Giant Road-E+ Review

Giant Road E Plus 1 Electric Bike Review
Giant Road E Plus 1
Giant Road E Plus 1 Syncdrive Yamaha Motor 250 Watt
Giant Road E Plus 1 500 Watt Hour Battery Pack
Giant Road E Plus 1 Fixed Backlit Lcd Display
Giant Road E Plus 1 Taped Drop Bars Alloy Fork Ebike
Giant Road E Plus 1 Pr 2 Disc Alloy Rims Drop Bars
Giant Road E Plus 1 Contact Sl Neutral Sadal
Giant Road E Plus 1 Shimano 105 Front Derailleur Compact Double
Giant Road E Plus 1 Shimano Hydraulic Disc Brake Rotor 160 Mm
Giant Road E Plus 1 Shimano Ultegra 11 Speed Cogset
Giant Road E Plus 1 Motor Protector Plate
Giant Road E Plus 1 3 Amp Charger
Giant Road E Plus 1 Electric Bike Review
Giant Road E Plus 1
Giant Road E Plus 1 Syncdrive Yamaha Motor 250 Watt
Giant Road E Plus 1 500 Watt Hour Battery Pack
Giant Road E Plus 1 Fixed Backlit Lcd Display
Giant Road E Plus 1 Taped Drop Bars Alloy Fork Ebike
Giant Road E Plus 1 Pr 2 Disc Alloy Rims Drop Bars
Giant Road E Plus 1 Contact Sl Neutral Sadal
Giant Road E Plus 1 Shimano 105 Front Derailleur Compact Double
Giant Road E Plus 1 Shimano Hydraulic Disc Brake Rotor 160 Mm
Giant Road E Plus 1 Shimano Ultegra 11 Speed Cogset
Giant Road E Plus 1 Motor Protector Plate
Giant Road E Plus 1 3 Amp Charger


  • An aggressive road bike with 28 mph top electric-assisted speed, drop bars and sport saddle, you get Shimano Ultegra rear and 105 front derailleurs with 22 gear combinations to work with
  • Shimano hydraulic disc brakes offer powerful stops and tend to stay cleaner than rim brakes, all-Aluminum frame is lightweight and sturdy but doesn't absorb vibrations as well as Steel or Carbon fiber
  • Available in four frame sizes for better fit, sold through Giant dealers worldwide so you can get setup right and rely on knowledgeable technicians for tuneups and any warranty support
  • The Yamaha mid-drive system is relatively quiet but still very powerful, it doesn't provide as wide an RPM range so I find myself pedaling slower than I'd like at times, LCD display is not removable

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers








Body Position:

Forward Aggressive

Suggested Use:

Urban, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

44 lbs (19.95 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.5 lbs (3.4 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.6 lbs (3.44 kg)

Frame Material:

ALUXX SL-Grade Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)21 in (53.34 cm)23 in (58.42 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium: 19" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 30" Stand Over Height, 69" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Blue and Neon Yellow Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid ALUXX SL-Grade Aluminum, OverDrive, 9 mm Skewer with Bolts

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Skewer with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Fender Eyelets, Rear Kickstand Mount, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

22 Speed 2x11 Shimano Ultegra Rear Derailleur 11-32T, Shimano 105 Front Derailleur 34/50T

Shifter Details:

Shimano RS685 Paddles on Left and Right


Custom Forged, 170 mm Length


Wellgo M-20, Alloy Platform Cage


Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2"


Giant Connect, Alloy, 90 mm Length, 8° Angle, Three 5 mm Stacks, One 10 mm Stack


Giant Contact, Alloy Drop Bar, 31.8 Clamp Diameter, 17.5" Width

Brake Details:

Shimano RS785 Hydraulic Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Heat Sinc on Calipers, Shimano RS685 Levers


Black Tape, Rubber Hoods


Giant Contact SL Neutral, SST Tubular Rails

Seat Post:

Giant Contact, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm


Giant PR-2 Disc Alloy, Double Wall, 28 Hole, Giant Performance Tracker Road Disc Hubs


Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black with Silver Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Durano, 700 x 32 (28" x 1.25")

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

RaceGuard Dual Compound, 55 to 95 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.8 lb 3 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Giant SyncDrive by Yamaha

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Giant EnergyPak

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

496.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Giant, Fixed, Backlit, Monochrome LCD


Battery Info-Graphic, Battery Percentage, Speed, Assist Level (Off, Eco, Normal, Power), Cadence (RPM), Trip Time, Trip Distance, Average Speed, Max Speed, Odometer, Range,

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Right (On/Off, Up, Down, Light, i, Walk Mode), 5 Volt Micro USB Port on Left Side of Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Wheel Speed, Pedal Torque, Pedal Cadence)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Giant Road-E+ is a unique electric bike because it’s designed for performance. In the US, the ebike space has traditionally been dominated by commuter products with some cruisers sprinkled in for recreational riders that want to feel young and avoid overheating or struggling to keep up with friends and spouses. The Road-E+ by contrast is aggressive and sporty… Rather than limiting you to 20 mph like the majority of e-bikes, it delivers up to 28 mph assisted top speed making it a Class 3 product (not permissible on many trails and some paths in California and other states). This is an electric bike that fits perfectly on the shoulder of the road and can help you earn the respect of cars starting off the line and ascending hills. I was thrilled to give it a spin for this review because I love road bikes and know that Giant has a great reputation for quality at value price points. My takeaway is that it would ease some of the knee pain I experience on longer rides with lots of climbing, allow me to jump into more dynamic rides on the weekends even though I cannot train as frequently as my friend (and am thus in limited shap by comparison) and offer a good alternative to my non-electric road bike when my muscles need a break. Some of the challenges I experienced were the heavier footprint at ~44 lbs, stiffer all-Aluminum frame and limited motor RPM range. I have tested and reviewed other electric road bikes with drop bars and the Road-E+ is well priced by comparison but it’s still not cheap. At $4k you’re getting decent components (Shimano Ultegra and 105) with a 22 speed drivetrain (many others are 1×10 or 1×11) and I love that there’s a vast network of dealers selling and servicing them, helping to honor the two-year comprehensive warranty on offer.

Driving the bike is a 250 watt nominal, 500 watt peak mid drive motor from Yamaha. Those numbers aren’t as important as torque in my opinion and the SyncDrive offers 80 Newton meters… which is a lot. Bosch’s mid-drive, by comparison, offers 63 to 75 Nm and is not compatible with multiple front chainrings. The Yamaha motor is quiet and smooth but doesn’t quit spinning as quickly as Bosch. It measures the same wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque signals and allows you to shift gears smoothly if you ease off a bit before pressing the paddles. I love how integrated the motor is at the bottom bracket, how nicely it fits into the purpose-built frame and that it keeps weight low and centered as opposed to a hub motor system (popular with lower-end ebikes). One of the biggest benefits you get from a mid-motor is normal wheels and hubs that are easier to service and remove for transport or flat fixes. In addition to some plastic and frame surrounds, the motor also has a skid plate on the bottom that’s designed to protect it. Notice that the chainrings hang down lower than the motor and would take damage before it would in most cases. The only big compromise I experienced with this drive system is a limited RPM output that requires frequent shifting to hit higher top speeds and sometimes leaves me wanting to spin faster before shifting. The problem with this scenario is that if I want to spin faster I end up doing it all on my own (and pushing more weight plus the normal wind and wheel friction). It’s difficult to raise the speed of the bike all by yourself and when the motor isn’t able to keep up you simply have to shift gears to go faster. For many people, the bike is simply amazing and works flawlessly but this is one area that I sometimes struggle with on the Yamaha motor compared with Bosch and it’s why I love that you can go to a shop and take a test ride before buying.

Powering the motor is a custom 36 volt 13.8 amp hour battery pack named “EnergyPak”. I’m not sure what brand of cells are being used here but I’d guess they are higher quality (Samsung or Panasonic). With nearly 500 watt hours of capacity, this is a larger than average battery that Should take you 50+ miles depending on the level of assist chosen… As with all speed-pedelecs, as you ride above 20 mph the efficiency and range of the bike really drops off due to wind resistance. For me, it’s a reasonable trade-off and an area that’s addressable with the included 3 Amp charger (faster than the average 2 Amp I see on many other ebikes) or the upgrade 4 Amp charger option. I did not see this optional fast charger so cannot comment on price or availability but it got me excited. Specialized offered a similar fast-charger option with their ebikes a couple years back and they tend to be larger and heavier. Again, the three amp charger seemed great and wasn’t too large. I do like that it has a metal plug, that the charge port on the battery case is covered well with a rubber flap and that the battery locks securely to the frame but can be charged on or off so you could top it off at the office perhaps or maybe while eating lunch in the mountains at the half-way point during a ride. The battery design is simply beautiful and I love how they sort of integrated it with the downtube so the bike doesn’t scream “I’m electric” like some others do. The one area that isn’t so great is handling the pack. There’s literally no handle or loop to grab onto. With replacement packs costing upwards of $800 this is not something you want to drop…

Operating the Giant Road-E+ is pretty easy. Just mount the charged battery (I love that it clicks in without the key being necessary) then press the power button on the control pad. The display comes to life showing a precise charge level infographic and there’s even a percentage readout AND dynamic range estimate. Depending on the level of assist you arrow up or down to, the range estimate will change. It’s great to have this kind of feedback at your fingertips vs. guessing so that you can plan your ride for maxiumum fun. On this note, please make sure you always check your tire pressure because as with traditional road bikes, the narrower tires here can get snake-bite punctures easily if you hit a curb or let the PSI drop too low. This is a heavier bike after all and unlike many other e-bikes, the tires are narrow. So anyway, the display offers three levels of assist to choose from and gives you access to trip stats like range, trip distance, speed and max speed. If you’re someone who likes to use Strava on your phone or use a Garmin device, you can do this easily with the Giant Road-E+ without having to run the juice down because there’s a little Micro-USB port on the left side of the display. One area of concern or question is where and how to mount your device given the already large LCD display. Also, the display is not removable so parking and storing the bike could present more opportunities for scratches which is a bummer. Consider putting a towel over… This and many other parts of the bike are smart and modular so if they are broken or lost, your Giant dealer should be able to help with a fix.

At the end of the day, there are only a few choices when it comes to electric road bikes and of course, you’d want a speed pedelec with drop bars. Beyond that, the four frame sizes, dealer network and beautiful integration seen here really impressed me. For $4k I feel like you get a lot of value and could have a blast with this bike. I love that in addition to bottle cage bosses, they added threaded eyelets and a mounting provision at the rear for a kickstand and some mounts for fenders. There’s no rack mount but this really isn’t a commuter setup… frankly, I’m not sure how well fenders would really work but the holes are there. Giant sells a wider range of electric assist bikes in Europe and it’s wonderful to finally see them in the US. This is a refined product, despite being “new” to this market and I could tell that they had ironed out a lot of the kinks and compromises that other systems had not when they first arrived. This thing uses a smart, reliable drive system that can work with you to achieve new types of rides and because it’s from a bigger more recognized brand, I feel like it might garner more respect as well (at least in the USA where ebikes are still catching on). Because the frame is all Aluminum (including the rigid fork), one thing I would consider is a seat post suspension from BodyFloat. Their systems tend to be highly responsive, offered in lighte-weight materials like Carbon fiber and Titanium and are adjustable to rider weight. You might also benefit from a suspension stem like the ShockStop.


  • It’s rare to see electric road bikes with drop bars that are also speed pedelecs (28 mph top speed vs. 20 mph) and this one comes in four frame sizes which makes it accessible to a wider audience
  • Giant has a vast network of dealers and is a larger more reputable bicycle company than most, seeing a product like this (with the complexity of electric systems) feels more reliable
  • The Yamaha mid-drive system is one of the quietest and most responsive motors I’ve tested, while it does have a more limited RPM output (requiring more shifting to fully optimize) it works well and the torque sensor lets you shift without mashing just by easing off the pedals as you might with a non-electric bike
  • I love how integrated the battery pack looks but also that it’s fully removable (reducing overall weight by ~7.5 lbs), worth taking off when carrying on a car rack or doing service
  • Hydraulic disc brakes are the way to go with a heavier bike like this and should perform well if the road is wet or dirty as they tend to stay cleaner than rim brakes… they also stay out of the way when taking wheels off for quick service
  • The frame is completely purpose built, cables are internally routed and the battery and motor are streamline, I love that they managed to squeeze in bottle cage bosses despite the much larger downtube
  • You get 22 speeds on this ebike vs. just 10 or 11 on some of the other mid-drive system and the component groups (Ultegra and 105 from Shimano) are pretty good, this adds up to a more natural and wide range of pedal cadence options, in short, I believe it’s a compact double setup as you’d see on a non-electric bike
  • The battery charger puts out 3 Amps which is above average so you should get faster charge times, I like the rubber cover on the charge port near the base of the battery pack but would suggest being careful not to bump the cable with the left crank arm when it’s plugged in
  • The motor assist is highly adjustable so you can still get an excellent workout, for people with a hurt knee or leg, those with heart conditions or people who want to take a break between strenuous rides this would be an excellent platform and it lets others draft, great for a cycling coach or others looking to maximize availability without straining muscles too much
  • I like that the display panel has a Micro-USB port on the left side where you could charge a phone, run some lights or use other portable electronics for longer periods relying on the large main battery
  • In addition to range approximation (based on the power level chosen and remaining battery capacity) there’s a good battery info-graphic with battery percentage! Many ebikes just show a 5-bar graphic with 20% drops… Giant went above and beyond with percentage here and I think it’s useful
  • As someone with a crowded space and rented walls… I appreciate that there are threaded eyelets on the left chainstay for adding a kickstand!
  • The motor and battery weight are kept low and centered on the frame helping to optimize handling and even lifting if you have to carry the bike up stairs or mount it on a rack


  • Yamaha is a large reputable company and their motor is compact, quiet and well integrated here but it doesn’t offer as wide an RPM as some other mid-drives like Bosch, this means you have to shift more actively to hit the top speed
  • Given the all-Aluminum frame and fork, there’s not a lot of foregiveness going over bumps (especially at high speed), people tend to ride ebikes further and at higher average speeds so I’d consider using a Thudbuster or BodyFloat suspension seat post (look for 30.9 mm diameter) and maybe even a suspension stem, perhaps future Road-E+ models will offer a Carbon fiber fork?
  • The display is easy to read and navigating the menus is intuitive but you can’t take the display off which means more sun damage and possible scratched when transporting the bike or parking it outside
  • The battery pack weighs 7.5 lbs and doesn’t have a handle or great ridge for securely gripping and carrying it… so be careful not to drop it! I like that it can be left on the frame to charge
  • While the motor is very responsive to your pedal torque, there is no built in shift-sensing protection system so you could mash your chain if you don’t shift consciously


More Giant Reviews

Giant Full-E+ 1 Review

  • MSRP: $5,300
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A full suspension electric mountain bike with capable hardware, excellent dealer support and impressive range, four frame sizes accommodate a range of riders, impressive pricepoint. 22-speed drivetrain with Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus allows you to engage a clutch to…...

Giant Quick-E+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A highly-polished electric city bike with sleek battery integration, full-protection fenders, premium LED lights running off the main battery and a minimalist pannier rack for hauling gear. Available in four frame sizes but only one traditional high-step diamond style, the bike is…...

Joe Bernard
1 year ago

Nice bike, but handling that battery is going to be an issue. Even with the handle on my Haibike’s battery, I’ve found that it’s easy to muck up the stick-on graphics. With the Giant battery you’re pretty much forced to grab it right where the decals are.

1 year ago

Good point Joe, I hadn’t thought as much about sticker placement and fingerprints, thanks for the feedback!

1 year ago

Hi Court, As always, another great review. I bought this bike in February as soon as they released it for sale in US. I use it for my daily commute to work and put on about 500 miles on it. I really love this bike. It has very impressive handling, amazing range and fun to ride. I am about 195 lbs with additional cargo of 10-15 lbs and am getting about 60 miles in a single charge even though my commute includes several hills with a couple of really steep ones. On my other 2015 Diamondback Trace EXC, I can only get about 20 miles in a single charge. The Road E+ have the same feel as riding a normal road bike so you will feel the road bumps. To help with the road bumps, I changed the factory saddle which is too firm for me with the Serfas Variant 2 which enables you to adjust the firmness of the saddle. I also like the fact that it does not cut-off the motor immediately. When I am ready to shift gears, I stop peddling momentarily and immediately shift gears so that the momentum of the motor before it cuts off is just enough to make the shifting very smooth then continue peddling. A couple of things you mentioned are different on my bike:

  1. The seat post my bike came with is a carbon fiber, but you indicated that it is aluminum on your review. The Giant website have it listed as “Giant Contact Composite 30.9 mm
  2. My charger plug to the battery pack is plastic, but you show a metal end
1 year ago

Interesting, thanks for sharing your feedback about the seat post and charger Hiruy! I enjoyed reading about your experience with range and comparisons to the Diamondback Trace. Sounds like you’re a seasoned electric cyclist at this point! Keep riding safe and thanks again for your positive feedback on the site :)

Joe Bernard
1 year ago

The Yamaha motor on my Haibike Sduro Trekking has that slight over-rev feature, too. FYI, I found that stopping pedaling was too disruptive to my rhythm, so I’ve gone back to the standard practice of slightly backing off pedal pressure for shifts. I suppose this could wear out my chain faster, but I’ll take the cost hit for it.

Soren Thomsen
6 months ago

Hi, thanks for the review. Can you estimate what the RPM limitation is? Does it simply stop to contribute at a certain RPM or what happens there? Thanks, Soren

6 months ago

Hi Soren, in my experience the Yamaha motor used on the bike reviewed here and some other Haibikes has a 100 RPM limit vs. Bosch and Brose which reach 120 RPM. So in practice, that means that when you are spinning and reach a certain pedal rotation speed, the motor sort of eases back and won’t help anymore… so you can either work harder on your own if you prefer higher RPM riding or you can switch to a lower gear which will slow your RPM but allow the motor to help out again. In practice, at least for me, this results in more frequent shifting and a ride style that is less enjoyable… because I like to spin due to a sensitive knee and a desire for a faster “cardio” type ride vs. slow and powerful. Does that make sense?

Soren Thomsen
6 months ago

Thanks for your comprehensive answer. That does indeed make a lot of sense.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

1 day ago

i have a giant road-e bike and the tires that came with it are wearing out and the schwalbe drano performance g 700x32 don't seemed to be made anymore--any suggestion on a replacement tire--also is it possible to go to a 700x28 tire --the bike weights 42 lbs

2 days ago

Hello EBR forum members! I am Alan from east central Iowa and a newbie on e-bikes. I just traded in my conventional Giant 24-speed bike for a Gazelle Arroyo step thru. I am 71 and ride for leisure and exercise on streets and paved or packed limestone trails. I was finding myself avoiding longer rides and hills so I am hoping the e-bike will give me more confidence and more exercise in the long run. My wife has a Blix Aveny that she bought last summer, so the Arroyo should make it possible for me to keep pace with her.

I was looking at the Raleigh Detour, but my local cycle shop had this 2017 Arroyo at a special close-out price. After checking the EBR reviews and looking at both bikes, I just couldn't pass up the comfort and elegance of the Arroyo :). It is still a little chilly in Iowa to do much riding (for me anyway), but I hope to get the Arroyo out on the trail in the next couple of weeks.

bob armani
4 days ago

Xeon- I agree with Chris regarding the Juiced bikes in either a step thru or a size small frame. The Voltbike looks like it fits also. Not sure where you are located, but there are some shops that stock Juiced for a test ride to see how the geometry on the bike fits your stand over and reach to the handlebars.

I also recommend Easy Motion -The Easy Go bikes listed on their website in the Prior Models category. I particularly like the 'Easy Go Street' which would be a candidate in your price range. We own one and is a great bike for the $$ and carries a great warranty if needed.

bob armani
4 days ago

Xeon- I agree with Chris regarding the Juiced bikes in either a step thru or a size small frame. Not sure where you are located, but there are some shops that stock them for a test ride to see how the geometry on the bike fits your stand over and reach to the handlebars.

I also recommend Easy Motion -The Easy Go bikes listed on their website in the Prior Models category. I particularly think the Easy Go Street would be a candidate in your price range being we own one and it is a great bike for the $$


Chris Hammond
4 days ago

Luna cycles Apex has probably the biggest ebike battery I'm aware of. They also have a bike called the Roam Fusion that is available with a 52V 34 Ah battery. The Apex is a high end custom built bike. The Roam is basically a vendor specific conversion bike built on a Giant Roam MTB frame. They are both mid-drive, and higher power (up to 2500 W motors), and definitely could create some legal concerns as a bike, the federal gov. would classify them as mopeds realistically.

For more realistic true ebikes, a high end option is Riese Mueller Supercharger is available with a dual battery setup that would give 50 miles of range unless you are traveling 28mph the whole time, cost is around $7500 IIRC. Stromer ST-2 or St-2 S is another high end bike with a big battery option (IIRC ~900 Wh) again cost is over $7000. These are both very well built and well reviewed bikes.

The best affordable option is the Juiced CrossCurrent S. It is available with a 52V 21Ah battery for $3000. This battery is actually bigger and more powerful than the Stromer (This is the bike I just ordered btw.) I've been researching for about 3 months before I decided to go with Juiced.
Good luck.

5 days ago

Looking to purchase an ebike as a car alternative- I live only 3.5 miles from work, and rarely go anywhere else farther than that, so buying a ebike makes more sense to me than a car. I also work extremely early in the morning, so riding the bus isn't an option.

My budget is 1000-1500 MAX$ [monthly financing is a plus!]

I'm not very mechanically inclined, and while enjoy bike riding haven't owned one since I was in middle school, so understanding the various components has me at a loss, but here's some of the things I'd like:

-Throttle!! [my 3 mile ride to work is essentially a giant hill, would take mostly bike path/side walk, also would be good if I get ambushed in the dark, sounds paranoid but seriously you never know]
-Weather [my city is notorious for drastic weather changes, so being waterproof is necessary, be cool if it was good for snow]
-I'm 5'4" and about a 105lb so not something that's massive and ultra heavy
-Fenders and chain guards
-I think 2" tires would be good. The sidewalks are in somewhat disrepair. Should I go for fat tires?
-Reliability! I don't wants chains coming off and whatnot as I probably don't know how to put them back on without youtube assistance, so a brand with great customer service a plus!!!
-Bonus points for something vaguely stylish
- Front light!!!! I will be night riding and absolutely need light, and something powered by the main battery would be awesome!
-bonus points for a small rack to stash my work uniform or something
- I mean, folding would be useful but I'd prefer reliability over that.
-Bonus points for pre-assembled, but I do have a handyman who has built bikes before as backup

Things I don't care about:
-fancy gizmos like usb ports
-cargo [no kids, no heavy grocery shopping, I only buy what i can walk with]
-super fast speeds [I'm a small girl I just want to get to work without dying]

I was looking at the Ness Icon, Radcity/Rover, and the Addmotor Motan bikes a bit.

I thought about springing for the Motan but hardly see any reviews outside of Amazon, and honestly would prefer not to buy from Amazon. Thought about Radcity but is it just hype?
What about this one"

Really could use some help as I am out of my depth. It's something I've been considering for a very long time and I think I have read enough reviews to be ready to commit to a bike. Any suggestions or recommendations would be wonderful.

6 days ago

I'm very interested in this as well. I'm torn between PF5 and PF7 though.

I did some beginner mountain biking last year on my $700 (cheap!) Giant hardtail and I really enjoyed it. I'm not going to tell you that I'm going to be out there all the time, but I'd like to have the option. Also, I don't live in a very rural area, so it's more likely I'll be riding in urban or suburban areas. I have to trailer my bike to get anywhere "good". Like a lot of people, I'm just looking to do some rough urban and suburban rides - I still ride my bike like I'm 10 years old... popping curbs and thumbing my nose at the principal.

Anyway, I'm going to be selling my motorcycle and to easy the pain a bit, I'm looking at getting a Trek PF7 FS Plus.

Here's my (scary) thought process:

- I'm pushing 40 and I like a bit more cushion in my ride. The full suspension sounds pretty good. Never owned one.
- It's my understanding that I can always lock out the suspension for a firmer city ride (front and back). Better to have and not need?
- I like the electric bike idea and I'm good with it being a class 1 assist as opposed to a class 3 with a throttle. Heck it's a bike - pedal it.
- If you're going to drop $3500, why not drop $5k and get all the farkles?

Regarding the 28MPH - the dealer I talked to sounded pretty favorable to tweaking things a bit to get over the 20MPH limit. He even suggested how it would be done. *shrugs* Meh. I'm probably going to chip it anyway. If you can't hack it, you don't own it.

7 days ago

The single speed coaster bikes are just getting motors installed lol

7 days ago

Wow, doesn't ANYBODY have any information about the meaning of trouble codes on the Giant Explore?

7 days ago

Had another thought about these ebikes.
I think bikes have taken a giant leap forward with the advent of the ebike.
Not unlike going from eight track tapes to cd's to thumb drives.
It may take awhile but bikes as we knew them are changing.
By the time this leap in bikes settles out, the single speed coaster brake bikes I grew up with will be in museums.!

1 week ago

Thanks I really appreciate that definitely didn't want to go with a smaller battery or get a spare

1 week ago

Put one on my giant last year. 700miles last summer no problems.

3 months ago

I think the Giant uses a slightly more advanced drive which doesn't resist the efforts of the rider as much as the regular PW series. That's the biggest problem I have with the PW. I can actually ride further with a 400Wh battery and a Bosch drive than a 500Wh battery and a Yamaha drive. The ECO and Tour modes provided by Bosch seem a lot easier on the knees than the assist levels provided by Yamaha. The Bosch drive provides assistance even in the higher cadence ranges, whereas the Yamaha tends to slowly cut off after 95 RPM. With the PW it's very difficult for me to tell how much I'm exerting myself during a ride, and the next day my knees usually ache if I've ridden in ECO mode a lot.

3 months ago

I have a friend that just purchased the Giant Road-E+ Yamaha powered eBike and he said he rode in the lowest assist level for 30 miles and at the end of the ride his Yamaha computer said he had 78% left. That would translate to 136 miles which is about what you indicated.

I have a Trek XM700+ with the speed drive. It has a 400 watt battery. Recently I rode it at 18-20 mph for 31 miles in the “tour” assist level (2nd lowest assist level @ 120%), then 15-16 mph for 10 miles in the same assist level and when I finished with 41 miles on my battery my Bosch computer indicated I had 2 miles of range left. This ride was on flat roads.

Mark Peralta
4 months ago

Average 14.5 mph (23 kph) is about right. That's about as fast as a seasoned cyclist on a century ride. One hundred miles was achieved using 500wh battery at the average speed of 14.5 mph or ride time of 6.9 hours. The battery consumption was a very very impressive 5 wh/mile. The average battery's output was 72.5 watts (500/6.9). Factoring in the actual motor efficiency of about 80% (electrical energy conversion to mechanical energy), that's about 58 watts to the wheels..Comparing the calculated value to the existing plotted value, it appears to be in the ball park. As you can see, the motor's power (at low setting) is barely enough to overcome the aerodynamic resistance but you still have to overcome the rolling resistance. And that's where rider's effort comes into play to achieve the speed and mileage.
That is the advantage of having a small motor (250 watt nominal) since it can still operate at optimum efficiency even at the low end of the power band (72 watts).

4 months ago


Didn't know it at the time, but I walked into Pure Ride while you were being set up with your bike. I bought one to become the 4th rider in one of my riding groups to now have one. It's a real game changer for we in the senior set. Like you, I've been asked MANY times about the speed and distance of my Road-E.

With over 700 miles of experience on it I now have some real-world numbers to answer some of those questions. I will post a more complete list of my recent rides on my E-Velo4Senors play list shortly but here's what I did yesterday: Local ride here in south O.C. Entire ride on NORM, 500w batt fully charged, 60 miles, 2690 ft of climb, 24% batt left, 18 miles estimated remaining, 14.5mph average.

As you know, the supported "assist" distance is very dependent on the settings and how much human effort is applied. On one ride I took the batt down to 6% after only 40 miles on NORM but I was hammering every hill (17.5mph av.) as hard as I could manage (and we have a lot of those around here) So my answer to the inquiry of speed and distance is always "it depends....."

Christopher Castillo
5 months ago

I have also noticed that power drops in hot weather. At first I thought maybe I was just more tired on certain days, but now that it's been mentioned by alasdair, the bike it noticeably zippier on cool days. I haven't yet experienced overheating failures, but I remember reading an article about the Giant Road-E+ that mentioned overheating, but in that article the bikes were being ridden by pros going uphill on a mountain in Europe, so I guess unless you're in 100+ degree weather (possible in SoCal), have speed restriction limiters installed, or are going uphill at high speeds for long periods of time, you shouldn't have a problem. That being said, maybe Giant should have designed better airflow to the motor.

Are the WTB Horizons really that great of an upgrade over the stock tires? I'm considering getting some, but I'm wondering if its worth it. Is it easy to install them yourself, and do you need to get new rims or spokes?

michael mcvey
6 months ago

Giant 2018 Road-E+ - Range 100 mile
Yes, I just rode 100 miles on one battery charge.

The Bike - 2018 Road-E+. Yamaha 500WH. Set up with Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires. 700*38C.
Great tire last set road 10,000 miles with no flats.

Bike set up for touring and comfort. Cain Creek Thudbuster seat post, Brooks B17 saddle. Rear rack. Arkel Handlebar bag, Arkel Tailrider trunk bag and 2 Arkel rear panniers.
Myself - I’m 68, 140 pounds, been riding normal bike my whole like, enjoy riding the Pacific Coast from San Francisco to Orange County Ca. Now ride about 5,000 miles yearly.

Goal with E-Bike. Take the pain out of touring. Ride 100+ miles per day and not feel dead at the end of each day. Would like the E-Bike to provide small amount of assistance and have power to help get over the hills. Increase MPH average by 20%. Range at least 150 miles per day.

I have been looking and reading about E-Bikes for 2 years and not encouraged by post that state the ranges are 20-50 miles. But the LBS owner assured me she is getting 80+ miles from a battery and offered to let me use her Giant E-bike for a couple days. I did and riding 60+ miles with ease on 50% battery, I decided to purchase one. I’m so happy I did.

Special thanks to Kristen (LBS owner) at Pure Ride Cycles in Lake Forrest Ca.

The trip- One Day from Port Hueneme Ca to Mission Viejo. 125 miles. It was really a two day trip. I road the train from MV to Santa Barbara, road the first day from Santa Barbara to PH and spent night in hotel. I’m not counting that first day mileage in this story. I carry two days of clothing, an extra Battery ( yes, I plan to carry a second battery on long trips), food, water, tools, etc. The total extra weight is about 30 pounds.

So the goal was to cover 125 miles along the coast in 1 day and, achieve 100 miles from 1 battery, increase average MPH by 20% and reduce overall time by 2 hours. I do this trip 2-3 times a year on normal bike. My average on normal bike is 12 mph at the end of the day and 13 hours elapsed time. To average 12 mph you spend a lot of time at 16 mph, you lose MPH with the rolling hills and stop and go areas along the route.

The route- Yesterday was strong headwinds from Redondo Beach to Laguna Beach. Usually these are tailwinds. Huntington Beach was hosting the Airshow with Blue Angels and about a million people show up for this, slow going thru this area. The rest of the route was perfect.

Well I did it, battery down to 2% at 100 mile mark. Average speed up to 14.5 (2 mph increase). Change batteries at 100 miles and flew the last 25 miles. Total trip was 11 hours 15 minutes.

How- The Giant Road-E has 3 power settings Eco, Normal and power. I’ll refer to them as level 1,2 and 3. My plan was to stay in level 1 for 85% of the time, using level 2 for hills and headwinds and never use level 3.

And that is how I achieved the 100 miles on 1 battery. So the Road-E meets my goal for multi day touring. I plan to Tour the Pacific Coast this summer. Hopefully CalTrans is able to repair and reopen Coast Highway in California by then. 100 miles on a battery is achievable!

Deacon Blues
1 year ago

I like the look of their Road-E+.
Right now I'm happy with my Pedego Ridgerider for the trails and my two road bikes for group rides, but I'm 65 and somewhere down the road I'm going to want a bit of help going up those long hills, which, for some reason, seem to get longer as I get older. :)

2 days ago

i wonder in this ebike community, how many folk have thought about the fact that most people only need to move about 10 miles a day, if they want to go further than that, they aren't interested in a bicycle no matter how easy it is because it is too slow. it seems like people keep building and building distance while a battery that can manage 15-20 miles at 500-750 watts is about ideal for the average consumer. there aren't many people who want to spend more than an hour or two on their bike a day, and most of the people who actually ride bikes would like to spend an hour or two LESS riding the bike a day. we aren't talking about sport riders, we are talking about every day schleps like me who ride a bike for transportation, not sport. hell, i could literally buy a moped or even a car for as much as i have spent on my ebike, and it is still less than 2000 dollars, but what i save in the back end by riding a bike, even an ebike, is massive. i have been for months trying to track this thing known as "e-bikes" and everything looks "fucked up" for lack of a better phrase. the marketing is wrong, the people who like bikes hate e-bikes, and nobody seems to know how to talk to each other. this is a giant clusterfuck around a tech that should be ubiquitous. come on, help me help you.

2 days ago

5:27 are you going to sit on and even pretend to ride your bike while it is charging? logic and common sense not a thing? why would your crank be moving about WHILE YOU ARE CHARGING? if you want to modify it by adding more batteries there are better ways than plugging into the charge port. i just don't get that complaint at all.

2 days ago

4:28 hydraulic calipers and drum brakes need heat sinks because guess what, hydraulic fluids can boil. you will never see heat sinks on mechanical brakes outside a few random gimmicks that have flashed up from time to time. so guess what, heat sinks AREN'T SPECIAL. stop commenting on them.

2 days ago

4:07 as a person who makes about a thousand dollars a month, quick release is the bane of my existance, please stop promoting it. it isn't good, it is bad. it means lost wheels with 0 effort or a mess when you get back to your bike if you make it hard. quick release SHOULD be the option, not the other way around, and if you go back about 20 years that is how it was. now i gotta spend more just to remove quick release from my wheel, so i have absolutely no problem with a bike that comes without quick release, if i want quick release i will be happy to spend more to install it, but default quick release pisses me off, if i were i hair younger i might yell "trigger warning" when it comes to quick release. i think i actually just did anyway.

6 days ago

You would have to be a brain dead fool to pay any thousands of dollars for that ugly piece of shit slow ass bike! I'll pass you on a wheelie every time.

Thomas L.S.
2 weeks ago

They need to get the price down on these bikes.

2 weeks ago

One of the big four -- CANNONDALE- who invented the synapse the best frame ever together with the CAAD

Dave Dawson
3 weeks ago

Pretty looking bike.

4 weeks ago

Over 1K miles on mine and I have some feedback.
- 11 gears is way too many. They could cut that in half. I never just shift one gear, I always jump at least two, sometimes 4 because with that much power, one gear difference does nothing.
- They need to improve their battery life algorithm. The last 13% goes away crazy fast. Plan on having at least 10% at the end of a long ride.
- Giant doesn't have spare battery or chargers for sale. It's a replacement part.
- It's heavy. 44lbs for my large.
- When shifting, just build it into your psyche to backoff pedaling for a couple seconds before shifting.
- Rides are as hard or easy as you want. I ride 60+ miles sometimes and it just means I can get it done faster. It's a different training experience, think mostly zone 2 and 3 when you want. There's no zone 4+. I call it a hill flattener.
- I usually average 18mph on a typical ride on my regular road bike so at 28mph+ the challenge is staying focused, realizing that approach speed of lights/stop signs/cars is much higher. Most drivers can't judge distance/speed very well and usually don't expect a bike to be coming at them that fast so cars pulling in front of me or thinking they can pass me to make a right turn is typical. Just expect it.

Jeramie James
2 months ago

It bothers me that the charge port cover is black, and thus cuts off the GIANT logo haha. Nice review.

sam millr
3 months ago

I recommend helmet mounted gopro and/or a handlebar mount camera. You're not doing yourself or anyone else any favors with a hand held camera. One handed riding is unsafe for you and everyone else on the road.

Marlinspike Mate
3 months ago

I'm physically fit but just like an e-bike for traffic commuting (no insurance, registration, etc.) and longer rides. I can tailor my workout vice how far I wan't to go as well. It seems pretty great.

Rusty Mustard
3 months ago

A $4k bike with a birdnest of cables and and an extra 80n of force going through a floppy, delicate, ancient, gear mashing on a skinny chain drivetrain? I just can't believe the bar is still this low after all these years, we might as well be wearing tophats and riding penny farthings with as little progress as the bike industry has made, it's like 90% hype and 10% overpriced crap china parts with fancy sounding buzzwordy names.

I bet you a dollar that bike would be toast if i did ONE sprint up to whatever speed the chain snaps or the freewheel engagement explodes or the sprockets fold, or the derailleur slaps into the spokes, or the crankarms twist and crack, just like any other bike made these days.

4 months ago

good review - thank you

Ronnie Dylan
4 months ago

Cheating? In what event? What class, what rules? Are there winners? What is the prize? Who sponsored the event, who can enter? Was there an entry fee? ....

4 months ago

Thanks for sharing.

Kali vara prasad
5 months ago

Hey, I am from INDIA. I do watch every review of yours. You try to keep every detail with so interestingly.

6 months ago

The engine is super loud...

6 months ago

Anything you can tell me it would help, as I am selling my $5,000 Stump Jumper and buying an 'e' bike. I am stuck on the Giant or the Specialized has a 'e' mountain bike that resembles  the stump jumper. But the Specialized 'e' is $7,500. Please let me know what the higher end model of the Giant 'e' is, I would rather have the dual suspension. Does it come with different engine size offerings ? What is your max 'e' speed ? I am in NJ / NYC and there are laws that don't allow after a certain speed. What distance does one battery last ? Can you buy an extra battery ? charger ? I heard you should not bring the battery down below 20% remaining ? what is maximum 'e' assist speed ? Thanks for any info on yours..tim

Luis Calderon
7 months ago

rather you don't know how to shift gears, rather this bike is a piece of shit