E-Lux Newport Review

E Lux Newport Electric Bike Review
E Lux Newport
E Lux Newport Seven Speed Shimano Tourney Tx Samsung Battery 48v 10ah
E Lux Newport Removable Lithium Ion Battery Integrated Spanninga Led Light
E Lux Newport Cruiser Bars Light Switch Bell Ergonomic Grips
E Lux Newport Lcd Control Panel With Usb Charger
E Lux Newport 180 Mm Tektro Disc Brakes
E Lux Newport Integrated Four Led Headlight
E Lux Newport Rear Carry Rack With Bungee Cords
E Lux Newport Six Magnet Cadence Sensor
E Lux Newport Electric Bike Review
E Lux Newport
E Lux Newport Seven Speed Shimano Tourney Tx Samsung Battery 48v 10ah
E Lux Newport Removable Lithium Ion Battery Integrated Spanninga Led Light
E Lux Newport Cruiser Bars Light Switch Bell Ergonomic Grips
E Lux Newport Lcd Control Panel With Usb Charger
E Lux Newport 180 Mm Tektro Disc Brakes
E Lux Newport Integrated Four Led Headlight
E Lux Newport Rear Carry Rack With Bungee Cords
E Lux Newport Six Magnet Cadence Sensor

Summary

  • Feature-complete cruiser style electric bike with a custom frame that brings the pedals forward and keeps the stand-over height low
  • Great looking paint... you get frame-matched steel fenders and chain guard, I like that the hub motor, spokes, rims and rack all match in black
  • Lots of drive modes including throttle only in assist level 0, you can override any level of assist 1-5 and adjust how quickly the motor accelerates with Eco, Normal and Power
  • Impressive 500 watt planetary geared hub motor from 8Fun, 48 volt battery with Samsung cells, rear-heavy design and smaller dealer network but they sell online globally

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

E-Lux

Model:

Newport

Price:

$1,895

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive Plus 2 Pro Rated

Availability:

United States, Worldwide

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

57.5 lbs (26.08 kg)

Battery Weight:

8 lbs (3.62 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

16" Seat Tube, 26" Reach, 27" High-Step Stand Over, 76" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Glossy Black, Gunmetal, Powder Blue, Glossy White, Sea Foam Green

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Front Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses, Deflopilator Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney TX

Shifter Details:

Shimano SIS Index

Cranks:

Prowheel, 42T Chainring

Pedals:

Plastic and Aluminum Platform

Stem:

Quill

Handlebar:

Medium Cruiser, Swept Back, Steel

Brake Details:

Tektro Novella Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Rubber Ergonomic with Lockers

Saddle:

Oversized Comfort with Elastomer Bumpers

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Tapered

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled, Alloy, Gloss Black

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Cruiser, 26" x 1.125"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Matching Steel Fenders, Matching Steel Chain Guard, Integrated 4 LED Headlight, Integrated LED Rear Light, Aluminum Carry Rack with Pannier Blockers and Triple Bungee, Oversized Adjustable Length Kickstand

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

48 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

480 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Manganese Oxide

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Voltage, Speed, Odometer, Trip Meter, Assist Level (0-5), Power Level (Eco, Normal, Power), Ride Time, Power Use Meter

Display Accessories:

USB Charging Port, Headlight Button

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (6 Magnet Pedelec)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Newport is a cruiser style electric bike designed for casual, comfortable riding… but offers a heck of a lot of power! It does not offer any kind of sprung suspension but the tires are large, the handlebar is swept back and the saddle is wide and soft so it feels pretty comfortable. Even the grips are designed for comfort with an ergonomic style to rest your wrists. One thing that differentiates the grip touch-point on this and the Tahoe model from E-Lux is that they use trigger throttles instead of half-grip twist designs. It’s still a variable-speed throttle device that’s easy to reach and intuitive to use but the trade off is that your grip isn’t compromised here and perhaps they were able to save some money with more generic grips vs. ebike specific half-grips like the ones used on most Pedego and Motiv models.

Price point is one of the huge strengths for E-Lux electric bicycles. All of their models are priced at or below competing products and offer just as many if not more accessories including full length paint-matched fenders and chain guard (both steel) along with integrated LED lights and a standard gauge rear rack (perfect for use with clip-on panniers or a trunk bag). For those of us who want to go crazy with panniers or experiment with baskets, there are even bosses about mid way down the sides of the front fork (something I’ve never seen on a cruiser before). The demo model I reviewed here did not have bottle cage bosses but I’m told the next batch will have those mounting points. I was also unable to view and test ride the step-thru model but it’s great that they offer one and I love the fun color choices.

This ebike is powerful, the motor offers excellent torque and can zip up to ~20 mph with ease. It’s a name-brand hub from 8Fun/Bafang that’s painted black to match the black spokes and rims. It does make a whirring noise when operating at full power and at higher RPM’s but this isn’t any different than comparable products. Being geared, it’s light weight and compact vs. gearless and I noticed a quick-disconnect power plug to make changing flats, truing spokes or adjusting the cassette and derailleur easier. powering the pack is a high-quality Samsung powered 48 volt 10 amp hour battery pack that slides into the rear rack. It’s protected here and looks great (with an integrated rear LED light) but has to be switched on independently and does position more weight towards the back and up high. This isn’t great for balance but does allow the seat to drop lower as mentioned by JP in the video review. I love the 180 mm mechanical disc brakes and the quick release front wheel. If you needed to transport this e-bike by car you could remove the battery and wheel to bring down weight by ~10 lbs and that’s great because at ~57 lbs this isn’t a light build. That’s what happens when you add fenders, chain guard, the longer bars etc. etc.

All in all, I was very impressed with the Newport electric bike. Some of the parts are generic (like the Shimano Tourney derailleur, SIS Index shifters and plastic/aluminum platform pedals but the price is right on… especially considering the year long comprehensive warranty and $150 shipping price within the continental USA. I was told that E-Lux has even shipped internationally to different parts of Europe and it only costs $300. Very cool… My favorite things about this bike are the ability to adjust power output by holding Set and going from Eco to Normal or High. This will let you slow the bike down, extend range and save energy if you’re not in a rush, carrying a heavy load or climbing. I could see the step-thru Newport being a great fit for shorter riders who truly do want to relax and with seven gears to choose from and a more responsive six magnet cadence sensor it works very well for actually pedaling and getting some exercise.

Pros:

  • More mounting points than any other cruiser I’ve reviewed to date! You get fender bosses, bottle cage bosses and rack bosses including the fork so you could add a basket or pannier racks
  • The Newport comes feature-complete with matching fenders, chain guard, a quality rear rack with pannier guards and integrated LED lights (though the rear light has to be activated separately with a rubber button on the battery pack)
  • E-Lux is a relatively new company but the team members have been working on or using ebikes for over a decade (since 2006) and they offer a solid year long warranty with pro-rated battery replacement for the first three years
  • Lots of fun color choices and the fenders and chain guard are painted to match the frame, I also appreciate the black hub motor, black spokes and matching rims
  • Available in high-step and step-thru frame styles for easier handling and mounting or stiffer frame and easier transport
  • Slightly larger 180 mm disc brake rotor help you stop easier given the mechanical wire operation vs. hydraulic, I like the oversized kickstand for stability and the handlebar is medium width (for a cruiser bar) so it fits in between doors and tight spaces easier but still offers relaxed upright seating
  • Very powerful 500 watt geared hub motor from 8Fun paired with a 48 volt 10 amp hour battery pack using Samsung cells, great choices all around
  • The bike offers throttle-only operation as well as five levels of assist and the throttle overrides at any time, you also get three power output modes (Eco for slower, steadier acceleration up to Power for zippy fast operation)
  • Integrated USB charging port on the display panel could be useful for portable speakers, charging your phone or operating a GPS unit and there’s plenty of room on the bars to mount this kind of stuff
  • The frame is a custom design I haven’t seen before with bottom bracket further forward, the top tube lower (on the high-step model) and includes a nice wire management clip at the head tube as well as integrated cables
  • The slightly wider 2.125″ tires, oversized comfort saddle, ergonomic grips and wider handlebar offer good comfort but you could add a basic suspension seat post to get even more cushion (E-Lux includes one like this on their Tahoe model)
  • E-Lux will ship their bikes anywhere in the continental USA for $150 which isn’t bad at all for something so large and heavy, they will also ship internationally for $300

Cons:

  • The rear-rack battery design positions weight higher up which impacts balance and increases frame flex but this also allows the seat tube to be mounted at a steeper angle for more relaxed seating and the seat post and saddle can drop lower so it’s a decent trade-off
  • This is a heavier bike due to the included fenders, rack and sweeping bars, it’s actually not too bad for a cruiser and I love that the battery and front wheel can be easily removed for easier transport and storage
  • Limited dealer network at the time of this review (mostly West Coast shops) but apparently E-Lux will ship worldwide so that’s cool
  • The drivetrain is a bit more basic, Shimano Tourney TX are entry level components but you get 7 speeds which is great for relaxed riding around town or at the beach
  • The cadence sensor used on this model has six magnets vs. 10 or 12 on some other models I’ve tried but in practice it was pretty responsive (starts and stops quickly) and the power adjustment can help smooth it out if you feel like it starts too hard at higher levels of assist, go to Eco or Standard by holding Set and entering the display menu
  • The battery pack has to be activated with a toggle switch (underneath towards the back edge) before you can activate the display panel and get riding, this is a two step process that just takes more time and potentially effort if you forget and sit down because it would be difficult to turn around and reach that far while seated

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More E-Lux Reviews

E-Lux Tahoe Review

  • MSRP: $2,250
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A unique cruiser style fat ebike with long comfortable handlebars, an oversized saddle with suspension seat post and optional suspension fork (for the high-step model). Paint-matched fenders and chain guard, lots of beautiful color choices (Yellow, Orange, White, Black, Baby…...

E-Lux All-Trac Electric Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An electric fat bike designed for comfortable cruising with large oversized handlebars, a suspension seat post and smoother tires. Basic drivetrain with seven speeds, throttle on demand and five levels of pedal assist, full…...

Monica R.
1 year ago

Hi Court,

Curious of your thought of this bike compared to the Townie Go! 8i. I tried both bikes and like them both. The price of the ELux is more appealing, of course. But other than that, I go back and forth which one I like better. Do you have any thoughts to help me make a decision?

Many thanks,
Monica

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Monica! I really like the E-Lux bikes, they aren’t as well balanced or fancy as the new Bosch powered Electra Townie Go! but they cost less and you get a twist throttle. For me the E-Lux line is somewhat comparable to Pedego which is another very popular and proven brand. Go with the bike that feels right but know that E-Lux provides good customer service and has a decent network of dealers which might let you try one in person. Sorry for the late response here, I hope this helps and wish you luck!

Monica R.
1 year ago

Hi Court, Curious if you can help me better decide between the ELux Newport cruiser and Electra’s Townie Go 8i. I am torn between the two. Other than the price difference being in the ELux’s favor, I’m torn as both are comfortable rides, both have great warranties, both have solid components. I like the more detailed display on the Townie more than the one on the ELux … but beyond that I go back and forth. Can you help me decide by giving your input? Thanks!

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Monica! Sorry for the delayed response, have you chosen a bike yet? I like them both but if price were no issue I’d be hard pressed to skip the Townie Go! because I like the integrated lights, optional low-step frame, great availability through Trek dealers (and solid warranty) along with the Bosch system, it’s one of my favorite electric bike systems and is lower and more balanced than the E-Lux style rear-battery system. Both are solid electric bikes and you wouldn’t be going wrong with the E-Lux, it’s just not as refined – as you sort of pointed out regarding the display… which is removable and awesome XD the only downside is no throttle but in my experience that’s not a big deal if you’re open to pedaling, the highest level of assist with Bosch almost feels like a throttle.

Kristie
1 year ago

Hi! I’m 5’3″ and was wondering if this bike would be too big as far as height, handlebar spread, and overall length? I am considering the step-through model. Also, do you think this bike can climb a 6-8% grade? Thanks, in advance, Court! I think I’ve watched almost all of your reviews :)

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Kristie! The step-thru model is going to be your best bet (glad you found that!) but I can’t say for sure whether it will fit perfectly. the best cruiser style ebike I’ve tested for small people is the Pedego Miniceptor (their 24″ Interceptor model) because it keeps you even closer to the ground. I really like the E-Lux but theirs only comes in one size for step-thru with the larger 26″ wheels.

George
1 year ago

Court, after watching and reading many of your reviews I know that you don’t like the Shimano Tourney derailleur, but referring to it as generic is a bit much after all Shimano is a name brand.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Fair enough George, it’s not so much about me liking the part as relating the quality level, weight and relation to the rest of the line which goes from Tourney to Altus, Acera, Alivio, Deore, SLX, ZEE, Deore XT, Saint, XTR and XTR Di2. Maybe generic isn’t the appropriate term as it’s branded as you suggest but it is the lowest level and perhaps comparable to unbranded parts in the starter range?

George J
4 months ago

I’m thinking of purchasing a new bike for the season. It’s down to the Elux Newport and the Surface 604 Rook. Any thoughts? Almost same price and same features. What do you think is the better value? Also, the bikes’ website states the Newport Elux is 13 amps but EBR states 10 amps. I’m assuming it’s 10 amps? Thanks.

Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi George, it’s possible they increased the amperage since I did my review. Many companies introduce minor iterative changes throughout the season and some even respond to the reviews here by improving or adjusting their product. I would go with what they list but if you’re in contact, definitely let them know about the discrepancy and perhaps they will comment here to explain. I’d love to know too :)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

hualalai
2 months ago

Newport in Seafoam Green. Very happy with it.

1/1
hualalai
2 months ago

The Scoop

I’ve benefitted tremendously from the insights and tips from everyone on this board, so I wanted to add my experience to the mix. Since I’m a complete noob to the electric bike universe, I suspect my observations will only be helpful to those who are coming from a similarly inexperienced place, but here goes....

The Search

46 year old male. Moderately out of shape, with some back and knee issues that have kept me off of non-stationary bikes for more than 20 years. At 6’1, 185 pounds I was looking for, above all else for a bike that would be comfortable to ride. Upright riding, pedal forward, cushy seat, easy to handle. I’m lucky enough to live just steps away from the coolest beach bike path on the planet (in my humble opinion), but in the six years I’ve been living here, I haven’t set foot on it once. Totally nuts, I know. So after wistfully watching the bikes fly by for years, I decided it was time to jump in. A pedelec beach cruiser seemed like the perfect solution to allow me to get back in shape without taxing my joints and back too much.

The Budget

I decided that something in the $2,000 range would be fine. While I could afford to go higher, $2000 was the most I was willing to spend on a first attempt at an ebike -- something that might ultimately wind up collecting dust in my garage if I wound up making a tremendous mistake. I did a little bit of research, found this terrific site, when to the Expo in Long Beach. Was ambivalently drifting toward Pedego, as it seemed to meet most of my specs (except my budget), when I stumbled upon...

The E-Lux Newport Step Thru. Definitely love at first sight here. Based on absolutely nothing, I heard the voice in my head say “You must have this bike” At around $1900 before extras, bells and whistles, it was a good $1000 cheaper than similar Pedego models, and I was hard pressed to find much of a difference. My biggest hesitation was that Pedego is a much more established company, and I worried that ELUX’s startup status might make service and parts an issue down the road. I also wanted to take a test ride to see if the ride lived up to the fantastic visuals.

The Test Ride/Buying Experience

Decided to drive about an hour down to Orange County, the home of ELUX’s headquarters and rental operation to take one out to the beach for a couple of hours, and ask a few questions from their sales staff. To be honest, I was sold after my first ten minutes on the bike. It was precisely what I was looking for, and even the well-travelled rental rode beautifully. And while I’m still concerned about the long-term advisability of buying a big ticket item from a small company with a shorter track record, this was balanced by the OUTSTANDING customer service I received during the sales process. Renee was the sales rep who assisted me with the rental, but she also patiently answered all of my questions during the follow up, and eventual sales process. All of the costs, pros/cons were spelled out clearly, and I never felt the slightest bit of sales pressure at any point. They should give some pointers to the car dealerships! Even though there is an ELUX dealer in Santa Monica (very close to me), the OC location had a slightly better price, and they offered to have it delivered completely assembled to my home up in LA. The model with the particular specs I wanted was already in the warehouse, so I ordered the bike on a Saturday morning, and had it pulling up to my house on a Sunday afternoon!! The guy who delivered the bike was (I believe) one of the co-owners of the company, and couldn’t have been nicer. He took the time to walk me through some of the last minute setup questions I had, and made sure everything was in working order before leaving. Customer service should always be this terrific. With an upgraded battery (from 10AH to the 14AH) and a decision to upgrade the standard comfy seat to a SERFAS CRS-1 Super Cruiser, my total cost wound up being around $2200. And while this is hardly a cheap bike, I do feel like it’s a tremendous value for what I got.

The Ride

In almost every way, the ELUX Newport Step Thru met my primary goal of a comfortable ride. The pedal-forward design has given my knees a real break, and the upright riding position and wide handle bars, have me sitting straight and enjoying the beautiful Pacific Ocean vistas! Because of my limited flexibility, I chose the low step thru model versus the step over. And after a moment of embarrassment for choosing the one clearly designed as a “women’s bike”, I was super glad that I did. Hopping on and off of the step thru is a breeze, and the absence of the top bar seems to compromise the stability of the bike only very minimally. The frame is sturdy and can stand up to quite a bit of punishment. Even though 80% of my riding is on the well-paved beach bike paths, I do take it out on to city streets, and it absorbs quite a few potholes and bumps. The construction of the ELUX frame seems solid, and holds up fine. The look of the paint and fenders is fantastic. The Newport comes in White, Black, Powder Blue, and Sea Foam Green. Each color is so vibrant and stark, that I genuinely had a hard time choosing, ultimately going for the sea foam green to go with the beach vibe that I wanted. And while I have picked up a scratch or two in my first two months of use (about 300 miles), this is probably more due to my carelessness than the quality of the paint job, which seems to weather quite well. Simply put, it is a gorgeous bike.

One of the complaints that I had read in some reviews of the ELUX Newport was that the back end weight of the battery can lead to a slightly unbalanced ride. And while this is hardly a deal breaker, I can confirm that the rear end weight (particularly on a bike that is so heavy overall) is noticeable. I probably exacerbated this problem a bit by choosing to zip tie a basket over the rear cargo area, rather than the front. Something to keep in mind. Also, I’m constantly concerned that the bike it going to tip over when I have it parked, especially if I have any cargo whatsoever in the rear basket. Even empty, it seems to teeter a bit, in spite of a well-made, heavy duty kickstand that is provided with the bike. That said, the placement of the battery itself is intuitive and simple. Removing and reinserting the battery is a breeze, and it makes for great recharging flexibility.

The LED display on the ELUX is, from everything I can tell, identical to the one on most Pedago models, and it’s pretty simple to use, giving you all of the essential controls at your fingertips. Moving between levels of pedal assist is easy, and in short order becomes as intuitive as you could ever want. For me, having the option of a throttle only override was a must, and I think it should be for you too. There are just too many occasions where you want that instant boost of power to pass someone/something on the road. Personally, I like the trigger throttle of the ELUX over the twist throttle of the Pedago, but that may just be me.

The grips on the ELUX Newport were comfortable and quality, but I can’t say the same for the cheap, poorly made bell. Mine was shifting in place and junky from almost day one. When I get around to it, I’ll replace with something more reliable (for safety reasons). Not a big deal though.

If I did have one structural complaint about the bike itself, it would be in the area of suspension. Now granted, I don’t have a lot to compare it to, and I realize that this is definitely NOT a mountain bike. It’s a beach cruiser, and the suspension is not designed to absorb every tiny bump on the road. Nonetheless, comfort was a big priority of mine, and even with the cushy seat and the mostly even terrain that I ride, I do find my self feeling it in the seat when I come up against small rattles and shakes. Ultimately, I may explore adding some kind of additional suspension, so if there’s anyone out there who’s had similar issues with the Newport, I’d be interested to hear your thoughts.

I’ve been pretty impressed with the quality and efficiency of the motor so far. I had heard comments in other reviews that it was on the noisy side, but I’ve found mind to be unnoticeable, and almost whisper-quiet (perhaps because I’m riding near the ocean, or on city streets). Regardless, it’s fairly responsive, even though I find myself often riding in the least responsive, battery saving, “ECO mode” most of the time. I haven’t done enough hilly riding to comment about the power of the motor for steep climbs, but I will say that in the highest power mode, I’m zipping from 0 to 20 mph in a flash. I have had one or two incidents where the motor did not kick in upon initially powering the bike on. This was instantly remedied by powering the bike off and rebooting. Never a big deal, and overall reliability of the motor has been very good.

The Battery

I’m only able to get out riding a couple of times per week, but when I ride, I like to ride far. My dream trail takes me about 19-20 miles each way, for a total of 38-40 miles. So the question is, can you get that far on the Elux Newport? The answer: yes... pretty much. I learned the hard way on my first few outings that there are some severe limitations to the accuracy of the LED display power indicator. I purchased the 14AH battery (A MUST, as it turns out) which on a full charge starts you with about 54w. The owners manual indicates that an empty battery is 42w, but this is complete nonsense. In reality, once the display dips to 46-47ish you are on borrowed time. And since it is a bad idea to run a lithium battery all the way down to empty, it is really annoying that there isn’t more precision in the gauge. I suspect that this is a drawback of most non-super high end ebikes, but having a more reliable and accurate power indicator would be a big help. As it is, I had to do some trial and error to figure out precisely how far a full charge could take me, and do so independently on the display number, which I find draws down very slowly early in the ride, and then tumbles down rapidly once it dips below 50w. The power bar is similarly unreliable. You start with 5 bars, and it takes quite a while to drop to 4 or 3, but then 2 bars disappears very quickly. Apart from the damage it probably does to the battery, I can say from personal experience that running out of juice on an obscenely-heavy beach cruiser.... really sucks. Fortunately, I’ve made my mistakes in that department, and won’t make them again. I’ve also taken to carrying my charger with me when I ride (it weighs very little), and feel better knowing that I can sneak into a cafe for some emergency recharging when push comes to shove.

The good news, (in spite of all my complaining) is that the actual range of the 14AH battery is actually quite reasonable. I find that I’m able to make my full 40 mile ride on one charge, (without completely going down to fumes), if I am diligent about putting in a decent amount of exercise on the pedassist as I go. On an average trip, I’d say I’m doing 10% at level 1, 50% at level 2, 30% at level 3, and 10% at level 4. With this distribution, and paying close attention to the display, I’m able to complete my full ride without stopping to recharge. What this will do to the lifespan of my battery, I can’t really say. I’ve read so many comments on the board about keeping your battery in the middle range to prolong it’s life, and I’m obviously not doing that. Mine is more of a carpe diem approach, and I’m just hoping that I can enjoy my bike and not worry too much about battery life. If I can get a couple of years out of it before noticing diminished range and having to replace it, that will be ok by me. If anyone thinks I’m deluding myself, or has any advice, I’d be eager to hear your thoughts.

The Bottom Line

Having only had the ELUX Newport for about two months, I can’t speak to long-term issues (service, replacement parts, durability, etc). But I can say that, so far, ELUX delivered on exactly what I wanted: A beautiful bike with a hassle-free, comfortable, FUN, riding experience that has gotten me back outside, enjoying the sun, and exercising far more than I thought I would. In short, I’m having a blast. If there are others out there looking for a similar biking experience, I can highly recommend the Newport. I’m eager to connect with other ELUX owners, particularly those who enjoy (as I do) the gorgeous 20 mile stretch of beach between Santa Monica and Torrance on the Braude Bike Trail.

HAPPY RIDING!!!

1/1
Chuck Casey
3 months ago

Lighting makes a difference in getting a good shot, even with the shadow, you can
Interesting, they look like the two that burned up on the beach last week.... true story, but those are nice! I like the forward cranks! I'm guessing this couple overstressed the bikes riding through sand. http://www.ocregister.com/articles/bike-747209-beach-vondran.html

The Electric Bike company is the name of the manufacturer of the bikes that burned, The model is called a Newporter. Our bikes are E-Lux and the model is The Newport. One easy way to tell the difference is the fixed basket for the Electric Bike Company models, and no gears in the back as they are a single speed bike.

Similar but not the same. And the riders were on the paved trail not riding them in the sand.

Earl Rohn
3 months ago

I really love these bikes. My wife has the Newport and I have the Tahoe. Everyone that sees them thinks they are the coolest thing ever. We live in Henderson Nevada and there are a lot of trails around. I see a few Pedigos but never another Elux

Earl Rohn
3 months ago

I have the gunmetal Tahoe. Love it! My wife has the Newport. Does anyone have any thoughts on the new big battery for the Tahoe?

J.R.
3 months ago

This thread was posted on the incident. Probably nothing more than you already know.

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/newport-beach-bike-fire.12822/

Chuck Casey
3 months ago

The wife and I have two trips planned for the LA area in April. Debating about taking our ebikes or renting bikes if we wanted to do a beach run. What are the best beaches to cruise with a ebike?

In Orange County you have the coastal bike path that runs from Newport Beach in the South North through Huntington Beach - can go through Sunset, Seal and into Long Beach on the streets shared with Cars and from Newport south into Laguna and San Clemente.

I like Bike paths as there are no signals or car traffic. In LA the stretch is starts in Torrance and runs North through Redondo, Hermosa and Manhattan. The order of cities might be off. Can continue all the way up the coast using roads shared with cars and mixed in bike paths in Venice and Santa Monica.

Here is the HB bike path---

Robie
3 months ago

Newport Beach through Huntington Beach and on to Venice Beach. About 10 miles. Sure miss it. When I lived in H.B. I rode this route frequently. Just watch close because the path wanders. Truly beach cruisers paradise. Would love to ride it with my St2. Probably go alot farther ha.

Chuck Casey
3 months ago

Howdy folks, I've been on two wheels my whole life. Love motorcycles and bicycles and I live in coastal Orange County and our beaches combined with the LA beaches represent the 'Beach Cruiser' capital of the world.

With that said I've never owned a beach cruiser as I've always had performance bikes as a kid and when older wanted fast light bikes with gears and good brakes. Only recently have beach cruisers been available light weight with gears and good brakes, I never had interest in a heavy, slow single speed bike.

But now they're available as E-Bikes and my wife and I bought a matching pair of E-Lux Newport's.

We rented ebikes in Whistler, Canada earlier and loved them but wanted a comfortable up right riding position. We've spent years wanting e-bikes but did not want to spend the money needed to buy two. The E-Lux are near perfect, The long wheel base and open riding position feel like what early motorized bicycles felt like. This is not just an electric bicycle (I've ridden those) but a motorized full size 'Bike'. And it's not too heavy at around 58lbs. 3 power modes, 5 level of Pedal Assist, Thumb Throttle, 500 watt hub drive motor disk brakes with sensors in the levers to to interrupt power when braking. Well set up machines for what we wanted with a good price.

I got a flat from a rim burr within a few weeks of riding and when I disassembled the wheel realized how poor of quality the tires and tubes were.

For both bikes I purchase HD tubes and Maxxis Gypsy's. Do yourself a tire and get a quality ebike tire, one of the most important items and the only one that makes contact with the ground. The bike came with Kenda beach cruiser tires and light duty tubes, I installed them on my old Mountain Bike as it needed tires.

Pics in the Park with the OE Kenda tires--

Here is a picture of with mine with the Gypsy's.

Here my old Mountain Bike with the Kenda's better suited to it..

I bought that bike new in 1984, I've always owned bikes and now find my wife and I are e-ebike owners and enthusiast's.

UncleHarry
3 months ago

Okay, the electric bike company has a cruiser Newport?? why are companies copying names??? it can't help cause all it does is confuse the public as to what is what?, thoughts?

UncleHarry
3 months ago

Cort when are you going to review the Newport from the Electric Bike Company that Sam had in his store? Need some tech info, but they don't have a working website!!....Don't know how they plan on selling bikes with no web site, but.oh well

Young Target
11 months ago

Dose the battery charge itself when you petal or use the brakes.

Wayne Howarth
1 year ago

Wow 135lbs, that doesn't really relate to the average person these days. I wonder how these bikes perform with a and average size guy?

Also with all the riding reviews you are doing have you ever considered using multiple cameras. One mounted on your helmet would allow a riders POV while riding with both hands. Also there are ways to mount cameras on the bikes for better views of the running gear while riding. Just saying the production value of your reviews could stand an upgrade.

BTW The E-Lux brand seems to be doing it right with thoughtful engineering and good build quality. All at affordable prices.

Tyson
1 year ago

Dude, I hope you are also making a video about the Flux E-Bike ! ^^

MotorheadRedo
1 year ago

Seems like more companies are focusing on lower priced ebiikes.