Giant Road-E+ Review

Giant Road E Plus 1 Electric Bike Review
Giant Road E Plus 1
Giant Road E Plus 1 Syncdrive Yamaha Motor 250 Watt
Giant Road E Plus 1 500 Watt Hour Battery Pack
Giant Road E Plus 1 Fixed Backlit Lcd Display
Giant Road E Plus 1 Taped Drop Bars Alloy Fork Ebike
Giant Road E Plus 1 Pr 2 Disc Alloy Rims Drop Bars
Giant Road E Plus 1 Contact Sl Neutral Sadal
Giant Road E Plus 1 Shimano 105 Front Derailleur Compact Double
Giant Road E Plus 1 Shimano Hydraulic Disc Brake Rotor 160 Mm
Giant Road E Plus 1 Shimano Ultegra 11 Speed Cogset
Giant Road E Plus 1 Motor Protector Plate
Giant Road E Plus 1 3 Amp Charger
Giant Road E Plus 1 Electric Bike Review
Giant Road E Plus 1
Giant Road E Plus 1 Syncdrive Yamaha Motor 250 Watt
Giant Road E Plus 1 500 Watt Hour Battery Pack
Giant Road E Plus 1 Fixed Backlit Lcd Display
Giant Road E Plus 1 Taped Drop Bars Alloy Fork Ebike
Giant Road E Plus 1 Pr 2 Disc Alloy Rims Drop Bars
Giant Road E Plus 1 Contact Sl Neutral Sadal
Giant Road E Plus 1 Shimano 105 Front Derailleur Compact Double
Giant Road E Plus 1 Shimano Hydraulic Disc Brake Rotor 160 Mm
Giant Road E Plus 1 Shimano Ultegra 11 Speed Cogset
Giant Road E Plus 1 Motor Protector Plate
Giant Road E Plus 1 3 Amp Charger

Summary

  • An aggressive road bike with 28 mph top electric-assisted speed, drop bars and sport saddle, you get Shimano Ultegra rear and 105 front derailleurs with 22 gear combinations to work with
  • Shimano hydraulic disc brakes offer powerful stops and tend to stay cleaner than rim brakes, all-Aluminum frame is lightweight and sturdy but doesn't absorb vibrations as well as Steel or Carbon fiber
  • Available in four frame sizes for better fit, sold through Giant dealers worldwide so you can get setup right and rely on knowledgeable technicians for tuneups and any warranty support
  • The Yamaha mid-drive system is relatively quiet but still very powerful, it doesn't provide as wide an RPM range so I find myself pedaling slower than I'd like at times, LCD display is not removable

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Giant

Model:

Road-E+

Price:

$4,000

Body Position:

Forward Aggressive

Suggested Use:

Urban, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

44 lbs (19.95 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.5 lbs (3.4 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.6 lbs (3.44 kg)

Frame Material:

ALUXX SL-Grade Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)21 in (53.34 cm)23 in (58.42 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium: 19" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 30" Stand Over Height, 69" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Blue and Neon Yellow Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid ALUXX SL-Grade Aluminum, OverDrive, 9 mm Skewer with Bolts

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Skewer with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Fender Eyelets, Rear Kickstand Mount, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

22 Speed 2x11 Shimano Ultegra Rear Derailleur 11-32T, Shimano 105 Front Derailleur 34/50T

Shifter Details:

Shimano RS685 Paddles on Left and Right

Cranks:

Custom Forged, 170 mm Length

Pedals:

Wellgo M-20, Alloy Platform Cage

Headset:

Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2"

Stem:

Giant Connect, Alloy, 90 mm Length, 8° Angle, Three 5 mm Stacks, One 10 mm Stack

Handlebar:

Giant Contact, Alloy Drop Bar, 31.8 Clamp Diameter, 17.5" Width

Brake Details:

Shimano RS785 Hydraulic Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Heat Sinc on Calipers, Shimano RS685 Levers

Grips:

Black Tape, Rubber Hoods

Saddle:

Giant Contact SL Neutral, SST Tubular Rails

Seat Post:

Giant Contact, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Giant PR-2 Disc Alloy, Double Wall, 28 Hole, Giant Performance Tracker Road Disc Hubs

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black with Silver Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Durano, 700 x 32 (28" x 1.25")

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

RaceGuard Dual Compound, 55 to 95 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.8 lb 3 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Giant SyncDrive by Yamaha

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Giant EnergyPak

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

496.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

100 miles (161 km)

Display Type:

Giant, Fixed, Backlit, Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Battery Info-Graphic, Battery Percentage, Speed, Assist Level (Off, Eco, Normal, Power), Cadence (RPM), Trip Time, Trip Distance, Average Speed, Max Speed, Odometer, Range,

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Right (On/Off, Up, Down, Light, i, Walk Mode), 5 Volt Micro USB Port on Left Side of Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Wheel Speed, Pedal Torque, Pedal Cadence)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Giant Road-E+ is a unique electric bike because it’s designed for performance. In the US, the ebike space has traditionally been dominated by commuter products with some cruisers sprinkled in for recreational riders that want to feel young and avoid overheating or struggling to keep up with friends and spouses. The Road-E+ by contrast is aggressive and sporty… Rather than limiting you to 20 mph like the majority of e-bikes, it delivers up to 28 mph assisted top speed making it a Class 3 product (not permissible on many trails and some paths in California and other states). This is an electric bike that fits perfectly on the shoulder of the road and can help you earn the respect of cars starting off the line and ascending hills. I was thrilled to give it a spin for this review because I love road bikes and know that Giant has a great reputation for quality at value price points. My takeaway is that it would ease some of the knee pain I experience on longer rides with lots of climbing, allow me to jump into more dynamic rides on the weekends even though I cannot train as frequently as my friend (and am thus in limited shap by comparison) and offer a good alternative to my non-electric road bike when my muscles need a break. Some of the challenges I experienced were the heavier footprint at ~44 lbs, stiffer all-Aluminum frame and limited motor RPM range. I have tested and reviewed other electric road bikes with drop bars and the Road-E+ is well priced by comparison but it’s still not cheap. At $4k you’re getting decent components (Shimano Ultegra and 105) with a 22 speed drivetrain (many others are 1×10 or 1×11) and I love that there’s a vast network of dealers selling and servicing them, helping to honor the two-year comprehensive warranty on offer.

Driving the bike is a 250 watt nominal, 500 watt peak mid drive motor from Yamaha. Those numbers aren’t as important as torque in my opinion and the SyncDrive offers 80 Newton meters… which is a lot. Bosch’s mid-drive, by comparison, offers 63 to 75 Nm and is not compatible with multiple front chainrings. The Yamaha motor is quiet and smooth but doesn’t quit spinning as quickly as Bosch. It measures the same wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque signals and allows you to shift gears smoothly if you ease off a bit before pressing the paddles. I love how integrated the motor is at the bottom bracket, how nicely it fits into the purpose-built frame and that it keeps weight low and centered as opposed to a hub motor system (popular with lower-end ebikes). One of the biggest benefits you get from a mid-motor is normal wheels and hubs that are easier to service and remove for transport or flat fixes. In addition to some plastic and frame surrounds, the motor also has a skid plate on the bottom that’s designed to protect it. Notice that the chainrings hang down lower than the motor and would take damage before it would in most cases. The only big compromise I experienced with this drive system is a limited RPM output that requires frequent shifting to hit higher top speeds and sometimes leaves me wanting to spin faster before shifting. The problem with this scenario is that if I want to spin faster I end up doing it all on my own (and pushing more weight plus the normal wind and wheel friction). It’s difficult to raise the speed of the bike all by yourself and when the motor isn’t able to keep up you simply have to shift gears to go faster. For many people, the bike is simply amazing and works flawlessly but this is one area that I sometimes struggle with on the Yamaha motor compared with Bosch and it’s why I love that you can go to a shop and take a test ride before buying.

Powering the motor is a custom 36 volt 13.8 amp hour battery pack named “EnergyPak”. I’m not sure what brand of cells are being used here but I’d guess they are higher quality (Samsung or Panasonic). With nearly 500 watt hours of capacity, this is a larger than average battery that Should take you 50+ miles depending on the level of assist chosen… As with all speed-pedelecs, as you ride above 20 mph the efficiency and range of the bike really drops off due to wind resistance. For me, it’s a reasonable trade-off and an area that’s addressable with the included 3 Amp charger (faster than the average 2 Amp I see on many other ebikes) or the upgrade 4 Amp charger option. I did not see this optional fast charger so cannot comment on price or availability but it got me excited. Specialized offered a similar fast-charger option with their ebikes a couple years back and they tend to be larger and heavier. Again, the three amp charger seemed great and wasn’t too large. I do like that it has a metal plug, that the charge port on the battery case is covered well with a rubber flap and that the battery locks securely to the frame but can be charged on or off so you could top it off at the office perhaps or maybe while eating lunch in the mountains at the half-way point during a ride. The battery design is simply beautiful and I love how they sort of integrated it with the downtube so the bike doesn’t scream “I’m electric” like some others do. The one area that isn’t so great is handling the pack. There’s literally no handle or loop to grab onto. With replacement packs costing upwards of $800 this is not something you want to drop…

Operating the Giant Road-E+ is pretty easy. Just mount the charged battery (I love that it clicks in without the key being necessary) then press the power button on the control pad. The display comes to life showing a precise charge level infographic and there’s even a percentage readout AND dynamic range estimate. Depending on the level of assist you arrow up or down to, the range estimate will change. It’s great to have this kind of feedback at your fingertips vs. guessing so that you can plan your ride for maxiumum fun. On this note, please make sure you always check your tire pressure because as with traditional road bikes, the narrower tires here can get snake-bite punctures easily if you hit a curb or let the PSI drop too low. This is a heavier bike after all and unlike many other e-bikes, the tires are narrow. So anyway, the display offers three levels of assist to choose from and gives you access to trip stats like range, trip distance, speed and max speed. If you’re someone who likes to use Strava on your phone or use a Garmin device, you can do this easily with the Giant Road-E+ without having to run the juice down because there’s a little Micro-USB port on the left side of the display. One area of concern or question is where and how to mount your device given the already large LCD display. Also, the display is not removable so parking and storing the bike could present more opportunities for scratches which is a bummer. Consider putting a towel over… This and many other parts of the bike are smart and modular so if they are broken or lost, your Giant dealer should be able to help with a fix.

At the end of the day, there are only a few choices when it comes to electric road bikes and of course, you’d want a speed pedelec with drop bars. Beyond that, the four frame sizes, dealer network and beautiful integration seen here really impressed me. For $4k I feel like you get a lot of value and could have a blast with this bike. I love that in addition to bottle cage bosses, they added threaded eyelets and a mounting provision at the rear for a kickstand and some mounts for fenders. There’s no rack mount but this really isn’t a commuter setup… frankly, I’m not sure how well fenders would really work but the holes are there. Giant sells a wider range of electric assist bikes in Europe and it’s wonderful to finally see them in the US. This is a refined product, despite being “new” to this market and I could tell that they had ironed out a lot of the kinks and compromises that other systems had not when they first arrived. This thing uses a smart, reliable drive system that can work with you to achieve new types of rides and because it’s from a bigger more recognized brand, I feel like it might garner more respect as well (at least in the USA where ebikes are still catching on). Because the frame is all Aluminum (including the rigid fork), one thing I would consider is a seat post suspension from BodyFloat. Their systems tend to be highly responsive, offered in lighte-weight materials like Carbon fiber and Titanium and are adjustable to rider weight. You might also benefit from a suspension stem like the ShockStop.

Pros:

  • It’s rare to see electric road bikes with drop bars that are also speed pedelecs (28 mph top speed vs. 20 mph) and this one comes in four frame sizes which makes it accessible to a wider audience
  • Giant has a vast network of dealers and is a larger more reputable bicycle company than most, seeing a product like this (with the complexity of electric systems) feels more reliable
  • The Yamaha mid-drive system is one of the quietest and most responsive motors I’ve tested, while it does have a more limited RPM output (requiring more shifting to fully optimize) it works well and the torque sensor lets you shift without mashing just by easing off the pedals as you might with a non-electric bike
  • I love how integrated the battery pack looks but also that it’s fully removable (reducing overall weight by ~7.5 lbs), worth taking off when carrying on a car rack or doing service
  • Hydraulic disc brakes are the way to go with a heavier bike like this and should perform well if the road is wet or dirty as they tend to stay cleaner than rim brakes… they also stay out of the way when taking wheels off for quick service
  • The frame is completely purpose built, cables are internally routed and the battery and motor are streamline, I love that they managed to squeeze in bottle cage bosses despite the much larger downtube
  • You get 22 speeds on this ebike vs. just 10 or 11 on some of the other mid-drive system and the component groups (Ultegra and 105 from Shimano) are pretty good, this adds up to a more natural and wide range of pedal cadence options, in short, I believe it’s a compact double setup as you’d see on a non-electric bike
  • The battery charger puts out 3 Amps which is above average so you should get faster charge times, I like the rubber cover on the charge port near the base of the battery pack but would suggest being careful not to bump the cable with the left crank arm when it’s plugged in
  • The motor assist is highly adjustable so you can still get an excellent workout, for people with a hurt knee or leg, those with heart conditions or people who want to take a break between strenuous rides this would be an excellent platform and it lets others draft, great for a cycling coach or others looking to maximize availability without straining muscles too much
  • I like that the display panel has a Micro-USB port on the left side where you could charge a phone, run some lights or use other portable electronics for longer periods relying on the large main battery
  • In addition to range approximation (based on the power level chosen and remaining battery capacity) there’s a good battery info-graphic with battery percentage! Many ebikes just show a 5-bar graphic with 20% drops… Giant went above and beyond with percentage here and I think it’s useful
  • As someone with a crowded space and rented walls… I appreciate that there are threaded eyelets on the left chainstay for adding a kickstand!
  • The motor and battery weight are kept low and centered on the frame helping to optimize handling and even lifting if you have to carry the bike up stairs or mount it on a rack

Cons:

  • Yamaha is a large reputable company and their motor is compact, quiet and well integrated here but it doesn’t offer as wide an RPM as some other mid-drives like Bosch, this means you have to shift more actively to hit the top speed
  • Given the all-Aluminum frame and fork, there’s not a lot of foregiveness going over bumps (especially at high speed), people tend to ride ebikes further and at higher average speeds so I’d consider using a Thudbuster or BodyFloat suspension seat post (look for 30.9 mm diameter) and maybe even a suspension stem, perhaps future Road-E+ models will offer a Carbon fiber fork?
  • The display is easy to read and navigating the menus is intuitive but you can’t take the display off which means more sun damage and possible scratched when transporting the bike or parking it outside
  • The battery pack weighs 7.5 lbs and doesn’t have a handle or great ridge for securely gripping and carrying it… so be careful not to drop it! I like that it can be left on the frame to charge
  • While the motor is very responsive to your pedal torque, there is no built in shift-sensing protection system so you could mash your chain if you don’t shift consciously

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Giant Reviews

Giant Full-E+ 1 Review

  • MSRP: $5,300
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A full suspension electric mountain bike with capable hardware, excellent dealer support and impressive range, four frame sizes accommodate a range of riders, impressive pricepoint. 22-speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus allows you to engage a clutch to…...

Giant Quick-E+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A highly-polished electric city bike with sleek battery integration, full-protection fenders, premium LED lights running off the main battery and a minimalist pannier rack for hauling gear. Available in four frame sizes but only one traditional high-step diamond style, the bike is…...

Joe Bernard
3 months ago

Nice bike, but handling that battery is going to be an issue. Even with the handle on my Haibike’s battery, I’ve found that it’s easy to muck up the stick-on graphics. With the Giant battery you’re pretty much forced to grab it right where the decals are.

Court Rye
3 months ago

Good point Joe, I hadn’t thought as much about sticker placement and fingerprints, thanks for the feedback!

Hiruy
3 months ago

Hi Court, As always, another great review. I bought this bike in February as soon as they released it for sale in US. I use it for my daily commute to work and put on about 500 miles on it. I really love this bike. It has very impressive handling, amazing range and fun to ride. I am about 195 lbs with additional cargo of 10-15 lbs and am getting about 60 miles in a single charge even though my commute includes several hills with a couple of really steep ones. On my other 2015 Diamondback Trace EXC, I can only get about 20 miles in a single charge. The Road E+ have the same feel as riding a normal road bike so you will feel the road bumps. To help with the road bumps, I changed the factory saddle which is too firm for me with the Serfas Variant 2 which enables you to adjust the firmness of the saddle. I also like the fact that it does not cut-off the motor immediately. When I am ready to shift gears, I stop peddling momentarily and immediately shift gears so that the momentum of the motor before it cuts off is just enough to make the shifting very smooth then continue peddling. A couple of things you mentioned are different on my bike:

  1. The seat post my bike came with is a carbon fiber, but you indicated that it is aluminum on your review. The Giant website have it listed as “Giant Contact Composite 30.9 mm
  2. My charger plug to the battery pack is plastic, but you show a metal end
Court Rye
3 months ago

Interesting, thanks for sharing your feedback about the seat post and charger Hiruy! I enjoyed reading about your experience with range and comparisons to the Diamondback Trace. Sounds like you’re a seasoned electric cyclist at this point! Keep riding safe and thanks again for your positive feedback on the site :)

Joe Bernard
3 months ago

The Yamaha motor on my Haibike Sduro Trekking has that slight over-rev feature, too. FYI, I found that stopping pedaling was too disruptive to my rhythm, so I’ve gone back to the standard practice of slightly backing off pedal pressure for shifts. I suppose this could wear out my chain faster, but I’ll take the cost hit for it.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

SteveO
17 mins ago

Hello everyone,

Over the last 2 days or so I have been reading up on E-bikes so I can buy one and replace my car for commuting purposes. Even after all of the research on drive types, suspension, laws, yada yada yada, I don't feel like I have a clear selection. Maybe I have too many constraints. Here is some information about me, where I intend to ride, and what I have identified as likes in my research:

About me:
Gender: Male
Height: 6'3"
Weight: 270
Budget: ~5,000, but for the right bike I could go as far as 10,000.
Special notes: I could be moved by my company to Chicago at any time. So kinda buying for here and there.

Where I plan to ride:
Basically anywhere within 5 miles of SE Phoenix Street Bentonville, AR 72712. Commute is 5 miles one way to work from my house, and that's along a dedicated bike road. That said, there are some bumpy areas and one to two significant but brief hills.

Laws in AR:
Speed pedelec can ride on bike roads, helmet not required.

What I found I like so far/some notes:
Suspension full preferred? still not sure on this one. Some say float seat+air fork aftermarket is enough.
Battery in the frame
Integrated headlights/tail lights that brighten when braking
Rack to carry my stuff to work and some light cargo in panniers. I don't want to use a backpack.
Anti-theft (Stromer's is very interesting to me)
Less aggressive riding posture.
Lots of power. I want the motor to compensate a lot for those 1-2 hills and help with starting from stop.
Not sure if they are out there, but blinkers for turn signaling if on the road would be cool too.
Not concerned with USB charging.
Definitely need to be able take the battery with me for charging.
Tires, brakes, gears, etc. are lost on me. I assume I will get good things in these areas for the budget I have.
Not concerned with regen braking. If it has it cool, but whatever.
Machine shifting would be cool, or something to help manage shifting with power of a motor.
Can't think of anything else off top of my mind.

Point is I am very focused on things that provide utility. Not trying to impress anyone. I just want as easy/comfortable/fast/durable a bike commute as possible. As long as features gained by increasing price *materially* contribute to those areas, I am willing to spend more.

I did test drive a Super Commuter at my bike shop and liked it a lot. Only problem I had with it was that it didn't have any anti-theft technology, nor did it have any suspension at all. It didn't even have an aftermarket suspension options like the Stromer. Unfortunately I can't test drive a Stromer. Nobody near me has them.

And my final concern about owning and maintaining an e-bike overall:
My place of work has unenclosed bike parking. Arkansas is hot and humid. Is there a way to protect such an Ebike from sun/rain as well as humidity? Thought about a cover, but it could gather water inside and cause problems.

Thanks for reading my long post. I will for sure be around to answer any follow-up questions ASAP. I likely missed something.

Have a great day!

Thanks,
Steven

Deafcat
10 hours ago

I'd love to try it out, the MAX drive on the MX is really smooth and plenty of power for 32kh/r riding, for off-road the ULTRA is going to be really fantastic.

mrgold35
11 hours ago

I ended up having a low speed fall in the streets making a U-turn. Ended up getting a pretty good road rash on my left elbow and knee. I was lucky not putting my hand out because I think I would have injured that like you also.

I went with elbow and knee pads because of the fall. I also work commute with speeds up to 23 mph sharing the road with cars. Road rash at those speeds would be down to bone if I had a fall. The pads I picked are very comfortable, stay in place when riding, never feel too hot (+100 degrees last week in NM), and help provide UV protection. I actually feel more comfortable wearing the pads when riding compared to without. I also do a lot of single track trail riding and the pads help my legs and arm from getting scratched up from branches on narrow parts of the trails. Had a minor spill a week later because of deep sand and landed on the same road rash knee with a huge scab with the new pads. Felt like my knee landing on a yoga mat and I didn't damage the scab or hurt my knee in anyway.

G-Form Pro-X Elbow Pad, Amazon, $50: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00XYUVYEO/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

G-Form Pro-X Knee Pad, Amazon, $70: https://www.amazon.com/G-Form-Pro-X-Impact-Protection-XLarge/dp/B00XYWNIP0/ref=pd_sim_200_1?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B00XYWNIP0&pd_rd_r=VVW2TVZ2GBXYHHE8NENF&pd_rd_w=r0DuZ&pd_rd_wg=I0rin&psc=1&refRID=VVW2TVZ2GBXYHHE8NENF

I also went with well padded gloves in the half and full fingered versions (depending how warm or chilly it is), Amazon, $13: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01E8NFYW8/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I also have eye protection because I had a few times when bugs or dust/sand from really windy days got into my eyes (2 pair, clear for night, Polarized for day), Amazon, $20-$25: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06XP9R2X8/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

smitty
14 hours ago

I have some. I'll get back to you when I check specs. and supplier later. DT Swiss double butted is the brand and drive side rear are slightly shorter than disc side on rear wheel. Just did some spoke repair on my S T 2 , putting bike back together asap for road trip on the the 4th holiday.

thank you very much...appreciate Robie

Larry Ganz
19 hours ago

I'm not very fit at 55 due to one working lung at high altitude (and chronic tendonitis with fibromyalgia), so climbing is really tough - hence the eBike (Trek Powerfly 7).

My wife and I have done a couple of rides that have been 17-25 miles long (27-40km) with 1500-1800 feet of climbing (550m). And we also made a couple of easy 30 mile rides with only 800 feet of total climbing. But nothing more than about a 12% grade at the steepest parts of our routine rides. These long climbing rides typically use up about 2-3 bars out of 5 on my 500WH battery.

Your climb was more impressive because you did it over a shorter distance with steeper grades.

I routinely go on a 7 mile ride in my hilly neighborhood (11km), which includes about 850 feet (260m) of climbing for about one third of the ride. While the ride has ups and downs, the total elevation gain is only about 600 feet from the bottom of the hill back up to my house. Without an eBike I could never make the climb, even with oxygen at 5 liters.

I tried it the other day staying in only level 1 out of 4 assist (ECO) for the first time, and I thought I was gonna die by the end of the climb. I didn't even use up 1 out of 5 bars of battery on the ride, but with all the work I did struggling to maintain 5-6mph uphill in 1st gear, I could barely walk the next day. Usually I need 2/4 assist (TOUR) to keep up with my wife on this ride, and level 3/4 (SPORT) to do it effortlessly (more fun, less exercise). Level 4/4 (TURBO) feels like cheating, but boy can it climb steep single track off-road trails in 1st gear in turbo.

Robie
22 hours ago

I have some. I'll get back to you when I check specs. and supplier later. DT Swiss double butted is the brand and drive side rear are slightly shorter than disc side on rear wheel. Just did some spoke repair on my S T 2 , putting bike back together asap for road trip on the the 4th holiday.

Tbone
2 days ago

Just a quick vid of recent pseudo test between Charger Nuvinci and GX Touring. For those not in the know, GX Touring comes with chain, 11 gears, derailleur (2nd bike in vid; colour yellow/curry). The Nuvinci (1st bike; white) is a constant variable hub with a belt drive. Sometimes proudly, other times not so proudly... I'm well over 200 lbs and I do a lot of biking. The reason I don't make it to the top of the hill with the Nuvinci is because of the Big Ben street tires; I'm also out of breath at the top on the Nuvinci. Perhaps the 8 gears of the Nuvinci isn't enough. The 11 gear chain and off-road tires of the GX Touring gets to the top no problem. GX wins uphill (surprise!) but I'd rather ride the Nuvinci on the road.

Great bikes!

Rant and ride safe.

-tbone

Over50
2 days ago

Thanks, Over50. I did see some of the locking threads and there do seem to be some good options out there. I was mostly curious if there were those who are taking the risk of leaving their beautiful ebike out there and exposed for the day...and what methods (locks, motion sensors, etc) they use to deter. What has your experience been? I must have a little PTSD in this area as I had my beautiful mountain/road hybrid bike that I loved dearly stolen at a bus station years ago - it's painful to think about 20 years later. :)

That is a bit of a different situation (having to leave all day sight unseen). I am parking in front of two different office buildings. Both are high traffic and have security teams. Which isn't to say that I have a lot of confidence they are monitoring the bike racks. The one in front of my office is a hangout for the office smokers so from 8am to 5pm there is generally someone standing close by. And me being paranoid I check on it about 10 times per day. The other office building I use about 50% of the time because the racks are covered- but it is 3 blocks from my office. So I can only check on the bike a couple of times per day. I had the Boomerang GPS but the unit failed and I haven't worked out a replacement yet. Your situation is why I wasn't commuting by bike prior to getting the ebike. I did have the option of riding my regular bike to a bus stop about 5 miles from my house and taking the bus to work. But I didn't feel there was a safe place to lock the bike for the entire day. The ebike gave me the ability to ride all the way to work and back. I would have a tough time leaving either my ebike or my human powered city commuter locked up for the entire day in any of the areas around my office or even my home if I couldn't check on it from time to time. I probably have too much separation anxiety for that...

BurbManDan
1 day ago

Picked the bike up. They replaced the shifter cable which frayed when they removed the rear wheel. It's not adjusted properly, but I'm more competent to correct that than they are...

Sadly, I crashed while out on test ride, thinking it was odd that the tires lost traction in a moderate speed corner. Turns out the shop had shined them up with Armor All (or something equivalent that left a slick film), which is dangerous, and is why I'd never recommend it be used on bike tires... Only a minor scape on the rear rack, and the bar end, and my road rash will heal. I was a bit too upset to go back in and confront the shop, and it will be difficult working with them in the future, but there are no other options for warranty support.

Dunbar
2 days ago

That's a bummer because the technological aspects of the Cross Current seem to be a lot better than the competition, but the bike-quality issues are very concerning. Since I plan to commute on the bike, I need reliability.

Honestly, even spending more money on an e-bike is no guarantee of reliability. Go look at the Stromer and Specialized forums and search for discussions about reliability for evidence of this. What it really comes down to is how your dealer is going to support you. I've had a few issues on my Cross Current which is pushing 6k miles. My dealer has been great at fixing my bike within a day and giving me a loaner bike when requested (much quicker service than I get on my more expensive road bikes.) Most 'serious' cyclists I know (the ones putting in big miles) have some sort of backup bike they can ride if their main bike goes down. If you are going to be commuting on your e-bike I would recommend having some sort of backup option. Even if that backup option is the realization that you have to take Uber or public transit for a few days.

Your dealer might not like doing warranty work but the picture they are painting of the Cross Current constantly breaking down is not really accurate IME.

Javagenki
2 days ago

Thanks, Over50. I did see some of the locking threads and there do seem to be some good options out there. I was mostly curious if there were those who are taking the risk of leaving their beautiful ebike out there and exposed for the day...and what methods (locks, motion sensors, etc) they use to deter. What has your experience been? I must have a little PTSD in this area as I had my beautiful mountain/road hybrid bike that I loved dearly stolen at a bus station years ago - it's painful to think about 20 years later. :)

Stephen E. Meeks
3 days ago

My foldable ebike will be mainly for street use, including hills.
Will be used primarily for exploring and recreational use in foreign travel.
I am a male, 5’ 7”, and weigh 150 pounds.
My budget is $2,000 but have some flexibility.

There are many mass-produced foldable ebikes to choose from on the market. This ebike could either be built from scratch, or modified from such a commercially-made foldable ebike. The regen braking system is an important feature for me, as well as the PAS system, and throttle.

I’m flexible about details such as the size and specs of the motor and battery, but incorporating as many as the following features would be more of a priority – listed in order of importance:

• ~5-level PAS system
• Has a throttle
• ~4-level regen braking system (focussing on its braking capabilities, not on its generating electricity capabilities)
• Comfortable, smooth ride - won’t feel every bump on the road
• Shifter shifts quickly, easily and is simple to use - I favor the Shimano Tourney Shift Lever SL-TX50 (shifts either 6 or 7 gears) or some similar-type shifter
• Gears: lowest gear is quite low; and the highest gear is quite high: would like to climb steep hills with less strain on battery and like to pedal slowly when on the flats. The actual number of gears isn’t that important.
• Durable / Low-maintenance: I’m not much of a fix-it guy and in many foreign countries it’s hard to get repair help for ebikes, in addition to dealing with the language barrier
• Ebike is lightweight or at least on the lighter side
• Electric horn wired into the electrical system of the ebike - loud motorcycle-type horn beep, not a warbling-type sound
• Folds up easily and well (I’ll be travelling overseas so it will be opened & folded up a lot)
• Electric turn signals, front and rear, wired into the electrical system of the ebike
• Difficult one (only if possible): The ebike is easily transportable on planes and its battery is able to pass airport security

Thanks!
I am new to the ebike world. I am buying 2 of Green Bike USA's G5 500 models. These are the better of many I checked out and their dealers' and builders' reps are very helpful. The 500 watt 48 volt 13.5 amp hour version I am getting should work for my wife and I in Atlanta. Check these out and maybe this group will actually do a review of the new model 500 for the site some day soon. I will let you all know how I feel after a few weeks of use.

ROJA
3 days ago

I know this is off-topic but if you wouldn't mind offering an opinion I would like to ask you which of these two bikes would you purchase at this point in time ignoring the price?

I plan to purchase either the Specialized Turbo or the Trek XM 700+.

Obviously this is an individual choice, but since you are quite knowledgeable about the Specialized Turbo I thought you might have an opinion.

As I might have mentioned previously I have ridden road bikes for 30 years but I have never purchased an E bike. I have tested the Trek XM 700+ and today I'm going to test the Specialized Turbo. I also mentioned previously that I'm in my late 70s. I would like to ride a little further than I do currently with somewhat less effort. Of course there is my 89 year old friend on his Catrike with the BionX D that I would like to ride with at a reasonable pace.

Any advice you might offer would be appreciated.

Thank you

Hey Velome-

I actually planned to buy the XM 700+. It looked great on paper and I almost put down a deposit sight unseen based on the reviews alone. But I figured I should ride both the XM and the Turbo first. And after those two test rides, the decision was very easy! I was MUCH more impressed with the Turbo X. The XM has the advantage of being lighter, but it didn't ride nearly as well and it just didn't feel like a purpose-built e-bike. I also rode the Turbo S and while it was extremely powerful, it was too harsh for me. The Turbo X was the sweet spot- great power and performance but with a bit of comfort from the suspension seatpost and the suspension fork.

That said, both the XM and the Turbo are now prior-generation bikes (replaced by the Vado and the Supercommuter). Pro is that they should be cheaper but the con is that they aren't state of the art anymore (if that matters to you).

But I agree with the esteemed Mr. Ruby - definitely ride them both!

mrgold35
3 days ago

I seen a few smaller vehicles with the 1Up single bike rack starting at $300. It is designed for both Class I and II hitches and you can add a 2nd bike tray down the road. It is a very compact and sleek design with mount/dismount of the bikes only takes seconds to do. The only downside is it has a 50 lbs limit per bike on the rack.

1Up: https://www.1upusa.com/product-quikracksilver.html

mrgold35
3 days ago

Once you add up two Radrover ebikes, shipping, and any extra accessories, you will be under the $2000 per if you picked the Radrover. Rad Power Bikes also makes a folding Radmini with 4" fat tires if you need a smaller storage footprint or you need something with a lower stand over height. The Radcity has pretty much the same specs as the Rover; but, has 2.3" tires, fenders, two different frame sizes, rear rack along with front suspension. I like the 4" fat tires because they can travel between paved roads, sandy beaches, and every where else in-between very smoothly. I work commute at 20-23 mph for 13 miles roundtrip on paved roads and sometimes take a detour to ride the hard packed to sandy single track trails before or after work without missing a beat.

You can find the same mix of bikes with Volt, Teo, and some others around the same price range. I would get something within the 2"-4" tire range, 48v, 11 to 17 A/h battery, twist or hand throttle with Pedal assist, front suspension forks, cargo capacity (or mounts for racks/baskets), 500-750 watts, and 180mm brakes.

Pretty much all ebikes in this range are around +60 lbs if that is a consideration. That weight is too heavy for my wife to lift on our platform bike rack even with the 7 lbs battery removed.

I don't have a RV; but, I do travel with my Radrovers on my SUV (Grand Canyon, Sedona, eastern NM). I had no problems travelling with the Radrover once I prepped for the road (removed battery, seat post with seat, rack bag, wrapped LCD in saran wrap, etc...). I even have a weather proof travel cover that encases both bikes and the rack if we run into really bad weather or if I want to cover the bikes overnight on the back of the SUV.

Thomas Jaszewski
3 days ago

Battery life cycle has less to do with mileage and more to do with cycles. A cycle is when you charge the battery from dead to ful. The battery is rated for 750 to 1000 cycles. If you describe your avg range you get by the miles you will get an idea of how many cycles the battery has. Kicking in and out you describe is normal at or near low voltage cutoff even with a new battery. Give me a call to discuss. Cal my cell 602 573 2998. I will be in Minneapolis for the e-bike expo next month. You and Bill should come see us. https://electricbikeassociation.org/events/burnsville-minneapolis/
HEY MPLS!!!! 110 miles away!!!! I guess I'm on a road trip!!!Email please!!!

america94
3 days ago

Wow, very nice pictures @Stoker283. I feel like Tom Cruise on the black one - everywhere I go I get stares, people stop talking to watch me go by, guys in their car ride by my side at my speed to see how fast I go, people comment constantly (did you see that bike, look at that bike, what is that)... some also honk at me yelling GREAT BIKE which scares the bejezus out of me sometimes! Then some folks come talk to me about it when I take a break wherever..... and THAT IS JUST WITH A BLACK!!!

I can't imagine the star power the red one will generate :cool: It stands out more than the black.... you better carry a pen to sign autographs!

But seriously, how steady is it riding on sand? did not get to try that yet except once with the Maxxis and it was awful. Does the front wheel tend to slip when you turn? what is your tire pressure at? I am always surprised how much a little tire pressure variation can make a world of difference.

I am glad to see it was worth the drive for you to go pick it up. If I may make a suggestion: go around the bike and tighten everything that needs to be tightened (some screws you want to leave alone on the derailleur for instance). Make sure the front wheel quick release is tight enough too. The 4 screws for the handlebar should be tightened in a cross pattern like a car wheel and don't need to be super tight. 40+km/hr on a bike deserves some attention for safety! I have a lot of good tips on cleaning and maintenance (the brakes, chain and gears get super dirty reeeeaaaal quick off-road and take a beating if left as is), but that is for a separate post eventually.

Enjoy and keep us posted!

Velome
4 days ago

Not a "secret power mode", just a pseudo-throttle. Once in Turbo mode, if you hold the littl;e thumb-stick "up" it will accelerate to 12 mph w/o pedalling. This is a feature of all Turbo's (Turbo, Turbo X, Turbo S).

I know this is off-topic but if you wouldn't mind offering an opinion I would like to ask you which of these two bikes would you purchase at this point in time ignoring the price?

I plan to purchase either the Specialized Turbo or the Trek XM 700+.

Obviously this is an individual choice, but since you are quite knowledgeable about the Specialized Turbo I thought you might have an opinion.

As I might have mentioned previously I have ridden road bikes for 30 years but I have never purchased an E bike. I have tested the Trek XM 700+ and today I'm going to test the Specialized Turbo. I also mentioned previously that I'm in my late 70s. I would like to ride a little further than I do currently with somewhat less effort. Of course there is my 89 year old friend on his Catrike with the BionX D that I would like to ride with at a reasonable pace.

Any advice you might offer would be appreciated.

Thank you

ChuckT
4 days ago

If I recall, you have 26" wheels which means that there is a whole bunch of MTB tires out there that you can use. Tires make a huge difference when you are doing trails.

You don't have much suspension on that thing, so you are likely to be limited to less demanding trails. Hardtail MTB can do some amazing things, but I don't think your bike is built for that.

Thanks guys for sharing your wonderful experience. @elyhim Loved that video and it makes me want to go off road at least once. @mrgold35 And the way you describe your trail route is making me wonder why I haven't tried it yet. I agree with using safety gears while riding, not just on trails, but even on weekday work-home commute it's something one should never avoid.

Ericjames
5 days ago

Thanks guys for sharing your wonderful experience. @elyhim Loved that video and it makes me want to go off road at least once. I hope you didn't hurt yourself after hitting the rock.
@mrgold35 That's a really nice bike set up you have. And the way you describe your trail route is making me wonder why I haven't tried it yet. I agree with using safety gears while riding, not just on trails, but even on weekday work-home commute it's something one should never avoid.

Cody1231
5 days ago

European bike Shop are dealers of fantastic selection of bicycles, accessories, and apparel from some of the best brands available. as Cannondale Road/Mountain Bikes, Specialized Road/Mountain Bikes, Trek Road/Mountain Bikes and many others at an affordable offer.

2017 Specialized Enduro Pro Carbon 650b...$6,699.00
2017-Specialized Enduro Elite Carbon 650b...$3,899.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Enduro 650b...$8,199.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Demo 8...$7,699.00
2017-Specialized Demo 8 I Carbon...$5,149
2017-Specialized Demo 8 II Alloy...$4,999.00
2017-Specialized Demo 8 I Alloy...$2,694.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Stumpjumper FSR 29...$7,499.99
2017-Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Pro Carbon 29...$5,999.99
2017-Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Expert Carbon 29...$4,499.99
2017-Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp Carbon 29...$2,999.99
2017-Specialized S-Works Epic FSR Di2...$11,999.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Epic FSR World Cup...$9,999.00
2017-Specialized Epic FSR Expert Carbon World Cup...$3,999.00
2017-Specialized Epic FSR Comp Carbon World Cup...$3,099.00
2017-Specialized Women’s Epic HT Expert Carbon World Cup...$2,999.00
2017-Specialized Epic FSR Comp...$2,499.99

2017-Specialized S-Works Venge ViAS Disc eTap ..$12,999.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Ruby eTap ...$9,399.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Tarmac Disc eTap...$8,999.00
2017-Specialized Venge ViAS Pro Disc UDi2...$7,999.000...$9,999.00
2017-Specialized S-Works Tarmac Dura-Ace...$6,999.00
2017-Specialized Tarmac Expert eTAP...$4,299.00
2017-Specialized Venge ViAS Expert Disc Ultegra...$3,999.00
2107.Specialized Amira Expert UDi2...$3,249.00
2017-Specialized Tarmac Expert Disc....$2,999.00
2017-Specialized Amira Comp...$2,649.00
2017-Specialized Tarmac SL4 Comp UDi2...$2,649.00
2017-Specialized Tarmac Comp Disc...$2,399.00

2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Dura Ace 2...$5,599.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Disc Ultegra...$3,699.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Ultegra Di2 – 2017...$2,799.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Red eTap...$8,799.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Women’s Ultegra Di2...$2799.99
2017-Cannondale SuperSix EVO Disc Ultegra – 2017...$3,699.99
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Race...$9,720.00
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Team...9,620.00
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Carbon 1...$7,699.99
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Carbon 20...$6,310.00
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Carbon 3...$4,390.00
2017-Cannondale Scalpel-Si Carbon Women’s 2 ...$3,499.99
2017-Cannondale F-Si Carbon 2...$4,299.00
2017-Cannondale SuperX Team...$9,499.00
2017-Cannondale SuperX Force...$4,999.99
2017-Cannondale SuperX Women’s Force....$2,899.99
2017-Cannondale SuperX Ultegra...$2,699.9

We offer international standard warranty with full acceptance for replacement or full refund of money and this led to other equally significant services and policies like our Overnight Shipping and Price Protection Plan which allows you to receive your product the next two business day at the best price.

INTERESTED BUYERS SHOULD CONTACT BELOW FOR MORE INFORMATION.

WEBSITE: www.europeanbikeshop.com
EMAIL: info@europeanbikeshop.com
SKYPE: European Bike Shop

1/3
ace20ri
6 days ago

@Bsbs I decided to not exhaust any more energy on removing the speed limit on my Yukon and went with an overhaul of the power electronics all together.

I have not posted in a while and have been pretty busy DIYing. Here is my new setup:

Phaserunner by Grin Technologies (Dimensions 99mm x 40mm x 34mm)

The voltage range is from 30v-90v and can handle up 50A from the battery. The cables are long for a diverse setup but I checked and it can fit in the nook where the shipping controller is located. I decided not to do this since the controller is programmable and must get "tuned" to the motor. There are lots of settings and I am still tweaking them so hiding the controller would be a pain. Really awesome controller that allows the motor to start using the hall sensors and then run in sensorless mode after initial feedback from the hall sensors. Of course there are speed settings and many other fun settings like injecting field weakening current that can pull increase the motor's RPM without a lot of additional current. (Speed boost!).

I also added a Cycle Analyst (CA3-DP)

This display has too many features to list. I recommend installing the new firmware to get the benefit of using a potentiometer and digital input to control power or amp levels along with adding PAS level functionality.

Here are few pics of my latest setup:

Hard to see but I swapped the rear freewheel to a DNP Epoch 11-30 Freewheel to stay in cadence at the higher speeds I am able to achieve now (33mph!)

View of the cycle analyst V3 along with the potentiometer (assigned to control overall power level), digital aux 2 button input (I have it assigned to control PAS levels) and my Lifeproof Bike Handlebar Mount for my iPhone 7+

Close up of the phaserunner:

Cockpit view with new longer 720mm OUTDAD handlebar, Ergon GP5 grips and EM3EV Power Switch with horn button:

Close up of my 48V Uxcel horn This thing is so loud and sounds like a car horn! Must have if riding in city traffic. I wired it up to the switch with a 20A in-line fuse just in case. Only supposed to use 200mA but you never know.

I'm waiting for my YITAMOTOR 36W LED spotlight, I mean headlight to arrive so that I can mount it to my handlebar. Got tired of barely seeing the road and cars seeing me leaving late from the office.

If anyone decides to take on such an upgrade, definitely invest in a JST kit like this. I had to swap quite a few connectors for fitment and wire routing. I also purchased the Bikehand Pro bike stand along with Feedback Handlebar holder.

Lots of information so my apologies but hopefully if anyone is looking to overhaul their Yukon this may help. I will post pictures of the stock Yukon controller connector map soon for anyone interested. I also noticed that the on the stock controller PCBA there are plated through holes which resemble programming pads so I may try and see if I can adapt a harness to see if I can figure out overriding any board level programming now it's just collection dust. I will obviously share my results.

Depending how the second half of the year looks, I may take the battery apart and replace the cells with higher energy density cells. Unfortunately the cells will be proprietary to the company I work for but may be able to recommend some "equivalents" that are off the shelf. Not sure how much air is inside the battery housing but hoping to fit 2170 cells to really get improved capacity.

1/10
Ericjames
6 days ago

Hey!
I am curious to know how many of us are using our e-bikes off road, and if so, What bike spec are you running?

I have a Cannondale Contro-E Speed. I am happy with it but never been off road. I am not sure if I should go off road. On a normal road, I have ridden it at 40kph max and it's fairly easy to drive up steep roads.
What's your experience with an electric bike, especially off road?

Is there any particular brand or model of e bike that's good for off road riding?

ronin2000
6 days ago

It seems to be a terrific looking bike. They did a much better job of integrating the battery into the downtube than Specialized did on the new Vados, at least from the pictures so far. Still can't get behind the whole mid drive thing, though, not just yet. I hate to see the original Turbos going away, they were about as elegant as it gets as far as the design of the things.

Saw the Vado in person, I almost threw up. its a hideous bike, also 2/3 of the bikes had broken rear sections on the rack. Thats disconcerting. If I have to replace my Turbo with a road bike, it will be the Super8

KCFlyer2
2 days ago

I just bought one of these bikes because of a health issue. This bike is just what the doctor ordered. It's a damn good road bike even with the system turned off. It is on the heavy side, but I've ridden 100 miles the first week I owned it and I noticed on the Mapmyride app that the line that displays the speed and elevation, the blue (speed) line is essentially flat. I am using the same amount of effort and I have increased my average speed on 30+ mile rides from 12 to 18.2 mph - and that was in Eco mode.

As he says, it takes a little getting used to when shifting. You have to ease up on peddling to insure that all shifts are smooth. Doesn't take long to figure out.

The bike shop told me that I'd most likely never use more than Eco unless I wanted to show off. So far, they are right...although I did show off on one ride - in Normal mode, I was going uphill at 25 mph. I;m almost afraid to use Power mode. But I love that this bike feels like a regular bike - every so often you can feel the assist, but it usually feels like you are riding as usual....just going faster. Wonderful bike. Ride one once and you'll want one

Aaron ___
3 days ago

this one is sweet and the price is high but not outrageous.

Louie Lamoore
3 days ago

These e-bikes should flourish in America if there wasn't this one big red flag: most Americans won't fit on a bike.

Karma King
2 weeks ago

One thing that is not "spectacular" is the glare on the display. Saw nothing

Noah C
3 weeks ago

Great review.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 weeks ago

Thanks Noah! I do my best, appreciate the compliment :)

Karl Fonner
3 weeks ago

Are you sure those forks are aluminum most are steel

Christopher Railwah
3 weeks ago

That looked really fun. I'm moving to NYC and your reviews are definitely helping me out. I'm just looking to see which is is right for me

scootosan
3 weeks ago

Nice video. As you said may be great for someone with psychical limits or for commuting. I would like to have one (someday).

RelentlessC2C
4 weeks ago

If you like going fast that much just buy a motorbike. These e-bikes make a mockery of what cycling is all about - self-propulsion. Look up 'bicycle' in the dictionary. A machine powered solely by pedals.

Jonathon Simon
2 days ago

+RelentlessC2C Actually you are right, ignorant wasn't the best choice of words - narrow-minded is much better. Your so called "point of view" is narrow minded. You make a ridiculous claim that cycling is ABOUT, and ONLY ABOUT "self_propulsion". If you had actually watched the video AND PAID ATTENTION, Cort gave several undeniable great reasons for ebikes, and none have to do with "liking to fast". Without going back and quoting Cort directly, I'll give you a few of the obvious ones: you ride a bike for a commute not for exercise (no insurance, low carbon footprint, often faster than a car in rush hour), you have knee problems, you are an older person that doesn't want to give up the weekend ride but needs a little help keeping up with the group, you are handicapped or a senior and want to experience the fun of riding but need an occasional assist on some steep spots on your route, your spouse is a serious cyclist and you'd like to share the experience occasionally but your just not in the same shape. Yeah those make a real mockery of cycling, right. Nuff said.

RelentlessC2C
4 days ago

Jonathon Simon: Just expressing my point of view. I did watch the whole video, and I understand completely what ebikes are for. What they are NOT for is making slow riders faster. My life is just fine thanks. I don't think the world revolves around me, quite the opposite. I am very happy, and I a not trolling. You called my remarks ignorant, which I think makes you the troll.

Jonathon Simon
6 days ago

+RelentlessC2C lol. yes - you need a new argument, a new attitude, and a new dictionary. you clearly dont understand the point of an ebike, which is the ability to combine human and motor power - something a motorcycle is not. If you watched the whole video, he explains some reasons why people might want an ebike. based on your remarks, you apparently think cycling is only about what cycling is for you - your life could be so much better if you understood the world doesnt revolve around you - then maybe you wouldnt be so unhappy that you have to troll the internet and make ignorant remarks.

RelentlessC2C
2 weeks ago

bluckingblucker: Oh yes. Guess I need a new argument!

bluckingblucker
4 weeks ago

RelentlessC2C look up Ebike a bicycle powered by an electric motor or human propulsion

Doug McGaghie
4 weeks ago

does anybody know the price for this bike?

Doug McGaghie
1 day ago

KCFlyer2 the weight of the bike seemed like a lot. Is it too difficult to ride when the battery is off?

KCFlyer2
1 day ago

Not long. My battery was completely dead when I picked it up (I got it one day before the bike shop had intended) and it charged up in under 4 hours. I was kind of surprised at how quickly the energy level built up. If I were to take this bike on a long tour and had panniers or something to carry the charger (it is rather bulky) you could get a good charge while stopped for lunch.

Doug McGaghie
1 day ago

KCFlyer2 thank you for your detailed response. I only have one more question. How long does it take to completely charge the battery? Thank you

KCFlyer2
2 days ago

I rode 32 miles at an average pace of 18.2 mph over a pretty hilly route. It took 1 hour and 45 minutes and I still have 63% of the battery remaining. I had it in Eco mode pretty much the whole time. Last week I did 32 on a less hilly route and had the system turned off a large part of the time and it had 72% left. This was in all in Eco mode. for fun I moved it to "Normal" and easily did 25 uphill. I am kind of afraid to try Power mode.

Whats nice about this bike is that it assists when you need it, and cuts back very natually. It is a bit of a strange feeling to pass a line of guys drafting uphill, but I did it. A lot of it also depends on the gear you choose....it's a weird feeling to ride uphill and upshift and feel the bike speed up. But if you ride it like you are used to riding, it doesn't feel like you have anything assisting you, but the speed tells you otherwise.

The power consumption depends on the assistance level you pick. I didn't get this bike for speed, although it has made me a lot faster, I got it to flatten hills. That time today was a full hour better than it was on my regular bike. And I didn't feel beat up. I would imagine that a pace of 25 mph could take you an easy 50 miles though.

edgar lowther
4 weeks ago

M

David R
4 weeks ago

Did he stiff helium before doing this? Needs a voice over dude, the content is fine but I couldn't take you seriously. cheers

toshman99
4 weeks ago

Very cool...thinking of getting one for my GF, i would assume that with normal assist she can easily do 40 mile ride with me and at 20-22 mph and be able to keep up.

Great review man. People that make comments like this is cheating etc. have to realize this is not for racing, and if some older rider brings this to group so he can keep up I am all for it. GCN did a great video on this as well.

Sthilboy56
4 weeks ago

Looks great wish we could get this one in Europe we are limited by law to 15 mph pedal assist for this bike , would buy it tomorrow if we could get the 28 mph one

Tim Owen
4 weeks ago

Looking for a road style E-Bike for my wife so she can join me on some hilly rides. This video has helped a lot thanks very informative, thanks!

Dalius Jankauskas
1 month ago

When You stop peddaling, the electric motor still gives torque to the gear crank for a few seconds. It is harmful to shift gears on giving power. The solution is to press a brake a little before shifting gear. When You press a brake, the electric motor stops immidiatly. This information should be given in the user's manual.

A Digital channel.
1 month ago

reviewed any bikes from m2s electric bikes ?

urbansustainability
2 months ago

Is there any way to add a throttle to this bike?

pufarinu
2 months ago

it's a beautiful bike! great review thanks!

John Swanson
2 months ago

Court your reviews are excellent. Any older cyclist, any rider wanting their spouse to cycle along with them, anyone over 50 considering a new road or touring bike needs to consider the Giant Road-E+. After following e-bikes for a few years and waiting for a road/touring bike to come along, and after seeing your review of this bike we went out and bought (2) of them. Let me say up front, “Giant got it right the first time!” This bike has exceeded my expectation 100-fold! It pedals and rolls so well without using the e-assist it is a joy to ride; a very stable bike. The folks at our local Giant e-bike dealer, Midwest Cyclery, were very patient and helpful to get us fit and setup on the bikes. The Giant Road-E+ has put a smile on our faces and joy in riding!