Polaris Strive Review

Polaris Strive Electric Bike Review
Polaris Strive
Polaris Strive Motor
Polaris Strive Battery Pack
Polaris Strive Throttle Lcd Computer
Polaris Strive Front Fork
Polaris Strive Electric Bike Review
Polaris Strive
Polaris Strive Motor
Polaris Strive Battery Pack
Polaris Strive Throttle Lcd Computer
Polaris Strive Front Fork


  • Sturdy design features integrated cables, custom control unit and Lithium battery with regenerative braking
  • Control system and mid-drive sensors mounted below bottom bracket, exposed to rocks, curbs and elements
  • Available in both a high step and step-through design to accommodate different sized riders
  • Relatively expensive considering competitor specs in the same price range

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away


National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers







$2,499 USD

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Comprehensive


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53 lbs ( 24.04 kg )

Battery Weight:

7 lbs ( 3.17 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Silver with Black Accents, White with Silver Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCT Suspension with 80 mm Travel

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 SRAM X7

Shifter Details:

SRAM X5 Grip Twist on Right Bar


Plastic Platform


Comfort Sport, Low Rise

Brake Details:

Tektro IO Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotor, Integrated Motor Cutoff and Regen Activation Switch in Levers


Velo Plush D2 Comfort

Tire Brand:

Kenda K935

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Side Mounted Kickstand, Plastic Chain Guide, LED Power Indicator on Battery, Welded Rear Rack, Integrated Spring Latch Carrier on Battery


Removable Locking Battery Pack, Regenerative Braking, KMC Anti Corrosion Chain, Quick Release Front Wheel, Model EV306PH

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Evantage DuoDrive

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

450 watts

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

29.6 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

177.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

3 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles ( 24 km )

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles ( 48 km )

Display Type:

Backlit Monochrome LCD


Speed, Odometer, Battery Level, Assist Level (Eco, Normal, Sport)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

18 mph ( 29 kph ) (Automatic Regeneration Above 18 mph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Polaris Strive electric bike offers a unique combination of efficiency and power. On the one hand, you’ve got a 450 Watt brushless geared hub motor paired with ~30 Volts of power which is on the higher side of mid-level. On the other hand, you’ve got regenerative braking paired with a fancy control system designed to actually limit top speed but extend range and ride time. Compared to bikes with similar motor and battery specs, this one feels a little slow and weak. It’s really meant for efficiency and range, and it accomplishes that pretty well but comes at a high price point that for me left something to be desired.

The Strive weighs just 53lbs including the battery pack which is mounted to a rear rack. That’s pretty light considering all of the features it has along with the front shock absorber. Thankfully, Polaris did not use a bolt-on rack to integrate their battery. Instead, they welded it directly onto the frame. It’s the kind of battery mounting design that many other ebikes go for as well but it does create a rear-heavy feel and makes the bike harder to lift from the middle when mounting to racks etc. The good news is, if you get the high-step version of this bike it’s actually possible to mount to cars and busses. Most of the other models from Polaris lack a straight top-tube so that might be a deciding factor if you’re choosing between the three models.

This bike rides pretty quiet and the sprung seat and front shock smooth out minor bumps in the road. The battery pack is encased in plastic which mounts directly onto the metal rack and because of this, there is some rattling noise. The spring loaded top rack is kind of weak and doesn’t offer a lot of storage capacity but could help with mail or other thin light weight objects. The unique square tubing and battery pack limit what kind of panniers you can use with this bike and I recommend a “slung over” style pannier set for best performance. One of my favorites is the Basil Elements.

A good word to describe this bike is “controlled”. It’s smart, efficient, relatively light and potentially powerful but not directly satisfying. The three modes of pedal assist are the best feature here and really let this bike reach its full potential, they just don’t feel the same as a heavier more powerful ebike. This has actually been described as a benefit to me by Polaris representatives who were trying to design a system that didn’t feel so jerky when pedaling. I tend to like the feeling of torque however and the Strive is a sportier model so it would be nice if the thumb throttle had more kick in it and could reach higher top speeds. Remember, even if you do pedal faster than 18mph the bike actually kicks in regenerative braking so it slows you back down in favor of extending range.

Taking into account the relatively high price point of this bike, the technology and offering may be right for some but it’s definitely not for everyone. For people who enjoy a smoother feel, lighter frame and solid company reputation, this bike could be a fit. But keep in mind, this is the first generation of the Strive and Polaris worked with a third party company to create it. For those who like the idea of a smooth ride but might benefit from fenders, chain guard and upright positioning I recommend the Meridian from Polaris over the Strive. All in all, the Strive is one of the few bikes out there with regenerative braking and its unique torque sensing system is in a class all its own.


  • Rear rack and battery holder are welded onto the frame reducing rattling and wear
  • Front and rear disc brakes provide plenty of stopping power, front shock and seat springs smooth out the ride
  • Computer is easy to use, provides some fun extras such as carbon footprint savings
  • Rapid fire trigger shifters work well and are my preference vs. twist shift on other ebikes, especially for the sportier Strive model that is setup like a mountain bike
  • Advanced computer system provides smooth acceleration and regenerative braking
  • High end Lithium ion battery will last 1,000+ cycles and reduces overall weight of bike
  • Polaris is a well established brand with experience building other light weight vehicles like motorcycles and snowmobiles
  • Plastic chain guide helps keep the chain on track when riding and using mid-drive
  • The high step version of this bike is easier to lift, mount to cars and other racks because of the open triangle and straight top bar
  • Built in water bottle mounting eyelets


  • Rear mounted battery puts weight up higher (like many ebikes) but means the bike is Rear-haevy and a bit less stable
  • Drive system leaves something to be desired in terms of peppiness
  • 18mph top speed motor may be frustrating for those wishing to go faster down hills or just in general
  • Expensive price point considering the motor power and battery system
  • Plastic battery pack design can rattle around more than an integrated design
  • Rear rack is not ideal for clip on panniers, works best with double sided ones that lay across the rack.


Trusted Advertisers

More Polaris Reviews

Polaris Sabre Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A powerful, well balanced fat electric bike with a unique pedal-assist drive mode designed to focus on power or speed and increase naturally as you shift gears. Excellent weight distribution for a hub motor powered electric bike, sturdy frame and components...

Polaris Appex Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high speed trail ready electric bike with proprietary gearless hub motor that offers two levels of power regeneration. Pedal assist only drive mode measures your chain speed and gear to distribute power efficiently…...

Polaris Terrain Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Hardtail mountain-ready electric bike with 650b 27.5" wheels, a well balanced battery location, two-year electronics warranty and support from Polaris. Smart DuoDrive pedal assist measures the gear you choose as well as chain speed for…...

Polaris Course Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Well balanced speed-commmuter electric bike capable of ~25 mph in pedal assist mode, solid two-year warranty and support from Polaris. Unique DuoDrive pedal assist measures gearign and chain speed to provide optimal power output at…...

Polaris Rail Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Well balanced city-style electric bike with a solid two-year electronics warranty and support from Polaris. Unique DuoDrive pedal assist measures your chain speed and the gear you're in to provide…...

Polaris Meridian Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

High quality purpose-built frame with integrated cables, battery rack, chain guard and fenders. Upright cruiser-style design available in high step and step-through for easier mounting...

Polaris Vector Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Custom design with integrated cables, controller, and battery plus regenerative braking. Battery mounted in the down tube keeping weight low and stable, looks nice and doesn't…...

3 years ago

I wanted to comment about a few things said in the article. Firstly; the written specs are correct where it states it has a 450W motor, but in the video, he says it only has a 250W motor. Also, as far as down hill speed, you can go as fast as you want with no restriction from the motor (while it is charging over 18 mph). During throttling on level ground it has a maximum unassisted (by pedals) "legal" bike path motor speed of 18-19 mph. You can pedal right past that with no restrictions or being "restricted" or held back. I was doing 47 mph down the hill near my house (pedaling/coasting past max motor speed). And when you exceed 18 mph it is charging. He comments that it has speed restrictive "regen braking" at 18 mph speed which doesn't make sense. It will charge during braking AND when you are going faster than 18 mph. I have a lot of hills where I live, but have never had the battery go below 2/3rd's of it's full charge range only requiring about 45 minutes to fully charge at that point. I also like being able to take the battery out of the bike with the key lock and charge it inside with the handy included adapter if you want (you can also charge with the battery in the bike). I have over 500 miles on my Polaris Strive (upper horizontal bar some call "mens" version) and absolutely love it! The model with the lower frame design (some call them a girls/womens model) is the Strive "ST". Something else I see on the internet on these is that they retail for either $2999 or $2499. They actually retail at $1999! Remember; if an eBike goes faster than 20 miles per hour on motor (unassisted) and has bigger than a 750W motor, it makes them illegal on bike paths and sidewalks across most of the US states. Some states have their own special rules, so check before purchasing. If you are only buying an eBike to use battery power and hardly pedal, you should probably get a scooter or mo-ped. But then you have possible licensing, insurance, tags and no bike path or sidewalk access. Don't we all need a little more exercise? This Polaris eBike is whipping me into shape using the pedal assist and I'm loving every second! The Polaris eBikes are very nice high quality units and are not near as bad as this review might suggest. Thanks for listening.

Brent Jareske
3 years ago

We're glad that you are enjoying your eBike. Let us know if you have anything else you would like to share with us about the bike. We're always interested to hear! You can email me or you can find us on our social media outlets. Again, thanks for enjoying our bike!

All the best,


Mike Kelley
1 year ago

I need help with my Polaris bikes. I have a Vector and a Strive. Neither works and the Strive has only 57 miles! Please have someone from the factory call me at 757-536-1445. Mike Kelley

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

4 months ago
@opimax I agree. The new tires go on tomorrow, so hopefully I can get the LCD dialed in so to speak. I'm a perfectionist so I strive for accuracy. I'll check it with the GPS tomorrow evening when I pick up the bike from our LBS.
5 months ago
George S.
There's a boost button on the Stromer. You can press it and it will move the bike to 12 mph. It's not a pedal assist. I believe, actually, that it is a throttle. But since a luxury European brand is doing this, maybe they can get away with it. But it's not a Class 3, and why does anyone care, at this point? The Pedego Ridge Runner had a throttle, and was supposed to be limited to 20 mph, a Class 2. But a YouTube member told me he test rode one and it went way into the 20's, with the throttle. Haibikes are not locked down, they can be chipped, and that's not supposed to happen. I think the 'boost' thing is showing up on other Accell Class 3's, but I don't much care anymore.

So I guess it's just Stromer, Pedego, and Haibike that are abandoning the new California regs? They opened up the bike paths in California, and made ebikes more like bikes and now people are pretty much just doing what they want.

When you look at the issue Court raised with the Yamaha motor, one thing is certain. If the sDuro had a throttle, he could just punch the throttle and move on. I don't know why we put up with this. How can you say Stromer, Haibike/Accell, and Pedego are really respecting the new laws? You are really going to tell me I can't have a throttle? How about a 'boost grip'?

You have big companies with execs who bring home huge compensation packages. They game the regs and jockey for position. And then you have experimenters and tinkerers and people who really love ebikes who build bikes and try to push the envelope, or make something they like. Who are the good guys?
@George S. a couple of thoughts:

The Stromer ST1 comes with a boost option which comes limited to meet regs ( I agree the button on the display is subtrafuge throttle). If you change the code stetting you can increase the speed to 23-25mph with 'boost'. In my opinion this is how it should be. Think about it as 'Open Source'. This meets the intent of the law. Bikes come limited. It also meets the desire of some riders who want some flexibility...the rider is assuming the Risk. Personal accountability - a good thing.

You can't legislate common sense and morality. Those who try end up restricting only the law abiding.

You are satisfied under 20mph. Many of the rest of us want to go faster. If we do it Ina an irresponsible manner - we should be held accountable. You car will exceed the speed limit correct? I still remember when the speed limit in Montana hwys was 'Safe and Prudent'. If you drove like an idiot you got a ticket.

As for the exces gaming the regs...their job it to meet the letter of the law (not the intent - intent implies morality and integrity) and provide a competitive advantage over the competition. They strive to be the producer of choice. This is where the customer brings intent into the equation.
GW Shark
1 year ago
The market is going cheaper whole Stromer is going upscale. How many customers are there for the ST2 , which costs as much as a motorcycle?
I think each product has a market place contingent upon the buyer's perceived value and economics. Why does BMW 7 series sell versus 3 series? You can get a Stromer ST1 non Platinum or ST2 and pricing wise on multiples the one cost about double of the other when looking at MSRP, just like the Beamers.

My suggestion is to shop around and then look at Len's Ebikes in Madison Wisconsin and make a trip there or call them. They are very competitive on their pricing and service. Maybe the value and benefits are there for you and you take the leap to the next level. I went from an ST1 to ST2 and they allowed me to trade in my bike, even for what I paid for it and credit towards the new one. I could have even switched to another bike but did much research on the ST2 and stayed with Stromer.

There will always be a broad product offering with price points to match features and perceived needs. Thank God for that and the great US of A. I would rather have a manufacturer and dealer strive for excellence then dumb us all down with cheap offerings where the product wears out prior to joy of the new bike. Read some of the other offerings in the other forums, which makes the point with other esoteric brands.
2 years ago
To help keep this forum informative to the general user I asked Ron to go to private message. I agree with Court on this point. Ron is one of my customers and we needed to exchange personal and business details that are not suitable or appropriate to discuss in the public forum. As far as details of the repair it involves a simple replacement of the display assembly. I have found through experience that occasionally (very rare, less than .1%) display units have had an issue with contrast making the selection of options difficult. Although the display will function properly and allow selection it is very difficult to see what you have chosen. ex. tour,sport mode. Since it was extremely cold (-22F) the day Ron tested and purchased his ST1 we attributed the difficulty to the cold since some shadowing was apparent which can happen on LCD displays. Since the difficulty persisted when he got home and the unit was in normal temps I determined that the display is likely the fault. We will send him a replacement at no charge under warrantee, and he will return the suspect to us. We will in turn send the unit to Stromer to assist them in product development to see if this was a fluke or if changes are needed in production or design. While many times on the forum you hear of the problems that arise it is less so you hear of seamless solutions. Most reputable dealers are aware that service is vital to the continued success of their business, and satisfaction for their customers. Cooperation is also key. Many times a dealer will have an outlying customer or one on vacation far from his shop referral to a competitor for service or parts may then be needed. I keep on top of this forum to anticipate any issues with our products and others that may come into our shop. I strive to share that experience with others when I can, but occasionally I need to go to private messaging for the reasons I stated above. I do not quote pricing publicly on the forum to help with Courts goal of keeping this a free exchange of ideas and not turn into a marketing ground. I think I maintain a good balance in that regard, if not please call me out. I do not want to hide anything, anyone who follows my posts will find it apparent that I work for a dealer and am proud of that. However I try not to self promote or denigrate other shops, to the contrary many times we need each other and I am glad to tap their expertise where I am lacking. None of us is all knowing and I am the first to admit that. Most times I am on here at night during my off hours, just too busy during the day. As such I am tired and tend to ramble but let me assure you my passion for ebikes never flags. Call me out if I'm out of line, wrong or whatever. I just want this industry and forum to thrive....peace and keep rollin
2 years ago
Dude, you have plenty of gearing already on your Platinum (27 speeds?)..I think the large ChainRing is 52T. What you really should strive for is a cadence of 70-80 rpm, then the Stromer Pedal assist will be of greatest use.

I run my 27 speed Elite at 22 mph with the middle chainring and the smallest cog. At 24 mph I'm running the large chain ring and the next to smallest cog. I really can't run it at the smallest cog unless I'm going down hill.. Too slow a cadence.

There are a lot of articles about pedaling at a higher cadence, where you rely more on your cardiovascular system than burning up your legs... Long memeory vs short memory twitching and all that.. Plus the Stromer seems to respond better at higher cadence.

I bought this cadence and speedo bluetooth module and it has really improved my fitness..http://www.amazon.com/Topeak-PanoBi...=UTF8&qid=1406075009&sr=8-1&keywords=panobike

Check it out.
The gear ratio is actually lower on the Platinum, with a 50/11 versus a 52/11 for the Elite, a couple of teeth on a chainring make a pretty significant difference at a given cadence.
2 years ago
Thanks, saw that on the seat post, was thinking the clamp would be bigger?

What do you think of getting a 53 tooth chainring for my Platinum? I have to get the cadence way up there to get to the upper 20's (mph), thinking of getting a freewheel with a 10 tooth cog in it too, I tend to run in "power" mode for my commute and want to keep my average speed up. I ran some calculators and the 53/10 combo should do it.

Am assuming the crank arms are 170's?
Dude, you have plenty of gearing already on your Platinum (27 speeds?)..I think the large ChainRing is 52T. What you really should strive for is a cadence of 70-80 rpm, then the Stromer Pedal assist will be of greatest use.

I run my 27 speed Elite at 22 mph with the middle chainring and the smallest cog. At 24 mph I'm running the large chain ring and the next to smallest cog. I really can't run it at the smallest cog unless I'm going down hill.. Too slow a cadence.

There are a lot of articles about pedaling at a higher cadence, where you rely more on your cardiovascular system than burning up your legs... Long memeory vs short memory twitching and all that.. Plus the Stromer seems to respond better at higher cadence.

I bought this cadence and speedo bluetooth module and it has really improved my fitness..http://www.amazon.com/Topeak-PanoBi...=UTF8&qid=1406075009&sr=8-1&keywords=panobike

Check it out.
Larry Pizzi
3 years ago
I have to say Larry that over here in the UK, Martin that runs this shop http://www.e-bikeshop.co.uk/ is a real credit to Haibike. His enthusiasm and belief in the product is higher than any other dealer that I have come across.
There are certainly a few dealers and just as importantly importers over here from other ebike manufacturers that could learn a thing or two from him.

Example...The UK BH experience is the complete opposite. I know of two dealers who have openly said that they are probably going to drop the product, and a third has indicated privately about doing the same. Expecting customers to wait in excess of four months just to get a spoke replaced is ridiculas, In my case waiting over four months to get the forks replaced, and even when they arrived, they were V brake is just as ridiculas. I just gave up and bought my own. In another case that I read about somewhere, a customer had to wait months whilst the dealer and importer argued over who was going to pay for a cracked console bracket. Arguing over a product with no value, whilst the customer is left without a bike, is no way to run a business. I could probably search and find many more tales of woe in relation to BH UK. but I've yet to see or hear one grumble about Haibike.

I can also think of a couple of lower end brands over here that also offer superb service and belief in their product. Their main market is for base model 'utility' bikes for want of another word, and given the amount of low end bikes that I'm starting to see about now, there is certainly a healthy market for them.

Sadly we also have a few who just import anything and everything from China, stick it on Ebay and probably just say tough when things go wrong, and they will.
Very good points Eddie. Its more then just the initial product. Its the complete experience. We strive to do this at the very highest levels because we know people depend on their eBikes for transportation as well as recreation. Sometimes consumers don't understand this when making a buying decision, but learn it the hard way. Interesting that the market is beginning to sort this out as it scales. Dealers, as you mention, don't want to have unhappy customers.
3 years ago
Over here in the UK, the first time buyer seems to ask or have three main considerations.

Not in any particular order...
How far does it go.
How fast does it go.
How much is it.

In respect of the first time buyer, they don't generally appear from reading other forums, to be concerned with electronic technology or cycle component quality. This changes with the second purchase, and both aspects suddenly become important. I also fit into this category.

Over here the first time buyer is often looking for a bargain £800.00 cheap Chinese bike that ultimately just isn't going to perform. The next stage of buyer is willing to step up to approx. £2,200.00 then some who want something more special such as a high end Haibike, are willing to pay approx £5,000.00 plus

I feel that we are still very much in the early stages of e-bike power technology, and I feel that the next 5-10 years should I hope prove interesting as companies strive to produce bikes that have lighter power units and longer duration, but not at the expense of reliabilty. For now though, the power etc is all pretty universal between the mainsteam manufacturers, so anyone looking for something different is going to look for lighter higher quality cycle parts.
David Evans
3 years ago
Hello All,

I am embarrassed to say that I had no idea this forum was in existence. Thank you Ravi for making me aware of it!

I would like to thank each and everyone of you for you input and Easy Motion product enthusiasm. We at Easy Motion USA strive to give our customers not only the best product in the industry but to also offer the best after sale service. We will work closely with our authorized Easy Motion dealers to make sure you are satisfied for many years to come!

Magmir - It sounds as though you have your answer to the issue with your Carbon. Your dealer is right on the money with their suggestion to make sure all fitting are tight. Please keep me posted.

Again, thank you so much for your business!
David Evans - Eastern Regional Sales Manager - Easy Motion USA
3 years ago
Hi Theron! Thanks for the post and background. The new Polaris ebikes look pretty great and they've done a lot to improve over the 2013 model's weaker battery pack and limited performance. I heard that over the course of this year they've improved the software so even those original bikes feel more powerful (if you update them).

It looks like the motor has jumped from 450 watts to 750 (which is the upper limit in the US) and the 48 volt battery pack is also at the high end. I can't say definitively without a test ride but I bet this bike feels really powerful. As for your concern about range (given the modest 6 amp hour pack) I can relay my experience with the Pedego City Commuter. I have owned two of these bikes (one with a 36 volt 15 amp hour pack and one with a 48 volt 10 amp hour pack). Now, it might seem like the 15 amp hour pack would go further, but it actually came out about the same in terms of range as the 48 volt pack (and was a lot more fun). This isn't a perfect comparison because the motor was also larger on the 48 volt bike, but the point is that it was a more efficient system for moving weight.

Given the regenerative braking on the Strive V2, the average ~54 pound weight and the stronger motor and battery system, I would guess this thing gets decent range. It also has three modes of pedal assist (Eco, Utility and High Speed) which means you can keep an eye on the battery capacity and tone down the assist if you are starting to run low.

I'm not sure how far you plan to go but this bike will definitely offer good power to move you and if it's like the Vector V1 then it has 8 speeds on a SRAM X7 which is plenty of range for climbing or going fast. Keep in mind, the battery is removable so you can charge on location. You could probably also get a second battery pack to carry with you or store on location at the half way point. Feel free to expand on your planned use of the bike and your needs, I'd be happy to share some other ebikes as suggestions if timing for release of this mode is an issue as you mentioned. There are lots to choose from out there and while the Polaris brand is solid and their bikes have really improved (and offer lots of sophistication) if you can't wait for them then I could point out a few alternatives.
Jake Diaz
6 months ago

what type of charger does this use

3 years ago

I think in some ways they have a good idea, like sharing the same battery
and drive system to keep costs low and make parts easier to replace but
overall, I was underwhelmed with the designs and the same price for all of
them when some have fenders and accessories and others don't.

Joseph Smith (BadAxe4U)
3 years ago

Who is running the show at Polaris? This e-bike is going to be a flop. I am
an American, give me some power! And I get thirsty when I bike, what no
place to put my favorite water bottle. What were they thinking? I also love
the noise it makes...NOT. How will you know when it is about to breakdown,
when it already sounds broke. Let's hope they scrap this bike soon and get