Giant Quick-E+ Review

Giant Quick E Plus Electric Bike Review
Giant Quick E Plus
Giant Quick E Plus Syncdrive Yamaha Mid Drive Motor With Cover
Giant Quick E Plus Energypak 36 Volt Battery
Giant Quick E Plus Lcd Display Panel Bars Stem
Giant Quick E Plus Locking Grips Button Pad
Giant Quick E Plus Axa Blueline30 Led Headlight
Giant Quick E Plus 20 Speed Shimano Deore Shadow
Giant Quick E Plus Composite Plastic Fenders
Giant Quick E Plus 3 Amp Battery Charger
Giant Quick E Plus Electric Bike Review
Giant Quick E Plus
Giant Quick E Plus Syncdrive Yamaha Mid Drive Motor With Cover
Giant Quick E Plus Energypak 36 Volt Battery
Giant Quick E Plus Lcd Display Panel Bars Stem
Giant Quick E Plus Locking Grips Button Pad
Giant Quick E Plus Axa Blueline30 Led Headlight
Giant Quick E Plus 20 Speed Shimano Deore Shadow
Giant Quick E Plus Composite Plastic Fenders
Giant Quick E Plus 3 Amp Battery Charger

Summary

  • A highly-polished electric city bike with sleek battery integration, full-protection fenders, premium LED lights running off the main battery and a minimalist pannier rack for hauling gear
  • Available in four frame sizes but only one traditional high-step diamond style, the bike is extremely efficient with a rigid alloy fork and slick hybrid tires, 20 speed Shimano Deore drivetrain
  • The Yamaha motor is extremely quiet but offers some of the highest torque output, this is a speed model that can reach 28 mph assisted, beautiful display and button pad with USB charging port for portable electronics
  • The display is not removable, the battery can be charged on or off the bike but is heavier and doesn't have a handle so be careful, great price and leading warranty with lots of dealers offering good support

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Giant

Model:

Quick-E+

Price:

$3,000

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

50 lbs (22.67 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.5 lbs (3.4 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.6 lbs (3.44 kg)

Frame Material:

ALUXX SL-Grade Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)21 in (53.34 cm)23 in (58.42 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Large: 21" Seat Tube, 22" Reach, 31" Stand Over Height, 73" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Charcoal Fighter Grey

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid ALUXX SL-Grade Aluminum, OverDrive, 9 mm Skewer with Bolts

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Skewer with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

20 Speed 2x10 Shimano Deore Shadow Rear Derailleur 11-36T, Shimano Deore Front Derailleur 36/48T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Triggers on Left and Right

Cranks:

Custom Forged, 170 mm Length

Pedals:

Alloy Platform Cage

Headset:

Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2"

Stem:

Alloy, 100 mm Length, 8° Angle, Three 5 mm Stacks, One 10 mm Stack

Handlebar:

Alloy Low-Rise, 31.8 Clamp Diameter, 29" Width

Brake Details:

Shimano M315 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor 160 mm Rear Rotor, Shimano M315 Levers with Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Giant, Flat Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Giant Contact Upright

Seat Post:

Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Giant Alloy, Double Wall, 32 Hole, Reinforcement Eyelets

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14G Front, 13G Rear, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 27.5" x 2.0"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripe, Puncture Protection

Tube Details:

Schrader

Accessories:

Giant Composite Plastic Fenders, Rear Pannier Rack, Integrated AXA Blueline30 LED Headlight, Integrated Spanninga Vena LED Rear Light, Ursus Adjustable Length Kickstand

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.8 lb 3 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Giant SyncDrive by Yamaha

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Giant EnergyPak

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

496.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

100 miles (161 km)

Display Type:

Giant, Fixed, Backlit, Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Battery Info-Graphic, Battery Percentage, Speed, Assist Level (Off, Eco, Normal, Power), Cadence (RPM), Trip Time, Trip Distance, Average Speed, Max Speed, Odometer, Range,

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Right (On/Off, Up, Down, Light, i, Walk Mode), 5 Volt Micro USB Port on Left Side of Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Wheel Speed, Pedal Torque, Pedal Cadence)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

While traveling through Southern California I visited Fullerton Bicycles and met Trevor, the owner of the Quick-E+ electric bike you see here. He’s a 128 lb road biker who loves distance rides on the weekend but also commutes ~35 miles daily to his job. Trevor bought this bike to use as a recovery tool and make his commutes a little faster and had some great things to share about it in the video review above. One of my favorite aspects of mainstream electric bicycles like the Quick-E+ is that they tend to come in more sizes and be available to touch and demo at shops. This is truly a mainstream e-bike priced at $3k delivering a 20 speed drivetrain, perfectly integrated motor and battery pack. The thing looks amazing and comes with a two-year warranty that is honored on-site with expert bike technicians. Yes, there are less expensive ebikes on the market but with the Quick-E+ you’re getting a high capacity battery, fast charger, reliable motor from Yamaha, integrated LED lights, full-length fenders that don’t rattle… and a minimalist rack for hauling panniers. It’s an awesome product and it’s fast, topping out at ~28 mph in the highest levels of assist using the higher gears. There are a few compromises like the heavy battery that wasn’t designed with a handle or ridge to make it easier to carry and the fixed display that might get faded and scratched at racks… but the biggest consideration is the lack of suspension. When you’re going faster and further, an all-Aluminum frame and rigid fork transmit bumps and vibration more directly into your back and arms. One way to address this to ride on only the smoothest streets, and even if they take you way out of the way, that’s fine because you can go super far with battery support. Another possible solution is to wear padded cycling pants and gloves and perhaps the biggest improvement would be a 30.9 mm BodyFloat suspension seat post (or other less-expensive suspension post). This is an ebike that blends in, positions weight low and center for excellent handling, uses mid to high level components, like the Shimano hydraulic brakes, and really brings electric bikes into the mainstream into the USA which has historicaly lagged behind Europe and Asia in this industry. It’s exciting.

Driving the Quick-E is a 250 watt nominally rated Yamaha mid-drive motor. It’s branded as SyncDrive through Giant and has a nice skid plate on the bottom for protection. To me, it’s one of the cleanest most hidden looking systems around and it delivers a lot of power… Don’t let the 250 watt rating fool you, it peaks around 500 watts and delivers 80 Newton meters of torque vs. 40 Nm for a lot of hub motors and 63 Nm for the Bosch Performance line motor. What it does not have is shift sensing or the range of RPM output that Bosch does. That means you have to shift more frequently to get those higher speeds and you have to do it with a bit more care. The motor controller is measuring rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque rapidly as you ride and if you simply reduce pedal pressure as you go to shift the motor will naturally back off and reduce the potential for mashing. It works a lot like a normal bicycle and is compatible with two front sprockets vs. just one on Bosch… the Quick-E+ takes full advantage of this with a 10×2 setup and Shimano Deore derailleurs on both. One of the Yamaha marketing highlights is “zero cadence start” which means you don’t have to pedal very far before the motor kicks in. In my experience “zero” is a bit misleading because the bike won’t go if you’re standing still but putting pressure on the pedal (and that’s a good thing), I’d say it’s more like “very fast start” and that’s just what you need going from rest at a traffic light, stop sign or heading up a hill.

Powering the motor, backlit display panel and integrated lights is a 36 volt 13.8 amp hour above-average sized battery pack. On an efficient city bike like this, expect 50 to 100 miles per charge depending on your weight, the terrain, wind conditions and most importantly, the level of pedal assist chosen. There are three levels to choose from and as you get to the highest and switch gears to reach 20+ mph speeds your efficiency will drop significantly. It’s fun to ride fast but I really loved how detailed the battery readout was (with percentage) along with the dynamic range estimator readout because it’s no fun getting stuck way out on a 50 lb bicycle. Yes, the bike still pedals fine unpowered, it’s actually not that bad, but climbing with it would be a chore… especially after knowing what the assist felt like. You could always get some clip-on panniers and bring the 1.7 lb charger along. It puts out 3 Amps for faster than average fills and has a nice metal end piece that fits into the battery pack on or off the bike. I just want to say, the plug interface on the battery is very nice, I like that the rubber flap seats easily and that the battery has an LED readout on it (for a quick look if you haven’t ridden for a while). The bit area of opportunity with this battery is how you’d hold and carry it. The pack is heavier than competing products at ~7.5 lbs and the exterior is slick and rounded… dropping it would be a $700+ mistake and even scratching it would be sad given the beautiful paint matched exterior. I think I’d probably leave mine on the bike and use the awesome kickstand to keep the whole thing secure while charging.

Operating the bike is a breeze with just one step on/off button at the control pad (near the left grip). The display panel is large enough to read but not so large that it dominates the cockpit which already has the brake levers and two sets of trigger shifters, a bell and the button pad. The display lights up when you press the light button on that pad along with the headlight and tail light. Both components are nicer than average and I LOVE that the headlight has little windows on the sides so you will be seen more easily. It’s not shown in my photos or the video but the standard Schwalbe Big Ben tires have reflective sidewall stripes to further increase your visual footprint. As mentioned earlier, this bike is pretty stiff and the larger high-quality tires are the one big comfort compromise. They aren’t as efficient or light as slimmer tires but I’d make the trade any day. So back to the display panel, it lists your speed, a bunch of trip stats including pedal cadence and the level of assist chosen. Arrowing up and down through the levels is easy with a few minutes of practice, it can be done by touch even without looking down once you get how it works.

Clearly I’m impressed with this bike, for the price (even if it sounds high to non-ebikers) you’re getting a LOT of value. The local dealer support cannot be overstated, Giant shops in the US are probably staffed by some reluctant service techs who think ebikes are cheating… but if Trevor is any indication, they are opening their minds and recognizing how useful the technology can be and that’s awesome because they know bicycles better than most. I love that Trevor found his own uses for this bike and was enjoying it. He still rides a normal unpowered bike but can have in-between days to recover without doing nothing and his commute got a lot more tolerable. Yes, I personally would swap the seat post for something more forgiving (and maybe even the stem) but I ride all over and have a sensitive back and neck to start. For most people, this will just be a blast to ride and it looks SO good. It blends in and uses components that will hold up for the long term… even if you don’t shift perfectly. It’s great to go fast without producing a lot of noise or compromising much on handling. Big thanks to Giant for partnering with me on this post and Fullerton Bicycles for having me into their shop all day getting in their way :P thanks for your patience and help Trevor!

Pros:

  • The bike looks beautiful, comes in four frame sizes for a good fit and rides solid, I’m glad they opted for larger tires to help smooth out some of the bumps given that it’s a speed pedelec capable of 28 mph assisted riding
  • Clean tight fenders extend way down and mostly stay out of your way, when turning sharp the front fender could collide with your toes if you have large feet, I like that the rear fender is secured by the pannier rack
  • Front and rear integrated LED lights keep you visible from all sides (notice the side windows on the headlight) and don’t require the hassle of being taking off to charge separately or keep secured when parking… they’re more permanently affixed to the frame, the bike also comes with reflective tires standard
  • Great kickstand, it’s adjustable length and positioned towards the rear of the bike so it won’t collide with your pedals, I like to move the cranks around when cleaning the bike and usually have my bike held up with the kickstand so it’s a nice little convenience to be able to do that without issue here
  • Nice extras including the rack, a flick bell and bottle cage bosses for bringing liquid, a folding lock or mini pump
  • Since Giant is using the Yamaha motor, they were able to custom design their battery and display… I think they did well because both are user-friendly and blend in, the remote button pad for the display is easy to reach and intuitive to use
  • The battery charger is very nice, way better than the huge and heavy charger that Haibike uses for their Yamaha powered models in years past, it’s small, light and faster than average at 3 Amp output, also, the plug interface is metal so it won’t crack as easily
  • At the bottom bracket you’ve got two cogs vs. just one on a lot of mid-drive electric bikes and that means more pedal cadence options and gearing range, I love that they created a shield to protect the motor down there
  • All of the shift cables and wiring are internally routed so the frame looks super clean and you shouldn’t have as many snags lifting or putting it on a rack
  • The pannier rack in the rear has protrusions along the inner top section of the tube to keep bags from sliding forward and back, it also keeps panniers lower to improve handling vs. lifting them way up high like regular aftermarket bolt-on racks
  • The rear wheel has thicker spokes to support the weight of panniers and cargo, both rims use reinforcement eyelets to keep them from cracking… just a good sturdy build overall that can handle higher speeds and more force from electric assist
  • I’m a big fan of hydraulic disc brakes, especially for ebikes, the added weight of the bike (this one is ~50 lbs) combined with assisted speed means that braking is important and hydraulic is just easier to pull and the Quick-E+ uses Shimano with adjustable-reach levers that would work better if you’ve got gloves on or have smaller hands
  • Awesome charge port cover… the rubber flap is large but easy to stick in and it’s mounted left to right so it closes in the direction of your bikes forward movement, you can charge this pack on or off the bike and I like that the battery has an LED charge level indicator on top where you can use it anytime for a quick update on how full it is
  • Considering how much power the battery offers, it’s awesome to have a USB charging port on the right side of the display to fill your phone (useful if you ride with Strava or other GPS apps)
  • To me, this electric bike offers amazing value because it comes frome one of the major manufacturers with a wide network of experienced dealers, comes in a range of sizes, has a two-year warranty and is using quality motor, battery and drivetrain systems
  • The display shows battery percentage and range estimation that dynamically changes as you arrow up or down through different levels of assist, you should never struggle to plan trips with this ebike because it gives you such great feedback… with the rigid frame and efficient tires the bike gets excellent range
  • The button pad is easy to reach and use while riding, even without looking down it’s possible to change assist levels, the rubberized top seemed well sealed against water, this bike should hold up very well in wet environments with the fenders and protected display sytems
  • I like that the bike has a functioning walk mode, it’s a bit heavier and might have bags on the rack so this feature is cool (just hold the walk button while in any of the three assist levels)

Cons:

  • The battery looks nice and works well enough but is heavier than average due to the high capacity and there isn’t a handle built in so just be careful when taking it off and carrying it around
  • All-Aluminum frame is sturdy and light but less forgiving than if the rigid fork were Carbon fiber or Steel… or had some sort of suspension, consider a 30.9 mm Thudbuster or BodyFloat to enhance your comfort (you might need a shim to fit the seat post diameter depending on which product you buy)
  • Both wheels are secured with nuts instead of quick release which requires tools… but also keeps them safer when locking in public, this isn’t a huge con, just something to consider if you have to do maintenance or like to transport the bike in the back of a car
  • The Quick-E+ only comes in one frame style, a very traditional high-step that looks good and feels solid but isn’t as easy to stand over for petite or inexperienced riders, you might have to use tippie toes if you get the wrong size frame but the upside is that it hangs on racks easier and has room for the bottle cage bosses
  • The motor is quiet, efficient and powerful (putting out 80 Nm of peak torque) but doesn’t offer shift sensing technology and has a more limited RPM output range so you have to shift frequently, if you’re not thoughtful about how you do it (ease off when shifting) it could wear the chain, sprockets and derailleur more quickly
  • The charge port on the battery is mostly out of the way but if you had the charger plugged in there’s a chance that it could get bumped by the left crank arm so be careful

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Giant Reviews

Giant Full-E+ 1 Review

  • MSRP: $5,300
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A full suspension electric mountain bike with capable hardware, excellent dealer support and impressive range, four frame sizes accommodate a range of riders, impressive pricepoint. 22-speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus allows you to engage a clutch to…...

Giant Road-E+ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An aggressive road bike with 28 mph top electric-assisted speed, drop bars and sport saddle, you get Shimano Ultegra rear and 105 front derailleurs with 22 gear combinations to work with. Shimano hydraulic disc brakes offer powerful stops and tend to stay cleaner than rim brakes,…...

Roman
3 months ago

Hey Court, thanks for the review, this is a bike I’ve been considering for a while. Can you talk about the sizing? What size did you test and what size do you usually ride? I’ve cross shopped this with the Specialized Turbo X, which do you think gets the nod for a 22 mile roundtrip commute with a bit of gravel?

Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Roman! I believe I was on the larger frame size but cannot say for sure. Trevor is a taller guy and I remember the bike feeling large, it’s great to visit a dealer and try them out if you can. I believe Giant is requiring their dealers to bring a few ebikes into their shops. I love the efficiency of the Giant mid-drive and how beautiful it looks but the Turbo X suspension fork is a big deal for me given the speed produced. I have sensitive wrists, arms, shoulders, neck and back. For this reason, I usually only buy full suspension ebikes now so I’m a bit extreme ;)

Honestly, this is a great product at a great price. I’m being honest about my appreciation of suspension but that’s just me. Trevor seemed very happy with this bike for himself and I enjoyed test riding it!

Shaggy
3 months ago

Nice to see one of the big 3 (Trek, Specialized, Giant) make an ebike. Should help the consumer. Court, I am wondering if the Yamaha cuts out early due to the size of the front chainring or the software being set to stop assisting once the sensors indicate a certain pedal crank rpm? Thx.

Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Shaggy! I think it’s just designed with a different RPM range… like it won’t go any faster up to a certain point whereas Bosch will. Bosch also stops but I find the bit of extra RPM at the higher end to be more comfortable and supportive of my ride style. I have hurt knees and the higher RPM requires less pressure on non-electric bikes so that’s how I prefer to ride now. It’s not a deal killer, I know my feedback on this characteristic has rubbed some people the wrong way and they get defensive. To me it’s just a fact and I’m trying to be open about it and show it on video. If you get onto one of these at a dealer and compare it to Bosch or Brose back to back and emphasize fast pedaling while in higher gears going for the top speed… I think you’ll see what I mean. I hope this helps!

Carter
3 months ago

This is very helpful. Your review just pushed the Quick-e (terrible name) into my top 3 ebikes to consider, along with the new Vado when it comes out and the Trek Super Commuter+ if I win the lottery (ha). Obviously I’m one of those who prioritizes name brand and dealer support– Giant’s 2 year warranty is a big plus as well.

Court, I have a suggestion for your reviews. The main reason I’m looking at buying an ebike is, at 55 and 185 lbs, I struggle too much getting up the hills around Seattle on my 20-50 mile fun rides. The steeper climbs are really the only times I need assist (tho I don’t pretend I won’t use it at other times.) I suspect I’m not the only prospective ebike buyer in this position. Towards that end, it’d be super helpful if you were able to speak to the relative performance of the bikes you review in providing assist on longer and steeper climbs. Of course I understand that may not be possible if you’re testing the bike in a flat region- still.

I rode my cousin’s Stromer in the San Francisco hills last summer and marveled at how I flew up the (steep!) hills, but was disappointed when the base model Specialized Turbo I test rode (twice) failed to provide the same amount of assist. If you were able to try out your review bikes on hills where possible and give some feedback as to how they performed I could really use that information. Thanks so much!

Court Rye
3 months ago

Good suggestion Carter, I do seek out hills and completely see how it helps people like you to get an understanding and see performance. I’m relatively light weight and active so even that can be misleading I suppose. Regarding the Quick-E+, I’d say it is a very capable climber given the mid-motor and high torque (80 Nm) that Yamaha delivers. I’d love to hear your thoughts on how it performs vs. a Stromer but would compare it favorably based on my own experiences. It’s different, being center-driven, but better if you shift accordingly… you don’t have to push as hard as with the newer Stromer ST1 X.

Brian
2 months ago

I noticed that this US version speed pedelec comes with a relatively weak Axa Blueline 30 headlight…the European s-pedelec versions have the Supernova m-99, even the Quick-e+ 25 comes with the Axa Blueline 50 in the European models. I would think that a stronger light should be a safety feature for any s-pedelec. Any thoughts on this?

Court Rye
2 months ago

Interesting, thanks for noticing and sharing this detail Brian. I guess it’s a bummer that the US got downgraded… unless ours is also less expensive? We have a lot of electric bikes out here that bend the rules with speed and power which don’t have ANY lights. I don’t know enough about the situation to make a judgment call but I’m inclined to trust that Giant is making decent decisions? I felt that the rest of the product was well thought-out?

Emerson Moncure
2 months ago

Hey Court, I just discovered electricbikereview.com and I love it! The reviews on this channel are informed, thorough and extremely well communicated. Currently I commute to work on a Giant brand Seek 3 (non-electric) I bought back in 2012 for $700. Though I really like my bike, I’ve been feeling like its time for an upgrade. However, I never would have considered an e-bike (let alone a $3000 e-bike) until I watched the EBR review of the Giant Quick-E! To be honest, I’m not a particularly knowledgeable consumer when it comes to bikes, and I rely heavily on an informed sales person to help me find the right fit. The danger there is, I don’t always get an informed sales person! However after watching a number of EBR reviews I have a new understanding of the value of electric bikes, and particularly the value of specific products being offered! Considering my needs and compared to other e-bikes of this quality, $3000 really seems a good price vs. value for the Giant Quick E. It even has the same graphite grey/black color scheme as my old Seek 3. I’m sold! This newly informed rider thanks you for your top quality reviews!

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hey Emerson! You totally made my day, thanks for sharing a bit about yourself and what it’s like to be a consumer trying to navigate the space. I’m glad the site has helped you, that’s my goal! And, feel free to share or connect further in the forums. I do my best as an information source but have limited experience post-purchase. I feel like individuals connecting directly is an authentic way to identify issues, fixes, and best uses. Have a great time out there and thanks again!

Randy Emer
2 months ago

Hey Court, I love watching your reviews, they’re incredibly helpful and informative. I’m a very recreational rider in the market for an e-bike. I seem to have narrowed the choice down to two: the Giant Quick-E above, and the Trek Dual Sport +. They seem very similar. What are your thoughts? You are providing a tremendous service with your enthusiastic reviews!!!

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Randy! Great bikes… both companies are large and trustworthy but I prefer the Giant in this case because it has a streamlined battery, integrated lights, fenders and a basic rack. I guess it depends on the sort of rides you want to take, but I appreciate the added utility. Both drive systems are good and the 2017 Shimano batteries can be charged on-bike just like the Giant Quick-E+ Yamaha battery. I hope this helps! Would love to hear what you decide on and how it works for you. Feel free to poke around the forums too and ask for feedback from actual owners :)

Cristian
2 months ago

Hi, I’m interested in this bike but I read about the “cons” that both wheels are secured. I’m not from the US but I’ll be there in a couple of weeks, I would like to dismantle to transport by flight…. Would be easier for me to transport? Thanks!

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Cristian! First off, you might have to ship the battery separately from the bike because most commercial airlines do not allow you to bring large Lithium-ion batteries onboard. They won’t even let you check them… consider reaching out to a hazmat certified shipper like Propel Bikes in New York or ask your dealer. Second, it’s pretty easy to use a basic set of tools to get the wheels off of this bike. You might want to purchase a large padded bike box because checking these things could end up damaging them. This is just the start but I hope it helps you to reconsider the shipping plan… there’s a lot more than just taking the wheels off to consider :)

Samuel
1 month ago

Hi Court! Thank you for your excellent reviews, they will help me a lot in choosing an E-bike, bet on the future and leave the car aside.

Do you have something to say about the quality of the battery? I think that most bicycle brands use electrical components from manufacturers that have the experience and the technology to produce motors, controls and batteries. So I wonder how good quality is a battery from Giant and its lifespan.

I’m thinking about buying an E-bike for my daily commuting (which is 20 km) and stop using the car, but batteries are a big concern to me: how long they last, what to do when a battery has reached maximum cycle capacity (where to recycle?) and how long manufacturers will support an old model with replacement batteries. Would you consider this before choosing an e-bike?

Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Samuel! Batteries are one of the most sensitive and expensive parts of electric bikes but if you get one that’s relatively new and provided by a large, trusted manufacturer like Giant, Specialized, Trek or any Bosch powered product, I think you’re doing great. These companies tend to cost a little more but have long-term customer service and replacement options. Most batteries, if not dropped and stored in cool dry locations and kept at ~80% for long term storage, should last for several years and maybe longer :)

Chuck
1 month ago

Hi Court,

Yet another excellent review from you! Thanks very much for that. One of those Giant Quick-e+ pluses passed through the bike shop I work at last week and unfortunately I was far too busy to give it a proper look-over so I have a few questions I hope you can answer. Giant didn’t cover enough in the specs on their site, hence me asking you. Beyond that, I have a few words. I’ve got to say, that bike really caught my eye. It looks like a really stout build and it’s just a good looking bike overall from the few minutes I had with it.

  • The fork looks to be tapered (1-1/8″ to 1-1/2″). Did you notice that?
  • Did the chainring spider look like a standard BCD? With what they spec I’m thinking it’s 104mm like a ‘cross bike.
  • I didn’t see any brake cutouts on the bike so I’m assuming the pedalec setup is sensitive enough to shut down power quickly. Did you notice anything lagging in power cut-off when braking or am I totally wrong about the lack of brake cut-outs?

Those first two questions may seem a bit nerdy but I’m going to want to tweak that bike some. Not much, just some. It seems just about perfect as-is. Oh and speaking of bike tweaks you often mention seatposts like the Cane Creek Thudbuster. I’d like to point out another one I think is worth considering. The Niner RDO carbon seatpost. It’s not going to have anywhere near as much give as a Thudbuster but it is intentionally built with some compliance and dampening in mind. I was pretty skeptical about the claim but after trying one I now run them on a couple of my bikes and they do make a very noticeable difference at far less weight and with a clean look. Other people who have ridden my bikes have remarked on how good they feel without me saying a word about them. They are a bit pricey but definitely worth it in my opinion. The setback model gives even a little more comfort if that’s something someone can properly fit on their bike.

I really like that the Quick-e comes out of the box with plump 650B wheels vs. 700c. 700c has its merits (I love my gravel bike!) but 650B I think is just best all around for something utilitarian like that bike. Far more stout and comfortable. Not only that but I think 650B wheels are a better choice than 700c for a class 3 ebike. For those not familiar with the terrifyingly sketchy fun of going 40+ mph on skinny little 23c tires (or 30+ on fat gravel bike tires) those 650B fatties will go a long way in adding safety and confidence in the 20-30MPH range. Also, I know those WTB tires the owner in the video upgraded to and they are very smooth and efficient. Probably a great upgrade. That’s not to say that the stock Schwalbe Big Bens are not good. They too are an excellent tire.

That pannier rack, the overall clean lines of the bike along with the highly functional lighting and clean, simple dashboard grabbed my attention right away as I was walking by it at my shop last week and I had to take a second look and prod n’ poke the bike for a couple of minutes. I think the price is perfect too. I’m thinking about one quite seriously. The days I don’t feel like commuting by bike I ride my motorcycle and I’d like to get away from that. For those days that I don’t want to deal with changing out of my kit, getting grimy or am just feeling lazy and just want to throw my leg over a bike and go without doing anything special then pedaling a little less hard seems to fit the bill. I’ve borrowed a few ebikes from my shop to try them out for commuting and I get it now. I think motos trump a car most of the time for personal transport here in SoCal. But I’m 70/30 bike/moto in my commuting habits now and the moto is getting a bit tedious. For my short travels I do most of the time I’d rather be on a bike. My family has been car-light for a few years now and I’m thinking something like that bike may just scratch my itch and keep me car-light for a few more years.

Thanks for all of your hard work on these great reviews!

Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Chuck! Happy to help with the specs… It does have a tapered head tube and no, there are not motor inhibitors built in. Most of the new advanced mid-drive ebikes do not use cutoff switches or have throttles, I guess they are quick enough that the inhibitor is not needed? Unfortunately, I cannot answer the last question about chainring but my guess is that it does use a standard BCD.

Good call on the carbon seat post, have you seen the one that Specialized made? Used to be called the “Cobl Gobl-R” but the official name is now CB-R :)

Chuck
1 month ago

Oh yeah, I forgot about that one from Specialized! Looks like another good choice. It’s pretty interesting some of the carbon layups manufactures are trying these days and how they can control stuff like compliance and direction of flex. Much more advanced (and durable) than the old days of carbon.

Mike
1 week ago

Hey Court! Your website is awesome. I am a first time buyer and this is by far the best source I have found. A quick question, do you know (or know how I can determine) when the 2018 Quick-e+ will come out? I went to a local dealer and he seemed to think it will be the next few weeks. Thank you!

Court Rye
1 week ago

Wow, that sounds crazy soon? I guess the 2017 model has been around for a while now but I feel like we are mid-season. Sometimes they get demo models for press events and shows like Eurobike and Interbike (many of their bikes are designed for a European audience and then brought to the US). I’ll ask my contacts at Giant and see if we get anything… Glad you like the site Mike!

Mike
5 days ago

Great, thank you. I searched online and could not find any information about the expected release date.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

kathik
47 mins ago

After owning my Turbo Levo for six trouble free months the honeymoon came to an end today. Now that the weather is nice I have been trying to ride it at least twice weekly. Most of my riding is rail trails and a little off the beaten path when that path isn't covered with large rocks and fallen trees!
Today I decided to take a quick ride at a trail in one of the local state forests but after unloading my bike and turning it on I noticed one of my lights on my battery light indicator was red. According to the mission control app all was fine. As soon as I started pedaling I realized I had no pedal assist. I shut everything down and restarted it twice but still a no go. At this point I noticed my charging cover was not closed properly so I fixed that and tried again and everything seemed to be working. After doing a quick 12 miles I headed home and put the bike on the charger and still had that darn red light showing. After charging I took it for a quick ride and now it will only run in turbo mode and if I change to eco or trail it goes right back to turbo. Mission control can no longer see that my Levo is turned on.
I guess it's a trip to the bike shop for me tomorrow.

Over50
2 hours ago

This link shows the bag that I want but it does not show the rack adapter with the lock. Where is the rack adapter?
The bag shown to have the 'snap-it' adapter comes with the adapter fixed to the bottom of the bag (its built in and not an item you order separately). The adapter locks into place with a quick release type button. I didn't see a separate key locking system. On the other hand, when I was looking at the Rixen and Kaul bags I seem to recall there was a separate key locking device sold for the Racktime compatible bags. With that device you can leave the bag on the bike and it would theoretically be more secure from theft.

The Vaude bag is working out pretty well for me and I've been using it a lot. Its easy to take off the bike, attach the shoulder strap, and carry with me. My only problem is the water bottle holder. I've lost two water bottles that came flying out whilst traveling over rough terrain. After the first loss, I bought a fatter water bottle made of silicone (generally sold for backpacking). I thought no way that bottle would come loose as it fit very snugly. After I losing that bottle too, I now only carry one bottle in my bottle cage and then transfer that to the bottle holder on the Vaude when I take the bag off the bike and carry it with me. If I had to do it over again, I would probably order the XL. The Large is pretty small. Its working for me in combination with the backpack but it is small. I'm commuting tomorrow and it is currently packed with my clothes for the office (except for pants) and clothes for the ride home, a small multi tool and the rain cover (with a little room left to spare). My jeans are going in my backpack as they won't fit with the other items in the trunk bag (or might fit but the bag would be stuffed to capacity).

Joe EE
10 hours ago

Hello all. Looking into this bike. Presently riding a Voltbike Yukon 750. My question is; at my 230 pound 6 foot size, in your opinion is the 500 Watt motor going to be enough. It is fairly hilly where I live and the Yukon is fine. Really peppy uphill actually. The Colt looks like a great bike. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

JoeA
12 hours ago

My 2017 Giant Quick E+ has an issue with not powering off ? it happened 2 months ago as well and at the time Giant store said it was a code issue on the battery and bring it in a swap the battery with new coded one
Has any one else had this issue?

Denis Shelston
14 hours ago

Not sure, but could it be, if it's a quick release, that's it's missing the quick release components...

1/1
ChuckT
1 day ago

The tandem bicycle is a unique and complex machine, and historically there are lots of ways to do them wrong, and just a few ways to get it right. I think the best way to do an e-tandem would be to start with a real tandem bicycle made by an outfit that does a lot of them (Santana, Co-Motion come to mind). My initial thoughts are that the most straightforward way to do an e-tandem would be a front hub design. I say that because the rear hub of a tandem is already a special thing: very wide between the dropouts, capable of supporting a lot of weight and tremendous torque. Many tandems use high spoke count (40, 48) and have specially designed hubs. I don't think regular rear e-hubs will work there.

The prospect of a mid-drive on a tandem does not thrill me. The easiest way to incorporate it would be on the captain's bottom bracket. Even so, the additional torque will put a lot of stress on the already highly stressed drivetrain, which would need to be upgraded beyond standard tandem technology.
Putting a mid-drive on the stoker bottom bracket may be problematic and require some unique and custom engineering, I believe, and could get expensive and fiddly.

That leaves the front hub, which presents the least problems, in my quick assessment. The front hub of a tandem bicycle is a special device as well, strongly built with high spoke count. You would need to verify that any hub of interest could provide the needed qualities. An added advantage of a front hub unit is that when you are not going to the mountains, you can change out your wheel, take off the battery, and proceed as a regular tandem. That is an attractive prospect for me. The more I think about this the more I am considering trying it on my old Trek steel tandem (which would be a good tandem to hang an e-motor on if you can get one used: good handling, good frame build, inexpensive, likely to require a refurbishment anyway due to age; I would not use a more recent aluminum Trek tandem). Good luck, it sounds like fun...

Howdy. The thought just crossed my mind a few days ago while thinking of someone who's significant other may be incapable of riding alone but would do ok on a tandem. OTOH a tandem is a litlle bit harder for going uphill than on a single bike I thought a tandem eBike could be the solution. Are there any and what are the top tandem eBikes out there? Thanks. :)

Tbone
2 days ago

Just a quick vid of recent pseudo test between Charger Nuvinci and GX Touring. For those not in the know, GX Touring comes with chain, 11 gears, derailleur (2nd bike in vid; colour yellow/curry). The Nuvinci (1st bike; white) is a constant variable hub with a belt drive. Sometimes proudly, other times not so proudly... I'm well over 200 lbs and I do a lot of biking. The reason I don't make it to the top of the hill with the Nuvinci is because of the Big Ben street tires; I'm also out of breath at the top on the Nuvinci. Perhaps the 8 gears of the Nuvinci isn't enough. The 11 gear chain and off-road tires of the GX Touring gets to the top no problem. GX wins uphill (surprise!) but I'd rather ride the Nuvinci on the road.

Great bikes!

Rant and ride safe.

-tbone

Al_R
2 days ago

The newer Radwagons have different firmware than mine. my understanding is they are meant to cut out once they get you to speed. Not sure how mine works but it stays on although it still seems to maintain a max assist at about 20MPH.

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND not taking the Radwagon at speeds over 23-25 miles an hour. In short, the bike was not built for that speed. Due to the weight and size, there is already a considerable amount of stress on the parts. A catastrophic failure is more likely at higher speeds and if the motor is still engaged (lets say a front tire failure) all of that energy has to go somewhere. I get it up to 29 MPH at the bottom of a few hills daily and have tried to test out a rapid stop. It is harrowing.

If you do plan on uping your max speed (which can be done with some hardware modifications and will void your warranty as well as make you eligible for a citation depending on your local laws) , you may want to switch out the quick release on the front tire. My LBS says there is a chance of the wheel coming off at high speeds when breaking. They adjust my front break to be a little soft in order to prevent this. Not sure what he said to do instead, lock nuts I think.

I also dream of going faster, just a little, just sometimes. I wish the throttle was independent and was more like a super booster. Same deal with the assist but the throttle gets you up to 30 with gusto. That would be awesome!

Thanks for the advise! I've sent an email to Rad describing the issue and I'm waiting for a response now. The bike's motor drives the bike up to 20 mph so I'm not sure about coasting 5 to 7 MPH above that is all that bad, but I understand what you are saying. I'll let you know what Rad responds with.

Barkme Wolf
2 days ago

I have a 4 month old Radwagon or rather two of them and they both do the same thing. When we go down the bridge we hit 25 to 27 MPH. The motors on both bike will not kick back in until we slow to around 15.5 MPH, then everything work again and we accelerate back up to just under 20 MPH. I need to try increasing the cutoff speed I guess.

The newer Radwagons have different firmware than mine. my understanding is they are meant to cut out once they get you to speed. Not sure how mine works but it stays on although it still seems to maintain a max assist at about 20MPH.

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND not taking the Radwagon at speeds over 23-25 miles an hour. In short, the bike was not built for that speed. Due to the weight and size, there is already a considerable amount of stress on the parts. A catastrophic failure is more likely at higher speeds and if the motor is still engaged (lets say a front tire failure) all of that energy has to go somewhere. I get it up to 29 MPH at the bottom of a few hills daily and have tried to test out a rapid stop. It is harrowing.

If you do plan on uping your max speed (which can be done with some hardware modifications and will void your warranty as well as make you eligible for a citation depending on your local laws) , you may want to switch out the quick release on the front tire. My LBS says there is a chance of the wheel coming off at high speeds when breaking. They adjust my front break to be a little soft in order to prevent this. Not sure what he said to do instead, lock nuts I think.

I also dream of going faster, just a little, just sometimes. I wish the throttle was independent and was more like a super booster. Same deal with the assist but the throttle gets you up to 30 with gusto. That would be awesome!

Doug D.
2 days ago

Thanks to everyone for your replies. I am amazed at the quick and helpful response. I will be back!

Doug D.

JayVee
3 days ago

And I'm probably not doing it correctly but if I want to save the video with the GPS overlay as a new video it takes literally hours (usually for only about an hour of video).

That's interesting, I thought it would be quick and easy with a Garmin Virb. The method I use takes a long time to produce overlays as well. Rendering in Dashware takes about 2 hours for an hour of footage, but that's using a virtual machine. With physical hardware, I think it would still take at least 45 minutes to render an hour of footage.

There are 2 reasons I'm doing this:

- I want to document the uphill performance of e-bikes when I test them.

- I want to buy a fitness band and display the BPMs in an overlay to see how much energy I'm expending on a given segment.

When the weather gets cooler I'm going to make some uphill videos, but on hills that are much tougher than these two. I'll use my Sduro Trekking as a benchmark, and when I demo I'll have something to compare against.

westwood
3 days ago

Hi,

Pretty disappointed as I've tried what you said and no remedy. Also, I tried contacting Volt Bikes a few days ago and I still haven't received any assistance. I had a quick look into the controller frame and just quickly assessed the wiring to see if anything was unplugged but didn't want to take everything out and "do something catastrophic" to the bike.

After that quick assessment and jiggle of the wires it seemed to work consistently for about 24 hours and then it just stopped working again.

Again, PAS works fine and thumb throttle sometimes works but not consistently. Uggggghhhhhhhh

GC.
I am by no means an expert in topics such as these however it seems to me that if it's working sometimes, a loose connection or a dirty switch could be to blame. I do see that Voltbike sells the switches for $27 CDN. I'm not sure if there's a way to clean the switch however, electric parts/contact cleaner in a spray can has worked for me in different applications. Has the bike been in the rain ?

Possibly some condensation has resulted in a poor electrical contact somewhere. Anyways, I hope that it get's figured out for you.

Brad Ersly
3 days ago

@Brad Ersly, Juiced Bikes is a very reputable company and would not just stop honoring warranty. I will contact Juiced and suggest that @oman do the same for more information. They are not hard to reach.

What you and these shops may not understand is that non-electric bike components sometimes are covered by a warranty from that particular manufacturer that is separate from the ebike warranty. For instance, a problem with a Shimano component may require contacting Shimano rather than the ebike manufacturer. That should be clearly spelled out in the warranty or known with a quick call or email to the ebike manufacturer.

Well said, Juiced is a quality company that stands behind their product

Ann M.
3 days ago

@Brad Ersly, Juiced Bikes is a very reputable company and would not just stop honoring warranty. I will contact Juiced and suggest that @o-man do the same for more information. They are not hard to reach.

What you and these shops may not understand is that non-electric bike components sometimes are covered by a warranty from that particular manufacturer that is separate from the ebike warranty. For instance, a problem with a Shimano component may require contacting Shimano rather than the ebike manufacturer. That should be clearly spelled out in the warranty or known with a quick call or email to the ebike manufacturer.

Cnugget
3 days ago

@Joaquin V I would get your brakes checked to make sure they are set up properly. I haven't rode a non-electric so I am unsure of your expectations on stopping speed but mine does seem to stop quite readily (with the exception of rainy conditions)... to the point where I feel like I could keep going but the bike would be at a stand still. I did have my brakes checked/quick setup by an LBS... It doesn't hurt to have someone do a look over the bike to make sure everything is in good repair eh? :D

Velome
3 days ago

A quick copy and paste into Google indicates it's Minnesota law. Penn Cycle and Fitness claim to be the largest Trek dealer in that state and they carry the Trek XM700+ Federal CPSC regulations govern the sale so it's possible to legally purchase this ebike in Minnesota but the law means speed pedelecs are not classed as an "electric-assisted bicycle" but as a "Motorized bicycle" and you would need to title and register it at the DMV, and get liability insurance. If you have a driver's license it doesn't appear they make you get a moped permit or take the moped test. You aren't permitted to ride it in bicycle lanes, paths or trails. The 2bhp motor size suggests you can ride a 1500W ebike but in order to get liability insurance from Markel insurance company they only insure ebikes up to the CPSC limits of 750W and 20mph which rules out speed pedelecs. Unless you can find an insurer willing to provide liability insurance it may be this last detail that in practice makes speed pedelecs legal to buy but illegal to operate/ride in Minnesota. My opinion does not constitute legal advice.
A quick copy and paste into Google indicates it's Minnesota law. Penn Cycle and Fitness claim to be the largest Trek dealer in that state and they carry the Trek XM700+ Federal CPSC regulations govern the sale so it's possible to legally purchase this ebike in Minnesota but the law means speed pedelecs are not classed as an "electric-assisted bicycle" but as a "Motorized bicycle" and you would need to title and register it at the DMV, and get liability insurance. If you have a driver's license it doesn't appear they make you get a moped permit or take the moped test. You aren't permitted to ride it in bicycle lanes, paths or trails. The 2bhp motor size suggests you can ride a 1500W ebike but in order to get liability insurance from Markel insurance company they only insure ebikes up to the CPSC limits of 750W and 20mph which rules out speed pedelecs. Unless you can find an insurer willing to provide liability insurance it may be this last detail that in practice makes speed pedelecs legal to buy but illegal to operate/ride in Minnesota. My opinion does not constitute legal advice.

That being the case there must be quite a few pedelecs being operated illegally, if I understand your statement correctly.

gcoop
3 days ago

Hi,

Pretty disappointed as I've tried what you said and no remedy. Also, I tried contacting Volt Bikes a few days ago and I still haven't received any assistance. I had a quick look into the controller frame and just quickly assessed the wiring to see if anything was unplugged but didn't want to take everything out and "do something catastrophic" to the bike.

After that quick assessment and jiggle of the wires it seemed to work consistently for about 24 hours and then it just stopped working again.

Again, PAS works fine and thumb throttle sometimes works but not consistently. Uggggghhhhhhhh

GC.

Dewey
3 days ago

A quick copy and paste into Google indicates it's Minnesota law. Penn Cycle and Fitness claim to be the largest Trek dealer in that state and they carry the Trek XM700+ Federal CPSC regulations govern the sale so it's possible to legally purchase this ebike in Minnesota but the law means speed pedelecs are not classed as an "electric-assisted bicycle" but as a "Motorized bicycle" and you would need to title and register it at the DMV, and get liability insurance. If you have a driver's license it doesn't appear they make you get a moped permit or take the moped test. You aren't permitted to ride it in bicycle lanes, paths or trails. The 2bhp motor size suggests you can ride a 1500W ebike but in order to get liability insurance from Markel insurance company they only insure ebikes up to the CPSC limits of 750W and 20mph which rules out speed pedelecs. Unless you can find an insurer willing to provide liability insurance it may be this last detail that in practice makes speed pedelecs legal to buy but illegal to operate/ride in Minnesota. My opinion does not constitute legal advice.

america94
3 days ago

Wow, very nice pictures @Stoker283. I feel like Tom Cruise on the black one - everywhere I go I get stares, people stop talking to watch me go by, guys in their car ride by my side at my speed to see how fast I go, people comment constantly (did you see that bike, look at that bike, what is that)... some also honk at me yelling GREAT BIKE which scares the bejezus out of me sometimes! Then some folks come talk to me about it when I take a break wherever..... and THAT IS JUST WITH A BLACK!!!

I can't imagine the star power the red one will generate :cool: It stands out more than the black.... you better carry a pen to sign autographs!

But seriously, how steady is it riding on sand? did not get to try that yet except once with the Maxxis and it was awful. Does the front wheel tend to slip when you turn? what is your tire pressure at? I am always surprised how much a little tire pressure variation can make a world of difference.

I am glad to see it was worth the drive for you to go pick it up. If I may make a suggestion: go around the bike and tighten everything that needs to be tightened (some screws you want to leave alone on the derailleur for instance). Make sure the front wheel quick release is tight enough too. The 4 screws for the handlebar should be tightened in a cross pattern like a car wheel and don't need to be super tight. 40+km/hr on a bike deserves some attention for safety! I have a lot of good tips on cleaning and maintenance (the brakes, chain and gears get super dirty reeeeaaaal quick off-road and take a beating if left as is), but that is for a separate post eventually.

Enjoy and keep us posted!

Dewey
3 days ago

The Trek XM700+ low-step is light at 46.5lb, provides pedal assist up to 28mph, it uses the Bosch Performance Line motor that combines both pedal cadence and torque sensors for smooth power delivery and is mounted low and central on the bottom bracket with the battery on the down tube so the balance of weight distribution is good. The hydraulic disc brakes and front mono-shock suspension are helpful riding at speed and a safety update is coming for the Bosch Performance Line motor with the Intuvia display in the form of ABS for the front brake and rear wheel lift control. The front light is powered off the ebike's battery and bolted to the bike. Here's Court's review

The Juiced Cross Current step through is heavier at 48.5lb or 52lb depending on if you go by the manufacturer specs or Court's review, it uses a geared rear hub motor and a torque sensor for pedal assist up to 28mph and the battery is mounted on the down tube for good balance of weight distribution. It has a front suspension fork and hydraulic disc brakes. Juiced has fewer dealers than Trek but still nationwide. You would need to add fenders, lights, and a bike computer if you wanted to see how fast you're going, but it is half the cost of the Trek. Here's Court's review.

Neither ebike comes with a throttle so if that's what you were looking for to help start from the stop signs up hill the Juiced Cross Current has a $99 throttle option that works up to 20mph. While it doesn't have a throttle option the Trek XM700+ has a mid-drive motor so will climb hills better. On both ebikes it would help to change down gear before you come to a stop facing up hill.

Regarding security both ebikes have a battery that locks to the frame or you can remove the battery and take it with you. The Trek has quick release wheels front and back, while the Juiced has a quick release front wheel. I'd recommend a strong lock like an ABUS Granit folding lock or Kryptonite New York U-lock and a chain.

Jimtowner
4 days ago

A couple of weeks ago I fell off my bike. Fortunately, the bike was okay, a few-month-old EasyMotion. It was my fault, the front wheel ran off the edge of the concrete bike path. I tried to correct by turning the wheel and down I went. It was all quick. I was wearing a helmet and my head never touched the ground but my knee and hand did. My knee was pretty bloody and my hand sprained. It taught me to stay more alert. I'm 74 and in ok physical condition but would not like to get seriously injured.

The episode got me thinking about protective gear and I was wondering if anyone has some suggestions for knee, elbow, and hand protection. I'm not interested in a suit of armor but rather, something that would afford some protection, be comfortable, be relatively light weight and cool, not very obtrusive, and easy to take on off. I've done some searches and have only found gear that seems designed for aggressive trail riding which is not something I would do.

Thanks for any ideas.

GuruUno
4 days ago

$999!!!!!

only 350 miles

Great deal and opportunity to get a great deal for a fantastic price.

Cash sale only, local pickup Metuchen, NJ 08840

Interested parties reply to this posting via methods here within, as me posting my e-mail and/or phone number only encourages spammers.

Also posted on Craigslist (CNJ)
https://cnj.craigslist.org/bik/6188270957.html
Back problems, getting a different style bike.

Although I love this, I'm too old for a mountain bike.

Hardtail trail-ready electric bike with powerful center-drive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, ~28 mph top speed
Removable battery pack for convenient charging and reduced transport weight, lockout suspension fork by RockShox for improved efficiency on flat terrain, upgraded 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes with motor cutoff, quick release wheels for easy maintenance

MAKE: IZIP
MODEL: E3 Peak
MSRP PRICE: $3,100 USD
BODY POSITION: Forward
SUGGESTED USE: Urban, Trail
ELECTRIC BIKE CLASS: Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
MODEL YEAR: 2015

Bicycle Details
TOTAL WEIGHT: 49 lbs (22.22 kg)
FRAME MATERIAL: 6061 Aluminum Alloy
FRAME SIZES: 19 in (48.26 cm)
GEOMETRY MEASUREMENTS: (Wheelbase 1125 mm and 1150 mm, Stand Over Height 753 mm and 791 mm)
FRAME TYPES: High-Step
FRAME COLORS: Black with Orange Accents
FRAME FORK DETAILS: RockShox XC30 TK 27.5" Suspension with 100 mm Travel
ATTACHMENT POINTS: Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses
GEARING DETAILS: 10 Speed 1x10 SRAM X7, 11-36T
SHIFTER DETAILS: SRAM X7 Triggers on Right Bar
CRANKS: Lasco, 38T Sprocket
PEDALS: Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform
HEADSET: VP Semi-Integrated Ahead
STEM: Zoom 3D Forged Aluminum Alloy
HANDLEBAR: Tranz-X ATB, Low Rise
BRAKE DETAILS: Tektro Auriga E-Sub Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor
GRIPS: Velo Locking, Flat Rubber
SADDLE: Velo Racing
SEAT POST: TranzX Alloy with Micro Adjust
SEAT POST LENGTH: 350 mm
SEAT POST DIAMETER: 31.6 mm
RIMS: Alex Volar 2.1 Doublewall
SPOKES: Stainless Steel
TIRE BRAND: CST Patrol 650b, 27.5" x 2.25"
WHEEL SIZES: 27.5 in (69.85cm)
TUBE DETAILS: Schrader Valve
ACCESSORIES: Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard and Chain Guide
OTHER: Quick Release on Front and Rear Wheels, Locking Removable Battery Pack, KMC X10eRB High Torque Rust Proof Chain

Electronic Details
MOTOR BRAND: TranzX
MOTOR TYPE: Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
MOTOR NOMINAL OUTPUT: 350 watts
BATTERY VOLTAGE: 48 volts
BATTERY AMP HOURS: 8.7 ah
BATTERY WATT HOURS: 417.6 wh
BATTERY CHEMISTRY: Lithium-ion
CHARGE TIME: 5 hours
ESTIMATED MIN RANGE: 25 miles (40 km)
ESTIMATED MAX RANGE: 35 miles (56 km)
DISPLAY TYPE: Backlit Monochrome LCD, Fixed with Adjustable Angle
READOUTS: Speed, Odometer, Battery Capacity, Assist Level (1-4), Range Estimation
DISPLAY ACCESSORIES: Independent Button Pad on Left Bar
DRIVE MODE: Advanced Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (Measures Speed, Cadence and Torque)
TOP SPEED: 28 mph (45 kph) (6 mph Throttle Only, 20 mph Throttle with Pedaling)

1/1
sanglee007
5 days ago

Does anyone have an Ibera pakrak ? I was thinking of getting this for my RadRover. Is a little less expensive than the Topeak system. Both the rack and the quick release commuter trunk can be had for about $80. I'm not doing any serious trekking, just want something to keep my locks and cables in once in a while. Any recommendations?

Hi dapope_22,

I have an ibera pakrak 5 (https://www.amazon.com/Ibera-Bicycle-Touring-IB-RA5-Frame-Mounted/dp/B00AA8GFSI) on my RadMini but I prefer the Topeak Super tourist disc (https://www.amazon.com/Topeak-Super-Tourist-Tubular-Bicycle/dp/B000ZKHN6Y)

A couple of things that annoy me about the Ibera pakrak5;

The bottom part of the rack is too high and my panniers with hooks cannot be secured
The seat stay mounts, while super solid, are tubular instead of the 'floppy' flattened steel mounts a lot of racks use

If I had to do it over, I would probably find a more fatbike specific Topeak (https://www.amazon.com/Topeak-super-Tourist-Rack-Black/dp/B0187ZSMYA)

EDIT: I also had the Topeak on my RadRover, and I preferred having that extra security when attaching my panniers.

Sang

Mark Peralta
4 days ago

The ST2 was AMAZING!! It is exactly the feeling I was looking for. I couldn't believe how fine tune-able it was. It was super easy to "fly" on that thing but it's 7K!!! What is it about the ST2 that achieves such a nice feel and why aren't there any other bikes with the same ride feel! The bike was definitely heavy and I felt the weight but it can just take off! The shop also told me about the ST1X but they didn't have one to test ride it.

For sure. The shop is offering me a brand new Quick.E for 2.5K. The stromer ST2 is 7K. They didn't have a program where I could rent the ST2. It really is a hard decision to make with only a 30 minute test ride. I never thought I would one day contemplate spending 7K on a bike but here we are!

You can only get that "continuous acceleration feeling" on hub driven ebikes since there is no power interruption when shifting. If 7k is too much for you, then you may certainly try the St1. Other hub driven options that you may be interested in are the following:

OHM Urban or Sport
BULLS Outlaw E45
Easy motion Nitros
Magnum Peak
Smartmotions
Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent
leftover Specialized turbos
leftover 2015 Izip E3 Dash

Good luck!

Marc Filion
1 week ago

Electricbikereview.com Nice review and probably looking to buy that exact bike I think its good value!

My ultimate wish list would be:
-Bosch motor 28mph
-IGH
-belt drive

Does such a bike exist?!!

lottsalasagna
3 weeks ago

I bike 7 days a week ... These bikes would never hold up
Maybe good for going for a coffee .. But no serious biker would own an off the floor bike and not upgrade the cheap parts they put on them
Som$3000 plus the extra cost of buying better parts

lottsalasagna
3 weeks ago

Cheap wheels and tires

lottsalasagna
3 weeks ago

No bus racks are for frames ... Wheels racks only

pcphoenix123
3 weeks ago

I see that the bike demoed here has a bottle holder. But when I went to the store, the salesperson said you can't add a bottle holder, because there are no holes. So I suppose the guy here drilled holes in the frame?

Torian the Cyclist
1 month ago

I love the play on words. "Quick E" 😆

F T
1 month ago

When manufacturers post torque specs on these mid-drive bikes, are they saying that's the output of the drive or are they talking about max torque when using the low gear of the rear wheel cassette?

slappy76
2 months ago

Tried this bike at the Bike Tour Expo in NYC. The motor was very quiet. The assist is pretty good. The ride is surprisingly harsh. Needs a seat suspension for sure. Not bad for a brand name bike with a decent sized battery.

MrDaanram
2 months ago

@electricbikereview I'm on a gazelle t10 chamonix and want something that has more power - how do you think the giant compares to those gazelle bikes with the bosch active drive? Thanks!

Arnold Humenuk
2 months ago

what size frame is this particular bike???

Brian Piper
2 months ago

I picked one of these up several weeks ago and have been quite happy with it. Though I've ridden limited E Bikes, I'm an experienced mountain biker and find the build quality and sturdiness of the quick e to be a great value at this price. It's pretty comical how fast it can go 20-24mph with very little effort. However, I'm a little disappointed that at about 26mph it starts to cut out instead of the advertised 28. Range seems good but obviously when on full power not nearly as much as advertised (I use about 60% battery in 17mi). Only other gripe is that because there is a freewheel in the cranks in addition to the hub, there is a good delay in pedal engagement when you get spinning. This can also be tricky when track standing and the motor thinks it should be assisting even though you are not moving. Overall though I am psyched to have picked this thing up and get as much use as possible out of it on my 17 mile (each way) commute! Might end up taking the front derailleur off but it's cool this bike has the option which many don't. Glad I opted for this instead of the Spec Turbo.

F T
2 months ago

Brian Piper The Stromer st1 has a code that you can punch into the display which lets you increase the cutoff point of the assist. I never reach the cutout point anymore. I can hit about 33 mph on the flats without the motor cutting out. I wonder if the Giant bikes have a similar way of overriding the cutoff point.

skyungjae
2 months ago

How long are you in town for?

botchok5
3 months ago

I demo'd this bike earlier today. I was quite impressed, it looks good and it rides smooth. But, it just doesn't have the same torque of the full suspension ones.
I'm looking for a bike to commute when the weather is good. I think this one will do.

However, I really want to remove the mudguards, because it has no use for me. It's just added weight and bulk.

I noticed that the front mudguard is easily removable. But I couldn't see the bolts for the rear one. And that's the one that I really want removed.

And personally I think the bike would look a lot better without the mudguards, gives it more of an aggressive look.

Luis Miguel Luna Pais
3 months ago

Hi, I've notest that usually you pedal fast all time, but my question is, do you have to pedal to the maximum all time or we can maintain a slower speed like enjoying the views?

Slow Rider Down Under
3 months ago

It's about time giant brought out a decent electric bicycle, considering there first efforts about 10 years ago

Joe Blogs
3 months ago

good review court, you should do a episode where you compare the cost of commuting ebike vs car,bus,train scooter and show how much $ you can save, ive just hit 7000km on my ebike my fuel, maintenance and registration savings vs car have paid for the bike not to mention health benefits

Jeff Sam7
3 months ago

good and detailed reviews!! cry when i look at the prices though=/

R D
3 months ago

👍🏻🇨🇦

JeMasLT
3 months ago

man please go to golden motors, Take some review of magic pie with Gery Salo

Diem Nguyen
3 months ago

Can you do video compare from giant and magnum?