Magnum Premium Review

Magnum Premium Electric Bike Review
Magnum Premium
Magnum Premium 500 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Magnum Premium 48 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery Pack
Magnum Premium Ergonomic Grips Das Kit Display And Buttons
Magnum Premium Rst Carve Suspension Fork
Magnum Premium Tektro Mechanical Disc Brakes
Magnum Premium Stand Alone Spanninga Rear Light On Rack
Magnum Premium 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Premium Battery Handle Led Charge Indicator
Magnum Premium Selle Royal Look In Gel Saddle
Magnum Premium Folding Ebike In Trunk Of Car
Magnum Premium Portable 2 Amp Charger
Magnum Premium Electric Bike Review
Magnum Premium
Magnum Premium 500 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Magnum Premium 48 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery Pack
Magnum Premium Ergonomic Grips Das Kit Display And Buttons
Magnum Premium Rst Carve Suspension Fork
Magnum Premium Tektro Mechanical Disc Brakes
Magnum Premium Stand Alone Spanninga Rear Light On Rack
Magnum Premium 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Premium Battery Handle Led Charge Indicator
Magnum Premium Selle Royal Look In Gel Saddle
Magnum Premium Folding Ebike In Trunk Of Car
Magnum Premium Portable 2 Amp Charger

Summary

  • A folding speed pedelec (capable of ~25 mph) that also offers throttle on demand, you get plenty of power from a 500 Watt hub motor and 48 Volt 13 amp hour battery pack
  • Two frame styles and four color choices let you personalize the product a bit, folding mechanisms have locks for safety, I like the reflective tires and LED lights even though they require separate batteries
  • Cast Aluminum rims can handle more weight than spokes and won't go out of true or break as easily, decent suspension fork, seat post shock, ergonomic grips and gel saddle enhance comfort
  • With so many features the bike weighs more at ~61 lbs, the kickstand would stay out of the way better if mounted towards the rear vs. bottom bracket, key must be left in to ride

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Magnum

Model:

Premium

Price:

$1,899

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

61.3 lbs (27.8 kg)

Battery Weight:

9.2 lbs (4.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.5 lbs (3.85 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

15" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 14.5" or 22.5" Stand Over Height, 65.5" Length

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

Gloss White with Blue Accents, Matte Black with Blue Accents, Gloss White with Orange Accents, Matte Black with Orange Accents

Frame Fork Details:

RST Carve Suspension with Preload Adjustment, 60 mm Travel, 9 mm Axle with Nuts

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shimano RevoShift Grip Twist on Right

Cranks:

Prowheel SOLID, 165 mm Length, 52T Chainring with Aluminum Alloy Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo K20410, Folding Plastic Platform

Headset:

Neco 1 1/8"

Stem:

Aluminum Alloy, Folding with QR Telescoping Height (10" to 13")

Handlebar:

Low-Rise, 24" Length, Aluminum Alloy

Brake Details:

Tektro Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Rubberized Edge and Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Ergonomic Stitched

Saddle:

Selle Royal Look In Gel, Oversized with Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Basic Suspension, Flip-Up Saddle Clamp

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Solid Aluminum Alloy, Black

Spokes:

Cast Radial Support Arms

Tire Brand:

CST, 20" x 2.125"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripes, 40-65 PSI, Nylon

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Flick Bell, Rear Rack with Pannier Blockers and Spring Latch 25 kg Max Weight (55 lbs), Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand, Metal Derailleur Guard, Aluminum Alloy Fenders with Mud Flaps, Independent Spanninga GaLeo Headlight (2 AA Batteries), Independent Spanninga Back Light (2 AA Batteries), Support Bar on Bottom Bracket

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 9 Mosfet 14 Amp Current Controller, 1.5 lb 2 Amp Charger, Max Weight Rated at 240 lbs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

700 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung, Panasonic or LG

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

624 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Manganese (Li-NCM)

Charge Time:

6.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Das-Kit Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Power Level (Power, Normal, Eco), Pedal Assist (0-6), Odometer, Time, Trip 1, Trip 2, Speed, Voltage, Battery Level (1-5), (Press Power Once for Backlighting, Hold Set for Menu)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (Power, Set, +, -)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

25 mph (40 kph) (20 mph Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Magnum Premium is an interesting folding electric bike… Not only is it powerful with a 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery configuration, it’s also sturdy and fast. Rather than spoked wheels, which tend to be stronger at the 20″ size to begin with, they chose cast Aluminum 20″ wheels setup like mag wheels. And instead of a standard 6 Mosfet controller, the Premium uses 9 Mosfets which can handle 14 Amps of Current vs. just 10 or 12. During the ride test, I had one of the company’s co-founders, Jesse, hop on and ride around the parking lot. Even with his 6’3″ height and 200+ body weight, the bike worked fine. Smaller wheels offer a mechanical advantage to hub motors, which tend to be easier on drivetrains than mid-drives. You’re getting a zippy compact platform here which is great for space savings but it is not light. Weighing in at 61+ lbs, it’s worth taking a couple of minutes to remove the 9 lb battery before lifting. And even though the frame only comes in one size, there are two different styles (a mid-step and the deep wave step-thru shown in the video and images above). Both come with a longer suspension seat post and adjustable stem for increased height. This is a big deal if you’re a taller rider, I felt great on the bike at 5’9″ myself and I have longer legs. In short, the bike felt comfortable and solid which is very important given the higher assisted top speed of roughly 25 mph. Again, it’s an interesting folding e-bike because it delivers a platform that is truly capable as a speed pedelec and might be great for commuting if you’ve got limited space… Wheel it into work, fold it up under your desk and charge it there vs. locking it up at the rack?

Driving this electric bike is an 8Fun internally geared hub motor sealed inside the rear wheel. It puts out between 500 and 700 watts and produces a bit more whirring noise than weaker options. I found it to be zippy and capable, it switched on very fast in pedal assist mode thanks to a precise cadence sensor mounted near the left crank arm (around the spindle). The sensor used here is compact and sealed compared to the larger discs with visible magnets. I imagine it would stay cleaner and get bumped less easily which translates to more reliable operation. As highlighted earlier, the motor is backed up with a 48 volt batter, more mosfets in the controller and higher current thruput. If you’re a larger rider or someone who plans to carry gear on the rack, this is a great thing.

Powering the motor and backlit display, but not the lights, is a 48 volt 13 amp hour battery pack mounted just behind the seat tube. To me, this is way above average in terms of capacity and very impressive to see on a folding electric bike. Depending on how you ride, the bike should get excellent range. Stick to the first few levels of pedal assist and under 20 mph for truly optimal performance. Note that the trigger throttle, mounted near the left grip, cuts out at 20 mph for legal reasons but that you can reach the higher speeds using the top level of assist, level 6. The battery pack is painted black which matches the saddle, rims and tires and it slides onto the frame easily. I felt it lock securely and noticed a 5 Volt USB power outlet on the right side. This would be handy for charging a portable electronic device stored in one of the panniers or a trunk bag but you could also string a longer USB cord across the frame with zip ties if you wanted to mount something to the handle bars. Just be careful near the folding point on the frame and dull the edges of cut zip ties so they don’t scratch and cut your legs while pedaling. A couple of downsides for the battery is that it doesn’t power the lights and that you must leave the key in while it’s being used. The key is mostly out of the way but might jingle if connected to a chain or other keys… this is quite common with the style of battery housing used here (called a Silver Fish in the industry). I like that Magnum fills the pack with premium cells (from Samsung, LG or Panasonic depending on supply) and that it has a handle and LED indicator on top. Another huge win is the flip-forward saddle mount which allows you to take the pack off without removing the seat and seat post. And when you do adjust the seat post, I noticed that the clamp is angled to the side so the lever won’t scratch the battery pack or collide with it… very smart.

Operating the bike is a multi-step process and one of the areas where improvements could be made. You have to press a little power button or switch on both lights, then turn the key to on in the battery pack then press a power button on the control pad. That’s four steps and it’s easier to miss one when parking or folding the bike. Perhaps you leave a light on and it runs out of juice? Perhaps you start folding and bump the trigger throttle which spins the wheel? These are areas to keep an eye on. All that aside, I do like the display panel and all of the options Magnum has offered. The throttle works at all times, even in assist level zero which I call “throttle only mode”. Arrowing up and down through assist is easy to do without taking your left hand off the grip because of the remote button pad. The trigger throttle on the left is a bit trickier to reach depending on where you mount it (behind the brake lever or in front of it closer to the grip). Given how responsive assist is, I’m not sure I’d use the throttle as much with this bike and fully appreciate that the brakes are higher quality disc style with rubberized levers that have motor inhibitors built in. And while I’d love to see hydraulic disc brakes, I appreciate the lower price point that they hit with this e-bike… again, compromises had to be made here and there so I get it.

The Magnum Premium comes with everything you need to commute, rain or shine, but it is a more advanced electric bike. With an always-active trigger throttle and higher top speed, I see this as a perfect option for commuters and younger riders (or those with more weight). Remember, you can tone down the power and speed by changing the six levels of assist but the throttle will always be ready with full up to 20 mph. I love this style of setup because I can save energy riding at lower assist then zoom up a hill or past another riding simply by pressing the throttle for a few moments. Note that the Aluminum fenders felt solid and didn’t make a lot of noise while riding on bumpy terrain. The rack uses standard gauge tubing which should work with panniers and other standard accessories and you could use the USB port on the battery to add additional lights if you wanted. I’m impressed with all of the frame and color options here and appreciate that Magnum now has 70+ dealers in the US who can let you take a test ride and help with service and warranty stuff. The bike comes with one year comprehensive and the company has been around globally for five plus years.

Pros:

  • One of the most noticeable and coolest features about this folding ebike, at least to me!, is the cast Aluminum wheelset which can support more weight and won’t go out of true the way traditional spokes might
  • I love that Magnum sells two versions of this bike, mid-step and wave step-thru, both are relatively easy to mount but might appeal to different tastes (I reviewed the wave style because it has the lowest downtube)
  • Four color combinations make it fun, you could get a set of these for your family and easily keep track of who owns which bike, my favorite is the white because it is the most visible for night riding
  • Solid rack with a full 25 kg max weight rating, I like the little spring latch for quick cargo additions and love that the battery is mounted to the frame leaving the rack clear vs. some older designs
  • This is a minor plus but I noticed how the seat tube and collar were twisted a bit so the quick release tab wouldn’t collide with the battery pack when fully closed! This is a wonderful attention to detail
  • I love the included lights and reflective tires but wish that the lights ran off the main battery pack, they are higher quality builds however (both from Spanninga)
  • The folding points seemed very reliable thanks to locking mechanisms (there’s even a spring run through the frame to help with alignment and unfolding if you’re by yourself)
  • Sturdy metal plates sandwich the chainring acting as protection when folded (along with a metal support arm directly below the bottom bracket), the metal plates also act as a guide, keeping the chain on track if you’re riding over bumpy terrain… this is especially important in throttle mode and when riding on bumpy terrain at high speed
  • Capable of ~25 mph top speeds (in pedal assist mode) this is one of the very few speed pedelec folding e-bikes I have ever seen and would work well for some people who want to commute faster
  • Excellent drive mode control here with throttle only mode, throttle override (with full power) and six levels of assist… just be careful to turn it off before folding or you could bump the throttle and have the bike take off
  • At under $2k I feel like this bike is priced well, especially because it comes with all the accessories you need for commuting (rack, sturdy Aluminum fenders and lights)
  • Mechanical disc brakes are a good upgrade from rim brakes because they stay cleaner and don’t wear out as fast, the brake levers on the Magnum Premium have motor inhibitors so you stop safer and don’t compete with the power of the bike
  • Smaller wheels keep the bike compact for folding but aren’t as comfortable as larger ones so it’s great that you get a mid-level suspension fork, suspension seat post and large gel saddle… it really makes a difference at speed and on longer journies
  • Telescoping stem offers more height options to improve the ride for taller people (the bike only comes in one size after all), don’t stretch it all the way up however because the cables can get stretched and messed up when steering if so
  • You can charge the battery on or off the frame with this bike and I love how easy it is to take off! The saddle flips forward and the slide and locking mechanisms just seemed to work here vs. some other folders I’ve tested
  • I really like the cadence sensor they chose for this pedelec, it’s not a big disc with exposed magnets (easier to bump and mess up), this thing is compact and sealed from water and mud but still very responsive
  • The fold point mid-frame does bulge out a little but is positioned much lower than some other e-bikes so I feel like it wouldn’t bruise your thigh as easily (this was an issue my girlfriend had with some of the folding fat bikes we tested)
  • I like that the battery features a USB charging port on the side so you can fill your phone, GPS or music player… in some ways I’d like it up by the handlebars but on the other hand, it’s very close to the rear rack so your gear could be charging while stored, consider buying a right angle USB dongle like one of these to keep it out of the way
  • The charger is pretty compact and very lightweight at ~1.5 lbs, the plug end for the bike is metal which seems tougher if it was dropped or stepped on, I’d probably bring it along all the time and just keep it in a trunk bag on the rack
  • I love the brake levers they chose for the Premium, you get a tiny (but loud!) integrated bell on the left and the levers themselves have a rubberized edge for comfort
  • Generally speaking, this is one of the most powerful folding electric bikes around given the 500 Watt motor, 9 Mosfet controller with 14 Amp thruput and 48 Volt battery, it was able to move Jesse who is a larger rider (6’3″ at 230 lbs), up hills as shown in the video review above

Cons:

  • The folding plastic pedals are light, inexpensive and compact but not as stiff or durable as some Aluminum ones I’ve seen, given the “premium” price and features found elsewhere on the bike this is one area that could be improved… or you could add some like this aftermarket
  • Weighing in at over 60 lbs, this is one of the heavier electric bikes out there (folding or otherwise) due in part to the cast wheels, suspension fork and larger battery… but at least the battery is removable so you can subtract ~9 lbs when moving the frame
  • Neither wheel offers quick release which means you’ll need tools to fix flats or break the bike down further (for super compactness), one positive here is that they’re less likely to be tampered with or stolen when parked
  • While I love the adjustable length feature of the kickstand, I wish it was mounted further back on the frame from the crank arms because it collides (especially when walking the bike backwareds as the cranks turn themselves)
  • Both lights require two AA batteries and must be switched on separately (that adds time and makes them easy to leave on accidentally to drain overnight or during the day when parked at a bike rack), the lights also don’t have flashing modes or other settings besides on/off
  • The key must be left in the battery pack in order to operate this bike, it’s positioned mostly out of the way but could jingle if you have a chain or other keys connected
  • The display looks great but isn’t removable, you can angle it forward and back to reduce glare but it could get scratched at a rack or weather worn being left on all the time
  • This is a minor con but the drivetrain is entry-level, with seven speeds you’re getting enough range to climb but might not keep up at the ~25 mph level, Shimano Tourney components work well enough but might need more tuneups, I love that they included a derailleur guard to protect it when folded
  • One way their folding design could be improved is with a rubber latch or maybe some magnets to keep the bike from coming unfolded during transport… this might also reduce banging and rattling as it flops around due to vibrations in your car trunk, plane, boat or whatever

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Magnum Reviews

Magnum Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A handsome, cruiser style electric bike with neatly integrated cables, strong alloy fenders, a clean plastic chain cover, and uniquely designed rear cargo rack, everything matches. Emphasis on comfort for the rider with soft Big Ben balloon tires, an extra-wide saddle…...

Magnum Metro Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An approachable, mid-step, high-speed, urban electric bike with six levels of pedal assist plus throttle mode that can override with full power. Fairly comfortable with larger tires, a basic suspension fork, and cheap seat post shock... the…...

Magnum Classic Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A feature-packed folding electric bike with lots of accessories and multiple color options, great price point and warranty, available through dealers or the Magnum online store. Sturdy folding mechanisms with security locks emphasize safety, reflective tires and LED lights keep you…...

Magnum Peak Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high speed electric hardtail with with throttle on demand, hydraulic disc brakes and an extra large battery for $2k, all around good value with a 24 speed drivetrain. Optional rear rack for $50 transform the Peak into a sporty commuter, only one frame…...

Magnum Ui5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A beautifully designed, purpose built, affordable electric bike well suited to urban riding or commuting. Step-thru frame is easy to mount but relatively stiff thanks to a double tube mid-section,…...

Magnum Mi5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A value priced hardtail electric bike that's trail ready with a basic suspension fork, knobby tires and 21 speeds. Average sized 350 watt motor paired with slightly larger 36 volt 13 amp hour battery…...


Nirmala
8 months ago

Nice to see Magnum upgrading some of the features on their newer ebikes. I love my Ui5, but I do wish it had the throttle with full power at all times, the higher voltage battery and some other features found on this new model. Ebikes just keep getting better!

Reply
Court Rye
8 months ago

I see Magnum making incremental upgrades to their products and it’s exciting to think of where it will lead. Even today, I feel like you get a lot more bang for your buck than just a year or two ago. And yes, with the throttle settings and better display I like how it empowers riders to choose vs. limiting them or requiring extras steps. In short though, it sounds like you’re enjoying your Ui5 and I’m glad to hear that :D

Reply
Susan
8 months ago

Hi Court, I love your website and your video reviews! I’m short (5’1″) and a big fan of non-elecric folding bikes, and this is the first folding electric which has peaked my interest. I live in a hilly area of Northern San Diego, and wanted to know if you would recommend this bike for hilly areas.
Thanks in advance for your reply!

Reply
Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Susan! Yeah, the Magnum Premium could be a good fit for your area. It’s much more powerful than the average hub motor driven folder, priced pretty well and comes in that deep step-thru configuration. As noted in the review, it’s heavy but depending on your needs (and a bit of help) it can work great for a wide range of uses. I continue to hear great things from shops and owners about Magnum and am seeing their brand grow significantly in the US which also gives me confidence. I hope this helps! You could also chime in at the EBR forums and ask for feedback, maybe people who already own their products will share.

Reply
Mark M
6 months ago

For a folding e-bike, this is a rather heavy bike at 61 lbs. The primary purpose of folding is going to be ability to put in compact spaces, carry on a train, or easily place in a car, or easily carry up steps into apmt or condo, so this ebike is a just not a very viable candidate for those purposes. Also, at 500 watts, and 48 volts its way more power than an ebike with those size tires and the likely speeds anyone would want to travel at, especially for the purposes of what most foldables are chosen for. The price point is also a few hundred dollars more, than more viable and purpose designed foldables. I’ve tried this and the Blix Vika’s and felt the Vika’s were actually sturdier, and gave a more confident and secure ride. Plus their models are 48 lbs and 36 lbs, respectively, which better suits the purposes most riders searching for foldables are seeking.

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Thanks for chiming in and sharing your experiences Mark! I appreciate your perspective and am sure others will too. I like the Blix products and was excited to also see the lower powered, less expensive Magnum Classic as an alternative to the Premium here :)

Reply
Eric S
5 months ago

I went and bought one of these, and it’s been very nice- one thing I wish they had was a manual that reflected the actual bike’s screen, which is not at all what they show in the manual. I’m trying to figure it out as I go… it appears that the 20-inch wheels may be limited to a top speed of 20 miles an hour, but I’m not sure what that screen is. I think it’s the 4th one… it shows 2 numbers, one of which seems to change the bike’s top pedaling speed, the other of which I’m not sure about. Possibly wheel size? Scratching my head here.

Aside from the instruction manual not helping at all with learning the settings, it’s a good bike. The rear wheel’s not easy to remove if you get a flat there, and the tire takes patience to get back on afterward. As far as flats go, the folding is a godsend if you need to call someone to come pick you up and get out of the rainy roadside.

But on the positive side, the range I’m getting out of it is at LEAST 40 miles with pedal assist, and around 2 bars of battery left after a day of riding. It’s been handy for small grocery runs and has given me the freedom to commute locally, which is a good thing for someone without a car and no public transport in town.
20 MPH has been a good, serviceable top speed for me. It’d be nice to get it a little faster as advertised, but I’m fine with this.

I don’t find myself using the throttle for more than short bursts, at times when I want to get off the line quickly such as crossing roads or starting on steep slopes.

Pedal assist 2-4 are most comfortable for me in terms of just riding around, 1 is good for starting up or just taking my time, and 5-6 are nice and effortless ways to get somewhere fast.

I’ve used the USB charging from the battery, and my Samsung Note 4 tells me this battery is only capable of slow charging- turns out to be maybe half the speed of its normal charger, if that. But getting 40% of my phone’s battery recharged did not seem to tax or noticeably drain the Magnum’s battery at all, so for topping off electronics or charging stuff like a Kindle as I ride to my favorite reading spot is perfectly doable.

On another note, no reading or texting on-bike: even without doing these things I managed to WHUMP! myself into a signpost and a parked car in the month I’ve had it. The bike and I were both fine after each incident, aside from the usual shattered-dignity bit. :)

I tend to ride my bike in Eco mode (Settings screen 5- hold Set, press Set until you reach screen 5, and press minus to toggle between the three modes), just because I want this battery to last, and because so far I can’t tell a difference between that and Normal in terms of acceleration or top speed. Still trying to figure this one out. I’m not sure how Power mode differs either.

It’s a fun bike, and is turning out to be pretty practical whenever it’s not outright raining (in which case no bike of mine is going outside for long.) I’ve even gotten some interested questions from strangers at the bike rack. It’s weird how much more expensive people around me tend to think it is, and how much slower and shorter-range. It feels good to give ’em a pleasant surprise with “Yes, it’s electric. …20 miles an hour, 40+ miles range. …Yes, it folds. …$2000 including tax.”

Reply
vik Kaminskas
4 weeks ago

Hi Court … Vik from down under… How do I get a couple to Australia with out the price of another bike as postage…??? A his and hers package…!!! I’m 100 odd KG and the missus is about 70ish ,so a Classic would do her, or stick to both premiums for the better suspension and bibs and bobs…???

Over to you Courty me old mate… vik… Adelaide South Australia…

Reply
Court Rye
3 weeks ago

Hi Vik! Sorry for the late reply, I just got back from Interbike and am playing catch up. I could be mistaken, but I believe Magnum may be offering some of their products in Australia. Perhaps you could reach out and ask them and get connected, then you could get the bikes and not have to pay all of that shipping. Let me know what you find, I can help reach the company if they don’t reply to you for some reason :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

ethy
2 days ago

In regard to the das-kit C6 display and controller (of the Magnum 48V premium) and the PAS levels:
1. What is the the effect of these levels setting: speed or Wattage limits?
2. Do they affect the use of the throttle?
3. Do they affect the 6 KpH walk mode?

Verde
2 weeks ago

SIMI VALLEY, Calif. (Interbike 2017) – Raleigh Electric, maker of industry-leading electric bikes, designs ebikes around one simple idea: make them really, really fun. That core value continues in its newly unveiled 2018 bikes that will debut at the Interbike trade show next week in Las Vegas.

So much of our lives are focused on getting from point A to B, why shouldn’t we enjoy the ride while we get there? Raleigh Electric’s bikes bring the harmony of design, tech, performance, and comfort together, and are purpose-built with premium materials for every type of riding. All of Raleigh Electric’s ebikes are designed with “integrated Electronic” (iE) drive system technologies and are designed to be electrified. For 2018, the brand introduces seven new ready-to-ride models that will get your heart pumping and spike your fun level on pavement and dirt.

Lore iE (MSRP: $4,199)
If you want a fast-moving steed that meshes performance and style with average speeds of 25 MPH without breaking a sweat, look no further than the Lore iE. Combining 27.5-inch wheels with plus size tires for confidence and speed, a Bosch CX Speed motor for up to 28 MPH of pedal-assist power, Shimano drivetrain, and a 120mm RockShox Judy fork for supple suspension, the Lore tackles on-and-off road terrain with ease, and is truly an ebike for the ages.

Lore iE

Lore iE

Tamland iE (MSRP: $4,399)
Watch out, because the new drop-bar Tamland iE is going to raise some eyebrows – while also raising your game on the road and trail. This ebike was born from a desire to explore. With an integrated 500W Brose motor housed neatly in the downtube, the sleek ebike handles smooth roads with speed and singletrack with confidence. With 27.5-inch tires, pedal-assist speed up to 28 MPH, and an adventure-inspired SRAM drivetrain, if you can imagine a place to ride your bike, the Tamland will take you there.

Tamland iE

Kodiak Pro iE (MSRP: $TBD) & Kodiak iE (MSRP: $4,599)
The Kodiak Pro iE is hands down the perfect eMTB to calm the most rugged of terrain. Built with a Bosch Performance CX motor that brings pedal-assist speeds up to 28 MPH, and utilizing some of the best components from the most proven manufacturers, the Kodiak Pro is truly a sum of its parts. Featuring a lightweight 6061 Aluminum frame, 27.5-inch plus-sized wheels, 130mm of full-suspension travel, and the industry’s only ebike-specific groupset – SRAM’s eMTB super robust EX1 8-speed drivetrain with an 11-48 rear cassette – the Kodiak Pro oozes with the confidence of a muscle car while providing the gear range of a tractor. Its sibling – the Kodiak – delivers all the same performance and riding fun, with the major difference being components and a lower entry price point.

Kodiak Pro iE

Kodiak iE

Tokul Pro iE (MSRP: $TBD) & Tokul iE (MSRP: $3,499)
Lightweight carbon frame. Bosch Performance CX 500Wh motor integrated into the downtube. Ebike-specific SRAM EX1 drivetrain. These – among other attributes – are what make the new high-performance Tokul Pro eMTB one of the lightest, fastest, most tech-savvy bikes on the market. Equipped with 27.5-inch tires, an Enduro-inspired geometry, 120mm of RockShox full-suspension, and 8-speed drivetrain, the Tokul Pro is as nimble as eMTB’s come, and provides efficient uphill momentum on singletrack with quick maneuverability and handling on the down. Swap out component packages and the carbon frame for aluminum alloy, and the Tokul iE is one fun eMTB that comes in at an excellent value.

Tokul Pro iE

Tokul iE

Tokul iE

Magnus iE (MSRP: $3,499)
Rounding out Raleigh Electric’s 2018 trail-inspired ebike line, the Magnus iE fat bike easily crushing miles on sand, snow, or dirt. Touting a Bosch Performance CX motor, 26-inch wheels with 4-inch fat tires, lightweight aluminum frame, and disc brakes, the Magnus powers through just about any condition in its way. Whether you’re loaded up for packing into a hunting blind or rolling through town for a beer and a burger, the Magnus always goes big while bringing with it performance and comfort.

Magnus iE

Raleigh Electric is also leading the charge in helping preserve our environment with its new, first in the cycling industry Call2Recycle battery-recycling program. Batteries contain hazardous materials, and if dumped or disposed of incorrectly the harmful elements can find their way into our water sources and adds to pollution. The program disposes of old batteries in an environmentally responsible manner, and collection sites are located throughout the U.S. and Canada. After collecting and sorting, the batteries are processed and turned into new batteries, stainless steel products, and other products. For more, please check:call2recycle.org.

About Raleigh Electric
Our electric bicycles are designed around one simple idea: make them really, really fun. This is an idea that inspired our very first bicycles back in 1887 and continues to inspire how we do things today. After all, fun makes people happy. And, that’s something we proudly stand behind. Raleigh Electric is included in a family of brands that is part of the world’s largest electric bike supplier, Accell Group, so you can count on quality, reliability, and value. And, it’s easy to find a bike dealer whenever you need service or have questions about your electric bike. For more, check: raleighelectric.com.

MEDIA CONTACT: Keith Cozzens, Verde Brand Communications, keith@verdepr.com, 970-259-3555 x122

1/11
Ravi Kempaiah
2 weeks ago

Hi all, I am trying to narrow down the choices for a solid commuter and would greatly appreciate any input.

We had the opportunity to test ride BULLS six50 e2 street and lacuba e45 side by side, and they are both fantastic rides. From a brief test ride in a suburb they seem more or less equivalent, and spec-wise they are also similar. Do any of you have a word to put in for either?

These two bikes feel premium, and go for around $4k. My next question is if anyone had the opportunity to test ride any bike with similar characteristics (28mph, suspension) in a slightly lower segment, say $2.5-$3k, and have an opinion on the marginal value of the last $1000 invested?

For the record my commute is ~10mi one way, a few hundred feet up and down, paved but not super smooth. I do it on road bike, but want to save some time, my knees, and not be sweaty every day. I am willing to invest in a good commute, but I am really curious about what those last $1000 buys.

Thanks!

Lacuba E45 has a much bigger battery (650 vs 500 on the E2 street).
I would recommend the E2 street. You could make it ~50lbs if you change the front forks. You could run 12V Supernova M99 lights and you could carry an extra 400 or 500 powerpacks.
You could also look at Trek Xm700+ https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/electric-bikes/xm700/xm700/p/1982140-2018/?colorCode=black

jonase
2 weeks ago

Hi all, I am trying to narrow down the choices for a solid commuter and would greatly appreciate any input.

We had the opportunity to test ride BULLS six50 e2 street and lacuba e45 side by side, and they are both fantastic rides. From a brief test ride in a suburb they seem more or less equivalent, and spec-wise they are also similar. Do any of you have a word to put in for either?

These two bikes feel premium, and go for around $4k. My next question is if anyone had the opportunity to test ride any bike with similar characteristics (28mph, suspension) in a slightly lower segment, say $2.5-$3k, and have an opinion on the marginal value of the last $1000 invested?

For the record my commute is ~10mi one way, a few hundred feet up and down, paved but not super smooth. I do it on road bike, but want to save some time, my knees, and not be sweaty every day. I am willing to invest in a good commute, but I am really curious about what those last $1000 buys.

Thanks!

bob armani
2 weeks ago

Both of you are right about the lack of E-Bike shops in many areas. It's why I opened an e-Bike only shop here in Chicago metro area back in 2015, as unbelievably there were no other e-bike shops within 100 miles, and amazingly even the few regular bike shops who carried them, only typically had a couple on the floor at any given time. Even a major multi-location bike store in Chicago, who showed many e-bikes on a web-site would only have a handful at a couple locations, and none at some. You have to have more than a couple dozen at least for people to ride, try out, compare and contrast. I now get customers from as far north as Madison WI, to as far east as Grand Rapids MI, and as far south as St. Louis. St. Louis is a 4.5 hour drive. Trek stores nearby refuse to even carry e-bikes, despite them having two decent e-bike brands to choose from, the Electra and then Trek brand itself. From what I hear its a combination of capital risk, capital amount per ebike, terms, investment in training, and their perceptions that e-bikes don't yet represent enough consistent business to generate the inventory turns you need to remain successful and solvent. Trek stores too, are often not positioned well as many other bike stores aren't to handle e-bike test rides (busy parking lots in strip centers), their rents are super high being in high traffic areas, and their space is limited and often at a high premium. So effectively, they'd have to relocate, or decide which models of regular bikes to eliminate, and since they have been positioning for years with models they know sell well, and what the turn rates are, it is a huge risk to upset that experience. This is going to be true for more than just Trek shops, so the regular bike shop owner deciding to adopt e-bikes, is making a huge investment. Here in the midwest, we are hurt by short warm seasons too, complicating the decision to make investment. Lastly, many regular bike shops are hanging by a thread still, and the industry shake out (started in the 90's) remains on-going, with reports on Bike Retailing showing declines in every category this year (remember this is supposedly a 'robust' economy compared to 07, 08), except e-bikes. PS. None of the Trek bikes have throttles, and per a Trek rep I spoke with recently, likely never will. 'Conservative' and safety conscious brand I suppose.

Hello Mike's Ebikes- FYI-
I live in the Chicago Metro area and I have found PLENTY of ebikes in close proximity. For example: A Superstore and their affiliates (3 locations) have an entire floor dedicated to mostly ebikes for test rides indoors and out. Then there is an Ebike store that sells Faraday, Bionix etc. Then in Crystal Lake, there is an Ebike store that sells many major brands of ebikes to test ride and a new location in Deerfield, IL has opened up: An ebike shop that was at the Chicago Ebike Expo showing in store models for test ride . Another store in Skoike IL (Volton brand) that is dedicated to ebikes only.
A Trek dealer in the downtown area is beginning to stock them as well.Not sure what you are alluding to but we have plenty of choices nearby. Madison WI is the next best place to shop for over 200 selections which is incredible for shopping in the Midwest.

Mike's E-Bikes
2 weeks ago

Both of you are right about the lack of E-Bike shops in many areas. It's why I opened an e-Bike only shop here in Chicago metro area back in 2015, as unbelievably there were no other e-bike shops within 100 miles, and amazingly even the few regular bike shops who carried them, only typically had a couple on the floor at any given time. Even a major multi-location bike store in Chicago, who showed many e-bikes on a web-site would only have a handful at a couple locations, and none at some. You have to have more than a couple dozen at least for people to ride, try out, compare and contrast. I now get customers from as far north as Madison WI, to as far east as Grand Rapids MI, and as far south as St. Louis. St. Louis is a 4.5 hour drive. Trek stores nearby refuse to even carry e-bikes, despite them having two decent e-bike brands to choose from, the Electra and then Trek brand itself. From what I hear its a combination of capital risk, capital amount per ebike, terms, investment in training, and their perceptions that e-bikes don't yet represent enough consistent business to generate the inventory turns you need to remain successful and solvent. Trek stores too, are often not positioned well as many other bike stores aren't to handle e-bike test rides (busy parking lots in strip centers), their rents are super high being in high traffic areas, and their space is limited and often at a high premium. So effectively, they'd have to relocate, or decide which models of regular bikes to eliminate, and since they have been positioning for years with models they know sell well, and what the turn rates are, it is a huge risk to upset that experience. This is going to be true for more than just Trek shops, so the regular bike shop owner deciding to adopt e-bikes, is making a huge investment. Here in the midwest, we are hurt by short warm seasons too, complicating the decision to make investment. Lastly, many regular bike shops are hanging by a thread still, and the industry shake out (started in the 90's) remains on-going, with reports on Bike Retailing showing declines in every category this year (remember this is supposedly a 'robust' economy compared to 07, 08), except e-bikes. PS. None of the Trek bikes have throttles, and per a Trek rep I spoke with recently, likely never will. 'Conservative' and safety conscious brand I suppose.

kola8273
2 weeks ago

I've had my GeoOrbital for two months and put about 200 miles on it in that time. I agree with your review of the wheel but as I'm 6' and 160lbs my experience may be a bit different.
1) The battery mount does indeed allow for too much vibration and movement of the battery and is my biggest complaint. Considering the cost, necessity, and potential safety hazard of a damaged battery, a couple simple and inexpensive improvements, as in your suggestion of a foam layer, would prevent this vibration and provide a much more stable mount.
2) As far as I am able to determine, I am getting near 18-20 miles per charge. This is using assist and in slight hilly terrain, so who knows what actual is. I also regularly pull a trailer full of groceries which sucks power like crazy! I'm satisfied with the battery performance, but I'd agree it's probably not getting the distance GeoOrbital claims.
3) The weight of this wheel does indeed throw a bike wildly out of normal balance. Every time I pick my bike up I still find it shocking, and have to put the bike back down to adjust. In use, however, I hardly notice the added weight and it hasn't affected my steering or braking in any appreciable way. Free peddling, without any assist from the battery, is another story. For myself it is far to exhausting and impractical with this wheel. If I want to ride using only my own power the wheel needs to come off, period.
4) The throttle length is too short and the throw a bit too long, but were easily solved by my attaching a small clothespin style clamp to the throttle adding a necessary inch of length. I use my palm/thumb to adjust speed and am still able to keep hold of the handlebar and apply the brake at the same time.
5) I have no idea if regenerative braking works either, but the resistance the wheel adds when not powered is significant. Hats off to you for being able to free-peddle 5 miles on this thing, no way I'd be able to.
6) The power provided by the battery could be greater, but is adequate for my needs. in fact, It provides enough power that I'm able to pull a grocery-filled trailer, total combined weight of 300lbs, back from the grocery store with little assistance from myself, a distance of six miles and over 100 ' of elevation change. Coming from a stop with this much weight requires assistance from me, but once I get moving the wheel alone can accelerate to and maintain a speed well beyond my comfort zone!

Overall, I love the GeoOrbital and I don't regret its purchase. The cost is high, no doubt. I was able to get a $100 discount simply by emailing GeoOrbital, but still the cost was significant compared to other options. Why I chose to pay the premium cost was the ease of installation, the ability to quickly revert back and forth with hardly any effort, and remove and carry it with me while shopping, etc. so I don't have to worry about losing it to thieves.

Sounds like we have had a similar experience! But I have an update....

Found out mytt 5 mile limitation was not due to battery. There is an internal temp sensor cut-off (or something of that nature), My ride to work is 9 miles of multi-use path. I can just leave the throttle wide open for miles on end. So around the 6th miles i thought the batterry was dying was really the wheel going into safe mode. I had been so tired that day that I just decided to push the bike home, then after about a half hour of walking the wheel came back to life and had over 50% charge still. Soooo I guess I need to give the wheel a break every mile or so to not overheat.... I don't know. I am going to contact geo orbital.

Campfool
2 weeks ago

I bought the geo orbital a while ago. There weren't really any reviews so I had to just take a flying leap. Here's my review;

1) Wheel is solidly constructed. I am not worried about it breaking. The One problem though is the battery pack is loose and vibrates when you ride. This was solved very easily by putting a paper towel wedged in between the frame and the battery. Seems like such a silly problem that would have been so easily fixed in the factory with some foam.

2) There is no way I am getting 20 miles out of this wheel. The most I have gotten is 5 miles. I was worried about this as I am 6'5 and 270lbs, so if you are 150lbs your probably going to get more mileage than I do. I got this wheel to ride to work which is 10 miles one way, I thought since it was rated to get 20 miles, I would be at least able to do 10 given my weight.

3) The weight of the wheel is really annoying. My road bike was very light and easy to move around but after attaching this wheel wrestling this bike in an out of my house is a real chore. This is obviously a drawback to all e-bikes. But it was just surprising how the extra weight affected my overall experience.

4) The throttle ergonomics are horrendous. They designed the throttle to put in any position you can think of on your bike, and I have tried at least 10 different positions. The throw of the throttle is too far, like it moves 90 deg, 30 degs throw would have been fine and less cumbersome. Ideally I would just prefer a push button of simply full throttle or no throttle. The power of this wheel is lacking and I don't need a variable throttle.

5) Regenerative breaking? I don't know what or how that is supposed to work as I have run this thing dry and then I have had to pedal another 5 miles home and the bike did not gain any charge. Riding the bike after the wheel has died is a chore, the ability to disconnect the motor and have the wheel move freely after the battery dies would be a huge improvement.

6) The power is lacking, but that might be my weight.

So I have written a lot of negatives about the wheel but I do like it, it's probably not worth the 995 I paid for it, If the company could fix the complaints I had about the wheel this would be a solid buy

I've had my GeoOrbital for two months and put about 200 miles on it in that time. I agree with your review of the wheel but as I'm 6' and 160lbs my experience may be a bit different.
1) The battery mount does indeed allow for too much vibration and movement of the battery and is my biggest complaint. Considering the cost, necessity, and potential safety hazard of a damaged battery, a couple simple and inexpensive improvements, as in your suggestion of a foam layer, would prevent this vibration and provide a much more stable mount.
2) As far as I am able to determine, I am getting near 18-20 miles per charge. This is using assist and in slight hilly terrain, so who knows what actual is. I also regularly pull a trailer full of groceries which sucks power like crazy! I'm satisfied with the battery performance, but I'd agree it's probably not getting the distance GeoOrbital claims.
3) The weight of this wheel does indeed throw a bike wildly out of normal balance. Every time I pick my bike up I still find it shocking, and have to put the bike back down to adjust. In use, however, I hardly notice the added weight and it hasn't affected my steering or braking in any appreciable way. Free peddling, without any assist from the battery, is another story. For myself it is far to exhausting and impractical with this wheel. If I want to ride using only my own power the wheel needs to come off, period.
4) The throttle length is too short and the throw a bit too long, but were easily solved by my attaching a small clothespin style clamp to the throttle adding a necessary inch of length. I use my palm/thumb to adjust speed and am still able to keep hold of the handlebar and apply the brake at the same time.
5) I have no idea if regenerative braking works either, but the resistance the wheel adds when not powered is significant. Hats off to you for being able to free-peddle 5 miles on this thing, no way I'd be able to.
6) The power provided by the battery could be greater, but is adequate for my needs. in fact, It provides enough power that I'm able to pull a grocery-filled trailer, total combined weight of 300lbs, back from the grocery store with little assistance from myself, a distance of six miles and over 100 ' of elevation change. Coming from a stop with this much weight requires assistance from me, but once I get moving the wheel alone can accelerate to and maintain a speed well beyond my comfort zone!

Overall, I love the GeoOrbital and I don't regret its purchase. The cost is high, no doubt. I was able to get a $100 discount simply by emailing GeoOrbital, but still the cost was significant compared to other options. Why I chose to pay the premium cost was the ease of installation, the ability to quickly revert back and forth with hardly any effort, and remove and carry it with me while shopping, etc. so I don't have to worry about losing it to thieves.

Danimal
2 weeks ago

That's so wonderful! I was debating between the the Urban, e-Joe Epik SE 2017 500 watt 48v, and the Magnum Premium. As much as I love the mag wheels, I'm thinking of getting those LED lights on the wheels and they usually only fit normal spokes. And I got a decent deal on the Epik SE for ~$1,300 free shipping and I thought that was close enough to choose it over the Urban @ $1,129 for US shipping. And way cheaper than the $1,899 that the Magnum Premium was going for. I was hoping Magnum was going to update the Premium at Interbike this year (since they released it at Interbike 2016 with no updates since then) and was very disappointed that they did not update anything on the Premium.

Gogogordy
2 weeks ago

Many product claims fall short, and our new ebikes are advertised on the manufacturer's website as having a 25-55 range. Naturally the cynic in me expected real-world range of 20-ish.

I'm impressed that both of our Magnum Premium 48 bikes have now delivered 123 miles of enjoyment each on the initial dealer full charge we received them with, and 2 subsequent charges (each bike) since we've owned them for an average range of 41 miles "per tank".

Thoroughly impressed. I'm hoping this is more typical than not, across the ebike universe?
Speaks well for the industry if my experience isn't unique.

Gogogordy
2 weeks ago

My prized 1963 Schwinn Beach cruiser hasn't seen much action the last few years, and definitely not since my THR.
We (wife and I) bought EuroMini folders in May and enjoy them so much we added some Magnum Premium 48 folders about a month ago. The upshot is, the folders are so much better suited to our sizes, age, and riding preferences we now have 1 of each (electric and non electric) and enjoy riding them both! The ebikes kinda sorta fill the void left by us selling our Vespas and m/c after my THR. Exercise is good....even electrically assisted exercise.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 weeks ago

While the following is what I'm looking for, I understand it doesnt exist and trade-offs will happen. I would like a bike that is foldable, durable in all its parts, maintains speeds of 20mph, manages cold weather and has the option to install tires for snow, bearable rideability in the event of no battery, has a superior battery life, easily switched out battery, integrated lights and phone mount.

I need the foldability and durability first. It will be used for about 60 miles per day and folded many times. However, weight isn't too much of an issue as long as it can relativly easily be put into the trunk of my car. The battery isn't super important as I can just purchase back-ups, but I don't want to need to switch a dozen times during the day, and the more I switch it out, the easier I would like it to be. I could live with a slightly lower speed and the roads I'll be riding on -should- be plowed. Rideability - I'll be using the motor almost exclusively, so it's only for emergecies and not particularly important either. Intergrated stuff I could go without and just add later if needed. But the less I have to trade-off the better.

I know almost nothing about electric bikes, but I was considering the MOAR 24/7. What are your professional opinions?

https://www.magnumbikes.com/product/magnum-premium-48-high-step/

Gogogordy
3 weeks ago

If it makes you feel any better, The Tern e-link ($2000) also has v-brakes. Unless they are hydraulic discs the cable ones vs v-brakes dont perform any better IMO. The Tern also has that Nexus hub, and its sweet.

I have a Magnum Premium 48, my first ebike. So far quite happy with it.

Love your avatar...

Gogogordy
3 weeks ago

Those are wonderful photos!!

Also a question: Did you test drive any new 500 watt e-Joe Epik SE's when you were taking a look at bikes, Gogogordy?
Yes, I did. Same day in fact. It was a fine bike, but the cast wheels and larger battery capacity of the Magnum were attractive features the e-Joe doesnt have, and I'm not crazy about the more proprietary in-frame battery of the e-Joe (although that might be an unfounded worry....I've never let that stop me from worrying before!)

Also I find the styling and color scheme of the high-step premium more "masculine"! I know...it's hard to look macho on a 20" folder but the matte black and mag wheels help!

mid drive merv
3 weeks ago

Wondering if anyone has any experience with this bike:
http://www.micargibicycles.com/cyclone/
It may be a recent release, I'm not sure. I think it certainly does have a look about it. Any facts or opinions appreciated.

It does have that retro motorbike look. I did a bit of digging on it and it certainly has a premium Panasonic 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery pack. That, paired with the 500 watt Bafang hub motor seems pretty good. But it is listed at 83 pounds and that seems about right just looking at how long it is and the components used. In general terms, ebikes are getting on the heavy side when they get up to 60 to 65 pounds. The bike has only one gear so it would not be at all pleasant to pedal should one run out of battery or have some other affliction with the motor assist during one's trek. It does not come with a rack and does not appear to be set up to be mindful of utilitarian purposes. But it does have that look and if one wants a cruiser for stylin' around and that will provide decent power on mostly level ground to small hills, then that seems to be a niche it would fill nicely. I live where there are plenty of tough hills and I need a bike that is designed to help carry me and my often moderate to heavy cargo up those hills. This is not a bike for riders like me, but there are riders, rider needs, and riding environments where this bike would likely be just what is wanted.

Danimal
4 weeks ago

Gotcha! Maybe the first one at my LBS has an outdate controller as well. I might demo the other Premium and see if there's a difference.

Gogogordy
4 weeks ago

Woah, I really appreciate your input a ton! I might need to test-drive another Premium again. It wasn't as zippy as I thought a 500 watt motor on 20" wheels would feel. It felt similar to a 26" wheel 350watt ebike I had rented earlier.

The zippiness was one of the reasons we selected them! ("performed the best" as referred to my prior post)

I weigh 218, my wife more than slightly less. The throttle gets these up and rolling near instantly....we both come from a long motorcycling/motorscootering background so that was a big deal for us.

We just returned from a ride....77 miles on these now and Im charging them for just the second time.

Danimal
4 weeks ago

This reply is intended as a reply for both danimal's , and yours Michael Mitchell.

My experience was indeed better than yours Michael Mitchell.

We had a pre-disposed notion that we would buy 2 e-bikes from a well-known online retailer but without being able to test ride, I was reluctant to do as potentially unwinding (returning) 2 mail-order ebikes at best seemed like a possible giant PITA and who needs more of those in their lives?

So, we attended a semi-local (70-ish miles each way) open house which was being hosted by an e-bike centric shop, and even attended by the one and only Court (I learned about the event itself on this forum in-fact) and we were graciously allowed to test ride any number bikes, which we indeed did.

We tried a number of them of all types, but concentrated on the folders since thats what we'd be buying. Besides the Tern eLink which was slightly out of our price range (X 2 bikes) and lacked a requisite throttle, the Magnum Premium 48 we tested performed the best, and felt the most solid to us. Thats the benefit of the test ride....there's is usually an "X" factor which cannot be experienced on paper, through just published specifications (or even through video reviews alone for that matter). We decided to buy them, the Missus selecting the "lo-step" version and me the "manlier" (I kid) hi-step.
One of the two had to be ordered, our lbs didnt have them both in stock.

When we DID get the bikes a week or so later, and began riding them together, and comparing notes we discovered that I required nearly double the ped-assist level as my wife to enjoy the same performance (and the same we both agreed we tested). She rode mine, and I rode hers and also agreed they performed quite differently.

We drilled-down into the computers of them in attempt to equalize them, and were unsuccesful. We called Magnum's office (not our lbs, as he wasnt open yet, and Magnum was being 2 hours ahead timewise. We did let our lbs know what was going on and he seemed grateful for the input) and told Cory the technician there what we were trying to do and he suggested that our bikes might have different manufacture dates and probably different controller firmware. He had us open the controller compartments and verified this to be the case.

Here's where I believe Magnum and their staff really shined customer servicewise:
Cory put Jesse on the phone who mentioned that they had NO controllers in stock, and a several week wait was in order. I groused. He THEN volunteered to provide one from a showroom unit, shipped it nearly overnight, I installed it myself, it completely solved the issue and I returned the original to them by mail. (Please note...it didnt perform "badly" just not as well as the other. Without a second to compare to I would not know the difference)

So....my experience with them going the extra mile, seriously to provide great customer service was 110% positive and I am both grateful to them for doing so, and now very pleased with BOTH of our Magnum Premium 48 bicycles.

YMMV

Woah, I really appreciate your input a ton! I might need to test-drive another Premium again. It wasn't as zippy as I thought a 500 watt motor on 20" wheels would feel. It felt similar to a 26" wheel 350watt ebike I had rented earlier.

Gogogordy
4 weeks ago

I had issues with the bike that was sent to me direct from Magnum. It arrived, and was labeled as 250 watts (the sticker on the controller compartment), and it performed as such. It was slower than my 350 watt folder. I also had to file an A to Z claim to get my refund. This is why I suggested buying from a local dealer. Your experience may be better than mine.
This reply is intended as a reply for both danimal's , and yours Michael Mitchell.

My experience was indeed better than yours Michael Mitchell.

We had a pre-disposed notion that we would buy 2 e-bikes from a well-known online retailer but without being able to test ride, I was reluctant to do as potentially unwinding (returning) 2 mail-order ebikes at best seemed like a possible giant PITA and who needs more of those in their lives?

So, we attended a semi-local (70-ish miles each way) open house which was being hosted by an e-bike centric shop, and even attended by the one and only Court (I learned about the event itself on this forum in-fact) and we were graciously allowed to test ride any number bikes, which we indeed did.

We tried a number of them of all types, but concentrated on the folders since thats what we'd be buying. Besides the Tern eLink which was slightly out of our price range (X 2 bikes) and lacked a requisite throttle, the Magnum Premium 48 we tested performed the best, and felt the most solid to us. Thats the benefit of the test ride....there's is usually an "X" factor which cannot be experienced on paper, through just published specifications (or even through video reviews alone for that matter). We decided to buy them, the Missus selecting the "lo-step" version and me the "manlier" (I kid) hi-step.
One of the two had to be ordered, our lbs didnt have them both in stock.

When we DID get the bikes a week or so later, and began riding them together, and comparing notes we discovered that I required nearly double the ped-assist level as my wife to enjoy the same performance (and the same we both agreed we tested). She rode mine, and I rode hers and also agreed they performed quite differently.

We drilled-down into the computers of them in attempt to equalize them, and were unsuccesful. We called Magnum's office (not our lbs, as he wasnt open yet, and Magnum was being 2 hours ahead timewise. We did let our lbs know what was going on and he seemed grateful for the input) and told Cory the technician there what we were trying to do and he suggested that our bikes might have different manufacture dates and probably different controller firmware. He had us open the controller compartments and verified this to be the case.

Here's where I believe Magnum and their staff really shined customer servicewise:
Cory put Jesse on the phone who mentioned that they had NO controllers in stock, and a several week wait was in order. I groused. He THEN volunteered to provide one from a showroom unit, shipped it nearly overnight, I installed it myself, it completely solved the issue and I returned the original to them by mail. (Please note...it didnt perform "badly" just not as well as the other. Without a second to compare to I would not know the difference)

So....my experience with them going the extra mile, seriously to provide great customer service was 110% positive and I am both grateful to them for doing so, and now very pleased with BOTH of our Magnum Premium 48 bicycles.

YMMV

Danimal
4 weeks ago

I am a new owner of one. And so is my wife (yes, we have a pair of them) what type of input are you looking for?
I'm debating (a ton) over the Premium vs the Epik SE and maybe even the VoltBike Urban. Court obvious has done a wonderful job reviewing all of them, but sometimes full appreciation or a quirk doesn't arise until after you've lived with it long enough. I'd just like to hear your thoughts on being a new owner of a Premium. :)

BurbManDan
4 weeks ago

This might get you excited?
https://www.r-m.de/en-au/e-bike/supercharger/supercharger-gx-rohloff/#18X07_28010507

Yeah, that is pretty appealing, but won't be available in the US until probably mid to late 2018... I currently ride the prior generation R&M Charger GT Nuvinci HS (which is a 28mph / 45kph version). It works great at the moment, but I'm not sure how well the Nuvinci will hold up. The 350W mid motor is plenty powerful, despite being 36V, to cruise along at the bikes imposed limited top speed. I wouldn't object to more power, but the 36V, 350W specs are not what's holding the bike back - it's the artificial limit imposed at 28mph. And I don't think more power would be advisable with the Nuvinci.

The new version is appealing because of the known reliability of the Rohloff. Everything else about it (integrated batteries) is just icing - nice to haves, but hardly necessary.

I'd take a really hard look at a Stromer with a belt and Pinion drive, despite the hefty price premium... But without a belt, it's not even a contender.

Gogogordy
4 weeks ago

Michael Mitchell, what did you like and what didn't you like about the Magnum Premium? Did it end up being too heavy day-to-day? Would you have purchased something different if you could do it over again?
I am a new owner of one. And so is my wife (yes, we have a pair of them) what type of input are you looking for?

Danimal
4 weeks ago

I had the Magnum Premium. I highly recommend test riding this bike before purchasing. Also, purchase from a local shop instead of the manufacturer if at all possible.

Michael Mitchell, what did you like and what didn't you like about the Magnum Premium? Did it end up being too heavy day-to-day? Would you have purchased something different if you could do it over again?

Gogogordy
1 month ago

Cost is my guess. Due to them being a relatively new, and premium offering in this segment of use belt drives tend to lend themselves towards the pricier (and lower volume by sales numbers) bicycles. Same as in the motorcycle world...find belts on costlier, more delux and boutique built models.

David A
1 month ago

My battery is blocked cuz I lost keys, another way beside going to a locksmith, options please ?

Rob T
3 months ago

PRICE? you forgot to give that.

ShiSha
2 months ago

Rob T They mentioned it at the beginning, are you serious? Any way it's 1899 and the classic is 1299

Josiah Vergonio
3 months ago

so, this bike can go up to 25 mph with pedal assist?? does the Voltbike Mariner also go up to 25 mph with pedal assist? I don't understand why this goes up to 25 mph, isn't 20 mph the legal limit?

Roger Ferreira Batista
4 months ago

Will there be some model that I can drag instead having to lift after folding to take inside subway and supermarkets. Does this model perform this function?

Aqua Gods
5 months ago

I just wish i knew which one to buy... So many on the market right now. Can't wait till we can start narrowing down the big players of the ebike. Honestly with the laws restricting top speed I feel reliability and distance are the most important factors. I have a feeling there is going to be endless hours of research.....................

Nyana11
6 months ago

The motor noise is really annoying ,imagine it like constant mosquito sound on all your tours

Gumption1111
7 months ago

Finally a 500 watt folder.

キングクリストファー
7 months ago

Batteries that are not integrated into the bike look amazingly ugly, especially in these smaller fold bikes.

Mark S
8 months ago

Not crazy about the looks but the versatility is amazing... Does the frame flex, considering it is a folding style??? What is the approximate range??

Miphone tech
8 months ago

If you can do a review of fisher electric bike that will be great. You can also check my Israel YouTube channel about electric bikes in Israel.

McNuggetEh
8 months ago

Wondering how the initial take off is. Does it sweep you off your feet or is it more intuitive? I think I have a similar hub motor(Volt Mariner) and just wondering if it's been dialed in different with the controller. I love mine but realize it can zip you off in a hurry and that may not be the best for a more tentative rider. Looking for my folks. Thanks :)

melonbarmonster
8 months ago

$1900

Dale Wildey
8 months ago

I like the step through bikes the most. So many options out there. It's really exciting to see what's going on with bicycles and tricycles today. The electric bikes stepped everything up to a new level

Peter Kenyon
8 months ago

I love folding e-bikes. The 20 inch wheels are great for getting around. I hardly ever fold the bike, I just love the geometry (no neck pain) and the step through. I'll always be a small wheel devotee. Thanks for the vids. Keep up the exceptional work.

rcespin
8 months ago

what is the folding dimensions of the bike and the weight ? thanks

ElectricBikeReview.com
8 months ago

The weight is listed back with the specs on the website and it's 61.3 lbs. I did not get the folding dimensions... sorry :O

Mathew Davis
8 months ago

Hey Court, have you ever used the Genesis folding bike? Matt

JohhnyPump
8 months ago

Marvelous video, and what an impressive folding ebike. Folding bikes are my preference(I own 2, non-electric), this one is awesome. Camera question, your videos images are very stable, even when you were jogging, the image stabilization was rock solid. What kind of camera(or phone) did you use? Thanks for your work, when it comes to ebike reviews, you are unrivaled. Thanks for putting it out there.

ElectricBikeReview.com
8 months ago

Hey JohhnyPump (cool name btw) I use a motorized handheld gimbal with GoPros and some deadcat mic fur to reduce wind noise. These are the exact items:
- GoPro 4 Silver with Memory Card (Bundle) http://amzn.to/1rUMzUq
- Deadcat Sticker http://amzn.to/27Bn6Qg
- 3 Axis Motorized Gimbal http://amzn.to/1U0dyXJ

Señor Gaben
8 months ago

love the חי necklace Jesse has xD great review btw, my friend has the classic version and I am looking into getting a classic too

guy idel
5 months ago

xX_RealFaZeMember_Xx כן יש פה סירטונים יפים

Señor Gaben
5 months ago

+guy idel גם אני, עם כל זה שזה ממש פופולרי בישראל לא חשבתי שישראלים צופים בזה...

guy idel
5 months ago

.Thanks bro I'm from Israel

Señor Gaben
5 months ago

+guy idel yup

guy idel
5 months ago

?Magnum is an Israeli company

Armin Hirmer
8 months ago

nice bike

BBBYpsi
7 months ago

You threw me off with your screen name. My best friend is Matt N

Matt N
7 months ago

You always get what you paid for, my friend.

BBBYpsi
8 months ago

Total garbage. Range will be maybe 10 miles if lucky. Frame will not hold up long either. Have fun with it.

Chad Davis
8 months ago

I'd rather go for this one http://www.banggood.com/Xiaomi-Smart-Electric-Power-Folding-Bike-Bluetooth-4_0-Smart-Bike-With-Front-and-Rear-Light-Folding-Pedals-Support-For-APP-Aluminum-Alloy-Frame-p-1077093.html?p=B0221338596320131216 *under $799* it's a way better deal

Allen Janes
8 months ago

or an airplane. that thing will fit in my baggage compartment

ElectricBikeReview.com
8 months ago

Yeah, that's actually a great point... Depending on the airline you could take a folding ebike along :)