Giant Quick-E+ Review

Giant Quick E Plus Electric Bike Review
Giant Quick E Plus
Giant Quick E Plus Syncdrive Yamaha Mid Drive Motor With Cover
Giant Quick E Plus Energypak 36 Volt Battery
Giant Quick E Plus Lcd Display Panel Bars Stem
Giant Quick E Plus Locking Grips Button Pad
Giant Quick E Plus Axa Blueline30 Led Headlight
Giant Quick E Plus 20 Speed Shimano Deore Shadow
Giant Quick E Plus Composite Plastic Fenders
Giant Quick E Plus 3 Amp Battery Charger
Giant Quick E Plus Electric Bike Review
Giant Quick E Plus
Giant Quick E Plus Syncdrive Yamaha Mid Drive Motor With Cover
Giant Quick E Plus Energypak 36 Volt Battery
Giant Quick E Plus Lcd Display Panel Bars Stem
Giant Quick E Plus Locking Grips Button Pad
Giant Quick E Plus Axa Blueline30 Led Headlight
Giant Quick E Plus 20 Speed Shimano Deore Shadow
Giant Quick E Plus Composite Plastic Fenders
Giant Quick E Plus 3 Amp Battery Charger

Summary

  • A highly-polished electric city bike with sleek battery integration, full-protection fenders, premium LED lights running off the main battery and a minimalist pannier rack for hauling gear
  • Available in four frame sizes but only one traditional high-step diamond style, the bike is extremely efficient with a rigid alloy fork and slick hybrid tires, 20 speed Shimano Deore drivetrain
  • The Yamaha motor is extremely quiet but offers some of the highest torque output, this is a speed model that can reach 28 mph assisted, beautiful display and button pad with USB charging port for portable electronics
  • The display is not removable, the battery can be charged on or off the bike but is heavier and doesn't have a handle so be careful, great price and leading warranty with lots of dealers offering good support

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Giant

Model:

Quick-E+

Price:

$3,000

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

50 lbs (22.67 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.5 lbs (3.4 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.6 lbs (3.44 kg)

Frame Material:

ALUXX SL-Grade Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)21 in (53.34 cm)23 in (58.42 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Large: 21" Seat Tube, 22" Reach, 31" Stand Over Height, 73" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Charcoal Fighter Grey

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid ALUXX SL-Grade Aluminum, OverDrive, 9 mm Skewer with Bolts

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Skewer with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

20 Speed 2x10 Shimano Deore Shadow Rear Derailleur 11-36T, Shimano Deore Front Derailleur 36/48T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Triggers on Left and Right

Cranks:

Custom Forged, 170 mm Length

Pedals:

Alloy Platform Cage

Headset:

Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2"

Stem:

Alloy, 100 mm Length, 8° Angle, Three 5 mm Stacks, One 10 mm Stack

Handlebar:

Alloy Low-Rise, 31.8 Clamp Diameter, 29" Width

Brake Details:

Shimano M315 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor 160 mm Rear Rotor, Shimano M315 Levers with Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Giant, Flat Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Giant Contact Upright

Seat Post:

Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Giant Alloy, Double Wall, 32 Hole, Reinforcement Eyelets

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14G Front, 13G Rear, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 27.5" x 2.0"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripe, Puncture Protection

Tube Details:

Schrader

Accessories:

Giant Composite Plastic Fenders, Rear Pannier Rack, Integrated AXA Blueline30 LED Headlight, Integrated Spanninga Vena LED Rear Light, Ursus Adjustable Length Kickstand

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.8 lb 3 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Giant SyncDrive by Yamaha

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Giant EnergyPak

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

496.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

100 miles (161 km)

Display Type:

Giant, Fixed, Backlit, Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Battery Info-Graphic, Battery Percentage, Speed, Assist Level (Off, Eco, Normal, Power), Cadence (RPM), Trip Time, Trip Distance, Average Speed, Max Speed, Odometer, Range,

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Right (On/Off, Up, Down, Light, i, Walk Mode), 5 Volt Micro USB Port on Left Side of Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Wheel Speed, Pedal Torque, Pedal Cadence)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

While traveling through Southern California I visited Fullerton Bicycles and met Trevor, the owner of the Quick-E+ electric bike you see here. He’s a 128 lb road biker who loves distance rides on the weekend but also commutes ~35 miles daily to his job. Trevor bought this bike to use as a recovery tool and make his commutes a little faster and had some great things to share about it in the video review above. One of my favorite aspects of mainstream electric bicycles like the Quick-E+ is that they tend to come in more sizes and be available to touch and demo at shops. This is truly a mainstream e-bike priced at $3k delivering a 20 speed drivetrain, perfectly integrated motor and battery pack. The thing looks amazing and comes with a two-year warranty that is honored on-site with expert bike technicians. Yes, there are less expensive ebikes on the market but with the Quick-E+ you’re getting a high capacity battery, fast charger, reliable motor from Yamaha, integrated LED lights, full-length fenders that don’t rattle… and a minimalist rack for hauling panniers. It’s an awesome product and it’s fast, topping out at ~28 mph in the highest levels of assist using the higher gears. There are a few compromises like the heavy battery that wasn’t designed with a handle or ridge to make it easier to carry and the fixed display that might get faded and scratched at racks… but the biggest consideration is the lack of suspension. When you’re going faster and further, an all-Aluminum frame and rigid fork transmit bumps and vibration more directly into your back and arms. One way to address this to ride on only the smoothest streets, and even if they take you way out of the way, that’s fine because you can go super far with battery support. Another possible solution is to wear padded cycling pants and gloves and perhaps the biggest improvement would be a 30.9 mm BodyFloat suspension seat post (or other less-expensive suspension post). This is an ebike that blends in, positions weight low and center for excellent handling, uses mid to high level components, like the Shimano hydraulic brakes, and really brings electric bikes into the mainstream into the USA which has historicaly lagged behind Europe and Asia in this industry. It’s exciting.

Driving the Quick-E is a 250 watt nominally rated Yamaha mid-drive motor. It’s branded as SyncDrive through Giant and has a nice skid plate on the bottom for protection. To me, it’s one of the cleanest most hidden looking systems around and it delivers a lot of power… Don’t let the 250 watt rating fool you, it peaks around 500 watts and delivers 80 Newton meters of torque vs. 40 Nm for a lot of hub motors and 63 Nm for the Bosch Performance line motor. What it does not have is shift sensing or the range of RPM output that Bosch does. That means you have to shift more frequently to get those higher speeds and you have to do it with a bit more care. The motor controller is measuring rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque rapidly as you ride and if you simply reduce pedal pressure as you go to shift the motor will naturally back off and reduce the potential for mashing. It works a lot like a normal bicycle and is compatible with two front sprockets vs. just one on Bosch… the Quick-E+ takes full advantage of this with a 10×2 setup and Shimano Deore derailleurs on both. One of the Yamaha marketing highlights is “zero cadence start” which means you don’t have to pedal very far before the motor kicks in. In my experience “zero” is a bit misleading because the bike won’t go if you’re standing still but putting pressure on the pedal (and that’s a good thing), I’d say it’s more like “very fast start” and that’s just what you need going from rest at a traffic light, stop sign or heading up a hill.

Powering the motor, backlit display panel and integrated lights is a 36 volt 13.8 amp hour above-average sized battery pack. On an efficient city bike like this, expect 50 to 100 miles per charge depending on your weight, the terrain, wind conditions and most importantly, the level of pedal assist chosen. There are three levels to choose from and as you get to the highest and switch gears to reach 20+ mph speeds your efficiency will drop significantly. It’s fun to ride fast but I really loved how detailed the battery readout was (with percentage) along with the dynamic range estimator readout because it’s no fun getting stuck way out on a 50 lb bicycle. Yes, the bike still pedals fine unpowered, it’s actually not that bad, but climbing with it would be a chore… especially after knowing what the assist felt like. You could always get some clip-on panniers and bring the 1.7 lb charger along. It puts out 3 Amps for faster than average fills and has a nice metal end piece that fits into the battery pack on or off the bike. I just want to say, the plug interface on the battery is very nice, I like that the rubber flap seats easily and that the battery has an LED readout on it (for a quick look if you haven’t ridden for a while). The bit area of opportunity with this battery is how you’d hold and carry it. The pack is heavier than competing products at ~7.5 lbs and the exterior is slick and rounded… dropping it would be a $700+ mistake and even scratching it would be sad given the beautiful paint matched exterior. I think I’d probably leave mine on the bike and use the awesome kickstand to keep the whole thing secure while charging.

Operating the bike is a breeze with just one step on/off button at the control pad (near the left grip). The display panel is large enough to read but not so large that it dominates the cockpit which already has the brake levers and two sets of trigger shifters, a bell and the button pad. The display lights up when you press the light button on that pad along with the headlight and tail light. Both components are nicer than average and I LOVE that the headlight has little windows on the sides so you will be seen more easily. It’s not shown in my photos or the video but the standard Schwalbe Big Ben tires have reflective sidewall stripes to further increase your visual footprint. As mentioned earlier, this bike is pretty stiff and the larger high-quality tires are the one big comfort compromise. They aren’t as efficient or light as slimmer tires but I’d make the trade any day. So back to the display panel, it lists your speed, a bunch of trip stats including pedal cadence and the level of assist chosen. Arrowing up and down through the levels is easy with a few minutes of practice, it can be done by touch even without looking down once you get how it works.

Clearly I’m impressed with this bike, for the price (even if it sounds high to non-ebikers) you’re getting a LOT of value. The local dealer support cannot be overstated, Giant shops in the US are probably staffed by some reluctant service techs who think ebikes are cheating… but if Trevor is any indication, they are opening their minds and recognizing how useful the technology can be and that’s awesome because they know bicycles better than most. I love that Trevor found his own uses for this bike and was enjoying it. He still rides a normal unpowered bike but can have in-between days to recover without doing nothing and his commute got a lot more tolerable. Yes, I personally would swap the seat post for something more forgiving (and maybe even the stem) but I ride all over and have a sensitive back and neck to start. For most people, this will just be a blast to ride and it looks SO good. It blends in and uses components that will hold up for the long term… even if you don’t shift perfectly. It’s great to go fast without producing a lot of noise or compromising much on handling. Big thanks to Giant for partnering with me on this post and Fullerton Bicycles for having me into their shop all day getting in their way :P thanks for your patience and help Trevor!

Pros:

  • The bike looks beautiful, comes in four frame sizes for a good fit and rides solid, I’m glad they opted for larger tires to help smooth out some of the bumps given that it’s a speed pedelec capable of 28 mph assisted riding
  • Clean tight fenders extend way down and mostly stay out of your way, when turning sharp the front fender could collide with your toes if you have large feet, I like that the rear fender is secured by the pannier rack
  • Front and rear integrated LED lights keep you visible from all sides (notice the side windows on the headlight) and don’t require the hassle of being taking off to charge separately or keep secured when parking… they’re more permanently affixed to the frame, the bike also comes with reflective tires standard
  • Great kickstand, it’s adjustable length and positioned towards the rear of the bike so it won’t collide with your pedals, I like to move the cranks around when cleaning the bike and usually have my bike held up with the kickstand so it’s a nice little convenience to be able to do that without issue here
  • Nice extras including the rack, a flick bell and bottle cage bosses for bringing liquid, a folding lock or mini pump
  • Since Giant is using the Yamaha motor, they were able to custom design their battery and display… I think they did well because both are user-friendly and blend in, the remote button pad for the display is easy to reach and intuitive to use
  • The battery charger is very nice, way better than the huge and heavy charger that Haibike uses for their Yamaha powered models in years past, it’s small, light and faster than average at 3 Amp output, also, the plug interface is metal so it won’t crack as easily
  • At the bottom bracket you’ve got two cogs vs. just one on a lot of mid-drive electric bikes and that means more pedal cadence options and gearing range, I love that they created a shield to protect the motor down there
  • All of the shift cables and wiring are internally routed so the frame looks super clean and you shouldn’t have as many snags lifting or putting it on a rack
  • The pannier rack in the rear has protrusions along the inner top section of the tube to keep bags from sliding forward and back, it also keeps panniers lower to improve handling vs. lifting them way up high like regular aftermarket bolt-on racks
  • The rear wheel has thicker spokes to support the weight of panniers and cargo, both rims use reinforcement eyelets to keep them from cracking… just a good sturdy build overall that can handle higher speeds and more force from electric assist
  • I’m a big fan of hydraulic disc brakes, especially for ebikes, the added weight of the bike (this one is ~50 lbs) combined with assisted speed means that braking is important and hydraulic is just easier to pull and the Quick-E+ uses Shimano with adjustable-reach levers that would work better if you’ve got gloves on or have smaller hands
  • Awesome charge port cover… the rubber flap is large but easy to stick in and it’s mounted left to right so it closes in the direction of your bikes forward movement, you can charge this pack on or off the bike and I like that the battery has an LED charge level indicator on top where you can use it anytime for a quick update on how full it is
  • Considering how much power the battery offers, it’s awesome to have a USB charging port on the right side of the display to fill your phone (useful if you ride with Strava or other GPS apps)
  • To me, this electric bike offers amazing value because it comes frome one of the major manufacturers with a wide network of experienced dealers, comes in a range of sizes, has a two-year warranty and is using quality motor, battery and drivetrain systems
  • The display shows battery percentage and range estimation that dynamically changes as you arrow up or down through different levels of assist, you should never struggle to plan trips with this ebike because it gives you such great feedback… with the rigid frame and efficient tires the bike gets excellent range
  • The button pad is easy to reach and use while riding, even without looking down it’s possible to change assist levels, the rubberized top seemed well sealed against water, this bike should hold up very well in wet environments with the fenders and protected display sytems
  • I like that the bike has a functioning walk mode, it’s a bit heavier and might have bags on the rack so this feature is cool (just hold the walk button while in any of the three assist levels)

Cons:

  • The battery looks nice and works well enough but is heavier than average due to the high capacity and there isn’t a handle built in so just be careful when taking it off and carrying it around
  • All-Aluminum frame is sturdy and light but less forgiving than if the rigid fork were Carbon fiber or Steel… or had some sort of suspension, consider a 30.9 mm Thudbuster or BodyFloat to enhance your comfort (you might need a shim to fit the seat post diameter depending on which product you buy)
  • Both wheels are secured with nuts instead of quick release which requires tools… but also keeps them safer when locking in public, this isn’t a huge con, just something to consider if you have to do maintenance or like to transport the bike in the back of a car
  • The Quick-E+ only comes in one frame style, a very traditional high-step that looks good and feels solid but isn’t as easy to stand over for petite or inexperienced riders, you might have to use tippie toes if you get the wrong size frame but the upside is that it hangs on racks easier and has room for the bottle cage bosses
  • The motor is quiet, efficient and powerful (putting out 80 Nm of peak torque) but doesn’t offer shift sensing technology and has a more limited RPM output range so you have to shift frequently, if you’re not thoughtful about how you do it (ease off when shifting) it could wear the chain, sprockets and derailleur more quickly
  • The charge port on the battery is mostly out of the way but if you had the charger plugged in there’s a chance that it could get bumped by the left crank arm so be careful

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Giant Reviews

Giant Full-E+ 1 Review

  • MSRP: $5,300
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A full suspension electric mountain bike with capable hardware, excellent dealer support and impressive range, four frame sizes accommodate a range of riders, impressive pricepoint. 22-speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus allows you to engage a clutch to…...

Giant Road-E+ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An aggressive road bike with 28 mph top electric-assisted speed, drop bars and sport saddle, you get Shimano Ultegra rear and 105 front derailleurs with 22 gear combinations to work with. Shimano hydraulic disc brakes offer powerful stops and tend to stay cleaner than rim brakes,…...

Roman
7 months ago

Hey Court, thanks for the review, this is a bike I’ve been considering for a while. Can you talk about the sizing? What size did you test and what size do you usually ride? I’ve cross shopped this with the Specialized Turbo X, which do you think gets the nod for a 22 mile roundtrip commute with a bit of gravel?

Reply
Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi Roman! I believe I was on the larger frame size but cannot say for sure. Trevor is a taller guy and I remember the bike feeling large, it’s great to visit a dealer and try them out if you can. I believe Giant is requiring their dealers to bring a few ebikes into their shops. I love the efficiency of the Giant mid-drive and how beautiful it looks but the Turbo X suspension fork is a big deal for me given the speed produced. I have sensitive wrists, arms, shoulders, neck and back. For this reason, I usually only buy full suspension ebikes now so I’m a bit extreme ;)

Honestly, this is a great product at a great price. I’m being honest about my appreciation of suspension but that’s just me. Trevor seemed very happy with this bike for himself and I enjoyed test riding it!

Reply
Shaggy
7 months ago

Nice to see one of the big 3 (Trek, Specialized, Giant) make an ebike. Should help the consumer. Court, I am wondering if the Yamaha cuts out early due to the size of the front chainring or the software being set to stop assisting once the sensors indicate a certain pedal crank rpm? Thx.

Reply
Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi Shaggy! I think it’s just designed with a different RPM range… like it won’t go any faster up to a certain point whereas Bosch will. Bosch also stops but I find the bit of extra RPM at the higher end to be more comfortable and supportive of my ride style. I have hurt knees and the higher RPM requires less pressure on non-electric bikes so that’s how I prefer to ride now. It’s not a deal killer, I know my feedback on this characteristic has rubbed some people the wrong way and they get defensive. To me it’s just a fact and I’m trying to be open about it and show it on video. If you get onto one of these at a dealer and compare it to Bosch or Brose back to back and emphasize fast pedaling while in higher gears going for the top speed… I think you’ll see what I mean. I hope this helps!

Reply
Carter
7 months ago

This is very helpful. Your review just pushed the Quick-e (terrible name) into my top 3 ebikes to consider, along with the new Vado when it comes out and the Trek Super Commuter+ if I win the lottery (ha). Obviously I’m one of those who prioritizes name brand and dealer support– Giant’s 2 year warranty is a big plus as well.

Court, I have a suggestion for your reviews. The main reason I’m looking at buying an ebike is, at 55 and 185 lbs, I struggle too much getting up the hills around Seattle on my 20-50 mile fun rides. The steeper climbs are really the only times I need assist (tho I don’t pretend I won’t use it at other times.) I suspect I’m not the only prospective ebike buyer in this position. Towards that end, it’d be super helpful if you were able to speak to the relative performance of the bikes you review in providing assist on longer and steeper climbs. Of course I understand that may not be possible if you’re testing the bike in a flat region- still.

I rode my cousin’s Stromer in the San Francisco hills last summer and marveled at how I flew up the (steep!) hills, but was disappointed when the base model Specialized Turbo I test rode (twice) failed to provide the same amount of assist. If you were able to try out your review bikes on hills where possible and give some feedback as to how they performed I could really use that information. Thanks so much!

Reply
Court Rye
7 months ago

Good suggestion Carter, I do seek out hills and completely see how it helps people like you to get an understanding and see performance. I’m relatively light weight and active so even that can be misleading I suppose. Regarding the Quick-E+, I’d say it is a very capable climber given the mid-motor and high torque (80 Nm) that Yamaha delivers. I’d love to hear your thoughts on how it performs vs. a Stromer but would compare it favorably based on my own experiences. It’s different, being center-driven, but better if you shift accordingly… you don’t have to push as hard as with the newer Stromer ST1 X.

Reply
Brian
6 months ago

I noticed that this US version speed pedelec comes with a relatively weak Axa Blueline 30 headlight…the European s-pedelec versions have the Supernova m-99, even the Quick-e+ 25 comes with the Axa Blueline 50 in the European models. I would think that a stronger light should be a safety feature for any s-pedelec. Any thoughts on this?

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Interesting, thanks for noticing and sharing this detail Brian. I guess it’s a bummer that the US got downgraded… unless ours is also less expensive? We have a lot of electric bikes out here that bend the rules with speed and power which don’t have ANY lights. I don’t know enough about the situation to make a judgment call but I’m inclined to trust that Giant is making decent decisions? I felt that the rest of the product was well thought-out?

Reply
Emerson Moncure
6 months ago

Hey Court, I just discovered electricbikereview.com and I love it! The reviews on this channel are informed, thorough and extremely well communicated. Currently I commute to work on a Giant brand Seek 3 (non-electric) I bought back in 2012 for $700. Though I really like my bike, I’ve been feeling like its time for an upgrade. However, I never would have considered an e-bike (let alone a $3000 e-bike) until I watched the EBR review of the Giant Quick-E! To be honest, I’m not a particularly knowledgeable consumer when it comes to bikes, and I rely heavily on an informed sales person to help me find the right fit. The danger there is, I don’t always get an informed sales person! However after watching a number of EBR reviews I have a new understanding of the value of electric bikes, and particularly the value of specific products being offered! Considering my needs and compared to other e-bikes of this quality, $3000 really seems a good price vs. value for the Giant Quick E. It even has the same graphite grey/black color scheme as my old Seek 3. I’m sold! This newly informed rider thanks you for your top quality reviews!

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Hey Emerson! You totally made my day, thanks for sharing a bit about yourself and what it’s like to be a consumer trying to navigate the space. I’m glad the site has helped you, that’s my goal! And, feel free to share or connect further in the forums. I do my best as an information source but have limited experience post-purchase. I feel like individuals connecting directly is an authentic way to identify issues, fixes, and best uses. Have a great time out there and thanks again!

Reply
Randy Emer
6 months ago

Hey Court, I love watching your reviews, they’re incredibly helpful and informative. I’m a very recreational rider in the market for an e-bike. I seem to have narrowed the choice down to two: the Giant Quick-E above, and the Trek Dual Sport +. They seem very similar. What are your thoughts? You are providing a tremendous service with your enthusiastic reviews!!!

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Hi Randy! Great bikes… both companies are large and trustworthy but I prefer the Giant in this case because it has a streamlined battery, integrated lights, fenders and a basic rack. I guess it depends on the sort of rides you want to take, but I appreciate the added utility. Both drive systems are good and the 2017 Shimano batteries can be charged on-bike just like the Giant Quick-E+ Yamaha battery. I hope this helps! Would love to hear what you decide on and how it works for you. Feel free to poke around the forums too and ask for feedback from actual owners :)

Reply
Cristian
6 months ago

Hi, I’m interested in this bike but I read about the “cons” that both wheels are secured. I’m not from the US but I’ll be there in a couple of weeks, I would like to dismantle to transport by flight…. Would be easier for me to transport? Thanks!

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Hi Cristian! First off, you might have to ship the battery separately from the bike because most commercial airlines do not allow you to bring large Lithium-ion batteries onboard. They won’t even let you check them… consider reaching out to a hazmat certified shipper like Propel Bikes in New York or ask your dealer. Second, it’s pretty easy to use a basic set of tools to get the wheels off of this bike. You might want to purchase a large padded bike box because checking these things could end up damaging them. This is just the start but I hope it helps you to reconsider the shipping plan… there’s a lot more than just taking the wheels off to consider :)

Reply
Samuel
5 months ago

Hi Court! Thank you for your excellent reviews, they will help me a lot in choosing an E-bike, bet on the future and leave the car aside.

Do you have something to say about the quality of the battery? I think that most bicycle brands use electrical components from manufacturers that have the experience and the technology to produce motors, controls and batteries. So I wonder how good quality is a battery from Giant and its lifespan.

I’m thinking about buying an E-bike for my daily commuting (which is 20 km) and stop using the car, but batteries are a big concern to me: how long they last, what to do when a battery has reached maximum cycle capacity (where to recycle?) and how long manufacturers will support an old model with replacement batteries. Would you consider this before choosing an e-bike?

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Samuel! Batteries are one of the most sensitive and expensive parts of electric bikes but if you get one that’s relatively new and provided by a large, trusted manufacturer like Giant, Specialized, Trek or any Bosch powered product, I think you’re doing great. These companies tend to cost a little more but have long-term customer service and replacement options. Most batteries, if not dropped and stored in cool dry locations and kept at ~80% for long term storage, should last for several years and maybe longer :)

Reply
Chuck
5 months ago

Hi Court,

Yet another excellent review from you! Thanks very much for that. One of those Giant Quick-e+ pluses passed through the bike shop I work at last week and unfortunately I was far too busy to give it a proper look-over so I have a few questions I hope you can answer. Giant didn’t cover enough in the specs on their site, hence me asking you. Beyond that, I have a few words. I’ve got to say, that bike really caught my eye. It looks like a really stout build and it’s just a good looking bike overall from the few minutes I had with it.

  • The fork looks to be tapered (1-1/8″ to 1-1/2″). Did you notice that?
  • Did the chainring spider look like a standard BCD? With what they spec I’m thinking it’s 104mm like a ‘cross bike.
  • I didn’t see any brake cutouts on the bike so I’m assuming the pedalec setup is sensitive enough to shut down power quickly. Did you notice anything lagging in power cut-off when braking or am I totally wrong about the lack of brake cut-outs?

Those first two questions may seem a bit nerdy but I’m going to want to tweak that bike some. Not much, just some. It seems just about perfect as-is. Oh and speaking of bike tweaks you often mention seatposts like the Cane Creek Thudbuster. I’d like to point out another one I think is worth considering. The Niner RDO carbon seatpost. It’s not going to have anywhere near as much give as a Thudbuster but it is intentionally built with some compliance and dampening in mind. I was pretty skeptical about the claim but after trying one I now run them on a couple of my bikes and they do make a very noticeable difference at far less weight and with a clean look. Other people who have ridden my bikes have remarked on how good they feel without me saying a word about them. They are a bit pricey but definitely worth it in my opinion. The setback model gives even a little more comfort if that’s something someone can properly fit on their bike.

I really like that the Quick-e comes out of the box with plump 650B wheels vs. 700c. 700c has its merits (I love my gravel bike!) but 650B I think is just best all around for something utilitarian like that bike. Far more stout and comfortable. Not only that but I think 650B wheels are a better choice than 700c for a class 3 ebike. For those not familiar with the terrifyingly sketchy fun of going 40+ mph on skinny little 23c tires (or 30+ on fat gravel bike tires) those 650B fatties will go a long way in adding safety and confidence in the 20-30MPH range. Also, I know those WTB tires the owner in the video upgraded to and they are very smooth and efficient. Probably a great upgrade. That’s not to say that the stock Schwalbe Big Bens are not good. They too are an excellent tire.

That pannier rack, the overall clean lines of the bike along with the highly functional lighting and clean, simple dashboard grabbed my attention right away as I was walking by it at my shop last week and I had to take a second look and prod n’ poke the bike for a couple of minutes. I think the price is perfect too. I’m thinking about one quite seriously. The days I don’t feel like commuting by bike I ride my motorcycle and I’d like to get away from that. For those days that I don’t want to deal with changing out of my kit, getting grimy or am just feeling lazy and just want to throw my leg over a bike and go without doing anything special then pedaling a little less hard seems to fit the bill. I’ve borrowed a few ebikes from my shop to try them out for commuting and I get it now. I think motos trump a car most of the time for personal transport here in SoCal. But I’m 70/30 bike/moto in my commuting habits now and the moto is getting a bit tedious. For my short travels I do most of the time I’d rather be on a bike. My family has been car-light for a few years now and I’m thinking something like that bike may just scratch my itch and keep me car-light for a few more years.

Thanks for all of your hard work on these great reviews!

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Chuck! Happy to help with the specs… It does have a tapered head tube and no, there are not motor inhibitors built in. Most of the new advanced mid-drive ebikes do not use cutoff switches or have throttles, I guess they are quick enough that the inhibitor is not needed? Unfortunately, I cannot answer the last question about chainring but my guess is that it does use a standard BCD.

Good call on the carbon seat post, have you seen the one that Specialized made? Used to be called the “Cobl Gobl-R” but the official name is now CB-R :)

Reply
Chuck
5 months ago

Oh yeah, I forgot about that one from Specialized! Looks like another good choice. It’s pretty interesting some of the carbon layups manufactures are trying these days and how they can control stuff like compliance and direction of flex. Much more advanced (and durable) than the old days of carbon.

Mike
4 months ago

Hey Court! Your website is awesome. I am a first time buyer and this is by far the best source I have found. A quick question, do you know (or know how I can determine) when the 2018 Quick-e+ will come out? I went to a local dealer and he seemed to think it will be the next few weeks. Thank you!

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Wow, that sounds crazy soon? I guess the 2017 model has been around for a while now but I feel like we are mid-season. Sometimes they get demo models for press events and shows like Eurobike and Interbike (many of their bikes are designed for a European audience and then brought to the US). I’ll ask my contacts at Giant and see if we get anything… Glad you like the site Mike!

Reply
Mike
4 months ago

Great, thank you. I searched online and could not find any information about the expected release date.

giantbike
4 months ago

Court, if difference in price was not a factor, would you go with the Lacuba evo 45 or the Giant for a 30 mile total commute?

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hmm… I’d probably go with the Lacuba EVO E45 in mid-step with that suspension fork. I care a lot about comfort and could see myself commuting with these bikes. Even though the Giant Quick-E+ looks nicer to me, the Bulls offers similar utility (lights, fenders) and even has that adjustable bar and ergo grips. One of the other factors I consider is motor type and I prefer the Brose drive vs. the older Yamaha with limited RPM because I like to spin fast. I really like the pricepoint and integrated look of the Giant but my priority is comfort, especially at higher speeds. One other factor might be if there was a dealer nearby, you could get the Giant, swap in a suspension fork, outfit it with nice accessories and maybe a riser stem or swept back bar and ergo grips for similar price as the Bulls. There are many ways to go with this. Hope my thoughts help you decide :)

Reply
giantbike
4 months ago

Yeah, the huge 203mm brakes on the e45 and the 650w battery are nice adds too. I agree the Giant looks great. I’m a big fan of the Brose motor and have many hours on one, but I have limited experience with the Yamaha. It’s nice to see so much competition brewing in the motor department. It would be great if someone could come up with some common metrics on how to compare motors based on torque and efficiency as it gets quickly complicated when you add speed and cadence to the equation. Seems like the only way to get a feel is to ride the bike. It’s great to see so many class 3’s coming out, I agree with your opinion that class 3s are approaching the ability to replace a car, at least for commuting.

Robert Foote
2 months ago

The lack of a proper rear rack (one that extends above the fender and readily allows for a rear bag or purse to be carried without panniers) is absurd. It is sad that some Giant marketing weasel chose form over function on an accessory that will be used quite often. Another huge oversight is the lack of a guard for the large chain-ring. People using this bike are very likely to be wearing pants and should not have to put on a pants clip. These two items represent low-hanging fruit – how they could be overlooked is something that Giant should be very much ashamed of. One can only wonder if they can’t get the simple shit right, what about the really difficult stuff???

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

I see where you’re coming from but feel that the minimalist pannier arms and multi-chainring setup make sense here. It can get cluttered and rattly with a big plastic chain cover that’s large enough to cover a front derailleur, and if they had a platform rack in the rear the bike just wouldn’t look as sleek and would definitely weigh more (maybe half a pound?) I see why they chose these things, there are definitely other e-bikes out there which do have full sized racks and protected chains, it seems like they did choose form over a bit of function, but it’s not as extreme as it could have been with no support arms or a single chainring and no cover.

Reply
Robert Foote
2 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to respond, though I must respectfully disagree on one point. I do not believe it is even possible to purchase a bicycle rack that can only accommodate panniers. There is a good reason for this. The additional weight to provide the standard rectangular upper platform is insignificant (not even close to half a pound). If the utility of a proper rack upper platform justifies the additional weight on a typical 27 lb touring bike, it certainly is not a factor on a 50 lb e-bike. I simply find it annoying that after spending $3K on an e-bike, I would need to spend another $100 or more for panniers so that my wife can carry her purse. Panniers would also weigh far more than the additional aluminum tubing. Regarding my other complaint, I was unclear as to my suggested modification. I have no problem with the double chain-rings, and certainly wasn’t lobbying for a fully enclosed chain. What I was referring to is a bolt-on, aluminum alloy (not plastic) chain-ring guard. These guards are very light, robust, and practical. They have been used on single, double and triple chain-ring cranksets for decades.

Rob Withey
4 weeks ago

I’m in Canada and Giant have a new rack coming with a flat top for carrying things and pannier mounting. Hope to have mine soon.

Reply
Court Rye
3 weeks ago

Very cool, thanks for the update Rob! We’d love to hear how it works out for you. Feel free to share even more details and pictures in the Giant Ebike Forums if you’d like.

David
2 months ago

Just wanted to say thanks for your great reviews. Until about a week ago I hadn’t given electric bikes a second thought. Heard a passing reference on a radio station about a week ago and thought I’d take a quick look one after noon while cruising internet. I was blown away by the selection, capabilities and technology involved. I have since ordered a Giant Quick E+, was waffling between it and the IZIP Dash, but your reviews tipped me toward the Giant. Looking forward to my first commute, without burning fuel and getting some exercise and especially help at the end of the day on those hills. One quick question can you recommend a set of panniers that would fit this type of rack, encorporating room for labtop, change of cloths/lunch? Thanks again David.

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi David! Welcome to the ebike community :D these things are a blast and yes… there are so many to choose from now. I think you made a great choice with the Giant Quick-E+ and am assuming you found a local dealer to help get fitted and stuff? They might have some panniers or bag options for you to check out, but I like the clip-on style like this which are easy to take off and bring inside. Please note that I have not tested that specific bag and cannot confirm if it would fit for you… but Amazon has a good return policy and this might just get you thinking about options. Ortleib has some good stuff but they are more expensive usually. When using panniers, I often bring my charger and work stuff but may also wear a backpack to keep my laptop extra safe when commuting. There are lots of options and people in the forums might also have some ideas. I created this article about other good accessories to consider for ebikes that might get your gears turning ;)

Reply
Alasdair
1 month ago

Thanks for the great reviews Court. I’ve had one of these for 4 months now and it’s been ideal for my 20 mile each way commute. The only thing lacking is the ability to mount a larger chainring (only has clearance for 48t which is too small), and the lighting which is too dim for my liking.

Do you know what lighting upgrade options are? I cant find the output voltage for the light. Id love to add something like the Supernova m99 pro.Thanks, Alasdair

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Alasdair! Great insights there, thanks for sharing your feedback about the limited chainring clearance. Those are the types of things I am learning about and trying to share more but it’s wonderful to get comments like yours, especially since you have been riding now for four months. It sounds like you’re enjoying the bike, I do believe that the Supernova M99 Pro could be added but it might take a special shop to order and then install. I have seen this done by the folks at OHM on their Sport model (you can see it on Michael’s bike in the video review on this page).

Personally, I have found that the Cygolite rechargeable lights work well and provide flashing, bright, and dim modes. They offer combo packs like this or you can just get a bright headlight on its own. They are less convenient and secure than an integrated light (so more time turning on/off and removing them when parking in public). They offer some very bright models like this with 1,100 lumens! and there are many others on Amazon to explore, I’d love to hear back what you decide to do.

Reply
Alasdair
1 month ago

Court – good tip but I already have a range or battery lights from Exposure and am looking for similar power but the simplicity of running it off the battery like the one installed. I heard back from AXA who make the OEM light and they do a bigger 50LUX model that runs off 6v (which I assume is the output). I’ll order it and swap out as its only $40.

I have quite a bit of experience with this bike now having ridden around 4000 miles and done a few upgrades/experiments so please anyone reach out if they have any questions. I know I really could have dome with this resource when I was shopping to understand the rack situation as well as a few others.

Court keep up the great work – I can see this as the future of daily transportations and your efforts are very instrumental to us getting there!

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

That’s awesome Alasdair! How did you find out who to reach at AXA? The price is great… I’d love to see the finished product and maybe get some tips from you in the Giant forums as I am sure there are others out there who would love to do the same thing.

So glad to hear that EBR helped and appreciate your willingness to pay it forward by answering questions from anyone else about the bike. I agree that this technology is transformative and empowering, so glad to be part of sharing it with the world :)

Reply
Andrew
4 weeks ago

Hi Alasdair – I actually own the bike that is in this review! Trevor hooked me up with a great price and am taking it in for a tune up this week. I have similar issues with the lights – I run a separate Knog Blinder in the rear at night for safety, but would for sure be interested in a brighter light setup. If you can link out to your solution that’d be awesome. I will do some research in the meantime. I really like/prefer having lights running off my battery so any aftermarket solutions for the head & taillights would be awesome.

I’d also echo the sentiments from others – the biggest gripe I have about this bike is how I spend almost ALL of my time in the top two gears. It’s not a deal breaker, but it just makes the other front chainring feel completely useless and unnecessary. Even on a big(ger) climb I’m still in the middle-top gears overall, so it is a little disheartening to learn that can’t be changed.

The pannier/rack thing also bothers me, as I have two rack trunk/dual pannier bags that can’t fit on this bike due to the lack of a flat platform. I knew that when I purchased the bike, so now I’m looking into basket options. I really like the look of the Blackburn Local basket, but I feel like if mounted on the front it would block my headlight, and if mounted on the back it wouldn’t clear the embedded pannier rack/bars. Any tips or solutions for a porter-style basket?

Thanks all!

Reply
Alasdair
4 weeks ago

Hey Andrew, You bike was the reason I got mine then – especially with the WTB tires and your commute sounds just like mine (20 miles each way in LA right?). I’ve been fine so far with the rack. These Brooks Suffolk Panniers work great and are adjustable enough. I have mine loaded up with around 25lb of gear each day an they’re so low down I barely notice them.

Court – I just used the contact link on the AXA web page, someone responded within a day or two. Still struggling to find out what the output for the light is but this should work wither way. I’ll have it on the bike within a week, great as the light is fading earlier each day.

As Court suggests I’ll take this to the correct forum and post there.

Rob Withey
4 weeks ago

See my above comment. There is a new rack coming that will take panniers.

Steve
5 days ago

Hi Court – Great bike review! I have been looking at this bike for mile 20 mile each-way commute and I think it fits the bill pretty well. Do you know what the differences are between the 2017 and 2018 models?

Reply
Court Rye
5 days ago

Hi Steve! I haven’t had an opportunity to look closely at the 2018 yet but I hope to review it later this year or early next. Maybe you could ask in the EBR Giant Forums or do a comparison with the official spec on the Giant website? If you discover anything, please share back here, I’d love to know but am just busy traveling right now so cannot dig in myself.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

LimboJim
3 hours ago

I don't blame the chain for my breaks on the same bike, I believe it's "user acclimation" to up to 90 Nm of pedal assistance, which makes mindful shifting essential.

My rules for riding my higher-torque eMTBs, especially the ones with two chainrings:

Never shift to lower gears when climbing, or when pedaling fast on level terrain.
Ease up or stop pedaling briefly for ALL shifting, up or down.
Avoid cross-chaining like the plague - it's too easy to forget I'm on the larger chainring!
Keep the shifter accurately indexed - smooth shifting's extra crucial with added torque.
Check all chain links after each ride - the slightest bend can later break easily, even with "proper" shifting.
Clean & lube chain every couple or few rides, depending on conditions.
Expect to have to replace chains every couple hundred miles, and always ride with spare quick-links.

I found that even ebike-specific chains stretch fast with 75+ Nm of additional torque, and that I'd rather have to pedal harder when I'm in too high a gear for the climb I'm doing than to try to shift in the midst of the climb. Frequent shifting is way less necessary with high-torque assistance, IMO.[/QUOTE]

PCDoctorUSA
4 hours ago

Just a quick update. I stopped in a local ebike dealer over the weekend and was thoroughly disappointed. Thanks to the dozens of hours I've put into watching bike review videos on EBR and other online research, it didn't take long for me to figure out that I knew more than the bike shop's owner. I'm not talking about getting into the nitty gritty about specific components or discussing Newton meters, but rather knowing the names of the models he had on his sales floor and how to work the LCD display. This guy should have been able to point at the bike and sound off, "That's a Motiv Shadow, that's an IZIP E3 Zuma, etc.", but he didn't know without taking a closer look at the bike and then he didn't know the hub and battery specs or how to access the pedal assist modes on the dislays. Keep in mind that this was an extremely small shop. My bedroom was larger than his sales floor. The only good that came out of my visit was that I now know I hate twist throttles and I won't be returning to this dealer. After this experience, I've decided I don't need the middleman (LBS) after all and am completely fine with dealing direct with Voltbike.

Thomas Jaszewski
6 hours ago

Jeez, who are these people that don't have parts? Doug at California eBikes has ALL the parts! Empowerdcycles even sells a repair kit. Change out parts and pay for what you keep!

Error code 30 is almost ALWAYS a controller. As someone wrote, under an hurt determine. The advantage of buying from the little guys. They are quick turn around and have a lot to loose by dragging a fix out 5 weeks.

mid drive merv
10 hours ago

Disclaimer: This is my first ever Ebike, so my expectations may be unreliable. If so, feel free to tell me off so I can make better purchase decisions in future.

After spending weeks researching on BBSHD conversions, I got lazy and picked this bike because it looked cool, EBR seemd to like it, and the specs looked great for the price.

Model: 16"

Use: Bought this bike for a sweatless daily travel of 18 miles to and from work. Route is pure tarmac road/trail, with the exception of this particular 100 yard stretch with tree roots cracking open the trail path. Slight up/down gradients no more than 6 degrees (calculated using my Runkeeper elevation chart) along the way making up about 5% of the trip.

Delivery:
Free shipping is great. Delivery was prompt and fast. However, the UPS people dumped the box on first floor. Had a fun time hauling the 70lb package up the stairs alone. The plastic handles on the cardboard box are not reliable, do not use them to pull. Mine gave way causing the box to cut up my knuckles. Wear gloves and pull on the plastic straps, get help if possible.

Assembly:
Followed the assembly video on the Rad website. It was really frustrating to assemble alone, mostly due to the weight of the frame causing it to constantly want to tip over and smack my face. The overly tightened disc brakes made installing the front wheel (the first time) really painful, and the rear wheel rotor kept squeaking.

The rear derailleur is okay. Not tuned out of the box so it can't go below gear 5. I don't use anything less than gear 5 so didn't bother indexing it. Both disc brakes are overly tightened, I highly recommend tuning them before first ride and get the rear wheel removal pain over with ASAP.

Bike Weight:
I severely underestimated what 60+lbs meant.

If you stay on any floor other than level one, you're going to have a fun time. I don't lift, but have sort of decent upper body and leg strength. This bike is very unwieldy to carry up and down the stairs. After a few times of experimenting and eventually injuring my wrist+elbows, I found the most efficient and least painful method to carry it.

Squat down to wrap the upper frame bar under your armpit with the saddle above your shoulders. Grip the lower frame bar directly beside the rear hub motor and lift it up with your legs, with your other hand holding on to the handle bar to prevent the heavy fork from giving you a bitch slap. This method gives you enough height clearance (I'm 5'5" 150lb so YMMV) to go upstairs without the front wheel bouncing off the steps, while relieving stress on your joints.

First ride impressions:
It was really awesome to ride. The heavy frame makes the bike really stable. The large rear rack welded to the frame made carrying all sorts of cargo really easy. The throttle was great and the cadence sensor was quick to respond. Again, this is my first ebike, so not sure how responsive candence sensors should be like. Motor was very quiet; all I hear is the rolling of the tire treads. Free toolkit was a nice touch.

Impressions after riding the first 10 miles:
Ride quality is generally smooth until you hit the bumps. Get a suspension seatpost if budget allows if you don't enjoy having your crotch violently punched by a 60lb frame.

The 20mph limit was extremely irritating. From what I learnt on YouTube, I thought a 20mph limit meant that the motor will only assist up to 20mph, and speeds beyond that require extra effort to pedal. It didn't really feel that way with this bike. At 20mph, the motor actively kicks with its regenerative braking to stop you from going faster. It activates unpredictably causing really unnatural feeling. The closest analogy I can give is driving a car while someone is randomly tapping your brakes. Or if you drive a Nissan Leaf, imagine randomly lifting off your foot from acceleration while driving on ECO.

That said, you are able to enter the metric-based settings mode to increase the speed limit from 32kph to 40kph (~25mph). That made the ride a lot more natural, with short bursts of ~23mph going down gradients, but averaged at 20mph on flats with minimal pedalling.

Impressions after 100 miles:
This may be an issue of bad luck. Rad recommends 50-60psi, so I kept both wheels at 55 psi. My front wheel got a puncture less than 50 miles into riding the bike. A week later at 100 miles, my rear wheel got a puncture on the way to work. The culprit was a tiny piece of rock not more than 2mm wide embedded into the tires. For comparison, my $300 hybrid bike hasn't had a puncture in 7 years, of which 1000+ miles were put on this exact same route.

The rear wheel is tightly bolted down. The EBR YouTube review glosses over this, but mark my words you'll want to throw the bike into the ravine when you get your first rear wheel flat if you didn't do prior preparations to the rear wheel (anti-seize, grease etc.). The spanner provided in the free tool kit is way too short to loosen the bolt, so you'll need to hammer it to make it work. For me, hammering didn't work as the free spanner was chipping before the bolt would budge. I just ordered a new spanner set with a larger spanner instead. The free screwdriver provided was undersized for the bolt washer plate, causing stripping to the screw. My rear wheel bolt dust cover also managed to slip off while riding, so that sucks.

During the rear wheel tube patching, I realized the Rad team installed the tube valve incorrectly. The Schrader valve was only threaded halfway through, so the rim hole had been slicing into the valve. Didn't want to risk another rear wheel removal, so used a new tube instead of a patch.

The Rad rep stated that consumables are not covered under their limited warranty, which I can totally understand. But it'd be nice to at least cover the first 100 miles in case of assembly errors on their part.

I intend to swap out the Kenda K905-007 tires for maybe Schwalbe tires to prevent more commute pain. In the meantime, also budgeting for a BBSHD to convert my hybrid before selling this bike, purely due to the bad taste in my mouth.

Radcity Prep Kit before hitting the road:
1. Your typical bicycle multitool.
2. A screwdriver that won't strip the washer screw. (+$5)
3. The free toolkit (after applying anti-seize/grease to the rear wheel bolts)
4. Patch kit, granted this is required for any bike. (+$5)
5. Wire cutter (to cut zip ties during rear wheel removal) (+$5)
6. At least 2 backup tubes, given the high failure rate I've experienced. (+$18)
7. Change the damn tires for decent puncture resistant ones. (+$100)
8. Tape down the rear wheel bolt dust covers, or just don't use them at all.

Who this bike is for:
1. Heavyweight and strong riders.
2. People who need a strong sturdy frame to carry heavy cargo.
3. People who already have a decent tool set in their house.
4. Riders who can store the bike on ground floor.
5. Riders who are less whiny than me.

Summary:
From my understanding $1500 is considered entry-level pricing for an ebike, but the price point still makes me sort of expect more from the product, considering the same price can get me an excellent 2017 Trek Emonda ALR5. At the very least, don't have the bike break down every 50 miles. What I got was a lot of buyer remorse and extra hidden costs that came with PITA bike maintenance. If you do intend to buy this bike, just budget a bit more to upgrade the parts, prep the bike before your ride, and you should have a better time than I had.

LeftyLoosey
19 hours ago

Disclaimer: This is my first ever Ebike, so my expectations may be unreliable. If so, feel free to tell me off so I can make better purchase decisions in future.

After spending weeks researching on BBSHD conversions, I got lazy and picked this bike because it looked cool, EBR seemd to like it, and the specs looked great for the price.

Model: 16"

Use: Bought this bike for a sweatless daily travel of 18 miles to and from work. Route is pure tarmac road/trail, with the exception of this particular 100 yard stretch with tree roots cracking open the trail path. Slight up/down gradients no more than 6 degrees (calculated using my Runkeeper elevation chart) along the way making up about 5% of the trip.

Delivery:
Free shipping is great. Delivery was prompt and fast. However, the UPS people dumped the box on first floor. Had a fun time hauling the 70lb package up the stairs alone. The plastic handles on the cardboard box are not reliable, do not use them to pull. Mine gave way causing the box to cut up my knuckles. Wear gloves and pull on the plastic straps, get help if possible.

Assembly:
Followed the assembly video on the Rad website. It was really frustrating to assemble alone, mostly due to the weight of the frame causing it to constantly want to tip over and smack my face. The overly tightened disc brakes made installing the front wheel (the first time) really painful, and the rear wheel rotor kept squeaking.

The rear derailleur is okay. Not tuned out of the box so it can't go below gear 5. I don't use anything less than gear 5 so didn't bother indexing it. Both disc brakes are overly tightened, I highly recommend tuning them before first ride and get the rear wheel removal pain over with ASAP.

Bike Weight:
I severely underestimated what 60+lbs meant.

If you stay on any floor other than level one, you're going to have a fun time. I don't lift, but have sort of decent upper body and leg strength. This bike is very unwieldy to carry up and down the stairs. After a few times of experimenting and eventually injuring my wrist+elbows, I found the most efficient and least painful method to carry it.

Squat down to wrap the upper frame bar under your armpit with the saddle above your shoulders. Grip the lower frame bar directly beside the rear hub motor and lift it up with your legs, with your other hand holding on to the handle bar to prevent the heavy fork from giving you a bitch slap. This method gives you enough height clearance (I'm 5'5" 150lb so YMMV) to go upstairs without the front wheel bouncing off the steps, while relieving stress on your joints.

First ride impressions:
It was really awesome to ride. The heavy frame makes the bike really stable. The large rear rack welded to the frame made carrying all sorts of cargo really easy. The throttle was great and the cadence sensor was quick to respond. Again, this is my first ebike, so not sure how responsive candence sensors should be like. Motor was very quiet; all I hear is the rolling of the tire treads. Free toolkit was a nice touch.

Impressions after riding the first 10 miles:
Ride quality is generally smooth until you hit the bumps. Get a suspension seatpost if budget allows if you don't enjoy having your crotch violently punched by a 60lb frame.

The 20mph limit was extremely irritating. From what I learnt on YouTube, I thought a 20mph limit meant that the motor will only assist up to 20mph, and speeds beyond that require extra effort to pedal. It didn't really feel that way with this bike. At 20mph, the motor actively kicks with its regenerative braking to stop you from going faster. It activates unpredictably causing really unnatural feeling. The closest analogy I can give is driving a car while someone is randomly tapping your brakes. Or if you drive a Nissan Leaf, imagine randomly lifting off your foot from acceleration while driving on ECO.

That said, you are able to enter the metric-based settings mode to increase the speed limit from 32kph to 40kph (~25mph). That made the ride a lot more natural, with short bursts of ~23mph going down gradients, but averaged at 20mph on flats with minimal pedalling.

Impressions after 100 miles:
This may be an issue of bad luck. Rad recommends 50-60psi, so I kept both wheels at 55 psi. My front wheel got a puncture less than 50 miles into riding the bike. A week later at 100 miles, my rear wheel got a puncture on the way to work. The culprit was a tiny piece of rock not more than 2mm wide embedded into the tires. For comparison, my $300 hybrid bike hasn't had a puncture in 7 years, of which 1000+ miles were put on this exact same route.

The rear wheel is tightly bolted down. The EBR YouTube review glosses over this, but mark my words you'll want to throw the bike into the ravine when you get your first rear wheel flat if you didn't do prior preparations to the rear wheel (anti-seize, grease etc.). The spanner provided in the free tool kit is way too short to loosen the bolt, so you'll need to hammer it to make it work. For me, hammering didn't work as the free spanner was chipping before the bolt would budge. I just ordered a new spanner set with a larger spanner instead. The free screwdriver provided was undersized for the bolt washer plate, causing stripping to the screw. My rear wheel bolt dust cover also managed to slip off while riding, so that sucks.

During the rear wheel tube patching, I realized the Rad team installed the tube valve incorrectly. The Schrader valve was only threaded halfway through, so the rim hole had been slicing into the valve. Didn't want to risk another rear wheel removal, so used a new tube instead of a patch.

The Rad rep stated that consumables are not covered under their limited warranty, which I can totally understand. But it'd be nice to at least cover the first 100 miles in case of assembly errors on their part.

I intend to swap out the Kenda K905-007 tires for maybe Schwalbe tires to prevent more commute pain. In the meantime, also budgeting for a BBSHD to convert my hybrid before selling this bike, purely due to the bad taste in my mouth.

Radcity Prep Kit before hitting the road:
1. Your typical bicycle multitool.
2. A screwdriver that won't strip the washer screw. (+$5)
3. The free toolkit (after applying anti-seize/grease to the rear wheel bolts)
4. Patch kit, granted this is required for any bike. (+$5)
5. Wire cutter (to cut zip ties during rear wheel removal) (+$5)
6. At least 2 backup tubes, given the high failure rate I've experienced. (+$18)
7. Change the damn tires for decent puncture resistant ones. (+$100)
8. Tape down the rear wheel bolt dust covers, or just don't use them at all.

Who this bike is for:
1. Heavyweight and strong riders.
2. People who need a strong sturdy frame to carry heavy cargo.
3. People who already have a decent tool set in their house.
4. Riders who can store the bike on ground floor.
5. Riders who are less whiny than me.

Summary:
From my understanding $1500 is considered entry-level pricing for an ebike, but the price point still makes me sort of expect more from the product, considering the same price can get me an excellent 2017 Trek Emonda ALR5. At the very least, don't have the bike break down every 50 miles. What I got was a lot of buyer remorse and extra hidden costs that came with PITA bike maintenance. If you do intend to buy this bike, just budget a bit more to upgrade the parts, prep the bike before your ride, and you should have a better time than I had.

Mark Adams
5 days ago

My wife and I just received two Juggernaut Ultras from Roshan. We’ll use the bikes on old logging roads to get to hiking trailheads. Wow – that’s my first impression. Tons of power, quiet and good handling. The Ultra is heavyweight but feels light under power. All the components seem very well matched. The Mozzo front fork is not the most sophisticated but works well. The torque sensor is great – very natural feel. There is a slight lag when you stop pedalling – the power stays on for an extra second – not good if you need to slow for a corner but I found that if I back pedal a small amount, I can control when the power stops.

The delivery packing is excellent with heavy cardboard and lots of foam. Since no instructions are included with the Ultra, here are a few assembly tips for other new Ultra owners.

You’ll need a multi-tool if you don’t have one already.

The handlebar stem is shipped facing backward. Loosen and turn 180 degrees.

We found that if you tip the stem up, it’s easier to fasten the handlebar.

The packing foam in the shape of an open box works well as a support under the handlebar when you tip the bike upside down to install front wheel. Otherwise the controller will be crushed.

Install the front fender through the fork from the front. The metal tab goes in front of the fork along with the light.

One pedal is right hand thread, the other is left hand thread – but you knew that already.

If front brake rubs, loosen quick release, squeeze front brake, hold and re-tighten the quick release to center the wheel – but you knew that too.
Interesting the frame on your bike looks so much like the M2S fat tire frames and the battery pack looks to be the same too. Wonder if I could get a bigger battery that they offer for my M2S ?

PCDoctorUSA
6 days ago

Currently living on O'ahu and have been commuting 8 miles each way into Honolulu on my Trek FX 7.2 fitness bike for the past 2 years due to economic necessity (one-car family) and to preserve my sanity (Honolulu ranks 8th for most traffic-congested city). The terrible roads here have taken a toll on my bike: 3 flats and 3 broken spokes so far. However, I can still beat the city bus home and I never sit in traffic.

Having well exceeded membership age for AARP, my daily bike commute isn't getting any easier and ebike could help keep me in the game longer and hopefully make it more enjoyable. I was looking at the usual fare of commuter ebikes and knew I needed a strong geared hub motor for some of the hills on my route. The last mile home is an average 5% grade ascent, which makes for a great descent going to work (40.8 mph coasting record to date). I was looking at the Prodecotech Phantom XR and more recently Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S, but then I started reading about commuters using fat-tire ebikes.

To make a long story short, the Yukon 750 Limited has made it to the top of my shopping list due to pricing, rider reviews and the quick response I've received from George Krastev to my questions. Now, I'd like to hear back from any Yukon 750 commuters out there to get their feedback and hear of their personal experiences and whether or not they would buy the bike again.

ophion
6 days ago

Male, 5'-11", 40ish.

Purchase the Bruhaul for trip to the Canadian Rockies in September. Reason: VW Sportwagen couldn't fit 2 bikes in the up position, so only can take 1 bike. With front wheel off, Bruhaul will fit laying down.
-Main reason for Bruhaul over others, Bike is the lightest at 50 lbs. Everything else I saw at the time was over 60lb.
-From the shop, with the seat at the proper height the handle bar was a bit low for my 5'11" frame. It can be adjusted, but didn't because my wife wants to ride it too and likes it where it is . She is a tad shy or 5'4".
-The Bruhaul's payload is 400lb total (not sure if others are higher), but the back is rated to carry 200lbs which more than the 150lb most other cargo bikes allowed. That's plenty for 2 kids plus any grocery you might have.
-I think the top tube is a little higher than most other cargo bikes, so I tend to swing my leg back to dismount...its not good if you have cargo in the back...but I guess with a little practice, anyone can learn to do it the other way.
-Having 24" wheel in the rear, center of gravity is a lot higher than the bikes with 20" when carrying any kind of load. My wife and I almost wipe out the first time we went thru a fast blind S turn. But you get use to it after a while. It took us over 80 miles. Something to think about if your primary use is carrying cargos.
-With 10 speed and 24" wheels, even with the power assist cutting off at 20mph, I'm finding myself peddling/cruising at around 22mph. anything over 25mph the cadence is too high for me to keep up. I never tried any other cargo bikes with 20" rears, but I assume to get to the same cruising speed, a higher cadence will be required, and I can't imagine myself peddling so fast while cruising.
-Felt being new to the cargo bike segment means they only have a limited amount of accessories. I bought their foot plate and dress guards. I found their foot plate a little (way) over priced for the size it added, but it was something I needed for the trip so I bought it. Without the foot plate, the naked foot rest on the Bruhaul is just too small for an adult in the back for extended period of time. You don't need it if you're carrying small kids since they're too short to reach it anyways, instead, get the "stoker bar kit" (I thought it was like a handle bar kit for tandems), it's actually a monkey bar kit despite what Felt's description said. You can make your own dress guards with some plastic sheets and cable ties, but it was cheap enough not to bother.

Things they need to upgrade.
Pedals, please upgrade the pedals, it's slippery as hell when there's any kind of moisture between your shoe and pedal.
Quick Release for the seat post. I really don't know why this simple feature is omitted.

On one trip, we rode 40 miles (return) with about max payload (wife in back). There was a short steep climb, I would guess about 40% grade for maybe 35ft. I hit it going 20mph on the highest power assist and couldn't crest it with 3 feet to go. At the end of the trip, I lost 2 battery bars on the display.

The hydraulic disc brakes really helps on the down hill to keep the fully loaded bike under control.

The 2 Panniers was a nice touch, but considering the cost of the Bruhaul, they should have just included all the other accessories. IMO.

hurricane56
6 days ago

If you refer to the above video, Chris mentions at the 24 minute mark that all lights except the M99 Pro can be controlled from the Bosch Intuvia display. I don’t know if it requires it’s own switch/relay or not; perhaps he can fill us in.

From what I understand, because I purchased a m99 pro earlier this year, is the light has four wires that interface directly with the Bosch drive at the battery harness. There is no switch or regulator as the input voltage is very wide, like 24-72v. Supernova sure makes a great product, but in the install kit they give you a set of press fit quick splices that don't even match the gauge of wire you're trying to splice. The other question that Supernova can't seem to answer completely is:

1. How does the light interpret the CANBUS signal that they're pulling from the motor assembly? They require you to tap into the green and yellow wire of the motor. I recall last year seeing something on their website that indicated the light output is dictated by the speed reading the light is pulling from the motor.

2. If I don't connect the yellow and green cables and only connect the power to the light, is the light still functioning at the rated 11oolm low beam?

Maks
1 week ago

Maks, just a quick question, for that 50 mile range, how much effort are you looking to contribute? My bike (Electric Bike Company Model S w/18ah battery) would easily do that in pedal assist mode, figure 17-20mph with the rider contributing ~25% of the effort. $1800 direct from the manufacturer. And that's without much "hypermiling" effort, pretty much plug and go.
Do you have a link to it? Thanks

Eric Kuyper
1 week ago

Maks, just a quick question, for that 50 mile range, how much effort are you looking to contribute? My bike (Electric Bike Company Model S w/18ah battery) would easily do that in pedal assist mode, figure 17-20mph with the rider contributing ~25% of the effort. $1800 direct from the manufacturer. And that's without much "hypermiling" effort, pretty much plug and go.

indianajo
1 week ago

My geared hub uses less watts on 15% grade if I go faster (about 10 mph & 3-400 w) than if I go slower (3-5 mph & 6-700 w) . I don't like going 10 up steep grades due to the habit of the testosterone poisoned of popping over crests in the middle of the road at 35 mph, but I suppose I'll get used to it.
My unpowered mountain bike weighed 85 lb rear 20 front just with the baskets and tire tools, so some extra weight on the front end will be a positive good. 50 lb of supplies probably runs the weight up to 135 rear 15 front, without me on it. I've had trouble with dogs knocking me over due to not enough traction on the front end to allow for quick evasive turns. So I view 12 lb of motor and 13 lb of battery on the front as a positive good. The whole weight thing about bicycles is a fantasy IMHO to sell carbon and titanium to people wearing a 50 lb spare tire of fat above their belt. I've been pedaling about 2500 miles per year at a net bike+supplies weight of 150 lb including grinding up 15% grades without stopping. The whole point of the electric drive is to push me my 30 miles in less than 5.5 hours if there is a 25 mph headwind. 3.5 hours is the right amount of exercise IMHO. Plus the electric with hand throttle could carry me home without pedaling if I sprain an ankle or pull a tendon - there is no phone service out at my camp. It has happened, and fortunately I had enough food and water that day to wait a couple of days without going to town. Mid drives force you to pedal, or hire a car. I seriously doubt if Yellow taxi or enterprise rental could find me out at my camp, even if I had a $70 a month verizon phone.

BernieS
1 week ago

Has anyone replaced the grips on their Quick E+? I would like to put Ergon GP1s on my Quick E+, but, when I loosened up the grip screws on the left side, the controller switch unit rotated with the grip. So I don't know if they separate or are part of a complete unit. I tightened everything back up again until I find out how the grip/controller switch unit is attached on the left side. Right side seems to be no issue.

Carterk
1 week ago

Visited a lbs yesterday, where I test rode the Cube Cross Hybrid Pro Allroad. First ride on a Bosch system, I liked it and was surprised by how quiet it was after hearing from numerous sources that noise was an issue with Bosch. Anyway, they also had the Giant Quick-e, which I'd ridden previously, liked, and is still maybe my first choice (I'm putting off my purchase till spring and better Seattle weather.)

In talking with the salesperson, I found out that the brakes on the 2018 are ebike specific and will be hooked to the rack-mounted taillight to indicate when the rider is braking- cool! Also, the new derailleur is the Shimano Shadow model that lets the user flip a lever to tighten the chain. These two features are worth the $50 increase imho.

Julia S
1 week ago

The steep hills to our house had finally defeated me over the years. I accepted that I was done dealing with hills. I hadn't been on my bike for a few years and yet I still missed the joys of riding. I read a lot of Court's reviews and tried out about a dozen e-bikes. Being a mere 5'1", I wanted something small. Court, your review sold me.

I've been riding my Vektron all summer long and have yet to meet a hill I can't easily climb and I've got some long and steep challenging hills here in Oregon. I breeze up my mile-long hill from one direction or climb up another mile-long roller coaster hill that looks like something you'd encounter in San Francisco which is even steeper. No problem. Most of the time, I drive in the lowest Eco power setting or turn it off altogether. I no longer fear hills. I can gauge how much effort I want to work that day between the 4 power assist levels and the 10 speeds.

One of my favorite features is the WALK - ASSIST feature; it gives me a generous boost while I walk my bike up the 30 yard hill to our back yard entrance from the street.

The Vektron is super quiet, and the motor matches my efforts beautifully - no lurching.

A 6'4" friend of mine tried it out - raised the seat, made a quick & simple adjustment to the handlebars and was out having as much fun as me.

I've folded it up for a few trips, and although it's a heavier for me than their videos show with a strong young guy lifting it effortlessly into the car, it's not a deal-breaker at all. It fits kind of awkwardly in my Prius, but it fits. When I arrived at night, it was nice to know the bike would be safe in my car.

I put the Tern basket on the back - you have to make sure it clicks in 100%; it came off in a good bump and my contents including my laptop went sprawling on the ground. All was okay, but I cringe when I hit a big bump.

I'm going to start a savings account for the day that the battery needs to be replaced; those are NOT cheap! Still, this bike is an absolute BLAST to ride! It's been an interesting conversation starter too chatting with other bicyclists at bike racks.

It's so good to be out riding again in the fresh air! This bike has given back to me a precious form of exercise and enjoyment.

CoachDennisGreen
1 week ago

My wife and I just received two Juggernaut Ultras from Roshan. We’ll use the bikes on old logging roads to get to hiking trailheads. Wow – that’s my first impression. Tons of power, quiet and good handling. The Ultra is heavyweight but feels light under power. All the components seem very well matched. The Mozzo front fork is not the most sophisticated but works well. The torque sensor is great – very natural feel. There is a slight lag when you stop pedalling – the power stays on for an extra second – not good if you need to slow for a corner but I found that if I back pedal a small amount, I can control when the power stops.

The delivery packing is excellent with heavy cardboard and lots of foam. Since no instructions are included with the Ultra, here are a few assembly tips for other new Ultra owners.

You’ll need a multi-tool if you don’t have one already.

The handlebar stem is shipped facing backward. Loosen and turn 180 degrees.

We found that if you tip the stem up, it’s easier to fasten the handlebar.

The packing foam in the shape of an open box works well as a support under the handlebar when you tip the bike upside down to install front wheel. Otherwise the controller will be crushed.

Install the front fender through the fork from the front. The metal tab goes in front of the fork along with the light.

One pedal is right hand thread, the other is left hand thread – but you knew that already.

If front brake rubs, loosen quick release, squeeze front brake, hold and re-tighten the quick release to center the wheel – but you knew that too.

Thanks for the post. I'm very excited to receive mine next week. I got the 48V 20ah battery.

JimE
1 week ago

My wife and I just received two Juggernaut Ultras from Roshan. We’ll use the bikes on old logging roads to get to hiking trailheads. Wow – that’s my first impression. Tons of power, quiet and good handling. The Ultra is heavyweight but feels light under power. All the components seem very well matched. The Mozzo front fork is not the most sophisticated but works well. The torque sensor is great – very natural feel. There is a slight lag when you stop pedalling – the power stays on for an extra second – not good if you need to slow for a corner but I found that if I back pedal a small amount, I can control when the power stops.

The delivery packing is excellent with heavy cardboard and lots of foam. Since no instructions are included with the Ultra, here are a few assembly tips for other new Ultra owners.

You’ll need a multi-tool if you don’t have one already.

The handlebar stem is shipped facing backward. Loosen and turn 180 degrees.

We found that if you tip the stem up, it’s easier to fasten the handlebar.

The packing foam in the shape of an open box works well as a support under the handlebar when you tip the bike upside down to install front wheel. Otherwise the controller will be crushed.

Install the front fender through the fork from the front. The metal tab goes in front of the fork along with the light.

One pedal is right hand thread, the other is left hand thread – but you knew that already.

If front brake rubs, loosen quick release, squeeze front brake, hold and re-tighten the quick release to center the wheel – but you knew that too.

david salisbury
1 week ago

I have had mountain bikes all my life ( I am over 50). First ebike.. loving it! Got it it in June or July.. As far as Haibike is concerned, I only care about them as far the frame is concerned as everything else is from someone else and because of the model I purchased its all low quality IMHO. ( 2016 RC 150 mm 27.5) I have swapped ALL but the rear mech, bars, headset, and front chainring. stock wheels only got it from the car to the garage. Shock is stock, but not for much longer. ( if your in SF and want all the parts from a stock RC.. let me know).

Likes

Cheaper than others researched - I rode a giant dirt e and it was a better bike , but it was it not special when i dropped the hammer.. found it later at the same price ( boo)
Available.. Still waiting for the focus Jam2 ( walked into monstano and had it in under 1 hour)
Handles. Its actually good implementation of FSR. - especially with the new MRP stage.. BEST fork eva! in fact my downhill times are improving over my tallboy LT2 ( considered one of the best bikes on the planet) as its SUPER Heavy i need 203 front and BACK!

Dislikes- All fairly small issues, but again Haibike only had to get the frame right to be a contender..

Cables rattle like mad in frame. trying the zip tie trick now.
Paint is softer than butter ( a bit like specialized a few years back) and way too thick. clear bra between the battery and frame was a good idea.
Bolt on shock needs checking often. Comes loose and paint chips easily head hex head
Stainless screws holding on cable guides either lock or strip. testing either 4 mm or helicoil now ( first BIKE i have ever had to do machine work on the frame directly!)
I guess they don't have locktite in germany or where ever they are assembled..
Yamaha sticker .. if its important enough to apply. Why put it where all the mud accumulates

Mine is a 2016..

Why the need to advertise its specs on the actual bike.. this is weird.. I thought they were stickers.. but no they are permanent.

On the motor.. and battery, which is what you actually purchase an ebike for.

PW motor cadence is too low.. SE or X would be better. the giant tune of the same motor was better
No walk mode!
400 KHH battery runs out too quick for me.. and last 1/4 capacity is weak and does not last at a linear rate..
Pedaling with the power off is really tough.. ( i have run out of battery a few times now..) you are pushing the motors gears.. if the power is off. why not completely disengage the motor.
Battery is crazy expensive.. I would love to be able to ride back to car, grab anther battery and go out agin immediately.. i purchased an inverter for the car, but it takes too long to charge between locations.

next.. Speed box 2.. when the replacement arrives. ( refer another thread for this story)
new Shock. Still researching.

ebike v regular bike.

ebike eats brake pads. easts chains and rear mech.. changes under load are not good for any bike.. perhaps the bosh or Di2 is worth the extra if it can ease off when changing.)
ebikes have over pedal.. Imagine driving on a winding road with the cruise set to on.. you have to remember to stop pedaling a second before you would do on a regular bike.. i kept overshooting corners.
Ebikes corner very well the extra weight keeps the wheel planted.
huck.. no Big jumps are ok as long s you have speed up.
20 mph is too low.. ( Speedbox 2 on the way).
you HAVE to pedal.. track stand is something i have yet to master..
Its a Strava killer.. now my downhill times are falling!

Conclusion..

The worst part of an ebike.. other trail riders.. either they want to talk about how they want one or how they wouldn't be seen dead on one.. either way, they just slow me down.

ebike.. a lonely but fast lifestyle!

medjed
1 week ago

shoot you're right lol!
here's a shot when i was on vacation in central cal this summer. was riding on the boardwalks for a leisurely morning ride and found a beach to stop at, so i made a quick photo shot! it's more of a pavement bike but it can handle some light dirt trails pretty well. not a fan of the suntour fork's thru-axel but someday i might upgrade it to something more user friendly.

1/1
SLove
2 weeks ago

What I like about the Rad Power Bikes selection is they are affordable, good selection to pick from, excellent customer service for only being a Seattle based company, and you have the 1 year warranty. I don't think I would have dipped my toe in the ebike pond without Rad Power Bikes as an option. I was able to get 2 Radrovers the same price or cheaper than one ebike with similar features from other manufactures. Volt 750 bikes come close; but, Rad had some extra flexibility I liked better (after market battery upgrade, more bottle bosses, larger hand grips, 60 tpi tires, heavy duty controller, color options). Sondors was first on my list;but, no dealer network, less than half the power of Rad ebikes, and 30 day warranty make me drop them off the list real quick.

What aftermarket battery did you purchase? Was it for performance or just to have a spare? Please provide a link I possible. Thanks!

Ravi Kempaiah
2 weeks ago
Verde
2 weeks ago

SIMI VALLEY, Calif. (Interbike 2017) – Raleigh Electric, maker of industry-leading electric bikes, designs ebikes around one simple idea: make them really, really fun. That core value continues in its newly unveiled 2018 bikes that will debut at the Interbike trade show next week in Las Vegas.

So much of our lives are focused on getting from point A to B, why shouldn’t we enjoy the ride while we get there? Raleigh Electric’s bikes bring the harmony of design, tech, performance, and comfort together, and are purpose-built with premium materials for every type of riding. All of Raleigh Electric’s ebikes are designed with “integrated Electronic” (iE) drive system technologies and are designed to be electrified. For 2018, the brand introduces seven new ready-to-ride models that will get your heart pumping and spike your fun level on pavement and dirt.

Lore iE (MSRP: $4,199)
If you want a fast-moving steed that meshes performance and style with average speeds of 25 MPH without breaking a sweat, look no further than the Lore iE. Combining 27.5-inch wheels with plus size tires for confidence and speed, a Bosch CX Speed motor for up to 28 MPH of pedal-assist power, Shimano drivetrain, and a 120mm RockShox Judy fork for supple suspension, the Lore tackles on-and-off road terrain with ease, and is truly an ebike for the ages.

Lore iE

Lore iE

Tamland iE (MSRP: $4,399)
Watch out, because the new drop-bar Tamland iE is going to raise some eyebrows – while also raising your game on the road and trail. This ebike was born from a desire to explore. With an integrated 500W Brose motor housed neatly in the downtube, the sleek ebike handles smooth roads with speed and singletrack with confidence. With 27.5-inch tires, pedal-assist speed up to 28 MPH, and an adventure-inspired SRAM drivetrain, if you can imagine a place to ride your bike, the Tamland will take you there.

Tamland iE

Kodiak Pro iE (MSRP: $TBD) & Kodiak iE (MSRP: $4,599)
The Kodiak Pro iE is hands down the perfect eMTB to calm the most rugged of terrain. Built with a Bosch Performance CX motor that brings pedal-assist speeds up to 28 MPH, and utilizing some of the best components from the most proven manufacturers, the Kodiak Pro is truly a sum of its parts. Featuring a lightweight 6061 Aluminum frame, 27.5-inch plus-sized wheels, 130mm of full-suspension travel, and the industry’s only ebike-specific groupset – SRAM’s eMTB super robust EX1 8-speed drivetrain with an 11-48 rear cassette – the Kodiak Pro oozes with the confidence of a muscle car while providing the gear range of a tractor. Its sibling – the Kodiak – delivers all the same performance and riding fun, with the major difference being components and a lower entry price point.

Kodiak Pro iE

Kodiak iE

Tokul Pro iE (MSRP: $TBD) & Tokul iE (MSRP: $3,499)
Lightweight carbon frame. Bosch Performance CX 500Wh motor integrated into the downtube. Ebike-specific SRAM EX1 drivetrain. These – among other attributes – are what make the new high-performance Tokul Pro eMTB one of the lightest, fastest, most tech-savvy bikes on the market. Equipped with 27.5-inch tires, an Enduro-inspired geometry, 120mm of RockShox full-suspension, and 8-speed drivetrain, the Tokul Pro is as nimble as eMTB’s come, and provides efficient uphill momentum on singletrack with quick maneuverability and handling on the down. Swap out component packages and the carbon frame for aluminum alloy, and the Tokul iE is one fun eMTB that comes in at an excellent value.

Tokul Pro iE

Tokul iE

Tokul iE

Magnus iE (MSRP: $3,499)
Rounding out Raleigh Electric’s 2018 trail-inspired ebike line, the Magnus iE fat bike easily crushing miles on sand, snow, or dirt. Touting a Bosch Performance CX motor, 26-inch wheels with 4-inch fat tires, lightweight aluminum frame, and disc brakes, the Magnus powers through just about any condition in its way. Whether you’re loaded up for packing into a hunting blind or rolling through town for a beer and a burger, the Magnus always goes big while bringing with it performance and comfort.

Magnus iE

Raleigh Electric is also leading the charge in helping preserve our environment with its new, first in the cycling industry Call2Recycle battery-recycling program. Batteries contain hazardous materials, and if dumped or disposed of incorrectly the harmful elements can find their way into our water sources and adds to pollution. The program disposes of old batteries in an environmentally responsible manner, and collection sites are located throughout the U.S. and Canada. After collecting and sorting, the batteries are processed and turned into new batteries, stainless steel products, and other products. For more, please check:call2recycle.org.

About Raleigh Electric
Our electric bicycles are designed around one simple idea: make them really, really fun. This is an idea that inspired our very first bicycles back in 1887 and continues to inspire how we do things today. After all, fun makes people happy. And, that’s something we proudly stand behind. Raleigh Electric is included in a family of brands that is part of the world’s largest electric bike supplier, Accell Group, so you can count on quality, reliability, and value. And, it’s easy to find a bike dealer whenever you need service or have questions about your electric bike. For more, check: raleighelectric.com.

MEDIA CONTACT: Keith Cozzens, Verde Brand Communications, keith@verdepr.com, 970-259-3555 x122

1/11
Lawrence lanes
2 weeks ago

Right. Thing is, I was visiting my mom in Austin (I'm not there any longer). I don't plan to buy until this all shakes out- like next spring- if the Vado continues to have poor feedback from owners I'll probably buy the Giant Quick-e+.) All of which is to say... Court? What can you find out?

I live in Northern California (Bay Area). After much research and testing, I purchased a Vado 3.0. Two different samples I tested were able to achieve 26 mph powered. I checked with 2 different salesmen who confirmed this was how they were being delivered and that specialized had changed them from the previous max of 20 mph. I purchased the bike and confirmed that is the case. In Turbo mode I can achieve a little over 26 mph before the powers cuts out. So I’m puzzled by the comment that after updating the firmware to US specs, the bike can only do 20 mph.
What worries me is that after reading the comments here I realized my bike is in demo mode, as it starts In turbo mode, lights off, and I have to reset from km/h to mph each time I turn off the battery. Now i’m worried that if I get the firmware reset it will also reset my speed limit to 20 mph.

mal robot
2 weeks ago

I was out riding my standard Cross Current and ran into someone commuting on their new Cross Current S. Mentioned that I had been wanting to test ride one and he let me take it for a quick spin. Definitely has a LOT more power than mine. I really like the display. Definitely think I will be upgrading.

Hi Dunbar, that was me (go LA buddies) :). Fancy meeting you on these forums. Nice bike by the way!

calvin cooke
1 week ago

Love this model or the new giant fastRoad model..but what's turning me off getting one your man in the shop was saying in Ireland it's limited to 25kph which is 15.5mph so wondering do you's in the USA get the better spec ones ! 🤔😉

John Smith
3 weeks ago

Rear light mounted on a plastic fender with no rear stay? That is a terrible idea and it will probably wobble and rattle like crazy and the mudguard will eventually crack because of it. pretty thoughtless design tbh

Y Z
4 weeks ago

Any front or rear shocks?

givenhopkins
1 month ago

I recently bought one of these for my work commute in LA. I ride 16 miles each way with about 1200 feet of elevation gain on the return trip. So far I would say it's a phenomenal bike for my purposes, although I did upgrade the saddle and throw on some ergon grips for comfort on these rough streets. As far as e bikes go I was extremely pleased with the Yamaha motor and before I'd done a test ride I was about to pull the tigger on a Bosch pedelec. No regrets so far.

Y Z
1 month ago

$3,000 is super reasonable. How many upgrades are available? Can you upgrade the display to a Yamaha display with Giant' software?

Y Z
1 month ago

Your reviews are excellent !! 4 star ****

Tristram Shandy
2 months ago

What's the difference between this and Full-E?

gazzame80
2 months ago

Annoying in the UK we stuck at 15 mph with the same bike

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
2 months ago

I'd rather get a Haibike, Bulls, Specialized.

Donandnan Elmore
3 months ago

I did over 30 miles on Thursday. When I got up the hill to my driveway on fumes (me not the bike). I decided to walk the bike up my very steep driveway. I didn't like the walk feature. The button is hard to push and hurts the thumb. After about 120', I gave up walking and road it the rest of the way up.

Donandnan Elmore
3 months ago

Did my first longer ride on my Quick-E somewhat over 23 miles. A couple of serious road bike riders pulled up next to me on the flats asking about the bike and then they just pulled away and I was doing near 20mph. I got caught at a light and they really put some distance between us. When I caught sight of them, they really started to fly pulling even further away. About I guess 5 miles later, I caught up to them on a long up hill grade. When I passed the guy, he kind of groaned. His wife had put some distance between them and was going pretty well. When I caught up to her, she said, "I could used one of those." Then I really started pushing to put distance between us and never saw them again on the following 3 up hill miles.

I did feel that, on the longer up hill climbs, the motor cut out from time to time for a second or two and I wasn't anywhere near 28mph.

CHAKRI KUMAR
3 months ago

hello i am indian where you buy this cycle

Inc Gohd
2 months ago

now how is it relevant what you are instead of giving your area info, where you're from. Perhaps people might know a dealer nearby.

Rory McCabe
3 months ago

what are those tires

David Hyder
1 month ago

Rory McCabe WTB Horizon Road Plus

Martin Glaze
4 months ago

Good review. One thing it seems like all your reviews are about expensive Ebike's Not everyone looking at ebikes have that kind of money. There is a lot of other Ebike's out there that are easier on the pocket book that you could review. !!! Please don't give me the story that you have to spend $ 5000.00 to get a good bike, not true !

Marc Filion
4 months ago

Electricbikereview.com Nice review and probably looking to buy that exact bike I think its good value!

My ultimate wish list would be:
-Bosch motor 28mph
-IGH
-belt drive

Does such a bike exist?!!

lottsalasagna
4 months ago

I bike 7 days a week ... These bikes would never hold up
Maybe good for going for a coffee .. But no serious biker would own an off the floor bike and not upgrade the cheap parts they put on them
Som$3000 plus the extra cost of buying better parts

lottsalasagna
4 months ago

Cheap wheels and tires

lottsalasagna
4 months ago

No bus racks are for frames ... Wheels racks only

pcphoenix123
4 months ago

I see that the bike demoed here has a bottle holder. But when I went to the store, the salesperson said you can't add a bottle holder, because there are no holes. So I suppose the guy here drilled holes in the frame?

Donandnan Elmore
3 months ago

It is set up for a holder. I had my dealer install a bottle and holder in the existing bosses.

Torian the Cyclist
5 months ago

I love the play on words. "Quick E" 😆