Electra Townie Go! Review

2016 Electra Townie Go Electric Bike Review
2016 Electra Townie Go Azure Step Thru
2016 Electra Townie Go Bosch Performance Cruise Motor
2016 Electra Townie Go Powerpack 400 Battery
2016 Electra Townie Go Stitched Leatherette Grips
2016 Electra Townie Go Color Matched Fenders Chain Guard
2016 Electra Townie Go Shimano Nexus Internally Geared Hub
2016 Electra Townie Go
2016 Electra Townie Go Spanninga Integrated Headlight
2016 Electra Townie Go Twist Shifter
2016 Electra Townie Go Frame Types
2016 Electra Townie Go Comparison
2016 Electra Townie Go Electric Bike Review
2016 Electra Townie Go Azure Step Thru
2016 Electra Townie Go Bosch Performance Cruise Motor
2016 Electra Townie Go Powerpack 400 Battery
2016 Electra Townie Go Stitched Leatherette Grips
2016 Electra Townie Go Color Matched Fenders Chain Guard
2016 Electra Townie Go Shimano Nexus Internally Geared Hub
2016 Electra Townie Go
2016 Electra Townie Go Spanninga Integrated Headlight
2016 Electra Townie Go Twist Shifter
2016 Electra Townie Go Frame Types
2016 Electra Townie Go Comparison

Summary

  • The best Electra Townie Go! design I've tested to date, better weight distribution, increased efficiency and greater power thanks to the Bosch Performance Cruise drive system
  • Available in six different colors with matching aluminum fenders, chain guard, rims and carry rack, integrated LED lights front and rear, comfortable leather saddle with matching stitched grips
  • Available in two frame styles, high-step and step-thru, but only one size for each, no bottle cage mounting points but the rear rack is completely open and uses standard sized tubing for full compatibility clip-on panniers
  • Weaker roller style "band activated" brakes require more strength to use and seem to stop the bike slower, this is a heavier electric bike at ~58 lbs and neither wheel has quick release

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Electra

Model:

Townie Go!

Price:

$2,729

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

58 lbs ( 26.3 kg ) (Step-Thru 58.5, High-Step 57.5)

Battery Weight:

5.3 lbs ( 2.4 kg )

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs ( 3.99 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Sizes:

15 in ( 38.1 cm )17 in ( 43.18 cm )

Geometry Measurements:

Step-Thru (19" Stand Over Height, 25" Reach, 72" Length), High-Step (31" Stand Over Height, 25.5" Reach, 72" Length)

Frame Material:

6061-T6 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Azure, Lime, Polished Silver, Army Green, Ebony, Graphite

Frame Fork Details:

Hi-Ten Steel Unicrown, Straight Tapered Leg

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Nexus Inter-8 Internally Geared Hub

Shifter Details:

Shimano Nexus 8-Speed Grip Twist

Cranks:

Forged FSA Alloy, 170 mm, Shimano 20T Cog

Pedals:

Alloy Platform wtih Non-Slip Rubber Tread

Headset:

1 1/8" Steel Threaded Semi-Integrated

Stem:

Forged Alloy, 22.2 mm Quill

Handlebar:

Townie 6061-T6 Alloy, Swept-Back

Brake Details:

Shimano Inter-M Roller Brakes with Shimano Nexus Alloy 4-Finger Levers (Reach Adjustable)

Grips:

Electra Semi-Ergonomic, Saddle-Matched Stitchd Leatherette

Saddle:

Velo Ergonomic with Shock-Absorbing Elastomers

Seat Post:

Alloy Double Bolt Micro Adjust

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Electra Custom Alloy Painted 36H

Spokes:

14G Stainless, Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Fat Frank Balloon, 26" x 2.35"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Tire Details:

Active Line K-Guard Puncture-Resistant Kevlar Casing, 67TPI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Alloy Rear Rack, Spanniga LED Front (Kendo) and Rear (Pixeo) Lighting Set, ABUS Frame Lock, Painted Aluminum Fenders, Painted Rims, Massload Alloy Double-Prong Kickstand, Stainless Steel and Anti-Rust Hardware

Other:

Micro USB Charging Port on Display, Hold Reset and Information Button to Enter Settings (Navigate with Information Button, Select with Lighting Button), KMC X10e Chain 1/2' x 3/32"

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Cruise, Gen 2

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles ( 32 km )

Estimated Max Range:

110 miles ( 177 km )

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph ) (25 km/h in Europe)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The 2016 Electra Townie Go! switched from using a SRAM hub motor and rear mounted battery pack to the Bosch Centerdrive which is better in pretty much every way. Now, it is more expensive than the 2014 and 2015 models at $2,727 and it does weigh more at ~58 lbs but you get an eight speed internally geared drivetrain and a lot more power that produces less noise when running! With a top speed of ~20 mph and an integrated rear rack the Townie Go! would make a decent commuter but it’s really best suited to relaxed neighborhood riding. There are four levels of pedal assist to work with here and the lowest, Eco mode, will move the bike at a slower speed for people who want to take it easy. The oversized Schwalbe balloon tires function almost like a basic suspension in that they absorb cracks and bumps as you ride, they do weigh a bit more but the contact patch is enlarged and they feel pretty stable. At 26″ in diameter they don’t lift the frame as high as more traditional 700c (28″) wheels and tires but you still get reflective sidewall stripes and Kevlar lining for safety and durability.

Driving this bike is a 350 watt Bosch Performance Cruise motor that measures bike speed, pedal speed and pedal torque (up to 1,000 per second) for instantaneous starts and stops. The motor spins your chainring that’s about half the size of most traditional rings and this higher RPM delivers a wider range of pedaling speeds in my experience. When you shift, the motor responds and eases off so as not to mash gears or put strain on the chain. Powering the motor and integrated Spanninga lights is a 36 volt 11 amp hour battery running on Samsung Lithium-ion cells. It’s the same Bosch PowerPack 400 I’ve seen for the past year and a half on other models here in the US and it works just as well. You can charge it on or off the frame and it locks securely but make sure you push hard when re-attaching it to the frame so that you hear a click and know that it’s fully connected. Just like the 2015 model this latest Townie Go! features a cafe lock that disables the rear wheel for quick stops around town – saving the hassle and discomfort of carrying a u-lock or chain.

The biggest takeaway from this review should be that the Electra Townie Go! with Bosch drive system is more expensive but it’s way better and quite worth the price in my opinion. Range is more than doubled, the frame is stiffer and better balanced, you get more gears to pedal with and while there still isn’t any sort of suspension on the bike it rides very comfortably with balloon tires, padded grips, oversized saddle, swept back bars and the signature “Flat Foot” seating position that brings pedals forward vs. straight down. The two frames are very similar in weight, come in a wide range of colors and are warrantied for two years by Trek (which acquired Electra in 2014). If you enjoy riding but are struggling to keep up with a friend, scale hills or fight the wind the electric Townie Go! will become your best friend, I am not exaggerating. The motor and battery are overkill but not in a bad way, they operate quietly but can climb almost anything, the display panel is large and easy to read with an intuitive button pad (easy to reach and use even without looking down). This is my favorite cruiser style electric bike to date.

Pros:

  • All Electra bicycles have to be shipped to a local Trek retailer but this is free of charge and from there some retailers will deliver to your house
  • Awesome two year comprehensive warranty, they recommend storing the battery in a dry room at 60° to 70° Fahrenheit and keeping it fully charged, expect a 5% degrade each year
  • Patented Flat Foot frame design positions the cranks and pedals forward for a more relaxed “legs out” ride style, kind of like sitting on a couch vs. a bar stool, this is enhanced with swept back handlebars and an oversized comfort saddle
  • The Bosch motor is extremely responsive and powerful delivering 60 Newton meters of torque, it keeps weight low and centered on the frame for improved handling
  • The Bosch battery pack can be charged on or off the frame, has a cool integrated loop for easier carrying and the way it’s mounted on the bike is much better than the older rack style batteries used by Electra Townie Go! models, the frame is less flexy, the display panel is also removable
  • Schwalbe Fat Frank Balloon tires look great and come in different colors to compliment the frames, they have integrated reflective sidewalls for safety, Kevlar lining for greater protection against flats and soften the ride by being squishy (absorbing cracks and bumps like suspension)
  • Integrated front and rear LED lights by Spanninga run off the main battery and are controlled through the Bosch Intuvia display panel! You need not worry about replacing batteries separately or turning each light off after a ride… it’s all one system and even the display panel is backlit
  • The fenders, rims and chain guard are all custom painted, sometimes the same color as the frame and other times to compliment the tires but it looks great in both cases
  • Most of the wires for shifting, braking and running the electric drive system are either run through the frame downtube or fastened in such a way that they are hidden and well protected
  • This ebike comes with an integrated cafe lock from ABUS that allows you to disable the rear wheel, perfect for deterring theft for quick stops without having to carry a large cable or u-lock
  • The internally geared hub offers eight speeds which is perfect for slower riding, climbing or hitting the top speed of ~20 mph but being internal it stays cleaner, can be shifted at standstill and allows the chain to be shorter and tighter, it probably requires less maintenance and is definitely less vulnerable than a traditional derailleur
  • The double-leg kickstand is very stable, it keeps the bike upright and makes loading the rear rack much easier than if you only had a single side stand, note that the stand is also adjustable on both sides for use on slanted terrain
  • The LCD display panel is backlit, removable for safer storage and even has a built in micro USB port that can be used for charging portable electronics like a cell phone for music or GPS applications, you’ll need a cable like this for most Samsung phones and an adapter like this for newer iOS devices

Cons:

  • There are no water bottle cage mounting points on either frame style, it seems like the high-step would have had room on the seat tube but they didn’t add them, consider a bar cup holder or a trunk bag with bottle slot like this
  • In my experience the Shimano Roller band brakes don’t stop as quickly as v-brakes or disc brakes, they look nice and even have heat sink fins that sort of look like disc brakes but they use a band inside and require a bit more pulling effort to stop
  • As with most cruiser style electric bikes, the Townie Go! weighs a bit more than a standard city bike, the frame is larger, the saddle and handle bar are larger and the internally geared hub adds a bit of weight as well, thankfully the battery is removable for reducing weight during transport but it only weighs ~5.5 lbs so the bike will still be heavy
  • Mid-drive electric bikes tend to be easier for bike shops to work on because the wheels and drivetrains are mostly unchanged, this also means that they work well with quick release systems but the Townie Go! does not offer this, it uses standard threaded axles with nuts that require tools to work on
  • The battery requires a stronger push to fully click onto the frame, make sure you hear the click or it could get knocked off and fall to the ground (scraping or even cracking the plastic cover)
  • Walk assist appears to be de-activated on the Bosch system, this would be a nice feature given the heavier weight of the Townie Go! and I’m not sure why Bosch hasn’t allowed it (possibly to strictly adhere to the Class 1 category of ebikes in the USA? I hope they enable it on future versions)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Electra Reviews

2014 Electra Townie Go Review

  • MSRP: $2,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Comfortable, simple to use and affordable cruiser style electric bike built on the proven Electra Townie platform. The SRAM EMATIC system has no computer to mess with, no extra cables or settings…...

2013 Electra Townie Go Review

  • MSRP: $2,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Proven platform, Electra's Townie is comfortable, durable and stylish. Incredibly simple and clean, no computer to mess with, no extra cables or settings...

Klatuu
11 months ago

That is the most beautiful e-bike I've seen! But what I want to know is what helmet are you wearing in the video?

Court Rye
11 months ago

Hey Klatuu, cool name :D I agree with you, the Townie Go! is one of the most beautiful bikes I've tested and the different colors are awesome... To answer your question though, I'm wearing a helmet from Specialized called the Echelon II size Medium 54-60 cm (here's a product page for the standard Echelon, not sure of the differences but you can search Google for the Echelon II for sale). I like this helmet because it's bright white with reflectors built on and has an adjustable plastic slider at the back (with a little plastic wheel you twist). I'm able to wear it with my glasses and have owned it for over five years at this point and it's doing well. I visited Specialized HQ in Morgan Hill California last year and got to see some of their new equipment (including helmets) they explained that as the foam and plastic becomes brittle or if you hit your head moderately hard even once it's good to get a replacement so I may be due, I've enjoyed it a lot though and hope this feedback helps you find one yourself!

Justin
11 months ago

In the review this bike is referred to as a great neighborhood bike, but perhaps not the best for longer commutes. I was just wondering your opinion on why? If this were a non-electric bike, the weight and inefficiency of it would certainly disqualify it. However, as an electric bike I would think that these would not be an issue when looking for the perfect commuter. What are the criteria that would make up an excellent electric commuter bike? I'm looking to purchase a bike for my wife who commutes 10 miles each way (80% bike path).

Court Rye
10 months ago

Hi Justin! Sorry for the confusion... the Bosch powered Townie Go! would make an excellent commuter because it's capable of traveling further per charge, is relatively comfortable and has the rear rack for cargo. There are ways it could be further improved for trekking or touring (suspension fork, suspension seat post, more active seating). I guess my comment in the video was more about ride style. The "Flat Foot" pedal position doesn't always feel right to me for spinning quickly and offers less leverage for the legs... The trade off is a more upright body position and comfort. Since this is a Class 1 ebike you have to pedal and sometimes the wider saddle (which is often mounted lower by riders) creates a scrunched leg situation that can strain knees. I would consider the Kalkhoff Tasman Classic a more active long range commuter but the Townie is similarly capable if you set it up right. An ideal long-range commuter would be the Kalkhoff Agattu Impulse with the suspension fork and post (and like the Tasman Classic the pedals are more directly below vs. forward). I realize these are subtle differences, sorry to throw you off with the comment in-video. The Townie Go! Rocks and would probably be just fine, I see so many electric bikes that I can get a bit more critical at times and really zero in on the differences ;)

Odette
9 months ago

Hi I'm interested to buy that bike but I am just wondering if there is a maximum weigh for riding this bike ?

Court Rye
9 months ago

Great question Odette, I am not completely sure but most ebikes I see out there limit weight at 250 or 300 lbs. My guess is that the Electra Townie Go! is similar but you could contact your local Trek dealer and ask them to be sure :) if you find out please comment here again to help others and I will add the information in the review!

Mark
8 months ago

I'm looking at the Townie Go for cruising the neighborhood which includes some fairly steep hills. The Bosch system is 350 watts with a 36 v 11ah battery. I've been comparing it to the Bafang bbsd at 1000 w and 48 v 15-29 ah battery. Is it that more efficient? It seems underpowered for a guy like me who weighs over 200 lbs, yet in the review you stated it is overkill. Thanks for your reply!

Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Mark! If you do get a Bafang mid drive I recommend the 750 watt or even 500 watt BBS02 models vs. the BBSHD because it is illegal at 1,000 watts unless used on private property or off-road. The US limit is 750 watts or less and 20 mph or less with a throttle and both of those requirements are satisfied by the Bosch mid-drive (and other consumer ebikes). In my experience, it's enough power and way more responsive and refined than the BBS02 but it is weaker and you don't get a throttle... I don't use the throttle as much now that I'm fully accustomed to riding electric bicycles. I like to pedal and feel the zoom of the motor helping, it feels natural and comfortable but there are advantages to power on demand, especially if your legs get tired or the street is wet or you need help getting going. E-Rad makes my favorite version of the BBS02 because it has shift sensing and can be made to fit a wide range of models. They also sell completely built electric bikes (the bike, the battery and the motor all combined just like the Electra Townie Go!) I hope these suggestions help you. If you live near a Trek dealer and can try the Townie Go! I would highly recommend it, you'd get excellent support and warranty by working with a local ebike shop but if you live near Las Vegas you could do the same thing with E-Rad because that's where their headquarters is now :D

Mark
8 months ago

Thanks Court! Townie Go's are very hard to find and there aren't any dealers locally that have one in stock to test ride. My wife and I plan on riding together. Our rides will be casual and certainly nothing over 20 mph so we liked the idea of a Townie Go. It also fits our other requirements such as fenders, comfort, upright riding position and wide tires. One downside is the cost to replace the battery. At $800 or more it is about twice the cost of a battery for a Bafang kit. It would be great if someone would produce an aftermarket battery for the Bosch mid drive at a substantial savings.

We may have to buy one sight unseen if we decide on the Townie, a little on the risky side. One other question, when you test rode the Townie with the Bosch motor, was there any resistance from the motor itself when you pedaled without electric assist? Your reviews and posts have been invaluable in this process of selecting the right ebike! Thank you so much! Mark

Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Mark, I cannot say for sure whether the motor creates resistance to pedaling... certainly the gear system that spins the sprocket at 2:1 will reduce efficiency but in my experience it's hardly noticeable. When you coast, the rear wheel freewheels just like any ordinary bicycle so there's no drag like you might find on a gearless direct drive hub motor (many of which offer regenerative braking to offset that cogging drag). I'm being very objective here, yes there will be some resistance. In practice, it's not something I've ever noticed and while the battery packs for Bosch tend to cost more that's in part due to the extremely high quality. Also, since they use the same pack for all of their designs 2013-2016 and possibly beyond... you have a large pool to draw from vs. something more custom. My Uncle has had and used a Haibike with the Bosch drive system for over a year and a half now riding every single day to work and back... sometimes for fun in the mountains or around town too, and he hasn't noticed much degredation (and this is in Colorado where the temperature can range from below freezing to over 100 degrees). I think Bosch makes one of the best systems around and would actually see the Townie Go! as a lower risk "sight unseen" purchase. This is the third generation of the bike, they are now owned by Trek (one of the largest manufacturers worldwide) and Bosch is a clear leader. You and your wife will likely have a wonderful experience with the bikes. Here's a video I shot with my Uncle discussing his Bosch powered ebike :)

Mark
8 months ago

Thanks again Court. Your research is invaluable to those of us shopping for ebikes. Btw we are not going into this totally blind. We have test ridden Pedego Interceptors and I have test ridden a Pedego Ridge Rider to get a feel for the difference between pedal assist and torque assist. We also rented Pedego bikes that were throttle only. We went to a local Trek store that had non-motorized Townies and rode several of them. I'm reasonably certain that a Townie Go will work just fine for my wife who is petite and in great shape. I plan to buy her a Townie Go that she can enjoy and then see if it will handle my larger size especially up the hills in our area. If it does then I'll buy a second one for me. If not, then I'll be back with more questions. Thanks for helping.

Court Rye
8 months ago

Sounds good Mark, hope everything works out! I bet your wife will love the bike :)

Denise
8 months ago

Can this bike successfully pull a standard large dog trailer? I have a 110 lb pitbull that had surgery on both knees. He misses our long walks so I figured I could tow him around instead. This prompted my research into electric bikes. I'm petite and nearly 50 so it would be impossible without the electronic assistance.

Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Denise! My opinion on this is yes, a strong yes :) I don't want you to be disappointed and suppose there are many factors to consider here like the trailer you get, how heavy you are, the terrain, even wind but the Bosch mid-drive is very powerful in my experience. Here's another review with a video of me climbing a very steep mountain with nearly the same motor from Bosch doing just fine.

Denise
8 months ago

Thanks for the quick reply. I'm running into a problem with the attachment of the trailer to the back fork of the Townie Go! because of it's single chain setup. But I really love the Townie Go!. Can you recommend a similar bike. I can then research that. Your reviews are the best I've ever seen regardless of the product. You have made this decision much easier for me.

Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Denise! I'm so glad the site has helped... sorry to hear that the Townie Go! doesn't seem to be compatible with your trailer. I've heard that there are multiple attachment designs out there and that some people make custom adapters. If you like the Townie Go! maybe it would be cheaper to find someone locally at a machine shop to make you a special adapter? The same sorts of issues could crop up with other models (most of which use hub motors) and that will add more complexity to the rear of the bike. The neat thing about the Townie Go! is that it uses a mid-drive. Also, you could ask in the Forums and try to get help from Ann M. who is a moderator there, she has experience with ebikes and could help to point you in the right direction or add more creative thoughts.

Leslie
7 months ago

I just purchased 3 days ago from my favorite local bike dealer the azure colored Townie Go! 8i. They didn't expect to get it in until December 2016 and one came in so I was the lucky one who got it. I want to thank you for the excellent review video you did on this electric-assist bike. Your video was so thorough in explaining everything regarding the Townie Go!. You helped me learn very quickly all the features and how to use them. I can't thank you enough for taking the time to create this video. I hope it stays on this website so that I can refer back to it whenever needed. I like your very clear style of explaining things and providing your opinion on what you really like about the bike and what could be better. This is one of the best review videos I've seen. THANK YOU!

Court Rye
7 months ago

Wow, thank you SO much for all of the compliments and feedback Leslie! I really enjoy helping people, especially with technology that I view as healthy and positive but it's a lot of work and can be exhausting to travel, shoot, edit, write etc. comments like yours make it all worth while. I too hope that this site can continue to offer honest, objective information (and comments!) for years to come. Enjoy your bike, I think you chose very well with the Townie Go! :)

Leslie
7 months ago

Hi Court, thanks very much for your reply back to my comment. I forgot to add that, not only do I absolutely love riding my Townie Go and love how it looks, but I actually chose to buy this specific bike based on your review. I originally rode my very first electric bike in Kauai last October and enjoyed riding it so much that I knew my next bike would be electric. Last month, there was an electric bike Expo in our area and I had the opportunity to ride many different brands of electric bikes. I actually never saw the Townie Go while there (although my bike dealer said they had them at the Expo) but there were so many bikes to test ride I just never saw it. (On a side note, I did learn from the bike dealer that the bike I rode in Kauai was a true electric bike with a throttle and I didn't have to pedal, whereas the bikes at the Expo were all electric-assist where you do have to pedal.) Anyway, I digress...of all the bikes I rode at the Expo I thought I liked the Trek the best so as I was doing some research online I came across your review of the Townie Go. I liked your review so much that I went to my bike dealer and asked to ride one. He didn't have any of the step through bikes but he had the high step like the one you have in your video that I rode. The rest is history but I credit you and your video for my choice of the Townie Go. I was even willing to wait until December 2016 to get it but, as luck would have it, one azure step through came in to the dealer and since I was on the waiting list they called me first.

A question I have for you is that I don't like not being able to see traffic behind me while riding. Is there a mirror that will fit on the Townie Go that you would recommend? I prefer not to use the mirror that you can attach to your glasses.

Again, I thank you for an awesome video. I have watched it 5 times now as I try to learn everything about my new bike.

Court Rye
7 months ago

Wow, I have never been to Hawaii but it looks beautiful... neat place to experience your first electric bike ride. I bet you were on Pedego models right? They have dealerships in Hawaii and their bikes have throttles as well as assist and they even kind of look like the Electra Townie Go! cruisers. I'm glad your dealer was able to get you a model, did you know that Trek bought Electra a year or two back? It's interesting that Trek was your first choice after the Ebike Expo and that you ended up with a Trek-owned model :P

Regarding mirrors and safety... I always ride with a helmet and there are special mirrors you can stick to the side of them like this but if that's too much like the glasses mirror you said you didn't like then consider a bar-end mirror like this. Usually you can stick one of these into the handle bar tube and adjust it to work much like an automobile side mirror.

Leslie
7 months ago

Hey Court! You definitely need to get to Hawaii sometime. I've been to all the islands and they each bring something different so it's worth it to see them all if you get the chance. I can't remember now what brand or model electric bike I rode in Kauai. I did know at the time but once I found out they were about 5K I knew that was more than I would be willing to pay for a bike. I actually told you a half truth when i said the Trek e-bike was my favorite of the ones I rode at the Expo. I should have said it was my favorite in my price category. My most favorite was the Stromer ST1 and ST2 but the price tag at 4 and 5K was again more than I wanted to pay. I am very satisfied with my Townie Go!

Thank you for the recommendations for the mirrors. I appreciate it. You are totally awesome about helping others! Now all I need is a rear rack trunk bag. If you have a favorite, please let me know. I don't need one with panniers as I only need to carry wallet, keys, water, etc. Thanks again!

Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi Leslie! Hawaii is on my list... will try to visit as many spots as I can :) it's cool to hear that you liked the Stromer bikes, they offer a really quiet, smooth and powerful feel but indeed, the price tag is higher!

Regarding bags, I have owned a couple of these (got one for my Mom to use on her bike and it has worked great for over a year). A friend of mine recently bought this one which I think looks a little nicer. Both of these bags have a bottle holster which is cool, it's a little tight but still useful if your bike doesn't have a bottle cage (like the Townie Go!)

Rob
6 months ago

Court: Thanks for all the reviews. I must have watched nearly all of them before settling on the Electra Townie Go 8i, Army Grey with the spectacular red tires. It will arrive in just 2 days at my local Trek shop. Your reviews are an incredible service. Thank you. Rob Price

Court Rye
6 months ago

Great choice Rob, Electra really nailed it with their latest models (love that they come in multiple colors and the high-step/low-step configuration. I'm sure you'll have a great time, hopefully the Trek dealer treats you right, it's nice having a larger company for the support and fit services. Appreciate your kind words :)

scott t
3 months ago

will the power pack 500 work on this bike...would it offer more range than the 400 that comes with the ebike?

Court Rye
3 months ago

Hey Scott, great question... Yes, I believe the Electra Townie Go! and other ebikes that use the 2014/2015/2016 Bosch Centerdrive system with the PowerPack 400 are all forward compatible to work with the new 500 battery. It fits into the same interface and indeed, would offer more range. The really cool thing is that I believe it only weighs like 1/2 lb more so it's a sweet upgrade!

scott
2 months ago

I have a 2016 TOWNIE GO. It is a great bike. I have about 250 miles on mine so far (a few weeks of ownership). It is extremely comfortable courtesy of the riding position, plush saddle and fat frank tires. I have put some collapsible metal baskets and nylon trunk bag on the rack and this expands functionality. I will say the only drawback is the brakes and range. I'm a two hundred pound rider (in northern Nevada) and the band brakes are under powered or whatever the term for weak brakes is....and on a few occasions I have come close to meeting range max. Granted though, that is something an an extra battery on days that I know I will be riding longer on.

Many of the city styled bikes to me still have a bent over riding position that beats my shoulder up but not this one. The townie is great platform for an ebike. If you ride alot, go ahead and get an extra battery and then enjoy it till it falls apart.

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hey Scott! Thanks for sharing your experience, glad to hear the Townie Go! is comfortable and mostly covers your riding habits (in terms of range). Have fun and be safe out there! Good accessory advice too, I like baskets and stuff, way better than wearing a heavy backpack - especially on a hot day in Nevada ;)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Mark Peralta
2 days ago
The hub motor operates ideally on a 2 speed mode. The problem is the logistics of space. There is not enough room so they end up with small motor/low power. There was the SRAM ematic that was used by Townie and Ohm at one time. There's also the Xiongda that suffered durability issues. However, it looks like it has been beefed up lately and Luna is hot rodding it and installing thermal cut off protection. You might want to look at Luna.
Thomas Jaszewski
5 days ago
Hi!

Thanks, I'm really not trying to sell anyone on a Townie, but I don't have to lift a leg to mount. Without a rear pannier or basket i can simply slightly lift and spread my legs to mount from the rear. I always say the most important feature is the one that makes the individual rider the most comfortable. I'm glad you have your solution! Thanks for sharing, I learned something today!
Thomas Jaszewski
6 days ago
Dropping the seat throws the geometry off for my pedaling. I do like the step through HKS Crank forward. They apparently have a work around on the patent as the forward portion is as much as the Townie.
fxr3
1 week ago
I also have arthritis in my knees(and seems like everywhere else). I find the mounting of a step thru much less painful than throwing my leg over townie seat. Once I have stepped thru, it requires a natural pedal and star to get on seat. When stopping I feel I just naturally slip back down to standing in stepthru till I'm ready to go again and when I want off, I just step over frame and I'm off- where townie leg has to come back over seat and that is the move my body doesn't like.
Plus the pedal forward design hurts my knees too, as my knees prefer a more vertical motion.
Thomas Jaszewski
1 week ago
All I can find of the Townie are the pictures of the voltmeter and they 3 way switch to change between the two batteries.
Thomas Jaszewski
1 week ago
Christopher
As an ebike consumer and enthusiast, its unfortunate Electra has a strangle hold on cruiser style ebikes able to be built without a true upright, relaxed riding position crank forward design for proper leg extension allowing to plant our feet flat on the ground whenever we want without leaving the saddle.

Crank forward design should be an industry standard on all cruiser ebikes, but as you stated earlier, Trek was trying to bring its customers more comfort and control and were caught infringing on Electra's patent. Sad.
I guarantee the Trek Pure and KHS are completely heads up and flat foot. I'm trying to find the picture of the Townie I converted. If you can find ANY of the Trek frames named in the suit they are also FABULOUS flat foot frames. My KHS achieve the Townie ride but as I wrote they messed them up in 2016. I bought one and committed before I realized the changes. SO I'm upgrading the brakes, wheels, handlebars and seat.
Thomas Jaszewski
1 week ago
My first two, 2014 KHS Smoothies. Almost as nice as the Townie. They did two sizes.
Thomas Jaszewski
1 week ago
I like my Trek Pure the best of any bike I've electrified. It's as heads up and flat foot as the Townie. The KHS WAS a good bike until they lowered the price and dumbed down the quality of the gear. I still see the Pedego as more crank forward, but you're right.

Great discussion! Thanks!

I'd like ONE more flat foot frame. An early Townie. My buddy has one and the frame build quality is fantastic, but no discs.
Thomas Jaszewski
1 week ago
View attachment 14058View attachment 14064View attachment 14055View attachment 14058
Drop a vertical line from the center of the seat post. The townie is more forward, but the Pedego is definitely more forward than a typical cruiser. Making it an attractive build to me. Sorry having a silly time with the photo editor. But the patent must have loopholes. Given the extreme forward position of the Pure, failed lawsuit, and the KHS Smoothie.

That said I think the Pure and the Townie were the best builds of all. Best gear and quality. The Pedego sure looks nice!
Thomas Jaszewski
1 week ago
Electra Files Patent Infringement Suit
Published January 25, 2011
VISTA, CA (BRAIN)—When Electra received a patent for its Flat Foot technology last summer, it put the industry on notice it would protect this patent. In December it filed a patent infringement suit against Trek over its Pure and Cruiser bikes.

“Our supply of bikes will not be impacted and our dealers can continue to sell bikes with confidence,” said Bob Burns, Trek’s general counsel. Burns would not comment further.

While Electra filed the suit in Northern California district court, it has not served Trek with the suit. Discussions between the two companies are ongoing as they try to resolve the dispute out of court.

Electra claims Trek’s Pure, Pure Lowstep, Pure Sport, Pure Sport Lowstep, Pure DLX, Pure DLX Lowstep, Cruiser Classic, Classic Deluxe, Calypso and Cruiseliner bikes infringe on co-founder Benno Baenziger’s Flat Foot technology, patent #7,740,262. It is seeking compensation for damage to its business caused by Trek’s infringing models.

The Flat Foot patent covers a range of geometry, seat tube and head tube angles intended to create a forward pedaling ride position. Electra introduced the design in its Townie line of bikes in 2003 and later added it to its Cruiser and Amsterdam lines.

—Matt Wiebe
Christopher
1 week ago
Thomas Jaszewski
Nice to see a crank forward design!
Technically
Thomas Jaszewski
1 week ago
fxr3
I had a Electra townie for a decade. There is no correlation between how you "mount" a townie and how it's design(and intended advantages).
Can you explain please? I find that with that geometry I don't have to lift and extend a leg to mount. I can mount from behind and being disabled never have to jump up onto or off of a seat. Nearly as easy to get on and off as a step through, with the added advantage of being able to flat foot while fully on the seat in the riding position.
Thanks for the feedback! But I think you missed an important aspect of the frame geometry for aging baby boomers. I have 5 flat foot or crank forward frames, nearly identical to the Townie frame

T
fxr3
1 week ago
I had a Electra townie for a decade. There is no correlation between how you "mount" a townie and how it's design(and intended advantages).
pxpaulx
2 months ago
The reason I will regularly mention where I have received a good deal is the direct result of poor local experience. I purchased a demo bike, msrp of $3k for about 30 percent off after I also traded in my electra townie, a $400 bike on its own that was essentially new. I still thought I got a reasonable deal and what I thought would be good dealer support. That was until I went and talked to the mechanic and learnt he learned how to do all his work from youtube. Why would I want to support that?

I appreciate the openness of the forum as is. You can't talk about buying options unless the buyers know how far their money can go. People won't sink 5k into a commuting alternative they aren't sure about on their first purchase. Their second bike in 3 years might be a different story. It was said earlier in the thread, get as many ebikes out there as possible, this market is too new in the US to stifle with heavy handed restrictions.
ROCebike
2 months ago
Thanks guys. I've ridden Pedego Interceptor, City Comm, and Ridge Runner. Also an iZip, Townie, and another Bosch mid drive (forgot name). So far no speed Pedelecs but I have noticed my desire to exceed 20 mph already. Probably coming from my younger years with motorcycles.

Since The first bike I tested was the Pedego with 500 watt rear hub with cadence sensor, everything else is comparing to that 'wonder' moment. The torque sensors are indeed a very different feel. I'm just not getting the oomph that I'd like unless I'm really cranking. Perhaps more time in the saddle would convince me. To be fair the Ridge Runner was my first with air shock forks and it had under inflated tires. It was a lot of work to ride it. Maybe setting it up better would help to feel torque sensor differences.

Regardless I've been reading that speed motors are preferentially wound for speed at the expense of torque. I think I'd like the 28 mph for routine riding on back roads. But if I finish every ride with a groan to get up the final hill, that's when I'd be annoyed. So perhaps I'm specifying a minimum 48V and 14. 0 Ah battery to ride fast with some juice left for the finish.

So @pxpaulx i think you get my point well. Machines are differentiated best at the extremes. It's hard to guesstimate a bike's performance when we weigh 1.5 to 2x that of Court. To your point I was considering a DIY with the Bafang 1000W mid-drive. It has convincing specs but I'd rather look for purpose built.

On other Threads there are many references to big guys and broken spokes (rear only) and flats (again rear only). So there is evidence of load on rear hub motors being a factor for heavier riders. Pedego offers mag wheels which would eliminate these problems.

Hey @munchmeister , pardon my crass inquiry but are you over 200 lbs? How's the ST1 holding up? Can you comment on its torque performance for you?

And @opimax , did you consider the ST1 X?

Thanks guys.
Keith Merson
3 months ago
Of those mentioned, personally I like the Electra Townie. That's partly because I love the classic cruiser style, partly for the Bosch drive, and partly for the internally-geared hub. BTW, kudos for still riding at 76 years young!
Berry78
3 months ago
I went to the expo yesterday (in the rain). It was Fabulous! Had the track virtually all to myself due to the weather. Brought my daughter as well.

Everyone was just as nice as could be, plenty of bikes. No Stromers, and I didn't see any Brose. (Hope I didn't just miss 'em if they were there!)

Commuters: The Kalkhoff Integral felt like the best commuter, very good geometry, and solid feel. The Impulse motor felt smooth to me. The Trek x700 was underwhelming. Had some sort of round front suspension that was irritating. The Bosch (across the line) was smooth as silk, but maybe too much so for my taste. (Do I secretly crave speed and power??)

Mountain Bikes: The KTM with Bosch, Excellent bike. Only one I rode with full suspension, Probably would shine on a rough road, but the track was smooth flat pavement with lots of corners. Specialized TurboX, yum! The absolute winner for me at the show. Solid, Solid, Solid feel, brakes, corners, like a dream. Could stand up and pedal, etc. The first I rode had bald tires, and I didn't realize it! Got off after a breath-taking ride, and was stunned to see no tread. No slipping on the wet track at all! There was another with tread, felt the same way.

Fat tired bikes: Turbo Levo, not sure if the motor was even on.. (seriously).. umm... not my cuppa. Trek with fat tires, had motor definitely on, but again, not my cuppa. Front wheel was SOO heavy! Loved the automatic seat dropper though.

Tempo: Interesting concept, but not refined. First thing that happened.. just moving pedals into position to mount bike, and it surged forward... not too hard, but could be dangerous. Whole experience was underwhelming with the automatic transmission.

Wallerang also had an automatic system that was also unrefined. BUT, put the hub into manual mode, and it was as sweet as pie! Love the internally geared Alfine 8, combined with the Carbon Gates Belt. Love the oh-so-sturdy feel of the Wallerang geometry. The handlebars were too aggressive/low for the feeling of the rest of the bike, but otherwise, this was the winner for whole-package feel. If I'm going on an errand or hitting a smooth trail, this is the winner. I did clip a pedal on the ground during a high-speed turn. Only bike I did that with, so the cranks could use a smidge more clearance for more aggressive riding. The brakes felt GREAT!

Ariel Riders had a unique feel. Would definitely stress that anyone considering one of these HAS to take a test ride before purchasing. The motor was very powerful, but not as refined as most of the others. At one point I think I made it halfway around the track before the motor stopped giving assistance after I stopped pedaling. Now I'm sure if I needed to stop, the brake would have cut the power, so maybe just something worth noting, rather than super important.

The Yuba cargo bikes were a big surprise. They were super steady, and I really didn't notice the extra length or weight while riding. My daughter could feel the extra size, and didn't like it, so YMMV. The Yuba Mundo was the only bike I saw with the BionX system. The system actually didn't feel particularly powerful lugging the big bike and my own weight around the track. But, it didn't feel particularly underpowered either. Sort of like the Bosch system. No fireworks, just smooth.

My daughter really loves step-thrus with upright geometry. She tried a couple Gazelles and a Trek Lift, and enjoyed them all. Didn't like the Electra Townie as well as I thought she would. She would have liked the Wallerang better with higher handlebars.

Actually the very first bike I rode was a BH bike, and I have no idea which one. It was a hub drive, and had a good solid feel. Can see why they are popular

It was pretty noisy with traffic next to the track, and tires on wet pavement. Only one bike did I actually hear a whiny motor, and at this point, can't remember which one.

Edited to add... just going through this list, I realize I rode at least 17 bikes that I can specifically remember.. was there for about 3.5 hours.
Dominique Séguier
4 months ago
GatorBob
"Brooks saddles have been around for more than a hundred years for two reasons, yeah they look cool... but they work!"

Yesss! The first thing I did after I started riding my new 2015 Pedego Interceptor III was scrap its oversized "comfort" saddle and replace it with a properly oiled "B17 Standard" Brooks saddle. The Brooks provides real "comfort" for my 86 year old butt.
I did exactly the same thing as soon as I got my Electra Townie 8i. The saddle was cheap an much too smooth. I bought a Brooks B67, what a difference. It's expensive but the feeling is great.
Dominique Séguier
4 months ago
Robie
Hi Dominique,
Our recent American Ebike magazine had a review that gave high praise for your Townie ebike. It looks like a comfortable riding style with feet somewhat forward. Your going to discover much more of Paris with an ebike than a car.
Hi Robie,
I'd say I live differently in Paris with an E-bike. But as I was born in Paris 64 ago and as I've lived in this city for these 64 years, it's hard to discover something new but why not.
Robie
4 months ago
Hi Dominique,
Our recent American Ebike magazine had a review that gave high praise for your Townie ebike. It looks like a comfortable riding style with feet somewhat forward. Your going to discover much more of Paris with an ebike than a car.
Floridatrains
4 months ago
Thank You Very much for your experience with the Townie I have been doing maybe too much research but it looks like I am definitely leaning towards the Townie one reason like you stated compared to others price wise with the Bosch system and the warranty backed by Trek it looks like the right choice for me currently if it isnt sold yet I can get a floor model for $1800 nut its site unseen so we will see Thank you again! Tony
Dominique Séguier
4 months ago
I like the Bosch system but keep in mind that there are three different units.

The Active Line. That's the cheap one.

The Performance Line. Very performant for the city bikes.

The Performance Line CX specially made for VTT.

I've the Bosch Performance Line on my Electra Townie 8i. The average range is around 40 miles on the "Tour " position.
Gary H
2 months ago

Electric bikes are the poor mans Tesla. Sign me up! :)

whydidyouresign
5 months ago

Drum brakes? Really?? Wonder if they can be changed out to a 21st century
option....

JaxBicycleCenter
7 months ago

Great review.

MikeZ32TT
7 months ago

Thanks for all your reviews. Your channel is a great source of info. I
appreciate it. I'm in search of a nice cruiser/comfortable style electric
bike.

כרמל גור
11 months ago

You should review the bolt m1 its a really cool motorbike style e bike :)

GrimFaceHunter
11 months ago

+כרמל גור It will probably be on his other channel.
They avoided saying how much power Bolt's motor can output, but it is
probably well above the legal limits for bicycles, unless it is over sized
just for the looks.
The thing looks like it can easily handle 5KW.

כרמל גור
11 months ago

+GrimFaceHunter really? their site says that it doesnt need a licence. and
doesnt he has a moped licence because he did reviews on electric mopeds
already

GrimFaceHunter
11 months ago

+‫כרמל גור‬‎ Bolt is a moped. No matter what their website says, you will
need to register it and have a moped license for it. With that look, and
especially that huge motor you cannot get away with claims that it is
really a bicycle.

MotorheadRedo
11 months ago

I thought it would be convenient to own a cafe lock with the accessory
cable for making quick stops at places like convenience stores, but they
are very hard to find in the USA. The locks security rating is very low,
but a very convenient lock to use. The more common name is frame lock, and
their made by a company called AXA. I think the popular model is AXA
Defender. They make accessory cables and chains that plug into the lock.
Very popular in Europe but hard to find in the USA. It wouldn't surprise me
if the AXA company phased them out, because they are so easily defeated,
but very convenient to use for quick stops when the bicycle never leaves
your line of site.

philodygmn
11 months ago

This *almost* edges out an eRad conversion of a regular Townie, for me,
now, but no throttle, a weaker motor, questionable brake choice, no
suspension, no walk mode, and a battery pack and electronics I'm not as
confident in since they're less transparent than eRad about their supply
chain plus eRad can convert one of the Townie balloon tire models still
keep this from winning out, even despite having a slick integrated,
removable display and lighting system with the nifty break-out control box
on the handle (the battery-pack's carry handle is also nice).

I only have eyes for mid-drives, at this point, though, for sure. Thank
goodness Townie's no longer exclusively under Electra's quixotic direction,
though I'd be disappointed if the Flat Foot design remains Electra
exclusive, and I hope to see balloon -style models...

Al M
10 months ago

+philodygmn
Flat Foot design is not unique. There are other models with bottom bracket
forward of seat tube. Biktrix Stunner comes to mind, and few by Giant in
non-electric realm.

Agreed, no throttle and proprietary (= $$$ and less available) Bosch system
is a minus for many US consumers. Smallish battery. Make it 15 AH and add a
throttle, for God's sake.

Handlebar is not swept back - wasn't it supposed to be cruis-ish model?

On the esthetic side, battery blends in but the paint pattern of bottom
bracket makes motor stand out a bit.

Mark Elford
11 months ago

Good review, user friendly ebike. im a bosch fan.

gojo bojo
11 months ago

its expensive

Alc Anon
11 months ago

hey man is there a chance you doing e bike greyp review please

Alc Anon
11 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com
You are correct .
Maybe you can borrow from some fan or someone who has it. Because it is
pretty expensive and custom made.
Thank you for reply. Keep it rocking.

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

+Alc Anon Oh, I would love to! From what I can tell they're based in Europe
right? I'll keep an eye out but I have never seen one in a shop so doing a
review is difficult, I have so many ebikes to check out here in the USA
right now, maybe I'll make it to Europe later this year! This is the bike
you're talking about correct: http://www.greyp.com/

Monstah Jones
11 months ago

if there was one bike that had the potential to be an awesome cruiser it's
the townie.. there's only two things I wish they'd do to this frame and
that's shorten the head tube to allow for some other fork options ( it'd
look beautiful with a monark springer in there ), and open up the rear of
the frame for some wider rim sizes.. if they ever put these out with a fat
rear ( 80 or 100mm ) I'd be down for one asap..

Monstah Jones
11 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com hey bloke, if you're ever considering a monark
fork, consider getting a sunlite from amazon like this
http://www.amazon.com/FORK-SPRINGER-SUNLT-300xTDLSx28-6x30-225mmSTACK/dp/B010TSRO7E/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1457402676&sr=8-6&keywords=sunlite+springer+fork
.. they really are built tough and well worth the money..

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

+Monstah Jones Oh wow, you're totally right! I love the look of that
Monarch Springer custom fork http://www.monarkforks.com/ hadn't thought
about the head tube length as a limiter for suspension... I like the idea
of fat tires as well but might explore the mid-sized 6-fatty that has
popped up on some of the Specialized ebikes and the OHM I reviewed late
last year: https://electricbikereview.com/ohm/sport-xs750-plus-16/

Douglas Kmiotek
11 months ago

OMG!!! I so want this bike. Arrghhh!!!

Douglas Kmiotek
11 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com I agree. This is a wonderful looking, and
performing, ebike. I hope I can get one by late summer. I'm in luv here,...
😍

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

+Douglas Kmiotek Yeah, they really nailed it with the Bosch system, the
Electra Townie has long been a popular bicycle and one of the first
conversions (Pedego used to convert Townie's into ebikes using kits before
building their own brand) and now I feel like they finally nailed it ;)

Ex13m1
11 months ago

bingo

Ex13m1
11 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com but i have Sduro Fullnine rx 2016 )

Ex13m1
11 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com I'm a fan of motor Bosh and Yamaha. I think that
the chopper with this engine is cool.

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

+Ex13m1 Oh yeah, I feel like they nailed it with this model and the price
is decent considering you get the Bosch drive system... Most bikes with
this motor were $4k+ in 2014 and 2015

bryphi77
11 months ago

I really like the style of the guys bike. I wish it had a really good hub
motor instead of the center drive. I am not sold on the center drives yet.
I know they have more torque, and can take advantage of the gears, but I
really think that maintenance and drivetrain longevity are going to be a
problem with center drive and regular bike components. I know I have
mentioned this before, I am wondering if you have seen this in practice
since you deal with so many of these bikes.

bryphi77
11 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com The thing is... The hub motors are actually taking
stress off the drivetrain, where the center drives are doing just the
opposite. I am sure there is a few year warranty, but does that cover the
chain or the expensive geared hub? And what after 2 years?
From my point of view when buying a product like this for practical reasons
longevity and cheap maintenance are my top priority.
I cant thank you enough for making these vids. The bikes are finally coming
down to a price / quality ratio that is closer to being based in reality. I
am going to get an e bike before summer hits, and I definitely have enough
knowledge from watching these vids to know exactly what I want... and don't
want.

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

+bryphi77 Hey! I've heard people express similar concern, specifically
about the Bosch system, but have never had a shop tell me that they saw one
break. You get a solid two year warranty with this bike and if anything
does go wrong with the motor they just swap it out with a brand new one. I
think it's the best cruiser style electric bike on the market right now and
the price is awesome compared with other high-quality offerings. If you
want more power and prefer a hub motor definitely check out the Pedego
Interceptor which is also an amazing electric cruiser:
https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/interceptor/ and note that you can
get this in step-thru and a smaller 24" wheel size step-thru for shorter
riders. Pedego has done a great job making their line accessible :)

Juan Nieve
11 months ago

Your audio is just superb, pristine and clear even outdoors, what is your
setup? Anyway, I'd love to try those Bosch systems, nice bike btw.

Juan Nieve
11 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks for the information. Nah I'm not jumping in
the youtube biz, but I'm a sound engineer and was just wondering how you
get that audio so balanced, on headphones sounds just great :) thanks again!

ForbinColossus
11 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com amazing you havent dropped your camera! you've
become an expert in self action filming, if that the right way to say
it...Looks like the bosch kits have come down in price. It seems like this
townie is the lowest price bosch bike to date? Too bad about the oddball
brake system (I never heard of before).

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

+Juan Nieve Hi Juan, I use a GoPro 4 Silver (the one with the screen on the
back) and run it naked using a three axis motorized gimbal like this:
http://amzn.to/1QD0jvK and have glued a bit of dead-cat microphone cover
fur over the mic jack. Hope this helps you with whatever project you're
doing :D

John Moura
11 months ago

Nice bikes!

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

+John Moura Yeah, this one's a beauty ;)

yevgen chalyy
11 months ago

boa bicicleta

yevgen chalyy
11 months ago

Mej e carro,tenho meus amigos russos,q fazem bikes sozinho ,queria ver?

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

+yevgen chalyy sim! Ele funciona bem e parece muito bonito :)