Electra Townie Go! Review

2016 Electra Townie Go Electric Bike Review
2016 Electra Townie Go Azure Step Thru
2016 Electra Townie Go Bosch Performance Cruise Motor
2016 Electra Townie Go Powerpack 400 Battery
2016 Electra Townie Go Stitched Leatherette Grips
2016 Electra Townie Go Color Matched Fenders Chain Guard
2016 Electra Townie Go Shimano Nexus Internally Geared Hub
2016 Electra Townie Go
2016 Electra Townie Go Spanninga Integrated Headlight
2016 Electra Townie Go Twist Shifter
2016 Electra Townie Go Frame Types
2016 Electra Townie Go Comparison
2016 Electra Townie Go Electric Bike Review
2016 Electra Townie Go Azure Step Thru
2016 Electra Townie Go Bosch Performance Cruise Motor
2016 Electra Townie Go Powerpack 400 Battery
2016 Electra Townie Go Stitched Leatherette Grips
2016 Electra Townie Go Color Matched Fenders Chain Guard
2016 Electra Townie Go Shimano Nexus Internally Geared Hub
2016 Electra Townie Go
2016 Electra Townie Go Spanninga Integrated Headlight
2016 Electra Townie Go Twist Shifter
2016 Electra Townie Go Frame Types
2016 Electra Townie Go Comparison

Summary

  • The best Electra Townie Go! design I've tested to date, better weight distribution, increased efficiency and greater power thanks to the Bosch Performance Cruise drive system
  • Available in six different colors with matching aluminum fenders, chain guard, rims and carry rack, integrated LED lights front and rear, comfortable leather saddle with matching stitched grips
  • Available in two frame styles, high-step and step-thru, but only one size for each, no bottle cage mounting points but the rear rack is completely open and uses standard sized tubing for full compatibility clip-on panniers
  • Weaker roller style "band activated" brakes require more strength to use and seem to stop the bike slower, this is a heavier electric bike at ~58 lbs and neither wheel has quick release

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205
Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Electra

Model:

Townie Go!

Price:

$ 2729.00

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

58 lbs ( 26.3 kg ) (Step-Thru 58.5, High-Step 57.5)

Battery Weight:

5.3 lbs ( 2.4 kg )

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs ( 3.99 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Sizes:

15 in ( 38.1 cm )17 in ( 43.18 cm )

Geometry Measurements:

Step-Thru (19" Stand Over Height, 25" Reach, 72" Length), High-Step (31" Stand Over Height, 25.5" Reach, 72" Length)

Frame Material:

6061-T6 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Azure, Lime, Polished Silver, Army Green, Ebony, Graphite

Frame Fork Details:

Hi-Ten Steel Unicrown, Straight Tapered Leg

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Nexus Inter-8 Internally Geared Hub

Shifter Details:

Shimano Nexus 8-Speed Grip Twist

Cranks:

Forged FSA Alloy, 170 mm, Shimano 20T Cog

Pedals:

Alloy Platform wtih Non-Slip Rubber Tread

Headset:

1 1/8" Steel Threaded Semi-Integrated

Stem:

Forged Alloy, 22.2 mm Quill

Handlebar:

Townie 6061-T6 Alloy, Swept-Back

Brake Details:

Shimano Inter-M Roller Brakes with Shimano Nexus Alloy 4-Finger Levers (Reach Adjustable)

Grips:

Electra Semi-Ergonomic, Saddle-Matched Stitchd Leatherette

Saddle:

Velo Ergonomic with Shock-Absorbing Elastomers

Seat Post:

Alloy Double Bolt Micro Adjust

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Electra Custom Alloy Painted 36H

Spokes:

14G Stainless, Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Fat Frank Balloon, 26" x 2.35"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Tire Details:

Active Line K-Guard Puncture-Resistant Kevlar Casing, 67TPI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Alloy Rear Rack, Spanniga LED Front (Kendo) and Rear (Pixeo) Lighting Set, ABUS Frame Lock, Painted Aluminum Fenders, Painted Rims, Massload Alloy Double-Prong Kickstand, Stainless Steel and Anti-Rust Hardware

Other:

Micro USB Charging Port on Display, Hold Reset and Information Button to Enter Settings (Navigate with Information Button, Select with Lighting Button), KMC X10e Chain 1/2' x 3/32"

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Cruise, Gen 2

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles ( 32 km )

Estimated Max Range:

110 miles ( 177 km )

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph ) (25 km/h in Europe)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The 2016 Electra Townie Go! switched from using a SRAM hub motor and rear mounted battery pack to the Bosch Centerdrive which is better in pretty much every way. Now, it is more expensive than the 2014 and 2015 models at $2,727 and it does weigh more at ~58 lbs but you get an eight speed internally geared drivetrain and a lot more power that produces less noise when running! With a top speed of ~20 mph and an integrated rear rack the Townie Go! would make a decent commuter but it’s really best suited to relaxed neighborhood riding. There are four levels of pedal assist to work with here and the lowest, Eco mode, will move the bike at a slower speed for people who want to take it easy. The oversized Schwalbe balloon tires function almost like a basic suspension in that they absorb cracks and bumps as you ride, they do weigh a bit more but the contact patch is enlarged and they feel pretty stable. At 26″ in diameter they don’t lift the frame as high as more traditional 700c (28″) wheels and tires but you still get reflective sidewall stripes and Kevlar lining for safety and durability.

Driving this bike is a 350 watt Bosch Performance Cruise motor that measures bike speed, pedal speed and pedal torque (up to 1,000 per second) for instantaneous starts and stops. The motor spins your chainring that’s about half the size of most traditional rings and this higher RPM delivers a wider range of pedaling speeds in my experience. When you shift, the motor responds and eases off so as not to mash gears or put strain on the chain. Powering the motor and integrated Spanninga lights is a 36 volt 11 amp hour battery running on Samsung Lithium-ion cells. It’s the same Bosch PowerPack 400 I’ve seen for the past year and a half on other models here in the US and it works just as well. You can charge it on or off the frame and it locks securely but make sure you push hard when re-attaching it to the frame so that you hear a click and know that it’s fully connected. Just like the 2015 model this latest Townie Go! features a cafe lock that disables the rear wheel for quick stops around town – saving the hassle and discomfort of carrying a u-lock or chain.

The biggest takeaway from this review should be that the Electra Townie Go! with Bosch drive system is more expensive but it’s way better and quite worth the price in my opinion. Range is more than doubled, the frame is stiffer and better balanced, you get more gears to pedal with and while there still isn’t any sort of suspension on the bike it rides very comfortably with balloon tires, padded grips, oversized saddle, swept back bars and the signature “Flat Foot” seating position that brings pedals forward vs. straight down. The two frames are very similar in weight, come in a wide range of colors and are warrantied for two years by Trek (which acquired Electra in 2014). If you enjoy riding but are struggling to keep up with a friend, scale hills or fight the wind the electric Townie Go! will become your best friend, I am not exaggerating. The motor and battery are overkill but not in a bad way, they operate quietly but can climb almost anything, the display panel is large and easy to read with an intuitive button pad (easy to reach and use even without looking down). This is my favorite cruiser style electric bike to date.

Pros:

  • All Electra bicycles have to be shipped to a local Trek retailer but this is free of charge and from there some retailers will deliver to your house
  • Awesome two year comprehensive warranty, they recommend storing the battery in a dry room at 60° to 70° Fahrenheit and keeping it fully charged, expect a 5% degrade each year
  • Patented Flat Foot frame design positions the cranks and pedals forward for a more relaxed “legs out” ride style, kind of like sitting on a couch vs. a bar stool, this is enhanced with swept back handlebars and an oversized comfort saddle
  • The Bosch motor is extremely responsive and powerful delivering 60 Newton meters of torque, it keeps weight low and centered on the frame for improved handling
  • The Bosch battery pack can be charged on or off the frame, has a cool integrated loop for easier carrying and the way it’s mounted on the bike is much better than the older rack style batteries used by Electra Townie Go! models, the frame is less flexy, the display panel is also removable
  • Schwalbe Fat Frank Balloon tires look great and come in different colors to compliment the frames, they have integrated reflective sidewalls for safety, Kevlar lining for greater protection against flats and soften the ride by being squishy (absorbing cracks and bumps like suspension)
  • Integrated front and rear LED lights by Spanninga run off the main battery and are controlled through the Bosch Intuvia display panel! You need not worry about replacing batteries separately or turning each light off after a ride… it’s all one system and even the display panel is backlit
  • The fenders, rims and chain guard are all custom painted, sometimes the same color as the frame and other times to compliment the tires but it looks great in both cases
  • Most of the wires for shifting, braking and running the electric drive system are either run through the frame downtube or fastened in such a way that they are hidden and well protected
  • This ebike comes with an integrated cafe lock from ABUS that allows you to disable the rear wheel, perfect for deterring theft for quick stops without having to carry a large cable or u-lock
  • The internally geared hub offers eight speeds which is perfect for slower riding, climbing or hitting the top speed of ~20 mph but being internal it stays cleaner, can be shifted at standstill and allows the chain to be shorter and tighter, it probably requires less maintenance and is definitely less vulnerable than a traditional derailleur
  • The double-leg kickstand is very stable, it keeps the bike upright and makes loading the rear rack much easier than if you only had a single side stand, note that the stand is also adjustable on both sides for use on slanted terrain
  • The LCD display panel is backlit, removable for safer storage and even has a built in micro USB port that can be used for charging portable electronics like a cell phone for music or GPS applications, you’ll need a cable like this for most Samsung phones and an adapter like this for newer iOS devices

Cons:

  • There are no water bottle cage mounting points on either frame style, it seems like the high-step would have had room on the seat tube but they didn’t add them, consider a bar cup holder or a trunk bag with bottle slot like this
  • In my experience the Shimano Roller band brakes don’t stop as quickly as v-brakes or disc brakes, they look nice and even have heat sink fins that sort of look like disc brakes but they use a band inside and require a bit more pulling effort to stop
  • As with most cruiser style electric bikes, the Townie Go! weighs a bit more than a standard city bike, the frame is larger, the saddle and handle bar are larger and the internally geared hub adds a bit of weight as well, thankfully the battery is removable for reducing weight during transport but it only weighs ~5.5 lbs so the bike will still be heavy
  • Mid-drive electric bikes tend to be easier for bike shops to work on because the wheels and drivetrains are mostly unchanged, this also means that they work well with quick release systems but the Townie Go! does not offer this, it uses standard threaded axles with nuts that require tools to work on
  • The battery requires a stronger push to fully click onto the frame, make sure you hear the click or it could get knocked off and fall to the ground (scraping or even cracking the plastic cover)
  • Walk assist appears to be de-activated on the Bosch system, this would be a nice feature given the heavier weight of the Townie Go! and I’m not sure why Bosch hasn’t allowed it (possibly to strictly adhere to the Class 1 category of ebikes in the USA? I hope they enable it on future versions)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Electra Reviews

2014 Electra Townie Go Review

  • MSRP: $ 2200.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Comfortable, simple to use and affordable cruiser style electric bike built on the proven Electra Townie platform. The SRAM EMATIC system has no computer to mess with, no extra cables or settings…...

2013 Electra Townie Go Review

  • MSRP: $ 2200.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Proven platform, Electra's Townie is comfortable, durable and stylish. Incredibly simple and clean, no computer to mess with, no extra cables or settings...

Klatuu
7 months ago

That is the most beautiful e-bike I've seen! But what I want to know is what helmet are you wearing in the video?

Court Rye
7 months ago

Hey Klatuu, cool name :D I agree with you, the Townie Go! is one of the most beautiful bikes I've tested and the different colors are awesome... To answer your question though, I'm wearing a helmet from Specialized called the Echelon II size Medium 54-60 cm (here's a product page for the standard Echelon, not sure of the differences but you can search Google for the Echelon II for sale). I like this helmet because it's bright white with reflectors built on and has an adjustable plastic slider at the back (with a little plastic wheel you twist). I'm able to wear it with my glasses and have owned it for over five years at this point and it's doing well. I visited Specialized HQ in Morgan Hill California last year and got to see some of their new equipment (including helmets) they explained that as the foam and plastic becomes brittle or if you hit your head moderately hard even once it's good to get a replacement so I may be due, I've enjoyed it a lot though and hope this feedback helps you find one yourself!

Justin
7 months ago

In the review this bike is referred to as a great neighborhood bike, but perhaps not the best for longer commutes. I was just wondering your opinion on why? If this were a non-electric bike, the weight and inefficiency of it would certainly disqualify it. However, as an electric bike I would think that these would not be an issue when looking for the perfect commuter. What are the criteria that would make up an excellent electric commuter bike? I'm looking to purchase a bike for my wife who commutes 10 miles each way (80% bike path).

Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi Justin! Sorry for the confusion... the Bosch powered Townie Go! would make an excellent commuter because it's capable of traveling further per charge, is relatively comfortable and has the rear rack for cargo. There are ways it could be further improved for trekking or touring (suspension fork, suspension seat post, more active seating). I guess my comment in the video was more about ride style. The "Flat Foot" pedal position doesn't always feel right to me for spinning quickly and offers less leverage for the legs... The trade off is a more upright body position and comfort. Since this is a Class 1 ebike you have to pedal and sometimes the wider saddle (which is often mounted lower by riders) creates a scrunched leg situation that can strain knees. I would consider the Kalkhoff Tasman Classic a more active long range commuter but the Townie is similarly capable if you set it up right. An ideal long-range commuter would be the Kalkhoff Agattu Impulse with the suspension fork and post (and like the Tasman Classic the pedals are more directly below vs. forward). I realize these are subtle differences, sorry to throw you off with the comment in-video. The Townie Go! Rocks and would probably be just fine, I see so many electric bikes that I can get a bit more critical at times and really zero in on the differences ;)

Odette
5 months ago

Hi I'm interested to buy that bike but I am just wondering if there is a maximum weigh for riding this bike ?

Court Rye
5 months ago

Great question Odette, I am not completely sure but most ebikes I see out there limit weight at 250 or 300 lbs. My guess is that the Electra Townie Go! is similar but you could contact your local Trek dealer and ask them to be sure :) if you find out please comment here again to help others and I will add the information in the review!

Mark
5 months ago

I'm looking at the Townie Go for cruising the neighborhood which includes some fairly steep hills. The Bosch system is 350 watts with a 36 v 11ah battery. I've been comparing it to the Bafang bbsd at 1000 w and 48 v 15-29 ah battery. Is it that more efficient? It seems underpowered for a guy like me who weighs over 200 lbs, yet in the review you stated it is overkill. Thanks for your reply!

Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Mark! If you do get a Bafang mid drive I recommend the 750 watt or even 500 watt BBS02 models vs. the BBSHD because it is illegal at 1,000 watts unless used on private property or off-road. The US limit is 750 watts or less and 20 mph or less with a throttle and both of those requirements are satisfied by the Bosch mid-drive (and other consumer ebikes). In my experience, it's enough power and way more responsive and refined than the BBS02 but it is weaker and you don't get a throttle... I don't use the throttle as much now that I'm fully accustomed to riding electric bicycles. I like to pedal and feel the zoom of the motor helping, it feels natural and comfortable but there are advantages to power on demand, especially if your legs get tired or the street is wet or you need help getting going. E-Rad makes my favorite version of the BBS02 because it has shift sensing and can be made to fit a wide range of models. They also sell completely built electric bikes (the bike, the battery and the motor all combined just like the Electra Townie Go!) I hope these suggestions help you. If you live near a Trek dealer and can try the Townie Go! I would highly recommend it, you'd get excellent support and warranty by working with a local ebike shop but if you live near Las Vegas you could do the same thing with E-Rad because that's where their headquarters is now :D

Mark
5 months ago

Thanks Court! Townie Go's are very hard to find and there aren't any dealers locally that have one in stock to test ride. My wife and I plan on riding together. Our rides will be casual and certainly nothing over 20 mph so we liked the idea of a Townie Go. It also fits our other requirements such as fenders, comfort, upright riding position and wide tires. One downside is the cost to replace the battery. At $800 or more it is about twice the cost of a battery for a Bafang kit. It would be great if someone would produce an aftermarket battery for the Bosch mid drive at a substantial savings.

We may have to buy one sight unseen if we decide on the Townie, a little on the risky side. One other question, when you test rode the Townie with the Bosch motor, was there any resistance from the motor itself when you pedaled without electric assist? Your reviews and posts have been invaluable in this process of selecting the right ebike! Thank you so much! Mark

Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Mark, I cannot say for sure whether the motor creates resistance to pedaling... certainly the gear system that spins the sprocket at 2:1 will reduce efficiency but in my experience it's hardly noticeable. When you coast, the rear wheel freewheels just like any ordinary bicycle so there's no drag like you might find on a gearless direct drive hub motor (many of which offer regenerative braking to offset that cogging drag). I'm being very objective here, yes there will be some resistance. In practice, it's not something I've ever noticed and while the battery packs for Bosch tend to cost more that's in part due to the extremely high quality. Also, since they use the same pack for all of their designs 2013-2016 and possibly beyond... you have a large pool to draw from vs. something more custom. My Uncle has had and used a Haibike with the Bosch drive system for over a year and a half now riding every single day to work and back... sometimes for fun in the mountains or around town too, and he hasn't noticed much degredation (and this is in Colorado where the temperature can range from below freezing to over 100 degrees). I think Bosch makes one of the best systems around and would actually see the Townie Go! as a lower risk "sight unseen" purchase. This is the third generation of the bike, they are now owned by Trek (one of the largest manufacturers worldwide) and Bosch is a clear leader. You and your wife will likely have a wonderful experience with the bikes. Here's a video I shot with my Uncle discussing his Bosch powered ebike :)

Mark
5 months ago

Thanks again Court. Your research is invaluable to those of us shopping for ebikes. Btw we are not going into this totally blind. We have test ridden Pedego Interceptors and I have test ridden a Pedego Ridge Rider to get a feel for the difference between pedal assist and torque assist. We also rented Pedego bikes that were throttle only. We went to a local Trek store that had non-motorized Townies and rode several of them. I'm reasonably certain that a Townie Go will work just fine for my wife who is petite and in great shape. I plan to buy her a Townie Go that she can enjoy and then see if it will handle my larger size especially up the hills in our area. If it does then I'll buy a second one for me. If not, then I'll be back with more questions. Thanks for helping.

Court Rye
5 months ago

Sounds good Mark, hope everything works out! I bet your wife will love the bike :)

Denise
4 months ago

Can this bike successfully pull a standard large dog trailer? I have a 110 lb pitbull that had surgery on both knees. He misses our long walks so I figured I could tow him around instead. This prompted my research into electric bikes. I'm petite and nearly 50 so it would be impossible without the electronic assistance.

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Denise! My opinion on this is yes, a strong yes :) I don't want you to be disappointed and suppose there are many factors to consider here like the trailer you get, how heavy you are, the terrain, even wind but the Bosch mid-drive is very powerful in my experience. Here's another review with a video of me climbing a very steep mountain with nearly the same motor from Bosch doing just fine.

Denise
4 months ago

Thanks for the quick reply. I'm running into a problem with the attachment of the trailer to the back fork of the Townie Go! because of it's single chain setup. But I really love the Townie Go!. Can you recommend a similar bike. I can then research that. Your reviews are the best I've ever seen regardless of the product. You have made this decision much easier for me.

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Denise! I'm so glad the site has helped... sorry to hear that the Townie Go! doesn't seem to be compatible with your trailer. I've heard that there are multiple attachment designs out there and that some people make custom adapters. If you like the Townie Go! maybe it would be cheaper to find someone locally at a machine shop to make you a special adapter? The same sorts of issues could crop up with other models (most of which use hub motors) and that will add more complexity to the rear of the bike. The neat thing about the Townie Go! is that it uses a mid-drive. Also, you could ask in the Forums and try to get help from Ann M. who is a moderator there, she has experience with ebikes and could help to point you in the right direction or add more creative thoughts.

Leslie
4 months ago

I just purchased 3 days ago from my favorite local bike dealer the azure colored Townie Go! 8i. They didn't expect to get it in until December 2016 and one came in so I was the lucky one who got it. I want to thank you for the excellent review video you did on this electric-assist bike. Your video was so thorough in explaining everything regarding the Townie Go!. You helped me learn very quickly all the features and how to use them. I can't thank you enough for taking the time to create this video. I hope it stays on this website so that I can refer back to it whenever needed. I like your very clear style of explaining things and providing your opinion on what you really like about the bike and what could be better. This is one of the best review videos I've seen. THANK YOU!

Court Rye
3 months ago

Wow, thank you SO much for all of the compliments and feedback Leslie! I really enjoy helping people, especially with technology that I view as healthy and positive but it's a lot of work and can be exhausting to travel, shoot, edit, write etc. comments like yours make it all worth while. I too hope that this site can continue to offer honest, objective information (and comments!) for years to come. Enjoy your bike, I think you chose very well with the Townie Go! :)

Leslie
3 months ago

Hi Court, thanks very much for your reply back to my comment. I forgot to add that, not only do I absolutely love riding my Townie Go and love how it looks, but I actually chose to buy this specific bike based on your review. I originally rode my very first electric bike in Kauai last October and enjoyed riding it so much that I knew my next bike would be electric. Last month, there was an electric bike Expo in our area and I had the opportunity to ride many different brands of electric bikes. I actually never saw the Townie Go while there (although my bike dealer said they had them at the Expo) but there were so many bikes to test ride I just never saw it. (On a side note, I did learn from the bike dealer that the bike I rode in Kauai was a true electric bike with a throttle and I didn't have to pedal, whereas the bikes at the Expo were all electric-assist where you do have to pedal.) Anyway, I digress...of all the bikes I rode at the Expo I thought I liked the Trek the best so as I was doing some research online I came across your review of the Townie Go. I liked your review so much that I went to my bike dealer and asked to ride one. He didn't have any of the step through bikes but he had the high step like the one you have in your video that I rode. The rest is history but I credit you and your video for my choice of the Townie Go. I was even willing to wait until December 2016 to get it but, as luck would have it, one azure step through came in to the dealer and since I was on the waiting list they called me first.

A question I have for you is that I don't like not being able to see traffic behind me while riding. Is there a mirror that will fit on the Townie Go that you would recommend? I prefer not to use the mirror that you can attach to your glasses.

Again, I thank you for an awesome video. I have watched it 5 times now as I try to learn everything about my new bike.

Court Rye
3 months ago

Wow, I have never been to Hawaii but it looks beautiful... neat place to experience your first electric bike ride. I bet you were on Pedego models right? They have dealerships in Hawaii and their bikes have throttles as well as assist and they even kind of look like the Electra Townie Go! cruisers. I'm glad your dealer was able to get you a model, did you know that Trek bought Electra a year or two back? It's interesting that Trek was your first choice after the Ebike Expo and that you ended up with a Trek-owned model :P

Regarding mirrors and safety... I always ride with a helmet and there are special mirrors you can stick to the side of them like this but if that's too much like the glasses mirror you said you didn't like then consider a bar-end mirror like this. Usually you can stick one of these into the handle bar tube and adjust it to work much like an automobile side mirror.

Leslie
3 months ago

Hey Court! You definitely need to get to Hawaii sometime. I've been to all the islands and they each bring something different so it's worth it to see them all if you get the chance. I can't remember now what brand or model electric bike I rode in Kauai. I did know at the time but once I found out they were about 5K I knew that was more than I would be willing to pay for a bike. I actually told you a half truth when i said the Trek e-bike was my favorite of the ones I rode at the Expo. I should have said it was my favorite in my price category. My most favorite was the Stromer ST1 and ST2 but the price tag at 4 and 5K was again more than I wanted to pay. I am very satisfied with my Townie Go!

Thank you for the recommendations for the mirrors. I appreciate it. You are totally awesome about helping others! Now all I need is a rear rack trunk bag. If you have a favorite, please let me know. I don't need one with panniers as I only need to carry wallet, keys, water, etc. Thanks again!

Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Leslie! Hawaii is on my list... will try to visit as many spots as I can :) it's cool to hear that you liked the Stromer bikes, they offer a really quiet, smooth and powerful feel but indeed, the price tag is higher!

Regarding bags, I have owned a couple of these (got one for my Mom to use on her bike and it has worked great for over a year). A friend of mine recently bought this one which I think looks a little nicer. Both of these bags have a bottle holster which is cool, it's a little tight but still useful if your bike doesn't have a bottle cage (like the Townie Go!)

Rob
2 months ago

Court: Thanks for all the reviews. I must have watched nearly all of them before settling on the Electra Townie Go 8i, Army Grey with the spectacular red tires. It will arrive in just 2 days at my local Trek shop. Your reviews are an incredible service. Thank you. Rob Price

Court Rye
2 months ago

Great choice Rob, Electra really nailed it with their latest models (love that they come in multiple colors and the high-step/low-step configuration. I'm sure you'll have a great time, hopefully the Trek dealer treats you right, it's nice having a larger company for the support and fit services. Appreciate your kind words :)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

J.R.
1 week ago
Berry78
Holy cow...good thing I'm a slow decision maker! Definitely want a system that will multiply...

Unfortunately most of the ebike shops in MD are in the flatter areas...but if anyone knows a shop in a hilly area, I can consider driving... (probably can't get to the west coast though).
There are several Trek dealers between Breezewood and Pittsburgh, PA. Most of the Trek Dealers are carrying their ebike line and Bosch powered Electra Townie Go ebikes. You won't find steeper road hills to climb anywhere in the world. Literally, see this thread about their hills.

Also, to see and test ride many ebikes in one place, attend the ebike expo in Washington DC.

http://www.electricbike-expo.com/locations/washington-dc/
Dominique Séguier
1 week ago
View attachment 10235
Cnugget
@Dominique Séguier Did you buy different handle bars or did you just rotate the factory ones? I was surprised because I thought that the Townie handle bars were really nice for comfort and turning.
I changed it for a "Beach cruiser bullhorn" handlebar.
The original handlebar is really too short, if you want a relaxing riding position.
Cnugget
2 weeks ago
@Dominique Séguier Did you buy different handle bars or did you just rotate the factory ones? I was surprised because I thought that the Townie handle bars were really nice for comfort and turning.
Dominique Séguier
2 weeks ago
Peter R.
My wife has a problem in her wrists and needs a more relaxed riding position than the stock Radwagon bars allow. I'm thinking cruiser bars or something like them. I have a butterfly bar kicking around but I can't get all the devices mounted due to space and ergonomic constraints. There are constraints caused by the space needed for controls and display and the wiring may not be long enough to reach the controls on the new bar.

Has anyone else done this modification?
I had the same problem with mi Electra Townie 8i, you have to be really careful about the space needed by the shifting gear control on the right side.
I had no problem with the wiring.

Before :
View attachment 10202

After :
View attachment 10205
MLB
3 months ago
JoePah
https://www.specialized.com/us/en/bikes/mountain/turbolevofsrcomp6fattie/113963

$5500 MSRP

EBikes have arrived in Miami! A very well respected bike store near UM, called Mack Cycles, is now carrying electric bikes.. Specialized, Cannondale (who knew?) and Townie.

The Turbo Levo is a proprietary motor/battery/frame from Specialized.. Very light.. 45lbs and it is cleverly built in with motor and battery. If you believe the salesman, the bike is good for 5 hours of track use. He also told me that the same people who designed the iPhone battery designed this pack.. :::eyeroll:::

What I really like about this bike is that it addresses my concerns about eBikes on bike trails...The bike has a built in power meter, and it will not add more than 100% of your pedal power with the motor. This will limit the acceleration and give a lot more foot control. 3" low pressure tires give plenty of grip over anything.

Rode it around the parking lot, didn't seem any more responsive than any other ebike i've ridden.. hard to say... Not a roadie bike. .Strictly off road. Hoping they have a demo day at the Virginia Key MTB trails...

Maybe Court can get some saddle time?
Nice bike, as it should be for the price. What motor are they using?
Worth noting that ALL Ebikes have "power meter" that limits power. They are the Levels and each corresponds to an equivilancy of human power. IE: Eco = .50 x human power, Norm = 1.0 x human power, Sport = 2.0 human, etc etc. They may all vary, and use different labels, but all restrict the power by levels.
rick-n-ns
4 months ago
Robert hi,
Here is one other suggestion.
Biktrix Stunner
http://www.biktrix.com/collections/bikes/products/biktrix-stunner
It's a cruiser, $1900.oo, cheaper than townie go, and will have more hill power than the Interceptor, your 2 choices in the first post.

I got one of the first ones this year, have 780 miles on it since the snow left. It will climb the hills as stated. I live on English Mtn. Rd. that rises 600 feet, an average of 8%, and some sections are steeper. I do that hill on PAS level 2 out of 5, I pedal like I'm on the level, and do it three times faster than I did before E-bike.

Just one more model to consider.

PS, since that pic. on their website is of a prototype, the bike actually comes with the so-called shark pack battery, better looking IMO. Also the color is much closer to black, than the grey looking picture.....I'll see if I can find my post when mine arrived.....
J.R.
4 months ago
Robert Smith
Thank you all for the advice. The fellow at crazylenny recommended a 2015 evo easy ride 650B, as I would like to be able to ride on gravel bike trails, etc. He said the riding position as halfway between upright cruiser and the forward. $2280 plus shipping. That sound right to you guys?
I started to post on your initial post, then you hit the thread with the BH Easy Motion Evo 650b. I'm a little biased there, as I own a very similar bike, it's big brother (size only, not power) the Evo 29'er. I love my bike and Lenny's. I also think the first two bikes in your first post are very good bikes and are worth a look. As you know already though, cruisers won't be as good powering up hills. Personally I prefer torque sensing pedal assist and the Townie Bosch and Easy Motion both have torque sensing PAS. For that matter any Bosch or Easy Motion bike will. Most important is fit, comfort and enough power, you won't ride any ebike unless it has those.
twoxootrs
4 months ago
Hi Will...

I purchased an EVO Toba HB-1 Disc with the Bionx D500 motor. I am 6' 2" and 250lbs. So far, I have 42 miles on the bike and it has performed nicely. I purchased mine from CrazyLenny and had it checked over by a local Bionx dealer. He noted that EVO did a nice job of including some upgraded parts on this bike, e.g., Deore gearset, internal cable routing, and good disc brakes.

I like the bike for hill climbing and descending. The regen feature really helps slow me down on steep descents with greater ease than trying to judiciously apply the disc brakes. On steep hills, the Bionx "mountain mode" keeps giving steady power all the way up the hill without overheating. I have used the throttle sparingly and am it does generate a sizable boost on the flat which I found surprising for my weight. I found my overall average speed easily increased from 11 to 16mph on the Ebike which has been a nice surprise. Note, that the Bionx motor cuts out at 20mph so if you are looking for speed, you will have to generate it on your own past the 20mph point.

At 55, I love cruising the flatlands on my Electra 8i balloon tire Townie. But for extended touring with persistent hills, I will rely on my Evo E-bike to make the ride more enjoyable.

Good luck with your research. I spent 8 enjoyable months reading and asking questions. In the end, I selected Bionx based on my estimation for quality and engineering. I'm surprised they have not partnered with more Bike companies for a turnkey product but was happy to find that Hawley is distributing the Canadian EVO bikes in the U.S. Since there are comparatively few Ebike dealers in the Maryland area I relied on the info from EVO and other websites to review the frame geometry and parts description before purchase. Len gave me a very fair price, packed the bike like it was his child, and shipped immediately (as in I bought it Friday and he had it on a truck with tracking info on Monday.)

MJ in MD
rick-n-ns
5 months ago
I own stunner, and I like it a lot, it does have QR wheels.
I believe it would get more range than the fat tire bike, but don't know that for fact.
I also believe that 2.3 inch wide tires are plenty for dirt riding.
First I like to ask 1:15 commute, at what speed ? Never mind I checked your link. You can do that trip in one hour quite easy, on assist level 3 on stunner, and will have enough battery to do the round trip, so far I've got 40 miles on assist level 2 averaging 12-15 MPH, and probably have quite a bit more hills than you on this particular trip.

For a daily rider you'll want fenders for either. I'm still looking for something that suits me, I got speed shield for Giant, the fenders themselves are OK , but the stays suck, and are unacceptable. I got a pair for Electra townie balloon, but they are too wide, and also unacceptable.
twoxootrs
5 months ago
Thanks for all the useful advice. I had a great time researching the full range of e-bikes over the past 7 months and this site is just plain addicting when it comes to the hands-on reviews and videos.

After considering the advice generously offered in response to my original post and much research as to my own preferences, I purchased an Evo Toba HB1-Disc with the Bionx D500 system factory installed.

Per the sound recommendation to obtain local support, I contacted Bob of Bob's Bikes in Poolesville, MD and he graciously agreed to service my internet purchase. Bob is a retired Electrical Engineer, Bike Shop Owner, and Lead Mechanic who has been selling Bionx for about 10 years. He is very passionate about Bionx and it is the only electric bike he sells/installs.

Although my bike arrived pre-assembled via internet purchase from another shop, Bob gave it a thorough review and completed the following. Trued and dished both wheels. Reversed the rear tire which was installed backwards!...I had no idea the Marathon tires have a directional arrow on the side. Hooked up a disconnected data cable. Torqued the nuts to the Bionx required spec. Repaired a warped rotor. Adjusted front and rear disc pads. Tested the battery and programmed the software. Tuned the gears and tested all. Bob explained that none of these adjustments were cause for concern and all bike shops routinely perform similar service on new bikes...as he noted, it's just the nature of the beast and that's where bike shops earn their value.

The added bonus I enjoyed the most was talking with Bob for about an hour when I picked up the bike today. In addition to explaining the best operating pointers for the Bionx system, the man is a treasure trove of general bike knowledge and especially entertaining when he talks about the history of electric bikes. He has a great anecdote on selling Lee Iacocca's EV Global 36v SLA bike in 1999 along with many other stories. If he writes a book, I'll buy it!

The HB-1 fits nicely in our minivan and is the right weight for comfortable one person loading and unloading...even with the battery it weighs less than my Electra Townie 8i Balloon Cruiser. Well, the bike rides like a dream and I am thankful to our friend in Wisconsin for a nice deal. So far, the features I enjoy most about the HB-1 are the smooth quiet power and the fit for my 6'2" 250lb frame. After completing several long rides, I'll weigh the purchase of a BodyFloat seatpost because I admire the design and am all for a smoother ride.

I'm looking forward to trying out "mountain mode" on a large hill near my home and also giving the battery a thorough range test. Our favorite way to enjoy biking is to explore small towns where traffic is not dangerous. With this new bike, I plan to see every inch of my own town and then spiral out to the hidden areas in surrounding states. Now, if I can just convince the mercury in the thermometer to rise past the 50 degree mark and stay there I'll be set. Happy riding.
Tonk
5 months ago
I've ridden a townie before & I don't disagree with you. Reasoning behind the BBSHD is not to optimize it's capabilities necessarily but if I'm going to invest in a build then as the saying goes "better to have it & not need it than need it & not have it". Besides 20mph is the legal limit & I'm good with that. Even at 20mph I'm going to have to be extremely lucky not to ruin my day, maybe even a week or month, if I biff. I've had a front blow out before coming down a hill in a turn. Fortunately I was young & could jump tall buildings at the time, still lost my shirt & half my shorts, lol good times.

To clarify I'm not looking for a whole bike necessarily. Just a frame as I don't need the rest, I've got that. But it does have to be some form of flat foot cruiser design that will allow the addition of rear gearing etc. as mentioned above. I checked out bikesdirect but they didn't have any geared cruisers that appealed to me. I'm trying to find out if gearing & disk brakes can be added to a single speed frame but I wouldn't think there's room. A Townie 7D is $500. plus not including tax and in my neighborhood if you can find a second hand one they're asking almost as much. I don't see the value of paying that when everything but the frame is useless to me, $2-300. maybe.
George S.
5 months ago
The Townie is mentioned in this article.

https://www.electricbike.com/bafang-bbso2-750w-mid-drive/

The 7D is fairly basic, available at many bike shops for about $450. Since it has rim brakes and no suspension fork, an HD might be too fast. Remember that the 02 will pull 1200 watts, it's just not designed to climb steep hills all day.

I would test or rent a 7D, see how you like the ride position. How fast you might want to go on one is up to you. :D

This builder is running a LOT of power with a Townie, but with a heavy rear hub.

http://electricbike.com/forum/forum/kits/golden-motor-magic-pie/214-magic-pie-v5-with-electra-townie
Joe Remi
5 months ago
George S.
I agree with what Joe and Roy said. The top black bar is the bar that came standard on two of my bikes, and it is a disaster. From that bar I went to the lower black bar. It helped, higher and a little closer, but it was too flat. My last bar is the one in silver. It rises 3 inches but your hands are in more of a 'handshake' position. The bike in my member picture is a fake Townie. The rise here is maybe too much, and it starts to hurt my back a little. You can definitely experiment. Good grips can help, and padding on gloves. You might want to spend some time doing research on things like seat suspensions and front suspension forks.

View attachment 5912View attachment 5913
The first thing to do if you've never ridden an ebike before is to see how different positions feel with assist. I'm a recent convert - I have two assist and two non-assist bikes - and found I prefer flatbars a couple inches above saddle level with electric, which is a more relaxed position than I'm used to. Assist makes a drastic difference in how your body interacts with the bicycle.
George S.
5 months ago
I agree with what Joe and Roy said. The top black bar is the bar that came standard on two of my bikes, and it is a disaster. From that bar I went to the lower black bar. It helped, higher and a little closer, but it was too flat. My last bar is the one in silver. It rises 3 inches but your hands are in more of a 'handshake' position. The bike in my member picture is a fake Townie. The rise here is maybe too much, and it starts to hurt my back a little. You can definitely experiment. Good grips can help, and padding on gloves. You might want to spend some time doing research on things like seat suspensions and front suspension forks.

View attachment 5912View attachment 5913
Joe Remi
5 months ago
Tonk
Greetings all. I have done a decent amount of research but am still unsure what bike to get. I love to ride but have physical issues which puts me between 2 bike styles. I live in Sedona, AZ with very little flat riding & moderate to challenging elevation changes. I will be riding 60/70% paved, 30/40% maintained fire roads/trail, 10-40 miles at a time. This terrain suggests a MB but the forward lean along with the straight bar creates unbearable hand numbness within minutes if not seconds. Really enjoy cruisers but the forward crank positioning would make hill climbing difficult & road bikes are a no go. I've not been impressed with standard hybrids so I haven't considered them in ebikes but I've been wrong before.

I currently have an old school Giant ATX 880 MB that I converted to a beach/comfort cruiser by changing out to a C9 seat & swept back high rise hanger bars. Love to ride this around Mission Bay/PB area which I visit couple times a year but can't ride much at home due to hilly to mountainous terrain here.

57 yrs old, 5'9", 30" pants inseam, 235lbs. Besides being overweight I have multiple back issues of which one is ongoing nerve damage that effects my extremities. I need to lose weight & work my muscles but hate doing exercise just for the sake of exercising but I LOVE biking. An ebike seems to be a perfect solution. Like many I want the best bike for the least amount of money. I don't need anything more than a comfortable, durable ebike that does what it's supposed to, which is help me get out & ENJOY on the road conditions I have here. Running without peddling is of no interest to me so a throttle while nice in certain situations isn't necessary. I'm willing to spend for quality & performance but I don't need to impress anyone. $1000. - $3000. seems to be the range for what I need. Bikes I like but am unsure about due to above mentioned design flaws for my situation;
Low End - Xtreme Trail Maker, Xtreme X version,
Mid - Prodecotech Phantom X, Motiv Spark (cruiser), BME Shadow (my favorite MB)
High End (for me) - BME Nighthawk, Electra Townie Go (my favorite cruiser accept for price)

Being rural, test rides of any ebike is slim to none. Phoenix which is 90 miles one way is an option but then it's flat terrain down there which doesn't give me a real world testing. If you made it to here, thank you for your time. I would appreciate any knowledgeable input. This is a lot of money to me so help is appreciated.
You need to focus on riding position more than category of bicycle, in my opinion. Pretty much any mtb or hybrid can be outfitted with cruiser bars, so you would have the sweepback without the crank-forward pedal position. I don't know ebike models very well - I have two kitted bikes which I did myself - so I can't advise on them, but you should be able to make a decision based on the riding position you need.

Btw, the pedaling position for climbing will be much less important with assist. If you buy enough power for the hills you climb, you'll be sitting and spinning without major stress on the legs and back. It's a wonderful thing.
MLB
5 months ago
George S.
A real car replacement would be more of a challenge. Lots of things to consider like weight, bulk, seasonal issues. Not sure I could ride in the cold and snow.

I bought the bike I converted at the local bike shop. I've soured on Bikes Direct. Getting to know the owner means I can take a motor in, discuss some things he might do for me. The young assistant in his shop was aghast at all of it. :eek: I will get the usual free tune-ups. I just don't see the tension between LBS and Ebikes. The biggest bike shop in St. George sells Townie and Specialized ebikes, beside the non-powered version.

I thought the $2500 Haibike was real progress but they seemed to completely muck it up. Very few around and the closest dealer dropped the brand. The battery issues might keep me from ever buying a premium factory brand. All the ebikes are outstripping the standard battery sizes. DIY allows you to move with the tech. Batteries matter.
Why do batteries matter George?
I see endless discussion about battery size and much envious curiosity about newer and bigger.
If I didn't know better I'd think it was a metaphor for something else to do with size......
What I DON"T see is discussions about running out of juice and having to walk home.
I've had 4 E bikes, 2 now. The LEAST mileage was about 30-35 with the Stromer. The Haibike often shows that I'd get 50-60.

I've never ridden more than 25 on any of them for any 1 ride.
have you???
Most here's BUTT will give out long before their batteries do.
Not saying it's irrelevant, for some it is a factor. A few. A very few. ;)
Ann M.
5 months ago
@William Hemmingsen , just got off the phone with Rich Sathoff, owner of Electric Bicycle City/Electric Scooter City at
111 Seaboard Ave., Suite 110
Raleigh, North Carolina 27604
Phone: 919.832.5560
He's the specialist in Raleigh for electric bikes (and scooters) and would be a good starting point to explore an ebike in your city.

Allstarbike shop carries a couple of ebikes; however, more regular bikes.
Flythe Cyclery carries the Townie electric bikes; again more regular bikes
Triangle Glides focuses on a few of the A2B bikes but more on Segways
whydidyouresign
1 month ago
Drum brakes? Really?? Wonder if they can be changed out to a 21st century option....
JaxBicycleCenter
3 months ago
Great review.
MikeZ32TT
3 months ago
Thanks for all your reviews. Your channel is a great source of info. I appreciate it. I'm in search of a nice cruiser/comfortable style electric bike.
‫כרמל גור‬‎
7 months ago
You should review the bolt m1 its a really cool motorbike style e bike :)
GrimFaceHunter
7 months ago

+כרמל גור It will probably be on his other channel.
They avoided saying how much power Bolt's motor can output, but it is
probably well above the legal limits for bicycles, unless it is over sized
just for the looks.
The thing looks like it can easily handle 5KW.

‫כרמל גור‬‎
7 months ago

+GrimFaceHunter really? their site says that it doesnt need a licence. and
doesnt he has a moped licence because he did reviews on electric mopeds
already

GrimFaceHunter
7 months ago

+‫כרמל גור‬‎ Bolt is a moped. No matter what their website says, you will
need to register it and have a moped license for it. With that look, and
especially that huge motor you cannot get away with claims that it is
really a bicycle.

MotorheadRedo
7 months ago
I thought it would be convenient to own a cafe lock with the accessory cable for making quick stops at places like convenience stores, but they are very hard to find in the USA. The locks security rating is very low, but a very convenient lock to use. The more common name is frame lock, and their made by a company called AXA. I think the popular model is AXA Defender. They make accessory cables and chains that plug into the lock. Very popular in Europe but hard to find in the USA. It wouldn't surprise me if the AXA company phased them out, because they are so easily defeated, but very convenient to use for quick stops when the bicycle never leaves your line of site.
philodygmn
7 months ago
This *almost* edges out an eRad conversion of a regular Townie, for me, now, but no throttle, a weaker motor, questionable brake choice, no suspension, no walk mode, and a battery pack and electronics I'm not as confident in since they're less transparent than eRad about their supply chain plus eRad can convert one of the Townie balloon tire models still keep this from winning out, even despite having a slick integrated, removable display and lighting system with the nifty break-out control box on the handle (the battery-pack's carry handle is also nice). I only have eyes for mid-drives, at this point, though, for sure. Thank goodness Townie's no longer exclusively under Electra's quixotic direction, though I'd be disappointed if the Flat Foot design remains Electra exclusive, and I hope to see balloon -style models...
Al M
6 months ago

+philodygmn
Flat Foot design is not unique. There are other models with bottom bracket
forward of seat tube. Biktrix Stunner comes to mind, and few by Giant in
non-electric realm.

Agreed, no throttle and proprietary (= $$$ and less available) Bosch system
is a minus for many US consumers. Smallish battery. Make it 15 AH and add a
throttle, for God's sake.

Handlebar is not swept back - wasn't it supposed to be cruis-ish model?

On the esthetic side, battery blends in but the paint pattern of bottom
bracket makes motor stand out a bit.

Mark Elford
7 months ago
Good review, user friendly ebike. im a bosch fan.
gojo bojo
7 months ago
its expensive
Alc Anon
7 months ago
hey man is there a chance you doing e bike greyp review please
Alc Anon
7 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com
You are correct .
Maybe you can borrow from some fan or someone who has it. Because it is
pretty expensive and custom made.
Thank you for reply. Keep it rocking.

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 months ago

+Alc Anon Oh, I would love to! From what I can tell they're based in Europe
right? I'll keep an eye out but I have never seen one in a shop so doing a
review is difficult, I have so many ebikes to check out here in the USA
right now, maybe I'll make it to Europe later this year! This is the bike
you're talking about correct: http://www.greyp.com/

Monstah Jones
7 months ago
if there was one bike that had the potential to be an awesome cruiser it's the townie.. there's only two things I wish they'd do to this frame and that's shorten the head tube to allow for some other fork options ( it'd look beautiful with a monark springer in there ), and open up the rear of the frame for some wider rim sizes.. if they ever put these out with a fat rear ( 80 or 100mm ) I'd be down for one asap..
Monstah Jones
7 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com hey bloke, if you're ever considering a monark
fork, consider getting a sunlite from amazon like this
http://www.amazon.com/FORK-SPRINGER-SUNLT-300xTDLSx28-6x30-225mmSTACK/dp/B010TSRO7E/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1457402676&sr=8-6&keywords=sunlite+springer+fork
.. they really are built tough and well worth the money..

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 months ago

+Monstah Jones Oh wow, you're totally right! I love the look of that
Monarch Springer custom fork http://www.monarkforks.com/ hadn't thought
about the head tube length as a limiter for suspension... I like the idea
of fat tires as well but might explore the mid-sized 6-fatty that has
popped up on some of the Specialized ebikes and the OHM I reviewed late
last year: https://electricbikereview.com/ohm/sport-xs750-plus-16/

Douglas Kmiotek
7 months ago
OMG!!! I so want this bike. Arrghhh!!!
Douglas Kmiotek
7 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com I agree. This is a wonderful looking, and
performing, ebike. I hope I can get one by late summer. I'm in luv here,...
😍

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 months ago

+Douglas Kmiotek Yeah, they really nailed it with the Bosch system, the
Electra Townie has long been a popular bicycle and one of the first
conversions (Pedego used to convert Townie's into ebikes using kits before
building their own brand) and now I feel like they finally nailed it ;)

Ex13m1
7 months ago
bingo
Ex13m1
7 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com but i have Sduro Fullnine rx 2016 )

Ex13m1
7 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com I'm a fan of motor Bosh and Yamaha. I think that
the chopper with this engine is cool.

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 months ago

+Ex13m1 Oh yeah, I feel like they nailed it with this model and the price
is decent considering you get the Bosch drive system... Most bikes with
this motor were $4k+ in 2014 and 2015

bryphi77
7 months ago
I really like the style of the guys bike. I wish it had a really good hub motor instead of the center drive. I am not sold on the center drives yet. I know they have more torque, and can take advantage of the gears, but I really think that maintenance and drivetrain longevity are going to be a problem with center drive and regular bike components. I know I have mentioned this before, I am wondering if you have seen this in practice since you deal with so many of these bikes.
bryphi77
7 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com The thing is... The hub motors are actually taking
stress off the drivetrain, where the center drives are doing just the
opposite. I am sure there is a few year warranty, but does that cover the
chain or the expensive geared hub? And what after 2 years?
From my point of view when buying a product like this for practical reasons
longevity and cheap maintenance are my top priority.
I cant thank you enough for making these vids. The bikes are finally coming
down to a price / quality ratio that is closer to being based in reality. I
am going to get an e bike before summer hits, and I definitely have enough
knowledge from watching these vids to know exactly what I want... and don't
want.

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 months ago

+bryphi77 Hey! I've heard people express similar concern, specifically
about the Bosch system, but have never had a shop tell me that they saw one
break. You get a solid two year warranty with this bike and if anything
does go wrong with the motor they just swap it out with a brand new one. I
think it's the best cruiser style electric bike on the market right now and
the price is awesome compared with other high-quality offerings. If you
want more power and prefer a hub motor definitely check out the Pedego
Interceptor which is also an amazing electric cruiser:
https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/interceptor/ and note that you can
get this in step-thru and a smaller 24" wheel size step-thru for shorter
riders. Pedego has done a great job making their line accessible :)

Juan Nieve
7 months ago
Your audio is just superb, pristine and clear even outdoors, what is your setup? Anyway, I'd love to try those Bosch systems, nice bike btw.
Juan Nieve
7 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks for the information. Nah I'm not jumping in
the youtube biz, but I'm a sound engineer and was just wondering how you
get that audio so balanced, on headphones sounds just great :) thanks again!

ForbinColossus
7 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com amazing you havent dropped your camera! you've
become an expert in self action filming, if that the right way to say
it...Looks like the bosch kits have come down in price. It seems like this
townie is the lowest price bosch bike to date? Too bad about the oddball
brake system (I never heard of before).

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 months ago

+Juan Nieve Hi Juan, I use a GoPro 4 Silver (the one with the screen on the
back) and run it naked using a three axis motorized gimbal like this:
http://amzn.to/1QD0jvK and have glued a bit of dead-cat microphone cover
fur over the mic jack. Hope this helps you with whatever project you're
doing :D

John Moura
7 months ago
Nice bikes!
ElectricBikeReview.com
7 months ago

+John Moura Yeah, this one's a beauty ;)

yevgen chalyy
7 months ago
boa bicicleta
yevgen chalyy
7 months ago

Mej e carro,tenho meus amigos russos,q fazem bikes sozinho ,queria ver?

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 months ago

+yevgen chalyy sim! Ele funciona bem e parece muito bonito :)