Felt Sport E 85-HP Review

Felt Sport E 85 Hp Electric Bike Review
Felt Sport E 85 Hp
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor With Chain Cover
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Downtube Mounted Bosch Powerpack 400
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Bosch Intuvia Removable Display Panel
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Ergon Gs1 Bicycle Grips
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Rigid Aero Fork Alloy Fenders Herrmans Led Headlight
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Carrymore Bike Rack
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Plastic Carrymore Rack Adapter
Felt Sport E 85 Hp 10 Speed Shimano Deore Xt With Shadow Plus
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Adjustable Kickstand
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Bosch Electric Bike Charger
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Electric Bike Review
Felt Sport E 85 Hp
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor With Chain Cover
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Downtube Mounted Bosch Powerpack 400
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Bosch Intuvia Removable Display Panel
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Ergon Gs1 Bicycle Grips
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Rigid Aero Fork Alloy Fenders Herrmans Led Headlight
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Carrymore Bike Rack
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Plastic Carrymore Rack Adapter
Felt Sport E 85 Hp 10 Speed Shimano Deore Xt With Shadow Plus
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Adjustable Kickstand
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Bosch Electric Bike Charger

Summary

  • A lightweight, high speed, sleek commuter style electric bike with completely rigid frame and fork, narrow tires coast efficiently, quick release on both wheels
  • Sturdy Aluminum alloy fenders and chain cover keep you clean and dry, integrated lights help you navigate in the dark, and reflective tires and decals keep you visible
  • Great kickstand placement, functional rack with plastic Carrymore adapter on top, adjustable stem with high-quality Ergon locking grips, five frame size options
  • Excellent weight distribution and handling, the bike is easy to lift, removable battery and display stay safe when parking at a public rack, integrated Micro-USB port for accessories

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Felt

Model:

Sport E 85-HP

Price:

$3,799

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Drivetrain and Electronics, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

45.8 lbs (20.77 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Double Butted Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17.32 in (43.99 cm)18.9 in (48 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)21.65 in (54.99 cm)22.83 in (57.98 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

52 cm Frame Measurements: 20.75" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 31.5" Stand Over Height, 72" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Gloss Race Red Accents and Reflective Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 100 / 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

135 / 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore XT Derailleur, Shimano CS-HG62 11-32T Cogset

Shifter Details:

Shimano SLX Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Felt Branded Lasco Alloy 170 mm / 175 mm Crank Arms, 18T Chainring

Pedals:

Felt Branded VP-615 Composite Plastic Platform with Grip Tape

Headset:

FSA Orbit C-40-ACB-A No 42, 1-1/8" to 1-1/2" Tapered Diameter

Stem:

Felt Branded, Alloy, Adjustable Angle (0° to 60°), 90 mm Length

Handlebar:

Felt Branded, Alloy, Flat, 31.8 mm Diameter, 9° Back Sweep, 25.5" Length

Brake Details:

Shimano BRM615 Hydraulic Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Shimano Levers with Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Ergon GS1, Ergonomic Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Ergon SMC30 Comp, Black

Seat Post:

Felt Branded, 6061 Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

400 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.7 mm

Rims:

Shimano WH-RX05, 28 Hole, Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black with Silver Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Plus, 700 x 38c (28" x 1.5")

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripe, 50 to 85 PSI, Performance Line GreenGuard

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Felt Branded Adjustable Length Kickstand, Carrymore Rear Rack (55 lb Max Load), Aluminum Alloy Fenders, Integrated Herrmans H-1E LED Headlight (75 Lux), Herrmans H-Trace LED Backlight

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 4 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line Speed

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

63 Newton meters

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD, (Hold Reset and i for Settings Menu)

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile FeedIndependent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 5 Volt 500 mA Micro-USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 55% 40 Nm, Tour 120% 50 Nm, Sport 190% 55 Nm, Turbo 275% 63 Nm)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Felt has a reputation for being a sporty race-inspired bicycle brand and the Sport E 85-HP fits this image. It’s a sporty high-speed electric bike that can reach up to 28 mph, as a Class 3 speed pedelec it does not have a throttle but the Bosch drive system is incredibly responsive. It measures wheel speed, pedal cadence, and pedal torque 1,000 times per second to give you near-instant power from stops and I got to experience this many times while riding through Brooklyn New York. There were automobiles, stop signs, traffic signals, and pedestrians to keep an eye out for and I found that the Bosch Performance Speed motor gave me a higher level of confidence keeping up with traffic. There are many Class 3 e-bikes on the market now and this one does require a bit more effort to truly hit 28 mph, but it is very efficient and the weight of both the motor and battery is positioned low and center on the frame. In my view, this is a commuter oriented electric bike and the cool angular alloy fenders, plastic chain cover, full-sized rack with Carrymore adapter plate (for a basket attachment), and integrated lights make it very utilitarian. You could ride the Sport E in rain and at night and have a higher level of relative comfort and safety than many competing bikes. This is because the tires are slightly larger than true road tires (increasing air volume and adding comfort). The tires have a puncture protection lining to reduce flats… and in the event that a flat tire does occur, both wheels have quick release so maintenance is fast and intuitive. The tires and portions of the frame even have reflective paint and stickers to help you stand out to automobiles and other cyclists. The one area where this model compromises is on comfort vs. weight. Many similarly specced ebikes weigh in around 50 lbs because the fenders, rack, and light systems add up. Felt keeps their weight down by using high grade Aluminum and foregoing a suspension fork in favor of a sleek but rigid aero fork. The adjustable stem, Ergon saddle, and Ergon grips do something for comfort but as you can see from the video review, this bike chatters a bit and is just stiffer than average. I would definitely buy a 27.2 mm Bodyfloat seatpost suspension if I purchased this bike. When you mix high speed with efficient tires, and a stiff diamond frame, you tend to feel the road cracks and inconsistencies more acutely.

Driving the Felt SportE 85-HP is an internally geared mid-motor from Bosch. This is their Performance Line Speed drive which puts out up to 60 Newton meters of torque ranging from 250 to 500+ watts. It’s incredibly capable if you shift through the ten gears thoughtfully and use the plus and minus keys to raise and lower assist support. Rather than use a standard sized chainring, Bosch has opted for a smaller 18 tooth design (and ranges from 15 to 22 teeth on other models) that spins 2.5 times for every crank arm revolution. This keeps the chainring smaller, providing increase grab, and possibly faster starts and stops. There’s a gearbox inside the motor that translates the crank arm movement into faster spindle movement for that chainring and this produces a bit of friction and noise if you’re riding the bike unpowered. I also noticed that when riding at the higher levels of assist and with a faster RPM, the motor produces some whirring noise, almost a high pitched whine. I appreciate that Felt has included a minimalist plastic cover for both the chainring and a portion of the chain itself. This will keep your pants clean and snag-free when riding. And if you look at the composite plastic pedals with that unique grip-tape surface, I think it all comes together that this bike is meant to not mess up your work clothes or shoes. Shifting through gears is simple and fast because the Shimano Deore XT drivetrain is a higher level component and the triggers offer multi-shift (for lower gear action) and two-way action (for higher gear action). The trigger shifters are only on the right side of the bar and the derailleur is setup with the one-way clutch which is most commonly seen on mountain bikes. Since this bike rides faster and the chain might bounce around more, the addition of the Shadow Plus clutch and a clear plastic slap guard offer protection.

Powering the bike, the backlit LCD display, and both lights on the Sport E is a Bosch Powerpack 400 battery. This thing used to be the gold standard because of how compact, lightweight, and easy to remove and transport it was. Now, Bosch has an even higher capacity Powerpack 500 which offers roughly 25% more capacity and only weighs 0.4 lbs more. Considering the higher $3,799 pricepoint of the bike, I was surprised that they didn’t include the 500, especially because high-speed riding drains the battery much faster than 20 mph capped riding. Ultimately, it’s up to you how you want to ride this electric bicycle, and at least the Powerpack 500 is backwards compatible to work with this system if you wanted to buy it separately one day, but it is a bit of a question mark to me. Anyway, the Powerpack design is sleek but not fully integrated and the Felt frame doesn’t flatten out or cup the pack like some of the newest bikes I’ve seen. The tubing is mostly round and a bit tapered at the front of the top tube. Ultimately, the black frame blends well with the black plastic of the battery and motor casing but the battery still stands out, communicating that this is in fact an ebike vs. a regular unpowered bicycle. I love how easy and quick it is to remove the battery, which locks to the frame using a sturdy ABUS core. If you want, you can leave the battery clicked on at all times and simply lift and carry the bike near a power outlet for charging. The included Bosch charger puts out 4 Amps vs. just 2 Amps on a lot of competing products, and that means it can get you filled up and back out on the road quicker. The battery has a nice integrated plastic loop at the top to make carrying it easier (and safer) and the left side has an LED power indicator to help you determine how full it is, regardless of where the bike is. This pack uses Lithium-ion battery cells which are known for being long lasting and lightweight… but they are expensive. I believe a replacement battery could cost upwards of $700 so try not to drop or misplace it ;)

Operating this and other Bosch powered electric bikes is a snap, especially with the Intuvia display panel. Once the battery pack is charged and mounted to the interface on the downtube, just press the power button at the lower left corner of the LCD display panel. It boots up very quickly and should be easy to read in daylight or darkness because it’s gently backlit with a blue glow. You see your current speed, a five-tic battery infographic, and a chart of assist level (starting at off). If you press the i button on the right side of the display (or on the remote button pad located near the left grip) you will cycle through trip stats like max speed, average speed, timer, and range. Range is cool because it provides more detail than the five bar battery readout. With this menu, you can dynamically estimate how far you can go with motor support in the currently selected assist level. The Bosch system measures your assist setting, the battery capacity, and even factors in the last mile of performance to give you this dynamic range estimate which is super cool. As someone who commutes, and often takes a detour for groceries or events with friends, the range readout has helped me to know when it’s time to lower assist or plug the bike in to make it home without running out of juice. But, given the relative light weight of this bike and efficient tire and frame design, it’s not a terrible bike to just pedal unpowered. This is one of the few electric bicycles I have tested that actually feels good on flat terrain without any assist. But coming back to the display, I like that you can remove it, that it’s large enough to see when sitting upright, that it has a Micro-USB port on the right side for charging portable electronics, and that the remote button pad is so easy to reach and understand. You can literally just turn the bike on, start riding, and click plus or minus on the left pad without even looking and have the bike “just work” intuitively. You can hear and feel the light clicking sound as you arrow up or down and the i button is rubberized so your left thumb has a reference point to know where the plus and minus keys are vs. having to look down. If you’re riding fast in traffic, that’s a big deal.

In some ways, the Felt Sport E 85 HP is simple. The frame is purpose-built but doesn’t try to hide the battery or dial in comfort. The sleek bladed fork, bright red accents, mid-level disc brakes, and upgraded grips and saddle combine to deliver a great experience, but one that’s a bit more plain to me. It relies a bit more on reputation and dealer support than price value or fancy accessories. I didn’t love how the rack plate adapter thing rattled and would definitely consider the seatpost suspension products out there from Thudbuster, Bodyfloat, and even SR Suntour (which is a bit cheaper than the others). It’s a product that gets the important things right and is available in a range of sizes so you can get a perfect fit. No, at the time of this review the bike was not available in a diamond or step-thru frame which might be a deal-killer for petite riders or those with hip and knee issues, but the diamond frame is sturdy and easy to lift which is great if you have stairs to deal with or put your bike on a hanging style bus or car rack. The adjustable stem is interesting but I didn’t experiment with it enough to determine how sturdy it is. I know that Satori and some other companies make two-bolt adjustable stems that won’t rattle loose as easily. Just keep an eye on that part. I’d like to thank Chris Nolte at Propel for letting me review one of his stock bikes, it was a bit damp out during our ride in Brooklyn, New York and the fenders came in handy. For reference, I was riding the 52 cm frame size which is about Medium.

Pros:

  • This bike is well balanced front to rear with weight positioned low and center, it’s easy to lift because of the diamond frame (useful if you live up stairs) and can be hung from most car or bus racks by the top tube
  • It’s setup well for commuting, the fenders, rear rack, quick release wheels (that have Performance Line GreenGuard puncture protection), removable battery pack and display, and addition of bottle cage bosses mean you don’t have to upgrade much or make compromises to get going
  • Integrated lights run straight off the batter so you don’t have to fiddle with AA batteries, the tires are reflective from the sides to help cars see you and even some of the paint is reflective!
  • I think the bike looks cool, the paint job is sporty and because the base color is black, the battery and motor casing blend in well, even the wires and cables show up less and look less cluttered than on some other products
  • Interesting pedal choice, they work well with different types of shoes and might not chew up the soles of fancy work shoes as much as metal spiked pedals like the Wellgo BMX model that I see frequently
  • I’m a big fan of Bosch, their Performance Line motors are responsive and powerful and the Speed model used here is perfect for commuting and keeping up with traffic
  • The motor offers shift-detection which reduces strain on the chain, sprockets, and derailleur so they won’t require as much maintenance or have to be replaced as quickly even if you’re not shifting perfectly
  • The drivetrain is great, it offers 10 speeds to help cover the wider range of assisted speed that the motor offers and has a special one-way clutch to keep the chain tight (click the grey lever into the up position to engage this or leave it down for easier shifting but more chain bounce)
  • Being able to remove the battery pack and display is a big deal if you have to park your bike at a rack in the sun, bad weather, or sketchy neighborhood, I often bring my accessories inside for protection and to recharge
  • The battery charger is compact, works with the pack either on or off the bike and does not require any kind of adapter, and fills the pack quickly
  • The rear rack is setup well for a trunk bag or side-hanging panniers as well as a basket attachment on top, I appreciate that the rear light is protected by the rack and kept out of the way of most bags that you might add
  • Even though there’s limited suspension, the Ergon grips and saddle offer a higher level of comfort than most other stock touch points I see and test
  • Minor pro here, I love that the bike has hydraulic disc brakes because they are easier to actuate than mechanical and won’t stretch, the levers are adjustable which is handy if you have shorter fingers or wear gloves… but I feel that 160 mm for a speed pedelec is just okay vs. a 180 mm rotor up front or maybe 180 mm for both?
  • Because the mid-drive motor leverages the gears that you shift through, it can operate very efficiently and offers incredible range, even with the standard Powerpack 400 here, expect 20+ miles all the way up to 40+ depending on the level of assist, ride conditions, how fast you go, and cargo+rider weight, for those who want more capacity the PowerPack 500 will work with the same interface so you could purchase a larger pack separately for long rides
  • As I was thinking about lifting the bike and hanging it on a rack, I noticed that most of the cables are internally routed through the downtube, so that top tube is snag-free and just very clean
  • The kickstand offers tool-free adjustable length which is great if you have to park on uneven surfaces, I like that Felt positioned the stand towards the rear (out of the way of the left crank arm and under the rack where it might support the weight of cargo)

Cons:

  • In my opinion, $3,800 feels like a high price considering you get the older Bosch Powerpack 400 vs. the new 500 and the bike is fairly standard without a suspension fork and not super light at ~46 lbs, though Felt is known for high quality and this model has fenders and a rack which add weight, they sells through a broad network of dealers who can fit you and provide service
  • The flip side of efficiency on this bike is a reduction in comfort, there’s no suspension and the 1.5″ tires are rated from 50 to 85 PSI which is much higher than a lot of the 2″ tires that go down to 30 PSI, I’d strongly consider swapping the stock seat post for a 27.2 mm Bodyfloat, just keep in mind that it will raise the minimum saddle height by ~3 inches
  • I believe that the Felt Sport E 85-HP is only available in the high-step diamond frame style (at least for model year 2017), this is a sturdy and sporty frame style but it isn’t as accessible to petite riders or those with hip and knee issues, other companies are offering step-thru and mid-step for similar models like the Bulls Lacuba EVO E45
  • The Bosch motor does produce a soft whining noise when in use under full power or when you pedal at higher RPM, it’s louder than the Stromer or OHM ebikes which have gearless hub motors vs. mid-drive, the fenders did stay very quiet which is nice because sometimes plastic fenders rattle, the plastic rack cover did rattle some
  • Keep an eye on the adjustable stem, it’s a neat part because it lets you optimize for comfort (upright) or aerodynamics (down and forward) but I have seen these rattle loose over time and start to strip so just keep it tight and maybe consider replacing with a rigid stem at some point if you have issues
  • Minor complaint here but the plastic Carrymore deck adapter did rattle a bit, this could produce some noise and maybe get looser over time? The bike I reviewed here was brand new so I was surprised that the plate had some play as shown in the video

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Felt Reviews

Felt Tote’M Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A light-duty electric cargo bike that can carry a single child seat on the long rear rack, available in three frame sizes, nimble handling, optional front rack. Not as heavy as other cargo e-bikes in part because of the Shimano drive system,…...

Felt Brühaul Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A surprisingly light weight electric cargo bike with an abundance of rack and tie down mounting points for use with a myriad of accessories. Powered by the award winning Bosch Centerdrive motor system that offers high torque output, shift…...

Felt VERZAe Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Deep step-thru frame design for easy mounting, available in four sizes for excellent fit, comfortable ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout. Great utility features including quick release front and rear, a welded rear carry rack (capable…...

Felt OUTFITTER Review

  • MSRP: $5,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stylish fat tire electric bike with unique camouflage paint job, stylish Old Man Mountain cargo racks and integrated Motion Stella 300 headlight. Offers 11 speeds with a quality SRAM X1 drivetrain, second generation electronic systems by Bosch...

Felt DUALe Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Performance level full suspension electric bike with 650b wheelset and Bosch mid-drive motor. Exceptionally light weight ~44 lbs and stiff, available in four frame sizes for a perfect…...

Felt NINEe Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Ultra light-weight hardtail electric cross-country / mountain bike with efficient 29er wheels and premium components. Capable off-road or as a rugged commuter, seat stay bosses for adding a rear rack,…...

Felt SPORTe Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Step-thru version of the standard SPORTe available in two smaller sizes, delivering efficiency, stiffness and quality components for people who enjoy city and road style riding. Plenty of threaded eyelets for adding fenders or a rear carry rack, Felt offers these…...

Felt SPORTe Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Light, stiff and fast with efficient frame, wheel and tire design that strike a balance between city and road performance. Plenty of bosses for adding your own fenders or a rear carry rack, Felt offers…...

Felt LEBOWSKe Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium fat bike with efficient Bosch Centerdrive motor offering improved balance and torque in dirt, sand and snow. Light weight, high performance 6061 aluminum frame with carbon fiber bars and aero fork, available…...


elliot
3 weeks ago

I bought a Felt Sport e 85 HP back in August and it has given me a new lease on life, at least on my “riding life.” I’m very pleased with its performance, I don’t find the motor loud at all, and I appreciate the fact that it looks more like a bicycle than a motorcycle. Exactly what was searching for. I was about to inquire why you haven’t reviewed this model and behold, there it was. Thank you Court for all of your energy and enthusiasm. It made my quest for an e-bike much simpler and more enjoyable. Elliot

Reply
Court Rye
3 weeks ago

Fantastic, thanks for sharing your experience and enjoyment of this bike and for the compliment Elliot :D

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

ruben de wulf
15 hours ago

I've had a 3.0 for just over a month now - done nearly 600k.

The motor is beautiful, especially when it has been set with a top speed of 45k. Mine developed a little squeal early on, but the dealer told me to put some miles on it, and it has gone away.

I was wondering how the gearing on the 3.0 would go at 45k, as specialised designed it for a 32kmh motor. The 3.0 has a 40t at the front - the 5.0/6.0 which are the designated 45km/h models have a 48 tooth chainring. The around town and bike path riding I've done means I don't have need to push much faster than 40km/h, so the existing gearing is perfect.

I've wound it up to 48km/h on the flat, and that was at full stretch. I can't imagine being limited to 25 or 32km/h. Useful speed for dense urban area I suppose, but this bike loves to stretch its legs and seems to almost sing as it goes faster and faster.

The 47mm trigger sport reflect tires are suprisingly fast, but looks bloody silly. I'm not brave enough to really lean into the curves, so don't know their limits. At some point I will try 50mm schwalbe big apples or bens or marathon supremes (the 6.0 use a 51mm tire so should be room).

Brakes are a little underwhelming. I am heavy and feel they are just good enough, but no more. They have a soft feel and need a lot of squeezing to dump high speeds. My mass is the issue of course: gotta take a lot to stop a lot of gut when it's near escape velocity.

The lack of shift detection on the Brose is a thing. Bosch is clearly superior and in use much faster and easier to flick through the gears. On the Vado I'm not afraid to admit that I'm a rookie rider and spent weeks mashing the gears to smithereens. I've improved, but still bang out poor changes with regularity. Mostly it's just learning how long the brose will keep supplying power after you stop peddelling - there's a 3rd of a second or so where the power continues and will cause the gears to graunch if you shift too early. I wonder if this response time will improve with later firmware.

My clock resets to 6:00am every time the system is powered on - no word yet on what the distributor wants to do about it.
Can i ask Who set the bike to 45?

Durukan Devrim
16 hours ago

I'm assuming the updates are not independent of each other? In other words, if there is a new firmware version and you update that new version will likely have multiple updated items within the new version? I have the CX motor on the Haibike and I haven't updated to the eMTB. And I prefer not to (I like my Sport mode as-is). If I take my bike in (say sometime in 2018) for an update, will the eMTB update be required in order to take advantage of any other updates?
It can be updated regardless of current firmware you have on your bike. eMTB is not something special, it's the firmware version you are updating which eMTB mode comes along with it.

Over50
1 day ago

It is recommended that you perform an update one or twice a year regardless of the model of Bosch motor.
I'm assuming the updates are not independent of each other? In other words, if there is a new firmware version and you update that new version will likely have multiple updated items within the new version? I have the CX motor on the Haibike and I haven't updated to the eMTB. And I prefer not to (I like my Sport mode as-is). If I take my bike in (say sometime in 2018) for an update, will the eMTB update be required in order to take advantage of any other updates?

John from Connecticut
3 days ago

Is this even possible in the US at the moment? Unlike Asia and Europe where bikes are actually seen as a legitimate means of transportation most of what I've seen in the States is that biking is seen more as a recreational activity with only a tiny number (relatively speaking) of users. This isn't just limited to ebikes, when I ride a bike in my small town for every 5 persons who actually seem to be using their bikes to go to the market or work or whatever there seem to be 15 bikers riding high-end road bikes with the spandex getup which I just can't see being apoted by non-entusiasts. Even in places like Washington DC and Portland that are seen as super-bike friendly the number of bikers you see are a very small number compared to car users. So long as gas costs are so low here and the use of cars so high what little infrastructure there is for bikes seems to be, at best, an afterthought. Hopefully I'm totally wrong but seeing how the bikes that are talked about the most are high priced, very top of the line bikes it seems that the bike makers are looking to become the next Ferrari and not too concerned about building the next Toyota Corolla.

Hello.
I completely agree. My opinion.... Based on just good old observations and general conversations I've had with folks about bike riding, there never will be a
Michael Dell of e-Bike in the US. Cycling in the main stay is going no where. ( No pun intended ) I talk up the value and virtues and how I love my e-Bike,
to most anyone capable of riding hoping to spark some interest... Zero interest in riding a bike, never mind an e-Bike. Bike riding is not part of the
American culture.

I hear things like " Oh yea, I have a bike but haven't it in ( fill in the years ) 10, 15 who knows." Yes, the road folks are very active in the sport, but have
you checked the average age of road club riders ? They're not 'kids' and I'm being kind. When those folks are gone then what ? ( for cycling in general that is)

We all know the joy ease and fun of a quality e-bike, that's a no brainer. The issue is bike riding is just not in many or most folks thought process. That's
what it gets down to. My guess....The major manufacturers know this and are building 'Ferraris' and not 'Toyota Corolla' 'cause folks like myself and others
are willing to purchase and really value a quality product. ..There is a ray of hope. The owner of my LBS told me the growth in cycling is e-Bikes and wait for it
BMX.

One very last thought. It troubles me that some LBS owners are struggling, because they play a huge role for a first or second time buyer and without
them it will be even more difficult get and or keep new riders in the sport. Just my two cents.

John from CT

Eglon
4 days ago

Seeing the initial setup document, it seems as there are a couple of minor issues with pedal assist level responding in the correct power output while in Sport mode. Do you think this would be addressed with a software update in the future?
Yes. It's just like they describe. If I'm pedaling hard and then stop quickly or use the throttle sometimes this is an issue.

Dewey
5 days ago

It seems Explore uses a version that is speed limited to 20, yet I see 28 mph version of the same "sport " model. I should find a shop and test these models.

The Giant Explore is speed limited to 20mph, there isn’t a speed pedelec version of the Explore E+3 but a choice of diamond or mid-step frames. The motor is capable of higher speeds because the SyncDrive Sport motor is used on the Quick E speed pedelec model just with a higher speed limit. Court’s reviews of other bikes in the category are here https://electricbikereview.com/category/speed. If you can, try to test ride and compare ebikes with mid-drive or hub motors with a torque pedal assist sensor and a mid mounted battery as rack mounted batteries push too much weight to the rear.

Johnny
5 days ago

@Dewey: Again thanks for the info, I didn't know that Giant customized their motors. Again when I was looking into the specifications I did not see much information about the motor. It seems Explore uses a version that is speed limited to 20, yet I see 28 mph version of the same "sport " model.

I'm a huge Haibike fan, I own two 2016 bikes. A Full Seven XDURO S RX mtb, and a Trekking XDURO S RX. Both are speed versions, 28mph, both are Bosch. You get a little noise from the Bosch mid drive (as compared to the Brose for example), but it's so smooth in handling power and torque. Personally, I feel the Bosch is worth every penny. If you ride many hills, you'll appreciate the 28mph bikes. When riding a 20mph bike, you go over that coming down the grade. But when you get to that 20mph setting as you level out, you can feel it hunt between assist and no assist. With the 28mph, you just don't hit that annoyance. Right now is the perfect time to buy a Haibike. I bought one in November 2016 and the other in March 2017. Both highly discounted from MSRP.

Thanks for the response, so you advise going for a 2017 x duro instead of an sduro ? I realize that for some models they did not state the maxspeed but should I assume that it is 28mph if the system is 350w Bosch CX ?
I think at some place that Bosch system will not accept other battery packs (and I see that Bosch insanely overprices their packs ) is it still the case?

I should find a shop and test these models.

tallpaul
1 week ago

I have a SDURO Full Nine RC.
Done 6500k's mostly offroad
Still on original KMC x10e EPT chain.
Chain gauge showing minimal wear.
Used only Squirt chain lube from new
I have a friend with same bike on same conditions.
Replaced his chain about 3500k.
He uses engine oil on his chain.

Wow, that is good news about the chain.
Would you know if the KMC x10e EPT chain. the same as the KMC x10e Sport chain?
Also a good endorsement for Squirt, I'll look for it.
Thanks!

Over50
1 week ago

Lost out by not completing sale, but bought two last year. Worth watching for!

During the REI sale, I did pretty well on BikeTiresDirect.com (a site I had never heard of prior). I saw these Ortlieb Gravel Pack panniers which are more streamlined vs the Sport Packer Plus panniers I currently use (front rack panniers) at the REI site but were shown as "no longer in stock". The smaller size and narrower profile is better (I think) for my commuting application vs the Sport Packers. At that time I couldn't even find them on the USA Ortlieb site and I only found them for sale in Europe. BikeTiresDirect was the lone exception and they had them marked down 25% at exactly the same time that REI was having its sale (coincidence?). Maybe some of these sites have algorithms to price match.

https://www.ortlieb.com/en/Gravel-Pack/

tallpaul
1 week ago

rich c, yes, I did replace the SES bearing but it was the chain making the noise as best as I could tell.
It is really hard to isolate sounds as you are zipping along.
I did remove and inspect the SES side guard and found that it was not rubbing there.
I try to keep all the drivetrain components clean to answer Ravi's question.

I think I need to take into account that I am almost 200lbs, did ride the first few hundred miles in Turbo or Sport mode as I got back into riding for the first time in maybe 50 years (had motorcycles in between). Now I like to put more of my own power into it and stretch the distances that the 400W battery can deliver.

And I can see what Joe from Motostrana says about quicker wear on components on an eBike. After all the bike alone weighs twice what a non eBike equivalent would be, and the torque loads I would assume are much greater.

LimboJim
1 week ago

Anyone using the
KMC X10e Sport Bicycle Chain?

Yes, for about 250 hard trail miles so far on my Sduro AllMtn+ with no problems! I bought several at an EU site that sells a lot of ebike-specific parts for far less than anyone I've found in the US - $25-30 shipping but I save more than that with each $100 I spend there: https://www.bike-discount.de/en/buy/kmc-x10e-e-bike-chain-10-speed-32293

tallpaul
1 week ago

Anyone using the
KMC X10e Sport Bicycle Chain?

tallpaul
1 week ago

I found that my Haibike FullSeven chain had stretched about one links worth over about 1200 miles. Mix of hills, bike paths, a little off road. It started to make noise despite being clean and well lubed.
So I went into my local eBike store (literally around the corner from my house, how lucky can I get!).
They sell, rent and service Haibikes, among others. The very on top of it fellow there said the chain he recommends is the KMC X10e Sport Bicycle Chain specifically made for Bosch and other drive trains.

Runs quiet now, lubed it with Dry lube.

Anybody have any experience with this chain? I am hoping to get more then 1200 miles I got with the Shimano chain that came with the bike.

BTW, in the 1200 miles logged on the bike has been very reliable and a lot of fun to ride!

potato salad
2 weeks ago

I've had a 3.0 for just over a month now - done nearly 600k.

The motor is beautiful, especially when it has been set with a top speed of 45k. Mine developed a little squeal early on, but the dealer told me to put some miles on it, and it has gone away.

I was wondering how the gearing on the 3.0 would go at 45k, as specialised designed it for a 32kmh motor. The 3.0 has a 40t at the front - the 5.0/6.0 which are the designated 45km/h models have a 48 tooth chainring. The around town and bike path riding I've done means I don't have need to push much faster than 40km/h, so the existing gearing is perfect.

I've wound it up to 48km/h on the flat, and that was at full stretch. I can't imagine being limited to 25 or 32km/h. Useful speed for dense urban area I suppose, but this bike loves to stretch its legs and seems to almost sing as it goes faster and faster.

The 47mm trigger sport reflect tires are suprisingly fast, but looks bloody silly. I'm not brave enough to really lean into the curves, so don't know their limits. At some point I will try 50mm schwalbe big apples or bens or marathon supremes (the 6.0 use a 51mm tire so should be room).

Brakes are a little underwhelming. I am heavy and feel they are just good enough, but no more. They have a soft feel and need a lot of squeezing to dump high speeds. My mass is the issue of course: gotta take a lot to stop a lot of gut when it's near escape velocity.

The lack of shift detection on the Brose is a thing. Bosch is clearly superior and in use much faster and easier to flick through the gears. On the Vado I'm not afraid to admit that I'm a rookie rider and spent weeks mashing the gears to smithereens. I've improved, but still bang out poor changes with regularity. Mostly it's just learning how long the brose will keep supplying power after you stop peddelling - there's a 3rd of a second or so where the power continues and will cause the gears to graunch if you shift too early. I wonder if this response time will improve with later firmware.

My clock resets to 6:00am every time the system is powered on - no word yet on what the distributor wants to do about it.

rvehock
2 weeks ago

FYI, if your ebike has fenders the 1 UP may not be your best choice YMMV

https://www.bikeforums.net/road-cycling/902008-1up-usa-rack-fender-cushions-question.html

This one from Hollywood might fit the bill and it is nicely priced (45 lbs per bike):

https://hollywoodracks.com/collections/hitch-bike-racks/products/sport-rider-2-bike-hitch-rack?variant=15862462726

bob armani
2 weeks ago

I was accepted to go Study Abroad for Spring 2018 in South Korea. I travel by car to my home university and either walk or use a golf-cart service to my classes. The golf-cart service is provided for those with different disabilities. I have a very mild form of muscular deficiency. I am perfectly capable of walking and performing normal physical activities, but compared to an average human being, I perform these activities at a slower rate. I am perfectly capable of riding a bike as well :).

While abroad, I will not have a car with me and even though South Korea has a good transportation system, I would like to invest in an e-bike. The university I will be attending is known to be in a 'hilly' location. The e-bike will give me a little boost for those hills and at the same time, I will have a way of transportation. I plan to use the e-bike as a normal bike and use assistance for hills or longer travels.

I am looking for an e-bike that is not too heavy, but my main goal is to find an e-bike that can get me up those steep hills. I have been looking at models such as:

- Populo Sport Electric Bicycle V3
- Faraday Cortland
- Gazelle NL C7 HMB

I understand that all of these models are quite different, but I am new at this and not sure where to start. Please keep in mind that I am a university student and these e-bikes are not cheap. However, I am open to any suggestions! I am open to ALL recommendations :)

How about the Rubbee compact portable electric drive system reviewed on this forum: https://electricbikereview.com/rubbee/drive-2-0/

There is also a newer version coming soon also on this forum https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/rubbee-x-introduction.15247/#post-121643

Gaby
2 weeks ago

I was accepted to go Study Abroad for Spring 2018 in South Korea. I travel by car to my home university and either walk or use a golf-cart service to my classes. The golf-cart service is provided for those with different disabilities. I have a very mild form of muscular deficiency. I am perfectly capable of walking and performing normal physical activities, but compared to an average human being, I perform these activities at a slower rate. I am perfectly capable of riding a bike as well :).

While abroad, I will not have a car with me and even though South Korea has a good transportation system, I would like to invest in an e-bike. The university I will be attending is known to be in a 'hilly' location. The e-bike will give me a little boost for those hills and at the same time, I will have a way of transportation. I plan to use the e-bike as a normal bike and use assistance for hills or longer travels.

I am looking for an e-bike that is not too heavy, but my main goal is to find an e-bike that can get me up those steep hills. I have been looking at models such as:

- Populo Sport Electric Bicycle V3
- Faraday Cortland
- Gazelle NL C7 HMB

I understand that all of these models are quite different, but I am new at this and not sure where to start. Please keep in mind that I am a university student and these e-bikes are not cheap. However, I am open to any suggestions! I am open to ALL recommendations :)

LimboJim
2 weeks ago

Its Felt's Sport-E 85 HP

https://electricbikereview.com/felt/sport-e-85-hp/

Performance speed motor....I think the firmware update is for the CX motor. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Just had it computer diagnosed last week without any errors. Bike is only a few months old. (600 miles)
Feels like more resistance when I peddle then when initially purchased.

Thanks for the concern......elliot
This Summer's CX update was primarily for the new eMTB mode, but I believe there was a Performance Line update in Summer '16 that boosted its torque from 60 to 65 Nm, among other things.

Dewey
2 weeks ago

Single speed ebikes like the E-Glide SS, Populo Sport, Sondors Thin, and EasyGo Race are some of the lightest weight affordable complete ebikes. Court has mentioned some can be geared high so you don't spin out and for that reason he likes a throttle or more sensitive PAS sensor so the motor can help you get moving from stationary or up hill.

Leandro
2 weeks ago

Its Felt's Sport-E 85 HP

https://electricbikereview.com/felt/sport-e-85-hp/

Performance speed motor....I think the firmware update is for the CX motor. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Just had it computer diagnosed last week without any errors. Bike is only a few months old. (600 miles)
Feels like more resistance when I peddle then when initially purchased.

Thanks for the concern......elliot
It is recommended that you perform an update one or twice a year regardless of the model of Bosch motor.

elliot friedman
2 weeks ago

Its Felt's Sport-E 85 HP

https://electricbikereview.com/felt/sport-e-85-hp/

Performance speed motor....I think the firmware update is for the CX motor. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Just had it computer diagnosed last week without any errors. Bike is only a few months old. (600 miles)
Feels like more resistance when I peddle then when initially purchased.

Thanks for the concern......elliot

hurricane56
2 weeks ago

Here is the set up guide. There is a lot of information there.

https://www.juicedbikes.com/pages/hyperfat

There is no speed sensor in the MAC motor so there is a external speed sensor located on the front fork. The wheel magnet must be close enough to the sensor in order for the speed to be picked up and show on the display. The pedal assist must have the speed sensor working to function properly.

Seeing the initial setup document, it seems as there are a couple of minor issues with pedal assist level responding in the correct power output while in Sport mode. Do you think this would be addressed with a software update in the future?

Popeye Gordon
2 weeks ago

Thanks again Popeye for another thoughtful reply.
My favorite thing about Organic Transit is that they have proven that a market exists for vehicles such as the ELF and PEBL and I sincerely thank them for it.
I currently produce in very limited numbers a sport/touring velomobile the Marvelo SKR:
http://marvelomobile.blogspot.ca/p/specifications.html
,but have had aspirations for several years in wanting to produce a much more practical velomobile, a recumbent cargo E-trike of sorts with decent weather protection, easy ingress/egress for all and with a curb weight significantly less than the ELF or PEBL.
I am thinking that a 100 pound curb weight is possible without the cost going through the roof.
So with this in mind I have been following many of the comments and discussions online about such vehicles and am reaching out to those with relative experience to discuss the good and bad about these vehicles.
Not sure how you could reduce weight that much and still have similar cargo and passenger capability with full DOT lighting and horn. Your design is a streamliner with the typical difficult ingress/egress that old or disabled people can't handle. I'm not that excited about high speed velos that break trail speed limits. The market for heavier velos is as a car substitute. If I can't haul 20 bags of groceries or a case of beer and a frozen turkey it won't fit my needs. Safety is important, consider this - As a member of the ELF owner's group on Facebook with over 500 members, this private group sees photos of the aftermath of serious car/ELF collisions. With 4 million road miles we have logged 15 collisions with NO serious driver injuries. Just yesterday a poor guy in Seattle was commuting to work when he was rear ended at 35 mph, his ELF was a total loss but as it disintegrated it saved his life. He did go to a hospital for a checkup but has no broken bones, just bruises. It was a hit and run and his ELF was very brightly lit up with extra reflectors and LED rope trim lights. The ELF and the PEBL are the two safest bikes ever made, the crumple zones save lives. Let that be one of the top attributes to focus on!

michelliots
3 weeks ago

I bought a Felt Sport e 85 HP in August and it has given me a new lease on life, at least on my "riding life." I'm very pleased with its performance, I don't find the motor loud at all, and I appreciate the fact that it looks more like a bicycle than a motorcycle. Exactly what was searching for. I was about to inquire why you haven't reviewed this model and then, there it was.
Thank you Court for all of your energy and enthusiasm. It made my quest for an e-bike much simpler and more enjoyable.

charlie haluk
4 weeks ago

clarification: it is not efficiency loss in terms of the motor due to high speed, in other words the the efficiency of energy transfer from electrical to mechanical output is not reduced at higher speeds. Actually it improves just for the motor. It is the air drag which is really increasing at higher speeds (to some power, like cube..), so it is the power demand that is increasing in increasing proportions, say following some exponential function to speed. So the bike consumption of electrical energy is really increasing (and your muscle effort demand too!), but that increased energy is efficiently (80% at least) is converted to mechanical energy, but your bike speed will not increase in the same proportion to the input effort at higher speeds. In other words more and more energy is required to push the air, but that is the efficiency of the whole bike! Largely dependent on the shape, surface area of you and your bike that is pushing the air. The motor is still working very efficiently, it not "his" fault that you have the "wrong" shape of you for cycling.

Lars Ödman
3 months ago

Sorry, this bosch noise pollution is to loud and makes me angry and uncomfortable during a pleasant road trip.

charlie haluk
4 weeks ago

I just bought one and it is not loud at all. In this videos the loudness comes thru due the microphone being real close to the drive train.

Mike Ferrell
3 months ago

Your reviews are great, but your remarks about motors, torque, power, and so on are misleading. You can take a class on elementary physics and dc motors and batteries and it would make your reviews much better,

bdub2868
4 months ago

love this channel

actnowone
4 months ago

Nice looking bike but wish the battery was more integrated into the frame, 400 watt battery is old hat 500 minimum now, some batteries now exceeding 700.

Things seem now to be leaping ahead in e-bike technology can't be far away before we see the first 1000 power battery.

room-360
4 months ago

This bike looks nice. I like the wide tyres. Must be a good touring bike with heavy load on gravel roads.

Looks like lighter pedelecs have hit the US these days too. :-)

Only the plastic plate on the rack sucks. I already had all sorts of racks am my favorite still is the good old clamp.
I wonder how the guy would connect some Ortlieb oder Vaude panniers to the weird plate? Yeah... by removing it. ;-)

Update: I just saw that Felt is a German company - lol

That explains it! I knew the brand name sounded familiar to me.

Gregory Barber
4 months ago

Personally I would like to see more reviews of felt and cube bikes. Thank you for this.

Neezy Ko
4 months ago

They shouldn't use the letters "HP" because that's usually associated with horsepower. Typically, if you want to say HIGH POWER, you would use "HPO"

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Interesting, that's a fair point Neezy, thanks for the feedback and education ;)

payasofeo69
4 months ago

You're so peppy and full of energy! Then there's that other guy... lol 😂 what a contrast ;-)

payasofeo69
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com absolutely! Always enjoy your videos, just thought the contrast was comical :-)
Cheers from Montreal Canada 🇨🇦

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Chris is really smart and I trust his opinions, he doesn't have the same super happy promotional type of communication style that many other sales people at ebike shops do. He might not be as animated, but he's more objective in my opinion, I hope it's still enjoyable when he's in some of the videos, I appreciate your feedback

Siegfried Bruner
4 months ago

Seems a lot like my modified Trek PowerFly 5, which I used recently to ride a local century. Obviously I don't have 28mph pedaling, but I have found eco mode suits me best, with an occasional bump on hills. It is very efficient and fun to ride.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Nice, it sounds like you're enjoying the PowerFly 5. I agree that most of my riding is in Eco our Tour vs. the higher Sport and Turbo, but it is fun to go a little faster sometimes and can be difficult to top 20 mph due to air resistance if the motor isn't helping, especially with the heavier build of a lot of these products

Andrew Hunter
4 months ago

It seemed you had to use a high kadence to get up to top speed.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I just prefer high cadence, it's actually easier to hit the top speed with higher slower gears. Since I'm filming a lot too, it can be difficult to shift in the moment while keeping the shot

cresshead
4 months ago

really well designed bike..perfect for it's market segment i think

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

It's definitely clean and sleek, like a more useful city bike than the single speed simple ones that cost less, it's like a pro city bike in my opinion

BCRBCRBCRBCRBCRBCR
4 months ago

avoid bicycles with the loud Bosch whine

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Most of them have that sound, it happens when you ride in the highest level of assist and spin fast... which is how I always ride XD

James Mason
4 months ago

are there e bikes with electronic shifting

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, this one can be ordered with an upgraded NuVinci harmony with electronic shifting so you just set your cadence and it shifts itself (your speed changes, but your cadence and effort stays roughly the same):https://electricbikereview.com/evelo/galaxy-tt/

ting280
4 months ago

can you review the Ghost Andasol Trekking bike? they sell it locally here in Toronto at a shop called MEC and your Daymack EC1 review was on point so I'm curious about the Ghost. looks like no one else has really reviewed it, not sure if it's new or if it just sucks.

Seppo Äyräväinen
4 months ago

I have the Ghost Andasol Trekking 5, found it at a discounted price of 2000€ (~3000 CAD), and bought it without a test drive or seeing any reviews. Been commuting with it for 2 weeks now (30-35km per day) and I love it. The Bosch motor is very smooth, and the saddle is surprisingly comfortable. The stem is adjustable, so it was easy to get the upright position I wanted. Front and back lights are powered by the main battery, and very easy to switch on and off. Fenders are long enough, and those as well as the rack are sturdy and good quality. The Ortlieb Back Roller Classic panniers I bought fit nicely and are just great in any weather. Front suspension and the suspended seatpost work well together when riding around town. Hydraulic disc brakes are very effective, slightly less so when wet. Tires roll ok when given enough pressure, and should offer at least medium puncture resistance. Grip could be better when cornering. The bike is heavy to lift, but you can't feel it when pedaling with the assist on. I've also dragged a Qeridoo Speedkid2 trailer + 7yr old kid + stuff with it - no problem even uphill. What I don't like is the handlebar, which is too curved (grandma style) for my taste, so I'll probably switch to a more straight bar. And of course this one has regular chain drive with external gearing - not optimal when you need to stop for red lights often. In the city I think belt drive and internal gears (possibly automatic) are the optimal choice, but that's also a very expensive option (like doubles the price), so I'll live with this for now. Anyway, with this ebike I've already seriously considered commuting all year round - something I would never have done (here in Finland) with my traditional 7-speed bike. This is my first e-bike, but I did test drive four e-bikes before buying this one (Sinus Tria 9, Walleräng M.01, Haibike, SDURO Trekking 4.0 Heisenberg XD1 Urban). I hope this helps, but still would be nice to see a proper review of the bike :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Interesting, I may be in Toronto later this year and will keep that one in mind, thanks for the request and suggestion on where to find it ;)

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
4 months ago

Yo Court can you do a review on Scott E Genius 720 Plus!!! This e Bike is beyond awesome! very innovative!!!

actnowone
4 months ago

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA what a pity probably won't get a review but it looks a hell of a bike

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
4 months ago

I did some research it's only available in the UK at this point in time (the 2018 Atom X trail bike). It's an awesome bike wish I could get it in the US I would buy it now!

actnowone
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com the 2018 Atom X trail bike is unbelievable, saw a review on YouTube and it was mind blowing. It had Shimano centre drive and 720 battery built into the frame just beautiful and a really great bike try and do a review if you get the chance

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I'll keep an eye out for that one, thanks for the heads up, it looks sweet :D

David Coleman
4 months ago

I did not think you could ride electric bicycles in NYC.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, I think it has to do with which Class of electric bikes and how you use them. There are delivery guys with throttle operated electric bikes there and sometimes they ride through red lights and stuff so the police give out tickets. I think you can also sell bikes but not necessarily use certain ones in certain places if that makes sense... it's up to the buyer. Here's a short video I made about the situation: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=idZ5-4FZpTc

Jack Burns
4 months ago

only twist/thumb throttle ones