Polaris Vector Review

Polaris Vector Electric Bike Review
Polaris Vector
Polaris Vector Bottom Bracket Controller
Polaris Vector Front Shock
Polaris Vector Lcd Computer
Polaris Vector Rear Hub Motor
Polaris Vector Electric Bike Review
Polaris Vector Battery Pack Lock
Polaris Vector Chain Guide Controller
Polaris Vector Electric Bike Review
Polaris Vector
Polaris Vector Bottom Bracket Controller
Polaris Vector Front Shock
Polaris Vector Lcd Computer
Polaris Vector Rear Hub Motor
Polaris Vector Electric Bike Review
Polaris Vector Battery Pack Lock
Polaris Vector Chain Guide Controller

Summary

  • Custom design with integrated cables, controller, and battery plus regenerative braking
  • Battery mounted in the down tube keeping weight low and stable, looks nice and doesn't rattle
  • Control system and mid-drive sensors mounted below bottom bracket, exposed to rocks, curbs and elements
  • Only available in high step frame, may be difficult or inconvenient for some to mount, relatively expensive

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Polaris

Model:

Vector

Price:

$2,499 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2013

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53 lbs ( 24.04 kg )

Battery Weight:

7 lbs ( 3.17 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Silver with Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCT Suspension with 80 mm Travel

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 SRAM X7

Shifter Details:

SRAM X5 Triggers on Right Bar

Pedals:

Plastic Platform

Handlebar:

Comfort Sport, Low Rise

Brake Details:

Tektro IO Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotor, Integrated Motor Cutoff and Regen Activation Switch in Levers

Grips:

Velo Comfort Ergonomic

Saddle:

Velo Plush D2 Comfort

Tire Brand:

Kenda K935

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Side Mounted Kickstand, Plastic Chain Guide, LED Power Indicator on Battery

Other:

Removable Locking Battery Pack, Regenerative Braking, KMC Anti Corrosion Chain, Quick Release Front Wheel, Model EV206PH

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Evantage DuoDrive

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

450 watts

Battery Brand:

ProRide

Battery Voltage:

29.6 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

177.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles ( 24 km )

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles ( 48 km )

Display Type:

Backlit Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Odometer, Battery Level, Assist Level (Eco, Normal, Sport)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

18 mph ( 29 kph ) (Automatic Regeneration Above 18 mph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Polaris Vector offers a unique combination of efficiency and power. On the one hand, you’ve got a 450 Watt brushless geared hub motor paired with ~30 Volts of power which is actually quite powerful. On the other hand, you’ve got regenerative braking paired with a fancy control system designed to limit top speed and extend range. In my time riding this bike I felt a bit underwhelmed with the torque and peppiness but that’s a design decision Polaris made on purpose. The computer system is striving for efficiency and trying to deliver a smooth ride.

The Vector weighs just 53lbs including the battery pack which mounts and locks right into the down tube. This keeps the center of gravity low and makes the bike easy to handle, carry and park. It rides quiet and the sprung seat and front shock smooth out minor bumps in the road so the overall experience is peaceful. The battery pack on this bike doesn’t rattle around compared with the plastic tray styles used on the other models Polaris offers like the Strive or Meridian.

The Vector is easy to lift but a bit harder to maneuver onto car racks because of the curved top tube, which to me looks kind of funny. The benefit of this design is that it allows the seat to be positioned lower, making the bike easier to mount, creating a more upright seating position. Another unique design feature of this bike is the positioning of the controller system. It’s located just below the bottom bracket in a small plastic box. While this is a more vulnerable location, it does serve the purpose of enhanced torque and drive sensing which helps to create that ultra-smooth acceleration in pedal assist mode.

I think the best way to describe this bike is “controlled”. It’s smart, efficient, relatively light weight and potentially powerful but not directly satisfying. The three modes of pedal assist are the best feature here and really let this bike reach its full potential, they just don’t feel the same as a heavier more powerful ebike. This has actually been described as a benefit to me by Polaris representatives who were trying to design a system that didn’t feel so jerky. I tend to like the feeling of “peppiness” however and prefer to smooth out the ride myself by using the throttle manually.

Considering the relatively high price point of this bike, the technology and offering may not be a fit for everyone. People who enjoy a smoother feel, lighter frame and integrated battery style however will feel right at home. Keep in mind the bike actually limits rider top speed to 18mph when turned on, extra speed is regenerated into power for the battery extending range. It’s one of the few bikes out there with regenerative braking at all. Polaris is a great brand with experience making vehicles of all sorts and I know they are working to refine this offering even more in the years to come.

Pros:

  • Integrated battery design is stylish, keeps weight low to the ground and doesn’t rattle
  • Front and rear disc brakes provide plenty of stopping power, front shock and seat springs smooth out the ride
  • Computer is easy to use, provides some fun extras such as carbon footprint savings
  • Rapid fire trigger shifters work well and are my preference vs. twist shift on other ebikes
  • Advanced computer system provides smooth acceleration and regenerative braking
  • Battery is chargeable on or off the bike
  • High end Lithium ion battery will last 1,000+ cycles and reduces overall weight of bike
  • Polaris is a well established brand with experience building other light weight vehicles
  • Plastic chain guide helps keep the chain on track when riding and using mid-drive

Cons:

  • Drive system leaves something to be desired in terms of peppiness
  • 18mph top speed may be frustrating for those wishing to go faster down hills
  • Frame is a bit awkward, doesn’t mount well to car racks that connect to top-tube
  • No water bottle mounts due to battery placement
  • Expensive price point considering the motor power and battery system
  • Bottom bracket controller mount seems vulnerable

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Polaris Reviews

Polaris Sabre Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A powerful, well balanced fat electric bike with a unique pedal-assist drive mode designed to focus on power or speed and increase naturally as you shift gears. Excellent weight distribution for a hub motor powered electric bike, sturdy frame and components...

Polaris Appex Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high speed trail ready electric bike with proprietary gearless hub motor that offers two levels of power regeneration. Pedal assist only drive mode measures your chain speed and gear to distribute power efficiently…...

Polaris Terrain Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Hardtail mountain-ready electric bike with 650b 27.5" wheels, a well balanced battery location, two-year electronics warranty and support from Polaris. Smart DuoDrive pedal assist measures the gear you choose as well as chain speed for…...

Polaris Course Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Well balanced speed-commmuter electric bike capable of ~25 mph in pedal assist mode, solid two-year warranty and support from Polaris. Unique DuoDrive pedal assist measures gearign and chain speed to provide optimal power output at…...

Polaris Rail Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Well balanced city-style electric bike with a solid two-year electronics warranty and support from Polaris. Unique DuoDrive pedal assist measures your chain speed and the gear you're in to provide…...

Polaris Meridian Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

High quality purpose-built frame with integrated cables, battery rack, chain guard and fenders. Upright cruiser-style design available in high step and step-through for easier mounting...

Polaris Strive Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Sturdy design features integrated cables, custom control unit and Lithium battery with regenerative braking. Control system and mid-drive sensors mounted below bottom bracket, exposed to rocks, curbs and elements...


Polaris eBikes
4 years ago

Thank you for the review of the Polaris Vector, Powered by EVantage motor technology. In developing the line of Polaris ebikes, the goal was to redefine what people expect from an electric bicycle. There is such little awareness about ebikes in the US, and those who have knowledge of ebikes, have only experienced what we call the bolt on ride. This is the ride feeling of having a motor bolted onto a bicycle. It is not a smooth ride, and it takes people away from feeling like they are riding a bicycle. The goal of an electric bicycle is to enhance the bicycle riding experience, not completely change it. The evantage motor system provides the smoothest riding experience, and the closest thing to a bicycle ride of any ebike. We have heard that some customers are looking for enhanced power. This is why we are now offering a turbo software update, that will heighten the power off the line on our ebikes and provide more power over hills. Additionally, we are hard at work on our version 2.0 motor system that will incorporate every piece of customer feedback we have received. Look for the V2 this upcoming summer season. We will have to get the electric bike review on one of our software updated units.

Gordy Schubert
4 years ago

I currently own a strong electric bike made in china. I use it every day untill snow , 7miles to work 7 back, I have modifyed it with swicthed lites and strobes and horn, grip throttle and thumb throttle with cruse controll,disk brakes that cut out power when applied. The frame has front and rear suspension with a adjustible shock in the centre works perfect, it has full fenders great in the rain. There is a removable battery pack that locks seperate with the key which also locks a pin in the back disk. there is currently 3 12volt 12ah sealed lead acid batteries making 36 volts, plenty of tork and top speed of 18mph on flat surface no wind loose about 3mph against the strongest wind. I paid 500 dollars at canadian tire. Have replaced batteries once 150 dollars, replaced some spokes in rear wheel and put new michlin 26inch tires on it. Lithium batteries are not cost effective yet but could be added shaving off 20lbs. It would be nice to try the polaris electric bike. I think it could use more stuff and engineering.

Jackytar
3 years ago

I am in the market for a pair of electric bikes in the US and the Polaris line up has caught my attention. My wife and I have rented electric bikes in the US and europe and have a preference for well executed (seamless) torque sensing set-ups that give you that magical conditioned athlete experience. We are in our early 50s and plan to use the bikes for leisurely exploring the surrounding area so high performance is not on our list of criteria. Other than the limitied range of the Polaris bikes they appear just about perfect for our needs. However, us ebike enthusiasts are all too aware that there are a lot of companies entering this market and long term ownership has to be a consideration. Will this company be around and support this model bike by making parts available in, say, 5 years? My read is that the US consumer is not taking to ebikes as quickly as expected and there are going to be a lot of ebike models in the graveyard. And sure enough, here it is August 2013 and the only place I can find Polaris ebikes for sale is ebay. And the only credible press I can find about them is this blog dating back to the time of their roll-out. Seems they spent 3 years in R&D, came out of the gate strong and what? Gave up?

Very discouraging. The bikes I like that ostensibly have a strong presence in the US market (like Polaris, Stromer, and Emotion) have custom battery configurations or other proprietary technology that effectively asks too much of the consumer - which is to gamble thousands of dollars on the future of the company or, in the case of established companies, their commitment to ebikes in general or this model specifically. Innovation in this market is advancing rapidly - literally month to month - and we seem to be witnessing in real time the birth and demise of one company, or model, after another. I've concluded from all this that manufacturers entering into the US ebike market are just as often driven by a blind enthusiasm for the concept than by the cold hard ecomonic realities. As a consumer I've never felt so paralyzed by a purchase decision.

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Jeckytar, you have shared a very interesting observation and I would agree on several points. For most people the purchase of an ebike is a high involvement one due to price. There is a lot riding on the decision given that battery packs may expire well before the frame and other components and custom configurations do require that the manufacturer still be providing support for replacement.

I recently test rode two Polaris ebikes at a shop in Longmont Colorado called Small Planet E Vehicles http://youtu.be/uEkiDRVtYVI and will be updating the pictures and videos for the Strive and Vector here as a result but am not sure how much support Polaris is providing. The last I heard, they were offering an update to firmware based on customer feedback. They are also still selling through their website.

I will dig in again this year at Interbike and provide updates here. Brands that I have high trust in are Pedego, Easy Motion (emotion) and Stromer given their long history of leadership in the space. Of course, iZip is a good choice as well given how standard many of their battery pack designs are.

Motomanz
3 years ago

I totally understand Jackytar's concerns as most people "should". I've researched many eBikes from the "bolt-on" kits to the sorry units places like Wal-Mart sell. Sure, the low-end type bikes run $500 to $1200, but for the very poor performance, extremely short run time, extremely long charge time, most with only 7 speeds and no regenerative charging like the Polaris (plus no disc brakes, front suspension, brushless motor, high end seat, etc, etc, etc...), I believe you are just throwing money away buying basically an extremely overweight bicycle (most are 65+ pounds!). Jackytar's concerns are solid at a "Big Box" store and it will be a lost cause in the long run with no manufacturer, dealer support or parts to keep their purchase going for many years. What I do know is that you can count on Polaris to be around. No - I don't have a "crystal ball", but I have over 40 years in the Motorcycle industry and have seen the amazing things Polaris has done in the last 10 years and how they are climbing to the top in ATV/UTV and Motorcycle sales. Do your own research if you want proof. Their design, engineering and technology is cutting edge and the eBikes are no different. I totally expect them to be the leading eBike seller in the world in a short time. Their partnership with leading eBike technology company EVantage will keep them at the head of the pack. A couple test reviews claim they would prefer more power. If one desires a "high performance" model, I'm sure it will be offered as/if demand for such a unit grows, but obviously then one is getting away from the "Bicycle" side of things for sure. If they bump up to a large/strong power sytem that will run - say 30-40+, then you are then basically making a "scooter with pedals" (Sco-Ped) requiring tags, insurance, age limitations, no bike path or sidewalk access, etc, etc.. I do know that they are in the beginning stages of getting the National dealer network established, so before too long you will be able to go test ride and purchase them at your local authorized Polaris eBike dealer. Obviously that takes some time to get set up. The "brick and mortar" type stores that will be carrying them besides bicycle locations would include Powersports dealerships (ATV/UTV/Scooter/Motorcycle/Snowmobile dealers). I believe the eBike is the future for many people as there seems to be a large extensive network of bike paths in nearly every city and fuel prices remain high. Plus; don't we all need a little more excersize?? Thank you Polaris for a great quality product!

Jackytar
3 years ago

I got a pair of Specialized Expeditions and put BionX kits on them. Not stealth or high performance but I am otherwise very pleased with this option.

Vector Owner
3 years ago

I own a Polaris Vector electric bike. The bike works reasonably well, but the dealer and the manufacturer provide no information when you have questions. One problem i've encountered is that the power will cut out for no apparent reason. I've tried to determine some consistency but so far have been unable. Some times i can get it back on by removing the battery pack and reinstalling. Other times i've continued pedaling and after a few minutes the power came on again. Sometimes it will happen 5 or 6 times a 3 hour ride, other times not at all during a ride. Other information i've requested, relates to the removal of the rear motorized wheel. I've gone to the dealer, the manufacturer, and do constant research on the net to find out how to deal with the wires coming out of this wheel. I've done this many many times, but the dealer who is located over 500 miles away from me is totally unresponsive as is the manufacturer. It seems impossible to get information from them. The simple manual that is supplied has very limited information. Do your research before investing in this bike. If you happen to get any of this information please email me.

posmike
3 years ago

I purchased 2 Polaris e-bikes (vector and st stride) late spring 2013. The vector for the most part has been fine except for the above mentioned problem of cutting off when it feels like but cutting the power off for 30 seconds or so then back on usually takes care of it. I have taken the vector Into an adjoining Federal and state park many times with gravel roads and it performs very well. The Stride worked 1 day for about 10 miles and hasn't worked since. After 4 months the dealer replaced the Stride with a new 2.0 version and will be taking it out today. I guess like most new releases there are problems to work out. The bikes appear to be high quality but the handlebar screws are steel and rust while the rest of the bike is aluminum. This should be fixed! I hope Polaris is around for a long time to come and I wish them well.

Austin Higdon
3 years ago

Hi all

Would like to apologize to any of our customers on this thread that have not received the support they were looking for.

Please contact us so we can get you on your ebike again !!

In this case, feel free to contact me directly on my mobile @ 954 328 0109

If you ever any questions about the Polaris eBikes, our offices are staffed to answer customer service calls 8am PST- 8 pm PST @ extension 2.

Toll Free: 1-855-EVANTAGE (382-6824)
Local: 305-538-1406
Fax: 305-397-2476
Email: info@evantagebikes.com

Andreas W
3 years ago

Hi! Has anyone tested the polaris vector with the firmware/software update, or is the one selling now an updated model? I see the pricing on the then now is down to 1999 in a few stores, seems like a good deal. In terms of frame size, how tall can You be and use this bike comfortably?, I am 6'4"

the price now cheaper and IF the update removes some of the CONS in the review, then it looks like an pretty ok deal? Been reading reviews for e-bikes now until eyes are sore, and there are so many vendors.... omg.... I think a combo of a decent pricing and a vendor that don't disappear soon is a preferred combo. If Polaris ebike is a part of Polaris Industries, it should have the finances and market muscle to be a stayer. My experience is that everything needs maintenance and some parts now and then.

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Andres, great points... It is nice to get a product from a larger trusted brand and Polaris has done well with their other vehicles in the past. As for size, given your 6'4" height these bikes may feel a bit small. Consider the IZIP E3 Dash, Easy Motion Neo Cross or Pedego Interceptor which are available in Large sizes.

Bobby
3 years ago

The description of this bike states that the "Motor Placement" is a MidDrive or a Rear Hub System. The bike reviewed was a rear hub system. Have you seen or test driven their MidDrive motor placement version? At 450 watts that would be a very interesting e-bike setup.

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Bobby, I don't see the part of the review you're referring to? You're correct that these only use a rear hub motor but the mid-section senses torque and contains the controller. It's meant to be super smooth and frankly, I didn't get to see inside so I'm not sure what other purpose it has. The reps described it to me but sometimes they are also off. I don't think there is a mid-drive Polaris Vector ebike?

Bobby
3 years ago

Court,

Thanks for the quick response! I was on their website this morning and the description of this bike states that the motor has the option of being placed as a MidDrive or a rear hub.

http://polarisebikes.com/ebike-products/vector/

It would be great if the company clarified their statement and if possible provided a bike with MidDrive for review.

Regards,

Bobby

Sebastian
2 years ago

I'm writting from argentina. Y also own a polaris vector bike. I was wondering if you got any update/support in the rear wheel removal since i'm having the same concern and can't find any info in the web. I will really preaciate any info. Thanks!

Arnie
2 years ago

I have the company brochure which shows in pictures and words how to remove the rear wheel for tire replacement or repair, and also some other repairs dealing with replacing the display and removing the controller. I don't know how to upload it to this site, as the picture part is important.

Erik
2 years ago

Arnie Did you ever upload this? I could not find link. Could you upload it again in the Community "Polaris" forum? Thanks

Court Rye
2 years ago

That's awesome Arnie! Thanks for offering to share this information and help other Polaris ebike owners. You could create a new thread in the Polaris eBike Forums here and there is an option to upload photos (even large ones). It could be titled "Polaris Electric Bike Manual" or something. If you have any trouble feel free to email me with the site contact form and I'll help you out or do it for you.

Todd
1 year ago

You are right to have concerns. A issue these bikes continue to have is they arrive with a busted battery and falling apart. The company is actually NOT Polaris- the company is called "E-Vantage" and they pay Polaris money to use there name- thats it- the disclaimer is deep in there website. Also, the bikes are made in China, another deceptive area to point out as they make it sound like they are actually Polaris and this all american green bike. In fact they are just adding to the enormous carbon footprint that China produces. I can't find any viable press either, it seems like pretty much everything out there is put out by the company itself. And the price is outrageous for the quality.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Thanks for the feedback Todd, I've done my best to be objective and transparent with my reviews (given the limited time and exposure to the product). I agree there is room for improvement but nearly every electric bike I know of uses parts manufactured in China (as well as automobiles, ATVs and other recreational vehicles). Some companies assemble here in the US and many ebikes from Europe offer great quality and a solid warranty. Maybe we'll see Polaris getting more directly involved with their ebikes in the future, as you stated, right now they seem to be handled by E-Vantage.

Victor
5 months ago

Stay away from Polarise E-bikes. Customer service is terrible. Have a strive (which I love). My battery charger broke. Company will not respond to any of my E-mails to buy a new charger nor will they return any phone calls. Dealers keep advising that I contact the company through their web site. Has now been ten days and company still has not returned E-mails or calls. Bike is of no use if I cannot re-charge the battery.

Court Rye
5 months ago

Ouch, sorry to hear that Victor! I hope they respond eventually, try reaching out to info@polarisebikes.com and if that doesn't work contact me directly through the site and I'll try to put you in touch with a rep from Evantage which makes the Polaris systems.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Palmspringscruising
8 months ago
Ravi Kempaiah
It's amazing what Sondors has done to people...
You started with a Sondors and now own few Stealth bombers, some heavy duty off-road bikes + heavily modded sondors.

Perfect example for the consequence of myoscopic vision of some of the existing E-bike companies.
They kept the entry price so high and the sticker shock drove many prospective people off.... anyhow..
Awesome stuff. Kinaeye is now selling complete bikes - Vector : http://kinayems.com/Products/Vector
Can anyone give me some advise on my Sondors?
I own 3 sondors since jan 1rst 2016 Found VELOMOBILE and ordered the 48 v upgrade battery and the 25 amp control. After a few rides of 10 miles the rear motor(36v)started making a grinding noise on take off (when there is maximum torque) then after getting going the noise stopped. I bought new gears from Luna cycle and installed them and it still made the same noise. So I took the back wheel off my other brand new sondors bike and installed that with my new upgraded battery and controller. After one 5 mile ride the brand new (36v ) motor started making the same noise. Can anyone give me advise on making this right with the upgrade or do I have to go back to the 36v.
Kyle at Velomobile is very slow to return messages and has not offered any kind of solution. I am out over $700 on the battery upgrade and I now have 2 bad motors.
Any advice o links to fix this problem?
I love these bikes and just want to upgrade them correctly. You guys have some great bikes and I want to do the same thing
Thank you
Alan
Ravi Kempaiah
8 months ago
one4torque
SONDORS STRESS TEST::::::



Hit some muddy stuff today.... all was cool until I hit a shale washed out river bed....... nasty muck stuff...... overheated the controller, got stuck, chain fell off..... walked out of it...... let controller cool off....... took most chunks off with a stick and rode home............ then hosed the bike off........ vigorously..... still works fine..... lubed all up and battery on charge for next adventure.
It's amazing what Sondors has done to people...
You started with a Sondors and now own few Stealth bombers, some heavy duty off-road bikes + heavily modded sondors.

Perfect example for the consequence of myoscopic vision of some of the existing E-bike companies.
They kept the entry price so high and the sticker shock drove many prospective people off.... anyhow..
Awesome stuff. Kinaeye is now selling complete bikes - Vector : http://kinayems.com/Products/Vector
Douglas Ruby
10 months ago
kermit_xc
after looking at some pictures closer, it appears that the rack arm is keyed to the chainstay - can you confirm that on your setup?
I just don't see how a light fender can support a 25kg load being torqued during breaking / acceleration.
I don't know what you mean by "keyed to the chainstay". The rack support arm mounts to the upper of the two threaded screw holes on each rear dropout. This carries ALL of the vertical force vector (up to and over 55 lbs = 25kg). The rack is attached to the fender itself about 10" from the chainstay cross brace. The horizontal force vector of acceleration/braking is either in tension or compression virtually directly around the aluminum (not plastic) fender. Any bending moment on the fender is braced by the curved shape of the fender. It really is a very clever design unless you wanted to use the rack w/o the fender, in which case a frame mount could VERY easily be fabricated which would connect to the chain stay cross brace.

I would expect the fender to be able to handle many 10's of kg (at least 50-100 lbs) of force in tension or compression as long as it is around the circumference and not a twisting or bending moment. Acceleration is a non-issue since we would be hard pressed to achieve .2G (= 5kg) and in braking no more than .5G (12.5kg).

Of course, if you intend to run into brick walls at 30+mph, all bets are off!

Doug
evident
10 months ago
The saddle is a sqlab model 602 14 cm wide. The suntour is performing very well its on the bike from day one. I went for the suntour for one special reason. All saddle suspension seatposts move backwards as they work. This means that the force vector is behind the seatpost. That is why my saddle is in the most forward position to try to move that force vector forward as near as possible to the seatpost. The suntour has the smallest offset ( backwards displacement ) of them all. It is also not that big so there is room left for my licenseplate which is so ugly on the rearfender. Also very simple to adjust the working force. The most important reason however is the force being excited on the weld from the toptube to the seatposttube. I have heard that that might fail on huge loads.
http://shop.sq-lab.com/Saettel/ in german though.
BatteryPower
1 year ago
PowerMe
Are you trying to say the product failed and that's why this cyclist died?
Ebike and bicycles are covered by "strict liability." I would argue that Sondors is responsible in full or in part.

Under strict liability the lack of documentation might be all that would be required to prove fault in part to sondors.

Sondors never defined how the product should " be used" and how it should be operated; Nor did Sondors provide information on how to assemble the bike as to preclude injury.

To Sondors the lack of documentation, and product liability insurance, is a cost savings. To the consumer this is a vector for injury and death as was the case for the artist in Hawaii killed in his prime.
jazz
1 year ago
I have an older model Vector with a 8ah battery. I get pretty good range out of it on pedal assist 1 or 2 (20 miles), anything more and it does eat the battery fast
FTC Complaint
2 years ago
Brambor
it almost feels like there has to be a warning sticker on every IGG web pages :
The 'win' rate on an IGG campaign is near 100% as; IGG makes money near 100% of the time, or 99% of the time since on a rare recent occasion they just canceled a "too good to be true" campaign most likely in reaction to the blow-back they are getting on the Storm campaign.

We are learning how bad IGG is on EBR, because ebikes happened to gain traction on IGG, a scam ridden platform.

The correct answer to IGG, is ask for a refund on your Storm {or other ebike} purchase, and don't buy an ebike or any other product through them.

All the reasons as to why this bike is not "ready" for US markets has been explained, even if a bike is ultimately delivered to those that ordered one.

Frankly, the CA AG's office needs to look at IGG, no so much EBR and the ebike crowd. IGG is toxic to the consumer.
Brambor
2 years ago
it almost feels like there has to be a warning sticker on every IGG web pages :
WARNING : You could be throwing your money away! Only 10% of campaigns succeed. You could be throwing your money away! The likelihood you will get nothing for your hard earned dollars is very high! Campaings are run by inexperienced business enthusiasts. Claims are inflated to entice you to give them money.
Gary Salo
2 years ago
Always nice to drift onto a forum and find people saying nice things about you

To address a few posts..

If the nuts are coming loose on your wheel, your wheel is rocking in the dropouts. It may actually come off. Lock washers are not the answer, torque arms are.

If you are breaking spokes its likely an earlier kit. With our new spoke patterns and spokes this issue is pretty much non existent.

The Standard rack does have issues. In most cases they are fine. Where they usually fail is when people overload them or actually partially sit on them because of their location is uptight behind the seat. It is only rated for 20 pounds. I have sold hundreds of the racks and replaced a dozen or so. I don't use them myself as I really tend to overload them. Most of my bikes have 2 batteries or more with additional saddles bags etc. I custom make my own racks or use a great one from axiom. Its rated at one hundred pounds.

Yes I do make videos. I love sharing the information. Usually they come about with new products or people repeatedly asking the same questions. I have a few new ones coming out soon. Many people tell me they like my videos as they are not artist conceptions or sales pitches, just a guy that loves ebikes and making videos to share experiences. Most of my videos are one take. Especially the test ride ones. I want to say what I am feeling at the time rather then inputting a polished script later.

I always appreciate hearing there are top tech guys around and Rich is likely one of those guys. But if you want a complete e-geek on Golden Motor Products "Alan" is second to no one in our forum. The guy is amazing and deserves a round of applause when he enters any room of Golden Motor ebikers.

I see some saying it would be beyond them to assemble an ebike kit. Frankly our Magic/Smart Pie 4 Vector kits could not be simpler. Anyone that has ever worked on a bicycle as a kid changing a flat tire, tightening a chain or adjusting brake cables should find it an easy weekend project.

Another post about my prices being higher. I would challenge anyone in North America to go to the Golden Motor Chine site (www.goldenmotor.ca) add any magic pie kit to the cart and see their final price with shipping and mine (for mine you have to view the cart and click get shipping estimate). Also set the currency on my site to USD for a even comparison. My site will definitely be a lot less. And I actually give product support and a legitimate warranty.

I saw MP4 test ride video.

Anyway I have addressed a lot of things here. I intended to just drop a note saying hi, but as usual I over did it and threw a lot of information out there. I hope it was helpful to at least one person. Then it was all worth it.

If you need any further information, checkout call.

Enjoy the Ride!
Gary

BTW: There is no 'S' in Golden Motor. Golden Motors is a Cadillac dealer in California.
Court
2 years ago
Nice! The Polaris ebikes (2014 and 2015) seemed well built, definitely from the ground up with custom drive systems etc. Glad to hear you like yours and congrats on the good deal you found. I don't have any tips to share about a beam rack like this but they do swivel a bit more and just don't feel as sturdy to me. Here's a short video I made a while back talking about beam racks, fenders and panniers for a full suspension ebike:



And here's a video about some fenders I tried, they didn't work all that well on rough terrain. Eventually the front one caught on the wheel and the plastic sort of broke.



As for fenders, it looks like the Vector has 26" wheels so you could get
Andreas Winner
3 years ago
Hi!
I sent them a mail , and actually got a 2015 catalog with all the new models for Europe !
Vector is not mentioned anymore , now named "Rail" I think , also a bunch of other different models .
It is possible there are some name changes for Europe... Dealer agreements in Scandinavia within in next week they say ,
and launch in September. The launch part puzzles me.. autumn season starting here in September , launching now or April would have been the sweet spot.
The new models looks very nice indeed , from dune bikes to city...
I don't think there will much difference on US and EU version. If, it will probably be limits of power output by the software for EU versions
The pdf is 44Mb ... so if You mail them You probably get link to the US catalog
I got told that their facebook page will be updated on new info

September is a long wait for me , so i probably just go for a Motiv Shadow as an import stunt...Just have to find some info on the frame size since I am 6.4 tall
Court
3 years ago
Andreas Winner
So whats the status on the V2 version ?
Indeed, and once we find out let's share here as well http://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/polaris-vector-v2.12/
Court
3 years ago
Hi Theron! Thanks for the post and background. The new Polaris ebikes look pretty great and they've done a lot to improve over the 2013 model's weaker battery pack and limited performance. I heard that over the course of this year they've improved the software so even those original bikes feel more powerful (if you update them).

It looks like the motor has jumped from 450 watts to 750 (which is the upper limit in the US) and the 48 volt battery pack is also at the high end. I can't say definitively without a test ride but I bet this bike feels really powerful. As for your concern about range (given the modest 6 amp hour pack) I can relay my experience with the Pedego City Commuter. I have owned two of these bikes (one with a 36 volt 15 amp hour pack and one with a 48 volt 10 amp hour pack). Now, it might seem like the 15 amp hour pack would go further, but it actually came out about the same in terms of range as the 48 volt pack (and was a lot more fun). This isn't a perfect comparison because the motor was also larger on the 48 volt bike, but the point is that it was a more efficient system for moving weight.

Given the regenerative braking on the Strive V2, the average ~54 pound weight and the stronger motor and battery system, I would guess this thing gets decent range. It also has three modes of pedal assist (Eco, Utility and High Speed) which means you can keep an eye on the battery capacity and tone down the assist if you are starting to run low.

I'm not sure how far you plan to go but this bike will definitely offer good power to move you and if it's like the Vector V1 then it has 8 speeds on a SRAM X7 which is plenty of range for climbing or going fast. Keep in mind, the battery is removable so you can charge on location. You could probably also get a second battery pack to carry with you or store on location at the half way point. Feel free to expand on your planned use of the bike and your needs, I'd be happy to share some other ebikes as suggestions if timing for release of this mode is an issue as you mentioned. There are lots to choose from out there and while the Polaris brand is solid and their bikes have really improved (and offer lots of sophistication) if you can't wait for them then I could point out a few alternatives.
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hi Sergie, I reached out to Polaris to get this answered for you and they
said "The motor moves from 60W up to 600W. We do not follow the traditional
wattage output rating because we do not use the same stock torque sensing
technology. Our tech is all proprietary and gives the rider the power they
need when they need it.Other ebikes shoot out the wattage their motor is
rated at based on torque sensing. We offer 250W nominally, and peak at
600W."

Sergei Romanoff
3 years ago

You got a 250W motor? Why does the owners manual say 450?

James Workman
3 years ago

Great Job!

MRTHAKKAR123
3 years ago

You should a review on the Trek Valencia+ ebike

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Yeah, Polaris is experimenting with ebikes but in this case they had
another company actually make the bike and just put their brand on it. I
think they are just testing the waters right now and trying to understand
the technology.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Cool, I'd love to hear how it works for you!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

I'm assuming 20 miles round trip? Most ebikes can make that distance on one
charge but it wouldn't hurt to top off the battery on destination (at the
10 mile mark). I would really think about whether you can bring the bike in
or have to park it outside (and thus require a detachable battery) and how
much you want to spend. I personally like the Pedego City Commuter or the
Easy Motion Neo Cross. Tell me more about how tall you are, how much weight
you want to carry and the riding conditions.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Glad the review helped you! I know it's an expensive decision and somewhat
confusing with all of the different options out there. I thought Polaris
did an okay job but their bikes aren't cheap and I wish they had more
torque :\

george04b
3 years ago

i almost bought this bike but i read your review that you put some time ago
and did like the 18mph and price also since is their first on ebikes im
going to wait and see what they do for the next gen