Trek Lift+ Review

Trek Lift Plus Electric Bike Review
Trek Lift Plus
Trek Lift Plus Shimano Steps Mid Drive Motor
Trek Lift Plus Shimano Steps Battery Pack
Trek Lift Plus Ergonomic Grips Shimano Steps Console
Trek Lift Plus 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Trek Lift Plus 160 Mm Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Trek Lift Plus Quick Release Wheels
Trek Lift Plus Step Thru Frame
Trek Lift Plus High Step And Low Step
Trek Lift Plus Electric Bike Review
Trek Lift Plus
Trek Lift Plus Shimano Steps Mid Drive Motor
Trek Lift Plus Shimano Steps Battery Pack
Trek Lift Plus Ergonomic Grips Shimano Steps Console
Trek Lift Plus 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Trek Lift Plus 160 Mm Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Trek Lift Plus Quick Release Wheels
Trek Lift Plus Step Thru Frame
Trek Lift Plus High Step And Low Step


  • A light weight, efficient and more upright city style electric bike with a two year warranty, features an adjustable stem and is available in both high-step and step-thru frame styles in four sizes for improved fit
  • Leverages the Shimano STePs drive system keeping weight low and centered across the frame, the step-thru model is reinforced for rigidity and strength, both get excellent range
  • Rigid fork and seat post aren't as comfortable as suspension but reduce weight and the larger tires help to cushion the ride over cracks and bumps
  • More expensive than I expected at ~$2,729 considering you don't get fenders, a rack or lights and the Shimano system isn't as refined as Bosch or Impulse, the battery pack has to be removed for charging and shift sensing isn't as responsive

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers








Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Commuting, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Years Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

44.8 lbs (20.32 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.9 lbs (2.67 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.05 lbs (3.19 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy (Continuously Cold Extruded and Butted)

Frame Sizes:

13.5 in (34.29 cm)16.5 in (41.91 cm)17.5 in (44.45 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, High-Step

Frame Colors:

Crystal White, Dnister Black

Frame Fork Details:

Lift+ Alloy, Rigid

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Front Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore, Shadow Plus, HG62, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Triggers on Right


Shimano for STePs


VP Aluminum Body with Kraton Inserts


1-1/8" Semi-Integrated, Semi-Cartridge Bearings


Alloy, Adjustable Rise, Quill


Bontrager Satellite, Swept-Back, 25.4 mm, 50 mm Rise

Brake Details:

Shimano M355 Hydraulic Disc


Bontrager Satellite Elite, Lock-On, Ergonomic


Trek Urban Comfort

Seat Post:

Bontrager SSR, 12 mm Offset

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm


Bontrager AT-850 Aluminum Alloy

Tire Brand:

Bontrager H2, 26" x 2"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Hard-Case Ultimate Puncture Protection

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Rear-Mount Kickstand


Locking Removable Battery Pack, EC-E6000 Fast Charger (Reach 80% in Two Hours), KMC X10e Chain, Manufacturer Part Number (519382, 519383, 519384), Quick Release Skewers

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Shimano STePs

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Shimano STePs

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

75 miles (121 km)

Display Type:

Removable, Adjustable Angle, Monochrome, Backlit LCD, Model SC-E6000


Speed (mph or km/h), Average Speed, Max Speed, Odometer, Trip Meter, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Mode (Eco, Normal, High), Time Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Control Switch near Left Grip

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Normal 100%, High 200%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (25 km/h in Europe)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Lift+ is Trek’s most affordable electric bike (unless you count the Townie Go! from Electra which is also owned by Trek). The Lift Plus is significantly lighter at just ~45 pounds and I’m a huge fan of the quick release seat tube clamp, quick release wheels and adjustable angle stem! You can dial this thing in for a range of heights and body types and it comes in two frame style (high-step and step-thru) as well as four sizes… wow, that’s the power of a more established brand like Trek. The downside is that in my opinion the bike is on the more expensive side for what you get. While the Townie Go! mentioned earlier uses a more refined drive system from Bosch, the Lift+ relies on a Shimano system. The difference is that shift sensing is delayed, you get fewer levels of pedal assist, there’s no USB charger on the display, the motor puts out less torque and you have to take the battery off the frame each time you want to charge it. This last point is a big deal for me because I store my bike inside and have accidentally dropped batteries before when removing them so being able to plug directly in without removing the pack would just feel safer… plus, the Shimano charger has a really large blocky plug at the end that just doesn’t seem as well thought out.

The bike works very well on smooth streets and sidewalks but isn’t as cushioned as some of the other models I’ve covered in recent years. You don’t get a suspension fork or seat post shock and while the rubber ergonomic grips feel great and the sizes compliment the adjustable stem for a more upright, relaxed seating position I found the saddle to be very firm. The tires are slightly oversized at two inches in diameter and I’d probably run them a little low for added comfort… just don’t go so low that you get a pinch flat! The recommended PSI is listed on the sidewall so follow that closely and check often if you run low because air tends to leak slowly over time. So what am I really saying? Consider a suspension post like the Thudbuster, Body Float or something more cheap on Amazon and just make sure you get the correct size 36.1 mm diameter or use a shim to convert from the more standard 27.2 mm diameter.

All things considered, the Lift+ is an efficient and well made ebike. It’s backed by a reputable brand with dealer outlets all across the country so you should be able to take a test ride. There’s room for improvement with the motor system but I don’t hold that against Trek. I would love to see those bottle cage bosses added but I love that you get them for adding a rack and fenders because the bike would make an excellent commuter. There are ways to improve comfort with accessories and depending on your environment those may not even be necessary. I had a blast riding this bike on the smooth paved streets of Irvine California for the review and I felt well taken care of by Jax Bicycle Center because they spent time on fit and provided feedback about regular maintenance and things like hydraulic disc brake adjustment. There are some high end systems at work on this bike including the ten speed drivetrain but I’d love to see the price closer to $2,500 because it’s very plain compared with the next level up (the Conduit+) and doesn’t deliver the same feature set as the Electra Townie Go! which can also be had from Trek.


  • All Trek bicycles have to be shipped to a local Trek retailer but this is free of charge, from there some retailers will deliver to your house
  • Awesome two year comprehensive warranty, they recommend storing the battery in a dry room at 60° to 70° Fahrenheit and keeping it fully charged, expect a 5% degrade each year
  • Unique frame designs (the high-step version has a curved top tube for easier stand over) both are stiff and I love the internal cable routing
  • Quick release seat tube clamp makes adjusting the ride quick and easy, the front and rear wheels also feature quick release skewers so maintenance and transport are both quick and easy
  • Mid-drive motor system leverages the rear cassette for efficient energy use, the bike should get excellent range in Eco and Normal settings up to 75 miles per charge
  • Highly adjustable stem and handle bar will accommodate shorter and taller riders, with four frame sizes (and two frame styles) this model should fit most riders
  • Hydraulic disc brakes are smooth and powerful, much more enjoyable to use than band brakes or v-brakes but may require a shop’s help to adjust and bleed occasionally
  • Premium drivetrain (especially for a neighborhood/city style electric bike), ten speed Shimano Deore Shadow Plus… enough gears to climb steep hills comfortably and also max out the 20 mph motor speed limit (you can also pedal faster than that but the motor won’t help)
  • Front and rear mounting points for cargo racks, you could outfit this bike to carry a lot gear or add premium fenders to stay dry commuting
  • The step-thru model is reinforced with two downtube/top tubes as well as an extra tube at the rear for improved strength and rigidity (this combined with the mid-mount motor and battery feel very balanced and stiff)
  • At just under 45 lbs I consider these to be light weight electric bikes, they could easily reach 50 lbs with fenders and a rack but not everyone needs these things and the removable ~6 lb battery and quick release wheels make transporting much easier than comparable e-bikes
  • Shimano STePs features a remote button bar that’s easy to reach while riding (to adjust assist level), I like that it clicks when you change levels and there’s also an electronic beep (that can get a little annoying), I also appreciate that the display is removable


  • Battery must be completely removed from the frame in order to charge it, the charging socket is located at the base where it connects to the mounting plate, this adds work and increases the potential for accidental drops vs. leaving it on the frame to charge
  • Firm ride, no suspension fork or seat post shock but the larger 2″ tires, ergonomic grips and enlarged saddle help, I found the saddle to be firm and would probably replace it
  • It seems like there’s room on the high-step frame to add a bottle cage mounting point and this would be useful given that the bike doesn’t include a rack, the more expensive Conduit+ model does offer bosses on the seat tube
  • The Shimano STePs drive system isn’t as refined as Bosch or Impulse in my opinion, shift sensing isn’t as smooth and the on/off activation isn’t quite as fast (but it’s still a top level drive system)
  • In my opinion this electric bike is priced a little high, you get an excellent warranty but the frame is basic and you don’t get accessories like fenders, chain guard, rack or lights
  • Limited color choices with this model… not a huge deal but basically gloss black for the high-step and gloss white for the step-thru, as a guy who would probably get the high-step model I’d like a silver option for increased visibility to cars at night
  • The rear hydraulic disc brake cable is not run through the frame and stand out on the white step-thru model, perhaps it’s easier to service and I appreciate that most of the other cables are internally routed but considering the price I’m surprised this one was left out because it could snag more easily and just doesn’t look as good


More Trek Reviews

Trek Verve+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A versatile city electric bike with sturdy paint-matched aluminum fenders, a bright and aimable headlight as well as a flashing backlight (both are powered by the main battery), and mounting points for a bottle cage and rear rack. Surprisingly comfortable, the wider tires provide cushion and stability, the saddle and suspension seat post…...

Trek Lift+ Lowstep Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable, low-step, cruiser style electric bike with balanced motor and battery position, multiple fun color choices, and several sizes (also available in high-step). Nicer 10-speed drivetrain with clutch for reducing chain bounce and slap, easy to pull hydraulic…...

Trek CrossRip+ Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A lightweight, high speed, electric road bike with sturdy 12 mm thru-axle on the front wheel, Carbon fiber fork, and Alpha 200 Gold alloy frame to dampen vibration. Capable and comfortable on hard packed trails as a gravel grinder, sturdy Aluminum fenders and…...

Trek Dual Sport+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A lightweight, trail-capable, hybrid commuter electric bike, the larger 700c wheelset provides efficient rolling momentum and lower attack angle to smooth out cracks and bumps. Shimano STePs mid-drive is responsive, less power hungry than competing products, and relatively quiet, The…...

Trek Neko+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sporty hybrid electric bike offering a blend of efficiency and trail capability, suspension fork with lockout, hydraulic disc brakes. Removable battery and display panel reduce weight when lifting and transporting the bike, quick release…...

Trek Super Commuter+ 8S Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A streamlined, feature-complete, commuter style electric bike with Class 3 high-speed operation (up to 28 mph), available through a wide network of dealers. 11-speed Shimano SLX drivetrain offers plenty of range for comfortable pedaling at low and high…...

Trek Powerfly 8 FS Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A full suspension trail bike from one of the "big three" brands in the US, it offers 130 mm travel with custom tuning for the added weight and power of the bike, excellent weight distribution. Quick-release wheels, removable battery, and removable display make the bike flexible and easy to transport…...

Trek XM700+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017, 2018

A sleek, light weight, speed pedelec capable of reaching ~28 mph, built around the Bosch Performance Speed drive system and a Shimano SLX 10 speed drivetrain. Integrated plastic fenders and chain guard keep you clean and are reinforced to reduce rattle…...

Trek Conduit+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A light weight, high-step only electric bike with premium fenders, pannier rack and integrated LED lights that would be perfect for commuting or short range touring. Delivers Shimano hydraulic disc brakes, a 10 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore derailleur and quality…...

2011 Trek FX+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,679
  • MODEL YEAR: 2010, 2011

An efficient road-style electric bike with narrow slick tires and carbon fiber fork available in five frame sizes. Integrated LED lights run off the main battery pack, lots of additional mounting points for…...

2011 Trek Transport+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,679
  • MODEL YEAR: 2011

One of the earliest mass produced electric cargo bikes in the US (available in 2011) offered a purpose built frame with lots of attachment points (front basket, rear rack, running boards and included cargo bag). High-end drive system from BionX, rebranded as "Electric Propulsion Systems" EPS by Trek offering smooth,…...

Jon in Seattle
12 months ago

The 2017 model Trek ‘Lift’ has been updated so the battery can be charged while it is attached to the bike.

Shifting any geared transmission while under load [aka power shifting] will stress the system and create some interface noise. Manual-shift cars and motorcycles have a clutch to allow smooth gear changes. On a standard pedal bicycle with a derailleur shifter it is common practice to decrease force on the pedals while shifting to obtain smooth engagements. Changing gears on the Lift in that manner works perfectly for seamless shifting.

Power from the Shimano Steps with its 44-tooth chainring is quite surprising. The motor is a mere 250 watts but its internal gearing in combination with the torque, crank rpm, and wheel cadence sensors, and smart software, creates a lot of hill climbing energy. My testing showed the Lift to be a noticeably stronger [and much easier] climber than a 350-watt geared-hub bike using the same battery voltage. With the Step’s optional 38-tooth chainring, it would be even better.

12 months ago

That’s correct Jon! Thanks for chiming in about the updates to charging on the 2017 Shimano STePs system. I just reviewed the Wallerang which also uses the new battery. You’re completely correct about easing off pressure while shifting and given how smart the Shimano motor is, you can usually avoid mashing by gaining some speed, easing off the pedals a little and then shifting. Thanks for adding your thoughts, it sounds like you’re enjoying the product and I hope this helps others consider it as an option. Indeed, the smaller chainring would increase torque but for most of the urban riding the Lift+ seems designed for I feel like the 44 tooth is great :)

12 months ago

Shimano changed the Steps battery mount which now includes a receptacle for on-bike charging, and the charger has a new small plug to fit that port. To retain the off-bike charging option, the updated charger includes an adapter for direct connection to the end of the battery.

The earlier Lift could be updated with the new battery mount, and new charger.

12 months ago

Great comment Jon, you’re exactly right! The new Shimano batteries allow you to charge on-bike and do indeed require an adapter/dongle for charging off. You and others can see this new battery in my Walleräng review here, in the video mostly.

11 months ago

I tried this bike out; it was really comfortable and in my opinion, quiet. I am surprised that there are no integrated lights on this bike. No fenders, no lights, and no way to plug the bike in with the battery on board… that’s a few too many deal-breakers for me for a rather expensive bike.

Again, I appreciate your expert review Court; you mention details I wouldn’t even think about. Each review I listen to, I become a bit more educated … a bit wiser consumer. Thanks! Julia

11 months ago

Hey Julia, well thanks for the positive feedback. I agree that there is room for improvement with this bike and am glad to have contributed to your awareness and education. With so many ebikes available now, I hope you find one that fits and feels like a great deal :D

8 months ago

No site ever gives the dimensions of the trek or Towine bikes. How long are they?
How high are they? This information lets one know if it will fit into their vehicles.
Thank You.

8 months ago

Hi Jean! I do this for all of my new reviews (at least for the frame size I have to test) and have got the measurements for the 2017 Medium 16.5″ Lowstep which are: 22″ Reach, 19″ Stand Over Height, 24″ Width, 71.5″ Length and also for the 2017 Large 21″ Highstep which are: 23.5″ Reach, 24″ Width, 30″ Stand Over Height, 71.5″ Length. I hope this helps you! I do my best to be thorough here and provide an open space to help people… but I’m just one guy ;)


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Nova Haibike
1 day ago

Looking past the title, you wrote, "Which E-bike (s) do you own." someone might only answer that question, and not think about the actual title? That's what I did, which led to my previous comment. I tend to skip details sometimes. Which is why I also did not post the model I own (Haibike Trekking RC).

1 day ago

You're going with a production ebike if you have to have a torque sensor on the pedals. They're not available on DIY kits, except for some expensive kluges.

True, it can be tough to build a kit for less than a production ebike imported from China, but it's easy to beat what they sell in bike shops.

This one has $250 in the motor/controller. Bafang SWXH. I'm using $75 worth of hoverboard batteries in the picture, but I have better ones. My wife rode this up the path from Frisco to Copper Mountain in Colorado.

Another $150 motor. $250 36V 10AH battery custom built in USA. I've taken it to Florida in the back of my car twice this year.

My first build in 2015. Motor/battery less than $500. I've added front disk brakes since then. Still have the crappy bell. This one has a crude cadence sensor, but I'm used to it.

Fatbike motors were not cheap when I put this together. 500W in front and 500W in back. Well over $1600 in this project, and I only rode it twice. Caught pneumonia and my wife read me my rights. It's a summer bike with only rear wheel drive now.

1 day ago

No argument here

Nova Haibike
1 day ago

I am a newbie too, actually, at least to e-bikes. I just got the Trekking RC, which is basically a hybrid. I chose it because it was crazy cheap and has Shimano XT gears and brakes. As a professional bicycle technician, I appreciate top-quality components. ;)

Speaking of crazy cheap, I like this Haibike:

Nova Haibike
2 days ago

$4995?! One could get a Trek or Riese & Müller for that kind of money.

2 days ago

Really good explanation from Tora on the advantages of having a throttle in stop start urban riding. For the past 18 months I have been using a bafang BBS01 kit as a pedelec motor without the throttle, but I've experienced issues Tora mentioned a couple of times I've struck my derailleur or my right pedal against a curbstone at low speed passing cars curbside, or found myself in the wrong gear at a stop light facing uphill, so I'm swapping out my derailleur for an IGH so I can shift down when stationary and fitting the throttle so I can coast without pedalling when necessary. I appreciate the versatility of a kit motor that lets me switch over from a Class 1 to a Class 2 by simply adding a throttle, the optional boost button on Raleigh and Izip ebikes does the same thing.

I also find walk assist useful when pushing my heavy ebike up ramps when towing a trailer or up the 3 steps into my backyard. Trek and other manufacturers are wrong not to activate walk assist on Bosch powered ebikes in the US. I know it's not legal in New York state at present to have a throttle but walk assist is capped to like 3mph so this is just stupid corporate BS. On the bright side I'm encouraged the People for Bikes model ebike legislation is being adopted by more and more states that legalizes both Class 1 and 2 riding on bike paths and sidewalks.

2 days ago

Thank you very much for your insightfull post. A lot of information to digest.

A high speed pedelec is not an option for me. They are available in Sweden but requires license plate, insurance etc.

I will look into the different forks used by my preferrd bikes.

I definitely have to test ride the bikes to get a feel for them.
I think my final choice comes down to which one has the best overall premium quality feel and best level of component specification.

I have started on a Excel spreadsheet comparing different bikes.

John from Connecticut
2 days ago

Hello 'JoePah, You bring up an excellent point regarding aluminum vs chrome moly. In the case of my Trek XM700+ the 300 lbs
max capacity for bike, rider and any added gear stated by Trek is perfect for me...46 lbs for the bike and 200 for me. I'll never carry any tour gear etc. so all should be ok. Trek has done wonders engineering the aluminum frame, it's rock solid.

Something that doesn't seem to get much 'press' here on the forum is braking and or brakes. I'm 100% confident with my bike as a whole, but
when I cruise down a long hill at 20 to 25 mph +, stopping the total weight of the bike and myself , 255lbs , the disc brakes have their work
cut out for them. There's not a lot 'left' should I have to lock them up and that's with 160 and 180mm rotors. I'm guessing braking system
enters into the 300 lb total rider, bike gear spec.

As mentioned prior, it took me a little trial and error to learn to modulate braking pressure on a long steep decline to avoid overheating
the rotors. I did notice a bit of fade early on, but have since gotten the feel of the discs.

I will say the 46 lb weight of the bike is 10 plus pounds less then most comparable e-bikes which I really appreciate.

John from CT

2 days ago

I'm very interested in this as well. I'm torn between PF5 and PF7 though.

I did some beginner mountain biking last year on my $700 (cheap!) Giant hardtail and I really enjoyed it. I'm not going to tell you that I'm going to be out there all the time, but I'd like to have the option. Also, I don't live in a very rural area, so it's more likely I'll be riding in urban or suburban areas. I have to trailer my bike to get anywhere "good". Like a lot of people, I'm just looking to do some rough urban and suburban rides - I still ride my bike like I'm 10 years old... popping curbs and thumbing my nose at the principal.

Anyway, I'm going to be selling my motorcycle and to easy the pain a bit, I'm looking at getting a Trek PF7 FS Plus.

Here's my (scary) thought process:

- I'm pushing 40 and I like a bit more cushion in my ride. The full suspension sounds pretty good. Never owned one.
- It's my understanding that I can always lock out the suspension for a firmer city ride (front and back). Better to have and not need?
- I like the electric bike idea and I'm good with it being a class 1 assist as opposed to a class 3 with a throttle. Heck it's a bike - pedal it.
- If you're going to drop $3500, why not drop $5k and get all the farkles?

Regarding the 28MPH - the dealer I talked to sounded pretty favorable to tweaking things a bit to get over the 20MPH limit. He even suggested how it would be done. *shrugs* Meh. I'm probably going to chip it anyway. If you can't hack it, you don't own it.

3 days ago

Before I pull the trigger, does anyone know if Magnum has any discount coupons or sales? I see a place on the online order form to enter a coupon code (doesn't mean there is one, but just in case...). The local bike shop said they're having a Trek sale end of march/beginning of April, not sure if that's just them or Trek doing that. So I wondered if Magnum is doing something similar to kick off spring, or if there's a coupon code or veterans discount, etc.

Nova Haibike
3 days ago

I assume it has the same hubs as my Trekking. There are rubber dust shields covering the hub cones that rub against the hub shell. Lubricate that interface; the squeak will go away.

John from Connecticut
4 days ago

I agree. The Townie -Go with the Bosch mid-drive Performance motor and Intuvia controller is a fantastic cruiser. By design
the bike is incredibly stable and safe. When you come to a stop the only place to put your feet is flat on the ground. The crank aka
pedals are placed forward unlike a more traditional bike. This is the unique design of the Townie.

Since Trek now owns Townie the support and service for the Townie-Go is great. If the $$$ are there this is a fine choice.

John from CT

2 months ago

Welcome! This website has reviews organised by category, price, also Court Rye's by category - he has a and the videos are embedded in each bike review he posts here. The discussion forum has a list of helpful links on the right side of their webpage including an introductory and links to the website and DIY discussion forum. Use the search box on these forums to find out if your questions have already been answered, and if not ask away. There appear to be dozens of bike shops in Sacramento and it's great to take test rides of several models before you commit to buy, equally important is a local bike shop's ability to provide services, diagnostics, and electrical/mechanical maintenance. There's a tempo to ebike sales that follows the changing seasons and if you time it right you can pick up a great deal on a previous year model. Or you might prefer to go with one of the bigger bicycle retailers who all have introduced Class 1 pedelec (20mph, no throttle) models in or just above your budget such as the Giant Explore E+3, Specialized Turbo Como 2.0, Trek Lift+, and Electra Townie Go! If you choose a direct-to-consumer brand like Sondors, or Voltbike, or discounter like, consider employing a local bike shop or mobile bike mechanic service like to assemble a mail-order ebike out of the box as they will have the right tools and can check everything is tight, safe, and working on the bicycle side e.g. the brakes, chainline, gears, and accessories.

7 months ago

I visited my local Trek dealer yesterday to look at some ebikes (Conduit+ and Lift+) and talk about ordering a Powerfly 5. I was hoping on full fenders on the PF5 but according to the shop and confirmed later in an online chat with Trek the PF5 is not set up to take full fenders. Trek recommended something like the SKS xblade fenders designed for MTBs. Not a perfect solution for a commuter but a little protection from spray.

Ravi Kempaiah
7 months ago

Lightest bike: Easy Go Street at 42lbs.
keep an extra battery and you're good for 25 miles.

Moderate performance, price, and weight but wide range of availability and service:
Trek Lift+

Felt Verza E:

High-performance, top-notch components, sub 50lbs bikes: and

In all cases, if you remove the battery, the weight will reduce by 5-7lbs.

All of them (BH, Felt, Trek and BULLS) have dealers all over the country. Try it out. Make sure you are comfortable lifting it up and loading all by yourself.
I am pretty sure you can find Trek and Felt dealers who can get you those bikes.

7 months ago

The Townie is a bit big with those 700c tires. The ride is very nice, it's suitable for mild trail riding such as the
Wetherford to Mineral Wells trail. Are you familiar with that one? My wife and I are considering a trip up to
Palo Duro canyon this fall. I did a mini review on the Townie for "Marleen" under the Electra brand thread. Hopefully,
that will give you additional useful information. I'm considering trading in my old Trek 6000 for a Trek lift+ next
year. Depends on how much I get back into trail riding again.

7 months ago

I also recommend the Trek Lift+, even though I bought the Townie Commute Go. I took a test ride at our
LBS on one. Very impressed. I only went with the Townie because I planned on using an Ebike mostly for
street use. With that said, I may see if the LBS will take my old Trek 6000 as a trade in sometime in the future.
Not sure how I'll be able to sneak it home without the wife finding out.

7 months ago

The weighs 45lb including battery and has a small size frame option for riders over 5' with 26" wheels, it has drop out eyelets for attaching a rack and fenders, here's of the diamond frame version. The weighs 53lb and has a suspension fork and suspension seatpost for a comfortable ride, and already comes with a rack, fenders, lights, and a bell, of the available frame sizes the small frame is a good choice for shorter riders because it has 26" wheels, here's Both ebikes offer pedal assist, no throttle. Apart from the accessories the main difference is with the Trek the battery is mounted on the down tube which puts the weight of the battery in the center of the bike, versus the Kalkhoff that has the battery mounted on the rear rack which means you get a lower step over height which is great for hopping on and off the bike but the trade off is the battery weight is towards the rear and that can feel a little tippy if you add the weight of grocery bags in panniers on the rear rack. With both ebikes you could remove the battery before lifting it onto the van rack to lessen the weight, also probably a good idea to get some sort of tarp/cover you can tie around the bike when it's on the van rack for when it rains.

8 months ago

Here is a video I made for you this morning with the "normal" sounds of Shimano STePS on a Trek Lift+!

I will say that the Shimano STePS system is probably the loudest of all the eBike systems. Which is funny, because Shimano advertizes it as the quietest!

I got my Lift+ in May, and have almost 2 000 km on it now; I love it!

9 months ago

Just rolled over my first 1000km on my Lift+. Love this bike!


9 months ago

I love my Trek Lift+!


Ravi Kempaiah
9 months ago

Townie Go
Lacuba EVO E8
Crosslite-E with the new Bosch CX motor.

All great bikes. Glad the bike expo was useful.

Since kozy's carry a lot of the bikes you mentioned, you should visit them.

Linda Baer
9 months ago

Just came back from the Ebike expo. I had a blast! I was surprised at the number of bikes that fit me. Though the following bikes fit me, I eliminated them for various reasons one izip, two Raleigh bikes, gazelle, trek Neko, bulls cross lite, and the Electra townie (so comfortable!). I did like the trek lift+, smart motion Ecity, and the bulls lacuna evo E8. They did not have a Kalkhoff Agutta B7 but I did discover that the Bosch high performance motor that comes with it is amazing! Comments on my final four are welcome. You guys have been a big help in my search for a bike. Your time and expertise is much appreciated. Thank you!

10 months ago
Brenda Cooke
10 months ago

you did not mention lights. I take it those are an ad-on?

Iain Hendry
10 months ago

Another great review! Any chance you will get to ride the Trek Dual Sport+? It seems like the ultimate Trek + Shimano Steps bike!

Pamela L
11 months ago

i just bought this bike, i am thankful for the electric power, i can still ride a medium steep hill in normal mode. i am not used to the gear shift? there appears to be two gear shifters?

Andrea L
2 years ago

I bought one of these for my commute and I love it! The main reason, other than it's a great bike is that, for an electric/pedal assist bike, it's light enough to carry up a few flights of stairs.

Jacinto Gentine
2 years ago

Great review. We are currently looking for an E-Bike. Whats the best E-Bike in your experience. Thank you

Richard Overstreet
2 years ago

hi thanks for great review... question.. is the "low Step" model generally preferred by female riders? I'm shopping now for a conduit or lyft. due to my mobility issue i'm thinking about the low step.. yet don't want to ride a Girls Bike.. LOL thanks for youir thoughts.

2 years ago

Is that the Greentree Neighborhood in Irvine? My Inlaws live there.

Zachary Gruber
2 years ago

I'm just a bit confused. once it hits 20mph, then the engine won't provide any assistance until it slows under 20?

plant based paleo
2 years ago

hey Cort just seen my first e bike in the wild lol I'm a trucker stopped at Walmart in des moines ia girl rode by on the st2 stromer. I'm surprised I don't see more as many places I go hope I start seeing more "normal people" riding them

plant based paleo
2 years ago

Yes a st1 loved it I'm leaning towards a imax s1 scooter for my semi truck but I want a Bosch OE similar mid drive for exercise when I'm home I love the 28 mph ones
2 years ago

+Brian Mcbee Wow! She had a fancy bike :D yeah I see them popping up more and more but it's a big purchase and I think it's still being discovered in America or is known but forgotten because people don't ride bikes in their day to day commuting as much (further distances, busier roads than Europe). They are becoming a lot more common in big cities, I see them all the time in San Francisco. Have you tried one yourself Brian?