Motiv Spark Review

2017 Motiv Spark Electric Bike Review
2017 Motiv Spark
2017 Motiv Spark Bafang 500 Watt Geared Hub Motor
2017 Motiv Spark 6 Speed Shimano Tourney Electric Bike
2017 Motiv Spark Cruiser Bars Shifter Grips
2017 Motiv Spark King Meter J Lcd
2017 Motiv Spark Tektro Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 Mm
2017 Motiv Spark Silver Fish Mid Mounted Ebike Battery
2017 Motiv Spark Electric Bike Review
2017 Motiv Spark
2017 Motiv Spark Bafang 500 Watt Geared Hub Motor
2017 Motiv Spark 6 Speed Shimano Tourney Electric Bike
2017 Motiv Spark Cruiser Bars Shifter Grips
2017 Motiv Spark King Meter J Lcd
2017 Motiv Spark Tektro Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 Mm
2017 Motiv Spark Silver Fish Mid Mounted Ebike Battery


  • A stylish electric cruiser bicycle with long comfortable handlebars, an oversized saddle, and a seat post suspension to smooth out the ride
  • Powerful 500 watt internally geared hub motor that peaks above 900 watts if you get the 48-volt battery option, offers pedal assist and throttle mode
  • Powerful 180 mm disc brakes with brake-lever motor inhibitors for immediate stops, strong steel fork and oversized alloy pedals with good traction
  • Available in a wide array of unique colors, removable battery pack makes charging and transporting easy, key must be left in the battery to operate

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers







$1,645.99 (Upgraded Battery $1,999.99)

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Electronics and Battery, Lifetime Frame


United States, Australia

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

55.8 lbs (25.31 kg)

Battery Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg) (Optional 7.2 lb)

Motor Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Hydroformed Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

17.5 in (44.45 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

17.5" Seat Tube, 23.5" Reach, 29.5" Stand Over Height, 74.5" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Matte Green, Satin Black, Matte Black, Red, Navy Blue, White

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

10 mm Threaded Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

6 Speed 1x6 Shimano Tourney TX, 15-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano SIS Index Thumb Shifter


Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 44T Chainring


Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform


Neco, 1-1/8"


Promax Alloy Quill, 90 mm Length


Promax Alloy Cruiser, 28" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors, Rubber Edges and Integrated Bell on Left


Flat Rubber


Velo Comfort with Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Promax Suspension Shock

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


Paint-Matched, Alloy, Doublewall, 36 Hole


Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Small Block Eight, 26" x 2.35"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Puncture Protection, 30 to 50 PSI, 30 TPI, Wire Bead

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve, Puncture Sealent


Adjustable Length Kickstand, Color-Matched Steel Chain Cover


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 2 Amp Charger, Motiv is Branded as Crooze in Australia

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

900 watts

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

48 volts (Optional 36)

Battery Amp Hours:

16 ah (Optional 11)

Battery Watt Hours:

768 wh (Optional 396)

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

King-Meter J-LCD, Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD


Battery Level (4 Bars), Clock, Assist Level (0-5), Speed, Odometer, Trip Meter

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (Up to 26 mph with 48 Battery)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Spark is a powerful, well-balanced, cruiser style electric bike built around a sturdy high-step cantilever frame. Motiv produces a very similar model called the Sleek which is slightly smaller and offers a lower stand-over height. Both models are made primarily from Aluminum alloy but feature a vibration-dampening steel fork and full steel chain cover. Rather than weigh the bike down and increase the cost and complexity of the product by adding a suspension fork, Motiv opted for a lighter suspension seat post, padded saddle, and swept-back handlebars. These, combined with the wider 2.35″ Kenda Small Block Eight tires (which have a decent 30 to 50 PSI range), deliver a fairly comfortable ride. Not much has changed on the Spark since I reviewed it in 2013… the price has dropped slightly and you now have four battery size options. The display changed from a simple three-color LED indicator showing relative battery capacity to an advanced LCD display that gives you more control over speed settings. The 2017 Motiv Spark offers basic cadence sensing pedal assist as well as a variable speed twist throttle. The two systems complement each other perfectly, offering riders a way to start from a standstill, pedal comfortably with a bit of help, and override assist instantly at any time to maybe climb or catch up with a friend. You can get the Spark in a wide range of colors, and I found that they were unique and nicer looking than the standard primary red, blue, yellow etc. Some, like the black model shown in the photos and video of this review, are matte and others are metallic.

Driving the bike is a 500 watt nominally rated Bafang geared hub motor. I’m told it can peak over 900 watts and I believe it… especially on the 48 volt battery version of the Spark. This hub motor is compact, responsive, and it blends in with the black spokes if you go for the black frame. These days, a lot of ebikes are hitting the market with mid-motors but they usually don’t have throttle operation, they tend to cost more, and they complicate the drivetrain (often straining the chain, rear sprockets, and derailleur. What you get here is a time-tested system that’s a bit less efficient, but easy and enjoyable to use. Note that the front wheel has quick release while the rear does not. It uses nuts (as most hub motor setups do) and the axle is slightly thicker. As far as pedaling goes, you pedal completely independently from the motor and have six gears to work with. It’s a rather small range but much better than a single speed as some cruisers offer… at least for climbing and being able to catch up at high speed. Sam Townsend, the owner of Electric Bicycle Center in Fullerton, was on hand for this review explaining that some of his customers upgrade the chainring or cassette to have a wider range because they will adjust the speed settings to go over 20 mph. At and above 20 mph, the stock setup has your legs turning a little fast, so I get that. Derailleur used here is a base model Shimano Tourney TX and the shifter is a large thumb style setup that works well if you’re wearing gloves but is more difficult to reach while gripping the bars than trigger shifters, in my experience.

Powering the bike is one of four battery pack options ranging from 36-volt 11 or 16 amp hours up to 48-volt 11 or 16 amp hours. There’s a noticeable difference in torque and power with the 36-volt options but they weigh a bit less and also cost less. Note that you cannot switch from 36 volts to 48 volts once you by the bike, the power system is different… so, unfortunately, it’s not like you can upgrade the battery pack down the line even though they look the same. With a 48 volt system, you get more efficiency in power transfer and a higher watt-hour capacity for longer rides. If you’re a larger person and don’t intend to pedal much, I’d definitely consider the 48-volt upgrade. I like how the battery is positioned on the bike, low and center, and that you can remove the pack and easily carry it around by the plastic swivel handle up at the top. This is a Silverfish battery pack design that has been around for many years, it’s the kind of part that is shared across a range of e-bikes and can be replaced or repacked more affordably. The one gripe I have is that you have to insert, twist, and leave the key in the battery pack in order to use the bike. It functions much like a car ignition in this way… and I find that the key is more prone to snags and jingling if you also have a keychain connected to it. If you just leave the key on its own, you might have to take it off every time you stop and that’s a hassle. Most electric bicycles these days only use a key to lock the battery to the bicycle and then use a power button in place of a keyed ignition. Thankfully, the battery can be charged on or off the bike and the standard 2 Amp charger is fairly portable.

Operating the bike is fairly easy and you get a bunch of customization options through the LCD display that other e-bikes just don’t offer. So you charge and mount the battery, turn the key in the battery to on, then press the MODE button on the button pad near the left grip for a second or two. From here, the display flickers on with standard readouts like battery charge level, clock, assist level, speed, and odometer. You click the up button for more power and the down arrow for less but the twist throttle is always active and provides full power if you twist it all the way. This is an important point because it’s easy to end a ride and get off the bike but forget to turn it off… and then bump the throttle and have the bike lurch forward. So back to those options, you hold the up and down keys for a few seconds together to enter settings and this is where you can raise the top speed, change the units, and even adjust the number of assist levels from 5 to 3 if you prefer less button pushing. You don’t get a fancy USB power port on this display combo and the battery infographic is a bit limited with just four bars vs. 5 or 10 or a battery percentage, but it’s still an upgrade from the older 3-LED design. The cockpit area of the Motiv Spark is wide open and fairly clean. I like the brake levers they chose because the leading edges are rubberized and there’s an integrated bell on the left. There’s plenty of room to mount a cup holder up here, which is great because the bike doesn’t have bottle cage bosses. You could also add a disc brake compatible rear rack.

All things considered, this is a more basic electric bike that uses the same hardware you could buy in a kit and mount yourself… but the price isn’t that bad and the frame is purpose-built with additional strength and internal routing in areas to clean up the look. For 2017, Motiv changed their cadence sensor to be smaller and more protected. You get rear rack bosses and could certainly add fenders aftermarket (in fact, I think their latest models may come with them). I appreciate the large mechanical disc brakes and am willing to trade of hydraulic for the cost savings here. The founder of this company is a cool guy and I just like the way the product looks. If you’re someone who appreciates the OC So-Cal chopper look and wants a powerful throttle operated electric bike, this is one of the best options. There are groups of Motiv owners who go on rides together and I feel like it connects with a certain type of rider. It’s definitely a capable bike, though a little less refined than the $3k+ models we now see from mainstream manufacturers. I appreciate the upright relaxed feel and serviceability of the design.


  • Even though this bike doesn’t come with a suspension fork, the steel fork dampens vibration, the larger knobby tires take out small bumps, you get a seat post suspension to ease your back and neck, and your body position is a bit more relaxed thanks to the swept-back cruiser-style handlebars
  • Excellent kickstand placement, it stays out of the way and makes servicing or cleaning the chain easier because you can pedal backward with it deployed
  • Comfortable oversized saddle and large grippy oversized pedals, The touch points are solid and this makes pedaling and just handling the bike a lot easier
  • Lots of battery options with this electric bike, you can optimize for affordability or power and range, the 48-volt packs are more efficient and provide a zippier feel
  • I love that the battery is positioned at the center of the bike vs. a rear rack, appreciate that all of the different sizes of packs still use the same casing and fit in the same spot, and that you can charge the battery on or off the bike, it makes parking easier and makes the bike lighter for transport as well
  • The Promax brakes have tool-free adjustable calipers, large 180 mm rotors, the levers have motor inhibitors, and there’s an integrated bell in the left lever that sounds loud and clear
  • The wheels are built with thicker 12 gauge spokes to handle the high forces of the hub motor and potentially, a heavier rider or load if you add a rear rack
  • For a cruiser bike like this, where you might have the saddle low and relaxed, it’s great to have twist throttle because pedaling might not be as comfortable, so it’s great that you have assist and throttle that overrides assist to help you get going or zip all the way up to full speed
  • Motiv is using a new, more compact, cadence sensor that is less likely to get bumped out of alignment or become inconsistent due to dust and dirt, it worked really well
  • During the video review, Sam Townsend of the Electric Bicycle Center in Fullerton started telling me about rides he had done on the Motiv Spark and what accessories he likes which included the Topeak Disc Brake Rack and Slider Trunk Bag
  • The display panel is an upgrade from earlier Motiv electric bike models which just had a three color LED readout for battery level, you can adjust a lot more now including the top speed by holding the up and down arrows for a few seconds to enter settings


  • Only available in one frame size but you could opt for the Motiv Sleek which is basically the same e-bike, just in a step-thru design, both models come in a wide range of colors
  • The bike doesn’t come with any fenders, rear rack, or integrated lights, but it’s priced lower and does have provisions for adding your own, I like that it has a full chain cover but wish it had bottle cage bosses
  • Some of the wires aren’t internally routed which doesn’t look as clean and could snag easier, but some shops have told me that they prefer working on bikes like this because it’s easier to access parts
  • In order to operate the bike, you need to insert the key into the top left side of the battery pack and turn it like you would with an automobile, this leaves the key a bit exposed to bumping or jingling around as you ride (especially if you have it on a keychain)
  • More basic drivetrain, you only get six gears and the derailleur is the lowest part level in the Shimano line, Tourney TX
  • Sam told me that you can ungovern the motor to ride a bit faster with the help of your shop, and in that case, you might also want to upgrade the drivetrain to have a larger chainring or smaller sprocket at the rear so you can keep up and not be “beating eggs” pedaling so fast
  • Because this bike uses a cadence sensor vs. torque or combined signal, the motor takes a moment to kick in and then drop out as you stop pedaling, this is where the throttle and motor inhibiting brake levers become useful


More Motiv Reviews

Motiv Sleek Review

  • MSRP: $1,645.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A stylish electric cruiser available in several unique colors (metallics and matte finishes), mid-step frame is easier to mount but feels solid, simplistic and easy to work on. Long swept back handlebar and oversized comfort saddle give this ebike a relaxed ride quality,…...

Motiv Stash Review

  • MSRP: $1,549
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A comfortable folding electric bike with a basic suspension fork and larger diameter tires that help to dissipate bumps and cracks. Solid 350 watt internally geared hub motor from 8Fun paired with a 36 volt 9…...

Motiv Stout Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Easy to use fat style electric bike with a basic twist throttle mode that goes up to 20 mph, great for use in snow, sand, grass and other off-road environments. Battery is mounted low and center on the bike for balance, suspension seat post adds…...

Motiv Sherpa Review

  • MSRP: $2,499.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Budget priced electric cargo bike with removable front mounted porteur rack and welded rear cargo rack. Capable 500 watt geared rear hub motor paired with removable mid-mounted 48 volt Lithium-ion battery…...

Motiv Shadow Review

  • MSRP: $2,249.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Sporty design is fun to pedal but still forgiving thanks to the soft gel seat and neck shock with good travel. Battery pack location is low and stable, helps distribute weight across the frame and it's…...

2014 Motiv Spark Review

  • MSRP: $1,749
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Well-rounded cruiser style electric bike with low center of gravity and powerful drive system. Upgradable battery pack offers increased range or torque, can be charged on or off the…...

2014 Motiv Sleek Review

  • MSRP: $1,749.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Cruiser style electric bike that's well balanced with mid-mount battery, well priced and quite powerful. Strong 500 watt geared hub motor is a capable hill climber, made even stronger with…...

Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

1 day ago

Oh I see. I actually just meant the time spent commuting became a burden and not being able to swing by the grocery store on the way home without going out of my way, but I love being on a bike. It's so much better than being stuck in a car.

There were some days when I was only commuting by bike where I'd be super tired and then by the time I got home I lost all motivation to do anything but lay on the couch.

I think an e-bike would solve both of these problems because I could cover that distance in the same time (or less) while only exerting a fraction of the effort.

6 days ago

Starting with a full charge, I am getting 40 miles out of my Bosch CX bike with the Diore xt 11 speed. There is 10% remaining on the 500 watt battery. I weigh 210, live in a hilly area and usually loose and gain between 600 and 800 feet in a 15 mile ride. I keep the bike mainly in eMTB mode (variable automatic assist level) and the bike produces about 60% of the motive effort with me contributing an average of 40%. I am quite satisfied with these results.

1 week ago

Unfortunately I failed to find a thread dedicated to this. If there is one, you can delete this thread and point me to the right one.

So, after 400miles my Haibike Xduro Cross needs some cleaning. It is mostly dried out mud/dust (but not heavy , you can probably just run your hands over it and the residues are gone). A couple of questions :

1. I am planning to remove the battery and display. Anything else I should do before cleaning(like covering the battery plugs, motor etc?)

2. Is it ok to run water over it with a hose(not pressurized)?

3. I have an armor all car washing liquid which does NOT contain wax and supposed to be very gentle on paint ( I have seen people using dawn etc. where this one is much much milder than any detergent.

4. Do I need to degrease the chain ? What is the usual intervals you do a complete degrease and lube?

5. Any recommended tools (brushes etc)?

6. If rinsing it with a hose is not an option then how do you clean it?

Thanks for the answers in advance.

1 week ago

This is not developed by a small company, it is developed by large companies and their subsidiaries.

you have a mountain descent -40º is a long straight asphalt, as you will understand the 25 km / h of motor assistance were completed in the first meters of the route,You are out of drive unit bosch assistance, you have more than 25 km / h and the engine does not assistand you only have to fall by gravity and against the resistance of the wind and finish the road several kilometers.
Example you got a time of 20 minutes in finishing that road.

As a cheap bicycle with four less price to a pedelec bosch simply by having a plate or disk of 30 teeth or 48 teeth improves the time of descent of the bosch.

And the road ends in 15 minutes for example.

And they do not have a drive unit.

The bosch is only good at the mountain descent when the route has many curves and does not exceed 25km / h.

In a mixed mountain descent of many curves and long straights it does not adapt well because it only gives good results within 25km / h in the zone of curves.

In descent of mountain, in straights, it loses time against systems of plate and disc bigger in other ebike, because you are outside the range of the drive unit bosch of 25km / h and your human pedaling does not contribute more speed.

In mountain bike there is no plate or discs smaller than 20 t.
15 t, 16t, 18t, these are special dishes designed by bosch for pedelec and are very limited to exceed 25km / h with only the human pedaling.

The option is to unlock the speed at 50km / h,and spend more battery in the descent.
Bosch should equip a second plate with more teeth

1 week ago

Is the Bosch not capable of the same "instant torque"? Wouldn't that make it less desirable for steep climbing?

rich c
1 week ago

Bosch is a diesel engine developer? They just make components. The company started by making magnetos. The early goal was to be a Workshop for Precision Mechanics and Electrical Engineering.

1 week ago

One thing is the original design watts and otherwise the nominal power. I mean the design in watts of origin.100 watts more for the bosch cx.
As designed with 100 watts but exceed 500 watts is not always a problem.

I understand that specifications are that the battery is for 700 cycles but the most important from my point of view is the operation of that battery in more extreme temperatures such as -15 or -20º Celsius, as some Norwegians comment with Haibike and Yamaha PW.they comment positively.

To load it you need your 0º celsius or more.

The advantage of the Yamaha is that disconnected looks like a normal bicycle except that it weighs 23 kilos but you still get a good compromise in flat terrain and very good in descent with all that system off.
The second strong point is the support from zero speed, it is mandatary in climbing.

The third point is that it has a greater range with the same battery of 500w of other systems therefore the battery cycle equivalence, cost and kilometer travel changes. More kilometers traveled per battery cycle used. you take more time to buy a new battery.

The concept of Yamaha is: not only is climbing the mountain as fast as possible, it is also lowering it as quickly as possible and without using the battery, reserve the battery for the next climb.

Bosch: diesel engine developer and its evolution, automotive industry
Brose: specialist in specific electric motors, example Mercedes / Bmw wiper motors, etc.Industry automotive
Yamaha: Motorcycle engines, etc, Automotive industry
Shimano: Bicycle industry

All central engine.

This is not a Chinese rear hub engine, all these are good engines with their concept.

The automotive equivalent to the versions of cars and motorcycles.

What is missing is the regenerative brake option for all of them and not the abs they can carry in the future.

There are people who are 3 years old with bosch and now they have Yamaha and they are happy and maybe you put a Brose in their hands tomorrow and they are still happy

2 weeks ago

I don,t know about cable brakes but on hydraulic brakes the business card is inserted when the wheel is removed to keep the pads apart if the brake handle is squeezed accidentally. Some people do this but I know my son does not with his bike.

2 weeks ago

As someone new to biking, but relatively handy (I do a lot of my own automotive and home repair work) - even watching videos, it took me a LOT of fiddling around to get the brakes so they didn't rub.

Someone else mentioned using a business card - could you give more detail on that? Spacing alignment?

2 weeks ago

Like most groups, organizations, etc that are trying to get support for their cause, our so-called "representatives" in government don't understand the subject matter and neither do they make any real attempt to understand it. For them, it all boils down to one question, "How does this help me get reelected?"

The Hawaii Bicycling League has a good rapport with Honolulu's mayor, which has helped get a few new bike lanes created although nothing outside the city core where the bike commuters like myself are coming from. An ebike supporter was recently elected to HBL's board, which I'm excited about and an ebike ride is already scheduled for March 11th. Now, the ride is for Brompton owners, but this is a pretty big deal nonetheless since the President of HBL has made the public statement that he doesn't want ebikes allowed to use the bike lanes. It's bad enough when you have to fight local government for the right to ride your ebike, it's even worse when the President of your local bicycling league doesn't like them either.

Ken M
2 weeks ago

4 Politicians pushed the Class 3 legislation model thru in Colorado in 2 months primarily motivated by convincing Haibike to move their US headquarters here. The main problem was non of them were technical so they don't understand motor power ratings and the way it can benefit certain motor technologies (like mid-drives vs rear gearless hub motors) and my guess is that non of them had spent any significant commute time on an eBike.

The sad result of all this is that eBikes are getting a bad rap instead of the serious consideration they deserve as a way to get more people out of cars for a significant % of short range transportation.

Then you have DMV and insurance companies that only care about finding a way to get money and pensions from any growth in the ebike sector, the result is non-thinking decision making.

2 weeks ago

This is great news and confirms that the Nuvinci systems will continue to be actively moving forward in the cycling industry. As mentioned earlier this week we will probably see a name change based on the recent issues but otherwise, things will continue to grow which is great news for the cycling industry.



CEDAR PARK, USA – The last week announced Chapter 11 for Fallbrook Technologies Inc. has resulted in new ownership of the company. The former senior debt holder Kayne Anderson Capital Advisors is now the new majority shareholder and the financing source for Fallbrook, including its brand for step-less bicycle transmission systems enviolo.

Daily operations of enviolo not affected by Chapter 11 procedure,’ David Hancock, enviolo MD. – Photo enviolo
Los Angeles based Kayne Anderson Capital Advisors LP is an independent alternative investment management firm focused on investments in niches. Kayne manages nearly USD 27 billion in assets for institutional investors and clients.

enviolo activities

“For us the main message is that our enviolo activities remain unaffected while Fallbrook is undergoing its restructuring under Chapter 11,” explains David Hancock, MD of enviolo (former NuVinci Cycling). “An important element of the Chapter 11 mechanism is the fact that it enables companies to implement financial restructuring measures to reduce debt service and recapitalize the balance sheet. During the proceedings, enviolo’s daily operations will not be affected. Fallbrook’s restructuring plan already has creditor agreement and committed financing.”

Licensing company

“A key aspect of Fallbrook’s business strategy is licensing its technology in multiple industries.”, says David Hancock explaining the back ground of the company’s financial situation. “In the past 13 years Fallbrook has been financed by multiple rounds of venture capital creating a complex capital structure. While the Fallbrook CVP technology has been licensed in several industries, the development timelines are long for many of the licensees’ applications – such as automotive primary transmission. This resulted in royalty revenues being pushed into the future. enviolo has posted strong financial results; however, it wasn’t enough to offset the lack of current royalty revenues.

Hancock points out that despite the Chapter 11 procedure, “Bike OEM’s lead time remains the same, 30 days on existing products and 60 days on the newly introduced portfolio. All planned MY2020 products continue to be on track for market introduction. Our enviolo’s European warehouse in the Netherlands will maintain its inventory at a sufficient level, including spare parts. Importantly, enviolo warranties will not be affected.”

“To discuss our parent company’s financial restructuring, we organize a webinar on March 15,” says David Hancock.

source: Bike Europe

4 weeks ago

I have to agree with the 650B wheels. I would even like to see a 27.5 (650B) plus option. I think this (ebike) market is underserved at the moment in this wheel/tire size offering - and I love my 27.5+ Scott Spark for all around riding...

1 month ago


That looks really useful in general. I'm going to pick one up to keep at home. For the road my friend just gave me the idea to use a spark plug socket. They have a pass thru but the also have flats on the outside to use with a cresent wrench.

Alex M
2 months ago

OP, these 2 bikes are not "the same" or with "same components".
On a brief glance: different battery voltage (could be different controllers as well). Different tires - one is 26", another one 27.5". I'm pretty sure there are other differences as well.
Having said this, - 2 bikes with same level components (not "same bikes", and again, it is not clear that components are same level) - can vary in price that much, yes.

There is such thing as brand and reputation, this costs more and involves better/wider support net and parts availability. Check discount online stores like Upzy, or go to Aliexpress, or Ebay, and you will find a few more bikes "looking" like these two, could be even couple hundred bucks less than Spark. Note that I said "looking", not "the same". Anything can be different, from inferior spokes to nameless controller to poorly welded seams to non-existent support. And there are dozens (hundreds?) bikes in the middle, low priced new companies, they come and go, here today and gone tomorrow.

2 months ago

Look forward to hearing your review of the bike. I wish it would come with at least a 500w. I see that's standard with the Spark X.

2 months ago

I just wanted to share that my experience buying from Sparkbikes has been very positive. The company is responsive and legit.

I am happy to say I just received my Sparkbikes "SPARK". I ordered last Wednesday, and was picked up by Purolator that same day, with tracking number. I received the bike at my door in 8 days!

This is a great bike for CAD$1,249 (US$960)! It comes standard with a 48V 10.4Ah battery, 350W Bafang hub motor, and quick-release front wheel. 10 levels of PAS (0-9), with throttle-on-demand at any PAS, including zero. The throttle works from standstill (i.e. no need to pedal to activate). I opted for the 48V 13Ah battery for CAD$150 more.

The bike is very light as well. I weighted it myself. 52.2 lbs with battery! Here is a quick picture of my actual bike:

2 months ago

I just ordered the SPARK

Below is a stock photo from the seller's website:

John from Connecticut
3 months ago

I completely agree. My opinion.... Based on just good old observations and general conversations I've had with folks about bike riding, there never will be a
Michael Dell of e-Bike in the US. Cycling in the main stay is going no where. ( No pun intended ) I talk up the value and virtues and how I love my e-Bike,
to most anyone capable of riding hoping to spark some interest... Zero interest in riding a bike, never mind an e-Bike. Bike riding is not part of the
American culture.

I hear things like " Oh yea, I have a bike but haven't it in ( fill in the years ) 10, 15 who knows." Yes, the road folks are very active in the sport, but have
you checked the average age of road club riders ? They're not 'kids' and I'm being kind. When those folks are gone then what ? ( for cycling in general that is)

We all know the joy ease and fun of a quality e-bike, that's a no brainer. The issue is bike riding is just not in many or most folks thought process. That's
what it gets down to. My guess....The major manufacturers know this and are building 'Ferraris' and not 'Toyota Corolla' 'cause folks like myself and others
are willing to purchase and really value a quality product. ..There is a ray of hope. The owner of my LBS told me the growth in cycling is e-Bikes and wait for it

One very last thought. It troubles me that some LBS owners are struggling, because they play a huge role for a first or second time buyer and without
them it will be even more difficult get and or keep new riders in the sport. Just my two cents.

John from CT

4 months ago

Ref CrossCurrent AIR, a few months old

Love this bike (other than the rear brakes), when it works, but unfortunately reliability is an issue and I need something reliable for commuting.

One persistent problem is flaking out in the rain, and I live in the north west, where it rains.

Tech support suggested water might be getting into the connectors, so I wanted to ask, has anybody experience with spraying the connectors with a water displacer such as WD 40? Used to work a treat on the spark plugs of my old car when they got damp but that was much higher power. Is there any reason not to try WD40? Any other suggestions or experience with this of note?

Thanks. If I can get this one solved I can ask about the other issues....

Mark Peralta
4 months ago

As a student studying electrical engineering course, I presume you want this to be your project ebike to make it run so you can have applied knowledge and hands on experience. And of course, improvise it to your own personal taste and gain self confidence doing it. Ebikes has gone a long long way in technological advances to the motors, controllers, and batteries. However, having hands on experience at the very basic level help you have a better feel and confidence on ebikes, both old and the current technologies.

Regarding the arcing and burning out of contact points on brushed motors, you can apply a simple method used by car engines in the past (1970's and older), before the advent of electronic ignitions. In the past, cars used contact points to power the spark plugs. They used a "condenser" (a paper capacitor) to mitigate arcing (and burning out) of the contact points. You can also put paper capacitor linked between the positive and negative terminals of the motor to minimize arcing at the brushes.

4 months ago

I was jus

i was just wondering what most people do and if it would be worth my time to offer my suspension knowledge and services.
I have worked with fox development for 20yrs and just recently ventured into Rock Shox and finding there very little difference and same issues with friction and slick grease bushings none oil bath on both forks.
The grease makes no sense for fighting stiction and wear.
So i oil bath all my forks and use a special oil developed by a retired fox engineer that fox tried to copy with there new gold oil. But fox uses a poor quality base stock and it doesn’t work nearly as well.

4 months ago

Thanks Tnt,
I spoke with Jenson, and my helmet size will be in a month. Salesman said he wears the same one. As to your suspension rebuild. I have had them apart, and if you don't do those regularly can be difficult. I will probably be sending mine to a place near the Tesla Giga factory, in Sparks Nevada. Sorry can't remember their name . Their site sounded pretty good. Quick turn around of your fork. And they do them all the time. I will see if I can find their name tommorow.

5 months ago

I never heard of Spark bikes. The only big difference I see is the 48v motor one Spark vs a 36v 13ah battery. You'll get better acceleration on the Spark but your range is going to be much shorter than the Magnum. I have a 10.4ah battery and the range isn't that good. I get around 28 miles on a 48v kit and that's running Level 2/5 which puts out about 200 watts. I also have a 36v 13.6 ah geared hub kit and that gives me about 45 miles of range using similar assist.

The hardtail is a different animal entirely. The BBS02 mid drive is going to provide much more power 750w-1000w. If you like to shift, then the gear hub will work better. Shifting on the mid drive takes some technique if you don't want to mash the gears. There are solutions out there but nothing I think is really as good as having assists that don't depend on the chain.

6 months ago

Which battery did you have on this specific bike?

9 months ago

It was time to upgrade from my 24v Lee Iacocca E-Bike... Yep,... you cost me big money now... :)

samuel Townsend
9 months ago

We love our Motiv's just did a memorial day weekend trip to Palm Springs with some customers had a blast. The Motiv bikes have never let us down and we have logged more miles on the them then any other model of E-bike we carry. The newest container of bikes from Motiv now come with color match fenders and integrated headlight with a solar powered tail light. Here's the best news of all, To be more competitive with the competition the Wholesale price has been lowered to the dealers.

James Mason
9 months ago

why do they do that with the key

John Moura
9 months ago

Those wispy clouds are chem-trails.

4 months ago

John Moura that's not a thing, it's just condensed air

Michigan Mister
9 months ago

I know the optimum place for the battery is forward of the seat down bar, but for me this is the best. it's out of the way of both your feet/legs and a rack. plus, the battery here is more protected in the event of a spill, AND still accessible. it also allows the engineers to play around with more aesthetics in the rear of the bike. no wonder they sell a bunch with the motor specs- like it, GREAT starter bike price wise as well. nice review for a beginner I guess...

Mark Elford
9 months ago

Very nice setup.