Elby City Review

Elby City Electric Bike Review
Elby City
Elby City Bionx D Series Gearless Hub Motor
Elby City Battery With Cover Removed Locking Core And Handle
Elby City Locking Ergonomic Grips Internally Routed Cables
Elby City Supernova E3 E Bike Headlight Custom Shell Led Blades
Elby City Tektro Auriga E Sub Hydraulic Brake Levers
Elby City Comfort Saddle With Integrated Handle Extra Wide Seat Post
Elby City Sram X5 Nine Speed Drivetrain
Elby City Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard Chain Guide Vp Grip Tape Pedals
Elby City Fender Integrated Pannier Bar 180 Mm Disc Brakes Kickstand
Elby City Bionx 3 45 Amp Compact Charger
Elby City Electric Bike Review
Elby City
Elby City Bionx D Series Gearless Hub Motor
Elby City Battery With Cover Removed Locking Core And Handle
Elby City Locking Ergonomic Grips Internally Routed Cables
Elby City Supernova E3 E Bike Headlight Custom Shell Led Blades
Elby City Tektro Auriga E Sub Hydraulic Brake Levers
Elby City Comfort Saddle With Integrated Handle Extra Wide Seat Post
Elby City Sram X5 Nine Speed Drivetrain
Elby City Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard Chain Guide Vp Grip Tape Pedals
Elby City Fender Integrated Pannier Bar 180 Mm Disc Brakes Kickstand
Elby City Bionx 3 45 Amp Compact Charger

Summary

  • A highly polished, purpose-built electric bicycle with easy-to-mount frame, adjustable bars and ergonomic touch points, available in five colors, additional $99 shipping with assembly by Velofix
  • Custome extra-wide Aluminum fender that don't rattle, integrated Supernova LED lights with a custom light blade up front, large hydraulic disc brakes, internally routed cables
  • Available in a single speed or nine speed configuration, BionX D-Series motor is an excellent climber and near silent, throttle on demand and torque sensing assist, removable color LCD and USB charger for phone with optional Bluetooth app
  • Regen and motor cutoff switch is only built into the right brake lever, the bike is well balanced and surprisingly stiff for a wave frame, higher price tag here but you get nicer parts and a great warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Elby

Model:

City

Price:

$3,699 ($3,499 for Single Speed, $99 Extra for Shipping + Velofix)

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 3 Year if Registered

Availability:

United States, Canada, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

56.8 lbs (25.76 kg) (55 lbs for Single Speed)

Battery Weight:

7.8 lbs (3.53 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 T6 Aluminum Alloy, Plastic Covers

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

16.5" Seat Tube, 25" Reach, 18.5" Stand Over Height, 72" Length

Frame Types:

Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

White, Silver, Black, Orange, Blue

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 9 mm Axle with Nuts

Frame Rear Details:

10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Pannier Rack

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 SRAM X5, 11-34T (Single Speed Uses 15T Cog)

Shifter Details:

SRAM X5 Triggers on Right Bar

Cranks:

Lasco Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 38 Tooth Chainring with Alloy Guide

Pedals:

VP Composite Plastic Platform with Grip Tape

Headset:

Custom Cane Creek, Sealed, 1-1/2"

Stem:

Adjustable Angle -20° to 40°, 31.8 mm Clamp

Handlebar:

Swept Back, 620 mm Length, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter, 33 mm Rise, 45.8° Bend

Brake Details:

Tektro Auriga Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Auriga E-Sub Levers with Motor Inhibitor and Regen Activation on Right Lever, Adjustable Reach Levers

Grips:

Ergonomic Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Elby Branded, Velo Comfort with Integrated Handle

Seat Post:

Custom Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

500 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

39.9 mm

Rims:

Alex Rims, Double Wall, 32 Hole, Reinforcement Eyelets

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Silver with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Continental CruiseCONTACT, 26" x 2.2"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

SafetySystem Puncture Protection, Reflective Sidewall Stripe, 35 to 65 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Adjustable Length Kickstand, Wide Aluminum Alloy Fenders with Support Struts, Pannier Hanger Bar (Max Weight 11 kg / 24 lbs Per Side, 22 kg /48 lbs Total), Flick Bell, Integrated Supernova E3 E-Bike V6s LED Headlight (165 Lumens) with Side Accent LED Blades, Integrated Supernova 3-LED Rear Light, Sturdy Bash Guard Chain Guide, Fully Enclosed Plastic Chain Cover on Single Speed

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.5 lb 3.45 Amp Charger, Internally Routed Cables, 3 Minute Auto-Off, Automatic Deep Sleep Battery Protection, 273 lb Max Weight

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

BionX, D-Series

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1000 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters (Nominal 25 Nm)

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

BionX DS3 Removable, Backlit, Color LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Battery Level (10 Bars), Battery Percentage, Assist Level (1-4), Regeneration Level (1-4), Odometer, Trip Timer, Trip Distance, Average Speed, Clock, Setup, Lights Indicator, Assist Level Gauge, Assist Percentage

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad, Phone Mount Adapter, 5 Volt Female USB Charging Port, Bluetooth Application (iOS or Android)

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Elby is a special creature, an electric bicycle designed from the ground up to be approachable, comfortable and responsive. Seriously, the drive system on this city/cruiser is also used on e-mountain bikes! It packs a lot of power and zip along with some cool power regeneration features and is near silent. The drive systems are all produced by BionX, a fixture in the industry and partner to other premium manufacturers like Mercedes SMART. The only real complaint I have is that the motor looks large, it’s like a gray pizza stuck in the middle of the rear wheel… but at least the other gray plastic accents on the bike (like the battery box) are matched. This is a nod to Elby and their attention to detail. You can choose from five glossy frame colors including white and silver (for increased night riding visual footprint) and I love that some of the plastic accents and fork are color matched for a cohesive visual appearance. Yeah, aside from the motor, the battery, compact control system and even the wires ae mostly hidden. And while the Elby City only comes in one frame size, it’s designed to be highly adjustable, accommodating riders from 5 foot to 6.5 foot tall. The extra-long 500 mm seat post is thick and sturdy, the stem swivels up and down, even the swept-back “gull wing” handle bar can be swiveled to raise or lower and change reach. I love the ergonomic grips and slightly large but active saddle. Between these touch points and the thicker tires, you end up with a comfortable ride despite there being no suspension hardware. This keeps the bike lighter, cheaper and stiffer. Many wave style deep step-thru frames used for electric bikes have this bendy feeling about them, as you pedal, turn and stop the frame flexes. That is not the case with the Elby thankfully and I’m glad because it honors the motor and premium hydraulic braing systems. This is an awesome ebike, it’s just more expensive than some. And that’s interesting considering the direct to consumer model being tried out. You order online then pay an additional $99 for shipping/assembly and if you’re in a city where Velofix operates, they deliver it to your doorstep and set it up just right… even returning 30 days later for a free tuneup and adjustments.

Driving the Elby is one of the most unique and effective hub motor systems I’m aware of. Yes BionX is an advertiser for EBR so you may interpret some of this as bias… but I invited them after having tested a number of systems across a range of electric bikes. This thing is years in the making and only compromises on visuals in my opinion. By designing something extra wide, they were able to achieve higher torque and better heat dissipation. The casing for the D-Series is plastic, keeping it light and durable, and it has an internal torque sensor that works well consistently. It’s one of the quietest high powered motors and I love how they tucked the power cable leading to it on the left side low and out of the way for snags or tips. Notice also that the rear wheel spokes connect to the hub and rim of the wheel, not to the hub motor casing. This provides a more natural ride and a bit of flex… so spokes don’t tend to loosen as much or break. I was told that the max weight for the Elby was 280 lbs by the rep but believe it’s actually 273 based on some literature at their site and some quick math. That’s still above average where many ebikes say 250. This allows for the addition of bags on the rear rack or for larger riders, tall, boxy and overweight. In my opinion, it has the power needed to move larger loads effectively, something people ask me about regularly. You get 500 watts nominal peaking around 1,000 with 50 Newton meters of torque that can be controlled with a throttle… that’s very unique in a world where more electric bikes are using mid-drive systems that require pedaling.

Powering the motor, backlit color display and premium ebike specific lights is a high quality, custom designed, Lithium-ion battery pack. It offers 48 volts and 11.6 amp hours which is above average and the cells inside are produced by Panasonic, one of the top brands in the space. You can charge it on or off the bike and it locks securely with a key… but is kept hidden and perhaps protected by a plastic shell with stylized metal step pad. Now, I’m not sure I’d actually want to step on that, it looks too nice and might scratch over time. The downtube is low enough that most people should be able to step over easily. However, if you do scratch this plastic part or end up losing it (as you have to take it off for battery removal) I was told the company does sell replacements. One unique and semi-confusing aspect of the battery is that it interfaces with the bike using an EnergyBus Rosenberger plug (very high quality, magnetically connected). The plug is floating so it self-aligns easily and can transfer data and power… it’s like top of the line as far as plugs go :P but on the outside of the batter pack, the charger plug is more basic. It’s not magnetic and could get bent or pull the bike over like other more basic plugs. At least it’s kept mostly clear of the left crank arm and pedal but why not use the magnetic port there too? Yes, it would add to the already high cost of the bike and perhaps would have required a larger heavier charger. That’s one thing I love about the Elby and other BionX e-bikes, the charger is fast at 3.45 Amps but also super small and light weight making it very easy to take along to work or a friend’s house for a quick fill. One other grip I have about this mid-section of the bike is that the kickstand is mounted very near the left crank arm and will collide if you back the bike up or try to spin the cranks when parked. Many ebikes manufacturers are moving to a rear mounted kickstand but some feel these don’t look as nice (sticking out towards the back). I guess it’s just a small note and consideration.

So the motor and battery are great, the display system and control pad follow along as being some of my favorite. The bike powers on with one click on the control ring (near the left grip) and the color backlit display blinks to life. The really neat thing here is that if you didn’t have the display, the control ring functions just fine on its own! It has an LED charge level chart and LED assist level chart that blinks when you go into regen (by pulling the right grip). It’s slim so it doesn’t block the shifters or brake lever, mounted close so you can reach it easily, and intuitive with a plus and minus for assist level navigation and forward back for changing menu readouts. There’s a separate button just for the lights and that power button to turn it off again. But if you forget to turn it off, no worries… it powers down automatically after a few minutes on its own. We went in-depth on video above showing all of the settings and I listed them as well but this shouldn’t be overlooked. The button pad is great and the display is also awesome. I love being able to take the fancy pieces off of electric bikes when parking in the elements or sketchy neighborhoods. Nobody wants their fancy bike scratched or tinkered with and you might be wondering about the button ring… Couldn’t someone turn it on and press the throttle at the bike rack? Yes, they could turn it on and turn the lights on maybe but the throttle won’t activate until the bike is moving 5 km/h (for safety reasons) so this has the fortunate side effect of making it tamper resistant as well. So you get a bike only mode, four levels of assist, four levels of regen (which can slow you when coasting down hills or act as a fun workout mode) and regenerative braking activated by the right brake lever. As mentioned earlier, the brakes on the Elby are wonderful… You get 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable reach levers that are ebike specific. Or, at least the right one is, the left one does not have a motor inhibitor regen switch in it unfortunately. This is another area that I’d like to see upgraded. You’d pay slightly more and have one tiny more wire but it would also add a bit more complexity to the control system. The way it is now is fine, but many other ebikes have two levers with motor inhibitors and I like that.

It may seem like I’m gushing over the Elby City and that’s probably true. I’m a huge fan of the drive system and can see the care that went into its custom frame, light interface, optional phone mount and Bluetooth app. They give you basically everything here, the fenders are custom and oversized but still tight and out of the way when pedaling (specifically the front one which is pushed forward thanks to some rake in the fork which also stabilizes the ride). I’m excited about the experience and quality here but recognize that you really are paying for it. I wish the price was lower considering the Velofix delivery model. Perhaps some dealers will have the bike as well and it is available to test ride at the traveling ebike expo so check it out for yourself. Other highlights for me are the reflective and puncture resistant tires, upgraded Alex rims with reinforcement eyelets, reflective saddle with built in handle for easy lifting and moving. You may need a platform rack to move this electric bike with a car and in that case check out the Thule EasyFold Carrier with ramp which makes loading easier.

Pros:

  • The Elby City looks beautiful and comes in five colors which all include reflective tires and accents on the saddle and pedals, I’d opt for white or silver to stand out even more during night or early morning rides… I love how the fork and plastic covers are perfectly paint matched
  • You get to choose a nine speed or single speed drivetrain (which saves weight and cost), in both cases there’s an excellent guide system so the chain shouldn’t fall off easily
  • I love how smooth and immediate pedal assist feels, the BionX torque system is very natural and shouldn’t ever surprise you or make you strain your knees the way some delayed cadence sensors do
  • Throttle mode is awesome, the throttle is easy to reach and offers variable speed response depending on how far you press it, I hit the top speed of 20 mph quickly and felt smooth bursts to maintain me at that speed as I held it down
  • Not only do you get four levels of assist, you also get four levels of regen (extremely unique in the world of electric bikes), I love how you can immediately activate regeneration by pulling the right grip too
  • Comfort touch points like the ergonomic grips and wider (but still active) saddle make the bike ride comfortably even though there are no suspension points, I like the wider tires and might run at a lower PSI to improve comfort further (I believe the range is 35 to 65 PSI)
  • I really like the idea of their Velofix partnership, it’s a way to reach a wider audience and ensure the bike is built well, it’s not available everywhere but does give them a jump start over dealer networks and you get a 30 day tuneup… in some ways I would have expected a lower overall price for the bike since there is no middleman, or maybe free shipping at least?
  • Considering the pedals are plastic, they felt stiff and grippy, I usually complain about flexy small pedals but these ones were unique and might not scrape your shins the way metal spiked ones cand
  • Beautiful color display that’s easy to remove on a solid adjustable angle mount, it’s cool that they also provide a phone mount adapter and 5 Volt USB port so you can use their app and completely replace the stock display if you want
  • The display panel gives you a lot more feedback than basic ones and is intuitive to use (left and right bars change views or enter setup if you hold the left one while on setup, the up and down bars raise or lower assist/regen, there’s an independent light button and power button too… I believe the control ring works even without the display panel if you want (it has two LED light strips that indicate charge level and assist/regen setting
  • Super small, lightweight charger would be easy to toss into a backpack or perhaps pannier bags if you get them, it’s one of the most compact I’ve seen from any company but still delivers a whopping 3.45 Amps for fast charging! Most chargers just put out 2 Amps
  • The display automatically shuts down after three minutes and if you stop using the bike to conserve battery, there’s also a Deep Sleep feature whereby the battery limits power draw after weeks or months of non-use (great for winter or times when you’re on a trip) to protect itself
  • Given the extra-long seat post (500 mm long) the Elby website says this e-bike can accommodate riders from 5′ to 6’5″ tall which is great
  • The power cable for the motor is tucked away nicely, most cables are internally routed but the motor cable is especially important and potentially vulnerable if the bike tips… for the Elby it seemed well protected
  • I like that they positioned the charging port on the battery towards the front of the bike, mostly out of the way of the left crank arm and pedal… many other ebikes have the port situated where it could get bumped or snagged easier

Cons:

  • Given how deep and wide the step-thru portion of this frame is, it’s fairly stiff but there’s still a touch of frame flex, I like the metal accent on the downtube but some other curved parts are plastic and I’m guessing they could get kicked and scratched easier when mounting (so be careful)
  • The rear rack pannier bar thing is cool but only holds up to 40 lbs vs. a traditional platform rack which is usually rated at 55 lbs, it’s also a bit thick so I’m not sure all clip-on bags will work and there’s nowhere to put a trunk bag on top and no bottle cage bosses on the frame
  • At $3,700 for the 9-Speed version, this electric bike is on the expensive side but you do get a premium drive system, in addition to the price of the bike you also pay $99 for shipping and Velofix assembly
  • While I love how powerful the BionX D-Series motor is, the casing is large and stands out on most bikes, the rest of the systems are all mostly hidden however
  • The seat post is unnecessarily large and I’m told that was due to a previous design goal (to have a pump built in) but the company that makes that accessory went out of business so they were stuck with this really large post, I’d like it if they included a 39.9 mm to 27.2 mm shim so people could use their own seat posts with suspension perhaps
  • If you back the bike up with the kickstand down, the left crank arm will collide because it’s mounted near the center of the bike, this also limits ground maintenance like chain lubing if you want to pedal backward
  • When you add the bike to your shopping cart on the website, I think it should take you to the cart… instead you’re left on the same page you were before and have to look around to actually buy, they could make that easier (especially given this will be sold online mostly)
  • The battery charging port is a more traditional plug even though they use the magnetic EnergyBus interface from the battery to the bike… I wish they kept the magnetic design on the side of the pack too so the plug would pop off easily and not get bent or tip the bike as it is designed now

Resources:

Pamelae
12 months ago

Thank you so much for reviewing the Elby – I have been waiting anxiously to see this! The one statistic remaining that I need is the height from the top of the saddle seat, in its lowest position, to the ground – do you have that please?

I have had a test ride on the 2017 Electra Townie Go 8i and found that it fit me very well and felt good riding however the two negatives (brakes and lack of Throttle-on-demand) keep me from taking the plunge. I do feel that I need the “flat-foot technology” though.

I am a female senior citizen living in a ski-resort town with many groomed/paved bicycle trails but not a level one in sight near my home or anywhere else in the area for that matter. There is a fairly long and steep hill leading to my home so I worry about getting back up the hill after a long ride especially if I only have pedal-assist. I need a step-thru bike. I am a casual/cruiser style rider and not particularly interested in speed but must have hill climbing power when I need it. I also like the idea of regen to slow the bike down when going down-hill. The Elby specs seem to fit all my needs except that I don’t know whether the seat will go down low enough for me to reach the ground when seated (28″ inseam) – I can adjust the seat to a more appropriate height if needed as I become more comfortable with the bike.

Do you have any thoughts/guidance about making a choice between the Elby and the Electra?

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

Hi Pamelae, I just reached out to the Elby rep and asked him to do the measurement for you (top of the saddle when it’s in the lowest position down to the ground), he said it’s 33.5″ high. I do think this ebike would be a good fit for you as it’s one of the very few with step-thru and a fairly powerful motor and throttle mode. I usually post stand over height as the top of the frame to the ground because I tend to start standing up and kicking off then pushing myself up to the saddle. With this approach I think you’d be able to get into the saddle and use the throttle for near-instant power. I do love the Electra Townie Go! but can see how the lack of throttle might be a big decision point. That ebike does have “flat foot” technology, meaning the cranks are slightly forward, but the ride isn’t substantially different from Elby and some others due to their more angled seat tube. In fact, you can see how the cranks on the Elby actually are positioned slightly forward imitating the Electra design here.

Reply
Pamelae
12 months ago

Thank you, Court, for finding out that information for me. Looks can certainly be deceiving – it looks as if the seat would slide down lower so that the height would be in the 29-30″ range . I will have to give it a test ride to see how it feels. Thanks again for your help and great reviews.

Reply
Court Rye
12 months ago

Sure thing Pamelae! I’m glad we were able to get you this info quickly and hope you’re able to take one out. I realize it can be tricky locating the proper size ebike in some cases… I’m excited to see more brands coming with versitile frames and even multiple frame sizes to explore :)

Reply
George Pelton
4 months ago

Hi Court! Can you tell me if there are any differences between the 2016 and the 2017 models of the ELBY? I’m about to purchase this bike after seeing your review, and the dealer has 2016 models in his shop. They look exactly the same as the bike in your review, which is dated as a 2017 model. But I’m wondering if there are any technological differences.
– George

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi George! I reached out to a lead at Elby with your question to get an accurate statement and received the following from their Director of Global Sales and Marketing “Elby distinguishes product changes by version number rather than model year. The Elby S1, is the same version number (1) in 2016, 2017, and 2018 and therefore identical.” so it sounds like you’d be fine with the 2016 model. I hope it works great for you! Elby is doing something special with their e-bikes and it’s neat to also see how quickly they respond to comments and questions to provide support.

Reply
Bryan
4 months ago

I just test rode the Elby 9 speed. I really like the balanced feel, the power, and the throttle. Having a throttle really helps getting started from a stop especially going up a hill. I also like the regenerative motor, it helps slow you down when going downhill a little bit like hill descent on a car. I’m not sure about the styling, maybe it’s just a hangup of mine. One styling issue I have that’s easy to make would be to make the motor casing round. I’m a graphic designer, I find the flat edges on the motor casing awkward in the round wheel. It would be great if they made the casing round and added a reflective ring on it.

Other bikes I’m considering at the Gazelle Arroyo, Kalkhoff Agattu B7, and Stromer ST1 Elite.

Do any of the guys out there feel odd riding a step-through model?

— Bryan

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Bryan, all great feedback! I like your idea about a reflective ring on the hub motor to make the bike safer from the side, to increase its visual footprint. I personally do not feel uncomfortable or awkward when riding a step-thru but might opt for a mixte (mid-step) frame or get a masculine color on a wave frame. Once I’m riding, it’s all about having fun but there is something to be said for appreciating the aesthetic of your bike too. The knee pain I sometimes experience when riding a traditional bicycle is what led me to big, heavy, expensive electric bikes five years ago… and now I feel less sensitive about the trade-offs because my pain is less of an issue. I feel like I have also become less sensitive about the visuals of an electric bicycle and more focused on functionality instead.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

86 and still kicking
2 weeks ago

We sell a lot of Pacer's as it is a very well built and very fast eBike. Also take a look at the Elby, a do-it-all eBike that can be turned into a 28mp speed monster with a 90-range battery. You should also check out the Ohm Urban as well.

86 and still kicking
3 weeks ago

Effective February 1, 2018 Elby has reduced the MSRP for both the single speed S1 and the 9-speed S1 to $3299.00 Kudos to Elby for lowering prices. We've had tremendous success selling Elby's and look forward to even greater sales in 2018. P.S. Elby now has a rear rack option available for $59.99 plus tax and shipping. This new rear rack sits above the rear fender and allows for mounting a rear trunk bag or basket.

harryS
4 weeks ago

Being an ebike nerd, I look at drive trains. The Radcity is a direct drive motor, while the other two use geared motors. While the first one has a 750W rating vs the 500W rating on the other two, ratings are 90% label and 20% engineering. Yes it's over 100% to account for marketing. You have to look at the controller to see the true wattage, but all three are limited to 20 mph anyway on throttle anyway. All three have plenty of power for recreational riding.

A direct drive will have some resistance to coasting/pedaling if the motor ism't being driven, as you have to push against the magnets. More resistance with bigger motors. I've ridden Stromers and Elbys and don't mind at all, but I've heard that the big 1000W pizza sized motors are brutes to pedal. Sometimes we come home with no battery, so it's just something to consider. You've already tested the RadCity. Meanwhile, geared motors will freewheel and coast quite well. Regen braking is a feature with direct drives that might save brake pad wear, but will add little to the battery, unless your ride is to the top of a mountain and then down.

In general, direct drives have more top speed, while geared motors have more torque for hills.

If you bike has to live at the shop, that would be a bummer. We bought my wife's bike at a shop 200 miles away. No issues. Never been back. I don't think 100 miles is that bad, but you want the Magnum guy to promise that the 30 day checkup will be scheduled and performed while you wait. Leaving it overnight is no good. Might even ask for credit to get it done locally., There's enough give in the prices, in my opinion.

Alex M
1 month ago

To clear it up....
The OP didn't specifically ask about step-through, it's just that comfy upright position (and general comfort for a short rider, which includes getting on and and off the bike) often lead to step-through frames.

About range... The OP didn't tell what their requirement of 30-40 miles meant - with max PAS, with min PAS, or throttle-only. So... feel free to assume...

Normally, when ebike range is specked "25-40 miles" - like Rad Mini or EG or many other - the higher number means with minimal motor assistance and maximum input from the rider. The lower number is with max PAS or throttle-only, and keep in mind that this is approximate, it might say 25 miles but you can burn through the battery within 12 miles if you drive uphill on max throttle.

Elby specs suggest 80 miles, but I'm sorry to disappoint you, - this is with minimal motor assistance. Reviews reported 20-25 miles with max PAS, in line with other bikes of similar battery size.

86 and still kicking
1 month ago

Seems like an Elby is perfect for you. Step thru, 90 mile range, and throttle that can take you up to 28 mph just by sitting.

Motodaddy
1 month ago

Thanks for the reco, I’ll check them out.

86 and still kicking
1 month ago

Great eBike built right in your backyard, Aurora, Ontatio. Check out elbybike.com. We've sold a lot of them and our techs consider them very well built.

e-boy
2 months ago

e-boy
2 months ago

http://www.bicycleretailer.com/north-america/2017/12/08/e-bike-brand-elby-reports-growth-sales-and-distribution-2017#.Wiw4qiOZN24

TORONTO (BRAIN) — E-bike brand Elby says its growth has surpassed its own expectations in 2017, as it signed its 50th North American retailer three months ahead of schedule.

Cephalotus
3 months ago

BionX now usally uses 13s4p battery packs.

The BionX d-Series has recuperation currents up to 12A, which is 3A per cell.

Those 3500mAh cells you are asking for will die very quickly if charged that way. For example the Samsung INR18650 35E which is used by other bike manufacturers is only ratet at 1A charge current for (acceptable) cycle life.

Even if treated within specs those cells degrade evry quickly t around 3000mAh, after that degradation slows down.

High quality cells like the LG INR18650HG2 would be much better cells, but they are more expensive and "only" rated at 3000mAh each. They last for 600 cycles at very high cahrge and discharge rate a 3500mAh cell would not survive for 10 cycles, they work well in low temperatures, they can easily handle the recuperation current and they would provide more power/voltage up to an almost empty battery pack compared to a Samsung 35E cell.
But you could not write "650Wh" on your battery pack, this is why we will never see those cells. (as long as you don't exchange them for yourself)

This chart compares a Panasonic PF cell with 2900mAh (used in most BionX batteries today), a Samsung 35E with 3500mAh and a LG HG2 with 3000mAh at 5A discharge rate:

http://www.dampfakkus.de/akkuvergleich.php?akku1=498&akku2=577&akku3=592&akku4=&akku5=&akku6=&a=5

I would rather see a BionX battery with more cells like 13s5p or 13s6p, but this seems unlikely.

The 500D is the exaclty same motor as the 250D, just a different sticker on it. Both will take up to 33A from the 48V battery. So for legal reasons a 250W motor is more suitable to the EU market.

I added a 250D BionX motor to my street legal speed pedelec with BionX SL motor. I had to go to TÜV/Dekra to get the papers, which is far from easy and heavily depends on the will of the person you are dealing with, but now I have a street legal 45km/h bike with BionX d-series motor and I agree that this motor would be a good choice for speed pedelecs. The 13s4p batteries on theother hand are only suitable for shorter distances riding at 40-545km/h and the old 48V batteries with Samsung 22P cells will degrade very quickly at the high currents in speed pedelecs, too.

My solution is simple: I do not care about the support. BionX Pedelecs are just standard bike technology plus the BionX components. you can change and or repair components rather easily...

Vince78
5 hours ago

Very nicely written post with good info thank you. I completely relate to the 6 1/2 mile and draining most the juice as that seems to be my life as well. I also have a triangle for my battery and use rice to keep it warm. Winter here is a tough one. Storage at home is inside but I’m a shift worker so for 12+ hours it’s outside. Nights, weekends, days, it jumps around a lot in a week for me. My town is smaller and I can literally go anywhere in town with the bike. It’s an outstanding way to get around when not below 0. Carrying an extra battery isn’t ideal now the cost as I stated before. I may just have to wait till batteries improved a bit more and put up with it a bit longer. I was hoping I missed an improvement somewhere.

And yes, I will be looking for tires soon. I’m not set in keeping the stock in any means. But I need one that can go threw different terrains as this is why I picked a fat bike not because they are cool, but for the functionality where I am. Had I got a more traditional bike I could have easily got longer range. Compromise I guess.
My wife went with the city and she works 3 miles and has one of the steepest hills in town on her ride. Sh also comes home at lunch to care from the dogs. Combined, she pulls about the same as me in a day just broken up and with the flexibility of if weather goes bad she can take the car(best of both worlds and I’m a bit jealous lol) and her battery lasts a good week before needing to charge. I know she has regen and she can ride in pas 2 and be fine the whole way. Add her weights to it and her being in good shape and she goes about 15-18 the whole way. Must be nice. The city while I looked at seems very appealing to me after sharing hers. Both are great bikes, it’s just what suite ones needs I would say. She’ll never part with hers, and dispite my range issues I love my rover. Over all I prefer my handling as well being I ride motorcycles my whole life before becoming disabled.

Chris Hammond
3 days ago

If you are only willing to spend $800 don't bother with an e-bike, you will be very disappointed in anything at that price. Best one I can think of at $1500 is Rad bikes, they have 2 viable commuter options, the Rad city or Rad rover both priced at $1499. If you are willing to spend a little more, Juiced bikes has 2 bikes at $1699 that are complete with everything you need for commuting, rear racks, fenders, lights, etc. The bikes are the Cross Current S and Rip Current S.

Jim Laslett
3 days ago

I also spent 3 yrs at citb in bircham newton doing my city and guilds in plant mechanics including engine rebuilding hydraulics electronics pneumatics welding and so on.
I can play the piano too!
Oh yeh I got an award in bench fitting from CITB
I rebuilt my first engine when I was twelve a Yamaha
Ty80!

Bruce Arnold
4 days ago

The battery sticks in my wife's City Commuter. I can get it out if I lift up a little when first starting to pull. It still takes more effort than my wife can manage. Anybody else had this?

Scooteretti
4 days ago

Here is a video by one of our customers who built himself a trailer with panels. His video will show you what his real life experience was with a solar panel trailer that he built himself for his Pedego City Commuter.

geddyleesnose
4 days ago

I test road the Urban Plus last summer. Was $3200 back then which was out of my price range, but I wanted to see what it road like and I just thought it looked really cool. For me, anyway, I found the ride too stiff. Roads are bumpy in West Los Angeles. I ended up getting a Juiced Crosscurrent S with 17.4 battery for 2K. Ok front suspension (also bought a Suntour suspension seatpost - absolute must!), but it's better than none and the motor is more powerful than the Trans X without question. Has torque sensing. throttle (great in the city) and nearly everything you'd want at an excellent price. Granted, the components aren't as nice as the Urban Plus, so that's the big tradeoff along with the mid-drive motor which has advantages. The biggest downside of the Crosscurrent was the wait. Took a month and a half to arrive, but I still love the bike, four months and around 500 or so miles later, with no issues so far. At that price I'd be tempted by the Haibike too. The thing that would concern me is the trans x motor if ever needed replacing and they weren't around, and the cobi system. Just seems wonky. Best of luck on your search!

ZeroPointM
5 days ago

@MysticalFists Hey just found your post here, really love the thought put in to the choices.

Hoping to ask if you ever decided on a bike or are still looking? I live in Montana outside of a larger city and commute in 5-8 miles most days for work. Similar to situation were as I have been learned to drive, but for varies reasons unable to and don't have a drivers license.

My trip consists of about 10% riding on the roadside, the rest will be on a newly installed bike path which is nice. Looking at class 2 as well, though I want to push the speed higher as I travel mostly in the middle of the night with little to no other traffic.

EDIT: Just seen your other posts reading them now. :)

Dmitri
6 days ago

I think those are the founders' economic preferences. For example, the Fox Factory fork has a longer steerer tube than the Aion, so instead of finding the right spacers and keeping the angled Ergotec stem, they just went for a different, cheaper/uglier stem. Problem solved.

My argument here is that, if it's a road bike, you don't need XTR Di2 necessarily -- this is more appropriate for aggressive trail riding. For the road, a Rohloff or NuVinci is a better choice. But, again, a Rohloff costs twice as much as the XTR Di2 setup, and we got to keep those profit margins!

As far as tires go, all I'm saying is there's no advantage in going for slicker tires on an ebike: considerations like rolling resistance are important for mechanical bikes where you need to put in the effort to turn the wheels. Here you can have the best of both worlds: good road grip (suitable for gravel etc.) and high speeds. No need to compromise. But on this bike we have road tires with an MTB-specific system.

Yes, I suspect both Rohloff E-14 and Bosch's ABS are not yet ready. But if any company is going to use this tech, it's R&M! I'm hoping that someday they make a bike that has

[*]Rohloff E-14
[*]Bosch ABS
[*]Bosch Powertubes (DualBattery, of course)
[*]3.0" tires and fork/dropouts/mudguards for them

Sadly I cannot make an ebike of this complexity myself (yet).

It's the eternal battle between cost and profit. Let me give you an example... I make bikes too (small volume mechanical fatbikes) and we use https://www.bike-discount.de/en/buy/spank-spike-plattform-pedals-black-490580 on some of our models. Why? Because that's the most beautiful pedals we could find, and we want our bikes to look best. Now, obviously, this wouldn't work for mass production because bike manufacturers like their 60% profit margin while we content with far less.

The point is this: R&M installed a $500-ish (probably even cheaper to source) 27.5" 100mm Pedelec-specific fork instead of installing a $1000-ish (retail) flagship 27.5+ fork on their flagship model. This one is a bit iffy though because I still can't make sense of whether the company founders wanted an MTB or road bike or both.

This one is definitely overpriced. My recommendation for anyone interested in the Delite is to go for the Rohloff model and then upgrade it themselves.

Over50
6 days ago

I was more a fan of the first video and less so of this one although it is still well done. I think in all the literature and videos I've seen describing the bike they specified that it was based on the preferences of the two company founders implying it isn't meant to be a mass seller. So arbitrary and capricious component decisions maybe but also we could take them at their word that they really reflect the personal design preferences of the founders. Now, I would definitely buy the theory that it is their individual preferences from parts they are already sourcing and I wouldn't expect them necessarily to try to source new premium parts for a bike they are sure to sell in a very small quantity.

Your preference for knobbier and fatter tires, wider rims etc is equally arbitrary and I would suspect fits a bit outside the primary use-case the designers envisioned for the bike. I have 35mm rims and Super Moto X on my Haibike and 40mm rims and the same tires on my R&M. For city commuting or mostly smooth surface riding I'd much rather have that setup vs wider rims and fatter tires. For me that setup offers a good blend of of commuting/road efficiency, secure and robust handling and comfort.

I agree that it seems weird they didn't choose the Rohloff but also the electric version of the Rohloff may not be ready yet (?). And the founders personally prefer this setup to the Rohloff for their primary use-case?

Yes, I wasn't a fan of the pedals that came on my R&M but I've changed the pedals on every bike I've purchased except my folders. Surely it reflects that they realize that pedals and seats are highly individualized and expect that most purchasers will switch them out.

Didn't really get the point on the Fox website. A lot of times they don't show the versions they sell to the manufacturers. I was thinking you pointed that out in your first video but maybe I'm not recalling correctly. If the primary use-case for the bike per the vision of the designers is road and smooth surface riding (hence Super Moto X tires and 40mm rims) then the Fox 100mm fork is more than adequate.

Personally, I would never consider buying a 20 mph bike for that price. I'd rather have two or three good bikes for a similar amount of money. When I read of the introduction of the bike I immediately thought "they'll sell about 5 of those".

Videos are really well done. Very educational for me even if I didn't agree with several of the points in the second video. Thanks for posting them.

hurricane56
7 days ago

Yes, I think of the HF1000 as a Ford Raptor, while the Haibike is like a sporty BMW. The fat tires soak up all of the bumps. When I ride over rail road crossings, I don't even feel them with the HF1000. It's the complete opposite with the Trekking, which has an upgraded air fork. Without sounding overly critical of Juiced Bike, the thing that I haven't been happy with is their Mozo air fork. I honestly think they'd be better off using a rigid fork as the Mozo unit on that came on the HF1000 is slow to rebound and difficult to adjust. I ended up just taking the unit off and converting the headtube to use a Rock Shox Bluto.

As far as comparing it to the specs on the RipCurrent, 750w is a good sweet spot for power output. On my commute rides, the power output on the HF1000 display is hovering around 650-750w for about half the ride. If the RipCurrent controller peaks out at over 1000w, a 28-30mph cruise speed should be possible with street tires.

PCDoctorUSA
7 days ago

@hurricane56 I love your analogy. I was thinking a fat-tire bike commuter is like a muscle car on a city street, but the lifted truck fits better.

PCDoctorUSA
7 days ago

@rgold35 Would the difference in hill climbing performance between the Rad City and the Rad Rover be that the motor on the Rover is a "geared" hub where the City is "direct drive"?

Water Bottle
1 month ago

39.9mm shim? Unless you have access to a machine shop to make a custom shim then I do not think an Elby owner will ever find one. Yes I did a quick search online no one seems to make shims that large for a bike. It is a nice bike though.

Judge TK
2 months ago

No your not wrong Shim and hes just sombody that came to check the bike out. I think he likes to hear him self talk. Thats because his door swings the other way. lol. Jesses he does get old quick. And the bike is probably about 5-6 grand. Everybody should buy two of them.

Dennis Agar
3 weeks ago

Judge TK i

Water Bottle
4 weeks ago

5-6 grand.... No sir! Only 2,999 in Canada now.

Amego Electric Vehicles
2 months ago

Unbelievable holiday sale on Elby's at Amego until Dec 31st. Free shipping in Canada and the US. Free Abus Bordo 6500 lock with every ebike sale. Prices in Canadian dollars.

DavPro Publishing
3 months ago

I've been shopping for an electric bike for two years. My search started on Amazon and I almost bought a Pedego, but I don't like their rear-heavy design. Then I saw Elby, but the sticker price (about $4000 with shipping and tax) was more than I wanted to spend. Velofix dropped the ball on a test ride so I sort of lost interest until I found the Elby on sale at Electric Bikes of New England. The $3899 model (matte black) was on sale for $2400 with free shipping, no sales tax and an additional 10% Thanksgiving discount. I almost paid $3699 for the single speed on Elby's website the week before. Patience and timing saved me $1600 though the bike did require a bit more assembly -- handlebars, front wheel and pedals plus the seat needed some adjustment. All necessary tools were included. I'm 6'3" tall and the bike fits perfectly. The Elby will be used as primary transportation.

G C
3 months ago

Thanks for the thorough review. Looks very well built. I wonder about water entry into the bike frame from the cable entrance for the rear brake(?)

Mike Mejia
4 months ago

They already "got".....they already "have".

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Thanks, I occasionally mess up my speech or flub things when I get excited or am trying to be efficient. Will keep this in mind for future reviews ;)

David Macdonald
5 months ago

It must be twice as quiet as the Bosch system

Donandnan Elmore
8 months ago

Cort, would you consider giving the price of the bikes at or near the start of your reviews? It would help to put all the features and performance of the bike in perspective as the video is watched.

Chris Hazell
8 months ago

Hi I'm Chris from the uk at only 5 feet tall I was wondering what E bike with fat wheels might suit my needs any help would be appreciated

Ian Mangham
3 months ago

Chris Hazell A small one

minnie saab
8 months ago

like it

simchad613
9 months ago

I own an Elby. Pros, extremely well built,very quiet motor, easy to ride, it feels like a regular bike and with multi speed with the different power levels there is always a level that's just right. Cons, I wish the bell would be electric, and that would have some type of an alarm system for this money. But after every time I ride it, I tell myself it's worth every penny.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Cool, thanks for sharing your experience so far, the only electric bell/horn I have seen on an ebike so far is the new Specialized Vado, interesting concept: https://electricbikereview.com/specialized/turbo-vado-6-0/

andy lebbon
9 months ago

The ball at end of brake lever is to stop lever stabbing rider in accident for 30mph ebikes in Europe same as motorcycle learnt a lot from this channel thank you

David Jenkins
11 months ago

You need to let me test it, from my house in Pittsburgh's South Hills to the grocery store a mile away and return. Leaving the house, three blocks steep uphill including one brick street, then stop at a light (always red when I get there), start uphill through the light and down to the store. Return with groceries, uphill again to that light, down to home. Any bike can coast around flats, it's hills that make the difference and it's overcoming those hills while dressed for work or carrying a load that is the reason for buying an electric assist bike in the first place.

milliamp
11 months ago

Regen mode might be useful if you are going a really really short distance and need to put in a bit of extra work. I could see using it as maybe downhill assist too but it would probably be close to useless as a method to actually recharge the batteries manually.

JustCurtis FromCanada
11 months ago

I'm looking forward to a test ride next month, thanks for reviewing this bike, it looks like there will be quite a crowd on my street corner. I've had an ebike before (the A2B Metro) and I'm looking for something more reliable and hopefully this is it. I have my eye on the single-speed this time as I've found changing gears to be quite distracting and unneccesary when the bike is going top speed. ALSO, I've always wondered how ebikes are expected to endure weather in less than ideal conditions ie. anywhere outside California. How are these bikes in the spring-slush Canadian weather in March?

Dale Wildey
12 months ago

My Schwinn meridian trike is a step through. I think step is the way to go. I'm getting more joint pain in the hips, the older I get.This is a very nice bike. Thanks for the review.

Zeev Kirsh
12 months ago

saw this in manhattan last year. bike is heavy as shit but it looks awesome. also, the truly low stepover is amazingly practical, however, you cannot detach the battery so you have that issue........but then again, it looks sweet in person. better than even on video........styling is unmatched.

Martian Megafauna
12 months ago

The metal fenders look cool and seem ultra sturdy but there are some downsides to metal fenders...
if a stick or branch or big piece o' junk gets run over and picked up by a tire, it might lock up the tire and
send you flying...@ 28 mph!

This is why, for once, I would prefer plastic, which will usually break and shatter, but is less likely to crash you.

BikeByVideo
12 months ago

you're not supposed to take this bike off roading!

anticommie51
12 months ago

Would you buy an e-bike from this ear guy? really?

milliamp
11 months ago

You don't live where he lives though or it probably wouldn't seem as strange. The thing about face jewelry, earrings like this, and neck/face tattoos is you have to go the extra mile to be respected as a professional with these things. When you do encounter a professional that looks like this you can probably assume they wouldn't be there if they weren't good.

terry oneill
12 months ago

awesome i missed the price thank you from the u/k