Felt Tote'M Review

Felt Totem Electric Bike Review
Felt Totem
Felt Totem Chainring Guide Pulley Wheel Bottle Cage Bosses
Felt Totem Removable Battery Mid Motor 250 Watts
Felt Totem Ergonomic Rubber Grips Lcd Display Panel Removable
Felt Totem Integrated Led Headlight Rigid Fork
Felt Totem Included Pannier Bags
Felt Totem Lithium Battery Pack By Shimano
Felt Totem Electric Bikec Charger By Shimano Steps
Felt Totem Electric Bike Review
Felt Totem
Felt Totem Chainring Guide Pulley Wheel Bottle Cage Bosses
Felt Totem Removable Battery Mid Motor 250 Watts
Felt Totem Ergonomic Rubber Grips Lcd Display Panel Removable
Felt Totem Integrated Led Headlight Rigid Fork
Felt Totem Included Pannier Bags
Felt Totem Lithium Battery Pack By Shimano
Felt Totem Electric Bikec Charger By Shimano Steps


  • A light-duty electric cargo bike that can carry a single child seat on the long rear rack, available in three frame sizes, nimble handling, optional front rack
  • Not as heavy as other cargo e-bikes in part because of the Shimano drive system, it's less powerful but also quieter than some competing motors
  • Excellent utility and safety thanks to fenders, a rack system that can be expanded through accessories, quality integrated lights, and a pair of matching pannier bags
  • The Shimano STePs motor used here isn't as powerful as the Bosch motor (seen on the BRÜHAUL) but it doesn't cost as much, Removable display and battery

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers








Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cargo

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


Lifetime Frame, 2 Year Drivetrain and Electronics


United States, Canada

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

58.5 lbs (26.53 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.9 lbs (2.67 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.05 lbs (3.19 kg)

Frame Material:

Double Butted 6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)18 in (45.72 cm)21 in (53.34 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Seat Tube Length: 400 mm Small, 450 mm Medium, 480 mm Large, Dimensions: 72" Length, 28" Handlebar Width, 14.5" Front Rack Width, 6" Rear Rack Width 28" Stand Over Height

Frame Types:

Cargo, High-Step

Frame Colors:

Metallic Root Beer, Reflective Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 100 mm Hub Length, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

142 mm Hub Length, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Front Rack Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore RD-M615-SGS Long Cage Derailleur with Shadow Plus Clutch, Shimano CS-HG 50 11-36 Tooth Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore SL-M610 Rapid Fire on Right


Shimano Steps eBike-Specific, 175 mm Length, 44T Chainring with Plastic Guide


VP-615 Felt Design, Low Profile Body, Cr-Mo Axle, Plastic Platform with Rubber Tread


FSA No.57E Tapered 1.125" to 1.5" Aheadset, Semi-Integrated Aheadset: ACB Water Sealed Bearings, Felt Tornado Aluminum Top Cap, Custom 1 x 15 mm Curved, 3 x 5 mm & 2 x 10 mm Straight Washers


Felt Branded, Adjustable Angle, 3D-Forged Aluminum, 4-Bolt Handlebar Clamp, 1-1/8" Threadless: Ø31.8 mm Handlebar Clamp Diameter, 35° Rise, Black Cr-Mo Hardware Length: 80 mm


Felt Branded, Double Butted Aluminum Trekking Style Bar: 30° Sweep, 17 mm Rise 680 mm Length

Brake Details:

Shimano BR-M355 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front and 160 mm Rear Rotors, Shimano Levers with Adjustable Reach


Felt Branded Ergo Grip, Dual-Density Kraton Rubber, Wing-Style


Felt Tote

Seat Post:

6061 Aluminum

Seat Post Length:

400 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm


Alexrims SUPRA BH Double-Wall Aluminum, Reinforcement Eyelets, 36 Hole


Stainless Steel, 15G Front, 14G Rear, Adjustable Nipples, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Crazy Bob, 24" x 2.35"

Wheel Sizes:

24 in (60.96cm)

Tire Details:

KevlarGuard, 30-65 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Felt Tote’m Style Fenders with Stainless Hardware, Integrated B&M Lumotec IQ Eyc DC 45Lux Headlight, Integrated B&M Toplight View DC Rearlight with Linetec, Removable Rear Rack Felt 6061 Aluminum Tube Style Cargo Carrier (Custom Integrated for Frame Fit, Bamboo Rack Top Plate), Scissoring Double Leg Kickstand, Chain-Lift Pulley Wheel, Flick Bell on Left, Optional Bolt-On Front Rack


Locking Removable Downtube Mounted Battery Pack, Portable Charger with Plug Adapter

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Shimano STePs

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Shimano STePS, Down Tube, BT-E6010

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Display Type:

Shimano STePs Small Model SC-E6000, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Monochrome, Backlit LCD


Speed (mph or km/h), Average Speed, Max Speed, Odometer, Trip Meter, Range, Battery Level Percentage, Assist Mode (Off, Eco, Normal, High), Time Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad near Left Grip (Hold Up and Down for Settings Menu)

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence, and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 70% 30 Nm, Normal 150% 40 Nm, High 230% 50 Nm)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The following review was created by Mikey from Blue Monkey Bicycles in Salt Lake City Utah. Normally, Court Rye does the reviews here (he’s the guy that owns and created EBR) but Mikey is a friend, he’s knowledgeable, and he had the bike on hand! Mikey was paid $200 by ElectricBikeReview.com for his efforts filming, photographing and writing this review. What follows are his words, with some amendments by Court. My own take, having tested and reviewed competing models and other electric bike products that use the Shimano STePs drive system is that this is a truly unique cargo style electric bike due it its relative light weight and low price. It’s one of the only electric cargo bikes that I know of which is sold in multiple frame sizes for improved rider fit. Felt is a recognized and trusted name in the bicycle and ebike space and they opted for name brand components here such as the 10-speed Shimano Deore drivetrain with Shadow Plus clutch. You get plenty of gear range for moving heavy loads, enough torque to climb effectively and a removable battery and display panel to lighten the bike for transport or keep the sensitive bits safe at the rack. I love how intuitive and adjustable the Shimano STePs display panel is, even though they’re using the smaller non-transflective model here (maybe some of the newer models will have the upgraded taller display unit). You can turn off the beeps, adjust the font from black to white, and control the lights with this interface. And I appreciate the sturdy double-leg kickstand for loading. Both wheels have quick release for easy maintenance and even though there’s no suspension here, the ride looks comfortable thanks to large Schwalbe tires. This e-bike compares well to the Yuba elBoda Boda in terms of size and application.

The Tote’M is one of two electric cargo bikes from Felt Electric. Both have a very similar design, though the Tote’M is scaled down in size, price, and especially length. The Tote’M is very light weight, even for being a cargo bike it feels very nimble and easy to use at just under 59 lbs. The longer cargo rack design allows you to transport two full side bags and a child seat simultaneously. If you need even more hauling capacity, Felt does sell a matching front rack accessory but it was out of stock at the time of this review. The large balloon style tires improve comfort and you get ergonomic grips as well as an adjustable angle stem but the frame and fork are rigid. Consider swapping the seat post with a suspension post if you want an even more cush ride. If by chance your Tote’M (or one in store you’re buying) doesn’t have a front cargo rack, contact your local dealer to supply that part, because apparently it does come included with the bike.

The Shimano mid-drive unit is a good choice for keeping the cost down and it competes very well with other mid-drives in the market. The top speed feels a bit limited even though it’s stated as 29 mph, you’ve really got to push it to reach 20. Given that this system is in use for a cargo bike (perhaps with children), I think that the slightly lower top cruising speed of 18.5 mph to 19 mph is just fine and it operates fairly quietly. The 36v 11.6 Ah battery pack provides really good range. Blue Monkey Bicycles range tested both the Bosch system (as found on the BruHaul) and the Shimano system (as found on the Tote’M) and scored 48.5 miles and 47.4 miles of range respectively. The refinement of the Shimano system (such as pedal sensing shifting technology) isn’t quite as nice as the Bosch system, and Bosch is constantly sending software updates to dealers, whereas Shimano has yet to provide that kind of support network across the country. Nonetheless, the Shimano system is pretty peppy, and it’s a great fit for light duty cargo bikes like the Tote’M.

KevlarGaurd tires, fenders, lights, front and rear cargo rack and the pannier bags with rain covers to boot make a really nice complete package for someone wanting to get an electric cargo bike that is almost fully loaded. The Tote’M includes one bamboo plate for the rear cargo deck, rather than two plates on the BruHaul. Two bamboo plates simply wouldn’t fit on the smaller deck, so if you’d like to have a full wood deck, you’ll have to find a custom shop that can help out. The matte metallic finish Root Beer color is a very good look for the bike. For being an uncommon size of bicycle (not quite full cargo, not quite conventional size), the color scheme and paint really help the Tote’M to blend in as a good looking bicycle all-around.


  • Quick release front and rear means wheel and drivetrain maintenance is easier and more familiar (no extra electronics or wires to deal with), also makes it easier to transport the bike, the battery is also removable
  • Excellent weight distribution front to rear, the motor and battery are mounted low and center for improved handling
  • I love that Felt included a pair of bosses along the rear support tube for use with a bottle cage, folding lock, mini pump or other accessory.. there wasn’t room in the main triangle where the battery is mounted but they figured out another way to make it work
  • The wheelset matches so you get two 24″ wheels vs. a smaller 20″ wheel at the back, this makes replacing tires and tubes less expensive but it also improves comfort because larger wheels roll smoother over bumps and cracks, one other advantage is that the running boards aren’t so low and may not collide with curbs or other obstacles as easily
  • High quality Schwalbe Crazy Bob tires offer KevlarGuard to reduce punctures, because they are fatter than traditional tires they also improve comfort and can be ridden at lower PSI, I believe the labeling is reflective for added side visibility
  • Both the front and rear LED lights are wired in to run off the main battery and can be switched on and off by holding the Menu button on the Shimano keypad, you don’t have to worry about them being left on or running out of batteries the way you might with independent lights
  • Felt is a mainstream performance brand known for high quality bicycle builds, the put a strong emphasis on frame and component quality
  • Purpose-built frame (CNC Aluminum Ferrules) conceals most wires for shifting, braking and motor systems on the bike
  • Solid two year warranty on drivetrain, components and electronics with a lifetime warranty on the frame and a good reputation from Felt
  • Includes a well positioned double-legged kickstand so you can load it up more easily than a single-side leaning kickstand, note the chain tensioner pulley wheel which elevates the chain and protects it
  • The Felt Totem comes stock with two Felt logo embroidered pannier bags, they offer lots of hauling capacity and match the frame and black accessoriesbeautifully
  • Front Porteur rack (on back-order as of July 2017) is great to carry quick access items such as backpacks, purse, etc.
  • The rear rack has a square window that is Yepp! child seat compatible, it works easily and there is also a bamboo deck for putting a trunk bag on as well
  • I like how the frame, fork, and saddle accents all match, the bike is very stylish and purpose built vs. slapped together from different basic accessories
  • The bike feels nimble to steer, it has a shorter wheelbase which allows it to corner more quickly and ride naturally, it might fit into some garages and sheds easier given the shorter overall length


  • One trade-off for having two 24″ wheels vs. 20″ wheels is that the larger rear wheel forces the rack to be higher which decreases stability and means you have to lift gear higher to mount it
  • No throttle mode available here, this is a pedalec only and requires rider pedaling input to activate the motor, if you’re trying to start with a lower gear (forgot to shift down before stopping) this can take longer and require more effort so shift consciously
  • The rubberized plastic pedals can slip when wet and the ergonomic grips don’t have lockers so they can spin a bit easier, consider something like this which is wider and has sturdy metal nubs for improved traction
  • Light Duty cargo bike means carrying two kid seats, or copious amounts of cargo isn’t as much of a possibility. tor large loads try the Felt BruHaul, Pedego Stretch, Yuba Spicy Curry, X-tra Cycle, or Urban Arrow
  • The battery charger uses a dongle to connect to the battery when it’s off the bike vs. when it’s on the bike,
    this little plastic piece could be easy to lose, there’s no leash to keep track of it but it does click in to the end of the plug
  • Most full-sized cargo bikes have running boards at the back rack which can support longer panniers and be used to put your feet on (for a second medium-sized passenger) but the Tote’m does not have this


More Felt Reviews

Felt Sport E 85-HP Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A lightweight, high speed, sleek commuter style electric bike with completely rigid frame and fork, narrow tires coast efficiently, quick release on both wheels. Sturdy Aluminum alloy fenders and chain cover keep you clean and dry, integrated lights help…...

Felt Brühaul Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A surprisingly light weight electric cargo bike with an abundance of rack and tie down mounting points for use with a myriad of accessories. Powered by the award winning Bosch Centerdrive motor system that offers high torque output, shift…...

Felt VERZAe Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Deep step-thru frame design for easy mounting, available in four sizes for excellent fit, comfortable ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout. Great utility features including quick release front and rear, a welded rear carry rack (capable…...


  • MSRP: $5,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stylish fat tire electric bike with unique camouflage paint job, stylish Old Man Mountain cargo racks and integrated Motion Stella 300 headlight. Offers 11 speeds with a quality SRAM X1 drivetrain, second generation electronic systems by Bosch...

Felt DUALe Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Performance level full suspension electric bike with 650b wheelset and Bosch mid-drive motor. Exceptionally light weight ~44 lbs and stiff, available in four frame sizes for a perfect…...

Felt NINEe Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Ultra light-weight hardtail electric cross-country / mountain bike with efficient 29er wheels and premium components. Capable off-road or as a rugged commuter, seat stay bosses for adding a rear rack,…...

Felt SPORTe Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Step-thru version of the standard SPORTe available in two smaller sizes, delivering efficiency, stiffness and quality components for people who enjoy city and road style riding. Plenty of threaded eyelets for adding fenders or a rear carry rack, Felt offers these…...

Felt SPORTe Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Light, stiff and fast with efficient frame, wheel and tire design that strike a balance between city and road performance. Plenty of bosses for adding your own fenders or a rear carry rack, Felt offers…...

Felt LEBOWSKe Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium fat bike with efficient Bosch Centerdrive motor offering improved balance and torque in dirt, sand and snow. Light weight, high performance 6061 aluminum frame with carbon fiber bars and aero fork, available…...

Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

1 day ago

@whannah, I would suggest a cargo ebike as a car replacement. It allows you to carry a lot of stuff. You may take your wife along for the ride as a passenger, and in the future, your wife and your new baby, depending on the cargo bike you choose. There are many options: https://www.ternbicycles.com/us/bikes/471/gsd, http://yubabikes.com/cargobikestore/spicy-curry-bosch, https://www.xtracycle.com/choosing-an-xtracycle/, https://electricbikereview.com/felt/bruhaul/, https://electricbikereview.com/rad-power-bikes/2015-radwagon/, etc.

2 days ago

I have it exactly level. I think if you need to angle your seat, you have a problem: either you're sitting too close or too far from the handlebars. It should in most cases be level.

As far as comfort, it's not 100%... I ride with my back straight, and because of that, after a few hours in the saddle, the backside starts to hurt. I can't quite put my finger on what's wrong, maybe I need to lower the seat (requires sawing off a part of the seatpost)

3 days ago

The CCS was high on my contender list, but without being able to test ride one first, I felt safer buying the ST1 at a great deal vs standard price (plus CA sales tax) on the CCS.
Throttle backup was also a priority for me, and I was okay with the 'boost' button/mode that the ST1 has. It works fine, although the CCS system sounds better for more often/longer throttle use.
Enjoy and let us know how it works out for you!

4 days ago

After almost 2 months I have mixed feeling about Serfas saddle. Sometimes it feels very comfortable sometimes it feels the angle needs adjustment and I feel slight chafing. Though I almost never felt any fatigue or soreness after the ride.

What is the angle you use your saddle (flat, tilt downwards, upwards )?

elliot friedman
4 days ago

My write-in vote is for my 2017 Felt SportE 85 HP. My quest was for an ebike that didn't look like an ebike. I test drove most manufacturers available in stores around NYC that offered many to choose from and I kept coming came back to the very first one I drove. I think because it was a simple, unobtrusive, a bosch mid-drive and light weight which was important for me as I am carrying up my front stairs into my home. Up to now, I've been keeping it in my formal living room which I'm amazed that I've been able to get away with so far. Easy to put on my trunk car rack along with a companion without worrying about the weight. I still smile every time I put my helmet on in preparation for a ride. For myself at 67, it's a new lease on life.

7 days ago

I have had my CCS for about 10 days, but hadn't had a chance to take it out for a "real" ride until yesterday. I had ridden it up and down our street with no power a few times, and around the block with power once or twice, but hadn't had a chance to spend more than a few minutes on it, or put it through its paces. Yesterday I finally got the chance to spend a couple of hours on it, take it out in the bike lane on the "big road" and ride it up some hills. I have not ridden an ebike before, and I expected it to be fun, but it was really, really, super-extra-mega FUN!! I was like a hamster on a wheel, I almost couldn't ride home and put it away, it was so much fun! I actually did ride home once, and had to go ride some more (those chores could wait)! I LOVE this thing!
In eco mode, it reminds me a little bit of my old steel-framed hardtail ParkPre MTB, but it rolls faster and smoother with the larger wheels and front shock. Of course, the old steel hardtail doesn't have magical hill-flattening capabilities, either! It feels much more stable at higher speeds (20+) than any of my other bikes (on the pavement) do, too. On my 7-speed city bike I run out of gears on the little downhills around here at about 18-20 mph, which is fine, because I really don't want to go faster on that bike, it has no shock, and the tires are much skinnier than the CCS. Yesterday I noticed that when I would have run out of gears completely on the city bike, the CCS was still in gear and being propelled by my pedaling. At that point, I think I was going about 28-29mph, and it felt very stable (on smooth pavement).
Riding up the little hills around here was great fun, with the four choices of pedal assist it was easy to choose between a ride that required a little less effort as my traditional bike, but moved a little faster, to flying up the hill at around 20+ with just a little more effort. When I used to ride mtbs with a group of friends, sometimes we would put a hand on another's back or seat and give a push- which was fun, you could definitely feel a boost, but even the strongest people could only give a push for a little ways. S mode must be what it is like to be pushed by 4 or 5 of the strongest at once, and no one gets tired, haha!
I found that the throttle was handy to have a couple of times to get around parked cars and out of the way of traffic quickly.
I am finding this bike to be surprisingly comfortable just the way that it came from the factory. I am around 5'10" and have the large frame size. I usually wear cycling shorts with my mtbs and citybike, but I don't feel that I need them with this bike so far. In the future, I do plan to try a Kinekt (Bodyfloat) seatpost with this bike, and see if it allows me to skip the shorts and still stay comfortable for longer rides. I will probably also switch out the stem and bars for shorter cockpit and more upright riding style. Also, If the computer will mount in the low part of the bars, I can flip the bike over to do work on it without having to move the computer.
Yep, I'm hooked. Love it so far. I would have been out riding it today, but it just wouldn't stop raining long enough. I don't remember the last tme rainy weather made me this grumpy.

1 week ago

It was approx. 2850m and around -25ºC

I was hesitating removing my gloves, opened the jacket and grab the mobile phone. I could see almost nothing on the screen. But at this location was absolute no wind. So I took some pictures.

The coldest winter, in which I've ridden my Stromer was -15ºC. Because of the windchill and the complete lack of the sun (in the morning and evening,when I commute), this felt much colder.

Later, at the edge to the glacier, we made another photoshop. That time, it was very windy, so I was lying on the ground. You see me in the reflection of my companions' helmet :-)

1 week ago

I don't see the Nuvinci rear hub gaining popularity in the future. I see us eventually moving to something like the Shimano Di2 shifters where there are no longer cables but with blue tooth technology. Just touch the levers and the shifts occur immediately.

1 week ago

At a bike show last weekend I tried a couple of e-bikes with the Nuvinci rear hub.
After those bikes I tried two bikes with derailleur gears.

Honestly it felt like going back to medieval times. Gears crunching, waiting times for the chain to go from one end to the other of the rear cassette. Stopping with the wrong gear made starting hard.
I know the derailleur system is by far the most popular but I will never ever get another bike with it. IGH is the way to go. Nuvinci, Alfine, Rohloff. Anything but derailleur.

1 week ago

Hi everyone.

I had my ebike with Yamaha 250W PW motor, for the last 2years and 7 months.
Did 28 000km on it.
I was extremely happy with it especially because it was working as new, even after so many kilometers!


Few times, (allready more than 1 year ago), when my left or right pedal was down, and i was turning to left or right, turning in slightly bigger angle, i hit the ground with pedal several times during some period. Since then i felt that cranks had strange wobble while turning pedals, but it wasnt such a big deal for me so i didnt pay attention to that.

With that thing i even travelled last year from Slovakia to Morocco and back, it was about 11 000 km , no problems at all.

Unfortunately a week ago , 5th of March i decided to do another trip to Indonesia, 16 000 km, and after 3 days, of whitch 2 were super rainy, my engine short circuited, and damaged both batteries, then my display didnt even turn on.

At service centre they told me that it will cost me 660 € to get new engine, and 2x 500€ for new batteries

So about 1660€ to fix it, but i cant afford that and really want to continue this trip! ..

So I came home, we disasembled the engine, surprisingly moving parts didnt seem to show any kind of wear at all! So i guess avoiding water comming inside the engine, it can last for 150 000km or more easily!



There was a very small hole inside when cranks were turning.

Please guys keep this in mind, as this hurts alot :( that I wanted to do this trip to prove how reliable engines are, and I failed.

NOW! My friend that helped me to disassemble the engine wants to help me to clean it, and then I still have no I dea how to fix battery wihout paying 500€ for new ones.

What do you think guys??

Is it risky to dry, clean the inside of engine, then put it back on and try to run it?

I heared, that if all cells inside battery are fine, replacing BMS would fix the problem that occured because of short circuit.

What kind of BMS shoud I buy and from where?

Im now in Slovakia.

Please give me suggestions about fixing the engine and batteries as cheap as possible, so i can continue!!! THANK YOU !!!!

1 week ago

If you are at 38 tx 40t and you have noise or drag when you turn the pedal, something goes wrong, the drag can be felt at high speeds of 38 x 11 on flat terrain.

is under warranty to be reviewed

1 week ago

The Body Float 2.1 didn't arrive yesterday. Maybe today. I think my wife may not be able to use it however. The Vektron is rated for riders between 4'10" and 6'4". My wife is 5'0". And true to the spec, she is riding with the stock seat post only showing about 1.5 inches above the seat tube. If she can't use it as I suspect, I won't have to return the Body Float because I can change the springs and use it myself. But I'll still need to find an option for my wife and that takes me back to the idea of one of those Brooks saddles that has springs. If anyone has a recommendation in this area it would be appreciated as I have no experience with those. I don't think any of the common suspension posts will work since they all seem to raise the seat a couple of inches above the seat tube (Thudbuster, Body Float, NCX...).

As far as the wife's reaction to the bike: I've been riding the electric bikes since Nov 2016 and she still had not tried one until yesterday. She loved it and said she found the bike to be very stable and easy to handle. She did comment that she felt she wasn't exercising enough (riding only in Eco mode on a short 6 mile ride). My response was that we just have to tackle longer distances.

2 weeks ago

Sweet Mother of God. What have we become?
Just buy a friggin' GSX-R and STOP IT WITH THIS SILLINESS!
You can still carry your organic tofu and yoga tights while cracking 150mph+.

Rob K
5 months ago

Are these QR capable..? or is this strictly a solid axle..? Nice review.

5 months ago

I'm guessing you could retrofit with quick release on this bike because both wheels attach with standard 9 mm skewers

6 months ago

This guy is great. Quite frankly, I think he's more knowledgeable and balanced in his presentations than you are. You seem to be hung up on stuff like bottle bosses, rather than the underlying technologies employed by the various manufacturers. You never talk much about things like adjustable handlebars and configurations that lead to a comfortable ride. I've watched many of your reviews, as it's the best way to get a quick look at the product lines out there, but I'm a bit disappointed that a lot of the time, you repeat the same stuff over and over. I'd worry less about Mikey's presentation style, and focus on being a little more in depth in your critique of bikes. Bottle bosses are NOT showstoppers. Consider a more balanced and technical approach. You've been at this long enough that you could improve in your understanding of the overall offering and price performance.

Screww Googlle
7 months ago

Great job Mikey !
Keep up the Fantastic reviews !

Javan Russell
7 months ago

Good review! I like the Blue Monkey dude. I'm subscribed to his channel as well.

7 months ago

Thanks Javan! I think Mikey read your comment and said it made him happy, he does produce some great content and Bob seems like a good guy :)

Javan Russell
7 months ago

I like Bicycle Bob too. The three of you are good spokes dudes for the ebike community. Keep up the good work,I appreciate it.

7 months ago

nice review, great way to 'pick up' bike you missed yourself.

7 months ago

Thanks! There's room for improvement here but Mikey has the right attitude so we're working on it ;)

7 months ago

By any chance will you be making a review on Flash v1 Bike? i would love to see your review on it.

7 months ago

Great review, gave a lot of insight into the bike and I think is a great addition to your videos. I feel like the guest guy did a good job. He seemed to follow your style of format pretty closely.

I'd much rather have a review get done rather than not get done at all. If you're ever unable to do a review on a bike that people are asking for, I think it's wise for you to get it done through someone you know and trust. I know some people are saying it's not a good idea, but delivering what your fans/customers are asking for is almost always a good idea. It shows reliability. I definitely feel like I can now more fully look to EBR to find a review on the bike I'm looking for.

7 months ago

Thanks for the encouragement, I'm working with Mikey to make sure that future reviews improve on some of the feedback points. This is a good starting point :)

Mason Man
7 months ago

I think he did pretty good job! It reminded me a bit of the style you use to review bikes. It was shaky for the first few seconds but other than that I didn't notice it any more than in a normal EBR video.
Great idea outsourcing it to someone you trust in order to get requested bikes done that you might not have been able to. I think it's brilliant, and has kind of a community feel. If it wasn't for that, we wouldn't have this Tote'M review :)

7 months ago

Cool, thanks for sharing your thoughts on this Mason, we appreciate it :D

Montana Cabana
7 months ago

great review! he did a good job, more please

7 months ago

Thanks Montana Cabana... I like your name btw ;)

Blue Monkey Bicycles
7 months ago

Hi everybody, this is Mikey. Thanks for your support and suggestions. This was my first go at doing an official Electric Bike Review, and boy did I learn a lot! Principally I learned that I need to brush up and prepare some more for the mechanical specs that I admittedly din't give enough attention.
I'm glad to see that you guys are so supportive! It's very encouraging to see, and I hope this can grow into more bikes being covered on the site.

7 months ago

Great job man, it takes a while to refine any craft but you've got the right attitude and I appreciate your help with this... there are so many bikes XD

7 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com I would like you to review a foldable bike I just bought. In my opinion it’s very convenient. It is my first e bike and I think I like it, it solving my problems , the battery last pretty long and it feels confortable. The downside is, that it is heavy, but I have no problem with the weight. It is called the Joulvert Stealth - Electric Bicycle. Nice videos keep it up. :D

Aziz Messaoud
7 months ago

Can you explain us how regenetaive braking WORk

7 months ago

It's not offered on most electric bikes, but some gearless direct drive hub motors do it. Here's more info on the actual science behind an electric generator http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/magnetic/genhow.html

G Henrickson
7 months ago

Yes yes yes. Guest reviewers could really enhance your channel. This was a good review! Thanks to all.

7 months ago

Awesome, appreciate your feedback!

Wandering Will Burson
7 months ago

Guest reviewers are cool but IMHO you should make sure they include all the facts you would, i.e. price and weight. Or add those details yourself in intro or outro.

Wandering Will Burson
7 months ago

Cool. It was great to see the bike but there's a reason you're #1 for electric bike reviews, Court. By the way I would love to see you review Works Electric Hollyburn or Rover scooter. I think there's a dealer in CO. Also an update on your Specialized Levo would be rad. Food for thought...thanks again for all the awesome content!

7 months ago

Good point Will, I felt that this review was longer than necessary, missed showing the bike motor work, battery and display removal etc. and offered limited insights in some ways... and the writeup was similarly lacking, but this was a first swing and I have filled in some of the gaps on the article and spoken with Mikey to encourage growth for the next one :)

Michael Caffey
7 months ago

I just hope he reminds me I can get a seat post suspension.

7 months ago


Tankbits Scatter
7 months ago

I like his review. Personally, no matter how you experiment with video styles I'll still be a loyal EBR fan. Thanks Court!

7 months ago

Thank you for the support! I'm doing my best and I feel that Mikey is open to growth so we're just taking those steps, it's nice to feel appreciated ;)

James Mason
7 months ago

didn't think there was a cargo bike I would like I like this one

7 months ago

Yeah, it's a unique blend of performance and utility... I didn't understand the big difference (aside from price) before digging into Mikey's review here, it's neat that Felt made two cargo bikes and differentiated them this way, the shorter model was a good idea

Keith Knudsen
7 months ago

Yeah, really miss the camera stabilizer... hard to watch.

7 months ago

Agree, he will have one next time, I'm working with him on camera hardware and also a deeper writeup and smoother overview with more demonstrated feedback vs. just spoken

D Danilo
7 months ago

Excellent review by Mike! He's very fluent and concise. Only YOU, Court, can properly evaluate your EBR platform, but I would be cautious of "giving away the birthday cake in favor of eating the candles". I'm sure you'll work it out to your satisfaction! BTW: I remember being taught to come to a complete stop at the octagonal red stop-signs...Mikey seems to blow right through them!

7 months ago

Good catch... at least he was wearing a helmet, I do a lot of little things to be a good example or cut parts where I make mistakes, I think Mikey has some room for improvement on this but he's working on it and we are talking about it which is good. Thanks D