Polaris Strive Review

Polaris Strive Electric Bike Review 1
Polaris Strive
Polaris Strive Motor
Polaris Strive Battery Pack
Polaris Strive Throttle Lcd Computer
Polaris Strive Front Fork
Polaris Strive Electric Bike Review 1
Polaris Strive
Polaris Strive Motor
Polaris Strive Battery Pack
Polaris Strive Throttle Lcd Computer
Polaris Strive Front Fork


  • Sturdy design features integrated cables, custom control unit and Lithium battery with regenerative braking
  • Control system and mid-drive sensors mounted below bottom bracket, exposed to rocks, curbs and elements
  • Available in both a high step and step-through design to accommodate different sized riders
  • Relatively expensive considering competitor specs in the same price range

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers







$2,499 USD

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Comprehensive


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53 lbs (24.04 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Types:

High-Step, Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Silver with Black Accents, White with Silver Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCT Suspension with 80 mm Travel

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 SRAM X7

Shifter Details:

SRAM X5 Grip Twist on Right Bar


Plastic Platform


Comfort Sport, Low Rise

Brake Details:

Tektro IO Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotor, Integrated Motor Cutoff and Regen Activation Switch in Levers


Velo Plush D2 Comfort

Tire Brand:

Kenda K935

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Side Mounted Kickstand, Plastic Chain Guide, LED Power Indicator on Battery, Welded Rear Rack, Integrated Spring Latch Carrier on Battery


Removable Locking Battery Pack, Regenerative Braking, KMC Anti Corrosion Chain, Quick Release Front Wheel, Model EV306PH

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Evantage DuoDrive

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

450 watts

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

29.6 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

177.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

3 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Display Type:

Backlit Monochrome LCD


Speed, Odometer, Battery Level, Assist Level (Eco, Normal, Sport)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

18 mph (29 kph) (Automatic Regeneration Above 18 mph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

UPDATE! It appears that Polaris is no longer working with the manufacturer who designed and built these electric bikes, but that company is now selling their own line as PIM (Power in Motion) and you can connect with them through their official website at www.pimbicycles.com to possibly get replacement batteries, chargers, and other hardware. The following review stands on its own and represents the Polaris bike as I experienced it at the time.

The Polaris Strive electric bike offers a unique combination of efficiency and power. On the one hand, you’ve got a 450 Watt brushless geared hub motor paired with ~30 Volts of power which is on the higher side of mid-level. On the other hand, you’ve got regenerative braking paired with a fancy control system designed to actually limit top speed but extend range and ride time. Compared to bikes with similar motor and battery specs, this one feels a little slow and weak. It’s really meant for efficiency and range, and it accomplishes that pretty well but comes at a high price point that for me left something to be desired.

The Strive weighs just 53lbs including the battery pack which is mounted to a rear rack. That’s pretty light considering all of the features it has along with the front shock absorber. Thankfully, Polaris did not use a bolt-on rack to integrate their battery. Instead, they welded it directly onto the frame. It’s the kind of battery mounting design that many other ebikes go for as well but it does create a rear-heavy feel and makes the bike harder to lift from the middle when mounting to racks etc. The good news is, if you get the high-step version of this bike it’s actually possible to mount to cars and busses. Most of the other models from Polaris lack a straight top-tube so that might be a deciding factor if you’re choosing between the three models.

This bike rides pretty quiet and the sprung seat and front shock smooth out minor bumps in the road. The battery pack is encased in plastic which mounts directly onto the metal rack and because of this, there is some rattling noise. The spring loaded top rack is kind of weak and doesn’t offer a lot of storage capacity but could help with mail or other thin light weight objects. The unique square tubing and battery pack limit what kind of panniers you can use with this bike and I recommend a “slung over” style pannier set for best performance. One of my favorites is the Basil Elements.

A good word to describe this bike is “controlled”. It’s smart, efficient, relatively light and potentially powerful but not directly satisfying. The three modes of pedal assist are the best feature here and really let this bike reach its full potential, they just don’t feel the same as a heavier more powerful ebike. This has actually been described as a benefit to me by Polaris representatives who were trying to design a system that didn’t feel so jerky when pedaling. I tend to like the feeling of torque however and the Strive is a sportier model so it would be nice if the thumb throttle had more kick in it and could reach higher top speeds. Remember, even if you do pedal faster than 18mph the bike actually kicks in regenerative braking so it slows you back down in favor of extending range.

Taking into account the relatively high price point of this bike, the technology and offering may be right for some but it’s definitely not for everyone. For people who enjoy a smoother feel, lighter frame and solid company reputation, this bike could be a fit. But keep in mind, this is the first generation of the Strive and Polaris worked with a third party company to create it. For those who like the idea of a smooth ride but might benefit from fenders, chain guard and upright positioning I recommend the Meridian from Polaris over the Strive. All in all, the Strive is one of the few bikes out there with regenerative braking and its unique torque sensing system is in a class all its own.


  • Rear rack and battery holder are welded onto the frame reducing rattling and wear
  • Front and rear disc brakes provide plenty of stopping power, front shock and seat springs smooth out the ride
  • Computer is easy to use, provides some fun extras such as carbon footprint savings
  • Rapid fire trigger shifters work well and are my preference vs. twist shift on other ebikes, especially for the sportier Strive model that is setup like a mountain bike
  • Advanced computer system provides smooth acceleration and regenerative braking
  • High end Lithium ion battery will last 1,000+ cycles and reduces overall weight of bike
  • Polaris is a well established brand with experience building other light weight vehicles like motorcycles and snowmobiles
  • Plastic chain guide helps keep the chain on track when riding and using mid-drive
  • The high step version of this bike is easier to lift, mount to cars and other racks because of the open triangle and straight top bar
  • Built in water bottle mounting eyelets


  • Rear mounted battery puts weight up higher (like many ebikes) but means the bike is Rear-haevy and a bit less stable
  • Drive system leaves something to be desired in terms of peppiness
  • 18mph top speed motor may be frustrating for those wishing to go faster down hills or just in general
  • Expensive price point considering the motor power and battery system
  • Plastic battery pack design can rattle around more than an integrated design
  • Rear rack is not ideal for clip on panniers, works best with double sided ones that lay across the rack.


More Polaris Reviews

Polaris Sabre Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A powerful, well balanced fat electric bike with a unique pedal-assist drive mode designed to focus on power or speed and increase naturally as you shift gears. Excellent weight distribution for a hub motor powered electric bike, sturdy frame and components...

Polaris Appex Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high speed trail ready electric bike with proprietary gearless hub motor that offers two levels of power regeneration. Pedal assist only drive mode measures your chain speed and gear to distribute power efficiently…...

Polaris Terrain Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Hardtail mountain-ready electric bike with 650b 27.5" wheels, a well balanced battery location, two-year electronics warranty and support from Polaris. Smart DuoDrive pedal assist measures the gear you choose as well as chain speed for…...

Polaris Course Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Well balanced speed-commmuter electric bike capable of ~25 mph in pedal assist mode, solid two-year warranty and support from Polaris. Unique DuoDrive pedal assist measures gearign and chain speed to provide optimal power output at…...

Polaris Rail Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Well balanced city-style electric bike with a solid two-year electronics warranty and support from Polaris. Unique DuoDrive pedal assist measures your chain speed and the gear you're in to provide…...

Polaris Vector Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Custom design with integrated cables, controller, and battery plus regenerative braking. Battery mounted in the down tube keeping weight low and stable, looks nice and doesn't…...

4 years ago

I wanted to comment about a few things said in the article. Firstly; the written specs are correct where it states it has a 450W motor, but in the video, he says it only has a 250W motor. Also, as far as down hill speed, you can go as fast as you want with no restriction from the motor (while it is charging over 18 mph). During throttling on level ground it has a maximum unassisted (by pedals) “legal” bike path motor speed of 18-19 mph. You can pedal right past that with no restrictions or being “restricted” or held back. I was doing 47 mph down the hill near my house (pedaling/coasting past max motor speed). And when you exceed 18 mph it is charging. He comments that it has speed restrictive “regen braking” at 18 mph speed which doesn’t make sense. It will charge during braking AND when you are going faster than 18 mph. I have a lot of hills where I live, but have never had the battery go below 2/3rd’s of it’s full charge range only requiring about 45 minutes to fully charge at that point. I also like being able to take the battery out of the bike with the key lock and charge it inside with the handy included adapter if you want (you can also charge with the battery in the bike). I have over 500 miles on my Polaris Strive (upper horizontal bar some call “mens” version) and absolutely love it! The model with the lower frame design (some call them a girls/womens model) is the Strive “ST”. Something else I see on the internet on these is that they retail for either $2999 or $2499. They actually retail at $1999! Remember; if an eBike goes faster than 20 miles per hour on motor (unassisted) and has bigger than a 750W motor, it makes them illegal on bike paths and sidewalks across most of the US states. Some states have their own special rules, so check before purchasing. If you are only buying an eBike to use battery power and hardly pedal, you should probably get a scooter or mo-ped. But then you have possible licensing, insurance, tags and no bike path or sidewalk access. Don’t we all need a little more exercise? This Polaris eBike is whipping me into shape using the pedal assist and I’m loving every second! The Polaris eBikes are very nice high quality units and are not near as bad as this review might suggest. Thanks for listening.

Brent Jareske
4 years ago

We’re glad that you are enjoying your eBike. Let us know if you have anything else you would like to share with us about the bike. We’re always interested to hear! You can email me or you can find us on our social media outlets. Again, thanks for enjoying our bike!

All the best,


Mike Kelley
2 years ago

I need help with my Polaris bikes. I have a Vector and a Strive. Neither works and the Strive has only 57 miles! Please have someone from the factory call me at 757-536-1445. Mike Kelley


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ken M
1 day ago

Rad Power interestingly has ebikes with both geared and direct drive hub motors - maybe the only company that has both which allows for a unique comparison opportunity. I do believe that the result of a comparison will come down to how hilly the environment is where most of the riding / commuting will take place. A geared hub motor will be a bit better on hills (assuming somewhat similar wattage ratings) but the simplicity of a direct drive hub in my mind is preferable when the performance is adequate for where it's going to be used.

I ride about 13 miles each way to work 2-3 days a week in the Denver area (some hills but not really significant), I'm 56 years old, and I really like the performance of the Polaris Diesel (Power in Motion) eBike with the direct drive 750W nominal (900W peak) motor. I have a Haibike Trekking model with a Yamaha PW that is great if I just like to cruise in at slower speeds (the assist thru the drive train just falls off fast due to the gear ratio at higher speeds - the Bosch is less succeptable to this because of the 2.5 X front smaller sprocket speed but still is impacted).

Jeffrios...where are you located? If in the Denver area maybe we should try to hook up and you can take my bikes for a spin. I don't want to plug sales on EBR but I'm working with PIM on an urban commute model eBike with carbon forks, integrated bars/stem, and suspension seat post (like the Canyon / Ergon flexible carbon seatpost - actually very effective at absorbing most road vibrations and smaller impacts). This model will be available last April but I have a prototype in Denver.

Ken M
2 days ago

As a mechanical engineer and an owner a multiple ebikes, I'm going to throw in my 2 cents on this debate. I have a Polaris Diesel that was made by Power In Motion that has a direct drive hub motor. The benefits of this design should be obvious to everyone - no contact points / gears to wear out and motor power does not go thru the drive train causing extra wear and tear as a mid-drive does. The down side is less torque (the geared hub motor are a smaller diameter buy typically benefit from a 5:1 gear ratio that amplifies the torque) but unless your commute is very hilly that may not be as much of an issue as you would think. Mid drives definitely benefit from the drive train when going say less than about 15mph but in higher gears torque to the rear wheel is dramatically reduced (no one talk about the fact that this is the equivalent of inefficiency). Mid-drive benefit the most from the regulations that tend to want to set low top assist speeds on eBikes which in the US limits their appeal to commuters that really need faster average speeds for typically longer commutes. At speeds over 20mph is where a direct drive hub motor really shines - the efficiency hits it's high values and the motor is likely providing as much torque to the rear wheel as either a mid drive or geared hub motor (well maybe not as much as a gear hub motor but it may not be relevant to the performance demands of the commute).

A geared hub motor almost always has acetyl or nylon gears which do soften a bit when the motor heats up. There will be wear and eventually the gears will need to be replaced. I would think at a 3,000-10,000 mile interval which sounds OK but could mean a minimum of several replacements over the life of a commuter bike that is actually being used on a regular basis. This should matter to anyone considering an eBike as a serious commuter / transportation solution as it's a life cycle cost factor.

I would recommend always going with a direct drive hub motor for a serious commuter bike unless you simply find that the torque/assist power simply does not meet your needs due to a significant elevation level changing commute (most rural area commutes don't tend to be that hilly so my guess is that most of the time the direct drive motor will make more sense). They can be a bit heavier so if you have to bring them up stairs or load on bike racks frequently that could be an issue and the increased weight impacts rear suspension performance if you have a rear suspension (most commute bikes don't justify a rear suspension)

I recommend going with the simplicity of a direct drive hub motor on a commute bike when the meet the performance needs of your commute (the PIM hubs are 750W nominal 900W peak direct drive motors that have very good torque and performance, more than the direct drives motors on the Radcity products I believe).

2 months ago

I have an Polaris Electric EV bike for sale. It currently has only 42 miles on it and was used very little. It has disc brakes, front shocks, charger, all original manuals, etc. See pics for additional info. This was the model that was being promoted for Law Enforcement Agencies so not real sure on the model number. It is in like new condition. Asking $1200 obo. Email or PM me for more info. Email is ryanducote @ gmail dot com. Thanks, Ryan.

Ken M
2 months ago

I've got some Topeak M1 Defender Fenders on my Polaris eBike (Court did a review video of these on his own bike a while back). They are good fenders (especially if you like the more motorcycle fender appearance) but I really question if there is such a thing as a truly effective bike fender when riding at any speed over about 15mph.

The wheel speed tends to literally pump most of the water that collects on the underside of the front fender forward and then it streams up and into your body and face. I know there is a fender on a Specialized bike with channels that move the water to the outside edges of the fender but I have no first hand experience with them so would like to hear if that works. The other problem with every front fender that I can think of (mainly if you ride on on a road with any standing water) is the splashing of the tire. You can simply take a yard stick and take it from the contact point of the tire back to where your feet and lower legs are going to be while pedaling and it's obvious that this is not blocked by a fender. The few times I've ridden in significant rain (had Gortex protection on except for my feet and I was just wearing 100% leather sneakers) my feet go soaking wet in about 10 minutes. If you want to arrive with dry feet when it's raining I think a set of waterproof shoe covers is a must.

Fenders to reduces the water that is released by the tire that end up on the rider but it's time dependent. If you are riding for say more than 10 minutes in the rain fenders result in no difference to how wet you are going to get. If the road is just wet and it's not raining, I think you'll still end up pretty wet.

I do think a rear fender can prevent a lot of the flinging of water up onto your back as that is a total different performance issue for fenders and they do a decent job of solving that (the front tire is just much more difficult because of splashing and the movement of water to the front edge of the fender when it just releases into your path.

I think the best that can be said about fenders based on experience is that they reduce some of the water that may be picked-up and tossed onto you when you come across occasional wet spots on your urban commute. If riding on very wet roads or while raining, fenders really won't do much to keep you dry or clean.

I would like to hear if others that urban commute on an eBike have experienced this.

Ken M
2 months ago

I've got some Topeak M1 Defender Fenders on my Polaris eBike (Court did a review video of these on his own bike a while back). They are good fenders (especially if you like the more motorcycle fender appearance) but I really question if there is such a thing as a truly effective bike fender when riding at any speed over about 15mph.

The wheel speed tends to literally pump most of the water that collects on the underside of the front fender forward and then it streams up and into your body and face. I know there is a fender on a Specialized bike with channels that move the water to the outside edges of the fender but I have no first hand experience with them so would like to hear if that works. The other problem with every front fender that I can think of (mainly if you ride on on a road with any standing water) is the splashing of the tire. You can simply take a yard stick and take it from the contact point of the tire back to where your feet and lower legs are going to be while pedaling and it's obvious that this is not blocked by a fender. The few times I've ridden in significant rain (had Gortex protection on except for my feet and I was just wearing 100% leather sneakers) my feet go soaking wet in about 10 minutes. If you want to arrive with dry feet when it's raining I think a set of waterproof shoe covers is a must.

Fenders to reduces the water that is released by the tire that end up on the rider but it's time dependent. If you are riding for say more than 10 minutes in the rain fenders result in no difference to how wet you are going to get. If the road is just wet and it's not raining, I think you'll still end up pretty wet.

I do think a rear fender can prevent a lot of the flinging of water up onto your back as that is a total different performance issue for fenders and they do a decent job of solving that (the front tire is just much more difficult because of splashing and the movement of water to the front edge of the fender when it just releases into your path.

I would like to hear if others that urban commute on an eBike have experienced this.

2 months ago

I have a diesel and terrain and both are excellent eBikes (now PIM as you mentioned), the only real negative I have is batteries are low capacity. 10aH I think is absolute minimum for an ebike today.

2 months ago

Thanks for the advice. Yes I just don't want to get on my non electric, human powered road bike on the weekend and feel exhausted after some miles and hills because I've been using my electric assistive bike all week. I think maybe the thing to do for me, is power to off assistance and enjoy my ride home without assistance. I am definitely going class 3 and looking at the CrossFit+. Thanks again for the great advice from many knowledgeable riders on this e-bike forum.

2 months ago

Regarding your statement that rear hub motors are poor climbers, it's my understanding that applies to Direct Drive hubs. Everything I've read indicates Geared hubs are good climbers. Is my information wrong?

Ken M
2 months ago

Few people are aware of this brand but they are very nice bikes with excellent performance (the hub motor has advantages at high speeds vs a mid drive but few talk about it) but check out Power In Motion eBikes on pimbicycles.com. The Archer would be a good pick for your needs. I ride a Polaris Diesel which was essentially the same bike but branded for a while by Polaris.

Ken M
2 months ago

I've been riding 13 miles each way on a Polaris Diesel ebike (a 25mph Pedelec with a rear hub motor that is very much like a Stromer in performance). I've lost 25 lbs in 4 months so you get any level of workout you want. I like to ride as fast as I can to keep my commute times low and love the workout I get.

I would highly suggest you get a class 3 pedelec with as much power as possible such that you could maintain high speeds without a ton of sweat but you will get a workout unless you stay below 20mph and just allow the bike to do the bulk of the work.

A technical tip that few mention. Mid drives are awesome for climbing and speeds below say 15mph but once you are riding at high speed and running on say a 44T front chain ring and an 11T rear literally 75% of the motors assistance torque is lost in the gear ratio. Rear hub motors are not as good of slow speed climbers but with the torque directly applied at the rear wheel they have a definate performance (and efficiency) advantage at high speeds (especially above 20mph). The older Bosch mid drives with the smaller front chain rings that spin as 2.5 the rider cadence do a pretty good job of reducing the losses but with the loss of some low speed climbing torque.

I have both type of eBikes and prefer the hub motor for urban mobility but it's a powerful 750W hub motor (gearless as the gear models tend to be less reliable but they can provide more torque at slow speeds).

Leon Washington
3 months ago

This post was really helpful, and from my experience, I whole heatedly agree. I ride the back roads to work with my speed pedalec, mid-drive mountain bike. My DD hubs just get me from point A to Point B on paved surfaces really fast. Thankfully I have a loud horn.

Ken M
4 months ago

FYI - I'm 56 years old and have multiple fused vertebrae from a degenerative arthritis (in remission but the discs are fused already) so I definitely do not want to have a high speed wreck on my eBike. I ride at the speed that I feel safe at but that speed is sometimes faster than 20mph or 28mph which legislators, that probably never rode a bike faster than 20mph, feel should be the max speed an eBike can be produced to go......and then these guys/gals have such a bad reputation.

We need more people to start getting out of cars and on commute solutions that are more rational - an eBike uses like 1/50th the energy of a car so they make sense. Now I get all the burly idiots chiming in that it's god-given right to drive their 8000 truck because the were born with a small member. I get that.

Peter Leaviss
4 months ago

Thanks for the post Roshan. Hope your eBike company, Biktrix is doing well. We're not really in the business of trying to spread falsities and negativity about other companies. It's easy to do in this day and age but we'd rather devote time and resources into bike building.
In response to David's comment, we certainly haven't tried to mislead anyone as to our whereabouts. The majority of our customers know very well that we actually operate in China AND the US, largely due to all the videos we've posted pertaining to the fact.
The truth is, we could easily be based in the US. Rob is from Sacramento and I love the US (UK citizen). We'd love to be based there full time but in the interest of ensuring the highest quality products possible at the most competitive price, that just isn't practical. Living and working in China is incredibly demanding but we're more than willing to make the personal sacrifice in order to make FLX succeed.
We're in contact with all of our factories every single day. The lack of time difference makes it far easier to operate and we regularly jump in the car and go and visit our factories. Not just a few weeks for production but for every minor design change / pre production meeting / conveyance of any important idea etc etc etc. Constant communication and supervision is absolutely critical out here if you strive for perfection.
Rob has been in China for seven years now and myself, the last three. I rotate for three months in Shanghai and three months in California. Guess which location I prefer?
When containers 5 and 6 were delayed, Leah and I drove 7 hours from the FLX office / house in Rohnert Park, California to our fulfillment center in LA. We resolved the issue and then drove the 7 hours back that night. Fly in from China? No idea where that idea spawned from but it's 100% incorrect.
We're officially registered in the US and the UK and are therefore completely liable in both countries. It's not just legal liability though, we also have strong personal and moral ethics (hence you won't find us bad mouthing other companies... online at least anyway).
I think this post is a little old now which is great for us as we can look back and prove that any warranty claim or any other customer concern matter has either already been resolved or will definitely be resolved soon.
The 415 number is indeed a local SF number. We set that up as initially, we didn't have anyone in the US when I was in China. The company started off with just Rob and me with a dream. Instead of using our Chinese numbers, which would have cost a fortune for our backers to reach us on, we thought it was reasonable to set up a call forwarding service so our backers could call us on local rates. We answered that phone religiously at all hours, day and night. Even when sleeping on the floor in our makeshift office in the main factory during the early days. Not sure how that can be viewed as dishonest?
Honestly hope is doesn't look like we go back to China occasionally to 'kick butt' at the factory. The reality is, we're here 'kicking butt' at all our factories all of the time. This might not make sense to some people who have the fortune of living full time in the US or Canada (Roshan), but in a few years we'll prove that this sacrifice will have all been worth it by delivering the best eBikes in existence.
Thank you.

8 months ago

I found this to be motivating....

Optibike Celebrates Ten Years

Dear Dan

It is official, Optibike has now been building and selling electric bikes for 10 years! It seems like yesterday when we loaded our first Optibike 400 into the waiting truck for its trip to South Africa.

Optibike is now the oldest manufacturer of electric bikes in America! Today we still focus on quality and performance first. We strive to be the best, not the biggest and results show it.

Now we have sold bikes old over the world from Russia to Indonesia to Brazil. In all, people in over 28 countries have bought an Optibike.

While Optibike set the standard for the electric bike industry of what performance and quality meant, what always was most fulfilling to me was how we changed peoples lives.

We have had people lose 80 pounds, end their use of prescription drugs, rekindle their relationships and have the time of their life as they remembered what is was like to be a a kid again and feel completely free and energized. This is amazing.

Over the years, Optibike has been featured on ESPN, CNN, The Today Show, National Geographic Adventurer, and in The NY Times.

Optibike has always been ahead of its time. In fact, or first model, the 400 in 2007 has higher performance than the popular European systems today. But we didn't sit still, as the R15 has 3.8 times the power of the 2007 model!

Our Electric Bikes are custom built with artisan quality one at a time, and they are the worlds fastest and longest range High Performance Electric bikes available

Over the years our product line has expanded and we currently offers electric bikes for commuters, performance enthusiasts, and off roaders. We are the only company to offer a diverse line of bikes in different power, performance and price categories.

I feel proud when many of our customers are ordering their 4th and 5th Optibike. They started with the first Optibike released and are now on the latest R15. This says a lot about Optibike quality and performance.

I just spoke with a customer who has the original 2007 400 with Nickel Metal Hydride battery and it is still running strong after 10 years.

Some of the highlights of the last ten years are below. I hope you enjoy reading them. They have brought back some good memories to me.

Jim Turner

Optibike Inventor.

Jim Turner finishes his 1st Optibike prototype.
After first investigating hub motors in 1996, Optibike developed this first mid drive unit in 1997.

This unit featured 24 volts with a 15 amp-hr lead acid battery and about 350 watts of power.

The motor was off board on the crank axle and drove through the final drive chain (other companies still use variations of this design today). Optibike did not file any patents on this design as it did not meet the final design objectives of high power in a small efficient package.

This prototype validated the superior performance of the mid-drive and led to the development of Optibike MBB and several patents. The MBB design integrated the mid drive into a small compact package that it is today.

The MBB has evolved since then, with now over 3X the power of the first units and superior reliability. All Optibike MBB's are still made in the USA.

The first prototype pictured here, without suspension, also convinced us of the need for suspension.

First Production Optibike Built
After almost a decade of development the first production Optibike was finished in late 2006 for shipment to South Africa.

First Optibike being Loaded for Shipment to South Africa
After 10 years of development, we were finally in production!

The Model 400 had 400 watts of continuous power, 90 Newton Meters of torque and a 37 volt 13 Amp Hour nickel metal Hydride battery that weighed 17 pounds.

Check out the R15 at the end of this email to see how Optibike performance has increased four times in the last ten years.

Jeff Baum buys an Optibike R8 to ride his breathtaking 10 mile commute through the snow from Frisco to Breckenridge.
He goes up and down snow covered winding roads in the Rockies - to his job as the executive director of the Breckenridge Music Festival.

For most of his 10 years at the Festival, he had driven a standard gasoline -powered sport utility vehicle. Then he found the freedom of the Optibike.

It takes him a little longer to get to work, but the bike is more dependable, more nimble, more invigorating and just more fun than the S.U.V., he said. (and yes, he does take his skis with him)

The New York Times names Optibike - 'The Ferrari of Electric Bikes'
The New York times wrote an article on electric bikes featuring Jeff Baum and sales took off. In a matter of a few weeks, Optibike sold out its next 15 months of production. In the article, the Optibike was referred to as the Ferrari of Electric Bikes.

Jim Turner is awarded 'Inventor of the Year'
At the Colorado Inventor Showcase - In recognition of exceptional ingenuity, creative genius, and product development skills, Jim Turner and the Optibike were awarded the "Inventor of the Year".

The Colorado Inventor Showcase was Sponsored by the DaVinci Institute.

Optibike featured at California Academy of Sciences
In 2008, the Optibike OB1 was featured in the "Future of Transportation Display" at the brand new California Academy of Sciences in San Francisco. Originally scheduled for one year, it was kept for over 2 years as one of the most popular attractions.

Optibike Releases First Lithium Ion Battery in E bike
Optibike pioneered the use of Lithium Ion batteries in E bikes. Back in 2008 we released the first 37 volt 20 Amp Hour Lithium Ion battery. This is the technology that Tesla uses today. Many of these batteries are still running strong today.

DeMarcus Ware of the Denver Broncos (then of the Dallas Cowboys) buys an Optibike to use as of part of his training as a lineman
DeMarcus says: “I’ve been riding my Optibike OB1 for over a month, and I can’t stay away - I absolutely love the bike. I ride it every single day as part of my training regimen. In the suburbs or on the hills at training camp, this bike will be with me. It is the perfect cross-training tool for me because it allows me to get a great workout yet still enjoy what I’m doing. I would recommend an Optibike to anyone who has those same goals.”

-DeMarcus Ware

Optibike Wins Pikes Peak Hill Climbing Event
In 2011 a group of Optibikes took 1st to 7th places in the Pikes Peak Hill Climb Event, climbing over 7,500 feet in 24.5 miles from Manitou Springs to the 14,100-foot summit.

1st place was John Sagebiel with a time of 1:06.45. The 1st 'other' brand of e-bike took over 3 times as long as John. As of this date, no one has beaten Johns time.

Velodrome Pacer uses an Optibike to lead the packs
Optibike, the world’s leading high performance electric bike, is circling Boulder’s velodrome and stirring much excitement.

Optibike has found its place as a coaching and pacing tool in Boulder’s renowned velodrome.

“The Optibike has been really useful to us" Tim Kyer said “Our track here (in Boulder) is small and makes for a unique dynamic ride. Optibike is helping riders learn the smooth pedal stroke and a consistent speed in and out of turns”

“We are using the 1100R model and are seeing a lot of ways that Optibike is used for a training tool. We can get through multiple workouts and groups on one battery charge.”

In other indoor cycling centers, electric and gas scooters are used. However, there is exhaust and emissions from gas machines.

The Optibike is the first electric bike powerful enough to lead a pack of very powerful cyclists and replace the scooter/motorcycle derny.

Optibikes have been sold to customers in 28 countries
By 2011 Optibike had delivered bikes to riders in 28 countries. The riders were from all walks of like, with a common interest to have a high performance bike that changed their lives. They all ordered their bikes direct from Optibike and each one was hand built one at a time, just like today.

Rock and Roll Hall of Famer, Steve Winwood (Traffic, Blind Faith) invites Jim Turner to a Denver concert after buying an Optibike for his band manager James in England
Band Manager, James received his Optibike as a birthday present from Steve and uses it to commute the 16 miles to the studio each day with 2000 feet of climbing. Lots of days of rain and drizzle as it is England.

10 months ago

Ditto: UK and Endless Sphere... I was just at that site.

11 months ago

Wanted: Polaris bicycle battery, working or not, it is for the Strive bike. Text call or email me with any questions: https://losangeles.craigslist.org/fb/lax/wan/6090970571

2 years ago
2 years ago

[update] I've enacted many of the changes discussed in this thread, feel free to chime in if you've got further suggestions! Thanks again for all of the great input :)

Hey guys and gals, I appreciate your involvement with EBR in the community and want to share my thoughts on some updates and get your feedback :)

I'm a huge fan of the UK Pedelecs forums and Grin owned Endless Sphere. In recent months (and really years) I think the EBR space has become a bit overwhelming with so many brand sections. I designed it this way to align with EBR eventually with content from the forums being shown in a sidebar widget on the site in each respective brand area. We're on the brink of making that happen but I've realized I could put brands in a sub category here and that would keep the homepage MUCH cleaner.

Pasted below is an updated list of sections including some new names. Some of this imitates the other ebike forums and my plan includes renaming the community to "forums" since people seem to get that more... I get emails occasional from people asking if the site has forums and I'm like "yeah! The community XD" so hopefully this helps. Anyway, I value your input on what additional forums to add AND whether for sale used and for sale new makes sense? It could be a place for company's like Crazy Lennys, Propel, Performance Bikes etc. to post without distracting other threads. This has been a difficult balance to strike... I strive to limit my own ads here and pay over a thousand dollars of my own money each month on host and moderate this space. It feels bad to go to all of that effort then possibly alienate the paying advertisers while promoting show rooming indirectly and gouging prices. On the flip side, the world is a marketplace and last-season models, used stuff and promotions do have their place. How should this be handled? As always, THANK YOU ALL for making my dream of sharing ebikes, connecting people and promoting healthy living a reality by spending time here and supporting EBR. And thank you @nn M. for all of your contribution as a super mod.

>> Welcome to the Community
Introduce Yourself
Electric Bike Laws
Forum Rules & Etiquette

>> Electric Bike Forums
General Discussion
Help Choosing an Ebike
Ride Reports and Journals
Maintenance Tips
Events, Activities and Shows
Off Topic Discussion

>> Electric Ride Forums
General Discussion
Electric Kick Scooters
Electric Skateboards

>> Brand Specific Forums
- active
- active
- other brands
— less active
— less active

>> Sales, Promotions and Offers
- Used Items for Sale, By Owner
- Used Items / Parts Wanted
- New Items for Sale, Promotions

2 years ago

@imax I agree. The new tires go on tomorrow, so hopefully I can get the LCD dialed in so to speak. I'm a perfectionist so I strive for accuracy. I'll check it with the GPS tomorrow evening when I pick up the bike from our LBS.

2 years ago

@ge S. a couple of thoughts:

The Stromer ST1 comes with a boost option which comes limited to meet regs ( I agree the button on the display is subtrafuge throttle). If you change the code stetting you can increase the speed to 23-25mph with 'boost'. In my opinion this is how it should be. Think about it as 'Open Source'. This meets the intent of the law. Bikes come limited. It also meets the desire of some riders who want some flexibility...the rider is assuming the Risk. Personal accountability - a good thing.

You can't legislate common sense and morality. Those who try end up restricting only the law abiding.

You are satisfied under 20mph. Many of the rest of us want to go faster. If we do it Ina an irresponsible manner - we should be held accountable. You car will exceed the speed limit correct? I still remember when the speed limit in Montana hwys was 'Safe and Prudent'. If you drove like an idiot you got a ticket.

As for the exces gaming the regs...their job it to meet the letter of the law (not the intent - intent implies morality and integrity) and provide a competitive advantage over the competition. They strive to be the producer of choice. This is where the customer brings intent into the equation.

2 years ago

Quigley Motorsports - UPDATE

Stealth contacted him and he said he would contact reach out to the customers that he is holding their money since Nov last year.

I have heard nothing.

I've sent him email, msg through his website, and msg through facebook. And nothing.

I'm going to give the local police a ring and get this off center.

Only reason I'm posting this is to help the community avoid getting scammed like it did.

AVOID QUIGLEY MOTORSPORTS. Please pass this on to the Stealth community, face-book, etc.....

I'm not talking about $50 us either.. this is over $1000 USD.

Dear South Australia Police,

I am writing you in hopes I can get some help with a matter of a purchase I made over the internet with a business called Quigley Motorsports in Nov 2015.

Per attached reciepts (paypal) i've made 2 payments late last year, and seller has stopped contact with me, and has failed to deliver the goods.

The business is Quigley Motorsports.
Link below:

Quigley Motorsport - Quigley Motorsport
Quigley Motorsport strives to provide the highest qualtiy products and service.

11/21/15 - I sent $1069 AUS
Quigley said I needed to send add'l payment for shipping, so on
11/25/15 - I sent $412.30 AUS for shipping.

The items purchased from his website are:
1 x Quigley Motorsport Gen 2.1 kickstand assembly,
1 x Quigley Motorsport mudguard assembly,
1 x Stealth workshop stand and
1 x Stealth key ring thank you. Calculated freight including international tracking (2 packages) is $322.30AU (approx 231.25US).

Since I paid through paypal, I disputed the payment of $1069 AUS in early Jan.... but Lincoln Quigley contacted me as said to release his funds and he would send the product.... I trusted him, cancelled the claim, and I have not heard from him since. Now paypal says tough luck... once you make a claim and then close it.. there is no further recourse through paypal.

There is another US buyer in this situation as well. I can submit his information if needed for reference..
He has since put in a claim with paypal... and I suspect he will get his money back via paypal.....

Wish me luck on this INT"L refund hunt.

back to your normally scheduled program

GW Shark
3 years ago

I think each product has a market place contingent upon the buyer's perceived value and economics. Why does BMW 7 series sell versus 3 series? You can get a Stromer ST1 non Platinum or ST2 and pricing wise on multiples the one cost about double of the other when looking at MSRP, just like the Beamers.

My suggestion is to shop around and then look at Len's Ebikes in Madison Wisconsin and make a trip there or call them. They are very competitive on their pricing and service. Maybe the value and benefits are there for you and you take the leap to the next level. I went from an ST1 to ST2 and they allowed me to trade in my bike, even for what I paid for it and credit towards the new one. I could have even switched to another bike but did much research on the ST2 and stayed with Stromer.

There will always be a broad product offering with price points to match features and perceived needs. Thank God for that and the great US of A. I would rather have a manufacturer and dealer strive for excellence then dumb us all down with cheap offerings where the product wears out prior to joy of the new bike. Read some of the other offerings in the other forums, which makes the point with other esoteric brands.

3 years ago

Great points @ePah, thanks for challenging me on this by identifying inconsistencies. There are four areas that have changed and prompted me to approach the Sondors ebike differently than other crowd-funded electric bikes of the past.
[*]Sheer volume of interest - the number of backers, the type of people who might have backed it and the dollar value raised as well as the energy being spent here discussing it
[*]I've grown and changed - better understanding of the technology and space, reviews are more in-depth than when I began, camera equipment and tools are also better for measuring
[*]The space has matured somewhat - more ebikes are available in 2015 than the previous two and a half years of EBR and this causes mediocre products to receive lower scores than they would have historically
[*]Different value proposition - the Sondors campaign innovates primarily with respect to price and promotion whereas these other bikes were breaking new ground with technology and design at the time

In conclusion... this thread is meant to provide an organized and protected space for people who are already expressing concerns to do so unencumbered by those who may be threatened by the topic and to do so in a more valuable way using facts. You're free to cretique the Faraday Porteur and FlyKly in their respective forums, I just don't see that happening as much and there aren't flame wars developing there as we have seen here. As you know, my reviews are not perfect but I strive for transparency and am always working to deliver a better service. My scores tend to be inflated and my time with bikes is often limited so you get "overviews" rather than true reviews. I often struggle to balance energy spent maintaining and "perfectifying" old reviews vs. generating new content but my promise to you and the community is that I will be honest about those shortcomings.

3 years ago

To help keep this forum informative to the general user I asked Ron to go to private message. I agree with Court on this point. Ron is one of my customers and we needed to exchange personal and business details that are not suitable or appropriate to discuss in the public forum. As far as details of the repair it involves a simple replacement of the display assembly. I have found through experience that occasionally (very rare, less than .1%) display units have had an issue with contrast making the selection of options difficult. Although the display will function properly and allow selection it is very difficult to see what you have chosen. ex. tour,sport mode. Since it was extremely cold (-22F) the day Ron tested and purchased his ST1 we attributed the difficulty to the cold since some shadowing was apparent which can happen on LCD displays. Since the difficulty persisted when he got home and the unit was in normal temps I determined that the display is likely the fault. We will send him a replacement at no charge under warrantee, and he will return the suspect to us. We will in turn send the unit to Stromer to assist them in product development to see if this was a fluke or if changes are needed in production or design. While many times on the forum you hear of the problems that arise it is less so you hear of seamless solutions. Most reputable dealers are aware that service is vital to the continued success of their business, and satisfaction for their customers. Cooperation is also key. Many times a dealer will have an outlying customer or one on vacation far from his shop referral to a competitor for service or parts may then be needed. I keep on top of this forum to anticipate any issues with our products and others that may come into our shop. I strive to share that experience with others when I can, but occasionally I need to go to private messaging for the reasons I stated above. I do not quote pricing publicly on the forum to help with Courts goal of keeping this a free exchange of ideas and not turn into a marketing ground. I think I maintain a good balance in that regard, if not please call me out. I do not want to hide anything, anyone who follows my posts will find it apparent that I work for a dealer and am proud of that. However I try not to self promote or denigrate other shops, to the contrary many times we need each other and I am glad to tap their expertise where I am lacking. None of us is all knowing and I am the first to admit that. Most times I am on here at night during my off hours, just too busy during the day. As such I am tired and tend to ramble but let me assure you my passion for ebikes never flags. Call me out if I'm out of line, wrong or whatever. I just want this industry and forum to thrive....peace and keep rollin

Jake Diaz
2 years ago

what type of charger does this use

5 years ago

I think in some ways they have a good idea, like sharing the same battery and drive system to keep costs low and make parts easier to replace but overall, I was underwhelmed with the designs and the same price for all of them when some have fenders and accessories and others don't.

Joseph Smith
5 years ago

Who is running the show at Polaris? This e-bike is going to be a flop. I am an American, give me some power! And I get thirsty when I bike, what no place to put my favorite water bottle. What were they thinking? I also love the noise it makes...NOT. How will you know when it is about to breakdown, when it already sounds broke. Let's hope they scrap this bike soon and get serious.