Specialized Turbo Review

2015 Specialized Turbo Electric Bike Review
2015 Specialized Turbo
2015 Specialized Turbo Sram X7 10 Speed
2015 Specialized Turbo Lithium Ion Battery
2015 Specialized Turbo Ergonomic Grips And Display
2015 Specialized Turbo Aluminum Bash Guard
2015 Specialized Turbo Backlit Computer Console And Joystick
2015 Specialized Turbo Body Geometry Targa Saddle With Lights
2015 Specialized Turbo Double Leg Kickstand
2015 Specialized Turbo Electric Bike
2015 Specialized Turbo Go Swissdrive Gearless Motor
2015 Specialized Turbo Rear Wheel Above
2015 Specialized Turbo Supernova Headlight
2015 Specialized Turbo Electric Bike Review
2015 Specialized Turbo
2015 Specialized Turbo Sram X7 10 Speed
2015 Specialized Turbo Lithium Ion Battery
2015 Specialized Turbo Ergonomic Grips And Display
2015 Specialized Turbo Aluminum Bash Guard
2015 Specialized Turbo Backlit Computer Console And Joystick
2015 Specialized Turbo Body Geometry Targa Saddle With Lights
2015 Specialized Turbo Double Leg Kickstand
2015 Specialized Turbo Electric Bike
2015 Specialized Turbo Go Swissdrive Gearless Motor
2015 Specialized Turbo Rear Wheel Above
2015 Specialized Turbo Supernova Headlight

Summary

  • Completely purpose built with integrated lights, in-frame cabling and downtube mounted battery pack that blends in
  • Available in four frame sizes for improved fit, optional city kit with fenders and rear rack for commuting, ergonomic grips and larger 700x45c tires help to smooth out the ride over long distances at higher speeds ~26 mph
  • Kickstand can feel unstable at times, charger is big and heavy, LCD display is not adjustable or removable, lights stay on all the time (even while charging), rubber joystick can feel a bit delicate

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205
Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Specialized

Model:

Turbo

Price:

$ 3800.00 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Battery and Motor, Lifetime Frame and Fork

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2015

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

49.5 lbs ( 22.45 kg )

Battery Weight:

8 lbs ( 3.62 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in ( 41.91 cm )18 in ( 45.72 cm )19.5 in ( 49.53 cm )21 in ( 53.34 cm )

Geometry Measurements:

Small 16.5" (420 mm Seat Tube Length, 746 mm Stand-Over Height, 584 Top Tube Length, 1079 mm Wheelbase, 580 mm Handlebar Width), Medium 18" (460 mm Seat Tube Length, 783 mm Stand-Over Height, 602 Top Tube Length, 1097 mm Wheelbase, 580 mm Handlebar Width), Large 19.5" (500 mm Seat Tube Length, 814 mm Stand-Over Height, 615 Top Tube Length, 1111 mm Wheelbase, 580 mm Handlebar Width), Extra Large 21" (540 mm Seat Tube Length, 847 mm Stand-Over Height, 635 Top Tube Length, 1131 mm Wheelbase, 580 mm Handlebar Width)

Frame Material:

Specialized M4 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Dream Silver

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid 6061 Aluminum Alloy with Fender and Side Bosses, 1 1/18

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 SRAM X7, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

SRAM X7 SL Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy 175 mm, 48 Tooth Front Chainring

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Ahead, Cartridge Bearings, Alloy Top Cap, 8 mm Cone Spacer

Stem:

3D Forged Aluminum Alloy, 4-Bolt, 7-Degree Rise

Handlebar:

Specialized Stout XC, Flat Bar, Double Butted 6061 Alloy, 9-Degree Backsweep, 4-Degree Upsweep, 31.8 mm Length

Brake Details:

Formula C1 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Dual Piston, Formula C1 Levers with Rubber Knubs

Grips:

Specialized Body Geometry XCT, Dual Compound, Lock-On

Saddle:

Body Geometry Targa, Hollow Cr-Mo Rails, Integrated Backlight

Seat Post:

Specialized, Aluminum Alloy, 2-Bolt, 12.5 mm Offset

Seat Post Diameter:

31.8 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy Double-Wall, Pin Joint, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 2.3/2.0/2.0 mm

Tire Brand:

Electrak, 700 x 45c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in ( 71.12 cm )

Tire Details:

Armadillo Flat Protection

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

4 Amp Charger (Weighs ~4.5 lbs), Optional 1.6 Amp Charger (Weighs ~1.3 lbs), Replacement Battery Pack $800, Reflective Downtube Graphics, Optional Matching Rear Carry Rack and Fenders, Bell Near Left Grip

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Self Diagnostic System LED Readout When Powered On, Throttle Mode ~12 mph (Hold Up on Joystick, Once Flashing Hold Up Again, Bike Must Be Moving to Activate), EnergyBus Magnetic Charge Port on Battery, Battery Packed by Simplo (Does Apple's Stuff, High Quality), Battery Stops with 4% at Top and Bottom to Avoid Straining Cells

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Go SwissDrive by Ortlinghaus-Gruppe

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub (Odd Number of Magnets for Smoother Ride)
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

200 watts

Motor Peak Output:

750 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours (7 Hours with Optional Travel Charger)

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles ( 40 km )

Estimated Max Range:

55 miles ( 89 km )

Display Type:

Fixed Backlit LCD on Right

Readouts:

Speed, Trip Odometer (Resets When Bike is Charged), Lifetime Odometer, Battery Charge Percentage, Assist Level (Regen, None, Eco, Turbo)

Display Accessories:

Rubberized Backlit Joystick

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

26 mph ( 42 kph ) (Up to ~12 mph in Throttle Mode)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Specialized Turbo is the most affordable model in the Specialized electric bicycle lineup (as of 2015 when this review was published) which also includes the Turbo X and Turbo S. With the standard Turbo you get a beautiful purpose built frame in one of four sizes, a powerful but silent gearless rear hub motor with power regeneration, quality safety features including oversized reflectors, a bar-end mirror and integrated LED lights as well as an excellent two year electronics warranty and lifetime frame warranty. Specialized is a leading American bicycle brand launched in 1974 out of Northern California. Their slogan; “to give everyone the best ride of their life” definitely applies here because the ride is great and the price point is more in reach of “everyone” when compared with the Turbo S which is $6,000 vs. $3,800 here… For city riding and mid-range commuting the Turbo, along with the other two models, are some of the most fluid ebikes I’ve tested and the attention to detail is inspiring. It’s not a bike that was pieced together with generic off the shelf parts and it doesn’t feel like they cut any corners. My major complaints feel more like opinions here (the fast charger is heavy and large, the LCD display is built into the brake lever and doesn’t swivel, the lights stay on while charging). In short, I really like the bike but would prefer the Turbo X myself given the inclusion of a locking suspension fork for $200 more. Considering the higher speeds and longer distances that ebikes tend to endure, the suspension is just worth the extra money for me (especially since these two bikes weigh the same).

Driving the bike is a 200 watt nominal, 750 watt peak gearless direct drive motor called the “Go SwissDrive” from Ortlinghaus-Gruppe. It’s heavier and wider than most hub motors I see but the black finish blends well with accents on the frame and it doesn’t seem out of place next to the 10 speed cassette and 180 mm disc brake rotor on either side. What it delivers is smooth, powerful and near silent acceleration that reaches ~26 mph and then gracefully eases off. One of the big differences between the Turbo X and standard Turbo here vs. the more expensive Turbo S is a slightly lower top speed (the S can reach ~28 mph). In my experience, both of these slower ebikes still offer a very satisfying ride and one side benefit of the speed limit is increased range. While servicing the rear wheel, you’ll benefit from a quick disconnect point at the left side of the motor and the sturdy thru-axle which is easier to align and tighten down than a skewer. You don’t get quick release here (just on the front wheel) but the custom Electrak tires feature “Armadillo” flat protection which should help to reduce punctures. The wheelset is 700c which is a larger, more efficient size used by most road and city style bikes. The tires are 700x45c sized and that’s much wider than a road bike which are often 700x23c so you get a nice cushion that compliments the suspension and ergonomic grips at higher speeds. The tires are really unique… almost like race car slicks, they don’t feature any tread.

Powering the motor and both lights, is a super high quality 36 volt 13 amp hour battery pack. This thing is one of the major highlights on the bike because it integrates so perfectly into the downtube, creating a seamless look. The battery contains Samsung cells which are packed by Simplo (this company does Apple stuff and are recognized as a quality leader in the space). You get fifty individual 18650 cells containing a Lithium-ion chemistry that’s warrantied for two years… or 300 full cycles. I was initially put off by the seemingly low number of cycles in the guarantee but those are “full cycles” and a year contains 365 days, so if you were riding the bike from full to empty every single day 25+ miles (based on my range tests) that would be more than 9,000 miles which seems pretty solid. In short, the battery looks great, is well made, uses excellent cells and comes with solid support. If you do need a replacement or decide to get a second battery pack it will cost $800 so do take care of it! You can do this by storing it in a cool dry place and keeping it above half full when not in use over long periods (check it every few months and top it off). Now here’s a bit of an issue I noticed, the battery charger that comes with the bike is huge and weighs ~4.5 pounds. It’s not exactly backpack friendly and while you could get the optional city kit with fenders and rear rack (or add your own stuff) it would take up a lot of room and I just wasn’t stoked on the whole thing. The upside to the stock charger is that it delivers 4 Amps of energy which will charge the 468 watt hour battery in ~3.5 hours. For an additional $120 you can grab a travel charger which is slower (1.6 Amps) but much slimmer and lighter at ~1.3 pounds. I think I’d buy the travel charger for use at home (charging overnight) and then leave the larger quick charger at work for top-offs during my daily commute. Of course, the battery can be charged on or off the frame but I noticed that the lights come on whenever it is being charged on the frame (they do shut off when it’s full). This is one of my gripes about the Turbo, the lights are always on! When you charge and when you ride… They are really nice looking, especially the metal Supernova in the front, and I guess it keeps you safer and reduces complexity in the LCD menu system but it does get annoying. The original Turbo that I reviewed in 2013 seemed to let you turn the lights off by pressing in on the joystick but the new models do not. I found myself tossing a couple of shirts over the bike while charging because my room is small and the LED’s were distracting me.

Speaking of the display… it’s one of the smallest and stealthiest I’ve seen but it does have a few issues. Once the pack is charged and mounted to the frame, you press the metallic circular button at the top of the battery for a second and four LEDs flash on in sequence. If you see one of them flash multiple times it means that something is wrong in the system and each dot relates to a different component such as the motor, battery, display and lights. At this point, the sleek LCD unit near the right grip lights up and shows your speed, assist setting and one of three other readouts (odometer, trip odometer and battery charge percentage). The trip odometer resets when you plug the bike in or if you hold the little rubber joystick to the right for three seconds while in trip odometer mode (make sure you just switched into trip mode or holding to the right won’t work). The menu is really easy to navigate with the joystick thing and fairly simple to understand as long as you don’t need to do advanced stuff like disable the backlight or change from miles to kilometers… it’s all in the attached manual and involves clicking down or holding it in one direction or another. Basically you’ve got four drive modes to choose from including Turbo (which is the highest and offers full power and the 26 mph top speed), Eco mode (which is programmable between 10% and 70% output), No Assist and Regen (which turns the motor into a generator to fill the battery slowly). I really enjoyed the Eco mode and experimented with 40% and 50% output to create a slightly lighter, faster feeling “bicycle”. The Turbo is more bike-like than any other electric bike I’ve tried to date and the torque sensing motor is consistent, smooth and rarely surprising. I found myself holding the brakes while pushing down on the pedals at a stop light and unlike some other electric bikes, it didn’t try to go (even though it does not have motor inhibitors in the brake levers). I think the bike has to get going just a bit before the motor will kick in but it’s not 2 mph or anything, it’s just a little bit and it feels natural. There is a basic throttle mode built into the menus as well and you can access this by going up into Turbo mode, holding the joystick up for a few seconds until the icon flashes and then pressing and holding it up to accelerate. Note that the bike does have to be moving slightly for the throttle to kick in. Note also that I haven’t used the joystick for more than a week with a brand new demo bike and cannot comment on how well it will hold up over time. It looks well protected against water but may be delicate compared to more basic buttons used on other ebikes. One final grip about the display is that it’s not removable and cannot be swiveled to reduce glare because it’s built into the right brake lever. It’s not a huge deal because the display is small but it’s just not as convenient as some other bikes.

At the end of the day the Specialized Turbo is a $3,800 electric bike that’s priced on par with other premium offerings with the Bosch or Impulse mid-drive system but it goes faster, operates much quieter and looks more normal and “stealth”. During my ride tests it attracted more positive interest and excitement from bystanders than other ebikes I’ve tested and I think that’s because it truly blends in and is made by a company they recognize and trust. I took it to a picnic with family members in their 50’s and many of them wanted to test it out and were very impressed after a short ride. That hasn’t been the case with other electric bikes I’ve brought home. With four frame sizes to choose from (even though they are all high-step) and the vast network of Specialized dealers across the US it feels like an excellent choice, a true car replacer. In the video review you can see me racing cars from light to light and the extra speed seems to generate respect on the road which is great. While I did not install the mirror it did look nice and the locking grips and body geometry saddle worked flawlessly. This isn’t a “do everything” electric bike (I’d recommend it primarily for smooth paved riding) but it is an exciting electric bike. The weight of the motor and battery are perfectly balanced across the frame (I weighted it using a luggage scale connected near the middle of the top tube) and the pedals, cranks and 10 speed cassette perform well at low and high speed. with the bike in Eco 30% it almost feels like an ultra light road bike, until you put your foot down and remember that there are 50 pounds there instead of 20. If you want to go further, climb easier, avoid sweating or just have some fun keeping up with your friends then this could be a great choice.

Pros:

  • Mounting points for a bottle cage, lock or other accessory built directly into the top of the in-frame battery pack
  • Excellent weight distribution! While the bike is somewhat heavy given the large battery and motor, the mass is kept low to the ground and balanced front to rear
  • Sturdy, beautifully integrated LED lights by Supernova, the battery is designed to maintain enough capacity to run them at all times and even if it empties completely, the motor generates enough power through cogging to keep them going
  • Well positioned mounting points for adding fenders at the front and rear as well as a four-point carry rack, great for commuting (optional commuter package from Specialized to match perfectly)
  • Ergonomic grips and active saddle by Body Geometry from Specialized help to reduce hand and butt fatigue over long distances and higher speeds
  • All-black frame, components and accessories make this a beautiful ride and it truly blends in… less pronounced as an “electric” bike than many others
  • Includes a side mirror for safer street and city riding, this is a requirement for speed pedelecs in Europe (along with the rubber brake nubs and lights)
  • Quick disconnect motor cable and thru-axle makes service easier, the quick release front wheel makes transporting more convenient
  • Optional quick charger is slim, light weight at ~1.3 lbs and costs $120, it could be useful for commuters

Cons:

  • The little rubber joystick used to navigate the display may be more delicate than clicky buttons used on more traditional displays I’ve tested
  • LCD display panel is built into the right brake lever and cannot be swiveled front to back for improved view or reduced glare
  • Center mounted kickstand makes changing the front tire easy and keeps the bike straight but feels tippy side to side, overall less stable than some other stands
  • The included battery charger is very fast but also large and heavy which makes it much more difficult to take along in your pack to charge at work etc. however, there is a small light weight travel charger available for ~$120
  • When charging the battery pack on the bike the headlight and taillight come on and seem to stay lit which can be annoying if you don’t want the extra light
  • No way to turn off the headlight and tail light while the bike is turned on (I think the Turbo S let’s you toggle them by pressing the joystick in), sometimes it’s nice to cruise without blinding friends or try to blend in more in my opinion so this would be a nice feature
  • It would be nice if in addition to the regen mode (which requires you to click down two or three times using the joystick) the Turbo X and standard Turbo offered regenerative braking so you could capture electricity and save the brake pads more seamlessly by pulling the brake levers
  • It seems like anyone could press the power button on the battery pack and tamper with the display, you don’t need the key or any kind of special fob or password to activate the bike… still, the motor won’t start without the bike rolling a little bit so if it’s chained up maybe that’s not a huge deal (aside from lights being on)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Specialized Reviews

Specialized Turbo Levo FSR Comp 6Fattie Review

  • MSRP: $ 5500.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension electric mountain bike with 650b plus "six fatty" tires for improved traction, handling and comfort. Seamlessly integrated Brose motor and downtube battery pack, completely purpose built frame available in two…...

Specialized Turbo S Review

  • MSRP: $ 7000.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An extremely fast, quiet and stiff electric bike with premium drivetrain and brake components and sleek integrated lights, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Beautifully integrated battery pack, it matches the frame perfectly and even features a bottle cage…...

Specialized S-Works Turbo Levo FSR 6Fattie Review

  • MSRP: $ 9000.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The highest level full suspension e-mountain bike from Specialized, purpose built frame incorporates battery and motor seamlessly. Premium suspension from RockShox Pike RCT3 and Fox Float with Autosag, 11 speed SRAM XX1…...

Specialized Turbo X Review

  • MSRP: $ 4000.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Stealth appearance with integrated battery pack and near-silent motor helps it blend in like a "normal bike". Excellent weight distribution, responsive hydraulic disc brakes, integrated LED lights, rack and fender mounts, nice…...

2014 Specialized Turbo S Review

  • MSRP: $ 6000.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

One of the fastest, quietest and sturdiest road-style electric bikes around, extremely refined. Solid 15mm thru-axles, tapered head tube and alloy frame for efficient power transfer and high…...

2013 Specialized Turbo Review

  • MSRP: $ 5900.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the fastest and priciest electric bikes around, Top speed 45kph (27.96mph) at $5,900 USD. Clean aesthetic with internally routed cables, integrated lithium ion battery pack and built in LED…...


Ken
1 year ago

Hey, I just got this bike and love it. The one thing I don't particularly like is that I can't seem to figure out how to turn off the lights during the day. Do you know how to do this. I see in the 2014 model the instruction manual just says to hold the joystick down but the 2015 model it doesn't have this option. Thanks

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Ken! This was one of my big complaints with the Turbo X and it sounds like maybe all newer models... You cannot turn off the lights (at least from what I could tell and I think I also asked Specialized). Even when charging the bike, the lights stay on and that's annoying if you're trying to sleep :/ just put a rag over it with a rubber band or something I guess. If you figure it out, let me know for sure!

Dan
1 year ago

Hey Ken, I just bought the bike too. Rides great. However my buying experience was horrible. I was told by the dealer (Fresh Bikes) that the bike doesn't come with the magnetic rubber plug cover. I pointed to the pictures in the manuals. They just tried to send me on my way. I called Specialized directly while in the store and was told that it should have come with a plug. I was forwarded to someone who was away at lunch. Hopefully when he returns, he will send me a plug cover. (Hours later and still no call back by Specialized.) This is not how my "special" and expensive bike experience should be starting. I am saddened and worried. Dealer was sure nice when they getting me to pay. Not so much after they got the money. To make matters worse, after I got my bike home I researched the plug issue and learned that the list price for the bike is $3000 instead of the $3800 price.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Sorry they weren't more attentive with the magnetic plug... yeah, that should definitely come with. Regarding price, I was told $3,800 but there might be adjustments as seasons change. I hope you enjoy riding the bike and service improves in the future, it's a great design but yeah... quite a bit of money and you'd expect friendly service. Which Specialized dealer was this?

Niklas
1 year ago

Hi Court. Thanks for a brilliant review! Any idea if its possible to attach a child carrier hitch to this bike? Its usually no problem with a quick release system but this one seems to have a thru axle

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Niklas! Great question... I believe the Turbo models use a 12 mm thru-axle which could possibly be modified (along with your hitch) but might require extra work and time (and tools). Some other bicycle trailers and carriers attach to the seat and chain stays on the left side (but there's a disc brake on the Turbo here which might collide) and still others attach to the seat post, this might be the best option to pursue but I cannot guarantee it will work. Depending on the age and balance of the child you could explore a trailer more like this or try to make your own adapter. I wish I could offer more help but this is a new area for me, I'd love to hear what you end up doing and how it works, feel free to post pictures in the Specialized forum here :)

Hudson
6 months ago

I bought Specialized Turbo X and it was missing the battery cap. My dealer took a week to get a replacement. I found out the battery cap is hiding inside the battery transport box. I hope that answers your searching question.

Court Rye
6 months ago

Great tip Hudson, thanks for chiming in!

Niklas
1 year ago

Hi again. A solution found here http://www.thule.com/en-us/us/products/active-with-kids/multifunctional-child-carriers/accessories/thule-syntace-x-12-axle-adapter-_-1684669

Couldn't be easier:-). Turbo purchased today here in Oslo Norway. Cant wait to pick it up tomorrow:-) thanks again for a brilliant review(s) of all kind of ebikes!

Product Description: Thule Syntace X-12 Axle Adapter. This thru axle adapter allows Thule child carriers to be compatible with bikes with 12 mm Syntace X-12 rear axle and costs $59.95

Court Rye
1 year ago

This is awesome Niklas! Thanks for sharing, that looks like the perfect part for adding a trailer. I hope you and your family enjoy the bike, thanks for the compliment, I do my best to help people find a good product and I believe Specialized has created something special and high performing with the Turbo. Ride safe :)

Lyn
1 year ago

Just bought one here in New Zealand for my birthday. I have a hilly commute for about 6k, then another 6k on a flat bike path. Can't wait! I'll report back once I've broken it in. And thanks for the review; most helpful.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Awesome Lyn! I hope you love it and have a great time riding around, would love to hear your thoughts after a bit of use ;)

Lyn
1 year ago

I just had my first real test ride, and it was absolutely amazing. I've been bike-commuting with my Trek by driving to a bike path about 6km from work and then cycling the rest of the way. Our main road is narrow and clogged with logging trucks, just way too scary. The Turbo allowed me to use the hilly back roads just parallel to the main road. It was so fast and easy, yet still a good workout. Once I add in the time to mount my rack and fiddle getting the bike on and off, it's only going to add about 15 minutes to the commute to bike the whole way!

I love how responsive and natural the bike feels. I used to bike quite bit back in the day, so I appreciate a bike that feels like a 'real' bike. I think the review is spot on - I do wish that display was easier to read. It's a great bike for us older riders (I'm 57), and it's not easy to read whilst riding. If I had had an option for a suspension fork I would have taken it, but there are limited models available in NZ.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Lyn! Great testimonial, thanks for taking the time to share... sounds like the Turbo has enabled you to go all-bike and skip the short drive. I really enjoy backroads but they can add a strain without assist, do ride safe out there! Bummer that there weren't any Turbo X models with the suspension fork where you're at but at least you've got the larger tires and a solid platform. I really enjoyed testing the Turbo, it's a beautiful bike and I hope it works well for you ongoing :)

Ray
1 year ago

Does anyone know what the main differences are between the 2015 and 2016 standard Turbo models (not Turbo X or S)? Far as I can tell, it seems the only difference is they dropped the price a whopping $800 from $3,800 to $3,000. If they dropped the price without changing any of the components, this is fantastic, but how are they doing this? Excess supply of the older 200w motors? It would make sense since the Turbo X and S are now being outfitted with bigger motors for 2016 (250w and 500w, respectively).

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Ray, I think you've got it... The primary difference seems to be the lower price and availability of more powerful or richly outfitted options.

mike
7 months ago

Having been looking at reviews off/on past year. Happened so see Specialized Turbo avail on sale locally. Was looking for 2016 models Evo or Nitro as more powerful batteries, and more efficient frames. Some Q I hope you can answer, if you have not reviewed the 2016 models perhaps sending a link whenever will do. ( not urgent).

What is your view in comparing these models? Use for a day vs weeks, what do you find important. How important is range, if less than say 40k/day is range important. Comfort, noise, squeaky breaks/rattles, viewable displays, easy display use, shocks, treaded tires... Many items not really identifiable from your reviews No product vs product comparison.

My kids have grown up and are into cars, not bikes, so if I buy a new bike they won't destroy it. See use as mainly road (but roads have pot holes), sidewalks and perhaps dirt paths. I liked the Evo offerings but the new Nitro look even better. Never looked at Specialized before today and a quick compare would be appreciated (ride-ability not features). Like the Evo price and features but the Specialized with numerous options for things like fenders, racks, bottle holders...

How do these bikes compare in terms of ride ability, reliability, battery life(long-term), battery replacement (future), are there any features that you would say would make one more favorable? As an "urban" resident have Q about extras you would recommend are needed on an e-bike vs a pedal bike. Is a something like a removable display a preferred requirement? Are you better off taking your battery with you? Not an avid biker (anymore), but perhaps an e-bike will start me up again.

Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi Mike, I believe both the Specialized and Easy Motion models could be outfitted with racks, fenders and lights to suit your needs and I definitely recommend taking your battery inside when parking the bike at a rack or even in a cold/hot garage. Keep the battery in a cool dry environment and store at ~60% for long periods or charge before each ride. You can get great range on the Turbo or Nitro but the higher speed swill limit you as drag increases significantly above 20 mph as the square of air resistance.

I prefer an electric bike with suspension for longer rides and I usually take my charger with me so either bike could work for this (the Specialized Turbo X is my favorite because it has a suspension fork). Both companies offer good warranties and have a network of capable dealers. Specialized Turbo models are quieter because they use gearless direct drive hubs and this also potentially makes them more durable. The price of the new base model Turbo for 2016 is ~$3k which is awesome but still, I'd pay a bit more for the Turbo X myself. I love that it comes in several sizes for a good fit and that it has lights for safety. I hope this helps, the site will have a compare feature soon but I am fixing some bugs right now so it's disabled.

Al
6 months ago

Is it possible to swap out the rear wheel with a more powerful motor?

Court Rye
6 months ago

I'm sure it's possible but probably not something officially offered or supported by Specialized... In my experience these Go SwissDrive motors are pretty zippy and you could choose the Turbo S if you want the most powerful version vs. buying the bike and swapping out the rear wheel and motor.

GB
6 months ago

Just test rode a Turbo today.

  • Nice - smooth, natural & quick.
  • Close to a Stromer st1, at a lower price point.
  • Make sure to include the Turbo on your "short list" of possible options when you head out for your test-rides.

Also Court, please consider getting a helmet mount for your camera, as I'd hate to see a bad Wipe-out while you're speeding along one-handed!
Safety first and keep up the great work.

Court Rye
6 months ago

Nice! Thanks for the feedback GB, sounds like you really enjoyed the Turbo. It's a sweet bike for sure, I love the Specialized designs and am stoked to see them offering more Turbo models in 2016 :D

Also, thanks for the safety tips GB, I've got some new equipment that helps to get nice angles and improve safety but really appreciate your care and feedback :)

Hudson
6 months ago

I just purchased 2015 Specialized Turbo X in California! Does anyone know how to charge Specialized Turbo on public electric automobile charging station? Is there an adapter? Who do I need to contact in order to purchase a public charging adapter!

Court Rye
6 months ago

I remember visiting the ChargePoint guys in the Bay Area a while back and it seemed like their paid stations had standard wall outlets built in (at least some of them). You might be better off bringing the battery inside with you and plugging into a normal wall socket :/ ps. maybe this site can help, I built it a number of years ago and now a friend runs it.

DK
5 months ago

These comments are to inform potential purchasers so they can be well informed, as I have found very little real user feedback online. Take it all with a 'grain of salt'. I've been commuting (20+ miles each way with hills) on my Turbo now for well over a month and overall I like it a lot. Because I've been commuting with it for a while now and gotten over the initial novelty, I feel confident commenting about the bike. The integration is undeniable, it is oh so clean, I get positive comments all the time. The first question I get is; how long does the battery last. With a topped off battery and a commute of 20 miles of which I have a solid 3/4 mile climb and several tiny ones, I still have 40% when I get to the office. I weigh ~200lbs with all my gear. For my very first ride into the office, I only had 14% left when I got into the office and was really concerned I didn't make the right choice. Don't be alarmed, the battery takes a couple of charges to get to full capacity. Now, I've got plenty of juice and never suffered range anxiety since.

I feel a little duped because all the advertising and on Specialized's website says 28mph, it's only assisted to 26mph. I know 2mph difference seems trivial, but I want it to go 28mph with assist, especially if they advertise it as such. Only the S, and now the X is 28mph capable with assist. 200 watts is barely sufficient if you have any real climbs during your ride, especially given the poor choice of the stock 32t low gear, save yourself and get a 34t at minimum or a 36t for the real world if you have climbs in your ride. Buy a second charger, I have one at the office and one at home. I don't regret my purchase, but in retrospect, the X model might not have been a bad way to go given the suspension, a slightly more powerful motor, and slightly greater capacity battery. If your riding is more flat, then the Turbo's 200 watts will be enough. There are a few other short comings that you will discover, but will overlook because the bike is so darn fun to ride. Now, I'm saving for a Turbo S!!

Court Rye
5 months ago

Excellent feedback DK, I agree with each of your points and appreciate the background on how range was more limited when it was brand new and how the second charger has made a difference in addressing range anxiety. I love the Turbo X due to its suspension and would like to see a greater range of sprockets for climbing just like you've pointed out. Thanks again!

Doug
3 months ago

I have been riding my 2016 Specialized Turbo since mid-November, 2015. A couple of additional observations...The "2016" model is, in fact, identical to the 2015. I have seen several supposed 2016 models which were manufactured in October - November of 2014 as mine was. Notwithstanding, I was glad to get the $800 discount by buying it as a 2016 model. I had it delivered with an 11-36 SRAM cluster instead o the 11-32, and I then found a 44T chainring and bash guard to replace the stock 48T. This allows me to ride at a cadence of 85-90 rpm at or slightly above the 42kph limit in 9th or 10th gear while getting a 21% lower first gear. I have had no issues powering up hills and save the "Turbo" button for this use. Riding at ECO40 I can get a 50 mile range. At full Turbo, I plan rides no more than 25 miles. I have added the fender/rack kit, changed to treaded 700 x 37C tires, a Thudbuster ST seatpost, and Kool Stop organic brake pads (work MUCH better than stock metallic). The stock handgrips are not very comfortable, so I also changed to a set of Ergon GP5's.

Court Rye
3 months ago

Wow! You sound very experienced with bikes Doug, thanks for sharing the details of your upgrades and also how the bike performs on rides for you. Would you mind sharing what frame size you got and also your weight? I think that could be useful for others considering the bike and trying to determine how far they might go per charge. Also, what fender + rack setup did you buy for your Turbo?

Doug
2 months ago

Court, This is a much delayed reply. I have a Large frame. I am 5'11" and 235 lbs, 65 years old, and recovered from a heart attack 16 years ago, so I am not terribly athletic. I now have around 1000 miles on my Turbo and still really like it. I went on a 30 mile ride yesterday at ECO70 (or full Turbo) and still had 30% battery left, suggesting a comfortable range of around 40 miles at ECO70. I am quite certain my range at ECO40 is over 50 miles in warm weather.My longest ride to date is 45 miles in cold weather with around 16-20% battery left.

Also, I am using the factory fenders/rack kit with the built in tailight. I wired the tailights so both the seat light AND the rack light work simultaneously. I also have a Serfas flashing tailight mounted over the reflector in the rack so that I now have three BRIGHT tailights, one of which flashes.

Another tip based on experience. When riding on bike trails here in New England, full Turbo is too much. These paved, but somewhat narrow and rough trails are not safe at 25 mph when other bicyclists, pedestrians, skaters, kids, and horses are sharing the trail. I only use the higher speeds when riding by myself on regular roads.

Court Rye
1 month ago

Love the light setup Doug! Awesome that you were able to integrate the rack light :D thanks for the tips about speed and safety where you ride. Hope the bike continues to hold up well for you, ride safe!

Alex
2 months ago

I did not agre with most of this review the riding quality of this turbo it's not smooth at all not due to the 700x 45c tires but the frame construction I can say is more inclined to a super stiff than smooth if you happen to atach a sport camera like gopro on the handlebar the video will be ending shaking a lot due to the stiffness of the ride. The electric motor is 250 watts not 200 watts this version of the specialized turbo it's limited to 25/mph. Since this is pedalec assistance bicycle a better bottom bracket is essential, surprisingly not the case of this specialized turbo. A good example of this will be climbing a little hill (2 miles long) at 9% inclination you will feel the need of stiffness in the bottom braket, also prolonged climbing at this inclination will get the electric motor hot regardless how fast or slow you can pedal. The regenerative option works only when you go downhills if you try to pedal in this option on the flat you ending tired of moving 50 lbs bicycle plus the generator force distance varies depending on how much you stop, hills, windy days and ovbiosly how much you pedal it will take couple of days to learn the basics like not to extra pedal at certain speed reached when the motor cuts because you get tire sooner again pushing 50 lbs bicycle, people asking haw fast you can go! This specialized turbo is designed to go 25/mph you can go faster but again if you are on a flat road and you use the economy mode at 40% anything faster than 25/mph is useless.

Court Rye
2 months ago

Thanks for the feedback Alex, I do my best to get the specs right and always ask reps at the shop and study the websites but sometimes I'm looking at a brand new bike and just don't have all of the details. I agree that this is a stiffer bike and it can feel abrasive at high speed. For me, the best Turbo right now for street riding is the X model because it has a suspension fork :)

Jeffrey Baker
1 month ago

I recently got one of these and I wanted to write down a few surprising things, so that people can find this information online. I have a 29-mile round trip commute that starts with a 2-mile, 750-foot descent, followed by 12.5 miles of flats, then the reverse. The bike can just barely do this on 80% of its battery, if I use Eco mode for most of the flat part and keep the speed to 25 miles/hour or less. When the battery gets to 20% the bike will not use Turbo mode, only Eco. This is a bit of a nuisance if it hits 20% and you still have a climb home, because in Eco this bike is like riding a cargo bike with totally inappropriate gearing. Speaking of gearing, what were they thinking? The 32T first gear isn't low enough to get up a mountain, and the 9th and 10th gears are useless because you can't reach those speeds on this bike with these tires. Last thing is the regeneration mode is useless. I can put it in Regen mode and ride 2 miles and 750 feet down at 25 m/h and the battery doesn't gain even 1% charge. In the other direction it loses 15-20% battery charge depending on speed! I think you would have to descend quite a distance (i.e. down Mt Whitney) to noticeably charge the battery.

Court Rye
1 month ago

Great feedback, thanks for taking the time to share Jeffrey! Hope you're enjoying the bike overall, sounds like the range is a bit disappointing.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

reoutput
5 hours ago
My display was going off and resetting over bumps before it finally went dead. I tried to reset the bike by taking out the battery, reconnecting the display...motor, but nothing. Just sent in a query for a replacement, so now I'm waiting for the replacement. On a side note, the display is out but the bike stays in full turbo mode without the ability to switch modes.
Senseiwai
8 hours ago
I bought my Turbo S 2015 okt. My first display lasted to July and I have been riding couple of times in rain and wet snow condition is problem display still work. This time my second display I haven't ride in rain as I can remember since they replaced it for me. The backlight just suddenly went out it was working perfectly day before.

The local Specialized dealer said is waterproof in extend is not pouring water with a hose or submerige in water. Riding in the rain it's OK. And it's funny if it's water damage it shouldn't be only the backlight effected one may think.
eagamer80
12 hours ago
Senseiwai
I tried couple of time riding in winter condition. I run with these is more then enough studs you don't want more studs when that otherwise it slows you down, drain more juice and you need to put more effort on peddling. The other problem is the wind cools you don't a lot when you cruising 35-38km/h especially your hands and your face. Combination of wearing to much cloths and have too many studs and you get sweaty and cold wind cools you down is not pleasent.

We have bicycle room at work so we can store our bikes inside, so I have always water bottle with me so I can rinse off with water on the drive train and the gears when I arrive keep it as clean as possible and let it dry, especially salt on winter roads you know.
Yes, I have the thinnest version of the same tyres. Mine are the 30-622. I think for the turbo yours (35-622) will look/fit better, and have a slightly better grip on a difficult road, especially with ice.
eagamer80
12 hours ago
Senseiwai
Just got back from Specialized dealer and they swapped display with a new display. It's new improved display instead of a smal cable underneath display on the old model they made some changes a short cable goes into a new connector device and zipped to the handlebar. Is much better solution. It happened to me a few time when I parked my bike outside grocery store and the display cable got hooked into handlebar on the bike next into mine. If their other bike own is not carful and yanked to get out his bike it could easily broke my display cable or other way around.

View attachment 7451View attachment 7454
I have the same display in my Turbo FLR 2016. No problems with the display so far (1 month and a half of use). I was wondering if it's better to protect it with some nylon when it's raining. I do not trust too much in waterproof electronics (I don't remember reading in the manual that was waterproof though). Which dealer did you replace the screen? I am interested to know, as the bike shop where I bought the bike knows nothing about Turbos.
Douglas Ruby
1 day ago
Senseiwai
My backlight went out again. What is wrong with this Turbo displays?!!
Are you sure it did not just reset back to "backlight off" in the settings?
Douglas Ruby
1 day ago
The "half moon looking thing" is the torque arm of the powered rear hub that transmits the power into the frame. The rotor you purchased appears to be a Shimano 2-piece SM-RT76. It would probably work on your front hub, but definitely not on the rear. I believe that the following is the one-piece Shimano SM-RT56 disc used on the 2016 Turbo S (by looking at pictures on the web):

[​IMG]

Note the picture below.
[​IMG]

Note, the following is the Formula FD781802SB 2-piece rotor. It also looks like it has a bit more cutout so may not have issues going over the torque arm on the rear hub:

[​IMG]
Senseiwai
1 day ago
My backlight went out again. What is wrong with this Turbo displays?!!
StormTrooper2
2 days ago
Just put the rear wheel back on. Not too difficult other than the awkward mass. Torqued the rear axle to 15 Nm. The shop that repaired the rear spoke and trued the wheel tightened it by feel. Felt like it must have been at least 25-30 lb-ft, or about 34-40 Nm. The O-ring was very squished. I'll try to size a replacement and get it locally.

Tube repair holding. Still considering putting Green Slime in the tubes. Not worried about mess because the slime is in the tube. It can stay in for 2 years, then toss the tube and repeat. The Blackbelt must provide some puncture resistance, but all it took was a thick staple to flatten the rear tire, dead center in the tread. I can't afford to be sidelined on the way to work longer than about 30 minutes. With the slime the staple wouldn't have caused a flat, even after pulling it out...just keep on rolling. Not yet to the point of riding in the rain. 28 miles in the rain is intolerable (for me). It's been awhile since I've searched, but I am looking for fender alternatives for the X. I'm not impressed with the expensive Specialized fenders for the Turbo X. I want more complete wheel coverage.
James Kohls
2 days ago
The Turbo X is very similar. In fact for the few months I spent researching bikes I went back and fourth between the Turbo line and Stromer line. I finally settled on the 2015 Turbo X because it had reduced in price from $4,000 to $2600. I think the Stromers are very nice too. There are lots of people here to love them.

The kickstand is a mixed blessing. It looks more stable than it really it and I've actually knocked by bike on the ground twice—damaging it both times. A 50 pound bike falls really really fast. It is really nice for changing a tire tho. Having suspension is very nice. Really helps with man hole covers and smoothing out bumps. The seatpost suspension on the 2016 Turbo X is a nice addition. I may add one aftermarket to mine. The motors on most bikes, including the Turbos are brushless. The Turbos are all gearless and silent, which I love. The only noise you hear is the wind and the tires, depending on pavement type.

I've owned my turbo for going on 4 months now, if memory serves correct. It has been very reliable and I'm fairly experienced with bike maintenance, so I've taken care of all my own maintenance. I post most of my experience to my review thread in the Specialized forum. LINK!

My furnace should kick in tonight, going to be down in the 40's! Eek. Still riding my bike tho.
Allan47.7339
2 days ago
3770 miles / 6067 km from 11/2014 Turbo S.
007vsMagua
3 days ago
James Kohls
Hello, fellow Minnesotan! The RadWagon is pretty great looking. If I could afford to have multiple e-bikes, I would love to have one of those for shopping. Regarding the police, in Minnesota laws are 20MPH max assistance and brakes with motor cutoffs. My bike doesn't meet either of those requirements, but I haven't had any run-ins with the police yet. I'm guessing the homemade e-bike you saw wasn't speed limited like a commercial model would be.

It is never too early to start researching. Bike prices keep falling as the market gets more and more saturated. That being said, my Specialized Turbo X was $1400 lower being a previous model year bike. So looking at last years models where available is a good way to save some money!
Yeah, the RadWagon is a great concept, but I'd like a bike that is more fun, faster, lighter, handles different road and trail types with a good sized tire, and has a well designed rear rack that is attached to the frame beneath the seat using a floating attachment with two strong supports going to the rear axle that have built-in shock absorbers, and of course a nice rear light. I have no idea why rear racks are being attached to the fenders? ...bad idea. (The concept of that rear bike rake just came to me as I was writing this reply)

I'll be going down the road at 20 mph in traffic and be passed by all kinds of bikes going faster. I have no idea why they picked 20mph as the limit. I kind of like the idea of having both brakes with motor cutoffs.

I went to YouTube and watched Court's year old review of the Specialized Turbo X and the Turbo X comes very close to the ST1. The down tube battery placement is perfect. I just went to the Specialized web site to look at their latest Turbo X but was somewhat disappointed that more specific information on the motor type and battery specifications were lacking. I'm assuming that the motor is brushless and gearless. I also noticed at their website they had no direct link to Support for downloading information. I really like the front fork and the newer design has suspension under the seat. I also really like their kickstand.

So, how long James have you owned your Turbo X? Do you use it for commuting, recreation, or both? Is it pretty easy to maintain? Has it been reliable?

It was chilly last night and the furnace kicked in for the first time this year.
russ moir
3 days ago
Limber 48V ~$1800 in Vic, $1600 on the web from Canadian dealers.
Stromer ST1 Elite ~$3850 from Scooteretti Ottawa, with gold (large capacity) battery. Vic dealer stocks the Platinum for quite a bit more.
I'm sure there's a Specialized dealer on the island, and the turbo has great reviews, though is priced up with the ST1
ROJA
3 days ago
I've now done my first two commutes on my X (20 miles and 29 miles, respectively) and the bike is really fun and so competent at eating up the miles! It handles beautifully on dirt/gravel (better than I expected) and range is about what I figured so far. I've been using mostly Eco70 so far, which is a surprise (I expected to be running in Turbo all the time) but seems to offer plenty of power to cruise at 25-26 with moderate effort.
Jan Hermanson
3 days ago
eagamer, thanks for the advice on the Ergon grips. I do not fancy the bar ends but saw there are ones without.
Wrt the swedish speedelec requirements - I insure it as a klass II moped after having had some discussions with the insurance company. I will soon start looking for winter tyres. Main aim is to maximize number of studs :). Jag hade nog kunnat svara på svenska här förstås. vad gäller lagrummet för Turbo S verkar det oklart. Den har regbevis för att klassas som typ II moped men enligt transportstyrelsen gäller då max 25 km/h vilket rimmar illa med Turbo S. Mitt försäkringsbolag hade inga synpunkter så länge regbeviset var korrekt.
eagamer80
12 hours ago
If the thickness of the brakepads is 1mm or less, change it immediately. It's relatively cheap to do this and will directly affect your safety, so don't hesitate on doing it and keep a few spare ones just in case. You'll need them sooner or later. For my Turbo FLR 2016 it took a while until I found out that the pads I need are the Shimano B01S (Shimano Deore BR-M506 breaks).
reoutput
4 days ago
Hey StormTropper, great reading this thread! I have a short commute compared to you, 16 miles, but have never really ridden on the road much until now...in the past,mountain biking mostly. I was very skeptical about using the bike to commute but a customer came in and said that if more people rode the bike that they would realize that the Turbo is a great alternative to a car. That got me thinking and the huge deal of getting a 2015 at a great price was too much for me to pass up.

Nine months later I am loving the bike more and more each day and plan to use it rain or shine everyday I work. The only problem that I have is with the headlight. There is a portion of my ride that has no street lights and I don't feel that the front light is enough on its own. I tried to find the rating of the light but have not found an answer yet but it seems like the 2015 headlight slots in around 200-300 lumen. I may need to follow your lead and add a light to my helmet as well. So when I work the closing shift I do not ride the Turbo but that may be changing soon as we head into winter with the shorter days.

Keep on trucking!
James Kohls
4 days ago
Hello, fellow Minnesotan! The RadWagon is pretty great looking. If I could afford to have multiple e-bikes, I would love to have one of those for shopping. Regarding the police, in Minnesota laws are 20MPH max assistance and brakes with motor cutoffs. My bike doesn't meet either of those requirements, but I haven't had any run-ins with the police yet. I'm guessing the homemade e-bike you saw wasn't speed limited like a commercial model would be.

It is never too early to start researching. Bike prices keep falling as the market gets more and more saturated. That being said, my Specialized Turbo X was $1400 lower being a previous model year bike. So looking at last years models where available is a good way to save some money!
eagamer80
4 days ago
Hello guys,

nice checking that I got many replies here =) it was a long while since I connected back to this forum. Now the bike odometer is about 600km (372 miles). No big changes or surprises. The bike is still working as expected (though I wish it were a little faster =). The temperature here is unusually high for being this time of the year (yet temperature between 10-19 celcius, 50-66 fh). So the battery working as normal.
I made a few slight modifications on the bike for example I changed the stem (I hope that's the English name, the device that connects the head tube with the handlebars. I added one with an adjustable angle, to make my position a little bit taller to make my rides more comfortable). In Swedish is called Styrstam same brand as this one but for the 31mm in the handlebar end. I can assure you if you are not a racer-like your back will thanks this.
Regarding the battery and it's diminished efficiency after 300 cycles, that's not a myth, it says so in the user manual. This affects to all Turbo models and is "normal". Lithium starts degrading its load capacity after a certain time (happen even to phones).
I emailed Specialized to its representatives in Europe, and this is what they said:
"We offer two years warranty on the Turbo battery – or a minimum of 75% usable capacity after 300 charge cycles. Please note a charge cycle is a complete charge 0% to 100%. If you charge it from 50% to 100% it only counts as a half charge cycle. The battery itself automatically keeps record on the charge cycle amount. ".
If one wants, could buy a new battery being the one with the highest capacity 691 Wh at a bargain of 12299sek or 1440 usd (yes, the one of the Turbo S). Anyway...
To finish this reply, I would like to paste here Specialized response after asking about the Diagnostic Tool to unlock the full speed of the bike:
"The Turbo FLR is a 25 kph bike and it is not made to be ridden faster than that. The reason being it is not allowed to ride a pedal assisted bike faster than that without registration plates, light, horn etc. in EU. Specialized do not recommend that you under any circumstance try to make the bike go faster than the allowed 25 kph. If you anyway decide to go ahead with this process, please note the brain of the system in the battery registers the removal of the limit – and it will void the warranty of the complete bike."
I insisted, "ok but what if...", second reply:
"By bypassing the speed limit you will break local law. Many countries has set a speed limit of 25 km/h by law.
To have it set to 45 km/h you will need to register you bike with number plates, use a full face helmet, install side mirrors and have the bike insured.
" Which that last answer's not being true to Sweden. There are many idiots out there with faster motorbikes without plates, but that's probably the lack of police enforcement here =).
Specialized responses were fast and if you think about it, it makes sense. I just wanted to push this a little bit to know how far Specialized wants to go with this. I actually do not wish to unlock the bike and brake something (specially myself). If I ever need a faster bike, I would directly go for the S model some years ahead. For the moment I prefer to keep myself alive and enjoy the ride, not rush it.
Senseiwai
4 days ago
Jag bor i Fruängen, Hägersten. Min Turbo S har gott runt 2000km.
grench
3 weeks ago
Bikedriver
Hey Grench,

well, I think looking at torque only is misleading. For example a KTM freeride E only puts out 42 Nm peak torque, but would blow away your bulls or any 250-350 watt ebike on a trial at 16,000 watts. ...doubt you'd think that bike is "weak" at 42 Nm if you rode it. Power is a function of torque and speed. (X pi/30) You can have higher torque at lower speed or higher speed at lower torque for any given "power."

Hard to compare really to be honest. I've owned and ridden Bosch, and although never a Bulls, I've ridden the rotwild and the new Levo , which I believe all use the brose system.

IN general, I'd say the comparison/difference is most evident at very low speeds and high torques. On very steep off road climbs, at very low speeds, the Bulls, or any mid drive I've ever ridden, is definitely still superior. The maxon falls behind on very steep climbs unless I shift down and add the extra human power to the pedals to make up for it. However on less steeper uphill grades, road uphill, on flats, rolling hills, and downhill, there is no comparison. It's acceleration is so fast and general "feel" is so different in comparison...hard to describe, other's don't compare.

The bulls seems pretty cool though..., especially that new one, it has an impressive battery range at like 600 wH (but of course, is heavier).

Some other differences that are massive and unique on maxon vs. anything else I've tried ...shifting - is incredibly fast and smooth, no matter if you are going uphill under high pedal power or down.... Shifting fast on a midrive at high torque can be harsh. And then the other massive difference - pedaling without power it the battery runs out...it's not terrible and silky smooth.

I do wish they had a larger battery. Range is actually really impressive on the road and at lower levels given the size of the battery (360 wH) by my experience so far. I keep wanting to try to limit myself to level 2 and ride on road until the battery dies to see what kind of range I can get, but just haven't yet (I'll report when I do). I'd guess maybe 15-20 miles on level 2 and maybe 30+ miles on level 1 is possible ...I hardly ever ride the road though and pretty much always ride level 3. Off road, level 3, using the turbo - pushing it as hard as I can on very technical XC trails, I personally can get and plan for about 12 - 13 miles per charge. But my buddies girlfriend who also rides a maxon can get like 15-20+ miles off road on the same trails per charge - she comes back 1/2 full while we are empty - rider weight and road / off road seems to be a big factor on range of the maxon.
I agree we all tend to think our bikes perform better than someone's else's bike.

That's why I started my post with 'have you ridden with other Ebikers'.

I continue to ride with every Ebike I can find. I also ask to switch bikes so we can take some of the rider input out of the equation.

I weigh approx 350lbs and I continue to eat ST1s up on small hills and flats. The ST2 has more top speed - after they catch up:D.

I would love to put this Bulls Outlaw (not a 250/350 mid drive - but a Suntor hub drive 500) up against the KTM or the Maxon. It would be fun. I live in Wichita KS are you anywhere close? I travel a lot also...maybe close by you someday?? I rode a KTM with a Bosch performance while in Austria...nice bike but nowhere close to the acceleration of the Bulls. Maybe it will out climb the Bulls?????

Trust me when I find one that fits me and outperforms the Bulls - I will own it;).
Bikedriver
3 weeks ago
Hey Grench,

well, I think looking at torque only is misleading. For example a KTM freeride E only puts out 42 Nm peak torque, but would blow away your bulls or any 250-350 watt ebike on a trial at 16,000 watts. ...doubt you'd think that bike is "weak" at 42 Nm if you rode it. Power is a function of torque and speed. (X pi/30) You can have higher torque at lower speed or higher speed at lower torque for any given "power."

Hard to compare really to be honest. I've owned and ridden Bosch, and although never a Bulls, I've ridden the rotwild and the new Levo , which I believe all use the brose system.

IN general, I'd say the comparison/difference is most evident at very low speeds and high torques. On very steep off road climbs, at very low speeds, the Bulls, or any mid drive I've ever ridden, is definitely still superior. The maxon falls behind on very steep climbs unless I shift down and add the extra human power to the pedals to make up for it. However on less steeper uphill grades, road uphill, on flats, rolling hills, and downhill, there is no comparison. It's acceleration is so fast and general "feel" is so different in comparison...hard to describe, other's don't compare.

The bulls seems pretty cool though..., especially that new one, it has an impressive battery range at like 600 wH (but of course, is heavier).

Some other differences that are massive and unique on maxon vs. anything else I've tried ...shifting - is incredibly fast and smooth, no matter if you are going uphill under high pedal power or down.... Shifting fast on a midrive at high torque can be harsh. And then the other massive difference - pedaling without power it the battery runs out...it's not terrible and silky smooth.

I do wish they had a larger battery. Range is actually really impressive on the road and at lower levels given the size of the battery (360 wH) by my experience so far. I keep wanting to try to limit myself to level 2 and ride on road until the battery dies to see what kind of range I can get, but just haven't yet (I'll report when I do). I'd guess maybe 15-20 miles on level 2 and maybe 30+ miles on level 1 is possible ...I hardly ever ride the road though and pretty much always ride level 3. Off road, level 3, using the turbo - pushing it as hard as I can on very technical XC trails, I personally can get and plan for about 12 - 13 miles per charge. But my buddies girlfriend who also rides a maxon can get like 15-20+ miles off road on the same trails per charge - she comes back 1/2 full while we are empty - rider weight and road / off road seems to be a big factor on range of the maxon.
George Lawther
3 months ago

will you be doing the FLR variant review at some point

Eric Leblanc
6 months ago

Just got my Turbo today, Canadian version and top speed is 32KM, anyone
know how to unlock it to 45KM or 30 Miles ?

Eric Leblanc
6 months ago

+Eric Leblanc 2016 base turbo

Sita van Waarde
6 months ago

Cheap ?? No ! Butt iTS Supergood stuff I hope They keep fabricate Nice
bikes in THE future !

Mike Ferrell
7 months ago

Good review - why the big cost multi-thousand dollar difference among the 3
versions? Are they really that different from recreational rider
perspective?

James Jacocks
9 months ago

Hi Court. I thought some viewers might be interested in some info on the
Turbo X, a similar bike (2015 vintage). Had mine since August 2015 and have
put on a several hundred miles, closer to a thousand actually. I get almost
exactly 100 miles/charge in 30% boost mode and maybe 45 to 50 miles in 300%
boost. That is a lot more than Specialized suggests in their specs. I weigh
about 155 lbs. and ride on only moderately sloped terrains. The bike rides
fine with power off as well. The guys I ride with are neos and sometimes I
just power off entirely to feel like I am doing some work. I have ridden
most of the fabulous C & O Canal towpath and the super stealthy bike has
given me some great experiences. I do load my bike down with photo
equipment generally and often lock out the front suspension so I ride
differently than a lot of folks. These are superior electric bikes from my
point of view. No equipment issues so far. I bought the bike after testing
it but found out about it on EBR, so, thanks!

harringtonb2
9 months ago

Does anyone know if this bike the Specialized Turbo base model can hill
climb? I am 6 feet and a 190lbs looking for a bike to commute on. My
commute has some hills that make me sweat on my normal bike. This looks
like an awesome bike but I am worried the smaller wattage motor will not
pull me up the hills adequately and I will arrive to work drenched. I
appreciate anyone's input.

Byron Sutton
9 months ago

Is the battery and motor warranty for 2 or 3 years?

Byron Sutton
6 months ago

thanks for the follow up

Eric Leblanc
6 months ago

+Byron Sutton 2 years on battery here in Canada.

Lawrence Yan
12 months ago

Is there an updated 2016 Specialized Turbo like how the Turbo S was
updated?

bsgnine
1 year ago

did someone say these are coming with stronger motors for 2016?

wazzucoug69
1 year ago



David Macdonald
1 year ago

I think there cost is just getting a bit much . And 800 for a battery . . 

Baronial10
1 year ago

Man... I have been watching all of your videos. Love all the videos and
your style of reviews! Keep them coming! Subscribed :)

Seb K
1 year ago

A rack or Iraq - oh a bike rack !!!

I Hate Steph Curry
1 year ago

Hello Court, I have a question for you. Besides a Haibike, what is a great
full suspension bike that is 6k or under, and goes at least 25mph?

I Hate Steph Curry
1 year ago

Thank you so much!! But what about the Easy Go neo jumper, or, the new easy
go Bosch jumper 27.5? Are rose any good, and please do a review of that
Bosch jumper 27.5 I am think between the neo jumper and Bosch jumper, what
do you think?

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+Kandykiller maniac There are only a couple of speed pedelecs I know of
with full suspension and my favorite is the Focus Thron Impulse Speed
http://electricbikereview.com/focus/thron-impulse-speed/ but you can also
get the IZIP E3 Peak DS past 20mph
http://electricbikereview.com/izip/e3-peak-ds/

Tom Stack
1 year ago

You are right in my "neck of the woods" in Irvine... I go that shopping
center a few times a week and also ride those groomed dirt trails as
well...... small world !!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+Tom Stack That's awesome! Maybe we should go for a ride sometime Tom, I
don't know many people in the area. Just reach out on the contact form back
at the site if you're up for it. What bike do you have?

ForbinColossus
1 year ago

Cort, for the ride portion, were you holding the camera in your mouth? What
a stud!

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+ForbinColossus Haha... yeah, I bought a mouth-mount for surfing and have
been using that for speed shots where I want both hands on the bars :P

ForbinColossus
1 year ago

Surprised they dont add fenders - to protect you in the wet and to protect
the bottom bracket area. Nice design, oddball lights-on always - not sure
if thatt's for safety like motorcycles/vehicles with lights on in the
daytime - but at the pricepoint, I'd go Bosch.

Edmond Leung
6 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com I just got the 2016 base model, I am not seeing the
matching rack on Specialized website. I see two different set of fenders
kit but not sure which one is for the Turbo model.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+ForbinColossus They have optional fenders and a matching rack. I'm not
sure how much it is but it's basically a "city kit" that will work on any
of the Turbo models right now.

Rc forever
1 year ago

Hi , my first message to you .? Thank you for all the reviews ! They are
all awesome ! Can you please check out my budget build ? Cheers 

Rc forever
1 year ago

Awesome that you got back to me ! Thanks a bunch , and yes please check my
channel out , this is my very first e bike and ride ! And I love it , it
was all of your vids that got me wanting one , thank you !

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+Rc forever Would you mind linking to it? Is it back at your channel? I'm
traveling right now but will try to explore your build :)

vibe2light
1 year ago

Hey Buddy, Another review request = A collection of model types best fit
for an "Outdoorsman Special" episode, for hard core multi overnight
Hunters, Hikers, Fisherman, and off the grid active enthusiasts. My
favorite imaginary model = "Spitzing Fat Bike" 850watt all wheel drive,
water proof 5 meters, motion self recharging, mono wheel outback trailer
and 18months off grid expedition worthy ! ! This idea puts a little smile
on me. Too much imagination ?

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+GrimFaceHunter I think you could do it with a solar panel or maybe a
biogass heat to electricity tool. You can bring in food for your body to
convert to energy or use a bike that could actually operate more
efficiently off of calories found along the way. Have you seen this:
http://www.biolitestove.com/ maybe something similar that's a bit larger.

vibe2light
1 year ago

+ForbinColossus Hey, Thanks for the heads up. Nice Felt !

GrimFaceHunter
1 year ago

+vibe2light If you want that "18 month off grid expedition worthy", it is
best that you drop the idea of motorized bicycle entirely.

ForbinColossus
1 year ago

+vibe2light see his review of this:
http://electricbikereview.com/felt/outfitter/

bryphi77
1 year ago

Could you do a review of the top of the line model? This is one of the
nicest ones I have seen, imo. I would buy it for 2500... but as usual it is
noncensucally overpriced.

You know... its irritating. Its not that I don't have the cash, but to get
an electric bike I want I need to allow myself to be criminally ripped off.
I really wish they would just start pricing these things based on what they
are actually worth.



Mitchell Steindler
1 year ago

+dave himlin better in what terms? It's faster?

GrimFaceHunter
1 year ago

+Mitchell Steindler It's like a law of diminishing returns.

Mitchell Steindler
1 year ago

+bryphi77 It's like buying a super-car or even a super-bike. They're the
best of the best and as such charge duly. A 10 grand race bike may not be
significantly better than a $3500 one, but it is just that little bit
better. Someday an electric bike this good will be common and thus priced
better, but for now, this is the best of the best. It's just that little
bit better than everything else to warrant its price.