eZip Trailz Review

Currie Ezip Trailz Review
Ezip Trailz Electric Bike
Ezip Trailz Commuter Cassette Motor Chain
24v Currie Lead Acid Battery
Ezip Grip Shifter
Ezip Trailz Chain Drive Motor
Ezip Trailz Chain Guide Plastic
Ezip Trailz Lead Acid Battery Pack
Womens Currie Ezip Trailz Pink
Ezip Motor Drive Chain
Ezip Throttle Pas Tag
Ezip Trailz Battery Lock Key
Ezip Trailz Chain Stabilizer
Ezip Trailz Pedal Assist Sensor
Ezip Trailz Second Battery Attachment
Ezip Trailz Side Motor
Trailz Ebike Facts
Trailz Ebike Flier
Currie Ezip Trailz Review
Ezip Trailz Electric Bike
Ezip Trailz Commuter Cassette Motor Chain
24v Currie Lead Acid Battery
Ezip Grip Shifter
Ezip Trailz Chain Drive Motor
Ezip Trailz Chain Guide Plastic
Ezip Trailz Lead Acid Battery Pack
Womens Currie Ezip Trailz Pink
Ezip Motor Drive Chain
Ezip Throttle Pas Tag
Ezip Trailz Battery Lock Key
Ezip Trailz Chain Stabilizer
Ezip Trailz Pedal Assist Sensor
Ezip Trailz Second Battery Attachment
Ezip Trailz Side Motor
Trailz Ebike Facts
Trailz Ebike Flier

Summary

  • Steel frame is heavy but absorbs some vibration along with the entry level suspension fork
  • External side-mounted chain driven 450 Watt brushed motor offers good torque but is loud and more difficult to work with when servicing the rear wheel, rim and tire
  • Entry level, inexpensive, sold at some Walmart stores and online through Amazon
  • Lead acid batteries are heavy and endure fewer charge cycles before needing replacement but you can use two packs and they are less expensive to replace than Lithium-ion

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

eZip

Model:

Trailz

Price:

$ 699.00 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

6 Month Comprehensive, Original Owner

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2013

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

68 lbs ( 30.84 kg ) (Step-Thru Frame ~66 lbs)

Battery Weight:

16 lbs ( 7.25 kg )

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, High-Step

Frame Sizes:

17 in ( 43.18 cm )

Frame Material:

Steel

Frame Colors:

Black, Blue, Silver, Metallic Red

Frame Fork Details:

Basic Suspension

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano

Shifter Details:

Grip Twist on Left Bar

Pedals:

Plastic Platform

Handlebar:

Mid-Rise

Brake Details:

V-Brakes

Grips:

Rubber

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Tire Details:

Puncture Resistant

Tube Details:

Pre-Slimed

Accessories:

Rear Carry Rack, Chain Guide, Kickstand, Optional Extra Battery Pack ~$100, Optional Upgraded Real Force Lithium Iron Phosphate LiFeP04 (Reduced Weight, Increased Lifespan and Extended Range)

Other:

Estimated 300 Charge Cycles for SLA vs. 800+ for Lithium-ion, Motor is Side-Mounted (Left Side) and Drives a Chain Connected to Rear Hub, Offers PAS (Pedal Assist) Mode and TAG (Twist and Go) Mode

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

450 watts

Battery Voltage:

24 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

240 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Sealed Lead Acid

Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

10 miles ( 16 km )

Estimated Max Range:

15 miles ( 24 km )

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Voltage (Full, Half, Low)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

15 mph ( 24 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Currie eZip Trailz is one of the most affordable entry level ebikes around. I’ve ridden all of the major brands out there and tried varying levels of ebikes but the Trailz is one of the most common and enduring models I’ve come across. Sure, it’s sold at Walmart and seems so much more basic than other bikes but that’s actually one of its strengths. I found myself riding it more often and feeling less protective due to the low price and basic non-glamorous feature set.

The external side-mounted motor performs great and isn’t that loud but will still be heard over something like a hub motor or mid-drive system. Picture this, on the left side of the rear wheel is the motor which is attached via chain and on the right side of the wheel are the normal chainrings attached to the pedal and cranks system. This sort of balances out the bike and allows the rider to stop pedaling without disrupting the motor which turns its very own chain. It does mean there are more chains to deal with though, more rust, more noise and friction, and it also makes changing a flat harder.

The eZip Trails features a 450 Watt motor which is pretty powerful for an entry level bike (most are just 250 or 300) but it’s necessary for the heavier Lead acid battery and steel frame, especially if you add a second Lead Acid battery. The motor provides a decent amount of torque and works well in PAS (pedal assist mode) and TAG (twist and go mode). Sometimes when I ride cheaper bikes in this “low end” category I feel myself wondering if simply riding a lighter, faster bike would be as efficient and fast as going electric… but then I find myself passing road cyclists going up hills and I remember just how much work the motor is actually doing for me! This motor and drive system, as with most ebikes, is electronically limited at 20mph.

Because the motor is connected to the rear wheel and drives independently from rider pedaling action, you can pedal at any speed you want, fast or slow, and pick gears that fit your desired level of effort and speed. This is a huge benefit over some fixed mid-drive systems that require you to work with the motor at set gear ratios. Also, since all of the drive energy is going into the rear wheel the front of the bike is easier to handle; light for popping up curbs and making quick turns. Bikes with front drive systems require heavy duty forks and the shocks are less fluid.

The brakes on the Currie eZip Trailz bikes are old style v-brakes that also serve to cut power to the motor when squeezed. They won’t last as long as disc brakes before you have to get new pads but that’s super cheap (less than $10) and easy enough for nearly anyone to install with just a screwdriver and wrench. They perform well and stop the bike very effectively, sometimes faster than disc brakes because they are mounted on the rim instead of the hub which provides more mechanical leverage. The downside to v-brakes is riding in wetter conditions because if your rim gets wet it will create a bit more slip in the system and can also scratch the rims if you’ve gone through mud.

The eZip Trailz is one of the few bikes out there designed to accommodate two batteries right from the get-go. You’ll still have to buy that second battery, and most people don’t need that extra distance, but it’s a nice built in feature. You can also switch which side of the bike the battery is on and balance your ride out! The pannier style side mount also let’s you balance out your own cargo with groceries on one side and the battery on the other. The battery locks directly to the frame which is great for security. Over time, this bike will become more rattly sounding than some other ebikes because the rear rack is bolt-on verses welded.

There’s a reason this bike has been around so long and why so many used models are available and still running. It’s inexpensive, relatively solid and offers several upgrades and replacements. It’s also backed by one of the largest ebike manufacturers around so parts and service are easier to come by. I especially like the addition of a shock, even if it is lower end and does not include a lock-out. The front chain ring only offers one gear but centers the chain with guides on both sides so it’s nearly impossible to have the chain fall off when riding on bumpy terrain. The extra thick tires with smooth rolling tread pattern perform very well on pavement and help you avoid flats in a way that can only truly be appreciated when changing the tires on a 50+ pound machine.

Pros:

  • one of the least expensive electric bikes out there
  • simple and tough, solid steel frame doesn’t vibrate as much as aluminum but is heavier
  • intuitive twist throttle and grip shifter
  • throttle mode or pedal assist for extended range
  • less of a liability if it gets stolen or vandalized because it’s so cheap, you may use it more as a result
  • thick, smooth rolling tires resist flats and coast well
  • built in pannier rack with space for second battery and saddle bag
  • decent front shock considering the low price, not overly firm or sticky
  • stronger 450w motor provides good torque
  • Lead acid batteries are less expensive, more environmentally friendly and easier to recycle than lithium but won’t last as long
  • both batteries lock to rack to deter theft and secure in place, don’t lose the key!

Cons:

  • heavy, heavy, heavy… hard to cary up stairs, rear of bike is especially unweildly and could do some real damage if tipped over
  • lower end brakes, still stop well but are susceptible to slippage when rims are wet vs. disc brakes
  • external side motor and side battery make bike non-semetrical, and potentially less balanced if not riding with a pannier on the other side
  • external motor and motor-chain more susceptible to damage and water issues, not sealed like some hub motors
  • a bit louder than hub motors, not terribly noisy though
  • rear rack and batteries can wiggle and create noise over time, especially if ridden off road, they are bolt-on vs. welded permanently
  • range and power of batteries diminishes over time, sooner than lithium

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More eZip Reviews

eZip Trailz Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $ 999.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Affordable entry level electric bike with a unique side-mounted chain drive motor that can make truing wheels, replacing tires and fixing flats more difficult. Offers seat post shock, suspension fork, fenders, chain guard and ergonomic grips for comfort...

eZip Skyline Review

  • MSRP: $ 899.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Affordable entry level ebike that's one step up from the eZip Trailz, available in low-step and high-step frame designs. Lithium-ion battery provides good range, durability and is mounted mid-frame for improved balance...

eZip Tri-Ride Review

  • MSRP: $ 1399.00
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable, entry level electric trike is well designed and gets the job done. Lead-acid battery pack is very heavy and won't get as many cycles as a Lithium…...

Ronald Boykin
2 years ago

I think the trails line of ezip bike is a better buy than the E3 Vibe line because you get a more powerful motor for less money! I could barely get going on the E3 Vibe when in throttle mode and if there's a slight hill, forget it, you'll have to use peddle assist mode! Interms of power I'd go with trsils line over the E3 Vibe even though it's noisier and harder to service.

Thomas Rogers
2 years ago

I bought mine from a neighbor for $200. Very good investment

Court Rye
2 years ago

Not too bad! I've seen this bike on sale used before and at yard sales and you can easily get replacement batteries online for under $150 (depending on SLA or Lithium and which year). How is it working for you so far?

Thomas Rogers
2 years ago

I don't have an owners manual or anything...the motor makes a clicking sound as it runs,maybe the bracket is bent. But other than that it is great, gets me to and from work as long as I charge the battery often.

DrkAngel
10 months ago

Clicking sound is the crappy motor side freewheel! - at wheel speed. Can be confirmed by releasing throttle while cruising and very slowly re-engaging. Might take a few tries, but can usually make sound lessen-disappear. Alternately - Inspect sprockets and chain for damage or foreign material.

Court Rye
10 months ago

Great tip! Thank you so much for sharing :D

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hmm... hard to say? You could always take some video and post it in the eZip forums to see if anyone knows what the noise is and how to fix it? I have no idea off the top of my head but if it runs, maybe the clicking isn't a big deal.

AuricTech
2 years ago

One thing to keep in mind when dealing with lead-acid batteries is that, if you don't keep them charged when not in use, you'll permanently reduce their capacity due to sulphation of the lead plates. It's also a good idea to avoid drawing them down more than about 50% of their rated capacity. I learned about this on a solar power forum at http://forum.solar-electric.com/forum.php

Dwight Glenn
1 year ago

Both my wife and I have e-zips, battery is tricky, have had to replace yearly. I think not drawing them down more than 50% is interesting idea. We have passed up a lot of cyclist on this bike, funny to see the look on their faces when 2 older folks who are not all thin like those hard core cyclist fly by them. We like the pedal assist feature and the flat out full throttle. Bike is very heavy and wish the frame was lighter. Gears on mine vary from down right too hard to use, to light. Have to find that sweet spot for use with gears. Price is good. After about 5-6 years still works ok. Though the left side battery slot does not work anymore on mine, I just use the right side. I suppose it is repairable, but as long as it still works and I only use 1 battery, I’m good with it. Nice looking bikes and where we live in all the years we have had them. We have not seen anyone else with e-zips. You can order new batteries through target. Walmart does not carry them which seems strange since we got them online from Walmart. Good bike for those with COPD like my wife and anyone who wants an electric bike for a good entry level price.

Anonymous
1 year ago

You can fix your bike with terminals, ring terminals 14 to 16 guage.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

George S.
2 months ago
sexton Tom
Boy fella's ! I sold my Ezip Trailz this spring with the intent of moving up. Every time I am a fraction away from doing something I read a post and change my mine. I really thought I was ready for a RadMini . It was something I could take camping and everyone could ride. Then I read about some of the problems that go with it and back out. I have a nice Giant Yukon I like and was thinking the mid-drive from Luna. That would be for me and then a Ridekick for my wife and my Giant hybrid. If I could save a little more , then a Sun Drifter with a geared hub for a relaxing ride in the country.

If all this is a little confusing , I am VERY confused with what route to take. There is new e-bikes and DIY kits coming out all the time. Will you older fella's PLEASE HELP !!! I'm 63, 5'7 and 170 THANK YOU !!!!
The Mini is a production DIY bike, basically. It's sort of an interesting frame with a good battery and a fairly basic Bafang hub motor. They may have problems with the controller.

My view is: 1) the frame is probably solid 2) the battery has quality cells, so it should not be an issue 3) the motor is a basic Bafang and they make millions or zillions for the Chinese market. If you built you could move up a notch, get more torque, more bulk, but the Bafang should be cheap to replace. It may be a drop in replacement.

I think they will find a controller that works. It's easy to replace. They've had problems with tires and they may not have done things right with the rims. Not sure what is going on. You might have to find a good tire, even a Moped tire.

You could do something with the Yukon, but it depends if you want an MTB for anything serious. That would shift you to a mid-drive. If not the Golden Motor Smart pie is nice, super quiet, and easy to install. For shorter and slower runs the Luna Mini packs are great, and they fit anywhere.
sexton Tom
2 months ago
Boy fella's ! I sold my Ezip Trailz this spring with the intent of moving up. Every time I am a fraction away from doing something I read a post and change my mine. I really thought I was ready for a RadMini . It was something I could take camping and everyone could ride. Then I read about some of the problems that go with it and back out. I have a nice Giant Yukon I like and was thinking the mid-drive from Luna. That would be for me and then a Ridekick for my wife and my Giant hybrid. If I could save a little more , then a Sun Drifter with a geared hub for a relaxing ride in the country.

If all this is a little confusing , I am VERY confused with what route to take. There is new e-bikes and DIY kits coming out all the time. Will you older fella's PLEASE HELP !!! I'm 63, 5'7 and 170 THANK YOU !!!!
Cameron Newland
3 months ago
AndrewH
Bought an IZIP on Ebay, even using its extra low gear & throttle I can't get up this big hill near me. Guess the 2 lead-acid batteries make it too heavy?
Can the motor be moved so it uses the gears? instead of using its own sprocket.
Unfortunately, you bought a bike that has terrible performance. Modern ebikes have 36V-52V lithium-ion batteries that offer more power and torque than the Trailz. Honestly, you ought to consider selling this and buying a different bike.
J.R.
4 months ago
AndrewH
Izip Mountain Trailz Al electric bike.
Or maybe lower gearing on motor, & only use it up hill?
Andrew, did you follow the link I posted above to the review? It's the same bike as your Ebay listing. You could extend your range and power some with fresh, new SLA batteries $72.00 or better LiFePO4 lithium-ion battery $400.00. The bike with it's brushed motor is old technology and will never compare to current brushless motor and Li-ion ebikes. Here is a site with parts and batteries http://www.electricscooterparts.com/iziptrailzalmenselectricbicycleparts.html
AndrewH
4 months ago
Izip Mountain Trailz Al electric bike.
Or maybe lower gearing on motor, & only use it up hill?
Ann M.
4 months ago
Nope! You have one of the TrailZ or eZip versions of the Currie Tech bikes that use SLA batteries. The motor on those is a brushed motor and can't be put inside the hub..
J.R.
4 months ago
It sounds like an eZip Trailz?

https://electricbikereview.com/ezip/trailz/
J.R.
6 months ago
1kenthomas
Thanks again all.
Does anyone know an easy/ish way to remove the PCB board that the brushes are attached to? (I'm feeling stubborn and will probably pull it apart again now, desolder, add some kind of spring, and try to effect a more permanent solution).

Also, the first article linked by J.R. mentions 48V(!?!). How far is it reasonably safe to operate these? Can I chain in an additional 12V (from a Li pack) and operate without serious damage to the motor?

And as for my "stuck on the road" scenario, in case anyone comes along: this required a soldering iron, good lighting, various pliers and equipment, etc. If you have some subset of these, it could be done on the road, but I doubt it would be useful unless you had no other choice. (I might add a DC soldering iron to my gear... )​
I know a guy that rides an eZip Trailz with the same system as yours, he's ridden it for 3 years all around town. It's been a solid performer for him. I've also seen the eZip Trails ebike advertised on local Craigslist, always seems to be priced at a bargain, $300 +/-. EBR's eZip Trailz review here. New, leftover stock appears to still be available as well for $323.42

http://www.saleawayscabana.com/inde...i43q1xBiicFLL5x7nkBDXti0F8qK0fqkeVBoCmHnw_wcB

There's also plenty of parts still available, including lithium ion and SLA batteries. Additionally the motors are also available for $130.00 and $145.00.

https://electricscooterparts.com/eziptrailzmenselectricbicycleparts.html

http://www.monsterscooterparts.com/...ss-electric-motor-9-tooth-chain-sprocket.html

This is a 24 volt system, with two 12 volt SLA batteries wired in series to yield 24 volts (max ~26 at full charge). Considering the motor, controller and wiring are all designed for 24 volts, I think it would be unwise to over-volt this system. If you look at the first link in my post above, it shows what can happen over-volting this motor.

[​IMG]

Good luck with it!
J.R.
6 months ago
You have a 4 brushed motor with the brush at the 12 o'clock position completely broken lose. That design is fairly straight forward, almost identical to a motorcycle starter motor in design and size. It can be strong and serviceable, but requires a lot more maintenance than a brushless motor. You should be able to get the parts needed to repair your motor at a reasonable cost, but you won't be able to use it as is.

Some really good information for your motor in these links:

https://www.electricbike.com/2014-ezip-trailz-lithium/


https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=62869

For reference, what it should look like new:

[​IMG]
Crazy Lenny Ebikes
6 months ago
sexton Tom
Thanks Crazy Lenny !! I wish you were a tad bit closer ... I have nice Ezip Trailz I would like to trade in. I'm down around Fort Wayne, In area. That would have to be a overer nighter !!!!
Sometime early April, we will have the Izip manager visiting our store for a Demo day. See if you can make it.
Both Vibe + and Path + are great bikes. You can't go wrong with those.
sexton Tom
6 months ago
Crazy Lenny Ebikes
It is pretty powerful. 48V, 350W engine should have no trouble going up 7% grade with rider input.
Thanks Crazy Lenny !! I wish you were a tad bit closer ... I have nice Ezip Trailz I would like to trade in. I'm down around Fort Wayne, In area. That would have to be a overer nighter !!!!
George S.
9 months ago
There was a Trailz or something that had a 24 v motor. You might find some discussion of that or some other specific 24 volt motor on EndlessSphere, regarding a bump to 36v. There are 24 volt LiFePO4 batteries out of China. Most are shrink wrapped, no real case. There are some vendors with decent feedback on Ebay. The 'free' shipping tends to be slow (ocean freight) and it's probably not HazMat shipping. The battery chemistry is one of the safest. The chargers can be very low quality.
katie6963
1 year ago
Vandon
I know that this isn't the best bike out there but the price is nice for a 1st time e-biker like me. It is at the bottom of my list but not scratched off for financial reasons. (I can spend two grand if I wanted to but I am trying to make the smartest investment. I work ten months a year and would normally spend a hundred dollars a month on gas without an average five day per week commute.) I know it is middle of the road. I know it is heavy. (However, it is 20 lbs lighter than the Currie bike that I was going to originally purchase before discovering folders.) What I don't know about this bike from Court's video and review is: Does it malfunction? Are the disc brakes still good after a few months? Does the battery get wet and die? How about that front shock? Is it nice or just there? Is throttle power always available? Any info will be helpful!
My thoughts shouldn't carry much weight as I am very new to the ebike world and have been away from bicycling for a while.
I recently purchased a folding ebike and I love it and I am going to get rid of it as quickly as I can.
When I moved aboard my sailboat there just wasn't room for my bike and there wasn't much chance that I would have the stamina to make the climb from shore to any form of transportation. Mr. Rye and EBR was my gateway to ebikes. A folding ebike solved both the storage and the stamina issues or so I thought. Folding the bike made storing the bike more difficult. On a small sailboat with everything I own onboard every cubic inch counts and to get to anything I have to move everything. The bikes ability to fold was useless to me. Folded the bike is an unwieldy space hog. To get it to shore I first put the bike in my canoe and then fold it.
The reason I will replace my ebike as quickly as I can is it will not accept real bicycle parts. I only had 75 miles on the bike before I realized that it can't be repaired by me and parts are nonexistent. When I called the man who told me that his company wanted to build a reputation for customer support he was very nice as he explained that he had no way of finding out who manufactured my broken taillight and doubted that it could be repaired or replaced. Bill Clinton feels my pain but that is no help either. I started looking at my delightful new bike with the knowledge that I had to sell it before anything else failed. Throw away disposiblle bicycles is too high a price for mother earth to pay and I regret that I supported the nature haters who caused it to be manufactured with my purchase.
When a teenager asked why I was pushing my SR touring bike down the Bicentennial Bicycle Trail and I showed him the rear derailer that had been mangled by a stray twig he took me to a pile of old bicycles and I took the most accessible derailer without caring who manufactured it or what brand of bike it was on. In minutes I was pedaling back toward the bike path. I don't dare ride my ebike any further than I want to carry it back if anything fails. There doesn't seem to be a single bicycle part on it.
I will replace my ebike with a real bicycle and add a motor. The 250 watt motor is plenty of power to make up for what age has taken from me and I really enjoy being able to ride again.
I will follow this thread with anticipation. Thank You for starting it.
richh963
1 year ago
I've owned an ezip trailz , I'm into my 3rd summer with the bike, I have broken rear spokes every summer, I have 2 batterys sla type on the rear, Ineed to replace them, since they are getting weaker. I my self am looking for a new bike, one that does a better range and and some what faster and less heavy bike, but I must say the bike does work except the lead batts and spoke problem. If you can afford something more pricey I would go with it, Ive been talking with a guy the has genze and he has been avg, about 50+ miles to each charge in pas. which is very good.
richh963
1 year ago
Ken, sounds a lot easier than me changing my flat on the rear of my ezip trailz. I bought slime tubes and replaced my front tube also, I hate flats, also it appears the money I was getting I'm not now so I'm going to have hold off on getting a new bike which is a bummer. enjoy your 4th.
richh963
1 year ago
Ken, I'm really impressed with the mileage your getting out of your bike, it seems like a small battery to get 50+ miles, what setting are you using, and how much do you weight that's a key question. Im interested in buying a new electric bike, and the reviews are glowing for this bike, there engineering office in Michigan is 6 miles from my house, but I believe its more for the scooter at that facility. is it hard to pedal, I have a ezip trailz right now with lead battery's which puts the bike with both batterys on the bike at about 100lbs. and of course the batterys don't last long, and my heart is not the greatest at all. I live about 6 miles from my city, I use to be able to ride about 36 miles with both batterys now that they are old I can only go about 12 miles using both of them. but your lithium battery even though its small is getting excellent distance, seems to be getting better distance than some of the bigger size battery. thanks for your time.
J.R.
1 year ago
Jack Straw
I want an ebike for cruising around on the many paved trails in my neighborhood. I want it to function like a normal bike plus give an extra boost up some of the hills and when riding home tired against the wind. I am 5'10" 210lbs or so. I found a great deal on one. Should I pull the trigger on it or spend more for a better one?
The one ebike I see on a regular basis, other than mine is an ezip Trailz. The guy rides it in town all the time and enjoys it. If you were planning to ride around your neighborhood a few miles a day you might make out well. The problem would be if you really get into ebiking and want to do more, like so many of us do. The norm here seems to be more and more range with the ability to get through hills. It might be wise to anticipate your needs and double that for good measure. Good luck and let us know how it all shakes out!
Cameron Newland
1 year ago
I think most people on this forum would advise that you buy a bike with a lithium ion battery, as it will last longer than the lead-acid pack that comes with the Trailz. That said, the choice is ultimately up to you. It's quite possible that the Trailz is the right bike for you.

When I began riding road bikes, I started by buying the cheapest ones available, and then I later realized that there were better products out there. It worked for me because each bike was a step up from the previous one, and each bike served its purpose for me as a sort of introduction to cycling in general. The Trailz might be that "gateway drug" for you. ;-)
Jack Straw
1 year ago
Meg
Those look like great bags! And a great food truck! Now, I have to talk to my friends at The Steel Yard for a bike rack in front of the shop. Oh and see if it's really true about not forgetting how to ride a bicycle. :eek: I'll keep you posted.
Meg,
I am curious what you decided. I am also looking at the Ezip Trailz and found a great online deal. I am really torn between buying it or bucking up some extra$ for something lighter with more range.
Court
2 years ago
biknut
Court said one of these bikes doesn't look cool. Guess which one?
Sorry! I was trying to make your images thumbnails instead of kiting them in and accidentally deleted. Both of those bikes don't look cool to me :D not a fan of rear heavy batteries or oversized battery boxes that extend wider than batteries. Note that my review of the eZip Trailz (which has gone out of production) rates it at 6/10. Much bigger fan of the IZIP Skyline (though it is not $500... it's very close to the advertised "full price" of the Storm at ~$794 with shipping)
Court
2 years ago
Hey guys! I've read every comment here and really appreciate the time and energy you've spent sharing. That's what makes this a great space and why I enjoy checking in so much... Over the past several days I've spoken with @Chris Nolte from Long Island Electric Bikes, @Chandlee EBS from Certified Electric Bike Specialists, @Larry Pizzi from Currie Technologies and Len, Mark and Henry from @Crazy Lenny Ebikes. I really value open communication and transparency so here's what I heard...

Nobody wants to see a race to the bottom regarding price because if shops and manufacturers cannot make a profit they will leave the space and that means that even great ebikes will be left without support and users will have nowhere to take test rides. On the flip side, nobody wants to screw customers and almost every local electric bike shop I've spoken with has some sort of promotional tool or incentive to land sales. The big challenge to an online space like this forum is that every sale gets compounded and in some cases MAP (minimum advertised price) gets violated publicly which can get a shop in trouble and set a dangerous precedent. @Gus mentioned that his CD store had to "adapt" to Best Buy and Walmart (not sure it if survived?) and now we see Amazon challenging Best Buy and others... We see Tesla challenging the way cars are sold and people completely abandoning cars for electric bicycles! Oh what a world ;) I've worked for several "disruptive" companies myself including Google and what I've noticed is that a balance of rule following combined with efficient distribution, communication, support, customization etc. can be a win for everyone. Maybe Apple has its own stores but they also have kiosks in Best Buy because people want to touch and try their devices. Maybe people are comfortable buying shoes from Zappos but they still comply with MAP and shoes don't require the kind of ongoing maintenance that an electric bike does. I think this is why Tesla has storefronts and why having physical dealers in the bicycle space (electric or otherwise) is so important, even more important than a few more ultra-low sales. Let the people who want to spend less on electric bikes buy a perfectly good eZip Trailz for $600 or convert a garage sale bike for $400 with a Hill Topper. I think it's bullshit when someone says "people can't afford ebikes" they just want a fancier bike without paying for it. Anyway, here's an interesting read from a site that sometimes sells below MAP but does it in a way that doesn't break the rules or spam users. Furthermore, if someone wants to violate MAP on their own site that's fine with me but it may ruin their manufacturer relationship. I am not okay with it happening here "just because this is a forum" and more open source. I offer a lot of freedom here but that comes with a responsibility to behave. I take pride in the quality of this space and even though I do not buy from manufactures, I realize that without them I would lose sponsorships (which let me do reviews and host this forum) and we would all lose choice and innovation which takes investment cultivated through profit. Profit is not evil but lying to old ladies about car troubles so they will pay more is... unless you offer to sell them an ebike, or maybe an e-trike?

Maybe it makes sense for a last season demo model to sell for less and perhaps it's okay to offer a slight discount to members of AAA or to Veterans or Seniors etc. and perhaps sweetening the deal with a free bag, ongoing tuneups or some lights is okay but it should be done in a professional and socially acceptable way. In our context that means keeping ads to a specific area of this forum and using social common sense to avoid "overdoing it" with loud fonts, excessive posting etc. In fact, I think most of it should be private. Stuff that is public should be about how cool the new bikes are, how they just got some in and how they are having a demo event that people can actually attend like the Beaverdam Blitz that Chandlee put on.

My hope is that someday this Deals section, or perhaps an updated name changed "For Sale" section, will serve as a place for ebike owners to sell their old gear and part-out broken bikes so that we can keep more ebikes going. Shipping a motor, display panel or controller across the country makes a lot of sense and could really help someone but most working used ebikes will probably still sell on Craigslist because they're so large and expensive to ship. In today's market there are shops that can sell online successfully because independent electric bike dealers are few and far between in rural areas and there are some brands like Grace that have not saturated many dealers. If someone like Chris, Chandlee or Len spend their time on this forum helping people to learn about ebikes and in the process make a few sales (and communicate their prices appropriately and privately) then we can avoid the MAP issue and everyone can win. More bikes sold, less spam, no race to the bottom.

I don't want this space to turn into a junk show, I also want to avoid ruffling feathers or harming potential full price deals from going through for people who are willing to pay the extra bucks. That money is not wasted at all in my view if it keeps a shop afloat, pays the salaries of bike mechanics, covers insurance and builds equity for next gen models. The very first electric bike I purchased was at full MSRP and I did that to support my local shop Rocket Electrics in Austin Texas as I appreciated the time and service they were providing. I sacrificed some savings to build a relationship and an industry I believe in and I do not regret that at all. This is a business and profit stimulates growth. So to be clear, I brought this entire topic up not because manufacturers or dealers prompted it but because I could sense some uneasiness. Again, I'm currently making no money from this forum and my hope is that it gives actual owners a safe space to voice their true experiences with ebikes and to share their acquired expertise. As you know, my reviews are limited, I don't own the bikes I film... you guys do, and that brings so much value to other people. Pay it fucking forward bro! ...and sis (that's the unofficial slogan of the EBR Forum).

So here's my proposal. What if I rename this section "For Sale" (which tones down the competitive "Deals" language) and post a basic "guidelines" thread at the top that requests that current model year bikes not be posted below MAP and that the space is meant primarily for end users to sell used components etc. Dealers can still interact directly with users and make whatever deals they feel comfortable with privately but they may not spam users and if I receive multiple complaints, a dealer will be suspended from posting here or visiting the forums all together if necessary. I could actually use your help drafting the "rules" section since this is your space... In addition to the rules, you can flag people as spam and I will follow up and you can certainly use the "ignore" feature as @86 and still kicking pointed out but ideally people won't be so tacky that it's required. Here's an example of what I think a good shop interaction looks like on EBR and it didn't even happen in the Deals section! Specific dollar figures were not mentioned and there wasn't even a "we offer prices even lower than Walmart!!1" tagline attached... This was helpful, genuine and likely attracted business inquiries then and now.
DashRiprock
2 years ago
lilrich1959
I sure hope so iain. It wasn't that long ago that I can't remember my frustration trying to realize my dream of an electric bike and the sacrifices along the way trying to scrape up the $1500 it cost me to put together my first conversion. But boy was it worth it as I braved the below zero weather for my first test ride and felt that thrill and sense of freedom.

Being older and in poor physical health I thought I had left those days of high performance far back in my youth. I guess that is something you don't hear discussed too often in this forum, it's understood but goes unsaid. Kind of like the kinship motorcyclists feel knowing you share a common experience. I got a sense of it just the other day when sitting around enjoying a few adult beverages with some recent converts/former skeptics (you spent how much on an electric bike?). We were discussing various experiences such as how we had to be cautious on the bike paths because we are so stealthy that we even startle the dogs being walked. But most of all I noticed the undertone of passion for the experience bordering on an addiction we all had.

As an employee at an ebike shop I see it on the faces of my customers on their first ride, that broad smile and expressions such as amazing and wow. My favorite is our business neighbor who said in her broken English " I feel like I have superman's legs". But I also see the disappointment and frustration from those who come for a test ride and feel that thrill but leave because it is out of their financial reach. I so much hope that you are right iain the world really needs an affordable ebike. Something of good quality, reliable and within the reach of the people that really need it. The ones who don't ride a bike for the joy or recreation but because it is all they can afford. I sure hope this industry does not go the way of automobiles which for new ones are ridiculously beyond my means and most of the people I associate with too. I've had to make sacrifices to feed my addiction and add bikes to my stable and I've helped out some friends who I know who needed it by piecing together some used machines who had seen better days.

I think the industry as a whole could use a model T. There are some great affordable ebikes out there like the eZip Trailz as well as inexpensive kits but it would be great if they were lighter or just a little higher quality. I don't think ebikes are the answer for everyone but I really enjoy them.
Wow...it would be hard to find somebody (let alone somebody working for a distributor at the point of purchase) that could claim the above AND be involved/experienced in the technology for that long. Thank you for taking the time to contribute to this board.

I agree wholeheartedly with technology (finally) breaking down the old classification descriptions involving transportation and regulatory agencies following.
Adam Greenlee
2 months ago
3:01 rip ears
ScottyKeyboardTV
1 month ago

rip ears indeed

Tedddy Wen
4 months ago
it's a great bike,I have put alot of miles on mine,rebuilt the battery pack twice, has enough power to go up a decent hill without pedaling ( Appalachia), yes,it's heavy,and I wish I could find( not sure how to put this) a motorcycle,moped,made for "heavy operations" tire because of the double sided chain system, make it a bleeping nightmare to change the rear tube or tire if needed,at least for me,I take it to a shop for that.but overall, the 17mph is livable, the quality was good, and to top it off,I got it from Wal Mart, but now it seems it's been discontinued, but Currie still has all parts available, with an understanding staff to get what you need.
Mike Dempsey
4 months ago
It gets you from point A to point B...has good features and you can buy 4-5 of these for the price of the bikesnob pricybikes.....its a good option for some people
Greg Williams
5 months ago
How to check Brush speed control with test Zip elec trouble with transport on bicy rack damage wire ,fix two wire still not working check battery are ok
Hotspeedvideo
10 months ago
Is the motor on this bike an example of unsprung weight or do you feel it because of its location?
Kelvin Passwaters
1 year ago
What is the top speed and what is the mileage on this bike
VideoNOLA
2 years ago
Really love your excellent reviews .... but, dude, BUY A WIND SCREEN for your microphone!
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Ha! Yeah, thanks for the feedback... All of the newer reviews are being
shot with a better camera and wind screen. This one was taken over a year
ago and I was still using my smart phone to save money :)

Chuck Wuthrich
2 years ago
I see the rack that holds the battery and the motor have a slide. Will this rack work with a Topeak MTX trunk bag? 
EPICFINALBOSS
2 years ago
It's great for popping wheelies
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Ha! Yeah... though maintaining them is another story :P

Xellos14
2 years ago
I seriously lucked out when I got mine. The exact same make and model, but walmart in town was selling it for 350 since no one wanted to buy it for so long. They put it on overstock sale, and I had never even heard of the bike before but knew it could be a good investment. I'd still whole-heartedly recommend this bike though at the standard price, it's saved me on gas for town use enough for the entry price three times over. Great review, and I plan to upgrade mine with lithium battery packs after while.
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Awesome! That's a sweet deal and it's great to hear how useful the bike has
been. Sure, it's a bit more basic than some but Currie offers decent
support and the replacement batteries are easy to find on Amazon, even for
the older models with SLA packs: http://amzn.to/1obATmg

sergeymakeev
2 years ago
Aww...you're such a cutie)) So handsome!
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Ha! Thanks... If you know any smart, kind, healthy ~30 year old ladies
around Colorado let me know ;)

Frank Blackcrow
2 years ago
I was just watching a man on you tube who says he had to change the batteries, he said it was cheap to do as the lead acids are cheaper, Which makes me ask the question about the lithium battery that can "replace the lead acid", how much more do they cost over the lead acid and do you think they would be worth it if people like that man says, only got a year out of the lead acid, maybe they were run flat,, as lead acids don't like to be run flat.
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Hi Frank, you're correct about completely discharging Lead Acid (and even
Lithium), I believe that can be hard on the battery. It's why cell phones
give you a warning when they get low and electric cars have a battery
management system to keep the charge sort of in the middle between 50% and
90%. Ideally you want to store batteries around room temperature and always
keep them full... I charge after each ride and top my packs off ever couple
of months if I haven't used them. Regarding replacements... Sounds like the
guy got a pretty good run out of his sealed lead acid pack, they usually
offer 500 to 700 cycles and no more than a couple of years even if don't
use them much. Lithium by comparison will last several years and get more
like 1,000 to 1,500 cycles. It's also much lighter and tends to have more
energy for the same size but is more expensive. You can compare the two on
Amazon with SLA for ~$120 http://amzn.to/1lCfjLp and Lithium for ~$400
http://amzn.to/1pKB6j6 or a large Lithium pack for ~$520
http://amzn.to/VwoPpH

DWH BOI
2 years ago
I really enjoy your reviews !! That said you did this review in the old Brentwood neighborhood in Austin Tx. It was awsome sauce to see the familiar houses and then see the Northwest Center sign...you had to be going to Alien Cycles<3!! So here is my question,some of your videos are shot in Austin but I don't believe all of them are so where do you shoot them if not Austin...?
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+DWH BOI Happy to help, good luck choosing one! I think Walmart mostly
sells the eZip Trailz online and can have it shipped to store. It's also on
Amazon but if you can spend a bit more there are some other really great
ebikes out there.

DWH BOI
2 years ago

+Electric Bike Review Howdy from Austin Tx!! First off I was doing my
research and I must say I was impressed with the eZip E3 Path and I bet the
Path+ will impress me more as the bike for this fair city..The only other
bike is the Motiv Spark,it would be the perfect Seawall Cruiser for my
hometown of Galveston...decisions, decisions!! I noticed Wally does not
carry the eZip Trailz here but thanks to your affordable list it really
aimed me to the different types of bikes I would like without the starter
bike...thanks again!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+DWH BOI Thanks! Doing my best here. As far as a mid level first electric
bike goes (trying to keep it affordable) I like the Volton Alation 500 but
that's because I like mountain bike style with suspension. I you're more
into cruisers the e-Joe Anggun is nice and there s whole list of other
"affordable" ebikes in this section of the site:
http://electricbikereview.com/tag/affordable/ if you share more about your
price range, size and intended use I could maybe narrow in a bit more :)

DWH BOI
2 years ago

Thanks for the response! I live just a few blocks from Alien Scooters in
this fair city of Austin and have met Ann,she is such a nice lady! I will
certainly be buying an ebike there sooner or later but I am deciding on
either buying a Wally eZip Trailz as a starter ebike first or go full-on.
Any suggestions for a first ebike,or best all round ebike for that matter?
This may take a while anyway since I need a hip(s) operation first. I enjoy
the scenic background as well as the informative narration of your videos
on the kinds of ebikes the rest of us 99%er's would be able to buy and use
as realistic,health conscience, ecological commuters... Electric Bike
Reviews!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Great question, you're correct! I love Alien Scooters and Ann is such a
sweet owner there (I'm sure you've met her right?) to get reviews I travel
all over the US and Canada. When I began the site two years ago I would
just drive around Texas on the weekend and visit bike shops but last year I
left my full time job (in part to spend time with my family, Grandpa has
cancer) and have now been doing EBR full time. I bought a car and have
taken road trips all around to actually visit manufacturers, just got back
from a two month trip along the East Coast. Do you live in Austin?
Beautiful city :)

4TheJoe
2 years ago
so should i avoid rain considering its electric? dumb question but yeah lol
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+4TheJoe Yeah, that's one way to deal with it. Most higher quality bikes
are tested against rain and light water so they should hold up but using a
plastic bag to cover the sensitive parts on the LCD controller and twist
throttle may be a good idea. I'm not an engineer and have only limited
experience with rain riding but I hope this advice helps!

4TheJoe
2 years ago

+Electric Bike Review but if i wanna ride it and it happens to be raining,
just use a plastic bag?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+4TheJoe To cover the twist throttle, display or battery you could just use
a plastic grocery sack or those ones they give you with food at Taco Bell
etc. but if you want a larger cover to completely protect the bike Amazon
has some good ones that are pretty inexpensive like this
http://amzn.to/1jyfw17

4TheJoe
2 years ago

Gotcha. Thanks bro and where would I get a plastic sac? N also what's the
ride time on this when it's charged

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Good question, with a cheaper bike like this I'd definitely be careful
about rain and water. The external motor and second chain mean that
sensitive bits are exposed. The twist throttle can be vulnerable as well as
the control panel. Consider using a plastic sack to cover those bits if it
is raining and ride safe :)

rod garrett
3 years ago
Some people think you have A.D.D. oh look, a kitty.
rod garrett
3 years ago

That's pretty nice.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+rod garrett Wow! That's like an electric motorcycle... I'm sure you've
heard of the ZERO? That bike doesn't have pedals, it's truly a motorcycle.
You could check out the Stealth electric bikes, the Hurricane can have
pedals or pegs and the Fighter is my favorite but it costs quite a bit:
http://electricbikereview.com/stealth/fighter/

rod garrett
3 years ago

I'm looking around for one that will go up to 50mph.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+rod garrett Thanks! I like to keep it fun and go with a stream of
consciousness review style. Are you thinking about an electric bike?!

rod garrett
3 years ago

Just messing with you. Actually, I thought you were adorable, and made an
excellent vid.

Habib Resek
3 years ago
We biked around Mission Bay in San Diego with my wife as my passenger (our combined weight is 260 lbs) on the back (just put some thick towel for cushion) and we were able to bike around for about 20 miles. I used the motor only when its uphill. It was fun and we love it.. I bought it from here: http://astore.amazon.com/bestbuy026-20/detail/B004QHG17O Amazon offer a great price.
Michelle Salemka
3 years ago
I was already pretty sold on this bike, but your review (and especially the kitty :D) sealed the deal for me. Thanks man :)
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Ha! That's awesome :D Cats love electric bikes you know, I'm constantly
having to edit and crop them out of scenes and I've actually started
carrying around MeowMix as a bargaining tool. Sometimes when entire prides
come around I'll bust out the cat nip but it's a slippery slope with that
stuff...

Hope the Trailz works great for you! Feel free to share your thoughts,
questions etc. back in the forums. Another woman was asking about the
Trailz recently and a few people chimed in to share ideas
http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/ezip/

Mitch Vigil
3 years ago
If you have a modicum of ability, you can wire up your own lithium battery pack. It is not a big deal.
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+thesashworth You're right on... I do try to include as many details as
possible but still keep it short (and go deeper back at the site).
Sometimes I have limited time with the bikes and did try a scale a few
times but it was tough to weigh and film at the same time and my hands got
full. Lately I've been doing better video and trying to improve audio. Will
continue to get better ;)

thesashworth
3 years ago

+Electric Bike Review Bro you do some good informative reviews. However
you could make them even better by including the bike weight, top speed (if
you have a smart phone you can buy an app with gsp or 1 of those litlle
digital speedo's are'nt expensive & distance on the battery (apologies in
advance if you have this info on your site where you do advise to go for
more info - I realise this is the brief/shortened review).

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Cool, I've definitely wondered what would happen if/when the battery
expires and you want to replace it but maybe the company doesn't offer them
anymore (which is not the case here, I think Currie has them and you can
also find on Amazon pretty cheap http://amzn.to/1eUz5hU)

Gilbert Arciniega
3 years ago
I am planning to buy one of those kits. They also sell these as kits instead of the whole bike for $279 on Ebay including the economy battery. I'm still researching which kit is better for me. The Hill topper or this Currie. The Currie kit is much cheaper and provides 15 miles, but I can see that it's heavier and more noisy and has the cheaper battery. While the comparable Hilltopper with the 20 mile lithium battery (the better one) is about $800. But it's much lighter weight, quieter, and looks more professional. FOR ME, I have to decide what's right for me. I have cheap Schwinn mountain bike from Walmart. I would plan on using my bike to commute to work and back. Say 10 miles each way, but really though, it probably would be more for local transpo and play. I don't think looks is important to me. But range is more important than power IMO. What do you think?
Gilbert Arciniega
3 years ago

When you say "pre built" kits. Are you talking about the whole bike with
the kit "pre installed"? That eZip commuter I saw at Walmart.com for $799
for the whole bike. I saw that the basic difference from the $444 one is
the lithium battery.

Gilbert Arciniega
3 years ago

Thanks for your replies!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hi Gilbert, I responded to your other comment on the Hill Topper review to
explain motor power and battery size and range. For me it is worth buying a
pre-built kit vs. trying to make my own because I appreciate the warranty
and help from a shop. The eZip Trailz is one of the lowest end electric
bikes available. It is heavy, rear heavy and lower quality in my opinion. I
recommend checking out the eZip Trailz Commuter if you're very tight on
money as it will offer lighter battery and is a bit higher quality but
still very affordable. Also, there are some ProdecoTech bikes that are okay
but I don't like their designs very much.

Taggerung
3 years ago
Just a quick question...I've seen many video reviews from "Electric Bike Review", and I noticed there seems to be a recurring problem (sometimes severe) with the wind noise all but muting you out, in parts. (as was the case in this video) It's very informative, but when the wind gets loud, I can't hear you. Can you do something (put a baffle over your mic, etc.) to reduce/stop this? 
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Taggerung That's a great question... I've seen a bunch of mounting devices
for Android and iOS phones that run Google Maps and I've also seen Garmin
hiking GPS units but nothing bike specific. I'll keep my eyes out but if
you want to get more feedback make a quick post over at the Community forum
http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/accessories/ and I'll post
anything I come across there :)

Taggerung
3 years ago

Thank you for the reply. I know you can't help what nature decides to do
(I.E. rain, wind, etc.) but I'm glad you still do your reviews. Keep it up!
The info you provide certainly helps!
(P.S. Do you think [or know of] any GPS units that are made for, or fit on
a bike? With more power, and more time to ride, I'm certain I'll go
further, and do'nt want to get myself lost)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Thanks for taking the time to comment and share this concern! You are
definitely not alone in bringing it up but I appreciate the way you did it.
I've been working on a bunch of different solutions and even tried an
external mic but that was worse (believe it or not). I'm currently trying
to design my own mic that's still portable for test rides and will use fur
to keep wind noise down. Sorry for the annoyance it causes and thanks for
the support! Unfortunately in the mean time there will still be some windy
videos :\