Daymak EC1 Review

Daymak Ec1 Electric Bike Review
Daymak Ec1
Daymak Ec1 250 Watt Planetary Geared Front Hub Motor
Daymak Ec1 36 Volt Samsung Battery Pack
Daymak Ec1 Multifunction Lcd Display Panel
Daymak Ec1 Wheel Comparison
Daymak Ec1 Prototype Ebike
Daymak Ec1 Prototype Vs Kickstarter Production Model
Daymak Ec1 Electric Bike Review
Daymak Ec1
Daymak Ec1 250 Watt Planetary Geared Front Hub Motor
Daymak Ec1 36 Volt Samsung Battery Pack
Daymak Ec1 Multifunction Lcd Display Panel
Daymak Ec1 Wheel Comparison
Daymak Ec1 Prototype Ebike
Daymak Ec1 Prototype Vs Kickstarter Production Model


  • A light weight, value priced carbon fiber electric bike available in three flavors: Standard, Advance and Pro with larger batteries and more carbon parts on the higher models (including drop bars on the pro!)
  • More modest 250 watt planetary geared hub motor drives all three models, paired with the wider 700c wheelset this motor is on the weaker side but also weighs less, it's a "active" setup
  • Delivers five levels of pedal assist and a trigger throttle with override so you can pass fellow riders or top hills without changing gears (though it does have 21 gears which is nice)
  • Value level components including Shimano Tourney TX derailleur, extra shipping charges for the US, only one frame size ~22 inch, decent one year warranty on frame but only 6 month on the battery and motor

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers








Body Position:

Forward Aggressive

Suggested Use:

Urban, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Frame and Motor, 6 Month Components and Battery


Canada, United States, Worldwide

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

38 lbs (17.23 kg)

Battery Weight:

6 lbs (2.72 kg)

Motor Weight:

8 lbs (3.62 kg)

Frame Material:

Unidirectional Carbon Fiber, Frame Weight: 2.53 lbs (1.15 kg)

Frame Sizes:

22 in (55.88 cm)

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Matte Black

Frame Fork Details:

Basic Aluminum Alloy Suspension with Lockout, Optional Carbon Fiber Rigid

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

21 Speed 3x7 Shimano Tourney TX, 1800 mm Front, 2055 mm Rear

Shifter Details:

Shimano EZ Fire on Left and Right


Aluminum Alloy Platform




Aluminum Alloy, 6 degrees, 31 mm x 2.6 mm x 620 mm, 26.7

Brake Details:

Mechanical Disc Brakes with 180 mm Rotors


Flat Rubber, Drops with Grip Tape


Active, Optional Carbon Fiber on Pro Model

Seat Post:

Optional Carbon Fiber on Pro Model


Aluminum Alloy, Optional Carbon Fiber (Deep Dish) on Pro Model


Stainless Steel, 36 Hole Front, 24 Hole Rear

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 40-622 (700 x 38c)

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Optional 36 Volt 7.8 Amp Hour Samsung Battery on the EC1 Advanced and Pro Model, Optional Carbon Fiber Wheelset on Pro Model, Optional Carbon Fiber Fork on Pro Model, Optional Carbon Fiber Seat Post and Handlebar Extensions on Pro Model


130 mm Dropout Width, Quick Release Front and Rear, Maximum Load: 265 lbs (120 kg), Locking Removable Battery with LED Power and Diagnostic Indicator, 110 Volt / 220 Volt Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

24 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

249.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

10 miles (16 km)

Estimated Max Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD


Speed, Current, Assist (0-5), Odometer, Battery Charge Level

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Sensor Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Daymake EC1 (electric, carbon, first edition) is an affordable, light weight ebike built around a carbon fiber frame. It debuted on Kickstarter in late 2015 for $899 and met its funding goal with $70k+ in sales but the standard product has since jumped in price to $1,899. There is a bit of confusing linking going on from Kickstarter back to the official site and then back to Kickstarter again… so here’s the official order page if you’re interested. Price point is a major consideration with any purchase but especially at the $1k+ level for a semi-discretionary purchase. It’s so important in fact, that it’s one of the three core tenants that went into designing the EC1 which were highlighted by its designer Mike Chow in their Kickstarter video (along with light weight and easy convertibility into a traditional bike). At the low end, the EC1 is now $1,899 but you can spend up to $3,499 for the pro model which features a carbon wheelset, carbon fork, carbon bars and carbon seat post along with a larger and more powerful 36 volt 7.8 amp hour battery pack with premium Samsung cells. There’s a lot to digest here… which model is right for your needs? Is it worth the higher price point? When can I expect to have it delivered? I’m going to work through some of these details but the units I saw and tested in Toronto at Daymak’s headquarters were pre-production so even my best insights may fall short or be misleading in the face of the post-Kickstarter edition. Overall, what I rode was a light weight, cool looking road bike with a modest geared hub motor on the front wheel and a generic LCD display panel. At the ~$1,000 price point it felt like a great deal but given the weaker 24 volt battery found on the Standard EC1 I think I’d be more inclined to upgrade to the Advance and get more power with the 36 volt pack as well as lighter, smoother carbon rims.

250 watts is not considered large in the US when it comes to motor ratings. It’s light weight, efficient and affordable… it’s the standard in parts of Europe where more restrictive electric bike laws have been adopted and it’s more energy than competitive cyclists produce over long rides so it’s nothing to scoff at. For an ebike like the Daymak EC1 it’s pretty solid and because this motor is mounted in the front wheel vs. the rear, I appreciate the lighter weight build because that reduces the impact it has on steering. Because the Standard and Advance EC1 feature suspension forks, there is also an increase in the unsprung weight of the front wheel based on this motor design but it’s not enough to break the fork in my opinion. I’m not sure on the fork brand but what I saw was a more generic aluminum alloy build that adds comfort when paired with the carbon fiber frame.

The battery pack options are also rated on the modest side in my view. The Standard pack only delivers 24 volts of power with 10.4 amp hours of capacity and is made by GEB. It offers enough to get around town on paved relatively flat terrain but probably won’t pull you up steeper hills without a bit of rider input. When you upgrade to the Advance or Pro models you get a more standard 36 volt pack but it only offers 7.8 amp hours of capacity which I would consider low. Daymak estimates the EC1’s range to be between 15 and 20 miles and this matches what I’ve seen and experienced on other electric bikes. The larger 700c wheels, hybrid/slick tires and overall light weight of the bike contribute to improved efficiency. I would normally complain about the physical discomfort of road style ebikes traveling at higher speeds over longer distances but the suspension fork, carbon fork (on the Pro model) and carbon frame really improve the ride quality here. It’s not a mountain bike and I would still avoid cobblestone roads but it’s a big step up from Aluminum alloy.

With the EC1 you get pedal assist (five levels), a trigger throttle and a removable battery that truly deliver a bicycle + electric bicycle experience. You don’t need to ride in power mode to have a good time and as a medium-weight sort of guy I appreciate how easy it is to lift and transport when you remove the pack and take off the wheels using quick release. While I’m a bit bummed about the huge price increases after the Kickstarter campaign, I do understand that the materials involved here aren’t free. This isn’t a premium ebike however as the derailleur used is a Shimano Tourney TX (the lowest rated derailleur Shimano makes). You get 21 speeds overall and that’s great for city and road cycling but this isn’t truly a road bike. If price were no issue I’d be super excited for the Pro model because it’s one of the only electric bikes I know of that offers drop bars and I love the multiple positions they enable. The other model with drops is the Haibike XDURO Race (though it costs $6,700 vs. $3,400 here and it weighs more) and Haibike also makes a carbon frame model along with Easy Motion called the Neo Carbon. Daymak is creating something truly unique here and I do appreciate the effort, just like their solar powered kick scooter and Beast off-road cycle this is a product that stands out from the crowd.


  • Carbon fiber frame keeps the EC1 light weight and help to reduce jitter and vibration while riding over rough terrain (it feels better than Aluminum alloy frames in my opinion)
  • The battery pack has been mounted with four screws verses just two as I see on many Steel and Aluminum frames, this is to improve strength and reduce point pressure which can crack Carbon more easily
  • Value priced at ~1,000 when it first launched on Kickstarter… now retailing between $1,899, 2,399 and $3,499 depending on the options and setup you choose (Standard, Advance or Pro)
  • If you upgrade to the EC1 Advance model you get deep dish carbon fiber rims along with a more powerful 36 volt 7.8 amp hour battery pack with Samsung cells, and if you upgrade to the EC1 Pro model you get carbon rims, a carbon rigid fork, a carbon seat post, carbon handlebar extensions and a drop bar setup and the same upgraded 36 volt 7.8 amp hour battery with Samsung cells (the EC1 Pro model weighs roughly eight pounds less than the Standard)
  • Very few electric bicycles offer drop bars like you would see on road bikes, these allow you to lean forward further and become more aerodynamic as a rider while also swapping to the hoods for a upright body position or standard flat across like you’d find on a city bike, this drop bar is only available on the EC1 Pro model, the only other ebike I know of that offers drops as of this review is the Haibike Race
  • By removing the battery pack you reduce the overall weight by around seven pounds and can ride the EC1 with pedal power fairly easily, it’s more like a standard bicycle in this sense, removing the battery also makes it easier to load onto a rack or car
  • The frame is purpose-built to work with an electric drive system so the cables are all run through and it looks fantastic vs. cluttered and piece-meal
  • The trigger throttle can override pedal assist which is great for maximizing range and getting a workout but still being able to pass fellow riders or top a hill without changing gears
  • I believe the final frame features rear rack bosses so you can add a carry rack and use this bike for commuting or other utility based rides like grocery shopping


  • The motor only offers 250 watts nominal which is a bit lower than most of the ebikes I test in the US at 350+ but this reduces overall weight, complimenting the carbon fiber frame, the motor is also mounted in the front wheel vs. rear which can impact steering (not as big of a deal with such a small and light motor here), given the larger diameter 700c wheelset used on the EC1 the weaker motor also suffers from a mechanical disadvantage though it did perform alright during my test rides on flat paved roads
  • Lower-end drivetrain components including Shimano Tourney TX derailleur (the lowest rated “Basic” level derailleur in their line), also lower-end suspension fork (basic Aluminum alloy)
  • Only one frame size available for each of the three versions of this bike at ~22 in it’s on the large side (good for a more aggressive body position), it features a high-step diamond design which could be difficult to mount for some
  • The official website is out of date, still advertising a $899 price (ending December 3rd 2015… and now it’s January 3rd 2016) that really stings considering the price has jumped up $1,000 to $1,899
  • These are very minor gripes but pairing a front mounted hub motor with a suspension fork can sometimes impact travel (due to perpendicular forces pulling forward vs. the fork traveling up and down) and there are moments when loose terrain may cause the wheel to spin out due to less weight being applied to the front wheel vs. rear
  • The EC1 along with many of Daymak’s other electric bikes are sold predominantly online (especially for US based customers) so test rides, returns and warranty work may be more difficult, there may also be some assembly involved
  • Shipping for this ebike in Canada is ~$200 and ~$300+ for the US, they have a bunch of resellers in Canada and a handful in the US so this could be a way to save money, try to find it in person
  • The saddle is a bit more firm and designed for active riding… the carbon seat post on the Pro model probably helps but that saddle is also labeled as “carbon” so I’m not sure how hard it is?
  • The viewing angle on the LCD panel I tested can be limited, If you look at it straight on at a 90 degree angle it appears faded… I’ve had better look viewing it tipped forward
  • No integrated bottle cage bosses on the seat tube and the downtube is completely covered by the battery pack, consider a saddle rail adapter like this


More Daymak Reviews

Daymak Wild Goose Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A fat electric bike designed to be strong with a 500 watt hub motor and 48 volt battery but still relatively affordable. Comfortable oversized 4" tires, extra-wide suspension fork with lockout, hydraulic disc brakes for improved stopping...

Daymak Paris Review

  • MSRP: $999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Ultra-affordable, low power electric bike that's great for neighborhood and urban riding, top speed limited to 15.5 mph. Great accessories including fenders, chain guard and side mirrors, you also get three color choices…...

Daymak Vermont Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

One of Daymak's most popular electric bike models because you get power, range and comfort for a reasonable ~$2k price. I like the addition of fenders but the front isn't long enough to protect feet…...

Daymak Arsenal Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full-sized, full suspension folding electric bike with a near-complete set of value components (disc brakes, 21 speeds, kickstand etc.). The single-tube frame design is elegant and conceals as well as protects the battery but…...

Daymak New Yorker Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A light weight, compact, folding electric bike available in one size but adjustable with seat and handlebar height. The battery is completely concealed and protected in the downtube, the motor is relatively small…...

Daymak Florence Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A stable, three-wheeled electric bike (trike) with front and rear cargo baskets for hauling supplies or groceries. Full length matching fenders look great and keep you dry, the basic headlight and large…...

2 years ago

Interesting product, Court, altho’ the pricing design goal now seems diminished. The first thing I thought of when watching your video review was Justin’s (Grin Tech) assertion – – that if rider’s replaced their theorizing with measurable data, they would find no reason to avoid a front hub motor. And he was speaking about larger/heavier DD motors! That general assertion seemed like a bit of a stretch…but then, he’s the engineer. The simplification of a front hub approach sure seems appealing, especially given the EC1’s light weight and ‘convertibility’ to a regular bike with a wheel swap, if that was important to the rider. Thanks for getting all the way to Toronto for this review, Court…altho’ those short sleeves tells me you weren’t there this winter!

2 years ago

It was quite the flight getting out there! I drove a couple years back and that was fun… got to visit Montreal. I still don’t love front hub motors but I agree they are the easiest and most affordable option. For something like the EC1 it makes a lot of sense :)


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ann M.
1 month ago

Actually, lot's of them, @rich c ;). BionX, Ohm, Voltbike, Emmo, Daymak just to mention a few.

@JohnCO, from what I can find; Court hasn't done a review of the current Velec ebikes; however, there is some info at from Sept. 2017 that includes the Velec products. It appears that Velec became a distributor for the Hero Eco ebikes, the A2B and intro level Fast4Ward bikes for Canada in 2012. Since A2B ceased business in the US a year or two ago, I don't know if Velec is still selling them in Canada.

1 month ago

I really doubt anyone is able to get 80 kph from a Chameleon. They originally advertised it as a 40 MPH (67 kph) scooter, so I was disappointed. Best I could do was about 57 kph. Now, I am a heavy bugger at over 300 pounds, but even at that I managed 80 km of range in one flat out go, which was impressive. I have also pulled 40 pounds of water in a trailer behind it without a significant drop in acceleration, so this thing has gobs of torque for high climbing, but that's beside the point. If you use the setting I posted as the first entry in this thread you should get the most performance Daymak was willing to build into it. Electronic savvy engineers might be able to hack it for faster top speed at the expense of range but that would void warranties.

1 month ago

The Daymak app was updated around the middle of 2017. Thats why the app looks different and theres no more swiping. the only password you need now is: 12345678

1 month ago

I called Daymak as well, and they said they are not allowed to give out information on the speed limiter. What settings did you change....if you can share? I also replied alot to people who said they reached 80km/hr today.....waiting for response. Ill share with you if they reply if you share:)))))..


2 months ago

hello fellow e-bike riders. I bought a new Daymak Lonestar 72 volt. I got the shop to p it to an 84 -extra battery and a better controller. The problem im having is the bike sounds and rides like an old steam locomotive chug chugan along. I could fell this off the start and the faster i went it would disappear. another rider following me told me myback wheel was wobbling and i could feel the bike so the shop replaced the tire,there was a bulge. So now on the start it is smooth now but the wobbling and chugging now happens at 20-25 klms. Can anyone please suggest something i should be looking into.

Christopher Cramer
3 months ago

I've been trying to make a decision on what kind of ebike I should buy. I am unable to get my drivers licence because of limited left peripheral vision; that is the biggest obstacle that makes me hesitate to buy a CLASS 2 ebike to ride on the city streets in Calgary Alberta. Following the rules of the road, always riding on the right hand side wold mean all other vehicles would come from my left side which is where I have no peripheral vision. It would be safer to ride on the many bike paths that are in Calgary, but According to provincial laws it is illegal to ride class 2 ebikes on bike paths, but if the ebike has both POD and pedal assist then would it be ok to ride it using pedal assist only? Alberta is often snowy, wet or sometimes sunny, the weather is always changing, so what ebike would be most suitable for commuting around the city on both flat and rough Terrain. As you know ebikes are expensive to ship, so I was looking at Daymak's models, but not many are class 1 ebikes. What other brands would you recommend that stay within a budget of 1000 - 2500 CAD starting with the most affordable. I haven't fully committed myself into getting one, but if I do I could also go for something that will last and be worth my money.

Steve Reeves
3 months ago

I have gotten passed that with that code what I'm trying to get is the dealer password which you enter when you do a four fingered swipe in the app and it asks for a dealer password. akili123 is supposed to work but it doesn't for mine. I'm looking to see if there's a way to reset the app or if there's another dealer password that will work

sergei bersenev
3 months ago

Try: 12345678. That worked on my 2017 daymak EM1 SE.

6 months ago

I have a Daymak Vienna 72v which is just over a year old and recently had new batteries and back tire replaced. While riding yesterday the throttle stuck open and in applying the brake my knee made contact with the ignition key and moved it to the off position and created what sounds like a rubbing or binding noise in the wheel hub and my speedometer reads 40 km/hr.

When i tried to start it again the throttle seems to want to go but the hub and motor does not move. The wheel will spin in a ratcheting type motion when controller is connected but spins normally when not connected. Is there some sort of a kill switch or reset on these or is the controller fried?

DR Win
6 months ago

Good lightweight (under 40lbs) folding e-bikes with 20" wheels include Easy Motion EasyGo Volt and Daymak New Yorker. (I won't go under 20" wheels due to the chance of potholes, uneven pavement, etc.: smaller wheels can cause crashes.)

DR Win
6 months ago

Good lightweight (under 40lbs) folding e-bikes with 20" wheels include Easy Motion EasyGo Volt and Daymak New Yorker. (There are others over 40lbs but to my mind that is too heavy to be convenient. I won't go under 20" wheels due to the chance of potholes, uneven pavement, etc.: smaller wheels can cause crashes.) They fold up nice and small for car trunk.

6 months ago

I had the fun of upgrading my Daymak Beast Ultimate this summer. While I made a number of changes, the biggest upgrade was the installation of the new Bluetooth Controller that Daymak sells (model #DMK1802LED).

The process was complicated by the lack of information on how the controller was to be wired. So I put together a detailed blog on the steps I took to install, wire and configure the controller through Daymak's App.

You can see the details here;

Hope it will help the next person who needs to install the new controller.

8 months ago

Trek have recently expanded their shop network and can order bikes from other stores for you to test ride. Kalkhoff is harder to find, I know of dealers in,, and but the motor can be serviced by a Bosch certified technician of any brand using their motors. The is similar to the Kalkhoff Agattu and Gazelle have dealers in and across the US. The is lightweight for an ebike at 38lb but the diamond frame forward leaning design is not a townie/city upright style, the dealers are in Canada, and the 24v hub motor on their base model is modest. I first tried a 24v hub motor before I switched to a 36v mid-drive motor because I found the smaller motor could not pull me up hills unloaded whereas I can now go grocery shopping and tow a child trailer.

8 months ago

Thank you. I'm hoping to find dealers to test ride these suggestions. I'm also looking at the EC1 carbon options.

Roy Williams
8 months ago


Steve f
10 months ago

I have just purchased a new daymak ec1 advance. It worked for exactly 2 seconds before failing. The digital screen reads a flashing " Err 24".
Does anyone have any advice or suggestions?
Terribly disappointed.

2 years ago

I'm 63 y.o., have always and continue to ride a lot. By a lot, I mean I average some 250 to 280 miles per week, or ~1100 mi/mo. That riding is my daily exercise routine. I'm looking forward to riding my Daymak EC1 when my replacement arrives (more on that and a review of the bike on that thread) on some of the dirt trails around me that my road bike just won't do. So, for me, the EC1 is going to be pure afternoon cruising entertainment in the forest and river trails I have only walked. Let a poo poo'er of ebike riders say something about my laziness, and maybe they will accept my challenge to meet me the next morning on my non-ebike so that we can review the earlier comment.

P.S. Since the EC1 is convertible to a non-ebike (remove battery and exchange motorized wheel to the included motor-less wheel), I'll probably have a go at the trails on that too.

2 years ago

Just received my Kickstarter EC1 yesterday; well kind of sort of. You'll see what I mean by that. I'll be providing some first impressions in the next few days, after I get some time/miles on the bike.

2 years ago

I was fortunate to get the EC1 at the $899 CAD price +$250CAD shipping for a total of about $840US. Yes, about $140US higher, but with the extra wheel to convert to a regular bike, the multiple size carbon frames, 3x7 gears, LCD multi display, 5 levels of pedal assist, thumb throttle, etc., I felt this was quite the deal. As I was primarily only looking for a pedal assist on windy or bad hill days, I'm hoping the front mounted 250W motor, essentially giving me AWD, will be adequate for my purposes. I am really looking forward to giving this a go. I will provide a report after I receive it and get to ride it for a while, say at least 500 miles or so; maybe as early as June if the schedule holds.

2 years ago

Welcome to the community! I enjoyed the EC1 but of course it was priced a bit higher when crowd funded and then the price jumped substantially after. The EC1 has 21 gears which is great for pedaling at a range of speeds and also offers an LCD display where you can adjust assist level as well as a thumb throttle like the Sondors Thin. One other thing I liked about the EC1 was the suspension fork because these city bikes tend to be a bit more stiff and the body position was forward so it could get uncomfortable riding over longer distances. Hope these insights help, here's the full review on the EC1

2 years ago

I've been following this forum for some time, but now am an official member, so Hi to all. With the belt drive being a $150 upgrade to the May deliveries, I was wondering what folks thoughts are on this? Also, if you are familiar with Daymak's offering of their carbon EC1, what is the bottom-line comparison between these two economically priced e-bikes?

Ann M.
2 years ago

Cool interview and lots of fun electric 4 wheel ATV's and dirt bikes! as well as 2 wheel electric bikes. Check out the 2 wheel drive ebike with dual battery packs and did he say a 1000 watt pocket bike?

Daymak is a leader in the light electric vehicle space and many of their electric bikes, scooters and personal mobility devices use solar technology for trickle charging. The company founder Aldo Baiocchi gave me a tour of the headquarters building in Toronto and we looked at a bunch of their products up close. Daymake has an all wheel drive ebike, solar powered electric bikes, trikes, recumbents and more… lots of cool variety and unique designs that are meant to be affordable. Daymake even makes electric pocket bikes with 1,000 watt motors! I’ve reviewed the Beast and some of the other models on and Daymak was one of the first companies to make a wireless electric bike and was featured in Popular Science. Daymak likely has one of the largest electric bike warehouses with the most inventory in Canada at the time this video was shot.

Daymak started when Aldo was looking for an electric scooter in 2002 but struggled to find one so he imported some that were ultimately seized at the port. In 2007 a pilot program was introduced in Canada so ebikes could be ridden on the road and the space began to take off. Daymak stands for the first letter of the family that started the company :)

Some of my favorite products include the beast, carbon fiber electric bike ec1, the chameleon electric scooter, solar charging ebike wheel and the covered personal transporter. They have one dedicated store called ebike universe in Toronto which we also visited. I got to see the Daymak Beast Ultimate with MP3 player and nicer lights as well as an inverted suspension fork… very cool. Daymak also carries mobility scooters with nice rain covers and extra protection, fully featured with lots of accessories. The Ebike Universe store has been open since 2009

Ann M.
2 years ago

One of the few electric bikes with a carbon fiber frame, the Daymak EC1 is super lightweight at 39 lbs and comes in 3 models depending upon your ride needs and pocketbook. Cool carbon rims, too! Note that the bike that Court reviews here is a prototype so looks a little rough compared to the finished production model. Also, the prices have changed (gone up!) since he did the review, so be sure to check out his written review for the most recent components on the EC1.

The Daymak EC1 is a carbon fiber electric bike available in three flavors: Standard, Advance and Pro ranging from $1,899 to $3,499. A light weight, value priced carbon fiber electric bike available in three flavors: Standard, Advance and Pro with larger batteries and more carbon parts on the higher models (including drop bars on the pro!). More modest 250 watt planetary geared hub motor drives all three models, paired with the wider 700c wheelset this motor is on the weaker side but also weighs less, it's a "active" setup. Delivers five levels of pedal assist and a trigger throttle with override so you can pass fellow riders or top hills without changing gears (though it does have 21 gears which is nice). Value level components including Shimano Tourney TX derailleur, extra shipping charges for the US, only one frame size ~22 inch, decent one year warranty on frame but only 6 month on the battery and motor.

emoclew Barbz
18 hours ago

Do they have sizes on these bikes?

4 days ago

I have a carbon fiber bike I want to install a electric motor on it, can you tell me what motor will work on there?

Ian Mangham
4 months ago

I love carbon, never rode one

7 months ago

Hi and thank you for your reviews, I know you have tried both the Daymak EC1 and the Grace Easy Electric Bike .. between the two, what should I choose and why?
Grace costs me 1200 and the Daymak 1000 ... I weigh 100 kg and I'm 1.90 high.

Ivan Zhong
2 years ago

Is it power on demand

2 years ago

Great review man! I followed this bike on kickstarter, but I'm not too familiar with that concept.... Looking at their increased price, I doubt if it is such a better option than the cube reaction hybrid models for instance.. (and to all people that are interested in getting a similar bike, if you are not willing or able to spend at least 2000 euro, than forget it...).

Jay Gurung
2 years ago

Hey Mr. Court when is new BH easy motion EasyGo race review coming? Thanks in advance.
2 years ago

+Jay Gurung I'm in touch with a shop and hope to check it out soon! Still laboring on the website, trying to get things stable for the new year and also cleaning up a few more videos from 2015 :)

Andrei Popa
2 years ago

If you have a motor on the front wheel you will have awd on snow :)
2 years ago

+Pixel dirt Yeah, that seems very cool! Easy Motion did a model like this called the EVO Snow but I wasn't able to find one for review. I think Blue Monkey Bicycles has a video here

2 years ago

Is lighter stronger enzyme batteries the future with Mtn-ebikes Court ?, and what's your prediction for "off road multi-day back country Fat-Mtn-Tour ebikes (design & types) in future? I heard that a "multi day luggage loaded fatbike tyre needs to be 6-inches wide in order to not sink in the softest sand, do you agree with that estimate ? Take care an "cycle on brother".

Torian Allen
2 years ago

once I build my house next year, your site will be my north star when it comes to finding my main mode of transportation.

Torian Allen
2 years ago

My wife and I are going Tiny. We are thinking the bay area, but since we're going to be tiny it doesn't matter what we pick.
2 years ago

+Torian “TJ” Allen Awesome! Glad to help man, where are you planning to build? Did you come up with the design yourself? Sounds like a cool project :D

Kid In Africa
2 years ago

What is your favourite bosch powered Bike out of all that you reviewed?

Kid In Africa
2 years ago

2 years ago

+Koalazzz I really like the FSRX from Haibike because it offers full suspension but also has adjustments and lockout for on-road. It's cheaper than the highest end models but still delivers a ton of quality my Uncle got one and talks about it in this video:

Flo Mo
2 years ago

Pretty cool. I think like you. ^^

2 years ago

is there a reason why you use a selfie stick instead of a helmet cam?
2 years ago

+kamehamewhat Yeah, I can get closer up with the selfie stick and point to parts of the bike that I'm trying to explain like the motor or the gears. I tried a helmet cam but it was so high up and wide angle that most of the bike couldn't be seen. I do some frame shots (mount the camera to the bike) to capture speed and suspension and stuff but I don't always have time for that :)

2 years ago

you had it sold until you gave out the nonkickstarter price.
2 years ago

+DrZarkloff I'm not here to sell anything, just trying to help people understand the electric bike industry better and find the product that suits their lifestyle and budget (if one exists). I still really like normal bicycles too :D

eric jones
2 years ago

under $1,000 I could possibly consider the investment

Alireza A
2 years ago

I dont understand the idea behind an electric bike!!!!
2 years ago

+Kobbetop Yeah, there are some great paths around! Each city is different and it depends on where you work and stuff but if you notice my path wasn't direct, if you go a bit off the major roads it can really be awesome :D

2 years ago That was cool to see, such a nice and safe commute. I was on the impression that American cities have almost no bike paths but that looked very nice.
2 years ago

+Alireza Nexus I wasn't interested until I hurt my knee but still wanted to commute to work by bike. Towards the end of each day the commute turned from fun to pain. Here's a short video I shot introducing ebikes and showing my commute to work that you might enjoy:

2 years ago

+Alireza Nexus Its about transportation, exercise, cleaner energy, having fun, etc. ebikes give people the option of not having to pedal or pedal as hard. Older people who allowed their bodies to give out, and people with injuries find ebikes to be a great alternative to traditional pedal power only bikes. ebikes are quite and emit no pollution. Hippies are whipped into a spastic, joyful, love-fest at the idea of electric powered bicycles. Couch potatoes who wouldnt get off the couch to ride a normal bicycles think "hey, maybe I can stomach 20 minutes of activity on an ebike." People with long commutes find electric power helpful with the long drive to and from work. And than there are those who just want to go out and have fun without the physical demands of pedal powered only bicycles.

2 years ago

After 1700km and 12kg weight loss I can understand the concept very well ;-) This is with pedal assist e-bike, it gives a nice workout too.

2 years ago

perfect your video!!!!
2 years ago

+LUIZ FELIPE MENDONÇA RIBEIRO Thanks for the positive feedback Luiz! I think it could have been better to be honest but the product wasn't out yet so I was testing a prototype that could change... I put a lot more detail into the full writeup (linked in the description above). My other reviews will be much more complete :)

2 years ago

Oh yeah, btw- Keep up the great job making these videos! Ebikes are the future!
2 years ago

+Shreds1620 Thanks! Doing my best, just redesigned the website and have a lot of bugs to fix but the 2016 reviews are coming and I can't wait to share all of the new bikes and technology :D

2 years ago

Hey buddy, I am a Colorado resident who watches your videos, because I am in the market for a e-assist kit or bike. I currently own a Surly Krampus (29+) that I am either going to sell, so I can purchase either the Volt Yukon 500 watt ($1350), the Ohm 27.5 plus($3500) with the Bionx D500, or just keep the Krampus and install the D500 ($2700)myself. If you were in my shoes, and lived in a mountainous area where I would probably mostly commute, but would also like to ride some packed snow trails and singletrack from time to time which would you lean towards? Any suggestions or insight on which direction I should proceed would be most appreciated kind sir.

2 years ago

+aj wood I emailed you about the kit.  No reply?  How much you asking?

2 years ago Well I am impressed then, and thanks for the response. I'll edit mine to be less aggressive. Keep up the good work, but maybe try and be a bit more critical of things like drastic price changes....particularly on kickstarter bikes. Thanks!
2 years ago

I feel ya, it's a lot to pay for that feature but I've heard a lot about worn and broken chains as well as sprockets and derailleur issues from people who ride regularly. I don't stick with any one model for very long most of the time due to the nature of my lifestyle so I rely on this kind of anecdotal feedback when answering questions and comments but my forums are very open as well. I travel around a lot to do my "reviews" which are really more like informed overviews. Sorry they have fallen short for you. I do not take any sort of kickback and am careful to keep advertising relationships transparent and separate from my videos and articles. I get paid from putting banners up or promoting a review to the top of the list but it's always labeled as such and this is how I afford to do new content. To make it work financially I sleep in my car or at friend's houses most of the time.

2 years ago

Okay cool.  Thanks for all the suggestions!  I will make a decision based on my next couple of paychecks.  I will probably install the E-RAD if I choose to go centerdrive retrofit.  Still haven't decided on hub or centerdrive.  If I do get a purpose built ebike, it's most likely going to be the Ohm 750bplus with the Bionx.  

2 years ago

+Shreds1620 Sorry I don't consider paying $400 for a shift sensor to be any where near reasonable of a charge. No offense, but do you get kick backs from certain vendors? I find your information to be kind of strange when it comes to recommendations, and I wouldn't identify the videos from this channel as reviews, so much as just information. I've just noticed this lately, and it kind of irks me. **edit** He responded to this unkind question below, I am impressed!. Dude does go all out for this channel.
2 years ago

Hey guys! I highly recommend reading the written review for this one if you're considering a purchase because a few things have changed since I shot the video. One major difference is an increase in price from when it was on Kickstarter, it is now $1,899 vs. just $899 for the standard base model I do like that they offer a more refined pro model with drop bars! It's one of the fe electric bikes around with that option but it costs $3,499.

Asterix the gaul
7 months ago

2 years ago

+Van Voyager Yeah, I was amazed it jumped that high... Still maybe a good deal, the other carbon fiber ebike I know about is from Easy Motion and it's still over $2k but it has a better warranty and larger battery more like the "Advance" model from Daymak.