ElectroBike Seal Review

Electrobike Seal Electric Bike Review
Electrobike Seal
Electrobike Seal 500 Watt Hub Motor Gearless
Electrobike Seal Mid Frame Battery Integrated Brake Light
Electrobike Seal Lcd Display Ergonomic Grips
Electrobike Seal Platform Pedals Chain Guide
Electrobike Seal Seat Post Suspension Comfort Saddle
Electrobike Seal Shimano Tourney Drivetrain Mud Guard
Electrobike Seal Suspension Fork Preload Adjust
Electrobike Seal Electric Bike Review
Electrobike Seal
Electrobike Seal 500 Watt Hub Motor Gearless
Electrobike Seal Mid Frame Battery Integrated Brake Light
Electrobike Seal Lcd Display Ergonomic Grips
Electrobike Seal Platform Pedals Chain Guide
Electrobike Seal Seat Post Suspension Comfort Saddle
Electrobike Seal Shimano Tourney Drivetrain Mud Guard
Electrobike Seal Suspension Fork Preload Adjust


  • The most expensive and heaviest model from ElectroBike with a single-tube frame design that's unique in appearance and lower to stand over but less stiff
  • The 500 watt motor is gearless which should make it durable but it's not fully utilized with the more average 36 volt battery pack
  • Suspension fork, seat post shock, Selle Royal gel saddle and ergonomic grips offer a nice ride given that this is a more forward frame with flat bars
  • Basic fenders and pedals, low-end derailleur, no rack mounts, throttle power is limited by pedal assist mode, keys must be left in the battery while riding

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers








Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Comprehensive, 7 Year Frame


United States, Mexico, Worldwide

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

63 lbs (28.57 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.5 lbs (2.94 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

16" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 29.5" Stand Over Height, 75" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Matte Black, Gloss White, Gloss Red

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCM 30 Suspension with Preload Adjust

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney TX, MF TZ-21

Shifter Details:

Shimano SIS




Aluminum Alloy Platform, FP-992


Flat Aluminum Alloy

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors


Ergonomic Stitched


Selle Royal Freedom

Seat Post:

EXA Form 525 Suspension

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


Stainless Steel, Black

Tire Brand:

CST Traveller City Classic, 26" x 2.125"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Plastic Mud Guards, Single Side Kickstand on Left, Integrated LED Brake Light (Brake Lever Activated), Plastic Chain Guide


Locking Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

360 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Display Type:

Key-Disp KD58C Fixed Backlit LCD


Speed, Trip, Odometer, Ride Time, Average Speed, Max Speed, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Level (0-5)

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (5 Magnet Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The ElectroBike Seal is my least favorite model in the Electro Bike family because it’s the most expensive but doesn’t deliver the performance it could. It offers a gearless direct drive motor that’s louder than I expected (given that there are no moving parts inside) and the battery powering it is average in terms of both power and size so you’re missing out on the potential and really just adding weight (gearless motors are larger and heavier than gearless). The frame is eye catching but not my favorite because the single-tube design sacrifices in the way of stiffness and again adds weight because it’s reinforced, not having supporting tubes.

This isn’t a bad electric bike, I just feel it’s overpriced and have many gripes about things like having to leave the key in the battery while riding, being fitted with basic more slippery pedals, short fenders that stick out more (and in fact block the rear light) and not having any rack mounting points or bottle cage bosses. You get pedal assist and throttle mode here but the throttle power output is pegged to the pedal assist levels and there is no throttle-only mode. The cadence sensor that activates the motor only uses five magnets making it slow to respond when you start and stop pedaling and the drivetrain uses a very basic Shimano Tourney derailleur. This thing is almost $2k and there are lots of other choices with similar entry-level parts that deliver a better experience.

In the video I talked about the rear light which activates when you pull either brake lever and it also responds to a daylight sensor so it will be constantly on when it’s dark out or covered. I took a moment to share some cool bar end signal lights from a company called CYCL which you can visit at http://www.cycl.bike/. The product is called WingLights and I feel like they would be useful on a bike like this that seems to be setup for city riding… the downside is that the handle bar was too narrow so the Wing Lights didn’t fit in (their smaller mounter might solve this). I also interviewed a couple of customers at the ElectroBike store in Santa Monica who were impressed with the Seal model (because it is more powerful) but said it was a bit tall for them. This bike only comes in one frame size which I’d call medium and the top tube is slightly lower but still may be uncomfortable for petite riders. You get three color choices (white, black or red) and I like that the battery matched.


  • I like the color matched battery pack, it looks better than a shiny metal pack that I see frequently in similar orientation but might not be as tough since the casing is plastic
  • The hub motor, spokes, fenders and other accessories are all black which blend in nicely, the power cables running from the console up front are also black but they are strung through the frame for an even nicer look (and less chance of snagging)
  • The integrated rear brake light is pretty cool… it activates when you pull either brake lever and runs off the main battery! It even has a light sensor built in so it should come on automatically when it gets dark outside. The downside here is that it’s partially blocked by the rear fender and you don’t get a headlight to go with it, consider something affordable and rechargeable to attach on the handlebar like this
  • The tires are awesome, they felt thick and oversized like they would hold up against thorns better than standard tires (but they probably add weight to the bike)
  • I love that you get a quality gel saddle, suspension fork and seat post shock plus ergonomic grips because the body position is a bit more forward and that can lead to a stiff neck and back over longer rides, I’m surprised the suspension fork doesn’t have lockout adjust because this is more of an urban style bike
  • ElectroBike has been around since 2012 and has dealerships in both Mexico and the United States, you can test ride and even rent their bicycles and they offer a solid one year warranty, they also sell online and shipping is only $50 in the continental USA
  • The frame is more of a mid-step vs. true high-step triangle shape so it’s easier to mount and stand over at stop lights or stop signs
  • You get seven speeds to pedal with which is enough for cruising around town and climbing hills, I like that the front chainring has a plastic guide to reduce chain drops and keep your pants clear of grease and snags
  • The Seal features one of my favorite LCD displays from the Electro Bike family of e-bikes because it’s small but easy to read and reach while riding and it’s backlit
  • I love that they chose to use larger 180 mm mechanical disc brakes vs. 160 mm on the Cross model because this is a heavier and slightly more powerful bike


  • I’m usually not a huge fan of this frame style because it can flex side to side and tends to be heavier, it looks cool as a single tube but the trade offs aren’t worth it for going on trails or off-road, since the Seal is more of a city ebike it’s less of an issue
  • Despite being a gearless, direct drive motor, I noticed zinging (possibly the disc brake) and more whirring while operating the Seal than with other motors like those from Pedego, Stromer or Specialized
  • The fenders or “mud flaps” as I’ve heard them called, are more basic and don’t offer the same protection against water that tighter full-length fenders would, the front fender actually sticks out a bit and might be easier to clip with your toe when turning and pedaling simultaneously
  • No bottle cage bosses or rack mounts on this ebike… you might be able to use a beam rack on the seat post but keep in mind, this will push the seat up given the integrated suspension element which also takes room and you’ll have to swivel the rack or completely remove the rack whenever you want to take the battery off for charging so a quick release beam rack like this might make the most sense
  • The cadence sensor for pedal assist is very basic with only five magnets for the sensor to activate with, this means that you have to pedal more before the motor starts and wait longer for it to stop… thankfully the brake levers appear to have inhibitors to stop the motor more quickly in moments of urgency
  • I’m not sure if the pedals are plastic or what but they felt slippery to me, the surface area is great and they look nice in all black but I’d probably replace them with something like this that actually has metal set screws for use in wet environments especially
  • Even though this is a 500 watt bike (the motor is 500 watts so it’s supposed to be stronger) the battery is average sized at 36 volts 10 amp hours so you’re not getting the power or range that the price would lead you to believe, in my opinion it’s kind of expensive at nearly $2k
  • Lots of generic parts being used on this electric bike including the grips which feel very firm, the pedals, the motor and even the battery cells are kind of unknown and the drivetrain is Shimano Tourney which is entry level
  • Throttle power is limited by the level of pedal assist you choose (0-5) and there’s no throttle-only drive mode, in my experience this leads to uncomfortable moments where you forget about assist and unintentionally activate the motor at full power because of a few pedal sub conscious strokes
  • The key has to be inserted into the battery pack in order to operate the electronic systems which means they might jingle or get in the way, at least the key folds in this case and there is only one slot vs. some of the other ElectroBikes which have two locks (added weight and complexity)


More ElectroBike Reviews

ElectroBike Cross Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An affordable, hardtail electric trail bike with clean integrated battery pack and average sized 350 watt geared motor. Decent suspension fork with lockout, seat post shock, 650b wheel size and larger knobby tires…...

ElectroBike Gama Cruise Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An affordable, relaxed cruiser style electric bike with suspension fork and seat post shock for added comfort... though the saddle is a bit firm. Lots of extras for improved utility and safety including steel fenders, a chain guard, a…...

ElectroBike Light Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A minimalist city bike with two gears, uses a Sturmey Archer Kick Back internal hub in the rear, chain stays tight and the Aluminum frame feels stiff and tuff. Efficient and light weight 250 watt internally geared hub motor in the front wheel, standard…...

ElectroBike Magnos Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A feature complete folding electric bike with cast solid wheels for improved durability and weight management. You get pedal assist with a responsive 12 magnet pedelec sensor and trigger throttle for…...

ElectroBike Alfa+ Review

  • MSRP: $999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A cheap folding electric bike with some of the smallest wheels I've seen at 16" diameter vs. 20" used on the majority. Efficient 250 watt motor keeps it light and zippy, the battery pack is removable to…...

ElectroBike Dash Review

  • MSRP: $799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A smaller sized, more affordable but also more cheaply made city style electric bike that would work well for short riders or even kids. Average rating on the motor and battery size should provide enough power for moderate hills…...

11 months ago

Which electrobike would you say is the best?

11 months ago

Hi JC! I think I liked the Magnos and Cross the best. They offered some unique features like folding or hidden battery design and the prices were still relatively low. I’m less a fan of the Seal due to frame flex issues… but I’m not sure that’s a big deal if you’re staying mostly on road :)

9 months ago

I know one of your concerns for this ebike was its price – if it was half the price on sale ($850), how would you find it in terms of value for money compared to other good value ebikes? Thanks!

9 months ago

Hi Gerard! I think it depends on the condition of the bike, even if it just sat in a shop “brand new” for a year or two, the battery could be slowly degrading. I don’t enjoy flexy frames and tend to lift my bikes so weight is a factor. In my life today, as someone with space for only one electric bike, I have found that I save up and get something that will last and ride well. I would put the money towards something of higher quality personally… but at that pricepoint, I feel like the ElectroBike Seal could be a good value. I don’t know much about the company at this point and cannot say whether replacement batteries or other parts would be easy to comeby. In recent weeks, some people have commented that the Populo (another affordable ebike) has had some battery and controller issues and they are upset that the bike has caused more time and financial challenges than they expected. Like so many things, I guess it all depends on how you intend to use it. Thousands of people in China ride ebikes less nice than this on a daily basis, but they may also have access to parts and they definitely pay a lot less than even $850. I guess it’s all relative :)

Gerard Vong
9 months ago

Thanks very much for the quick reply (and for your great reviews)! The Electrobike near me is currently running a sale on this, the Alfa+ and the Light, with any two of the bikes (new) going for $1500 + tax. The sale has been popular, so they are new bikes, rather than those that have been sitting around. They also said they’re offering a 5 year warranty on the batteries. I also saw online the Alfa+ going for $600, but I don’t know if that has the same battery warranty as they were offering me in store.

I’m trying to decide if I should go with any of these. Your reviews are definitely helpful! I’ve taken the Alfa+ and the Light for a spin (both of which you seem to prefer to the Seal), but they’re putting together new Seals so I haven’t had the chance to ride that yet. Any further advice for me?

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

4 months ago

Hi there, My advice I have is that it is best to purchase an ebike from a local dealer that can offer you warranty after sales service, can service the electrics as well as the bike itself and finally have all parts in stock. You might have cheap e-bikes online, but it doesnt take much for an ebike to crap out especially something as simple as water in the cables blowing the controller which means your e-bike will not work. E-Bikes are fun and they are not unbreakable. Hope this helps.

5 months ago

This review site does not have sub-forums for every bike brand that has an electric model available to buy in the US/Canada, e.g. there are no sub-forums for Babboe, Bakfiets, Breezer, Electrobike, Ghost, Madsen, Opus, Rambo, Rungu, Wike, Zero, or smaller US frame builders, etc. The big 3 US bicycle brands Trek, Giant, and Specialized will still be selling ebikes in 5 years, Trek has been expanding their shop network recently. The biggest US ebike brand is Pedego and their store network providing local support and offerings targeted at an older, wealthier, leisure/recreational market mean they will probably still be #1 in 5 years. Niche producers will continue to thrive as long as there is interest in their products e.g. Zero specializes in high performance electric motorcycles, Rambo resells fat tire ebikes for the hunting market. Cargo ebikes and eBikeshare offer potential for growth in American cities provided urban bicycle infrastructure continues to be built and the pace of state and local ebike regulatory reform is maintained. I think internet sales will continue to be important for lower cost brands competing on price or catering to the DIY market, or for buyers who want to buy a used ebike or new from a discount wholesaler. For higher priced brands offering local support is important for buyers who value in-person test-rides/sales/warranty/maintenance work, the brands that succeed will be those that partner with ebike friendly local bike shops, or mobile mechanics like velofix, or retail chains that have regional or national distribution eg Prodecotech sold through Dicks sporting goods. The cost of ebike technology, motors and lithium batteries may continue to fall gradually excepting any revolutionary battery advance, but cost of doing business margins need to be met, and international trade or WTO decisions threaten to introduce new cost barriers - for example in Europe the EBMA has filed a complaint with the European Commission to introduce punitive tariff's to counter dumping of chinese ebikes in European countries, and of course the current US administration is making protectionist noises.

5 months ago

I am like a lot of new people I have seen on the forum, I am looking for a leisure/Mountain bike to ride around town, off the curb, on a paved trail here and there and on a gravel trial once every blue moon. I DO NOT do ANY serious off-road riding. I like to ability to fold a bike it is not paramount. I am not commuting to work and my longest ride would be 10 to 15 miles average would be 5 to 8 miles. I have limited hills in my area but would like a bike that makes hills a non-issue when I do encounter them. Ride comfort, reliability, repairability, and price are my main concerns. I have looked at the Ancheer offerings and while I think it is durable enough for my needs, repairability or lack thereof is a turn-off.
Here are the bikes I am considering I would appreciate your input

The major concern, I called a dealer I found on their website and was told he no longer carries them because he could not reach them for support, the 2nd dealer he works from home the 3rd on just does service and has never done warranty work.

Limited online reviews

Major concerns, No peddle assist, do I need it, Is it possible to add peddle assist? No local dealer, unsure how the warranty work is handled (I can figure that out but anyone who has had prior experience your input would be great.) The only reviews I could find was a guy who got a free bike. Nothing on Amazon. Kits are $100 less than the bike how good can the bike be? Amazone ad says (Hill Topper bikes are made of premium bicycle components. Some of which include: Shimano Hydraulic Disc Brakes, SR Suntour XCM30 Suspension Fork, Tourney derailleurs, Shimano trigger shifters.) Their site says bikes are better than the China imports, I am wondering how so? Who makes their batteries?

No info on this eBike at all

I have been told I need to spend 2K plus to get a bike to meet my needs so I am leading away from this but thought I would get some other insights.

Thank you all so much!!!!

6 months ago

Thanks very much for your replies! I appreciate it. I have tried some Ebikes at Electrobike Georgia, though mainly their cheaper Ebikes. I'll have to try their Magnos folding bike. I have had a folding bike for a few years now, so I'm pretty familiar with them, and I like the idea of potentially being able to fly easily with a folding Ebike. On the other hand, I feel like I already have a folding bike, so perhaps I'd like something different.

6 months ago

http://www.electrobikega.com/ are a franchise of a Mexican importer with an http://electrobike.com/locations. Court Rye liked their https://electricbikereview.com/electrobike/magnos/ folding bike. It is a Class 2 ebike with both pedal assist and a throttle, a 12 magnet cadence sensor, and mechanical disk brakes. It has a 36v hub motor threaded into the 20" rear wheel, this gives it mechanical advantage which is why it appears to be a decent hill climber. Check with them about the weight rating of the rear rack if you're considering mounting a child seat.

http://www.electricbikespecialists.com/new-products/ in Chattanooga, TN, is a Raleigh Electric and Juiced Bikes dealer. The Raleigh https://electricbikereview.com/raleigh/superbe-ie/ is a Class 1 ebike with pedal assist but no throttle, a 12 magnet cadence sensor, and standard linear pull rim brakes. It comes in diamond frame or step through frame, and has a 48v hub motor threaded into the 700c rear wheel. The battery is mounted on the rear rack which would raise the height of a child seat a couple of inches, this might make it feel a little tippy when occupied so you might want to consider a trailer instead. I ride a pedal bicycle that I converted to a Class 1 pedelec with rim brakes on 700c wheels and I tow a child trailer, I find rim brakes perform fine on hills at normal bicycle speeds even when loaded with a child and groceries, but if you wanted to upgrade you could consider having a bike shop replace them with http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/us/en/magura-hs33r-brakes/rp-prod107695 hydraulic rim brakes rather than trying to convert to disk brakes.

https://www.twowheelingtots.com/ is a good website for reviews of child seats and child trailers, and advice about https://www.twowheelingtots.com/childbabybikeseatbuyingguide/, also the various https://www.twowheelingtots.com/11-distinguishing-features-of-bike-trailers/ you might want from a child trailer.

Kathy Smith
7 months ago

In my search for a light small bike I came across this bike, what do you guys think of it:

Ann M.
11 months ago

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric bikes from ElectroBike as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

1 year ago

I agree with @JR and @pxpaul. Those bikes you listed will not cut it. There are a some bikes on courts affordable list will fit the bill like the followings.


Good luck

1 year ago

Hi everyone. I like to bike (mainly paved trails and streets but...) am in decent shape (55 yr old woman) but have bad knees so hills are very hard for me. I am looking for an ebike that I can ride like a bike except for help w hills. I live in Atlanta where it's hard to try bikes, but have been thinking about the easy motion evo eco lite. Mainly be I want both the throttle and pedal assist along with decent # of bike gears. I don't care about speed. I'm 5' 3 1/2" with an inseam of 30. Unfortunately I haven't been able to try one.

My regular bike is a Raleigh hybrid, 49 cm. I saw an evo jet (2015) online for sale for half off and am tempted, it the sizes listed seem odd to me...44cm (medium) and 48 cm (large). I would have thought I'd be a medium but also. 48 cm. Any advice?

Also, how big a difference is the relaxed upright from a forward position? I'm guessing my hybrid, which has a straight handlebar is either considered relaxed or forward. Any thoughts or words of advice?

I have ridden a trek (I liked except no throttle and limited gears) and an electrobike - (the gamma. I would love the cross but it's about an inch too tall for me). The gamma was ok but again limited gears and a bit too upright for my tastes.

Thx in advance for your help.

2 years ago


Wish that I had some good info for you. But, I can recommend reading the reviews, if you haven't had the opportunity to get to them
I'm certain that one of the more technically exprienced members will reply.

Ann M.
2 years ago

Wow, that's some hill @evinR! Shout out to @.R., he lives in Pennsylvania and rides everywhere, bet he can give you some good advice :) My own personal opinion is that the ElectroBike Cross is underpowered for the hills you want to do.

2 years ago

Hi guys, i am about to buy electric bike, but I live in a very hilly area of PA. I was curious how this bike works on hills? The hill I live nearby is around 15~20% grade and I'm hoping this bike will make life a little easier. I was thinking about Prodecotech's Phantom x2 or Electrobike's Cross. Help me guys!! i am thinking to spend $1000~ 1999.
Comments and thoughts are very appreciated.

john peck
6 hours ago

Slime is a terrible idea, gunks up your valve.

2 days ago

I've tried a number of platform pedals over the years. Cheap bearings and/or bearing seals have been the biggest annoyance. I ride a lot of dirt roads and trails and when fine dust gets into the bearings, that's when you get that tick/click with every rotation of the cranks. The only way to clear that up is to take the pedal apart to clean and lube the bearings and races or replace the bearings altogether. It's happened on road riding bikes I've owned too. Here in the Northeast, at this time of year there's a lot of fine debris on the road.

I've been ridinghttp://www.xpedo.com/products/pedals/platform/144/spry since the middle of last summer. Magnesium, large platform, low profile with more grip. I really like them. Double sealed bearings and good protection from the ultra fine limestone dust on the local trails.


Long term torture test review by Bike Rumor magazine: https://www.bikerumor.com/2014/02/18/long-term-review-the-unbelievably-light-and-affordable-xpedo-spry-platform-pedal/

There are a lot of other reviews, some by road and hybrid bike users. The Spry made a big splash when they hit the market, offering a pedal that compared well to others costing 3 times as much. Xpedo only makes pedals and has been doing so for more than 30 years.

Another good choice for platforms are https://www.crankbrothers.com/products/stamp-7-large. There's the huge Large Stamp for big feet, CB also offers the Small Stamp. The large was my runner-up to the Spry, as I wear 11 to 11-1/2 shoes. People seem to like the offerings by Crank Brothers.

For the budget conscience the https://www.amazon.com/Wellgo-Magnesium-Sealed-Platform-Pedal/dp/B00GDF87GU are good for the money. Magnesium, sealed bearing platform pedals with reflectors. I've had them on another bike for a couple years and they've performed good.

One thing that gets hidden within the specs of some pedals is the use of bushings instead of bearings. Some have two bushings and no bearings, some one and one. I'm not a huge fan of pedals using bushings over bearings. It's a cost saving measure, but they don't perform as good as bearings and tend to wear out quicker.

4 days ago

I started out with hardy any gear and added items as "stuff happened" after +4100 miles of riding. My goal is to get from A to B and back to A as fast as possible, as safe as possible, and without having to push the bike home.

What I carry for my ebikes for work commuting and trail riding are:
- flat repair kit with all the tools needed and a spare tube (used the spare tube twice)
- handy wipes, rubber gloves, folded paper towels, zip ties, Stans tire sealant, USB cable, mini wire cutters, mini needle nose pliers
- commuter capacity: with Osprey Radial 34 Daypack and Topeak DXP Truck bag with fold out panniers
- loud neon colored tops for cold, warm, hot, and wet conditions depending on the weather (extra space capacity comes in handy)
- Pearl Izumi skull cap if just a little cool
- light and heavy balaclava depending on temps, sometimes wear both when temps are below freezing
- extra headlight (Niterider 3600 Enduro Pro) and tail light (Light & Motion Vis 180) to be clearly seen in the daylight
- BM Works speed Extender for headlight and iPhone 6S Plus holder (Vibrelli Univ phone mount)
- front and rear helmet light (Niterider 2200 Pro & Light & Motion Vis 180). Only use helmet lights at night
- Brightz LTD LED bicycle light for night time side illumination
- WYND blocker motorcycle riding glasses (clear and Polarized). Got tired of dust, sand, and bugs in my eyes with regular sun glasses.
- OutdoorMaster Bike Gloves (half finger and full finger). Extra padding to help against numb hands for long rides

The extra bright Niterider lights are mostly for trail riding in the woods when I need max illumination. I only need to use the Niterider lights on the lowest setting for work commuting and they can last more than a week before needing recharging at that setting (less recharge cycles). Was only wearing G-Form knee and elbow pads when trail riding; but, now wear them all the time. Had one low speed road rash on my knee and a few close calls at +15 mph work commuting before I purchased the pads and decided to pad up all the time.

5 days ago

I have replaced the chain 2 other times (get a gauge to easily check it) and understand the chain to cassette replacement ratio is typically 3 to one - so I was right on. Prior to replacement it didn't really make noise per se, but was jumping in and out of the gears indicative of a worn cassette. My previous loose wheel cones cause the noise.
Oh, if you have an Xduro, the bearing in the little sprocket that elevates the chain can get dry and make a racket. Mine did. It's a sealed bearing, but by carefully prying off the seals you can clean and re-grease. I did once a while back, but needs it again, or preferably replaced. They are a pretty common bearing.

6 days ago

If you are switching to tubeless from a tubed setup at the very least you would need new valves even it the rims came with a sealant type tape. The valves have a gasket that seal them to the rim.

As far as Gorilla tape goes yes it will work but not for the long haul I found. The sealant keeps the sticky side of the tape moist enough that if you have to take off the tire it peels up and away and you will have to re-do the tape job after spending time cleaning the rim of the old adhesive. I had better luck with Scotch brand Tough tape but now I just use the yellow tape that is recommended by most of the manufacturers or its equivalent. A bit hard to get installed but done right it will last pretty much the life of the rim.

A good thing to do with any tape install is to clean the rim thoroughly with Alcohol to provide the best base for adhesion. Also Toast if the hole made by the glass is anything bigger than a very small one I would suggest plugging it. I neglected to do so with a hole I got from a screw which sealed ok but later the sealant blew out while underway and the tire tore in both directions laterally from the hole ruining the tire.

6 days ago

Did mine tubeless on the weekend with Gorilla tape, 45mm valves and Joes Eco Sealant (could have used any sealant). With the Almotion tyres it was super-easy to set up.

1 week ago

That's disappointing, Roller brakes are used on Capital Bikeshare pedal bikes as well as JUMP ebikeshare here in DC, I guess they will have to switch to using drum brakes like CitiBike NYC, they're also popular on Dutch town bikes for their sealed low maintenance reliability.

But it's great to read as a bike shop owner your positive response, I think there is an opportunity particularly for the mobile wrenches to bid for service contracts with city funded bikeshare systems.

1 week ago

Rock Shox Recon TK Silver 120mm travel Solo Air with lock-out remote. For 27.5” or 650b wheels, 100mm (non-Boost) hub spacing. 15mm axle. 210mm tapered steerer tube length.
Like new condition, well maintained. Lower service done every 50-100 hours. Even comes with brand new set of seals. $140 Call or email creflections@cox.net, but please no texts. Steve: 480-215-“one-three-one-zero”

2 weeks ago

I thought the firmware update cable was the shrink-tube sealed guy that comes straight out of the motor hub.

2 weeks ago

You say 350w for the Bosch CX I presume. How bout the Yamaha PW-X for example, it's rated at 500w. Strange thing is a lot of dealers say that Yamaha has almost 0 returns or problems motor wise. Could be due to the fact less people have them(not sure). Also I noticed that the battery cycle guarantee is 700 whereas the Bosch battery is only 500.

2 weeks ago

The TOP bosch engine is more electric power and naturally you pay more,350w.
It is the most prepared engine for the speed unlocked inside the pedelec of 25 km / h.
The most expensive is undoubtedly the emtb.
It is a periodical maintenance of 6 months / 12 months of the hydraulic suspensions and the only way to lower the cost is that the user knows mechanics and does the same, together, seals, inflator for suspensions, replacement of the hydraulic fluid and adjustment of the SAC to the weight of the client and the pedelec.

The double suspension emtb are the most expensive in maintenance but also the most durable in asphalt and greater comfort.
It does not have top speed but it has off-road conditions that are valid in 90% of the climates except for a lot of snow and sand where the big fat is the queen, the bad the cost to greater suspensions maintenances and a review of the rear tilting train.

Mr. Coffee
2 weeks ago

I ride mostly on gravel and chip seal, which is really abrasive. It is very rare to get more than 2000 miles out of a bike tire before the tread is gone -- usually the rear tire loses tread more quickly than the front tire.

Charles Ledbetter
3 months ago

I just bought this bike last week at a pawnshop for 900 hundred bucks , I got it home and it won’t charge up runs very good I was just wondering if you know where I can get assistance on maintenance , I can’t seem to find a dealer for this bike in LOS Angeles help! Please 🤓

Marc Arrowitz
4 months ago

I don't know what you are talking about... I love this Bike, especially the one which is black with orange stripes. The one painted in white is also cool ... You chose the wrong combination of colors ;)

1 year ago

i like the frame design but the colours make it look cheap, too many and the contrast is a bit extreme.

2 years ago

Doesn't look like you can lock it up properly...

2 years ago

Most folks want a traditional diamond frame or a step-thru (girls' bike). The unusual designs appeal to few and would only coonvince me if there was some technical advantage - which i don't believe there is.

2 years ago

Not a fan of this frame either, it's not as aesthetically pleasing as others - and that eye glaring red color does it no favors either (reminds me of the seventies!). The rear light behind the mudguard gets me thinking that not much thought went into this. Too Pricey for the package also.

2 years ago

+The_ Pentaquark. I agree completely, well said.

2 years ago

the bike looks like it requires a tag.

2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com a licence plate under the seat like a moped.

2 years ago

+DrZarkloff Um... a tag?! What do you mean

Back home Campagna
2 years ago

cool light

guy idel
10 months ago

The noise is from the rear disc brakes

2 years ago

+Back home Campagna Yeah! I thought it was pretty neat... They do sell little adapters for narrower bars but I didn't have them for this review

Edit name
2 years ago

I rode something like this on Venice beach was a good time

Ricardo Vergara
2 years ago

Hello! I live in México city and here there are two brands that are promoted as mexican made, electrobike and bikeon, i hope you could review bikeon as well. Thank you

2 years ago

+Ricardo Vergara Cool! Thanks Ricardo, I'll keep an eye out for them definitely, looks like they sell a folding model and a little trike, do you have a favorite?

Anony Mouse
2 years ago


2 years ago

That may very well be the most un aesthetically pleasing bike I have ever seen. Its like reverse feng shui... it makes me anxious to look at it.

2 years ago

+bryphi77 Everyone was really cool, fun to get user input but most people seem to shy away from video, even in LA :P

2 years ago

+bryphi77 agreed - I'm getting bad feng shui with this too

2 years ago

+Ron Sebastian The best thing about this vid is the black girl at the end...

Ron Sebastian
2 years ago

+bryphi77 Amen...that graphics needs a serious redo if you ask me.

Jone Gomez
2 years ago

Funny but I don't love the look but kind of would like to have it. Good review as usual.

2 years ago

+Juan Nieve Thank you! Had a little fun with this review, I'm also mixed on the look and not huge on the weight

Clinton Baltazor
2 years ago

That looked like Wally World made a bike. Hard to believe that is there most expensive ebike. I think you said it best by saying you didn't like the frame. I would definitely rent that before buying. Another quality review! Your opinion is valued greatly. What in your opinion are the top 5 things you should look for in an electric bike?

Clinton Baltazor
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Durability and functionality, Bang for the buck/price, warrenty/customer service! I ride a bike for all my transportation needs year round. I'm not picky about the sound the motor makes, or the paint job, what pedals or if it comes with lights and mirrors. It needs to be all weather capable, something that can take a beating! I don't need crazy power, but I am 180lbs 6ft. 4in and regularly carry 20-30lbs of gear so 350-500 watts should be plenty. I am finding that you are almost better off buying a kit or designing your own ebike. At the end of the day I don't need an ebike but I sure would like one! Thank you for your time, and I look forward to your next review!

2 years ago

+Clinton Baltazor Cool, I look for comfort and performance first... not everyone has the same performance needs but I love responsive motor systems and go for suspension with larger tires, from there I like to be able to try and buy from a local shop and it has to look cool as well (unless I'm planning to buy a beater for city use). How about you? What are your thoughts on top things to look for in an ebike?

2 years ago

You should take a break and review Santa Monica's Ride Share bicycles......"Breeze" Or just go for a ride.

2 years ago

+MotorheadRedo That sounds fun, I took a break and hit the Ebike Expo in San Diego this past weekend, we rode bikes all the way around the bay and I got to see the Wave House at Mission Beach :D