VeloMini Plus Review

Velomini Plus Electric Bike Review
Velomini Plus
Velomini Plus 250 Watt Aikema Geared Hub Motor In Front Wheel
Velomini Plus 24 Volt 10 Amp Hour Integrated Battery Lithium Ion
Velomini Plus Led Control Pad Grips Twist Throttle
Velomini Plus Folded Side View
Velomini Plus Folded Top View
Velomini Plus Included Canvas Bag With Handle And Backpack Straps
Velomini Plus Independent Led Light On Seat Post
Velomini Plus Kickstand Linear Pull Brakes
Velomini Plus Single Speed Drivetrain Plastic Chain Guides
Velomini Plus 8 Speed Cadence Sensor 152 Crank Arms
Velomini Plus With Trailer And Trunk Bag Reflective
Velomini Plus Integrated Rear Rack
Velomini Plus Optional Shimano Slx Trunk Bag
Velomini Plus Optional Luggage Trailer Accessory
Velomini Plus Optional T 1 Urban Trailer Folding
Velomini Plus Trailer Hitch Option
Velomini Plus Folded Fits Two In Trunk Of Car
Velomini Plus Electric Bike Review
Velomini Plus
Velomini Plus 250 Watt Aikema Geared Hub Motor In Front Wheel
Velomini Plus 24 Volt 10 Amp Hour Integrated Battery Lithium Ion
Velomini Plus Led Control Pad Grips Twist Throttle
Velomini Plus Folded Side View
Velomini Plus Folded Top View
Velomini Plus Included Canvas Bag With Handle And Backpack Straps
Velomini Plus Independent Led Light On Seat Post
Velomini Plus Kickstand Linear Pull Brakes
Velomini Plus Single Speed Drivetrain Plastic Chain Guides
Velomini Plus 8 Speed Cadence Sensor 152 Crank Arms
Velomini Plus With Trailer And Trunk Bag Reflective
Velomini Plus Integrated Rear Rack
Velomini Plus Optional Shimano Slx Trunk Bag
Velomini Plus Optional Luggage Trailer Accessory
Velomini Plus Optional T 1 Urban Trailer Folding
Velomini Plus Trailer Hitch Option
Velomini Plus Folded Fits Two In Trunk Of Car


  • One of the lightest, most compact, folding electric bikes I have tested, it folds down quickly and doesn't rattle around or come undone very easily because the seat post secures it
  • An integrated headlight, independent rear light, and bright glossy white frame help you to see and be seen in varied conditions, included canvas bag offers protection and concealment
  • A slightly lower 14 mph top assisted speed improves efficiency and stability given the smaller wheelset, efficient tires coast smoothly and the rear bumper and padded seat offer decent comfort
  • Single-speed drivetrain is reliable, plastic guides keep the chain on track even when folded, battery is not removable but can be replaced, pedal assist isn't super responsive but motor inhibitor brake levers help

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers








Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Comprehensive


United States, Canada

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

29.3 lbs (13.29 kg)

Battery Weight:

3.3 lbs (1.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

4.2 lbs (1.9 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

10 in (25.4 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Unfolded: 10" Seat Tube, 22" Reach, 18" Stand Over, 53.5" Length, 20" Width, Folded: 35" Length, 24" Height, 12" Width

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Gloss White with Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel, 11 mm Axle with Nuts

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Fender Holes, Rack Hols

Gearing Details:

1 Single Speed


A-10 Aluminum Alloy, 152 mm Length, Plastic Chainring Guide


Wellgo Plastic Folding Platform K20410




Alloy, Folding, Telescoping Height 12" to 18", 28.6 mm Diameter


Alloy, Flat, 25 mm Diameter, 20" Length

Brake Details:

YINING Mechanical Linear Pull, Wuxing Levers with Motor Inhibitors


Wuxing T-263, Flat Rubber, Black and Grey


AOY AFENG AYF-AZ-003, Comfort Design

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Extra Long

Seat Post Length:

530 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.8 mm


HJC P-18, Double Wall, Alloy 6061-T6, 20 Hole


Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge, Silver

Tire Brand:

Kenda Kwest, 16" x 1.5" (40-305)

Wheel Sizes:

16 in (40.64cm)

Tire Details:

40 to 65 PSI, Nylon, 2.8 to 4.6 Bar

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Rear-Mounted Kickstand, Integrated Standard Gauge Rear Rack, ZHETAI Integrated 12-LED Headlight, Stand Alone LED Rear Light, Protective Canvas Case with Shoulder Straps (Folds to 13" x 13", Weighs 2.5 lbs), Optional Shimano SLX Trunk Bag with Padded Shoulder Strap (1 lb) $29, Optional Folding T-1 Urban Trailer with Flag and Cover (15 lbs, 50 lb Max Load, 29" Length, 19.5" Width, 13" Deep) $395


Replaceable Battery, Modiary 1 lb 2 Amp Charger, Maximum Weight 260 lbs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

24 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

240 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

2 hours

Estimated Min Range:

8 miles (13 km)

Estimated Max Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, LED


Battery Level (5 Bars), Pedal Assist Level (Low, Med, High)

Display Accessories:

On/Off Toggle Switch

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (8 Magnet Disc)

Top Speed:

14 mph (23 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

Folding bikes have many uses… not all of which are immediately obvious. Petite riders regularly seek them out because of the low easy-to-approach standover height, shorter reach, and lighter overall weight. Boaters, RVers, and even private plane operators appreciate the compact size which allows for a pre-fit, familiar bicycle and gear to be brought along on new adventures. But unfortunately, many electric folding bikes just aren’t that light or compact. There’s a direct inverse relationship with size, power, frame strength, and cost. I regularly see cheap folding e-bikes that are just as heavy as full sized models, difficult to break down, less stable, and less comfortable. Now, the VeloMini doesn’t solve all of these problems, there are still trade-offs being made. But it is one of my favorite folding ebikes because of how easy it is to fold and how lightweight it is. This is a product that gets compared more with electric kick scooters than ebikes. It delivers a similar form factor (a bit longer than wider when folded) and doesn’t stand out as much as the products with removable battery packs and larger rear mounted motors. You don’t get the same top speed or range, but it charges so quickly (in around two hours) that bringing the compact one-pound charger along is no big deal. The original VeloMini products weren’t as handsome and “normal” looking as the latest Plus model. This is a product that has been refined over the years, since 2010 when they launched in America, it can now seat taller riders thanks to an elongated seat post and telescoping stem and despite the single-size option, can accommodate up to 260 lbs of rider weight and gear plus 50 additional pounds if you get the folding T-1 Trailer. Priced at $1,295 MSRP, the VeloMini+ isn’t as widespread in shops as some of the cheaper full-sized folders, but they do ship in the US and Canada and assembly consists of a three-step unfolding routine. The same three steps you’ll take to re-fold and unfold every time you use it. With narrow 16″ wheels, this isn’t a trail bike and you don’t get fenders for damp days, but the rear rack (when covered by the optional $29 lb trunk bag) keeps your back dry.

Driving the bike is a compact 250 watt nominal, planetary geared hub motor. They mounted it in the front wheel which keeps the single-speed drivetrain simple and clean. Changing flats on this bike isn’t an ordeal but without quick release wheels, you will need to bring along an adjustable wrench or pre-sized toolset. Consider purchasing additional inner tubes for the unique size and possibly Sliming the tubes and carrying a mini-pump in case you get a flat. The tires are narrow but rated to a higher PSI range of 40 to 65, stay towards the upper end if you weigh more or are carrying cargo. If you go off a curb or hit a deep pothole at speed, the tire can squish up and push the tube into the rim walls causing a pinch flat. But enough maintenance talk, I’m emphasizing it here because of the nonstandard use that many folding bikes get, being taken to unfamiliar territory. Back to the motor, you get a top assisted speed up to 14 mph but I was able to pedal beyond this on smooth, flat terrain. I’m not sure I would regularly strive for higher speeds given the short handlebar and nimble but less-stable wheelset. It feels good at 10 to 14 and the single-speed drivetrain didn’t both me because twist throttle was always available to help with starts. Note the plastic chain guide and cover which protects pants and dresses while keeping the chain on track during folds and carrying. The two complaints I do have about the motor are that it produces a distinct high-pitch whine when operating at full power and that it can spin the front tire briefly when starting (at least for me). The world of electric bicycles is full of interesting, sometimes distracting, statistics and motor wattage is one of them. What may sound small and weak to one person, is actually the perfect solution here because the smaller wheels offer a mechanical advantage for starting and climbing and the reduction in power flow acts as a battery-sipper, extending range from eight or so miles using the throttle-only to eighteen or more if you ride at the lowest level of pedal assist.

Given the cadence sensor and throttle setup here, this is a bike that can use more juice. The motor can feel sudden and even surprising at times if you jump to the highest level when starting out or completely open the throttle. As shown in the video, you want to be extra careful with this bike anytime it is turned on. Brand new VeloMini’s tend to have their pedals rotate when you walk the bike forward… which sets off the cadence sensor and can send the bike zipping forward. This happened to me as I got distracted filming and forgot to arrow down to zero, but even in that mode the throttle would still be hot and it would be easy to accidentally activate the bike during folding or loading. Given the extremely light 29.4 lb footprint, I never felt intimidated about the bike tipping over or taking off and hurting someone the way that I have with some other products. In fact, the bike did tip several times. The kickstand is small and effective but strong gusts of wind, angled surfaces, and the use of that T-1 Rack are enough to let it tip. Thankfully, much of the weight that is added to this bike through the motor and battery is positioned low and centrally. This is exactly what you want for balanced handling and predictable lifting and stowing. The battery itself only adds three pounds to the bike and is completely hidden inside the main tube. It looks better than the majority of other folding bikes and practically disappears… helping you blend in and avoid questions and unwanted attention. Note that the battery can be removed for service and replacement by taking the headlight off and sliding the stem out. It’s not something you should plan to do regularly but it’s nice that you can, to keep the bike going for years to come. You get 24 volts and 10 amp hours with this pack, quiet a bit less than the traditional 36 volt 10 amp hours on full sized products, but they had to save weight somewhere and the energy-dense Lithium-ion cells are long lasting. Store the bike in cool, dry locations at ~80% to maximize life. Check on it every month or two if you haven’t used it and fill it back up to 80% if it has dropped down.

Operating the bike requires two steps once the battery has been charged up. You stand over the frame and click the red toggle switch from the circle to the line on the right side, near the right grip. This switches on the battery pack, now you can hold the little power button on the control pad near the left grip. Once it is powered up, the five-bar battery infographic will light up and the headlight will come on if it’s dark out. At this point, the throttle is live and you can use it to zip along smoothly up to ~12 mph. For a more natural ride, and to give your wrist a break, press the plus button on the control pad to select one of three levels of pedal assist. The highest level of assist “High” gets you up to 14 mph and I recommend working your way there vs. starting the bike in high power mode from a standstill. This is the mode I used for the ride tests in order to demonstrate the towing and climbing power of the bike. And again, you could hear the electronic whir of the motor but don’t be too concerned, some of my frame shots amplified it. The reality is that road noises and even the tires and clicking of the pawls in the freewheel mask it pretty well. If you want to go slower, use the minus button to decrease power and once you’re done, hold that power button again and click the red toggle switch. I would prefer just one power switch on this bike but understand the separation of battery power flow from electronic controls. Many cheaper bikes have this sort of thing and at least both switches are easy to see and reach on the VeloMini Plus. Other products require you to reach down or back and sometimes even get off the bike to click a switch, which can be inconvenient.

The VeloMini+ isn’t a perfect bike for every occasion but I appreciate that it doesn’t try to be. It’s light, easy to fold, compact, and simple to use. The included canvas bag keeps it clean (or hides the fact that it’s dirty if you’re getting onto public transportation) but I felt the bag was annoying to zip. Maybe future bags will be a little looser or this one was just so new that it hadn’t filled out yet? Having an integrated headlight is wonderful and the very basic independent rear light was welcome but I’d probably wear a larger one on my backpack or helmet. The optional trunk bag and trailer have reflective tape on them and were both perfectly sized and matching for use with the VeloMini. With only one size and one color option, I didn’t feel like I was sacrificing much in the way of fit or style. This product is professional and timeless vs. cheap and tacky. I’m glad the rear rack is welded on vs. bolted because it felt solid and even had some rubber bumpers to protect it when folded under the frame. The yellow plastic bumper at the back offers a bit of shock absorption but the real superstar in terms of comfort is the saddle. It offers an inch or more of cushion support that is noticeable and welcome. Do I wish the optional trailer was cheaper? Yes, absolutely. But the product itself seems like a great value and I would definitely get the $29 trunk bag for the charger, my keys, a mini-pump with a pressure gauge like this and my wallet etc. Big thanks to Doug, the founder of VeloMini, for partnering with me on this post and using me.. I mean inviting me to go along to the port to pick these things up! It was neat to see how products from Asia get shipped over and unloaded at the port (Berkeley California in this case). Having reviewed the older VeloMini products, I came away very impressed with the new Plus model and finding that I enjoyed riding it more than kick scooters and wearing a backpack for gear.


  • VeloMini products are manufactured in Suzhou to Doug’s specifications, he has been importing and refining this product line since 2010, he receives the products directly and visits the factory regularly
  • At ~30 lbs, this is one of the lightest folding electric bikes I have tried, it feels more stable to ride than a kick scooter and offers more carrying capacity
  • Despite only coming in one frame size, the extra-long seat post and telescoping stem allow for a wide range of riders to fit, stand-over height is very low for people with hip and knee issues
  • You get variable speed throttle on demand and three levels of pedal assist for any type of riding, it’s nice to get power instantly without pedaling if you want
  • The motor is small and blends in with the silver spokes and the battery is completely hidden in the main tube of the bike so you can hardly tell it’s electric, the bike is very well balanced front to rear
  • An eight-magnet cadence sensor provides medium responsiveness in pedal assist mode so the brake lever motor inhibitors are very useful, any time you pull the brakes the motor stops
  • Cadence sensing assist isn’t as responsive or fluid as torque sensing would be, but you don’t have to work as hard pushing which is nice considering that this product has shorter 152 mm crank arms and softer plastic pedals
  • Thicker 13 Gauge spokes pair nicely with the smaller diameter rims to provide a lot of strength, the bike is rated for up to 260 lbs of combined rider and cargo weight, the optional trailer can support up to 50 lbs
  • The included canvas bag keeps the bike clean, makes it easier to lift (or wear as a backpack), and conceals it if you’re boarding a passenger train car where some people might not want a bike next to them
  • In addition to having a front and rear light that is included, the glossy white frame is visible from the sides in low lighting conditions and the optional trunk bag and trailer have reflective patches to keep you safe
  • VeloMini has been around in the US since 2010 and offers a one-year comprehensive warranty, I got to meet with the founder and see the operation so it felt legit


  • Because the bikes are so light, I found that the bikes would tip when a strong gust came through, the kickstand is tiny and usually out of the way unless you get the optional trailer, in that case the stand can be a little tricky to deploy and stow again due to the hitch arm
  • I feel like the T-1 Trailer accessory is very expensive at $395 but I cannot deny that it’s made well and folds down easily, riding with the trailer partially full felt great,
    I hardly noticed it
  • Most electric bikes allow you to remove the battery for safe storage and independent charging but the VeloMini has it built in… you can replace it with a bit of work if the cells ever completely expire after years of use
  • Smaller wheels and narrower tires tend to be uncomfortable to ride with because they fall into cracks, they offer increased strength and allow for a more compact fold but these are no exception, the lower top speed, bumper shock at the rear, and cushy saddle really help
  • VeloMini can be difficult to find in person, only a handful of shops carried it at the time of this review, but they ship direct and assembly is very easy… basically just unfold it
  • Some of the quick release collars really need to be tightened down, I noticed the seat twist a bit on me during the ride and the cargo trailer had one wheel start to fold in after we loaded some weight in it, just double check these and really tighten them down
  • Be sure to power the bike off or arrow down assist when stopping and walking the bike, I noticed that the crank arms would naturally turn when walking it and this activates pedal assist which can zip the bike forward unexpectedly
  • The motor produces a soft electronic whirring noise and the front wheel can spin out if you blast the throttle or start on the highest level of assist
  • The included canvas bag is a little tight, it took more than five minutes to fold the bike, align the bag and carefully zip it up without… it had to be done just right
  • The crank arms and pedals pass too close to the rear rack for a standard size pannier but the trunk bag works well, if you get the trailer option your left heel may get close to the hitch arm but I never made contact
  • Since the display panel is so basic, you don’t get a precise indication for how full the battery is and there is no speedometer, odometer, trip meter, clock, range estimate etc. as some of the fancier ebikes now have


More VeloMini Reviews

VeloMini 3 Speed Review

  • MSRP: $1,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Light weight, stable and strong sliding-triangle folding frame design. Offers three internal gears for pedaling at various speeds along with pedal assist and twist…...

VeloMini 1 Speed Review

  • MSRP: $1,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

One of the lightest weight folding electric bikes available anywhere. Only offers one gear, small 180 watt motor and a maximum throttle speed of 12mph...

Gene Keyes
9 months ago

I bought a Canadian version of this bike called in Oct. 2016; see my video review here, and written review on EBR here, I paid ca. $775 US [$998 Cdn.] & free shipping (to Canada or US). This model lacks a kickstand, and has a smaller control / readout.

Note that mine is 24 lbs, not 29; and (besides twist-grip throttle) has only one control / readout, a red on-off button with three LED lights indicating battery fullness. Also, I think my charger is smaller.

9 months ago

Nice! Thanks for the info Gene, I enjoyed your video and writeup, great job linking these… thanks again :D

Jon Neet
6 months ago

You are testing a lot of folding bikes. I had been looking at the Genesis Commuter ebike. They go for $799. But, when I got looking closely, and emailed the seller, I found that the battery was not made to be removeable. Not interested. Then I stumbled on the ibike Metro XT. It looks a lot like the Genesis Commuter. When I looked closer, I found that the Metro XT does have a quickly removeable battery. It also comes with disk rear brakes (the Genesis doesn’t). The Metro XT sells for $899. But, get this, for that price it includes a spare battery, and free 2 day shipping. Here is the website if you are interested in maybe reviewing this compact folder someday. Scroll all the way down for the specs. They give 38 miles maximum range on pedal assist. With the spare battery fully charged in a backpack, this thing could have quite a range.

6 months ago

Cool, thanks for the suggestion Jon! I’ll keep an eye out for it and welcome further comments if you buy this or another model in the future :)


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Rod Kleiss
3 months ago

There are indeed some nice folding bikes that are in the 36 lb range. I was looking for really light. The options I found were the EbikeBC
( at around 26 lbs with an 8AH battery, or its higher priced sibling the VeloMini Plus at 29.3 lbs with a 10AH battery which I am sure accounts for the difference in weight. I hesitate with single speed bikes because it doesn't give me much option to peddle independently and save the battery. I opted for a Blix Traveller at just under 40 lbs with a 3 speed planetary gear system. It works well but it is heavier than I had wanted. It does have an 11AH battery which gives me a good 20 miles with just minor assistance. I'm still looking for the perfect very small foldable bike though. Haven't found it yet.

Rod Kleiss
5 months ago

Well, actually I'm glad you asked because I have the bike and can answer that question. Turns out that the bike without the battery is 36 lbs and the battery weighs 5 lbs. Still lighter than the bigger bikes but the margin shrinks. It is still lighter than most others and the 16 inch wheels really aren't a problem. I do like the internal 3 speed gear hub for the fact that is should be harder to break than a derailleur. Of course now I've located a much lighter bike although it is a one-speed. Here is the link: Goes for about $900 US bucks.
The frame is like the VeloMini which is reviewed by EBR. It's only 29 lbs with the battery. I think I prefer to have the 3 speed though and take the weight penalty. It gives me options.

sucka free
6 months ago

Hi all

I just received my Dillenger Opia today (see below link for the US version). I was in the market for a folding electric bike and this fit the bill, literally and figuratively. The price was right and figured I'd give it a whirl after entering the ebike foray via the Juiced CrossCurrent Air (500w version). I've decided the CrossCurrent Air was way too heavy to lug around (ie carry, put on a car rack, navigate in a tight bike parking garage) so I'd give this Opia a whirl.

To give context, I test rode an E-Joe epik and Motiv Stash (both 350w) and a velomini plus. I really liked the stash but couldn't justify the price thus I found the Opia.

At any rate, I received the Opia this afternoon and opened the box and it was packed protectively. Just enough styrofoam cushioning and wrap around the frame. No instructions were included but it was pretty straightforward to assemble and it took me about 15 minutes to put the skewer on the front wheel, adjust the front brake, install pedals, etc. Oh, about the brakes. They're reversed; left lever controls the rear and the right lever controls the front. I will be switching that out as all my other bikes are the other way around.

I took it for a ride around the block and although it's not as powerful as the CrossCurrent, it has plenty of pep for a 250w motor. It handles pretty well for having 20" wheels and a lower overall (close to the ground) design. It shifts well but will probably upgrade the derailleur in the near future.

There are some changes that I noticed from the bike on the website. First, if you look at the frame in the pics, it doesn't have braze-one for a rear rack or for rear disc brakes. The bike I received has the rear rack braze-ons and disc brake tabs. Oddly the fork does not have disc tabs so if I go that route in the future I'll have to replace the fork. Second, the LED display is different from the website as it is an updated version. (I've read the updated version comes with a rear rack, fenders and updated LED so it's nice that I can upgrade and still be under $1000 for a nice commuter).

At any rate, currently I'm pleased with my purchase as it fulfills most of what I want in a folding ebike. I was just surprised (pleasantly) at what I got versus what I expected.

I'm going to commute on it tomorrow and will give a review on it.

Kathy Smith
6 months ago

16" wheels are too small for me. I wish the BH EasyGo speed was 20mph.

6 months ago

The 250w is $1,000 and weighs just 25lb which is light for an ebike. Court Rye did a video review of the identical but more expensive It has smaller 16" wheels and the back wheel folds under the frame which has a carrying handle, the small 240wh battery is inside the frame so it looks like a normal folding bike, it is a single speed, has a throttle and pedal assist but is geared high and this recommended starting off using the twist throttle then pedalling. Top speed is 14mph, and range is 8 miles on throttle only up to 18 miles pedalling all the time in the lowest level of pedal assist so maybe 10-12 miles combined - battery range is an issue on folding ebikes because of the trade-off between small size batteries to keep weight down, for comparison the is a 20" normal looking folder with an even smaller battery delivering similar speed/range to the EBikeBC but weighing 39lb. My wife test rode the Tern Vektron last weekend and she liked the adjustable handlebar stem that adjusts for rake, bar angle, and height.

Kathy Smith
7 months ago

Thanks, but the wheels are too small.

7 months ago

Well, if you want a very lightweight folding ebike right now, I can recommend the, which has a twist throttle and 3 levels of pedal assist. It only weights 29 pounds.

Gene Keyes
7 months ago

Your use sounds very similar to mine, which is about a mile each way, home to stores, in a mainly flat small town, but with a bothersome grade in between, the same length as yours: not a steep hill, but just enough to challenge my ancient legs: sometimes I had to walk my (old) loaded bike uphill if it was windy or snowy. But the ebike scoots right up the hill, watermelon and all, even against the wind.

sucka free
7 months ago

Awesome! Thanks for the update, I really appreciate it. I am very interested in this bike (saw your comments originally from for the VeloMini and now am interested in the version you reviewed.

I'd be using it for about 1.5 miles each way, mainly flat (Oakland California) but with a short but steep 300 yards (downhill to start, uphill going home).

Any thoughts on my use?


sucka free
8 months ago

hi everybody and I look forward to being part of the community. I currently commute 7 miles on a Honda CBR to work (it's fun but after 4 years realize it's not THAT practical) and I'm ready to downsize to an electric folding bike. Kind of have my eye on the VeloMini Plus but I'm also seeing ads for a folding bike by a company called Genesis model Commuter. At any rate I see good reviews about the VeloMini but nothing on the Genesis Commuter. Anyone know about Genesis?

Ann M.
11 months ago

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric bikes from VeloMini as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

3 years ago


I'm interested in such small folding electric bike, but since there are no Velomini dealers here in FL then I have several questions to owners:

1) What is the actual average range if you drive at top speed (12mph)? They claim 9-12 miles, but I guess that such measurements are usually made at some particular speed and such speed is not always a top speed?
2) How rider's weight affects range? My current weight is 185 lbs (without outdoor clothing), so I wonder if such weight is good or bad for such bike? I know that limit is higher, but anyway.
3) I read ( that such bikes have flexible frames which is not good. I guess it also depends on the rider's weight. I wonder what was the weight of the rider in the review and if you guys (owners) have same issues too?

Thank you!

11 hours ago

I took a few pictures to show my mods. Without suspension I couldn't ride through the rough stuff, so I ordered a Suntour suspension seat post and a really plush leather seat from Electric Bike Company that is worth every penny, especially when spending hours out on the bike. Only about half of the front suspension has been used and provides lots of cush. The rear basket was salvaged from my Razor scooter, and up front I mounted a Mirrycle mirror so nobody can sneak up on me.

16 hours ago

Well here's another opinion (and that's just an opinion, may not make sense for you). My thoughts on ebikes is that whatever you buy it will be out of date soon so get the simplest, cheapest one that does what you need realizing that it's a consumable. Your commute is not very long and it is on flat terrain. I have an SS-Glide that I've put about 800 miles on with no problems at all. It is a single speed which is not an issue if you're on flat terrain and it's simplicity means you don't have a bunch of derailleurs and other stuff to break down and have to maintain. It has about a 20 mile range on the higher assist settings and the battery is only about $299, so if it wears out it's not the end of the world to replace it. I love this bike, since it's so simple it makes you feel like a kid again - most of the folks you see on this forum with expensive, fancy bikes are spending all their time fixing them, this thing just goes and goes. Dave who runs SS-Glide is really nice to deal with, and at a cost of about $1,200 for the plus version it's really inexpensive. The only downsides are if you want to go above 20mph you may want a faster bike (although for 6.5 miles it's not going to make much of a difference) and although real responsive it doesn't have a suspension, but I simply added a seat post suspension to take care of that issue.

2 days ago


My battery is dying and it's hard to find a replacement. I found only one place online, where I can get it for ~800 with shipping and taxes. Sounds a lot. I know that there alternatives, line Luna Cycle battery, but they don't have anything in stock and where some questions and it'll match my bike.

What's the usual route people are taking here? DIY with attaching custom batter to frame? (My battery is rear)

My bicycle seems like share the same battery with IZIP E3 Plus, same model


2 days ago

It’s a light I bought on amazon and made a 3D printed bracket. Here is a explaining it.

The lock is sturdy but I had to put one of those strips of rubber and really tighten down the mount. Plus the other bar keeps it from hitting the wheel.... I forget it’s there most of the time.

3 days ago

The wire you mention is two piece. There is a plug near the wheel and one that is a bear to plug and unplug near the wicket (battery carrier). The wire will have a plug on both ends and is available from Stromer it is called Power cable three pin PN 213608 retail $32usd if the one from the wicket to that is damaged it is available Wicket cable assembly PN 213425 retail $50usd plus shipping. Be aware the power cable is not the easiest fish through the chain stay but can be done with patience. If Stromer is reluctant to sell direct give us a call we can get you back in shape in no time.

Captain Slow
3 days ago

Went for a breakfast ride today and since I didn't need to rush to work or anything I thought I'd ride in Eco to test range claims as well as just have a leisurely ride. It was a sunny day (dry weather, but a bit cold on the morning part of the ride), little to no wind.

With the gear I was carrying, plus my weight I'd estimate that total weight carried by the bike was around 200 - 210 lbs. I rode a total of 42.15 km's using 296 watt hours, and I gained 282 metres of elevation. My average speed was 22.3 km/hr. or 13.86 m/hr.

That works out to 7.022 watts/km, or if my conversion is correct 11.299 watts/mile.

According to the "real-world" mileage claims on the Juiced website if you were using assist level 3 with a 190 lb. total payload on flat ground, warm dry weather that going 14 mph you would use 9.7 watt hours per mile. Using Eco where I find it's a much lower drain I used 11.3 watt hours per mile though I did gain 282 metres of elevation, plus my total weight was above the 190 lbs. for their claims.

I suppose it's hard to know how much to adjust for the higher power level, etc ..... but I suspect that if I rode level 3 on flat ground that I probably wouldn't get 9.7 watt hours per mile.

I would be interested in how much battery consumption others are seeing and their parameters. It hasn't been a significant issue, but I am finding that I wish I'd bought the 17.4 ah battery and cycle satiator. If I wanted to ride around time running a whole bunch of errands I'd have range anxiety with my current battery. Having the mid-level battery would significantly help the range and the satiator would allow me to top up the charge and pretty much eliminate range anxiety.

Let's see what happens this summer as I use the bike to ride errands on weekends. Again, would really like to have others post their battery efficiency numbers in this thread, how they use the bike and if they got a bigger than standard battery what their experience has been.

3 days ago

If you are not dropping chain the 9S stock setup is fine.

In not very brief, what I have recently gleaned from the 'net: 9S is many years ago stuff. There must be tons of it remaining unwanted in the supply lanes. 10S came along quite a few years back now, and then shortly thereafter, 11S became the new keep-up-with-the-Jones', gotta-have-it bike bling

We don't need so many gears, of course, but the clutch-type tech of Shimano (they bundle it with their "Shadow" lower protruding derailleur tech) Plus and the similar clutch, Sram makes, only came out for 10S and 11S (and we presume for 12S to come). 9S is not supported by the new anti-chain-drop tech, although you can get a narrow-wide chainring (more in a bit) and use that for a possible total cure for your chain drop issues.

The Shimano Shadow derailleurs are for mountain bikes. The SPRING on that Shadow tension arm is a great deal stronger than our stock CCS 9S tension arms, a big plus toward reduction of chainring chain drop incidents. The CLUTCH of of the Shadow Plus adds yet additional control to the chain, reducing jouncing of the upper length of the chain. When a chain jounces left or right and there is no effective guide, the chain runs off the upper half of the chainwheel.

I am not "pontificating," I hope. I mean only to describe what I have learned as seen from my own perspective.

Months ago I shortened the stock chain and experienced for 200 or so miles NO chain drops! I thought I had the issue licked. But the cocked-back tension spring must have lost some tension...the spring weakened over a span of time, I guess. After a week or so the pattern of chain drops returned as bad as ever.

Besides a much stronger tension arm spring (which seems to be the single most valuable step to reduce chain drops) and the Shadow Plus Shimano derailleurs, there is also the cure of the

I cannot advise which one is most curative of chain drops because I adopted the three expedients at the same time: a 56T narrow-wide chainring, a derailleur with a MUCH stronger tension arm spring, PLUS it has that one-way friction clutch Shimano pairs with its low-protrusion Shadow MTB derailleur lineup that they call Plus.

The Shadow Plus derailleur upgrade gave me 10 gears and absolutely requires changing to a 10S cassette and a 10S trigger shifter and a 10S chain.

Were I on a budget I would have gotten only the narrow-wide chainring to see if that curative step is sufficient by itself. It will work with 9S chain.


PS: Early on, before I gave up and bought the gear above, I tried but failed to find any successful chain guide for our stock 52T chainwheels. There may be one. And my bike's factory supplied chainring bash guard did not prevent chain drops on its side at all; I could not see bending it, that would look nasty, and reversing it would not have brought it any closer to the chainring. Besides that, half the time the chain dropped from the left side of the chainring, where there is no room for a guide ring.

bob armani
3 days ago

FYI-I see that the Nitro plus 27.5 is not on the Easy Motion US web site. I am led to believe this is a European model on their UK website.

bob armani
3 days ago

Emerson-You are not alone with your sentiments regarding this bike. Looks like an excellent value as others have pointed out for all of the top notch components you get with this bike. There was another owner that bought this bike and was able to toggle between the Intuvia display or COBI at his/her discretion. However, not sure if this can be done with the US version of this bike. Not a bad idea to inquire about that known option on the European models. Good luck with your purchase!

Bruce Arnold
3 days ago

I think you'll be happy with the CCS, and the 19 Ah battery should allow you to meet the speed and distance goals you have in mind.

I was going to say that there is more to this than just the specs on conversion kits. The frames of ebikes are subjected to different forces than regular cycles, so getting something ebike specific is a good idea in the long run. The fact that Tora Harris plans for backwards--and forwards-compatibility is also a big plus. He's a gifted engineer who got excited about ebikes, rather than a cycling guy who got excited about ebikes, and it shows.

3 days ago

New RadMini (2018 model) owner here. I find the discussion in other threads about changing gear ratios interesting, because I too would like to slow down my pedal cadence. To do this, as I understand it, you can change either the rear gears (the freewheel), or the front chainring, or both.

The stock freewheel (on my 2018 RadMini) is a Shimano MF-TZ500-7 with tooth count of 14-16-18-20-22-24-28. If you change to the DNP 11/28 freewheel (link below), which is a direct replacement, it has tooth count of 11-13-15-18-21-24-28. With the DNP, you are reducing your pedal speed in 3rd through 7th gears, but the two lowest gears (1st and 2nd) remain unchanged. Replacing the freewheel may require a special deep thin wall freewheel tool.

On the other hand, if you change the front chainring from the stock 48 tooth to a larger 53 tooth (link below), you will decrease your pedal cadence (at any given speed) in ALL 7 gears. Replacing the chainring will require replacing or lengthening the chain.

For the greatest possible degree of change, you could replace BOTH the freewheel AND the front chainring.

The question is: which option, new freewheel or new chainring, gives you the most bang for the buck?

To answer this question, we can reduce each combination to a simple number called "gear inches". To find this number you divide the number of chainring teeth by the number of teeth on the freewheel sprocket. This produces a "gear ratio" number. Then you multiply the gear ratio by the diameter of the rear wheel. This produces the "gear inch" number.

Since most of us are primarily interested in decreasing our pedal cadence in top gear, I will only do the 7th gear calculation for the the stock setup, plus the 3 possible combinations listed above. I used 22" for the wheel diameter, because that is what is set in the motor control panel on my bike.

Here are the results, listing the percent improvement over stock for each combination, in 7th gear:

( stock ) 48t chainring divided by (stock) 14t (7th gear) sprocket = 3.43 ratio times 22" wheel diameter = 75 gear inches (stock)

(bigger) 53t chainring divided by (stock) 14t (7th gear) sprocket = 3.79 ratio times 22" wheel diameter = 83 gear inches (11% better than stock)

( stock ) 48t chainring divided by (DNP ) 11t (7th gear) sprocket = 4.36 ratio times 22" wheel diameter = 96 gear inches (28% better than stock)

(bigger) 53t chainring divided by (DNP ) 11t (7th gear) sprocket = 4.82 ratio times 22" wheel diameter = 106 gear inches (41% better than stock)

Cost of modifications:

Replacing the front chainring costs about $53 (Amazon Prime) plus the cost of replacing or extending the chain, for 11% improvement.
Replacing the freewheel costs about $32 (Amazon Prime) plus the cost of a freewheel tool (use the original chain), for 28% improvement.
Replacing both the front chainring and the freewheel costs about $85 (plus cost of chain and a freewheel tool) ), for 41% improvement.

My conclusion:

If your primary objective is to slow down your cadence in the upper gears (3rd through 7th) for the least expense, then the new freewheel would seem to be the best choice. Although I only calculated the percent change in 7th gear, you would also see a improvement in gears 3 through 6. If it turns out you still want more reduction in pedal speed after trying the new freewheel, you could then replace the front chainring.

NOTE: I am just a novice at this bike gear stuff, so if I made any errors in my math, please feel free to point them out!

3 days ago

REI is also likely going to charge sales tax, right? For me, locally, that kills all but 2.25% of that 10% rebate.
Also, you can get an ST1 Platinum from for ~$2350, if you call and ask them to honor the 10% bike show discount from a couple of weeks ago. Or give Crazy Lenny's a call - I got my ST1 (2016 model) with city kit and the extended range blue battery for $1875 shipped. Can't touch that price. Hopefully they have some left!

3 months ago

could you please review some of Alter Ego’s bikes in Vancouver BC Canada. I have pre ordered a 500 navigator from them. I would love to hear your opinion on their bikes

6 months ago

That rear wheel fold is awfully close to how Brompton do it!! Including the rubber suspension bumper.

Hamid Azad
9 months ago

that's perfect ,how is fix for mobile charges or like that in trip due?

Mark Elford
9 months ago

Fun vid review..thanks Court.

9 months ago

I didn't see what the maximum weight the bike will hold. I am heavy, so probably not for me, but do you have the specs on that?

Supership Supernaut
9 months ago

EBR love your reviews. If I invest 2k on a comfort bike, for gro store, hardware store travel. With your experience, what do you recommend? I want front shock, 2'' tires, sweep back handlebars, good power. I ride like they do in Netherlands. Tks Larry

Ian Jukes
10 months ago

It looks like a great bike but I think it has one disastrous mistake. There is no way that front wheel should be radially laced. Wheels that are powered should be cross laced to help with the torque.
I was told this long ago but a very experienced wheel builder
9 months ago

Interesting, thanks for the feedback Ian! Maybe the smaller diameter wheel, which tend to be stronger, and weaker motor power made the manufacturer feel comfortable with this design? I'm not sure how the decision was made but your input is good

10 months ago get your hands on the new Sondors FOLD X !!!

9 months ago of course in the land of $2000to $4000 bikesI find these bikes are a bargain at $699so what I have to wait for 60'll be here before I know it! Still enjoying my Sondors Thin going on a year it's been trouble free...ride it bring it home plug it in to charge and repeat keep the tires pumped up!! doesn't feel like I've lost any Battery life!
9 months ago

I've been keeping an eye out for it, did you order one?

Lysle Basinger
10 months ago

I like the long reviews. You do good work., Court.
9 months ago

Thanks! I've received some mixed feedback on it but I try to do those timestamp things so everyone can get what they want ;) it's fun for me to share the experience and create some memories

Lysle Basinger
10 months ago

Plus I have a Kent "Margaritaville" 26" trike with a1000 watt front wheel drive, a lightweight mobility scooter, a TaoTao 50cc Thunder moped, and a 20" single speed trike waiting for a front wheel drive Urban X motorwheel with built in battery. This should keep me occupied this summer until my Elio 3 wheel autocycle arrives. This all helps me keep my mind off cancer.
9 months ago

Good for you, I'm sorry to hear that you're struggling a bit physically. Stay positive and active :D

10 months ago

Fuck gentrification
10 months ago

Yeah, I figured that comment might upset some people, I mean it in the way like... the city is getting safer. I sleep in my car, so yeah.

10 months ago

Magnum premium for heavier rider & night ride.

9 months ago ok. August sound good. if you or Chris could let me know in advance when you going to down that would be good. I watch pretty much all your videos even thou I got 2 ebike already. And maybe you could make a video saying you in NY. and maybe we could meet up that way. Keep up the good work😎
9 months ago

Yeah, that would be cool! Might be out there in August timeframe?

10 months ago yes, really good bike. I brought it base on your review. I met you awhile back when you was at propell. And at that time I had the ohm bike. Love your reviews next time you come to New York would love to ride with you and Chris
10 months ago

Cool video, thanks Mac! The Magnum Premium is a solid bike, looks like you're enjoying it :)

10 months ago

Hi Court do you think you will be doing a review of the 'LMX' performance ebike in the future?
10 months ago

Maybe? I'll keep an eye out, haven't seen one yet

Lysle Basinger
10 months ago

At least it has a split throttle. My Goplus has a full grip throttle which is even worse for accidental engagement. I compare the bike to my Ancheer folding elec bike which I bought for $499, (7-speed) (18mph) now selling for $629. And I added a great little Aosome trailer (180# weight limit) for $99., now available for $92. (Prices are complete, delivered-) My only complaint is the seat which I replaced. In fact I bought 3 more and sold 2.
10 months ago

Wow, sounds like you had a little party fleet there for a while :D

Kelly S
10 months ago

Ha! I know exactly where that station is (about 5 minutes in) lol...I used to live down the street :)
10 months ago

Cool! What a beautiful town... we ate lunch at this fusion Mexican place downtown after the ride, great food ;)

Not Sure
10 months ago

reminds me of the lady designed bike from europe...italy? seems similar
10 months ago

Hmm, I haven't seen that one yet? Got a link!

Robert Jones
10 months ago

Look talk about the bike already Mr bike guy. This dude is the biggest bore then we have to watch him and his boyfriend tour Oakland just to pick up a created bike that was interesting NOT! Ok bye bye douche bag Next video

Steve Donovan
10 months ago

You're a sweetheart Robert.
10 months ago

Wow, are you alright Robert?

Peter Landy
10 months ago

Great review! This light weight sub-compact has lots of potential but a bit too under powered for my purpose. Raise max speed and range to near 20 with a little wider tires (while keeping weight same) would make it a good starter. Thanks :-)
10 months ago

Cool, thanks for the feedback Peter!

Torian the Cyclist
10 months ago

WAIT!!! You're here!?!?!?! man, can I take you to lunch or something!? I've been watching your videos for months and I'm truly thankful for what you're doing in spreading awareness. This is the least I could do.

Torian Allen
10 months ago

Sounds good guys! I'm only free today because I fly out to NYC tomorrow.

10 months ago

If this is the start of a meetup, I'm down haha. I live in San Jose, not sure about Torian. What areas are you touring?
10 months ago

That would be fun! What part of the Bay Area are you in Torian? I'm touring around the area but will be heading to Denver this weekend

Bayu Oktaviantino
10 months ago

Why not review xiaomi qicycle?
10 months ago

That looks cool, I've heard about them but haven't seen one in person. The bikes I cover tend to be the ones I see during travel or that companies request and help with