2013 Outrider 422 Alpha Review

Outrider 422 Alpha Electric Bike Review 1
Outrider 422 Alpha
Outrider 422 Alpha Motor
Outrider 422 Alpha Battery
Outrider 422 Alpha Lcd Computer
Outrider 422 Alpha Front Gear
Outrider 422 Alpha Belt Drive
Outrider 422 Alpha Disc Brakes
Outrider 422 Alpha Makeshift Parking Brake
Outrider 422 Alpha Mirrors
Outrider 422 Alpha Pannier
Outrider 422 Alpha Electric Bike Review 1
Outrider 422 Alpha
Outrider 422 Alpha Motor
Outrider 422 Alpha Battery
Outrider 422 Alpha Lcd Computer
Outrider 422 Alpha Front Gear
Outrider 422 Alpha Belt Drive
Outrider 422 Alpha Disc Brakes
Outrider 422 Alpha Makeshift Parking Brake
Outrider 422 Alpha Mirrors
Outrider 422 Alpha Pannier

Summary

  • Extremely powerful and fast electric recumbent bicycle built on the KMX Venom frame
  • Custom fabricated battery case, durable LiFePo cells, powerful mid-drive Astro 3220 motor
  • Excellent two year warranty, upgraded rear rack, fender, lights, LED flag and water proof panniers
Warning, in some configurations this electric bike is classified as a moped or motorcycle and may not be ridden on cycling trails or paths. It may require licensing, insurance and lights when used on public roads.

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Outrider

Model:

2013 422 Alpha

Price:

$11,995 USD

Body Position:

Recumbent

Suggested Use:

Commuting, Touring

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Moped or Motorcycle (Class 4)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2013

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

100 lbs (45.35 kg)

Frame Types:

Trike

Frame Colors:

Black

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

18 Speed 2x9 Shimano SLX Derailleur in Rear and Schlumpf Planetary Geared Crank in Front (2.5 to 1 Reduction)

Shifter Details:

Grip Twist on Right Bar, Heel Shifter on Front Crank

Brake Details:

Avid BB7 Mechanical Disc

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Accessories:

Rear Fender, Plastic Chain Guide Tubes, Axiom Journey Carry Rack, Axiom Randonnee Aero 40 Waterproof Panniers, Cycle Lumenator (1,000 Lumen) LED Headlight, Arizona Whip (6 Foot Flashing LED Flagpole), Right and Left Handle Bar Mirrors, 700 Watt Battery Charger with Load Balancer

Other:

Completely Hand Built in the USA

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Astro 3230

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Gearless Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Peak Output:

4000 watts

Battery Voltage:

44.4 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

50 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

2200 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO4)

Charge Time:

2 hours

Estimated Min Range:

100 miles (161 km)

Estimated Max Range:

165 miles (266 km)

Display Type:

Backlit Monochrome LCD Display by Cycle Analyst

Readouts:

Volts, Voltage Cutout, Current Limit, Watts, Amps, Speed, Speed Limit, Distance, Time, Drive Mode (Choose from Assist, Economy and Power)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

40 mph (64 kph) (Limited to 20 mph in Economy Mode)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Outrider recumbent electric trikes are known for being fast, high quality, powerful and expensive. This is not an entry level product at all, it’s trickier to transport due to its size and weight (over 100 pounds) and uses an advanced battery pack that requires a load balancer to maintain. The 422 Alpha is Outrider’s top of the line offering and the name denotes its 4,000 watt motor and 2,200 watt-hour battery. This translates to “power and range” because most ebikes come with a 350 watt motor and a 400 watt-hour battery, you’re getting 11X the power and 5.5X the range. In addition, you’re also benefitting from the aerodynamic efficiencies of a recumbent and tossing in high quality extras such as Industry 9 custom wheels, Castle HV-160 controller, 700 watt quick-charger, CycleAnalyst software, rear rack with panniers and fender and an LED flagpole light. With its ~100 mile range and 45mph top speed, this thing can easily handle most commutes and has replaced cars on more than one occasion.

The Outrider 422 is built on a tadpole style recumbent electric trike (it’s called a tadpole because of the two wheels in the front and one in the rear which resembles the tail of a tadpole). The frame is actually made by KMX and called the Venom, it weighs ~50lbs on its own and retails for $1,999 so the other 50lbs and $10K cost of this bike is based on the motor, battery, computer system, frame customization, feature upgrades and warranty. That may sound like a lot but it’s actually pretty impressive given this thing is hand built in the USA! A lot of thought has been put into the custom fabricated battery holder, controller system and mid-mounted motor design. The bike has been refined over several years and Outrider provides excellent customer support, though they are based in Fletcher North Carolina which can make service a bit tricky. All of the owners I have met are very happy with the support they receive and I’ve spoken with Outrider reps and founders on numerous occasions, they’re good guys.

The motor driving this ebike is an Astro 3220 mid drive offering 4,000 watts of power. It’s mounted just under the seat and turns a system of belts that connect to gears and ultimately the rear wheel. This is a fast, powerful and light weight motor that is also quiet and the gearing system itself is one of the real highlights of the bike. I like that the motor is located centrally on the frame because that keeps the weight balanced and protects it from the elements a bit more. The belts are smooth, quiet and durable like those used on car engines. Wile the 422 Alpha does not offer pedal assist mode, the twist throttle on the left handlebar works perfectly and nearly takes your breath away when twisted because there is just so much power in the system! One note here is that in order to activate the motor the bicycle needs to be rolling at about five miles per hour.

Powering the motor on this bike is a 44.4 volt 50 amp hour (2,200 watt-hour) Lithium Iron Phosphate battery pack. Its cells are contained in the rectangular metal box that has been added along the base of the bike in line with the frame. This design is rugged, water resistant and keeps the center of gravity very low on the bike making it very stable (perhaps more stable than a standard KMX Venom non-electric recumbent). On the sides of the pack are ports for charging and load balancing and a keyed switch that activates the system. It’s an impressive setup and the reason one might consider buying vs. building one of their own. The pack is durable, well thought out and great looking but demands respect given the quick charger, size of the battery and required load balancer.

On to the creature comforts! If you’re a geek, the CycleAnalyst software on the 422 Alpha will be a lot of fun. It shows a bunch of stats about battery performance and allows you to choose from one of three power settings that either keep the bike within the legal limits of US electric bike riding (750 watts and 20mph top speed) or far exceed them (2,200 watts and 45mph top speed). The LCD display is front and center making it easy to read and control when riding. The seat itself is quite comfortable and you can even get a head rest (as seen in the video) to reduce neck fatigue over long rides. The handle grips are easy to reach, the rear rack is pretty standard meaning you can add other bags if you’d like but the included waterproof panniers work great. The front light and rear LED flagpole are wonderful and really important on a recumbent like this for safety reasons. In a way the bike feels vulnerable given its lower position but the power, agility and balance it offers do a lot to make it feel safe and capable.

What really makes this bike work for people is its speed and stability, it enables you to work with traffic vs. being passed up all the time. It’s an electric bike that’s most comfortable on roads and since it can go faster, its easier to claim the lane without upsetting drivers. Few other electric bikes offer the same level of performance. You still want to avoid potholes because there aren’t any shocks and the seat padding only goes so far. The bike doesn’t really work off road or going up and down curbs and sidewalks. It’s at its best when riding on smooth, quiet backroads on adventure travel rides and that’s kind of what inspired the “Outrider” name. In general, these bikes are very responsive and works well in most conditions (snow is probably the exception) but I would suggest adding front fenders if it rains a lot where you plan to ride.

With 18 speeds to choose from when pedaling (9 on the rear cassette and two on the front planetary gear) the Alpha 422 works pretty well even when the battery is off but with such a large capacity and fast recharge rate you should always have electric drive support. It’s a challenge to communicate the the full potential and feature set of this ebike because it is so unique and custom. I want to close by describing the experience in my own terms. The bike is stable, very fast and responsive (almost frightening at high speeds), it has some great safety features including the large LED flag but should be handled with respect and care, the company is friendly and supportive and offers a solid warranty that garners a lot of trust. While it’s harder to transport and park this ebike, it functions more like a car and is built to last.

Pros:

  • Durable, high quality frame with mirrors, rack and rear fender by KMX; optional head rest and front fenders
  • Enormous 2,200 watt-hour battery pack is capable of powering the bike over 100 miles
  • Lithium Iron Phosphate battery cells are known for being durable, heat resistant and long lasting; the larger size also extends life since it is less likely to be fully discharged as often
  • Powerful 4,000 watt Astro 3220 motor offers plenty torque and speed for climbing hills or keeping up with traffic
  • Three riding modes (Assist, Economy and Power) help the bike comply with US laws, conserve battery but go a bit faster or zip quicky and powerfully out of harms way
  • Grip shifter and twist throttles work well and balance out the two handle bars, the heel-activated front gear works well and is convenient
  • Plastic chain covers keep your pants clean and out of harms way, also protect the chain
  • Super fast 700 watt charger only takes two hours to recharge the bike from empty and the included load balancer protects the battery for extended life
  • Included front light and LED flagpole are critical for safety since the trike is so low to the ground
  • Hand built in the USA with continuous refinements and improvements ongoing
  • Custom made wheels by Industry 9 designed to be more rugged at high speeds and avoid loose spokes
  • Very stable with low center of gravity, battery pack acts as a ballast and enables hard turning at higher speeds

Cons:

  • Mechanical disc brakes vs. hydraulic require a bit more effort to use, may create more hand fatigue over long distances
  • Nowhere to mount a water bottle, consider using a CamelBak but putting it on the front of your body vs. back
  • No shock absorbers and smaller wheels make potholes and large bumps feel uncomfortable at any speed (though the seat is quite forgiving)
  • More complex computer system and charging routine, more advanced ebike all-around that should be taken seriously to avoid wrecking the battery (balancer is not built in as with other bikes, require correct connection and settings when charging)
  • Harder to transport than traditional ebikes, battery is not removable, frame is long
  • In the event of a fix or maintenance requiring help from Outrider you’ll have to ship it to North Carolina
  • Have to pedal up to five miles per hour before motor can be activated, can be a challenge if on a hill

Resources:

More Outrider Reviews

Outrider Nomad 3 Series Review

  • MSRP: $14,985
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A recumbent electric trike that balances power with speed, the motor uses a 9 to 1 reduction making it capable of powered starts from rest but still hitting a top speed of 35 mph, it's the rally car equivalent for on and off road use. Three suspension points with RockShox Monarch shocks, custom padded seat with optional headrest, integrated LED…...

Outrider Alpha 4 Series Review

  • MSRP: $14,985
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed capable (20 mph to 45 mph top speed settings) recumbent electric trike with full suspension (three RockShox Monarch shocks) and a custom foam seat for maximum comfort, highly adjustable body position and angle. The tadpole configuration (2 wheels in the front and one in the back) provide complete…...

Outrider Horizon 2 Series Review

  • MSRP: $12,985
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A highly customizable recumbent trike, hand cycle or adaptive platform with electric power in the form of a twist throttle, ships with 750 watt output and 20 mph top speed, unlocks up to 25 mph. Heavier, larger and more expensive than traditional two wheeled electric bicycles but comparatively cheaper and…...

Outrider Horizon Review

  • MSRP: $8,545
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

An adaptive electric bike that's customizable to transport any rider virtually anywhere a normal bike could go. Can be setup with normal pedals, hand cranks, twist throttle, foot tray, tri-pin hand controls…...

Outrider 422 Alpha Review

  • MSRP: $11,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A powerful recumbent style trike capable of distance commuting or adventure riding, comes with panniers. Multiple speed settings, available in seven colors, comprehensive two year warranty, made in America...


George Sears
5 years ago

Court,

I watched the video for this ebike and then stumbled on a ‘First Ride’ video of the Stealth Bomber. I guess this is the high end of electric bikes. I really would not have believed the motor on the 422 could be that small. Overall, the 422 seems like those sports car concept cars you see at auto shows. I don’t know if they will sell, but it’s impressive to see the layers of design and engineering. I really think these vehicles with 4,000 watt motors are another category. If nothing else, they are never going to make the Federal definition of a bicycle. It’s still an incredibly efficient form of transport, many times more efficient than a Tesla. I think they could probably use some kinds of screens or fairing to make it more aerodynamic, but they have enough power and battery capacity to do what they want, apparently.

Reply
chris@propelbikes.com
5 years ago

Yeah, the bikes are very impressive and the small size of the motor is pretty deceptive when you actually feel it move you! I’ve also ridden the Stealth Bomber but have not posted the video and review yet. Fast and strong… both ebikes are a step further in terms of performance and I wonder how that will play out with laws/regulation or if they can sneak by if not being misused (just like a Ferrari or Porsche gets a pass if the driver isn’t breaking the law :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Zachariah West
2 years ago

To EBR, do you continuously re-review specific bicycles or trikes if they continue to improve their products? I sure hope so, because Outrider sure does seem to be on the fast track in the way of making sure that all individuals are able to be involved within the cycling community.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Hi Zachariah, I re-review ebikes as frequently as I can (when they are updated) but have limited time and bandwidth... it's sort of random which bikes get updates and which don't but I did re-shoot Outrider's bikes just recently, check it out here: https://electricbikereview.com/brand/outrider/

BushPilot444
3 years ago

They also take away the joy of balancing a bike which gives you a similar high like flying this way and that......

Newton Energy
3 years ago

Belt drive like a Harley.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Yeah, this thing uses a belt drive for the motor much like a motorcycle but the human drivetrain is actually a very long traditional chain that runs through a plastic tube from the front chainrings all the way to a cassette in the rear. Neat hybrid combination here... but there are some ebikes that purely use belts like the Faraday Porteur: http://electricbikereview.com/faraday/porteur/

nebula722
4 years ago

Where are the anti gravity thrusters for cornering?  This is my favorite ebike.  I like the simplicity of the motor and belts.  I like the whole damn thing!  How easy is it to control at 40 mph?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

I like it too, this bike is stable, powerful and very well built. Hard not to appreciate it :)

Deckard Shaw
4 years ago

The are all Dutch inventions folks, thanks.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Are you Dutch by any chance? I've always admired the bicycle culture there, everyone seems to ride.

Deckard Shaw
4 years ago

Love it, looks like a mad max movie thing, lol.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Ha! Yeah, this thing is pretty unique... and very powerful ;)

nattsurfaren
4 years ago

I always suffer from buttache after 1-2 hours with a normal bike. How long time can you ride this trike without having to rest your butt for a couple of days.
Another question:
Because the trike is placed so low how do people react to road security the first time they switch to a trike? I mean wouldn't it be harder to spot sudden danger in traffic. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+nattsurfaren Cool, if you ever post pictures I'd love to check it out. Sounds like a solid setup :)

nattsurfaren
4 years ago

+Electric Bike Review I don't own an electric trike no or do you mean my current e-bike. Nothing special about it.  Just the normal stuff. Hub motor, batteries and controller.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+nattsurfaren Interesting, do you have any pictures of your setup or is this just a build you would like to create someday?

nattsurfaren
4 years ago

+Electric Bike Review About the stealth bit and the gearing setup that allows high speed pedaling is a nice thing to know.  About my A123 batteries I charge them in almost 4 hours when fully depleted. If i don't run at max they can take me about 30 Km for one pack. I would have to ride very slow for that (15-20 km/h). I have 2 packs to balance the weight on both sides. I know I have places I would like to go that are over 60 Km range but I can't go there because of the charge time. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+nattsurfaren I'm not sure about fully charged in 20 minutes but many batteries will get to ~80% in just a couple of hours vs. ~5 hours for a full charge. Regarding the high power vs. low power idea, that's what Stealth electric bikes do. You can switch from "USA Mode" to "Competition Mode" which goes from 750 watts to ~2,000 watts and a top speed closer to 50 miles per hour http://electricbikereview.com/category/stealth/ Regarding the gearing setup (that would allow you to pedal at high speeds) that's something that the Outrider trikes have, in addition to sprockets in the back they also have a Schlumpf gear in the front (built right into the crank) that changes the gear ratio when you tap it with the heel of your foot.

Hawaiisidecar
4 years ago

I would like to see some stiff active suspension on that.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

That's what she said... But really, Outrider just announced an electric recumbent with suspension called the Horizon: http://electricbikereview.com/outrider/horizon/ it's my favorite :)

calvin owens
4 years ago

One of the newest members of the electricbikereview.com  forum is awaiting delivery of this bike! Hopefully he will post his impressions also. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+calvin owens Nice, you're right! Just checked his profile page: http://electricbikereview.com/community/members/bikerbob.928/

calvin owens
4 years ago

+Electric Bike Review
That would be BikerBob, he stated that on his profile.
 

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Cool, thanks for the heads up Calvin, who is the user and where is the post? This is a link to the Outrider section: http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/outrider/ but I didn't see anything about a rider getting one.

Howard Tanner
4 years ago

Is the price ever come down from the "Ohhh SHIIIIT! " range? It can't possibly be that much in materials,right? You could purchase a small car and use it in the rain also...

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Hi Howard, these guys make the Outriders one at a time and custom fabricate almost all of the parts... even the battery packs. It's not a big operation at all and even though the price is higher I don't get the impression that they are trying to overcharge, just slowly and steadily build the business and fun new projects like the Horizon http://electricbikereview.com/outrider/horizon/ if you're looking for a less expensive eTrike you might consider using one of the BBS02 kits from 8Fun like this: http://electricbikereview.com/8fun/bbs02/ with a KMX recumbent.

Adam Time
4 years ago

it is to small if your  6 foot and 38 inch waist do not waist your time

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+Adam Time Cool, I can see how the derailleur would be more exposed. Great idea to try out a NuVinci... Hope it works out.

Adam Time
4 years ago

I will check it out it out. I do repair them when they come in and lace sturmey 8 speeds into them. Do to the derailler  being so close to the ground the derailler always gets hit  and bumped thrown out of alignment.
Going to lace a nuvinci n360 hub into one soon. We will see how it goes. Sturmey works out well the cabling goes over the top of the frame protecting it.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Thanks Adam, did you get a chance to try the Outrider 422? I visited their headquarters and asked about seat adjustment. One of the founders is taller than me ~6ft (I'm 5'9") and he said the seat was very adjustable so maybe that would help?

Lee Dlion
4 years ago

i think its time for you to invest on a go pro cam, rather than holding a smartphone, it quite dangerous to hold those things while driving , but nice vid btq

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

I completely agree with you Lee, I just got one (along with some mounts) and re-shot this review on the latest edition. Here's the new video with better footage and sound: http://electricbikereview.com/outrider/422-alpha/

Cat From The Future
4 years ago

He wears zip-off pants...

Cat From The Future
4 years ago

Yeah they're pretty convenient alright. Great for hiking/outdoor activities. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Oh yeah... you never know when it might get too hot out then BAM! shorts :P

Erik Stuurwold
4 years ago

Come on... got  to  be  kidding  me!
Appreciate the attempt, but you really use '80s electric motors. There are electric hubs for sale for 800 dollar, buy a good performance accu and you don't need to engineer triple friction systems?!... and for that price you buy an electric car even... just keep it for real please
 

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

The Outrider team is working on a really interesting recumbent trike for disabled people called the Horizon. It's also expensive but comes with full suspension and can be setup with pedals, hand cranks or arm controls so people who are paralyzed or even quadriplegic can ride.

David Struve
4 years ago

$12,000?! You're better off buying a Smart car! You'd still save a small fortune in petrol costs, insurance costs AND it can keep up with traffic and even go on the motorway. Oh, and it also can keep you dry, has a radio, air conditioning, just as much room for luggage. And you're not going to die if you collide with a car going 25+mph too because it even has airbags and crumple zones. This trike is SO not worth that price tag, hand built or not!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

I agree it's an expensive bike, very capable but not as versatile as a Smart electric car. It might depend on how you want to travel, whether you're looking for exercise and are avoiding insurance and licensing or maybe don't have space for a full sized car? I don't know... but I like the Horizon because it's especially made to be flexible for handicapped people and get them out into nature on their own vs. feeling reliant: http://electricbikereview.com/outrider/horizon/

John Zoccano
4 years ago

Ok guys i have to say....i own the Arctrike..which has front suspension and is also capable of doing 40+mph..however...at these speeds, the basic design is inherently not as stable as a 4 wheel go cart for example...and without suspension, hitting a pothole or an uneven irregularity in the road can cause the trike to become extremely hard to handle...it becomes "twitchy"....i have worked extremely hard with my suspension setup to minimize this...i just cant imagine driving a non suspended trike on a normal road with that kind of power...

gMan 1971
2 years ago

Well, I disagree. I've got my custom built trike (which started from a bare KMX frame kit, not an Outrider) up to 65 mph without any suspension and it was fine; obviously I just didn't run @ 65 mph on any road but smooth ones, but the front suspension wasn't really needed for smooth roads. Since then I've installed a front suspension on my trike and riding bumpy roads not a problem anymore, it is a huge improvement in bumpy roads, but on smooth roads I can't really tell the difference between suspended and unsuspended.

Ricky Middleton
2 years ago

thanksagain

John Zoccano
3 years ago

I know, but it has its inherent pluses and minuses...My trike is a thing of beauty, a very powerful (5500 watts) and capable (85 kph) trike that is very robust and durable, looks like nothing on the market...for quite a bit less money but more for your buck ;)
https://www.facebook.com/john.zoccano.7

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+John Zoccano Hey John, they have a new model that does have suspension called the Horizon, pretty sweet setup: http://electricbikereview.com/outrider/horizon/

John Zoccano
4 years ago

Steering Dampener?..compared to a real suspension setup?...mmm...sounds like they need the Arctrike frame and suspension setup... lol  ;)

MB031
4 years ago

$12K you must be kidding..

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+Retloth Yeah, these guys are great... I'm about to publish two more reviews (tomorrow hopefully). The motor, wheels and controllers are built in the USA and the shop designs and assembles by hand in North Carolina. The majority of this bike is built domestically, more than any other ebike I've seen.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+Retloth I agree, the Outriders are hand crafted and have lots of higher end parts (many made locally in the USA). It's an amazing machine... Just re-reviewed the 422 Alpha and the new Horizon, videos coming soon!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

It's an expensive bike to be sure... not the most expensive (I just reviewed one that costs $38,500 http://electricbikereview.com/m55/terminus/) but what you're getting is quality build, refined software, support and warranty. Also, maybe some art value with the M55 ebikes ;)

Digitalfiendscom
4 years ago

I've always been fascinated by trikes and it looks like they've come a long way since I last looked into them.  A 40mph trike sounds pretty cool to me (and it looks awesome) but can you actually pedal something like this up a steep hill *without* assist?  I can't imagine what 100 lbs would be like up a 10-12% grade without using the electric assist; what cassette is in the rear? 
 
I guess what I'm curious about is whether you can get a good work out with something like this or is it better to stick with something like a HP Scorpion FS 26 or KMX Venom?  I love speed though, so having that motor would make this thing like a street-legal go kart. :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Great question, this thing actually pedals fairly well and you can climb moderate to steep hills without being completely overwhelmed thanks to the gearing. It has 18 speeds consisting of a nine ring Shimano SLX cassette in the rear and two speed Schlumpf planetary geared crank in front. To change gears you use a twist shifter on right handle bar and a heel shifter in the front front crank with 2.5 to 1 reduction. All of the detailed specs for this ebike are in the full written review which is linked in the description :)

schutztruppe 1900
4 years ago

5:33 so tired of all these toys for rich people. Fuck you po' people! Replace a car? sure when it runs you over. I ride to work 8 miles one way and I'm a truck driver. These are cool but fuck you with your price.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+Naruto Killia I agree with you Naruto, you choose your job... how much you work, how much you save vs. spending on entertainment and also which types of entertainment. Marketing is about emotion so when +Alvaro Lopez says that ebikes are "advertised as for young and mobile urban people" that's just because our culture is focused on youth, mobility and independence. I think this is a sick bike, the guys who make it are friendly, hard working and very smart and it's great that some people choose to buy this to enjoy themselves. There are many harmful things that money can buy, an expensive electric bike is not really one of them :)

miss Val
4 years ago

You chose your job. You could have been something else. I am not rich but I am going to purchase one of these as a weekend toy to ad to my collection of motorcycle, road bikes, sport cars, dirt bikes, and seadoos. 

You can purchase a cheaper electric recumbent, but it will not be as nice as this.  It is like buying a Porsche 911 vs buying a camry. 

schutztruppe 1900
4 years ago

I never think these type of people are trying to rip off others. I totally support all of this technology but I'm a truck driver working guy and for us this just spits on the face of the average folks. All these type of things are always advertised as for young and mobile urban people. I can only hope that someday it can be affordable to the REAL masses. Oh yeah people at work laugh at me but they also say my conversion kit bike is cool.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

You could build a less powerful version of this bike for maybe $1,500 with a Hill Topper kit and a basic recumbent trike. The guys who make the Outrider aren't trying to rip people off, they're just a small team and build a lot of it by hand. The battery system is pretty fancy (and powerful) and they also have to get insurance and pay for all of the systems that got built for the bike.

HansumRob100
4 years ago

awesome bike.... so wunt 1

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Yeah, this thing is pretty amazing. They just used a modified version of the 422 Alpha to break the ebike speed record at 85.4 miles per hour!