Motiv Spark Review

2017 Motiv Spark Electric Bike Review
2017 Motiv Spark
2017 Motiv Spark Bafang 500 Watt Geared Hub Motor
2017 Motiv Spark 6 Speed Shimano Tourney Electric Bike
2017 Motiv Spark Cruiser Bars Shifter Grips
2017 Motiv Spark King Meter J Lcd
2017 Motiv Spark Tektro Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 Mm
2017 Motiv Spark Silver Fish Mid Mounted Ebike Battery
2017 Motiv Spark Electric Bike Review
2017 Motiv Spark
2017 Motiv Spark Bafang 500 Watt Geared Hub Motor
2017 Motiv Spark 6 Speed Shimano Tourney Electric Bike
2017 Motiv Spark Cruiser Bars Shifter Grips
2017 Motiv Spark King Meter J Lcd
2017 Motiv Spark Tektro Mechanical Disc Brakes 180 Mm
2017 Motiv Spark Silver Fish Mid Mounted Ebike Battery

Summary

  • A stylish electric cruiser bicycle with long comfortable handlebars, an oversized saddle, and a seat post suspension to smooth out the ride
  • Powerful 500 watt internally geared hub motor that peaks above 900 watts if you get the 48-volt battery option, offers pedal assist and throttle mode
  • Powerful 180 mm disc brakes with brake-lever motor inhibitors for immediate stops, strong steel fork and oversized alloy pedals with good traction
  • Available in a wide array of unique colors, removable battery pack makes charging and transporting easy, key must be left in the battery to operate

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Motiv

Model:

Spark

Price:

$1,645.99 (Upgraded Battery $1,999.99)

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Electronics and Battery, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States, Australia

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

55.8 lbs (25.31 kg)

Battery Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg) (Optional 7.2 lb)

Motor Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Hydroformed Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

17.5 in (44.45 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

17.5" Seat Tube, 23.5" Reach, 29.5" Stand Over Height, 74.5" Length

Frame Types:

Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Matte Green, Satin Black, Matte Black, Red, Navy Blue, White

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

10 mm Threaded Axle

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

6 Speed 1x6 Shimano Tourney TX, 15-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano SIS Index Thumb Shifter

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 44T Chainring

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Neco, 1-1/8"

Stem:

Promax Alloy Quill, 90 mm Length

Handlebar:

Promax Alloy Cruiser, 28" Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Novela Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitors, Rubber Edges and Integrated Bell on Left

Grips:

Flat Rubber

Saddle:

Velo Comfort with Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Promax Suspension Shock

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Paint-Matched, Alloy, Doublewall, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Small Block Eight, 26" x 2.35"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Puncture Protection, 30 to 50 PSI, 30 TPI, Wire Bead

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve, Puncture Sealent

Accessories:

Adjustable Length Kickstand, Color-Matched Steel Chain Cover

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 2 Amp Charger, Motiv is Branded as Crooze in Australia

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

900 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

48 volts (Optional 36)

Battery Amp Hours:

16 ah (Optional 11)

Battery Watt Hours:

768 wh (Optional 396)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

King-Meter J-LCD, Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Level (4 Bars), Clock, Assist Level (0-5), Speed, Odometer, Trip Meter

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (Up to 26 mph with 48 Battery)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Spark is a powerful, well-balanced, cruiser style electric bike built around a sturdy high-step cantilever frame. Motiv produces a very similar model called the Sleek which is slightly smaller and offers a lower stand-over height. Both models are made primarily from Aluminum alloy but feature a vibration-dampening steel fork and full steel chain cover. Rather than weigh the bike down and increase the cost and complexity of the product by adding a suspension fork, Motiv opted for a lighter suspension seat post, padded saddle, and swept-back handlebars. These, combined with the wider 2.35″ Kenda Small Block Eight tires (which have a decent 30 to 50 PSI range), deliver a fairly comfortable ride. Not much has changed on the Spark since I reviewed it in 2013… the price has dropped slightly and you now have four battery size options. The display changed from a simple three-color LED indicator showing relative battery capacity to an advanced LCD display that gives you more control over speed settings. The 2017 Motiv Spark offers basic cadence sensing pedal assist as well as a variable speed twist throttle. The two systems complement each other perfectly, offering riders a way to start from a standstill, pedal comfortably with a bit of help, and override assist instantly at any time to maybe climb or catch up with a friend. You can get the Spark in a wide range of colors, and I found that they were unique and nicer looking than the standard primary red, blue, yellow etc. Some, like the black model shown in the photos and video of this review, are matte and others are metallic.

Driving the bike is a 500 watt nominally rated Bafang geared hub motor. I’m told it can peak over 900 watts and I believe it… especially on the 48 volt battery version of the Spark. This hub motor is compact, responsive, and it blends in with the black spokes if you go for the black frame. These days, a lot of ebikes are hitting the market with mid-motors but they usually don’t have throttle operation, they tend to cost more, and they complicate the drivetrain (often straining the chain, rear sprockets, and derailleur. What you get here is a time-tested system that’s a bit less efficient, but easy and enjoyable to use. Note that the front wheel has quick release while the rear does not. It uses nuts (as most hub motor setups do) and the axle is slightly thicker. As far as pedaling goes, you pedal completely independently from the motor and have six gears to work with. It’s a rather small range but much better than a single speed as some cruisers offer… at least for climbing and being able to catch up at high speed. Sam Townsend, the owner of Electric Bicycle Center in Fullerton, was on hand for this review explaining that some of his customers upgrade the chainring or cassette to have a wider range because they will adjust the speed settings to go over 20 mph. At and above 20 mph, the stock setup has your legs turning a little fast, so I get that. Derailleur used here is a base model Shimano Tourney TX and the shifter is a large thumb style setup that works well if you’re wearing gloves but is more difficult to reach while gripping the bars than trigger shifters, in my experience.

Powering the bike is one of four battery pack options ranging from 36-volt 11 or 16 amp hours up to 48-volt 11 or 16 amp hours. There’s a noticeable difference in torque and power with the 36-volt options but they weigh a bit less and also cost less. Note that you cannot switch from 36 volts to 48 volts once you by the bike, the power system is different… so, unfortunately, it’s not like you can upgrade the battery pack down the line even though they look the same. With a 48 volt system, you get more efficiency in power transfer and a higher watt-hour capacity for longer rides. If you’re a larger person and don’t intend to pedal much, I’d definitely consider the 48-volt upgrade. I like how the battery is positioned on the bike, low and center, and that you can remove the pack and easily carry it around by the plastic swivel handle up at the top. This is a Silverfish battery pack design that has been around for many years, it’s the kind of part that is shared across a range of e-bikes and can be replaced or repacked more affordably. The one gripe I have is that you have to insert, twist, and leave the key in the battery pack in order to use the bike. It functions much like a car ignition in this way… and I find that the key is more prone to snags and jingling if you also have a keychain connected to it. If you just leave the key on its own, you might have to take it off every time you stop and that’s a hassle. Most electric bicycles these days only use a key to lock the battery to the bicycle and then use a power button in place of a keyed ignition. Thankfully, the battery can be charged on or off the bike and the standard 2 Amp charger is fairly portable.

Operating the bike is fairly easy and you get a bunch of customization options through the LCD display that other e-bikes just don’t offer. So you charge and mount the battery, turn the key in the battery to on, then press the MODE button on the button pad near the left grip for a second or two. From here, the display flickers on with standard readouts like battery charge level, clock, assist level, speed, and odometer. You click the up button for more power and the down arrow for less but the twist throttle is always active and provides full power if you twist it all the way. This is an important point because it’s easy to end a ride and get off the bike but forget to turn it off… and then bump the throttle and have the bike lurch forward. So back to those options, you hold the up and down keys for a few seconds together to enter settings and this is where you can raise the top speed, change the units, and even adjust the number of assist levels from 5 to 3 if you prefer less button pushing. You don’t get a fancy USB power port on this display combo and the battery infographic is a bit limited with just four bars vs. 5 or 10 or a battery percentage, but it’s still an upgrade from the older 3-LED design. The cockpit area of the Motiv Spark is wide open and fairly clean. I like the brake levers they chose because the leading edges are rubberized and there’s an integrated bell on the left. There’s plenty of room to mount a cup holder up here, which is great because the bike doesn’t have bottle cage bosses. You could also add a disc brake compatible rear rack.

All things considered, this is a more basic electric bike that uses the same hardware you could buy in a kit and mount yourself… but the price isn’t that bad and the frame is purpose-built with additional strength and internal routing in areas to clean up the look. For 2017, Motiv changed their cadence sensor to be smaller and more protected. You get rear rack bosses and could certainly add fenders aftermarket (in fact, I think their latest models may come with them). I appreciate the large mechanical disc brakes and am willing to trade of hydraulic for the cost savings here. The founder of this company is a cool guy and I just like the way the product looks. If you’re someone who appreciates the OC So-Cal chopper look and wants a powerful throttle operated electric bike, this is one of the best options. There are groups of Motiv owners who go on rides together and I feel like it connects with a certain type of rider. It’s definitely a capable bike, though a little less refined than the $3k+ models we now see from mainstream manufacturers. I appreciate the upright relaxed feel and serviceability of the design.

Pros:

  • Even though this bike doesn’t come with a suspension fork, the steel fork dampens vibration, the larger knobby tires take out small bumps, you get a seat post suspension to ease your back and neck, and your body position is a bit more relaxed thanks to the swept-back cruiser-style handlebars
  • Excellent kickstand placement, it stays out of the way and makes servicing or cleaning the chain easier because you can pedal backward with it deployed
  • Comfortable oversized saddle and large grippy oversized pedals, The touch points are solid and this makes pedaling and just handling the bike a lot easier
  • Lots of battery options with this electric bike, you can optimize for affordability or power and range, the 48-volt packs are more efficient and provide a zippier feel
  • I love that the battery is positioned at the center of the bike vs. a rear rack, appreciate that all of the different sizes of packs still use the same casing and fit in the same spot, and that you can charge the battery on or off the bike, it makes parking easier and makes the bike lighter for transport as well
  • The Promax brakes have tool-free adjustable calipers, large 180 mm rotors, the levers have motor inhibitors, and there’s an integrated bell in the left lever that sounds loud and clear
  • The wheels are built with thicker 12 gauge spokes to handle the high forces of the hub motor and potentially, a heavier rider or load if you add a rear rack
  • For a cruiser bike like this, where you might have the saddle low and relaxed, it’s great to have twist throttle because pedaling might not be as comfortable, so it’s great that you have assist and throttle that overrides assist to help you get going or zip all the way up to full speed
  • Motiv is using a new, more compact, cadence sensor that is less likely to get bumped out of alignment or become inconsistent due to dust and dirt, it worked really well
  • During the video review, Sam Townsend of the Electric Bicycle Center in Fullerton started telling me about rides he had done on the Motiv Spark and what accessories he likes which included the Topeak Disc Brake Rack and Slider Trunk Bag
  • The display panel is an upgrade from earlier Motiv electric bike models which just had a three color LED readout for battery level, you can adjust a lot more now including the top speed by holding the up and down arrows for a few seconds to enter settings

Cons:

  • Only available in one frame size but you could opt for the Motiv Sleek which is basically the same e-bike, just in a step-thru design, both models come in a wide range of colors
  • The bike doesn’t come with any fenders, rear rack, or integrated lights, but it’s priced lower and does have provisions for adding your own, I like that it has a full chain cover but wish it had bottle cage bosses
  • Some of the wires aren’t internally routed which doesn’t look as clean and could snag easier, but some shops have told me that they prefer working on bikes like this because it’s easier to access parts
  • In order to operate the bike, you need to insert the key into the top left side of the battery pack and turn it like you would with an automobile, this leaves the key a bit exposed to bumping or jingling around as you ride (especially if you have it on a keychain)
  • More basic drivetrain, you only get six gears and the derailleur is the lowest part level in the Shimano line, Tourney TX
  • Sam told me that you can ungovern the motor to ride a bit faster with the help of your shop, and in that case, you might also want to upgrade the drivetrain to have a larger chainring or smaller sprocket at the rear so you can keep up and not be “beating eggs” pedaling so fast
  • Because this bike uses a cadence sensor vs. torque or combined signal, the motor takes a moment to kick in and then drop out as you stop pedaling, this is where the throttle and motor inhibiting brake levers become useful

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Motiv Reviews

Motiv Sleek Review

  • MSRP: $1,645.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A stylish electric cruiser available in several unique colors (metallics and matte finishes), mid-step frame is easier to mount but feels solid, simplistic and easy to work on. Long swept back handlebar and oversized comfort saddle give this ebike a relaxed ride quality,…...

Motiv Stash Review

  • MSRP: $1,549
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A comfortable folding electric bike with a basic suspension fork and larger diameter tires that help to dissipate bumps and cracks. Solid 350 watt internally geared hub motor from 8Fun paired with a 36 volt 9…...

Motiv Stout Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Easy to use fat style electric bike with a basic twist throttle mode that goes up to 20 mph, great for use in snow, sand, grass and other off-road environments. Battery is mounted low and center on the bike for balance, suspension seat post adds…...

Motiv Sherpa Review

  • MSRP: $2,499.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Budget priced electric cargo bike with removable front mounted porteur rack and welded rear cargo rack. Capable 500 watt geared rear hub motor paired with removable mid-mounted 48 volt Lithium-ion battery…...

Motiv Shadow Review

  • MSRP: $2,249.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Sporty design is fun to pedal but still forgiving thanks to the soft gel seat and neck shock with good travel. Battery pack location is low and stable, helps distribute weight across the frame and it's…...

2014 Motiv Spark Review

  • MSRP: $1,749
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Well-rounded cruiser style electric bike with low center of gravity and powerful drive system. Upgradable battery pack offers increased range or torque, can be charged on or off the…...

2014 Motiv Sleek Review

  • MSRP: $1,749.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Cruiser style electric bike that's well balanced with mid-mount battery, well priced and quite powerful. Strong 500 watt geared hub motor is a capable hill climber, made even stronger with…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Beyizzer
15 hours ago

I'm going to get into my problem at the end, but i'm going to type a bit about what happened before it died in hopes that perhaps if i can get another one or fix this one i can avoid what i did wrong and prevent it from happening again. Because I'm so new to this and because resources seem to be real slim on the subject ANY help would be appreciated.

i got an ebike conversion kit (link)
I got one of those front wheel 1000w motors from walmart.com I got the kit in the mail and realized i needed a battery, researched batteries, realized it was something i'd have to figure out how to buy one day because $500 wasn't really in my budget.

i got a 48v 17ah battery (link)
couple months later i had an opportunity to get a loan double what the battery costed so i bought the battery with the loan, battery came in, i hooked everything up and connected the loose power wires of the battery to the power cables of the motor, my girlfriend then used the throttle, wheel moved, so the next day i had an electrician solder the connection to a set of male female connectors that were on the battery wire. the next day i was in business, riding around no problem.

bumps would disconnect wires, i kept having to pull over to reconnect
every time i hit a bump i would feel cautious because sometimes a bump would pull on a wire too much and disconnect one of them in the bag. i had the controller and the battery in the bag the motor came with sitting in a basket on the rear mount that the motor came with. So i got used to reconnecting wires anytime i would be driving through traffic and the throttle would suddenly stop doing something. I'd routinely pull over and check all the connections and check the throttle to see if the lights on the battery indicator lit up yet, once they did I lifted the front wheel and made sure the wheel reacted and then i'd be on my way. I knew this was only a temporary fix, maybe i needed to get some better connections from like an electric parts store or reconfigure my setup with longer wires. at first it was the yellow blue and green wires that kept coming undone, i've seen a lot of youtube videos where there's a plastic yellow box to connect them with but my setup came with three lose wires to three lose wires with some sort of rubber neck pieces that pulled over each other to make things snug. I pulled the green rubber back so the connectors were bare and made sure to make those click really secure and once those were secure i had a break for a while.

power cable issues
...but i still had problems, this time it seemed the power cable from the battery would not be disconnected, but nothing would work until I took apart the power connection of the red and black wires from the battery to the black and red wires coming from the motor i would disconnect them and reconnect them they would always spark but then the bike would work again, the other day i was about to do this on the side of the road but no spark, nothing worked, i took it to an electrician he said something about an over current and an electrical arc, i went to an ebike repair shop and he was saying he'd sell me another controller for $100 but the whole kit wasn't much more than that, and i found a bunch of really close controllers online for $20-100 most under $40. I'm not sure if i should open this controller up and find what needs to be fixed or get new connectors because one of the connectors is melted on the white plastic a little bit and the connector inside is kind of sideways counterclockwise. For walmart.com exchanges, some are sold by other sellers so i contacted the seller and they said they can send me a new controller but it would take 2.5 weeks.

John from Connecticut
6 days ago

Hello all - I need some help. I am getting the below 4x4 Sprinter Van that has a bed that raises. I want to put two bikes under the bed that fit when it is lowered - which will require taking the front wheel off.

What my requirements are:

A fun - want to ride every day - ride.
Suspension (through forks / tires) that will allow us to ride on easy to medium trails. I assume the full suspension bikes can't take a bike rack.....
Must have a bike rack as we will be taking camping stuff at least 10 miles down the trail... or getting groceries.
Long lasting battery.
Tough as we will be banging this thing around.
Unique - I love having cool things that spark conversations. Not to show off - but to start a conversation... I like to talk....
Weight - In my experience the lighter the bike the better the carve. But... I understand the electric bike is a lot heavier which is fine - expected - but 70+ pounds I wonder if that is too heavy for some of these??

We will be peddling a lot - I have a Carbon Fiber DaVinci (which is over my head in capabilities) so I want a bike that I can peddle a lot of the time.... maybe 50% on assist 1 or 2.. At least that is my vision - might change as I've never had an electric bike! I'm 48 and still want to go to places that others people aren't.

The bikes (I need two - one for me / one for my girl -- 5' 10" / 5' 6") that I'm kind of excited about are:

Haibike SDURO Trekking 9.5 - a little expensive and unsure about the off road capability. Looks like it is well put together - well thought out bike. Looks mad cool. A take down from this bike might be the M2S XC Sport?? Half the price.

M2S R750 Looks like a nice bike for the price. Looks like it is mad fun and has decent options. Unsure if that is an actual 750 Watt motor or the peak? Wish the battery was 52v. 62 pounds.

RadRover Man I love this company - flew from Key Largo up to Seattle to tested the bike. My only problem with the RadRover is that it seems that it hasn't been updated that much. I wish it had an option for a better battery and forks.

Volt Yukon Limited Looks like a real nice bike - possibly a step above the Rad but that is more like a Ford / Chevy argument.... they are too close to call so go with the one that looks the best. And the Volt guy is a little aggressive replying to comments anywhere the Volt is talked about. If I had to pick between the two - I think I would go Volt but would choose the R750 over both.

Teo S Another well priced bike and it seems to be a pretty nice one with a 750W motor . I am unsure how it compares the other Rad / Volt. Looks like the people who bought this bike really like it. But that is all relative -

Bulls / Specialized / Trek / and many other high end brands that make amazing bikes... but they seem to be a lot more expensive. I'm sure super nice rides - but is the price justified?

HaiBike
https://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/672/2018-sduro-trekking-9-5?variant=3840272848
M2S XC Sport
https://shop.m2sbikes.com/collections/frontpage/products/xc-mid-drive-electric-commuter?variant=38435959432
M2S R750
https://shop.m2sbikes.com/collections/frontpage/products/all-terrain-electric-fat-bike
RadRover
https://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radrover-electric-fat-bike?variant=1121017965
Volt Yukon Limited
http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-yukon/voltbike-yukon-750-limited.html
Teo S
https://teofatbike.com/boutique/en/teo-s/teo-s-medium-noir-750w-p111c83/

Hello SV Moving On,
Looking for opinions on e-Bikes. I purchased a Trek XM700+ this past July and I absolutely love it ! My average daily ride is 20-ish miles and I hate to stop.

The Bosch Performance Motor is silky smooth, but very powerful, the Intuvia Controller is simple to use. My XM700+ glides along bringing me great joy....Hills, 'there are none' : ) I never thought cycling could be so much fun !... I made one change and added the Cirrus Bodyfloat seat post which I consider and absolute must. For me the frame stiffness was more then my back would tolerate, but the Bodyfloat is a marvelous piece of engineering, now my Trek is so comfortable...

The disk brakes are strong, extremely smooth and boy do they work. The swept back handlebars and the ergonomic grips make for a very comfortable ride.... The bike feels rock solid and is very well built. I've put on a little over 1000 miles in 3 months.

I'm sure there are many fine e-bikes out there, and I'm sure a few that are 'not so fine', but to me the Trek XM700+ plus is worth every penny and I'd do it all over again...

In fact I'm sort of doing that. I just ordered a Trek Powerfly 7 Mountain Bike based on my 700+ experience. I want to ride gravel/stone dust trails and I don't feel stable enough on the 7oo. The bike is fine, the issue is me, my 71 year old agility isn't what it used to be.

One last thing...A bike rack. I bought a Sirrus Freedom SuperClamp 2. It is great, once the hitch is installed, the rack is simple to install and remove from your vehicle. The rack is well built. Sirrus is a US company ( Madison Wisconsin ) . They've been in Wisconsin for 40 years, long before the catch phrase "Make America great again" . : ) I hope this was helpful.
All the best, John

El_Snago
2 weeks ago

So I live in the SF Bay Area, and I want to get an e-bike for when I switch from full time employee/part time student to full time student to save on car costs (not needing a parking permit alone will pay for a good chunk of the bike). College is ~7 miles away, and there's a steep climb right at the end (about 450ft in under a mile). I've been looking at all kinds of bikes, but man it's hard to sort through them all and make a decision. My wish list includes:

- $2-3k, though I might go higher for the right bike
- Class 3
- Removable display (I'll be parking at a school for extended periods, all the detachable stuff will come with me)
- Front suspension
- Pannier mounting points
- More upright sitting style, never liked forward leaning bikes
- Step-over style

Hopefully that's enough information to spark some ideas. I'm also curious how important you folks think things like shift sensing and brake inhibitors are for what will be a commuter bike that includes a hill.

As a starter, I was just looking at this one:
https://electricbikereview.com/izip/2016-e3-protour/
Looks like a good bike, but I'd be worried about the non-removable display, and the above questions about shift sensing and brake inhibitors apply too.

Thanks so much!

SV Moving On
2 weeks ago

Hello all - I need some help. I am getting the below 4x4 Sprinter Van that has a bed that raises. I want to put two bikes under the bed that fit when it is lowered - which will require taking the front wheel off.

What my requirements are:

A fun - want to ride every day - ride.
Suspension (through forks / tires) that will allow us to ride on easy to medium trails. I assume the full suspension bikes can't take a bike rack.....
Must have a bike rack as we will be taking camping stuff at least 10 miles down the trail... or getting groceries.
Long lasting battery.
Tough as we will be banging this thing around.
Unique - I love having cool things that spark conversations. Not to show off - but to start a conversation... I like to talk....
Weight - In my experience the lighter the bike the better the carve. But... I understand the electric bike is a lot heavier which is fine - expected - but 70+ pounds I wonder if that is too heavy for some of these??

We will be peddling a lot - I have a Carbon Fiber DaVinci (which is over my head in capabilities) so I want a bike that I can peddle a lot of the time.... maybe 50% on assist 1 or 2.. At least that is my vision - might change as I've never had an electric bike! I'm 48 and still want to go to places that others people aren't.

The bikes (I need two - one for me / one for my girl -- 5' 10" / 5' 6") that I'm kind of excited about are:

Haibike SDURO Trekking 9.5 - a little expensive and unsure about the off road capability. Looks like it is well put together - well thought out bike. Looks mad cool. A take down from this bike might be the M2S XC Sport?? Half the price.

M2S R750 Looks like a nice bike for the price. Looks like it is mad fun and has decent options. Unsure if that is an actual 750 Watt motor or the peak? Wish the battery was 52v. 62 pounds.

RadRover Man I love this company - flew from Key Largo up to Seattle to tested the bike. My only problem with the RadRover is that it seems that it hasn't been updated that much. I wish it had an option for a better battery and forks.

Volt Yukon Limited Looks like a real nice bike - possibly a step above the Rad but that is more like a Ford / Chevy argument.... they are too close to call so go with the one that looks the best. And the Volt guy is a little aggressive replying to comments anywhere the Volt is talked about. If I had to pick between the two - I think I would go Volt but would choose the R750 over both.

Teo S Another well priced bike and it seems to be a pretty nice one with a 750W motor . I am unsure how it compares the other Rad / Volt. Looks like the people who bought this bike really like it. But that is all relative -

Bulls / Specialized / Trek / and many other high end brands that make amazing bikes... but they seem to be a lot more expensive. I'm sure super nice rides - but is the price justified?

HaiBike
https://www.haibike.com/en-US/US/bikes/672/2018-sduro-trekking-9-5?variant=3840272848
M2S XC Sport
https://shop.m2sbikes.com/collections/frontpage/products/xc-mid-drive-electric-commuter?variant=38435959432
M2S R750
https://shop.m2sbikes.com/collections/frontpage/products/all-terrain-electric-fat-bike
RadRover
https://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radrover-electric-fat-bike?variant=1121017965
Volt Yukon Limited
http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-yukon/voltbike-yukon-750-limited.html
Teo S
https://teofatbike.com/boutique/en/teo-s/teo-s-medium-noir-750w-p111c83/

harryS
3 weeks ago

A DPDT switch, something like this one with screw terminals if you cannot solder. This one handles 20A, which is more than what your motor will draw at running speeds.

I have carried multiple batteries, but I don't bother with switches. I use connectors. Hook up a fresh battery when the old one is run down. I can remove the batteries for charging and storage in a safe place when not riding. I don't have to carry them when not needed. XT60 and XT90 connectors are commonly used for this purpose, but connectors have to be soldered. These XT90's are an anti-spark model.

Why anti-spark? When a bike controller has been sitting for a while with no battery, it will have a large inrush of current when a battery is connected, enough to spark/pop. Annoying, and it degrades the contacts.

Court
1 month ago

Here's another press release update that Bosch sent out the other day in preparation for Interbike. The summary is: the new Active Line Plus, Active Line and eMTB mode. With zero resistance, Active Line Plus will produce new eBikes that finally feel like riding a natural bicycle. Plus, the motors are much smaller, lighter, quieter and smoother than before. The eMTB Mode is also like an iOS update for your bike – riders unlock it just by updating their bike’s software. Active Line is similar to Active Line Plus, but smaller and lighter. You’ll find all the details in the attached, and here’s a few accompanying photos.

Bosch introducing two new systems and eMTB mode at Interbike
Reutlingen, Germany / Irvine, CA – Bosch eBike Systems North America (www.bosch-ebike.us) is highlighting two new systems and the new eMTB mode for the North American market for Model Year 2018. These innovations and more will be on display at Bosch’s Interbike 2017 booth (#17177) and available for experiencing first hand at the Interbike indoor test track “The Circuit” (#C11).

Active Line Plus: Quieter with zero resistance

From the days of launching our very first eBike system in Europe in 2010, Bosch’s goal has always been to make an eBike retain the natural feel of a traditional bicycle. The earliest generation of our product came close and quickly jump-started the “pedal-assist” eBike market in Europe. Our 2nd generation system came even closer and has been a big factor in the rise of pedal-assist eBikes in the US since 2014. Through non-stop innovation at our Stuttgart headquarters, our latest drive unit generation, dubbed Active Line Plus (ALP), closes the gap even further between an eBike and bicycle.

Key improvements:

Smaller: the drive unit is 20% smaller (volumetric) which enables bike designs with a cleaner / integrated look, to more closely resemble traditional bikes. With the ALP, the drive unit is one step closer to disappearing within the frame of the bike.

Lighter: the ALP drive unit weighs approximately 7.1 lbs, a weight reduction of 19% compared with last year’s Active and Performance Line drive units. Lighter eBikes handle better during the ride and are easier to transport after the ride – both key enablers to eBike market growth.

Whisper-quiet: the completely re-designed drive unit features a new quieter gear concept and electric motor. As you pedal on a quiet road, now you just hear the wind in your face.

Zero pedalling resistance: due to this new gear concept, when the motor is in “off” mode or the rider surpasses the drive’s cut-off speed, the rider feels no more resistance in the pedals than on a traditional bicycle.

Multiple front chain ring possible: previously, all Bosch drive units allowed only one chain ring. ALP now features the ability to offer multiple front chain rings, for bikes that need a wider range of gears.

Superior range: the ALP combined with the 500Wh battery achieves 51 miles range (mixed-modes, favorable conditions), and a max of 130 miles-plus range (Eco mode, ideal conditions). This is achieved through key features such as high motor efficiency and lower max torque (50 Nm), which is set deliberately lower than Performance Line to cater to commuters & more casual cyclists.

“The New Active Line Plus is our proudest achievement thus far for pavement-style eBikes,” said Claudia Wasko, General Manager of Bosch eBike Systems Americas. “Active Line Plus gives riders the fun of an eBike with the feel of a bicycle.”

Active Line: Lighter and smaller

The new Active Line has all the same key features as Active Line Plus with three key differences:

40 Nm of torque rather than 50 Nm.
Weight is even less at 6.4 lbs.
5% percent smaller than ALP.

eMTB Mode for Performance Line CX

A mode for eMountain bikers: eMTB mode replaces the previous Sport mode of the Performance Line CX and switches between the Tour and Turbo riding modes. Depending on the pedal pressure, the progressive motor support automatically adapts to the individual’s riding style. Without changing gear, the motor always provides support at the ideal power level, even at low cadences. eMTB mode is available to dealers in the form of a software update.

“Our new eMTB mode is going to be a game changer for the e-mountain biker,” said Claudia Wasko, General Manager of Bosch eBike Systems Americas. “It takes trail riding to another level.”

Demo the future

Interbike 2017 show attendees will be able to demo many eBikes from Bosch’s new and existing brands at Outdoor Demo Day on Sept 18th and 19th and at the Bosch-sponsored indoor test track (“The Circuit”) on Sept 20th – 21st to try out Bosch’s new MY18 innovations. Dealers are also invited to attend seminars on eBike market trends, policy, technology, and more at the Bosch-sponsored “Electric Theatre”, located close to “The Circuit” Test Track, open Sept 20th and 21st 10AM – 5PM.

Photo 1: Active Line Plus

Photo 2: eMTB mode

About Bosch eBike Systems

A new generation of bikes is taking town and country by storm and is already a part of everyday life. eBikes are a modern means of transport for modern people: people in a hurry and people who prefer to take it easy, the fit and the comfort lovers, commuters and pleasure cyclists and, of course, young and old. The tailwind of technology-leading eBikes made by what are already more than 60 leading brands in Europe is powered by components that Bosch is developing to perfection. The Bosch portfolio ranges from the highly efficient drive unit (motor and gearbox) and high-quality batteries to a smart on-board and cycle computer that can be used intuitively. Perfect coordination of components holds the key to typical Bosch performance in terms of both comfort and efficiency.

Like other Bosch products, the eBike systems benefit from the Bosch Group’s technology and production know-how. From conception and engineering to manufacturing, marketing and after-sales service, Bosch eBike Systems constantly set new standards for the eBike industry. The Bosch Group’s experience in the areas of electric motors, sensor technology, displays and lithium-ion batteries ensures that Bosch eBike systems use technology that is invented for life and that eBike users have their fun.

For more information please visit www.bosch-ebike.com

About Bosch

The Bosch Group is a leading global supplier of technology and services. It employs roughly 390,000 associates worldwide (as of December 31, 2016). According to preliminary figures, the company generated sales of 73.1 billion euros in 2016. Its operations are divided into four business sectors: Mobility Solutions, Industrial Technology, Consumer Goods, and Energy and Building Technology. As a leading IoT company, Bosch offers innovative solutions for smart homes, smart cities, connected mobility, and connected industry. It uses its expertise in sensor technology, software, and services, as well as its own IoT cloud, to offer its customers connected, cross-domain solutions from a single source. The Bosch Group’s strategic objective is to deliver innovations for a connected life. Bosch improves quality of life worldwide with products and services that are innovative and spark enthusiasm. In short, Bosch creates technology that is “Invented for life.” The Bosch Group comprises Robert Bosch GmbH and its roughly 450 subsidiaries and regional companies in some 60 countries. Including sales and service partners, Bosch’s global manufacturing, engineering, and sales network covers nearly every country in the world. The basis for the company’s future growth is its innovative strength. At 120 locations across the globe, Bosch employs 59,000 associates in research and development.

Additional information is available online at www.bosch.com , www.iot.bosch.com , www.bosch-press.com , www.twitter.com/BoschPresse .

1/2
Lost
1 month ago

Yes, plug in the charger *before* plugging into the battery. I have one charger that must have a good sized cap on the output, and every time I forgot to energize the charger first, ZAP!, nice spark. That's not what blew the fuse in my case, but it does do this every time.

Nirmala
4 months ago

Another update and another delay (once again due to improvements to the design):

Hello ShareRoller Indiegogo backer:

We've made a LOT of progress since our last Update, but unfortunately have also encountered a few unanticipated delays. We'll try to share as much color as we can below so you understand both our challenges and accomplishments.

So we're nearly ready to begin assembly of the first 150 unit batch of the new ShareRoller SR4. Our team of suppliers (we have 7 different suppliers!) has been manufacturing the first batch of SR4 subcomponents since early May, and first shipments (of subcomponents) should be going out any week (we've learned that 3-4 week production estimates seem to become 4-6 weeks+ as standard practice..)

Nevertheless, here's what's ready to ship from our suppliers imminently:

- Drive Motors: We've talked a lot about these before, so you know how amazing they are - we can't wait to have hundreds of them sitting on our assembly floor!
- Custom urethane Drive Belts: We've had to go through several iterations of molding to get the fit just right on these, fortunately it's a quick turn-around so they're fully sorted.
- Heatsinks: If you recall in our last email we talked about our solution to improve motor cooling, well here it is: Dual heatsink mounting plates for the motors. We had to build molds for diecast aluminum to make these cost-effectively, which takes a LONG time, but they're done now - and here's a picture of the first sample diecast parts:

- Gearmotors: We haven't talked much about these yet for IP reasons, though if you search our patent filings you'll find a reference to them... Custom ultra-small, ultra-high torque gearmotors to continually manage normal force for our Automatic Traction Control system (both under power and while braking), and to lift the motor clear off the tire when you don't need it. Our supplier has been making these for over 6 weeks now, and they're due to arrive in NYC any day.
- Wireless throttles: We've got a great custom design perfected now for our wireless custom throttles, with custom PCB production underway. Not only do they give you proportional control of both throttle and brake, but they also have secondary buttons for operating TailWind or PAS settings. Plus a rechargeable battery that seems to last days. And a really cool spring-clip mounting system with ball-joint pivot that allows you to mount the throttle almost anywhere on a bike or scooter and still find a comfortable position.
- Retracting battery cables: After our earlier quality issues were solved by upsizing the housing, our manufacturer is currently assembling our first production batch as quickly as they can. These required custom injection mold tooling, which means a 6-8 week leadtime, but they should be done in another two weeks.

Unfortunately, we have two components that are further behind schedule. Our custom PCB and our custom Battery Packs. These two components are a big piece of what makes the SR4 so special, which is a good thing given how much work they've required!

To be clear, we already had a first version production SR4 PCB several months ago and it worked well, with both the wireless throttle and phone app functionality we dreamed of. But we needed to add a few more pieces of critical functionality to it:

- Inrush current protection (aka 'Anti-Spark'): this is necessary to prolong the life of our magnetic battery connectors, especially at the higher voltages the SR4 uses.
- Onboard DC gearmotor control: we had been using a standalone board for this, but for reliability and ease of assembly it made sense to integrate it

Both of these circuits are relatively large, and since we had no more room to make the PCB any bigger, we needed to redesign it using surface-mount components (SMT) to shrink every section. This is a lot of work and has taken longer than expected, but we do expect to have production PCBs completed within 3-4 weeks, so this won't be the biggest holdup....

Which brings us to our custom battery packs, the most delayed of all our components: We can't begin to describe how involved the design and manufacturing process has been for these. With nearly a dozen different molded parts, a custom-designed Battery Management PCB, soft power switch, USB charge port, LED indicators, and the aforementioned retractable battery cable, this by itself is probably more complex than many hardware products in their entirety. But with ShareRoller's unique versatility and portability, an existing 'off-the-shelf' battery pack just wasn't an option.

Since we haven't shown the battery packs in detail yet, here's a teaser pic of our unique 'Multi-Mount' attachment system (on a 'Mini' pack) - believe it or not, both the mounting brackets needed for bike share use and personal bike/scooter use are contained in the folding, modular mount shown below:

The other completely unique part of ShareRoller's battery packs is our 'Versa-Handle,' which does double duty as both a carrying handle and as a locking mechanism for bikeshare use. Here's how it looks extended for transport (You can see our LED battery gauge here too, and yes that is brushed aluminum for the handle!):

We've had 'near-final' designs settled upon month-after-month for these packs, since as far back as March. And every time, it seems a new subtle tweak is needed to meet the complex demands of either our custom housing, electronics, mounting system, or unique multi-purpose handle.

The good news is that after 7 months of relentless back-and-forth CAD iterations with our supplier, we've finally resolved all design issues, signed a Molding Contract (in Chinese!) and wired a sizeable tooling deposit, so they are officially underway. Unfortunately, it will take 4 weeks to complete the molds, and another 2-3 weeks after that before packs are assembled. We also need to complete UN38.3 certification (required for air shipment), but the plan is to do that in parallel with volume assembly.

Given all of that, we don't expect to have production battery packs ready to ship before early-mid August. Fortunately, there's zero assembly required for the packs - they arrive turn-key. So we can assemble everything else in advance, and ship out complete ShareRoller SR4 boxes the moment the packs arrive.

We're deeply sorry for these continued delays and we really wish there was some way we could deliver sooner. We understand how frustrating it is to still be without ShareRoller power, especially as Summer unfolds. Unfortunately, many factors are outside our control here, so all we can do is just continue to push relentlessly to be sure the ShareRoller SR4 we finally deliver will perform beyond all expectations, and at least in hindsight make it all worth the wait.

Thank you so much for your patience and support.

Jeff Guida & The ShareRoller Team

Nirmala
4 months ago

Another update and another delay (once again due to improvements to the design):

Hello ShareRoller Indiegogo backer:

We've made a LOT of progress since our last Update, but unfortunately have also encountered a few unanticipated delays. We'll try to share as much color as we can below so you understand both our challenges and accomplishments.

So we're nearly ready to begin assembly of the first 150 unit batch of the new ShareRoller SR4. Our team of suppliers (we have 7 different suppliers!) has been manufacturing the first batch of SR4 subcomponents since early May, and first shipments (of subcomponents) should be going out any week (we've learned that 3-4 week production estimates seem to become 4-6 weeks+ as standard practice..)

Nevertheless, here's what's ready to ship from our suppliers imminently:

- Drive Motors: We've talked a lot about these before, so you know how amazing they are - we can't wait to have hundreds of them sitting on our assembly floor!
- Custom urethane Drive Belts: We've had to go through several iterations of molding to get the fit just right on these, fortunately it's a quick turn-around so they're fully sorted.
- Heatsinks: If you recall in our last email we talked about our solution to improve motor cooling, well here it is: Dual heatsink mounting plates for the motors. We had to build molds for diecast aluminum to make these cost-effectively, which takes a LONG time, but they're done now - and here's a picture of the first sample diecast parts:

- Gearmotors: We haven't talked much about these yet for IP reasons, though if you search our patent filings you'll find a reference to them... Custom ultra-small, ultra-high torque gearmotors to continually manage normal force for our Automatic Traction Control system (both under power and while braking), and to lift the motor clear off the tire when you don't need it. Our supplier has been making these for over 6 weeks now, and they're due to arrive in NYC any day.
- Wireless throttles: We've got a great custom design perfected now for our wireless custom throttles, with custom PCB production underway. Not only do they give you proportional control of both throttle and brake, but they also have secondary buttons for operating TailWind or PAS settings. Plus a rechargeable battery that seems to last days. And a really cool spring-clip mounting system with ball-joint pivot that allows you to mount the throttle almost anywhere on a bike or scooter and still find a comfortable position.
- Retracting battery cables: After our earlier quality issues were solved by upsizing the housing, our manufacturer is currently assembling our first production batch as quickly as they can. These required custom injection mold tooling, which means a 6-8 week leadtime, but they should be done in another two weeks.

Unfortunately, we have two components that are further behind schedule. Our custom PCB and our custom Battery Packs. These two components are a big piece of what makes the SR4 so special, which is a good thing given how much work they've required!

To be clear, we already had a first version production SR4 PCB several months ago and it worked well, with both the wireless throttle and phone app functionality we dreamed of. But we needed to add a few more pieces of critical functionality to it:

- Inrush current protection (aka 'Anti-Spark'): this is necessary to prolong the life of our magnetic battery connectors, especially at the higher voltages the SR4 uses.
- Onboard DC gearmotor control: we had been using a standalone board for this, but for reliability and ease of assembly it made sense to integrate it

Both of these circuits are relatively large, and since we had no more room to make the PCB any bigger, we needed to redesign it using surface-mount components (SMT) to shrink every section. This is a lot of work and has taken longer than expected, but we do expect to have production PCBs completed within 3-4 weeks, so this won't be the biggest holdup....

Which brings us to our custom battery packs, the most delayed of all our components: We can't begin to describe how involved the design and manufacturing process has been for these. With nearly a dozen different molded parts, a custom-designed Battery Management PCB, soft power switch, USB charge port, LED indicators, and the aforementioned retractable battery cable, this by itself is probably more complex than many hardware products in their entirety. But with ShareRoller's unique versatility and portability, an existing 'off-the-shelf' battery pack just wasn't an option.

Since we haven't shown the battery packs in detail yet, here's a teaser pic of our unique 'Multi-Mount' attachment system (on a 'Mini' pack) - believe it or not, both the mounting brackets needed for bike share use and personal bike/scooter use are contained in the folding, modular mount shown below:

The other completely unique part of ShareRoller's battery packs is our 'Versa-Handle,' which does double duty as both a carrying handle and as a locking mechanism for bikeshare use. Here's how it looks extended for transport (You can see our LED battery gauge here too, and yes that is brushed aluminum for the handle!):

We've had 'near-final' designs settled upon month-after-month for these packs, since as far back as March. And every time, it seems a new subtle tweak is needed to meet the complex demands of either our custom housing, electronics, mounting system, or unique multi-purpose handle.

The good news is that after 7 months of relentless back-and-forth CAD iterations with our supplier, we've finally resolved all design issues, signed a Molding Contract (in Chinese!) and wired a sizeable tooling deposit, so they are officially underway. Unfortunately, it will take 4 weeks to complete the molds, and another 2-3 weeks after that before packs are assembled. We also need to complete UN38.3 certification (required for air shipment), but the plan is to do that in parallel with volume assembly.

Given all of that, we don't expect to have production battery packs ready to ship before early-mid August. Fortunately, there's zero assembly required for the packs - they arrive turn-key. So we can assemble everything else in advance, and ship out complete ShareRoller SR4 boxes the moment the packs arrive.

We're deeply sorry for these continued delays and we really wish there was some way we could deliver sooner. We understand how frustrating it is to still be without ShareRoller power, especially as Summer unfolds. Unfortunately, many factors are outside our control here, so all we can do is just continue to push relentlessly to be sure the ShareRoller SR4 we finally deliver will perform beyond all expectations, and at least in hindsight make it all worth the wait.

Thank you so much for your patience and support.

Jeff Guida & The ShareRoller Team

GSA
4 months ago

https://www.shockebikes.com/bike/spark

Pedelec AND throttle

350 Watt

Front suspension

Disc brakes

Removable battery, two chargers (one for work and home)

Easily has a range of 40 miles per charge

Rack, fenders, headlight, turn signals

Original price $1699 + $170 shipping for $1869.

Upgraded tires to Schwalbe Marathon Plus e-Bike-rated tires with retroreflective sidewalls

Added monkey lights to front tire and BikeRegister kit (hundreds of microscopic dots printed with unique BikeRegister ID and BikeRegister ID etch)

Fewer than 50 miles on bike

gwenandersEn@yahoo.com

located in Maryland near DC

1/2
Thomas Jaszewski
5 months ago

Hi, this is Ron/spinningmagnets. I try to be as independent as possible, and to write information to help the average guy, because I am an average blue-collar guy. Bosch/Yamaha vs BBSHD...whats my opinion?

I have ridden a Bosch, and also the Yamaha (at two Interbike conventions). If you like that sort of thing, save a few bucks and get the Yamaha. I don't hate on the Bosch, but they charge a premium just because Europeans have a bias towards German products over Japanese. If you own a Bosch and are happy with it? sweet...let's ride together and have fun on a beautiful spring day. When armchair mechanics argue, it's just another Ford vs Chevy crap-fest.

Are you foolish for buying an expensive Bosch / Yamaha? No...there is a market for that. If you like it? Be happy, and don't waste time with regrets. That being said...I can afford anything I want, and my most often ridden ebike is an Electra stretch cruiser with a BBSHD. I went with a 52V battery pack because, the stock controller will work with 48V or 52V. A nominal 60V battery can produce a spark that can penetrate dry human skin, but 52V? no. I literally wrote the article on electricbike.com about benefits/drawbacks of a 14S pack.

If a friend of mine had to make a choice between a small 52V pack, or getting a much larger 48V pack? I'd say get the larger pack, there are a lot of reasons a bigger pack (regardless of vendor) is better for the owner. That being said, I own a very large 52V pack, and I can afford as many watt-hours as I like.

Bosch and Yamaha drives are very sophisticated and they are very similar. They take a small amount of input watts, and turn that into as much wheel-torque as possible. It is accomplished in a very smooth and sophisticated way. This is like the Mercedes, Porsche, BMW market...when they sell a 4-cylinder car (which they have done). Its nice when they are new and under warranty by a local shop, but...if you buy a 5-year-old one? what can an average blue-collar guy do to hack a cheap used 5-year-old M/P/B car?

I am an old gear-head (58-ish), and as a much as I appreciate a sophisticated aluminum 4-cylinder turbo 4-valve engine with EFI...when it comes to buying and wrenching on a motor? the BBSHD is the Chevy 350 of the Ebike world.

Use a thermal IR camera on it...it is not even breathing hard at 52V X 30A = 1500W. I would not run it at 3000W, but...it has been verified to run at 52V X 50A = 2600W, or...72V X 35A (using an external controller)...so...the mechanical portion of the drive can sustain 2600W. Will it wear out faster than when it is run at 1500W? If you ask that question, then...you don't understand what is going on.

If a certain customer is like an engineer, and he wants decent wheel torque at the lowest possible input watts...get the Yamaha mid drive. If you want LOT of fun, and you also want the ability to upgrade your fun-result in the future? Get the BBSHD. Also, get a spare primary reduction gear and a tube of high-quality grease, because...I am going to beat on mine like it is a rented mule. Try 2600W on a cheap drive unit and then tell me that it doesn't put a freakin smile on your face...
I had hoped there would be a post revealing the facts that this isnt just a blue collar poster, rather an employee of Lunacycle and paid writer for electricbike.com. Hardly independent nor impartial. Always a good read but not always forthcoming.

Ron/Spinningmagnets
5 months ago

Hi, this is Ron/spinningmagnets. I try to be as independent as possible, and to write information to help the average guy, because I am an average blue-collar guy. Bosch/Yamaha vs BBSHD...whats my opinion?

I have ridden a Bosch, and also the Yamaha (at two Interbike conventions). If you like that sort of thing, save a few bucks and get the Yamaha. I don't hate on the Bosch, but they charge a premium just because Europeans have a bias towards German products over Japanese. If you own a Bosch and are happy with it? sweet...let's ride together and have fun on a beautiful spring day. When armchair mechanics argue, it's just another Ford vs Chevy crap-fest.

Are you foolish for buying an expensive Bosch / Yamaha? No...there is a market for that. If you like it? Be happy, and don't waste time with regrets. That being said...I can afford anything I want, and my most often ridden ebike is an Electra stretch cruiser with a BBSHD. I went with a 52V battery pack because, the stock controller will work with 48V or 52V. A nominal 60V battery can produce a spark that can penetrate dry human skin, but 52V? no. I literally wrote the article on electricbike.com about benefits/drawbacks of a 14S pack.

If a friend of mine had to make a choice between a small 52V pack, or getting a much larger 48V pack? I'd say get the larger pack, there are a lot of reasons a bigger pack (regardless of vendor) is better for the owner. That being said, I own a very large 52V pack, and I can afford as many watt-hours as I like.

Bosch and Yamaha drives are very sophisticated and they are very similar. They take a small amount of input watts, and turn that into as much wheel-torque as possible. It is accomplished in a very smooth and sophisticated way. This is like the Mercedes, Porsche, BMW market...when they sell a 4-cylinder car (which they have done). Its nice when they are new and under warranty by a local shop, but...if you buy a 5-year-old one? what can an average blue-collar guy do to hack a cheap used 5-year-old M/P/B car?

I am an old gear-head (58-ish), and as a much as I appreciate a sophisticated aluminum 4-cylinder turbo 4-valve engine with EFI...when it comes to buying and wrenching on a motor? the BBSHD is the Chevy 350 of the Ebike world.

Use a thermal IR camera on it...it is not even breathing hard at 52V X 30A = 1500W. I would not run it at 3000W, but...it has been verified to run at 52V X 50A = 2600W, or...72V X 35A (using an external controller)...so...the mechanical portion of the drive can sustain 2600W. Will it wear out faster than when it is run at 1500W? If you ask that question, then...you don't understand what is going on.

If a certain customer is like an engineer, and he wants decent wheel torque at the lowest possible input watts...get the Yamaha mid drive. If you want LOT of fun, and you also want the ability to upgrade your fun-result in the future? Get the BBSHD. Also, get a spare primary reduction gear and a tube of high-quality grease, because...I am going to beat on mine like it is a rented mule. Try 2600W on a cheap drive unit and then tell me that it doesn't put a freakin smile on your face...

Bike_On
6 months ago

I ride technical trails on a regular trail bike (Giant Trance X 0 29er). I love the bike. I would also like an e-bike with the most trail capability.

My only experience is that I converted an old hard-tail to an e-bike with a 1500 watt pedelec hub-motor and 1000 wh battery behind the seat, and it was fun on the street, but it was terrible on trails. Unridable really, due to the weight and balance of the battery and motor. Also, the direct drive would not be good for off-road climbing. Battey and motor should be mid-bike and as low as possible, and battery should be about a 500 wh. I sold off the parts.

So I have decided a few things that I want in my next e-bike.

1. Must have a mid-drive - like Shimano, Yamaha, Bosche, or Brose.

2. Must have stealth look with well integrated motor and battery.

3. Must have torque-sensing and a pedal feeling be as transparent as possible without awkward surging.

4. 250, 350, 500, or 750 watts are all ok. I don't mind at all if it is 250 as that will be lighter, save battery power, and I am happy to pedal.

5. 15 or 28 mph are both ok. I would prefer 28, but not if the bike is worse in other ways.

6. Prefer compatibility with 3.0 inch tires (650B+).

These are the bikes I have found so far that look like what I want, but I have not ridden any of them. Which are the most trail-capable and have the most natural pedal feeling?

Giant Full-E+
Haibike XDuro NDuro Pro $5,800
Lapierre Overvolt AM 900+ £6400
Moustache Samedi 27 Trail Limited £7600
Nicolai ION EBOXX
Rotwild R.X+ FS €6,999
Scott E-Genius 700 Plus Tuned $5,400
Scott E-Spark 700 Plus TUNED £6,099
Specialized Turbo Levo FSR (Four trim levels - $4500 to $9500)

A real Mtn biker with real Mtn bike tastes. The demands of the trail are real and forth telling. A cheap trail or mtn bike will not perform or last. Same thing applies to MTN ebikes. The extra weight demands higher end and rugged components. For 2-3 lbs, sacrificing weight for strength is my motto. Go for lighter/small battery and stay 350 or less watts when riding to support a good hour ride, but less weight.

Eddie recommend KTM, but he is in Britain.

america94
7 months ago

Hi there,

Update, never mind, the vendor will replace the controller :-)

Got this brand new 48v e-bike with integrated headlight. On the first ride at night, the light worked fine for 10 minutes. Then after some bumps, it started flickering and turned off. The positive connector got loose during shipping and had unplugged itself. So I reconnected it, but forgot to turn off the power. There was a very tiny little spark when the wire touched the lamp connector and it stopped working.

So i thought I fried the headlight. The vendor thought so as well. I went to see him and my original headlight works fine when tested on other identical bikes. He still gave me a new one, got home, tested it, still not working.

I don't know much about electricity but can tell you this:
- on a voltmeter for DC voltage,
I get 35 volts at the headlight wires with bike and light turned off (!!)
35 volts with bike ON but headlight off
and 27 volts with bike ON and headlight on.

this makes no sense to me!
I then exposed a bit of the headlight wires, plugged in the light, turned it on, and now I get only 3volts, which explains why it does not work

Any hints on what is going on and how to fix it or troubleshoot it further? thanks for your help!

Foxyuniverse
4 weeks ago

Which battery did you have on this specific bike?

ZiggZagg11
4 months ago

It was time to upgrade from my 24v Lee Iacocca E-Bike... Yep,... you cost me big money now... :)

samuel Townsend
4 months ago

We love our Motiv's just did a memorial day weekend trip to Palm Springs with some customers had a blast. The Motiv bikes have never let us down and we have logged more miles on the them then any other model of E-bike we carry. The newest container of bikes from Motiv now come with color match fenders and integrated headlight with a solar powered tail light. Here's the best news of all, To be more competitive with the competition the Wholesale price has been lowered to the dealers.

James Mason
4 months ago

why do they do that with the key

John Moura
4 months ago

Those wispy clouds are chem-trails.

Michigan Mister
4 months ago

I know the optimum place for the battery is forward of the seat down bar, but for me this is the best. it's out of the way of both your feet/legs and a rack. plus, the battery here is more protected in the event of a spill, AND still accessible. it also allows the engineers to play around with more aesthetics in the rear of the bike. no wonder they sell a bunch with the motor specs- like it, GREAT starter bike price wise as well. nice review for a beginner I guess...

Mark Elford
4 months ago

Very nice setup.