'd probably buy if it were available now.
http://www.trojabike.com/

Boomerange Bike. Great if you have water bottle holder mounts available. Unfortunately a lot of ebikes use them for the battery. I do not like the solution to use the Gorilla Bike Clip.. Like seriously, what thief won't just cut the zip ties and toss the thing off to the side before riding away with your bike??
https://boomerangbike.com/

Kiss My Bike. Love the looks of this, but no word on when, where, how it will be sold. Reached out to them to find out - no response.
http://www.kissmy.bike/en/index.php#contact

Trackimo. Great if it could be hidden somewhere. I don't think under the seat is a very good place. It's pretty important in my mind for a GPS tracker to be very well hidden or tamper proof. I've thought about the idea of wiring it up to a light port on my Bosch motor and hiding it under the motor cover or something - but decided against looking into it further (Not sure if this is even possible to do so). Decided to just wait on the Spybike instead.
https://trackimo.com/

DanTracker. Looks pretty good, but sounds like it is very expensive. Non removable / replaceable battery - but apparently lasts about 10 years.
https://www.dantracker.com/en/

Velocate. Looks decent, can hardwire to ebike. A little light on details and no idea where to buy.
https://velocate.com/en/

Cheap Chinese trackers from various places. Don't bother, they are s*it, and the apps are s*it. Some people have even claimed the apps (which request a lot of phone permissions) were used to access peoples phone numbers and lot of expensive calls were placed. Not sure how true that is, but I'm pretty wary if side loading Chinese apps that requested every level of permission possible on my device.. so take that for what it's worth. I tried a GPS305 (Spybike headset knockoff), and it stopped working after a week. When it worked, it didn't work well. Highly unreliable.

zap016VOLTAGE
3 weeks ago

CONGRATULATIONS DELFAST! :D

Delfast's Kickstarter campaign has been funded! :)

They're offering three high milage eBikes:
• TOP Model (174 mile range, 50 mph max speed :eek:)
• PRIME Model (236 mile range, 34 mph max speed)
• LITE Model (112 mile range, 26 mph max speed)

Their eBikes all use Direct Drive motors and feature mechanical disc brakes while also offering regenerative braking.
Learn more about Delfast's bikes.

A number of eBike manufactures had previewed at this year's Interbike dual battery pack configurations available on some of their bikes.

Congratulations DT.
Good luck to you going forward. ;)

zap016VOLTAGE
1 month ago

I'm curious why you compare this campaign to Sondors? Sondors appealed to everyone at that price point, I'm certain 380 km will have the same appeal in a campaign as $500. Not to mention this thing looks like a motorcycle. My leisure activity is on a bicycle. The only place I could ride this Delfast is on the street. I love riding rail trails!

I'm sorry for the confusion.

Your analysis "Sondors appealed to everyone at that price point" is correct.

I tried to draw a comparison of a startup influencing an industry.

Sondors was one of the most successful Kickstarter campaigns.

I believe that by eliminating a concern for many riders - that being range anxiety - Delfast may point to a new direction that ebike manufacturers may someday follow.

Perhaps I'm comparing apples to oranges, but look how the original iPhone changed our perception of cell phones.

Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago

Hi,

I've had an A2B Edge bike since April 2013 and it just gave up a week ago. No one wants to fix the bike as they claim they can't get the parts any more and they wouldn't know what really broke. I was happy with the bike but would have liked to have it be a bit lighter as I had to carry it daily up and down the stairs every day in a narrow staircase and it was challenging. I'd like to get a new bike and I could just pick up it's successor the Kuo or Kuo+ but it would be fun to try something new and perhaps better. I don't mind spending more money if I'm getting something better but I don't want to spend more than $3500. I've checked all the bikes I could find on this website and I couldn't find a single bike that would fit my criteria. I don't think I'm that demanding but I'm surprised that I can't find the following:
Less than 40lb
folding
20" wheels
throttle
speed at least 15miles/hr
looks like a normal bike (GoCycle for example is too weird looking and would draw attention).
and not as important but would be nice to have belt drive rather than chain as on my old bike the chain would fall off quite often.
Now, I did find a few bikes that sort of fit my criteria but they are just advertised and ready to preorder or Kickstarter projects but none really in existence today.
Is anyone aware of a bike that fits my criteria?

Lunacycle has one
https://lunacycle.com/luna-mini-folding-ebike/

but if you are someone who needs help with maintenance, perhaps talk to your LBS and see if they can help you down the road.

Kathy Smith
2 months ago

Hi,

I've had an A2B Edge bike since April 2013 and it just gave up a week ago. No one wants to fix the bike as they claim they can't get the parts any more and they wouldn't know what really broke. I was happy with the bike but would have liked to have it be a bit lighter as I had to carry it daily up and down the stairs every day in a narrow staircase and it was challenging. I'd like to get a new bike and I could just pick up it's successor the Kuo or Kuo+ but it would be fun to try something new and perhaps better. I don't mind spending more money if I'm getting something better but I don't want to spend more than $3500. I've checked all the bikes I could find on this website and I couldn't find a single bike that would fit my criteria. I don't think I'm that demanding but I'm surprised that I can't find the following:
Less than 40lb
folding
20" wheels
throttle
speed at least 15miles/hr
looks like a normal bike (GoCycle for example is too weird looking and would draw attention).
and not as important but would be nice to have belt drive rather than chain as on my old bike the chain would fall off quite often.
Now, I did find a few bikes that sort of fit my criteria but they are just advertised and ready to preorder or Kickstarter projects but none really in existence today.
Is anyone aware of a bike that fits my criteria?

bob armani
2 months ago

Unfortunately, two days ago, my 2017 Rad Rover eBike was stolen while parked and locked at my local public library. The cable lock I used was no match for the cutters that were used to remove the lock and as witnesses reported, it did take long for the thief to free my RadRover and ride off in plain sight of others...

This incident got me thinking of ways to protect my next bike. Other than a stronger lock and paying attention to where you leave your bike, I'm thinking that incorporating a hidden GPS tracking device into the bike would provide an additional level of security and might provide owners and law enforcement a way to locate and recover the bike. I don't think it would be too expensive to add the hardware and would be a desirable feature.

It could be powered from the bike's battery pack, or have its own battery and be integrated into the controller or display unit. An alternative to a built-in tracker might be an add-on accessory which could be installed somewhere inconspicuous. I don't know if such an accessory is currently available?
What are others doing to prevent the theft of their ebikes which are very attractive to thieves ?

Sincerely,

Marc

Marc-Sorry to hear about your ebike being stolen. Back in the day, I have had many taken from my own backyard. I depended on the bikes to do my paper route deliveries. But now having an ebike stolen has to hurt even more. I do like the suggestion below for some kind of alarm system that signals your smartphone
ie: 'LINKAauto lock with Tamper alerts for added security' sounds like an economical way to start. https://www.linkalock.com/
GPS with monthly fees sounds a bit pricey IMHO. I always keep my ebike in plain sight at all times. Being I have had so many stolen, I am a bit paranoid of loosing another and another. Not to mention, my insurance rates could skyrocket if I keep claiming 'stolen bikes' on my policy.
I have also seen a few bike alarms with remote, but not sure how efficient they really are. Good Luck with your next purchase!

Ann M.
2 months ago

@geddyleesnose, "lied" is a pretty strong word; in my experience with this industry for 16 years, I can tell you that the bike shop person is sharing what bit of information that they received from the manufacturer. Many times we're told a projected delivery date for the next season's latest-greatest ebikes only to be informed of delays as that date approaches. All we can share with our customers is what we are told, which is no fabrication.

Also, if you were to buy/invest in one of the many online ebikes promoted on Kickstarter, etc. your payment/donation is taken immediately with little to no chance for a refund. If something goes south with an actual bike shop, you have better protection for your money invested in a new electric bike. If you like the Hyper Fat, then be patient and invest; if you need an ebike right now; choose something different. With the bike shop you get to test new product; not something you can do on the internet.

Mike's E-Bikes
5 months ago

I have no experience with the Luna, but I have been riding my Evelo Aurora with the Nuvinci 360 for two years, and after 1900 miles, have not experienced any of the issues mentioned above. The 250w motor is slightly underpowered for steep hills and I would recommend the 500w option. Other than that, I have found the bike to be well-made and very comfortable to ride. It also has a step-thru frame like the Luna. They offer the Aurora in two sizes. The Aries is basically the same bike without the step-thru frame.

I have found the company to be very responsive. They will send you parts under warranty if you are able to do the repair. If not, they will arrange for a LBS to handle the repair at no charge to you.
Good that you have had a decent experience. I own 10 Evelo's, including the Luna's, Aurora's (both 250 and 500 watt), and Aries. The best test of reliability, and maintenance, is to put them in a rental fleet. Done that for 2 seasons now, and as well have other brands to compare. They are just really heavy e-bikes, with rather mediocre components, and rather old style metal frames that have been around in Asia for a number of years. These same Aurora's (Evelo's) are sold under the Aseako brand, and can be bought for $1400 (USD) new in other countries. So for what you are getting, there are just a lot better other brands for less money, more reliable, better and newer frame styles, much lighter yet with better structural rigidity, and components that don't wear down or are as fragile as those found on the Evelo's. In other brands like Blix more of the money is actually going into the design, and more reliable components, better quality batteries, better battery management controls, LCD's, etc. than into marketing, overhead, G&A, distribution and profit. If I just bought a single one of these, and just had that to compare to, I'd likely too want to defend my purchase and expense. But since I have owned several brands, and ridden more than 40 different brands/models, and seen first hand what it takes to keep these maintained in regular every day use, it puts my experience in a more objective position. Evelo is really just a marketing and distribution arm, not a true designer or engineer of the ebikes. They choose what is available from a contract manufacturer, maybe spec out a few certain components they want on the ebike, and then bring them here to the US to distribute direct on line. Nothing wrong with that, but just realize that its a lot to pay for a rather mediocre and old and heavy ebike design versus other true e-bike designers that have an engineering team, R&D, and are continually investing in better product. There are other firms that have that same/similar distribution model as Evelo, such as M2S, Shocke, and even Magnum, as you can find their same designs from a number of contract manufacturers in Asia (just look on Alibaba.com). They often start out as Kickstarter, or Indiegogo, to raise money for an ebike thats already an older design on the Asian market, claiming new development, when in reality its just white labeled standard product. That up front money allows them to then buy the Minimum Order Quantity these contract manufacturers want up front, before they begin sourcing and assembly. So not a really 'new design' of an ebike, but rather a marketing pitch, where individuals become sort of their VC funder. Reduces their capital risk, and they can shut down or go out of business at any time, re-appearing under a new company name. Hopefully Evelo will succeed and stay in business.

LimboJim
5 months ago

A Massachusetts ebike company, Fifield, has been hand-making a couple of nice looking leisure models for a few years. They also have a couple of factory-built models - hopefully @Court will venture east and review them soonly, along with my buddy's PEBL hemp-based velomobile, also being made here in MA.

As an eMTB enthusiast, however, I was keen to learn that Fifield's now offering an e-fattie with choices of Bafang mid-drive or hub motors for just $1399 to the first 5 Kickstarter backers. 14.5Ah batteries with Panasonic cells, an attractive Bafang display, Shimano Alivio 9-speed gearing (I'd replace that in short order), Tektro hydraulic brakes, and 4" CST tires... seems like a helluva deal to me!

Nice folks, too (I called them)... they seem genuinely interested in getting more folks (back) on bikes.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/244394430/the-rogue-wave-the-electric-bike-for-everyone/description
BUMP

LimboJim
6 months ago

A Massachusetts ebike company, Fifield, has been hand-making a couple of nice looking leisure models for a few years. They also have a couple of factory-built models - hopefully @Court will venture east and review them soonly, along with my buddy's PEBL hemp-based velomobile, also being made here in MA.

As an eMTB enthusiast, however, I was keen to learn that Fifield's now offering an e-fattie with choices of Bafang mid-drive or hub motors for just $1399 to the first 5 Kickstarter backers. 14.5Ah batteries with Panasonic cells, an attractive Bafang display, Shimano Alivio 9-speed gearing (I'd replace that in short order), Tektro hydraulic brakes, and 4" CST tires... seems like a helluva deal to me!

Nice folks, too (I called them)... they seem genuinely interested in getting more folks (back) on bikes.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/244394430/the-rogue-wave-the-electric-bike-for-everyone/description

Robert W Green
6 months ago

I am investigating Electron, Omni and GeoOrbital e-wheels. I can't seem to find any reviews on e-wheels by experienced e-bike users.

I test rode the Geo Orbital and like it ALOT but I was not able to ride it very long or far. I'm looking for e-wheels for a road bike with carbon fiber fork for long distances (30-50 miles).

I'm investigating whether e-wheels or a friction based system is best --- I'm wary of putting motorized hubs on a bike with a carbon fiber fork.
I have been looking into self contained ewheels also for my back up bike because I can't afford another purpose built ebike. What I found was the ones you mentioned and the one that I chose: UrbanX. It is a front wheel with motor, controller, and battery all in the hub. UrbanX has a removable battery reminiscent of a cordless drill battery only cresent shaped. It comes in 24,26,27.5,29,650c,700c and if they can meet their kickstarter goal of $500,000 - 20" wheel sises. You can choose from pedal assist only, throttle only and best of both worlds: both. No I haven't tried one yet but I'm taking a leap of faith and pledge my $479 to get the throttle and peddle assist model sometime in July. I'll post a review when I get it and have used it for a few months.

RoyL
6 months ago

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/608108780/eggrider-an-advanced-smartphone-app-to-control-you?ref=e30ixj

Not a fan of these Kickstarter things, but this looks an interesting one specially as it will also control all Bafang motors,,,, seems ideal for my BBS02

What you all think??

Bicyclista
7 months ago

If you want "super safe and reliable" I would stay away from a crowd-funded projects which are, by definition, untested products by the market, with no consumers having used the product in the real world. I myself had a poor experience with a Kickstarter ebike conversion kit. And remember, you don't get your money back if you are dissatisfied with a crowd-funded product. I didn't.

Perhaps you are aware that Court did review the MOAR bike. While the bike has many positives, the negatives would make me stay away: very heavy (74.5 lbs), frame flexes (there goes your "super safe" requirement!), a lot of weight up high and to the rear (bad for handling and for safety).

For your budget of $1200 I can only think of Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Air ($1,095), but I doubt you can fit a child's seat big enough for a toddler on that bike. Personally, were I looking for a bike that can easily accommodate a child seat for a 4-year old I would look at cargo bikes, such as the RadWagon, the Juiced Bikes U500 Utility Bike, or some of the other cargo ebikes that Court has reviewed. But all those cargo bikes exceed your budget, which is perhaps a bit unrealistic.

Good luck on your search!

bob armani
7 months ago

Title should say DOESN'T LOOK LIKE AN E-BILE. I just saw an article about the Volta e-bike (Kickstarter). It apparently puts the batter in the top tube and has what appears to be a very small rear hub drive. From the video it does not look like an ebike and claims a 40 mile range. My question is, How in the world would you replace a batter that is in the top tube? Am I missing something that is obvious?

Alan- I agree with all of your questions concerning this bike. Seems like a lot of e bike company specs are over exaggerated for marketing purposes. You can pretty much assume if you tackle a few steep hills and are around a 200lb rider, you can bet you will probably shoot for 10-12 miles max IMHO.

Cameron Newland
7 months ago

Title should say DOESN'T LOOK LIKE AN E-BILE. I just saw an article about the Volta e-bike (Kickstarter). It apparently puts the batter in the top tube and has what appears to be a very small rear hub drive. From the video it does not look like an ebike and claims a 40 mile range. My question is, How in the world would you replace a batter that is in the top tube? Am I missing something that is obvious?
I assume you'd have to remove a cover on the seat tube to get access to the top tube battery, which would be disconnected and would slide out. That's how it works on the Faradays, I believe.

Another good question about this bike: how does it have a range of 40 miles with such a small battery? I assume that its true range is <15 miles, but I haven't tested it, so I don't know.

Alan Acock
7 months ago

Title should say DOESN'T LOOK LIKE AN E-BILE. I just saw an article about the Volta e-bike (Kickstarter). It apparently puts the batter in the top tube and has what appears to be a very small rear hub drive. From the video it does not look like an ebike and claims a 40 mile range. My question is, How in the world would you replace a batter that is in the top tube? Am I missing something that is obvious?

Shawn Clark
2 months ago

How is it in the snow?

Anthony Steele
3 months ago

135llbs?

bdub2868
3 months ago

I paid $650, plus $100 for lcd and controller upgrade.

Danniel Brown
4 months ago

looking to buy a bike soon, sub $1,600. This , Radrover or another suggestion?

J B
4 weeks ago

Danniel Brown I'm in the same boat. Radrover is my top choice right now, followed by Voltbike Yukon and Sondors.

scstudios8
5 months ago

Does the fat tire need a suspension?  I haven't riden a fat tire, I would just need a little suspension for bumps, not sure how much the tires really help.

Mainer Man
5 months ago

Why did you skip right over that it is only a 350 watt motor power?

Marco Oscarson
5 months ago

How easy is it to ride/peddle when the battery dies?

Pibbles 'n Bits
6 months ago

Get Avid bb7 disc brakes....even with 160mm rotors they are more than just "okay". I feel that the BB7's are better than most 160 mm hydraulic brakes.

Ed E.J.Shonka@cox.net
6 months ago

what is your honest opinion about the sondors bike they look nice how do you feel about them

Sridevi Kukkadapu
8 months ago

He got it for $ 598

Ray Talamantes
8 months ago

I have been thinking about getting this bike for a short commute (8 miles one way). I have a couple of questions if you would. How long did it take to get this bike from the time your ordered it? Seems like it can take some time to get it. Out of ebikes under a thousand dollars, how would you rank this Sondors?

Ronald Glab
9 months ago

Thanks for all of your detailed reviews. Still haven't decided which one to get. When your using the throttle at approx 20 mph, does the pedaling still assist since there are no gears?

Tomsabeast
10 months ago

where does it ship from?

ben hoysradt
11 months ago

Where can you buy the V2?!? I started researching ebikes a couple days ago. Sondors seams like a viable option compared to competitors ebikes at dramatically higher price ranges. I've spent a significant amount of time researching the Storm Fat Bike V2. I've been on the Sondors website which offers the slim design, original and custom but not the V2. Do I need to visit the Kickstarter page to buy this unicorn or should I go through a dealer in California? I live in New York State and I've noticed that most electric bike reviews are coming from the western part of the country. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Jerome Johnson
8 months ago

I'm in the same boat, contact me  niceoption2000@yahoo.om

Rubino Pride
11 months ago

I'm sold..although could make me lazy

Rubino Pride
11 months ago

you could stash weed in the box

inverted triangle
11 months ago

is it lithinium ion battery v2?

Dustin LeValley
12 months ago

I bought a mongoose Vinson fat bike a few months ago. I wish I would have saw this before that. This looks like a great bike for the price.

AckEr
1 year ago

what do you do to them? do you sell them?

Aria Mcmann
1 year ago

He was so detailed I stopped listening and fast forwarded to when he started riding the bike. That wasn't until 13:15 on a sixteen minute video. Sighs. Well, I didn't grow as many grey hairs thanks to fast forwarding.