Electra Townie Go! Review

2016 Electra Townie Go Electric Bike Review
2016 Electra Townie Go Azure Step Thru
2016 Electra Townie Go Bosch Performance Cruise Motor
2016 Electra Townie Go Powerpack 400 Battery
2016 Electra Townie Go Stitched Leatherette Grips
2016 Electra Townie Go Color Matched Fenders Chain Guard
2016 Electra Townie Go Shimano Nexus Internally Geared Hub
2016 Electra Townie Go
2016 Electra Townie Go Spanninga Integrated Headlight
2016 Electra Townie Go Twist Shifter
2016 Electra Townie Go Frame Types
2016 Electra Townie Go Comparison
2016 Electra Townie Go Electric Bike Review
2016 Electra Townie Go Azure Step Thru
2016 Electra Townie Go Bosch Performance Cruise Motor
2016 Electra Townie Go Powerpack 400 Battery
2016 Electra Townie Go Stitched Leatherette Grips
2016 Electra Townie Go Color Matched Fenders Chain Guard
2016 Electra Townie Go Shimano Nexus Internally Geared Hub
2016 Electra Townie Go
2016 Electra Townie Go Spanninga Integrated Headlight
2016 Electra Townie Go Twist Shifter
2016 Electra Townie Go Frame Types
2016 Electra Townie Go Comparison

Summary

  • The best Electra Townie Go! design I've tested to date, better weight distribution, increased efficiency and greater power thanks to the Bosch Performance Cruise drive system
  • Available in six different colors with matching aluminum fenders, chain guard, rims and carry rack, integrated LED lights front and rear, comfortable leather saddle with matching stitched grips
  • Available in two frame styles, high-step and step-thru, but only one size for each, no bottle cage mounting points but the rear rack is completely open and uses standard sized tubing for full compatibility clip-on panniers
  • Weaker roller style "band activated" brakes require more strength to use and seem to stop the bike slower, this is a heavier electric bike at ~58 lbs and neither wheel has quick release

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Electra

Model:

Townie Go!

Price:

$2,729

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

58 lbs (26.3 kg) (Step-Thru 58.5, High-Step 57.5)

Battery Weight:

5.3 lbs (2.4 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061-T6 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)17 in (43.18 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Step-Thru (19" Stand Over Height, 25" Reach, 72" Length), High-Step (31" Stand Over Height, 25.5" Reach, 72" Length)

Frame Types:

High-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Azure, Lime, Polished Silver, Army Green, Ebony, Graphite

Frame Fork Details:

Hi-Ten Steel Unicrown, Straight Tapered Leg

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Nexus Inter-8 Internally Geared Hub

Shifter Details:

Shimano Nexus 8-Speed Grip Twist

Cranks:

Forged FSA Alloy, 170 mm, Shimano 20T Cog

Pedals:

Alloy Platform wtih Non-Slip Rubber Tread

Headset:

1 1/8" Steel Threaded Semi-Integrated

Stem:

Forged Alloy, 22.2 mm Quill

Handlebar:

Townie 6061-T6 Alloy, Swept-Back

Brake Details:

Shimano Inter-M Roller Brakes with Shimano Nexus Alloy 4-Finger Levers (Reach Adjustable)

Grips:

Electra Semi-Ergonomic, Saddle-Matched Stitchd Leatherette

Saddle:

Velo Ergonomic with Shock-Absorbing Elastomers

Seat Post:

Alloy Double Bolt Micro Adjust

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Electra Custom Alloy Painted 36H

Spokes:

14G Stainless, Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Fat Frank Balloon, 26" x 2.35"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Active Line K-Guard Puncture-Resistant Kevlar Casing, 67TPI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Alloy Rear Rack, Spanniga LED Front (Kendo) and Rear (Pixeo) Lighting Set, ABUS Frame Lock, Painted Aluminum Fenders, Painted Rims, Massload Alloy Double-Prong Kickstand, Stainless Steel and Anti-Rust Hardware

Other:

Micro USB Charging Port on Display, Hold Reset and Information Button to Enter Settings (Navigate with Information Button, Select with Lighting Button), KMC X10e Chain 1/2' x 3/32"

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Cruise, Gen 2

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

110 miles (177 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (25 km/h in Europe)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The 2016 Electra Townie Go! switched from using a SRAM hub motor and rear mounted battery pack to the Bosch Centerdrive which is better in pretty much every way. Now, it is more expensive than the 2014 and 2015 models at $2,727 and it does weigh more at ~58 lbs but you get an eight speed internally geared drivetrain and a lot more power that produces less noise when running! With a top speed of ~20 mph and an integrated rear rack the Townie Go! would make a decent commuter but it’s really best suited to relaxed neighborhood riding. There are four levels of pedal assist to work with here and the lowest, Eco mode, will move the bike at a slower speed for people who want to take it easy. The oversized Schwalbe balloon tires function almost like a basic suspension in that they absorb cracks and bumps as you ride, they do weigh a bit more but the contact patch is enlarged and they feel pretty stable. At 26″ in diameter they don’t lift the frame as high as more traditional 700c (28″) wheels and tires but you still get reflective sidewall stripes and Kevlar lining for safety and durability.

Driving this bike is a 350 watt Bosch Performance Cruise motor that measures bike speed, pedal speed and pedal torque (up to 1,000 per second) for instantaneous starts and stops. The motor spins your chainring that’s about half the size of most traditional rings and this higher RPM delivers a wider range of pedaling speeds in my experience. When you shift, the motor responds and eases off so as not to mash gears or put strain on the chain. Powering the motor and integrated Spanninga lights is a 36 volt 11 amp hour battery running on Samsung Lithium-ion cells. It’s the same Bosch PowerPack 400 I’ve seen for the past year and a half on other models here in the US and it works just as well. You can charge it on or off the frame and it locks securely but make sure you push hard when re-attaching it to the frame so that you hear a click and know that it’s fully connected. Just like the 2015 model this latest Townie Go! features a cafe lock that disables the rear wheel for quick stops around town – saving the hassle and discomfort of carrying a u-lock or chain.

The biggest takeaway from this review should be that the Electra Townie Go! with Bosch drive system is more expensive but it’s way better and quite worth the price in my opinion. Range is more than doubled, the frame is stiffer and better balanced, you get more gears to pedal with and while there still isn’t any sort of suspension on the bike it rides very comfortably with balloon tires, padded grips, oversized saddle, swept back bars and the signature “Flat Foot” seating position that brings pedals forward vs. straight down. The two frames are very similar in weight, come in a wide range of colors and are warrantied for two years by Trek (which acquired Electra in 2014). If you enjoy riding but are struggling to keep up with a friend, scale hills or fight the wind the electric Townie Go! will become your best friend, I am not exaggerating. The motor and battery are overkill but not in a bad way, they operate quietly but can climb almost anything, the display panel is large and easy to read with an intuitive button pad (easy to reach and use even without looking down). This is my favorite cruiser style electric bike to date.

Pros:

  • All Electra bicycles have to be shipped to a local Trek retailer but this is free of charge and from there some retailers will deliver to your house
  • Awesome two year comprehensive warranty, they recommend storing the battery in a dry room at 60° to 70° Fahrenheit and keeping it fully charged, expect a 5% degrade each year
  • Patented Flat Foot frame design positions the cranks and pedals forward for a more relaxed “legs out” ride style, kind of like sitting on a couch vs. a bar stool, this is enhanced with swept back handlebars and an oversized comfort saddle
  • The Bosch motor is extremely responsive and powerful delivering 60 Newton meters of torque, it keeps weight low and centered on the frame for improved handling
  • The Bosch battery pack can be charged on or off the frame, has a cool integrated loop for easier carrying and the way it’s mounted on the bike is much better than the older rack style batteries used by Electra Townie Go! models, the frame is less flexy, the display panel is also removable
  • Schwalbe Fat Frank Balloon tires look great and come in different colors to compliment the frames, they have integrated reflective sidewalls for safety, Kevlar lining for greater protection against flats and soften the ride by being squishy (absorbing cracks and bumps like suspension)
  • Integrated front and rear LED lights by Spanninga run off the main battery and are controlled through the Bosch Intuvia display panel! You need not worry about replacing batteries separately or turning each light off after a ride… it’s all one system and even the display panel is backlit
  • The fenders, rims and chain guard are all custom painted, sometimes the same color as the frame and other times to compliment the tires but it looks great in both cases
  • Most of the wires for shifting, braking and running the electric drive system are either run through the frame downtube or fastened in such a way that they are hidden and well protected
  • This ebike comes with an integrated cafe lock from ABUS that allows you to disable the rear wheel, perfect for deterring theft for quick stops without having to carry a large cable or u-lock
  • The internally geared hub offers eight speeds which is perfect for slower riding, climbing or hitting the top speed of ~20 mph but being internal it stays cleaner, can be shifted at standstill and allows the chain to be shorter and tighter, it probably requires less maintenance and is definitely less vulnerable than a traditional derailleur
  • The double-leg kickstand is very stable, it keeps the bike upright and makes loading the rear rack much easier than if you only had a single side stand, note that the stand is also adjustable on both sides for use on slanted terrain
  • The LCD display panel is backlit, removable for safer storage and even has a built in micro USB port that can be used for charging portable electronics like a cell phone for music or GPS applications, you’ll need a cable like this for most Samsung phones and an adapter like this for newer iOS devices

Cons:

  • There are no water bottle cage mounting points on either frame style, it seems like the high-step would have had room on the seat tube but they didn’t add them, consider a bar cup holder or a trunk bag with bottle slot like this
  • In my experience the Shimano Roller band brakes don’t stop as quickly as v-brakes or disc brakes, they look nice and even have heat sink fins that sort of look like disc brakes but they use a band inside and require a bit more pulling effort to stop
  • As with most cruiser style electric bikes, the Townie Go! weighs a bit more than a standard city bike, the frame is larger, the saddle and handle bar are larger and the internally geared hub adds a bit of weight as well, thankfully the battery is removable for reducing weight during transport but it only weighs ~5.5 lbs so the bike will still be heavy
  • Mid-drive electric bikes tend to be easier for bike shops to work on because the wheels and drivetrains are mostly unchanged, this also means that they work well with quick release systems but the Townie Go! does not offer this, it uses standard threaded axles with nuts that require tools to work on
  • The battery requires a stronger push to fully click onto the frame, make sure you hear the click or it could get knocked off and fall to the ground (scraping or even cracking the plastic cover)
  • Walk assist appears to be de-activated on the Bosch system, this would be a nice feature given the heavier weight of the Townie Go! and I’m not sure why Bosch hasn’t allowed it (possibly to strictly adhere to the Class 1 category of ebikes in the USA? I hope they enable it on future versions)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Electra Reviews

2014 Electra Townie Go Review

  • MSRP: $2,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Comfortable, simple to use and affordable cruiser style electric bike built on the proven Electra Townie platform. The SRAM EMATIC system has no computer to mess with, no extra cables or settings…...

2013 Electra Townie Go Review

  • MSRP: $2,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Proven platform, Electra's Townie is comfortable, durable and stylish. Incredibly simple and clean, no computer to mess with, no extra cables or settings...

Klatuu
1 year ago

That is the most beautiful e-bike I’ve seen! But what I want to know is what helmet are you wearing in the video?

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hey Klatuu, cool name :D I agree with you, the Townie Go! is one of the most beautiful bikes I’ve tested and the different colors are awesome… To answer your question though, I’m wearing a helmet from Specialized called the Echelon II size Medium 54-60 cm (here’s a product page for the standard Echelon, not sure of the differences but you can search Google for the Echelon II for sale). I like this helmet because it’s bright white with reflectors built on and has an adjustable plastic slider at the back (with a little plastic wheel you twist). I’m able to wear it with my glasses and have owned it for over five years at this point and it’s doing well. I visited Specialized HQ in Morgan Hill California last year and got to see some of their new equipment (including helmets) they explained that as the foam and plastic becomes brittle or if you hit your head moderately hard even once it’s good to get a replacement so I may be due, I’ve enjoyed it a lot though and hope this feedback helps you find one yourself!

Justin
1 year ago

In the review this bike is referred to as a great neighborhood bike, but perhaps not the best for longer commutes. I was just wondering your opinion on why? If this were a non-electric bike, the weight and inefficiency of it would certainly disqualify it. However, as an electric bike I would think that these would not be an issue when looking for the perfect commuter. What are the criteria that would make up an excellent electric commuter bike? I’m looking to purchase a bike for my wife who commutes 10 miles each way (80% bike path).

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Justin! Sorry for the confusion… the Bosch powered Townie Go! would make an excellent commuter because it’s capable of traveling further per charge, is relatively comfortable and has the rear rack for cargo. There are ways it could be further improved for trekking or touring (suspension fork, suspension seat post, more active seating). I guess my comment in the video was more about ride style. The “Flat Foot” pedal position doesn’t always feel right to me for spinning quickly and offers less leverage for the legs… The trade off is a more upright body position and comfort. Since this is a Class 1 ebike you have to pedal and sometimes the wider saddle (which is often mounted lower by riders) creates a scrunched leg situation that can strain knees. I would consider the Kalkhoff Tasman Classic a more active long range commuter but the Townie is similarly capable if you set it up right. An ideal long-range commuter would be the Kalkhoff Agattu Impulse with the suspension fork and post (and like the Tasman Classic the pedals are more directly below vs. forward). I realize these are subtle differences, sorry to throw you off with the comment in-video. The Townie Go! Rocks and would probably be just fine, I see so many electric bikes that I can get a bit more critical at times and really zero in on the differences ;)

Odette
1 year ago

Hi I’m interested to buy that bike but I am just wondering if there is a maximum weigh for riding this bike ?

Court Rye
1 year ago

Great question Odette, I am not completely sure but most ebikes I see out there limit weight at 250 or 300 lbs. My guess is that the Electra Townie Go! is similar but you could contact your local Trek dealer and ask them to be sure :) if you find out please comment here again to help others and I will add the information in the review!

Mark
1 year ago

I’m looking at the Townie Go for cruising the neighborhood which includes some fairly steep hills. The Bosch system is 350 watts with a 36 v 11ah battery. I’ve been comparing it to the Bafang bbsd at 1000 w and 48 v 15-29 ah battery. Is it that more efficient? It seems underpowered for a guy like me who weighs over 200 lbs, yet in the review you stated it is overkill. Thanks for your reply!

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Mark! If you do get a Bafang mid drive I recommend the 750 watt or even 500 watt BBS02 models vs. the BBSHD because it is illegal at 1,000 watts unless used on private property or off-road. The US limit is 750 watts or less and 20 mph or less with a throttle and both of those requirements are satisfied by the Bosch mid-drive (and other consumer ebikes). In my experience, it’s enough power and way more responsive and refined than the BBS02 but it is weaker and you don’t get a throttle… I don’t use the throttle as much now that I’m fully accustomed to riding electric bicycles. I like to pedal and feel the zoom of the motor helping, it feels natural and comfortable but there are advantages to power on demand, especially if your legs get tired or the street is wet or you need help getting going. E-Rad makes my favorite version of the BBS02 because it has shift sensing and can be made to fit a wide range of models. They also sell completely built electric bikes (the bike, the battery and the motor all combined just like the Electra Townie Go!) I hope these suggestions help you. If you live near a Trek dealer and can try the Townie Go! I would highly recommend it, you’d get excellent support and warranty by working with a local ebike shop but if you live near Las Vegas you could do the same thing with E-Rad because that’s where their headquarters is now :D

Mark
1 year ago

Thanks Court! Townie Go’s are very hard to find and there aren’t any dealers locally that have one in stock to test ride. My wife and I plan on riding together. Our rides will be casual and certainly nothing over 20 mph so we liked the idea of a Townie Go. It also fits our other requirements such as fenders, comfort, upright riding position and wide tires. One downside is the cost to replace the battery. At $800 or more it is about twice the cost of a battery for a Bafang kit. It would be great if someone would produce an aftermarket battery for the Bosch mid drive at a substantial savings.

We may have to buy one sight unseen if we decide on the Townie, a little on the risky side. One other question, when you test rode the Townie with the Bosch motor, was there any resistance from the motor itself when you pedaled without electric assist? Your reviews and posts have been invaluable in this process of selecting the right ebike! Thank you so much! Mark

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Mark, I cannot say for sure whether the motor creates resistance to pedaling… certainly the gear system that spins the sprocket at 2:1 will reduce efficiency but in my experience it’s hardly noticeable. When you coast, the rear wheel freewheels just like any ordinary bicycle so there’s no drag like you might find on a gearless direct drive hub motor (many of which offer regenerative braking to offset that cogging drag). I’m being very objective here, yes there will be some resistance. In practice, it’s not something I’ve ever noticed and while the battery packs for Bosch tend to cost more that’s in part due to the extremely high quality. Also, since they use the same pack for all of their designs 2013-2016 and possibly beyond… you have a large pool to draw from vs. something more custom. My Uncle has had and used a Haibike with the Bosch drive system for over a year and a half now riding every single day to work and back… sometimes for fun in the mountains or around town too, and he hasn’t noticed much degredation (and this is in Colorado where the temperature can range from below freezing to over 100 degrees). I think Bosch makes one of the best systems around and would actually see the Townie Go! as a lower risk “sight unseen” purchase. This is the third generation of the bike, they are now owned by Trek (one of the largest manufacturers worldwide) and Bosch is a clear leader. You and your wife will likely have a wonderful experience with the bikes. Here’s a video I shot with my Uncle discussing his Bosch powered ebike :)

Mark
1 year ago

Thanks again Court. Your research is invaluable to those of us shopping for ebikes. Btw we are not going into this totally blind. We have test ridden Pedego Interceptors and I have test ridden a Pedego Ridge Rider to get a feel for the difference between pedal assist and torque assist. We also rented Pedego bikes that were throttle only. We went to a local Trek store that had non-motorized Townies and rode several of them. I’m reasonably certain that a Townie Go will work just fine for my wife who is petite and in great shape. I plan to buy her a Townie Go that she can enjoy and then see if it will handle my larger size especially up the hills in our area. If it does then I’ll buy a second one for me. If not, then I’ll be back with more questions. Thanks for helping.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Sounds good Mark, hope everything works out! I bet your wife will love the bike :)

Denise
1 year ago

Can this bike successfully pull a standard large dog trailer? I have a 110 lb pitbull that had surgery on both knees. He misses our long walks so I figured I could tow him around instead. This prompted my research into electric bikes. I’m petite and nearly 50 so it would be impossible without the electronic assistance.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Denise! My opinion on this is yes, a strong yes :) I don’t want you to be disappointed and suppose there are many factors to consider here like the trailer you get, how heavy you are, the terrain, even wind but the Bosch mid-drive is very powerful in my experience. Here’s another review with a video of me climbing a very steep mountain with nearly the same motor from Bosch doing just fine.

Denise
1 year ago

Thanks for the quick reply. I’m running into a problem with the attachment of the trailer to the back fork of the Townie Go! because of it’s single chain setup. But I really love the Townie Go!. Can you recommend a similar bike. I can then research that. Your reviews are the best I’ve ever seen regardless of the product. You have made this decision much easier for me.

Leslie
1 year ago

I just purchased 3 days ago from my favorite local bike dealer the azure colored Townie Go! 8i. They didn’t expect to get it in until December 2016 and one came in so I was the lucky one who got it. I want to thank you for the excellent review video you did on this electric-assist bike. Your video was so thorough in explaining everything regarding the Townie Go!. You helped me learn very quickly all the features and how to use them. I can’t thank you enough for taking the time to create this video. I hope it stays on this website so that I can refer back to it whenever needed. I like your very clear style of explaining things and providing your opinion on what you really like about the bike and what could be better. This is one of the best review videos I’ve seen. THANK YOU!

Court Rye
1 year ago

Wow, thank you SO much for all of the compliments and feedback Leslie! I really enjoy helping people, especially with technology that I view as healthy and positive but it’s a lot of work and can be exhausting to travel, shoot, edit, write etc. comments like yours make it all worth while. I too hope that this site can continue to offer honest, objective information (and comments!) for years to come. Enjoy your bike, I think you chose very well with the Townie Go! :)

Leslie
1 year ago

Hi Court, thanks very much for your reply back to my comment. I forgot to add that, not only do I absolutely love riding my Townie Go and love how it looks, but I actually chose to buy this specific bike based on your review. I originally rode my very first electric bike in Kauai last October and enjoyed riding it so much that I knew my next bike would be electric. Last month, there was an electric bike Expo in our area and I had the opportunity to ride many different brands of electric bikes. I actually never saw the Townie Go while there (although my bike dealer said they had them at the Expo) but there were so many bikes to test ride I just never saw it. (On a side note, I did learn from the bike dealer that the bike I rode in Kauai was a true electric bike with a throttle and I didn’t have to pedal, whereas the bikes at the Expo were all electric-assist where you do have to pedal.) Anyway, I digress…of all the bikes I rode at the Expo I thought I liked the Trek the best so as I was doing some research online I came across your review of the Townie Go. I liked your review so much that I went to my bike dealer and asked to ride one. He didn’t have any of the step through bikes but he had the high step like the one you have in your video that I rode. The rest is history but I credit you and your video for my choice of the Townie Go. I was even willing to wait until December 2016 to get it but, as luck would have it, one azure step through came in to the dealer and since I was on the waiting list they called me first.

A question I have for you is that I don’t like not being able to see traffic behind me while riding. Is there a mirror that will fit on the Townie Go that you would recommend? I prefer not to use the mirror that you can attach to your glasses.

Again, I thank you for an awesome video. I have watched it 5 times now as I try to learn everything about my new bike.

Rob
11 months ago

Court: Thanks for all the reviews. I must have watched nearly all of them before settling on the Electra Townie Go 8i, Army Grey with the spectacular red tires. It will arrive in just 2 days at my local Trek shop. Your reviews are an incredible service. Thank you. Rob Price

Court Rye
11 months ago

Great choice Rob, Electra really nailed it with their latest models (love that they come in multiple colors and the high-step/low-step configuration. I’m sure you’ll have a great time, hopefully the Trek dealer treats you right, it’s nice having a larger company for the support and fit services. Appreciate your kind words :)

scott t
8 months ago

will the power pack 500 work on this bike…would it offer more range than the 400 that comes with the ebike?

Court Rye
8 months ago

Hey Scott, great question… Yes, I believe the Electra Townie Go! and other ebikes that use the 2014/2015/2016 Bosch Centerdrive system with the PowerPack 400 are all forward compatible to work with the new 500 battery. It fits into the same interface and indeed, would offer more range. The really cool thing is that I believe it only weighs like 1/2 lb more so it’s a sweet upgrade!

scott
7 months ago

I have a 2016 TOWNIE GO. It is a great bike. I have about 250 miles on mine so far (a few weeks of ownership). It is extremely comfortable courtesy of the riding position, plush saddle and fat frank tires. I have put some collapsible metal baskets and nylon trunk bag on the rack and this expands functionality. I will say the only drawback is the brakes and range. I’m a two hundred pound rider (in northern Nevada) and the band brakes are under powered or whatever the term for weak brakes is….and on a few occasions I have come close to meeting range max. Granted though, that is something an an extra battery on days that I know I will be riding longer on.

Many of the city styled bikes to me still have a bent over riding position that beats my shoulder up but not this one. The townie is great platform for an ebike. If you ride alot, go ahead and get an extra battery and then enjoy it till it falls apart.

Court Rye
7 months ago

Hey Scott! Thanks for sharing your experience, glad to hear the Townie Go! is comfortable and mostly covers your riding habits (in terms of range). Have fun and be safe out there! Good accessory advice too, I like baskets and stuff, way better than wearing a heavy backpack – especially on a hot day in Nevada ;)

Jeff
4 months ago

Hi Court, Let me begin by saying you’re the best. Whenever I look at your videos or read your write-ups I know I’m going to get as detailed and smart a review as is possible anywhere. You provide a most needed service and I credit you more than anyone else with making e-bikes more and more popular.

I’m an overweight senior and need all the exercise I can get. I bought a Townie 21 speed last June and found it great. It must be the upright position that’s best for me. I rode 650 miles between June and November (Chicago suburbs) and if felt so much better than a Giant Cypress (700c) bought in 2012. I average about 7 miles each outing at 12 mph but feel it’s getting more and more tiring. And what I really want to do is go faster and further. I’m thinking an e-bike is my solution and with my Townie success it seems like a “no brainer” that I should get the Townie Go.
Your review for the Townie Go is clear indicating the Bosch motor is 350 watts with 60 nm of torque. **So why does everyone else (including Electra) indicate the motor is 250 watts?**

And I’m a little bummed that it has roller brakes rather than disc brakes. I even read where roller brakes have grease packed in that provides a little resistance. Am I being too picky? **Are roller brakes fine for just touring paths and mostly level roads?** This is a big investment for my wife and I who also wants a Townie Go. Just thought I’d check these questions with the best source there is. Thanks much for all you do.

Court Rye
4 months ago

Great question Jeff, I’m excited for you and your wife! Getting into ebikes has changed my life, allowing me to commute comfortably and enjoy riding like I was a young guy again ;)

I really love the Electra Townie Go! and think it will work for you, despite the less exciting roller brake and possibly downgraded 250 watt Bosch Active Line motor. The model shown here is from 2016 and it says Bosch Performance Line which I believe is 350 watts and a bit more zippy. They also have an Active Line motor that’s 250 with 50 Newton meters of torque vs. 60 and it’s designed to feel smoother… for neighborhood riding. My guess is that for 2017 they’ve switched motors and that’s not a bad thing. You can see the Active Line motor in action on the Tern Vektron here and even hear the company representative talk about why they chose it. If you live near a Trek dealer and can test this bike out, that would be my advice.

If it were completely up to me, I’d love to see hydraulic disc brakes on this bike vs. roller but the motor difference is less of an issue. Each company makes choices based on cost, durability and user experience. While I can’t speak for Trek/Electra, they are a leader in the space with great warranty support and Bosch only partners with the best brands. I wouldn’t hesitate too much though there are lots of other cruiser style ebikes out there… got another set of reviews on the way right now in fact. Feel free to share your thoughts or follow-on questions and keep an eye out :)

hank
3 months ago

Court, Love your reviews. On the townie there seems to be confusion on the websites on the mid drive, I’ve seen 250 watts and also 350 watts listed. I live in Canada where the limit is 500 watts on motors. Could it be they are unloading European models here (250 watts ) and have a more powerful setup in the States?

Also on the throttle issue, is it true you can order it with throttle only setting in addition to the pedal assist modes if you specify that in the factory order, and they can set it there? How different is the forward style pedal setup, does it bear getting used to? Thanks

Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Hank, my understanding is that the hardware on Bosch motors is pretty similar but the software can be tuned for efficiency (Bosch Active), regular city riding (Bosch Performance) or high-torque mountain (Bosch CX) and even though the European models say 250 watts, that is more of a legal thing and the torque is still rated the same. I wouldn’t stress too much about the label… it bothered and confused me a bit when I started to realize there were different labels but I’ve tested a bunch of them and had great experiences all around. As for the flat foot design, some people really like it… There are lots of cruiser style ebikes with angled seat tubes that simulate flat foot but Electra / Trek has the patent for separating the bottom bracket from the seat tube connection point. The best way to make a decision about body positioning and ride preference is to go for a test ride if you can. I hope this helps!

Mark Benson
3 months ago

Purchased 2016 Townie and absolutely love it. I have over a thousand miles in 5 months on the bike and enjoy the longer distances without painful knees. I am 68 years old and 220 pounds and this bike has great pick up and enough assistance for fairly steep hills. If I take it to the store where folks pass by they tend to stop and ask about the bike, and some have asked for a test ride and came back with a wow smile. The stopping power of the bike is no problem at all – no worries about the braking system for sure. A great buy for a quality bike!

Court Rye
3 months ago

Hey Mark! I enjoyed your testimonial, thanks for taking the time to share about your experience! It’s great that you’re also sharing the bike and exposing new people to electric ;)

Monica Stevenson
2 months ago

I purchased the Townie Go in April of 2016. I now have over 1100 miles on my bike. I had originally “pre-ordered” the Copenhagen Wheel planning to use it on my Townie — but after waiting 2 1/2 years for it to be shipped, I gave up and ordered the Townie Go. I understand that they are now shipping the Copenhagen Wheel — but if I had waited, I would have missed out on over 1,000 miles of riding! The bike is super comfortable and allows me to ride most anywhere — plus long distances. I’m 64 years old and am constantly telling anyone who listens — “you gotta buy one of these.” I’ve never had an issue with the brakes and the battery seems to hold well for at least 45 miles — sometimes over 50. I bought mine at REI and the service on it has been excellent. My biggest complaint is that there aren’t more people who have e-bikes to ride with! The Cafe lock is also a super plus — anyone who tries to steal my bike is going to have to carry out — and it’s pretty heavy for that!

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Monica! I enjoyed your comment, sounds like you’ve had a blast with the Townie Go! Good for you, recognizing the wait of the Copenhagen Wheel and finding something else. I’m with you… good to get out there and enjoy riding, regardless of the bike. I’m just so happy that the Townie Go! has been working so well for you :)

Dewey
2 months ago

It’s interesting to see how Electra are expanding the Townie Go! line with two new urban-oriented models that address one of your criticisms – tektro hydraulic brakes are now fitted to the Townie Commute Go! and Loft Go! Both new models are equipped with larger more efficient 700C tires, more swept back handlebars, and rear and front cargo racks with the front light relocated to right of the front rack to not obstruct the light when riding with a load.

Court Rye
2 months ago

Cool! I haven’t seen those in person yet but appreciate your feedback here Dewey. Will keep an eye out and hopefully, this comment helps people who might have similar questions or concerns.

Randy
2 months ago

I would like to see a review of the Loft Go! 8i. I’ve been shopping for my wife for 3 months and this bike looks like the perfect e-bike for her.

Pete
1 month ago

Court, I have just purchased a 2018 Townie Commute Go and it has been updated from the 2016/2017 that you have reviewed here. Tektro hydraulic disc brakes are standard now along with front and rear fender racks. The handle bars are curved back and allows a straight up natural sitting position. The pedals are pushed forward and makes the ride much more comfortable. I have had three hip replacements and a knee scope. I have only a 78 degree hip bend and found most other bikes impossible to peddle. I simply could not get my leg to raise high enough to peddle a bike. This one I can and with very little problems.

You need to review this version and let your readers know of the benefits for older riders. Comes with the Bosch 250W drive system and tops out at 20 mph. The walk mode is not enabled on this bike and the kick stand is mounted forward, but those are the only things I find that I wish where changed. This will become your new favorite cruiser. We also have on order a Loft Go for my wife. The frame is lighter and overall the bike is about 5 pounds less than the Commute go coming in around 45 pounds. The Bosch 250w system has been tuned down also on this bike due to the lighter weight of the bike. Wheel base is also about 2.5 inches shorter and the angle of the seat tube is 2 degrees less. It has all the features of the Commute go in a slightly smaller package that fit my wife better. She is 5′ 2″. Keep up the great reviews. They made our decision on which bike to purchase much easier.

Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Pete, thanks for your thorough update! I’m looking forward to reviewing the new Townie models and appreciate your insights about the handlebar and pedal position. I hope the bike works great for you and will keep my eye out for a review soon :)

Jeff Lieber
1 week ago

Court, I wanted to follow-up after my 3-6-17 note to you with Townie Go questions. And to let you know that my wife and I did get new Townies-Gos. We test rode the bike at a nearby dealer and were really happy with the ride. Your reviews already “sold” us on the Bosch mid-drive motor so with great pricing the Townie-Go seemed like a winner. Our biggest problem though was the bright “funky” colors Electra had. We preferred the black (Ebony) color but those white tires… Ugh… they were just not to our liking. So to help make a double sale our bike shop agreed to swap the white tires for the same exact black Schwalbes but with reflective strips (another of your suggestions). The bikes now became perfect for us.

I got the last black “D-Frame” available from California on 3-22-17. Unfortunately my wife wasn’t so lucky and her 1 month wait for the black step-through turned into 2.5 months. We were told that the current demand for these bikes in black would be 6 months today. Wow. Here’s what I learned from my first 200 miles on the bike.

Some of the Pros:

  • The rear internal 8-gear hub is just the best. It’s easy and smooth and so quiet. I never hated my derailleur bikes before but this was just a great improvement. And I was even able to easily adjust the gear cable when it became stretched early on (normal I’m told).
  • The instantaneous start and stop of the Bosch motor is fantastic. I can’t imagine what it would be like with any sensor delay.
  • The wider tires (3.35 Fat Frank) add a lot more comfort and stability.
  • No suspension but we do eliminate any front tire movement and hopefully get maximum efficiency.
  • The Intuvia display is great. Easy to use and the left hand extra remote is perfect.
  • Front and rear lights tied into the system (with a switch on the display) make it really complete.
  • Your term “purposeful built” began to mean a lot to us. Other than the cables in the front, the rest seem either all internal or completely hidden. So nice.
  • And no need for brake-lever motor cut-offs since the motor cuts out as you stop peddling. Simple and perfect.
  • I never thought this was important but now we agree with you it’s so nice to not have the kickstand interfere with the pedals. And the scissor kickstand adds a lot of stability.

And very few Cons:

  • Like you say “it would have been nice to at least have one set of bottle cage bosses?” But we have a lot of storage between my rear rack bag and my wife’s added front basket. So we’ll be fine for our long trips.
  • Getting picky, I just didn’t like the hand grips. They maybe stylish but I wanted some rubber gel types. I bought some inexpensive ones and they’re locking too. Nice.
  • The newer 500 battery would have been nice but I am getting 50-55 miles of range on our 400 and with me being a heavy guy that seems great.

What I left out are the roller brakes. I just couldn’t decide if it was Pro or Con. We’ve never had any type of disk brakes to compare it with so maybe we’re not the best judge. But we found these brakes work just fine for us in our mostly flat midwest terrain (50 miles NW of Chicago). No major hills or big descents like other areas of the country. And these brakes seem to give us no noise and make the bike look simpler and cleaner.

Overall we’re very satisfied with our Townie e-bikes. We feel lucky to have the high quality Bosch Performance Line (with 63 NM of torque) which gets more than enough power. Any more power would just be over-kill for our riding. And lastly, your reviews taught us so much about e-bikes. We feel we owe you a lot for all your help.

Thank you, Thank you, Jeff Lieber

Court Rye
1 week ago

Wonderful writeup Jeff, thanks for taking the time to prepare this and reflect on the experience. I’m sure others here will find it useful! The Townie Go! is one of my favorite recreational electric bicycles and it sounds like they are selling pretty well. Maybe Electra / Trek reps will see your points about colors and grips for future iterations. In the mean time, it’s great that you found some upgrades that work well for you. Enjoy the ride!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Greg and Jackie
4 hours ago

I also agree , I own a Townie Go! - the top speed is terrible. I was wondering if the motor can be swapped for a performance speed ?
Great bike but definitely needs to be faster.

WilliamT
1 day ago

I would also check out bikes from Juiced Bicycles.

https://shop.juicedbikes.com/collections/e-bikes/products/2017-oceancurrent-step-thru?variant=29237980498

The Ocean Current step though would fit you. It has a 22" stand over height and similar to the Townie Go.
With the 21 ah battery, you shouldn't have any problems getting 80-100 miles depending on the assist level.

1/1
Ravi Kempaiah
3 days ago

Just came back from the Ebike expo. I had a blast! I was surprised at the number of bikes that fit me. Though the following bikes fit me, I eliminated them for various reasons one izip, two Raleigh bikes, gazelle, trek Neko, bulls cross lite, and the Electra townie (so comfortable!). I did like the trek lift+, smart motion Ecity, and the bulls lacuna evo E8. They did not have a Kalkhoff Agutta B7 but I did discover that the Bosch high performance motor that comes with it is amazing! Comments on my final four are welcome. You guys have been a big help in my search for a bike. Your time and expertise is much appreciated. Thank you!

Townie Go
Lacuba EVO E8
Crosslite-E with the new Bosch CX motor.

All great bikes. Glad the bike expo was useful.

Since kozy's carry a lot of the bikes you mentioned, you should visit them.

Linda Baer
3 days ago

Just came back from the Ebike expo. I had a blast! I was surprised at the number of bikes that fit me. Though the following bikes fit me, I eliminated them for various reasons one izip, two Raleigh bikes, gazelle, trek Neko, bulls cross lite, and the Electra townie (so comfortable!). I did like the trek lift+, smart motion Ecity, and the bulls lacuna evo E8. They did not have a Kalkhoff Agutta B7 but I did discover that the Bosch high performance motor that comes with it is amazing! Comments on my final four are welcome. You guys have been a big help in my search for a bike. Your time and expertise is much appreciated. Thank you!

Alex M
4 days ago

Court knows his racks. There is no rush to order expensive rack, if this is not for looks. Call local car rack store. They would often have the same Thule used or open-box.

Didn't want to over-complicate it with motor, but "some" motors resist to non-powered pedaling more than others. They are called direct-drive motors. OTH, geared hub motor you won't feel. Pedego have both types.

There could be other suitable step-through beside Pedego, with same battery and 500W motor, with prices varying from 1,800 to 3,500.
Townie Go (yes, no throttle) has a nice feature that you won't see often, so-called flat-foot position. Bottom bracket is moved few inches forward form the seat tube. They patented this, and few other guys patented the same before the Townie, and you'll see this on (probably) a dozen other models and brands. Don't want to start another copyright debate here, - just FYI.

Alex M
5 days ago

Just would like to highlight a (subtle) remark by 86: it wouldn't hurt to have a throttle. Townie Go has no throttle. I think no ebikes with Bosch motor do. Might not matter for younger and sportier crowd.

Themis1988
7 days ago

What a great site and forums! I've asked Court to review the Electra Loft Go! with step-through frame. Wanting to get into some semblance of shape again after too many years at a desk job, I would like to find an electric bicycle to be gentle on my knees when needed on starts and hills. Otherwise I plan to pedal with minimal assist. I am female, age 57, 5'10" large-frame and 260# so need a sturdy ride to run errands, exercise and for general cruising. From searching specs and forums so far, I need a 500 w motor and 48 v 15 amp battery. My budget is in the $2500 - $3500ish range. I also plan to retire and buy a van-sized RV in the next year or two, and will take my e-bike along on a rear-mount track rack (?) for supplemental transportation within parks and shorter-range sight-seeing. I'm concerned cruiser handlebars may be too wide for this rack style. This site has enabled me to do lots of homework and I have narrowed choices to Pedego Step-Thru Interceptor, City Commuter or Comfort Cruiser, or Electra Loft Go! or Townie Go! I'm not confident about the weight capacity of some of the other brands (Raleigh and Izip) with local dealers in Iowa. Appreciating your insight and advice,
Themis

Alsbikes
1 week ago

Not a great idea. You bought a 20MPH bike. There are always some workarounds but you best be prepared for the consequences and the pitfalls. Believe me. I've been there. Best to save you nickels and do a total upgrade. I'm not sure what Dewey is on about, sorry Dewey, but it may have nothing to do with your bike. There are several versions of motors used for the Townie. If you have the Bosch his link is relevant but IMO not a good idea unless you want to play mechanic. If you have a hub motor version you ned to upgrade the motor and battery. I love the Townie as a base for a build. I build exclusively on crank forward townie frames. Using kits the townie can easily be a 30MPH bike. Sadly trying to upgrade from a slower motor, and less powerful battery, is not a great success.
thanks for thanks for the reply I would like to learn more about the upgrade you're talking about I bought this for my wife so she could go on longer rides with me I raced bicycles and it's easy for me to keep a 22 to 24 mile an hour average she does great on Hills uphill but it would be nice for her to be able to go a bit faster

Dewey
1 week ago

Not a great idea. You bought a 20MPH bike...Best to save you nickels and do a total upgrade...There are several versions of motors used for the Townie. If you have the Bosch his link is relevant.

Agree this won't work with an earlier model year, I assumed because OP stated he has a "new" bike that meant he has a >2016 Townie Go! with the Bosch motor. Also agree about the upgrades, at the least if you're modifying a stock Townie Go! for speed you will want to replace the Shimano roller brakes with the hydraulic disc brakes from the 2017 Townie Commute Go! I agree OP would be better off trading in for a purpose built speed pedelec.

Thomas Jaszewski
1 week ago

Not a great idea. You bought a 20MPH bike. There are always some workarounds but you best be prepared for the consequences and the pitfalls. Believe me. I've been there. Best to save you nickels and do a total upgrade. I'm not sure what Dewey is on about, sorry Dewey, but it may have nothing to do with your bike. There are several versions of motors used for the Townie. If you have the Bosch his link is relevant but IMO not a good idea unless you want to play mechanic. If you have a hub motor version you ned to upgrade the motor and battery. I love the Townie as a base for a build. I build exclusively on crank forward townie frames. Using kits the townie can easily be a 30MPH bike. Sadly trying to upgrade from a slower motor, and less powerful battery, is not a great success.

Dewey
1 week ago

I have a new Townie ebike .....would like to get it over 20 miles an hour with pedal assist . ... any suggestions.... thanks

https://www.ebiketuning.com/shop/bosch-gen2/asa-espeed-b32-14.html but they don't ship to the US or Canada, requires you to remove the crank using special tools, it reportedly disables shift detection, it voids your warranty, and you would probably need to fit a bigger sprocket. Read this thread.

Alsbikes
1 week ago

I have a new Townie ebike .....would like to get it over 20 miles an hour with pedal assist . ... any suggestions.... thanks

Dewey
1 week ago

Tried the Pedego 24" interceptor yesterday. I'm used to torque sensing so the cadence sensing freaked me out! Looking forward to the Ebike expo next week! Thanks for all your input everyone!

Great! I see M&M Cyclery will be there so maybe you'll get a chance to ride an Electra Townie Go!

DaveinMtAiry
1 month ago

A couple of years ago you had to spend $3500 to get a Bosch mid-drive in the US. This year the Electra Townie Go! has the Bosch motor for $2600. For 2018 Bosch are providing e-bike manufacturers an 'Active Line Plus Generation 3' entry motor to compete with the Shimano Steps that currently runs about $2000 on sale, as the article says the knock-on effect will be to lower the price of competing hub motor e-bikes.

Well there you go, thanks

Dewey
1 month ago

He was the 2nd bike store person to tell me that the prices will go down as technology advances.

A couple of years ago you had to spend $3500 to get a Bosch mid-drive in the US. This year the Electra Townie Go! has the Bosch motor for $2600. For 2018 Bosch are providing e-bike manufacturers an 'Active Line Plus Generation 3' entry motor to compete with the Shimano Steps that currently runs about $2000 on sale, as the article says the knock-on effect will be to lower the price of competing hub motor e-bikes.

medulla
1 month ago

Suggested e-bikes in the $2500-3000 range:

If you have Trek dealer near you, you might like to try the Lift+ and Electra Townie Go! Both come with good quality reliable motors from Shimano and Bosch. The Townie Go! adds lights, fenders, twist-gear shifter, wider tires, cushier saddle, and a more relaxed cruiser bike style low feet-forward high handlebar riding position, versus the Lift+ weighs less, has more powerful hydraulic disc brakes, adjustable handlebar with ergonomic grips, and two extra gears (10 speed vs 8) operated by a trigger shifter.

If you have a local dealer who can get them in you might also like to try the Gazelle Arroyo C8 or 2017 Kalkhoff Agattu B8. Both are European made e-bikes with Bosch motors, Magura hydraulic rim brakes, and comfort features that include an upright step-through frame, a suspension seat-post, and a front suspension fork, easily adjustable handlebars with ergonomic grips, 8 speed internal gear hubs operated by a twist shifter, lights and fenders. The Kalkhoff has the more powerful Bosch Performance Line motor versus the Active Line of the Gazelle, so the Kalkhoff would be the better choice for climbing hills. Both use smooth combined cadence and torque sensing pedal assist. I test rode the Gazelle last year and it was very comfortable to ride.

Suggested e-bikes in the $1500-2000 range:

Raleigh Sprite iE or iZip E3 Vibe. These are the same bike branded differently, with a step-through frame, adjustable handlebars, basic 7-speed derailleur gears operated by trigger shifters, simple cable pull rim brakes, mid-drive Currie motor with simple cadence sensing pedal assist, and there is an optional 'boost' button throttle. The lower complexity should make either one easier for a local bike shop to service although you would need to take it to a Currie dealer for motor servicing. They are pre-wired for, but don't come fitted with, lights. You might want to add a suspension seat-post like a Suntour NCX or a nicer sprung saddle to soak up the bumps.

This thread and this thread talk about issues regarding battery storage if you are not planning on using the bike for a period of time. E-bike batteries don't like being left unused, should be kept above freezing in a dry place, and recharged at least every 2-4 months.

Now you have actually done me a huge favor. This is exactly what I wanted! I totally appreciat it!

I had a question. When you start looking into Electric bikes, Stromer is one the biggest names putt there and they've pretty muc become one of the biggest ones.

Is a stromer something I should stay away from beard on my requirements? Or is it good for my requirements?

Thank you.
A lot of people are excited by the idea of riding an electric bike, buy one, then use it a couple of times before they park it next to their treadmill.. jk.

Find a local ebike dealer, or find one in a city you want to explore by bike and test ride a few different types.. Only you know what makes you feel good on it... If you like the test ride find out where you can rent an ebike for an afternoon, and take a friend and have some fun.. Try this for a couple of weekends and see if you're still pysched about owning an ebike.. The worst ebike is the one you abandon cause those batteries never sleep.

That is exactly what I am going to do once I'm back to my city, I'll start calling up locally and seeing what's possible.

JRA
1 month ago

In order to get the gearing range I want I use Schlumpf bb drives for the above bikes. I got turned on to the concept back in 1999 while attending Interbike and got a Speed Drive, 1:1/1:1.65, in time for the 2000 riding season. That drive has a lot of miles on it now and has been mostly on this bike since new and still works great.

The next year Schlumpf came out with a high speed drive, 1:1/1:2.5, and I got one of those as at the time I was experimenting with ICE motor assist and wanted a higher gear ratio. Never really got that off the ground and it stayed in the parts pile for a long time but always had a motor assist mission in mind for it. When I built the black bike up last summer I took off the stock cranks and finally got to put it to good use. As I thought years ago the high gear ratios attainable with it are great for being able to be able to pedal on top of the motor at any wattage.

When I put together the silver bike I took the Speed Drive off my Townie and installed it on it. But although it rides and shifts the same it lacks the top end capability of the High Speed Drive. The other day I had the bikes together and was doing some routine service work on them and decided to swap the drives around while doing so. On the black bike I have a 9c speed wind and the fastest I could record while pedaling on flat ground was 34 mph @ 1200w. The silver bike with the Speed Drive would spin out pretty much @ 26mph although you could coax it faster by spinning way more and with the motor up to 30+ a bit. After swapping I took the silver bike out for a speed run and recorded a 36.6 mph with perhaps a little more to go but I ran out of straight stretch, although it didn't really take too long to get up to speed.

The overall high gear with the Speed Drive is a 114" gear and with the HS Drive it is a 171" gear. Big difference for sure and what it really allows for is the ability to vary my cadence some while cruising in the mid 20's. Otherwise they both work really well for use with a hub drive motor and I am just glad that I got mine when they were half the price they are now!

I am not apt to go that speed much, if at all, during my normal rides. But I do like the gearing range afforded with the Schlumpfs and a cassette/derailleur system and how it pedals the same as my non motorized bicycles which I still enjoy riding.

1/1
Dewey
1 month ago

Suggested e-bikes in the $2500-3000 range:

If you have Trek dealer near you, you might like to try the Lift+ and Electra Townie Go! Both come with good quality reliable motors from Shimano and Bosch. The Townie Go! adds lights, fenders, twist-gear shifter, wider tires, cushier saddle, and a more relaxed cruiser bike style low feet-forward high handlebar riding position, versus the Lift+ weighs less, has more powerful hydraulic disc brakes, adjustable handlebar with ergonomic grips, and two extra gears (10 speed vs 8) operated by a trigger shifter.

If you have a local dealer who can get them in you might also like to try the Gazelle Arroyo C8 or 2017 Kalkhoff Agattu B8. Both are European made e-bikes with Bosch motors, Magura hydraulic rim brakes, and comfort features that include an upright step-through frame, a suspension seat-post, and a front suspension fork, easily adjustable handlebars with ergonomic grips, 8 speed internal gear hubs operated by a twist shifter, lights and fenders. The Kalkhoff has the more powerful Bosch Performance Line motor versus the Active Line of the Gazelle, so the Kalkhoff would be the better choice for climbing hills. Both use smooth combined cadence and torque sensing pedal assist. I test rode the Gazelle last year and it was very comfortable to ride.

Suggested e-bikes in the $1500-2000 range:

Raleigh Sprite iE or iZip E3 Vibe. These are the same bike branded differently, with a step-through frame, adjustable handlebars, basic 7-speed derailleur gears operated by trigger shifters, simple cable pull rim brakes, mid-drive Currie motor with simple cadence sensing pedal assist, and there is an optional 'boost' button throttle. The lower complexity should make either one easier for a local bike shop to service although you would need to take it to a Currie dealer for motor servicing. They are pre-wired for, but don't come fitted with, lights. You might want to add a suspension seat-post like a Suntour NCX or a nicer sprung saddle to soak up the bumps.

This thread and this thread talk about issues regarding battery storage if you are not planning on using the bike for a period of time. E-bike batteries don't like being left unused, should be kept above freezing in a dry place, and recharged at least every 2-4 months.

Scott71
1 month ago

Hello All,

I just bought an erad 750 system. I watched their video to install. They video was old and not for the components they are selling now. But I persisted through and tried to figure things out. What worked well with regards to their install DIY video was that they were installing on a Townie 21. The very same bike I am used yesterday.

I wish I knew going in the must haves for this project.
1) A 1/2 inch socket. 2) A drill- You need to do surgery on the battery mount to get it to fit. I had to drill a hole in the base since the slide adapters don't fit. But it's on firmly now. 3) 60 dollars worth of tools from the bike shop. 4) all new brake and derailleur cables 5) a flat 5 mm .8 screw for the battery mount 6) ties that fit! I was shocked they sent me no ties.

There was no chaingaurd included and it does t look like this 42T has room for one.

I was back and forth to hardware stores and bike stores 5 times all day. The new system they sell needs better videos with updated equipment. The video says the package includes new handbrakes that shut off the motor--The new system does not. It comes with sensors that you have to figure out how to install. They literally did not include instructions. Anyway I got thru the install. It took about a day.

So it was sunset and I thought I would take it for a spin. I powered on the color display. I THINK I programmed it correctly. Then I set the assist to 3 and pedaled and hit the left thumb throttle and.....

Nothing it doesn't work. And I'm not sure what to do now. It could be the throttle, motor or programming as far as I can tell.

Am I missing anything? I've checked and rechecked cables etc and LCD works fine-gauging distance and speed. UGH!!!! This plug and play hype is a stretch.

Any advice?

Thanks,

Scott

RoadWrinkle
2 months ago

The best way to ensure you find something as close to what you are looking for is test riding. With your bad knees, ankles and Asthma a comfort cruiser design would be good. Like the Electra Townie with Bosch PAS, http://www.electrabike.com/bikes/townie.

Your more upright, on a larger more comfortable seat. So you can see everything around you better (from cars to the nice view). Less stress on the wrists and neck, as more rider forward designs have you cocking your head upward to see better and more weight carried on your wrists. The mid-drive PAS systems provide the best climbing torque but not necessarily the best riding experience for bad knees. The only way to be able to fully control how much electrical assist you want or need, and therefore how hard you have to pedal, is to have a throttle. You can get as much exercise as you want by simply pedaling more and throttling less. But more importantly, you can choose to pedal with easier force as you are able to "mix in" throttle to what ever assist level you choose. Starting from a full stop is easier with a throttle and you can get out of the way of traffic or cross intersections more safely than having to peddle out of harms way. The larger manufacturers using 250-350w/36v mid drive PAS systems like Bosch, Brose and Yamaha have no throttles on any of their bikes. These PAS systems are designed to be "riders bikes" meaning your pedaling effort is required at all times to move at any speed and you have to pedal harder if you want more assist. Most throttled bikes have hub motors, although there are smaller companies that make throttled mid-drive bikes. My wife got a 500w/48v hub motored, throttled cruiser from motiv in California, post knee surgery she loves it. https://www.motivelectricbikes.com/

There was some trial and error for her to find the right bike. IMO, with bad knees, a 500w/48v system will ensure you have all the assist you may need. The cadence and pedaling torque required with the 250w/36v mid drives will have you working whether you want to or not. So throttles for the most flexible way to get e-assist and higher wattage's for sufficient assist levels. Have fun.

1/2
Dewey
2 months ago

Hi Edie!

The Trek Lift+ for $2,800 has a light 45lb step-through small size frame suitable for riders over 5', and uses the Shimano STePs pedal-assist only mid-drive motor. The 6lb battery can be removed making it even lighter to lift onto a car bike rack, and the low speed walk mode will push the bike at walking pace. The location of the motor and battery keep the weight low and center for better balance. Revolution Cycles is a great DC area Trek dealer that can supply and service it. Here is Court's review.

The Pedego Interceptor 24" frame is designed for riders under 5' 2", has 5 levels of pedal assist plus twist throttle, front and rear lights powered off the battery, and is $3,000. The wide swept back cruiser handlebars may take some getting used to, it is heavier at 59lb. Although the 8lb battery can be removed, the location of the battery high up in the rear rack and the rear wheel hub motor means the bike is rear heavy which might affect handling and braking. Hybrid Pedals is a Pedego dealer with a shop in Arlington, VA and a warehouse in Baltimore, which means you will be able to get the bike serviced locally. Here is Court's review.

The Electra Townie Go! Step-thru is another low cruiser bike similar in size and weight to the Pedego, costs less at $2,600, uses the reliable Bosch mid-drive motor, and Shimano roller brakes that require a bit more pulling effort to slow down. Like the Trek the location of the motor and battery keep the weight low and center for better balance. A Trek dealer such as Revolution Cycles or an independent bike dealer like Conte's in Arlington, VA can supply it, and any Bosch certified ebike dealer can service the motor. Here is Court's review.

Dewey
2 months ago

The Electra Townie Go step-thru might work. http://www.electrabike.com/bikes/townie-go/townie-go-8i?g=stepthru. The Aluminum frame won't rust but the steel chain will though so you might like to buy a bike cover for when you're not using it, balloon tires will ride on hard packed sand or gravel roads, low seat plus reclined feet forward pedal position means you can put both feet on the ground when you stop, reliable Bosch motor, rear rack to carry stuff. Court's review is here.

Or consider the Pedego Latch which has an aluminum frame, a rust proof Gates carbon belt drive instead of a steel chain, and folds so you can stow it away. Court gives his review here.

Thomas Jaszewski
2 months ago

Same here, after developing pain in my elbows and wrists on long rides I had my local bike shop take off the straight handlebar bar from my 90's hybrid and install swept back handlebars and I've since added a lower sprung saddle. Much more comfortable for me. How does it feel stretching forward to pedal? The Electra Townie Go! has the Bosch mid-drive but it's $2800.
I did mine with Bafang mid drives. Last two were BBSHD's. Recently sold one motor. Very close to flipping the second. Keeping two BBS01's and an '02 as loaner bikes. I just dont need the speed.(actually they don't stop safely enough, for me, YMMV) one will be a Mac front until i sort the plan. Old guy, slow on the uptake...

Dewey
2 months ago

As I aged I found Townie style bikes to be the most comfortable. Sit up straight, no pressure on the hands and a wide eyed view of the surroundings. If electra made a mid drive it would be the perfect aging adult bike.

Same here, after developing pain in my elbows and wrists on long rides I had my local bike shop take off the straight handlebar bar from my 90's hybrid and install swept back handlebars and I've since added a lower sprung saddle. Much more comfortable for me. How does it feel stretching forward to pedal? The Electra Townie Go! has the Bosch mid-drive but it's $2800.

Brenda Cooke
2 months ago

I have been finding the steering to be very loose on most ebikes. Is that normal and is there any way to tighten it up?

Frances Hanna
3 months ago

does this bike low step fit someone 4ft. 11?

Gary H
7 months ago

Electric bikes are the poor mans Tesla. Sign me up! :)

whydidyouresign
10 months ago

Drum brakes? Really?? Wonder if they can be changed out to a 21st century option....

JaxBicycleCenter
12 months ago

Great review.

MikeZ32TT
1 year ago

Thanks for all your reviews. Your channel is a great source of info. I appreciate it. I'm in search of a nice cruiser/comfortable style electric bike.

כרמל גור
1 year ago

You should review the bolt m1 its a really cool motorbike style e bike :)

GrimFaceHunter
1 year ago

+כרמל גור It will probably be on his other channel. 
They avoided saying how much power Bolt's motor can output, but it is probably well above the legal limits for bicycles, unless it is over sized just for the looks.
The thing looks like it can easily handle 5KW.

כרמל גור
1 year ago

+GrimFaceHunter really? their site says that it doesnt need a licence. and doesnt he has a moped licence because he did reviews on electric mopeds already

GrimFaceHunter
1 year ago

+‫כרמל גור‬‎ Bolt is a moped. No matter what their website says, you will need to register it and have a moped license for it. With that look, and especially that huge motor you cannot get away with claims that it is really a bicycle.

MotorheadRedo
1 year ago

I thought it would be convenient to own a cafe lock with the accessory cable for making quick stops at places like convenience stores, but they are very hard to find in the USA. The locks security rating is very low, but a very convenient lock to use. The more common name is frame lock, and their made by a company called AXA. I think the popular model is AXA Defender. They make accessory cables and chains that plug into the lock. Very popular in Europe but hard to find in the USA. It wouldn't surprise me if the AXA company phased them out, because they are so easily defeated, but very convenient to use for quick stops when the bicycle never leaves your line of site.

philodygmn
1 year ago

This _almost_ edges out an eRad conversion of a regular Townie, for me, now, but no throttle, a weaker motor, questionable brake choice, no suspension, no walk mode, and a battery pack and electronics I'm not as confident in since they're less transparent than eRad about their supply chain plus eRad can convert one of the Townie balloon tire models still keep this from winning out, even despite having a slick integrated, removable display and lighting system with the nifty break-out control box on the handle (the battery-pack's carry handle is also nice).

I only have eyes for mid-drives, at this point, though, for sure. Thank goodness Townie's no longer exclusively under Electra's quixotic direction, though I'd be disappointed if the Flat Foot design remains Electra exclusive, and I hope to see balloon -style models...

Al M
1 year ago

+philodygmn
Flat Foot design is not unique. There are other models with bottom bracket forward of seat tube. Biktrix Stunner comes to mind, and few by Giant in non-electric realm.

Agreed, no throttle and proprietary (= $$$ and less available) Bosch system is a minus for many US consumers. Smallish battery. Make it 15 AH and add a throttle, for God's sake.

Handlebar is not swept back - wasn't it supposed to be cruis-ish model?

On the esthetic side, battery blends in but the paint pattern of bottom bracket makes motor stand out a bit.

Mark Elford
1 year ago

Good review, user friendly ebike. im a bosch fan.

gojo bojo
1 year ago

its expensive

Alc Anon
1 year ago

hey man is there a chance you doing e bike greyp review please

Alc Anon
1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com
You are correct .
Maybe you can borrow from some fan or someone who has it. Because it is pretty expensive and custom made.
Thank you for reply. Keep it rocking.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+Alc Anon Oh, I would love to! From what I can tell they're based in Europe right? I'll keep an eye out but I have never seen one in a shop so doing a review is difficult, I have so many ebikes to check out here in the USA right now, maybe I'll make it to Europe later this year! This is the bike you're talking about correct: http://www.greyp.com/

Monstah Jones
1 year ago

if there was one bike that had the potential to be an awesome cruiser it's the townie.. there's only two things I wish they'd do to this frame and that's shorten the head tube to allow for some other fork options ( it'd look beautiful with a monark springer in there ),  and open up the rear of the frame for some wider rim sizes..  if they ever put these out with a fat rear ( 80 or 100mm ) I'd be down for one asap..

Monstah Jones
1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com hey bloke, if you're ever considering a monark fork, consider getting a sunlite from amazon like this http://www.amazon.com/FORK-SPRINGER-SUNLT-300xTDLSx28-6x30-225mmSTACK/dp/B010TSRO7E/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1457402676&sr=8-6&keywords=sunlite+springer+fork  .. they really are built tough and well worth the money.. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+Monstah Jones Oh wow, you're totally right! I love the look of that Monarch Springer custom fork http://www.monarkforks.com/ hadn't thought about the head tube length as a limiter for suspension... I like the idea of fat tires as well but might explore the mid-sized 6-fatty that has popped up on some of the Specialized ebikes and the OHM I reviewed late last year: https://electricbikereview.com/ohm/sport-xs750-plus-16/

Douglas Kmiotek
1 year ago

OMG!!! I so want this bike. Arrghhh!!!

Douglas Kmiotek
1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com I agree. This is a wonderful looking, and performing, ebike. I hope I can get one by late summer. I'm in luv here,... 😍

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+Douglas Kmiotek Yeah, they really nailed it with the Bosch system, the Electra Townie has long been a popular bicycle and one of the first conversions (Pedego used to convert Townie's into ebikes using kits before building their own brand) and now I feel like they finally nailed it ;)

Ex13m1
1 year ago

bingo

Ex13m1
1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com but i have Sduro Fullnine rx 2016 )

Ex13m1
1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com I'm a fan of motor Bosh and Yamaha. I think that the chopper with this engine is cool.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+Ex13m1 Oh yeah, I feel like they nailed it with this model and the price is decent considering you get the Bosch drive system... Most bikes with this motor were $4k+ in 2014 and 2015

bryphi77
1 year ago

I really like the style of the guys bike. I wish it had a really good hub motor instead of the center drive. I am not sold on the center drives yet. I know they have more torque, and can take advantage of the gears, but I really think that maintenance and drivetrain longevity are going to be a problem with center drive and regular bike components. I know I have mentioned this before, I am wondering if you have seen this in practice since you deal with so many of these bikes.

bryphi77
1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com The thing is... The hub motors are actually taking stress off the drivetrain, where the center drives are doing just the opposite. I am sure there is a few year warranty, but does that cover the chain or the expensive geared hub? And what after 2 years? 
From my point of view when buying a product like this for practical reasons longevity and cheap maintenance are my top priority.
I cant thank you enough for making these vids. The bikes are finally coming down to a price / quality ratio that is closer to being based in reality. I am going to get an e bike before summer hits, and I definitely have enough knowledge from watching these vids to know exactly what I want... and don't want.  

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+bryphi77 Hey! I've heard people express similar concern, specifically about the Bosch system, but have never had a shop tell me that they saw one break. You get a solid two year warranty with this bike and if anything does go wrong with the motor they just swap it out with a brand new one. I think it's the best cruiser style electric bike on the market right now and the price is awesome compared with other high-quality offerings. If you want more power and prefer a hub motor definitely check out the Pedego Interceptor which is also an amazing electric cruiser: https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/interceptor/ and note that you can get this in step-thru and a smaller 24" wheel size step-thru for shorter riders. Pedego has done a great job making their line accessible :)

Jone Gomez
1 year ago

Your audio is just superb, pristine and clear even outdoors, what is your setup? Anyway, I'd love to try those Bosch systems, nice bike btw.

Jone Gomez
1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks for the information. Nah I'm not jumping in the youtube biz, but I'm a sound engineer and was just wondering how you get that audio so balanced, on headphones sounds just great :) thanks again!

ForbinColossus
1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com amazing you havent dropped your camera! you've become an expert in self action filming, if that the right way to say it...Looks like the bosch kits have come down in price. It seems like this townie is the lowest price bosch bike to date? Too bad about the oddball brake system (I never heard of before).

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+Juan Nieve Hi Juan, I use a GoPro 4 Silver (the one with the screen on the back) and run it naked using a three axis motorized gimbal like this: http://amzn.to/1QD0jvK and have glued a bit of dead-cat microphone cover fur over the mic jack. Hope this helps you with whatever project you're doing :D

John Moura
1 year ago

Nice bikes!

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+John Moura Yeah, this one's a beauty ;)

yevgen chalyy
1 year ago

boa bicicleta

yevgen chalyy
1 year ago

Mej e carro,tenho meus amigos russos,q fazem bikes sozinho ,queria ver?

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+yevgen chalyy sim! Ele funciona bem e parece muito bonito :)