Haibike XDURO Race Review

Haibike Xduro Race Electric Bike Review
Haibike Xduro Race
Haibike Xduro Race Haibike Aluminum Chain Guide
Haibike Xduro Race Removable Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Haibike Xduro Race Intuvia Lcd Display Brake Levers
Haibike Xduro Race 180 Mm Tektro Disc Brakes
Haibike Xduro Race Bosch Centerdrive 350
Haibike Xduro Race Drop Bars Grip Tape
Haibike Xduro Race Eheadlight Led 60 Lux
Haibike Xduro Race Lifestyle Image
Haibike Xduro Race Pletscher Spring Kickstand
Haibike Xduro Race Rear 11 Speed Cassette
Haibike Xduro Race Reynolds Assault Slg Wheelset
Haibike Xduro Race Shimano Ultegra Derailleur
Haibike Xduro Race String Rear Led Light
Haibike Xduro Race Electric Bike Review
Haibike Xduro Race
Haibike Xduro Race Haibike Aluminum Chain Guide
Haibike Xduro Race Removable Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
Haibike Xduro Race Intuvia Lcd Display Brake Levers
Haibike Xduro Race 180 Mm Tektro Disc Brakes
Haibike Xduro Race Bosch Centerdrive 350
Haibike Xduro Race Drop Bars Grip Tape
Haibike Xduro Race Eheadlight Led 60 Lux
Haibike Xduro Race Lifestyle Image
Haibike Xduro Race Pletscher Spring Kickstand
Haibike Xduro Race Rear 11 Speed Cassette
Haibike Xduro Race Reynolds Assault Slg Wheelset
Haibike Xduro Race Shimano Ultegra Derailleur
Haibike Xduro Race String Rear Led Light

Summary

  • An extremely well balanced, light weight, high speed electric road bike - one of the only ebikes with drop bars that I've seen
  • Efficient centerdrive from Bosch can reach speeds of 28 mph and distance in excess of 65 miles in optimal conditions
  • Complete with streamlined front and rear LED lights, self retracting kickstand from Pletscher and two sets of brake levers (forward and drop) with sturdy mechanical disc brakes
  • Aerodynamic deep dish wheelset looks awesome, front and rear wheels offer quick release, 11 speed Shimano Ultegra drivetrain

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Haibike

Model:

XDURO Race

Price:

$6,700 USD

Body Position:

Forward Aggressive

Suggested Use:

Road, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

5 Year Frame, 2 Year Motor and Battery

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2015

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

40 lbs ( 18.14 kg )

Battery Weight:

5.5 lbs ( 2.49 kg )

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs ( 3.99 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Sizes:

19.7 in ( 50.03 cm )20.9 in ( 53.08 cm )22 in ( 55.88 cm )23.2 in ( 58.92 cm )24.4 in ( 61.97 cm )

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy, Hydroformed Tubes, Gravity Casting Interface

Frame Colors:

Black with White and Red Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Aluminum Alloy, Rigid

Gearing Details:

11 Speed 1x11 Shimano Ultegra 6800, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Ultegra 6800, Dual Control

Cranks:

The Hive, Exalite R Forged Aluminum Alloy

Pedals:

XLC 1-Piece, Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

FSA No. 57, Semi-Integrated, Tapered

Stem:

Aluminum Alloy, A-Head

Handlebar:

Aluminum Alloy Road, Drop Handlebar

Brake Details:

Tektro TRP Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Shimano Ultegra 6800 Front Levers and TRP Road Carbon Drop Levers

Grips:

Grip Tape

Saddle:

XDURO Light, Performance

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Reynolds Assault SLG, Deep Dish, Disc Compatible

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Road, Fast eBike, 700 x 28c (28" x 1.10")

Wheel Sizes:

28 in ( 71.12 cm )

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Single Side Pletscher Kickstand at Rear Dropout, eHeadlight LED 60 Lux, String Rear LED Light Strip, Neoprene Slap Guard on Right Chainstay, Aluminum Alloy Chain Guide

Other:

Quick Release Wheels (Front and Rear), Locking Removable Battery Pack with LED Charge Level Indicator

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Gen2 with Shift Detection

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles ( 56 km )

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles ( 105 km )

Display Type:

Removable, Backlit, Grayscale LCD

Readouts:

Speed, 4 Assist Levels, Battery Voltage, Odometer, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback, Stem Mounted

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Combined Torque, Cadence and Speed), (Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

28 mph ( 45 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Haibike XDURO Race is an efficient, fast and beautiful electric bike. This thing is a race car with deep dish aero rims, drop bars, an 11 speed cassette and streamlined integrated lights… Lights? Kickstand?! Yeah, it comes with these extras that you might not be used to seeing on traditional road style bicycles because it’s capable of reaching 28 miles per hour in the highest level of pedal assist (Turbo) vs. just 20 mph for most other ebikes. As a result, in Europe these bikes are required to have a few extras for safety and in this case they’ve made their way over to the US as well. Weighing in at ~40 pounds (depending on which frame size you get) the Race is relatively light in the world of ebikes. Because it’s all aluminum, it can feel jarring at higher speeds if you roll over a crack or bump (much like a traditional road bike) but I feel like they could have reduced this feeling with the addition of carbon fiber parts or vibration dampening inserts on the fork, handlebar and seat post. Aside from this complaint I also feel like they should have included at least one way to mount a bottle cage, ideally on the downtube. To complete this bike I’d suggest adding an aftermarket adapter to the seat tube, post or saddle rails.

The centerdrive system on the Race consists of a 350 watt geared motor developed by Bosch. It can only be activated by pedaling but it’s super smart, measuring your rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque ~1,000 times per second. Since it pulls the same chain that you do, it benefits from mechanical advantages when climbing or cruising at higher speeds (depending on which gear you’re in). One possible downside to mid-drive motors like this is that they can increase the strain and wear on your chain and cassette but the Bosch system minimizes this because it has shift detection built in. It automatically lets up when it senses that you’re shifting gears and this reduces mashing. I’ve ridden this same second generation Bosch Centerdrive on probably 15+ other ebikes and it performs phenomenally for around town trips, light trail riding and even heavy off-road climbing. To the point where the motor will keep going but you cannot maintain traction any longer on steep dusty paths. The point I’m trying to make is that it will squash any road based hill you throw at it. Don’t be fooled by the 350 watt motor vs. the 500 watt hubs on the Specialized Turbo or Stromer ST2 (which are also road style speed pedelecs). Each of these electric bikes offers a different advantage but the Bosch system used on the Haibike Race delivers as much or more torque at 60 Newton meters, and more efficiency for distance riding than the others. One downside here however is the increased whirring noise that you can hear in the video but a big upside is the perfectly centered super-low weight placement of the ~5.5 pound motor.

Following from the motor placement, the battery pack is also centrally mounted on the frame. It’s a beautiful looking design that’s easy to charge on or off the bike and the locking core (made by ABUS) is sturdy with each key being securely unique (it’s a routed in-cut key like many cars now use). The battery pack itself has a set of five LEDs built in so you can quickly determine the charge level whether the pack is on or off the ebike. I recommend charging the pack after at least one bar has been used or before storing it for long periods. It’s wise to top it off ever three months if you haven’t used it and storing it in an environment that doesn’t get too hot or cold will also help it last longer. The batteries inside the pack are 18650 size and contain a Lithium Manganese chemistry that’s valued for being light weight and durable. It’s the same cells used in electric cars like the Tesla Roadster or Model S. The one complaint I have with regard to the battery is that it is not completely integrated into the downtube like the Turbo and ST2… This puts weight higher up, doesn’t look as clean and takes up valuable space on the downtube that might otherwise be used for a bottle cage mounting point. As mentioned earlier… there are not bosses for mounting a water bottle cage on this electric bike, and it’s a road bike! It should have at least one in my opinion. One upside here however is that the pack is less expensive to replace, being interchangeable with any other Bosch Gen 2 powered ebike. It should should last for 1,000+ charge cycles if cared for and even comes with a two year warranty. If you do need a replacement (or decide to get a second pack) Currie Technologies offers one for ~$600.

The control interface on the Haibike Xduro Race is the same as all other Bosch systems for this generation. It shows speed, distance traveled, battery capacity remaining, timer and range estimation for each assist level. It’s really neat to see (on the fly) just how far the range estimator thinks you can go because it empowers you to plan accordingly and pop the battery off for a quick charge at the office or a friends house if needed. You can usually get the pack to ~80% capacity in just an hour and a half… In addition to the removable backlit LCD screen (which has four buttons surrounding it including power, reset, information and lights) there is also an independent button pad that lets you go up or down in assist modes. This remote button pad is usually mounted to the left handle bar but that was not possible with the Race due to the unique drop bars and two sets of brake levers. As a result, it is positioned on top of the stem, just in front of the main display. This makes it more difficult to reach while riding but is still usable. I like the tactile clicking feedback it gives as you navigate through four levels of assist (or zero which leaves the main display on to manage lights and function as a traditional cycle computer). It’s worth reiterating here, this is the only ebike I’ve seen in America with a drop bar setup! The main brake levers have shifters built in just like a standard road bike and the feeling of accelerating to 28 mph without straining your knees or becoming overly winded is just awesome.

Given the limited aerodynamics properties of a human body riding a bicycle, it’s great to see a product that actually caters to high speed by enabling racing body posture. With five frame sizes to choose from, a proven drive system that is both powerful and extra fast in this case and quality accessories like the 11 speed Shimano Ultegra drivetrain the Haibike XDURO Race is a winner in my book. Yes, it’s very expensive at $6,700 but I’ve seen non-electric bikes for just as much and quite a bit more. They were lighter, more comfortable due to carbon fiber construction and they had bottle cages! But the Race is hard to beat for long distance weekend trips, tackling hills and keeping up with friends who might have developed a better cardiovascular fitness level. Considering the smog that surrounds some cities and the wind and hills that can take the fun out of riding I’m a big fan of this kind of technology. Why not get a little help making it to the hills just outside of town… you can always shut the motor off once you’re above the smog or you can go much further and enjoy the views that might have otherwise eluded you after work as the sun goes down. If you’re not a fan of the drop bars, consider the Haibike Superrace which also offers 11 speeds and uses the Bosch system but offers a more traditional flat handlebar. I’ve created a more in depth look at the LCD display panel from Bosch called the Intuvia, you can watch this short video overview and check out the official manual there.

Pros:

  • One of the only ebikes I’ve seen to offer drop bars! I like the choice of using the drop portion for aerodynamics and speed, being up in the hoods for braking and resting or using the inner flat section like a traditional bike like the Superrace. These different hand positions make riding feel more exciting and offers a nice ergonomic break when riding long distances
  • Light weight frame and components is just ~40 pounds depending on the size you choose, well balanced drive system (motor and battery pack are mounted low and center)
  • Includes integrated front and rear LED lights powered by the main battery pack, they can be operated with the main display, the lights themselves are beautiful and unique (the headlight turns as you turn the bike, the rear light is extra tall and visible from three sides vs. just the back)
  • The Bosch Centerdrive system is efficient, smooth and powerful – it can climb very effectively with ~60 Nm of torque and can reach 65+ miles per charge in optimal conditions
  • Battery pack locks to frame for security using a quality ABUS core, it can be charged on or off the frame for convenience or to reduce weight if you’d like to ride this as a normal bicycle or are transporting it on a car rack (easier to lift, less weight on your rack, weighs ~31.2 lbs without battery)
  • Stiff cranks, decent aluminum alloy platform pedals (that will likely be replaced with clipless), rigid frame for good power transfer when riding, tapered head tube for strength
  • Impressive 11 speed cassette with quality Shimano Ultegra components offers a comfortable cadence at many speeds, may seem limited given the 28 mph top speed but very few mid-drive ebikes offer more than 10 speeds
  • Great customer support and warranty from Currie Technologies in the US (part of Accell Group which owns Haibike)
  • Five frame sizes so the bike will fit and feel great for a range of riders (50cm, 53cm, 56cm, 59cm, 62cm)
  • Nice little aluminum alloy chain guide keeps the chain from dropping on the front sprocket at higher speeds if you hit rough terrain
  • Self-retracting Pletscher kickstand is mounted far back so you won’t hit it with your heel, it’s light weight but capable of holding the bike (kickstands are a legal requirement for speed pedelecs in Europe)
  • The deep dish aerodynamic rims reduce the drag that this wheelset produces, they look cool and they may stand out more to cars and other cyclists when riding in crowded areas (helping you avoid collisions from the side)

Cons:

  • The battery pack takes up the space where a water bottle cage might otherwise mount and there isn’t one on the seat tube, consider and aftermarket accessory for the tube, post or saddle rails
  • Narrow tires, stiff frame and performance saddle can feel stiff and jarring at higher speeds if terrain is not smooth, this is a true road bicycle
  • Very expensive but you get top of the line components from Shimano, Bosch and Tektro that are designed to keep the bike light, fast and durable
  • 6061 aluminum alloy frame is sturdy and extremely well made but doesn’t dampen vibration the way a carbon frame might, would be nice if the Race came with a carbon fiber fork
  • No throttle mode, this bike only offers pedal assist (like all Bosch powered systems) but is capable of higher top speeds

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Haibike Reviews

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautiful and capable all mountain style ebike with premium components from Schwalbe, Shimano, Magura and RockShox, the frame, fork and saddle are paint matched. The drive system is surprisingly powerful, delivering 80 Newton meters of peak torque output, it…...

Haibike XDURO Urban S RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed road bike with electric assist up to 28 mph (45 km/h), available in five frame sizes for improved fit and a vibration dampening seat post and shock stem for improved comfort. Efficient low-resistance tires with deep-dish aero rims and bladed spokes, keep the tire pressure up…...

Haibike SDURO Full FatSix Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only full suspension fat electric bikes I've seen, quality hardware including 20 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, solid 2 year motor and battery warranty with 5 years on the frame. Powered by the Yamaha mid-drive ebike system with 500 watt motor, Zero Cadence pedal assist,…...

Haibike SDURO FullNine RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension 29er with mid-drive motor, slim battery and removable display by Yamaha, offers 80 Nm of torque and zero-cadence pedal assist response. The RX trim level is top of the line with light weight hardware from Shimano,…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN RC Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all mountain trail + downhill mid drive powered electric bike with 150 mm air suspension, rigid thru axles (15 mm front 142 x 12 mm rear). Impressive 20 speed drivetrain with quality Shimano Deore XT groupset, capable Shimano M615 hydraulic disc…...

Haibike XDURO DWNHLL Pro Review

  • MSRP: $8,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only true downhill ready electric bikes being made in series production, delivers a worldcup ready chassis and pro level components. Shimano Saint drivetrain and brakes (top of the line downhill groupset), with two piece Ice-Tech…...

Haibike XDURO FullLife RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Custom geometry with shorter reach to accommodate women (who tend to have shorter arms and torso but longer legs), shorter saddle with wider back, adjustable position brake levers for smaller hands. plush 120 mm front and rear Fox air suspension with 15 mm thru-axle front and…...

Haibike SDURO HardSeven SM Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable Haibike in the 2016 line, features the Yamaha drive system with a basic fixed LED display console, basic saddle, heavier oil suspension fork and cheaper Kenda tires without liners. Solid nine-speed SRAM X-4 drivetrain, no shift sensing or motor inhibitors, large 180 mm hydraulic…...

Haibike SDURO HardLife SL Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable women's specific electric bike from Haibike, leverages the Yamaha mid-drive, features an upgraded LCD screen with USB charging port. Excellent weight distribution, battery and motor are mounted low and center, the top tube is…...

Haibike XDURO Fullseven RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high performance full suspension electric mountain bike with quality components from Shimano, RockShox, and Fox. Responsive, durable and intuitive drive systems powered by Bosch, solid two year comprehensive warranty, five…...

Haibike XDURO AMT RX Review

  • MSRP: $6,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A high performance all-mountain electric bike with premium suspension from Fox and hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano. Thru axles on front and rear wheel for improved stiffness and durability, seat post dropper…...

Haibike XDURO Nduro Pro Review

  • MSRP: $9,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium downhill capable electric bike with 180 mm travel on front and rear Fox air suspension, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Excellent weight distribution, Bosch-made Centerdrive motor and battery kept low and center on the frame,…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro Review

  • MSRP: $4,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A long-range capable touring our commuting style electric bike that climbs well, has a balanced weight distribution and offers 27 speeds for a steady cadence at most speeds. Excellent accessories including LED lights, full-length fenders and sturdy rear-rack with spring latch...

Haibike XDURO Nduro RX

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The entry-level performance downhill electric bike from Haibike with 26" wheels , long travel 180 mm air suspension by Fox with CTD adjust and hydraulic Shimano SLX disc brakes. Excellent frame balance with motor and battery mounted low and center, quick release wheels with…...

Haibike XDURO Urban Review

  • MSRP: $4,450
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An efficient, light weight road style electric bike with a perfectly balanced all-aluminum frame and electric drive system. Convenient quick release wheels, integrated LED lights, quality hydraulic disc brakes and a removable battery…...

Haibike XDURO Fatsix Review

  • MSRP: $5,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The only Bosch powered electric fat bike I've seen with a suspension fork, RockShox air with remote lockout. Burly 15 mm front and 12 mm rear thru axles, extended bottom bracket and spindle…...

Haibike XDURO FS RX 27.5″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance, well balanced, full suspension electric mountain bike with motor and battery kept low and center. Available in four frame sizes for good fit, larger 27.5" wheels improve traction, momentum and…...

Haibike XDURO RX 29″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Capable and sturdy eMountain bike with great frame balance, motor and battery (mounted low and center). Available in four frame sizes for good fit, large 29" wheels provide improved traction, momentum…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Ultra efficient centerdrive motor leverages nine speed cassette and three speed SRAM hub for climbing and distance. Top of the line commuting accessories including dynamo powered LED lights, rear rack with pump,…...

Haibike XDURO Superrace Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the lightest weight, most efficient and fastest riding electric road bikes available. Premium components including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, Integrated LED lights and SRAM X0 drivetrain...

Haibike XDURO AMT Pro Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Top of the line all mountain style electric bike with full suspension and middrive motor. Light weight, high end frame and components keep bike under 50 pounds...


sam
2 years ago

Does anyone know what is the standover height for the 50cm version? I would probably buy it if the height works (inseam 28").

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Sam! I've reached out to Haibike for you and am trying to get an answer. Hang tight! This is a sweet bike for sure ;)

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Sam, based on Larry's link to the sizing chart and some quick math and estimation on my end, I think the standover height of the small 50 cm Haibike Race is ~28 inches. That is, one quarter of the ~28 inch wheel height (based on how far "I" from the sizing chart extends down and adding about 1/4 of the wheel height). Note that "I" measures from the top of the seat tube, which is about flush with the top tube, down to the base of the mid-drive motor. This is just my guess using the stock photo, the official stats and my rough knowledge of the 700c wheel size with a narrow road tire installed :)

Larry Pizzi
2 years ago

On a road bike, best to fit to reach, not standover. Here is a link to the geometry chart. Let me know if you have questions lpizzi@currietech.com - http://www.currietech.com/image-picker/haibike-geometry.html

sam
2 years ago

Thanks Larry and Court. It looks like at best the fit would be very tight. I think, I will go ahead and get the SEV velicks 700. My friend has the xs version and that does fit me well - though I wish I could find something lighter.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Sam, here's a bit more information on sizing that might help you out for this or other ebikes http://sheldonbrown.com/frame-sizing.html I haven't seen the SEV Velicks 700 before but just found a few images searching Google. If that's what you end up with I'd love to hear your experience with it here or in the forums https://electricbikereview.com/community/ it looks like a mid-step road bike that could work alright.

John
2 years ago

Hi guys, I like this e-bike better then the Stromer ST-2 because you don't have worry about the GSM / Omini system. I think the bosh crank system is a proven brand that everyone knows. I don't know the range on a battery charge but looking forward of purchasing this bike.

Court Rye
2 years ago

I've been very impressed with Haibike and the Bosch Gen 2 Centerdrive. I hope you enjoy the bike! The ST2 is definitely cool (and quieter) but not as efficient as the XDURO Race.

Joel
6 months ago

XDURO Race available in Australia?

Court Rye
6 months ago

I have no idea Joel, from what I've heard Specialized just entered the Australian market this year (2016) but I haven't heard about Haibike. They do have a dealer map on their website here and you could contact them and ask? I wish you luck, some dealers in Europe and the US will ship internationally, I think Motostrano is one of them located in California.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Sai Kodi
3 days ago
supermasj
Hello guys.

I just purchased myself a Haibike xduro race. Was first planning on purchasing a Stromer ST1x, but a friend linked me to a shop with some old stock of the Haibike Xduro Race 2015/2016 at a ridiculous price point, so I ended up buying the haibike.

I've been looking for people owning this bike, but beside the (good) review on this forum, I haven't found any information on long time experience withe the bike elsewhere (neither the superrace).

I will be using it for my commute (2 x 37 miles) a day.

Is there anyone on this forum owning the bike? Specific stuff I need to care about?
Congrats! If you dont mind me asking, what was the deal on the Race? Also, how have your commutes been on the Race? I really like the Race S model. But would like to hear your experiences about the stiffness and the vibrations?

Also, I havent dared yet to do my 25 mile commute each way. I am going to use you as a source of inspiration to do mine completely on the bike. I just bought myself a 2016 Xduro FullSeven S RX. Expecting delivery in the next 2-3 days.
Ravi Kempaiah
1 month ago
supermasj
Hello guys.

I just purchased myself a Haibike xduro race. Was first planning on purchasing a Stromer ST1x, but a friend linked me to a shop with some old stock of the Haibike Xduro Race 2015/2016 at a ridiculous price point, so I ended up buying the haibike.

I've been looking for people owning this bike, but beside the (good) review on this forum, I haven't found any information on long time experience withe the bike elsewhere (neither the superrace).

I will be using it for my commute (2 x 37 miles) a day.

Is there anyone on this forum owning the bike? Specific stuff I need to care about?
I rode the Super Race for over 500 miles and just switched Trekking S Rx (heavier but has rack, fenders, wider tires, riser handlebar etc). Our store tech uses the SuperRace tight now.
I really enjoyed the Super Race and for summer time, it's a great bike to have. 28c skinny tires on icy roads can be troublesome, for now I am using the Trekking S Rx.

Race is not very different from the SuperRace in terms of performance. Both weigh around 40lbs and have great agility. TRP Zurich cable actuated hydraulic ones on the Race are quite good but I felt the Magura MT4's on the SuperRace to be tiny bit better.

There are mounting points for rack and fenders. 37 miles each way is going to be a lot of saddle time. Feel free to ask me any questions.
Ravi Kempaiah
5 months ago
eoghan
They have 3 S bikes for 2017
  1. Haibike XDURO Urban S 5.0 Electric Bike -2017
  2. Haibike XDURO Race S 6.0 - 2017
  3. Haibike XDURO Full Seven S 7.0 Ebike - 2017
One more to the list.
  1. Haibike XDURO Trekking S Rx 5.0 - 2017
JayVee
11 months ago
Warren Ashton
Thanks everyone!

I have not actually test ridden a Haibike yet. The bikes I have tested so far are: a bike with a BionX system (can't remember which brand), and a Specialized Turbo X. Both were nice, but I've always preferred a sportier ride, and there are a bunch of Haibikes this year that use the new Bosch CX Drive that does 28mph:
  • Xduro Race S RX
  • Xduro Urban S RX
  • Xduro Trekking S RX
I guess the main things I'm interested in are:
  • Speed (anything to shorten the commute time!)
  • Reliability
  • Price (the ST2 costs 9K CAD up here, I'm looking to spend under 6K (4600 USD)
I also don't mind peddling the whole time! Going to see if I can try a mid drive system this weekend and see how that feels. Also I'll try and find a local shop that rents mid drive units. All I've been able to find so far are places that rent BionX systems.
Actually I think the Xduro trekking 28mph speed bikes use the Bosch Performance drive rather than the CX. (snip).

This from Haibike website:

XDURO Trekking RS
With the XDURO TREKKING RS we are introducing the top of the line: with an innovative hydro form frame and an intricately integrated 350 Watt Bosch performance system
that can support cyclists up to speeds of 45 km/h.
Warren Ashton
11 months ago
Thanks everyone!

I have not actually test ridden a Haibike yet. The bikes I have tested so far are: a bike with a BionX system (can't remember which brand), and a Specialized Turbo X. Both were nice, but I've always preferred a sportier ride, and there are a bunch of Haibikes this year that use the new Bosch CX Drive that does 28mph:
  • Xduro Race S RX
  • Xduro Urban S RX
  • Xduro Trekking S RX
I guess the main things I'm interested in are:
  • Speed (anything to shorten the commute time!)
  • Reliability
  • Price (the ST2 costs 9K CAD up here, I'm looking to spend under 6K (4600 USD)
I also don't mind peddling the whole time! Going to see if I can try a mid drive system this weekend and see how that feels. Also I'll try and find a local shop that rents mid drive units. All I've been able to find so far are places that rent BionX systems.
Chris Nolte
1 year ago
Bear
All,

I'm just about to buy a 2016 Xduro Race, and wonder if anyone has input as to a few questions:

1. I was told that Haibike company service/response (not the bike shop) was not terribly good. Does anyone have any experience/input? Haibike appears to be very reliable, and I'm 3 hours away from the nearest Haibike dealer, thus reliability is very meaningful to me.

2. I've about decided on an Xduro Race. Anyone have any comments/experience?

3. I was told that I couldn't get the 2016 500 watt battery with it. Any experience?

Thanks for your input!
Bear - We have generally had pretty good experience with Haibike support, but keep in mind Magura handles the support for Bosch related items. Haibike had some internal re-organizing along with most of the Accell group's brands. They are in the process of ramping up their team. I wouldn't be concerned about the reliability, in my experience the Bosch system has been the most reliable.

2. We've sold several of the 2015 Race's and have had good experience with very happy customers. I'm sure you will be pleased.

3. Correct. The 500Wh is not ready for the US yet, it still has some tests it needs to pass and such. It will most likely be Model Year 2017 for us to see it here.

Let me know if I can assist further.
Michelll
1 year ago
I have a Haibike Xduro Super Race that my hubby got me for Christmas -- it has a 400wh battery mounted on the down tube. my husband bought a 600 wh battery from AliExpress - it looks exactly like my bosch 400wh (except it was 1/3 the price) -- we wanted a backup battery because we typically ride long distances, around 100 miles a ride. the battery arrived yesterday but it does not have the same connection as the Bosch. in all other respects, it's pretty much identical. I'm wondering if we could mount this 2nd battery on a rear pack, or under the top tube, and put a switch between the two batteries? the new battery came with a mounting bracket and charger, wires to connect etc. our thought was to carry it in a frame bag, now he is wondering if we could mount in there or something. thoughts?
creamy
1 year ago
ilikepancakez
So I think I've got it narrowed down to these two bikes. The Easy Motion Evo Race (emotionbikesusa.com/EV805) and the Specialized Turbo (specialized.com/us/en/bikes/electric/turbo/turbo).

For the road bike feel I want and the budget I have, I think these two are the best options I have, but maybe there's a bike I've missed? I've also heard that the Specialized is coming out with a 2016 Turbo S. Does that mean there will be an updated 2016 Turbo too then?

If cost wasn't a factor though, I think I would definitely get the Xduro Race. It looks sleek as hell! Too bad it's like $7000.
I've got the Evo Race.

If you're commute is 50km, for your weight you'll probably be fine. I'm 85kg and I just got 45km on the highest assist mode all the way. It does feel very zippy. It accelerates well from a standing start. Short hills aren't a problem, the longer ones are still ok. Maybe also try a mid drive motor? Only thing that bothers me about the bike is the response time of the motor cutting out. It usually still goes for 1-2 seconds after you stop pedalling.
Steve Ryu
1 year ago
eoghan
I'm probably in the same position as you, would like to get a bike now, but given the new bikes are almost here, I feel its the wrong time to buy. The new SDURO line will be an attractive option with a starting MSRP of $2500 for many and I heard from someone in Ireland who had a chance to use it on a 15 mile ride (not sure of the model year) - first time using a bike and he loved it. I hear they will have some 28 MPH bikes staring below $5K, I hope they have a HardNine with that option, as thats what I have my eye on.
The Speed Pedelecs will only be XDURO models with Bosch:

FullSeven Pro
FullSeven RX
Trekking
Race
Urban
ilikepancakez
1 year ago
So I think I've got it narrowed down to these two bikes. The Easy Motion Evo Race (emotionbikesusa.com/EV805) and the Specialized Turbo (specialized.com/us/en/bikes/electric/turbo/turbo).

For the road bike feel I want and the budget I have, I think these two are the best options I have, but maybe there's a bike I've missed? I've also heard that the Specialized is coming out with a 2016 Turbo S. Does that mean there will be an updated 2016 Turbo too then?

If cost wasn't a factor though, I think I would definitely get the Xduro Race. It looks sleek as hell! Too bad it's like $7000.
Cameron Newland
1 year ago
jrb5j
I'm really hoping some of Haibike's off road models (either sduro or xduro) will be speed pedalec. I've heard rumors this is the case. Can anyone confirm? I'd love to know specs and release date!
There will be 5 S-pedelecs in the US in 2016 from Haibike, whereas this year, I think there were only two or three. All of the S-pedelecs will be XDURO (Bosch).

Urban S RX
Race S RX
Trekking S RX (high/low step) (regular, Non-S Trekking RX model limited to 20mph as it has the high torque CX motor)
FullSeven S RX
FullSeven S PRO
Mr. Rabbit
1 year ago
J.R.
I was wondering about ebike of the year as well! Place your bets... I'm betting something towards the more modest end.
Forgive me if everybody already knows, but I just recently found out that Juiced Riders ODK500 is one of five nominees for the Interbike 2015 E-Bike Of The Year!
(I recently posted this on the EBR Community: Juiced Riders forum) It's from the Interbike 2015 website.

E-Bike Action – Product Awards
18. E-Bike of the Year - This award represents any complete bike that was deemed a model year 2014 product and was submitted for review by the EBA staff between July 1st, 2014 and June 15th, 2015. The bikes nominated were also required to have been in production and available at retail within this timeframe.

 Haibike XDURO Race
 Juiced Riders ODK500 ⬅️
 Stromer ST2
 E-Joe Koda
 Focus Thron 27R 3.0

Exciting stuff!
Mr. Rabbit
1 year ago
Forgive me if everybody already knows, but I just recently found out that our beloved Juiced Riders ODK500 is one of five nominees for the Interbike 2015 E-Bike Of The Year!

E-Bike Action – Product Awards
18. E-Bike of the Year - This award represents any complete bike that was deemed a model year 2014 product and was submitted for review by the EBA staff between July 1st, 2014 and June 15th, 2015. The bikes nominated were also required to have been in production and available at retail within this timeframe.

 Haibike XDURO Race
 Juiced Riders ODK500 ⬅️
 Stromer ST2
 E-Joe Koda
 Focus Thron 27R 3.0

Exciting stuff!
86 and still kicking
2 years ago
Ravi Kempaiah
This is incorrect. Haibike Xduro Race (NOT Super Race) is a very well built road bike with drop bars and capable of reaching 28mph. It is 12lbs lighter than Turbo S as well.




Tom,
Have you tried Haibike Xduro Race? or the Super Race?
Super Race is 2lbs lighter than Misceo and can reach 28 mph nonchalantly. It is one of those beautiful road machines.
My observation of Turbo or ST2 is similar to yours. While these are great bikes, their weight distribution is not ideal for 30+ flat sprints. Also, I tried adding aerobars to my ST2, but the handling was so squirrely because of the heavy downtube.
I added some bar ends and positioned them like faux aerobars and I was able to hold 40ish descents pretty well by tucking in.

I stand corrected. Even test rode it and remember it being very hard edged...much better than the Raleigh but also the same price as the ST2. Mea Culpa!
Ravi Kempaiah
2 years ago
86 and still kicking
Unfortunately there is no ebike on the market that currently mimics an S Works or BMC Team Machine geometry. Aggressive, highly conditioned cycling athletes are not a target market for ebikes and I know of no ebike that is purpose built with drop bars.
This is incorrect. Haibike Xduro Race (NOT Super Race) is a very well built road bike with drop bars and capable of reaching 28mph. It is 12lbs lighter than Turbo S as well.


Tom G
Interesting opinion as well! I certainly agree that the Turbo is fast, but I felt pretty disconnected from the road and had a hard time making small changes to my position on the road the 2 times I have ridden it. I also could not slalom as well as my regular road bike (fewer slalom "cycles" in the same distance of road). Thanks for pointing out that different tires help.

I think that the frame geometry may be causing the handling that I don't like. The head tube is a whopping 180 mm long on the small model, vs 110 mm on my road bike or 120 mm on the Misceo. This means that the bars are quite high compared to the seat, making it difficult to get in an aero position. The back heavy balance of the Turbo amplifies that - hard to put more weight on the front wheel. I find that important for countersteering when descending at speed (over 30 mph). I also worry that it will cripple the aerodynamics so that it will be very hard or impossible to ride with a fast group on flat ground or slightly downhill at 30+ mph when the motor cuts out. This would be competing with road cyclists whose hands are ~8" or more lower than the seat when in the drops on drop bars.
Tom,
Have you tried Haibike Xduro Race? or the Super Race?
Super Race is 2lbs lighter than Misceo and can reach 28 mph nonchalantly. It is one of those beautiful road machines.
My observation of Turbo or ST2 is similar to yours. While these are great bikes, their weight distribution is not ideal for 30+ flat sprints. Also, I tried adding aerobars to my ST2, but the handling was so squirrely because of the heavy downtube.
I added some bar ends and positioned them like faux aerobars and I was able to hold 40ish descents pretty well by tucking in.

Bike_On
2 years ago
Quick review

Mid drives over 20+:
Impulse Thron Speed
M1 Spitzing
Kalkoff Focus Aventura Impulse Speed
Haibike Xduro Race/super racer
Izip E3 Peak, DS
Optibike: simbb, R8, R11

DDhubs over 20+:
Specialized Turbo, X, S
Izip E3 Peak, DS
Polaris
BESV
Grace one, Easy
Stromer ST2, Platinum
A2B Shima
Falco hubs

Geared Hubs 20+:
Easy Motion- Nitro City, Cross, Carbon, Race
Operator7
2 years ago
Ravi Kempaiah
Hey O7,

I just had a long chat with Lenny.

First off all, few points to address your concerns.
  1. You shouldn't be standing when you're coasting. That will create severe drag and reduce the coasting efficiency.
  2. The battery bars can't be trusted 100% , this is only your second ride and give it a few more charge cycles and then run it down to 0% from 100% and see what the range is.
    generally range improves with few charge cycles in.
  3. Perhaps it helps to have better fitness.
  4. The bike doesn't use the same motor and battery as ST1. Each battery/ motor combo is proprietary to that particular company. What I meant is, it is assembled in the same factory but that doesn't mean it uses the exact same components. eFlow is a well made bike for sure.
Coming back,

Hope you understand that the shop spent hours on the phone trying to understand your needs. You had the option to pick any bike (out of 60 different models) including Stromer ST1 platinum, Easy Motion Nitro Cross, OHM XU-700, Stromer ST2, Haibike Super Race etc.,
For someone who is a starter, we suggest starting line up of Easy Motion or Haibike but eFlow was a demo model and you did get a great deal.
Evan also helped you with initial setup via video call. So in no way, the shop was misinforming you. Please call Evan again and he will put you in touch with East coast manager of Currie, Mark Rushman and there is no better person to talk to. We are only trying to help you. Please don't try to put yourself in a victim position.

If you really want a 28mph bike, you have several options, Focus Aventura Speed, Focus Thron Impulse Speed, Izip Dash, peak, Easy Motion Nitro, ST1 platinum, OHM XS750, Xduro Super race but all of them will be significantly more expensive than eFlow you have right now. Even right now, you have the option to pick any bike you want.

Generally, the motivating factor should be the idea of ebikes and what it brings to your life not just the price. It's a worthy investment. At the end, for some reason you don't want this bike, pack it up and send it back.
Please don't put myself in victim position? REALLY???

Did you really just say that?
Ravi Kempaiah
2 years ago
Operator7
Ok, do any of you ever get that feeling where you wake-up one day, and it's like you've slipped into a parallel universe, where things are slightly different, and what you thought you knew, now you don't really know??

I did a LOT of research before buying this bike. Not to say that I knew everything by any stretch, but I definitely did a fair amount of research. Here on this site, the bike is listed as 28 mph speed. Here on the Currie Tech site, the bike is listed with 28 mph speed (http://www.currietech.com/eflowebikes/eflow-e3-nitro-d-4). The bike is listed with a 500 Watt motor, and I read numerous places (including here on this forum) that this bike has the same engine and battery as the Stromer, and that this bike is actually made in the same factory (different assembly line).

At any rate, I'm pretty bummed to find this out. I mean all is not lost, as I was basically given this bike as a loaner, because when I went to purchase the ST1, it was on backorder... so I have the option to return this bike for a Stromer purchase - but I would have to ship it back, and pay the shipping. OR I can see if my boss will purchase this bike for the office, as he wants an ebike for the office, however he is in europe until August. But of course, a Stromer purchase would be much more expensive, not to mention I got a great deal because this was a demo bike. :-(

I also really liked the look of this bike, and bought accessories that I really liked with it. I'm so frustrated/depressed right now.
Hey O7,

I just had a long chat with Lenny.

First off all, few points to address your concerns.
  1. You shouldn't be standing when you're coasting. That will create severe drag and reduce the coasting efficiency.
  2. The battery bars can't be trusted 100% , this is only your second ride and give it a few more charge cycles and then run it down to 0% from 100% and see what the range is.
    generally range improves with few charge cycles in.
  3. Perhaps it helps to have better fitness.
  4. The bike doesn't use the same motor and battery as ST1. Each battery/ motor combo is proprietary to that particular company. What I meant is, it is assembled in the same factory but that doesn't mean it uses the exact same components. eFlow is a well made bike for sure.
Coming back,

Hope you understand that the shop spent hours on the phone trying to understand your needs. You had the option to pick any bike (out of 60 different models) including Stromer ST1 platinum, Easy Motion Nitro Cross, OHM XU-700, Stromer ST2, Haibike Super Race etc.,
For someone who is a starter, we suggest starting line up of Easy Motion or Haibike but eFlow was a demo model and you did get a great deal.
Evan also helped you with initial setup via video call. So in no way, the shop was misinforming you. Please call Evan again and he will put you in touch with East coast manager of Currie, Mark Rushman and there is no better person to talk to. We are only trying to help you. Please don't try to put yourself in a victim position.

If you really want a 28mph bike, you have several options, Focus Aventura Speed, Focus Thron Impulse Speed, Izip Dash, peak, Easy Motion Nitro, ST1 platinum, OHM XS750, Xduro Super race but all of them will be significantly more expensive than eFlow you have right now. Even right now, you have the option to pick any bike you want.

Generally, the motivating factor should be the idea of ebikes and what it brings to your life not just the price. It's a worthy investment. At the end, for some reason you don't want this bike, pack it up and send it back.
rene Churchill
5 months ago

Can I win the Tour the Franc
e with it?

Balls of Steel
5 months ago

Can you please review the new version? that would be very awesome

Warren Ashton
11 months ago

Hi Court! Do you know/remember if this bike had fender mounts? It looks like there's bosses towards the back of the front dropouts, and possibly some threaded plugs covering some bosses near the rear dropouts. Thanks!

Casey Neistat
11 months ago

Road bikes looks really nice and make the most sense for speed and range.

slllll
11 months ago

for backpacks look into ospreys mesh back backpacks while riding this. no more sweaty back.

Scott BikeDawg
1 year ago

Great review! I have a question--does the motor itself have internal gears? If so, is it equivalent to a 50/34 compact chainrings?

Eddie Jefferies
1 year ago

+Scott Lum  With one pedal rotation, the motor turns 2.5 turns. I'm guessing that it comes fitted with a 20T front sprocket as standard, which would give you an equivalent of 50T on a normal chainset. Other sprockets sizes are available, either to lower or higher the gearing. The rear cassette is an 11-32

gkstarter1
1 year ago

Hi. I've just bought this one and im loving it! Thanks for the great review, I'll also do my own video too add there's not many on YouTube available. Thanks.

gkstarter1
1 year ago

Amazing review! Thanks for taking the time, I'm looking to get one for commuting my daily 30km into work and back. Thanks.

Patrick94GSR
1 year ago

Dang I could do the A group rides with one of these! Without I can only hang with the D group haha.

Patrick94GSR
1 year ago

20+ MPH a parking lot that truck driver is f'n nuts!

MMJ
1 year ago

So what about going faster than 28 mph say like when you are going down a steep hill? Is this thing going to keep up with a road bike doing 50 down hill?

Tom Zeimet
1 year ago

Yes, after 28 the electrical assistance turns off, but you can keep pedaling or coasting without the motor.

DAMIEN STEP
2 years ago

I wass thinking about buying this bike (any electric bike) but I realised that they are stil too expensive and battery wont last too long.so really they are just for people who dont know what to do with money are they were too naive to buy it , well, 300 for this bike thats just crazy price.

Todd McDanger
2 years ago

Court,  Thanks so much for all the reviews you have posted.  I never really new about all the recent advancements and choices in e-bikes available until I found your site.  I've been a cyclist for just over 20 years, road mostly but also cyclo-cross and mountain.  I also ride motorcycles but on Dec 21 I had a bad fall that resulted in 7 broken ribs, a collapsed lung and surgery to install an implant to repair my collar bone. I'm recovering nicely and should be good as new in about a month. Although the motorcycle was a fantastic option for my daily commute, saving 20 minutes or more each way and probably about $10 a day in fuel vs. a car, not really sure if I will continue to ride.  That leads me to the e-bike option.  My needs in an e-bike commuter are the following:
1) Speed Pedelec with at least a 28mph (its pretty easy for me to cruise at a steady 20mph on a normal road bike)
2) Range 26 miles each way way.  I'd like to go the whole way in the highest assist settings if possible.  The catch is that I have a 800-1000 ft climb and decent in the middle with the rest essentially flat. The goal is to get to work in 60-75min (same as a car in traffic) I can recharge the battery at work.
3) Ability to add a rack to carry change of clothes, charge cable, food, water. About 4-6 pounds total.
Seems like, although one of the more expensive options, this Haibike might be the best option.  I prefer drop bars, mid-motor configuration.  I like the Stromer ST2 but prefer standard rear wheel and the lighter weight of the xduro. There is also a dealer close to me in the bay area. All good there but I do have a couple of questions.  What is the best way to get a test ride?  Does the motor between the cranks increase the distance between the pedals (q-factor).  Suspension is something I'd rather not deal with and from experience know that tires make a huge difference in ride quality.  What size tires will fit on this model? I believe it comes with 32c which is plenty wide but it would be nice to have the option to go wider. Considering my needs and expectations do you think this is the best option or is there something else on the horizon that I might wish I had waited for.  Thanks again and keep those reviews coming!

Todd McDanger
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks for the link Court. That helps a lot. Cheers!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Todd McDanger Yeah, it's about 2:1 but varies slightly. Bosch specs three sprocket sizes but leaves the production up to the manufacturer. For a road style ebike like this it's probably different vs. the e-mountain bikes. Here's an interesting related video you might enjoy: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1YdVVIgB0qc

Todd McDanger
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Court, One more question. How does the Bosch mid-motor compensate for having such a small chain ring? You say in the video that it spins faster than the crank. That makes sense but do you know the ratio? and is this ratio consistent with all the Bosch equipped bikes?  I suspect that the 20T ring on this bike spins at a 2:1 ratio to make the bike geared as with a 40T ring. Still pretty small for a true road bike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Todd McDanger Thanks for the update! Wish I could have been at the motostrano event, should definitely swing by there on my future travels :D

Todd McDanger
2 years ago

Court,
Thanks so much for the crank and contact info. The haibike Race is very attractive as it is such a unique option. I was able to get to the Motostrano demo event on the Jan 24th. They are a shop in the bay area with locations in Redwood City and San Francisco. http://www.motostrano.com/E-BIKES-electric-bicycles-s/4468.htm Awesome shop with almost every bike on my short list in stock! It was great to see and touch all the newest stuff. Although I am still unable to ride myself, my 15 year old daughter did test a Felt 9e which she loved. I also had a chance to talk extensively with the shop owner Joe and reps from both Haibike and Felt.  Todd and Doug respectively.  I let them know my specific needs and they directed me towards the bikes that fit best. My commute is perfect for what the high end electric bikes were born for. Its pretty clear that the Bosch system is everyone's favorite. The only issue there is the 20mph speed limit on the mid level bikes.  A couple of dark horses out there are the M1 sedan bikes.  They are reasonably priced Mountain style speed pedelecs with carbon frames and a rear hub motor.  You can get either a single speed rigid fork model ($3500) or a rock shock equipped model with internal hub gears ($5000).  Both of these where at the event. They are awesome looking and you need to test these. Luckily I have some time to kill before I can ride so I'll continue gathering info before diving in. Things are changing fast and I also have to consider upgrading after a couple of years so I want to buy a bike that will also appeal to second hand buyers just in case. I will see you on the forums.

George Sears
2 years ago

It's curious there are few road bikes with drops on the electric side. Here is a new one, apparently:

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1182676007/uncomprimising-wireless-blue-tooth-e-bike-conversi

They basically offer a kit, but also a road bike with the kit.

I might go for the Titanio or the aluminum version, over this. (Prodeco Tech). Mid-drive on a road bike might be gilding the lily, as old people say. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+George Sears Interesting, thanks for the vocabulary lesson and background on Sam! I also pledged a little to their recent Kickstarter campaign and was impressed that they have outlets all over the world. I'd love to visit Australia and meet with them someday!

George Sears
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com It's an interesting phrase, a corruption of something from Shakespeare. It basically means taking something that works, or is beautiful already, but taking things a little too far. Road bikes, to me, are pretty simple and beautiful. The modern phrase might be "over the top" or "jump the shark". You're an editor, a word guy. I'll get in trouble if I say any more. 

Dillenger has been around a while. There is a very long thread on Endless Sphere about one of their conversions kit. Sam (the team) seem to be able to manage a small company sourcing from China and shipping worldwide, from Australia. (You deserve a trip to Australia.)  I pledged for one of the Kickstarter kits. If I get it, I might try to put together a sub $1000 ebike and see how it works out. I'm pretty sure there are reasonable ways to buy or build a decent ebike for $800 to $1000. Maybe that will bring some people in. You want something pretty basic in that price range.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

What does gilding the lily mean! I found the official Dillenger website and they have some cool stuff. Hoping I can swing by later this year! https://dillengerelectricbikes.com/

Jimn Fred
2 years ago

nice review, enjoyed it.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Awesome, thanks for the positive feedback :)

wojtek1425
2 years ago

How many miles and hills you put on this one? ;)

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+wojtek1425 Ha! That sounds awesome... I'd also love to swap in a light suspension fork for those bumpy trails :D

wojtek1425
2 years ago

Now put cross tires and hit some trails

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Hey Wojtek, I've only ridden this bike for about a mile but I rode the very similar Haibike Superrace quite a bit. They are both tons of fun and go up just about any hill you can find (especially with a lighter weight rider like myself). Here's the Superrace review: http://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-superrace-28/

iPlayGTA 5
2 years ago

hey man you should look into a gopole or some helmet mounts/handle bar mounts.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

I appreciate the tip, those GoPole accessories look pretty nice. I've got a helmet cam mount but the video ends up looking "far away" vs. the shots I currently go for that show the motor, chain, wheels in action and try to also capture sound. I'd like to get a drone or something to do follow along shots but am a bit concerned about how much extra time that could take to do for each review.

mastr323
2 years ago

Are you the owner of ElectricBikeReview.com? I appreciate all the friendly and informative reviews.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Yeah! My name is Court, I started reviewing electric bikes about two years ago after I bought one online and it didn't work so well... I realized there were a lot of different choices but it was difficult to understand how one was better than another so I visited some local shops and began filming reviews. Now I do this full time and have built a bunch of tools to help people sort and compare back at the website (and have a forum too!) glad you've enjoyed it... here's a fun video I did early on: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N5BY_ko3sI4