e-Joe Epik SE Review

E Joe Epik Se Electric Bike Review
2015 E Joe Epik Se
2015 E Joe Epik Se Cassette And Motor
2015 E Joe Epik Se Internal Battery Pack
2015 E Joe Epik Se Display Panel Handles
2015 E Joe Epik Se Suspension Fork
2015 E Joe Epik Se 160 Disc Brakes
2015 E Joe Epik Se Bash Guard Folding Pedals
E Joe Epik Se Electric Bike Review
2015 E Joe Epik Se
2015 E Joe Epik Se Cassette And Motor
2015 E Joe Epik Se Internal Battery Pack
2015 E Joe Epik Se Display Panel Handles
2015 E Joe Epik Se Suspension Fork
2015 E Joe Epik Se 160 Disc Brakes
2015 E Joe Epik Se Bash Guard Folding Pedals

Summary

  • Folding electric bike offering a great combination of utility (fenders, rack, lights, suspension fork) at a low price
  • Relatively powerful geared motor combined with an impressive battery capacity for good climbing and range
  • Offers throttle mode for when you don't want to pedal as well as three levels of pedal assist to extend range

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

e-Joe

Model:

Epik SE

Price:

$1,599 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

42 lbs ( 19.05 kg )

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Sizes:

19 in ( 48.26 cm )

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Fork Details:

Basic SR Suntour Suspension

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney TX-55

Shifter Details:

Shimano Revo Grip Twist on Right Bar

Cranks:

Zoom

Pedals:

Wellgo Folding Plastic Platform

Headset:

Neco

Stem:

Promax with Telescoping Height and Quick Release Fold

Handlebar:

Zoom Low Rise

Brake Details:

Zoom Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Dia Compe Levers with Motor Cutoff

Grips:

Velo, Semi Ergonomic

Saddle:

Selle Royal Hertz Trekking with Integrated Handle

Rims:

Power Circle Double Wall Aluminum Alloy

Spokes:

36 Per Wheel

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 20" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in ( 50.8 cm )

Tire Details:

K-Shield Puncture Protection

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Partial Length Plastic Fenders, Elevated Rear Carry Rack with Attached LED Light by Spanninga, Front LED Light and Reflector by Spanninga, Bell on Right Grip, Magnetic Clip for Secure Fold, Plastic Chain Guard on Front Ring, Side Mounted Adjustable Length Kickstand, Metal Bar Below Bottom Bracket Stabilizes the Bike When Folded and Protects the Front Chainring, Optional Folding Bag

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack (Key Hole is Below Tube), Maximum Load 300 lbs, Model: Sport Edition (SE), Quick Release on Seat Tube and Front Wheel

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Peak Output:

550 watts

Motor Torque:

40 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

9 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

324 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Manganese Cobalt (LiNCM)

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles ( 32 km )

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles ( 48 km )

Display Type:

Fixed LED Console

Readouts:

Power, Battery Level, Pedal Assist Level (3 Levels), Throttle to Pedal Assist Mode Switch

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Epik SE (Sport Edition) is one of my favorite folding electric bikes… not because it’s the fanciest, most refined model around but because it’s feature rich, functional and affordable. It’s hard not to appreciate the fenders, rear rack, lights, integrated battery, disc brakes, seven speeds and ~$1,699 price point. With a maximum weight capacity of 300 lbs, the upgraded motor and battery for 2015 are even more capable than before for tackling hills, windy days and longer rides. For me, the best part about this ebike is that it offers a seven speed cassette along with three models of pedal assist so you can actually enjoy pedaling vs. a single-speed ebike which is how many folding electric bikes come. With those ebikes you have to rely more on the throttle and that changes the experience. Of course, I also love the basic suspension fork. There’s no lockout or fancy adjustments but it definitely takes the edge off of bumpy terrain or gravel paths.

Driving this bike in electric mode is very satisfying thanks to a 350 watt geared rear hub motor. The previous generation only used a 250 watt motor and that was still impressive to me because you actually get more power from hub motors when they’re mounted in smaller wheels thanks to mechanical advantage. The 350 watt hub isn’t too much larger or heavier and it rides fairly quietly as shown in the video review above. While the rear wheel does not offer quick release, the motor does offer a disconnect point so you or your shop can easily service the rear cassette, wheel, tire and tube as long as you have a wrench or two. The seven speed cassette uses a basic Shimano Tourney TX derailleur which keeps costs down but still offers a good range of gears. Shifting is activated through a grip twist mechanism on the right bar and the trigger throttle to activate the motor is on the left bar.

Powering the motor is a 36 volt 9 amp hour Lithium-ion battery that uses quality Samsung cells. I can’t say enough about this thing… not only is it larger in capacity than the previous Epik SE (meaning you’ll go further) it remained the same size and still fits right inside the downtube! It’s completely hidden, protected from impacts, dust and water and locks to the frame for security. The keyhole is a bit hidden, located directly under the downtube, but you don’t have to leave your keys in when riding and since the battery can be charged on or off the bike you might not ever take it out. There are times where the removability would come in handy however, such as lifting the bike (removing the battery reduces the overall weight by ~5 lbs) or if you’re planning to leave the bike in storage. To care for this or any Lithium battery pack I recommend storing at neutral temperatures (avoid extreme hot and cold) and always charge after you’ve depleted the battery after a ride. Even if you haven’t been for a ride, it’s good to top the battery off every few months and avoid completely discharging it on long rides.

Knowing when to charge with this bike is a bit more difficult because the display panel uses a basic LED readout instead of a digital LCD. You can see a voltage indicator for the battery with four dots along with three dots for pedal assist (low, medium, high) and a dot for pedal assist on/off. It works well enough, is easy to reach from the left grip and again… keeps the cost of the Epik SE down. One thing I like about the control system is that you can use the trigger throttle to override pedal assist at any time. This means that pedaling in low level assist (for a workout or to extend range) won’t leave you struggling on a hill because you can just activate the throttle. The cockpit on the e-Joe Epik Lite is similar to their other models, it’s relatively clean with semi-ergonomic rubber grips and no-name brake levers that cut power to the motor when activated. The brakes on this bike are actually another highlight, using mechanical disc brakes with 160 mm rotors. Rim brakes would probably be fine most of the time but for any kind of off-road riding on dirt trails or in wet conditions discs tend to stay cleaner and this is the “sport” after all.

At the end of the day, this is an ebike that balances price and features very well. E-Joe has been around for several years and honors their comprehensive one year warranty pretty well from what I’ve heard. The issues with their 2014 model mostly had to do with plastic pedals breaking or misuse by customers (don’t submerge the bike, always top off the battery). Many folding bikes just aren’t comfortable for me whether it’s the limited pedaling speed or overly stiff frame. The Epik SE speaks to me because it’s comfortable and well balanced. If you’ve got an RV, boat or just limited space this could be an excellent choice.

Pros:

  • One of the most affordable folding electric bikes available, the price did rise ~$50 from 2014 but the battery and motor are larger and more powerful respectively
  • Battery pack is mounted low and center inside the frame (very well protected) and is also lockable to deter theft – can be charged on or off the bike
  • Front and rear fenders, standard-gauge carry rack and front and rear LED lights add utility and all work pretty well
  • The saddle has a built in handle on the back which makes lifting and folding the bike easier, the frame also has a loop of tubing that doubles as a handle but is really meant to reinforce the seat tube
  • Geared 350 watt rear hub motor is an upgrade from the 2014 250 watt which will make climbing and carrying heavy loads easier, the motor has a mechanical advantage due to the smaller 20″ wheel size
  • While the front suspension fork is kind of basic (not very adjustable, no lockout) it does smooth out the ride considerably, the fatter tires also reduce the feeling of bumps and cracks
  • Mechanical disc brakes on the front and rear stay cleaner than V-Brakes would if you actually do take this “sport folding bike” on gravel or light trails – they provide excellent stopping power

Cons:

  • Partial length “sport” fenders don’t protect you from water and mud quite as well as full length close-hugging ones might
  • The rear rack always looks a bit crooked which sort of bugs me but may be adjustable, the top storage area of the rack might also be limited by the handle that protrudes from the back of the saddle
  • The plastic folding pedals aren’t quite as stiff as metal ones and can be broken more easily if you hit a curb or the bike tips when folded
  • The LED display panel is very basic so you can’t measure how fast you’re going, how far you’ve traveled or get the same insight into remaining battery capacity as an LCD might offer

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More e-Joe Reviews

e-Joe Gadis Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An active step-thru electric bike with a stiffer frame, excellent weight distribution and decent price point, great for commuters given the rack integration and fenders. Available in two color choices (black and vanilla) with matching suspension, clean integrated wires and…...

e-Joe Koda Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A well priced urban-commuter style electric bike that offers lots of useful accessories including fenders, carry rack and LED lights. Purpose built frame is light weight and well balanced thanks to a downtube mounted battery…...

e-Joe Anggun 3.0 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Step-thru frame with adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and high to extra-low seat tube positioning options fits a wide range of riders, including those with shorter inseams. Lots of drive options including five power modes for pedal assist and a twist throttle…...

e-Joe Anggun Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

A well rounded, smooth riding, upright electric bike with both pedal assist and twist throttle mode. Step-through frame design is easy to approach and offers fenders, a chain guard and lights…...

e-Joe One Review

  • MSRP: $2,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Decent looking hardtail electric mountain bike available in one size (medium) and one color (black). Front shock with lockout, removable battery is mounted low and center for balance...

2014 e-Joe Epik SE Review

  • MSRP: $1,549
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Affordable, durable, well balanced and smooth with built in front suspension fork. Sporty fenders keep the mud off and stay out of the way but don't offer…...

e-Joe Epik Lite Review

  • MSRP: $1,349
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Affordable, well balanced with integrated battery and light-weight (37 pound) folding electric bike. Comes standard with fenders, lights, a rear rack, removable battery pack and is available in…...


osman
2 years ago

I've owned the bike for a couple of months and ridden it a handful of times. Here are my issues: The crank set fell off as the threads became worn out. Speaking to the local bike shop owner he said that was pretty crappy but said it does happen. To be fair to Ejoe they tried to get a part out to me. Took several weeks and a lot of emailing. Of course the part didn't fit. Having told them this and weeks of emailing and sending photos I'm still nowhere. Not sure why they need photos of the crankset they sent me when they're well aware of the crankset they purchased and of the crankset the bike comes with. The backlight just fell off when I hit a bump. The lights are really cheap. Had to replace with lights off Amazon. The seat is pretty uncomfortable and cheap the stem doesn't have any suspension, replaced with an old seat from another bike. The small wheels make it uncomfortable to ride on anything other than smooth road. The back tire seemed to be grating against the disc brake. Inspecting the back wheel the parts don't seem to have been made very well and don't fit appropriately. Removing the back tire is a total nightmare, I own several bikes and none have ever been as painful to remove or reattach. I'm still struggling with the disc scraping. Just very poorly made. The brakes seem to constantly become loose. Dangerous! Had to retighten frequently i.e. once every two weeks at least. Moral of the story don't trust reviews online. Try out the bike at a store, ask the store if they will handle any problems you might have. Otherwise you'll wish you never ever bought it. It might cost a little extra but trust me, bikes need maintenance and this is not a low maintenance bike.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback osman! I agree that the smaller wheels can be uncomfortable to ride with on bumpy terrain and I have heard other mentions of the bottom bracket issue. The Epik SE is a value oriented folding ebike and as such, some of the components are lower quality. I'm sorry to hear about your struggles but really appreciate you speaking up about them! My ride tests are often very limited (in time and terrain) so it's great to hear your feedback.

Joe
9 months ago

Any comments on the difference between the 2015 and 2016 versions? Also interested in how you feel the e-joe epik LITE fares against the voltbike urban and the e-joe epik 2016.

Richard Wilson
6 months ago

ordered this bike and was wondering about a added feature for bike (kryptonite wheel nuts),they sell in diff sizes was wondering if u can help me figure which size would fit this bike? (axle thread) they come in "m9,m10 & 3/8"..would like to get accessories for bike before it gets here so i can have fun adding all the cool things to it,any help would be greatly appreciated

Ray
6 months ago

I bought 2 of these bikes (Epik SE) and have had them for two years. My wife and I don't ride them that often, maybe a couple of times a month. Overall, the bikes have been fun, but I would NOT buy them again. Both bike have the same problem, the batteries failed and they cost $550 to replace - BOTH BIKES. The batteries failed at different time, the first at about a year, the second just recently.

Court Rye
6 months ago

Hi Ray, thanks for sharing your feedback... I've heard that all batteries slowly lose capacity over time but that charging once a month or so just to keep them active can be a way to extend life (and storing in cool dry locations vs. extreme heat or cold). I believe E-Joe sells replacement packs if you want to give the bikes another try or you could probably sell them used to someone else.

David Lai
5 months ago

Not sure if these messages are working?

Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi David! Yeah, the comments are working here but I hold them for moderation and have been traveling outside the country then attending Interbike recently so they were all held. Feel free to chime in with questions you might have!

Peter
5 months ago

I have had the 2017 version for about 2 months. I agree with the other post that the rear wheel is very difficult to put back on because of the disc brake disc and keyed washers that can fall out and need to be in a certain direction for the wheel to go into the frame. The tube also requires extra long stems because there is an extra plastic piece on the wheel. I have not been able to find replacement tubes that have long stems. I have also lost my tail light during a ride. The front headlight gets shaken to point in other directions once in a while. On the good side, the 2017 version has a larger battery (12.8Ah), and for the most part it does work as an electric bike. There may not be a perfect electric bike, and this has its issues as well. I would also advise anyone who has not ridden a bike with small (20") wheels to try it before buying because they do not feel as steady.

Court Rye
5 months ago

Great points and insights Peter, thanks for taking the time to share your "real world" experience. I know the manufacturers occasionally stop by and your thoughts might help them improve future iterations. Also, great point about the smaller 20" wheels which do tend to feel less steady (less weight, lower rolling momentum and less comfort over bumps). Some folding and smaller ebikes even limit the top speed because of these ride characteristics. I personally just always aim for soft saddles and suspension if it's an option :) good luck out there and feel free to add more updates as you ride more.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Sumant
2 days ago
Electricbikecity.com
Looks like you're getting closer to making a decision. We've had nothing but awesome feedback for the new 2017 Epik SE from our customers. We highly recommend that model. Contact us directly and we will make you a better deal as well as answer any questions you might have.
I contacted your customer care and nobody came back to me with details on better deal.
JoeinJP
5 months ago
Glad you're enjoying the bike. I too, ordered the Epik SE from Amazon and the seller was hands-on to check that it arrived from the distribution warehouse in good order, on time, etc. Hey, you got a bag of peanuts with it, maybe for the ride!

Aside from just a few drawbacks: I find the bell to be dinky, so my bell is "PASSING ON THE LEFT." With 20" wheels, be a bit careful with sharp turns since a little sliding can occur, my thumb throttle sticks sometimes, I bought a CatEye for odometer/distance readings, and power is adequate for me; I'm happy with the bike for my commute.
dp226
5 months ago
One other thing. I bought the bike to bring along on our small Motorhome. For those interested in why I picked the Epik from a RVers perspective you can take a look at my blog posting at http://confusedrv.blogspot.com/2016/10/e-joe-epik-se-review-1st-day.html . I won't re-post here since it is mostly about why I chose it for the RV as opposed to the bike itself.
dp226
5 months ago
I went on a ride on the Epik SE after work today. About 4 miles. a combination of packed dirt and crushed shell. Plenty of hills, up and down. some pretty steep and some pretty long. On this ride I got the hang of the peddle assist. Set the assist to low and moved the gears around so I felt some resistance as I peddled. This worked out great.

Moved pretty fast up and down the hills but did not break a sweat. This was great. No problems getting up the hills and had to break a lot to keep from going too fast down hill. The first half of the ride I got used to the PAS and coming back it felt pretty natural. Once or twice as an experiment I used the throttle to go up a hill. It worked better using the peddle assist than just the throttle.

This was on a lot of soft soil. The Epik did ok, but I could feel it sliding a bunch.. I think it would rather be on a hard surface since the tires are pretty slick. It did fine and I had a blast. I am going to look for a paved surface to try next and see how that goes.
Josh
6 months ago
I live in a very hilly area in Korea. Granted the extreme steep hill i live on isnt very high, but it is very steep to get there. Possible to ride up with a good mountain bike in 1st gear standing up and cranking it the whole way. I ran into several issues when i wanted an Ebike. The main one being shipping. Shipping restrictions on the size of the box eliminated 95% of the bikes. I also didnt want to spend too much. found folding bikes shipped in smaller boxes and could be shipped to me and were reasonably priced. I went with a 2015 Ejoe Epik SE, it has a hub motor. This bike suited me well. It had the power to go up shorter hills with assistance. Longer hills, over 1/4 mile, i noticed voltage drop and less efficiency. Required more peddling from me. Works great for my purpose of commuting and making it up short steep hills. Mid drive would have possibility been better, but they are more expensive and are larger bikes.
9ball1104
7 months ago
Yes, the reviewer definetly was more enthusiastic about the e-Joe Epik SE than the Electrobike Magnos, and if I could find a dealer locally that's probably the one I would get. A concern of mine, which was validated by several folks here is the benefits of buying locally for maintenance and warranty work, especially if it's your first ebike. There's an Electrobike store opening up in a few weeks close to my house. They also will have rentals so there's a good chance I'll be able to spend some time with the Magnos before making a decision. Although the reviewer is almost certainly right that the e-Joe is a better bike, I really like the 3 spoke wheels and the traditional overall look. Also like having an LCD with the additional information. But either bike should fit nicely in my SUV, and because they're smaller than a standard bike, I'm hoping I can have my dog running along side me while I ride so if my battery goes dead she can just dog-sled me home. Just kidding of course, but she's a pit and all muscle. Just want to add that I still haven't given up on the idea of a full size ebike that looks like a standard bike. I've always owned kinda macho vehicles and could never see myself on a scooter or Moped, so I hope this doesn't get in the way of choosing the best bike for me now.
wetdog2
7 months ago
I'm like you. Never ridden, looking to buy.

Right now I'm digging the e-Joe Epik SE. The 2017 version has a big battery, it's got good reviews, hidden battery, quality parts, reasonably priced.
Josh
8 months ago
I have an Ejoe Epik SE. Great for my use. (Short distances to work up and down the extreme hills of South Korea + Long rides in the parks) Anyway, I will not be able to get another E-bike without both throttle and pedal assist. Pedal assist lets you relax on the long rides, and throttle gives you that immediate power. Can be annoying to hold the throttle at 1 speed for a longer duration of time.
RavingRoo
8 months ago
I have an e-JOE Epik SE (2015), its a folding bike and is rated for 300lbs. For comparison, I also have an e-JOE Anggun step-through bike (also rated for 300lbs). I've ridden both on the same steep hills and there's no comparison, as I have to use all the gears on the Anggun and put more effort into it, but I can sometimes stay in the top gear on the Epik SE with the same (or less) effort. The gearing and the smaller wheels on the Epik give it a huge advantage on hills. However, that also means it has a lower top speed. The motor will get you to 20mph, but its pretty hard to pedal at that speed because the cadence is too fast. I find 16-18mph to be about the max I want to go while pedaling. I've found the battery range on the Epik is anywhere from 13-24 miles based on how hilly the terrain is. I ride a very hilly park on a regular basis and only get about 13 miles (I keep a second battery in my saddle bag, and I regularly can get to 26 miles or so using both). However, on a flat rail trail, I've gotten up to 24 miles on just one battery while still riding pretty hard/fast. If you conserve and ride some stretches without electric, it would be easy to stretch that to 30 miles on one battery.
RavingRoo
8 months ago
Where I ride most of the time (Chester County, PA and Valley Forge National Historic Park) there are not a lot of flat stretches, so I use pedal assist regularly. But, when I have taken my Epik on rail trails I have switched pedal assist off and just used throttle to get up to speed and to get through intersections quickly. Look at it this way, its a great way to get exercise while conserving battery for the return trip home.
Ian
9 months ago
pxpaulx
A fellow Minnesotan! I'm out in carver. I've always been intrigued by the odk, my wife had an ejoe epik lite folder bike that was so minimal and kinda fun to ride. I imagine this bike is similar. Enjoy the new bike!
If you're interested in giving this thing a test ride, PM me. That's an open invitation - I'd be more than happy to give anyone in the Twin Cities area a ride since there are none stock in any stores in the state. I had to "buy blind" but others in the area shouldn't have to!
pxpaulx
9 months ago
A fellow Minnesotan! I'm out in carver. I've always been intrigued by the odk, my wife had an ejoe epik lite folder bike that was so minimal and kinda fun to ride. I imagine this bike is similar. Enjoy the new bike!
wren
9 months ago
Josh
I have a Ejoe Epik SE on order and I have a couple questions before I ride it. My questions are general electric bike questions.
The Ejoe epik SE has a LED display with a battery indicator that has 4 levels. (empty)(low)(Medium)(Full) Is running an Ebike battery to empty bad for it? If I have it fully charged and take it out for a 1 mile ride, and the fully charged light is still on, should I hold off on charging the battery? Should I always wait till it is medium or low before I charge it?
I have steep hills on my commute. Can it damage the motor if I try to go up a hill that is too steep? What is the tactic to go up steep hills without hurting the motor?

Thank you
Answers (my opinion only)

1. Yes, running battery all the way out is damaging but the management system probably will prevent you from doing that. Good idea not to run it out anyway though.

2. Yes, probably no reason to top it off after a short ride like one of one mile.

3. For ideal, practical, long life of the battery you probably would run it down to about 20%, then recharge. But you have to balance this with common sense, depending on how far you're going to ride next time. As mentioned before, the battery management system will keep you from the worst abuses, probably.

4 & 5. Once again, this system will probably shut down before you damage it, but it's better to be proactive and pedal along on a steep hill to help the motor out.

And here's an answer to a question you didn't ask. Get yourself a good set of flat resistant tires like some made by Schwalbe. Flats are no fun with a hub motor.
RavingRoo
9 months ago
I have the Epik SE, and yeah, that's pretty much the only way you can lock the frame of this bike. A cable can then be used to lock the wheels (to the u-lock).
Gotham
9 months ago
Hey Guys! In the same boat. Planning to buy a foldable compact bike for daily commute total 10 mi.
Unable to decide between the 2016 E-Joe Epik SE, ENZO or Volt.

Looking for a bike which would be light (as I live on the 2nd floor and will be taking it down and then up the stairs everyday), comfortable to ride, requiring least maintenance and quality materials used.
Thank you for any suggestions or advice on this!
BigB0ss00
5 months ago

Do you plan on doing a review on the 2017 version?

Alex Garay
6 months ago

In need of advice please, I am looking to purchase an e bike under 2k. I am very short around 4"10/11 and have been looking at this bike along with a rad mini from rad power bikes. I live in California and would like to use it in the city which bike would you recommend is best for me or do you have any other suggestions? Thanks for reading !!!

Diego Martinez
9 months ago

Hi, do you know if I can travel by plane with this electric bike? I´m asking because of the battery, but nobody knows for sure.

Glenn Watson
10 months ago

Low energy during this one, bud! :-/

Justintm
10 months ago

what happens if you run out of battery on the way home? Also what happens if you get caught in the rain? is the battery/bike protected from rain?

Michele Occhipinti
1 year ago

Hi, great job reviewing all these bikes!! Really useful and fun to watch and read your reviews! Have you ever reviewed any Italwin folding electric bike? E-light and K2 models seem to be worth having a look!

Thanks

Daniel Wolf
2 years ago

I have never seen you showing how to charge the bikes in your reviews. I think it would be interesting to know where to plug in and if you need keys for it. Also is it always possible to take out the battery in order to charge it outside the bike? Would be nice if you mentioned this in your videos.
Otherwise really nice work. Thanks.

Szabi Sabrina
7 months ago

also showing them folded and how it is carrying them

massgemusiq
2 years ago

+Daniel Wolf He does explain how the battery is removed in every review. When the battery is removed, you take it to an electrical outlet, connect the charger and plug it in.

Jeanette Gourley
2 years ago

I am only 5' tall.  Can the seat and handlebars be lowered on this bike so that my feet can touch ground while stopping?  I don't want to have to jump off the seat when stopping.  Please respond soon.  Thanks.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Jeanette Gourley Hi Jeanette! Sorry for the delayed response here... I believe the seat can be lowered (along with the handlebars) to accommodate shorter riders. You could also try the BESV Panther http://electricbikereview.com/besv/panther-ps1/ Pedego 24" Cruiser http://electricbikereview.com/pedego/24-step-thru-comfort-cruiser/ or the iGo Metro Ergofit http://electricbikereview.com/igo/metro-e/ good luck and ride safe!

TheeCoolOne
2 years ago

How does this compare with a Prodeco Mariner?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+TheeCoolOne I prefer the e-Joe EPIK design because the battery is built into the frame. It's more balanced, durable and aesthetically pleasing but not as powerful. Hope this helps :)

Joseph Smith
2 years ago

Thanks for the great review on the e-Joe Epik SE. I rode my first electric bike 3 years ago and I have been watching your reviews ever since. I was thinking of getting an IZIP E3 Zuma with a low step frame, but I think I would be happier with a bike that I could put my feet on the ground with when I stop. I live in a small town and I must stop a lot. This looks like the bike for me, with my 28" inseam and being 5'7" tall. I must travel on roads that go up and  over railroad tracks, so they are steep and in this town most of the time you are going uphill or downhill. At 218#s do you think the ebike is up to the inclines I will encounter? My round trips are between 6 and 20 miles at the moment. And can a bike this small actually be comfortable? Or would the Zuma be a better choice? Maybe you can steer me in the right direction. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Joseph Smith That's exactly right... test rides will help you to understand what works and then make an informed decision. My reviews can be guides and help you discover new models but I always recommend a test ride and if you can, buy locally so you can get the bike setup right and have someone to help you with maintenance and warranty in the future :)

Joseph Smith
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Thank you for the quick reply to my question. I re-watched lots of your videos today and liked what you said about the Zuma. I can't help but look at the ebikes with the 20" tires though. There is just something about them that appeals to me.  I gave the IZIP E3 Twn:exp a good looking over too again, I think I need to ride one. The best thing for me to do now is go to ebike dealers in my area and test drive some different models.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

I'd go with the Zuma if I were you, the solid frame will feel sturdier and the large 500 watt geared motor will perform better climbing up those railroad hills you mentioned. The e-Joe Epik is one of my favorite folding ebikes and the price is great but it just might not support your weight and cargo as well as something like the Zuma, and I do like the step-thru design of the Zuma as well which would be great for your height and inseam: http://electricbikereview.com/izip/e3-zuma/

Simon Hermansson
2 years ago

I like your reviews, I recommend you get some kind of headmount for the camera!

Commissar Gamza
2 years ago

So I got this exact bike but in black. paid $1,499 on Amazon free shipping from E joe. this is the first electric bike I have ever owned and I admit its far more powerful than I expected.
With my backpack on boots jacket and panniers you're looking at about 210-220 pounds total. On just throttle it was taking me through about 3 inches of snow easily using it at about 1/2 power on throttle, any more and i would fly into a parked car with the snow.
Mind you I was slipping and sliding but maintaining overall control (tires are for street not like mountain bike tires) but I am stubborn and had to ride it; I will likely buy some mountain bike tires for it.
 I am used to huffing and puffing up steep hills and I absolutely refuse to stop until I fall off my bike (which I haven't yet ;P) but with this bike...my God on the lowest power assist mode I fly up hills. so i'll save the power for when I actually could use it.  thanks for this review! without this review I never would have known about this bike.

Commissar Gamza
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com
 Awesome! thanks again for all your help sir. I greatly appreciate it.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Commissar Gamza Great question... I've heard that it's best to store batteries at room temperature and avoid extreme heat or cold (and that includes if you're driving it hard while it's very hot out). As for charging, try to stay above 20% and at or below 90% to extend the life of the battery. Most fancy electric cars do this and I think many chargers actually cut out before true 100%. I've heard of people running low on battery and then turning the bike of and on to get just a bit more juice out but this is VERY bad for the pack. try to avoid hitting zero ;)

Commissar Gamza
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com
 Indeed sir! if I may ask you a question on the battery. does it harm or shorten the overall battery life when you completely drain the battery to 0?  or should I be looking to charge the battery when its at about 30% etc thanks again.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Hey, I'm glad the review helped! I didn't realize e-Joe was sold through Amazon but I think I just found the midnight black model you got: http://amzn.to/1I6BLTT pretty sweet, glad it's working well for you :D

Commissar Gamza
2 years ago

I am 5'7" 210 pounds with the load I would be carrying on my back. how well would this do making 10 mile round trips on moderate hills? I would be using power assist through the entire trip. I understand this one has different levels of power assist perhaps you could give me some estimates hehe. My budget would be around $1600 if you would be kind to offer perhaps a better bike for this price. Thanks for the reviews!
 ALSO! I wanted to know how well this would do in the rain! I won't be riding through massive puddles etc but it will get wet =)

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Commissar Gamza Sure thing, I hope you enjoy it! Feel free to post in the e-Joe forums with your experience and reach out if you have any issues. The one area I've heard that can be vulnerable are the plastic pedals... but those are cheap to fix if you crack one http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/e-joe/

Commissar Gamza
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Excellent! thank you very much for the info sir. I appreciate you taking the time to review this bike and respond to my comment! I believe the E Joe Epik SE 2015 will do the trick! =)

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing your details, I think the Epik SE could handle your weight and the range (especially if you pedal along up the hills). They estimate 20 to 30 miles and that is in ideal conditions so ~10 seems reasonable. The bike does offer three levels of assist and I believe you can override assist with the throttle so you could go in level 1 then twist the throttle to help up a hill or to start after stopping at a light. Here is the full writeup with more specs: http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/epik-se/ if you wanted a folding ebike that's a little bit larger and offers more fancy drive modes (including regenerative braking) then the Tern Node D8 would be a great choice but it's ~$1,000 more http://electricbikereview.com/tern/node-d8-with-bionx/