Elby City Review

Elby City Electric Bike Review
Elby City
Elby City Bionx D Series Gearless Hub Motor
Elby City Battery With Cover Removed Locking Core And Handle
Elby City Locking Ergonomic Grips Internally Routed Cables
Elby City Supernova E3 E Bike Headlight Custom Shell Led Blades
Elby City Tektro Auriga E Sub Hydraulic Brake Levers
Elby City Comfort Saddle With Integrated Handle Extra Wide Seat Post
Elby City Sram X5 Nine Speed Drivetrain
Elby City Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard Chain Guide Vp Grip Tape Pedals
Elby City Fender Integrated Pannier Bar 180 Mm Disc Brakes Kickstand
Elby City Bionx 3 45 Amp Compact Charger
Elby City Electric Bike Review
Elby City
Elby City Bionx D Series Gearless Hub Motor
Elby City Battery With Cover Removed Locking Core And Handle
Elby City Locking Ergonomic Grips Internally Routed Cables
Elby City Supernova E3 E Bike Headlight Custom Shell Led Blades
Elby City Tektro Auriga E Sub Hydraulic Brake Levers
Elby City Comfort Saddle With Integrated Handle Extra Wide Seat Post
Elby City Sram X5 Nine Speed Drivetrain
Elby City Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard Chain Guide Vp Grip Tape Pedals
Elby City Fender Integrated Pannier Bar 180 Mm Disc Brakes Kickstand
Elby City Bionx 3 45 Amp Compact Charger

Summary

  • A highly polished, purpose-built electric bicycle with easy-to-mount frame, adjustable bars and ergonomic touch points, available in five colors, additional $99 shipping with assembly by Velofix
  • Custome extra-wide Aluminum fender that don't rattle, integrated Supernova LED lights with a custom light blade up front, large hydraulic disc brakes, internally routed cables
  • Available in a single speed or nine speed configuration, BionX D-Series motor is an excellent climber and near silent, throttle on demand and torque sensing assist, removable color LCD and USB charger for phone with optional Bluetooth app
  • Regen and motor cutoff switch is only built into the right brake lever, the bike is well balanced and surprisingly stiff for a wave frame, higher price tag here but you get nicer parts and a great warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Elby

Model:

City

Price:

$3,699 ($3,499 for Single Speed, $99 Extra for Shipping + Velofix)

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 3 Year if Registered

Availability:

United States, Canada, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56.8 lbs (25.76 kg) (55 lbs for Single Speed)

Battery Weight:

7.8 lbs (3.53 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 T6 Aluminum Alloy, Plastic Covers

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

16.5" Seat Tube, 25" Reach, 18.5" Stand Over Height, 72" Length

Frame Types:

Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

White, Silver, Black, Orange, Blue

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 9 mm Axle with Nuts

Frame Rear Details:

10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Pannier Rack

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 SRAM X5, 11-34T (Single Speed Uses 15T Cog)

Shifter Details:

SRAM X5 Triggers on Right Bar

Cranks:

Lasco Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 38 Tooth Chainring with Alloy Guide

Pedals:

VP Composite Plastic Platform with Grip Tape

Headset:

Custom Cane Creek, Sealed, 1-1/2"

Stem:

Adjustable Angle -20° to 40°, 31.8 mm Clamp

Handlebar:

Swept Back, 620 mm Length, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter, 33 mm Rise, 45.8° Bend

Brake Details:

Tektro Auriga Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Auriga E-Sub Levers with Motor Inhibitor and Regen Activation on Right Lever, Adjustable Reach Levers

Grips:

Ergonomic Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Elby Branded, Velo Comfort with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Custom Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

500 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

39.9 mm

Rims:

Alex Rims, Double Wall, 32 Hole, Reinforcement Eyelets

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Silver with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Continental CruiseCONTACT, 26" x 2.2"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

SafetySystem Puncture Protection, Reflective Sidewall Stripe, 35 to 65 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Adjustable Length Kickstand, Wide Aluminum Alloy Fenders with Support Struts, Pannier Hanger Bar (Max Weight 11 kg / 24 lbs Per Side, 22 kg /48 lbs Total), Flick Bell, Integrated Supernova E3 E-Bike V6s LED Headlight (165 Lumens) with Side Accent LED Blades, Integrated Supernova 3-LED Rear Light, Sturdy Bash Guard Chain Guide, Fully Enclosed Plastic Chain Cover on Single Speed

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.5 lb 3.45 Amp Charger, Internally Routed Cables, 3 Minute Auto-Off, Automatic Deep Sleep Battery Protection, 273 lb Max Weight

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

BionX, D-Series

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1000 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters (Nominal 25 Nm)

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

BionX DS3 Removable, Backlit, Color LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Battery Level (10 Bars), Battery Percentage, Assist Level (1-4), Regeneration Level (1-4), Odometer, Trip Timer, Trip Distance, Average Speed, Clock, Setup, Lights Indicator, Assist Level Gauge, Assist Percentage

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad, Phone Mount Adapter, 5 Volt Female USB Charging Port, Bluetooth Application (iOS or Android)

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Elby is a special creature, an electric bicycle designed from the ground up to be approachable, comfortable and responsive. Seriously, the drive system on this city/cruiser is also used on e-mountain bikes! It packs a lot of power and zip along with some cool power regeneration features and is near silent. The drive systems are all produced by BionX, a fixture in the industry and partner to other premium manufacturers like Mercedes SMART. The only real complaint I have is that the motor looks large, it’s like a gray pizza stuck in the middle of the rear wheel… but at least the other gray plastic accents on the bike (like the battery box) are matched. This is a nod to Elby and their attention to detail. You can choose from five glossy frame colors including white and silver (for increased night riding visual footprint) and I love that some of the plastic accents and fork are color matched for a cohesive visual appearance. Yeah, aside from the motor, the battery, compact control system and even the wires ae mostly hidden. And while the Elby City only comes in one frame size, it’s designed to be highly adjustable, accommodating riders from 5 foot to 6.5 foot tall. The extra-long 500 mm seat post is thick and sturdy, the stem swivels up and down, even the swept-back “gull wing” handle bar can be swiveled to raise or lower and change reach. I love the ergonomic grips and slightly large but active saddle. Between these touch points and the thicker tires, you end up with a comfortable ride despite there being no suspension hardware. This keeps the bike lighter, cheaper and stiffer. Many wave style deep step-thru frames used for electric bikes have this bendy feeling about them, as you pedal, turn and stop the frame flexes. That is not the case with the Elby thankfully and I’m glad because it honors the motor and premium hydraulic braing systems. This is an awesome ebike, it’s just more expensive than some. And that’s interesting considering the direct to consumer model being tried out. You order online then pay an additional $99 for shipping/assembly and if you’re in a city where Velofix operates, they deliver it to your doorstep and set it up just right… even returning 30 days later for a free tuneup and adjustments.

Driving the Elby is one of the most unique and effective hub motor systems I’m aware of. Yes BionX is an advertiser for EBR so you may interpret some of this as bias… but I invited them after having tested a number of systems across a range of electric bikes. This thing is years in the making and only compromises on visuals in my opinion. By designing something extra wide, they were able to achieve higher torque and better heat dissipation. The casing for the D-Series is plastic, keeping it light and durable, and it has an internal torque sensor that works well consistently. It’s one of the quietest high powered motors and I love how they tucked the power cable leading to it on the left side low and out of the way for snags or tips. Notice also that the rear wheel spokes connect to the hub and rim of the wheel, not to the hub motor casing. This provides a more natural ride and a bit of flex… so spokes don’t tend to loosen as much or break. I was told that the max weight for the Elby was 280 lbs by the rep but believe it’s actually 273 based on some literature at their site and some quick math. That’s still above average where many ebikes say 250. This allows for the addition of bags on the rear rack or for larger riders, tall, boxy and overweight. In my opinion, it has the power needed to move larger loads effectively, something people ask me about regularly. You get 500 watts nominal peaking around 1,000 with 50 Newton meters of torque that can be controlled with a throttle… that’s very unique in a world where more electric bikes are using mid-drive systems that require pedaling.

Powering the motor, backlit color display and premium ebike specific lights is a high quality, custom designed, Lithium-ion battery pack. It offers 48 volts and 11.6 amp hours which is above average and the cells inside are produced by Panasonic, one of the top brands in the space. You can charge it on or off the bike and it locks securely with a key… but is kept hidden and perhaps protected by a plastic shell with stylized metal step pad. Now, I’m not sure I’d actually want to step on that, it looks too nice and might scratch over time. The downtube is low enough that most people should be able to step over easily. However, if you do scratch this plastic part or end up losing it (as you have to take it off for battery removal) I was told the company does sell replacements. One unique and semi-confusing aspect of the battery is that it interfaces with the bike using an EnergyBus Rosenberger plug (very high quality, magnetically connected). The plug is floating so it self-aligns easily and can transfer data and power… it’s like top of the line as far as plugs go :P but on the outside of the batter pack, the charger plug is more basic. It’s not magnetic and could get bent or pull the bike over like other more basic plugs. At least it’s kept mostly clear of the left crank arm and pedal but why not use the magnetic port there too? Yes, it would add to the already high cost of the bike and perhaps would have required a larger heavier charger. That’s one thing I love about the Elby and other BionX e-bikes, the charger is fast at 3.45 Amps but also super small and light weight making it very easy to take along to work or a friend’s house for a quick fill. One other grip I have about this mid-section of the bike is that the kickstand is mounted very near the left crank arm and will collide if you back the bike up or try to spin the cranks when parked. Many ebikes manufacturers are moving to a rear mounted kickstand but some feel these don’t look as nice (sticking out towards the back). I guess it’s just a small note and consideration.

So the motor and battery are great, the display system and control pad follow along as being some of my favorite. The bike powers on with one click on the control ring (near the left grip) and the color backlit display blinks to life. The really neat thing here is that if you didn’t have the display, the control ring functions just fine on its own! It has an LED charge level chart and LED assist level chart that blinks when you go into regen (by pulling the right grip). It’s slim so it doesn’t block the shifters or brake lever, mounted close so you can reach it easily, and intuitive with a plus and minus for assist level navigation and forward back for changing menu readouts. There’s a separate button just for the lights and that power button to turn it off again. But if you forget to turn it off, no worries… it powers down automatically after a few minutes on its own. We went in-depth on video above showing all of the settings and I listed them as well but this shouldn’t be overlooked. The button pad is great and the display is also awesome. I love being able to take the fancy pieces off of electric bikes when parking in the elements or sketchy neighborhoods. Nobody wants their fancy bike scratched or tinkered with and you might be wondering about the button ring… Couldn’t someone turn it on and press the throttle at the bike rack? Yes, they could turn it on and turn the lights on maybe but the throttle won’t activate until the bike is moving 5 km/h (for safety reasons) so this has the fortunate side effect of making it tamper resistant as well. So you get a bike only mode, four levels of assist, four levels of regen (which can slow you when coasting down hills or act as a fun workout mode) and regenerative braking activated by the right brake lever. As mentioned earlier, the brakes on the Elby are wonderful… You get 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable reach levers that are ebike specific. Or, at least the right one is, the left one does not have a motor inhibitor regen switch in it unfortunately. This is another area that I’d like to see upgraded. You’d pay slightly more and have one tiny more wire but it would also add a bit more complexity to the control system. The way it is now is fine, but many other ebikes have two levers with motor inhibitors and I like that.

It may seem like I’m gushing over the Elby City and that’s probably true. I’m a huge fan of the drive system and can see the care that went into its custom frame, light interface, optional phone mount and Bluetooth app. They give you basically everything here, the fenders are custom and oversized but still tight and out of the way when pedaling (specifically the front one which is pushed forward thanks to some rake in the fork which also stabilizes the ride). I’m excited about the experience and quality here but recognize that you really are paying for it. I wish the price was lower considering the Velofix delivery model. Perhaps some dealers will have the bike as well and it is available to test ride at the traveling ebike expo so check it out for yourself. Other highlights for me are the reflective and puncture resistant tires, upgraded Alex rims with reinforcement eyelets, reflective saddle with built in handle for easy lifting and moving. You may need a platform rack to move this electric bike with a car and in that case check out the Thule EasyFold Carrier with ramp which makes loading easier.

Pros:

  • The Elby City looks beautiful and comes in five colors which all include reflective tires and accents on the saddle and pedals, I’d opt for white or silver to stand out even more during night or early morning rides… I love how the fork and plastic covers are perfectly paint matched
  • You get to choose a nine speed or single speed drivetrain (which saves weight and cost), in both cases there’s an excellent guide system so the chain shouldn’t fall off easily
  • I love how smooth and immediate pedal assist feels, the BionX torque system is very natural and shouldn’t ever surprise you or make you strain your knees the way some delayed cadence sensors do
  • Throttle mode is awesome, the throttle is easy to reach and offers variable speed response depending on how far you press it, I hit the top speed of 20 mph quickly and felt smooth bursts to maintain me at that speed as I held it down
  • Not only do you get four levels of assist, you also get four levels of regen (extremely unique in the world of electric bikes), I love how you can immediately activate regeneration by pulling the right grip too
  • Comfort touch points like the ergonomic grips and wider (but still active) saddle make the bike ride comfortably even though there are no suspension points, I like the wider tires and might run at a lower PSI to improve comfort further (I believe the range is 35 to 65 PSI)
  • I really like the idea of their Velofix partnership, it’s a way to reach a wider audience and ensure the bike is built well, it’s not available everywhere but does give them a jump start over dealer networks and you get a 30 day tuneup… in some ways I would have expected a lower overall price for the bike since there is no middleman, or maybe free shipping at least?
  • Considering the pedals are plastic, they felt stiff and grippy, I usually complain about flexy small pedals but these ones were unique and might not scrape your shins the way metal spiked ones cand
  • Beautiful color display that’s easy to remove on a solid adjustable angle mount, it’s cool that they also provide a phone mount adapter and 5 Volt USB port so you can use their app and completely replace the stock display if you want
  • The display panel gives you a lot more feedback than basic ones and is intuitive to use (left and right bars change views or enter setup if you hold the left one while on setup, the up and down bars raise or lower assist/regen, there’s an independent light button and power button too… I believe the control ring works even without the display panel if you want (it has two LED light strips that indicate charge level and assist/regen setting
  • Super small, lightweight charger would be easy to toss into a backpack or perhaps pannier bags if you get them, it’s one of the most compact I’ve seen from any company but still delivers a whopping 3.45 Amps for fast charging! Most chargers just put out 2 Amps
  • The display automatically shuts down after three minutes and if you stop using the bike to conserve battery, there’s also a Deep Sleep feature whereby the battery limits power draw after weeks or months of non-use (great for winter or times when you’re on a trip) to protect itself
  • Given the extra-long seat post (500 mm long) the Elby website says this e-bike can accommodate riders from 5′ to 6’5″ tall which is great
  • The power cable for the motor is tucked away nicely, most cables are internally routed but the motor cable is especially important and potentially vulnerable if the bike tips… for the Elby it seemed well protected
  • I like that they positioned the charging port on the battery towards the front of the bike, mostly out of the way of the left crank arm and pedal… many other ebikes have the port situated where it could get bumped or snagged easier

Cons:

  • Given how deep and wide the step-thru portion of this frame is, it’s fairly stiff but there’s still a touch of frame flex, I like the metal accent on the downtube but some other curved parts are plastic and I’m guessing they could get kicked and scratched easier when mounting (so be careful)
  • The rear rack pannier bar thing is cool but only holds up to 40 lbs vs. a traditional platform rack which is usually rated at 55 lbs, it’s also a bit thick so I’m not sure all clip-on bags will work and there’s nowhere to put a trunk bag on top and no bottle cage bosses on the frame
  • At $3,700 for the 9-Speed version, this electric bike is on the expensive side but you do get a premium drive system, in addition to the price of the bike you also pay $99 for shipping and Velofix assembly
  • While I love how powerful the BionX D-Series motor is, the casing is large and stands out on most bikes, the rest of the systems are all mostly hidden however
  • The seat post is unnecessarily large and I’m told that was due to a previous design goal (to have a pump built in) but the company that makes that accessory went out of business so they were stuck with this really large post, I’d like it if they included a 39.9 mm to 27.2 mm shim so people could use their own seat posts with suspension perhaps
  • If you back the bike up with the kickstand down, the left crank arm will collide because it’s mounted near the center of the bike, this also limits ground maintenance like chain lubing if you want to pedal backward
  • When you add the bike to your shopping cart on the website, I think it should take you to the cart… instead you’re left on the same page you were before and have to look around to actually buy, they could make that easier (especially given this will be sold online mostly)
  • The battery charging port is a more traditional plug even though they use the magnetic EnergyBus interface from the battery to the bike… I wish they kept the magnetic design on the side of the pack too so the plug would pop off easily and not get bent or tip the bike as it is designed now

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

Pamelae
9 months ago

Thank you so much for reviewing the Elby – I have been waiting anxiously to see this! The one statistic remaining that I need is the height from the top of the saddle seat, in its lowest position, to the ground – do you have that please?

I have had a test ride on the 2017 Electra Townie Go 8i and found that it fit me very well and felt good riding however the two negatives (brakes and lack of Throttle-on-demand) keep me from taking the plunge. I do feel that I need the “flat-foot technology” though.

I am a female senior citizen living in a ski-resort town with many groomed/paved bicycle trails but not a level one in sight near my home or anywhere else in the area for that matter. There is a fairly long and steep hill leading to my home so I worry about getting back up the hill after a long ride especially if I only have pedal-assist. I need a step-thru bike. I am a casual/cruiser style rider and not particularly interested in speed but must have hill climbing power when I need it. I also like the idea of regen to slow the bike down when going down-hill. The Elby specs seem to fit all my needs except that I don’t know whether the seat will go down low enough for me to reach the ground when seated (28″ inseam) – I can adjust the seat to a more appropriate height if needed as I become more comfortable with the bike.

Do you have any thoughts/guidance about making a choice between the Elby and the Electra?

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hi Pamelae, I just reached out to the Elby rep and asked him to do the measurement for you (top of the saddle when it’s in the lowest position down to the ground), he said it’s 33.5″ high. I do think this ebike would be a good fit for you as it’s one of the very few with step-thru and a fairly powerful motor and throttle mode. I usually post stand over height as the top of the frame to the ground because I tend to start standing up and kicking off then pushing myself up to the saddle. With this approach I think you’d be able to get into the saddle and use the throttle for near-instant power. I do love the Electra Townie Go! but can see how the lack of throttle might be a big decision point. That ebike does have “flat foot” technology, meaning the cranks are slightly forward, but the ride isn’t substantially different from Elby and some others due to their more angled seat tube. In fact, you can see how the cranks on the Elby actually are positioned slightly forward imitating the Electra design here.

Reply
Pamelae
9 months ago

Thank you, Court, for finding out that information for me. Looks can certainly be deceiving – it looks as if the seat would slide down lower so that the height would be in the 29-30″ range . I will have to give it a test ride to see how it feels. Thanks again for your help and great reviews.

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Sure thing Pamelae! I’m glad we were able to get you this info quickly and hope you’re able to take one out. I realize it can be tricky locating the proper size ebike in some cases… I’m excited to see more brands coming with versitile frames and even multiple frame sizes to explore :)

Reply
George Pelton
1 month ago

Hi Court! Can you tell me if there are any differences between the 2016 and the 2017 models of the ELBY? I’m about to purchase this bike after seeing your review, and the dealer has 2016 models in his shop. They look exactly the same as the bike in your review, which is dated as a 2017 model. But I’m wondering if there are any technological differences.
– George

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi George! I reached out to a lead at Elby with your question to get an accurate statement and received the following from their Director of Global Sales and Marketing “Elby distinguishes product changes by version number rather than model year. The Elby S1, is the same version number (1) in 2016, 2017, and 2018 and therefore identical.” so it sounds like you’d be fine with the 2016 model. I hope it works great for you! Elby is doing something special with their e-bikes and it’s neat to also see how quickly they respond to comments and questions to provide support.

Reply
Bryan
2 weeks ago

I just test rode the Elby 9 speed. I really like the balanced feel, the power, and the throttle. Having a throttle really helps getting started from a stop especially going up a hill. I also like the regenerative motor, it helps slow you down when going downhill a little bit like hill descent on a car. I’m not sure about the styling, maybe it’s just a hangup of mine. One styling issue I have that’s easy to make would be to make the motor casing round. I’m a graphic designer, I find the flat edges on the motor casing awkward in the round wheel. It would be great if they made the casing round and added a reflective ring on it.

Other bikes I’m considering at the Gazelle Arroyo, Kalkhoff Agattu B7, and Stromer ST1 Elite.

Do any of the guys out there feel odd riding a step-through model?

— Bryan

Reply
Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Hi Bryan, all great feedback! I like your idea about a reflective ring on the hub motor to make the bike safer from the side, to increase its visual footprint. I personally do not feel uncomfortable or awkward when riding a step-thru but might opt for a mixte (mid-step) frame or get a masculine color on a wave frame. Once I’m riding, it’s all about having fun but there is something to be said for appreciating the aesthetic of your bike too. The knee pain I sometimes experience when riding a traditional bicycle is what led me to big, heavy, expensive electric bikes five years ago… and now I feel less sensitive about the trade-offs because my pain is less of an issue. I feel like I have also become less sensitive about the visuals of an electric bicycle and more focused on functionality instead.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

John ware
2 hours ago

After a 870 mile small group ride through the Canadian Rockies on my 40 year old vintage Trek with my Radical Design trailer this summer I came to a couple realizations.

I love long distance cycling touring
I love camping
I can survive some pretty demanding physical challenges
The trailer is a great touring tool
The trailer can be a real liability when the shoulder disappears or is crumbling and scattered with debris
and lastly, if I want to continuing long distance touring I should get a properly outfitted modern bike.

After investigating and pricing the latest purpose built heavy duty touring bikes I also realize that being in my 60's, it was going to take a very long time to recoup my investment in a $7-10k for custom world touring bike.

While thinking about my 500 mile ride across Iowa in 2016 on my ST2 with my trailer in tow, I started to come to the conclusion that the Stromer was way overbuilt and had many of the qualities of the world touring bikes. A super strong frame, large heavy duty rims and tires, disc brake, a reasonable amount of gearing and a modern geometry to name a few.

So I started to dream of what would happen if I got over some of the limitations of the Stromer and created an ebike/bike packing hybrid for long distance touring - thus this crazy concept was born. A makeover of my ST2 into a long distance road, rail to trail, and gravel road touring animal.

The main challenge was how to increase the balanced gear carrying capability and improve the tour ride qualities without permanently altering the ST2.

Here was the game plan...

Replace the original rear rack with something strong and solid including reconfiguring the fender attachment
Bite the bullet and do the suspension fork upgrade i’d been lusting after for a long time
Upgrade to a Jones HBar handlebar
Add the appropriate storage capability

Each part of the plan has had its own challenges which I can go into details later, but here is where I've ended up. I did an initial first ride and it went fantastic. Everything stayed on the bike and it rode smooth and steady. The test ride was with placeholder gear so the next challenge was to see if I could pare down my gear for sustained self-supported touring. I'm feeling comfortable that it can be done, with most of the bigger challenges resolved.

Initial test configuration

Salsa seat post rack adapter

Salsa seat tube bracket to Salsa bent stays to a Tubus Evo rack

Jones HBars and quick access day storage bags from Bedrock

A little handcrafted mods to attach fender using original mounting hole and screw

After the initial test I've modified the hanging of the handlebar bags and been working through getting 3L of hydration (bladder in the frame bag). I also added a second set of bottom clips on the Ortlieb panniers, an idea I borrowed from their gravel panniers design, which makes the bags rock solid. The panniers hang off the lower rail on the Tubus rack which lowers the center of gravity and provides greater stability. I’ve also continued to experiment with various top bags for the rear rack, but ultimately ended up with an Ortlieb Rack Pack (small 24L) as the final solution. Its a configuration I saw being used by a couple of Hungarian tourers who were passing through town this summer in year 2 of a 3 year around the world adventure. The arrangement provides quick access to a food storage area, and yet with my down sleeping bag and down sweater it remains pretty light on top of the rack.

A couple of final mods I'm still considering include perhaps a 2 legged kickstand and maybe a slightly larger low gear on the cassette for added climbing comfort with or without lower assist levels.

Current configuration on 3 day self contained touring test

I recently completed a test ride with my actual gear (about 97% finalized) and 2 days food supply to start to measure the impact of the mods and the gear weight on my range. My rides have mainly been in assist level 1 with some NO assist for several miles, and although the route was mostly flat city riding with a few small hills and only an occasional light headwind, initial results are suggesting a likely range of 60-80 mile per full charge. The ride I did in 2016 with the loaded trailer confirmed that an 80 mile day on a single charge was entirely doable, but this new rig represents a whole different wind profile so only time and more real world testing will tell.

So, where is all of this craziness leading you might ask? How about a west to east US crossing next summer using a combination of Rail to Trail segments as well as some gravel roads like the one below and some Adventure Cycling Northern Tier/Lewis and Clark routes.

At least that's the dream for the moment.

As always, thoughts, questions and opinions are welcome.

1/12
motostrano
1 day ago

Hey! A reminder that Tomorrow is our EBIKE DEMO DAY all day at our store in Redwood City. 10AM to 6PM.
Test ride 30 different demo models and take advantage of our over 300 ebikes in stock on the floor! Industry reps will be on hand to give info and we'll be doing guided rides to the hills and the dirt if you need to get UP CLOSE with the performance of any model in their natural terrain.

Plus take advantage of "pre-black-friday" prices and inventory on all ebikes in the store. More information at
motostostrano.com

Demo starts at 100AM and ends at 6PM. Brands on hand: iZIP, Raleigh, Haibike, Cube, Moustache, Corratec, Orbea, Felt, BLIX.

In addition to our ebikes you can try any of our e-scooters!

Then, join us Sunday in Pleasanton for our Ebike Meet-up and ride the Iron Horse Trail from Pleasanton to Concord and back with a gang of e-bike riders just like you. http://www.meetup.com/ebiketreks

Text email or call with questions 650-918-6259

Ike582
2 days ago

My Turbo Vado 6.0 arrived at my LBS in Essex, CT, on November 14th. Weather hasn't been great to take it for a ride. I love road bikes and ride an S-Works Roubaix SRAM eTap. Wife bought a Pedego City Commuter last Summer and loves it. Figured I get an eBike to ride with her. As a Specialized fan, I went for the new Turbo Vado 6.0 for features, setup and quality.

Great pics, thanks for sharing! Hope you get some mild weather before Winter sets in. It's been wet and cold in Chicago, temps in the 30's so not much opportunity for me to use the 6.0 since I received it.

Nducoff
2 days ago

My Turbo Vado 6.0 arrived at my LBS in Essex, CT, on November 14th. Weather hasn't been great to take it for a ride. I love road bikes and ride an S-Works Roubaix SRAM eTap. Wife bought a Pedego City Commuter last Summer and loves it. Figured I get an eBike to ride with her. As a Specialized fan, I went for the new Turbo Vado 6.0 for features, setup and quality.

1/18
TomC
2 weeks ago

Riding in a city of about 200,000... Major urban through road - four lanes each way, left and/or right turn lanes added at each intersection as appropriate, speed limit 50KPH (31MPH), cruising in the rightmost through lane at the speed limit on a long downhill curve, I glance down and notice that the right front corner of a Mercedes is visually in line with the left end of my handlebar (that puts him not quite under my handlebar) -- I'm annoyed, but not worried; the driver is closer than he should be, but probably didn't realize that my handlebars were that wide until he got close enough to actually see them. The Mercedes slows slightly and moves a bit to the left giving me adequate clearance (as long neither of us does anything stupid). A few moments later I hear a quick tap of the two-tone horn that the Polizei use. Glancing back I see the Mercedes being pulled over and I'm pretty sure that having gotten that close to me is going to cost him 40 marks (about $12 at the exchange rate then).

As I approach the bottom of the hill, I signal and change lanes to reach the left turn lane at the next light where I will be turning left. The next section of the day's run will be north along a bike path paralleling the Lech River.

Needless to say, this would not have been possible in a US city of similar size.

And, oh by the way, that was on a conventional bike, not an ebike.

bob armani
2 weeks ago

The original V1 Stromers all had throttles now they are pedal assist.

Chris- Looks like you are putting up a good fight to keep everyone educated on this issue. It is important that everyone stays in the loop and well informed regarding the current legislation. I was not aware that many undocumented workers were using 'ebikes' to do food deliveries throughout the city congestion. This puts a whole other spin on their usage versus other cities with a lot less traffic congestion. The majority of the cycle messengers in the heart of the Chicago loop are using lightweight standard (ie: Tribe Bicycle Messenger Series Fixed Gear Single Speed Bike) for deliveries. It is a rare sighting to see any type of ebike in this city. Perhaps with a little time in the coming future, we may start seeing more. I also thought with that many ebikes circulating among typical NYC congestion, I would think that the accident rate between cyclists/motorists would be quite high, not to mention the amount of insurance claims surrounding the accident rate. Then again, if most are undocumented riders, I would think they would not file any type of accident claim whatsoever in the event of a collision. What a big mess far too complicated to address. Good Luck to everyone with the fight for ebike freedom!

TomC
2 weeks ago

Hmmm... "He points to a 2015 study out of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, finding that these e-bike riders exhibited the same behaviors on the roadways as conventional cyclists."

I hate to say this (especially here), but as a former NYC resident and long-time bicyclist, this study would probably be the best reason TO ban ebikes at least in Manhattan and perhaps the other boroughs as well.

The better alternative would be to treat ebikes as regular bicycles and to actually enforce traffic laws. THAT would raise even more uproar among cyclists in NYC than a ban on ebikes.

For a bit of perspective, I grew up in Greenpoint Brooklyn many years ago - and like almost every kid at the time, I rode a bike for fun and transportation (what kid could afford fifteen cents each way for the subway or bus??) I guess I was about 12 when I happened to call home to say I wouldn't be home for lunch. My mom happened to hear some noise in the background and asked where I was calling from -- I was calling from a phone booth (remember those) at Times Square. You could do that in the age before bike messengers and generally crazy cyclists darting in and out of Manhattan's typical daytime 10mph top speed congestion.

The problem causing NYC to crack down on ebikes has almost nothing to do with the "e" -- that's just a convenience because the police can't really chase bikes in most parts of the city (I know from experience) but it is easy to identify and catch a stopped ebike.

PCDoctorUSA
2 weeks ago

Agree as well.

The other influencing factor, at least in in the US, is bridging the gap (interest-wise) between the avid cyclists, many of whom would never even consider an electrically assisted bike, and those who dont ride at all, and probably never will. Need a major market in the middle of those polar opposites and of course accesability to friendly bike paths, and favorable rules to promote not only the survival of the ebike business, but any sustainable, negligible growth.

Sidebar: I live in car-crazy inland Southern California. I have neighbors who get into their cars and drive a few homes away to their neighbors’ homes, to the community pool....a five minute walk, and even to the cluster mailboxes a few hundred feet from their residences! Seriously.
This behavior isn’t going to support hundreds of different ebike brands....
I hear ya. We're a one-car family and my wife keeps it to take my daughter to school (monthly fee to ride school bus in Honolulu) and take her parents to doctor appointments, run errands, etc. I can either take the city bus to/from work or bike. The drive to my office is only 8.25 miles via bus routes and it takes 3 buses to get there. Minimum travel time is 75 minutes due to waiting between buses. I take the same route on my bike in 40 minutes and I don't have to share the seat with anyone or stand. ;)

PCDoctorUSA
2 weeks ago

Hi, I just wanted to write a little non professional review of the E-Glide ST. This is my first E-bike and my decision was based on price, components compared to comparable priced E-bikes, and the two reviews done by EBR. One on the ST and also one on Dave and the E-Glide outfit in Santa Monica.

I received the bike overnight Fedex and it was pretty simple putting it together as long as you have some allen wrenches and a crescent wrench. I paid an additional 75.00 for the Schwable Marathon Mondial tires and I also received the Maxi Ardent off road tires that where originally on the bike. I wanted a more street orientated tire and I love the highly reflective sidewalls on the Mondials.

Since I received the ST on May 9th I've gone on 4 rides, all of them rides I could not have done on my Giant 15 speed bike due to distance, elevation, and today, heat. I'm 57 years old and I just don't have the endurance I once had. The bike is 52 lbs which is not that heavy for an E-bike and with the electric pedaling assist the additional weight just disappears. I also have a bag I hang on the rack that I keep a igloo cooler full of ice and drinks and don't even think of having to carry the extra weight.

The bike is a joy to ride. I can drive farther now then I could if I was 15 years younger on a standard bike. The cadence assisted power is great but since I never drove a torque assist bike or a mid-drive motor I don't have anything to compare it to. The rear hub drive with the cadence sensor works very well.

Now my three little nitpicks.

(1) The controller speedometer is exaggerated and so then is the odometer. I added my Garmin E-Trex to determine the actual speed. This is something I have run across on both my Suzuki motorcycle and Honda scooter. I don’t know why manufacturers of vehicles do that accept maybe due to liability issues. Today I changed the wheel size on the controller to 26 inch and that brought it closer to the actual speed. Next time I ride I’ll try to reset it to 24 inches and see what happens.

(2) The steering stem is not adjustable. The bike is comfortable right out of the box but being a little older I would like a little more relax position with the handlebars. The ST is designed to handle dirt roads so the riding position is a little more aggressive then a comfort bike. I would like the ability to move the bars a little up and back for my taste. The problem with the control cables are you do not have a lot of extra length to work with. Same as regular bicycles and motorcycles. I think if I could move the bars and inch up and inch back it would work for me. Something you might want to consider on your purchase is what type of riding you will be doing. I also want to point out I purchased the 21 inch frame since I’m 6’ 1” and have a 32 inch inseam.

(3) The gear ratio seems like it should be higher to me. The power assist has 5 levels and I have kept it in normal which there are also eco and power modes. Most of my riding I seem to be in 9th and 10th gear. With the power assist even set on level 1 I don’t seem to use the lower gears. I have to say in level 3 in 10th gear I’m pedaling at 18 mph. Sometime I get to the point where I’m cruising and I wish I had another gear or an overdrive. I have to pedal very fast when I’m going like 24 mph. Yes, depending on the road elevation decline you can go a good clip! Once again it may be a safety thing so you are limited on how fast you can get the bike up to. The lower gears would come in handy if you all of a sudden did not have the electric assist to get you home. I seem to feel I would like to pedal a little more leisurely at 18-20 mph.

So my early impression is I got a great bike for the price and it has opened up a whole new world of riding abilities. I'm just starting out on E-bikes but now I got my foot in the door and can start my learning curve. I was also looking at the Rad City by Rad Power as my 2nd choice and if you check out this EBR site there are a lot of great bikes out there to fit your budget. I did not have to pay any sales tax on the bike being out of state so the bike was 1700.00, tire upgrade 75.00 and overnight shipping 175.00 for a total purchase of 1950.00. I have two E-bike stores in my city and a comparable bike out the door would have been 3000.00.
Thanks for the great review. I'm looking for my first ebike, but am limited with my budget ceiling of $2k and a delivery disadvantage of being in Honolulu. Had planned on going with Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S, but the local ebike shop that was carrying Juiced Bikes has since stopped due to issues with getting replacement parts and poor communication with JB. I've also been following the JB forums, and JB seems to be experiencing some quality control issues that can accompany popular products in high demand. I figured it may be best to look elsewhere while they work out their issues. I also looked at Biktrix and Rad Bikes, but they want $400 to ship their bikes. That left 2 models from Voltbike on my list: Elegant and Yukon 750.

Both models fit comfortably within my budget, but I'm not a fan of Elegant's step-thru design. The Yukon 750 looks awesome, but some have commented it's not the best option for a commuter while others love it. If I go with the Yukon, I know that the first thing I need to change are those aggressive tires. Definitely not a good choice for 100% asphalt riding. I've also had my share of flats along my route, and changing out the tube on a fat tire bike sounds like a bear. Still, I've had good communication with Voltbike, they're a well-respected outfit, and they'll only charge me $120 to ship either bike to Honolulu.

The E-Glide ST definitely meets all my requirements and with only $175 for shipping I'm just under $2k. I just sent an email to E-Glide to confirm the shipping charge along with a couple of other questions. For 100% asphalt travels, I'm thinking of going with the Schwalbe Big Ben Plus tire upgrade. Your thoughts?

Chris Nolte
3 weeks ago

Thanks for posting this @e-boy it’s been really exciting to be getting some press for my shop and for Ebikes in NYC. I think it’s helping to bring a stronger voice for them which I’m 100% in favor of.

@mrgold35 there are definitely many ebike commuters, but the majority are currently used by delivery riders. You might see more in different areas outside of the more touristy spots.

@Solom01 rock and a hard place is a good way to put it, I’m getting pretty good with a chisel though ;) I agree with all of your statements above, the old Stromers had throttles, but the new ones don’t. When we first opened the store in Brooklyn we used to sell Easy Motions and we removed the throttle’s but we’ve mostly focused on selling Bosch powered bikes these days as the reliability has been dramatically better than the rest of the systems out there in our experience. I think there is plenty of space for the other brands and products and there are other shops that do that well. There is another shop not far from me that focuses on hub motor bikes, they mainly sell Pedego, Magnum, Juiced, etc. We seem to coexist fairly well in this city with all it’s silly laws.

Thanks @Sonoboy we really appreciate the support! It’s been really great to work with our distant customers and it’s awesome to stay in contact on here :)

PCDoctorUSA
3 weeks ago

Hello forum members. I apologize in advance if this thread is annoying or repetitive. I recently got a new job 8 miles from home in a very urban city. Flat terrain. I want to continue to bike to work but often work erratic hours and feel that perhaps an electric bike could alleviate some of the stress of the commute and work I do. I weigh 180lbs, am 5ft6in and appreciate visually appealing bikes. Budget is under 2k. Also, i like to haul cargo sometimes. Like a random trip tp grocery store or whatever. Can you recommend anything? Thank you for reading.
Your commute distance is the same as mine, but I've got a few rises in the road to deal with. The fact that your commute is flat terrain gives you a lot more options since you won't need a powerful motor. You can do a search on EBR and filter it by price to start. Once you've got a short list of contenders, check out their full review on EBR as well as user comments here on this forum and from YT posters.

I too am shopping for my first ebike and need to keep it under $2k. Since I need power for hill climbing, I looked at bikes with no less than a 500w "geared" hub. My short list came down to models offered by Juiced Bikes and Voltbike. For JB, it's there new CrossCurrent S. For Voltbike, it's between their Elegant and the really cool Yukon 750 Limited. Voltbike is an online vendor, and living in Hawaii, a trip to their store in Canada is a little out of the neighborhood for me to do a test drive. One of the local bike shops here used to carry Juiced Bikes but after having difficulty getting replacement parts from them he stopped. So, going with either bike will be based on my research and the reviews of others.

Have fun shopping and just ask the Forum if you have any questions.

D1G1T4L3CH0
3 weeks ago

That's probably an accurate translation. It's a long version of the old Szechuan proverb, "ride far into the night, watch out for bugs" .

I've never used SLA on ebikes, but have heard they're not long lived. A 12 AH battery is probably enough. For cost of ownership one $200 lithium could last longer than two or three sets of SLA. Depends on how hard you run the bike.

There may be a low voltage cut-off in the motor controller. Controllers intended for use with lithium will usually shut off a 35V battery at 30 volts. I have no experience with something intended for lead, but maybe 30V is also used.
heh. Yeah it seems that it does cut off after a certain low voltage. I tried 24 volts first and the motor didn't even try to turn on.

What does the charger port look like @D1G1T4L3CH0 ? You can find the appropriate SLA batteries at any local battery store, they're 12V 12ah lead acid cells. Go to Amazon and order a 36V 1.5 or 2amp SLA charger with the end that matches your bike's. Also check the polarity on the battery pack charger port and make sure your charger matches that or it won't do anything :D. Most of those chargers have a little picture on the back indicating which spot is positive and which is negative.

This is a much older, heavier ebike with SLA batteries, so I wouldn't spend a lot of $$ on it. Also, see if you can put together a 36V test pack first to see if this bike even runs. The RMartins are notorious for controller failures & other issues. We've worked on a number of them at the shop.
It's a pc plug type. The same one that goes into the back of a computer power supply. The polarity is negative left and positive right. Also it's internally connected with the middle pin to a piezo buzzer for alert sounds. It also does have the indicators embossed on the plug which is good to know. I noticed a lot of chargers I found don't even indicate polarity. But that's not a huge concern for me since I could just reverse it myself. But I rather not have to. I'll just have to look some more, I haven't found a decent one yet that comes from the states. I rather have to sooner than later. Most come from china as to be expected. Yep the bike works, well the wheel turned anyway, not very fast but the power supply I used really wasn't cut out for such high current anyway.

Your rationale for biking is one I believe many of us have in using bikes rather than even small cars. The real plus is in one's overall fitness that accrues from regularly using a bicycle and actively contributing by pedaling with some vigor. Some argue that no assist is better and that is likely true in many cases. I firmly feel that in many cases and for many varied reasons, numero riders do need some level of assist to get to work, do other commutes, bring home groceries, and other cargo, etc. And doing it that way is so much more efficient than even very efficient small electric cars.

I commuted for many years on a Giant Lafree Sport that ran a seatpost SLA battery setup like your new project bike. It is quite a good location for a heavy battery on a bike in terms of center of gravity and balance. My Lafree Sport also used the twelve volt, twelve amp hour batteries, but only two of them instead of your three. You seem quite knowledgeable on batteries, but I will just emphasize here that reasonably good SLA batteries will hold up to several years of daily commutes if one remembers the important key factors of dealing with the SLA chemistry. ALWAYS charge as soon as possible after each ride. This is far more important when dealing with SLA than it is with most other batteries in common use today. And longevity of the SLA pack also benefits greatly by not routinely running them down to near automatic cutoff. I suspect this bike of yours has that, as my Giant Lafree Sport and most other SLA ebikes of the day did. My Sport had a five light battery charge remaining indicator and I also added a good Cycle Analyst. By rarely using the last 25 to 30% of the pack's amp hours, my SLA batteries always survived years of daily commuting that was highly rewarding on many levels and also reliable and efficient. Good luck, and keep us posted.
Over the years of biking without a motor, I do stay in shape mostly, but mostly on the bottom half. I'm not overweight, but I'm a little out of shape on my upper body, bikes just really can't do a lot there in my experience. I do feel a little conflicted about using a motor instead of pedaling because I do like the benefit of staying in shape and keeping a healthy heart. I feel like I may start to get lazy and not actually pedal anymore. This electric bike don't even have different gears so it will be slow riding if I want to pedal. But still can get some exercise from it I guess, especially up hills. It is a very heavy bike. When I first got it I was pretty certain right away just judging from the weight, of it's battery chemistry. And on that; those are some really good tips to follow on taking care of an SLA. This one also looks like it has five lights to show charge level. Though in my limited testing I only got it up to 3. Cars use the same kind of batteries and they last years too when taken care of, even when they aren't, so it stands to reason these should too. However car batteries are used for cranking, not deep cycle, though I don't believe that's much of a factor. These however did sit for an unknown amount of time (maybe years) at less than 5 volt per battery. They do seem to hold a charge though. But I have yet to fully charge them.

- - - -

I'll look more for a good charger to buy, cheap, I don't want to spend much money on this thing. Maybe later I will invest in a lithium one or build my own from 18650s. Still unanswered though; does anyone have a clue of the wattage of the motor and do you have the google-fu skills to find an old spec sheet online for this bike? I don't have a clue what model it is so that makes it harder for sure. I did find something very similar but with different colors and branding.

Anyway I think as someone pointed out already, this is just a project bike. A first foray into the e-bike world and to get some experience with it before I decide to commit to throwing down some real cash.

EDIT: This is the one that is similar. https://www.bukalapak.com/p/sepeda/fullbike/city-bike/a8jmot-jual-sepeda-listrik-betrix-ice

1/1
PCDoctorUSA
3 weeks ago

If the planets align correctly, I'll have my first ebike by the end of the year. In the interim, I've been taking notice of the speeds I'm going on my Trek FX fitness bike during my daily commute to determine if the Class 2 ebikes I've been looking at with their throttle-only cap of 20 mph is going to be satisfactory. According to my cyclometer, I'm averaging 12-13 mph on my 8-mile one-way commute. While that speed isn't anything to boast about, for me getting an ebike is more about flattening out the hills along my route, or not dreading a week of 25+ mph headwinds than getting to work any quicker. Too many times I've caught myself saying, "I don't want to pedal to work/home." If my Class 2 ebike gets me up that hill or through that headwind with a smile on my face then it's fast enough for me.

If riders demand more speed out of their ebikes, some manufacturer is going to rise to the challenge as long as there isn't a law prohibiting them from doing so. There will also be those more mechanical savvy riders that will look for ways to tweak more out of their bike than its original design or build their own that satisfies their need for speed. I don't have an issue with any of this as long as these riders don't take to the city bike lane or greenways with their rocket. Ebikes are already in the crosshairs of many municipalities because purist cyclists don't like being overtaken and pedestrians just hate all cyclists to begin with. In Honolulu, the head of the Hawaii Bicycling League said in an on-camera interview that ebikes aren't bikes and shouldn't be in the bike lanes. When you can't even get the head of the local bicycling league to get onboard with ebikes, you're fighting an uphill battle. Having the local news filming kamikaze ebike riders swerving around pedestrians trying to beat yesterday's time to work isn't helping the ebike movement. Just my 2-cents.

Bosch eBike Systems
4 weeks ago

AUSTIN-BASED ROCKET ELECTRICS OPENS FIRST BOSCH-POWERED RIESE & MÜLLER ELECTRIC BIKE TEST CENTER AT 2ND STREET DISTRICT

Second Location Will Cater to Downtown Dwellers, Commuters, and Businesses

Austin, Texas (Oct. 25, 2017) – ROCKET ELECTRICS, Austin’s first all-electric bike retailer, is thrilled to announce today that it will open doors in downtown Austin on Thursday, Nov. 2, 2017, at 2nd Street District. The new store will specialize in some of the most technologically sophisticated pedal-assist electric bikes (e-bikes) on the market, Riese & Müller. Powered by Bosch drive systems and custom built to customer specification, these bikes are designed to provide an efficient, healthy, comfortable alternative to today’s car commuters.

Founded in 2011 by Nicole Zinn and John Dawson, Rocket Electrics has put tens of thousands of people on e-bikes. This new concept store is a result of an increased demand for commuter solutions into and around downtown Austin. “We opened Rocket Electrics to provide a truly viable and convenient commuter solution to people concerned about their contribution to the growing traffic problem,” said Nicole Zinn, Rocket Electrics cofounder. “We’ve seen firsthand how e-bikes can transform a once hesitant bike commuter into a passionate active transportation advocate. We’re excited to introduce the e-bike experience to downtown businesses and people of all cycling-confidence levels.”

Rocket Electrics will specialize in Riese & Müller e-bikes epowered by Bosch because they combine the best of technology and design, making them highly appealing to commuters who may otherwise resist switching from the comfort of a car to a bike. The Bosch eBike System components are derived from Bosch’s proven automotive and power tool technology, adhering to the company’s rigorous engineering and quality standards. The easy-to-use system seamlessly blends human power with the assistance of a quiet electric motor, enhancing the experience of cycling for transportation by flattening hills and allowing the rider to choose how much assistance they would like to have. “eBikes have helped transform European cities once dominated by vehicles to more livable, bike & pedestrian friendly communities,” said Claudia Wasko, GM for Bosch eBike Systems. “Austin is ripe for a similar transformation.”

In addition to having been awarded numerous international design and innovation awards, they are longer-range riding than a traditional e-bike (up to 100 miles), are easily locked to traditional bike racks, and are charged with a standard electrical outlet.

The e-bike market grew this year by 95% over 2016 and reflects people’s changing attitudes toward transportation solutions and e-bikes as tools. “Electric bikes are a serious transportation option for people of all ages and fitness levels because they remove some of the challenges, such as wind, heat, and hills, that often prevent the average person from embracing bike commuting,” said Robin Stallings, BikeTexas Executive Director. “Rocket Electrics has been leading the e-bike industry in Central Texas and we are excited to see them expand into downtown.”

Rocket Electrics will open to the public at 408 W. 2nd Street on Thursday, Nov. 2, 2017. The 1608 E. Riverside Dr. location will rebrand as Pedego Austin with a focus on value-priced, throttle-powered e-bikes and e-bike city tours.

About Rocket Electrics

Rocket Electrics is an innovative provider of electric bicycles for individuals, companies, and municipalities. Our scalable, green, on-demand transportation solutions make it possible to provide simple, efficient transportation that can reduce the number of vehicles on our roads and parking spaces needed. Electric bikes bridge the gap between mass transit and the need for on-demand personal mobility. Founded in 2011, Austin, Texas-based Rocket wants to transform multi-modal transportation networks to include electric two-wheeled transportation options, encouraging people to “ride a Rocket”. Visit www.rocketelectrics.com for more information.

About Bosch eBike Systems

A new generation of bikes is taking town and country by storm and is already a part of everyday life. eBikes are a modern means of transport for modern people: people in a hurry and people who prefer to take it easy, the fit and the comfort lovers, commuters and pleasure cyclists and, of course, young and old. The tailwind of technology-leading eBikes made by what are already more than 70 leading brands in Europe is powered by components that Bosch is developing to perfection. The Bosch portfolio ranges from the highly efficient drive unit (motor and gearbox) and high-quality batteries to a smart on-board and cycle computer that can be used intuitively. Perfect coordination of components holds the key to typical Bosch performance in terms of both comfort and efficiency.

Like other Bosch products, the eBike systems benefit from the Bosch Group’s technology and production know-how. From conception and engineering to manufacturing, marketing and after-sales service, Bosch eBike Systems constantly set new standards for the eBike industry. The Bosch Group’s experience in the areas of electric motors, sensor technology, displays and lithium-ion batteries ensures that Bosch eBike systems use technology that is invented for life and that eBike users have their fun.

For more information please visit www.bosch-ebike.com

###

harryS
1 month ago

Have you tried to see if this vendor will sell you a controller? Looks like he sells your bike. Maybe he can sell you a part.

Otherwise, while most generic controllers will run your motor, odds are the connectors will be different, and this is no fun for a novice. I've bought about a half dozen models. None of them had wire diagrams though. I had to pull them off the website or ebay listing,

Beyizzer
1 month ago

Hey!!! I'm pretty new to ebikes, just kinda bought a convert-to-ebike kit on a whim, and weeks later figured out a way to buy a battery. bike worked fine for a week with minor complications but now the bike suddenly stopped working and even in a big city i guess no one wants to help fix it for money, so i've dived into something that is completely do-every-single-little-thing-completely-by-yourself. For anything else like that, forums are always my go to, and once i got stuff figured out i'll help everyone else along as well.

PCDoctorUSA
1 month ago

Currently living on O'ahu and have been commuting 8 miles each way into Honolulu on my Trek FX 7.2 fitness bike for the past 2 years due to economic necessity (one-car family) and to preserve my sanity (Honolulu ranks 8th for most traffic-congested city). The terrible roads here have taken a toll on my bike: 3 flats and 3 broken spokes so far. However, I can still beat the city bus home and I never sit in traffic.

Having well exceeded membership age for AARP, my daily bike commute isn't getting any easier and ebike could help keep me in the game longer and hopefully make it more enjoyable. I was looking at the usual fare of commuter ebikes and knew I needed a strong geared hub motor for some of the hills on my route. The last mile home is an average 5% grade ascent, which makes for a great descent going to work (40.8 mph coasting record to date). I was looking at the Prodecotech Phantom XR and more recently Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S, but then I started reading about commuters using fat-tire ebikes.

To make a long story short, the Yukon 750 Limited has made it to the top of my shopping list due to pricing, rider reviews and the quick response I've received from George Krastev to my questions. Now, I'd like to hear back from any Yukon 750 commuters out there to get their feedback and hear of their personal experiences and whether or not they would buy the bike again.

Mark Peralta
4 weeks ago

Hello!
i have a round trip commute of 34 miles (total). The road is mostly flat. I am looking for a fast class 3 bike that also offer offroad mode, that allows me to ride faster than 28 miles limit.

any recommendations?

thank you

With your kind of application where you ride 34 miles round trip, mostly flat road at speeds faster than 28 mph, that would require enormous energy (30+wh/mile). You will need a 1,000 watt-hour+ battery and you will need a robust hub drive capable of sustained 500+ watts without overheating (a mid drive will just shred your drive train prematurely).

You are right, the ebike that has that potential is the Crosscurrent S with the biggest battery option 1008 watt-hour (42v 21ah)

Or the Stromer with 983 wh battery.

Other ebikes have smaller batteries but they are still capable for the range but you have to slow down a little bit with average speed somewhere in the 22-24 mph to reduce your battery consumption to about 22wh/mile. Or you can bring a charger with you so you can charge up before going back home. These are the other ebike options with smaller batteries.
Magnum cruiser

Ohm

Smartmotion

Bulls outlaw E45

Easy motion Nitro

Magmun Metro plus

Vintage

These are just some of your options. Note that some ebikes will cut the power above 28 mph while others will not.
Source: https://electricbikereview.com/category/speed/

SuperGoop
1 month ago

Glad to see someone using a hanging rack for an ebike. I already have a Thule 3-bike rack with a total weight capacity of 105# (3 bikes at 35#). I figured the rack would be just fine supporting just one ebike and keep me from having to buy another expensive rack for ebikes. I'm getting ready to purchase my first ebike and the Yukon 750 Limited is currently at the top of the list. Was considering the Rad Rover, but Rad Bikes wants $400 to ship the back to Honolulu. Voltbike said total shipping for their Yukon to Honolulu would be $120. That's more like it!
Yep, loving the rack also. I have taken my Yukon 750 on this rack many times on highways, bumpy parks, stop-and-go city traffic. Not a single issue with it. It is rock solid. I have a rear dashcam in my car, and I can see that it is rock solid over all driving conditions.

See Post #70 on this thread for more pictures and write-up.

Mark Adams
1 month ago

I ride three different kinds of eBikes, Sondors Fat bike, Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX, and a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. I have over 1000 miles on the Trekking, over 1500 miles on the Sondors and Full Seven. The fat bike was my first ebike, found it on Craigslist. It has been relegated to snow and an occasional ride on a crushed rock rail trail. It rides like an old Jeep. Heavy physical weight and heavy response. You have to actually put effort into the handlebars to turn the bike. Those wide tires do not make for a nimble bike. Huge rolling resistance in the tires. The Trekking bike can be ridden on a gravel road, but much better suited for touring on pavement. The small tires do not make for a fun ride on the gravel. I would not take it into rock and tree roots. The full suspension mountain bike will go anywhere. It was a demo model, and came with Schwalbe Super Moto-X 27.5 x 2.4 tires. For me, this is the ideal go anywhere bike. The smoother tread pattern on the Super Moto-X is great on pavement, and by letting out a few psi they really grip on dry single trails. It will climb a really steep incline with the 11 gear cassette. The full suspension makes riding great for my 65 year old body, on any conditions. Rough city streets, gravel, or trails with rocks and roots, are all smoothed out in the ride. I now see no need for any bike with tires over the 2.4".
I don’t feel the fat tire is that cumbersome. But have not ridden a Sondors also have a Surly pugsly fat and my regular Mt bike sits most of the time . But everything is a trade off so best answer is a nice quiver of rides to choose from.

rich c
1 month ago

I ride three different kinds of eBikes, Sondors Fat bike, Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX, and a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. I have over 1000 miles on the Trekking, over 1500 miles on the Sondors and Full Seven. The fat bike was my first ebike, found it on Craigslist. It has been relegated to snow and an occasional ride on a crushed rock rail trail. It rides like an old Jeep. Heavy physical weight and heavy response. You have to actually put effort into the handlebars to turn the bike. Those wide tires do not make for a nimble bike. Huge rolling resistance in the tires. The Trekking bike can be ridden on a gravel road, but much better suited for touring on pavement. The small tires do not make for a fun ride on the gravel. I would not take it into rock and tree roots. The full suspension mountain bike will go anywhere. It was a demo model, and came with Schwalbe Super Moto-X 27.5 x 2.4 tires. For me, this is the ideal go anywhere bike. The smoother tread pattern on the Super Moto-X is great on pavement, and by letting out a few psi they really grip on dry single trails. It will climb a really steep incline with the 11 gear cassette. The full suspension makes riding great for my 65 year old body, on any conditions. Rough city streets, gravel, or trails with rocks and roots, are all smoothed out in the ride. I now see no need for any bike with tires over the 2.4".

Verde
2 months ago

SIMI VALLEY, Calif. (Interbike 2017) – No matter the adventure, IZIP, a leader in fun-focused electric bikes, has a bike that will amplify your fun so you can travel further and faster. Whether you’re looking to explore endless miles of unknown dirt roads and trails, change your commute to work by skipping the car ride in favor of your city’s bike paths, or spending your weekend cruising along the coast in comfort, IZIP will enable and inspire you.

Heading into this year’s Interbike trade show, IZIP unveils four new models for 2018 that span a variety of riding styles that integrate modern performance – from pavement to trails.

E3 Moda (MSRP $3,749)
Bold style compliments practicality in the speedy new E3 Moda bike that combines a max 28 MPH pedal-assist German-made Brose motor that’s integrated into the downtube with bright lights and a rear rack for cargo versatility. A workhorse commuter, the Moda efficiently clocks miles on the way to work or while you're getting some extra exercise in on the way to yoga class. With a 504Wh battery, 27.5-inch wheels for fun and stability, disc brakes, and Shimano Deore 10-speed drivetrain, the Moda, simply put, is a practical speedster.

E3 Moda

E3 Moda

E3 Dash (MSRP $2,699)
The reputable E3 Dash is a proven performer that gets you where you need to go … fast. Well known in speed pedal-assist circles as a seriously fun transporter, the Dash flattens hills and takes on long commutes with ease. Sporting a 28 MPH TranzX Center Motor, 700c wheels, RockShox Paragon front suspension fork, robust alloy fenders, and a rear pannier rack, potholes and bumps are no match for the Dash as you comfortably ride in style.

E3 Dash

E3 Zuma (MSRP $2,299)
The E3 Zuma, inspired by the beach lifestyle found at world famous Zuma Beach in southern California, blends comfort with style. The relaxed frame geometry makes it feel like your flip-flops never left the ground, but the bike remains perfectly balanced with a low center of gravity thanks to a downtube-mounted battery pack and powerful mid-drive motor. The Zuma’s long-range 417Wh battery, 26-inch wheels, disc brakes, and lightweight aluminum alloy frame powers weekend surf adventures, as well as mid-week errands around town.

E3 Zuma

E3 Zuma

E3 Peak DS (MSRP $4,599)
With 130mm of RockShox full-suspension, 27.5-inch all-mountain wheels, and Enduro-inspired geometry, the new E3 Peak DS eMTB is built to conquer the toughest terrain – up and down. The super-responsive 6061 aluminum ally frame is built with proven trail engineering to inspire any rider, but it's the best-in-class Bosch Performance CX mid-motor with a 500Wh battery that really amps things up. Magura disc brakes, SRAM NX 1X 11-speed drivetrain, and short chainstays give the Peak DS excellent handling performance for an unforgettable ride on your favorite dirt.

E3 Peak DS

IZIP is also leading the charge in helping preserve our environment with its new, first in the cycling industry Call2Recycle battery-recycling program. Batteries contain hazardous materials, and if dumped or disposed of incorrectly the harmful elements can find their way into our water sources and adds to pollution. IZIP’s program disposes of old batteries in an environmentally responsible manner, and collection sites are located throughout the U.S. and Canada. After collecting and sorting, the batteries are processed and turned into new batteries, stainless steel products, and other products. For more, please check: call2recycle.org.

About IZIP
No matter how you ride, IZIP has a fun, fast, and efficient ebike for you. From commuters, cruisers, and cargo bikes to full-suspension, trail, and touring models, IZIP covers every riding option for leisure, trails, and pavement. With more than 10 years of experience in the ebike industry, IZIP is now a veteran and a leader in ebike technology in the U.S. A division of Accell North America, IZIP is supported by a network of authorized dealers and backed by the Electric Bike Competence Center of North America. For more about IZIP, please check: izipelectric.com.

MEDIA CONTACT: Keith Cozzens, Verde Brand Communications, keith@verdepr.com, 970-259-3555 x122

1/6
Disaresta
2 months ago

Today I went to the local Pedego shop and rode the City Commuter and the Interceptor. I wanted to ride the Platinum Interceptor as well, but they said that they didn't carry that, though they could order it for me. That was kinda disappointing because I wanted to try an ebike with hydraulic brakes and compare them to the normal disc ones.

Maybe because it was my first time on an ebike but I was rather nervous at first due to the speed but also neither bike felt like it had stopping power. I was struggling to stay still on a hill and wound up falling by accident (at walking speeds). At the end of the hour period I did feel alot better but just disappointed about the brakes. Or maybe it was totally normal.

This could be due to a few reasons:

Haven't ridden a bike in a while (though this was on the second bike at around 40 minutes into riding)
I test rode the bikes that they use for rental so they were a little beat up.

TL;DR

I couldn't try a bike with hydraulic breaks and i wanted to see if anyone felt that it was worth it. If it is then I will probably wind up buying the Juiced CrossCurrent S since that has the hydraulic breaks and it has a torque sensor (which i couldn't test out) although i'm taking a risk since the forums seem to have mixed feelings about the quality and service of the CCS. If normal brakes are fine then I will just by the Pedego City Commuter since I can take it to the local shop for maintenance and issues.

Thanks!

mrgold35
2 months ago

I've been having the same issue riding my Radrover in the southwest. The reason I picked this bike is because of being a Class II ebike (750w, 20mph limit). I find most laws/regulations for regular bikes also apply for Class 1 & II ebikes. Unless posted specifically for ebikes, I can ride anywhere, any speed, and anyplace a regular bike can ride (with traffic, bike paths, sidewalks, run stop signs if there is no traffic, with or against traffic, etc...).

I've notice Class III ebikes start to move into the motorized vehicle world with more restrictions with helmet for certain ages, no bike paths, no sidewalks, flow with traffic only, register ebike, off road and/or private land use only, etc... It seems there is a different laws for every federal, state, local, and city jurisdiction within every state. I've notice the ebike rules at the Grand Canyon Federal Park are different from the Utah Federal parks ran by the same agency. You would think all Federal park would encourage more bikes to help with traffic flow and parking issues?

My rules are:
- If nothing is posted for ebikes, follow all local regular bike rules
- look up the state and local classification for Class 1, 2, & 3 ebikes (some states say Class I and II are bikes, while others call them motorized vehicles)
- have the local laws handy (phone or print out) for law enforcement and local "know it all" that think your Radrover is a small motorcycle
- unless posted, my ebike can go anywhere and anyplace a motorized vehicle can travel on/off road AND I have to follow the same rules
- when in doubt, blend in with other bikers on bike trails (don't pass bikers at 20 mph up an incline if the average speed is 10 mph).

I've been thinking about a mid-drive eMTB for 100% trail riding. I would need to pick a eMTB I can remove the battery and still able to ride up inclines if there are ebike restrictions at that particular trail (Sedona, AZ, had this specific restriction against ebikes for trails shared with walker/hikers/MTB riders).

Mike Mejia
1 month ago

They already "got".....they already "have".

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 month ago

Thanks, I occasionally mess up my speech or flub things when I get excited or am trying to be efficient. Will keep this in mind for future reviews ;)

David Macdonald
2 months ago

It must be twice as quiet as the Bosch system

Donandnan Elmore
5 months ago

Cort, would you consider giving the price of the bikes at or near the start of your reviews? It would help to put all the features and performance of the bike in perspective as the video is watched.

Chris Hazell
5 months ago

Hi I'm Chris from the uk at only 5 feet tall I was wondering what E bike with fat wheels might suit my needs any help would be appreciated

minnie saab
5 months ago

like it

simchad613
6 months ago

I own an Elby. Pros, extremely well built,very quiet motor, easy to ride, it feels like a regular bike and with multi speed with the different power levels there is always a level that's just right. Cons, I wish the bell would be electric, and that would have some type of an alarm system for this money. But after every time I ride it, I tell myself it's worth every penny.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Cool, thanks for sharing your experience so far, the only electric bell/horn I have seen on an ebike so far is the new Specialized Vado, interesting concept: https://electricbikereview.com/specialized/turbo-vado-6-0/

andy lebbon
6 months ago

The ball at end of brake lever is to stop lever stabbing rider in accident for 30mph ebikes in Europe same as motorcycle learnt a lot from this channel thank you

David Jenkins
8 months ago

You need to let me test it, from my house in Pittsburgh's South Hills to the grocery store a mile away and return. Leaving the house, three blocks steep uphill including one brick street, then stop at a light (always red when I get there), start uphill through the light and down to the store. Return with groceries, uphill again to that light, down to home. Any bike can coast around flats, it's hills that make the difference and it's overcoming those hills while dressed for work or carrying a load that is the reason for buying an electric assist bike in the first place.

milliamp
8 months ago

Regen mode might be useful if you are going a really really short distance and need to put in a bit of extra work. I could see using it as maybe downhill assist too but it would probably be close to useless as a method to actually recharge the batteries manually.

JustCurtis FromCanada
8 months ago

I'm looking forward to a test ride next month, thanks for reviewing this bike, it looks like there will be quite a crowd on my street corner. I've had an ebike before (the A2B Metro) and I'm looking for something more reliable and hopefully this is it. I have my eye on the single-speed this time as I've found changing gears to be quite distracting and unneccesary when the bike is going top speed. ALSO, I've always wondered how ebikes are expected to endure weather in less than ideal conditions ie. anywhere outside California. How are these bikes in the spring-slush Canadian weather in March?

Dale Wildey
9 months ago

My Schwinn meridian trike is a step through. I think step is the way to go. I'm getting more joint pain in the hips, the older I get.This is a very nice bike. Thanks for the review.

Zeev Kirsh
9 months ago

saw this in manhattan last year. bike is heavy as shit but it looks awesome. also, the truly low stepover is amazingly practical, however, you cannot detach the battery so you have that issue........but then again, it looks sweet in person. better than even on video........styling is unmatched.

Martian Megafauna
9 months ago

The metal fenders look cool and seem ultra sturdy but there are some downsides to metal fenders...
if a stick or branch or big piece o' junk gets run over and picked up by a tire, it might lock up the tire and
send you flying...@ 28 mph!

This is why, for once, I would prefer plastic, which will usually break and shatter, but is less likely to crash you.

BikeByVideo
8 months ago

you're not supposed to take this bike off roading!

anticommie51
9 months ago

Would you buy an e-bike from this ear guy? really?

milliamp
8 months ago

You don't live where he lives though or it probably wouldn't seem as strange. The thing about face jewelry, earrings like this, and neck/face tattoos is you have to go the extra mile to be respected as a professional with these things. When you do encounter a professional that looks like this you can probably assume they wouldn't be there if they weren't good.

terry oneill
9 months ago

awesome i missed the price thank you from the u/k

Joe Pan
9 months ago

i like the look

Ramon McNally
9 months ago

have you considered reviewing the xtreme Baja electric bike?

stan
9 months ago

Talk about low center of gravity, I don't you can get any lower - good for flicking the bike from side to side.

cha billy
9 months ago

Don't take any wooden nickles, my friend.

George Herman
9 months ago

Strange looking bike and strange looking Rep for the bike. I'll pass.