Specialized Turbo Review

2015 Specialized Turbo Electric Bike Review
2015 Specialized Turbo
2015 Specialized Turbo Sram X7 10 Speed
2015 Specialized Turbo Lithium Ion Battery
2015 Specialized Turbo Ergonomic Grips And Display
2015 Specialized Turbo Aluminum Bash Guard
2015 Specialized Turbo Backlit Computer Console And Joystick
2015 Specialized Turbo Body Geometry Targa Saddle With Lights
2015 Specialized Turbo Double Leg Kickstand
2015 Specialized Turbo Electric Bike
2015 Specialized Turbo Go Swissdrive Gearless Motor
2015 Specialized Turbo Rear Wheel Above
2015 Specialized Turbo Supernova Headlight
2015 Specialized Turbo Electric Bike Review
2015 Specialized Turbo
2015 Specialized Turbo Sram X7 10 Speed
2015 Specialized Turbo Lithium Ion Battery
2015 Specialized Turbo Ergonomic Grips And Display
2015 Specialized Turbo Aluminum Bash Guard
2015 Specialized Turbo Backlit Computer Console And Joystick
2015 Specialized Turbo Body Geometry Targa Saddle With Lights
2015 Specialized Turbo Double Leg Kickstand
2015 Specialized Turbo Electric Bike
2015 Specialized Turbo Go Swissdrive Gearless Motor
2015 Specialized Turbo Rear Wheel Above
2015 Specialized Turbo Supernova Headlight

Summary

  • Completely purpose built with integrated lights, in-frame cabling and downtube mounted battery pack that blends in
  • Available in four frame sizes for improved fit, optional city kit with fenders and rear rack for commuting, ergonomic grips and larger 700x45c tires help to smooth out the ride over long distances at higher speeds ~26 mph
  • Kickstand can feel unstable at times, charger is big and heavy, LCD display is not adjustable or removable, lights stay on all the time (even while charging), rubber joystick can feel a bit delicate

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Online Shops that Carry Specialized

Buy at Propel Bikes Buy Now PHONE

$3,800 MSRP, Specialized Turbo

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Specialized

Model:

Turbo

Price:

$3,800 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Battery and Motor, Lifetime Frame and Fork

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2015

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

49.5 lbs ( 22.45 kg )

Battery Weight:

8 lbs ( 3.62 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in ( 41.91 cm )18 in ( 45.72 cm )19.5 in ( 49.53 cm )21 in ( 53.34 cm )

Geometry Measurements:

Small 16.5" (420 mm Seat Tube Length, 746 mm Stand-Over Height, 584 Top Tube Length, 1079 mm Wheelbase, 580 mm Handlebar Width), Medium 18" (460 mm Seat Tube Length, 783 mm Stand-Over Height, 602 Top Tube Length, 1097 mm Wheelbase, 580 mm Handlebar Width), Large 19.5" (500 mm Seat Tube Length, 814 mm Stand-Over Height, 615 Top Tube Length, 1111 mm Wheelbase, 580 mm Handlebar Width), Extra Large 21" (540 mm Seat Tube Length, 847 mm Stand-Over Height, 635 Top Tube Length, 1131 mm Wheelbase, 580 mm Handlebar Width)

Frame Material:

Specialized M4 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Dream Silver

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid 6061 Aluminum Alloy with Fender and Side Bosses, 1 1/18

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 SRAM X7, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

SRAM X7 SL Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy 175 mm, 48 Tooth Front Chainring

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Ahead, Cartridge Bearings, Alloy Top Cap, 8 mm Cone Spacer

Stem:

3D Forged Aluminum Alloy, 4-Bolt, 7-Degree Rise

Handlebar:

Specialized Stout XC, Flat Bar, Double Butted 6061 Alloy, 9-Degree Backsweep, 4-Degree Upsweep, 31.8 mm Length

Brake Details:

Formula C1 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Dual Piston, Formula C1 Levers with Rubber Knubs

Grips:

Specialized Body Geometry XCT, Dual Compound, Lock-On

Saddle:

Body Geometry Targa, Hollow Cr-Mo Rails, Integrated Backlight

Seat Post:

Specialized, Aluminum Alloy, 2-Bolt, 12.5 mm Offset

Seat Post Diameter:

31.8 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy Double-Wall, Pin Joint, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 2.3/2.0/2.0 mm

Tire Brand:

Electrak, 700 x 45c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in ( 71.12 cm )

Tire Details:

Armadillo Flat Protection

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

4 Amp Charger (Weighs ~4.5 lbs), Optional 1.6 Amp Charger (Weighs ~1.3 lbs), Replacement Battery Pack $800, Reflective Downtube Graphics, Optional Matching Rear Carry Rack and Fenders, Bell Near Left Grip

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Self Diagnostic System LED Readout When Powered On, Throttle Mode ~12 mph (Hold Up on Joystick, Once Flashing Hold Up Again, Bike Must Be Moving to Activate), EnergyBus Magnetic Charge Port on Battery, Battery Packed by Simplo (Does Apple's Stuff, High Quality), Battery Stops with 4% at Top and Bottom to Avoid Straining Cells

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Go SwissDrive by Ortlinghaus-Gruppe

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub (Odd Number of Magnets for Smoother Ride)
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

200 watts

Motor Peak Output:

750 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours (7 Hours with Optional Travel Charger)

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles ( 40 km )

Estimated Max Range:

55 miles ( 89 km )

Display Type:

Fixed Backlit LCD on Right

Readouts:

Speed, Trip Odometer (Resets When Bike is Charged), Lifetime Odometer, Battery Charge Percentage, Assist Level (Regen, None, Eco, Turbo)

Display Accessories:

Rubberized Backlit Joystick

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

26 mph ( 42 kph ) (Up to ~12 mph in Throttle Mode)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Specialized Turbo is the most affordable model in the Specialized electric bicycle lineup (as of 2015 when this review was published) which also includes the Turbo X and Turbo S. With the standard Turbo you get a beautiful purpose built frame in one of four sizes, a powerful but silent gearless rear hub motor with power regeneration, quality safety features including oversized reflectors, a bar-end mirror and integrated LED lights as well as an excellent two year electronics warranty and lifetime frame warranty. Specialized is a leading American bicycle brand launched in 1974 out of Northern California. Their slogan; “to give everyone the best ride of their life” definitely applies here because the ride is great and the price point is more in reach of “everyone” when compared with the Turbo S which is $6,000 vs. $3,800 here… For city riding and mid-range commuting the Turbo, along with the other two models, are some of the most fluid ebikes I’ve tested and the attention to detail is inspiring. It’s not a bike that was pieced together with generic off the shelf parts and it doesn’t feel like they cut any corners. My major complaints feel more like opinions here (the fast charger is heavy and large, the LCD display is built into the brake lever and doesn’t swivel, the lights stay on while charging). In short, I really like the bike but would prefer the Turbo X myself given the inclusion of a locking suspension fork for $200 more. Considering the higher speeds and longer distances that ebikes tend to endure, the suspension is just worth the extra money for me (especially since these two bikes weigh the same).

Driving the bike is a 200 watt nominal, 750 watt peak gearless direct drive motor called the “Go SwissDrive” from Ortlinghaus-Gruppe. It’s heavier and wider than most hub motors I see but the black finish blends well with accents on the frame and it doesn’t seem out of place next to the 10 speed cassette and 180 mm disc brake rotor on either side. What it delivers is smooth, powerful and near silent acceleration that reaches ~26 mph and then gracefully eases off. One of the big differences between the Turbo X and standard Turbo here vs. the more expensive Turbo S is a slightly lower top speed (the S can reach ~28 mph). In my experience, both of these slower ebikes still offer a very satisfying ride and one side benefit of the speed limit is increased range. While servicing the rear wheel, you’ll benefit from a quick disconnect point at the left side of the motor and the sturdy thru-axle which is easier to align and tighten down than a skewer. You don’t get quick release here (just on the front wheel) but the custom Electrak tires feature “Armadillo” flat protection which should help to reduce punctures. The wheelset is 700c which is a larger, more efficient size used by most road and city style bikes. The tires are 700x45c sized and that’s much wider than a road bike which are often 700x23c so you get a nice cushion that compliments the suspension and ergonomic grips at higher speeds. The tires are really unique… almost like race car slicks, they don’t feature any tread.

Powering the motor and both lights, is a super high quality 36 volt 13 amp hour battery pack. This thing is one of the major highlights on the bike because it integrates so perfectly into the downtube, creating a seamless look. The battery contains Samsung cells which are packed by Simplo (this company does Apple stuff and are recognized as a quality leader in the space). You get fifty individual 18650 cells containing a Lithium-ion chemistry that’s warrantied for two years… or 300 full cycles. I was initially put off by the seemingly low number of cycles in the guarantee but those are “full cycles” and a year contains 365 days, so if you were riding the bike from full to empty every single day 25+ miles (based on my range tests) that would be more than 9,000 miles which seems pretty solid. In short, the battery looks great, is well made, uses excellent cells and comes with solid support. If you do need a replacement or decide to get a second battery pack it will cost $800 so do take care of it! You can do this by storing it in a cool dry place and keeping it above half full when not in use over long periods (check it every few months and top it off). Now here’s a bit of an issue I noticed, the battery charger that comes with the bike is huge and weighs ~4.5 pounds. It’s not exactly backpack friendly and while you could get the optional city kit with fenders and rear rack (or add your own stuff) it would take up a lot of room and I just wasn’t stoked on the whole thing. The upside to the stock charger is that it delivers 4 Amps of energy which will charge the 468 watt hour battery in ~3.5 hours. For an additional $120 you can grab a travel charger which is slower (1.6 Amps) but much slimmer and lighter at ~1.3 pounds. I think I’d buy the travel charger for use at home (charging overnight) and then leave the larger quick charger at work for top-offs during my daily commute. Of course, the battery can be charged on or off the frame but I noticed that the lights come on whenever it is being charged on the frame (they do shut off when it’s full). This is one of my gripes about the Turbo, the lights are always on! When you charge and when you ride… They are really nice looking, especially the metal Supernova in the front, and I guess it keeps you safer and reduces complexity in the LCD menu system but it does get annoying. The original Turbo that I reviewed in 2013 seemed to let you turn the lights off by pressing in on the joystick but the new models do not. I found myself tossing a couple of shirts over the bike while charging because my room is small and the LED’s were distracting me.

Speaking of the display… it’s one of the smallest and stealthiest I’ve seen but it does have a few issues. Once the pack is charged and mounted to the frame, you press the metallic circular button at the top of the battery for a second and four LEDs flash on in sequence. If you see one of them flash multiple times it means that something is wrong in the system and each dot relates to a different component such as the motor, battery, display and lights. At this point, the sleek LCD unit near the right grip lights up and shows your speed, assist setting and one of three other readouts (odometer, trip odometer and battery charge percentage). The trip odometer resets when you plug the bike in or if you hold the little rubber joystick to the right for three seconds while in trip odometer mode (make sure you just switched into trip mode or holding to the right won’t work). The menu is really easy to navigate with the joystick thing and fairly simple to understand as long as you don’t need to do advanced stuff like disable the backlight or change from miles to kilometers… it’s all in the attached manual and involves clicking down or holding it in one direction or another. Basically you’ve got four drive modes to choose from including Turbo (which is the highest and offers full power and the 26 mph top speed), Eco mode (which is programmable between 10% and 70% output), No Assist and Regen (which turns the motor into a generator to fill the battery slowly). I really enjoyed the Eco mode and experimented with 40% and 50% output to create a slightly lighter, faster feeling “bicycle”. The Turbo is more bike-like than any other electric bike I’ve tried to date and the torque sensing motor is consistent, smooth and rarely surprising. I found myself holding the brakes while pushing down on the pedals at a stop light and unlike some other electric bikes, it didn’t try to go (even though it does not have motor inhibitors in the brake levers). I think the bike has to get going just a bit before the motor will kick in but it’s not 2 mph or anything, it’s just a little bit and it feels natural. There is a basic throttle mode built into the menus as well and you can access this by going up into Turbo mode, holding the joystick up for a few seconds until the icon flashes and then pressing and holding it up to accelerate. Note that the bike does have to be moving slightly for the throttle to kick in. Note also that I haven’t used the joystick for more than a week with a brand new demo bike and cannot comment on how well it will hold up over time. It looks well protected against water but may be delicate compared to more basic buttons used on other ebikes. One final grip about the display is that it’s not removable and cannot be swiveled to reduce glare because it’s built into the right brake lever. It’s not a huge deal because the display is small but it’s just not as convenient as some other bikes.

At the end of the day the Specialized Turbo is a $3,800 electric bike that’s priced on par with other premium offerings with the Bosch or Impulse mid-drive system but it goes faster, operates much quieter and looks more normal and “stealth”. During my ride tests it attracted more positive interest and excitement from bystanders than other ebikes I’ve tested and I think that’s because it truly blends in and is made by a company they recognize and trust. I took it to a picnic with family members in their 50’s and many of them wanted to test it out and were very impressed after a short ride. That hasn’t been the case with other electric bikes I’ve brought home. With four frame sizes to choose from (even though they are all high-step) and the vast network of Specialized dealers across the US it feels like an excellent choice, a true car replacer. In the video review you can see me racing cars from light to light and the extra speed seems to generate respect on the road which is great. While I did not install the mirror it did look nice and the locking grips and body geometry saddle worked flawlessly. This isn’t a “do everything” electric bike (I’d recommend it primarily for smooth paved riding) but it is an exciting electric bike. The weight of the motor and battery are perfectly balanced across the frame (I weighted it using a luggage scale connected near the middle of the top tube) and the pedals, cranks and 10 speed cassette perform well at low and high speed. with the bike in Eco 30% it almost feels like an ultra light road bike, until you put your foot down and remember that there are 50 pounds there instead of 20. If you want to go further, climb easier, avoid sweating or just have some fun keeping up with your friends then this could be a great choice.

Pros:

  • Mounting points for a bottle cage, lock or other accessory built directly into the top of the in-frame battery pack
  • Excellent weight distribution! While the bike is somewhat heavy given the large battery and motor, the mass is kept low to the ground and balanced front to rear
  • Sturdy, beautifully integrated LED lights by Supernova, the battery is designed to maintain enough capacity to run them at all times and even if it empties completely, the motor generates enough power through cogging to keep them going
  • Well positioned mounting points for adding fenders at the front and rear as well as a four-point carry rack, great for commuting (optional commuter package from Specialized to match perfectly)
  • Ergonomic grips and active saddle by Body Geometry from Specialized help to reduce hand and butt fatigue over long distances and higher speeds
  • All-black frame, components and accessories make this a beautiful ride and it truly blends in… less pronounced as an “electric” bike than many others
  • Includes a side mirror for safer street and city riding, this is a requirement for speed pedelecs in Europe (along with the rubber brake nubs and lights)
  • Quick disconnect motor cable and thru-axle makes service easier, the quick release front wheel makes transporting more convenient
  • Optional quick charger is slim, light weight at ~1.3 lbs and costs $120, it could be useful for commuters

Cons:

  • The little rubber joystick used to navigate the display may be more delicate than clicky buttons used on more traditional displays I’ve tested
  • LCD display panel is built into the right brake lever and cannot be swiveled front to back for improved view or reduced glare
  • Center mounted kickstand makes changing the front tire easy and keeps the bike straight but feels tippy side to side, overall less stable than some other stands
  • The included battery charger is very fast but also large and heavy which makes it much more difficult to take along in your pack to charge at work etc. however, there is a small light weight travel charger available for ~$120
  • When charging the battery pack on the bike the headlight and taillight come on and seem to stay lit which can be annoying if you don’t want the extra light
  • No way to turn off the headlight and tail light while the bike is turned on (I think the Turbo S let’s you toggle them by pressing the joystick in), sometimes it’s nice to cruise without blinding friends or try to blend in more in my opinion so this would be a nice feature
  • It would be nice if in addition to the regen mode (which requires you to click down two or three times using the joystick) the Turbo X and standard Turbo offered regenerative braking so you could capture electricity and save the brake pads more seamlessly by pulling the brake levers
  • It seems like anyone could press the power button on the battery pack and tamper with the display, you don’t need the key or any kind of special fob or password to activate the bike… still, the motor won’t start without the bike rolling a little bit so if it’s chained up maybe that’s not a huge deal (aside from lights being on)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Specialized Reviews

Specialized Turbo Levo Hardtail Comp 6Fattie Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

The lowest priced Turbo Levo eMountain bike model from Specialized, it's a hardtail with 10 gears, an air fork and the Brose drive system. You get a slightly smaller battery capacity here but the same beautiful integration into the…...

Specialized Turbo Levo FSR Comp 6Fattie Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension electric mountain bike with 650b plus "six fatty" tires for improved traction, handling and comfort. Seamlessly integrated Brose motor and downtube battery pack, completely purpose built frame available in two…...

Specialized Turbo S Review

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An extremely fast, quiet and stiff electric bike with premium drivetrain and brake components and sleek integrated lights, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Beautifully integrated battery pack, it matches the frame perfectly and even features a bottle cage…...

Specialized S-Works Turbo Levo FSR 6Fattie Review

  • MSRP: $9,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The highest level full suspension e-mountain bike from Specialized, purpose built frame incorporates battery and motor seamlessly. Premium suspension from RockShox Pike RCT3 and Fox Float with Autosag, 11 speed SRAM XX1…...

Specialized Turbo X Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Stealth appearance with integrated battery pack and near-silent motor helps it blend in like a "normal bike". Excellent weight distribution, responsive hydraulic disc brakes, integrated LED lights, rack and fender mounts, nice…...

2014 Specialized Turbo S Review

  • MSRP: $6,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

One of the fastest, quietest and sturdiest road-style electric bikes around, extremely refined. Solid 15mm thru-axles, tapered head tube and alloy frame for efficient power transfer and high…...

2013 Specialized Turbo Review

  • MSRP: $5,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the fastest and priciest electric bikes around, Top speed 45kph (27.96mph) at $5,900 USD. Clean aesthetic with internally routed cables, integrated lithium ion battery pack and built in LED…...


Ken
1 year ago

Hey, I just got this bike and love it. The one thing I don't particularly like is that I can't seem to figure out how to turn off the lights during the day. Do you know how to do this. I see in the 2014 model the instruction manual just says to hold the joystick down but the 2015 model it doesn't have this option. Thanks

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Ken! This was one of my big complaints with the Turbo X and it sounds like maybe all newer models... You cannot turn off the lights (at least from what I could tell and I think I also asked Specialized). Even when charging the bike, the lights stay on and that's annoying if you're trying to sleep :/ just put a rag over it with a rubber band or something I guess. If you figure it out, let me know for sure!

Dan
1 year ago

Hey Ken, I just bought the bike too. Rides great. However my buying experience was horrible. I was told by the dealer (Fresh Bikes) that the bike doesn't come with the magnetic rubber plug cover. I pointed to the pictures in the manuals. They just tried to send me on my way. I called Specialized directly while in the store and was told that it should have come with a plug. I was forwarded to someone who was away at lunch. Hopefully when he returns, he will send me a plug cover. (Hours later and still no call back by Specialized.) This is not how my "special" and expensive bike experience should be starting. I am saddened and worried. Dealer was sure nice when they getting me to pay. Not so much after they got the money. To make matters worse, after I got my bike home I researched the plug issue and learned that the list price for the bike is $3000 instead of the $3800 price.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Sorry they weren't more attentive with the magnetic plug... yeah, that should definitely come with. Regarding price, I was told $3,800 but there might be adjustments as seasons change. I hope you enjoy riding the bike and service improves in the future, it's a great design but yeah... quite a bit of money and you'd expect friendly service. Which Specialized dealer was this?

Niklas
1 year ago

Hi Court. Thanks for a brilliant review! Any idea if its possible to attach a child carrier hitch to this bike? Its usually no problem with a quick release system but this one seems to have a thru axle

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Niklas! Great question... I believe the Turbo models use a 12 mm thru-axle which could possibly be modified (along with your hitch) but might require extra work and time (and tools). Some other bicycle trailers and carriers attach to the seat and chain stays on the left side (but there's a disc brake on the Turbo here which might collide) and still others attach to the seat post, this might be the best option to pursue but I cannot guarantee it will work. Depending on the age and balance of the child you could explore a trailer more like this or try to make your own adapter. I wish I could offer more help but this is a new area for me, I'd love to hear what you end up doing and how it works, feel free to post pictures in the Specialized forum here :)

Hudson
8 months ago

I bought Specialized Turbo X and it was missing the battery cap. My dealer took a week to get a replacement. I found out the battery cap is hiding inside the battery transport box. I hope that answers your searching question.

Court Rye
8 months ago

Great tip Hudson, thanks for chiming in!

Niklas
1 year ago

Hi again. A solution found here http://www.thule.com/en-us/us/products/active-with-kids/multifunctional-child-carriers/accessories/thule-syntace-x-12-axle-adapter-_-1684669

Couldn't be easier:-). Turbo purchased today here in Oslo Norway. Cant wait to pick it up tomorrow:-) thanks again for a brilliant review(s) of all kind of ebikes!

Product Description: Thule Syntace X-12 Axle Adapter. This thru axle adapter allows Thule child carriers to be compatible with bikes with 12 mm Syntace X-12 rear axle and costs $59.95

Court Rye
1 year ago

This is awesome Niklas! Thanks for sharing, that looks like the perfect part for adding a trailer. I hope you and your family enjoy the bike, thanks for the compliment, I do my best to help people find a good product and I believe Specialized has created something special and high performing with the Turbo. Ride safe :)

Lyn
1 year ago

Just bought one here in New Zealand for my birthday. I have a hilly commute for about 6k, then another 6k on a flat bike path. Can't wait! I'll report back once I've broken it in. And thanks for the review; most helpful.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Awesome Lyn! I hope you love it and have a great time riding around, would love to hear your thoughts after a bit of use ;)

Lyn
1 year ago

I just had my first real test ride, and it was absolutely amazing. I've been bike-commuting with my Trek by driving to a bike path about 6km from work and then cycling the rest of the way. Our main road is narrow and clogged with logging trucks, just way too scary. The Turbo allowed me to use the hilly back roads just parallel to the main road. It was so fast and easy, yet still a good workout. Once I add in the time to mount my rack and fiddle getting the bike on and off, it's only going to add about 15 minutes to the commute to bike the whole way!

I love how responsive and natural the bike feels. I used to bike quite bit back in the day, so I appreciate a bike that feels like a 'real' bike. I think the review is spot on - I do wish that display was easier to read. It's a great bike for us older riders (I'm 57), and it's not easy to read whilst riding. If I had had an option for a suspension fork I would have taken it, but there are limited models available in NZ.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Lyn! Great testimonial, thanks for taking the time to share... sounds like the Turbo has enabled you to go all-bike and skip the short drive. I really enjoy backroads but they can add a strain without assist, do ride safe out there! Bummer that there weren't any Turbo X models with the suspension fork where you're at but at least you've got the larger tires and a solid platform. I really enjoyed testing the Turbo, it's a beautiful bike and I hope it works well for you ongoing :)

Ray
1 year ago

Does anyone know what the main differences are between the 2015 and 2016 standard Turbo models (not Turbo X or S)? Far as I can tell, it seems the only difference is they dropped the price a whopping $800 from $3,800 to $3,000. If they dropped the price without changing any of the components, this is fantastic, but how are they doing this? Excess supply of the older 200w motors? It would make sense since the Turbo X and S are now being outfitted with bigger motors for 2016 (250w and 500w, respectively).

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Ray, I think you've got it... The primary difference seems to be the lower price and availability of more powerful or richly outfitted options.

mike
10 months ago

Having been looking at reviews off/on past year. Happened so see Specialized Turbo avail on sale locally. Was looking for 2016 models Evo or Nitro as more powerful batteries, and more efficient frames. Some Q I hope you can answer, if you have not reviewed the 2016 models perhaps sending a link whenever will do. ( not urgent).

What is your view in comparing these models? Use for a day vs weeks, what do you find important. How important is range, if less than say 40k/day is range important. Comfort, noise, squeaky breaks/rattles, viewable displays, easy display use, shocks, treaded tires... Many items not really identifiable from your reviews No product vs product comparison.

My kids have grown up and are into cars, not bikes, so if I buy a new bike they won't destroy it. See use as mainly road (but roads have pot holes), sidewalks and perhaps dirt paths. I liked the Evo offerings but the new Nitro look even better. Never looked at Specialized before today and a quick compare would be appreciated (ride-ability not features). Like the Evo price and features but the Specialized with numerous options for things like fenders, racks, bottle holders...

How do these bikes compare in terms of ride ability, reliability, battery life(long-term), battery replacement (future), are there any features that you would say would make one more favorable? As an "urban" resident have Q about extras you would recommend are needed on an e-bike vs a pedal bike. Is a something like a removable display a preferred requirement? Are you better off taking your battery with you? Not an avid biker (anymore), but perhaps an e-bike will start me up again.

Court Rye
10 months ago

Hi Mike, I believe both the Specialized and Easy Motion models could be outfitted with racks, fenders and lights to suit your needs and I definitely recommend taking your battery inside when parking the bike at a rack or even in a cold/hot garage. Keep the battery in a cool dry environment and store at ~60% for long periods or charge before each ride. You can get great range on the Turbo or Nitro but the higher speed swill limit you as drag increases significantly above 20 mph as the square of air resistance.

I prefer an electric bike with suspension for longer rides and I usually take my charger with me so either bike could work for this (the Specialized Turbo X is my favorite because it has a suspension fork). Both companies offer good warranties and have a network of capable dealers. Specialized Turbo models are quieter because they use gearless direct drive hubs and this also potentially makes them more durable. The price of the new base model Turbo for 2016 is ~$3k which is awesome but still, I'd pay a bit more for the Turbo X myself. I love that it comes in several sizes for a good fit and that it has lights for safety. I hope this helps, the site will have a compare feature soon but I am fixing some bugs right now so it's disabled.

Al
8 months ago

Is it possible to swap out the rear wheel with a more powerful motor?

Court Rye
8 months ago

I'm sure it's possible but probably not something officially offered or supported by Specialized... In my experience these Go SwissDrive motors are pretty zippy and you could choose the Turbo S if you want the most powerful version vs. buying the bike and swapping out the rear wheel and motor.

GB
8 months ago

Just test rode a Turbo today.

  • Nice - smooth, natural & quick.
  • Close to a Stromer st1, at a lower price point.
  • Make sure to include the Turbo on your "short list" of possible options when you head out for your test-rides.

Also Court, please consider getting a helmet mount for your camera, as I'd hate to see a bad Wipe-out while you're speeding along one-handed!
Safety first and keep up the great work.

Court Rye
8 months ago

Nice! Thanks for the feedback GB, sounds like you really enjoyed the Turbo. It's a sweet bike for sure, I love the Specialized designs and am stoked to see them offering more Turbo models in 2016 :D

Also, thanks for the safety tips GB, I've got some new equipment that helps to get nice angles and improve safety but really appreciate your care and feedback :)

Hudson
8 months ago

I just purchased 2015 Specialized Turbo X in California! Does anyone know how to charge Specialized Turbo on public electric automobile charging station? Is there an adapter? Who do I need to contact in order to purchase a public charging adapter!

Court Rye
8 months ago

I remember visiting the ChargePoint guys in the Bay Area a while back and it seemed like their paid stations had standard wall outlets built in (at least some of them). You might be better off bringing the battery inside with you and plugging into a normal wall socket :/ ps. maybe this site can help, I built it a number of years ago and now a friend runs it.

DK
8 months ago

These comments are to inform potential purchasers so they can be well informed, as I have found very little real user feedback online. Take it all with a 'grain of salt'. I've been commuting (20+ miles each way with hills) on my Turbo now for well over a month and overall I like it a lot. Because I've been commuting with it for a while now and gotten over the initial novelty, I feel confident commenting about the bike. The integration is undeniable, it is oh so clean, I get positive comments all the time. The first question I get is; how long does the battery last. With a topped off battery and a commute of 20 miles of which I have a solid 3/4 mile climb and several tiny ones, I still have 40% when I get to the office. I weigh ~200lbs with all my gear. For my very first ride into the office, I only had 14% left when I got into the office and was really concerned I didn't make the right choice. Don't be alarmed, the battery takes a couple of charges to get to full capacity. Now, I've got plenty of juice and never suffered range anxiety since.

I feel a little duped because all the advertising and on Specialized's website says 28mph, it's only assisted to 26mph. I know 2mph difference seems trivial, but I want it to go 28mph with assist, especially if they advertise it as such. Only the S, and now the X is 28mph capable with assist. 200 watts is barely sufficient if you have any real climbs during your ride, especially given the poor choice of the stock 32t low gear, save yourself and get a 34t at minimum or a 36t for the real world if you have climbs in your ride. Buy a second charger, I have one at the office and one at home. I don't regret my purchase, but in retrospect, the X model might not have been a bad way to go given the suspension, a slightly more powerful motor, and slightly greater capacity battery. If your riding is more flat, then the Turbo's 200 watts will be enough. There are a few other short comings that you will discover, but will overlook because the bike is so darn fun to ride. Now, I'm saving for a Turbo S!!

Court Rye
8 months ago

Excellent feedback DK, I agree with each of your points and appreciate the background on how range was more limited when it was brand new and how the second charger has made a difference in addressing range anxiety. I love the Turbo X due to its suspension and would like to see a greater range of sprockets for climbing just like you've pointed out. Thanks again!

Doug
5 months ago

I have been riding my 2016 Specialized Turbo since mid-November, 2015. A couple of additional observations...The "2016" model is, in fact, identical to the 2015. I have seen several supposed 2016 models which were manufactured in October - November of 2014 as mine was. Notwithstanding, I was glad to get the $800 discount by buying it as a 2016 model. I had it delivered with an 11-36 SRAM cluster instead o the 11-32, and I then found a 44T chainring and bash guard to replace the stock 48T. This allows me to ride at a cadence of 85-90 rpm at or slightly above the 42kph limit in 9th or 10th gear while getting a 21% lower first gear. I have had no issues powering up hills and save the "Turbo" button for this use. Riding at ECO40 I can get a 50 mile range. At full Turbo, I plan rides no more than 25 miles. I have added the fender/rack kit, changed to treaded 700 x 37C tires, a Thudbuster ST seatpost, and Kool Stop organic brake pads (work MUCH better than stock metallic). The stock handgrips are not very comfortable, so I also changed to a set of Ergon GP5's.

Court Rye
5 months ago

Wow! You sound very experienced with bikes Doug, thanks for sharing the details of your upgrades and also how the bike performs on rides for you. Would you mind sharing what frame size you got and also your weight? I think that could be useful for others considering the bike and trying to determine how far they might go per charge. Also, what fender + rack setup did you buy for your Turbo?

Doug
4 months ago

Court, This is a much delayed reply. I have a Large frame. I am 5'11" and 235 lbs, 65 years old, and recovered from a heart attack 16 years ago, so I am not terribly athletic. I now have around 1000 miles on my Turbo and still really like it. I went on a 30 mile ride yesterday at ECO70 (or full Turbo) and still had 30% battery left, suggesting a comfortable range of around 40 miles at ECO70. I am quite certain my range at ECO40 is over 50 miles in warm weather.My longest ride to date is 45 miles in cold weather with around 16-20% battery left.

Also, I am using the factory fenders/rack kit with the built in tailight. I wired the tailights so both the seat light AND the rack light work simultaneously. I also have a Serfas flashing tailight mounted over the reflector in the rack so that I now have three BRIGHT tailights, one of which flashes.

Another tip based on experience. When riding on bike trails here in New England, full Turbo is too much. These paved, but somewhat narrow and rough trails are not safe at 25 mph when other bicyclists, pedestrians, skaters, kids, and horses are sharing the trail. I only use the higher speeds when riding by myself on regular roads.

Court Rye
4 months ago

Love the light setup Doug! Awesome that you were able to integrate the rack light :D thanks for the tips about speed and safety where you ride. Hope the bike continues to hold up well for you, ride safe!

Alex
4 months ago

I did not agre with most of this review the riding quality of this turbo it's not smooth at all not due to the 700x 45c tires but the frame construction I can say is more inclined to a super stiff than smooth if you happen to atach a sport camera like gopro on the handlebar the video will be ending shaking a lot due to the stiffness of the ride. The electric motor is 250 watts not 200 watts this version of the specialized turbo it's limited to 25/mph. Since this is pedalec assistance bicycle a better bottom bracket is essential, surprisingly not the case of this specialized turbo. A good example of this will be climbing a little hill (2 miles long) at 9% inclination you will feel the need of stiffness in the bottom braket, also prolonged climbing at this inclination will get the electric motor hot regardless how fast or slow you can pedal. The regenerative option works only when you go downhills if you try to pedal in this option on the flat you ending tired of moving 50 lbs bicycle plus the generator force distance varies depending on how much you stop, hills, windy days and ovbiosly how much you pedal it will take couple of days to learn the basics like not to extra pedal at certain speed reached when the motor cuts because you get tire sooner again pushing 50 lbs bicycle, people asking haw fast you can go! This specialized turbo is designed to go 25/mph you can go faster but again if you are on a flat road and you use the economy mode at 40% anything faster than 25/mph is useless.

Court Rye
4 months ago

Thanks for the feedback Alex, I do my best to get the specs right and always ask reps at the shop and study the websites but sometimes I'm looking at a brand new bike and just don't have all of the details. I agree that this is a stiffer bike and it can feel abrasive at high speed. For me, the best Turbo right now for street riding is the X model because it has a suspension fork :)

Jeffrey Baker
4 months ago

I recently got one of these and I wanted to write down a few surprising things, so that people can find this information online. I have a 29-mile round trip commute that starts with a 2-mile, 750-foot descent, followed by 12.5 miles of flats, then the reverse. The bike can just barely do this on 80% of its battery, if I use Eco mode for most of the flat part and keep the speed to 25 miles/hour or less. When the battery gets to 20% the bike will not use Turbo mode, only Eco. This is a bit of a nuisance if it hits 20% and you still have a climb home, because in Eco this bike is like riding a cargo bike with totally inappropriate gearing. Speaking of gearing, what were they thinking? The 32T first gear isn't low enough to get up a mountain, and the 9th and 10th gears are useless because you can't reach those speeds on this bike with these tires. Last thing is the regeneration mode is useless. I can put it in Regen mode and ride 2 miles and 750 feet down at 25 m/h and the battery doesn't gain even 1% charge. In the other direction it loses 15-20% battery charge depending on speed! I think you would have to descend quite a distance (i.e. down Mt Whitney) to noticeably charge the battery.

Court Rye
3 months ago

Great feedback, thanks for taking the time to share Jeffrey! Hope you're enjoying the bike overall, sounds like the range is a bit disappointing.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Douglas Ruby
5 hours ago
ferrellms
Hard to see how the battery could make a difference in top speed, given that the nominal voltage output is the same for all the Turbo batteries. I have tried the 3 different Turbo batteries in my Turbo X and haven't noticed any real difference. In each case, the assist stops at 26-27 mph. It is possible that there was a fuller charge in the new battery, which will increase output a bit until some discharge takes place. Or maybe you were a little more excited with the new battery!

http://www.bixmart.com/nominal-voltage-of-lithium-ion-batteries_ep_54-1.html
The issue is not battery voltage or the 691 Wh vs. 468 Wh. Here is what I believe is happening.
  1. With both the 468 Wh and 691 Wh batteries, the speed cutoff is either 25 Km/h or 45 Km/h as set in the battery configuration. If set to 45 Km/h, the bikes with the 200/250W GoSwissDrive motors appear to shut down at 42 Km/h.
  2. The controller in the battery is the key determinant, not the motor itself, for implementing the cutoff at the indicated speed.
  3. Speed sensing is dependent on the wheel diameter setting also set in the battery. The higher the set diameter, the lower the rpm of the wheel at the cutoff.
  4. With the bluetooth interface, I can modify the wheel diameter setting in the 691 Wh battery.
  5. By setting the wheel diameter at 2150 to 2200 mm (which is less than the actual diameter), I was able to fool the controller into thinking I was going a bit slower than I actually was.
  6. I think this effect (setting a smaller wheel diameter than actual) was what gave me .5 to 1 mph.
Note that the effect described above does not account directly for the difference in speed cutoff (42 km/h vs 45 km/h) between the 200/250 W motors and the 500 W motor in the Turbo X. BUT the battery controller knows that it is connected to a base Turbo motor instead of Turbo X motor, so there may be something there that affects the interaction. Also, with the 691 Wh battery, I was able to set Acceleration Response to "Race" which helps with the initial "punch" as you start accelerating. This makes the bike "feel" stronger with the 691Wh than the Normal setting that is the default with the 468 Wh battery.

It also may be that these settings (wheel diameter, top speed cutoff, and acceleration response) are used to "initialize" the motor when the bike powers up. If that is the case, then the actual cutoff is implemented inside the motor based on settings downloaded from the battery. This would account for the difference between the 200/250W motors and 500W motor and would explain why GoSwissDrive specs say that the lower power motor cuts off at 42 Km/h while the 500W motor cuts off at 45 Km/h.
ferrellms
17 hours ago
Douglas Ruby
Today I was able to cruise on the flats in full Turbo mode with the 691 Wh Turbo S battery on my 200W base Turbo. I was able to sustain at least 27 mph with assist still running. The cutout was just above 27 mph. I logged a mile in 2:16 which is 26.5 mph. Cadence was around 90 rpm. This is definitely faster than I could go (by maybe 1 or 1.5 mph) using the 468 Wh standard Turbo battery.
Hard to see how the battery could make a difference in top speed, given that the nominal voltage output is the same for all the Turbo batteries. I have tried the 3 different Turbo batteries in my Turbo X and haven't noticed any real difference. In each case, the assist stops at 26-27 mph. It is possible that there was a fuller charge in the new battery, which will increase output a bit until some discharge takes place. Or maybe you were a little more excited with the new battery!

http://www.bixmart.com/nominal-voltage-of-lithium-ion-batteries_ep_54-1.html
ferrellms
17 hours ago
eagamer80
Hello guys,

I have been thinking about buying an extra Turbo 691wh battery for my Turbo FLR bike. I have some questions that I'd like to clear out considering the experience of some members here:

- Do you think is worthy? or is better to save the money and spend it on a new bike in the future? (I mean, considering the cost of the battery and the issues that this bike gives, may be is better investing in future/improved models or other brand)
- Compatibility: I remember reading that all Turbo batteries are compatible with any model of the bike. I have 2016 version.
- Can you recommend me places to ask/buy? (especially here in Europe). If you know any good place/web page to buy one, it could be any place in the EU I guess, I can even consider USA if there's a huge difference in the price. If I get any trouble, I think It would be much better to have EU support.

I mean I think I would go directly to the 691wh model instead of aiming for the Turbo X model. With the 691 I would earn some extra features like the Bluetooth connectivity, more range, etc. Unless of course there's a really good discount in the price of the 504wh. BTW, it's funny but now the specialized web page has increased the price, last week was around 600 dollars, now is 9 dollars more expensive than the base price (?) https://www.specialized.com/us/en/turbo-battery/104956
I guess the price of Lithium is going up globally and they wanted to update it =)

I'd like to hear your personal thoughts on the matter, it may change my mind.

Thanks in advance.
Hi, I have used the 3 different sized batteries - Turbo S, Turbo X, and Turbo - in my Turbo X 2016.
2016 Turbo - 468Wh
2016 Turbo X- 562Wh
2016 Turbo S - 691Wh
They all work fine and are indistinguishable in use. The smallest won't work with the Mission Control app, the larger 2 will. The increase in available distance scales directly with the wh ratings. You need to ask yourself how much you are willing to spend for the Mission Control app and the additional range.
Douglas Ruby
1 day ago
Charlie Rohlfing
Thank you Douglas. I've really enjoyed all your posts to this forum. Very well thought out and communicated. Let me ask you one more quick question if I may ... I'm a little bit concerned about the Turbo's ability to climb a serious long hill. Where I live in a valley I have to climb up a long steep bike trail to get up to the good riding roads. The trail is 400 foot elevation over 4,000 feet, which makes it a 10% grade. As I mentioned, I'm switching to the 44/36 gears you recommend. Do you think the motor will make this long steep climb without overheating or having trouble? Thanks!
Charlie, I have some experience with fairly long (1+ mile) climbs, though probably in the 6-8% range. This where I use the "TURBO" button! Certainly with the lower (44x36) gearing, your legs can do more of the work than with the stock 48x32. I am now riding with a 48x40 low gear and have found that motor temperatures (I can check using the bluetooth interface) have peaked in the 100 - 110F range which is not too hot. In particular, with the 200/250W motors, there is a LOT of surface area for cooling in the GOSwissDrive.

I guess my answer is that I don't think you would have a problem, but I don't have direct experience.

Doug
Charlie Rohlfing
1 day ago
Thank you Douglas. I've really enjoyed all your posts to this forum. Very well thought out and communicated. Let me ask you one more quick question if I may ... I'm a little bit concerned about the Turbo's ability to climb a serious long hill. Where I live in a valley I have to climb up a long steep bike trail to get up to the good riding roads. The trail is 400 foot elevation over 4,000 feet, which makes it a 10% grade. As I mentioned, I'm switching to the 44/36 gears you recommend. Do you think the motor will make this long steep climb without overheating or having trouble? Thanks!
Douglas Ruby
1 day ago
Charlie Rohlfing
Mr. Ruby, I have a question for you about Turbo batteries. I just bought a "new" Turbo Base last week and I'm wondering how fresh the battery might be. That's why I put "new in parentheses ... I think all the Base and Xs are sort of old stock they are trying to clear out, and I'm fine with that, especially at the discounted prices. But I'm wondering if I should worry about an older battery, say one produced in 2015. As you know, the chemistry of Li-ion batteries have a natural decay factor, even when not being used. The Turbo manual even states that they will be down to 75% capacity after two years. Unfortunately I don't have possession of the bike yet or I would be able to read the "Made on" date label on the battery. The bike is actually still at the shop getting the gearing change you recommended! 44 in the front, 11-36 in the back. But I'm wondering ... If I get my bike and find the battery already a year old or older, should I be concerned about premature decline of output? Thanks!
I am not enough of an expert in Li-Ion chemistry to give you an answer. Keep in mind it would be a battery that left the factory at around 80% charge and has been unused since manufacture. I do know that the 468 Wh Turbo (2015/16) and Turbo X (2015) may have been manufactured as early as August of 2014. (I think mine was October). I also know that up until my battery started working intermittently, it behaved great. I had over 1000 miles on it and it performed as a new battery should have. The failure, however, was some sort of intermittent where the entire bike would shut down randomly indicating Motor Err on the control panel. A total battery reset (power off and remove from the bike) was required to get back on the road. This can happen if there is a short somewhere in the wiring, but was not a motor error, but a battery failure of some undiagnosed sort. Several folks on this forum have had that same failure with the base Turbo 468 Wh battery.

So in answer to your question....as long as the bike has been properly stored, I don't think the battery will be a problem as far as decay is concerned. It may, however, develop some sort of fault that causes premature failure as described by several here. So far, Specialized has been replacing these on warranty. Make sure you have a good understanding with your dealer about bike and battery warranty.
Charlie Rohlfing
2 days ago
Douglas Ruby
As the Specialized Turbo family (not Levo) progresses I have been looking at battery capacity and trying to understand what options might be available if I were to purchase a second battery. Here are the various form compatible Turbo battery specs:

2013 Turbo - 342Wh (9.5Ah)
2015 Turbo - 468Wh (13Ah)
2015 Turbo X- 468Wh (13Ah)
2o15 Turbo S - 504Wh (14Ah) - $800 replacement
2016 Turbo - 468Wh (13Ah)
2016 Turbo X- 562Wh (15.6Ah)- includes bluetooth
2016 Turbo S - 691Wh (19.2Ah) - $999 replacement includes bluetooth

It appears that the 2014/15 Turbo S battery at $800 is now the mail order replacement battery for the base Turbo and any older model (base, X, or S). The is a 0%-47% increase from the older stock batteries. The Turbo SC battery at $999 is the intended mail order replacement for the 2016 Turbo X and Turbo S. This would be a 47.6% - 102% increase over older batteries. Any idea if the 691Wh battery could be used on a 2015/16 base Turbo or any older model?

Doug
Mr. Ruby, I have a question for you about Turbo batteries. I just bought a "new" Turbo Base last week and I'm wondering how fresh the battery might be. That's why I put "new in parentheses ... I think all the Base and Xs are sort of old stock they are trying to clear out, and I'm fine with that, especially at the discounted prices. But I'm wondering if I should worry about an older battery, say one produced in 2015. As you know, the chemistry of Li-ion batteries have a natural decay factor, even when not being used. The Turbo manual even states that they will be down to 75% capacity after two years. Unfortunately I don't have possession of the bike yet or I would be able to read the "Made on" date label on the battery. The bike is actually still at the shop getting the gearing change you recommended! 44 in the front, 11-36 in the back. But I'm wondering ... If I get my bike and find the battery already a year old or older, should I be concerned about premature decline of output? Thanks!
Douglas Ruby
3 days ago
James, great feedback. You are my hero for driving your Turbo in winter weather. Bravo!
James Kohls
3 days ago
So after flip flopping several times about winter riding, I've decided to just do it. There will certainly be heavy snowfall days where it just won't work (that's what my folding bike is for); but I think I would just miss riding my Turbo if I sidelined it for several months. It has been unseasonably warm here so I've had a chance to ride in several snowfalls before the salt hits the roads and make bike cleaning a headache. Today we got about 1-2 inches of really wet snow. So, I decided to test out my new winter tires.



I did a lot of flip flopping when choosing tires as well (sense a trend?). Schwalbe is one of my favorite brands and think they make spectacular tires. I've never owned a pair of Schwalbe's I didn't like. The decision came down to Schwalbe's Marathon Winter HS 396 at 622-50 (29x2.0) and 45NRTH's Gravdal 622-38 (700x38c). The Gravdals were about $35 per tire more, but I found a coupon that brought the price difference down to about $25 for the set. They do have a cheaper 33 TPI version too. What really attracted me to the Gravdals are: 1) It is a Minneapolis, MN company (I live in the Twin Cities, MN) and 2) the deeper tread pattern for pushing snow and water out of the way.

I also added a pair of fenders. You can see my post in the Fender thread here.



Riding the turbo through slush was a much different experience than my old pedal bike that I used last year. For starters, the disc brakes perform sooooo much better than the vintage rim brakes. Granted, I never did get winter (soft rubber) pads for them. But still, the confidence in braking was great.

Grip-wise, the Gravdals did a good job plowing through snow and keeping me in contact with the road. They are rated 35-75 PSI and I was running them at 40. I was mostly following tire ruts, but did hit a number of snowy bits. The wet road performance was great. They handled very well even in some deep puddles I encountered. Riding over road slush left by the plow and passing cars was also fairly uneventful.

When it came to un-plowed side streets, I stuck with tire tracks left by cars. If you've never ridden on studded tires before, the first things you'll notice is they are loud on dry pavement. It sounds like riding on a road covered in Rice Crispies. I find this somewhat beneficial as you can hear when your tires is gripping well. If the noise goes away, you are probably floating on top of the snow. Watch at 1m48s in my video and try to listen to the crackle sounds as they disappear when hitting a patch of snow.

On the deeper snow, I did have to watch my speed to prevent fish-tailing. When the tires would lose grip, it was the back end that slipped. It was a bit nerve-racking at first, but I quickly became accustomed to it. Using both my eyes and my ears (to listen for the noise to go away), I could both reduce speed in advance and be prepared for critical points when slips were more likely.



In my review, I mentioned how happy I was about how far you could lean a Turbo before you felt the weight. This knowledge gives me added confidence about how far of a lean will require foot intervention. I am still a bit uncertain how this will translate once I encounter ice (which could be in a few days). Thus, the decision to buy a nice pair of high-end studded tires. Without studs, I think tipping past the weight balance point would be catastrophic.

I'm also thinking icy conditions may be the perfect use for those lower Eco %'s when slower speeds and lower gears are safer. This would also make starts a lot safer as well.

I still want a dedicated winter bike, but won't be buying anything until at least next fall.
IVAN
5 days ago
Hello!
I got yesterday the original rack + fender kit from specialized.
I have a 2016 Turbo S and I am trying to figure out where to get the screws + adapter for the front fender.

Maybe this could work:

https://www.sjscycles.co.uk/mudguards/gilles-berthoud-fixing-screw-set-for-fender-stay-on-drop-out/

Anybody with a turbo without front suspension knows where to get the needed assembly screws + adapters? Impressive that a 180EUR rack kit comes with no screws at all...

Tks!
bob armani
3 weeks ago
Marc V
No worries, I figured you were asking me

To a degree, yes I did feel Kozy's lived up to some of their bad rep, I walked up to their eBike section and no one was there, it was actually dark, luckily the eBike floor (yes it is a full floor

I never heard about that violation from an IL DNR, but if you are worried about it, just carry a printed out copy of Federal and local eBike laws (some cops don't want to see anything if you show them on your phone, they want an actual print out lol), to show the DNR or any officials for that matter. I consider myself more knowledgeable than the average joe when it comes to tech and I had little to no knowledge about eBikes till recently, so would not shock me that many officials are not up to date on the laws.

Don't know of any local eBike hipster hangouts lol but whenever I cruise my eBike in wicker park, bucktown, logan square, etc I get hispters yelling at me "nice eBike bro!!!" haha rather than a lot of the city where they are curious what kind of contraption I am riding without pedaling hehe

What eBike do you currently own @bob armani ? I'm curious what your experience is riding in Chicago with an eBike hehe. Always nice to hear from another Chicago eBiker!

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V
Hey Marc-
Thanks for all the verbiage on the Chicago scene. You may have gotten the wrong info about my ebike adventures. Still ebike dreaming. Have not made a decision on which one to buy yet. Currently I ride 2 different MTN bikes (Trek 7000/Columbia MTB) mainly on bike trails. The Cook County
FPD told me you could get a violation quoting the trail sign which clearly indicates 'no motorized vehicles allowed'. I was also told by a local bike shop that you risk riding, on say ,the North Branch trail with an ebike as well. I have even considered the Cycleboard, but is also fully motorized.
I did not think any type of printout from the Fed would override local laws and rules, but I am not up to date on that stuff. Do you really beleive that a printout would hold any ground if confronted by an official? If I knew I was free and clear, my mind would be made up to ride with no fear of getting a ticket. Heck, I received a ticket once in front of the local bus terminal for riding on the sidewalk near the curb at less than walking speed. It ultimately was a $75.00 fine to pay. The cop must have been having a bad day. He was not nice at all. I posed no harm nor were their any signs posted. He was a real JAG. LOL

Yeah, I also spoke to George at Kozy. I was on the top floor by myself for about 40 mins before being helped. Glad you had a good experience though!
George was very nice and patient. If you do not look like a serious shopper, perhaps you will not be waited on too quickly. Good job on the Credit Card out there! Not sure whether I want to do a conversion kit, or go full swing into a BULLS or Specialized. Mark over at Cycle Smithy quoted me a great deal on a Specialized Turbo! Kozy does not have either on to test ride. The closest dealer for BULLS is in WI...
Take Care and be safe Marc! THX.
ROJA
3 weeks ago
Douglas Ruby
I know the Strava estimate is low since it under estimates the weight of the bike significantly. So at full Turbo, I believe that the motor puts out quite a bit more power than I do.
Hey Douglas- In your Strava profile, there are gear settings where you can include the weight of your bike. I'm not sure if Strava factors that into the power estimates, though.
StormTrooper2
3 weeks ago
Between some lower back and torso pains, some bad weather, and then the Flu, I've had little seat time on my Turbo for almost 8 weeks (I've gone on shorter rides on my Trek Domane 4.5). A little esearch uncovered the reason for the body pains - I'm riding long distances (28 miles each way) commuting, but have not been doing a variety of activities that build core strength (e.g. swimming, strength training, and core exercises with the big inflated ball, etc.). The take away from all my reading boils down to this: Cycling requires core strength, but cycling doesn't build core strength. I most likely wouldn't notice this fact as painfully if my commute was shorter. The problem is that as the legs and glutes get stronger relative to a weak torso, the core is over worked simply trying to be a stabilizing foundation for all the forces the legs and glutes repetitively apply over the course of a 56-mile round trip commute 2 or 3 times per week. So I've seen rapid improvement following the ball exercises and strength training, though I've limited my biking to short fitness rides (about 16 miles) on the Trek. My goal is to build the core, then return to the long commutes.
Uniball
3 weeks ago
Marceltt
Wow I think you just sold me on this light. Thank you. Any problems with this light since you owened it.
I'm at our place in Switzerland at the moment. Bought the light, along with a Turbo X while I was over here. Haven't seen either. Sitting in my garage in the USA.

My son though has had the light for near a year now. This is Central Europe at its worst weather wise. I believe I've seen no more than 5 hours of blue sky in the last three weeks. He's commuting in the rain every day. The light's working fine.
John Kiniston
3 weeks ago
Do you know if it's possible to adjust the limiter? Mine doesn't seem to do anything different on setting 1 2 or 3 other than change the display on the dash.

Maybe it's linked to the Turbo setting in the app?

Thanks for responding!
ferrellms
3 weeks ago
Douglas Ruby
I think you are mostly right. One can get more than 200 watts at full Turbo for short periods of time. I was thinking more in terms of average motor output rather than peak in my earlier post. I have found that battery life doubles at ECO40-50 compared with TURBO and Strava power estimates scale back accordingly once you subtract the amount of power I typically can add to the equation. However, I do not agree about your statement that if I am putting out 100 watts the motor only puts out 100 watts in full Turbo. My average output on my own is in the 115-120 watt range (based on riding my non assisted bike). When I ride my Turbo "hard" at a 25 mph average, the overall power average in Strava can be as much as 270-280 watts. I know the Strava estimate is low since it under estimates the weight of the bike significantly. So at full Turbo, I believe that the motor puts out quite a bit more power than I do.
Hi, this is an interesting discussion, so I did some investigation. Here is some speculation about how all this works that fits our experiences and intuitions. It has to do with how torque and power relate.

Power and torque are related but not the same thing. Power = torque * cadence. Voltage is directly proportional to wattage. Varying the voltage (by varying resistance) is how battery-operated power is controlled.

So if I can sense torque as it changes, and I can sense cadence as it changes, and I have a battery whose characteristics I understand and can control voltage for, I can compute the power needed to match the power the rider is putting out as it changes, and control the voltage changes needed to match that power. If I then multiply that by ECO -

It is indeed possible that the base power factor for computation of the amount of power to put out is more than 100% of the rider power, which would account for your observations.
Douglas Ruby
3 weeks ago
ferrellms
Hi, I am not sure this is correct. I believe that the wattage used varies based on your pedaling wattage. I believe that the torque sensor senses your wattage and then tells the motor to apply that amount multiplied by ECO. So, if you are putting out 100 watts, in full turbo the motor is also putting out 100 watts, but if in ECO 50, is putting out 50 watts. This also allows the motor to really put out short-term power (like your legs can for a brief time) far beyond the rated power (reportedly up to 750 watts for the motor in my bike).

I'd love to hear from someone with real knowledge on this.
I think you are mostly right. One can get more than 200 watts at full Turbo for short periods of time. I was thinking more in terms of average motor output rather than peak in my earlier post. I have found that battery life doubles at ECO40-50 compared with TURBO and Strava power estimates scale back accordingly once you subtract the amount of power I typically can add to the equation. However, I do not agree about your statement that if I am putting out 100 watts the motor only puts out 100 watts in full Turbo. My average output on my own is in the 115-120 watt range (based on riding my non assisted bike). When I ride my Turbo "hard" at a 25 mph average, the overall power average in Strava can be as much as 270-280 watts. I know the Strava estimate is low since it under estimates the weight of the bike significantly. So at full Turbo, I believe that the motor puts out quite a bit more power than I do.
ferrellms
3 weeks ago
Douglas Ruby
The Turbo is really pretty straight forward. It is torque sensing, not cadence sensing. The ECO levels control the power of the assist. At full TURBO, it is easier to get to the top speed, and you get more "Watts" of assistance as you go. In the case of my base Turbo, that is 200 Watts. At ECO50, you get about 1/2 the Wattage of help. On my bike, that would be around 100 Watts. The "feel" through the pedals is less noticeable, but I can get the 100 Watts all the way up to the limit speed (26-28 mph). The range at ECO50 also approx. doubles over full TURBO assuming I am going around the same speed or not too far off.

Or as another says, it feels like me, just faster.
Hi, I am not sure this is correct. I believe that the wattage used varies based on your pedaling wattage. I believe that the torque sensor senses your wattage and then tells the motor to apply that amount multiplied by ECO. So, if you are putting out 100 watts, in full turbo the motor is also putting out 100 watts, but if in ECO 50, is putting out 50 watts. This also allows the motor to really put out short-term power (like your legs can for a brief time) far beyond the rated power (reportedly up to 750 watts for the motor in my bike).

I'd love to hear from someone with real knowledge on this.
Taipan
3 weeks ago
eagamer80
I called my insurance and they said anything that goes between 25km/h and 50km/h could be declared as a moped without breaking any law. Even Specialized send you a form within the bike manual that you authorize your reseller to make the change (you sign it, your responsibility).
They even sell Turbo S and Stromer bikes and you dont have to register them with any plate number or anything special (or it means that you pay more and you are above the law?).
So, I dont see how this is illegal.
My claim is, regardless of the lock/unlock limitation, resellers have little training on Specialized e-bikes. If they sell this bikes, they should have all available tools in order to solve your problem or concern. Otherwise, don't sell this things.
Hej eagamer80 !

I just went through the process of buying a demo BH Nitro City Speedbike in Stockholm at Outpost in Solna and insure it.

The person you talked to at the insurance company was probably not familiar with the 2016 regulations: you must provide a european COC (Certificate Of Conformity) for a Speedbike to insure it, Länsförsäkringar (the National Insurance entity in Sweden, for non swedes) would reject your application otherwise.
It's probable that the form provided by Specialized isn't legal either for road-use and wouldn't replace a COC anyway (very extensive process for an individual building his own vehicule, best to buy a manufactured one).

BH, Stromer, Segway and Ninebot (one-wheel e-stuff ) are distributed in Sweden by E-turn.com, a subsidiary of KGK group, also agent of Suzuki Motors and Suzuki Insurance (I'm insured by them, 1500SEK a year for traffic liability) so a rather solid company in mobility.
Their offices, warehouse and repairshop are in Sollentuna, north part of Stockholm, and Jonas the owner of Outpost told me that they are very reactive with customer support and spare parts, in case of emergency he hops on his Speedbike for the 10kms between his shop and their warehouse.

I hope you'll manage to fix your Turbo FLR, if not maybe E-turn products will suit you better

T.
Pacific Chief
1 month ago

Can you switch out the forks for suspensions?

Tesla. Paris
1 month ago

Hej Court !
What is this strange sound we hear when you deccelerate every time, like a
weird whistling ?
"Working as intended" or a setup/tuning issue ?
Cheers from Stockholm, Sweden.

Pacific Chief
1 month ago

It's the brakes.

Tcho Tcho
2 months ago

I am thinking about purchasing this bike. What is the distance range? I
think you did not talk about the range. Or I missed it.
Thank you

George Lawther
6 months ago

will you be doing the FLR variant review at some point

Eric Leblanc
8 months ago

Just got my Turbo today, Canadian version and top speed is 32KM, anyone
know how to unlock it to 45KM or 30 Miles ?

Eric Leblanc
6 days ago

Hey Jesse, really like my turbo, top speed is 45KM or 32Miles, average
cruising is around 20 miles per hour, battery is good for about 50 miles or
3 hours of usage, no issue so far.

Jesse McDougall
1 week ago

How about an update on your experience so far. What's the cruising speed,
battery life expectations? Any issues so far? Thanks.

Eric Leblanc
8 months ago

+Eric Leblanc 2016 base turbo

Sita van Waarde
9 months ago

Cheap ?? No ! Butt iTS Supergood stuff I hope They keep fabricate Nice
bikes in THE future !

Mike Ferrell
9 months ago

Good review - why the big cost multi-thousand dollar difference among the 3
versions? Are they really that different from recreational rider
perspective?

James Jacocks
11 months ago

Hi Court. I thought some viewers might be interested in some info on the
Turbo X, a similar bike (2015 vintage). Had mine since August 2015 and have
put on a several hundred miles, closer to a thousand actually. I get almost
exactly 100 miles/charge in 30% boost mode and maybe 45 to 50 miles in 300%
boost. That is a lot more than Specialized suggests in their specs. I weigh
about 155 lbs. and ride on only moderately sloped terrains. The bike rides
fine with power off as well. The guys I ride with are neos and sometimes I
just power off entirely to feel like I am doing some work. I have ridden
most of the fabulous C & O Canal towpath and the super stealthy bike has
given me some great experiences. I do load my bike down with photo
equipment generally and often lock out the front suspension so I ride
differently than a lot of folks. These are superior electric bikes from my
point of view. No equipment issues so far. I bought the bike after testing
it but found out about it on EBR, so, thanks!

harringtonb2
11 months ago

Does anyone know if this bike the Specialized Turbo base model can hill
climb? I am 6 feet and a 190lbs looking for a bike to commute on. My
commute has some hills that make me sweat on my normal bike. This looks
like an awesome bike but I am worried the smaller wattage motor will not
pull me up the hills adequately and I will arrive to work drenched. I
appreciate anyone's input.

Byron Sutton
11 months ago

Is the battery and motor warranty for 2 or 3 years?

Byron Sutton
8 months ago

thanks for the follow up

Eric Leblanc
8 months ago

+Byron Sutton 2 years on battery here in Canada.

Lawrence Yan
1 year ago

Is there an updated 2016 Specialized Turbo like how the Turbo S was
updated?

bsgnine
1 year ago

did someone say these are coming with stronger motors for 2016?

wazzucoug69
1 year ago



David Macdonald
2 years ago

I think there cost is just getting a bit much . And 800 for a battery . . 

Baronial10
2 years ago

Man... I have been watching all of your videos. Love all the videos and
your style of reviews! Keep them coming! Subscribed :)

Seb K
2 years ago

A rack or Iraq - oh a bike rack !!!

JEFF4LIFE
2 years ago

Hello Court, I have a question for you. Besides a Haibike, what is a great
full suspension bike that is 6k or under, and goes at least 25mph?

JEFF4LIFE
2 years ago

Thank you so much!! But what about the Easy Go neo jumper, or, the new easy
go Bosch jumper 27.5? Are rose any good, and please do a review of that
Bosch jumper 27.5 I am think between the neo jumper and Bosch jumper, what
do you think?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Kandykiller maniac There are only a couple of speed pedelecs I know of
with full suspension and my favorite is the Focus Thron Impulse Speed
http://electricbikereview.com/focus/thron-impulse-speed/ but you can also
get the IZIP E3 Peak DS past 20mph
http://electricbikereview.com/izip/e3-peak-ds/

Tom Stack
2 years ago

You are right in my "neck of the woods" in Irvine... I go that shopping
center a few times a week and also ride those groomed dirt trails as
well...... small world !!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Tom Stack That's awesome! Maybe we should go for a ride sometime Tom, I
don't know many people in the area. Just reach out on the contact form back
at the site if you're up for it. What bike do you have?

ForbinColossus
2 years ago

Cort, for the ride portion, were you holding the camera in your mouth? What
a stud!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+ForbinColossus Haha... yeah, I bought a mouth-mount for surfing and have
been using that for speed shots where I want both hands on the bars :P

ForbinColossus
2 years ago

Surprised they dont add fenders - to protect you in the wet and to protect
the bottom bracket area. Nice design, oddball lights-on always - not sure
if thatt's for safety like motorcycles/vehicles with lights on in the
daytime - but at the pricepoint, I'd go Bosch.

Edmond Leung
8 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com I just got the 2016 base model, I am not seeing the
matching rack on Specialized website. I see two different set of fenders
kit but not sure which one is for the Turbo model.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+ForbinColossus They have optional fenders and a matching rack. I'm not
sure how much it is but it's basically a "city kit" that will work on any
of the Turbo models right now.