Felt Sport E 85-HP Review

Felt Sport E 85 Hp Electric Bike Review
Felt Sport E 85 Hp
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor With Chain Cover
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Downtube Mounted Bosch Powerpack 400
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Bosch Intuvia Removable Display Panel
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Ergon Gs1 Bicycle Grips
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Rigid Aero Fork Alloy Fenders Herrmans Led Headlight
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Carrymore Bike Rack
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Plastic Carrymore Rack Adapter
Felt Sport E 85 Hp 10 Speed Shimano Deore Xt With Shadow Plus
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Adjustable Kickstand
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Bosch Electric Bike Charger
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Electric Bike Review
Felt Sport E 85 Hp
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Bosch Performance Line Speed Motor With Chain Cover
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Downtube Mounted Bosch Powerpack 400
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Bosch Intuvia Removable Display Panel
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Ergon Gs1 Bicycle Grips
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Rigid Aero Fork Alloy Fenders Herrmans Led Headlight
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Carrymore Bike Rack
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Plastic Carrymore Rack Adapter
Felt Sport E 85 Hp 10 Speed Shimano Deore Xt With Shadow Plus
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Adjustable Kickstand
Felt Sport E 85 Hp Bosch Electric Bike Charger

Summary

  • A lightweight, high speed, sleek commuter style electric bike with completely rigid frame and fork, narrow tires coast efficiently, quick release on both wheels
  • Sturdy Aluminum alloy fenders and chain cover keep you clean and dry, integrated lights help you navigate in the dark, and reflective tires and decals keep you visible
  • Great kickstand placement, functional rack with plastic Carrymore adapter on top, adjustable stem with high-quality Ergon locking grips, five frame size options
  • Excellent weight distribution and handling, the bike is easy to lift, removable battery and display stay safe when parking at a public rack, integrated Micro-USB port for accessories

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Felt

Model:

Sport E 85-HP

Price:

$3,799

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Drivetrain and Electronics, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

45.8 lbs (20.77 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Double Butted Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17.32 in (43.99 cm)18.9 in (48 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)21.65 in (54.99 cm)22.83 in (57.98 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

52 cm Frame Measurements: 20.75" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 31.5" Stand Over Height, 72" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Gloss Race Red Accents and Reflective Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 100 / 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

135 / 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore XT Derailleur, Shimano CS-HG62 11-32T Cogset

Shifter Details:

Shimano SLX Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Felt Branded Lasco Alloy 170 mm / 175 mm Crank Arms, 18T Chainring

Pedals:

Felt Branded VP-615 Composite Plastic Platform with Grip Tape

Headset:

FSA Orbit C-40-ACB-A No 42, 1-1/8" to 1-1/2" Tapered Diameter

Stem:

Felt Branded, Alloy, Adjustable Angle (0° to 60°), 90 mm Length

Handlebar:

Felt Branded, Alloy, Flat, 31.8 mm Diameter, 9° Back Sweep, 25.5" Length

Brake Details:

Shimano BRM615 Hydraulic Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Shimano Levers with Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Ergon GS1, Ergonomic Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Ergon SMC30 Comp, Black

Seat Post:

Felt Branded, 6061 Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

400 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.7 mm

Rims:

Shimano WH-RX05, 28 Hole, Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black with Silver Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Plus, 700 x 38c (28" x 1.5")

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripe, 50 to 85 PSI, Performance Line GreenGuard

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Felt Branded Adjustable Length Kickstand, Carrymore Rear Rack (55 lb Max Load), Aluminum Alloy Fenders, Integrated Herrmans H-1E LED Headlight (75 Lux), Herrmans H-Trace LED Backlight

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 4 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line Speed

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

63 Newton meters

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD, (Hold Reset and i for Settings Menu)

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile FeedIndependent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 5 Volt 500 mA Micro-USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 55% 40 Nm, Tour 120% 50 Nm, Sport 190% 55 Nm, Turbo 275% 63 Nm)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Felt has a reputation for being a sporty race-inspired bicycle brand and the Sport E 85-HP fits this image. It’s a sporty high-speed electric bike that can reach up to 28 mph, as a Class 3 speed pedelec it does not have a throttle but the Bosch drive system is incredibly responsive. It measures wheel speed, pedal cadence, and pedal torque 1,000 times per second to give you near-instant power from stops and I got to experience this many times while riding through Brooklyn New York. There were automobiles, stop signs, traffic signals, and pedestrians to keep an eye out for and I found that the Bosch Performance Speed motor gave me a higher level of confidence keeping up with traffic. There are many Class 3 e-bikes on the market now and this one does require a bit more effort to truly hit 28 mph, but it is very efficient and the weight of both the motor and battery is positioned low and center on the frame. In my view, this is a commuter oriented electric bike and the cool angular alloy fenders, plastic chain cover, full-sized rack with Carrymore adapter plate (for a basket attachment), and integrated lights make it very utilitarian. You could ride the Sport E in rain and at night and have a higher level of relative comfort and safety than many competing bikes. This is because the tires are slightly larger than true road tires (increasing air volume and adding comfort). The tires have a puncture protection lining to reduce flats… and in the event that a flat tire does occur, both wheels have quick release so maintenance is fast and intuitive. The tires and portions of the frame even have reflective paint and stickers to help you stand out to automobiles and other cyclists. The one area where this model compromises is on comfort vs. weight. Many similarly specced ebikes weigh in around 50 lbs because the fenders, rack, and light systems add up. Felt keeps their weight down by using high grade Aluminum and foregoing a suspension fork in favor of a sleek but rigid aero fork. The adjustable stem, Ergon saddle, and Ergon grips do something for comfort but as you can see from the video review, this bike chatters a bit and is just stiffer than average. I would definitely buy a 27.2 mm Bodyfloat seatpost suspension if I purchased this bike. When you mix high speed with efficient tires, and a stiff diamond frame, you tend to feel the road cracks and inconsistencies more acutely.

Driving the Felt SportE 85-HP is an internally geared mid-motor from Bosch. This is their Performance Line Speed drive which puts out up to 60 Newton meters of torque ranging from 250 to 500+ watts. It’s incredibly capable if you shift through the ten gears thoughtfully and use the plus and minus keys to raise and lower assist support. Rather than use a standard sized chainring, Bosch has opted for a smaller 18 tooth design (and ranges from 15 to 22 teeth on other models) that spins 2.5 times for every crank arm revolution. This keeps the chainring smaller, providing increase grab, and possibly faster starts and stops. There’s a gearbox inside the motor that translates the crank arm movement into faster spindle movement for that chainring and this produces a bit of friction and noise if you’re riding the bike unpowered. I also noticed that when riding at the higher levels of assist and with a faster RPM, the motor produces some whirring noise, almost a high pitched whine. I appreciate that Felt has included a minimalist plastic cover for both the chainring and a portion of the chain itself. This will keep your pants clean and snag-free when riding. And if you look at the composite plastic pedals with that unique grip-tape surface, I think it all comes together that this bike is meant to not mess up your work clothes or shoes. Shifting through gears is simple and fast because the Shimano Deore XT drivetrain is a higher level component and the triggers offer multi-shift (for lower gear action) and two-way action (for higher gear action). The trigger shifters are only on the right side of the bar and the derailleur is setup with the one-way clutch which is most commonly seen on mountain bikes. Since this bike rides faster and the chain might bounce around more, the addition of the Shadow Plus clutch and a clear plastic slap guard offer protection.

Powering the bike, the backlit LCD display, and both lights on the Sport E is a Bosch Powerpack 400 battery. This thing used to be the gold standard because of how compact, lightweight, and easy to remove and transport it was. Now, Bosch has an even higher capacity Powerpack 500 which offers roughly 25% more capacity and only weighs 0.4 lbs more. Considering the higher $3,799 pricepoint of the bike, I was surprised that they didn’t include the 500, especially because high-speed riding drains the battery much faster than 20 mph capped riding. Ultimately, it’s up to you how you want to ride this electric bicycle, and at least the Powerpack 500 is backwards compatible to work with this system if you wanted to buy it separately one day, but it is a bit of a question mark to me. Anyway, the Powerpack design is sleek but not fully integrated and the Felt frame doesn’t flatten out or cup the pack like some of the newest bikes I’ve seen. The tubing is mostly round and a bit tapered at the front of the top tube. Ultimately, the black frame blends well with the black plastic of the battery and motor casing but the battery still stands out, communicating that this is in fact an ebike vs. a regular unpowered bicycle. I love how easy and quick it is to remove the battery, which locks to the frame using a sturdy ABUS core. If you want, you can leave the battery clicked on at all times and simply lift and carry the bike near a power outlet for charging. The included Bosch charger puts out 4 Amps vs. just 2 Amps on a lot of competing products, and that means it can get you filled up and back out on the road quicker. The battery has a nice integrated plastic loop at the top to make carrying it easier (and safer) and the left side has an LED power indicator to help you determine how full it is, regardless of where the bike is. This pack uses Lithium-ion battery cells which are known for being long lasting and lightweight… but they are expensive. I believe a replacement battery could cost upwards of $700 so try not to drop or misplace it ;)

Operating this and other Bosch powered electric bikes is a snap, especially with the Intuvia display panel. Once the battery pack is charged and mounted to the interface on the downtube, just press the power button at the lower left corner of the LCD display panel. It boots up very quickly and should be easy to read in daylight or darkness because it’s gently backlit with a blue glow. You see your current speed, a five-tic battery infographic, and a chart of assist level (starting at off). If you press the i button on the right side of the display (or on the remote button pad located near the left grip) you will cycle through trip stats like max speed, average speed, timer, and range. Range is cool because it provides more detail than the five bar battery readout. With this menu, you can dynamically estimate how far you can go with motor support in the currently selected assist level. The Bosch system measures your assist setting, the battery capacity, and even factors in the last mile of performance to give you this dynamic range estimate which is super cool. As someone who commutes, and often takes a detour for groceries or events with friends, the range readout has helped me to know when it’s time to lower assist or plug the bike in to make it home without running out of juice. But, given the relative light weight of this bike and efficient tire and frame design, it’s not a terrible bike to just pedal unpowered. This is one of the few electric bicycles I have tested that actually feels good on flat terrain without any assist. But coming back to the display, I like that you can remove it, that it’s large enough to see when sitting upright, that it has a Micro-USB port on the right side for charging portable electronics, and that the remote button pad is so easy to reach and understand. You can literally just turn the bike on, start riding, and click plus or minus on the left pad without even looking and have the bike “just work” intuitively. You can hear and feel the light clicking sound as you arrow up or down and the i button is rubberized so your left thumb has a reference point to know where the plus and minus keys are vs. having to look down. If you’re riding fast in traffic, that’s a big deal.

In some ways, the Felt Sport E 85 HP is simple. The frame is purpose-built but doesn’t try to hide the battery or dial in comfort. The sleek bladed fork, bright red accents, mid-level disc brakes, and upgraded grips and saddle combine to deliver a great experience, but one that’s a bit more plain to me. It relies a bit more on reputation and dealer support than price value or fancy accessories. I didn’t love how the rack plate adapter thing rattled and would definitely consider the seatpost suspension products out there from Thudbuster, Bodyfloat, and even SR Suntour (which is a bit cheaper than the others). It’s a product that gets the important things right and is available in a range of sizes so you can get a perfect fit. No, at the time of this review the bike was not available in a diamond or step-thru frame which might be a deal-killer for petite riders or those with hip and knee issues, but the diamond frame is sturdy and easy to lift which is great if you have stairs to deal with or put your bike on a hanging style bus or car rack. The adjustable stem is interesting but I didn’t experiment with it enough to determine how sturdy it is. I know that Satori and some other companies make two-bolt adjustable stems that won’t rattle loose as easily. Just keep an eye on that part. I’d like to thank Chris Nolte at Propel for letting me review one of his stock bikes, it was a bit damp out during our ride in Brooklyn, New York and the fenders came in handy. For reference, I was riding the 52 cm frame size which is about Medium.

Pros:

  • This bike is well balanced front to rear with weight positioned low and center, it’s easy to lift because of the diamond frame (useful if you live up stairs) and can be hung from most car or bus racks by the top tube
  • It’s setup well for commuting, the fenders, rear rack, quick release wheels (that have Performance Line GreenGuard puncture protection), removable battery pack and display, and addition of bottle cage bosses mean you don’t have to upgrade much or make compromises to get going
  • Integrated lights run straight off the batter so you don’t have to fiddle with AA batteries, the tires are reflective from the sides to help cars see you and even some of the paint is reflective!
  • I think the bike looks cool, the paint job is sporty and because the base color is black, the battery and motor casing blend in well, even the wires and cables show up less and look less cluttered than on some other products
  • Interesting pedal choice, they work well with different types of shoes and might not chew up the soles of fancy work shoes as much as metal spiked pedals like the Wellgo BMX model that I see frequently
  • I’m a big fan of Bosch, their Performance Line motors are responsive and powerful and the Speed model used here is perfect for commuting and keeping up with traffic
  • The motor offers shift-detection which reduces strain on the chain, sprockets, and derailleur so they won’t require as much maintenance or have to be replaced as quickly even if you’re not shifting perfectly
  • The drivetrain is great, it offers 10 speeds to help cover the wider range of assisted speed that the motor offers and has a special one-way clutch to keep the chain tight (click the grey lever into the up position to engage this or leave it down for easier shifting but more chain bounce)
  • Being able to remove the battery pack and display is a big deal if you have to park your bike at a rack in the sun, bad weather, or sketchy neighborhood, I often bring my accessories inside for protection and to recharge
  • The battery charger is compact, works with the pack either on or off the bike and does not require any kind of adapter, and fills the pack quickly
  • The rear rack is setup well for a trunk bag or side-hanging panniers as well as a basket attachment on top, I appreciate that the rear light is protected by the rack and kept out of the way of most bags that you might add
  • Even though there’s limited suspension, the Ergon grips and saddle offer a higher level of comfort than most other stock touch points I see and test
  • Minor pro here, I love that the bike has hydraulic disc brakes because they are easier to actuate than mechanical and won’t stretch, the levers are adjustable which is handy if you have shorter fingers or wear gloves… but I feel that 160 mm for a speed pedelec is just okay vs. a 180 mm rotor up front or maybe 180 mm for both?
  • Because the mid-drive motor leverages the gears that you shift through, it can operate very efficiently and offers incredible range, even with the standard Powerpack 400 here, expect 20+ miles all the way up to 40+ depending on the level of assist, ride conditions, how fast you go, and cargo+rider weight, for those who want more capacity the PowerPack 500 will work with the same interface so you could purchase a larger pack separately for long rides
  • As I was thinking about lifting the bike and hanging it on a rack, I noticed that most of the cables are internally routed through the downtube, so that top tube is snag-free and just very clean
  • The kickstand offers tool-free adjustable length which is great if you have to park on uneven surfaces, I like that Felt positioned the stand towards the rear (out of the way of the left crank arm and under the rack where it might support the weight of cargo)

Cons:

  • In my opinion, $3,800 feels like a high price considering you get the older Bosch Powerpack 400 vs. the new 500 and the bike is fairly standard without a suspension fork and not super light at ~46 lbs, though Felt is known for high quality and this model has fenders and a rack which add weight, they sells through a broad network of dealers who can fit you and provide service
  • The flip side of efficiency on this bike is a reduction in comfort, there’s no suspension and the 1.5″ tires are rated from 50 to 85 PSI which is much higher than a lot of the 2″ tires that go down to 30 PSI, I’d strongly consider swapping the stock seat post for a 27.2 mm Bodyfloat, just keep in mind that it will raise the minimum saddle height by ~3 inches
  • I believe that the Felt Sport E 85-HP is only available in the high-step diamond frame style (at least for model year 2017), this is a sturdy and sporty frame style but it isn’t as accessible to petite riders or those with hip and knee issues, other companies are offering step-thru and mid-step for similar models like the Bulls Lacuba EVO E45
  • The Bosch motor does produce a soft whining noise when in use under full power or when you pedal at higher RPM, it’s louder than the Stromer or OHM ebikes which have gearless hub motors vs. mid-drive, the fenders did stay very quiet which is nice because sometimes plastic fenders rattle, the plastic rack cover did rattle some
  • Keep an eye on the adjustable stem, it’s a neat part because it lets you optimize for comfort (upright) or aerodynamics (down and forward) but I have seen these rattle loose over time and start to strip so just keep it tight and maybe consider replacing with a rigid stem at some point if you have issues
  • Minor complaint here but the plastic Carrymore deck adapter did rattle a bit, this could produce some noise and maybe get looser over time? The bike I reviewed here was brand new so I was surprised that the plate had some play as shown in the video

Resources:

More Felt Reviews

Felt Tote’M Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A light-duty electric cargo bike that can carry a single child seat on the long rear rack, available in three frame sizes, nimble handling, optional front rack. Not as heavy as other cargo e-bikes in part because of the Shimano drive system,…...

Felt Brühaul Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A surprisingly light weight electric cargo bike with an abundance of rack and tie down mounting points for use with a myriad of accessories. Powered by the award winning Bosch Centerdrive motor system that offers high torque output, shift…...

Felt VERZAe Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Deep step-thru frame design for easy mounting, available in four sizes for excellent fit, comfortable ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout. Great utility features including quick release front and rear, a welded rear carry rack (capable…...

Felt OUTFITTER Review

  • MSRP: $5,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stylish fat tire electric bike with unique camouflage paint job, stylish Old Man Mountain cargo racks and integrated Motion Stella 300 headlight. Offers 11 speeds with a quality SRAM X1 drivetrain, second generation electronic systems by Bosch...

Felt DUALe Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Performance level full suspension electric bike with 650b wheelset and Bosch mid-drive motor. Exceptionally light weight ~44 lbs and stiff, available in four frame sizes for a perfect…...

Felt NINEe Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Ultra light-weight hardtail electric cross-country / mountain bike with efficient 29er wheels and premium components. Capable off-road or as a rugged commuter, seat stay bosses for adding a rear rack,…...

Felt SPORTe Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Step-thru version of the standard SPORTe available in two smaller sizes, delivering efficiency, stiffness and quality components for people who enjoy city and road style riding. Plenty of threaded eyelets for adding fenders or a rear carry rack, Felt offers these…...

Felt SPORTe Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Light, stiff and fast with efficient frame, wheel and tire design that strike a balance between city and road performance. Plenty of bosses for adding your own fenders or a rear carry rack, Felt offers…...

Felt LEBOWSKe Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium fat bike with efficient Bosch Centerdrive motor offering improved balance and torque in dirt, sand and snow. Light weight, high performance 6061 aluminum frame with carbon fiber bars and aero fork, available…...


elliot
3 months ago

I bought a Felt Sport e 85 HP back in August and it has given me a new lease on life, at least on my “riding life.” I’m very pleased with its performance, I don’t find the motor loud at all, and I appreciate the fact that it looks more like a bicycle than a motorcycle. Exactly what was searching for. I was about to inquire why you haven’t reviewed this model and behold, there it was. Thank you Court for all of your energy and enthusiasm. It made my quest for an e-bike much simpler and more enjoyable. Elliot

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Fantastic, thanks for sharing your experience and enjoyment of this bike and for the compliment Elliot :D

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Bruce Arnold
3 days ago

Reid, that's good advice and I fully plan to follow through. I can do a quick check myself for obvious looseness, but I want a pro to do a thorough job in the not-too-distant future.

As to the trip odometer, unless I do a manual reset (which also zeros out total watt-hours etc.), the odometer keeps adding up, ride after ride. I don't consider it a trip odometer if it can't be reset independently. If I'm missing something, please tell me!

Chris, I haven't seen any recommendations on checking the spokes specifically from Juiced. To me, that's just generic bike knowledge. Spokes that are loose can be felt with the fingers -- they will move. You can get a feel for the overall state of tune by pinging each spoke with a wrench or something -- they should all make more or less the same musical note. This only takes a couple of minutes. Most of us could learn to lace and true a wheel ourselves. Naturally, there are YouTube videos galore. To me, it's kind of like hanging dry wall: I can do it, but it would take me a whole weekend to do what a pro can do in an afternoon -- and they make it look so easy. ;)

Gina
4 days ago

I am 61 years, 95 lbs and want to switch to an electric assist to help me up the hills to the tennis courts. I'm used to riding my bike to the courts but have lived in flat terrain in the past. Now I live with some steep hills and they are just too tough for me. Most of my riding will be the 4 mile return commute to the courts three times a week but I'd like to be able to take the bike to parks and ride through the trails so I'd like the bike to be as light as possible yet have the nice features such as hydraulic disc brakes as I'm a slow rider, a little nervous going down the hills or going fast. Anyone have either of these bikes, compared them yourself, or have some suggestions that I may not have considered? I haven't tested the actual bikes as they have to be ordered so I want to be almost certain before I have one ordered. I rode the Trek but the 16.5" frame and I rode last year's medium frame Turbo, slightly different model. E-bikes are totally new to me and they both felt good. Thank you for any feedback or suggestions!

JillRide45
6 days ago

I have a 2018 Carbon Comp Levo, and when I purchased it they had the discounted women's models on the floor. If you ride rocky technical MTB trails I would go with the 2018. The 2018 is so much smoother than the 17. Power on the 17 never felt as nice as the 18 motor. Components are a big deal on the electric bike because they take a beating. Also if you are riding technical rocks you will need a dropper so right there is $300 you would have to put in the 17. Also check the front fork, the Carbon comes with the new Revelation (Pike) and it is great. I put on some light weight carbon wheels and Schwalbe Nobby Nic/Rocket Rons and my Levo weighs 45 lbs ready to ride. Love the bike and it does amazing on the rocks! Have fun

mrgold35
6 days ago

I have two 2016 Radrover 4" fat tire bikes with +3800 miles between them with work and trail riding. I'm 6'3", 270 lbs, and about 70-75 lbs for the Radrover with all accessories (62 lbs for Radrover, rack, rack bag, lights, suspension seat post, tools, etc...). My 13 mile round-trip work commute elevation change goes from 4900ft at work to 5450ft for my home. Most Radrover ebikes all weigh about the same. Not going to save that much overall weight with a radcity, radmini, or radrover (radwagon weights the most).

The Radrover has the same 750 watt max power like the other Rad power bikes. I've never felt the Radrover was underpowered on the steepest part of my commute. Most riders on pedal bikes walk their bikes up the steepest part or they pedal 2-4 mph max. I can ride up the same steep section in PAS 3 (375 watts) or PAS 4 (550 watts) with my speed between 10-17 mph (depends on how energetic I am after work or how stiff the head wind).

I haven't tried Rad Power bikes other types of ebikes with the same 750w power. Maybe the 2X extra wide 4" rear hub motor might help put down more TQ when needed compared to other Rad bikes with thinner motors? My wife is 4'11" and 130 lbs and she flies up the same hill in PAS 3 while I need PAS 4, more pedalling, and a touch of full 750w throttle every once in a while to keep up with her.

The things I love about the Radrover 4" fat tires are:
- full 750 watt throttle at any PAS level, throttle comes in handy getting across intersections in a hurry
- fat tires are really smooth on any type of pavement, sidewalks, curbs, hard packed dirt, sandy trails, and rocky trails, very easy to transition to road, dirt, sand, mud, etc... without missing a beat
- comfortable upright riding position
- it can haul some weight and gear, max limit is 290 lbs for the Radrover
- inexpensive, I was able to get two radrovers+Saris platform rack for the average price of one mid-drive
- easy to work on, easy to upgrade, easy to ride

DaveinMtAiry
6 days ago

In case anyone is interested I have an update. Fortunately for me a Haibike dealer opened up in the next town over. I test rode a SDURO Cross 4.0 as well as the Hard Nine which was $500 more. I loved them both but the Hard Nine just felt better. The only problem is the area did not have the massive hills we have on our road and what I anticipate when we move to Tennessee. So I was not convinced it will be able to handle those as I weigh 240 pounds.

It says it has a 500W motor but the spec sheet says 250W with a max of 500W. Does that match what we have been referring to as a 500W motor, where that's really the max output?

My concern about longevity was confirmed when the shop said the battery may last 5 years with a replacement costing $500. This has caused me to wait, hopefully the battery development will continue to improve. Besides I need this at retirement in 6 years and I don't want to have to buy multiple batteries.

Scott C
1 week ago

I really don't think you guys, (Will and John) are looking out enough. John I'm sure the fitting did as you say but all of the fitting malarchy just fades to nothing when you get higher bars and and a big padded comfy seat. Sure the seat height, tilt and longtitudinal position makes a difference but you don't need a pro fitting to figure that out since with the upright position and comfy behind comes obvious options - like you have in your car seat position. Maybe the odd person may need help but the range and options are dead obvious. I mean motorcyclists don't have any of this fitting business going on and while e-mtb's are not motorcycles they are sure not entirely bicycles either. The whole head down pedalling comfort thing just isn't a thing. Sit up and back and stand or not and put your seat where it's good and way you go. More broadly I think we're so fortunate since we get to experience most of good bits of bicycling ...and at least a little of motorcycling's charms ...and that charming motorcycling goodness is comfort. If you're riding an e-mtb with a normal narrow hard horrid seat and flat bars - well ...that's only half the cherry.
Anyhow, cheers. Scott.

John from Connecticut
1 week ago

Will, Again in my opinion you're spot on....I've been there, done that as they say ( paid for a professional fit ) and it has made all the difference
in the world for riding comfort. You wrote.....

"If a rider selects the proper saddle for their position on the bike and has a saddle that supports the sit bones correctly that is more important than pretty much anything. Never buy a saddle because everyone has it or that it looks cool. There's more important considerations here. "

Thanks to my LBS Mgr / Pro Fitter he did just as you stated, selected the proper saddle and I can ride 'forever', well 2-3 hours until my battery is done. When I bought my bike, my LBS did a basic fit, I rode for a week -ish- just to get the feel of the bike, returned and we did the real fit.

I'll never forget the feeling of the initial post fit ride and how the correct leg extension felt. I thought I was on a different bike it was so great. As for a Brooks saddle for me, what I have works and works very well. I think I stick with it.

I hope this forum was helpful to others, I know it was very helpful for me. Thank you Will for your input, much appreciated.

John from CT

Ravi Kempaiah
1 week ago

Not to derail the thread. You should absolutely try them.
Brooks saddles are so much better than anything once broken in. They supply some specific grease for the leather which will expedite the break-in process to 2-3 days. All my bikes have Brooks. There are literally thousands of pages on the web about people's experience.
Actually I tried Selle Royal Respiro back in 2013 and I have tried the ISM Adamo type saddles but Brooks will win hands down.

The closest in terms of anatomical alignment design and comfort is SQ labs: https://www.sq-lab.com/shop/en/Saddles/

Here is an educational video from SQ labs about saddles:

John from Connecticut
1 week ago

Hello Will, Wow, You are spot with your post. I have 'lived' and experienced everything you've written. Your point is very well
taken regarding installing Suspension Seat Posts after test riding the correct first saddle first. My prior enthusiasm was misguided
by the overwhelming improvement the Cirrus BodyFloat brought to my riding experience.

I ride a Trex XM700+ Ebike, for me it was (is) stiff. After a comprehensive professional fit, I felt like I was sitting on a
stump. ( Nothing to do with the fit ) . I was seriously considering returning the bike because of the stiffness and how it
impacted (no pun intended) my back and neck. I installed the Cirrus BodyFloat Seat Post...Bingo a new bike !

Question... I'm always been a fan of Brooks Saddles. I'm considering installing a Brooks Cambium C17. My LBS Mgr / Fitter upgraded and installed a Bontrager Montrose Comp saddle. It's very comfortable and I can ride 'forever' with no pain and neck issues. Your thoughts on a Brooks ?

Thanks,
John from CT

Boca
1 week ago

Hey guys, thanks for the new interest in my issue.

My bikes have been in a shop near Miami at the request of Bulls for evaluation. Communication with the shop has been difficult due to a language barrier, but they are sincere. Communications with Bulls has been on and off, but also sincere. The tech guy at Bulls in California is probably covering the whole country and has limited time to communicate, but here's the deal:

Bulls wanted the batteries hooked up and tested according to their protocol. The shop did that but one came back "incomplete and timed out." Bulls had a hard time getting the shop to finish that one, but Bulls finally decided to replace both batteries. The shop earlier said they tested fine, but they, like me, were unable to charge them with my chargers or theirs. Nobody is telling me what the problem is, but I finally pried some info out of the shop. They said there was a manufacturer lot of bad batteries wherein a case screw was grounding out one of the cells. So, my theory had been that my chargers were tripping out. I could hear them click when hooked up to the battery. So, I guess the batteries were shorted. The mystery is why two batteries would short out at the same time. I had had problems with one of the batteries from day one. It would never charge over 80 %, but both were chargeable until I ran them down to 20% and 40%.

The shop told me the new batteries had come in. It is an hour's drive for me. I got there and the box contained only one battery. The shop felt bad about it and said they would have the second battery delivered to me when it comes in. When I got home I charged the battery. It went to full charge and the charger acted normal. Looks like the chargers are OK - just a bad battery. Now if I can get the second battery I'll be good to go. UPS says the battery has been at their facility In Jacksonville since Feb 4 with no updates. Geez...what's going on?

Joseph Green
1 week ago

So far I haven't felt the need to buy an electric bike because of Jump's current offering. But I work from home (near the city center, where there are plenty of Jump bikes) and have a flexible schedule. I'm sure there are plenty of DC commuters who currently take the bus/metro/Uber/Lyft/etc. that would find investing in their own e-bike worthwhile. The fit of the Jump bike is good enough for my wife and me to use on a daily basis, and I'm 6'6" and my wife is 5'2". I'm sure I would enjoy the fit of certain e-bikes more, but Jump is a good balance of simplicity, features, and comfort for a bikeshare bike.

If I needed to commute I think I would consider purchasing an e-bike for the reliability. Jump (or a competitor) can solve that issue by adding many more bikes, but that might not come for a year or two, and even then they would probably only be readily available in the center 4-5 mile radius of the city (they tend to cluster there, at least for now).

I think Jump swaps out the dead batteries with charged ones. They have about 7 hubs around the city, which are areas marked on the map in the app where you can end your ride to get $1 off your trip. I think that helps them swap batteries and service the bikes more efficiently. I heard they are currently expanding to two other cities (in Texas, and Rhode Island or Connecticut, I believe), and I hope they expand to many other cities soon.

Disaresta
2 weeks ago

My CCS arrived today and I've already had a blast riding it around! Well I've only put 6 miles on it, it was cold and rainy and I also didn't charge the battery first but it had enough charge in it to do what I wanted.

Me: 5'8" 190lbs. Ordered a medium frame and I feel like it fits just fine. I ordered a https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01BIQN9UC/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 and it gives a smooth ride (I never rode the bike with the stock seat post so I can't compare).

[*]Pros

[*]I test rode two different Pedego bikes since there was a dealer nearby and I didn't enjoy my experience too much. Happy to say that my CCS is so superior to the two models I tried at Pedego.
[*]The front light is incredibly bright!
[*]There's serious power in this bike. I never put it past level 1 and even then it felt effortless. I tried to stay around 15-20mph.

[*]Cons

[*]Set up was...okay. The instructions really need to be updated with some clarity

[*]They included two different sized washers for the front fender pole that connects the fender to the fork.
[*]Nowhere in the instructions did it say that the clips need to be oriented a specific direction and that once you snap it on you can't take it off. (If I'm just wrong on this someone correct me). I will need to put in a ticket with Juiced to see about a replacement

[*]That's surprisingly it. I of course had my issue during the actual ordering process but once I received the bike things are better
[*]The front reflector light that you are supposed to add to the bike is not big enough to put it dead center. Granted who needs it when you have that powerful light but its still odd that they didn't design it to fit squarely in the middle

[*]Misc.

[*]I'm on the look out for chain drops and possibly shorting my chain. We'll see what happens as time goes on
[*]The bike is understandably heavy
[*]Didn't have an issue getting the battery to fit
[*]I rode to a bike shop and had them adjust the brakes. The disc kept rubbing as the wheel moved and made noises. I know Juiced had a video about how to adjust it but I got impatient and just wanted to ride lol.

michelliots
3 months ago

I bought a Felt Sport e 85 HP in August and it has given me a new lease on life, at least on my "riding life." I'm very pleased with its performance, I don't find the motor loud at all, and I appreciate the fact that it looks more like a bicycle than a motorcycle. Exactly what was searching for. I was about to inquire why you haven't reviewed this model and then, there it was.
Thank you Court for all of your energy and enthusiasm. It made my quest for an e-bike much simpler and more enjoyable.

charlie haluk
3 months ago

clarification: it is not efficiency loss in terms of the motor due to high speed, in other words the the efficiency of energy transfer from electrical to mechanical output is not reduced at higher speeds. Actually it improves just for the motor. It is the air drag which is really increasing at higher speeds (to some power, like cube..), so it is the power demand that is increasing in increasing proportions, say following some exponential function to speed. So the bike consumption of electrical energy is really increasing (and your muscle effort demand too!), but that increased energy is efficiently (80% at least) is converted to mechanical energy, but your bike speed will not increase in the same proportion to the input effort at higher speeds. In other words more and more energy is required to push the air, but that is the efficiency of the whole bike! Largely dependent on the shape, surface area of you and your bike that is pushing the air. The motor is still working very efficiently, it not "his" fault that you have the "wrong" shape of you for cycling.

Lars Ödman
5 months ago

Sorry, this bosch noise pollution is to loud and makes me angry and uncomfortable during a pleasant road trip.

charlie haluk
3 months ago

I just bought one and it is not loud at all. In this videos the loudness comes thru due the microphone being real close to the drive train.

Mike Ferrell
5 months ago

Your reviews are great, but your remarks about motors, torque, power, and so on are misleading. You can take a class on elementary physics and dc motors and batteries and it would make your reviews much better,

bdub2868
6 months ago

love this channel

actnowone
6 months ago

Nice looking bike but wish the battery was more integrated into the frame, 400 watt battery is old hat 500 minimum now, some batteries now exceeding 700.

Things seem now to be leaping ahead in e-bike technology can't be far away before we see the first 1000 power battery.

room-360
6 months ago

This bike looks nice. I like the wide tyres. Must be a good touring bike with heavy load on gravel roads.

Looks like lighter pedelecs have hit the US these days too. :-)

Only the plastic plate on the rack sucks. I already had all sorts of racks am my favorite still is the good old clamp.
I wonder how the guy would connect some Ortlieb oder Vaude panniers to the weird plate? Yeah... by removing it. ;-)

Update: I just saw that Felt is a German company - lol

That explains it! I knew the brand name sounded familiar to me.

Gregory Barber
6 months ago

Personally I would like to see more reviews of felt and cube bikes. Thank you for this.

Neezy Ko
6 months ago

They shouldn't use the letters "HP" because that's usually associated with horsepower. Typically, if you want to say HIGH POWER, you would use "HPO"

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Interesting, that's a fair point Neezy, thanks for the feedback and education ;)

payasofeo69
6 months ago

You're so peppy and full of energy! Then there's that other guy... lol 😂 what a contrast ;-)

payasofeo69
6 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com absolutely! Always enjoy your videos, just thought the contrast was comical :-)
Cheers from Montreal Canada 🇨🇦

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Chris is really smart and I trust his opinions, he doesn't have the same super happy promotional type of communication style that many other sales people at ebike shops do. He might not be as animated, but he's more objective in my opinion, I hope it's still enjoyable when he's in some of the videos, I appreciate your feedback

Siegfried Bruner
6 months ago

Seems a lot like my modified Trek PowerFly 5, which I used recently to ride a local century. Obviously I don't have 28mph pedaling, but I have found eco mode suits me best, with an occasional bump on hills. It is very efficient and fun to ride.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Nice, it sounds like you're enjoying the PowerFly 5. I agree that most of my riding is in Eco our Tour vs. the higher Sport and Turbo, but it is fun to go a little faster sometimes and can be difficult to top 20 mph due to air resistance if the motor isn't helping, especially with the heavier build of a lot of these products

Andrew Hunter
6 months ago

It seemed you had to use a high kadence to get up to top speed.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

I just prefer high cadence, it's actually easier to hit the top speed with higher slower gears. Since I'm filming a lot too, it can be difficult to shift in the moment while keeping the shot

cresshead
6 months ago

really well designed bike..perfect for it's market segment i think

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

It's definitely clean and sleek, like a more useful city bike than the single speed simple ones that cost less, it's like a pro city bike in my opinion

BCRBCRBCRBCRBCRBCR
6 months ago

avoid bicycles with the loud Bosch whine

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Most of them have that sound, it happens when you ride in the highest level of assist and spin fast... which is how I always ride XD

James Mason
6 months ago

are there e bikes with electronic shifting

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Yeah, this one can be ordered with an upgraded NuVinci harmony with electronic shifting so you just set your cadence and it shifts itself (your speed changes, but your cadence and effort stays roughly the same):https://electricbikereview.com/evelo/galaxy-tt/

ting280
6 months ago

can you review the Ghost Andasol Trekking bike? they sell it locally here in Toronto at a shop called MEC and your Daymack EC1 review was on point so I'm curious about the Ghost. looks like no one else has really reviewed it, not sure if it's new or if it just sucks.

Seppo Äyräväinen
6 months ago

I have the Ghost Andasol Trekking 5, found it at a discounted price of 2000€ (~3000 CAD), and bought it without a test drive or seeing any reviews. Been commuting with it for 2 weeks now (30-35km per day) and I love it. The Bosch motor is very smooth, and the saddle is surprisingly comfortable. The stem is adjustable, so it was easy to get the upright position I wanted. Front and back lights are powered by the main battery, and very easy to switch on and off. Fenders are long enough, and those as well as the rack are sturdy and good quality. The Ortlieb Back Roller Classic panniers I bought fit nicely and are just great in any weather. Front suspension and the suspended seatpost work well together when riding around town. Hydraulic disc brakes are very effective, slightly less so when wet. Tires roll ok when given enough pressure, and should offer at least medium puncture resistance. Grip could be better when cornering. The bike is heavy to lift, but you can't feel it when pedaling with the assist on. I've also dragged a Qeridoo Speedkid2 trailer + 7yr old kid + stuff with it - no problem even uphill. What I don't like is the handlebar, which is too curved (grandma style) for my taste, so I'll probably switch to a more straight bar. And of course this one has regular chain drive with external gearing - not optimal when you need to stop for red lights often. In the city I think belt drive and internal gears (possibly automatic) are the optimal choice, but that's also a very expensive option (like doubles the price), so I'll live with this for now. Anyway, with this ebike I've already seriously considered commuting all year round - something I would never have done (here in Finland) with my traditional 7-speed bike. This is my first e-bike, but I did test drive four e-bikes before buying this one (Sinus Tria 9, Walleräng M.01, Haibike, SDURO Trekking 4.0 Heisenberg XD1 Urban). I hope this helps, but still would be nice to see a proper review of the bike :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Interesting, I may be in Toronto later this year and will keep that one in mind, thanks for the request and suggestion on where to find it ;)

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
6 months ago

Yo Court can you do a review on Scott E Genius 720 Plus!!! This e Bike is beyond awesome! very innovative!!!

actnowone
6 months ago

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA what a pity probably won't get a review but it looks a hell of a bike

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
6 months ago

I did some research it's only available in the UK at this point in time (the 2018 Atom X trail bike). It's an awesome bike wish I could get it in the US I would buy it now!

actnowone
6 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com the 2018 Atom X trail bike is unbelievable, saw a review on YouTube and it was mind blowing. It had Shimano centre drive and 720 battery built into the frame just beautiful and a really great bike try and do a review if you get the chance

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

I'll keep an eye out for that one, thanks for the heads up, it looks sweet :D

David Coleman
6 months ago

I did not think you could ride electric bicycles in NYC.

J YY
2 months ago

City hall, which pays out millions every year from lawsuits that arise from incompetence, got complaints from people about bad riding delivery guys (guys from poor towns in poor countries with no biking rules) and decided to ban electric bikes as a solution. State politicians are trying to address the issue using federal guidelines... State doesn't pay out much idiot money

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Yeah, I think it has to do with which Class of electric bikes and how you use them. There are delivery guys with throttle operated electric bikes there and sometimes they ride through red lights and stuff so the police give out tickets. I think you can also sell bikes but not necessarily use certain ones in certain places if that makes sense... it's up to the buyer. Here's a short video I made about the situation: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=idZ5-4FZpTc

Jack Burns
6 months ago

only twist/thumb throttle ones