Motiv Sleek Review

2017 Motiv Sleek Electric Bike Review
2017 Motiv Sleek
2017 Motiv Sleek 500 Watt Internally Geared Motor
2017 Motiv Sleek 6 Speed Shimano Tourney Derailleur Cassette
2017 Motiv Sleek Wide Cruiser Bars Rubber Grips
2017 Motiv Sleek King Meter J Lcd Console
2017 Motiv Sleek Battery Options 48 Volt
2017 Motiv Sleek Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes
2017 Motiv Sleek Electric Bike Review
2017 Motiv Sleek
2017 Motiv Sleek 500 Watt Internally Geared Motor
2017 Motiv Sleek 6 Speed Shimano Tourney Derailleur Cassette
2017 Motiv Sleek Wide Cruiser Bars Rubber Grips
2017 Motiv Sleek King Meter J Lcd Console
2017 Motiv Sleek Battery Options 48 Volt
2017 Motiv Sleek Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc Brakes

Summary

  • A stylish electric cruiser available in several unique colors (metallics and matte finishes), mid-step frame is easier to mount but feels solid, simplistic and easy to work on
  • Long swept back handlebar and oversized comfort saddle give this ebike a relaxed ride quality, balloon tires with go-anywhere tread let you explore packed-dirt paths
  • Mid-mount battery keeps weight low and centered, available in a range of sizes targeting range and power or lower price and lighter weight, zippy motor with assist and throttle operation
  • No fenders, rack or lights but you could add your own... less refined than some competing models from larger companies but also easier to repair and upgrade

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Motiv

Model:

Sleek

Price:

$1,645.99 (Upgraded Battery $1,999.99)

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Electronics and Battery, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States, Australia

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

55.8 lbs (25.31 kg)

Battery Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg) (Optional 7.2 lb)

Motor Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Hydroformed Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

16.5" Seat Tube, 23.5" Reach, 24" Stand Over Height, 74" Length

Frame Types:

Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Green, Black, Red, Light Blue, White, Orange

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

10 mm Threaded Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

6 Speed 1x6 Shimano Tourney TX, 15-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano SIS Index Thumb Shifter

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 44T Chainring

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Neco, 1-1/8"

Stem:

Promax Alloy Quill, 90 mm Length

Handlebar:

Promax Alloy Cruiser, 28" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors, Rubber Edges and Integrated Bell on Left

Grips:

Flat Rubber

Saddle:

Velo Comfort with Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Promax Suspension Shock

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Paint-Matched, Alloy, Doublewall, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Small Block Eight, 26" x 2.35"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Puncture Protection, 30 to 50 PSI, 30 TPI, Wire Bead

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve, Puncture Sealent

Accessories:

Adjustable Length Kickstand, Color-Matched Steel Chain Cover

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 2 Amp Charger, Motiv is Branded as Crooze in Australia

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

900 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

48 volts (Optional 36)

Battery Amp Hours:

16 ah (Optional 11)

Battery Watt Hours:

768 wh (Optional 396)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

King-Meter J-LCD, Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Level (4 Bars), Clock, Assist Level (0-5), Speed, Odometer, Trip Meter

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (Up to 26 mph with 48 Battery)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Motiv hasn’t changed their electric bikes much since I first saw and reviewed them in 2014. The brand is cool, their color options are unique and stylish vs. cutesy and the founder is very attentive to his dealers and customers. This is predominently West Coast brand that only sells through shops. Some use the Sleek as a rental bike because it’s approachable, being mid-step, and simplistic in design. The battery box isn’t built into the frame and the hub motor doesn’t require any customization beyond a uniquely-spoked wheel. And yet, this is still a purpose-built ebike. One with internally routed cables, reinforced frame sections and two specific chargers (one for 36 volt and one for 48 volt setups). that’s a big point actually, the Motiv Sleek is available with four different battery options to help you save money and weight or go further and ride longer if you’re willing to spend more. While the bike isn’t super cheap, it’s definitely on the more affordable side of the spectrum. You don’t get fenders, a rack or lights here but all of the provisions for adding them yourself post-purchase are present. Perhaps the biggest update with the Sleek as compared to earlier iterations is that it now offers an LCD display panel with speed, assist level numbering, battery charge level and trip stats vs. the old basic 3-LED display. Early Motiv e-bikes were throttle only but the latest round offer pedal assist as well and the throttle is setup to override at any level so you can zip up a hill or blast off from a stop sign. I had a great time reviewing this bike with Sam and went into it being more critical because he’s so positive about it. I certainly appreciate Cameron (the founder of Motiv), Sam (onwer of Electric Bicycle Center in Fullerton) and enjoy the product myself, but it does have some shortcomings.

Drivin the Sleek is a 500 watt internally geared motor from Bafang. It’s pretty standard, almost generic, but offers great power and doesn’t interfere with the drivetrain the way a mid-drive might. Expect 20 to 30 miles using the throttle only depending on what size battery you get. With lower levels of pedal assist, you’ll go much further but it’s not as efficient as a torque-sensing ebike. This one uses a cadence sensor for on/off response. It means you don’t have to push on the cranks as hard but the bike ends up doing more work. As someone with sensitive knees, I love the instant throttle operation and throttle override with independent assistance. It means I can pedal gently and stretch my legs and still go fast and feel smooth. The flip side is that the power ramp is a little jerky (on/off feeling in higher levels) and the battery drains faster. Also, be careful with the motor power cable when parking the bike or taking the rear wheel off for service. It protrudes a bit at the right rear dropout which is where the shifter cables and derailleur are as well. It’s a little crowded and some other companies have started putting the cable on the left side to diminish this, but it works well enough.

Powering the bike is a Lithium-ion battery mounted inside a “silver fish” battery case. The case is Aluminum, has a little handle and LED power readout on top and a charging port and keyed ignition slot on the left. This battery design has been around for years but sometimes it mounts to frames in ways that are vulnerable… a plastic sliding track. With the Motiv Sleek, it’s much more secure and has a metal surround at the sides and back. You probably will have to take the seat and seat post off the bike to get the battery completely off but it can be charged on or off the frame so that’s not a huge issue. My bigest hangup is that the key must be inserted and twisted to on (and left in) to get the bike going with electric power. If you have a keychain, this can mean extra jingling and potentially scratching on the beautiful paint. Ultimately, the battery keeps weight low and centered on the frame, keeps the price of the bike lower and fits four different sizes of packs so I can’t complain too much. In some ways, I appreciate that it’s generic in design because it could be repacked by a company like Renewable Power Energy more easily down the line or even replaced. Props to Cameron for getting a black battery casing that matches the spokes, saddle, grips and other accents vs. going with the half black half silver basic one.

Operating the Motiv Sleek has become a little more time consuming and advanced than with the original models because of assist… but it’s on par with any other ebike now. Charge the battery and mount it, insert the key and turn to on, hold the power button on the display panel and then arrow up or down to select an assist level… or twist the throttle immediately for instant power. The LCD display is combined with a column of buttons that are fairly easy to reach, even with your hand on the grip. I wish it showed a battery percentage instead of a four-bar infographic because there’s a big drop going from two bars (up to 50%) down to to just one bar (up to 25%) and it’s nice to have more precision on long rides. The charger is compact and light weight enough to bring along but again, you need to add your own rack or wear a backpack to do so. One of the cool features of the display is being able to enter into the settings and slightly raise or lower your top speed. This is handy for rental shops that want to keep customers safe, wobbly riders that want to reduce risk of crashing or getting hurt and on the flip side… daring riders who want to zip along at higher speeds, possibly for commuting.

All things considered, Motiv is doing a great job delivering a bike that has become iconic. It was born on the West Coast and reflects some of the values and styling that people love… Sam had a ton of good things to say about it including reliability. I have seen the founder of Motiv, Cameron, come in and help Sam and even deliver bikes to customers or just get any problems solved. He offers a one year warranty and the cool thing about a consistent product like this is that he has lots of parts available. While some of the parts are more basic, like the kickstand and grips, the motor-inhibitor brake levers with a bell integrated and the larger grippier pedals are great upgrades. The steel fork and larger tires smooth out the ride and optional Kevlar-lined tires are a cool upgrade. You can pop the front wheel off easily (as it has quick release) and take the battery off to reduce weight if you’re hauling it around in your car and since the bike also comes in a high-step design and all of those colors I feel like you could fit a range of riders and sort of have your own thing while still being able to swap batteries and stuff (as long as you keep the same voltage level ie. 36 volt or 48 volt systems).

Pros:

  • Larger tires, saddle, swept-back handle bar and suspension seat post deliver a cushy ride
  • To me, this cruiser is a bit more stylish and “mean” than some of the others, from the colors to the studded tires and handlebar angle it just looks different
  • Mechanical disc brakes are a step up and allow for quick stopping rain or shine vs. rim brakes that can squeak and scrape the rims (color matched rims in this case)
  • Steel fork is sturdy and has a nice rake forward to stabilize the ride, it dampens vibration more than Aluminum
  • Older Motiv electric bikes only offered throttle mode but now you get pedal assist and a much nicer LCD display panel with trip stats and a battery level indicator vs. three LED lights
  • The kickstand is cheap but I like where it’s mounted, staying out of the way for your crank arms to move freely and keeping the main weight of the bike well supported
  • Despite being a step-thru / mid-step frame design, there’s very little frame flex thanks to the battery position and double-tubing
  • I really appreciate that Motiv offers two separate chargers (one for the 36 volt system and another for the 48 volt system) this reduces the possibility of using the incorrect one and damaging the pack
  • You can lower the top speed of the bike through the display panel, this is popular for places that use Motiv bikes as rentals
  • Motiv offers a tire upgrade to Fat Franks from Schwalbe which have a puncture protective lining, I noticed that even the normal tubes came with some puncture protectant goop inside which is cool
  • The throttle is always active and overrides pedal assist, this is useful for when you want to pedal and save the battery but need a quick burst of energy to catch up with a friend, start from rest at a stop sign or top a hill… I like that both brake levers have motor inhibitors so you can stop the bike immediately if an issue comes up
  • Several nice little upgrades including stiff, large Wellgo platform pedals and a little bell built into the left brake lever

Cons:

  • You don’t get fenders, a rear rack or bottle cage bosses here but the chain cover is nice (I like that it and the rims are paint-matched to the frame)
  • Only available in one size, sold exclusively through shops and the dealer base is somewhat limited (mostly on the West Coast at the time of this review)
  • Entry-level drivetrain (shimano Tourney) with just six speeds… but it works for this type of bike and keeps the price down
  • The key must be inserted and left in the battery pack for it to run, not a huge deal given the battery location (not likely to snag) but it could jingle and is one extra thing to check vs. many new systems that just have an on/off switch at the display
  • The power cable for the hub motor protrudes out of the right side of the rear axle and adds to the clutter of the derailleur and shift cables, it’s a sensitive part so try not to let the bike tip or snag there
  • The cadence sensor / controller wasn’t as responsive as some other’s I’ve tested but it is very compact and sealed so it probably won’t get bumped or have issues as easily

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Motiv Reviews

Motiv Spark Review

  • MSRP: $1,645.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A stylish electric cruiser bicycle with long comfortable handlebars, an oversized saddle, and a seat post suspension to smooth out the ride. Powerful 500 watt internally geared hub motor that peaks above 900 watts if you get…...

Motiv Stash Review

  • MSRP: $1,549
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A comfortable folding electric bike with a basic suspension fork and larger diameter tires that help to dissipate bumps and cracks. Solid 350 watt internally geared hub motor from 8Fun paired with a 36 volt 9…...

Motiv Stout Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Easy to use fat style electric bike with a basic twist throttle mode that goes up to 20 mph, great for use in snow, sand, grass and other off-road environments. Battery is mounted low and center on the bike for balance, suspension seat post adds…...

Motiv Sherpa Review

  • MSRP: $2,499.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Budget priced electric cargo bike with removable front mounted porteur rack and welded rear cargo rack. Capable 500 watt geared rear hub motor paired with removable mid-mounted 48 volt Lithium-ion battery…...

Motiv Shadow Review

  • MSRP: $2,249.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Sporty design is fun to pedal but still forgiving thanks to the soft gel seat and neck shock with good travel. Battery pack location is low and stable, helps distribute weight across the frame and it's…...

2014 Motiv Spark Review

  • MSRP: $1,749
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Well-rounded cruiser style electric bike with low center of gravity and powerful drive system. Upgradable battery pack offers increased range or torque, can be charged on or off the…...

2014 Motiv Sleek Review

  • MSRP: $1,749.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Cruiser style electric bike that's well balanced with mid-mount battery, well priced and quite powerful. Strong 500 watt geared hub motor is a capable hill climber, made even stronger with…...


Alex M
9 months ago

Love these curves ;) Not cheap. $1750 basic model with 10AH36V battery, add $800 for 16AH48V.

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Yeah, considering the bike hasn’t changed a whole heck of a lot for several years I was surprised that it’s still on the pricier side (given the hardware) but the style is cool and there’s a lot of passion from the founder Cameron who offers good support :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

PowerOnBikes
5 days ago

PowerOn Electric Bikes has come out with an awesome new City Commuting eBike..The City Slicker. It has a powerful 48V 500 Watt Bafang motor & a 13.6ah Samsung battery.

The City Slicker is Sleek & Stylish and has enough power to get you where you need to go!
Available in Orange/Gray or Gloss Black

Get free shipping & $100 Off any of our ebikes now until 12/15! Use Code: SAVE100

PowerOn Electric Bikes

Ed Busk
2 weeks ago

Hi, Ed here, owner of Sleek eBikes in Tarrytown. I have a Bafang BBS02 running 1.3KW and access to all sorts of Bulls machinery plus loads of other stuff. I always recommend potential customers ride a Brose vs a Bosch back to back. Some people love one some love the other.

Some points to note: The Brose gives tremendous torque at very low RPM, much more than the Bosch CX Performance. The Bosch then kicks it's butt once you get up to speed. (Power output seems at 350 Watts for the Brose vs up to 540 for the Bosch - see other posts on this site.) The Suntour HESC blows them both away. Think of the Brose as a torquey diesel vs a revvy sports car. The Bulls can also go into safe mode - where it feels very slow.

Agree with the comments above that the Brose is much more like riding a conventional bike vs the Bosch which really feels motorized. Also if you slow down, change down, and keep a steady relaxed cadence the Brose will climb any hill with very little effort. Push hard on the Brose and it feels super flat. Kick back and roll along and it feels like the power goes up. Almost like heavy torque causes the motor to cut back output...exercise mode!

The Das Kit 500W on the Magnums should get an honorable mention too. Great system for the money.

The Bafang's efficiency is way less. At about 900W it feels the same as the Bosch at 540. Beyond that it's great for short bursts - but it empties the battery and gets very hot! Bosch quotes 92% efficiency, Brose high 80s. Bafang doesn't say but I'd guess 70. My Bafang motor's battery is noticeably dying at 2 years too...maybe how I set the parameters. Food for thought.

bob armani
2 weeks ago

I purchased a 2017 BULLS ESTREAM EVO 45 I have had a couple of issues arise. Every step of the way they have helped me out and advised me. My bike last week would not turn on. I brought it to Sleek eBikes, Tarrytown, NY. The owner Edward Busk treated me very fairly and ended up fixing it. It ended being a not very solid plug connection in the motor area. Problem solved. The whole affair was very professionally handled and both dealers communicated with each other. (Even Barney at BULLS in California got involved) Very pleased with the outcome with both dealers. If your a Brose aficionado, BULLS seems to have your back when a problem arises.
That's great to know that BULLS is getting involved with issues. In the past they were not too quick to get involved (seen in previous posts on this forum). Nothing like great C/S after your purchase! This post will definitely encourage others to purchase more of BULLS products. Thanks for sharing! Now time to hit the trails.

Echos
3 weeks ago

Weiterstadt, Germany - Riese & Müller - www.r-m.de - a maker of luxury eBikes sold worldwide has introduced the stylishly minimal and clean Roadster that will change how you look at eBikes. The Roadster’s sleek frame and traditional aesthetics combined with the best new e-technology are sure to catch the eye as you navigate urban areas or head out of the city and into the countryside.

Stylish, clean and minimal define the approach and lines of the redesigned Roadster while offering all of the technology and performance expected from Riese & Müller. The Roadster factors in concepts of classic bicycle frames: diamond frame construction, narrow rounded tube cross-sections, almost horizontal top-tube and delicate seat stays. The result is a clean, lightweight and sporty appearance that Riese & Muller have dubbed E-sthetics for those who love the classic construction and feel the technical elements of an eBike detract from the overall look of a bicycle. The Roadster incorporates a new, lighter Bosch Active Plus motor, the Gates belt drive, and Suntour NCX fork, bringing the total weight to just below 44 pounds. The Roaster is a perfect city rocket built for those who want all the benefits of an eBike in a classic look.

Features:

Bosch Performance CX Motor

36V / 500 watt battery

Shimano Deore 10-speed drivetrain

Magura MT4 hydraulic brakes

Suntour NCX Suspension Front Fork

Three Available Sizes

Mixte Model Available

Available colors: Electric Green Metallic, Black Matte, White

MSRP: $3879 (starting price)

Landing Page

Echos
3 weeks ago

Weiterstadt, Germany - Riese & Müller - www.r-m.de - a maker of luxury eBikes sold worldwide has introduced the stylishly minimal and clean Roadster that will change how you look at eBikes. The Roadster’s sleek frame and traditional aesthetics combined with the best new e-technology are sure to catch the eye as you navigate urban areas or head out of the city and into the countryside.

Stylish, clean and minimal define the approach and lines of the redesigned Roadster while offering all of the technology and performance expected from Riese & Müller. The Roadster factors in concepts of classic bicycle frames: diamond frame construction, narrow rounded tube cross-sections, almost horizontal top-tube and delicate seat stays. The result is a clean, lightweight and sporty appearance that Riese & Muller have dubbed E-sthetics for those who love the classic construction and feel the technical elements of an eBike detract from the overall look of a bicycle. The Roadster incorporates a new, lighter Bosch Active Plus motor, the Gates belt drive, and Suntour NCX fork, bringing the total weight to just below 44 pounds. The Roaster is a perfect city rocket built for those who want all the benefits of an eBike in a classic look.

Features:

Bosch Performance CX Motor

36V / 500 watt battery

Shimano Deore 10-speed drivetrain

Magura MT4 hydraulic brakes

Suntour NCX Suspension Front Fork

Three Available Sizes

Mixte Model Available

Available colors: Electric Green Metallic, Black Matte, White

MSRP: $3879 (starting price)

Landing Page

ABOUT RIESE & MÜLLER
It all began with two engineers, a good idea and a garage. But not in California, rather in the south of Hesse. In Darmstadt, to be more precise. In the parent's courtyard. Immediately after the company was founded, it won the Innovation Prize in 1993 and has grown to become an internationally renowned premium manufacturer of E-Bikes and folding bikes. As previously, Riese & Müller manufactures the most innovative bikes of tomorrow with the passion of yesteryear - and still in Weiterstadt, not far from the old garage.

JamesT
4 weeks ago

I purchased a 2017 BULLS ESTREAM EVO 45 in April. I have had a couple of issues arise. Every step of the way they have helped me out and advised me. My bike last week would not turn on. I brought it to Sleek eBikes, Tarrytown, NY. The owner Edward Busk treated me very fairly and ended up fixing it. It ended being a not very solid plug connection in the motor area. Problem solved. The whole affair was very professionally handled and both dealers communicated with each other. (Even Barney at BULLS in California got involved) Very pleased with the outcome with both dealers. If your a Brose aficionado, BULLS seems to have your back when a problem arises.

JamesT
1 month ago

I just wanted to give people here a heads up. I brought the bike over to to SLEEK Ebikes in Tarrytown, NY. He tried to update the firmware. But on numerous tries, the bike would not accept the firmware. There are no problems with the display or the battery. The owner Edward Busk, was very helpful and accommodating, however, he said that he would have to contact BULLS in Germany to see why the bike would not power up. Very frustrating.

ecorecoscooteruser
1 month ago

Update: My M5 has over 1000 miles and still going strong. I did have to send it back to the company a few months back when something shorted due to moisture. The company repaired it for free and sent it back to me. However, when I was without the M5, I wasn't a happy camper...

This past week I received the ecoreco XS model (did the indegogo back in Jan). The XS is their budget model. First impressions out of the box was that it was very sleek with all the carbon fiber, really big and bright front LED light bar, and very very light compared to the M5. The throttle and breaks were also the updated paddle type vs the grip on the m5. So much slicker cosmetically than the M5. Unfortunately, having the M5 ride experience, the XS is definitely NOT a replacement.

The XS lets you choose between 3 separate ride levels, limiters. On the highest, level 3, the fastest I could go was about 11 mph - seemed like 8-9 was average. Very slow compared to the speed of the M5 where I am zipping by bicycles sometimes. Also, on my daily commute where I go 2 miles each way, the battery meter kept dipping to one bar on my way back. It would recover to 2 bar when I let go of the accelerator, but looks like 4-5 miles on level 3 is about its limit (which is what is represent by ecoreco anyway).

I ordered this as part of the indigogo kickstarter type thing back in Jan. The XS is still listed as not available on the ecoreco website, and the s/n is a very neat round number, so I'm thinking my XS might be one of the first to ship. But in any event, if ecoreco had upped the battery pack on this and upp'd the speed to 15 mph, this would be an M5 replacement (which is probably why they didn't). There's an petite older lady in my building who wanted to try out my M5 - I've been alittle hesitant due to its weight and speed. The XS is something I'd definitely recommend to her since its much lighter. Would also be good for older kids who might lose control using an M5.

FYI, the charge on mine shipped without the wall plug. But I noticed that the charger they ultimately used is different from the one pictured on their online manual. It doesn't need to be oriented to plug in, as it like a laptop plug. The online manual also doesn't explain anything about the ride levels, and has some other problems that probably relate to features that were dropped in the final product.

When I registered my XS with ecoreco, they provided a discount code (4m8pks). I know the M5 discount code (NJfVCY) gave $50 off any one who uses it, but I don't know what sort of discount one would get with an XS discount which is much cheaper ($400 vs originally $1200 for the M5, now their equivalent models are in the $800-$900 range). But every little bit helps, right?

PCDoctorUSA
2 months ago

Very sleek looking bike, but with only a 250w motor I think its appeal will be limited to the European market. What's the price? I didn't see it on the product website.

RoadHammer
2 months ago

Sorry if a bit off topic: Spot Ajax. Way cool bike. I've got a fully outfitted Spot Champa. I set it up to be a commuter but then decided my commute was just too far for a human powered bike (and 51 yr old rider). It was my satisfaction with the Spot and belt drive that had me initially looking for an e-bike with a belt drive (now have the Riese and Muller with belt drive). Best of luck with that Kalkhoff or whatever you finally decide on.

I'm in a similar situation. I can currently make the ride on the Spot without any problem except that it just takes too long and I'll arrive at work a bit sweaty. I figure the ebike will reduce the time quite a bit on the way to work. On the way home, I can always choose to lower the assist and get more of a workout. I really like the Spot Ajax. It's a nice looking bike. I've made some upgrade. Different wheel set, rear rack, 11 speed Alfine (came with the 8 speed), larger rear gates sprocket (needed some extra help with a couple of hills) and a shimano dyno hub in the front to run my lights. I looked at the Riese and Muller Charger (I think that is what is was) and it's has a lot of nice features. I think the next model year will have an integrated battery in the downtube which would be really nice. I really like a sleek look that makes it difficult to tell it's an ebike.

Verde
2 months ago

SIMI VALLEY, Calif. (Interbike 2017) – Raleigh Electric, maker of industry-leading electric bikes, designs ebikes around one simple idea: make them really, really fun. That core value continues in its newly unveiled 2018 bikes that will debut at the Interbike trade show next week in Las Vegas.

So much of our lives are focused on getting from point A to B, why shouldn’t we enjoy the ride while we get there? Raleigh Electric’s bikes bring the harmony of design, tech, performance, and comfort together, and are purpose-built with premium materials for every type of riding. All of Raleigh Electric’s ebikes are designed with “integrated Electronic” (iE) drive system technologies and are designed to be electrified. For 2018, the brand introduces seven new ready-to-ride models that will get your heart pumping and spike your fun level on pavement and dirt.

Lore iE (MSRP: $4,199)
If you want a fast-moving steed that meshes performance and style with average speeds of 25 MPH without breaking a sweat, look no further than the Lore iE. Combining 27.5-inch wheels with plus size tires for confidence and speed, a Bosch CX Speed motor for up to 28 MPH of pedal-assist power, Shimano drivetrain, and a 120mm RockShox Judy fork for supple suspension, the Lore tackles on-and-off road terrain with ease, and is truly an ebike for the ages.

Lore iE

Lore iE

Tamland iE (MSRP: $4,399)
Watch out, because the new drop-bar Tamland iE is going to raise some eyebrows – while also raising your game on the road and trail. This ebike was born from a desire to explore. With an integrated 500W Brose motor housed neatly in the downtube, the sleek ebike handles smooth roads with speed and singletrack with confidence. With 27.5-inch tires, pedal-assist speed up to 28 MPH, and an adventure-inspired SRAM drivetrain, if you can imagine a place to ride your bike, the Tamland will take you there.

Tamland iE

Kodiak Pro iE (MSRP: $TBD) & Kodiak iE (MSRP: $4,599)
The Kodiak Pro iE is hands down the perfect eMTB to calm the most rugged of terrain. Built with a Bosch Performance CX motor that brings pedal-assist speeds up to 28 MPH, and utilizing some of the best components from the most proven manufacturers, the Kodiak Pro is truly a sum of its parts. Featuring a lightweight 6061 Aluminum frame, 27.5-inch plus-sized wheels, 130mm of full-suspension travel, and the industry’s only ebike-specific groupset – SRAM’s eMTB super robust EX1 8-speed drivetrain with an 11-48 rear cassette – the Kodiak Pro oozes with the confidence of a muscle car while providing the gear range of a tractor. Its sibling – the Kodiak – delivers all the same performance and riding fun, with the major difference being components and a lower entry price point.

Kodiak Pro iE

Kodiak iE

Tokul Pro iE (MSRP: $TBD) & Tokul iE (MSRP: $3,499)
Lightweight carbon frame. Bosch Performance CX 500Wh motor integrated into the downtube. Ebike-specific SRAM EX1 drivetrain. These – among other attributes – are what make the new high-performance Tokul Pro eMTB one of the lightest, fastest, most tech-savvy bikes on the market. Equipped with 27.5-inch tires, an Enduro-inspired geometry, 120mm of RockShox full-suspension, and 8-speed drivetrain, the Tokul Pro is as nimble as eMTB’s come, and provides efficient uphill momentum on singletrack with quick maneuverability and handling on the down. Swap out component packages and the carbon frame for aluminum alloy, and the Tokul iE is one fun eMTB that comes in at an excellent value.

Tokul Pro iE

Tokul iE

Tokul iE

Magnus iE (MSRP: $3,499)
Rounding out Raleigh Electric’s 2018 trail-inspired ebike line, the Magnus iE fat bike easily crushing miles on sand, snow, or dirt. Touting a Bosch Performance CX motor, 26-inch wheels with 4-inch fat tires, lightweight aluminum frame, and disc brakes, the Magnus powers through just about any condition in its way. Whether you’re loaded up for packing into a hunting blind or rolling through town for a beer and a burger, the Magnus always goes big while bringing with it performance and comfort.

Magnus iE

Raleigh Electric is also leading the charge in helping preserve our environment with its new, first in the cycling industry Call2Recycle battery-recycling program. Batteries contain hazardous materials, and if dumped or disposed of incorrectly the harmful elements can find their way into our water sources and adds to pollution. The program disposes of old batteries in an environmentally responsible manner, and collection sites are located throughout the U.S. and Canada. After collecting and sorting, the batteries are processed and turned into new batteries, stainless steel products, and other products. For more, please check:call2recycle.org.

About Raleigh Electric
Our electric bicycles are designed around one simple idea: make them really, really fun. This is an idea that inspired our very first bicycles back in 1887 and continues to inspire how we do things today. After all, fun makes people happy. And, that’s something we proudly stand behind. Raleigh Electric is included in a family of brands that is part of the world’s largest electric bike supplier, Accell Group, so you can count on quality, reliability, and value. And, it’s easy to find a bike dealer whenever you need service or have questions about your electric bike. For more, check: raleighelectric.com.

MEDIA CONTACT: Keith Cozzens, Verde Brand Communications, keith@verdepr.com, 970-259-3555 x122

1/11
Ann M.
3 months ago

Steve, this product is produced for the China internet market. Checking data for a number of other electronic gadgets that they sell, I found a Shanghai address on most. Just a thought... if it's this difficult to find the product, how are you going to get support for parts or service when the scooter needs it? Take a look at Magnum's sleek lithium powered scooter, the Imax S1. Hub motor in the rear wheel, foldable & light weight lithium battery pack. There are a number of US dealers and it's not a challenge to contact the company for help.

Court
3 months ago

Here are some more updates from Yamaha:

Yamaha Motor Corp., USA, Introduces First Power Assist E-Bike Models

All-New Prototype Models Bring Yamaha Performance and Reliability to U.S. E-Bike Market

CYPRESS, Calif. – September 20, 2017 – Yamaha Motor Corp., USA, (YMUS) today unveiled its all-new power assist electric bicycle (e-Bike) prototype models. Yamaha’s power assist bicycle product line is scheduled to be available at U.S. dealers starting in 2018.

Yamaha will enter the U.S. bicycle market with Power Assist Bicycles designed by Yamaha for new cyclists and cycling enthusiasts seeking alternative commuting options, a fun and casual weekend cycling adventure or a thrilling new off-road experience.

“Yamaha has been a pioneer, inventor, and innovator in electric bicycles for more than two decades,” said Terry Okawa, President, Yamaha Motor Corp., U.S.A. “And introducing Yamaha electric bicycles at this time will only add further to the depth and diversity of the Yamaha brand in the U.S.”

Yamaha Motor Company, Ltd. (YMC) launched the world’s first electrically power assisted bicycle in 1993 and has since produced more than 4 million drive units and sold over 2 million Yamaha power assist bicycles. YMC supplies class-leading e-Bike Systems to select OEM partners worldwide.

“Yamaha is excited to share our passion for power assist bicycles with riders seeking that next new adventure.” said Rob Trester, Division Manager, New Business Development Division which is launching the Yamaha Power Assist Bicycles brand.

The initial prototype models were unveiled this morning at Interbike, the largest bicycle trade event in North America. Yamaha is actively identifying and establishing new relationships with specific retailers currently servicing e-Bike consumers.

Yamaha’s initial prototype models being shown at Interbike and featured now on www.yamahabicycles.com include:

· UrbanRush, balance of power, stiffness, and speed in a sleek road bike chassis.
· YDX-TORC, agile XC mountain bike with aggressive performance and fastest response.
· CrossCore, fitness hybrid design for efficiency and ergonomic comfort.
· CrossConnect, everyday recreation-utility for those that want to take their gear with them.

“e-Bikes have created a universal re-awakening of bicycling in the U.S. and people that might have otherwise dismissed the idea of riding a traditional bike are now finding an alternative solution. That is exciting news for bicycle retail stores and they are quickly embracing the opportunity to help new customers,” said Drew Engelmann, Sales and Marketing Manager, New Business Development Division, which is launching the Yamaha Power Assist Bicycles brand.

Yamaha Power Assist bicycles provide a natural assist feel powered by drive units that have undergone constant evolution through decades of engineering and innovation based on customer feedback. Yamaha’s Triple Sensor System found in PWseries and PW-X system incorporates frictionless sensors that measure the rider’s pedal-torque, bicycle speed and crank arm cadence in real-time with tremendous precision. This design results in a drive unit that provides one of the most refined and natural rides available. Interbike has awarded the PW-X motor with a “2017 Interbike Electric Product Innovation Award,” which will be on display for the duration of the tradeshow among winners in other categories.

Learn more at www.yamahabicycles.com and follow Yamaha at www.facebook.com/yamahabicycles and on @yamahabicycles on Instagram and YouTube.

1/4
JRA
3 months ago

After putting mileage exclusively on drop bar road ebikes over the last year I am glad to see the manufacturers putting some attention in that direction. However sleek/stealthy ones like in that first video I personally don't think they will draw that big a crowd, and not only because they have big price tags.

Road bikers as a rule are very weight conscious and although the efforts above weigh less than e mtb's the added weight of the e system for the amount of power/range they are predicting doesn't seem all that attractive. I would also argue that mid drive pedelec is the way to go with an e road bike, although the Orbea does use a hub motor, as it doesn't provide the pure pedaling experience that most have worded hard to perfect of their analog bike.

The bottom line is that the current rules regarding e bikes in the EU restrict them too much to be effective. Here in the US if one was designed to be a 750w Class III it would be closer to what would perhaps make it attractive.

Pete Willerton @ Electric Bike Report had some good coverage but I don't have the link handy.
Now I do: https://electricbikereport.com

Tora Harris
3 months ago

Fair enough. It just seems like Medium black was not produced in the first batch. Perhaps a minimum batch quantity issue, I'm guessing 25 as a minimum batch. If yours was the only one ordered, it does seem reasonable that they would not make it as a one off. But you should have been informed accordingly.

Regarding a lock, I'm very happy with my Abus Bordo Granit. I like the form factor, it's easy to attach to the seat post and folding style looks sleek compared to chains and cables. Also more versatile than standard U locks.

We made a bunch but someone right away bought most of them.

ROCebike
3 months ago

@ROCebike That is more information for those who are expecting a size medium black in this batch. There are 4 sizes currently available. 22" is in the next batch. Not one m st made in black, despite being one of the first orders placed. So that 15 combinations is down to 11. The m black aren't available to those who ordered BEFORE the cross current s was announced. People who have been asking for a black cross current 2017. This is not an isolated incident, it is a pattern.

From facebook comments: "I called sales right after I ordered our two CCS just after the first of the month. I wanted to make sure the frame sizes and colors we ordered were available. I was told at that time only 50 some of the 280 or so shipment had sold, so there would be no problem. I hope they're shipping in the order pre-sales were made."

"I just got a note that my pre-ordered bike won't be available in black :(. Anyone else had this happen? I do sort of care about it. They offered a red or Al - anyone want to swap a stock M with me who ordered a black? Normally the Al costs 99 more. On something so expensive I'd really like to get the color I ordered, and ordered it early enough/and stock that I really should have gotten that.. thanks! Looking forward to this bike so much..."

"I ordered my bike in May, back before the CrossCurrent had an "S". My bike was supposed to be delivered in July. I was given no notice about the changes to my order and delivery time, I found the information myself on the Juiced website. At that point I had to contact them 7 times, over the course of two weeks, before they got back to me. I was told then that I would have my bike August 10. I currently have an email in to the support desk, still waiting for a reply. Communication is a BIG problem here. This company spends far too much time hype products for future sales, taking away from their ability to take care of their existing responsibilities."

This is not a isolated "you're two days late, where's my bike?," situation. It is purely questioning communication because it is there is a lack of consumer confidence right now. Three different incidents where either the bike wasn't produced, inventory wasn't communicated until too late (a repeat incident for the same customer,), or bike was told it was shipped when it wasn't. I'm not calling them liars, but there is more information for prospective people to consider. It would if we both great if worked together to compile a timeline of Juiced responses for the Hyperfat. Maybe we can reconsider making a new thread to separate bike reviews/info from juiced business reviews/info.

Fair enough. It just seems like Medium black was not produced in the first batch. Perhaps a minimum batch quantity issue, I'm guessing 25 as a minimum batch. If yours was the only one ordered, it does seem reasonable that they would not make it as a one off. But you should have been informed accordingly.

Regarding a lock, I'm very happy with my Abus Bordo Granit. I like the form factor, it's easy to attach to the seat post and folding style looks sleek compared to chains and cables. Also more versatile than standard U locks.

PTFC Brian
4 months ago

Clearly just a rendering/drawing, but are there any hints in this picture?

Thanks for the news, glad to hear that Stromer is continuing to innovate! I much prefer rear hub motor vs mid-drive. The ST2 is a very advanced cycle, and I love mine. The three areas to improve: Motor, batteries, and chain-drive. If the motor is new, hopefully the design can be sleek/custom to match the frame. Battery tech is improving, smaller, lighter and rapid recharge (20 mins for full charge). Chain drive can be better if replaced by carbon belt, with internal gearing. The motors are so powerful, you don't need more than a handful of gears.

Jim Dove
4 months ago

Thought I'd close the loop on this. Visited Sleek Ebikes in Tarrytown, NY to try out the Bulls line-up. Rode the Evo8 and various other Bulls bikes. My wife rode several as well. She went with what seemed to me a cheaper version of the Pedego from Ariel Rider. I think it's kind of goofy but she loves it. I ended up with the Bulls Estream Evo 45 FS. In the end, I came to like the full suspension on the Bulls. And, as a MTB, it offered some additional flexibility beyond their city commuter bikes. Appreciate all of the feedback from everyone and the great reviews to help guide the decision here. Great site...

Mark Peralta
4 months ago

I recently had a chance to ride both Bosch and Brose powered Bulls ebikes back to back at a newly opened store (Sleek Ebikes) in my area at Westchester County, New York. The store owner mentioned about the "whining noise" from the Bosch motor. I kind of like the Bosch, since it gives me subtle sound and vibration feedback from the motor, to let me know how hard it's working for me. The Brose seems to be imperceptible, no noise, no vibrations, and no tangible "push" sensation whatsoever. So it all depends on the rider's taste. I would probably choose a Bosch powered ebike on my next purchase. As a side note, it's interesting one of owner's personal ebikes is powered by Bafang BBS02, he is very knowledgeable about ebikes, including ebike kits.

Mark Peralta
4 months ago

Which of the drives do you believe is the most reliable and if you had to choose one which would it be and why
I think both Bosch and Brose are equally reliable. I recently had a chance to ride both Bosch and Brose powered Bulls ebikes back to back at a newly opened store (Sleek Ebikes) at my area at Westchester County, New York. The store owner mentioned about the "whine" from the Bosch motor. I kind of like it, since I get subtle auditory feedback from the motor, to let me know how hard it's working for me. The Brose seems to be imperceptable, no noise, no vibrations, and no sudden "push" whatsoever. So it all depends on the rider's taste. I would probably choose a Bosch powered ebike on my next purchase.

Ann M.
5 months ago

70 miles on a charge! Impressive and a very sleek setup.

Marceltt
5 months ago

After just over 28 months and 32,000 kms on my 2014 Urban, I traded up to the 2017 model. I don't normally get into trading up a perfectly good ride for "something new", but this time I did spoil myself and took the leap.

What A treat!

It's not possible in my mind how anyone could improve on the power system on the Ohm so the electronics and power are the same with the Bionx D500 system. I had already upgraded the display and remote on the old bike, which by the way are fantastic, so the only change in electronics was I now have integrated Bluetooth which I can use on an app for my cell phone.
The big change-up was Ohm has one up'ed the frame with a sleek new look and upgraded to some premium components. It now features an integrated battery pack, dual piston brakes, and paddle shifters.

The battery pack is very very slick. Some designer should get an award for the design of this, so much easier to handle, install, and remove.

After over 500 kms on the new ride I still can't figure out how I am getting ~ 7-10% more on the same size battery but, I am loving it.

That comparison is apples to apples, as I did have a new spare battery for the 2014. The original battery I had, had over 1000 cycles on it over the two-plus years of operation and it was still performing great.

The TRP dual piston brakes are the best I have had. Great braking power, no road grid ingress, smooth as silk.
The paddle shifting took some getting used to after a grip shift for the last 7 years on different e-bike models but I've adapted, and shifting is fast and engages well.
I'm trying out the new Big Ben tires which came stock. The old Ben's had minimal puncture resistance but Schwalbe has upped this protection, and with their low rolling resistance, these tires provide a really nice ride.
I kept the Bodyfloat of course.

Getting a ton of compliments on it as I get around, it is an eye catcher.

So now I'm back to the start on my odometer, OH well.
Love the bike. Have you ever tried or owed a pedego e bike ?

Darren gray
5 months ago

Hi ,
im thinking of buying an ebike, btw your review are very helpfull :)
I'm wondering if you ever heart about AddMotor HitHot ebike
http://www.addmotor.com/h2-smb.html

i like the low price tag, and it got double suspension,

but what i dont realy like, its the fack that i have trouble finding review about it,
and i have seen the exact same bike with other brand on it ex: Heyman (ebay) and Falctron (indiegogo)

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Heyman-Mountain-Electric-Bicycle-7Speed-26-500W-High-Fork-Suspension-Snow-Road-/272055953302?hash=item3f57cc6796:g:KO8AAOSwHQ9WZPTS

http://ecobikez.com/
https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/falctron-a-sleek-e-bike#/

Thanks alot in advance :)

PedegoElectricBikes
5 months ago

Longtime pedal bike shop owners choose Number 1 electric bike brand for new store

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 6, 2017 — The world’s 100th Pedego® Electric Bikes store is now open in Simsbury, Conn. Owned by Mike and Rachel Wolf, Pedego Simsbury is the fifth Pedego store in New England. Pedego also has stores in Boston, Rhode Island, Cape Cod and South Norwalk. Pedego Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. There will be ribbon cutting ceremony by the Main Street Partnership on July 6th to celebrate the opening.

“We're pleased to announce that Pedego Simsbury is our 100th Pedego electric bike store in the world,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “Opening the 100th Pedego store is a testament to the growing popularity of electric bikes, and we’re delighted to be leading the revolution.”

THE PUBLIC IS INVITED TO JOIN THE RIBBON CUTTING CELEBRATION

WHAT: Ribbon Cutting Ceremony by the Main Street Partnership including refreshments and free test rides

WHERE: Pedego Simsbury store, 528 Hopmeadow Street, Simsbury, Conn.

WHEN: Thursday, July 6 at 4:30 p.m.

WHO: Store co-owners Mike and Rachel Wolf, plus representatives from the Main Street Partnership, Simsbury Chamber of Commerce, and City of Simsbury as well as Pedego representative Cassidy Castleman

Store owners Mike and Rachel Wolf, 77 and 71 years old respectively, are well-known in the area for their two long-established cycling shops. Nearly 67 years ago, Mike’s father established Connecticut's oldest bike shop, Bloomfield Bicycle & Repair Shop. Mike has worked there for 64 years, since he was 13 years old, and today, it is the oldest bike store in the region. It also carries the largest inventory of electric bikes in the area, with 150 electric bikes in stock. Of the nine electric bicycle brands Wolf carries at his Bloomfield bike shop, Pedego is the leading brand, which led him to open the Pedego Simsbury store. The Wolfs also own the Bike Cellar in Simsbury, which specializes in pedal bikes.

“Electric bikes are a game changer, enabling people of all ages to ride bikes,” Mike said. “We firmly believe that 60 percent of all bike sales in the future will be electric bikes, and we’ve decided to go with Pedego, the Number 1 electric bike brand, as Pedego is devoted to delighting its customers and empowering its dealers.”

The Wolfs are not only Pedego electric bikes salespeople, they are big fans themselves. An avid Pedego rider, Mike lost 54 pounds and lowered his cholesterol and blood pressure over the past 18 months with his Pedego electric bike. Weather permitting, the septuagenarian rides more than 20 miles every morning. He said, “Not only have I gained back my health, I’ve also gotten better looking, thanks to my electric bike.”

Pedego Simsbury’s opening is the culmination of Mike’s decade-long friendship with Pedego CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. They met when DiCostanzo owned an electric bike shop in Newport Beach, Calif., long before he co-founded Pedego. DiCostanzo said, “We are thrilled to welcome Mike and Rachel to the Pedego family. They share a passion for bringing electric bikes to the region and getting Baby Boomers back on bikes.”

Pedego Simsbury offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of 30 to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new Simsbury store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power; and Pedego’s Comfort Cruiser, which is powered by a 36-volt battery for gentle help with hills. Also available are the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on gravel and snow; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sleek City Commuter; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Pedego also recently introduced the Airstream model for camping devotees.

Rentals and sales of Pedego bikes are available. Located near the Pedego Simsbury store are the Farmington Canal Heritage Trail and Farmington River Trail, two scenic trails that meet in the town. The Farmington River Trail is part of the rail-to-trail bike path network that takes riders up into Massachusetts or down into New Haven, Conn. The store provides maps so renters can enjoy riding through the beautiful countryside. Simsbury was recently voted the most bike-friendly community in Connecticut.

Pedego Simsbury also offers top-notch service for Pedego electric bikes. Everything from maintenance to customizations can be handled by the team.

About Pedego Simsbury

Pedego Simsbury has the distinction of being the 100th Pedego Electric Bikes store in the world and is the region’s premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes. Pedego Simsbury offers a large selection of Pedego electric bikes sales, rentals, accessories and service. Free test rides are available. Located at 528 Hopmeadow Street in Simsbury, Conn., Pedego Simsbury is close to the Farmington Canal Heritage Trail and Farmington River Trail, two trails that combine for a scenic ride through a forest. The store is open seven days per week: Monday through Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Saturdays 9:00 am. to 5:00 p.m., and Sundays 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call 860-413-2543 or email info@pedegosimsbury.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/dealers/simsbury/

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
Bryn Loosley
9 months ago

Is a Juiced Ocean Current review forthcoming?

Wilton M
9 months ago

I think this bike is great . I actually want one I have the money but I'm in Ghana West Africa. is there a way I can still purchase one via visa and have it shipped?

jason howes
9 months ago

Can the batteries be bought aftermarket? And if so do you know where and how much?

Bob A
9 months ago

Court-This is incredible, you are her in Cal with Sam, but then you are with Chris in NY within a day! Not sure of the timeline, but did you fly? What a great gig! This looks like a great cruising bike for a very relaxing ride with a lot less exertion.

Seb K
9 months ago

The reason why I removed the crank sensors from all my Ebikes was because of the delay . I removed all the cabling from the magnet and sensor itself and just trashed them . Absolute rubbish .

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Pedelec technology has gotten better, I like the smaller sealed sensor in use here, but it's not as good as the more advanced multi-sensor systems. For some people I can understand how it might be distracting or annoying. Sounds like you've got a solution... especially if you don't plan to resell it someday. Perhaps it could be reinstalled if you keep the parts

R D
9 months ago

Sam helmet is cool

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

I agree, looks like a motorcycle helmet or something... he has pretty good style ;)

R D
9 months ago

Very cool, neat & clean design paint is awesome thanks for the review 👍🏻🇨🇦

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

For sure, appreciate the props!

Michigan Mister
9 months ago

good review. finally, you mentioned weight cap. believe it or not most guys don't weigh 160ib. I'm @ 225 and STILL shopping for something like this. strong/simple/quality without all the gizmo's.

Michigan Mister
9 months ago

wonder why they would do that? anyway, thanks for getting back. still shopping, hope for one by the time our weather breaks here in the great lakes. thanks for all.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Yeah, I'll try to do that more often... sometimes the info isn't available to me and I don't want to mislead. Often times, ebikes are rated up to 250 and many are 300 so it sounds like you should be good! Some manufacturers/resellers also lowball the stated max weight but talk about how the bikes can handle much more.

John 246
9 months ago

I bought one of these for my wife two years ago she loves it hundreds of miles and still running strong

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

That's awesome John! Thanks for sharing your experience! Sounds like it matches what Sam has seen, where did you get yours?

Abdelaziz Mazouar
9 months ago

Can you pleas review the Luna 5000w rhino cargo bike.mthere are non videos on YouTube that review it. It is from Luna Cycle

Abdelaziz Mazouar
9 months ago

Ok love your vids. Thanks for replying

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Hey Abdelaziz! I've been in touch with Luna and considered reviewing but when I visited their space in LA there was a range of kits and products and my time was limited. This was a while back and I had a hard time identifying which product was going to be solid, like for sale as-is for a long time. I've reviewed bikes that change before and people became frustrated with my differences vs. what was available. The other question mark for me is that Luna does their own videos and has their own forum at ElectricBike.com so my energy has gone towards bikes like the Motiv Sleek or Giant or Haibike which are more independent and have clear make/model offerings. I may do Luna stuff in the future but I can't say when or if for sure. Thanks for letting me know which bike you're interested in :)

Ft. Lauderdale Beach Life
9 months ago

fwiw...Sam's helmet rocks. What brand and model and does he sell them online from his store? Btw...cool cruiser ebikes.

Thanks

terry oneill
9 months ago

NICE BIKE CHEERS

SuperPapadzul
9 months ago

6:08 "I'm a motorcyclist"   I saw the same problems with Ebikes.  So I got me a Yamaha 1300 runs great!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Cool, I grew up with friends who had dirt bikes... fun to ride but they weren't street legal and we didn't have licenses. Later on, I got my license but didn't want to ride a bike in traffic. For these reasons, I got into electric bikes as a sort of in-between solution

David Macdonald
9 months ago

Good to see sam again .

David Macdonald
9 months ago

True but I think he is a pretty straight guy.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

I agree, he's a good guy and it's fun to hear his perspectives... I like his enthusiasm but try to keep us on Earth with my little critiques and stuff so it doesn't become an electric bike promotion as much as an overview/review ;)

Marcy Cami
9 months ago

w&at abot the erw wheel?
can one install it or are they offer in it?

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
9 months ago

And the ebike screen actors guild award goes to; Courtney. (applause). Great filming man. I love it. Keep 'em coming.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
9 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com As always you did a good job.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Ha! Thanks... I was trying to keep up with Sam, not get hit by a car and enjoy the ride and sunset, good times ;)

samuel Townsend
9 months ago

You know the roads we were riding on were full of pot holes and cracks you can hear how solid and quiet that bike is you put another electric bike on that type of road you'll hear all kinds of rattles and banging going on it goes to show how well built the bike is we also like the fact that Motiv is local to us right here in SoCal. Well there's another one for the public to check out I know Motiv has been a total winner here in our store we rarely have to work on them and that goes back to getting it right the first time when it comes to manufacturing an electric bike.

Camp Runamuck
9 months ago

SAM you could of stared in Sons of Anarchy

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Great feedback, thanks again for shooting this with me Sam :)

moinsen mann
9 months ago

Sad that Motiv is not active in EU/ Eurasia.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

Maybe someday :)

BOB NIEVES
9 months ago

Both bike they are beautiful, I probably will buy one soon.

BOB NIEVES
9 months ago

Yes, you're right.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

I think so too, their take on a cruiser is unique, it just looks a little different and cooler than the others :)

George Herman
9 months ago

That red one is beautiful, simple is the way to go, Sam is cool.

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

I agree with you George, feel lucky to spend time with Sam checking out all of his cool bikes :D