Trek Lift+ Review

Trek Lift Plus Electric Bike Review
Trek Lift Plus
Trek Lift Plus Shimano Steps Mid Drive Motor
Trek Lift Plus Shimano Steps Battery Pack
Trek Lift Plus Ergonomic Grips Shimano Steps Console
Trek Lift Plus 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Trek Lift Plus 160 Mm Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Trek Lift Plus Quick Release Wheels
Trek Lift Plus Step Thru Frame
Trek Lift Plus High Step And Low Step
Trek Lift Plus Electric Bike Review
Trek Lift Plus
Trek Lift Plus Shimano Steps Mid Drive Motor
Trek Lift Plus Shimano Steps Battery Pack
Trek Lift Plus Ergonomic Grips Shimano Steps Console
Trek Lift Plus 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Trek Lift Plus 160 Mm Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Trek Lift Plus Quick Release Wheels
Trek Lift Plus Step Thru Frame
Trek Lift Plus High Step And Low Step

Summary

  • A light weight, efficient and more upright city style electric bike with a two year warranty, features an adjustable stem and is available in both high-step and step-thru frame styles in four sizes for improved fit
  • Leverages the Shimano STePs drive system keeping weight low and centered across the frame, the step-thru model is reinforced for rigidity and strength, both get excellent range
  • Rigid fork and seat post aren't as comfortable as suspension but reduce weight and the larger tires help to cushion the ride over cracks and bumps
  • More expensive than I expected at ~$2,729 considering you don't get fenders, a rack or lights and the Shimano system isn't as refined as Bosch or Impulse, the battery pack has to be removed for charging and shift sensing isn't as responsive

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Trek

Model:

Lift+

Price:

$2,799

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Commuting, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

44.8 lbs (20.32 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.9 lbs (2.67 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.05 lbs (3.19 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy (Continuously Cold Extruded and Butted)

Frame Sizes:

13.5 in (34.29 cm)16.5 in (41.91 cm)17.5 in (44.45 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, High-Step

Frame Colors:

Crystal White, Dnister Black

Frame Fork Details:

Lift+ Alloy, Rigid

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Front Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore, Shadow Plus, HG62, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Shimano for STePs

Pedals:

VP Aluminum Body with Kraton Inserts

Headset:

1-1/8" Semi-Integrated, Semi-Cartridge Bearings

Stem:

Alloy, Adjustable Rise, Quill

Handlebar:

Bontrager Satellite, Swept-Back, 25.4 mm, 50 mm Rise

Brake Details:

Shimano M355 Hydraulic Disc

Grips:

Bontrager Satellite Elite, Lock-On, Ergonomic

Saddle:

Trek Urban Comfort

Seat Post:

Bontrager SSR, 12 mm Offset

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Bontrager AT-850 Aluminum Alloy

Tire Brand:

Bontrager H2, 26" x 2"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Hard-Case Ultimate Puncture Protection

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Rear-Mount Kickstand

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, EC-E6000 Fast Charger (Reach 80% in Two Hours), KMC X10e Chain, Manufacturer Part Number (519382, 519383, 519384), Quick Release Skewers

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Shimano STePs

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Shimano STePs

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

75 miles (121 km)

Display Type:

Removable, Adjustable Angle, Monochrome, Backlit LCD, Model SC-E6000

Readouts:

Speed (mph or km/h), Average Speed, Max Speed, Odometer, Trip Meter, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Mode (Eco, Normal, High), Time Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Control Switch near Left Grip

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Normal 100%, High 200%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (25 km/h in Europe)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Lift+ is Trek’s most affordable electric bike (unless you count the Townie Go! from Electra which is also owned by Trek). The Lift Plus is significantly lighter at just ~45 pounds and I’m a huge fan of the quick release seat tube clamp, quick release wheels and adjustable angle stem! You can dial this thing in for a range of heights and body types and it comes in two frame style (high-step and step-thru) as well as four sizes… wow, that’s the power of a more established brand like Trek. The downside is that in my opinion the bike is on the more expensive side for what you get. While the Townie Go! mentioned earlier uses a more refined drive system from Bosch, the Lift+ relies on a Shimano system. The difference is that shift sensing is delayed, you get fewer levels of pedal assist, there’s no USB charger on the display, the motor puts out less torque and you have to take the battery off the frame each time you want to charge it. This last point is a big deal for me because I store my bike inside and have accidentally dropped batteries before when removing them so being able to plug directly in without removing the pack would just feel safer… plus, the Shimano charger has a really large blocky plug at the end that just doesn’t seem as well thought out.

The bike works very well on smooth streets and sidewalks but isn’t as cushioned as some of the other models I’ve covered in recent years. You don’t get a suspension fork or seat post shock and while the rubber ergonomic grips feel great and the sizes compliment the adjustable stem for a more upright, relaxed seating position I found the saddle to be very firm. The tires are slightly oversized at two inches in diameter and I’d probably run them a little low for added comfort… just don’t go so low that you get a pinch flat! The recommended PSI is listed on the sidewall so follow that closely and check often if you run low because air tends to leak slowly over time. So what am I really saying? Consider a suspension post like the Thudbuster, Body Float or something more cheap on Amazon and just make sure you get the correct size 36.1 mm diameter or use a shim to convert from the more standard 27.2 mm diameter.

All things considered, the Lift+ is an efficient and well made ebike. It’s backed by a reputable brand with dealer outlets all across the country so you should be able to take a test ride. There’s room for improvement with the motor system but I don’t hold that against Trek. I would love to see those bottle cage bosses added but I love that you get them for adding a rack and fenders because the bike would make an excellent commuter. There are ways to improve comfort with accessories and depending on your environment those may not even be necessary. I had a blast riding this bike on the smooth paved streets of Irvine California for the review and I felt well taken care of by Jax Bicycle Center because they spent time on fit and provided feedback about regular maintenance and things like hydraulic disc brake adjustment. There are some high end systems at work on this bike including the ten speed drivetrain but I’d love to see the price closer to $2,500 because it’s very plain compared with the next level up (the Conduit+) and doesn’t deliver the same feature set as the Electra Townie Go! which can also be had from Trek.

Pros:

  • All Trek bicycles have to be shipped to a local Trek retailer but this is free of charge, from there some retailers will deliver to your house
  • Awesome two year comprehensive warranty, they recommend storing the battery in a dry room at 60° to 70° Fahrenheit and keeping it fully charged, expect a 5% degrade each year
  • Unique frame designs (the high-step version has a curved top tube for easier stand over) both are stiff and I love the internal cable routing
  • Quick release seat tube clamp makes adjusting the ride quick and easy, the front and rear wheels also feature quick release skewers so maintenance and transport are both quick and easy
  • Mid-drive motor system leverages the rear cassette for efficient energy use, the bike should get excellent range in Eco and Normal settings up to 75 miles per charge
  • Highly adjustable stem and handle bar will accommodate shorter and taller riders, with four frame sizes (and two frame styles) this model should fit most riders
  • Hydraulic disc brakes are smooth and powerful, much more enjoyable to use than band brakes or v-brakes but may require a shop’s help to adjust and bleed occasionally
  • Premium drivetrain (especially for a neighborhood/city style electric bike), ten speed Shimano Deore Shadow Plus… enough gears to climb steep hills comfortably and also max out the 20 mph motor speed limit (you can also pedal faster than that but the motor won’t help)
  • Front and rear mounting points for cargo racks, you could outfit this bike to carry a lot gear or add premium fenders to stay dry commuting
  • The step-thru model is reinforced with two downtube/top tubes as well as an extra tube at the rear for improved strength and rigidity (this combined with the mid-mount motor and battery feel very balanced and stiff)
  • At just under 45 lbs I consider these to be light weight electric bikes, they could easily reach 50 lbs with fenders and a rack but not everyone needs these things and the removable ~6 lb battery and quick release wheels make transporting much easier than comparable e-bikes
  • Shimano STePs features a remote button bar that’s easy to reach while riding (to adjust assist level), I like that it clicks when you change levels and there’s also an electronic beep (that can get a little annoying), I also appreciate that the display is removable

Cons:

  • Battery must be completely removed from the frame in order to charge it, the charging socket is located at the base where it connects to the mounting plate, this adds work and increases the potential for accidental drops vs. leaving it on the frame to charge
  • Firm ride, no suspension fork or seat post shock but the larger 2″ tires, ergonomic grips and enlarged saddle help, I found the saddle to be firm and would probably replace it
  • It seems like there’s room on the high-step frame to add a bottle cage mounting point and this would be useful given that the bike doesn’t include a rack, the more expensive Conduit+ model does offer bosses on the seat tube
  • The Shimano STePs drive system isn’t as refined as Bosch or Impulse in my opinion, shift sensing isn’t as smooth and the on/off activation isn’t quite as fast (but it’s still a top level drive system)
  • In my opinion this electric bike is priced a little high, you get an excellent warranty but the frame is basic and you don’t get accessories like fenders, chain guard, rack or lights
  • Limited color choices with this model… not a huge deal but basically gloss black for the high-step and gloss white for the step-thru, as a guy who would probably get the high-step model I’d like a silver option for increased visibility to cars at night
  • The rear hydraulic disc brake cable is not run through the frame and stand out on the white step-thru model, perhaps it’s easier to service and I appreciate that most of the other cables are internally routed but considering the price I’m surprised this one was left out because it could snag more easily and just doesn’t look as good

Resources:

More Trek Reviews

Trek Verve+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A versatile city electric bike with sturdy paint-matched aluminum fenders, a bright and aimable headlight as well as a flashing backlight (both are powered by the main battery), and mounting points for a bottle cage and rear rack. Surprisingly comfortable, the wider tires provide cushion and stability, the saddle and suspension seat post…...

Trek Lift+ Lowstep Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable, low-step, cruiser style electric bike with balanced motor and battery position, multiple fun color choices, and several sizes (also available in high-step). Nicer 10-speed drivetrain with clutch for reducing chain bounce and slap, easy to pull hydraulic…...

Trek CrossRip+ Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A lightweight, high speed, electric road bike with sturdy 12 mm thru-axle on the front wheel, Carbon fiber fork, and Alpha 200 Gold alloy frame to dampen vibration. Capable and comfortable on hard packed trails as a gravel grinder, sturdy Aluminum fenders and…...

Trek Dual Sport+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A lightweight, trail-capable, hybrid commuter electric bike, the larger 700c wheelset provides efficient rolling momentum and lower attack angle to smooth out cracks and bumps. Shimano STePs mid-drive is responsive, less power hungry than competing products, and relatively quiet, The…...

Trek Neko+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sporty hybrid electric bike offering a blend of efficiency and trail capability, suspension fork with lockout, hydraulic disc brakes. Removable battery and display panel reduce weight when lifting and transporting the bike, quick release…...

Trek Super Commuter+ 8S Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A streamlined, feature-complete, commuter style electric bike with Class 3 high-speed operation (up to 28 mph), available through a wide network of dealers. 11-speed Shimano SLX drivetrain offers plenty of range for comfortable pedaling at low and high…...

Trek Powerfly 8 FS Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A full suspension trail bike from one of the "big three" brands in the US, it offers 130 mm travel with custom tuning for the added weight and power of the bike, excellent weight distribution. Quick-release wheels, removable battery, and removable display make the bike flexible and easy to transport…...

Trek XM700+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017, 2018

A sleek, light weight, speed pedelec capable of reaching ~28 mph, built around the Bosch Performance Speed drive system and a Shimano SLX 10 speed drivetrain. Integrated plastic fenders and chain guard keep you clean and are reinforced to reduce rattle…...

Trek Conduit+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A light weight, high-step only electric bike with premium fenders, pannier rack and integrated LED lights that would be perfect for commuting or short range touring. Delivers Shimano hydraulic disc brakes, a 10 speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore derailleur and quality…...

2011 Trek FX+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,679
  • MODEL YEAR: 2010, 2011

An efficient road-style electric bike with narrow slick tires and carbon fiber fork available in five frame sizes. Integrated LED lights run off the main battery pack, lots of additional mounting points for…...

2011 Trek Transport+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,679
  • MODEL YEAR: 2011

One of the earliest mass produced electric cargo bikes in the US (available in 2011) offered a purpose built frame with lots of attachment points (front basket, rear rack, running boards and included cargo bag). High-end drive system from BionX, rebranded as "Electric Propulsion Systems" EPS by Trek offering smooth,…...


Jon in Seattle
1 year ago

The 2017 model Trek ‘Lift’ has been updated so the battery can be charged while it is attached to the bike.

Shifting any geared transmission while under load [aka power shifting] will stress the system and create some interface noise. Manual-shift cars and motorcycles have a clutch to allow smooth gear changes. On a standard pedal bicycle with a derailleur shifter it is common practice to decrease force on the pedals while shifting to obtain smooth engagements. Changing gears on the Lift in that manner works perfectly for seamless shifting.

Power from the Shimano Steps with its 44-tooth chainring is quite surprising. The motor is a mere 250 watts but its internal gearing in combination with the torque, crank rpm, and wheel cadence sensors, and smart software, creates a lot of hill climbing energy. My testing showed the Lift to be a noticeably stronger [and much easier] climber than a 350-watt geared-hub bike using the same battery voltage. With the Step’s optional 38-tooth chainring, it would be even better.

Reply
court
1 year ago

That’s correct Jon! Thanks for chiming in about the updates to charging on the 2017 Shimano STePs system. I just reviewed the Wallerang which also uses the new battery. You’re completely correct about easing off pressure while shifting and given how smart the Shimano motor is, you can usually avoid mashing by gaining some speed, easing off the pedals a little and then shifting. Thanks for adding your thoughts, it sounds like you’re enjoying the product and I hope this helps others consider it as an option. Indeed, the smaller chainring would increase torque but for most of the urban riding the Lift+ seems designed for I feel like the 44 tooth is great :)

Reply
Jon
1 year ago

Shimano changed the Steps battery mount which now includes a receptacle for on-bike charging, and the charger has a new small plug to fit that port. To retain the off-bike charging option, the updated charger includes an adapter for direct connection to the end of the battery.

The earlier Lift could be updated with the new battery mount, and new charger.

Reply
court
1 year ago

Great comment Jon, you’re exactly right! The new Shimano batteries allow you to charge on-bike and do indeed require an adapter/dongle for charging off. You and others can see this new battery in my Walleräng review here, in the video mostly.

Reply
Julia
1 year ago

I tried this bike out; it was really comfortable and in my opinion, quiet. I am surprised that there are no integrated lights on this bike. No fenders, no lights, and no way to plug the bike in with the battery on board… that’s a few too many deal-breakers for me for a rather expensive bike.

Again, I appreciate your expert review Court; you mention details I wouldn’t even think about. Each review I listen to, I become a bit more educated … a bit wiser consumer. Thanks! Julia

Reply
court
1 year ago

Hey Julia, well thanks for the positive feedback. I agree that there is room for improvement with this bike and am glad to have contributed to your awareness and education. With so many ebikes available now, I hope you find one that fits and feels like a great deal :D

Reply
Jean
11 months ago

No site ever gives the dimensions of the trek or Towine bikes. How long are they?
How high are they? This information lets one know if it will fit into their vehicles.
Thank You.

Reply
court
11 months ago

Hi Jean! I do this for all of my new reviews (at least for the frame size I have to test) and have got the measurements for the 2017 Medium 16.5″ Lowstep which are: 22″ Reach, 19″ Stand Over Height, 24″ Width, 71.5″ Length and also for the 2017 Large 21″ Highstep which are: 23.5″ Reach, 24″ Width, 30″ Stand Over Height, 71.5″ Length. I hope this helps you! I do my best to be thorough here and provide an open space to help people… but I’m just one guy ;)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

bob armani
2 hours ago

Pricey but well worth the $$$ for Trek products in general. I also test rode this at a few different locations and this bike is paired very well with all of the right components. I test rode the SC+7 back to back and found a big difference in ride quality overall. The stability and handling of this bike is spot on. The only change I would make would be to add a suspension fork or stem like the Shockstop or Softride.
Trek is really starting to shine through the competition with their new line of electrics IMHO. Hope you enjoy your new ride.:D

Ravi Kempaiah
3 hours ago

Range - weight - price are all interconnected.

For longer range (50 miles), ideally, you would want 750+Whr battery, but then it creases the weight substantially.
If you could get a ~40lbs E-bike, then with 500whr battery + fair bit if your own power, you could get 50 miles.

If you are 6ft+ in height, I would strongly recommend you to get this one. They will ship the bike to your nearest dealer and for the money, it's a absolutely great value. it has top of the line DT Swiss wheels, just a great bike overall.

https://www.haibikeusa.com/sale/2016-xudro-race-s-rx.html

Most importantly, it tips the scale at 42lbs and with the aero riding position, you should get 40+ miles using a 500Whr pack.

You could get a 2017 Giant Road E for $3500 at most dealers across the nation. Here is a fun video featuring that bike.
This is also a fairly light weight bike.

Now, if you get something with 750+Whr, then you're looking at 53+ lbs of weight.

Any Trek bike shop would be able to get you a police E-Bike. For the money, it's top class. Swap the fork for a lighter carbon one and you're again in the sub 44 lbs zone.

https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/mountain-bikes/cross-country-mountain-bikes/police/police-electric/p/22241/

There are other bikes with bigger batteries and weight, Stromer, Riese & Muller, but they are often poor value compared to some of the bikes mentioned above.

Nova Haibike
4 hours ago

If you order a butterfly/trekking bar, it would be better to find one that has a 31.8 diameter so you do not have to use shims between the bar and stem.

Gator
4 hours ago

Hello and Welcome

The Super Commuter is a sweet ride. I test drove them a couple of times. I am purchasing another brand, but the Trek definitely made it on to my short list. I plan on commuting 3-4 days a week also. My round trip will be 22 miles. My route has some pretty formidable hills. Can't wait to start. I might have my bike by Weds. or Thurs. of this week. Thanks for sharing and enjoy your ride.

Gator
4 hours ago

Hello and Welcome
I am very new here as well, but I have learned a couple of things so far. You have to make some decisions.
*Build it yourself are buy one ready to go.
*Buy online or from your local LBS
*Mid-drive or Hub drive
*What are you willing to spend?

These decisions will help narrow down the field. Once you have decided on a few candidates head over to the part of the forum that has all the brands and go from there. There is a lot of info here and some really knowledgeable people. And dont forget the video reviews Court has available.

I decided on this as my first choice:
https://www.giant-bicycles.com/us/quick-eplus

And this was my second:
https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/mountain-bikes/cross-country-mountain-bikes/police/police-electric/p/22241/?colorCode=black

I decided on these models because of price and there are local bike shops that carry both brands within 20 minutes drive/ride. Sizes available also were a factor. I received a lot of good help here in coming to this decision and the forum made it pretty fun.

Again, welcome and enjoy yourself.

Nova Haibike
5 hours ago

For a road style e-bike, I would look at the Trek CrossRip+, Bulls Dail-e Grinder, and the Giant Road-E+ 1. These will do 50-62 miles as long as you aren't only using the highest level of assist. The Trek and Bulls come with a rear rack, and the Bulls has fenders and front suspension as well.

barry g
5 hours ago

excellent advice, thx. .

jazzkrow
6 hours ago

Hello from Green Valley, Az. and Portland, Or. I split my time equally between these two places as I chase the sun. I have been cycling for well over 35 years-almost exclusively road biking. I own 6 bikes- Klein touring (Performance), Trek 5200, older Litespeed (2002) with triple crank, as well as a recumbent trike (Catrike), and a hybrid bike from Jamis.
I have no interest in off road biking at this time.
I have been considering buying an electric bike for shopping and day touring including some hill riding and would like a (Class 3?) electric assist that does 28 mph.
Battery on down tube. I would like an electric that could possibly do a 50-62 mike distance as the maximum that I would do in a day..
Weight would be a consideration-and possibly transporting the bike back and forth to Portland.
There are many electric bike shops in Portland, where I am now for the Summer.
I would greatly appreciate any recommendations on bike brands, models, and local shops.
Thanks, Jeff

Ravi Kempaiah
6 hours ago

Ergotec stem and handlebar would transform your bike into something very comfortable.
http://bikeshed.johnhoogstrate.nl/bicycle/handlebar/ergotec_boomerang/

There are lots of other great options as well. Yamaha is a great system for someone who likes to push little hard on the pedals rather than just spinning. I think you meant the Sduro Trekking 5.0 because the 6.0 uses the Bosch CX drive.

JayVee
7 hours ago

Depending on what your idea is, you might have to redo the rear hydraulics.

If the primary bar stays at roughly the same height as your current bar, you’ll be fine. If you want to go higher, to avoid problems with the rear hydraulics, you need to choose a butterfly bar that’s narrower than the original. Luckily for you, the Haibike Trekking has a rather wide bar.

To see how much room you have, turn the handlebars at a 45 degree angle with respect to the top tube. Then observe the rear hydraulic cable. If there’s wiggle room you can use that.

barry g
8 hours ago

I really like all the positions my "butterfly" type of handlebar gives me on my traditional type hybrid city bike.
Can this type of bar be used on a trekking ?

barry g
9 hours ago

Great bike, best of luck with it.
Like you, my present ride is a "hybrid" type city bike.
One of the best changes I made was switching to a "butterfly" type touring handlebar, with an adjustable stem.

I was wondering if anyone would know if such a handlebar can be used with the Haibike trekking.?????
btw: I'm anxiously awaiting delivery on my 2018 trekking .

John from Connecticut
1 month ago

I strongly agree with 'Nova Haibike'. Find a local bike shop that you like and trust. I would not buy on line unless you're willing to 'go it alone'
as contrasted with doing business and getting support from a local bike shop. You're Seniors..... I'm a Senior as well that's why I can point that out : ) you don't need a e-bike science project...Maybe you do ? : )

You'd mentioned having ridden the Electra Townie-Go. That is a great choice for two reasons, as mentioned by 'Nova Haibike,'
Trek owns them and secondly the bike has a very unique design. The crank aka peddles are significantly forward of the seat. When you're stopped your feet touch the ground making the bike very safe and stable. While riding you're in a very upright position, a lot like sitting in a chair, again safe and comfortable.

The Townie-Go has the Bosch Power System ( motor and Intuvia Controller ) which I think is the best out there. The system is
fully warranted for two years. Lastly Trek support is tops. No double talk. I have two trek e-bikes and know first hand. The Trek Lift+ also
seems like a good choice. Lastly consider a Body Float seat post. It makes all the difference in the world. http://cirruscycles.com/

Good luck,

John from CT

Nova Haibike
1 month ago

There is something to be said for a bike you can get locally. Also, Electra is a Trek company, which is the biggest bike company on the planet. So you can get service and support virtually everywhere. On that note, you might want to look at the Trek Lift+ too.

Court
2 months ago

Following are some of the original comments that were made on that post:

WARP
I understand that you’re only showing bikes that you reviewed, but so I would like to add a few suggestions of my own.
The reason is that I have been looking for a e-assist bike for my wife. The options are quite limited for extra short people. My wife is 5′ and her inseam is around 28 inches. She likes to have a bit of clearance when straddling the bike.
A lot of the e-bikes that come in only one size are non starters. In the regular bicycle world, many bikes come in at least 3, often more. That’s why it’s frustrating to shop for e-bikes, they usually start at a men’s medium or large. For my wife, she needs a bike made for petite women, and even then she needs XS or XXS to enable her to comfortably straddle the top bar (top tube). Although the folding models would probably work, we want to go with a full sized wheel for more stability
And it’s not just matter of standover clearance, a low step over frame doesn’t mean a great fit either….for example, we tried out the Easy Motion Evo Easy Street, and she was way stretched out on that frame, even though she can easily straddle the frame. She looked a bit lost sitting on that bike….coming from her 44cm road bike frame, the one size fits all Easy Motion looked like a tank.
The companies that are real bike companies often the best range of sizing. Examples that would probably work for her:
Raleigh Detour iE Step-Through – comes in a small size in a low step frame.
Trek Conduit+ – Small size would fit somebody who’s around 155cm (or just over 5′)
Trek Lift+ – has a men’s and also a low stepover model and comes in small size
Devinci Newton S Bionx – comes in three sizes. The WF is a women’s model and comes in a Small (which is smaller than the men’s Small)
In the end, I’m probably going to build my own bike for my wife around a Bionx kit, we can choose an XS frame and use the rack mount Bionx kit. Ideally we would have liked to buy a complete e-bike, but this way gives us the best option for getting a fit she’s comfortable with.

COURT
Hi warp, I can understand your frustration… It’s uplifting to hear how much energy and time you’ve spent trying to find a perfect fit for your wife and I think the BionX option is a good one. Kits definitely have their place but I can understand the desire to have a more turnkey solution as well. The good news is that more and more electric bikes are being produced each year and a wider variety of sizes and shapes have come to market. Companies https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/24-step-thru-comfort-cruiser/ have started selling more models with 24″ wheels and the step-thru frame. I realize reach may still be an issue but with a bit of effort adjusting the bars (or even a replacement bar) the bikes can become more accessible to petite riders.

WARP
Yes, we’re looking for a “regular looking” fitness style hybrid, and even though some of those cruiser designs would fit, we’d prefer a design that is geared toward sporty riding. e.g. she’d riding with me when I’m on my full carbon road bike, for both speed and giving her a boost on the hilly parts.

RALPH LINIADO
Warp, I just read this thread. My wife is petite at 5′ just like your wife. We stopped into Small Planet Bikes in Dallas last season, the day after Court was there doing some tests. I was excited that they had the Evo Street as I had heard it was just what a small framed women would like, but my wife hated the bike. It didn’t fit. We tried everything he had and nothing worked. The salesman than suggested the Easy Pedelar T350, and inexpensive bike that is the heart of their rental fleet. My wife rode the bike and loved it. It was under $2,000 and we bought one on the spot to be shipped to us in Florida. I had never heard of the brand, yet I bought it without any research. Turns out https://electricbikereview.com/ez-pedaler/t350/ just the day before as I came to find out when he posted his review.
This is a small step thru bike. It has lights, a rack, a bell, and it is built like a tank. My wife thinks it is beautiful. Obviously the reason why they have a rental fleet of them at Small Planet, which is a great shop and all electric bikes. They had everything you could imagine on the floor. Fantastic. My wife loves it because it fits her small frame. It’s not as elegant as some of the other big name bikes, but it fits and it works great. I had it shipped to my local LBS who charged me $25 to put the handle bars on it and away we went. Hope this helps.

COURT
Awesome advice Ralph, thanks for taking the time to help and share your experience :)

RAY T
thanks for the comment….the bike you bought seems like a decent value for under $2K. Looks pretty comfy and it seems like a great choice for a small rider with its downsized wheels and low step frame.
I went ahead with my original plan to build my own. So I took a 13″ Trek 7.4 FX Womens, and added a Bionx rear mount kit. This is pretty much the smallest adult bike that Trek makes (and smaller than many other brands offer). I would have much preferred the battery to be on the frame but the bike frame is so small it wouldn’t fit. The rear battery rack makes the bike very rear heavy but that’s the tradeoff to get a bike that fits. here is https://flic.kr/p/H9C2Lu.
It ended up costing about $3K, which is higher than I wanted to spend, but at least we got a bike that fits right with a good e-assist system from a proven manufacturer. Now we’re itching to put some miles on it

JOHN HESLIN
Hi – really enjoy your reviews! Wondering if I can ask for your opinion. Are 20″ folding bikes too cramped for the average rider? I saw your E joe video and I think I can probably “fit” but at 5′ 10″ / 220 lbs. I’m not really sure. I’m a recreational user and ride mostly for exercise so pedaling is important. The key issue for me is whether the typical 20″ folding bike be pedaled normally with full leg extention? Thanks.

COURT
Great question John, folding bicycles tend to have longer seat posts to reduce that cramped leg feeling… My knees get sore and feel sensitive if they aren’t extending fully so I can relate to your concern (I’m 5’9″ by the way). On of the folding ebikes that felt lager to me was the https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/latch/ (notice the first photograph shows the seat fully extended). The downside here is that the Latch is heavier and has a rear-mounted battery, but at least it’s removable for easier transport. The founderf of Pedego are larger guys who weigh a bit more and I feel like the motor power and overall strength of the frame are designed to accommodate them. https://electricbikereview.com/gocycle/g2/ also felt large and had suspension to soften the bumps and the https://electricbikereview.com/tern/node-d8-with-bionx/ is also a bit larger with 24″ wheels vs. the standard 20″ that lifts the frame up higher and improves ride quality a bit given the narrower tires. I hope these ideas help you find a good product that will work well for your intended use, folding bikes usually present a compromise but there is a nice variety to choose from these days :)

ALASTAIR CAMPBELL
These are good reviews but none of them focus in on my requirements. Are there any ebikes with the following attributes: Pedal assist only, top speed on hills of 10 kms (6mph), 100 km. range (60 Miles), panier. puncture proof tires, small frame, minimum bike weight up to 45 pounds, can fit on a standard bike rack. This bike will be needed on bike trips with ordinary pedal bikes so no need to go fast up hills. Price up to $3,000 US. Want financial stability of manufacturer and a ‘vast’ dealer network in North America. Reasonable quality of components not made in China.

COURT
Hi Alastair! Thanks for sharing your detailed list of “must haves”. No ebikes I know of even come close to what you’re asking here because they are mostly all produced from parts made in China… especially in the sub $5,000 range. Most weigh at least 45 lbs and the vast majority are 50+ lbs and the speed up hills is so dependent on rider weight, cargo and environment (like wind) that I cannot say for sure. My first thought for you was the https://electricbikereview.com/kalkhoff/sahel-compact-impulse-8/ but it’s heavier than you want. A light weight ebike that isn’t as powerful but fits your other requirements (besides price) is the https://electricbikereview.com/faraday/cortland-s/. Hope this helps! You can use the advanced search tool on the right rail of each page here to narrow down by price, weight etc.

MARK
GOOD JOB COURT !!!

COURT
Hey mark, glad you enjoyed this article! Thanks for the props :D

FRED
Old thread but I thought I’d share. I have the same challenge for my wife. She’s 4’11”. We went with an XS Specialized Vita paired with a Bionx system with the battery mounted on the down tube. They had to drill a hole in the batter bracket mount given the odd position of the bottle cage mounts, but it fits great and balances the weight out nicely. Call the https://hostelshoppe.com/ and ask for big Scott. They are a dealer for both specialized and bionx.
If your wife has a 28″ inseam without shoes, she might fit on a Specialized Turbo for women. Standover is about 29″ in the Small. I’m going to beg them to make an XS and also ask if they have plans to motorize the fat boys. The Helga has a 26″ standover height and should be able to fit the bionx as well if the down tube triangle is at least as big as the Vita.

COURT
Hey Fred! Sounds like you and your wife got set up at the Hostel Shoppe, thanks for sharing your tips and ESPECIALLY the measurements around the small Turbo for women. I’ve been really impressed with the Specialized lineup of ebikes in different styles and sizes so far… maybe we will see an XS and a motorized fat boy someday :)

FRED
That would be sweet! You’re welcome for the info. The guys at the hostel shoppe are top notch. People come from all over the Midwest to go there.

GIL
I want my wife to be able to ride with me – at least 20 miles with light hills. She’s 5’2 about 250 lbs and has a bad knee. We’ve been looking at ebikes and understand we’ll probably need a small frame (15 inch?). She wants to look at options and try them out in the Chicago area – or southwest Michigan. Want pedal assist for physical therapy but also full throttle to coast. What models do you recommend we check out? Can you recommend a store(s) to try them out? Also, I want to be able to transport the ebike on my car. I only have a trunk mount bike rack – no hitch. Other option to consider is a folding bike that could fit inside the trunk or back seat. What recommendations do you have for such bike carrying capability?

COURT
Hi Gil, thanks for explaining your goals so well… I think I understand and can relate given that my own girlfriend is about 5’2″ and has had some struggles with mid-step models (even women’s frames) that we’ve tried. Since you’re in the Chicago area, one brand that comes to mind is https://electricbikereview.com/brand/volton/, they’re based there and the founder Joe is really cool. I just reviewed their latest model which is a mid-drive step-thru but they sell a very similar one with a hub motor that’s less expensive and has throttle on demand. I’d recommend going to their website and calling him. To carry this model or many of the step-thru ebikes out there with your trunk mount bike rack you’ll probably need a crossbar adapter https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000ELSSZE/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=elecbikerevi-20&camp=1789&creative=9325&linkCode=as2&creativeASIN=B000ELSSZE&linkId=7b2e5668a19575e25cca7cd87df72a46 and I’d recommend taking the battery off the bike before loading to reduce weight… and always mount it close to the car so it’s not hanging way out since even the frames tend to be heavier than normal bicycles. A couple other low-step models with assist and throttle that might be worth exploring are the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/gadis/']e-Joe Gadis[/URL], and the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/easy-motion/evo-city-wave/']Easy Motion Evo City Wave[/URL] which looks beautiful but costs a bit more… given that they are a larger company (with a great warranty) and were sold in 2015 and 2016 you might be able to get a deal on “last year” inventory at your local ebike shop :)
As far as folding bikes go, they do tend to be smaller but not always lighter. Here’s [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/folding/']the full list[/URL] of models I’ve reviewed recently and you can also use the advanced search to look for compact models that don’t fold but are smaller and lighter. One consideration with folding is that they tend to be less comfortable due to the smaller wheels. If you can get a regular bike with 24″ or 26″ with the deep step-thru design that would probably be more enjoyable for your wife. I hope this helps! I realize there are a lot of options out there… Consider asking in the forums, there’s a section called “[URL='https://electricbikereview.com/forum/forums/choosing/']help choosing an electric bike[/URL]” I made for this exact sort of situation :D

GIL
Thanks for your thorough reply. Most helpful was the recommendation for a crossbar adapter.
I think I may have the choice down to the final 2: X-treme Malibu Beach Cruiser or Prodecotech Stride 300. The Malibu front wheel can easily be removed so I can put the bike in the back seat. The Stride comes in a fold-able model so I could put it in the trunk. The challenge remains that there’s no place close to home for my wife to try out either one prior to a purchase.
One other thing suggested by the guy at FarBike.com is that I wait til early Spring to make a purchase as riding in Chicago’s winter is unlikely. Purchasing closer to the time of use means a fresher battery.

COURT
Hey Gil, glad my tips helped you a bit. The Spring will bring all new models to bear and give you some time to think. In the mean time, feel free to poke around [URL='http://electricbikereview.com/forum/']the EBR Forums[/URL] and share your experience or ask more questions. I’ve made a few real life friends there and it’s fun to geek out about bikes and consider different options :)

ANNETTE NELSON
I am 4’9″ and 67 yrs old and trying get out of my house a little more. LOST MY HUSBAND 2 1/2 yrs ago and have suffered from depression and need sunshine. I thought an electric bike would be a good way to do it and guarantee my ability to get home should I go a little too far..I HAVE HAD 11 back surgeries and still have some back pain.
I bought a PRODECO MARINER 500. online and received it the day after Thanksgiving. Thank goodness my sons were here to help me put it together and watch me ride it. THE SALESMAN ON THE PHONE TOLD ME THAT I should have no problems riding it even hough I TOLD HIM MY HEIGHT AND THE concerns I had being able to lift my leg over the tall center bar. WELL! THERE WAS NO WAY I could lift my leg that high to get onto the bike. MY SONS HELD THE BIKE WHILE I lifted my leg using my hands and rode it down the block. Then to get off of the bike. I stopped, then my sons each grabbed the bike while I used my hands to lift my leg…when I STARTED FALLING BECAUSE I couldn’t get my leg over. One of my sons grabbed me and his fingers broke my ribs. I CONTACTED THE STORE AND THEY RECOMMENDED A STEP TROUGH BIKE? What can you recommend

COURT
Hi Annette, sounds like you’ve had a rough experience with electric bikes so far… they do tend to be heavier and many of the cheaper models only come in one frame size and style. ProdecoTech has a range of options but it sounds like you would do better with a true step-thru like the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/boomerang/']Pedego Boomerang[/URL]. This particular brand has a bunch of dealers across the US so you can actually try the bike before deciding to buy. Also, the rest of my tips and suggestions on this page still stand. You can get further suggestions by connecting with others [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/forum/forums/choosing/']in the forums[/URL] or using the advanced search tools here on the site. I Hope this helps!

TRISH
Hi, I am an older(50+) rider. I don’t feel as comfortable on my 26″ wheel bike anymore as sometimes my sense of balance just feels a bit off. I also have some problems with arthritis etc. But I still want to go on adventures for as long as I can! So I am looking for an ebike that can go on trails, (there are some very cool rail trails here in BC, but sometimes there are portions that are a bit rough.) so probably a fat bike style for comfort. I am thinking a 350W motor should be plenty? I need a rack for my camping gear. My issue is that I am only 5′ and want a bike I can comfortably put my feet down if I feel wobbly. Even the 20″ tire bikes seem to have quite a high seat. I am not rolling in cash LOL, so don’t want to spend more than 1500.00 CAN. I was thinking of cobbling together some bikes we have around and putting a hub motor on it. But it looks like hub kits plus battery is going to cost me over 1000.00 CAN anyways? Seems its the batteries that cost the most by far. Any ideas? Thanks!

COURT
Hey Trish! I was thinking the Pedego 20″ Trail Tracker would be a good fit in terms of lower stand-over height and having those fat tires… but it is priced a bit higher. I can’t think of too many kits that work with small fat tires but I’ll keep my mind on it and perhaps you can ask [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/forum/']in the forums[/URL] to see if anyone else has an idea for you :)

MAE
I’m interested in going to an ebike, but I don’t want to jump into a large investment until I know that I like them. So I’m thinking about starting off by purchasing an ebike conversion kit to put on my current bike. I am only interested in pedal assist. Does anyone know of a conversion kit that offers pedal assist? Thanks in advance for any help you can offer. Mae

COURT
Hi Mae! There are many kits out there to choose from but I’ve reviewed a few [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/kits/']here[/URL]. I realize it can seem like a big investment but purpose built ebikes tend to just work better… I know a few people who tried to get a deal the first time around and had buyer’s remorse pretty quickly then upgraded to a more well-built ebike. This is part of the reason I don’t review kits as much these days. If you have a local ebike shop, I’d highly recommend visiting and doing some test rides before pulling the trigger on anything. In any case, good luck and please share your experiences :D

MAE
Hi Court. Thanks for the advice on purpose built ebikes. Wondering if you have ever reviewed the x-treme Sedona step through ebike. It is quite affordable at $1100, but I don’t see where it has been reviewed or has any buyer comments. I’m also considering these ebikes: Izip Vibe plus, Raleigh Sprite iE, Prodecotech stride series, Genze recreational e102, Tidal Wave, and Magnum ui5. Any helpful information you can offer about any of these bikes – good or bad – would be appreciated. I love your reviews and your love of this sport.

COURT
Hi Mae! I had a pretty good experience with the GenZe and Magnum products. Raleigh Sprite iE is also a good product from a larger company (with more dealers and a good warranty). I haven’t seen as much ProdecoTech stuff lately and have never seen X-Treme products… They caught my interest of course, people ask occasionally but I just don’t see them in shops and don’t know anyone who has bought one. Here’s [URL='https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u188uF4Pt9w']an interesting video[/URL] interview I did with the President of Raleigh Electric talking about the value of more expensive ebike products as I realize the trade off in cost can raise some questions.

DEWEY
Regarding converting a pedal bicycle, an interesting source of ideas for donor frames for shorter riders is [URL='https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1j3f51td6emppjuBaTNjZXgtVPK923HtOudacuyt-g0Y/']this spreadsheet[/URL] on the City Bike subReddit – a list of step through pedal bikes available in North America with links to the manufacturer websites then you can check what frame sizes are available and where your nearest dealer is located.

COURT
Cool, thanks for the tip Dewey! Did you create a conversion ebike for yourself or find one that fit straight away that was already electric?

DEWEY
My thinking before converting my pedal bicycle was to make it easier for my local bike shop to help with the conversion and maintenance. I experimented with a [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/clean-republic/hill-topper/']24V hill topper kit[/URL] but I found it didn’t help me up the hills I climb so I bought a [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/8fun/bbs01/']36V BBS01 crank motor kit[/URL]. I would like the more torquey [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/8fun/bbs02/']48V BBS02 kit[/URL] but I need to stay under the [URL='https://www.markelinsurance.com/bicycle/resources/electric-bikes']750W 20mph[/URL] limit for e-bike liability insurance purposes.

ANDREJA
I am overweight, tend to feel unstabile on bikes, often am too short for various models (164cm and 100kg). Sometimes, because of the size of my belly, I can’t fully lift my leg. Can you suggest something for me? Regards from Croatia! :)

COURT
Hi Andreja, I think the first step would be to search for any electric bike dealers in Croatia. If you aren’t able to find one where you can go in for a test ride then it makes sense to look online. Unfortunately, I don’t think many brands will ship around the world and I’m based in the USA… so? who knows. But! One shop that has told me they will ship internationally is Motostrano in California. [URL='http://www.motostrano.com/']Here is their website[/URL], they have lots of ebikes and surely sell one that might work for you but they tend to be expensive. Another option is to see if [URL='https://sondors.com/']Sondors[/URL] will ship to your location, they have a cheaper folding model that might fit you and feel stable because it has fat tires.

ANDREJA
Thank you for your promt answer. Let’s say I have an option of buying suitable product whereever, hence I would be very interested in a model you can suggest, regarding the detals I described earlier. My problem is I can’t find right model that is suitable for overweight people. If you can suggest few, I would be grateful. :)

COURT
Hmm, I think the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/24-step-thru-interceptor/']step-thru Pedego with the smaller 24″ wheels[/URL] is a great option. You can get it with pedal assist and throttle and it will be easier to mount and stronger for added weight. Beyond that, I like the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/eprodigy/banff/']eProdigy Banff[/URL] and depending on how tall you are, the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/corratec/lifebike/']Corratec Lifebike[/URL].

DAYRATE
How are the RadMini and Voltbike Mariner looked upon for rider height suitability? At 5’9″, like you, I figure either would be great for me, however, at 5’3″, I wonder about my wife fitting on one of these bikes. We are very interested in the Mariner. The frame geometry specs I have read don’t seem out of line with her height, what’s your opinion? Thanks for your well written and produced bike reviews!

COURT
Yeah, [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/voltbike/mariner/']the Mariner[/URL] is a pretty good ebike for petite riders, my girlfriend is similar in height to your wife and she had a blast riding it on the beach. She also tried [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/rad-power-bikes/radmini/']the RadMini[/URL] but I think the clamp design bumped her knee and thigh more easily. That one seems to have a higher stand over design as well. The cool thing about both products is that they use fat tires which are very stable and add some comfort when riding over bumps :)

BROCK HARVEY
Wow, what a fantastic article, and there’s even more information in the comments. You guys are all incredible!
I recently found [URL='http://www.ireviews.com/comparisons/5-best-smart-bikes-2017']this article[/URL], but I’m looking for some validity to their claims from people much more experienced than I.
Any info would be incredibly beneficial, so I’d really appreciate it! I’m looking to really change my life around in terms of my fitness. I’m 29, have a bit of expendable cash, live in a very cycle friendly city, so I think this could be a life changing purchase for me :)
Pretty excited, to say the least. Thanks heaps!

COURT
Hi Brock, thanks for sharing that article! More and more technology is coming to the ebike space and the models in their “five best smart bikes 2017” leaned more towards road and city. Drop bars are still pretty rare but I’ve seen a few from Bosch in recent years. Try exploring here by using the category drop down up top, it might guide you towards the high tech speed models if that’s what you’re into or you can ask around in the forums. My goal is to keep the space open and honest, people are pretty friendly and it’s exciting to share the latest tech but I have also seen that sometimes it never becomes publicly available… more like concept prototypes. All of the ebikes you see here have videos and are actually for sale (or were for sale at one point). If you have any specific questions, feel free to ask.

KERIN
**I am 5’1″ tall, about 140 pounds, and am in my mid 70’s and in good health. I am looking for a small ebike to ride on city streets and easy trails. I would prefer both throttle and pedal assist with a price of no more than $1,500. I live in a small town where there are no ebike dealers within several hundred miles where I can try out a bike to see if it fits. Anything out there that might meet these requirements?**

COURT
Hi Kerin, I speak with a lot of petite riders who choose folding ebikes because they tend to have smaller 20″ wheels that lower the frame and also have step-thru frame designs. I just reviewed [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/velomini/plus/']the VeloMini Plus[/URL] which could work and fits your budget. I like how lightweight it is too.

KERIN
Thank you. The Velomini Plus sounds good. Will the small wheels work successfully on trails that that have a gravel surface rather than being paved? How much assembly is required?

COURT
Hi Kerin! The 1.5″ wide tires aren’t going to be great for gravel, you might want to consider one of the fat folding ebikes for that such as the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/rad-power-bikes/radmini/']RadMini[/URL] and [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/voltbike/mariner/']Mariner[/URL]. Most mail-order electric bikes require minimal assembly, the VeloMini Plus is especially easy and straightforward, you basically just unfold it :)

LUCY
Anyone have thoughts/advice How is the tern vektron for 5′ 2″ person with a short-ish reach? Ride Brompton now with M handlebars and the reach is a teeny tiny bit too far.
Deciding between Vektron and an Ohm 2017. Love folders ’cause I can take it anywhere….and Ohm is just amazing, too.
LUCY
And now I just rode the trek super commuter. So nice. So many great bikes.

COURT
Yeah, Trek is really doing great this year, lots of ebikes to choose from and the Super Commuter is awesome :D

COURT
Hi Lucy! The Vektron is a great bike one of the highest quality around right now (in large part because it uses Bosch). I’ll be reviewing some new OHM models soon and will record all of the measurements like reach and stand over height to help you decide. If you want light and compact, I think the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/velomini/plus/']VeloMini Plus[/URL] is pretty cool.

LUCY
Looking forward to that review! I did, however, already purchase the Trek Super Commuter. I know! The most money I could spend in one place, like, ever. It was a good fit in the 45cm frame and I have great local bike shop support. I went to the Electric Bike Expo and road a Tern, Ohm didn’t bring their smallest frame, so didn’t get to try that bike. The range on the Trek/Bosch combo (long commute to work) and the excellent local support sold me on Trek. Shout out to Freewheel Bike!

BIKING WITH A LITTLE E-HELP
Hi, I’m looking for an e-bike with good e-power assistance as I am getting older and slower at normal biking especially up inclines… I am 170 cm tall and longish legs so am looking for a medium sized frame but still the space for my legs so that I can reach the ground easily when stopping yet have a good leg extension when pedalling and am not all squished up. Any suggestions of models to look for? TIA

COURT
Do you think you’d want a medium step-thru [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/cross-lite-e-step-thru/']like this[/URL] for easy mounting or prefer a higher stiffer frame? I just reviewed the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/ohm/urban-ebike/']OHM Urban[/URL] which has a powerful motor and throttle operation (most mid-drive ebikes do not). They sell it in four sizes so you could dial in fit and the stand over height is reasonable because of the top tube design.

BIKING WITH A LITTLE E-HELP
I’m afraid it really needs to be a much lower instep. She has such the above items asked for on her current e-bike, however the e part is designed for long country rides and has not so much support/power for the city riding that she wishes to have such as being able to take off at the lights with the rest of the riders and keep up speed around the city on short journeys.

Dewey
5 months ago

Welcome! This electricbikereview.com website has reviews organised by category, price, also Court Rye's https://electricbikereview.com/best-electric-bikes/ by category - he has a https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcJGe_WM6xKnB_J8ynIYx2A and the videos are embedded in each bike review he posts here. The https://www.reddit.com/r/ebikes/ discussion forum has a list of helpful links on the right side of their webpage including an introductory https://www.reddit.com/r/ebikes/wiki/index#wiki_intro_to_e-bike_kits_ and links to the http://www.ebikeschool.com/discover/ website and http://endless-sphere.com/forums/index.php DIY discussion forum. Use the search box on these forums to find out if your questions have already been answered, and if not ask away. There appear to be dozens of bike shops in Sacramento and it's great to take test rides of several models before you commit to buy, equally important is a local bike shop's ability to provide services, diagnostics, and electrical/mechanical maintenance. There's a tempo to ebike sales that follows the changing seasons and if you time it right you can pick up a great deal on a previous year model. Or you might prefer to go with one of the bigger bicycle retailers who all have introduced Class 1 pedelec (20mph, no throttle) models in or just above your budget such as the Giant Explore E+3, Specialized Turbo Como 2.0, Trek Lift+, and Electra Townie Go! If you choose a direct-to-consumer brand like Sondors, or Voltbike, or discounter like https://crazylennysebikes.com/collections/demo, consider employing a local bike shop or mobile bike mechanic service like https://www.velofix.com/locations/sacramento/ to assemble a mail-order ebike out of the box as they will have the right tools and can check everything is tight, safe, and working on the bicycle side e.g. the brakes, chainline, gears, and accessories.

BernieS
10 months ago

I visited my local Trek dealer yesterday to look at some ebikes (Conduit+ and Lift+) and talk about ordering a Powerfly 5. I was hoping on full fenders on the PF5 but according to the shop and confirmed later in an online chat with Trek the PF5 is not set up to take full fenders. Trek recommended something like the SKS xblade fenders designed for MTBs. Not a perfect solution for a commuter but a little protection from spray.

Ravi Kempaiah
10 months ago

Lightest bike: Easy Go Street at 42lbs. https://emotionbikesusa.com/easygo-street/
keep an extra battery and you're good for 25 miles.

Moderate performance, price, and weight but wide range of availability and service:
Trek Lift+ https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/electric-bikes/lift/lift-lowstep/p/1325601-2017/?colorCode=white

Felt Verza E: http://www.feltbicycles.com/USA/2016/Bikes/electric/road/verzae-30-s.aspx

High-performance, top-notch components, sub 50lbs bikes:

http://www.feltbicycles.com/USA/2016/Bikes/electric/road/Verza-e-10.aspx and http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/cross-lite-e-wave-new-my17/

In all cases, if you remove the battery, the weight will reduce by 5-7lbs.

All of them (BH, Felt, Trek and BULLS) have dealers all over the country. Try it out. Make sure you are comfortable lifting it up and loading all by yourself.
I am pretty sure you can find Trek and Felt dealers who can get you those bikes.

Katman4532
10 months ago

The Townie is a bit big with those 700c tires. The ride is very nice, it's suitable for mild trail riding such as the
Wetherford to Mineral Wells trail. Are you familiar with that one? My wife and I are considering a trip up to
Palo Duro canyon this fall. I did a mini review on the Townie for "Marleen" under the Electra brand thread. Hopefully,
that will give you additional useful information. I'm considering trading in my old Trek 6000 for a Trek lift+ next
year. Depends on how much I get back into trail riding again.

Katman4532
10 months ago

I also recommend the Trek Lift+, even though I bought the Townie Commute Go. I took a test ride at our
LBS on one. Very impressed. I only went with the Townie because I planned on using an Ebike mostly for
street use. With that said, I may see if the LBS will take my old Trek 6000 as a trade in sometime in the future.
Not sure how I'll be able to sneak it home without the wife finding out.

Dewey
11 months ago

The https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/hybrid-bikes/electric-bikes/lift/lift-lowstep/p/1325601-2017/ weighs 45lb including battery and has a small size frame option for riders over 5' with 26" wheels, it has drop out eyelets for attaching a rack and fenders, here's https://electricbikereview.com/trek/lift-plus/ of the diamond frame version. The http://www.kalkhoff-bikes.com/en/bikes/2017/e-bike/e-city/agattu-b7.html weighs 53lb and has a suspension fork and suspension seatpost for a comfortable ride, and already comes with a rack, fenders, lights, and a bell, of the available frame sizes the small frame is a good choice for shorter riders because it has 26" wheels, here's https://electricbikereview.com/kalkhoff/agattu-b7/. Both ebikes offer pedal assist, no throttle. Apart from the accessories the main difference is with the Trek the battery is mounted on the down tube which puts the weight of the battery in the center of the bike, versus the Kalkhoff that has the battery mounted on the rear rack which means you get a lower step over height which is great for hopping on and off the bike but the trade off is the battery weight is towards the rear and that can feel a little tippy if you add the weight of grocery bags in panniers on the rear rack. With both ebikes you could remove the battery before lifting it onto the van rack to lessen the weight, also probably a good idea to get some sort of tarp/cover you can tie around the bike when it's on the van rack for when it rains.

Canard
11 months ago

Here is a video I made for you this morning with the "normal" sounds of Shimano STePS on a Trek Lift+!

I will say that the Shimano STePS system is probably the loudest of all the eBike systems. Which is funny, because Shimano advertizes it as the quietest!

I got my Lift+ in May, and have almost 2 000 km on it now; I love it!

Canard
12 months ago

Just rolled over my first 1000km on my Lift+. Love this bike!

-Iain

Canard
12 months ago

I love my Trek Lift+!

-Iain

Brenda Cooke
1 year ago

you did not mention lights. I take it those are an ad-on?

Iain Hendry
1 year ago

Another great review! Any chance you will get to ride the Trek Dual Sport+? It seems like the ultimate Trek + Shimano Steps bike!

Pamela L
1 year ago

i just bought this bike, i am thankful for the electric power, i can still ride a medium steep hill in normal mode. i am not used to the gear shift? there appears to be two gear shifters?

Andrea L
2 years ago

I bought one of these for my commute and I love it! The main reason, other than it's a great bike is that, for an electric/pedal assist bike, it's light enough to carry up a few flights of stairs.

Jacinto Gentine
2 years ago

Great review. We are currently looking for an E-Bike. Whats the best E-Bike in your experience. Thank you

Richard Overstreet
2 years ago

hi thanks for great review... question.. is the "low Step" model generally preferred by female riders? I'm shopping now for a conduit or lyft. due to my mobility issue i'm thinking about the low step.. yet don't want to ride a Girls Bike.. LOL thanks for youir thoughts.

jessasdad
2 years ago

Is that the Greentree Neighborhood in Irvine? My Inlaws live there.

Zachary Gruber
2 years ago

I'm just a bit confused. once it hits 20mph, then the engine won't provide any assistance until it slows under 20?

plant based paleo
2 years ago

hey Cort just seen my first e bike in the wild lol I'm a trucker stopped at Walmart in des moines ia girl rode by on the st2 stromer. I'm surprised I don't see more as many places I go hope I start seeing more "normal people" riding them

plant based paleo
2 years ago

Yes a st1 loved it I'm leaning towards a imax s1 scooter for my semi truck but I want a Bosch OE similar mid drive for exercise when I'm home I love the 28 mph ones

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Brian Mcbee Wow! She had a fancy bike :D yeah I see them popping up more and more but it's a big purchase and I think it's still being discovered in America or is known but forgotten because people don't ride bikes in their day to day commuting as much (further distances, busier roads than Europe). They are becoming a lot more common in big cities, I see them all the time in San Francisco. Have you tried one yourself Brian?