Vintage Electric Bikes E-Tracker Review

Vintage Electric Bikes E Tracker Electric Bike Review 1
Vintage Electric Bikes E Tracker
Vintage Electric Bikes E Tracker Crystalyte Hub Motor
Vintage Electric Bikes E Tracker Lights Button Speed Fuse
Vintage Electric Bikes E Tracker Bar Trigger Throttle Regenerative Brake Button
Vintage Electric E Tracker 160 Mm Avid Bb7 Brake
Vintage Electric E Tracker Brooks Leather Grips
Vintage Electric E Tracker Brooks Sprung Saddle Led Lights
Vintage Electric E Tracker Battery Charge Port
Vintage Electric E Tracker Classic Headlight
Vintage Electric E Tracker Front View
Vintage Electric E Tracker Fsa Cranks
Vintage Electric E Tracker Integrated Carry Rack
Vintage Electric E Tracker Schwalbe Fat Frank Balloon Tires
Vintage Electric Bikes E Tracker Electric Bike Review 1
Vintage Electric Bikes E Tracker
Vintage Electric Bikes E Tracker Crystalyte Hub Motor
Vintage Electric Bikes E Tracker Lights Button Speed Fuse
Vintage Electric Bikes E Tracker Bar Trigger Throttle Regenerative Brake Button
Vintage Electric E Tracker 160 Mm Avid Bb7 Brake
Vintage Electric E Tracker Brooks Leather Grips
Vintage Electric E Tracker Brooks Sprung Saddle Led Lights
Vintage Electric E Tracker Battery Charge Port
Vintage Electric E Tracker Classic Headlight
Vintage Electric E Tracker Front View
Vintage Electric E Tracker Fsa Cranks
Vintage Electric E Tracker Integrated Carry Rack
Vintage Electric E Tracker Schwalbe Fat Frank Balloon Tires

Summary

  • A beautifully styled single speed electric bike that functions like a moped and can reach ~36 mph with the optional "Race Edition" upgrade or function as street legal at the default 20 mph
  • Good weight distribution and heat dissipation thanks to a custom made aluminum alloy battery box that's permanently mounted mid-frame, multiple color choices, beautiful matching accessories
  • Single speed drivetrain isn't much fun to pedal if you run out of batteries, no power level gauge, pedal assist isn't super responsive and brake levers don't have inhibitors
Warning, in some configurations this electric bike is classified as a moped or motorcycle and may not be ridden on cycling trails or paths. It may require licensing, insurance and lights when used on public roads.

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Vintage Electric Bikes

Model:

E-Tracker

Price:

$4,995 USD (Up to $6,845 with Accessories and Upgrades)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Moped or Motorcycle (Class 4)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive, 30,000 Miles

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2015

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

72 lbs (32.65 kg) (74 with Rear Rack)

Frame Material:

Hydroformed Aluminum Alloy

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Indian Red, Excelsior Blue, Slate Grey, Racing Green, Custom (~$600 Extra) (High Grade Powder Coat)

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Tig Welded Steel with Hand Crafted Leather Frame Bumps, CNC Machined High Grade Billet Aluminum Triple Clamp

Gearing Details:

1 (Single Speed)

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform

Handlebar:

Stainless Steel, Hand Made, Swept Back

Brake Details:

Avid BB7 Road S Mechanical Disc with 160 mm HS1 Rotors

Grips:

Brooks, Hand Crafted Leather with Lockers

Saddle:

Brooks, Hand Crafted Leather, Sprung

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy

Spokes:

36 Spoke, Hand Laced and Tensioned

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Fat Frank, 26" x 2.35"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

KevlarGuard Puncture Protection, Reflective Sidewall Stripe, Available in Black or Creme Colors

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Single Side Kickstand on Left, High Speed Charger: DC 52 VC 110/220 AC Compatible, Aluminum Alloy Rear Fender, Xanadu Headlight, Optional Rear Carry Rack with Integrated Leather Accents ~$290, Optional Rear Carry Rack with Integrated Leather Accents and Two Saddlebags ~$800, Optional Rear Light Integrated with Brooks Saddle $75 Extra, Optional Brooks Challenge Bag ~$100 Extra

Other:

Regenerative Braking Button on Left Bar, Pedal Assist is Required for Bikes Shipping to the EU, Each Bike is Numbered Like Artwork

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Crystalyte

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Peak Output:

3000 watts

Battery Voltage:

52 volts (60 Amp Continuous)

Battery Amp Hours:

12.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

650 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

2 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (Pedal Assist is Optional and Costs ~$130)

Top Speed:

36 mph (58 kph) (Default 20 mph Mode, Activate High Speed with 10 Amp Fuse for ~$150 Extra)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The E-Tracker is a high speed capable electric bicycle modeled after the gasoline powered track racing bikes of the early 1900’s. Those motorcycles were raced on wood-planked motodromes in the US (modeled after European velodromes for bicycles) that included steep banked corners and bleachers for crowds of paying race fans. With the onset of the Great Depression in America during the 1930’s and the high price of resurfacing the tracks, this sport quickly died out. What Vintage Electric Bikes has created in the E-Tracker is a single speed electric moped that cultivates nostalgia and delivers high speed “off road” use at ~36 mph or lower speed “street legal” at 20 mph in the US. It’s also legal in Europe if you select the optional ~$130 cadence sensor. My experience testing this ebike was mixed, I actually spent two separate days with it to fully explore the features and handling. It performs best under throttle power and isn’t much fun to pedal if you run out of juice given the ~72 pound footprint and single speed drivetrain. The squishy balloon tires and premium Brooks sprung saddle were comfortable enough but in many ways this is a showpiece and there are lots of opportunities for improvement that I’ll dig into below.

The motor driving this bike is a 3,000 watt Crystalyte gearless hub located in the rear wheel. It’s very capable, even the default limited 750 watts output feels strong and fast despite the heavier frame. It’s not super quiet but I kind of liked the noise because it fits the overall motorcycle theme. Gearless hub motors have fewer moving parts and that makes them durable but they also tend to weigh more and have a larger visual footprint in order to generate torque. It blends in well enough and the matching black spokes are a nice touch. With the optional ~$600 performance upgrade (basically a 10 Amp fuse that completes a circuit on the left side of the battery pack) you can unleash the full 3k watts that this motor is capable of but do be careful if you’re riding on public roads without a license. Many states will let you register this as a moped and legally ride at the ~36 mph top speed and for liability purposes it’s totally worth exploring. I was able to ride this in a rural environment at top speed and it was a blast.

Powering the motor and headlight (as well as the optional rear LED light) is an impressive 52 volt 12.5 amp hour Lithium-ion battery pack that’s capable of putting out 60 amps! The cells are all contained within the custom made aluminum casing that’s positioned low and center on the frame. I love how they designed it to match the internal combustion motors used on vintage track bikes and the aluminum is not only light weight but also great at dissipating heat. The big drawback here however is that the pack cannot be easily taken off for convenient transport, storage or charging. This is a real bummer because the bike is already very heavy and the battery likely weighs upwards of 15 pounds with the case. I’m guessing that many owners will leave this machine in their garage and if temperatures get extreme the battery cells can degrade more quickly. Ideally, you want to store Lithium-ion packs in a cool dry environment and keep them between 20% and 80% charged. With the E-Tracker that can be difficult because there isn’t a battery level indicator on the pack or on a display panel. This can be a huge issue if you’re out and about riding the bike and then run out of juice because it’s not that fun to pedal. One proactive measure would be to take the charger along in a backpack or using the optional rear rack and panniers. It’s a high quality quick-charge capable unit that works with 110 or 120 volts and can completely fill the pack in about two hours.

Operating this electric bike is dead simple… You stick the key into the slot on the left side of the battery and twist from horizontal position to vertical. Thankfully, you can easily take the key out and avoid bumping it while riding/pedaling but one possible downside is that it’s very easy to leave the bike on and drain the battery a bit extra. There aren’t any indicator lights on the trigger throttle or elsewhere to help you remember to shut it off but I believe there is a built in auto-off feature after 15 minutes or so. Okay… so once the bike is “on” you have two choices. You can press the circular button near the key slot and activate the headlight (and optional rear light) or you can press the trigger throttle to activate the motor (or pedal with the optional cadence sensor). The cockpit is clean and intuitive, I love the swept back handlebars and Brooks leather grips with metallic end caps. This thing feels awesome to ride around but the utility factor of knowing how fast you’re going, how far you’ve traveled and how much juice is left in your battery left me a bit disappointed. Maybe there’s a way to do a mobile app in the future or something?

I think the biggest complaint I have with the E-Tracker electric bike is that in pedal assist mode, the motor isn’t especially responsive in shutting off once you’ve ceased moving the crank arms. The 160 mm mechanical disc brakes are barely acceptable in my mind given the weight and speed offered here and without motor inhibitor switches in the brake levers it can feel a bit out of control during tense “must stop!!” moments. I expressed this in the video review and mentioned that the regenerative brake button could be an effective way to cut power but that it wasn’t as intuitive to use. I found that trying to pull both brake levers and activate regen made my left hand feel open and vulnerable instead of secure and in control. Still, if you come at this thing like a moped and only use the throttle option to just scoot around town it becomes a joy to ride. It’s beautiful, fairly practical with the fender, optional rack and bags and comfortable with the balloon tires and spring saddle. The reflective sidewalls on the tires are nice, the four default frame colors are classy and the cantilever high-step design is sturdy. I feel like they could do a better job with wire management and the price is pretty steep (especially with all of the options) but many elements are hand crafted and the limited-edition numbered frame feels almost like art. If you know you want this bike then I’m telling you it’s fun to ride and feels high-quality… just remember to top the battery off every couple of months if you haven’t used it and ride safe if you unlock the higher speed. The one year warranty sounds good but this appears to be Vintage Electric Bikes’ only model and I’m not sure how a battery replacement would work after a few years of heavy use? I’m excited to see them refine the design and address some of these issues with future iterations.

Pros:

  • Aluminum alloy battery box is sand-casted in Santa Clara California (local to Vintage Electric Bikes) and is designed to dissipate heat efficiently as batteries are charged or used, it blends in nicely with the frame, seems rugged and theft-resistant
  • Beautiful vintage style reminiscent of the internal combustion powered 1910-1920’s board track racer bikes used at motordromes, accents include leather saddle and optional Challenge seat bag by Brooks and hand crafted leather frame bumps
  • Available in four stock colors, powder coated for durability, optional “custom” colors if you pay ~$600 extra, two tire color options for free (creme and black)
  • Six amp “fast charger” is compatible with 110 and 220 wall outlets and can fill the 650 watt hour battery in about two hours
  • Large classic style headlight by Xanadu completes the look of a motorcycle or moped, optional rear light uses six LED’s and is very well integrated into the Brooks saddle
  • Great optional accessories including Brooks saddle bag, rear carry rack and panniers and rear LED light
  • Simple to operate with a clean cockpit, you really only have a trigger throttle and the regeneration button, no distractions
  • Each unit is numbered and feels almost like a piece of artwork that could retain value over time as a “classic”
  • The rear fender is sturdy and well mounted so it doesn’t rattle while riding, even at high speed, it protects your back and the battery from water and mud splashing up
  • KevlarGuard puncture protection is built into the Schwalbe balloon tires which helps to avoid flats, this is important given the weight of the bike and lack of quick-release systems

Cons:

  • Brake levers do not include a motor inhibitor switch which would be useful because the motor sometimes lags to shut off given the cadence sensing pedal assist option
  • Regenerative braking feature is neat but sometimes awkward to use while simultaneously squeezing the left brake lever, may compromise grip
  • Extremely minimal cockpit looks nice and isn’t confusing but lacks battery level indicator to help you avoid being stranded
  • Single speed drivetrain is clean, tight and durable but not much fun to pedal, even in pedal assist mode I found that the cadence was difficult to match with the higher speeds of the bike
  • Battery pack is not designed to be removable and as such, makes the bike permanently heavier, difficult to transport and more susceptible to extreme heat and cold which can wear down the cells
  • Only available in one standard frame size with high-step frame that may not be easy for shorter riders to stand over
  • limited suspension can feel a bit jarring at high speed (especially over 20+ miles) but the sprung saddle and balloon tires help
  • Most of the wire management is good but quite a few exit at the base of the battery pack and wind around at the bottom bracket area, this might make them easier to access but some kind of little wrapper or integration could keep them cleaner
  • No indicators to help you remember to shut the bike off (using the key) and avoid wasting battery charge when parked

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Vintage Electric Bikes Reviews

Vintage Electric Scrambler Review

  • MSRP: $6,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A motorcycle-inspired electric bike with two drive modes, 20 mph stock and optional 36 mph "Race Mode" for use on private property or off-highway vehicle (OHV) trails, one frame size and color. Powerful gearless hub motor is durable and near-silent, pure sine wave controller delivers fluid power…...

Vintage Electric Cafe Review

  • MSRP: $3,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the most powerful, fastest accelerating, quietest, and beautifully designed electric bikes I have ever tested, premium drivetrain and custom battery. Surprisingly lightweight and well balanced front to rear considering the large 750 watt hub motor,…...

Vintage Electric Bikes Cruz Review

  • MSRP: $4,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A robust, high powered and potentially high-speed cruiser style electric bike styled to resemble the board track racing bikes of the 1920's, optional Race Mode pin for 30+ mph. built on a custom steel frame that dampens vibration but flexes more than the Tracker…...

Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $4,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A powerful, high speed, heavier electric bike akin to a moped with limiter settings for around town use (750 watt, 20 mph in Street Mode) and optional Race Mode (2800 watt 36 mph). Popular as a pit bike on race courses, used frequently in Indonesia because it stays…...


Scott
3 years ago

Court: What were you thinking? There is still snow on the ground and your wearing a short sleeve shirt and shorts? Didn’t the wind feel cold at 30 mph? Great review!

Reply
Chris Nolte
3 years ago

Thanks for the concern Scott ;) yeah it was incredibly cold and I had to stop occasionally and put my hands under my shirt to warm them up. There were only certain areas that I could ride at high speed to stay legal so thankfully much of the video was 20 mph but it was still very cold. Part of this video was shot on the same day I filmed the Felt OUTFITTER which was lots of fun… but also freezing :P

Reply
Ron
2 years ago

Also saw this bike on Jay Leno’s Garage on youtube. Let’s just say, your review was a lot more knowlegable and useful. His did include a funny Pee Wee Herman impersonation, though.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Ha! That’s awesome, I just visited YouTube and found the video. Whenever I do a bike review I try to research the model a bit, speak with the manufacturer and get feedback from shops so it’s more than just a fun promotional thing. I don’t have the fanciest cameras or editing but it means a lot that you found value in my review, thanks Ron :D

Reply
Eskil
2 years ago

Great review, any details on future upgrade possibilities on the battery / speed controller?

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Eskil, from what I saw at the shop and learned from the founder it sounds like they have done upgrades in the past… you have to pay for it (and possibly for shipping) but they are way more hands on that most electric bike manufacturers. If you reach out through their official site I’m sure you’ll get some feedback, do you already own one of the Vintage bikes? Here’s the latest review of the Tracker (they removed the E from the name).

Reply
Sonic
2 years ago

I wish to order this

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Sonic, I don’t sell any electric bikes here I just review them. You can order from the manufacturer’s website here. Good luck! It’s a wonderful ebike :)

Reply
Brett La Caze
1 year ago

Hi everyone. I am in Australia and I bought one of these and paid in full last Christmas and have received absolutely nothing but promises and comments about how I am going to love the bike. I don’t even get timely responses to my emails any more. Be very careful about handing money over. What a joke!!!!

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Wow, that’ sucks Brett, I’m really surprised? Is the delay based on you being located in Australia or do you feel like the company is just struggling in general?

Reply
Peter Pan
10 months ago

Purchased a bike one and a half years ago and had a shipped to Germany. Sixth months after, the bike did not work anymore. Even though the company promised a repair, the bike has still not been fixed. Poor Service after all and a USD6000 bike which is not working. Strongly recommend not to buy.

Reply
Court Rye
10 months ago

Wow, that’s disappointing… I’m so sorry to hear about all the time and money that has gone to waste for you Peter. A lot of times the companies are extra nice to me because I do reviews but I try to give them the benefit of the doubt. I appreciate you sharing and hope there is some solution to this situation. It can be the same for us when ordering from Europe, just makes it difficult to get support and have it arrive in perfect shape etc. Feel free to share how it works out, I hope it can finally work for you!

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

RobMatthies Vancouver
1 month ago

Unfortunately, two days ago, my 2017 Rad Rover eBike was stolen while parked and locked at my local public library. The cable lock I used was no match for the cutters that were used to remove the lock and as witnesses reported, it did take long for the thief to free my RadRover and ride off in plain sight of others...

This incident got me thinking of ways to protect my next bike. Other than a stronger lock and paying attention to where you leave your bike, I'm thinking that incorporating a hidden GPS tracking device into the bike would provide an additional level of security and might provide owners and law enforcement a way to locate and recover the bike. I don't think it would be too expensive to add the hardware and would be a desirable feature.

It could be powered from the bike's battery pack, or have its own battery and be integrated into the controller or display unit. An alternative to a built-in tracker might be an add-on accessory which could be installed somewhere inconspicuous. I don't know if such an accessory is currently available?
What are others doing to prevent the theft of their ebikes which are very attractive to thieves ?

Sincerely,

Marc

I once had 4 ebikes/escooters stolen in one night from an apartment gated garage area. They got stolen only because I got tired of changing/charging batteries every day, on the 7 electric rides I had at that time, spread out in 3 locations.

Prior to that, I no e-cycle had been stolen, since ~1998, roughly some 10 years of successful e-bike ownership.

Here's what works, and you'll find these highly unusual:

- U-locks that sent a signal to a receiver at the house.
- Human-sensing "doorknob" alarms
- Motion-sensing bike alarm adjacent to a vox-activated GMRS walkie-talkie inside one of the saddlebags. The receiver GMRS was in the house.
- Built-in motion-sensing alarm on the China-made electric scooters

What didn't work:
- The Kryptonite New York chain.
- Regular U-locks, even the pricey stainless-steel one

Interesting:
- The thieves left a home-made bump key in one of the scooters that had a motion sensing alarm.

john peck
2 months ago

Commute every day 34 miles round trip. Two mile 7% uphill
Bikes owned now:
ST2s 4000 miles (rear flat tire & engine replacement cable) You get what you pay for. . . best bike ever. I'm first in line for the St5
Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX 2500 miles (In the shop now Saratoga Dave's issue above. Button probably needs compressed air). Flat tires are the only issue. Stromer trumps Haibike, however (my opinion)

Other bikes ownes:
eJoe folder 4 years old mileage unknown, okay bike with good support
Rad Rover Fat tire 1st line production crowd funding (best value bike ever, but not a workout bike). Excellent support
Diamond Back (izip Transx mid-drive) over 2000 miles, relatively few problems. I thought it was the cat's meow, then I got the Haibike. Get value & daily commuter two years. Passed it on to a friend and it's still going strong. Okay support, but not great. Good price and value
Pedego Trail Tracker 1500 miles (super over priced. glorified scooter, good support)
Motiv Shadow (my first ebike. Way over priced. It broke down the first day I got it. Worst ebike ever made. Support is non-existent. I hope they don't make them anymore)

I'm considering the Specialized Turbo S because they are closing them out due to end line production. The specs look good but the Specialized Forum doesn't have many worry-free customers.

Bottom line: Sell a kidney and get the Stromer. . . . life it too short to not experience electronic shifting and Lance Armstrong-like, steroid-enhanced pedaling (without actually using steroids; you'll understand once you ride one).

Good luck, brother.

Leon Washington
2 months ago

Commute every day 34 miles round trip. Two mile 7% uphill
Bikes owned now:
ST2s 4000 miles (rear flat tire & engine replacement cable) You get what you pay for. . . best bike ever. I'm first in line for the St5
Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX 2500 miles (In the shop now Saratoga Dave's issue above. Button probably needs compressed air). Flat tires are the only issue. Stromer trumps Haibike, however (my opinion)

Other bikes ownes:
eJoe folder 4 years old mileage unknown, okay bike with good support
Rad Rover Fat tire 1st line production crowd funding (best value bike ever, but not a workout bike). Excellent support
Diamond Back (izip Transx mid-drive) over 2000 miles, relatively few problems. I thought it was the cat's meow, then I got the Haibike. Get value & daily commuter two years. Passed it on to a friend and it's still going strong. Okay support, but not great. Good price and value
Pedego Trail Tracker 1500 miles (super over priced. glorified scooter, good support)
Motiv Shadow (my first ebike. Way over priced. It broke down the first day I got it. Worst ebike ever made. Support is non-existent. I hope they don't make them anymore)

I'm considering the Specialized Turbo S because they are closing them out due to end line production. The specs look good but the Specialized Forum doesn't have many worry-free customers.

Bottom line: Sell a kidney and get the Stromer. . . . life it too short to not experience electronic shifting and Lance Armstrong-like, steroid-enhanced pedaling (without actually using steroids; you'll understand once you ride one).

Good luck, brother.

itsaulgoodman
2 months ago

Nice survey, but one problem. I don't want a lock with a gps tracker.. I want a bike with a gps tracker. Big difference!

CoachDennisGreen
2 months ago

Holidays, weekends, international shipping all takes time. 10 days works for me.

For the past week, my FedEx tracker has shown it would be here Monday, October 16. However, my Ultra was loaded on the truck just one city away at 6:05am this morning and the tracker changed to arriving today. But it never showed. I guess they loaded the truck for their Monday deliveries. Dang it!!!

Rambler
2 months ago

I have a drone tracker called, Marco Polo, I plan on sticking it on my bike if I ever have to leave it, in addition to a lock. The down side is that it doesn’t notify you if your bike is moved.

"

I bought it on Amazon https://www.amazon.com/Marco-Rocket-Location-Recovery-System/dp/B01F4DOB5C

Not cheap but worth it!!!

"Marco Polo is the only long range, up to 2 miles line-of-sight, tracking system that works everywhere you fly –"

Um...What happens if they (thieves) go more then 2 miles away from you?

I mean 30 mph is 1/2 a mile a minute of travel distance.

I think part of the issue is that ebikes are so easy just to throw into the back of a pick up trunk or mini van. And even IF we were to invest in a cellular tracking type of service, the expensive parts (motor, battery, controller, wheels, hydraulic disk brakes) can be stripped off in minutes.

I read a while ago that civilian GPS is only good to about 100 feet or so. So that it cannot be used for "military purposes". It made sense to me. Now I'm wondering HOW that would affect trying to find lost property in a neighborhood? Thats a LOT of house's to search.

I don't even carry a lock on my ebike anymore. Just like I don't have one for my Carbon fiber Road bike. Since I don't plan to ever let either one out of my sight.

bob armani
2 months ago

I have a drone tracker called, Marco Polo, I plan on sticking it on my bike if I ever have to leave it, in addition to a lock. The down side is that it doesn’t notify you if your bike is moved.

I bought it on Amazon https://www.amazon.com/Marco-Rocket-Location-Recovery-System/dp/B01F4DOB5C

Not cheap but worth it!!!

Hello Dwight-So you carry the hand-held locator with you in your backpack when you ride?? Looks like you would need an additional shaker alarm or smart phone alert to notify you (if someone is tampering with your bike when left unattended, correct)?

Dwight
2 months ago

I have a drone tracker called, Marco Polo, I plan on sticking it on my bike if I ever have to leave it, in addition to a lock. The down side is that it doesn’t notify you if your bike is moved.

I bought it on Amazon https://www.amazon.com/Marco-Rocket-Location-Recovery-System/dp/B01F4DOB5C

Not cheap but worth it!!!

J.R.
3 months ago

I'm wondering what is the best way to affix a Boomerang alarm/GPS-tracker to a Electra since they don't come with built in bottle-holder bosses. Although I live in one of the best towns in California for cycling (Redlands), none of the staff in the local shops (I've visited 3 and spoken to six in all) seems to have any idea how to solve this seemingly trivial problem.
It is trivial. I don't understand why all the brands don't include threaded inserts. Owners of some bikes may be limited in the size of water bottle, but there are so many other uses for those inserts.

The simple solution for the brands or dealers. There are industrial, pneumatic versions of these tools that bike manufactures use. These are similar to ones I own (for other applications), I thought I'd pass the info on...

Right angle drill:

https://m.lowes.com/pd/DEWALT-20-Volt-Max-3-8-in-Cordless-Drill/3977521?cm_mmc=SCE_PLA-_-ToolsAndHardware-_-CordlessDrillsAndComboKits-_-3977521:DEWALT&CAWELAID=&kpid=3977521&CAGPSPN=pla&store_code=2409&k_clickID=b7f15bd0-0fbc-4b65-808d-254f6be3eec7&gclid=Cj0KCQjw9afOBRDWARIsAJW4nvxEZ6TbSYIyh2RMR__1z8YzLYPGB8deLiheGuRMWJjPBWPsB07eyPoaAlFBEALw_wcB

Thread insert tool:

https://m.grainger.com/mobile/product/5JK71?cm_mmc=PPC:+Google+PLA&s_kwcid=AL!2966!3!166589331100!!!!82128166317!&ef_id=WcqY8QAABKRoZtPb:20170926181409:s&kwid=productads-adid^166589331100-device^m-plaid^82128166317-sku^5JK71-adType^PLA

I don't think most bike owners will want to go to the expense or trouble. They shouldn't have to!

Solarbuddy
3 months ago

I'm wondering what is the best way to affix a Boomerang alarm/GPS-tracker to a Electra since they don't come with built in bottle-holder bosses. Although I live in one of the best towns in California for cycling (Redlands), none of the staff in the local shops (I've visited 3 and spoken to six in all) seems to have any idea how to solve this seemingly trivial problem.

itsaulgoodman
3 months ago

My goodness I've spent a lot of time researching GPS Tracking options to add to my bike.

Spybike - seems like the best option. However, they very rarely ever seem to have stock (Maybe that means its good?). I like the seatpost version (larger battery capacity). I'll probably buy it when it is in stock.
http://www.spybike.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=51

Sherlock Bike. Looks very good. Currently not available in Canada although they say it will be in 2018.
https://www.sherlock.bike/en/

Trojabike. Looks awesome. I love the way it slides into the frame then locks itself in place. Recent kickstarter, doesn't ship until 2018. I'd probably buy if it were available now.
http://www.trojabike.com/

Boomerange Bike. Great if you have water bottle holder mounts available. Unfortunately a lot of ebikes use them for the battery. I do not like the solution to use the Gorilla Bike Clip.. Like seriously, what thief won't just cut the zip ties and toss the thing off to the side before riding away with your bike??
https://boomerangbike.com/

Kiss My Bike. Love the looks of this, but no word on when, where, how it will be sold. Reached out to them to find out - no response.
http://www.kissmy.bike/en/index.php#contact

Trackimo. Great if it could be hidden somewhere. I don't think under the seat is a very good place. It's pretty important in my mind for a GPS tracker to be very well hidden or tamper proof. I've thought about the idea of wiring it up to a light port on my Bosch motor and hiding it under the motor cover or something - but decided against looking into it further (Not sure if this is even possible to do so). Decided to just wait on the Spybike instead.
https://trackimo.com/

DanTracker. Looks pretty good, but sounds like it is very expensive. Non removable / replaceable battery - but apparently lasts about 10 years.
https://www.dantracker.com/en/

Velocate. Looks decent, can hardwire to ebike. A little light on details and no idea where to buy.
https://velocate.com/en/

Cheap Chinese trackers from various places. Don't bother, they are s*it, and the apps are s*it. Some people have even claimed the apps (which request a lot of phone permissions) were used to access peoples phone numbers and lot of expensive calls were placed. Not sure how true that is, but I'm pretty wary if side loading Chinese apps that requested every level of permission possible on my device.. so take that for what it's worth. I tried a GPS305 (Spybike headset knockoff), and it stopped working after a week. When it worked, it didn't work well. Highly unreliable.

sardinas001
3 months ago

Hi! Does anyone here have GPS tracker devices or anti theft devices on their bikes? Looking for opinions on the subject. Thanks!
Hello, I do have an anti-theft device called a chain and lock. Jokes aside, I think a tracking device would be appropriate in a theft prone area like unguarded parking lots. Thankfully that's not my case.

Roseville
3 months ago

I like the boomerang bike cyclotrack. In general I think it will work pretty well. Although I fervently hope there will be enormous improvements in the phone app and website as time goes on.
I've started looking at a gps tracker. What are the challenges with the phone app and web site? Thx

Marceltt
3 months ago

Hi.

Can't speak of the Trail Tracker, don't know much about it.

I have a Teo and cannot say enough good things about it. I have a Red S Limited with fenders, rear rack with light. Very nice paint job.

But I have to admit the Rad Rover is also a good buy, it is very similar to the Teo Fat. Rad customer support is getting lots of praises, good warranty and a very vibrant community with lots of riders helping everyone out, here and on Facebook.

But the Teo has hydraulic brakes, bigger 17AH battery, 12 magnet cadence sensor, 9 speed derailleur, quick release on front wheel, among others. Worth the $ in my humble opinion.

The Rad Rover does show Watts used on its LCD display, the Téo does not. It also has nipples for a bottle holder on the frame, the Téo does not.

Both are made from pretty standard components, hence will be relatively easy to maintain over the years.

So yes the Teo is a good call. It ships out of Montreal in Canada, bike made in China, as many are, including Rad.

Good luck.
Thanks for your input. Ok now I'm down to the Rad and Teo. This is a tough one

mrgold35
3 months ago

Wow sounds like you love the Rad. The Trail Tracker is an expensive buy but the Teo &a Rad are half the price. Do you find it easy to work on the Rad. I'm a hands on guy and love to do my own work. With the ridge rider I am limited as you need special tools that only Pedego makes to work on certain areas of this bike.

Pretty much everything about the Radrover has standard parts, nut, bolts, allen sizes as a regular bike. I upgraded to an adjustable 0-60 degree stem, added a Suntour NCX SP-12 400mm suspension seat, transfered my handlebar extender from my other bike for my cell phone holder, upgraded the pedals to MTB type, and added a topeak rack+bag to my Radrover.

Another added bonus with the Radrover is you can adjust the motor cut-off in a few minutes to a little under 25 mph if you need some extra mph. The Radrover is not a perfect bike. It only the front tire has a quick-release, the front suspension with lock-out is just a spring, and the rover has cable brakes. I've had zero issues during an emergency stop with the 60 lbs Rover at +20 mph with the cable brakes (I'm 270lbs+25lbs of gear/accessories).

Marceltt
3 months ago

I've had my two his/her 2016 Radrovers for almost a year with 3200 miles between them. The wife doesn't use her Rover as much and I end up using both for work commuting and trail riding equally (I keep the wear/tear/mileage the same for both). The Radrover does a good job of being a "jack of all trades and master of none" type of bike for $1500.

Sounds like you might want more of hardpacked to single track fat tire bike mostly? The fat tire choices you picked will go anywhere your Pedego Ridge Rider can go offroad with the addition of loose sand being added to the mix with the extra wide tires. The Radrover only has 5 levels of PAS (PAS 0-5) that are designed to provide X amount of watts per PAS level until the 20 mph motor cutoff:
PAS 0: 0 watts,
PAS 1: 75 watts,
PAS 2: 175 watts,
PAS 3: 375 watts,
PAS 4: 550 watts,
PAS 5: 750 watts.

PAS 2-3 works best for me when trail riding. I've never had a need to use PAS 5 trail riding or work commuting because PAS 3-4 can get me at or near max speed of 20-21 mph usually.

I like the Radrover twist throttle because it provide full 750 watts of power in any PAS level (even in PAS 0). Full power throttle comes in handy for short inclines, deep sandy spots, walking the bike up inclines, getting across intersection in a hurry, tight trails when pedaling would hit obstacles, etc...

I went with the Radrover because it is a fat tire bike with ebike components added. I can remove, repair, transfer, or replace ebike hardware if they fail after the warranty period to mod the Rover with more power or just turn it into a regular 4" fat tire bike. At the price point of the Rover, it left me a lot of room for accessories, platform bike rack, lights and gear to travel and trail ride in/out of state day or night. The wife and I had a lot of fun and put over +100 miles on each Radrover in a couple of days at the Grand Canyon and Sedona last November.
Wow sounds like you love the Rad. The Trail Tracker is an expensive buy but the Teo &a Rad are half the price. Do you find it easy to work on the Rad. I'm a hands on guy and love to do my own work. With the ridge rider I am limited as you need special tools that only Pedego makes to work on certain areas of this bike.

Falken
3 months ago

Hi guys , I'm thinking of getting a fat bike and I already own the Pedego Ridge Rider. I have nailed it down to three - Trail tracker , Teo or the Rad. I'm torn between the three. Any input. I have read all the posts but still can't decide
Hi @Marceltt

I also have the Teo and am loving it! I can't speak hands on for either of the other bikes you mentioned but there is a Teo owner who's wife owns the Rad. He might be able to share some thoughts between those two bikes? His name is @Dan Edwards .
I can't see anyone regretting buying a Teo. It's been a great bike so far. From what I've read the Rad is a great bike as well. Good luck on your purchase!:)

Denis Shelston
3 months ago

Hi.

Can't speak of the Trail Tracker, don't know much about it.

I have a Teo and cannot say enough good things about it. I have a Red S Limited with fenders, rear rack with light. Very nice paint job.

But I have to admit the Rad Rover is also a good buy, it is very similar to the Teo Fat. Rad customer support is getting lots of praises, good warranty and a very vibrant community with lots of riders helping everyone out, here and on Facebook.

But the Teo has hydraulic brakes, bigger 17AH battery, 12 magnet cadence sensor, 9 speed derailleur, quick release on front wheel, among others. Worth the $ in my humble opinion.

The Rad Rover does show Watts used on its LCD display, the Téo does not. It also has nipples for a bottle holder on the frame, the Téo does not.

Both are made from pretty standard components, hence will be relatively easy to maintain over the years.

So yes the Teo is a good call. It ships out of Montreal in Canada, bike made in China, as many are, including Rad.

Good luck.

Marceltt
3 months ago

Hi guys , I'm thinking of getting a fat bike and I already own the Pedego Ridge Rider. I have nailed it down to three - Trail tracker , Teo or the Rad. I'm torn between the three. Any input. I have read all the posts but still can't decide

Dewey
3 months ago

So, we expand bikeways and MUPS.

A recent analysis noted cyclist injury patterns and severity were similar on roads and bike paths alike. Another analysis of cyclist injury data mentioned problems at intersections include turning vehicles, the presence of bus stops, and length of crossing whereas a median helps. A new report from the Governors Highway Safety Association touched on ebike safety on page 47 mentioning a 2016 German study which reported ebike riders are twice as likely as pedal cyclists to come into conflict with motorists at intersections. The GHSA report points to a need to change the built environment in US cities to be more accommodating for higher speed ebike cyclists, pedal cyclists, and pedestrians alike. Suggested accident prevention measures include protected bike lanes, redesigning intersections along busy bicycle commuting roads with marked bicycle box waiting areas at intersections and separate bicycle signals timed in advance of traffic to give cyclists a fighting chance to get ahead of turning vehicles, redesigning corners to add more sidewalk width and adding medians to shorten intersection crosswalks. I would add widening MUPs so as to be able to separate the bicycle and pedestrian paths, also require/monitor haulage companies to add side protection bars to prevent cyclists being pulled under truck wheels. Future gazing we might anticipate more sophisticated automated collision avoidance systems in cars and trucks perhaps built into autonomous vehicle software, although this article mentions the difficulties software has in identifying cyclists in real-world conditions driving on the street. To enable MUP/bike path access for distance ebike commuters who might prefer the faster Class 3 speed pedelecs but need to slow down when using bicycle infrastructure closer in maybe something phone/gps based using trail geofencing using Google maps, gps tracker chips in bike frames, and bluetooth controllers could be implemented by ebike manufacturers to automatically limit speed of ebikes on MUPs - this type of relatively simple application would support the case for ebike trail access.

Mr. Coffee
3 months ago

Disclainer: I own a Pedego (Interceptor).

The premium you pay on a Pedego bike is paying for the large dealer network and the fairly generous warranty. If you plan on riding the bike hard and depending on it those things are valuable to you. If you aren't doing those things the value of said premium is more questionable.

In general all Pedego bikes I've tried have an "overbuilt" feel to them compared to other ebikes I have tried. The downside of "overbuilt" is that it makes the bikes heavy monsters to haul around and the upside is they can take quite a bit of abuse (and use).

One question: you are focused on the 24" trail tracker here. Is that because that bike is more likely to fit you? I agree that there are very few options for a fat-tire ebike in that particular wheel size.

Brooklyn Tony
4 months ago

Thanks. I just wanted this bike but it wasn't meant to be I guess.

Fret not! Here's a couple of other fat tire options from low to high pricepoints:
Sondors Original, X, Fold, and Fold X,
Voltbike Yukon, and Mariner,
RadPower Rad Rover and Rad mini,
Pedego trail tracker
Luna cycles homebrewed stuff
iZip E3 Sumo
Emotion Big Bud
Bulls Monster

bob armani
4 months ago

Unfortunately, two days ago, my 2017 Rad Rover eBike was stolen while parked and locked at my local public library. The cable lock I used was no match for the cutters that were used to remove the lock and as witnesses reported, it did take long for the thief to free my RadRover and ride off in plain sight of others...

This incident got me thinking of ways to protect my next bike. Other than a stronger lock and paying attention to where you leave your bike, I'm thinking that incorporating a hidden GPS tracking device into the bike would provide an additional level of security and might provide owners and law enforcement a way to locate and recover the bike. I don't think it would be too expensive to add the hardware and would be a desirable feature.

It could be powered from the bike's battery pack, or have its own battery and be integrated into the controller or display unit. An alternative to a built-in tracker might be an add-on accessory which could be installed somewhere inconspicuous. I don't know if such an accessory is currently available?
What are others doing to prevent the theft of their ebikes which are very attractive to thieves ?

Sincerely,

Marc

Marc-Sorry to hear about your ebike being stolen. Back in the day, I have had many taken from my own backyard. I depended on the bikes to do my paper route deliveries. But now having an ebike stolen has to hurt even more. I do like the suggestion below for some kind of alarm system that signals your smartphone
ie: 'LINKAauto lock with Tamper alerts for added security' sounds like an economical way to start. https://www.linkalock.com/
GPS with monthly fees sounds a bit pricey IMHO. I always keep my ebike in plain sight at all times. Being I have had so many stolen, I am a bit paranoid of loosing another and another. Not to mention, my insurance rates could skyrocket if I keep claiming 'stolen bikes' on my policy.
I have also seen a few bike alarms with remote, but not sure how efficient they really are. Good Luck with your next purchase!

bob armani
4 months ago

The one thing that always sticks in my mind is that locks only keep honest people honest.

I find it funny here in Portland that people leave motorcycles and Vespa type scooters out by the curb all the time and nobody messes with them. But leaving a bicycle locked up like Pee Wee's, even on your property, there are no guarantees that it won't disappear.

I am fortunate that I don't have to leave my bikes anywhere very often that is unsecured and so a stout cable that can get the wheels and frame to a solid object and a padlock work for me.

When someone comes up with a motion sensing 180db alarm and gps tracker combo that notifies your phone I would be interested. Have seen the current crop and none yet that I would put money on.

In the city I live, there is an above ground/underground 'Public Bike Center' parking garage where the CPD frequent as well with a bike attendant on duty. There is also a bike repair shop attached to the garage if quick repairs are needed in a flash. I also have heard talk about individual bike pods to park at to also weatherproof and secure your bike during inclement weather as well. Sounds like a great business for heavy bike traffic areas. Here is the link: http://bikeandpark.com/bike-centers

Andy hoff
2 months ago

i like the Ebike but the fixed battery is a deal breaker for me prone to theft. i wouldn't feel comfortable leaving it locked outside.
hope they change this design.

nick king
7 months ago

Been watching this drip for a while and he never seems to fail me on sucking the fun out of all he reviews.

metamorphicorder
9 months ago

its a nice bike for sure. but its not worth the 5 k. if the added signals made a quick release for the battery, throw the bags in, add motor inhibitors to the brakes. and include the rear rack. this is the kind of bike that gets people ticketed by the cops.

Linda Dawson
10 months ago

hey Rick and I are getting his dream bike.still have the 0%interest free till end of mo?Indian red,tracker he'll call ya this week Eric for the sake order.PROMISE.

Ван Ваныч
12 months ago

А куда это он камеру вставил? )))

8strings
1 year ago

Great review and congratulations to an, in excess of 300 'kind of' word count. I often wonder where this 'kind of', 'sort of' and 'like' habit has creeped into our Australian language and I suspect that it comes from your part of the world.

EDCOP66
1 year ago

This type of frame with the Bike e bike motor and hydraulic brakes. Would rock!
Get rid of the rear hub motor go to the
bike e bike Motor and battery system.
The lightweight squeaking mechanical brakes would suck on this machine.

MomentsOfRamy
1 year ago

This is not made for the average joe, its like the Ferrari of electric bikes and like Ferrari's only a niche amount of people could afford it or even consider dropping over 5K on a electric bike..

Gary Bryan
3 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com d

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

They're launching a new city commuter style one that's less expensive. I agree this one is a bit out of reach... but in my opinion this is the true Ferrari at ~$10k https://electricbikereview.com/stromer/st2-s/

Claudio Lavacca
1 year ago

5.000 $ and it doesn't even have brakes that cut power to the motor. Every 1.200 $ bike is better than this poorly engineered bike.

Berta Griese
1 year ago

You talk about safety and then drive one-handed...??

iQSky Kamchatka
1 year ago

Зима заебцом!

justdie905
1 year ago

cost?

LUCA' S GARAGE
1 year ago

how many watt the motor? voltage battery? thanks

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

Hi Luca! I list all of those details for every ebike I review back at the site, I put a link in the comments to help but here it is: https://electricbikereview.com/vintage-electric-bikes/e-tracker/ I have reviewed newer models of this bike as well, you can see them at: https://electricbikereview.com/category/vintage-electric-bikes/

Lurking Crass Zero
2 years ago

Price is steep. More of a luxury/leisure purchase than for everyday utility. Gorgeous looking bike though. I love the twin crown forks. Really makes it look like an early vintage motorcycle. I just ordered myself a cheap Chinese bike similar cruiser style to this and looks to have the same motor.

Henrik steigård
2 years ago

Can you send me the name of the bike?

Adam Gill
2 years ago

5k before add-ons? That is very steep

Dom Raiche
2 years ago

$5000 pour çà??? Vous êtes FOU!!!! BULLSHIT!!!!

stan
2 years ago

Am currently investigating this bike as a possible addition. The lack of gearing and weight should be a problem only for those who are needing this for purposes other than intended. In other words, you would not be buying this to hit the single track in the San Gabriels, nor try and adjust your position for a 90 rpm road cadence. But as an electric moped with a pedal assist, and a bike born and raised in California with hand-fabrication and quality parts (Phil Wood hub), I feel the price matches the workmanship. But still investigating, and thank you for the honest review.

Master Blaster
2 years ago

+stan f Strange choice Stan you can get an electric bike with way more performance for less, but if your all about the style good luck to you, other option get yourself an old beaten classic from yesteryear and add a kit.

Jeff Zekas
2 years ago

It's a pretty bike, but at $5K it is competing with used used Volt hybrids and used Prius, both of which can be driven in the rain or snow!

The Gim Gamer
2 years ago

I couldn't agree more! The price is pretty dam crazy. I rounded the cost to build a bike with the same look as well as speed, it would cost you $600 at most.

Joe Pan
2 years ago

5000 for the bike with no speed or batt. indicator And pay 500 to 600 for different color and almost 300 for rack and 120 for fuse that is a fucken rip. i build my pedicab for under 3000

Linda Dawson
10 months ago

Joe Pan it's totally worth it.do your homework.