Magnum Premium Review

Magnum Premium Electric Bike Review
Magnum Premium
Magnum Premium 500 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Magnum Premium 48 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery Pack
Magnum Premium Ergonomic Grips Das Kit Display And Buttons
Magnum Premium Rst Carve Suspension Fork
Magnum Premium Tektro Mechanical Disc Brakes
Magnum Premium Stand Alone Spanninga Rear Light On Rack
Magnum Premium 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Premium Battery Handle Led Charge Indicator
Magnum Premium Selle Royal Look In Gel Saddle
Magnum Premium Folding Ebike In Trunk Of Car
Magnum Premium Portable 2 Amp Charger
Magnum Premium Electric Bike Review
Magnum Premium
Magnum Premium 500 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Magnum Premium 48 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery Pack
Magnum Premium Ergonomic Grips Das Kit Display And Buttons
Magnum Premium Rst Carve Suspension Fork
Magnum Premium Tektro Mechanical Disc Brakes
Magnum Premium Stand Alone Spanninga Rear Light On Rack
Magnum Premium 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Premium Battery Handle Led Charge Indicator
Magnum Premium Selle Royal Look In Gel Saddle
Magnum Premium Folding Ebike In Trunk Of Car
Magnum Premium Portable 2 Amp Charger


  • A folding speed pedelec (capable of ~25 mph) that also offers throttle on demand, you get plenty of power from a 500 Watt hub motor and 48 Volt 13 amp hour battery pack
  • Two frame styles and four color choices let you personalize the product a bit, folding mechanisms have locks for safety, I like the reflective tires and LED lights even though they require separate batteries
  • Cast Aluminum rims can handle more weight than spokes and won't go out of true or break as easily, decent suspension fork, seat post shock, ergonomic grips and gel saddle enhance comfort
  • With so many features the bike weighs more at ~61 lbs, the kickstand would stay out of the way better if mounted towards the rear vs. bottom bracket, key must be left in to ride

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers








Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Comprehensive


United States, Canada

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

61.3 lbs (27.8 kg)

Battery Weight:

9.2 lbs (4.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.5 lbs (3.85 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

15" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 14.5" or 22.5" Stand Over Height, 65.5" Length

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

Gloss White with Blue Accents, Matte Black with Blue Accents, Gloss White with Orange Accents, Matte Black with Orange Accents

Frame Fork Details:

RST Carve Suspension with Preload Adjustment, 60 mm Travel, 9 mm Axle with Nuts

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shimano RevoShift Grip Twist on Right


Prowheel SOLID, 165 mm Length, 52T Chainring with Aluminum Alloy Guide


Wellgo K20410, Folding Plastic Platform


Neco 1 1/8"


Aluminum Alloy, Folding with QR Telescoping Height (10" to 13")


Low-Rise, 24" Length, Aluminum Alloy

Brake Details:

Tektro Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Rubberized Edge and Motor Inhibitor


Ergonomic Stitched


Selle Royal Look In Gel, Oversized with Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Basic Suspension, Flip-Up Saddle Clamp

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


Solid Aluminum Alloy, Black


Cast Radial Support Arms

Tire Brand:

CST, 20" x 2.125"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripes, 40-65 PSI, Nylon

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Flick Bell, Rear Rack with Pannier Blockers and Spring Latch 25 kg Max Weight (55 lbs), Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand, Metal Derailleur Guard, Aluminum Alloy Fenders with Mud Flaps, Independent Spanninga GaLeo Headlight (2 AA Batteries), Independent Spanninga Back Light (2 AA Batteries), Support Bar on Bottom Bracket


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 9 Mosfet 14 Amp Current Controller, 1.5 lb 2 Amp Charger, Max Weight Rated at 240 lbs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

700 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung, Panasonic or LG

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

624 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Manganese (Li-NCM)

Charge Time:

6.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Das-Kit Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD


Power Level (Power, Normal, Eco), Pedal Assist (0-6), Odometer, Time, Trip 1, Trip 2, Speed, Voltage, Battery Level (1-5), (Press Power Once for Backlighting, Hold Set for Menu)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (Power, Set, +, -)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

25 mph (40 kph) (20 mph Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Magnum Premium is an interesting folding electric bike… Not only is it powerful with a 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery configuration, it’s also sturdy and fast. Rather than spoked wheels, which tend to be stronger at the 20″ size to begin with, they chose cast Aluminum 20″ wheels setup like mag wheels. And instead of a standard 6 Mosfet controller, the Premium uses 9 Mosfets which can handle 14 Amps of Current vs. just 10 or 12. During the ride test, I had one of the company’s co-founders, Jesse, hop on and ride around the parking lot. Even with his 6’3″ height and 200+ body weight, the bike worked fine. Smaller wheels offer a mechanical advantage to hub motors, which tend to be easier on drivetrains than mid-drives. You’re getting a zippy compact platform here which is great for space savings but it is not light. Weighing in at 61+ lbs, it’s worth taking a couple of minutes to remove the 9 lb battery before lifting. And even though the frame only comes in one size, there are two different styles (a mid-step and the deep wave step-thru shown in the video and images above). Both come with a longer suspension seat post and adjustable stem for increased height. This is a big deal if you’re a taller rider, I felt great on the bike at 5’9″ myself and I have longer legs. In short, the bike felt comfortable and solid which is very important given the higher assisted top speed of roughly 25 mph. Again, it’s an interesting folding e-bike because it delivers a platform that is truly capable as a speed pedelec and might be great for commuting if you’ve got limited space… Wheel it into work, fold it up under your desk and charge it there vs. locking it up at the rack?

Driving this electric bike is an 8Fun internally geared hub motor sealed inside the rear wheel. It puts out between 500 and 700 watts and produces a bit more whirring noise than weaker options. I found it to be zippy and capable, it switched on very fast in pedal assist mode thanks to a precise cadence sensor mounted near the left crank arm (around the spindle). The sensor used here is compact and sealed compared to the larger discs with visible magnets. I imagine it would stay cleaner and get bumped less easily which translates to more reliable operation. As highlighted earlier, the motor is backed up with a 48 volt batter, more mosfets in the controller and higher current thruput. If you’re a larger rider or someone who plans to carry gear on the rack, this is a great thing.

Powering the motor and backlit display, but not the lights, is a 48 volt 13 amp hour battery pack mounted just behind the seat tube. To me, this is way above average in terms of capacity and very impressive to see on a folding electric bike. Depending on how you ride, the bike should get excellent range. Stick to the first few levels of pedal assist and under 20 mph for truly optimal performance. Note that the trigger throttle, mounted near the left grip, cuts out at 20 mph for legal reasons but that you can reach the higher speeds using the top level of assist, level 6. The battery pack is painted black which matches the saddle, rims and tires and it slides onto the frame easily. I felt it lock securely and noticed a 5 Volt USB power outlet on the right side. This would be handy for charging a portable electronic device stored in one of the panniers or a trunk bag but you could also string a longer USB cord across the frame with zip ties if you wanted to mount something to the handle bars. Just be careful near the folding point on the frame and dull the edges of cut zip ties so they don’t scratch and cut your legs while pedaling. A couple of downsides for the battery is that it doesn’t power the lights and that you must leave the key in while it’s being used. The key is mostly out of the way but might jingle if connected to a chain or other keys… this is quite common with the style of battery housing used here (called a Silver Fish in the industry). I like that Magnum fills the pack with premium cells (from Samsung, LG or Panasonic depending on supply) and that it has a handle and LED indicator on top. Another huge win is the flip-forward saddle mount which allows you to take the pack off without removing the seat and seat post. And when you do adjust the seat post, I noticed that the clamp is angled to the side so the lever won’t scratch the battery pack or collide with it… very smart.

Operating the bike is a multi-step process and one of the areas where improvements could be made. You have to press a little power button or switch on both lights, then turn the key to on in the battery pack then press a power button on the control pad. That’s four steps and it’s easier to miss one when parking or folding the bike. Perhaps you leave a light on and it runs out of juice? Perhaps you start folding and bump the trigger throttle which spins the wheel? These are areas to keep an eye on. All that aside, I do like the display panel and all of the options Magnum has offered. The throttle works at all times, even in assist level zero which I call “throttle only mode”. Arrowing up and down through assist is easy to do without taking your left hand off the grip because of the remote button pad. The trigger throttle on the left is a bit trickier to reach depending on where you mount it (behind the brake lever or in front of it closer to the grip). Given how responsive assist is, I’m not sure I’d use the throttle as much with this bike and fully appreciate that the brakes are higher quality disc style with rubberized levers that have motor inhibitors built in. And while I’d love to see hydraulic disc brakes, I appreciate the lower price point that they hit with this e-bike… again, compromises had to be made here and there so I get it.

The Magnum Premium comes with everything you need to commute, rain or shine, but it is a more advanced electric bike. With an always-active trigger throttle and higher top speed, I see this as a perfect option for commuters and younger riders (or those with more weight). Remember, you can tone down the power and speed by changing the six levels of assist but the throttle will always be ready with full up to 20 mph. I love this style of setup because I can save energy riding at lower assist then zoom up a hill or past another riding simply by pressing the throttle for a few moments. Note that the Aluminum fenders felt solid and didn’t make a lot of noise while riding on bumpy terrain. The rack uses standard gauge tubing which should work with panniers and other standard accessories and you could use the USB port on the battery to add additional lights if you wanted. I’m impressed with all of the frame and color options here and appreciate that Magnum now has 70+ dealers in the US who can let you take a test ride and help with service and warranty stuff. The bike comes with one year comprehensive and the company has been around globally for five plus years.


  • One of the most noticeable and coolest features about this folding ebike, at least to me!, is the cast Aluminum wheelset which can support more weight and won’t go out of true the way traditional spokes might
  • I love that Magnum sells two versions of this bike, mid-step and wave step-thru, both are relatively easy to mount but might appeal to different tastes (I reviewed the wave style because it has the lowest downtube)
  • Four color combinations make it fun, you could get a set of these for your family and easily keep track of who owns which bike, my favorite is the white because it is the most visible for night riding
  • Solid rack with a full 25 kg max weight rating, I like the little spring latch for quick cargo additions and love that the battery is mounted to the frame leaving the rack clear vs. some older designs
  • This is a minor plus but I noticed how the seat tube and collar were twisted a bit so the quick release tab wouldn’t collide with the battery pack when fully closed! This is a wonderful attention to detail
  • I love the included lights and reflective tires but wish that the lights ran off the main battery pack, they are higher quality builds however (both from Spanninga)
  • The folding points seemed very reliable thanks to locking mechanisms (there’s even a spring run through the frame to help with alignment and unfolding if you’re by yourself)
  • Sturdy metal plates sandwich the chainring acting as protection when folded (along with a metal support arm directly below the bottom bracket), the metal plates also act as a guide, keeping the chain on track if you’re riding over bumpy terrain… this is especially important in throttle mode and when riding on bumpy terrain at high speed
  • Capable of ~25 mph top speeds (in pedal assist mode) this is one of the very few speed pedelec folding e-bikes I have ever seen and would work well for some people who want to commute faster
  • Excellent drive mode control here with throttle only mode, throttle override (with full power) and six levels of assist… just be careful to turn it off before folding or you could bump the throttle and have the bike take off
  • At under $2k I feel like this bike is priced well, especially because it comes with all the accessories you need for commuting (rack, sturdy Aluminum fenders and lights)
  • Mechanical disc brakes are a good upgrade from rim brakes because they stay cleaner and don’t wear out as fast, the brake levers on the Magnum Premium have motor inhibitors so you stop safer and don’t compete with the power of the bike
  • Smaller wheels keep the bike compact for folding but aren’t as comfortable as larger ones so it’s great that you get a mid-level suspension fork, suspension seat post and large gel saddle… it really makes a difference at speed and on longer journies
  • Telescoping stem offers more height options to improve the ride for taller people (the bike only comes in one size after all), don’t stretch it all the way up however because the cables can get stretched and messed up when steering if so
  • You can charge the battery on or off the frame with this bike and I love how easy it is to take off! The saddle flips forward and the slide and locking mechanisms just seemed to work here vs. some other folders I’ve tested
  • I really like the cadence sensor they chose for this pedelec, it’s not a big disc with exposed magnets (easier to bump and mess up), this thing is compact and sealed from water and mud but still very responsive
  • The fold point mid-frame does bulge out a little but is positioned much lower than some other e-bikes so I feel like it wouldn’t bruise your thigh as easily (this was an issue my girlfriend had with some of the folding fat bikes we tested)
  • I like that the battery features a USB charging port on the side so you can fill your phone, GPS or music player… in some ways I’d like it up by the handlebars but on the other hand, it’s very close to the rear rack so your gear could be charging while stored, consider buying a right angle USB dongle like one of these to keep it out of the way
  • The charger is pretty compact and very lightweight at ~1.5 lbs, the plug end for the bike is metal which seems tougher if it was dropped or stepped on, I’d probably bring it along all the time and just keep it in a trunk bag on the rack
  • I love the brake levers they chose for the Premium, you get a tiny (but loud!) integrated bell on the left and the levers themselves have a rubberized edge for comfort
  • Generally speaking, this is one of the most powerful folding electric bikes around given the 500 Watt motor, 9 Mosfet controller with 14 Amp thruput and 48 Volt battery, it was able to move Jesse who is a larger rider (6’3″ at 230 lbs), up hills as shown in the video review above


  • The folding plastic pedals are light, inexpensive and compact but not as stiff or durable as some Aluminum ones I’ve seen, given the “premium” price and features found elsewhere on the bike this is one area that could be improved… or you could add some like this aftermarket
  • Weighing in at over 60 lbs, this is one of the heavier electric bikes out there (folding or otherwise) due in part to the cast wheels, suspension fork and larger battery… but at least the battery is removable so you can subtract ~9 lbs when moving the frame
  • Neither wheel offers quick release which means you’ll need tools to fix flats or break the bike down further (for super compactness), one positive here is that they’re less likely to be tampered with or stolen when parked
  • While I love the adjustable length feature of the kickstand, I wish it was mounted further back on the frame from the crank arms because it collides (especially when walking the bike backwareds as the cranks turn themselves)
  • Both lights require two AA batteries and must be switched on separately (that adds time and makes them easy to leave on accidentally to drain overnight or during the day when parked at a bike rack), the lights also don’t have flashing modes or other settings besides on/off
  • The key must be left in the battery pack in order to operate this bike, it’s positioned mostly out of the way but could jingle if you have a chain or other keys connected
  • The display looks great but isn’t removable, you can angle it forward and back to reduce glare but it could get scratched at a rack or weather worn being left on all the time
  • This is a minor con but the drivetrain is entry-level, with seven speeds you’re getting enough range to climb but might not keep up at the ~25 mph level, Shimano Tourney components work well enough but might need more tuneups, I love that they included a derailleur guard to protect it when folded
  • One way their folding design could be improved is with a rubber latch or maybe some magnets to keep the bike from coming unfolded during transport… this might also reduce banging and rattling as it flops around due to vibrations in your car trunk, plane, boat or whatever


More Magnum Reviews

Magnum Metro+ Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sturdy high-step commuter style electric bike offering up to 28 mph pedal assist and 20 mph throttle on demand, uses the same 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery as Magnum's Peak mountain bike. Mid-level eight speed drivetrain with Shimano Acera derailleur, metal guard protects the derailleur and motor…...

Magnum Peak 29 Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A powerful, relatively affordable, hardtail cross country style electric bike that's capable of 28 mph pedal assist and 20 mph trigger throttle operation, offers 24 gears vs. 10 or 11 on most competing products. This particular model (with 29" wheels) is available in one large frame size and color,…...

Magnum Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A handsome, cruiser style electric bike with neatly integrated cables, strong alloy fenders, a clean plastic chain cover, and uniquely designed rear cargo rack, everything matches. Emphasis on comfort for the rider with soft Big Ben balloon tires, an extra-wide saddle…...

Magnum Metro Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An approachable, mid-step, high-speed, urban electric bike with six levels of pedal assist plus throttle mode that can override with full power. Fairly comfortable with larger tires, a basic suspension fork, and cheap seat post shock... the…...

Magnum Classic Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A feature-packed folding electric bike with lots of accessories and multiple color options, great price point and warranty, available through dealers or the Magnum online store. Sturdy folding mechanisms with security locks emphasize safety, reflective tires and LED lights keep you…...

Magnum Peak Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high speed electric hardtail with with throttle on demand, hydraulic disc brakes and an extra large battery for $2k, all around good value with a 24 speed drivetrain. Optional rear rack for $50 transform the Peak into a sporty commuter, only one frame…...

Magnum Ui5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A beautifully designed, purpose built, affordable electric bike well suited to urban riding or commuting. Step-thru frame is easy to mount but relatively stiff thanks to a double tube mid-section,…...

Magnum Mi5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A value priced hardtail electric bike that's trail ready with a basic suspension fork, knobby tires and 21 speeds. Average sized 350 watt motor paired with slightly larger 36 volt 13 amp hour battery…...

1 year ago

Nice to see Magnum upgrading some of the features on their newer ebikes. I love my Ui5, but I do wish it had the throttle with full power at all times, the higher voltage battery and some other features found on this new model. Ebikes just keep getting better!

1 year ago

I see Magnum making incremental upgrades to their products and it’s exciting to think of where it will lead. Even today, I feel like you get a lot more bang for your buck than just a year or two ago. And yes, with the throttle settings and better display I like how it empowers riders to choose vs. limiting them or requiring extras steps. In short though, it sounds like you’re enjoying your Ui5 and I’m glad to hear that :D

1 year ago

Hi Court, I love your website and your video reviews! I’m short (5’1″) and a big fan of non-elecric folding bikes, and this is the first folding electric which has peaked my interest. I live in a hilly area of Northern San Diego, and wanted to know if you would recommend this bike for hilly areas.
Thanks in advance for your reply!

1 year ago

Hi Susan! Yeah, the Magnum Premium could be a good fit for your area. It’s much more powerful than the average hub motor driven folder, priced pretty well and comes in that deep step-thru configuration. As noted in the review, it’s heavy but depending on your needs (and a bit of help) it can work great for a wide range of uses. I continue to hear great things from shops and owners about Magnum and am seeing their brand grow significantly in the US which also gives me confidence. I hope this helps! You could also chime in at the EBR forums and ask for feedback, maybe people who already own their products will share.

Mark M
11 months ago

For a folding e-bike, this is a rather heavy bike at 61 lbs. The primary purpose of folding is going to be ability to put in compact spaces, carry on a train, or easily place in a car, or easily carry up steps into apmt or condo, so this ebike is a just not a very viable candidate for those purposes. Also, at 500 watts, and 48 volts its way more power than an ebike with those size tires and the likely speeds anyone would want to travel at, especially for the purposes of what most foldables are chosen for. The price point is also a few hundred dollars more, than more viable and purpose designed foldables. I’ve tried this and the Blix Vika’s and felt the Vika’s were actually sturdier, and gave a more confident and secure ride. Plus their models are 48 lbs and 36 lbs, respectively, which better suits the purposes most riders searching for foldables are seeking.

11 months ago

Thanks for chiming in and sharing your experiences Mark! I appreciate your perspective and am sure others will too. I like the Blix products and was excited to also see the lower powered, less expensive Magnum Classic as an alternative to the Premium here :)

Eric S
10 months ago

I went and bought one of these, and it’s been very nice- one thing I wish they had was a manual that reflected the actual bike’s screen, which is not at all what they show in the manual. I’m trying to figure it out as I go… it appears that the 20-inch wheels may be limited to a top speed of 20 miles an hour, but I’m not sure what that screen is. I think it’s the 4th one… it shows 2 numbers, one of which seems to change the bike’s top pedaling speed, the other of which I’m not sure about. Possibly wheel size? Scratching my head here.

Aside from the instruction manual not helping at all with learning the settings, it’s a good bike. The rear wheel’s not easy to remove if you get a flat there, and the tire takes patience to get back on afterward. As far as flats go, the folding is a godsend if you need to call someone to come pick you up and get out of the rainy roadside.

But on the positive side, the range I’m getting out of it is at LEAST 40 miles with pedal assist, and around 2 bars of battery left after a day of riding. It’s been handy for small grocery runs and has given me the freedom to commute locally, which is a good thing for someone without a car and no public transport in town.
20 MPH has been a good, serviceable top speed for me. It’d be nice to get it a little faster as advertised, but I’m fine with this.

I don’t find myself using the throttle for more than short bursts, at times when I want to get off the line quickly such as crossing roads or starting on steep slopes.

Pedal assist 2-4 are most comfortable for me in terms of just riding around, 1 is good for starting up or just taking my time, and 5-6 are nice and effortless ways to get somewhere fast.

I’ve used the USB charging from the battery, and my Samsung Note 4 tells me this battery is only capable of slow charging- turns out to be maybe half the speed of its normal charger, if that. But getting 40% of my phone’s battery recharged did not seem to tax or noticeably drain the Magnum’s battery at all, so for topping off electronics or charging stuff like a Kindle as I ride to my favorite reading spot is perfectly doable.

On another note, no reading or texting on-bike: even without doing these things I managed to WHUMP! myself into a signpost and a parked car in the month I’ve had it. The bike and I were both fine after each incident, aside from the usual shattered-dignity bit. :)

I tend to ride my bike in Eco mode (Settings screen 5- hold Set, press Set until you reach screen 5, and press minus to toggle between the three modes), just because I want this battery to last, and because so far I can’t tell a difference between that and Normal in terms of acceleration or top speed. Still trying to figure this one out. I’m not sure how Power mode differs either.

It’s a fun bike, and is turning out to be pretty practical whenever it’s not outright raining (in which case no bike of mine is going outside for long.) I’ve even gotten some interested questions from strangers at the bike rack. It’s weird how much more expensive people around me tend to think it is, and how much slower and shorter-range. It feels good to give ’em a pleasant surprise with “Yes, it’s electric. …20 miles an hour, 40+ miles range. …Yes, it folds. …$2000 including tax.”

vik Kaminskas
6 months ago

Hi Court … Vik from down under… How do I get a couple to Australia with out the price of another bike as postage…??? A his and hers package…!!! I’m 100 odd KG and the missus is about 70ish ,so a Classic would do her, or stick to both premiums for the better suspension and bibs and bobs…???

Over to you Courty me old mate… vik… Adelaide South Australia…

6 months ago

Hi Vik! Sorry for the late reply, I just got back from Interbike and am playing catch up. I could be mistaken, but I believe Magnum may be offering some of their products in Australia. Perhaps you could reach out and ask them and get connected, then you could get the bikes and not have to pay all of that shipping. Let me know what you find, I can help reach the company if they don’t reply to you for some reason :)

3 months ago

Hello everyone. Has anyone come across a delimiter for the magnum premium?

Eric S
3 weeks ago

I’ve reviewed this bike before, 10 months ago, but I think it’s a good idea to come back and leave this one too for comparison. My last review was still that of a new owner; this time I’m going to share all the things that have gone wrong since then. Before I go another sentence into this, however, know that I *like this thing,* and the only reason I’m focusing on what went wrong is because it’s been nearly everything I hoped it could be, and I would not trade this bike for any other. It is because of this that I want to focus on what made it less than perfect for me, and how it was to deal with the kinds of problems that arose during my ownership of the Premium.

First: the good: see my other review. It’s a hoot, this thing.

Next, the awkward: 20-inch wheels provide a pretty crappy angle of attack (lower is better) for broken-up sidewalks or terrain like that which I ride across when I go to work. So if you’re going across potholes with this, or sidewalks with the squares sticking up every which way, slow down. Way down. One good jolt can pop the tires. Bikes with bigger wheels usually don’t have as much of a problem with the same terrain, I gather. Also, the wheels with their tube lengths aren’t a size that the local Trek store, the only one near me, has, so I do have to order my replacement tubes ahead of time. And when it comes to replacing… yikes. This is *not* a bike you can just pop the flat or the wheel off, change, and have it back on at the roadside. The back wheel doesn’t like to come off, and …well, I believe I addressed the details of the tire change in my earlier review. I stand by what I said then. The only thing I have to add about flat tires: it’s always, always been the back one. Never the front. 7 back tire tubes later, I’m still running the original front. Oh, and the Trek guys recommend thicker “thorn tubes” for the tires of this e-bike, just to make it tougher to puncture and hopefully pinch. Keep at 60-65 PSI, or you *will* get a pinch flat, unless you are just that much magically better than me as a human being. In which case, teach me. :)

So I covered the tires. Now, rain: light rain or drizzle is fine, I’ve ridden through that many a time with no ill effects. Moderate rain, I try to avoid, but that hasn’t done more than make it squeaky for several days. Heavy rain… ugh. Got caught in an intense rainstorm during a vacation over the summer, and after the storm, the throttle quit responding reliably or at all, it always wanted to creep forward at 1 mph, and any gear was treated as 20mph pedal assist. I let it dry for a few days and kept the controller unhooked and in a bag of rice for a week, and eventually it calmed down. I shall never let that happen again, and strongly advise caution in rainy times for others.

Now that the rain’s been covered, here’s how finding tech support or parts went: not well. No shop, including the one I bought it from, offer maintenance or help with the electrical bits. The controller (Das-Kit C6) is abominably hard to find, and I still haven’t found a spare. And the manual tells me crap-all about the settings- both the C6’s manual and the Magnum’s manual, which in fact depicts a different controller than mine has.

Speaking of controllers: mine came with a Das-Kit C6. That’s different than the one that the manual shows, as I said, and it also has a crucial difference I want Court to know: the C6 only lets you go up to 20mph, period. When paging through the controller’s settings, one of the screens lets you set wheel size and top speed without it or the manual saying which is which. The middle number is the wheel size, and should be set to 20, and the number on the left is the top speed, apparently. It never goes above 20 at any wheel size, unfortunately. So I can only surmise that if you want your Magnum to go 25mph, you’ll need some controller other than the C6.

Finally, this thing is fun, and any difficulties I’ve had with it are not the bike’s fault. It has stood up well to daily commutes to work in all weather, rides down dirt trails and grass, through puddles and shallow streams, and has no lasting marks aside from a paintless crescent on the battery scratched by swinging keys.

This has been, essentially, my experience gained with my Magnum Premium over the course of 2017. And it’s just getting back out for 2018 now.

3 weeks ago

Hi Eric, what an awesome comment! Thanks for going in deep and expressing the challenges in such a constructive way. I especially liked the bit about how the swinging keys had made a crescent scratch mark on the side of the battery pack, lol. I try to touch on some of these potential challenges in my videos (like pinch flats) but haven’t gone in depth or been as directive in how to avoid. As a relatively lightweight guy who rides mostly brand new ebikes, it’s easy to forget about those shortcomings… and how difficult the hub motor wheels can be to remove and service. I’m glad that you’re figuring out solutions to keep your Magnum Premium on the road, the inner tube tip and display feedback is excellent. Thank you!


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

2 days ago

I just bought a new Magnum Metro and have a helmet and under-seat G Keni light/alarm and a Kryptonite New York lock to start out. What other accessories do folks recommend? I don't think mine has a bell, so need that for passing pedestrians, what about bags that will go on this rear rack for the Metro? I'd like some kind of handlebar mount to hold my phone for GPS or whatever. Is there anything to carry a small dog safely?

Any ideas/recommendations on common/useful accessories or farkles (as we call them in the motorcycle world, maybe the same here) welcome. Thanks!

2 days ago

I got the 27.5 not sure about the height guess around 30" or so. Tires performing pretty well so far and I ride it on pretty rough roads on occasion. This is the first super heavy bike I've ridden and it takes some getting used to - can't make turns as sharply as I can on my non electric. Overall pretty happy with it, feels sturdy and gets up to 25 with little effort.

3 days ago

I'm looking at the Magnum Peak now too. Waiting to hear back on shipping charge to Honolulu. Their Shipping Calculator doesn't seem to update the price for any zip code. Did you go with the 27.5 or 29" wheels and what's the standover height? How do the stock Schwalbe Smart Sam tires perform on the road?

3 days ago

What's the standover height with the 29" wheels? I couldn't find any measurements on the Magnum site.

Kurt in CT
3 days ago

Magnum peak

Mike's E-Bikes
3 days ago

The Ui6 is the same frame, components, tires, brakes, as the Ui5, but it comes with a 500 watt motor (instead of the Ui5's 350 watt), and a 48 Volt, 13 AH Samsung battery. It also has a newer display from Magnum. It's priced (MSRP $1799) at only $100 more than the previous Ui5, so its a pretty good value. The motor has a peak output of 700 watts.

Vs, The Metro is a different ebike , priced at $1999. It has the same wattage motor, but its Das-Kit versus Bafang, and the ebike is capable of a higher speed at 28 mph (assist only). (versus 22 mph for Ui6). The display is different too, a bit nicer and larger. It'll have a slightly higher grade derailleur (Shimano Altus), and better trigger shifter. And hydraulic brakes vs mechanical brakes on Ui6. Also has a better quality suspension fork than the Ui6. Lastly, they are including a suspension seat post. Functional but won't be the higher quality of a Thud Buster or Body Float.

Mike's E-Bikes
4 days ago

I would go with the Magnum Ui5. You should be able to find it on sale for around $1500. (msrp$1699) It has everything you want, and they've been around longer than any of the folks you mention. For that short of a trip, you don't need anything more. Has a rack, lighting, integrated battery, tires slightly over 2" wide. If you advise where you are located, can suggest a shop. Otherwise I'd sell you one if you were close to Chicago. (p.s. they are transitioning to the Ui6, which has a 500,48v watt motor, but otherwise everything else is staying the same, which is great and since the Ui5 is a proven and high selling model.) Stay away from Addmotor, and the others. You aren't getting value with those where you need it, in terms of reliability, and paying extra for stuff on the others you don't need. I could show you the differences in person, which are obvious when you physically see the bikes. Hard to do that over the internet. Ui5 is also a very comfortable ride.

Jim Mass
4 days ago

Yes you are both correct. Yesterday we took a trip to Newport Beach and rented 3 RAD's - City step-thru, Rover, and the folding model with the geared motor. The "City step-thru" does 90% of what the Magnum "cruiser" does and its $400 less expensive. We rode for two hours and received a $50 cash back on our $75 rental bill for 2 units). My friend got $50 cash back on his rental. My new favorite so far - RAD City Step-thru.

7 days ago

Any updates on this topic? I watched the video and it was a bit disheartening and affecting my decision to buy an ebike since I live in NJ and I've had a motorcycle stolen before by someone just putting it in the back of a truck, locked wheels/frame and all. I don't want to carry a heavy assortment of locks to lock down the wheels, frame, seat, etc every time I have to run to the grocery store or something. Considering a Magnum Metro if there's any brand-specific options. The smart locks with a motion sensing alarm and app notification sounded good though, have any good ones come to fruition yet?

Kurt in CT
7 days ago

I just bought a Magnum bike a week or so ago off a local bike shop. No discount for me. (though i didnt press as hard as i probably could have..)

7 days ago

Before I pull the trigger, does anyone know if Magnum has any discount coupons or sales? I see a place on the online order form to enter a coupon code (doesn't mean there is one, but just in case...). The local bike shop said they're having a Trek sale end of march/beginning of April, not sure if that's just them or Trek doing that. So I wondered if Magnum is doing something similar to kick off spring, or if there's a coupon code or veterans discount, etc.

7 days ago

Looking for E-Bike under $2K
Me (5'10" 190#) mid 50's
Commute 14 Miles round trip (Last 2.5 miles to my home is uphill (3-7%) steepest incline (13%) for about 200 yards.
The bike will be used on weekends for other recreational rides. All mountainous terrain but mostly pavement (grades 0-22%).
Would like racks, fenders, lights, and comfort
Roads are mostly pavement.
I have tried Haibike Bosche and Stromer ST1 Elite but would prefer a bike with a throttle.
Would a Stromer ST1 Elite have what is needed to climb these hills without too much effort? (slightly over my price range, no throttle but very nice)

Bikes on my short list are:
Crosscurrent S
Magnum Metro
Biktrix Stunner
EGlide ST

6 days ago

Thank you very much for your insightfull post. A lot of information to digest.

A high speed pedelec is not an option for me. They are available in Sweden but requires license plate, insurance etc.

I will look into the different forks used by my preferrd bikes.

I definitely have to test ride the bikes to get a feel for them.
I think my final choice comes down to which one has the best overall premium quality feel and best level of component specification.

I have started on a Excel spreadsheet comparing different bikes.

1 week ago


Thank you all for making this a great forum!

Im looking for advice on what bike to buy.

37 years old in good physical condition.

My commute:
I have a 11 Km (6,8 Miles) x2 commute with three major hills.

I plan on commuting from Mars through October.

Bike alternatives:
I have narrowed down my search to three possible alternatives:

What do you think of these? Which one should i choose and why? Have i missed a better alternative?

I have no problem paying a premium for a good quality bike. The Swedish government also subsidies the purchase of an ebike with 25% or a max amount of 1200 USD.

Thank you in advance!

rich c
1 week ago

Curious statement. I'd suggest they have to charge a premium because it costs more to produce something that reliable. Just my experience though. I'm a big Bosch fan, probably always will be now after more than a year of ownership. I have 3,000 miles on two Haibikes, and I'll gladly pay the premium in the future as they've been incredibly reliable. My friend just got back after a month in Florida. He also rides Bosch. He stopped in and talked to some local dealers and looked at renting while in Florida. He was told Bosch is about the only system that dealer sells, that holds up to the salt water fog and spray that covers that section of Florida almost every morning. My friend said a 2 year old traditional bike in that neighborhood looked like it was 10 years old.

1 week ago

Update....6 months in at 500+ miles.
We’ve surpassed 500 on both of our Magnum Premium 48’s. Relatively trouble free, the Low-Step bike developed a noise in the 8Fun hubmotor which I was convinced was the sound of impending doom. Dealer agreed and replaced without drama. The main niggle has been the fenders....they’ve required lots of tweaking and ajusting to keep them from rubbing on the not-so-round Schwalbe look-alike tires. Come to find out both plastic fender-stay brackets had broken. Replaced with metal ones and the fenders stay where they are meant of the tires. Otherwise, I cant criticize the bikes or our LBS’ support.

Go Time Electric Bikes
1 week ago

Yes we hope so...It is a great system

2 weeks ago

@keithd indeed the Rohloff systems are significantly more expensive, however they are a premium quality product that certainly have their place in the market.

May not be for everyone but they are a nice system but certainly not a necessity for the vast majority of cyclists.

2 weeks ago

Yes it will be interesting to see how they will promote the ebikes, my local Yamaha dealer is a multisport center selling boat motors, motorcycles, ATV's, lawn mowers, generators, etc. I went to a Harley Davidson dealership to buy my cycling goggles (guard dogs brand) and that was fun!

2 weeks ago

That's interesting.. Yamaha is usually a premium priced product in general (price their outboard motors or generators!).. Guess they hope to undercut Trek, Shimano and Bosch.. Good luck.

2 weeks ago

WEITERSTADT, Germany - March 5, 2018 - Riese & Müller - ( - manufacturer of premium E-Bikes, kicks off the 2018 season with the launch of the New Charger and Supercharger models in North America.

The New Charger and Supercharger are the first, fully integrated E-Bikes from Riese & Müller, and incorporate the Bosch PowerTube battery into the successful Charger lineup. The integration of the Bosch PowerTube creates a seamless aesthetic, with the battery blending into the downtube.

All New Charger and Supercharger models can be fitted with an optional DualBattery delivering a total of 1,000 Wh and up to 100 miles of range on a single charge. The Supercharger can house the second Bosch PowerTube battery in the top tube; the Charger DualBattery option sits atop the down tube, with no impact on performance or handling due to the unique frame shape. Riese & Müller was among the first E-Bike companies to offer DualBattery technology, ideal for all-day excursions as well as long-distance commuters and anyone who requires greater range and wants to avoid frequent charging.
“With the full integration of the Bosch PowerTube battery, the New Charger and Supercharger are new generation E-Bikes, both technologically and aesthetically,” said Heiko Müller, co-founder and CEO of Riese & Müller. “The success of our Charger range is its combination of sporty design and comfortable riding, and we've brought that to the redesign of the New Charger and Supercharger as well.”

The New Charger is Riese & Müller’s first fully integrated E-Bike design, with a Bosch PowerTube battery incorporated into the down tube and internally routed cables, preserving the classic bike look yet with all the quality and high-performance for which Riese & Müller are known. The combination of a sleek design with the signature kink in the seat stays, high performance, and comfortable riding position has earned the Charger awards from Eurobike and Red Dot. The New Charger is available in Touring (20 mph) and HS (high-speed - 28 mph) configurations, as well as Charger mountain, equipped with the Bosch Performance CX motor, 500 Wh PowerTube battery, Fox suspension fork, and off-road tires. The New Charger is available in seven different configurations and in electric red metallic, black and pearl white.

The Supercharger is a completely new E-Bike design concept, evolving the successful Charger line by incorporating not one but two Bosch PowerTube batteries into the tubes of the ultra-rigid frame. Internally routed cables and signature two-tone frame coating create a bold, seamless appearance. The Supercharger GT touring - also available in an HS (high-speed) model - offers a sporty 11-speed Shimano Deore XT derailleur. The model is also available as Supercharger mountain, featuring the 11-speed Shimano Deore XT derailleur, a Fox suspension fork and off-road tires. The Supercharger is available in electric blue metallic and urban silver metallic and in seven different configurations.

The elevated chainstays of the New Charger and Supercharger allow the addition of the quiet and low-maintenance carbon belt drive with options of adding a NuVinci or Rohloff gear hub. The New Charger is also available in a version. and

Available Configurations:

New Charger GT touring: Ultimate riding pleasure: Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 20 mph), Shimano Deore XT 11-speed, Shimano Deore XT disc brakes, suspension fork
New Charger GT touring HS*: Like the New Charger GT touring with a Bosch Performance Speed motor, Magura MT4 disc brakes, and assistance up to 28 mph
New Charger GH nuvinci: Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 20 mph), NuVinci hub gear, Gates belt drive, Shimano Deore disc brakes, Supernova lighting system
New Charger GT nuvinci HS*: Like the New Charger Nuvinci, with Bosch Performance Speed motor, Magura MT4 disc brakes, assistance up to 28 mph
New Charger mountain: Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 20 mph), Shimano Deore XT 11-speed, Shimano Deore XT disc brakes

New Charger Features:

[*]Bosch Performance CX or Bosch Performance Speed Motor
[*]36V / 500-watt battery
[*]Three Available Sizes
[*]4 Models Available
[*]Available colors: Electric Blue Metallic, Urban Blue Metallic
[*]MSRP: $5469 (starting price)

Available Configurations:

Supercharger GT touring: Ultimate riding pleasure: Bosch Performance CX motor, Shimano Deore XT 11-speed, Shimano Deore XT disc brakes, suspension fork, assistance up to 20 mph
Supercharger GT touring HS*: Like the Supercharger GT touring with a Bosch Performance Speed motor, Magura MT4 disc brakes, and assistance up to 28 mph
Supercharger GH nuvinci: Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 20 mph), NuVinci hub gear, Gates belt drive, Magura MT4 disc brakes
Supercharger GT nuvinci HS*: Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 28mph), NuVinci hub gear, Gates belt drive, Magura MT4 disc brakes
Supercharger GX rohloff: For trips and expeditions: Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 20 mph), Rohloff 14-speed hub gear, Gates belt drive, Shimano Deore XT disc brakes
Supercharger GX rohloff HS*: Like the Supercharger GX Rohloff with Bosch Performance Speed motor (assistance up to 28 mph), Magura MT4 disc brakes Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 20 mph), Shimano Deore XT 11-speed, Fox suspension fork, Shimano Deore XT disc brakes

SuperCharger Features:

[*]Bosch Performance CX or Performance Speed Motor
[*]Two 36V / 500-watt batteries
[*]Three Available Sizes
[*]4 Models Available
[*]Available colors: Electric Blue Metallic, Urban Blue Metallic
[*]MSRP: $5699 (starting price)

2 weeks ago

As the op of this thread who felt vey similar these are my thoughts after almost 400 miles.

My bike is a hardtail and the decision was easy since the closest FS haibike was a mid level Fullnine Sduro and the best price I got was $2800 so I got my cross RC for $1800 which is a hardtail but with bosch cx system and I am loving it so far.

That being said right now the same Fullnine 5.0 can be had for around $2000 or less and the 6.0 is like 2.500 allmountain is 2600 or sth like that and it would have been a very hard choice.

Here is what I can tell you, your bike's reliability will depend on where and how you ride it. If you buy a FS bike but use it for commuting I see no reason why it should be less durable than a hardtail. These bikes are heavy and going from FS to hardtail brings you almost nothing but takes away some comfort which you want if you are commuting. If you want to take the bike to trails regularly then you should just pay a little extra and get 6.0 with much better components + 500W battery. My choice today would have been one of those $2500 FS haibikes with rock shox forks and components. They will be durable and capable and you wont be paying a premium just for the motor instead you are getting a really nice bicycle with a motor.

And yes I would take a high quality FS bike with Yamaha over Bosch system. Don't get me wrong I think Bosch is better but not so much to negate a FS bicycle with quality suspension.

This is a great time to buy. Enjoy.

3 weeks ago

Very sad. A premium system, premium price, reletively small sales, not enough capital to survive the ups and downs of the ebike business in North America.

A similar story is Haibike in 2017 doubled units for sale in N.A., and now there's a surplus for sale at rock bottom prices. They have a parent company with deep pockets to survive the gamble. In a way many bikes sold here at bargain prices are being subsidised by European sales. Maybe Bionx can be picked up by one of the big players in the biz.

Thomas Jaszewski
3 weeks ago

Having purchased dozens of BMS and PCB units there's no great mystery, and little or no R&D done by companies like those discussed. Bosch, Yamaha, and their ilk, yes, but bikes as end products, 99% of the stuff is off the shelf. Readily accessible prices have come down but I paid pretty much the same price for my last 300 cells as I paid for the state of the art 4 years ago. This is the one instance where I agree with those claiming to have pushed prices lower. Battery pack prices have been artificially inflated and continue to be. Anyone today can buy a premium cell for $4. Buying quantities has always beed cheaper. 4 years ago 2900Mah was king, today only 3500. No big glaring change.

Chase down the largest case makers and you'll find there is no special sauce....

Isaiah Yhomas
3 months ago

I’ve ridden this bike and man let me tell you the suspension is terrible. I’ve seen suspensions on Walmart value bikes to have better than this.

Lucia Scannicchio
4 months ago

Good morning! Could you tell please how much it cost this nice folding electric bike? Where I can buy it this bike? Looking forward to receive your reply back. Thanks for sharing this nice video. Have a good day!

Billy Shea
4 months ago

buy a quick release for your keys motorcycle guys do this. locks are locks. clippable rings are easy to swap. nice review. thanks

Steven James DeBlasi
4 months ago

I'm trying to decide between this bike or the RadMini.

Isaiah Yhomas
3 months ago

Steven James DeBlasi Rad mini no brainer. This is more of a female bike.

David A
7 months ago

My battery is blocked cuz I lost keys, another way beside going to a locksmith, options please ?

Rob T
8 months ago

PRICE? you forgot to give that.

8 months ago

Rob T They mentioned it at the beginning, are you serious? Any way it's 1899 and the classic is 1299

Josiah Vergonio
8 months ago

so, this bike can go up to 25 mph with pedal assist?? does the Voltbike Mariner also go up to 25 mph with pedal assist? I don't understand why this goes up to 25 mph, isn't 20 mph the legal limit?

Roger Ferreira Batista
9 months ago

Will there be some model that I can drag instead having to lift after folding to take inside subway and supermarkets. Does this model perform this function?

Aqua Gods
10 months ago

I just wish i knew which one to buy... So many on the market right now. Can't wait till we can start narrowing down the big players of the ebike. Honestly with the laws restricting top speed I feel reliability and distance are the most important factors. I have a feeling there is going to be endless hours of research.....................

11 months ago

The motor noise is really annoying ,imagine it like constant mosquito sound on all your tours

12 months ago

Finally a 500 watt folder.

Chris King
1 year ago

Batteries that are not integrated into the bike look amazingly ugly, especially in these smaller fold bikes.

Mark S
1 year ago

Not crazy about the looks but the versatility is amazing... Does the frame flex, considering it is a folding style??? What is the approximate range??

1 year ago

Wondering how the initial take off is. Does it sweep you off your feet or is it more intuitive? I think I have a similar hub motor(Volt Mariner) and just wondering if it's been dialed in different with the controller. I love mine but realize it can zip you off in a hurry and that may not be the best for a more tentative rider. Looking for my folks. Thanks :)

1 year ago


Dale Wildey
1 year ago

I like the step through bikes the most. So many options out there. It's really exciting to see what's going on with bicycles and tricycles today. The electric bikes stepped everything up to a new level

Peter Kenyon
1 year ago

I love folding e-bikes. The 20 inch wheels are great for getting around. I hardly ever fold the bike, I just love the geometry (no neck pain) and the step through. I'll always be a small wheel devotee. Thanks for the vids. Keep up the exceptional work.

1 year ago

what is the folding dimensions of the bike and the weight ? thanks
1 year ago

The weight is listed back with the specs on the website and it's 61.3 lbs. I did not get the folding dimensions... sorry :O

Mathew Davis
1 year ago

Hey Court, have you ever used the Genesis folding bike? Matt

1 year ago

Marvelous video, and what an impressive folding ebike. Folding bikes are my preference(I own 2, non-electric), this one is awesome. Camera question, your videos images are very stable, even when you were jogging, the image stabilization was rock solid. What kind of camera(or phone) did you use? Thanks for your work, when it comes to ebike reviews, you are unrivaled. Thanks for putting it out there.
1 year ago

Hey JohhnyPump (cool name btw) I use a motorized handheld gimbal with GoPros and some deadcat mic fur to reduce wind noise. These are the exact items:
- GoPro 4 Silver with Memory Card (Bundle)
- Deadcat Sticker
- 3 Axis Motorized Gimbal